RETIERED
Adam Ramanauskas
Dean Rioli
mcphee_is_a_gun
19 Sep 2006, 11:53
Andrew Lee??? huh?
Longy413
19 Sep 2006, 11:54
Can't believe it's taken until today for us to have a thread on this.
mcphee_is_a_gun
19 Sep 2006, 12:00
So true :D
Daytripper
19 Sep 2006, 13:56
Its school holidays, Longy.
DELIST or TRADE
Mark Bolton
Tristan Cartledge
Aaron Henneman
Andrew Lee
Joel Reynolds
RETIERED
Adam Ramanauskas
Dean Rioli
What is your reason for wanting to get rid of Lee?
BOMBERSG8
19 Sep 2006, 15:01
What is your reason for wanting to get rid of Lee?
Got him 2004 draft hasn't shown much and if we got a key position player in PSD or Trade there would be a spot 4 them
go_the_bombers
19 Sep 2006, 15:04
Got him 2004 draft hasn't shown much and if we got a key position player in PSD or Trade there would be a spot 4 them
He missed the entire 2005 season with OP, This year was his first full of footy a bit early to call for his head!
thebigboy
19 Sep 2006, 15:22
Andy Lee is a keeper, the rest of them should be cut at seasons end.
Longy413
19 Sep 2006, 15:23
Lee will be at Essendon next year, no doubt about it.
As he should be, rediculous to suggest otherwise
I would suggest you learn a bit more about the players before wanting to give them the chop ;)
He has shown plenty for a big man playing his first season of senior footy !
Barnsey3150
20 Sep 2006, 16:57
Def keep Lee...I am predicting big improvements for him next year. McPhee regarded him as someone to watch out for.
jules101
20 Sep 2006, 19:03
We couldnt delist the cleo batchelor of the year!!!!
Oh.. Thats the radio guy? my bad :D
blitzer
20 Sep 2006, 20:11
I liked what i saw of Lee this year. I hope we see a lot more of him next year.
Jasiano
20 Sep 2006, 20:42
I liked what i saw of Lee this year. I hope we see a lot more of him next year.
Agreed. He has some Sean Wellman about him. Hopefully he can play say 10-15 solid game-time games next year.
Retired:
Ramma
Rioli
Delisted/Possible Trade Bait:
Bolton: Has to go. A utility player that we just don't need when trying to rebuild. We have talls forward and back and his certainly not a midfeilder. Well, not a midfeilder that we need at the momment.
Henneman: Has had a heap of chances even though he was
injured for a fair bit of the season in the VFL.
Joel Reynolds: Not sure about him. I remmeber how he stunned us a couple of years back against West Coast in a final at the Telstra Dome. His obviously got talent in him and since he suffered that bad injury he hasn't been able to get back to full confidence. Could come back to bite us if we trade him but he has had a bad season thats for sure.
Richard Cole: Lucky to stay on the list if he gets another go. I believe he should be kept as he had a shocking pre-season last year due to injury. He played in a Grand Final, his obviously got talent.
I've actually met him personally at my brother's best mates house. They went to school together. His a pretty cool guy.
Richard Cole's contracted and he finished the year off well, although he'd wanna work bloody hard next year I think he can be a very handy player for us
Jasiano
20 Sep 2006, 21:06
Richard Cole's contracted and he finished the year off well, although he'd wanna work bloody hard next year I think he can be a very handy player for us
Not sure about well. It was a better end to the season though.
Even still that his contracted, his lucky to get another go as a starting player next season. It didn't look like he cared about his future the shape he was in. Didn't work hard enough after he overcame that injury.
Hopefully he can suprise us next year. :)
Not sure about well. It was a better end to the season though.
Even still that his contracted, his lucky to get another go as a starting player next season. It didn't look like he cared about his future the shape he was in. Didn't work hard enough after he overcame that injury.
Hopefully he can suprise us next year. :)
He was solid, didn't get beaten and he used the ball well, I was happy with that.
He showed what he can do and I think he's had he kick in the butt he needs, maybe it shouldn't have come to that but it did and he responded well, he will be handy next year
Jasiano
20 Sep 2006, 21:33
He was solid, didn't get beaten and he used the ball well, I was happy with that.
He showed what he can do and I think he's had he kick in the butt he needs, maybe it shouldn't have come to that but it did and he responded well, he will be handy next year
I reckon he can become a 100-150 game player at the Bombers.
He wasn't busting his gut in a few of the contests. He was playing alright but wasn't "busting" himself. If your playing for a spot in the team or your AFL career you should going 200%, not 99%.
Next year though with a full pre-season behind him and a good mindset he should get his career back on track.
Sam the RAMA fan
21 Sep 2006, 12:53
Ramanauskas hasn't retired..
he is hoping to return to football sooner than later.
Retiring means you hang up the boots never to play again.
Essendon will prob de-list him,
and then in time re-list him again.
As for Lee,
good call,but I would give him another year..lets hope he plays a few games to prove himself..
He hasnt really had the chance to..
Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 14:47
Ramanauskas hasn't retired..
he is hoping to return to football sooner than later.
Retiring means you hang up the boots never to play again.
Essendon will prob de-list him,
and then in time re-list him again.
As for Lee,
good call,but I would give him another year..lets hope he plays a few games to prove himself..
Yeah, i know what you mean about Ramma mate. Though lets face it, Ramma probably won't play another league footy game.
He'll end up retiring half way through the year i reckon. Poor guy. I remmember the year all his health problems started he was without doubt our best player after 8-10 games. He had already notched up a chunk of brownlow votes.
His been on the mend for so long that there would be hardly a chance of him returning. Don't get me wrong, i want to see him back as much as any other Bomber fan, just can't see it happening.
Seriously though, the harsh reality is that we probably won't see Ramma again on the feild. :(
Sam the RAMA fan
21 Sep 2006, 16:13
Yeah, i know what you mean about Ramma mate. Though lets face it, Ramma probably won't play another league footy game.
He'll end up retiring half way through the year i reckon. Poor guy. I remmember the year all his health problems started he was without doubt our best player after 8-10 games. He had already notched up a chunk of brownlow votes.
His been on the mend for so long that there would be hardly a chance of him returning. Don't get me wrong, i want to see him back as much as any other Bomber fan, just can't see it happening.
Seriously though, the harsh reality is that we probably won't see Ramma again on the feild. :(
I do agree with you on that one,
We won't know untill trade period no doubt..fingers crossed it's good news!
but I havent taken my #9 of my guernsy..
well I did get a new one (guernsy) and I'm not putting any numbers on it untill I'm certian and it's annouced that Rama will never play again..
Proud to wear #9! :D
BRING ON 07!
I'm pumped!
Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 16:21
I do agree with you on that one,
We won't know untill trade period no doubt..fingers crossed it's good news!
but I havent taken my #9 of my guernsy..
well I did get a new one (guernsy) and I'm not putting any numbers on it untill I'm certian and it's annouced that Rama will never play again..
Proud to wear #9! :D
BRING ON 07!
I'm pumped!
Yeah, cheers mate.
I'm going to try and get a Ramma long sleeve with obviously 9 on the back in the new look guersney's.
What a legend.
I'm pumped of 07 too. I reckon we're going to play some exciting footy. I just love when a young kid comes in to the team and by the end of the season he is already nily moulded into a Sheedy style player. Even last year we saw bits and peices of play that reminded us of 2000. Young talent that comes in to replace legends before them. Ie. Stanton and Blumfeild. :)
:)
Longy413
21 Sep 2006, 17:33
As for Lee,
Lee will be at Essendon for the next two years at least, I've got no doubt about it.
Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 18:18
Lee will be at Essendon for the next two years at least, I've got no doubt about it.
And hopefully within those two years he can establish himself at the Bombers and then be the next Sean Wellman.
:thumbsu:
go_the_bombers
21 Sep 2006, 18:25
And hopefully within those two years he can establish himself at the Bombers and then be the next Sean Wellman.
:thumbsu:
Sean Wellman thats a big call but I hope your right :thumbsu:
I suspect that if McPhee is still out of contract, that he may be used as trade bait.. more so, than JJ or Solomon. (Especially if he doesn't accept what is on the table.)
Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 21:16
I suspect that if McPhee is still out of contract, that he may be used as trade bait.. more so, than JJ or Solomon. (Especially if he doesn't accept what is on the table.)
J. Johnson missed out on the brownlow by only a few votes in 2000. He also lead our hard ball gets, our tackles, our kicks AND our handballs. I've been watching some old games. :D
We would never let him go is what i'm saying. He still puts his heart and soul into the footy club.
Solly is definitely going to be trade bait. No doubting that.
As for McPhee. It's a bit of a hard one. He's always been thrown around a bit in our team and he didn't have the best of seasons. Hopefully his kept, i reckon it'd be a pretty bad mistake to let him go. At his best he gives us so much drive and these days in footy you really do need that.
AnGuS#6
22 Sep 2006, 00:31
J. Johnson missed out on the brownlow by only a few votes in 2000.
That's not a good thing, look what's happened to the winner of that years brownlow.
That information is wrong anyway. His closest year was 2001, when he missed out by 7 votes.
I believe he should and will stay I just felt like having a go at someone. Don't take it personally.
danzan22
22 Sep 2006, 00:35
Agreed. He has some Sean Wellman about him. Hopefully he can play say 10-15 solid game-time games next year.
Retired:
Ramma
Rioli
Delisted/Possible Trade Bait:
Bolton: Has to go. A utility player that we just don't need when trying to rebuild. We have talls forward and back and his certainly not a midfeilder. Well, not a midfeilder that we need at the momment.
Henneman: Has had a heap of chances even though he was
injured for a fair bit of the season in the VFL.
Joel Reynolds: Not sure about him. I remmeber how he stunned us a couple of years back against West Coast in a final at the Telstra Dome. His obviously got talent in him and since he suffered that bad injury he hasn't been able to get back to full confidence. Could come back to bite us if we trade him but he has had a bad season thats for sure.
Richard Cole: Lucky to stay on the list if he gets another go. I believe he should be kept as he had a shocking pre-season last year due to injury. He played in a Grand Final, his obviously got talent.
I've actually met him personally at my brother's best mates house. They went to school together. His a pretty cool guy.
u forgot cartiledge
Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 01:53
u forgot cartiledge
I believe we need to stick with Cartledge for now unless we draft another ruckman.
You need 3 ruckmen on your list. 2 playing in your AFL senior squad and then a third in the VFL who can come into the AFL team.
1) Hille
2) Laycock
3) Cartledge
danzan22
22 Sep 2006, 01:57
I believe we need to stick with Cartledge for now unless we draft another ruckman.
You need 3 ruckmen on your list. 2 playing in your AFL senior squad and then a third in the VFL who can come into the AFL team.
1) Hille
2) Laycock
3) Cartledge
ure right, which is why we have ryder
Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 02:00
ure right, which is why we have ryder
Ryder still has a year to develop in the VFL whilst playing the odd senior game before really getting in there. Cartledge is a ruckman that can come in and play senior games now, unlike Ryder.
Basically, Ryder is a long term product, not something we will be worrying about as of yet in terms of our top 3 ruckmen.
danzan22
22 Sep 2006, 02:06
knowing sheedy he would put ryder in if our main 2 ruckman got injured to give him game time, cartilledge is just useless and i think ryder has already surpassed him in the ruckman rankings
Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 02:11
knowing sheedy he would put ryder in if our main 2 ruckman got injured to give him game time, cartilledge is just useless and i think ryder has already surpassed him in the ruckman rankings
I do see your point.
Though i think the reason Ryder was chucked in there with Hille was because of the injured Laycock. The games were almost "nothing" games and were just about development so Cartledge who Sheedy has already seen was looked over. He did get a go though whilst Laycock was injured.
Who knows what we'll do with Cartledge and overall in our ruck department in terms of our 2nd ruckman. I'm just making my judgements from what Sheedy has done in the past with our previous ruckmen.
It'll be interesting anyway!
danzan22
22 Sep 2006, 02:14
I do see your point.
Though i think the reason Ryder was chucked in there with Hille was because of the injured Laycock. The games were almost "nothing" games and were just about development so Cartledge who Sheedy has already seen was looked over. He did get a go though whilst Laycock was injured.
Who knows what we'll do with Cartledge and overall in our ruck department in terms of our 2nd ruckman. I'm just making my judgements from what Sheedy has done in the past with our previous ruckmen.
It'll be interesting anyway!
it will be interest what happens, especially if cartiledge isnt delisted, i think u'll find alot of essendon fans dissapointed
ManWithNoName
22 Sep 2006, 02:18
I'm not sure about delisting Cartledge. In those last 2 games he showed something. Ruckmen who have spent 3 years in the AFL system aren't something you throw away willy nilly. I say give him one more year and tell him that it's do or die.
Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 02:20
I'm not sure about delisting Cartledge. In those last 2 games he showed something. Ruckmen who have spent 3 years in the AFL system aren't something you throw away willy nilly. I say give him one more year and tell him that it's do or die.
Yeah, thats another reason. If you put 2-3 years developing a guy your not going to just throw him away.
Then again, tough calls have to be made. Lets face it, we finished 15th, injuries or not.
Ryder still has a year to develop in the VFL whilst playing the odd senior game before really getting in there. Cartledge is a ruckman that can come in and play senior games now, unlike Ryder.
Basically, Ryder is a long term product, not something we will be worrying about as of yet in terms of our top 3 ruckmen.
If you line up both of them over this season in the VFL and AFL Ryder is already putting in better performances.
You are right in saying Ryder is a long term project but Cartledge is a dissapointment. He hasn played as well in the VFL this year compared to last year and the only thing that will save him is if Laycock doesnt sign.
At the moment Bradley is a better ruck option than Cartledge. Bradley may not be able to win a tap but he makes up for that by being able to get a few kicks around the ground. Cartledge still mistimes a large percentage of his jumps and doesnt have a lot of around the ground presance when he is up against a half decent ruckman.
Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 13:40
If you line up both of them over this season in the VFL and AFL Ryder is already putting in better performances.
You are right in saying Ryder is a long term project but Cartledge is a dissapointment. He hasn played as well in the VFL this year compared to last year and the only thing that will save him is if Laycock doesnt sign.
At the moment Bradley is a better ruck option than Cartledge. Bradley may not be able to win a tap but he makes up for that by being able to get a few kicks around the ground. Cartledge still mistimes a large percentage of his jumps and doesnt have a lot of around the ground presance when he is up against a half decent ruckman.
True, Cartledge has certainly been dissapointing.
The thing is though as someone mentioned earlier, when you put 2-3 years development into a young Ruckman it's hard to just throw them away.
Maybe we'll have to bite the bullet.
True, Cartledge has certainly been dissapointing.
The thing is though as someone mentioned earlier, when you put 2-3 years development into a young Ruckman it's hard to just throw them away.
Maybe we'll have to bite the bullet.
I am probably being to harsh on him as i expected more after last season where he really did show genuine signs of improvement in the VFL.
If Laycock stays i think Carts is finished.
Retired
Rioli
Rama
Delist
Bolton
Reynolds
Henno
Trade/Delist
Soloman
Winderlich
Cartledge
Peverill
Trade Only
Mcphee
Laycock
Bradley
Yeah, i know, got to be crazy right, but then the more you look the more these trades make sense.
Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 19:09
Retired
Rioli
Rama
Delist
Bolton
Reynolds
Henno
Trade/Delist
Soloman
Winderlich
Cartledge
Peverill
Trade Only
Mcphee
Laycock
Bradley
Yeah, i know, got to be crazy right, but then the more you look the more these trades make sense.
No way we'll be getting rid of Winderlich though. His been a project for 3-4 seasons now and is about to emerge. I'm pretty sure we'll hang on to him. Sheedy likes this kid.
Retired
Rioli
Rama
Delist
Bolton
Reynolds
Henno
Trade/Delist
Soloman
WinderlichCartledge
Peverill
Trade Only
Mcphee
Laycock
Bradley
If Winderlich is trade bait then why the hell did we just sign him for two years:rolleyes:
I am not sold on him at all but the chances of him being traded are extremly thin.
go_the_bombers
22 Sep 2006, 19:12
No way we'll be getting rid of Winderlich though. His been a project for 3-4 seasons now and is about to emerge. I'm pretty sure we'll hang on to him. Sheedy likes this kid.
Plus he signed a new contract
Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 19:14
Plus he signed a new contract
Yeah.
I have been watching this guy for a few years now and i can see him starting to emerge. His confidence is starting to rise and i can see him believing that his a player. He can run and carry whilst still using his skills quite well.
Yeah.
I have been watching this guy for a few years now and i can see him starting to emerge. His confidence is starting to rise and i can see him believing that his a player. He can run and carry whilst still using his skills quite well.
Fair enough... Didn't realize he just re-signed... last i knew he was uncontracted... guess i remove him from my list... maybe add him to my Trade Only section.. Hopefully i will be wrong about him when i say i don't think he will ever be good enough.
Even if Winderlich doesn't become a superstar he will become a very handy depth player at the very least, something all the top sides have plenty of these days, especially in the midfield