View Full Version : If Aker wasn't contracted next year...
TheBrownDog
21 Sep 2006, 23:25
We'd be in a much better position to get a decent trade.
Strange situation to be in.
Especially after the comments that the prick made on the footy show tonight.
If he goes to the Dogs very cheaply, it is going to be a humilating experience for the club.
Are we willing to sacrifice a spot on the list next year to call his bluff?
Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 23:28
He said that he was going to help us get good trade value for him. What happened to that? He's killing us.
roostersgal4eva
21 Sep 2006, 23:29
bullies can offer whatever they want now
thanks aka :mad:
TheBrownDog
21 Sep 2006, 23:32
I hope he gets a career ending injury.
Honestly, I dont say things like that lightly, but this self centred prick doesn't deserve to continue playing the sport.
I used to worship the ground he walked on, now I see him as a shallow, weak prick.
How much would a Lions jersey signed by his holyness go for on Ebay? I sure as hell wont wear it again.
We'd be in a much better position to get a decent trade.
Strange situation to be in.
Especially after the comments that the prick made on the footy show tonight.
If he goes to the Dogs very cheaply, it is going to be a humilating experience for the club.
Are we willing to sacrifice a spot on the list next year to call his bluff?
*Sigh* this is not my night. Smashed pushing black and white bits of plastic
around 64 black and white squares and now our hero has mouthed of again. I missed it. What did he say?
TheBrownDog
21 Sep 2006, 23:35
*Sigh* this is not my night. Smashed pushing black and white bits of plastic
around 64 black and white squares and now our hero has mouthed of again. I missed it. What did he say?
Apparently said "I'll be at the Bulldogs next year or I'll be at Brisbane"
I haven't been on to comment on Aker since I still love the guy and have always given him the benefit of the doubt since I really don't know enough of the situation to base an opinion on, but surely these most recent and previous comments by him are detrimental to the trading process. I've always maintained that Aker is a smart guy and would've known his best chance to get to where he wants to go is by helping to secure a good deal for all involved, but come on! this can't be helping.
In short, it seems he's lost it.
Bobby Beecroft
21 Sep 2006, 23:40
Truly don't see how anything has changed, after his comments tonight.
What did people expect him to say?
He wants to go to the Dogs, & of course he is going to do all in his power to put pressure on us to get him their.
Lets just see were that pressure goes with 10 minutes to go before trade cutoff & we have agreed a deal with another Melbourne based club.
To be honest if anything he is throwing greater pressure on the Dogs to come up with a reasonable deal. Lets all hope the Dogs play their part & we can all move on happy & be happy souls ........... at least until he opens his mouth again.
He wants to go to the Dogs, & of course he is going to do all in his power to put pressure on us to get him their.
Lets just see were that pressure goes with 10 minutes to go before trade cutoff & we have agreed a deal with another Melbourne based club.
To be honest if anything he is throwing greater pressure on the Dogs to come up with a reasonable deal. Lets all hope the Dogs play their part & we can all move on happy & be happy souls ........... at least until he opens his mouth again.
If that is the case Bobby why did not Jade Rawlings for example make a statement like that about the Roos?
roostersgal4eva
21 Sep 2006, 23:47
becuae john Rawlings gave a dam about his club
unlike aka
Grimreepah
21 Sep 2006, 23:48
Realistically we can't afford to keep him. Salary cap, spot on the list, and having him hang around with his weekly columns.
And I'm starting to realise that a year off for him will not be all that bad. You know he's going to train all bloody year and be fitter and stronger next year.
I just hope this is all a sideshow and that something has already been agreed to behind closed doors. But if it isn't, then what bargaining power do we have?
roostersgal4eva
21 Sep 2006, 23:52
none
aka has sold us down the gurgler
I dont care if we give him to the bullies for free - I want this to be over on the count that ive had enough of aka
we cant afford to keep him - free up salary cap money so we can keep Braddy here....he's far more important atmo
Bobby Beecroft
21 Sep 2006, 23:54
If that is the case Bobby why did not Jade Rawlings for example make a statement like that about the Roos?
Sorry John not sure where your coming from mate.
Gimme some more to work with.
Reading between the lines maybe the Bullies are the only ones interested.
Absolutely BB.
Don't panic fellow supporters. It will all fall into place. There's another month before trade week. The pressure's on Aker and he's showing it. The Dogs will have to make the deal now. We just stand firm in what will satisfy us.
Bobby Beecroft
21 Sep 2006, 23:58
none
aka has sold us down the gurgler
I dont care if we give him to the bullies for free - I want this to be over on the count that ive had enough of aka
This is exactly what he is trying to achieve & some of you have fallen Hook Line & Sinker.
I just hope the club shows more courage, which Im sure they will.
I still wonder how some ppl here defended him so strongly.
He did John. He maintained his position that his preferred choice was to play with his brother at North. Hawthorn played his bluff and got the desired result.
Bobby Beecroft
22 Sep 2006, 00:00
Absolutely BB.
Don't panic fellow supporters. It will all fall into place. There's another month before trade week. The pressure's on Aker and he's showing it. The Dogs will have to make the deal now. We just stand firm in what will satisfy us.
Cheers Irel, to me it reaks of a desperate man.
Glad someone else can see it for what it really is. :D
roostersgal4eva
22 Sep 2006, 00:00
This is exactly what he is trying to achieve & some of you have fallen Hook Line & Sinker.
I just hope the club shows more courage, which Im sure they will.
I still wonder how some ppl here defended him so strongly.
i dont see it that way
with him being not there it leave room for us to keep the guys that we need ala Bradshaw
Sorry John not sure where your coming from mate.
Gimme some more to work with.
3 years back Jade Rawlings prefered club was the Roos and he ended up at the Bullies.
Warwick
22 Sep 2006, 00:02
Give him to the dogs for free and get rid of him. What a total spoilt brat. It may be time to grow up and accept some responsibility for your actions and act like an adult.
This is what Aker wanted to achieve. Get the Lions to panic and take what the Dogs offered. We have supporters that have reacted exactly as Aker wants and have fallen in to a trap thinking there is no other options. Nothing has changed. We know he's got a mouth and we know he wants to go to the Dogs. We know other clubs will be coming and talking. When it will become obvious that a deal may not eventuate with the Bullies he'll sing another song.
Irel and Bobby I am not panicking in fact if you remember I am in a minority of one, me:), that is more than happy to let him sit on his arse playing for the Suncoast Lions.
It alright I know that will not happen;)
Grimreepah
22 Sep 2006, 00:07
We know other clubs will be coming and talking.
But how much will other clubs offer if they know Aker would rather be elsewhere?
Bobby Beecroft
22 Sep 2006, 00:09
i dont see it that way
with him being not there it leave room for us to keep the guys that we need ala Bradshaw
I totally agree, but that doesn't mean we rollover like Dogs (pun intended) & give him away for nothing.
There's a lot more to come in this saga, Lockett, Jade Rawlings,...... etc it doesn't always work out the way the player originally wishes.
Expect Dogies posters coming over here now suggesting a forth round draft pick being a fair trade for Aker otherwise no deal. Don't you just love this time of the year.
:(***GROAN***:(
But how much will other clubs offer if they know Aker would rather be elsewhere?
It doesn't matter. It's what we want from the Dogies that matter, otherwise let Aker settle his deal with The Dogs in the courts, especially if they've already talked contracts and money. This hasn't been thought very clearly by Aker. As usual he has not been able to see the bigger picture. You must understand Aker is not very strategic in his thought process. He is very egocentric. Only able to function if he is the center of that world.
Don't panic.
Bobby Beecroft
22 Sep 2006, 00:19
Simple Reepah as much as it takes to trump the Dogs.
Wouldn't it be in another clubs interest ie. the bombers to state to the Lions & Dogs that we will give you Pick 18 for Aker.
We approach the Dogs with this is the best we have been offerred, beat/match it. Essendon stand by their bid if queried by the Dogs.
Dogs in fact may need to get that 18 of the Bombers, & may have to give something of significance to do so.......... therefore the Bombers & Lions can come out with something for playing the game.
That fact that Essendon honestly don't think they will get him is irrelevant. Its to all other clubs advantage to make sure the Dogs pay a price for Aker.
If they get him cheaply we are not the only club to be disadvantaged, it effects every club. If people don't think this type of thing can occur, they haven't assessed the whole process that is trade week.
Food for thought?
BigCat2
22 Sep 2006, 00:22
BB & irel, sometimes you guys make too much sense. ;)
TheBrownDog
22 Sep 2006, 00:24
I have some questions... when Aker's new team plays at the Gabba next year....
1. Will you boo him?
2. Who gets the job on him?
3. If you saw him next to you at Maccas afterwards, would you say g'day?
Warwick
22 Sep 2006, 00:26
Couple of questions... when Aker's new team plays at the Gabba next year....
1. Will you boo him?
'Till i'm hoarse.
Copeland will drag him into Browny's space.
Who said pickles were useless?
roostersgal4eva
22 Sep 2006, 00:26
If i was live at his game - Yes
Copeland or Scott
Never
BigCat2
22 Sep 2006, 00:28
1. You means there's options other than "hell yeah, absolutely"?
2. Copeland
3. Nooo waaaaaaaaaay
BB & irel, sometimes you guys make too much sense. ;)
The Aker weekly update will never end for us. He is the new Waza. We will have to suffer him in perpetuity. Unfortunately. We better learn to live with it.
Grimreepah
Don't panic.
I'm not panicking. In the whole scheme of things one early 2nd round draft pick does not make much of a difference to a team's fortunes.
I suppose what I am panicking about is him being on the list next year. This year has been a nightmare and I don't want to have to go through all that again.
TheBrownDog
Hopefully Voss and Charman are playing forward that game too. :thumbsu:
Four way bump from every direction. Crunch.
BigCat2
22 Sep 2006, 00:29
Even if he ends up where he wants to be ie Dogs, that won't be the last we hear from him about us, will it?
TheBrownDog
22 Sep 2006, 00:30
Even if he ends up where he wants to be ie Dogs, that won't be the last we hear from him about us, will it?
Nope.
Its a shame we didnt cut his tongue out when he was under general anesthetic in surgery the other day.
Warwick
22 Sep 2006, 00:31
Of course not - he is after "revenge" :rolleyes: .
I always told myself i would follow which ever team he went to next year. After those comments about what he has planned for Leigh, I hope the team he goes to has a horrid year. I hope he goes to Collingwood.
Bobby Beecroft
22 Sep 2006, 00:32
Nope.
Its a shame we didnt cut his tongue out when he was under general anesthetic in surgery the other day.
Would you take a 2nd rounder & his tongue? ;)
Warwick
Nope.
It's a pity Dr Jayant Patel was busy that day.
BigCat2
After those comments about what he has planned for Leigh, I hope the team he goes to has a horrid year. I hope he goes to Collingwood.
As if we needed any more reason to dislike them... :p
I suppose what I am panicking about is him being on the list next year. This year has been a nightmare and I don't want to have to go through all that again.
Do you truly think that after what he said about Leigh and re-confirmed it tonight by refusing to retract he will want to go back for twelve months under Leigh? When the crunch comes ten minutes before the draft closes he will go where the club wants him to go.
TheBrownDog
22 Sep 2006, 00:38
When the crunch comes ten minutes before the draft closes he will go where the club wants him to go.
Which is why we have to be prepared to call his bluff.
Bingooooo!
Grimreepah
22 Sep 2006, 00:46
I'm prepared to call his bluff. If nothing can be agreed upon I am sure that Aker and the Lions will agree to have his contract terminated and he will go in the PSD.
roostersgal4eva
22 Sep 2006, 00:49
spose
im just sick of it all really
TheBrownDog
22 Sep 2006, 00:51
This must be so hard on the young kids that worship Aker. Its hard enough on us!
I too am prepared to support the bluff and damn the consequences. We are The Brisbane Lions. BBFFC and proud.
Viceregal
22 Sep 2006, 00:52
Makes no real difference - the club still has said that they want to play hardball, the player has reaffirmed that his preferred destination is the Bulldogs (ok fairly emphatically) and other teams that are interested already know his competitive nature and onfield professionalism and will be aware that whatever team he plays for he will play his best either (for the fans) because that is the kind of sportsman he is or (for the detractors) because playing anything less would be bad for Team Aker!
Idealy Lions and Dogs and Aker (I must be tired - just thought it is a good thing that it is not Richmond otherwise that would be Lions and Tigers and (ex) bears (oh my)) will come to a mutally acceptable win-win-win type resolution and nothing that is said between and now and trade week is likely to make any difference to the professionals (we hope) who make those decisions!
dont bowl there
22 Sep 2006, 00:52
I'm prepared to call his bluff. If nothing can be agreed upon I am sure that Aker and the Lions will agree to have his contract terminated and he will go in the PSD.
Dont you think that he would rather have the year off and get ultra fit AND get all that money from you guys rather than have his contract terminated? In my opinion he will not have his contract terminated and will go to the Doggies for bugger all. I feel for you guys cos it must hurt seeing a guy you loved turn on the club so harshly.
Grimreepah
22 Sep 2006, 00:55
Dont you think that he would rather have the year off and get ultra fit AND get all that money from you guys rather than have his contract terminated?
No:cool:
TheBrownDog
22 Sep 2006, 00:57
Dont you think that he would rather have the year off and get ultra fit AND get all that money from you guys rather than have his contract terminated? In my opinion he will not have his contract terminated and will go to the Doggies for bugger all. I feel for you guys cos it must hurt seeing a guy you loved turn on the club so harshly.
He will be a year older by then and a year away from football would see his value drop significantly.
He's a competitor, he wants to play footy.
Warwick
22 Sep 2006, 00:57
Thanks mate, but do you really think Aker would want to spend a year on the sidelines away from all the cameras?
dont bowl there
22 Sep 2006, 00:58
No:cool:
So you think he would go somewhere he doesnt want to for less money? Or get free money from you guys? I rekon he has all the power here. You really cant afford him on the list can you.
He will be 31 when he plays again. Not so sure that would be good.
It has gutted us trust me.
Warwick
22 Sep 2006, 00:59
This must be so hard on the young kids that worship Aker. Its hard enough on us!
I have swapped the numbers around on my lion's jumper and will now be the leader of this man's army:
http://img78.imageshack.us/img78/126/merrettvq6.png (http://imageshack.us)
dont bowl there
22 Sep 2006, 01:00
Thanks mate, but do you really think Aker would want to spend a year on the sidelines away from all the cameras?
Im sure he could get a job with some station for the year. Be interesting to see what does happen, for your sake i hope you get something around his playing worth.
TheBrownDog
22 Sep 2006, 01:00
So you think he would go somewhere he doesnt want to for less money? Or get free money from you guys? I rekon he has all the power here. You really cant afford him on the list can you.
But if he takes a year off, he has to go in the draft again in a year.
The dogs wont be wooden spooners next year, thats for sure.
TheBrownDog
22 Sep 2006, 01:01
I have swapped the numbers around on my lion's jumper and will now be the leader of this man's army:
I'm on board.
The Strawbies!
Do you mean he'll be prepared to be humiliated for the next twelve months undergoing weekly "Boot Camp" treatment and be expected to play for the Ressies on a weekly bases on suburban paddocks, be prepared to shut up for twelve months, have all his media commitments terminated, go to every function and every little corner of QLD as part of the club's PR and football development strategy, receive the bare minimum recuperation and medical treatment, clean Leigh's car daily, make the players lunches and cut up the oranges during training etc...etc... etc...
Hell yeah. He can have a twelve months holiday.
roostersgal4eva
22 Sep 2006, 01:03
me too
Go Da Strabies!
dont bowl there
22 Sep 2006, 01:04
But if he takes a year off, he has to go in the draft again in a year.
The dogs wont be wooden spooners next year, thats for sure.
Thats true, i guess it comes down to how much he wants to screw you guys. The feeling ya get from him its lots.
TheBrownDog
22 Sep 2006, 01:04
Do you mean he'll be prepared to be humiliated for the next twelve months undergoing weekly "Boot Camp" treatment and be expected to play for the Ressies on a weekly bases on suburban paddocks, be prepared to shut up for twelve months, have all his media commitments terminated, go to every function and every little corner of QLD as part of the club's PR and football development strategy, receive the bare minimum recuperation and medical treatment, clean Leigh's car daily, make the players lunches and cut up the oranges during training etc...etc... etc...
And he has to wash Mal Michael's socks.
dont bowl there
22 Sep 2006, 01:05
Hell yeah. He can have a twelve months holiday.
For the amount of money he would be getting i would do that :D
TheBrownDog
22 Sep 2006, 01:06
It would be funny if Rodney Eade stood down as Bulldogs coach for personal reasons at the end of next year and Leigh Matthews took the job.
dont bowl there
22 Sep 2006, 01:09
Whatever happens i cant wait to see him play against Brissie, be like when Carey played against Kangas for the first time.
For the amount of money he would be getting i would do that :D
But you are not Aker.
Grimreepah
22 Sep 2006, 01:56
I'm on board too. Strawbs would be the ideal mascot for the doughnuts:)
Roylion
22 Sep 2006, 03:05
Clearly Akermanis is being told by the Bulldogs to scare off other potential suitors, by making the statement that he has.
I still wouldn't place too much stock in what he says. As others have suggested there's still a great deal of water to go under the bridge. The Lions will still seek the best trade deal and will still encourage offers from other Melbourne based clubs.
Even if the Bulldogs now make a low trade offer, that offer could easily be trumped. Essendon's already been used as an example. Let's say Essendon offer Pick #18 and a player compared to the Dogs offer of a third rounder only. Pick #18 and a player is accepted by the Lions.
During trade week, the Lions and the Bombers will pull out all stops to convince Akermanis to comply. Even if Akermanis resists, I'd imagine their case will be become more compelling, the closer the trade deadline comes with no deal, either forcing Akermanis to agree, if he's that desperate to leave Brisbane or alterantively force the Dogs into either an euqual or better trade. Short of their first round draft pick, I'd find it difficult to see how the Bulldogs could better an offer of a #18 and a player,so to get their man the Dogs may pursue a three way trade, to meet the Lions demands.
I wonder if the Lions will come out and apply their own pressure in the ne3xt few days by stating either publicly or privately to Akermanis' management and the Dogs that they would be prepared to keep Akermanis on for 2007, if a trade couldn't be arrived at. The Dogs might need to rethink their offer on that basis.
Vipertooth
22 Sep 2006, 03:43
Couple of questions... when Aker's new team plays at the Gabba next year....
1. Will you boo him?
'Till i'm hoarse.
Who said pickles were useless?
1) not sure, mabye just show no emotion at all....that probably worse when you think about it...
2) trade that guy from sydney that annoys aka heaps and use him :p
3) throw him a dirty look.
charles202
22 Sep 2006, 08:21
We won three premierships and almost a fourth by being hard at the ball, its now time for the off field management to be as tough and couragous off the field as the boys have been on it.
If they show that can be pushed around and bullied by one player than we will be feeling the efect from that decision for the next 10 years at the negotiation table.
They should not accept anyhting other than fair value at the trade table and they should not terminate his contract under any circumstances.
beatnik
22 Sep 2006, 09:01
i am as mad as a cut snake
A) nice work by Irel and Bobby B concerning the negotiation process - gave me a good perspective on things
I think you're right that another club will see an opportunity to get involved in a three-way (a menage-a-trade if you will) either just to push the Doggies up or to perhaps make a little somethin' out of nuthiin
B) I wonder where 'Team Aker' is? they've been pretty quiet about The Selfish One...
perhaps they're having difficulty justifying his self-centred crap in poor me/victim terms
C) this has shown me the amount of mud that Aker is going to sling at his old club - I am prepared for it but I still get the sliding feeling it will be worse than I can currently imagine
D) having said that, even champion players get older...he might stick it up us for a season...maybe two...but 'time waits for no man' etc
sorry to get all karmic but he has undone so much goodwill towards him that i cant help but feel he will eventually regret it, even if he ends up where he wants to
no matter how fit or strong he feels himslef to be now, he will get to a stage where he cannot walk the walk - his legs will slow down long before his mouth does
i am sure that when that happens, I will be there to see a sad old publicity whore standing on the street corner being shunned and brushed aside by those to whom he formerly plied his dark trade
laugh it up Aker, i have a long memory :mad:
Lady Lawrence
22 Sep 2006, 09:45
Team Aker are still here mate although I wouldn't really call myself that, haven't been from the start really. I have defended some actions etc etc and tried to put a players perspective on things. I still believe there is a lot went on that we don't yet know about which is why Jason is so bitter and hell bent on revenge.
I do NOT however believe what he is currently doing is of any benefit to himself and is simply turning supporters of him away. I am rapidly losing sympathy for him. Bitter and twisted is how he is coming across and that is not an attractive trait in anyone. If Jason had taken the other tack of I love the Lions I want to play for them but they don't want me any more how different things would have been. He would have full support of just about everyone I believe. We would still have supported the Club AND Jason and accepted that footy is a tough business.
Much as I would in an ideal world love for them all to make nice and sit down and thrash this out and have Jason still run around for us next year I am now more excited about the new make up of the Lions. Jason I think has crossed the line with the last couple of interviews and I never want to see him in Maroon, Blue and Gold again.
Currently I am just hoping that we can trade with whichever club can give us the best deal and hopefully that is the Doggies then all parties are happy but one more stupid comment and I will be campaigning to have him go to the pies. No matter who you are or how nice you once were if you cross to the dark side then that is it! Have no problems hating you!! I used to really like the Grumpy D9 but when he switched I was quite happy booing him!!
"Wolf! Wolf!", the boy cried.
beatnik
22 Sep 2006, 10:13
Team Aker are still here mate although I wouldn't really call myself that, haven't been from the start really. I have defended some actions etc etc and tried to put a players perspective on things. I still believe there is a lot went on that we don't yet know about which is why Jason is so bitter and hell bent on revenge.
I do NOT however believe what he is currently doing is of any benefit to himself and is simply turning supporters of him away. I am rapidly losing sympathy for him. Bitter and twisted is how he is coming across and that is not an attractive trait in anyone. If Jason had taken the other tack of I love the Lions I want to play for them but they don't want me any more how different things would have been. He would have full support of just about everyone I believe. We would still have supported the Club AND Jason and accepted that footy is a tough business.
Much as I would in an ideal world love for them all to make nice and sit down and thrash this out and have Jason still run around for us next year I am now more excited about the new make up of the Lions. Jason I think has crossed the line with the last couple of interviews and I never want to see him in Maroon, Blue and Gold again.
Currently I am just hoping that we can trade with whichever club can give us the best deal and hopefully that is the Doggies then all parties are happy but one more stupid comment and I will be campaigning to have him go to the pies. No matter who you are or how nice you once were if you cross to the dark side then that is it! Have no problems hating you!! I used to really like the Grumpy D9 but when he switched I was quite happy booing him!!
wow, thanks for your honesty LL
i hadn't realised that you were even part of Team Aker - puts a different light on some of those 'objectivity' conversations we had during The Troubles :eek:
that aside, i think you are spot on regarding his ability to turn even his most ardent supporters agin him
i started out supporting him and the club and hoped they could work something out but i also now wish he falls flat on his face and turns out to be the next Jonathon Hay trade
what a jerK! :p
Lady Lawrence
22 Sep 2006, 10:22
i hadn't realised that you were even part of Team Aker -
As I said in my post I wouldn't consider myself part of team Aker but I guess I could have been construed that way.
I have had some PM's from a few posters who feel they cannot contribute to threads such as this for fear that things will just turn into a slanging match and things are quite settled on our board of late.
The gist of what they have been saying is very much as my post was though that whilst they still think Aker has been wronged, what he has said of late especially on TFS last night they too are losing a lot of the passion they had for supporting him no matter how one eyed they have been.
Truly, truly a very sad state of affairs all round.
Because Rawlings was out of contract at the time and the Dogs did the 'Veale Deal' and from there on Jade had no choice in where he went.
beatnik
22 Sep 2006, 10:32
As I said in my post I wouldn't consider myself part of team Aker but I guess I could have been construed that way.
I have had some PM's from a few posters who feel they cannot contribute to threads such as this for fear that things will just turn into a slanging match and things are quite settled on our board of late.
The gist of what they have been saying is very much as my post was though that whilst they still think Aker has been wronged, what he has said of late especially on TFS last night they too are losing a lot of the passion they had for supporting him no matter how one eyed they have been.
Truly, truly a very sad state of affairs all round.
sounds like we're all in agreement now so not sure how it would turn into a slanging match but i'll trust your judgement on that one ;)
i personally would love to hear their take on the recent comments but I can understand their hesitance to discuss the issue openly and will respect their PM approach :rolleyes:
i agree that it is indeed a sad affair but the more it unfolds, the more I respect the club for refusing to take the bait and sticking to their side of the agreement
oh trade week! will thee ever arrive!
It is interesting to see the varying levels of tolerance for Aker. A few of my mates who are dedicated Lions supporters have always had zero tolerance for Aker's mouth even when he was generally adored by the fans. My tolerance ran out after the Herald Sun interview. Others seem to have run out of patience now. As always, Aker has the ability to divide opinions but it would seem that the location of that divide is shifting further away from him every time.
I agree with all of the posters on this thread whio accuse Aker of being disloyal. It's absolutely unheard of, in my experience, for an employee who's services have been terminated to be angry with the organisation which sacked him.
Please leave the key to this alternate world in which you live under the mat. If the people who post on here are representative of those associated with the club, the wonder is that he stayed as long as he did. Such vile vindictiveness is beneath your dignity, and achieves nothing. The monstrous ego of the poster on BF, to think that their opinions are of any consequence whatsoever.
I agree with all of the posters on this thread whio accuse Aker of being disloyal. It's absolutely unheard of, in my experience, for an employee who's services have been terminated to be angry with the organisation which sacked him.
He's still entitled to receive a fairly hefty pay packet from us next year so hardly think he should be unhappy.
If you can be facetitious, then so can I. ;)
The monstrous ego of the poster on BF, to think that their opinions are of any consequence whatsoever
And yet, here it is. Your opinion as a poster on BF.
There's no need to attack people. The majority on here hold opinions that are fairly common in the real world too. I'm not saying that the majority of the wider Lions community is against Aker but a fair proportion have had enough.
And yet, here it is. Your opinion as a poster on BF.
There's no need to attack people. The majority on here hold opinions that are fairly common in the real world too. I'm not saying that the majority of the wider Lions community is against Aker but a fair proportion have had enough.
Yep, I recognise the futility of posting on here. Had you not realised this?
To say there's no need to attack people is priceless. What the hell do you think is being done to Aker? Anyway, what's really peeing people off is that he's been proven correct, though in hindsight, his estimate of there being only a 5% chance of him being at the club next year was an overestimation.
If people have had enough of Aker why don't they just put a sock in it, rather than getting themselves into a lather at every opportunity?
The silent minority who don't hate Aker will be lost to the club if the attitude bullies have their way. It disgusts me to be associated with the vitriolic opinions expressed on this thread, just because I barrack for Brisbane. As for seeking revenge against him by booing him in future, this is a premeditated piece of stupidity, though if you were to examine the thinking of the people who are suggesting it, this should come as no surprise.
At LL's behest, most people who don't share the ugly views about this affair expressed on this thread, have kept their traps shut. If this childish imbecility persists, there will be be considerable temptation to say, "to hell with it." If that's what you lot want, that's fine by me.
konstas_87
22 Sep 2006, 12:10
if he is making it a bidding war saying im all open to any VIC team then Brissy would get ALOT more out of the trade than if its "you need us" from the Doggies.
i dont think aker was being selfish, just too stupid to think about the consequences of the comment.
Homer Jnr
22 Sep 2006, 12:11
i personally would love to hear their take on the recent comments but I can understand their hesitance to discuss the issue openly and will respect their PM approach :rolleyes:
I am sitting this one out, because I don't feel like being jumped on by the clique again. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, I don't agree with yours and you don't agree with mine, which is the beauty of a public forum.
Lady Lawrence
22 Sep 2006, 12:19
I am sitting this one out, because I don't feel like being jumped on by the clique again. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, I don't agree with yours and you don't agree with mine, which is the beauty of a public forum.
If everyone promises not to attack you would you care to share your thoughts on Aker's comments last night? I will delete any abusive reponses.
I have been very much in the same court as yourself over the whole Aker saga, more on his side than the club's etc etc but his latest comments are IMO pretty bloody stupid and have really pissed me right off.
Please leave the key to this alternate world in which you live under the mat. If the people who post on here are representative of those associated with the club, the wonder is that he stayed as long as he did. Such vile vindictiveness is beneath your dignity, and achieves nothing. The monstrous ego of the poster on BF, to think that their opinions are of any consequence whatsoever.
The point is that very very few use the media to voice their unhappiness. Certainly the other party in this has not done so, so all we're hearing about (repeatedly) is one side of the whole situation.
Would you prefer it if he lied?
What is it that prevents Brisbane saying whatever they like? I seriously doubt it would be concern for Aker's feelings.
Grimreepah
22 Sep 2006, 12:53
If people have had enough of Aker why don't they just put a sock in it, rather than getting themselves into a lather at every opportunity?
Because his actions affect the club.
As for seeking revenge against him by booing him in future, this is a premeditated piece of stupidity, though if you were to examine the thinking of the people who are suggesting it, this should come as no surprise.
Why is it stupid? He will be playing for another club and he is throwing barbs at Brisbane. We all know things didn't work out, but Aker could have left graciously or he could have left leaving a trail of baggage behind him. He chose the latter and it is perfectly reasonable to be annoyed at that.
Yep, I recognise the futility of posting on here. Had you not realised this?
Futility? I never had any other expectations of an internet forum other than to provide a place to express my opinion. I'm not really sure it is futile because my expectations of BF really aren't that high. I suspect that most people take that view.
As far as the silent majority go, I have always had an issue with that line of thought. How do you demonstrate what the opinion of the silent is unless they speak up? Is it not just as plausible that the silent majority is also "anti-Aker" (for want of a better term) Speak up, silent majority! If this silent majority exists, when people like yourself, Campbell and HoJu speak, they should be jumping in to express their support and not leave you hanging to be harassed by the loud minority. If you mean that term in a wider context (as in the non-BF public), then there's no reason why the majority should be silent - what is stopping them from speaking out?
Because his actions affect the club.
Why is it stupid? He will be playing for another club and he is throwing barbs at Brisbane. We all know things didn't work out, but Aker could have left graciously or he could have left leaving a trail of baggage behind him. He chose the latter and it is perfectly reasonable to be annoyed at that.
The club, like posters on here have an option of not reacting. It appears this is the action the club is now taking, i.e none.
I have no problem with people being annoyed at Aker, but it is stupid to plan revenge in advance. What would you hope to achieve by exacting revenge, other than fulfilling a masturbatory fantasy? People who do this will be made to look immeasurably more stupid than Aker ever has. If he's being a rissole, as is being suggested, is that any reason for our supporters to try to outdo him?
Futility? I never had any other expectations of an internet forum other than to provide a place to express my opinion. I'm not really sure it is futile because my expectations of BF really aren't that high. I suspect that most people take that view.
As far as the silent majority go, I have always had an issue with that line of thought. How do you demonstrate what the opinion of the silent is unless they speak up? Is it not just as plausible that the silent majority is also "anti-Aker" (for want of a better term) Speak up, silent majority! If this silent majority exists, when people like yourself, Campbell and HoJu speak, they should be jumping in to express their support and not leave you hanging to be harassed by the loud minority. If you mean that term in a wider context (as in the non-BF public), then there's no reason why the majority should be silent - what is stopping them from speaking out?
I think you should re-read my post. My assertion was that the non-communicative supporters of Aker are in fact, in a minority.
What stops them from commenting is a wish to not create a ruckus on these boards as occured a few weeks ago, They hold their tongues, rather than confront posters who can't exercise the same restraint.
sherminator
22 Sep 2006, 13:14
Pg 118 of 22/11/2006 Herald Sun.
Jason Akermanis said last night he would be prepared to play out the last year of his contract with the Brisbane Lions if a deal could not be struck with the Western Bulldogs. And he stressed he would not play for any other Victorian club.
Akermanis has severed all ties with Brisbane after falling out with coach Leigh Matthews, and the Lions havw threatened to play hard ball in the trade period starting on October 9.
Speaking on The Footy Show, Akermanis said he would be prepared to return to Brisbane as a last resort.
"Our side, their side, there's alot of angst at the moment," Akermanis said.
"We need to push all of the negativity aside and say, 'This is it. Let's get the deal done.' I'm not going to go to any other club. Nothing against other clubs, I want to be at the Bulldogs/
"If I have, I'm professional athlete and I will fufil my commitment if it doesn't work out. I will go there (Lions) and take me medicine."
Michael Stevens
Viceregal
22 Sep 2006, 13:14
In most cases people don't *have* the media to voice their opinions. Normally where there is a case for silence being the 'right' thing to do it is normally favouring the established party rather than the one 'under attack'.
I have watched a friend get his local rep ruined because a woman was doing a whisper campaign about how he had raped her ... he didn't find out about it until about three months after she started (and it was definitately no rape but a mutual enjoyment btw with the angst because he didn't want to repeat the occasion) - in the environment he was in the rule was that you didn't bring other people into your offence (as in being offended) and turned the other cheek etc (it was a church environment so the sleeping with was still 'evil' whether rape present or not). The problem was that she was not playing by the same rules and feeding false info all over while he was stuck trying to do the team thing and getting trashed.
In dictatorships where people routinely 'dispear' - it is the nobodies, the ones with no voice that disapear - the ones who do have a voice have far more protection.
Any club (or other organisation) will win, as all clubs win, when a silent individual falls into disfavour for whatever reason and the team first card is played. Loyalty is often in the eye of the beholder (George Washington and Bendict Arnold for examples) and clubs are most likely less loyal to players than players are to clubs. We as fans can have more loyalty because we don't have a professional stake in the game etc.
*How* the media has been used is one thing but that the media is a legitimate expression is another. How many ex players do you think would have loved to have his leverage but had no voice?
Grimreepah
22 Sep 2006, 13:17
...it is stupid to plan revenge in advance. What would you hope to achieve by exacting revenge, other than fulfilling a masturbatory fantasy?
So you think Aker is stupid.
Article (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20420745%255E19742,00.html)
Would you prefer it if he lied?
What is it that prevents Brisbane saying whatever they like? I seriously doubt it would be concern for Aker's feelings.
Why the need for him to say anything at all? He has instigated all the media contact and not the other way around.
It's professionalism. Brisbane recognise the correct way to represent yourself in a public forum.
I think you should re-read my post. My assertion was that the non-communicative supporters of Aker are in fact, in a minority.
What stops them from commenting is a wish to not create a ruckus on these boards as occured a few weeks ago, They hold their tongues, rather than confront posters who can't exercise the same restraint.
Sorry - misread your post. I was thinking about other posts alluding to a mass support for Aker that just didn't want to emerge.
I wasn't one to support the "ceasefire". I understand that things were going around in circles but the circumstances have changed now. People's minds are being changed by what is occurring - other people haven't changed their opinion at all. That alone makes the discussions worthy.
As far as booing Aker goes, this is football. You are either a villain, hero or a non-entity and the crowd reacts accordingly. People boo umpires as they walk out onto the field before they have even done anything. The entire Gabba crowd boos Nathan Buckley every time despite the fact the "insult" was over 10 years ago. That sort of thing is all premeditated. I would put every cent of my hard earned that the last time Aker played the Dogs in Melbourne, he would have been booed by all Doggies fans. If he turns out in their colours, he will get the biggest cheer of all. It is hardly revenge to boo him up here - it will be expected.
Warwick
22 Sep 2006, 13:39
Please. You are worrying about him getting booed? This is footy, not tennis. I'm sure Aker what not give a damn about who is booing him.
Ask Little Lley Lley about booing at the tennis this weekend!