View Full Version : Dons Give Up Draft Pick 4 Sandover Medalist?
Subiaco midfielder,Matt Priddis (21) won the Sandover medal by a record margin this week.
A record amount of votes and the biggest winning margin over second place.He has been up in the top place getters for the past 2 years.
He plays for a team that is favorite for the WAFL flag and is their best player by a mile.He polled in just about every game he played in for Subi and got two senior games for WCE and did well in those AFL games.
He can't break into the WCE line up cause they are doing pretty well without him.Why can't we try and trade for him and offer a third round draft pick?.I can't believe he is not playing regular AFL games.Mind u,it has something to do with WC's dominate midfield playing well every week.
But I reakon Braun and Fletcher will drop off next year and Priddis will be the first one called up if that happens.What do ya's think about that idea?
I think Essendon should at least look into the possibility.
PS No more Akker draft threads please.Im now in the "Forget About Drafting Akker" camp.That also gos for Gardiner,Bradshaw and any other player over the age of 27!
Jasiano
20 Sep 2006, 16:26
Agreed about the over 27 players.
As for the Priddis. I remmember hearing something about him and he sounds like a good talent. If we can get him cheaply his certainly worth a crack.
We'll just have to wait and see what our recruiting department and coaching staff are looking to do. It'll be interesting to see what we're willing to give up.
WC are gunna have the same problems we had in 2001-2002.
They know that heaps of their players are up for contracts next year and they wont be able to keep them all. Priddis could be offered a shot in our team straight away next season and get heaps more opportunities than he will at WC.
I say we should make an offer.Its not as if we would have to pay him mega bucks.
He is desperate for a chance to play at AFL level and should be given a chance,but is stuck in the unfortunate situation where he is contracted to a flag contender who won't give him a chance or are saving him for next year,f#@$ knows why! he should have played 20 games for some AFL club this year.
Darealrath
20 Sep 2006, 17:21
I've never seen him play so perhaps he could really make an impact at our club, but i'm never convinced by the argument Player A is unlucky being held back by the super club he's at. If he's not good enough for that club then it's unlikely Player A is good enough to take us where we want to go.
Shattock is the most recent example i can think of, of this phenomenon. Gone great since leaving Bris where he was "held back" hasn't he.
Longy413
20 Sep 2006, 17:46
I've seen a little of him and he looks alright, but if he's not getting a game ahead of Rosa, then there has to be some concern.
Wasn't he one the guys Sheeds spoke to last week during his trip to WA? Hmm
who were the 5 blokes he spoke to?
Longy413
20 Sep 2006, 18:47
Hang on.
He's on the rookie list at WCE. Probably explains why he hasn't played all that much senior footy.
It also means he can't be traded. West Coast either promote him or he goes in the draft. We can't actually give up a pick for him, other than the pick we would potentially draft him with.
daveyboy3
20 Sep 2006, 19:30
I've seen a little of him and he looks alright, but if he's not getting a game ahead of Rosa, then there has to be some concern.
Rosa has been playing pretty reasonable footy though Longy, Don't you rate him?
Williams02
20 Sep 2006, 19:41
Sounds like u think Rosa is alright Daveyboy. The warrack kid shows a bit, plays a very similar style to his brother.
blitzer
20 Sep 2006, 20:10
I doubt there is a harder position to break into for a young man than the west coast eagles midfield at the moment just because they have so much depth. I must admit i haven't seen anything of him in action but i wouldn't mind at all if essendon decided to try and pick him up. It would be great to pick up some nice young players like him that perhaps haven't had much of an opportunity in a premiership contender.
Longy413
20 Sep 2006, 22:06
I think he battles a bit, but he is only young.
Jasiano
20 Sep 2006, 23:05
I've seen a fair bit of both the Rosa boys. They play almost identically in style.
Both remind me of that Dominic Cassisi from the Power. Hard working 3rd or 4th midfeilders. Well rounded, not particulary special at anything just consistent on their overall game.
Our Rosa needs some more time to develop. He had quite a promising season in the VFL.
Longy413
20 Sep 2006, 23:13
"Our" Rosa will be 24 come the start of next season and is on the Bendigo list, not Essendon's.
He's been announced captain of the Bendigo Bombers next season and I suspect that's where he'll stay. He's a handy VFL footballer, but that's his level.
Bourky23
20 Sep 2006, 23:57
you should go after the kid... seems good
magpie78
21 Sep 2006, 00:01
Hang on.
He's on the rookie list at WCE. Probably explains why he hasn't played all that much senior footy.
It also means he can't be traded. West Coast either promote him or he goes in the draft. We can't actually give up a pick for him, other than the pick we would potentially draft him with.
he was promoted earlier in the year, in place of Phil matera (Armstrong was also added later for the injured Brad Smith)
Longy413
21 Sep 2006, 00:04
he was promoted earlier in the year, in place of Phil matera (Armstrong was also added later for the injured Brad Smith)
Which makes him a promoted rookie, not a senior listed player for 2006.
So yes, he could have played more senior footy this year (I forgot about Matera), but I'm almost certain he can't be traded.
He either has to be promoted to the senior list, or delisted. Not traded.
magpie78
21 Sep 2006, 00:11
Which makes him a promoted rookie, not a senior listed player for 2006.
So yes, he could have played more senior footy this year (I forgot about Matera), but I'm almost certain he can't be traded.
He either has to be promoted to the senior list, or delisted. Not traded.
mate, you clearly dont understand.
he's promoted, he's not replacing an injured player, he's been promoted in place of a retired player, he's on the list.
he can now be traded, delisted whatever, he's on the list.
he cant come off and be replaced by the person who he replaced, because that person (Phil Matera) isnt coming back.
Now Steve Armstrong is a different story, he replaced an injured player.
Longy413
21 Sep 2006, 00:24
He wasn't a senior listed player in 2006.
He was a promoted rookie.
That means come the end of this season he is treated like all other rookies. He isn't on the senior list until the first list lodgement is completed for the 2007 season. Regardless of who he replaced.
All rookies are treated the same regardless of the circumstances in which they were promoted to the list. Ben Jolley was effectively promoted for Adam Ramanauskas, if Rama retires we can't then trade Jolley purely because he was replacing a retired player.
We either keep him, or he goes.
If you start the season as a rookie listed player, you finish the season as a rookie listed player. List lodgements are done, you can't change that (Broadbridge/Motlop scenario excluded). Priddis isn't on the senior/primary list until the list lodgement is done for 2007.
Right now, he is a promoted rookie. Nothing more.
Feel free to proove me wrong.
AnGuS#6
21 Sep 2006, 00:53
mate, you clearly dont understand.
he's promoted, he's not replacing an injured player, he's been promoted in place of a retired player, he's on the list.
he can now be traded, delisted whatever, he's on the list.
he cant come off and be replaced by the person who he replaced, because that person (Phil Matera) isnt coming back.
Now Steve Armstrong is a different story, he replaced an injured player.
I love stupid Collingwood Supporters, there's so many of them... :thumbsu:
JuddyisGod
21 Sep 2006, 01:39
Hate to rain on your parade guys but there's not a chance in hell WC would trad him for a 3rd round pick. On top of that i actually know the guy and he's happier staying in Perth and trying his luck at the Eagles than he would be in Melbourne, he's very settled here. Gives our team great depth and would be the first player in if any of our midfielders were to go down.
Karlostj
21 Sep 2006, 09:21
Hate to rain on your parade guys but there's not a chance in hell WC would trad him for a 3rd round pick. On top of that i actually know the guy and he's happier staying in Perth and trying his luck at the Eagles than he would be in Melbourne, he's very settled here. Gives our team great depth and would be the first player in if any of our midfielders were to go down.
I'm pretty sure that the concensus was that Essendon can't trade for him as he is a rookie....
So you haven't actually rained on anyones parade.
Pevers-Legend
21 Sep 2006, 11:01
Sean Denham and John Barnes.
You wanted players who needed to a break at another club.
Oh and a Justin Madden as well. and thast just off the top of my head.
Shedmania
21 Sep 2006, 16:35
Unfortunately i'm with this guy. From what i have heard the guy is incredibly happy in Perth. Grew up there, everything he knows is there. This is not an 18 year old kid desperate to play at the top level by getting a birth at any club that will take him. He's 21, he will (most likely) be elevated to the senior list at WC next year, he has already tasted AFL football and he is the chance to learn his trade from the best in the comp without moving out of his home town.
I hope Sheedy spoke to him and i hope he is a chance of coming over to the Dons. Apparently he is an incredibly hard worker, really wants to crack it, and can play a little as well!! But honestly, unless West Coast fail to elevate him, why would he walk away? (and don't say more senior football because i think that he is just about next one into the WC midfield rotation and he knows it).
Longy413
21 Sep 2006, 17:29
Unfortunately i'm with this guy. From what i have heard the guy is incredibly happy in Perth. Grew up there, everything he knows is there. This is not an 18 year old kid desperate to play at the top level by getting a birth at any club that will take him. He's 21, he will (most likely) be elevated to the senior list at WC next year, he has already tasted AFL football and he is the chance to learn his trade from the best in the comp without moving out of his home town.
West Coast already have one player to promote in Armstrong. He's pretty much in their best side at the moment.
The don't really have any pending retirements other than Banfield and of course Matera, who is still on their list.
AFL rules say you have to draft three players, that requires at least four list changes. They do have a young list, so it isn't impossible to think he may not get promoted.
If WCE don't promote him and he wants to play AFL footy he has to go into the draft, I doubt he'd give up that opportunity.
JuddyisGod
21 Sep 2006, 23:43
West Coast already have one player to promote in Armstrong. He's pretty much in their best side at the moment.
The don't really have any pending retirements other than Banfield and of course Matera, who is still on their list.
AFL rules say you have to draft three players, that requires at least four list changes. They do have a young list, so it isn't impossible to think he may not get promoted.
If WCE don't promote him and he wants to play AFL footy he has to go into the draft, I doubt he'd give up that opportunity.
I thought you got 2 years on the rookie list?
Longy413
22 Sep 2006, 09:35
I thought you got 2 years on the rookie list?
There's also that option.
Jimmy_the_Gent
23 Sep 2006, 03:19
I fairly sure that he wont be promoted this year but that he'll stay on our rookie list without going into a draft since this was his first season on it and, as far as I know, you get picked up for 2 years on the rookie list before you have to get re-drafted onto it (if that's what your club wants). At the end of next year he should be promoted onto the main list, all things remaining equal.
EDIT: This has obviously been covered. I don't know how I missed it.
wooostace
23 Sep 2006, 12:39
He's too slow, just what you guys don't need.
JuddyisGod
23 Sep 2006, 13:03
He used to be quite slow but over the past three years he has worked very closely with the Subiaco sprints trainer who has helped him unbelievably in terms of pace, he is now one of the fastest at Subi and is by no means slow anymore.
Hawk_Hero_Win
23 Sep 2006, 17:03
Subiaco midfielder,Matt Priddis (21) won the Sandover medal by a record margin this week.
A record amount of votes and the biggest winning margin over second place.He has been up in the top place getters for the past 2 years.
He plays for a team that is favorite for the WAFL flag and is their best player by a mile.He polled in just about every game he played in for Subi and got two senior games for WCE and did well in those AFL games.
He can't break into the WCE line up cause they are doing pretty well without him.Why can't we try and trade for him and offer a third round draft pick?.I can't believe he is not playing regular AFL games.Mind u,it has something to do with WC's dominate midfield playing well every week.
But I reakon Braun and Fletcher will drop off next year and Priddis will be the first one called up if that happens.What do ya's think about that idea?
I think Essendon should at least look into the possibility.
PS No more Akker draft threads please.Im now in the "Forget About Drafting Akker" camp.That also gos for Gardiner,Bradshaw and any other player over the age of 27!
Draft pick 4 would be over kill for a 21 year old player
Draft pick 4 would be over kill for a 21 year old playertxt speak claims another victim - '4' = 'for'
Hawk_Hero_Win
23 Sep 2006, 17:54
txt speak claims another victim - '4' = 'for'
Re: Dons Give Up Draft Pick 4 Sandover Medalist?
Don't know if i should be saying very clever or very dumb! Given the context it was placed in anyone would asume he ment draft pick 4.
Then again if i had of thought about the dons have draft pick Two in the draft dont they, you guys were 15 or 14th?
Don't know if i should be saying very clever or very dumb! Given the context it was placed in anyone would asume he ment draft pick 4.
Then again if i had of thought about the dons have draft pick Two in the draft dont they, you guys were 15 or 14th?
I think he meant 4th round pick
mcphee_is_a_gun
23 Sep 2006, 19:22
I think he meant 4th round pick
I thought he meant for
i think you're right actually
Kaitsey
23 Sep 2006, 20:03
no way man hes ours
I did mean FOR and still believe Priddis should be a target for us but by the sounds of some he is happy in WA,but who knows what he might think if Essesndon offered him a chance.
Kaitsey
26 Sep 2006, 16:46
i seriously dont think priddis wants to leave west coast. plus why would west coast trade i solid young player, who can slot into the side when need be... for a 4th round pick??? do we need to trade him? no, there you go.
U are just afraid the word might get out about Priddis(dont blame ya).WC are just keeping him by the way side and hoping he dosn't get approached by any other clubs and next year when injuries and poor form rear their ugly head,he will be the first to be brought in.
Worsfold likes his men to be big and hard and Priddis is a bit skinny at the moment,so is Rosa.Thats why Rosa didn't get to play as much as he would like this year.
Woosha only brings him on to give judd and co a rest