View Full Version : Trades

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 17:43
Hi guys.

Would you accept this trade?

Thornton, Fisher and pick 19 for pick 4 and Sherman? If not Sherman then either Bradshaw or a pick in the 30s?

trueblue_91
21 Sep 2006, 17:45
Hi guys.

Thornton, Fisher and pick 19 for pick 4 and Sherman? If not Sherman then either Bradshaw or a pick in the 30s?

Brisbane will never give up Sherman.

How about THornton, fisher, pick 19 for pick 4 and a young backmen

Lady Lawrence
21 Sep 2006, 17:46
are you guys lost? :D

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 17:48
are you guys lost? :D

No, we just want your opinion.

Care to give us one?

Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 17:52

salad tongs

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 17:53
salad tongs

What??? :confused:

irel
21 Sep 2006, 17:54
No need to trade for them Jeremias. We'll pick one of them in the PSD.;)

Warwick
21 Sep 2006, 17:55
meat thermometer

Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 17:55
What??? :confused:

I mean meat thermometer.

Warwick
21 Sep 2006, 17:56
Then i mean salad tongs.

Make up your mind grim. :mad:

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 17:57
So..............are any of you guys actually going to answer my question?

Oh and thanks irel, but they will both be signed if they aren't traded :thumbsu:

Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 18:00
are any of you guys actually going to answer my question?

ask a silly question, get a silly answer.;)

Warwick
21 Sep 2006, 18:05
ask a silly question, get a silly answer.;)
If anyone wants a huge laugh have a look at what Carlton are prepared to take for Thornton. Some suggestions so far:

Jonathon Brown
Simon Black
Luke Power and a pick
Sherman and an early pick
Rischitelli and an early pick
Bradshaw and a pick
Brennan and a first rounder.

Seriously, i'm not joking - check their board. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=5866098#post5866098

Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 18:10
This isn't going to turn into another "Who is better: Judd or Thornton" thread is it:rolleyes:

xplo
21 Sep 2006, 18:46
Come on guys.

It's the 'SUUUUUUUPERdraft' and you're suggesting we would be tossing around pick 4 for anything, let alone a couple of 'honest' toilers in an ordinary side? And you want us to throw in Sherman and/or Bradshaw to sweeten the deal?

How many serious replies did you expect?
;)

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 18:56
Thornton isn't an honest toiler-very good young defender who would be very good for the Lions.

Guys, if you take those other people seriously, I feel sorry for you. Of course we aren't expecting Brown or Black or anyoe of their calibre in return. But we do expect something good back in return.

Do you have any suggestions? Fisher is also tradeable.

trueblue_91
21 Sep 2006, 18:56
I understand that some of the trades people are saying are ridiculous.

How about Thronton, Fisher and pick 17 for pick 4. Would u guys want that or another pick or player?

Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 18:59
I'll swap you Mal for pick 17.

You have not got anything that we would give up pick 4 for. We would take Murphy, but he doesn't want to come here.

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 19:01
I'll swap you Mal for pick 17.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

:D :D :D

PLEASE tell me that you are joking!?!?!?!?!?!?!!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!

:o

Warwick
21 Sep 2006, 19:01
Take a look at Lethal's recent trading history. We have not come off badly in one single trade with him in charge. That gives you a fair idea what you could expect from Brisbane.

Sherman and pick 4 are untouchable. If you want to start talking about that sort of currency, start talking about your pick 1 and Murphy.

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 19:03
Sherman and pick 4 are untouchable. If you want to start talking about that sort of currency, start talking about your pick 1 and Murphy.

Why?

Murphy is clearly better than Sherman, and pick 1 is more valuable than pick 4. What would we do that for?

Warwick
21 Sep 2006, 19:04

Jeremias you have no idea. No offence, you don't sound like a complete simpleton, but really you have no idea about trading. To get something decent, you have to give something decent. Have a look at another thread you started: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=269393

People laughed in your face there as well. What could this possibly tell you?

Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 19:07

It seems pretty obvious that you won't accept anything unless the trade is heavily weighted in your favour.

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 19:11
I will accept a trade that is fair for both sides.

Suggesting that Mal for pick 19 is fair for both sides is ludicrous.

And Warwick, FWIW, some of those trades are very fair, but if you don't accept it then so be it. Are you telling me that noone has ever disageed with you on here? Not worried about that at all.

TheBrownDog
21 Sep 2006, 19:14
Sorry but your players have the unmistakable stench of wooden spoon.

Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 19:16

You need experienced defenders to lead the way and help develop the younger players. If you go for a complete youth policy, the players will take longer to develop. Onfield leadership is very important for guys at the moment.

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 19:18
You need experienced defenders to lead the way and help develop the younger players. If you go for a complete youth policy, the players will take longer to develop. Onfield leadership is very important for guys at the moment.

Mal may only have 1 year left in him. He is a good player, but goes against everything that we are wanting in a footy team. Sorry, but he is too old. And he is definitely NOT worth pick 19, especially in this years draft.

John
21 Sep 2006, 19:19
If anyone wants a huge laugh have a look at what Carlton are prepared to take for Thornton. Some suggestions so far:

Jonathon Brown
Simon Black
Luke Power and a pick
Bradshaw and a pick

Seriously, i'm not joking - check their board. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=5866098#post5866098

They are living in a fantasy land. As I have said before I have no worries about discussion on trades and someone somewhere on bigfooty will no doubt get one right but the majority of us, 99%, talk crap and know nothing. Straight swaps for these 2, Jonathon Brown and Simon Black are not only fantasy but delusional.

Warwick
21 Sep 2006, 19:21
I will accept a trade that is fair for both sides.

And Warwick, FWIW, some of those trades are very fair, but if you don't accept it then so be it. Are you telling me that noone has ever disageed with you on here? Not worried about that at all.
I have never suggested a trade to another team for a number of reasons:

1. I understand i have an attachment to our players, and as such, feel I would be biased (just like it seems you are).
2. There is no point discussing trades like these because every team wants to come out in front on the deal.
3. I don't know what Lethal is thinking in terms of trading (i.e. who is expendable, what type of player he is looking for etc)
4. Every club on here seems to be "rebuilding" or going with a "youth culture", despite their recent trading history.
5. How many trades are their each year? 4, maybe 5? I doubt this year will be any different, particularly with a strong draft. Coaches aren't stupid - they don't offer up a lot of loose change to get a higher pick or a superior player. They trade players of equal standing most of the time.
6. Whatever happens on BigFooty has no bearing on what coaches are thinking.

You are not going to get any respect by coming on this board and offering ridiculous trades which will never happen. As i said, take a look a Lethal's recent trading history. He was not born yesterday.

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 19:22
They are living in a fantasy land. As I have said before I have no worries about discussion on trades and someone somewhere on bigfooty will no doubt get one right but the majority of us, 99%, talk crap and know nothing. Straight swaps for these 2, Jonathon Brown and Simon Black are not only fantasy but delusional.

Of course they are, and I highly doubt that they were being serious. Of course we do not seriously expect those players in return, thats just ridiculous. But we do want good players, if we give something good we expect something equally as good in return.

Warwick
Mal may only have 1 year left in him. He is a good player, but goes against everything that we are wanting in a footy team. Sorry, but he is too old. And he is definitely NOT worth pick 19, especially in this years draft.
So what makes you think we would give up pick 4 plus a player, when we could draft a far superior player to Thornton, Fisher and co?

Grimreepah

Mal needs a change from Brisbane. If he goes down to Melbourne he could have a few more excellent years left in him. And he is exactly what you need. It could be the best recruiting decision since we got Pike in 2000.

John
21 Sep 2006, 19:23
Why?

Murphy is clearly better than Sherman, and pick 1 is more valuable than pick 4. What would we do that for?

Based on what?

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 19:25
Based on what?

It is clear that Murphy is better than Sherman. Don't get me wrong, I really like Sherman and think he will be an excellent player, but Murph has shown that he has what it takes to be a star. Not many would dispute that.

And do you really want me to explain why pick 1 is more valuable than pick 4?

Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 19:26
The one thing I have noticed on BigFooty is that people will offer a crap player as a sweetener to a trade deal.

FFS that makes it worse.

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 19:26
Mal needs a change from Brisbane. If he goes down to Melbourne he could have a few more excellent years left in him. And he is exactly what you need. It could be the best recruiting decision since we got Pike in 2000.

Mal would stymie the development of other youngsters. Mal would be an excellent short term solution to some of our on field problems, but the Carlton Football Club would much prefer to look to solve our problems for the long term.

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 19:27
The one thing I have noticed on BigFooty is that people will offer a crap player as a sweetener to a trade deal.

FFS that makes it worse.

Which crap player was included in my trade?

Warwick
21 Sep 2006, 19:27
It is clear that Murphy is better than Sherman. Don't get me wrong, I really like Sherman and think he will be an excellent player, but Murph has shown that he has what it takes to be a star. Not many would dispute that.

No, but i would like you to explain the bolded section a little better.

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 19:29
So what makes you think we would give up pick 4 plus a player, when we could draft a far superior player to Thornton, Fisher and co?

Thornton would be a long term solution to your defense. Roe and Thornton would make a killer combination for many years to come.

Fisher has the best hands down at the club that I have seen in a very very long time. would help out your forward line immensely and would take some of the pressure of Bradshaw. Would be a great 3rd tall behind Brown and Bradshaw.

Which would you prefer: 1 possible star, or 2 very very good players, who are still young, and will be around the club for a long time?

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 19:30
No, but i would like you to explain the bolded section a little better.

You don't think Murphy is better than Sherman?

That wouldn't happen to be caused by ignorance or sour grapes, would it? :rolleyes:

Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 19:32
Thornton would be a long term solution to your defense. Roe and Thornton would make a killer combination for many years to come.

Pretty sure I saw a poll on BigFooty that determined Thornton was considered the 16th best fullback in the competition.

Thornton will never be a killer key defender. He is an honest trier.

Fisher has the best hands down at the club that I have seen in a very very long time. would help out your forward line immensely and would take some of the pressure of Bradshaw. Would be a great 3rd tall behind Brown and Bradshaw.

We have Brown, Bradshaw and Clark as key forwards. This is not the area we need to address.

John
21 Sep 2006, 19:33
Of course they are, and I highly doubt that they were being serious. Of course we do not seriously expect those players in return, thats just ridiculous. But we do want good players, if we give something good we expect something equally as good in return.

And that is why my fellow Red Devil I do not get heavily involved in these type of discussions as they are a waste. Now players who are chance to be drafted is another matter.

Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 19:34

That wouldn't happen to be caused by ignorance or sour grapes, would it? :rolleyes:

Statistically Sherman is better. Statistics don't tell the whole story so you have the opportunity to present your case.

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 19:36
Pretty sure I saw a poll on BigFooty that determined Thornton was considered the 16th best fullback in the competition.

He is a very good defende. Has shown that for quite a few years, and he is only 22.

We have Brown, Bradshaw and Clark as key forwards. This is not the area we need to address.

How old is Bradshaw?

Brown, if he gets on the park is excellent. Howeverr, he is injured a lot, and is suspended often as well.

Clark is still young and unproven. Looks to be a good player, but will not be at his peak for a few years.

Fisher has the ability to play tall and small. 3rd or 4th defender would go on him, and he would be VERY damaging. Would push up to the wing often for his marks and deliver to Brown and co. in the forward line.

You could do a lot worse than take these 2.

John
21 Sep 2006, 19:36

Right. Sherman of course has not shown what it will take to be a star. :rolleyes:

FWIW both are young and exciting and have shown huge potential but as the old saying goes do count your chickens.........

trueblue_91
21 Sep 2006, 19:37

Thornton is more of a defender that takes the 3rd tall and no doubt he would be a gun of that. But because our defence is shocking he plays on the ebst full forward.

Jeremias
21 Sep 2006, 19:37
Statistically Sherman is better. Statistics don't tell the whole story so you have the opportunity to present your case.

Was Sherman being tagged by the oppositions best defender and beating them in the first half of his first season?

John
21 Sep 2006, 19:38

Not from me. Read my other post. Murphy and Shermo are not there yet.

John
21 Sep 2006, 19:41
Was Sherman being tagged by the oppositions best defender and beating them in the first half of his first season?

That says more more about the quality of your team. Our blokes tagged hard included Black and Power and Voss.

Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 19:41

Did Murphy play on Judd and keep him to 10 possessions?

Warwick
21 Sep 2006, 19:42
Explain how Murphy is clearly better than Sherman.

And also when was the last time Brown got suspended?

Bradshaw is 27 or 28 and just reaching his prime while playing at full forward. Not quite in the slippers and cardigan category yet.

sherminator
21 Sep 2006, 19:43
Why?

Firstly Sherman is a contracted player and is better than Murphy. I hope Murphy has a great career, but Sherman was pick 45, 19 years old, has played 41 games, kicked 30 goals (17 this year) and has amassed 487 disposals (33 v Hawthorn and 35 v Richmond) he also got 25 posessions (7 marks 1 goal) against the cellar-dwelling team you support.

Sherman>Murphy. Sadly it is too late for Murphy, he now has a wooden spoon in his first season.

sherminator
21 Sep 2006, 19:44

He was tagged for one game. What an accomplishment.

Did Murphy play on Judd and keep him to 10 possessions?

And get 16 of his own?

Corrosion
21 Sep 2006, 19:48
I'd go a straight swap.

Fisher for Ash McGrath.

Thoughts?

Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 19:53
I'd go a straight swap.

Fisher for Ash McGrath.

Thoughts?

That might be a fair swap but we need McGrath more than Fisher.

Corrosion
21 Sep 2006, 19:56
Yeah, I want to keep Fisher, but if he wanted to go, I'd like to get Ash McGrath in his place. I like Ash, and with his brother cory at Carlton, they could play off each other very well.

Roylion
21 Sep 2006, 20:59

No.

Pick 4 will be out of the equation for starters. Sherman is most definitely a required player and has just re-signed, so is out of the equation anyway. Fisher isn't really needed. Thornton is about the only player that the Lions might be interested in. My guess is that he'll stay at the Blues.

Some of the possible trades that have been speculated about on other boards are quite amusing. Sherman, Rischitelli, Bradshaw, Michael, Akermanis, Keating, Moody, McGrath have all been discussed. It all reminds me of the frenzy on some club boards here last season about Luke Power.

The only trade really worth discussing at the moment would be Akermanis. Michael's plans are still unknown (but Brisbane have already indicated they won't be trading him, so it either the Lions or retirement for Michael in 2007). I'd be surprised if Bradshaw went.

Clark Keating's contract won't be renewed, and he's indicated he wants to play on, so he may be used as a sweetener for someone along the lines of St Kilda or Carlton who may require a ready made ruckman, rather than go into the PSD. His trade value I'd imagine would be fairly low to someone like Carlton, seeing that they have the first selection in the PSD and Brisbane definitely won't be making any effort to retain him.

irel
21 Sep 2006, 22:01
Jeremias I am amazed at your astute trading ability. You seem to know a lot about football and player's value. Your blanket statement that Murphy is better than Sherman does not need to be qualified by you. It's a fact. It's true, so why do you have to provide facts to back up your argument. Murphy is a champion.

I disagree with these Brisbane Lions ****ers. What do they know about Thornton and Fisher. Both of them are champions and very stiff not to be named in the All Australian team. I think Thornton will give Judd and Adam Goodes a run for his money in the Brownlow this year.

So, taking into consideration Thornton's and Fisher's esteemed standing as champions in the AFL I would like to propose a trade that would be fair for both clubs.

In exchange for Thornton and Fisher, Brisbane will give Carlton Pick 4 and 22 and include Sherman and Bradshaw just to get the trade over the line. I know you are not getting much but maybe we'll include Mitch Clark. I think that is fair for everyone and we all should be happy with the deal.

Terrific. We can all now go to sleep satisfied that we have accomplished another successful trade.

The Flying Belgian
21 Sep 2006, 22:41
Jeremias I am amazed at your astute trading ability. You seem to know a lot about football and player's value. Your blanket statement that Murphy is better than Sherman does not need to be qualified by you. It's a fact. It's true, so why do you have to provide facts to back up your argument. Murphy is a champion.

I disagree with these Brisbane Lions ****ers. What do they know about Thornton and Fisher. Both of them are champions and very stiff not to be named in the All Australian team. I think Thornton will give Judd and Adam Goodes a run for his money in the Brownlow this year.

So, taking into consideration Thornton's and Fisher's esteemed standing as champions in the AFL I would like to propose a trade that would be fair for both clubs.

In exchange for Thornton and Fisher, Brisbane will give Carlton Pick 4 and 22 and include Sherman and Bradshaw just to get the trade over the line. I know you are not getting much but maybe we'll include Mitch Clark. I think that is fair for everyone and we all should be happy with the deal.

Terrific. We can all now go to sleep satisfied that we have accomplished another successful trade.

You know it's only going to get worse before it gets better don't you. Go and look up some of Dodongo's old posts like I did to take your mind of things.

irel
21 Sep 2006, 23:42
You know it's only going to get worse before it gets better don't you. Go and look up some of Dodongo's old posts like I did to take your mind of things.

Do you mean to tell me it's going to get worse than this?

Jonathon Brown
Simon Black
Luke Power and a pick
Bradshaw and a pick

Thanx Warwick thats gold :D :D :D

Lady Lawrence
22 Sep 2006, 09:53

I peronally never found Dodongo that funny, I am odd in many ways I guess! But below is what I believe was voted as one of their best posts.

Reading that Carlton trade thread though was hysterical!

Dodongo is going to get Maccas to bring out a new burger personally designed by Dodongo. Dodongo will name it McDodongo burger. McDodongo burger will feature cheese, lettuce, tomato and three meat patties. Dodongo's meat patties will have an engraved Dodongo on it. Dodongo will also get McDonalds to do a campaign for the first few months. Dodongo aims to get people to try McDodongo burger by putting in a teddy bear that Dodongo has had access to. Dodongo hopes that teddy will attract your attention. Dodongo's teddy has been used by Dodongo and will be worth thousands in the next 50 years. Dodongo's favourite burger is McDodongo burger.

The Flying Belgian
22 Sep 2006, 11:45
Small quantities only I guess LL! Took me back a while though!