View Full Version : The Key For The Crowies
jumpman5
18 Sep 2006, 17:54
Pressure busts pipes! so u know what it does to people!
haha a little saying my 16's coach used to give but couldn't be any more true for the crowies this weekend.
kerr, judd and cousins are gonna get the footy no matter what, so the key will be the amount of pressure we can apply when they have it.
our pressure has been the key to our revival. its was great against the dees, awesome against freo and will need to be even better again on saturday. and it needs to be across the board, starting with welshy at FF and ending with truck at the other end.
our pressure is the best in the comp and we're going to need to have 4 qtr's of it on saturday coz the boys from the west looked quite awesome sat nite, but i know they can do it.
Shirley is gonna have a massive game, I can feel it in my waters ;)
Mad Dog
18 Sep 2006, 18:09
I think in particular the defensive pressure in our fwd line was outstanding against the Demons and Freo. Bode, Pez, and Welsh in particular. Generally if you can turn the ball over through pressure in the fwd line - it results in a goal.
Capitalist
18 Sep 2006, 18:13
I think in particular the defensive pressure in our fwd line was outstanding against the Demons and Freo. Bode, Pez, and Welsh in particular. Generally if you can turn the ball over through pressure in the fwd line - it results in a goal.
Bock is the Key :thumbsu:
a good game from Bock and we will win.
Don;t get me wrong love Pez and his work rate welsh and bode also put on alot of pressure up forward, but if Bock is still our CHF he will need to put in a BIG game
Bock does what Pez does expect slightly quicker and is a better kick - Pez needs to be the guy who gets it to Bock
Bock came along well last year at CHB in a tight defence,ive seen him grow this last month at CHF and maybe on saturday we will see the emergence of him into a higher level as some posters on here talked about in the Pre season.
Mad Dog
18 Sep 2006, 18:30
Bock is the Key :thumbsu:
a good game from Bock and we will win.
Don;t get me wrong love Pez and his work rate welsh and bode also put on alot of pressure up forward, but if Bock is still our CHF he will need to put in a BIG game
Bock does what Pez does expect slightly quicker and is a better kick - Pez needs to be the guy who gets it to Bock
good call....:thumbsu:
jumpman5
18 Sep 2006, 22:11
thats exactly right, the pressure from that group has been awesome, thats why kenny will not squeeze his way back in and shouldn't.
he may find over the summer he will no longer be in our best 22.
fickle game footy??
Kane McGoodwin
18 Sep 2006, 22:38
Pressure busts pipes! so u know what it does to people!
haha a little saying my 16's coach used to give but couldn't be any more true for the crowies this weekend.
kerr, judd and cousins are gonna get the footy no matter what, so the key will be the amount of pressure we can apply when they have it.
our pressure has been the key to our revival. its was great against the dees, awesome against freo and will need to be even better again on saturday. and it needs to be across the board, starting with welshy at FF and ending with truck at the other end.
our pressure is the best in the comp and we're going to need to have 4 qtr's of it on saturday coz the boys from the west looked quite awesome sat nite, but i know they can do it.
Pressure builds diamonds too. ;)
I agree that our pressure & all-round team performance (ie. no passengers) has been the key to the last 2 wins ... & we will need to be at our best against the Weagles.
However, just as importantly we need our forwards to create scoreboard pressure this week, because if they don't, the Weagles midfield will be more comfortable taking risks, running forward.
beartoo
19 Sep 2006, 08:48
Bock has gone well the last two weeks. I have a feeling he'll play a blinder on Saturday. He has that look out on the field of a footballer revelling in playing the game. Hope I'm right!
thats exactly right, the pressure from that group has been awesome, thats why kenny will not squeeze his way back in and shouldn't.
he may find over the summer he will no longer be in our best 22.
fickle game footy??
Have to agree with you here. Kenny's a good mark, an average kick and doesn't seem to go for the second effort when the ball is on the ground. I think he is a small chance to come in, but I doubt it if Burton will play.
maccas_no1
19 Sep 2006, 09:17
Good thread and all points are correct we need pressure all over the ground, just harass and harass, force them into areas then when we get hold of the ball move it quick into our F50 and run the Eagles off their legs, if we play too much stop start footy then the Eagles will just start putting numbers behind the ball, with the extra weeks rest we can afford to run and hopefully run the Eagles into the ground:thumbsu:
Mad Dog
19 Sep 2006, 10:24
Call me odd, but.....
One of the things that won us the 1997 GF IMO was that there were a number of players in our side that the opposition didn't rate on PF day and especially GF day.
Shane Ellen - 27th game
Simon Goodwin - 10th game
Kane Johnson - 25th game
Tyson Edwards - 46th game
Andrew McLeod - (still emerging as a star) - 60th game
Chad Rintoul - 11th game.
most of these players got under the Bulldogs and Saints guard IMO....(I watched both games on the weekend looking for an omen.....:o ). All of these players had very important influence on winning that flag and to a degree weren't as prominent as some of their higher profile teammates in Jarman, Rehn, Hart, Smart, Jammo. Even Koster, Bond, and James were more known to the opposition in terms of a reputation.
Although scouting and player profiles are a lot more comprehensive these days - I'm hoping some lesser lights might just fly under the radar over the next 2 weeks.
Bock - 41st game this weekend
Stevens - 31st
van Berlo - 30th
Porps - 11th
Douglas - 4th
I think in the future we will be talking about VB, Porps, and Douggie in a similar way to how we now talk about Goody, Edwards, Macca, Johnson.....some might be unlucky to miss if players come back - but lesser lights have done it before - and could just be an ace up the sleeve. Bocky has a huge chance to cover himself in glory IMO....;)
Doughty, I reckon he's another player who wouldn't be "rated"... He's been pretty damn good for us over the past few games...
(I can't believe I just typed that out loud...)
Wilburwild
20 Sep 2006, 14:44
I agree! its the so called "lesser lights" that will be the difference for us!
After saying that, Doughty didn't train :(
Dogga will definetely play!
Bock came along well last year at CHB in a tight defence,ive seen him grow this last month at CHF and maybe on saturday we will see the emergence of him into a higher level as some posters on here talked about in the Pre season.
How times do change! I remember him playing in defence for the Eagles in the 2004 SANFL Grand Final - was absolutely useless (mind you he wasn't the only one that day and I still have nightmares over that game) and couldn't get a kick to save himself. Just goes to prove that on occasions, we prejudge players too early.
Dogga will definetely play!
Definite?