View Full Version : we need akka serioiusly!!

mickyt888
20 Sep 2006, 06:06
ok if we are to still have achance to get him all we need to do is offer laycock. yeh yeh i know he could be awesome blah blah blah. but he is greedy and wants to much money. we need akka he will give aus a good shot at making the 8

Bender The Offender
20 Sep 2006, 09:21
ok if we are to still have achance to get him all we need to do is offer laycock. yeh yeh i know he could be awesome blah blah blah. but he is greedy and wants to much money. we need akka he will give aus a good shot at making the 8

aker has only 3 years left in him while laycock would have aleast 10
no way:thumbsd:

Toasta
20 Sep 2006, 09:42

I would be very dissapointed if we let laycock go in an attempt to make up the numbers in the finals.

If laycock gets himself right he will be far more valuable to us over the long term than akker will be to us next year.

pull your head in.

marcuz
20 Sep 2006, 09:46
I'd rather keep our kids and our draft picks. Aker will be good value for a couple of years but we wre still a fair way off being a genuine contender so his value to us is a lot less than it will be to the bulldogs, melbourne etc.

go_the_bombers
20 Sep 2006, 12:00
I'd rather keep our kids and our draft picks. Aker will be good value for a couple of years but we wre still a fair way off being a genuine contender so his value to us is a lot less than it will be to the bulldogs, melbourne etc.

I agree with ya marcuz

mickyt888
21 Sep 2006, 03:28
ryder will be superior to laycock why do we need 10 ruckmens?hille and ryder is all we need and we pick up gardiner in psd maybe. ok we just let laycock go then you watch we will get nothing for him he is uncontracted you know and he wants more money. so trade him. knowing my luck are number 2 pick will be matthew leuenberger.we need Quality not Quantity

Sam the RAMA fan
21 Sep 2006, 12:38
Laycock is pretty good,
I would like to see him stay..

I dont think Akka is coming here anyway,
looks to be a doggie.

Merv
21 Sep 2006, 13:35
ryder will be superior to laycock why do we need 10 ruckmens?hille and ryder is all we need and we pick up gardiner in psd maybe. ok we just let laycock go then you watch we will get nothing for him he is uncontracted you know and he wants more money. so trade him. knowing my luck are number 2 pick will be matthew leuenberger.we need Quality not Quantity

After seeing your reply in the Hille thread, to the Collingwood supporter that gave him a big thumbs up, i had my suspicions that you were a clown of the highest order.

Thank you for confirming it

ManWithNoName
21 Sep 2006, 13:43
Laycock is asking for more money when he has shown next to nothing apart from an incredible ability go get injured. Unless his demands change signifigantly I wouldn't feel too bad about trading him.

Pevers-Legend
21 Sep 2006, 14:33
Laycock is asking for more money when he has shown next to nothing apart from an incredible ability go get injured. Unless his demands change signifigantly I wouldn't feel too bad about trading him.
Question is - who would be stupid enough to give Laycock what he wants? I think potential is the dirtiest word in football. Screws way too many people over.

Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 14:41
I disagree that we need Aker.

We have a lot of young speedy kids coming through that we have previously recruited. Winderlich is basically like a young version of Aker in many ways. If he had played every game in the VFL he would've won the VFL Best and Fairest by a mile.

He kicks goal and breaks lines. Next year is his chance to shine as playing 15-20 games. In previous seasons his only got maximum up to say 10 games.

Finally his showed REAL signs of improvement and we've stuck with him for so long that i reckon he'll get a real go this year and be played on the wing and up forward on a flank quite a bit.

If we got Aker it would basically deny Winderlich and our other young speedsters from quality game time in important positions next season.

Merv
21 Sep 2006, 14:50

We have a lot of young speedy kids coming through that we have previously recruited. Winderlich is basically like a young version of Aker in many ways. If he had played every game in the VFL he would've won the VFL Best and Fairest by a mile.

He kicks goal and breaks lines. Next year is his chance to shine as playing 15-20 games. In previous seasons his only got maximum up to say 10 games.

Finally his showed REAL signs of improvement and we've stuck with him for so long that i reckon he'll get a real go this year and be played on the wing and up forward on a flank quite a bit.

If we got Aker it would basically deny Winderlich and our other young speedsters from quality game time in important positions next season.

I also don't want Aker, but i think you are over rating Winderlich by a long margin.
imo he will never be any where near as good as Aker was.

Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 14:56
I also don't want Aker, but i think you are over rating Winderlich by a long margin.
imo he will never be any where near as good as Aker was.
I don't think he will be and I never said that Winderlich will be BETTER than Aker.

I said that Winderlich needs to get that oppertunity to further kick on next season as he has been developing predominately in the VFL for 3-4 seasons now. He has finally got enough strength on him and played a handfull of quite good games for us breaking lines in the senior team.

If we did get Aker it would be taking away Winderlich's oppertunity which i feel would be a waste of sticking with him for past seasons.

Merv
21 Sep 2006, 15:11
I don't think he will be and I never said that Winderlich will be BETTER than Aker.

I said that Winderlich needs to get that oppertunity to further kick on next season as he has been developing predominately in the VFL for 3-4 seasons now. He has finally got enough strength on him and played a handfull of quite good games for us breaking lines in the senior team.

If we did get Aker it would be taking away Winderlich's oppertunity which i feel would be a waste of sticking with him for past seasons.

Where did i say that you said he would be better than Aker?
What you said was "Winderlich is basically like a young version of Aker in many ways"

I pointed out that imo you were over rating Winders by a long margin and that i dont believe he will be any where near as good.
By saying that hes basically a young Aker, arent you insinuating that he will end up being as good or near to it?

I agree with you on the opportunities part.
No Aker

mickyt888
21 Sep 2006, 15:31
i liked winderlich with that game in the vfl where he had 35 touches i think and 5 or 6 goals. but thats the vfl he turns 23 next year. dempsey has talent
always loved stants he is a legend and lovett

lfp ff rfp
monfries/johns lloyd Lovett

lff hf rff
Akka Lucas Hird

unbeatable:)

Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 16:02
Where did i say that you said he would be better than Aker?
What you said was "Winderlich is basically like a young version of Aker in many ways"

I pointed out that imo you were over rating Winders by a long margin and that i dont believe he will be any where near as good.
By saying that hes basically a young Aker, arent you insinuating that he will end up being as good or near to it?

I agree with you on the opportunities part.
No Aker
You said that Winderlich will never be as good as Aker and that i'm overating Winderlich. I'm not over rating him, i don't believe he will ever be NEAR Aker. The guy has won 3 flags and won one of those off his own boot. There's no doubting Winderlich will ever be that good.

I never said that Winderlich WILL be better than Aker. I just noted that i believe it would be a waste of his development to buy Aker as it will limit Winderlich's oppertunites. I'd rather have good run through our midfeild for the next ten years rather than the next 3-4.

Nevertheless, we could end up picking him up. Brisbane won't let him go to the Bulldogs unless they give up something very good.

Crave
21 Sep 2006, 20:17
After seeing your reply in the Hille thread, to the Collingwood supporter that gave him a big thumbs up, i had my suspicions that you were a clown of the highest order.

Thank you for confirming it

We seriously need to screen some of these supporters. They'll give anyone access to the internet these days. Agree with you, he's left a bad impression on me in 2 posts.

Dysons dealdy left boot
21 Sep 2006, 21:12
Yeah aka would be nice but giving up Laycock would be rediculas. And Ryder wont be near as good as Laycock. Welsh would be the one with a bit of value and maybe a second round draft pick for him if possible.

mickyt888
22 Sep 2006, 01:09
Yeah aka would be nice but giving up Laycock would be rediculas. And Ryder wont be near as good as Laycock. Welsh would be the one with a bit of value and maybe a second round draft pick for him if possible.

geez ryder must be a dud then... yeh laycock is so gr8 thats why there are about 150 players his age who are rated better than him. and if ryder is never going to be any good why do we have him on are list? suppose cartledge is a super player too we need him as well:rolleyes: **** we better trade some of are promising youngsters cause we need ruckman:rolleyes:. you all make it sound like laycock is going to be a champ more like a chump. if he stays at essendon and becomes crap and cant find a good position you cant blame me. and when we have money problems caue laycock want a billion a year dont go posting on this forum about it!!!

umm were probley going to get gardiner another frigging ruckman but at least he knows how to ruck. him and hill for next 5 years doesnt give laycock any room so yeh i have a point!

danzan22
22 Sep 2006, 01:24
ryder has had 1 season, u cant say hes a dud from 1 season,ruckman take a long time to develop

AnGuS#6
22 Sep 2006, 01:39
ryder has had 1 season, u cant say hes a dud from 1 season,ruckman take a long time to develop

Ryder has more potential that Laycock... He may take a while to develope but he should be worth the wait. We should stick with those three (including Hille) and get rid of Cartledge.

As for Aka, just pretend he's already at the Bulldogs. We've got NO hope!!

He wouldn't suit our rebuilding stage anyway, it would be taking a step back.

DaSawx
22 Sep 2006, 10:18
Ryder has enormous potential, give him another or so and everyonewill be praising the drafting of him, no doubt about it.

No point trading Welsh for a second rounder, Welsh is consistent, does his job every week and is one of our better defenders in a team who leaked the most points. If we want to win games we can't trade all of our medium-older players especially for a pick who may or may not work out.

Jex
22 Sep 2006, 11:31
FYI…Aker will 99% likely be playing for the Bulldogs next year…you know this…so get over him.

I don’t want to see Laycock traded regardless. We have 4 ruckman on our senior list. Hille is good, but needs support. Ryder isn’t yet ready to provide that support, but an injury free Laycock is. All three are required players. Cartledge is expendable…especially with McKinnon on the rookie list. We don’t need Keating or Gardiner or Luenberger. We’ve recruited for this position and we now need to let nature take its course.

I don’t subscribe to the old recruits stealing game time from the kids gripe that others do either. I wouldn’t have cared less if Akermanis were at Essendon and earning a game before Winderlich or Dyson. Note the word “earning.” We have the likes of McPhee, Stanton, Lovett, Lovett-Murray, Dyson, Winderlich and Dempsey to run the lines and carry the ball, so missing out on Aker is far from a calamity anyway.

Recruiting-wise, we need a CHB. Beyond that, we need our younger players to continue to improve, established players like McPhee, JJ, Lovett and Solly to recapture their form, Matthew Lloyd back in business and Fletch to steer clear of injuries.

mattdavies_03
22 Sep 2006, 11:42
IMO we don't need aker, he doesnt have long left in him, and he is too much of a distraction off the field. WE need to build a solid foundation around our young players, so that they can lead us back to being a finals contender. And I think Laycock will come good, he has just had a bad year after a bad run with injuries, give him a chance to get back to Anzac Day 05 form

mickyt888
23 Sep 2006, 00:55

i like ryder. i said he must be a dud if he will never be as good as laycock like the guy said above my other post. yeh and i watched the footy show and we won't get akka but neither will bulldogs. bulldogs want to give away hopless players for akka. i would rather see him on the sideline now since he is acting spoilt. essendon have 2 bad years and we are considered a hopless side.

gues maybe we could trade laycock or sack cartledge either way i would be happy. and delist henneman! i have said this for 6 dam years! wat is wrong with the staff? he is wat 26? he is old as for bolton delist him 2 jesus.

Jasiano
23 Sep 2006, 01:05
FYI…Aker will 99% likely be playing for the Bulldogs next year…you know this…so get over him.

I don’t want to see Laycock traded regardless. We have 4 ruckman on our senior list. Hille is good, but needs support. Ryder isn’t yet ready to provide that support, but an injury free Laycock is. All three are required players. Cartledge is expendable…especially with McKinnon on the rookie list. We don’t need Keating or Gardiner or Luenberger. We’ve recruited for this position and we now need to let nature take its course.

I don’t subscribe to the old recruits stealing game time from the kids gripe that others do either. I wouldn’t have cared less if Akermanis were at Essendon and earning a game before Winderlich or Dyson. Note the word “earning.” We have the likes of McPhee, Stanton, Lovett, Lovett-Murray, Dyson, Winderlich and Dempsey to run the lines and carry the ball, so missing out on Aker is far from a calamity anyway.

Recruiting-wise, we need a CHB. Beyond that, we need our younger players to continue to improve, established players like McPhee, JJ, Lovett and Solly to recapture their form, Matthew Lloyd back in business and Fletch to steer clear of injuries.
Well said.

I might just add on to that. Hird to have a classy last season as well as helping to develop some of our young players. :)

ant555
23 Sep 2006, 11:33

I agree but i get the feeling that we will pick up Gardiner , Sheeds seems to be warming to him for whatever reason :(
It may be that the club is concerned with the amount of injury problems Laycock is having and dont belive that he is worthy of a better than average contract upgrade.
Just on Laycock, i would prefer to keep him but in all honesty he has only ever put in a good quarter or so in some games and a good half in a couple of others. I still have some question marks over him being able to step in an consistantly fill the number two ruckman role.For a start he needs to have a decent pre season which he has strugled to do so far.

jmf
23 Sep 2006, 12:15
As an outsider looking in, I can't understand why Ess want Aker?
It seems Sheedy is after a band-aid solution to get you guys back up the ladder near the 8.
I think that is selfish on behlaf of Sheedy as it seems he is more interested in getting a new contract at the end of next season then building your club to a legitimate premiership contender in the next 3 or 4 years.
A side finishing 2nd last shouldn't be chasing 30 year olds!

DaSawx
23 Sep 2006, 13:16
As an outsider looking in, I can't understand why Ess want Aker?
It seems Sheedy is after a band-aid solution to get you guys back up the ladder near the 8.
I think that is selfish on behlaf of Sheedy as it seems he is more interested in getting a new contract at the end of next season then building your club to a legitimate premiership contender in the next 3 or 4 years.
A side finishing 2nd last shouldn't be chasing 30 year olds!

Is it not good to play finals as often as possible? You can't be a premiership contenter without putting finals experience into your young team first, despite what Richmond and Hawthorn fans think. The Bulldogs will need another finals campaign or two before thinking about the big one.

M29
23 Sep 2006, 14:12
I wouldn't mind Aker. But we need tall defenders.

AnGuS#6
23 Sep 2006, 14:43
I agree but i get the feeling that we will pick up Gardiner , Sheeds seems to be warming to him for whatever reason :(

You got that right, each time Sheedy opens his mouth he convinces me more and more that we're going to get Gardiner. But why is there talk about us trading for him, can't we get him (if we have to) in the Pre-season draft?

btw, did anyone hear how Adelaide are hoping and believing that Gibbs will play most of his career at Adelaide. That's exactly what I was scared of, now I hope Carlton take Gibbs after all.

whirl
23 Sep 2006, 15:08
The key word there is "hoping".

Jasiano
23 Sep 2006, 17:47
Carlton will take Gibbs. He has far too much talent over any other youngster going through the draft to not pick him up.

ant555
23 Sep 2006, 19:37
You got that right, each time Sheedy opens his mouth he convinces me more and more that we're going to get Gardiner. But why is there talk about us trading for him, can't we get him (if we have to) in the Pre-season draft?

btw, did anyone hear how Adelaide are hoping and believing that Gibbs will play most of his career at Adelaide. That's exactly what I was scared of, now I hope Carlton take Gibbs after all.

Hoping being the optimum word. Unless they tank a season to finish last and pick him up i dont see too many cenarios where they will be able to get him without a fair amount of pain.

droppuntkick23
23 Sep 2006, 20:03
Its a slur on the Bombers that AKA has chosen the Doggies !

Longy413
24 Sep 2006, 19:49
Its a slur on the Bombers that AKA has chosen the Doggies !

Why?

droppuntkick23
24 Sep 2006, 21:10
Why you ask ?
You think your club is so good, such an arrogant club and guess what, the dogs are more appealing;)

Nuts4Bolts
24 Sep 2006, 21:19
Why you ask ?
You think your club is so good, such an arrogant club and guess what, the dogs are more appealing;)

Possibly the dumbest post ever. Even dumber than my 'Save Mark Bolton' post's.

droppuntkick23
24 Sep 2006, 21:22
Well its the truth isnt it ? Aka prefers Western Bulldogs over you losers . Get over it. Go and wave your jackets! You only did that on 3 occasions this year didnt you.:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

Nuts4Bolts
24 Sep 2006, 21:33
Well its the truth isnt it ? Aka prefers Western Bulldogs over you losers . Get over it. Go and wave your jackets! You only did that on 3 occasions this year didnt you.:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

Your hardly covering yourself in any glory. By the way, which team do you support?

droppuntkick23
24 Sep 2006, 21:39
Hate to tell you this, my last posts contains actual facts.
Aka does prefer the doggies. The Essendon people are spewing.
Inside mail is that Hird was excited with the prospect of playing with Aka.fact!
You did wave the jackets when you were at yout arrogant best, fact.
you won only 3 games for the year , fact.
You were losers this year , another fact!
As for me following a club. Actually Freo! Got some good assistant coaches there now, one M. Harvey!

Nuts4Bolts
24 Sep 2006, 21:50
Inside mail is that Hird was excited with the prospect of playing with Aka.fact!
As for me following a club. Actually Freo! Got some good assistant coaches there now, one M. Harvey!

He choose the Dog's over Freo as well. What a slur on the Dockers and their coaches.

I've got some facts as well. Mainly to do with Dockers recruiting.

droppuntkick23
24 Sep 2006, 22:03
Facts that they have a better list than Essendon.
And how about your recruits, lets name a few!

Richard Cole.( Has been told he is on notice- a weeks to get himself fit before final list is submitted)
Camporeale:eek:
Chris Hefferanan.:eek:
Tristan Cartledge ( Will be traded or delisted this draft;) )
Keppler Bradley ( Cannot Play )
Mark Bolton :eek:
Joel Reynolds :eek:

Ty Zantuck.
Paul Thomas.
Ben Haynes.
Mark Alvey
Matthew Allan.
Shane Harvey
Damian Cupido
Justin Murphy

Havent Essendon stuffed up there draft picks over the past 4 years.;)

blumfieldisback
24 Sep 2006, 23:22

Richard Cole.( Has been told he is on notice- a weeks to get himself fit before final list is submitted)

Ty Zantuck.
Paul Thomas.
Ben Haynes.
Mark Alvey
Matthew Allan.
Shane Harvey
Damian Cupido
Justin Murphy

Yeah our recruting has been average mate, but thanks for Mcphee. We were always detsined for the bottom at some stage, the difference between clubs like ours and clubs like yours is that we have a winning culture and its only a matter of time before we're premiership contenders again, say 2 years. Then there is your club who will probably shoot itself in the foot and turn to rubble again next year under the pressure of expectation.

d-mac3276
24 Sep 2006, 23:59

If we got Aker it would basically deny Winderlich and our other young speedsters from quality game time in important positions next season. Please do not say them 2 names in the same breath thats just silly to think let alone post it.

Jasiano
25 Sep 2006, 00:25

Camporeale
Chris Hefferanan
Mark Bolton
Joel Reynolds

Ty Zantuck.
Paul Thomas.
Ben Haynes.
Mark Alvey
Matthew Allan.
Shane Harvey
Damian Cupido
Justin Murphy

Your generalising with a lot of those guys. Keplar is still in development. Inparticularly with Heff, i reckon he had quite a good year. Experience coming off the bench. Very good in close and great disposal.

We didn't use very good picks for a lot of those guys who didn't cut it. Not as if we gave up pick #1 for Des Headland. Put your head over the ball lad? :D

Jasiano
25 Sep 2006, 00:30
Please do not say them 2 names in the same breath thats just silly to think let alone post it.
Dude. I'm not putting them in the same class at all.

Don't be so tight.

Merv
25 Sep 2006, 00:39

How many premierships( Day or Night ) did you say you had won again......

daveyboy3
25 Sep 2006, 00:55

Ty Zantuck.
Paul Thomas.
Ben Haynes.
Mark Alvey
Matthew Allan.
Shane Harvey
Damian Cupido
Justin Murphy

We haven't done really well but your a little uneducated mate and are listing many of the wrong players.. The blokes in bold are picks we have stuffed up in the last 4 years, and im being pretty generous towards your side of the argument, as Kepler and Cole may prove to be good players.

We gave up nothing for Campo, Heff, Zantuck, Murphy, Allan (i think) Murphy and Allan served a purpose, as has Heff this year and as may Campo next year..
Thomas was a late draft pick. Cupido and Alvey came about in trades that we probably did the better out of.
Bolton was a mistake but one that occured about 8 years ago, not 4.

Jasiano
25 Sep 2006, 01:21
Joel Reynolds was a good flanker a couple of years ago. Great set of hands. Has talent.

Since his season ending injury back then he hasn't been able to get back to form. The injury stole his confidence and has been troubling him since. This year was his first attempt back.
We've got value out him and we'll keep persisting with him because of what we've seen of him.

Don't just generalise over just this season. We had a shocking year this year, look at the players entire time at the Bombers.

Longy413
25 Sep 2006, 10:07
Owned so many times and still comes back. Funny stuff.

Why is Ben Haynes a wasted pick?
He was a rookie pick, performed better than a large percentage of other rookie picks.

Cupido was an added bonus in a deal that got us McPhee and a first round pick for Caracella. Didn't lose out there.

Alvey another added bonus that got us pick 6 for Jacobs. Bradley's still developing.

Bolton was more than four years ago.

Keep up the good work young fella.

dave_27
25 Sep 2006, 10:48
Why on earth is a richmond supporter on a Essendon board passing judgement on our list, recruiting, drafting?

lol, what a scatter brain.

:o

ant555
25 Sep 2006, 11:12

Fact he chose the club that was offering him a three year deal rather than a two year deal ;)

ant555
25 Sep 2006, 11:17

Richard Cole.( Has been told he is on notice- a weeks to get himself fit before final list is submitted)Camporeale:eek:
Chris Hefferanan.
Mark Bolton
Joel Reynolds

Ty Zantuck.
Paul Thomas.
Ben Haynes.
Mark Alvey
Matthew Allan.
Shane Harvey
Damian Cupido
Justin Murphy

You making stuff up now dropkick;)
Richard Cole contracted for next year :rolleyes:
You are original....not. Anyone can submit a list of players picked up over a period of time that are duds. Big deal we are at the bottom.Yes we are cleaning out the crap but it is no different to what any other club has done.

droppuntkick23
25 Sep 2006, 19:54
lets see what happens to Cole, stay tuned;)

kelvin_sheedy
25 Sep 2006, 21:27
I was all for getting Aker but after his appearance on The Footy Show I have changed my mind.

How someone in his position can come out and publicly state what he did was just beyond arrogant.

Looks to be a blessing for us that he has chosen the doggies.

Merv
26 Sep 2006, 01:46

You are way off the mark

How many premierships( Day or Night ) did you say you had won again......

You forgot to answer my question

ant555
26 Sep 2006, 09:18

He will play next year and if he isnt any good he will go onto the dud list.
Doesnt hide the fact that you are trying to make stuff up and pass it off as facts.

Bobby Beecroft
1 Oct 2006, 12:51
Can tell you guys that Aker & Sheeds met yesterday morning.
Don't have any idea as to what conclusion can be drawn though.

Jonesy1987
2 Oct 2006, 00:34
Akermanis would be benificial to the bombers for the fact that he would help bring some well needed confidence to the young side maybe give them a bit of the old essendon fighting spirit. As for Aker playing in a premiership essendon team not unless he plays for another 4-5 years:thumbsd:

go team
2 Oct 2006, 10:18
Can tell you guys that Aker & Sheeds met yesterday morning.
Don't have any idea as to what conclusion can be drawn though.

Sheeds wanted to sign up for a Big footy account. Aker was giving him a step by step walk through, and explaining the benefits of the "Supporters Club"