View Full Version : Polak & Dunn

dee_123
19 Sep 2006, 16:59
Just wondering on the status of Dunn and Polak...

Possibly trade...

Ryley Dunn & Graham Polak --> pick 30 + Paul Wheatley + Simon Godfrey

Thoughts...

rgauci
19 Sep 2006, 17:09
No thanks.

sumavich
19 Sep 2006, 17:15
Sell us a few home games and we'll have a meeting about it !!

pinkus maximus
19 Sep 2006, 17:16
despite what everyone on BF tells you dee,Polak is not a dud,so you would have to come up with something better

blockerhall
19 Sep 2006, 17:49
My thoughts are have a look at our list, and spare me your hacks and mid-range players. Perhaps more-so now after our run of success, other recruiters will be doing exactly this, certainly targeting players who can't break into our side, and thinking what in reality can we offer them that they might be interested in? The answer is a top-notch midfielder, or upgraded picks. There is no simply no room for second-hand projects or hand-me-downs.

We barely have spots to jam our current team into, and after delists and upgrading rookies at the end of the year, even less. Two players and a pick we have to use would make it even worse. I believe Fremantle simply won't be involved in trades for players unless they will slot into our top 10-15. With respect, players that would sit 25-30 on our list have no currency with where we are at the moment.

If there is interest in Dunn, I would imagine it would be entertained though. Bundling him with a better player for a midfielder in our sights might be a chance.

sabre_ac
19 Sep 2006, 19:10
Just wondering on the status of Dunn and Polak...

Possibly trade...

Ryley Dunn & Graham Polak --> pick 30 + Paul Wheatley + Simon Godfrey

Thoughts...

I dont thikns so.

Polak in my opinion has to be traded, though we will probably have to bundle him with a draft pick for a top quality midfielder of a high draft pick.

Dunn I have no intention of trading, the guy has been in the system for a shorter time than Polak without given the opportunity.
Prepared to wait with dunn.

Redgum
19 Sep 2006, 20:25
In your opinion he has to be traded.....well in my opinion we should not trade him. The guy has started to put weight and muscle on, he is maturing, he is still only 22 ! Down the track he will be a star, takes time for key position players to reach their peak. He is required for depth and you never know with some of these Vics ( & maybe pav)we have and their desire to return home. He is a much needed commodity .

theGav56
19 Sep 2006, 22:40
Trading players is part and parcel of AFL footy. if a good trade which improves our list come along, then take it.

Kenny_01
19 Sep 2006, 22:42
Paul Wheatley? Simon Godfrey? ummm no. Neither would be in our best 33.

Hotdog Man
19 Sep 2006, 22:45
Trading players is part and parcel of AFL footy. if a good trade which improves our list come along, then take it.

Dunn I could live with.

Polak is going to be a very very good AFL player. He stays.

Ripper
19 Sep 2006, 22:49
In your opinion he has to be traded.....well in my opinion we should not trade him. The guy has started to put weight and muscle on, he is maturing, he is still only 22 ! Down the track he will be a star, takes time for key position players to reach their peak. He is required for depth and you never know with some of these Vics ( & maybe pav)we have and their desire to return home. He is a much needed commodity .

I agree Redgum. Some of you people don't think far enough ahead.

Last year a fair few had had enough of the Ogre.

Even without anyone going "home" all we would need is a couple of knee injuries and everyone would be saying "We should have kept Polly"

theGav56
20 Sep 2006, 13:23
Dunn I could live with.

Polak is going to be a very very good AFL player. He stays.

So assuming he does stay, which of the talls in the current team would you look at trading?

As well as Johnson, MacPharlin, Mundy, Grover, we also need to find room for Thornton, Haddril, Drum, Warnock, Campbell. While Parker has a limited timeframe in our team, Polak is not going to replace him.

But if Polak stays as a very good player one of the 4 currently in the team needs to go to get him into the backline; all are too good to be simply depth. Same in the forwrard line. Or, up forward, which of Pavlich, Murphy, Longmuir, Webster should be dropped because Polak makes us a better team up front?

anchor man
20 Sep 2006, 15:00
My opinion is that we keep them both.As stated Polly is still only 22 and still growing and maturing I believe.Is good value as a back up in case of injury as a ruckman forward or back.To me Polly is a real backman and not a forward but his versatility is good for the club.
Dunn is 21 and has had an horrendous run with injury.I am not even sure he has been able to do a full pre season since he has been with us.He is,when up and running,a hard at it player who hits hard and is not afraid to put his body on the line.
As for trading them for a couple of half hacks why would we?Maybe for a couple of high draft picks but for Wheatley and or Godfrey,nahhhh don't think so.
Keep them both I reckon.

fat wombat
20 Sep 2006, 16:47
Both stay, especially Dunn!

Gooka
20 Sep 2006, 18:51
Pick 11 for Polak and your 2nd rounder?

wizard_9
20 Sep 2006, 19:17

Have to do better than that mate.

theGav56
20 Sep 2006, 20:00

Only if you agree to trade Pick 11 and our 2nd rounder for Farren Ray as well.

pinkus maximus
21 Sep 2006, 04:24
according to this article he is out of contract

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2006/09/20/1158431782800.html

theGav56
21 Sep 2006, 08:58
Pinkus, we could be in a little strife if that article is correct. There is no doubt that he would get more/better opportunities than he will get at Dockers with our stock of good talls. Luckily there are several clubs interested so a value trade may be available.

Gooka
21 Sep 2006, 10:41
Have to do better than that mate.
To satisfy what you want, or to beat what other clubs will offer? Surely if he's out of contract, it's just about beating what other clubs will offer.

Do you think you'll get a top 10 pick for him in this years draft?

Ripper
21 Sep 2006, 10:44
Pinkus, we could be in a little strife if that article is correct. There is no doubt that he would get more/better opportunities than he will get at Dockers with our stock of good talls. Luckily there are several clubs interested so a value trade may be available.

I thought the word out of the club was that we were not signing anyone until the season was over because We didn't need any distractions.

Probably because in the past as soon as We have re signed someone , We have usually lost an unloseable game that week.

One-eyed Tiger
21 Sep 2006, 11:07
Fremantle are reported to be seeking high picks or an inside midfielder.
I've heard a whisper Richmond will offer Tuck or Coughlan as part of a deal....

pav_is_god
21 Sep 2006, 12:01
I'd be very surprised if they were willing to give up Coughlan.

dockerzrule
21 Sep 2006, 12:13

Polak for Couglan would be awesome. Imagine our midfield, Bell, J.Carr,Haselby,M.Carr,Schammer,Couglan,Headland.

Starting to look pretty awesome:thumbsu:

pav_is_god
21 Sep 2006, 12:28
Polak for Couglan would be awesome. Imagine our midfield, Bell, J.Carr,Haselby,M.Carr,Schammer,Couglan,Headland.

Starting to look pretty awesome:thumbsu:
Unless Coughlan's value has taken a serious nose dive, I very much doubt there will be a straight swap. The most likely would be Polak + 1st rounder for Coughlan + 2nd/3rd rounder. Even then I'm not sure Richmond would be willing to give him up.

dockertor
21 Sep 2006, 13:04
Why do people underate our players when talking trades so much? Polly has a lot of upside and should not be let go however if we are forced he will come with a hefty price tag.

dominguez
21 Sep 2006, 15:41

Pick 11 and bulldogs 3rd round selection (45) for Polak and our second rounder (31-34) is a possibility.

I'd be happy with picks 11, 13-16 and 45.

Brumbies
21 Sep 2006, 17:54
Id be happy not to trade him at all. Some of you dont look into the future enough, what happens if we have injuries, pav leaves etc etc then we wil be like these other clubs struggling for KPP while Polak is carving us up for who ever he is playing for.

Gooka
21 Sep 2006, 17:59
You guys have any interest in Nathan Eagleton?

Freo Shark
21 Sep 2006, 18:27
You guys have any interest in Nathan Eagleton?

Have you any interest in Jarryd Schofield ?

Lach72
21 Sep 2006, 18:38
Have you any interest in Jarryd Schofield ?
Boom Tish

wehavethepassion
21 Sep 2006, 23:23
I dont thikns so.

Dunn I have no intention of trading, the guy has been in the system for a shorter time than Polak without given the opportunity.
Prepared to wait with dunn.

Dunn has been playing for EF for most of the season and has rarely got into the best players.

Our stun and run game need fast players - the only place for him is if cookie or macca retire.

As for polak he has only had his marking going for him, ground skills are average and hsi kicking is worse than macca's a few yrs back and that is ver poor.

If the tigers want him to replace gaspar then the will get a "like player" both can't kick!!

Slacker
22 Sep 2006, 17:39
Dunn has been playing for EF for most of the season and has rarely got into the best players.

Our stun and run game need fast players - the only place for him is if cookie or macca retire.

As for polak he has only had his marking going for him, ground skills are average and hsi kicking is worse than macca's a few yrs back and that is ver poor.

If the tigers want him to replace gaspar then the will get a "like player" both can't kick!!
I don't see much upside to Polak either. Hasn't really showed the glimpses that I would expect if he is going to turn into a big man talent (apart from contested marking of course).

As for Dunn, I don't watch the WAFL much so I would not have the foggiest.

theGav56
22 Sep 2006, 19:09
I thought Dunn had missed a fair amount of time with injury, and also has had disrupted pre-season.

Sigwald
22 Sep 2006, 23:52
I think today showed that we should rush to offload Polak, but should rush to improve his kicking.

His marking ability would have come very handy today both in the forward as in the backline.:thumbsu:

We'll collectively be better for it next year!

Moo
23 Sep 2006, 00:05
Like all things - it would depend on the offer.

The club would know if Polly was staying or going, I would obviously prefer to keep him - but at a reasonable price.

If he walks then yes, a first round pick is desireable. I dont think the Tiges would be giving up Cogs.

Dont trade with the Eagles is my only other rule.

dee_123
23 Sep 2006, 15:56
What is Polak's best position?
Is he capable of playing CHB or FB?
What would u want for in a trade?

wizard_9
23 Sep 2006, 16:21

Nothing, i want him to stay.

wizard_9
23 Sep 2006, 16:27
Polak is understood to prefer to stay in Perth but has been advised by his management that greater opportunity — both from a playing and financial point of view, could lie elsewhere.

http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=12&ContentID=7674

dominguez
23 Sep 2006, 20:57

Probably CHF, but he is capable of holding down CHB.

Pick 12.

dominguez
23 Sep 2006, 20:59
Dont trade with the Eagles is my only other rule.

Pick 15 from the eagles for Polak is a possibility.

theGav56
25 Sep 2006, 13:18
Pick 15 from the eagles for Polak is a possibility.

Not sure that he is what the Eagles want/need, so I wouldn't expect them to be the team offering the best deal to us for him. Their backline looks fine, and they have enough forwards with dodgy kicking skills.

theGav56
25 Sep 2006, 13:27
The decision is in his hands as he is out of contract. We would want a very good trade, ideally a decent midfielder or a pick that will get us one.

blumfieldisback
25 Sep 2006, 13:32
what if he walks, what if carlton or essendon says we will give you an extra 50,000 per year if you enter the psd.

Slacker
25 Sep 2006, 13:33
I would trade with WC for a draft pick, but not a player. We have been bent over one too many times on that front. :thumbsd:

Besides - who does WC have that we want and they would be willing to trade?

I do think the team needs to agreesively trade Polak and Medhurst, as luck would have it there are plenty of teams out there who would like a decent tall and a proven forward pocket.

dockers_bengals
25 Sep 2006, 13:35
He prefers to stay and should as the club has stood by him when he had problems.His management want him to go for more money(typical greedy b****rds)

Slacker
25 Sep 2006, 13:40
He prefers to stay and should as the club has stood by him when he had problems.His management want him to go for more money(typical greedy b****rds)
Surely he would want to go on a financial level too. He could almost guarantee a years worth of match payments if he gets traded.

I don't think his freo salary would be moving much after this season either.

*PAFC*13
25 Sep 2006, 13:43
Port have been keen on Dunn for a while now, I wonder if they will make a move this trade week? Within reason, who would you be interested in?

theGav56
25 Sep 2006, 17:34
Port have been keen on Dunn for a while now, I wonder if they will make a move this trade week? Within reason, who would you be interested in?

The only thing we are interested in is getting players who can play in our best 22. Dunn can potentially do that, though obviously isn't doing that at the moment.

Who do you have who would make it in our best 22 and is excess to your requirments? Within reason, what do you want for them?

dockers_bengals
25 Sep 2006, 18:01
Surely he would want to go on a financial level too. He could almost guarantee a years worth of match payments if he gets traded.

I don't think his freo salary would be moving much after this season either.

Would the extra money be worth all the hassle of moving to a new state away from family and friends,new system to learn,new team mates to learn about,possibility of higher expectations of you or the team.Then if it doesn't work out having to move back if not traded.

Redgum
25 Sep 2006, 21:57
Polly is staying put, fullstop. CC said so on pr tonight and you don't know how relieved I am to hear that. Be patient, he still only 22, seems like he has been around for years, his best is ahead of him and freo will benefit from this marking machine and not some other team.

rgauci
25 Sep 2006, 22:05
Polly is staying put, fullstop. CC said so on pr tonight and you don't know how relieved I am to hear that. Be patient, he still only 22, seems like he has been around for years, his best is ahead of him and freo will benefit from this marking machine and not some other team.

Thank God. He will be a superstar. Its the wakeup call he needed, kind of like McManus and COok. Imagine if Medhurst, Polak and Walker suddenly hit thier best just like the aforementioned. Our list doesn't need that much tweaking.

KEEP HIM

dominguez
26 Sep 2006, 00:07

Dunn and Medhurst for Cassissi and your 3rd round pick.

dominguez
26 Sep 2006, 00:09

Nothing will be certain until Polak re-signs. There's a big difference between Connolly saying he wants him to stay and Pollie signing on the dotted line.

stefoid
26 Sep 2006, 15:57
heres a thought - Cameron Faulkner. He is in almost the identical position at the dogs as Polak is at freo- fringe player due to others being ahead of him, plus he has had a few unlucky injuries. Appears to have all the tools, however - is physically developed and ready to go. He is a quick inside midfielder with good skills.

His problem (if he didnt have one, he would be getting a game, right?) is that his footy education has been a bit lacking. Eade's comment on faulkner is "he gets all the hard balls, but he doesnt know where to run to get the easy ones" I guess playing a couple of development years coached by Peter Rhode didnt help his cause there.

sabre_ac
26 Sep 2006, 16:31
Dunn and Medhurst for Cassissi and your 3rd round pick.

Would be loving that..Though can see it happening

Perhaps Dunn and Medhurst for Cassissi

Stiffy_18
28 Sep 2006, 18:35
Would you do Polak for pick 14?

Rob
28 Sep 2006, 18:41

Probably, i'd take that.

crows98
28 Sep 2006, 19:21
Probably, i'd take that.

For argument sake (and show some common sense*) what player on the Adelaide list would interest you for Polak?

You wouldn’t get him for Ben Rutten or Graham Johncock just as we wouldn’t expect to receive him for Hayden Skipwoth or a 4th round pick.:thumbsu:

raffrox
28 Sep 2006, 19:26
YES YES YES YES

Polak is in high demand and simply has the worst kick in AFL history. Don't want him. Footskill efficiency is the biggest indicator to a team winning the game these days. Should be gawn while he has value.

You can bookmark this. Polak will not make it as a regular AFL player.

rgauci
28 Sep 2006, 19:56
For argument sake (and show some common sense*) what player on the Adelaide list would interest you for Polak?

You wouldn’t get him for Ben Rutten or Graham Johncock just as we wouldn’t expect to receive him for Hayden Skipwoth or a 4th round pick.:thumbsu:

I like Van Berlo a lot.....amazing endurance. West Aussie. Not saying straight swap. But gee a huge talent.

Stiffy_18
28 Sep 2006, 21:43
I like Van Berlo a lot.....amazing endurance. West Aussie. Not saying straight swap. But gee a huge talent.
You and about 50,000 Adelaide Members as well as club officials and players :D

dominguez
28 Sep 2006, 21:51
According to channel 7 Polak met with richmond and carlton today and looks more likely to leave than stay.

Lets hope he's not too keen on carlton because first pick in the psd could see us lose him for nothing. If Thornton leaves carlton they will be desperate for key defenders and will hopefully offer pick 17.

inferno66
28 Sep 2006, 22:02
According to channel 7 Polak met with richmond and carlton today and looks more likely to leave than stay.

I reckon its pure speculation by the media at this moment. Out of contract players usually meet all the intrested teams to get a full picture of all the teams that want them. Most of the times the out of contract players resign in the end and dont get traded.

raffrox
28 Sep 2006, 22:09
Except for not leaving WA why would he stay? He's not getting a game and will have $$$ thrown at him by the Vic clubs.

dominguez
28 Sep 2006, 22:14
I reckon its pure speculation by the media at this moment. Out of contract players usually meet all the intrested teams to get a full picture of all the teams that want them. Most of the times the out of contract players re-sign in the end and dont get traded.

Trade week starts in 11 days, if Polak hasn't re-signed by early next week he will probably leave. Managers would speak to rival clubs regarding their uncontracted players, but I think out of contract players would only meet with club officials if they were seriously considering a move. If he was planning to stay, why bother meeting with the blues and tigers (both of whom are desperate for key defenders and will probably offer $50,000-$100,000pa more than us).

Aslong as we get a pick in the top 20 I will be happy to see Polak traded.

*PAFC*13
28 Sep 2006, 22:35
The only thing we are interested in is getting players who can play in our best 22. Dunn can potentially do that, though obviously isn't doing that at the moment.

Who do you have who would make it in our best 22 and is excess to your requirments? Within reason, what do you want for them?

Maybe Stuart Dew? good outside type that your inside midfielders in Cook, McManus, Carr x2 could give it out too and deliver out onto the chest of Murphy, Pavlich, Longmuir, etc.

Maybe even Damon White for Dunn and third rounder?

dominguez
29 Sep 2006, 18:54
The Polak and pick 31 for Coughlan rumour keeps getting mentioned. Would be a very handy aquisition but having your 2 best ball winners (Hasleby and Coughlan) also being injury prone would be a concern. Will miss half of 2007 recovering from knee reco and will probably take close to 12 months to get back to his best. Quality player when fit though, and would go a long way to solving our clearance issues.

Even if Coughlan stays at punt road i see Polak in yellow and black next season.