BOMBERSG8
21 Sep 2006, 09:44
no

shouldn't you be studying?

Can you name one player that can hold down that position 4 the whole year

wazzabp
21 Sep 2006, 09:59
Can you name one player that can hold down that position 4 the whole year

Jason Cloke is useless as hip pockets on a singlet, his only good footy was played as a loose man on the last line of defence.:thumbsd:

We'd be better of chasing Polak or Bradshaw.

dave_27
21 Sep 2006, 10:14
He isnt a KP defenders a--hole.

NO.

mike14
21 Sep 2006, 10:16
Please God no. I don't think I could stand the sight of a Cloke wearing the red and black, especially Jason. I hate that guy with a passion

Jaymin
21 Sep 2006, 10:16
Get rid of Bolton....get in Jason Cloke.

Its all making sense.

Longy413
21 Sep 2006, 10:30
I don't think he's all that bad, I think he cops an unfair deal because of his name.

That being said, he's not a CHB.

thebigboy
21 Sep 2006, 10:37
No thanks

judburyjets
21 Sep 2006, 10:44
I don't think he's all that bad, I think he cops an unfair deal because of his name.

That being said, he's not a CHB.

Whats wrong with the name Jason? I don't think it is a bad name...

whirl
21 Sep 2006, 10:45
If you can afford to let him play to his strengths, which is drifting around the backline, reading the play well enough to take plenty of defensive marks he's okay. However he struggles to look after a man so it's hard to see him being a CHB, and as such we REALLY need a CHB who can restrict his direct opponent. We have McPhee to do the Cloke thing.

Longy413
21 Sep 2006, 10:46
Whats wrong with the name Jason? I don't think it is a bad name...

Very good...:thumbsu:

blumfieldisback
21 Sep 2006, 10:53
yeah well i heard from a former collingwood player that the clokes are arrogant wa--ers, and on that proviso we have said we will only draft good quality people to our club.

Also as mentioned earlier he gets found out when manned up and after the 2004 grand final doesn't live up to pressures of the big games.

I think we should pursue polak or thornton, id even go to say we should have a crack at tarrant and use his mobility around the ground, with him and luca on either sides of the flanks they could possibly play as extra tall midfielders. It may even help that tarrant and soloman are back together as team mates.

Sam the RAMA fan
21 Sep 2006, 12:31
No thanks,
but if does come to Essendon,I'm sure we would grow to like him..:(

Bradshaw would be alright,
but he'll be 28-29?
A few years left in him you would hope.
I think Brisbane will keep bugging him to sign up again..
but if he wants to return to Melb..you just never know..

Big John
21 Sep 2006, 13:28
Could never grow to like Cloke.

He is the most useless player. He is a defender that can't play on a man. And he's not skilled enough to burn the opposition the other way.

Merv
21 Sep 2006, 13:37
No thanks.
Make a serious play for Thornton or Bradshaw, havent seen enough of Polak?

Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 14:35
Well, we're in very nice position. Not only in the national draft but in the pre-season draft. We're going to two REALLY talented kids plus a couple of very good trades.

I would go for Cloke over Bradshaw as a CHB. Bradshaw is a prodiminately a FF in my opinion. He doesn't have the build to consistently play CHB for the next 4-5 years. What is he, say coming onto 30? You can't start playing CHB consistently at the age of 28-30. Especially whilst moving clubs.

Cloke was obviously a very good player. He was the CHB in two final series where Collingwood were quite close to snaring a flag off Brisbane. Sure, he hasn't had the greatest of seasons but then again he could be a good plus to our backline. We really do need another CHB. Lee will take time to come through as will Keplar. It will be interesting to see which way Sheedy goes in the pre-season draft.

Amongst all our hate for Cloke (as he is from Collingwood) lets face it, he could become a very good player at the Bombers.

Thornton isn't an option i don't think. If Carlton gave him up it would be a joke.

And finally, Polak. I would love to see this guy down at the Bombers. He reads the game quite well and is a real talent with many years ahead of him.

Between all three being Bradshaw, Cloke, Polak, i'd go for Polak just ahead of Cloke. Polak would be more suited to Sheedy's structure.

Possibly we will give up the likes of Solly and Bolton (if we can get anything for them) plus a couple of young guys for whatever trades we decide to make. I can't wait for trade week.

Merv
21 Sep 2006, 15:02
Well, we're in very nice position. Not only in the national draft but in the pre-season draft. We're going to two REALLY talented kids plus a couple of very good trades.

I would go for Cloke over Bradshaw as a CHB. Bradshaw is a prodiminately a FF in my opinion. He doesn't have the build to consistently play CHB for the next 4-5 years. What is he, say coming onto 30? You can't start playing CHB consistently at the age of 28-30. Especially whilst moving clubs.

Cloke was obviously a very good player. He was the CHB in two final series where Collingwood were quite close to snaring a flag off Brisbane. Sure, he hasn't had the greatest of seasons but then again he could be a good plus to our backline. We really do need another CHB. Lee will take time to come through as will Keplar. It will be interesting to see which way Sheedy goes in the pre-season draft.

Amongst all our hate for Cloke (as he is from Collingwood) lets face it, he could become a very good player at the Bombers.

Thornton isn't an option i don't think. If Carlton gave him up it would be a joke.

And finally, Polak. I would love to see this guy down at the Bombers. He reads the game quite well and is a real talent with many years ahead of him.

Between all three being Bradshaw, Cloke, Polak, i'd go for Polak just ahead of Cloke. Polak would be more suited to Sheedy's structure.

Possibly we will give up the likes of Solly and Bolton (if we can get anything for them) plus a couple of young guys for whatever trades we decide to make. I can't wait for trade week.

He doesn't have the build to consistently play CHB for the next 4-5 years.

Mate, if he doesnt have the build to play CHB, then who does, hes built like a tank and is probably 6ft2-4...i don't know for sure, cbf looking it up

Cloke was obviously a very good player. He was the CHB in two final series where Collingwood were quite close to snaring a flag off Brisbane. Sure, he hasn't had the greatest of seasons but then again he could be a good plus to our backline. We really do need another CHB

Cloke had 1 good year, where he was a loose floating backman who was usually the third man up to spoil and help team mates.
Once other clubs worked out how he played and manned up on him or dragged him to another position, he bacame redundant.
He has had 2 really poor years in a row now and imo is extremely average.

I doubt we will get him, but if Essendon believe he can help our backline, we should do everything we can to either force them to trade him or get him in the PSD.
I'm not sure if he can play CHB, but he is a very very good FB and is 22.
Instant replacement for Fletcher, but i hope that is a looong way off

GO GET THORNTON

Matt12
21 Sep 2006, 15:05
Mate, if he doesnt have the build to play CHB, then who does, hes built like a tank and is probably 6ft2-4...i don't know for sure, cbf looking it up

Cloke had 1 good year, where he was a loose floating backman who was usually the third man up to spoil and help team mates.
Once other clubs worked out how he played and manned up on him or dragged him to another position, he bacame redundant.

I doubt we will get him, but if Essendon believe he can help our backline, we should do everything we can to either force them to trade him or get him in the PSD.

GO GET THORNTON

Dont be surprise if a one J Cloke ends up a Richmond

Merv
21 Sep 2006, 15:06
Dont be surprise if a one J Cloke ends up a Richmond

I hope so

Matt12
21 Sep 2006, 15:08
I hope so

And also from the same rumour mill, Richmond will also get Kent Kingsley

danzan22
21 Sep 2006, 15:10
cloke is a dud, lets try and get thornton

mickyt888
21 Sep 2006, 15:35
we dont need a chb! are draft pick 2 will be more than enough to cover that.

Merv
21 Sep 2006, 15:39
we dont need a chb! are draft pick 2 will be more than enough to cover that.

So you expect a 17 or 18 year old kid to come in and play CHB straight away?
You have no idea mate

BTW, the word is our not are

Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 15:51

GO GET THORNTON
Bradshaw has played his best footy at FF. You don't recruit a FF to play consistenly at CHB. You just don't do it.

Don't be so smug about Cloke as well. The guy has talent and look at what McPhee has done off half back since Sheedy saw he had talent and recruited him. I reckon Cloke could do the same.
He had more than one good season, don't be so harsh just because he plays for Collingwood.

Thornton, sure, i would want to recruit him. However, why would Carlton give him up? They won't, there is NO WAY they would end up giving him up unless they got a very good quality defender through a different trade.

mickyt888
21 Sep 2006, 16:01
So you expect a 17 or 18 year old kid to come in and play CHB straight away?
You have no idea mate

BTW, the word is our not are

lolk my mistake should have thought about that before i said anything dah.
but i would rather risk a 17/18yr old play then have that big dud playing in are 1st team we already have most likely mad a mistake with cole!

Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 16:07
lolk my mistake should have thought about that before i said anything dah.
but i would rather risk a 17/18yr old play then have that big dud playing in are 1st team we already have most likely mad a mistake with cole!
Cole was struck down with injury. Theres not much you can do about that, he was unlucky. He CAME to the Bombers injured. That decision can be questioned because who recruits an injured player? Well, we recruited McPhee whilst he was out of the Freo team for a couple of years and look where his gone. :)

Cloke is different. He will be able to have a good pre-season wherever he goes, given that he does get traded.

Not sure Sheedy will want any talls though, we basically just want to get a couple of quality on ballers to help our kids out. In doing so we may have to give up a kid or two.

Merv
21 Sep 2006, 16:09
Bradshaw has played his best footy at FF. You don't recruit a FF to play consistenly at CHB. You just don't do it.

Don't be so smug about Cloke as well. The guy has talent and look at what McPhee has done off half back since Sheedy saw he had talent and recruited him. I reckon Cloke could do the same.
He had more than one good season, don't be so harsh just because he plays for Collingwood.

Thornton, sure, i would want to recruit him. However, why would Carlton give him up? They won't, there is NO WAY they would end up giving him up unless they got a very good quality defender through a different trade.

I agree that Bradshaw is a good FF, but he is also a very capable CHB.
You stated that he didn't have the build for a CHB?

Not sure why my reply is smug, but don't really care either way.
I don't agree with you that he has talent and gave my reasons why he doesn't, what are yours as to why he does?
He has not had more than 1 good season and i couldn't care less what team he comes from
I Don't hate Collingwood nearly as much as i hate Carlton, but i still wanted Campo.
I judge players on their ability and what they bring to a club, not who they play for.

Thornton, sure, i would want to recruit him. However, why would Carlton give him up? They won't, there is NO WAY they would end up giving him up unless they got a very good quality defender through a different trade

Highly unlikely we would get him, but it's not a matter of Carlton "giving him up" it's about us making an offer to him, far superior to Carltons that they are unable to or refuse to match.
That way we force them to trade him or he ends up in the PSD

Merv
21 Sep 2006, 16:13
Umm, Mods, is there any way a spellchecker could be incuded on the forum?
Maybe a simple spelling test before gaining membership?

I mean we all make typos etc, but some of the replies are almost unreadable.

Shedmania
21 Sep 2006, 16:21
Surely this thread should be about Polak? Surely.

Cloke is terrible. I will genuinely walk away from the game in disgust if Essendon seriously try to grab Jason Cloke. As for Bradshaw.....no. Did think about it for 5 seconds but no. Thornton might get 10 seconds thought before i remember that Essendon could try to go after a disgruntled Polak and any thoughts of Thornton are gone from my mind.

POLAK....SURELY.....

Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 16:27
I agree that Bradshaw is a good FF, but he is also a very capable CHB.
You stated that he didn't have the build for a CHB?

As i said previously, he is a FF, you can't play a FF at CHB for 22rounds.

And yes, he doesn't have the build for a CHB. He has a build of a FF because he was working his ass off in the gym over many summer's at Brisbane to become THEIR next FF and a solid replacement for Lynch.

You can't strip down to a CHB after becoming a FF your whole career. Especially whilst moving clubs as i also said earlier....

Your reply was smug as most people's are when discussing Collingwood or one of their players.

Cheers. :)

OldMav
21 Sep 2006, 16:30
Only reason we have seen the Clokes ever play AFL is because of their name simple as that. Let him get delisted and move into the football history books never to be seen again.

-mav

blumfieldisback
21 Sep 2006, 16:34

Cloke is terrible. I will genuinely walk away from the game in disgust if Essendon seriously try to grab Jason Cloke. As for Bradshaw.....no. Did think about it for 5 seconds but no. Thornton might get 10 seconds thought before i remember that Essendon could try to go after a disgruntled Polak and any thoughts of Thornton are gone from my mind.

POLAK....SURELY.....

hmm bradshaw no??? a player that can play back or forward and is capable of kicking 8 goals in a game, i think he would haveto come under consideration.
thornton who continually plays on the best forwrad week in week out in a terrible team that has an even worse backline has to be seriously considered too before polak. Polak has the potential but at what price, because there are a few clubs sniffing at his feet.

if any of those 3 players turned up at our club i would be extremely happy. however we only seem to attract the duds these days so dont be surprised to see cloke in the red and black and be a distinct failure.

Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 16:41
hmm bradshaw no??? a player that can play back or forward and is capable of kicking 8 goals in a game, i think he would haveto come under consideration.
thornton who continually plays on the best forwrad week in week out in a terrible team that has an even worse backline has to be seriously considered too before polak. Polak has the potential but at what price, because there are a few clubs sniffing at his feet.

if any of those 3 players turned up at our club i would be extremely happy. however we only seem to attract the duds these days so dont be surprised to see cloke in the red and black and be a distinct failure.

We don't need 8 goals a game. We already have two legends who are established at kicking goals and winning games. Lloyd and Lucas. There isn't any other room for a key forward in there besides maybe a Johns who can sort of play out of the pocket.
Bradshaw is like a LLloyd styled full forward, he demands to be leading from the goal-square, his a true FF. No way is there room for Bradshaw in our forward line.

And down back....You can't get a FF and turn him into a CHB just because his played a few good games in the backline. His just about or nearing 30, thats far too old to be switching around.

go_the_bombers
21 Sep 2006, 16:50
And down back....You can't get a FF and turn him into a CHB just because his played a few good games in the backline. His just about or nearing 30, thats far too old to be switching around.

He's 27 or 28 but who counting ;)

Jaymin
21 Sep 2006, 17:06
Only reason we have seen the Clokes ever play AFL is because of their name simple as that. Let him get delisted and move into the football history books never to be seen again.

-mav

Joel Reynolds syndrome?

Merv
21 Sep 2006, 17:13
As i said previously, he is a FF, you can't play a FF at CHB for 22rounds.

And yes, he doesn't have the build for a CHB. He has a build of a FF because he was working his ass off in the gym over many summer's at Brisbane to become THEIR next FF and a solid replacement for Lynch.

You can't strip down to a CHB after becoming a FF your whole career. Especially whilst moving clubs as i also said earlier....

Your reply was smug as most people's are when discussing Collingwood or one of their players.

Cheers. :)

Please do not profess to know my thoughts or feelings towards a club when you don't know me and havent been here long enough to see my replies to make a guess on my thoughts for Collingwood.
My reply was not smug at all it was my thoughts on a player, and as i said i have given my reasons as to why i believe he is no good, you still havent answered as to why he is good?

Why would he have to strip down to be a CHB?

He has not been a FF his whole career as Lynch played that role while he was there.
He has actually played more away from FF than he has at FF.
He has also played some very good games at CHB

DaSawx
21 Sep 2006, 17:14
Thornton is ahead of Polak easily at this stage and I'm not sure but might be younger and doesn't like to get high from what I understand. Thornton is really growing as a very good defender which is what we need, badly.
Who knows how much of a chance we really have of nabbing him but this thread should really be about Thornton

Thornton>Polak>Cloke

Merv
21 Sep 2006, 17:20
Thornton is ahead of Polak easily at this stage and I'm not sure but might be younger and doesn't like to get high from what I understand. Thornton is really growing as a very good defender which is what we need, badly.
Who knows how much of a chance we really have of nabbing him but this thread should really be about Thornton

Thornton>Polak>Cloke

Thornton>length of the straight>Bradshaw .....don't know enough about Polak

GET THORNTON

kelvin_sheedy
21 Sep 2006, 17:32

POLAK....SURELY.....

Don't think he's is completely terrible and he might provide some value to a club that needs some backup defenders but not for us. Bradshaw - same as Cloke no thank you.

I would take Thornton over Polak any day as I don't think Polak has the mental capacity to play AFL to his peek level.

Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 17:51
We're not recruiting Bradshaw. Simple.

We're not recruiting Thornton, Carlton will sign him up. Simple.

We may or may not recruit Cloke or Polak. They are far higher in possibilities.

Merv
21 Sep 2006, 17:56
We're not recruiting Bradshaw. Simple.

We're not recruiting Thornton, Carlton will sign him up. Simple.

We may or may not recruit Cloke or Polak. They are far higher in possibilities.

Glad to see things are so simple and straight forward with you.

I notice you havent responded at least twice now as to what Cloaks good qualities are...What?...not simple?

blumfieldisback
21 Sep 2006, 17:57
We don't need 8 goals a game. We already have two legends who are established at kicking goals and winning games. Lloyd and Lucas. There isn't any other room for a key forward in there besides maybe a Johns who can sort of play out of the pocket.
Bradshaw is like a LLloyd styled full forward, he demands to be leading from the goal-square, his a true FF. No way is there room for Bradshaw in our forward line.

first off lucas is far better of roaming the half forward line and pushing up to half back to hel the defense out and if lloyd or lucas go down next year as lloyd did this year it leaves a huge hole. I think our forwrad line has been predictable and our Half forward line has been a dismal failure. If we got bradshaw id almost play him from ff and puch lloyd to chf and interchange them during the game.

doesnt matter i dont believe bradshaw will leave brissy for essendon if anywhere he would go to the bulldogs or collingwood.

go_the_bombers
21 Sep 2006, 17:59
first off lucas is far better of roaming the half forward line and pushing up to half back to hel the defense out and if lloyd or lucas go down next year as lloyd did this year it leaves a huge hole. I think our forwrad line has been predictable and our Half forward line has been a dismal failure. If we got bradshaw id almost play him from ff and puch lloyd to chf and interchange them during the game.

doesnt matter i dont believe bradshaw will leave brissy for essendon if anywhere he would go to the bulldogs or collingwood.

Or the Hawks

Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 18:14

How can you say he's better at pushing back? He played as our CHF in a Premiership season and didn't you watch this season? :)

He was our leading goal kicker by a mile and kicked the most amount of goals he ever has in a season. Sure, it was because of Lloyd's absence. Nevertheless, we want him at CHF. Did i mention that he won the Best and Fairest this year? ;)

I do see your point though and it's quite valid in some ways. However, i feel that with Johns in that forward line too, there is no need for Lloyd, Lucas, Johns and Bradshaw. That would just be way too many talls and theres no way that Sheedy would do that.

----------------------------------------------------------

As for Jason Cloke.

He's played in big games on big time players. Collingwood weren't too far away from a Premiership with him as their CHB. He is a good one on one player. Sure, he gets beaten the odd time. Who doesn't EVER get beaten? Different story for Premiership sides as they ussualy get better cover and also their midfeild's are ussualy winning most of it which cuts down the supply that is thrown down back to the opposition forwards.

This debating is all in good fun and don't try and be too harsh at each other Neagle. :)

Merv
21 Sep 2006, 19:05
As for Jason Cloke.

He's played in big games on big time players. Collingwood weren't too far away from a Premiership with him as their CHB. He is a good one on one player. Sure, he gets beaten the odd time. Who doesn't EVER get beaten? Different story for Premiership sides as they ussualy get better cover and also their midfeild's are ussualy winning most of it which cuts down the supply that is thrown down back to the opposition forwards.

This debating is all in good fun and don't try and be too harsh at each other Neagle. :)

He is a good one on one player

He is actually a very poor one on one player and only plays well when he is allowed to roam around loose and not be responsible for a man.
This is why he is not getting a game with Collingwood as opposition teams have worked him out now.

This debating is all in good fun and don't try and be too harsh at each other Neagle

Yes debating can be good fun for sure.
I look forward when you produce a valid set of points and we can have a real debate.
Until then enjoy the school Holidays

Longy413
21 Sep 2006, 19:07
He is actually a very poor one on one player

One, C.Johns proved that.

Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 19:41
Dude...I have my opinion and you have yours. Sure, he got beaten a few times but he has shown he has talent.

He played on Jonathon Brown and did some good jobs when Brisbane were hot in that 3-4 year period. Thats not a bad accolade right there.

Your choosing the odd time his been beaten when his been coming back from injury.

I don't see any depth in your points mate. At least my points have a bit of structure about them.

Continue winging if you like or come back with some factual opinion.

Crave
21 Sep 2006, 19:45
Dude...I have my opinion and you have yours. Sure, he got beaten a few times but he has shown he has talent.

He played on Jonathon Brown and did some good jobs when Brisbane were hot in that 3-4 year period. Thats not a bad accolade right there.

Your choosing the odd time his been beaten when his been coming back from injury.

I don't see any depth in your points mate. At least my points have a bit of structure about them.

There's better out there though...Mal Michael for starters but we'd be silly not to at least look at the Clokes....preferrably Cameron. More scope to improve than Jason

Jasiano
21 Sep 2006, 21:05
There's better out there though...Mal Michael for starters but we'd be silly not to at least look at the Clokes....preferrably Cameron. More scope to improve than Jason
Mal Michael doesn't want to comitt to full training. Besides, his a full back that will be around for a couple of years. At full back we have Fletch.

Cameron Cloke isn't going to add to our list much. Sure, his got some talent and improvement but his a ruckman/forward, we don't need any of those at the momment.

We need a key CHB. And amongst what is out there the best two options in my opinion would be Polak or Jason Cloke.

Then again, we may just decide to continue the development of Keplar/Lee as our key CHB.

Can't wait for trade week!

blumfieldisback
21 Sep 2006, 23:17
How can you say he's better at pushing back? He played as our CHF in a Premiership season and didn't you watch this season? :)

He was our leading goal kicker by a mile and kicked the most amount of goals he ever has in a season. Sure, it was because of Lloyd's absence. Nevertheless, we want him at CHF. Did i mention that he won the Best and Fairest this year? ;)

I do see your point though and it's quite valid in some ways. However, i feel that with Johns in that forward line too, there is no need for Lloyd, Lucas, Johns and Bradshaw. That would just be way too many talls and theres no way that Sheedy would do that.

----------------------------------------------------------

As for Jason Cloke.

hmm yes i watch lucas this season and he was at his best when played as a roaming forwrad rather then playing a lloyd like cameo, so ill ask didn't you see lucas when he won a b&F in a year that we played in finals, he was at chb. seriously there wasn't much competition from a team that finished 15th to take the best and fairest off him. I love lucas but for the team to perform better we need his marking skills to help out the backline. Whenever our backline is in trouble it is much better for him to be on the wing to help relive the pressure, with his long kicking it gets the ball quicker into lloyd, johns and co. He then is very dangerous around the forward 50 arc. Lloyd is our one on one opponent lucas is not, it is not his strength.

and apart from clokes first season i have not seen him perform admirably in big games, he will go to richmond hopefully, thornton and polak would be much much better.

Merv
22 Sep 2006, 00:01

Mate,
You don't see any depth to my points?
here is a tip, open your other eye.

I pointed out to you earlier that he used to play as a loose man , was third up in the contests to help his fellow backmen and had the loose balls dished out to him.
Once opposition teams worked this out they manned up on him or dragged him to a different position, thus making him redundant.

You have stated all along that he is a good one on one player and that just shows that you don't know what you are talking about on this matter.
It is common knowledge in the football community that Jason Cloak is a very good loose backman/spare man in defense when allowed to play that role and that's why he played some great games, once exposed for what he is, he was finished unless he could change his game.So far he hasnt been able to.

Again wrong, i did not specify any occasions but spoke about his game on the whole.He is loose and a very average at best footballer.

Continue winging if you like or come back with some factual opinion

I cbf looking up his stats and his opponents stats.If you can go for it

I havent whinged once i am just pointing out the holes in your argument.
Ever hear the saying, leaking like a sieve?
Maybe not as you are probably too young, But EXTREMELY wise for one of your age.

Again, enjoy the school holidays

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 02:18
Theres no DOUBT that Cloke played that spare man in defence role very well. However, i personally have seen and been at games (not only bombers games) where he has taken quality opposition (ie. Jonathan Brown) and done quite well. YOUR going on his past season when playing one on one with his opposition. Your ONLY judging him on his bad games which is ridiculous and pointless.

You should be judging him on his career, not his past season as we're discussing him as a player not as a player in one particular season.

We're all here for the same reasons. We all love the Bombers. Stop trying to belittle me and grow up mate.

ant555
22 Sep 2006, 09:53
Theres no DOUBT that Cloke played that spare man in defence role very well. However, i personally have seen and been at games (not only bombers games) where he has taken quality opposition (ie. Jonathan Brown) and done quite well. YOUR going on his past season when playing one on one with his opposition. Your ONLY judging him on his bad games which is ridiculous and pointless.

You should be judging him on his career, not his past season as we're discussing him as a player not as a player in one particular season.

We're all here for the same reasons. We all love the Bombers. Stop trying to belittle me and grow up mate.

I dont know but after reading all of this one could come to the conclusion that if you dont like someone having a shot at your arguments then you shouldnt be using a footy forum ;)

As for Jason Cloke he is not a genuine CHB. He is very good at playing the spare man/third man up role but if you man make him accountable he isnt as effective.He did have a very good patch for around a year and a half but he has only produced inconsistant footy at best in the last two years .
And before you start having a shot at me for being smug and anti Collingwood i am basing my opinion on the many games i have seen him play (being an AFL member i get to most friday and saturday night games as well as the Essendon ones) at AFL level and a few for Williamstown as well.
I can see some merit in recruiting him but not as our CHB hope.

blumfieldisback
22 Sep 2006, 10:27
Merv im not going to quote your reply to jasiano but i totally agree with you, i cant remember too many matches J.Cloke has played one on one anyway.

Longy413
22 Sep 2006, 10:32
Watch the first half of Essendon v Collingwood last time out to see how well J.Cloke goes one on one.

Jex
22 Sep 2006, 10:43
We have enough defenders that don't defend...and better ones than Cloke. I hope the club aren't as stupid as some of our supporters are. Although recruiting Justin Murphy proves they might be at least a little bit stupid.

DaSawx
22 Sep 2006, 10:50
We have enough defenders that don't defend...and better ones than Cloke. I hope the club aren't as stupid as some of our supporters are. Although recruiting Justin Murphy proves they might be at least a little bit stupid.

Justin Murphy helped us play finals (which is what we should be striving for every single year) and was the best player in those finals and all we gave up was Corey McGrath, there's been a lot worse than Justin Murphy, namely Ty Zantuck

Jex
22 Sep 2006, 11:44
Justin Murphy helped us play finals (which is what we should be striving for every single year) and was the best player in those finals and all we gave up was Corey McGrath, there's been a lot worse than Justin Murphy, namely Ty Zantuck

Admittedly, Murphy was good in one of those finals...not both, as his "best finals player" award would suggest. His first year was ok (nothing special though), but his second was awful. McGrath should've been delisted anyway.

Recruiting Zantuck was a bad move, but with a dearth of key defensive options at the club, they decided to take a punt on him. At least they had the sense to realise their mistake and chopped him quickly.

Camporeale looks another poor choice in the making. Nothing wrong with his attitude, but lots wrong with his hamstrings and big salary. Hopefully we don’t miss out on good recruit because of the salary cap whilst overpaying Campo.

DaSawx
22 Sep 2006, 11:50
Admittedly, Murphy was good in one of those finals...not both, as his "best finals player" award would suggest. His first year was ok (nothing special though), but his second was awful. McGrath should've been delisted anyway.

Recruiting Zantuck was a bad move, but with a dearth of key defensive options at the club, they decided to take a punt on him. At least they had the sense to realise their mistake and chopped him quickly.

Camporeale looks another poor choice in the making. Nothing wrong with his attitude, but lots wrong with his hamstrings and big salary. Hopefully we don’t miss out on good recruit because of the salary cap whilst overpaying Campo.

If McGrath was going to be delisted anyway then it was a good trade, Murph played well for 1 1/2 years and added a bit to the midfield.

Campo had added a lot to the club even when he isn't playing, he teaches the kids a lot, sure he gets paid a bit but we were desperate for some experince in the middle and we are a lot better for it, I'm positive he will play well next year.

The fact that Sheeds told players not to sign with clubs so we could throw money around suggests we have a bit of money to spend, as we should because the list needs improving.

When only half of Hird's salary counts and Fletch's too if I'm not mistaken and a lot of your better players are young you should have quite a bit of spare room under the cap

Jex
22 Sep 2006, 12:06
If McGrath was going to be delisted anyway then it was a good trade, Murph played well for 1 1/2 years and added a bit to the midfield.

Still would've prefered neither of them.

But I agree on what you say about Campo. I don't mind him, but when you recruit a 31 year old and he struggles to get his body right, it's hard to think positively about it.

DaSawx
22 Sep 2006, 12:12
Still would've prefered neither of them.

But I agree on what you say about Campo. I don't mind him, but when you recruit a 31 year old and he struggles to get his body right, it's hard to think positively about it.

It is hard to think positively but we did draft 5 kids and add 2 more promoting Andy Lovett and NLM. Sure Campo might have been a gamble but we needed his experience and we got him for nothing in the PSD, he may not have got onto the field as much as we would have liked but his teachings have been invaluable, odds are he won't be as injured next season, lets hope he proves us right

Merv
22 Sep 2006, 13:28

Jasiano....This will be my last reply to this thread, as it's pointless now.

Incorrect....i am judging him on hiw whole career.
The fact of the matter is that his best football was played in his early years, and as has been pointed out already, once teams wised up how to play him he became redundant.
His last 3 years have been ordinary.

We're all here for the same reasons. We all love the Bombers. Stop trying to belittle me and grow up mate

You accused me of providing a smug answer, when i didn't, you accused me of not viewing him correctly because he was a Collingwood player, when you firstly don't know me and secondly havent been here long enough to make a judgement on my replies as to whether i am a Collingwood basher or not.

You have many ideas and some of them are fine, i was pointing out where you were wrong about your suggestion that Cloak is a good 1 on 1 player.
You also said Bradshaw didn't have the build for CHB, where i would suggest it's fine, but funnily enough not a massive difference in build from Cloak.
The school holidays stuff is a subtle dig at you that you are young and probably don't know as much as you would like to think you do.
Theres another old saying, "You can't buy experience"

Anyways you have seen the replies from the other members here agreeing that hes not a 1 on 1 player, so hopefuly you take that on board and lets leave it there.

Cheers mate

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 13:29
I dont know but after reading all of this one could come to the conclusion that if you dont like someone having a shot at your arguments then you shouldnt be using a footy forum ;)

As for Jason Cloke he is not a genuine CHB. He is very good at playing the spare man/third man up role but if you man make him accountable he isnt as effective.He did have a very good patch for around a year and a half but he has only produced inconsistant footy at best in the last two years .
And before you start having a shot at me for being smug and anti Collingwood i am basing my opinion on the many games i have seen him play (being an AFL member i get to most friday and saturday night games as well as the Essendon ones) at AFL level and a few for Williamstown as well.
I can see some merit in recruiting him but not as our CHB hope.
Forums are about everyone expressing their opinion/s. Not trying to be a smart alec and saying "enjoy your school holidays".

footy_rulz
22 Sep 2006, 13:31
OMG!!! Good Luck mate if you want Jason Cloke playing at CHB for you next year!

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 13:32
I'm not SAYING THAT!!!

I'm just saying that his a much better option than Bradshaw back there.

1) he has more experience back there.
2) he's played their in Grand Finals.
3) his build and agility suits CHB much better than Bradshaw.
4) Bradshaw is a FF or FP.

:thumbsu:

ant555
22 Sep 2006, 13:41
Forums are about everyone expressing their opinion/s. Not trying to be a smart alec and saying "enjoy your school holidays".

They are also not about calling the first person who challenges your views smug and telling him his views are biased because he dislikes Collingwood ;)

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 13:42
They are also not about calling the first person who challenges your views smug and telling him his views are biased because he dislikes Collingwood ;)
haha, true true.

Put it this way, as George Bush would say, "they started attacking us".

:D

Longy413
22 Sep 2006, 13:59

He was suspended for the first one and played at CHF in the second and was absolutely destroyed, leading Malthouse to say his previous GF was better.

He's only 189cm's.

Crave
22 Sep 2006, 14:03
Jason has been struggling for several years after an impressive start to his career. Id imagine Malthouse has been around long enough to know who has the potential to help them move forward. J Cloke is to Collingwood what Bolts is to us and thats an insult to Bolts. I wouldnt be opposed to the club speaking to Cameron on the other hand...my query would be on his attitude more than anything else.

Jex
22 Sep 2006, 14:04

:D He played in the 2003 GF and Malthouse said he played better the year before (a game he missed through suspension!!).

Bradshaw is better in any position and I doubt his dad is as big a d***head as Cloke Snr is.

Keep the rubbish out of my footy club. I prefer Henneman any day. Hell, you can even bring back Lalich, McAlister or Merryweather before any of the brothers Cloke.

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 14:08
:D He played in the 2003 GF and Malthouse said he played better the year before (a game he missed through suspension!!).

Bradshaw is better in any position and I doubt his dad is as big a d***head as Cloke Snr is.

Keep the rubbish out of my footy club. I prefer Henneman any day. Hell, you can even bring back Lalich, McAlister or Merryweather before any of the brothers Cloke.
Your right and i knew someone would say that. Nevertheless, Cloke played in two big final series and did miss that Grand Final due to suspension.

Henneman...Oh god. How many chances has that guy had in just about every key position down the spine? Ruck included!

I just can't see it...Recruiting a FF to player CHB. Not going to happen.

Actually, talking of ex players who never made it. Jordan Doering has had a very, very good last couple of seasons in the VFL. Playing at CHB and running off his opponents with great agility setting up attacks.

Longy413
22 Sep 2006, 14:09
You mean HBF right?

I don't think Jordan knows the meaning of playing on an opponent.

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 14:11
You mean HBF right?

Well yeah. He did play on some CHF's though.

Crave
22 Sep 2006, 14:16
You mean HBF right?

There were big wraps on his season last year (2005) though from memory. Correct me if Im wrong.

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 14:20
There were big wraps on his season last year (2005) though from memory. Correct me if Im wrong.
You're correct.

He made the VFL 2005 team, played in that interstate clash the SANFL? Or was it the WAFL they played?

Anyway, he made the "ALL VFL 2005 TEAM". As for this season, he wasn't AS good. Well, Bendigo had a pretty average year thats for sure.

Doubt he'll make it this year.

Longy413
22 Sep 2006, 14:24
Doering is a fantastic VFL player, but he plays loose most of the time. He isn't a traditional defender, he reads the play well but the game at that level is played at his pace.

I'm not sure he wouldn't get exposed playing that position/role at AFL level.

Crave
22 Sep 2006, 14:28
Doering is a fantastic VFL player, but he plays loose most of the time. He isn't a traditional defender, he reads the play well but the game at that level is played at his pace.

I'm not sure he wouldn't get exposed playing that position/role at AFL level.

Very similar to Julian Kirzner also

blumfieldisback
22 Sep 2006, 14:33
Your right and i knew someone would say that. Nevertheless, Cloke played in two big final series and did miss that Grand Final due to suspension.

Henneman...Oh god. How many chances has that guy had in just about every key position down the spine? Ruck included!

I just can't see it...Recruiting a FF to player CHB. Not going to happen.

Actually, talking of ex players who never made it. Jordan Doering has had a very, very good last couple of seasons in the VFL. Playing at CHB and running off his opponents with great agility setting up attacks.

listen mate, bradshaw is more then capable of playing chb then inch hitting at chf which would provide more value to our team then cloke thats what everyone is pointing too. You know lepptisch was a full forwrad before matthews went to brisbane, carey played CHB for north adelaide before joining the roos, jason dunstall and ableet were played across half forward before becoming two of the greatest. you obviously havn't researched this argument enough or have only just started watching footy from round 15 this year???????????????????

hmm steve silvagni full back of the century well he would never have been if you had been coach???????????????

footy_rulz
22 Sep 2006, 14:39
I'm not SAYING THAT!!!

I'm just saying that his a much better option than Bradshaw back there.

1) he has more experience back there.
4) Bradshaw is a FF or FP.

:thumbsu:

Yes but what did he do in those Grand Final"s"? He played one of them in 2003 at CHF and played a dog of a game. I remember Mick Malthouse saying after the game he played better the year before in the GF than htis year (2003)!

bradrowe#32
22 Sep 2006, 14:45
I don't think Cloke is as bad as everyone thinks. This year, he had a fantastic pre-season, got super fit and then didn't get his chances. And when he did play, Malthouse played him out of position, such as the time he played on (and got murdered) Pavlich. He does have some very good match-ups however, such as Aaron Hamill.

He only played 7 games this year and of those, 3 times he had more than 18 disposals and 10 marks. As with all trades, if you can get him for a good price, then I think you should.

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 14:57
I don't think Cloke is as bad as everyone thinks. This year, he had a fantastic pre-season, got super fit and then didn't get his chances. And when he did play, Malthouse played him out of position, such as the time he played on (and got murdered) Pavlich. He does have some very good match-ups however, such as Aaron Hamill.

He only played 7 games this year and of those, 3 times he had more than 18 disposals and 10 marks. As with all trades, if you can get him for a good price, t
hen I think you should.

And i'm sure you'd agree it is a much better option than getting Bradshaw to play at CHB?

bradrowe#32
22 Sep 2006, 15:15
And i'm sure you'd agree it is a much better option than getting Bradshaw to play at CHB?

I would probably agree with that. Bradshaw is a pretty decent CHB. Cloke is 4-5 years younger than Bradshaw, which may suit Essendon's youth policy better.

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 15:21
listen mate, bradshaw is more then capable of playing chb then inch hitting at chf which would provide more value to our team then cloke thats what everyone is pointing too. You know lepptisch was a full forwrad before matthews went to brisbane, carey played CHB for north adelaide before joining the roos, jason dunstall and ableet were played across half forward before becoming two of the greatest. you obviously havn't researched this argument enough or have only just started watching footy from round 15 this year???????????????????

hmm steve silvagni full back of the century well he would never have been if you had been coach???????????????
I see your point.

Silvagni stayed at the same club though. He wasn't traded to play at a completely different position than his best. Also, his build suited FB and that's why he was given the oppertunity there. Also, Silvagni was still a young player. Bradshaw is 27/28? Too late, especially in modern day footy.

Bradshaw in my opinion is such a typical FF that it would be a mistake to recruit someone like that at this stage. Look at how many big quality talls we have up forward. Lloyd, Lucas, Johns. Hird also plays pretty tall.

So if we did get him it would be as a CHB, and just about that only.

Would be such a gamble.

Jex
22 Sep 2006, 15:31
I see your point.

Silvagni stayed at the same club though. He wasn't traded to play at a completely different position than his best. Also, his build suited FB and that's why he was given the oppertunity there. Also, Silvagni was still a young player. Bradshaw is 27/28? Too late, especially in modern day footy.

Bradshaw in my opinion is such a typical FF that it would be a mistake to recruit someone like that at this stage. Look at how many big quality talls we have up forward. Lloyd, Lucas, Johns. Hird also plays pretty tall.

So if we did get him it would be as a CHB, and just about that only.

Would be such a gamble.

Whether Cloke is a better CHB than Bradshaw is irrelevent. He can play as a loose man in defence, but other than that, he's plops. I used the word plops, because it's school holidays.

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 16:05
Whether Cloke is a better CHB than Bradshaw is irrelevent. He can play as a loose man in defence, but other than that, he's plops. I used the word plops, because it's school holidays.
It's not irrelevent at all. We're comparing the two and seeing who would be best suited at CHB in our current team.

Jex
22 Sep 2006, 17:44
It's not irrelevent at all. We're comparing the two and seeing who would be best suited at CHB in our current team.

You can compare Cloke to anyone and everyone, but nothing will change the fact that he isn't (and never will be ) a good CHB.

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 18:37
You can compare Cloke to anyone and everyone, but nothing will change the fact that he isn't (and never will be ) a good CHB.
All i'm saying is the guy has more talent for CHB than Bradshaw and we'd be better of actually recruiting a CHB FOR CHB! Rather than Bradshaw who is a FF.

DaSawx
22 Sep 2006, 21:41
All i'm saying is the guy has more talent for CHB than Bradshaw and we'd be better of actually recruiting a CHB FOR CHB! Rather than Bradshaw who is a FF.

Then don't bother with either, I'd rather McPhee or even Kepler

Jasiano
23 Sep 2006, 01:02
Then don't bother with either, I'd rather McPhee or even Kepler
Agreed.

mickyt888
23 Sep 2006, 02:39
jason cloke it a dud jesus he isnt anywhere near as good to even make the collingwood team we dont need him! and dont want him. if he joinsessendon i will go watch essendon at telstra dome or mcg and be begging he breaks his arm or soemthing.

matty lloyd the champ
23 Sep 2006, 20:29
We need a CHB and his might not be at Collingwood next year
wat do u think

The last thing we need is a Collingwood dud (Jason Cloke) running around for Essendon.:mad:

Why would we replace Bolton when both of them are just as bad?
I would prefer Kepler Bradley, Mcphee over Cloke

Citizen Erased
30 Sep 2006, 12:02
OH MY GOD NOOOOOO! Not only is he missing a footy brain,he is missing one altogether!.....:mad: