View Full Version : Laycock for a 2nd rounder and a fast mid?

Evvo
22 Sep 2006, 17:09
I would certainly consider this. As a supporter, I have been telling my mates Laycock will be a star for three years now and seems to be a bit injury prone and just shows cameos. Would love to get a Salopek or a Kelly type as this is what we lack badly.

We must try and offload some of our players and start developing a side.

Solomon and Bolton need to be traded. Solomon could land us something we need.
If no one wants Bolton then delist him.

We really need to entice someone in the PSD too. I reckon Carlton will take Gardiner as they need a ruckman, would love to snare a Vogels or a fast mid

Bender The Offender
22 Sep 2006, 17:11
I would certainly consider this. As a supporter, I have been telling my mates Laycock will be a star for three years now and seems to be a bit injury prone and just shows cameos. Would love to get a Salopek or a Kelly type as this is what we lack badly.

We really need to entice someone in the PSD too. I reckon Carlton will take Gardiner as they need a ruckman, would love to snare a Vogels or a fast mid

carlton aren't taking gardiner

silk
22 Sep 2006, 17:23
carlton aren't taking gardiner

I really hope we don't end up with him.

I think laycock will be traded, but i would rather just develop ryder then recruit gardiner.

Jimmy Gwilt
22 Sep 2006, 17:28

yer we wouldnt get any worse if he left so trade him for picks - develop the kids and there u have it - future stars of the EFC

anjing merah
22 Sep 2006, 17:28
Evvo
Was thinking Vogels myself. He could definately hold down CHB, but flexible enough to play forward. Richards has basically taken his spot. Given a chance I think he could fit the role.

crowsarethebest
22 Sep 2006, 17:31

Laycock will not get you a fast midfielder (Kelly/Salopek) AND a 2nd rounder... he's be barely worth a 2nd rounder.

anjing merah
22 Sep 2006, 17:43
CATB
The potential value of any player in a draft is dependent on the needs of the club. Sydney has been a perfect example of this - drafting to cover a weakness. Some clubs would place little value on Laycock but those with a need for a developing ruckman who could also play forward would value him as a trade highly. Perhaps Hawthorn or Richmond or Doggies.

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 18:46
Well, would you guys trade Laycock for Kelly?

trueblue_91
22 Sep 2006, 18:48
IF you guys want some pace in your side would you consider tenace? Super quick player but jsut needs to work on his skills a bit

go_the_bombers
22 Sep 2006, 18:50
IF you guys want some pace in your side would you consider tenace? Super quick player but jsut needs to work on his skills a bit

Sheeds would look at Tenace if Geelong put him on the table

ant555
22 Sep 2006, 18:51

No because players with questionable skills are not what we need. We already have enough of them ;)
I would be happy if we got an earlyish second rounder for Laycock but there is no way he is worth a player and a second round pick.

mcphee_is_a_gun
Laycock for Thornton or else draft picks.

Jasiano
We don't speed off the half back line. And we don't need any speed on the wings now either. We just need some speed through the middle, in the centre square.

This is why i'd consider Kelly. He can be explosive and has a heap of talent. I reckon Sheedy could turn him into something going through the middle.

What would you guys want for Kelly?

go_the_bombers
22 Sep 2006, 18:54
We don't speed off the half back line. And we don't need any speed on the wings now either. We just need some speed through the middle, in the centre square.

This is why i'd consider Kelly. He can be explosive and has a heap of talent. I reckon Sheedy could turn him into something going through the middle.

What would you guys want for Kelly?

Kelly is not that quick

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 18:58
Kelly is not that quick
His pretty quick mate. The more that i think of it, it's more agility than speed. Still, his a quick and agile runner and often takes players on.

Certainly much quicker than the current on-ballers we have running around.

Jason Johnson, Jobe Watson, etc. To partner the likes of those two you need a quick guy who is agile and can burst away and get us going.

mcphee_is_a_gun
22 Sep 2006, 18:59
His pretty quick mate. The more that i think of it, it's more agility than speed. Still, his a quick and agile runner and often takes players on.

Jason Johnson, Jobe Watson, etc. To partner the likes of those two you need a quick guy who is agile and can burst away and get us going.
he cant get a game in Geelong's slow midfield surely that tells you something. No point being quick if you cant dispose of the footy effectively.

go_the_bombers
22 Sep 2006, 19:03
Kelly would need to work on his disposal!

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 19:05
he cant get a game in Geelong's slow midfield surely that tells you something. No point being quick if you cant dispose of the footy effectively.
They aren't exactly slow imo.

Look at all of the guys who run off their midfeild. Tenace, Ablett, Rooke, etc. Those guys aren't slow.

We need pace over skill at the momment. He have experienced and skillfull players on the bench in Heffernan and Camporeale for skills.

This is why we need some pace and agility through the middle.

I just asked the Geelong fans in the Geelong forum if they'd do this:

Aaron Henneman (or) Mark Bolton + maybe a 3rd or 4th Round Pick for Kelly.

go_the_bombers
22 Sep 2006, 19:07

Look at all of the guys who run off their midfeild. Tenace, Ablett, Rooke, etc. Those guys aren't slow.

We need pace over skill at the momment. He have experienced and skillfull players on the bench in Heffernan and Camporeale for skills.

They would laugh at you

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 19:11
They would laugh at you
It's a very strong draft. Plus, they maybe be able to use on of those two somehow? Who knows, it's worth a try. Keep in mind Kelly hardly played this year. Plus, they want to make changes so you never know.

:D

go_the_bombers
22 Sep 2006, 19:13
It's a very strong draft. Plus, they maybe be able to use on of those two somehow? Who knows, it's worth a try. Keep in mind Kelly hardly played this year. Plus, they want to make changes so you never know.

:D

They would be after either pick 17 or 19 or what draft picks we have :p

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 19:14
They would be after either pick 17 or 19 or what draft picks we have :p
They can give us Ablett too then. :D

go_the_bombers
22 Sep 2006, 19:16
They can give us Ablett too then. :D

Which one? :p

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 19:20
Which one? :p
Both. ;)

Nah, we'd only be interested in Garry. Inject him into our midfeild.

go_the_bombers
22 Sep 2006, 19:22
Both. ;)

Nah, we'd only be interested in Garry. Inject him into our midfeild.

Sheeds would stick him down the forward 50 next to Lloyd

whirl
22 Sep 2006, 19:35
Neither Kelly or Salopek really fit the fast midfielder mould, they move well enough but neither are line-breakers.

Jasiano
22 Sep 2006, 19:36
Neither Kelly or Salopek really fit the fast midfielder mould, they move well enough but neither are line-breakers.
They're young and agile though. Agility in and around packs dishing off to our pace to break lines. Ie. Dish off to Dyson, etc.

Merv
22 Sep 2006, 19:53

I know you will think i am picking on you again, but you are wrong again.
James Kelly is not quick and would be about the same pace as JJ.
He would fit into the average pace catagory, and thats being nice to him.
He does take players on and has some agality but imo he certainly is not what Essendon needs.
Kelly is not an explosive player and doesn't "burst away" as you put it.

Merv
22 Sep 2006, 19:56

We need pace over skill at the momment

Give me an averaged paced skilled player that can get the ball than a quick player that turns it over.
Turn overs in modern football almost Guarantee a score to the opposition these days

ant555
22 Sep 2006, 20:02
Give me an averaged paced skilled player that can get the ball than a quick player that turns it over.
Turn overs in modern football almost Guarantee a score to the opposition these days

Exactly and we have been giving up on average 23 points a game from turnovers. Would have made a huge difference if we wernt giving up 4 goals a game this year.

blumfieldisback
23 Sep 2006, 01:18
He does take players on and has some agality but imo he certainly is not what Essendon needs.

I hear you merv but im not so sure we need that line breaker, certainl would help but im inclined to think that with dyson, demspey, lovett, winderlich plus a quick midfielder with pick 18 or 20 we have sufficent pace what we need is a midfielder who has adeqate skills that can get it to these blokes yet doesnt have an opponent running him ragged, i think kelly could help here but that my opinion. adelaides midfield is not full of line breakers??? then again thats why they will lose this weekend.

Merv
23 Sep 2006, 03:04
I hear you merv but im not so sure we need that line breaker, certainl would help but im inclined to think that with dyson, demspey, lovett, winderlich plus a quick midfielder with pick 18 or 20 we have sufficent pace what we need is a midfielder who has adeqate skills that can get it to these blokes yet doesnt have an opponent running him ragged, i think kelly could help here but that my opinion. adelaides midfield is not full of line breakers??? then again thats why they will lose this weekend.

You have me confused with jasiano.
I'm not saying we need line breakers or super quick players, although i would take some skillful ones.
I was disputing the fact that he said kelly was quick.
I think kellys skills are average but i respect your opinion and that is an opinion really , where as if some one is quick or not is more factual.
Kelly is not quick and that was what i was pointing out.

I don't want him, but i can see what some see in him

Jasiano
23 Sep 2006, 03:13
Dude...He is faster than the average player. Quick on his feet off the mark and can beat players when playing his best footy, with full confidence of course.

He has talent and hasn't been used by Bomber Thompson as well as he could've been. As i said his another one that Sheedy could mould in my opinion.

Why isn't he what Essendon needs?

blumfieldisback
23 Sep 2006, 10:27
yeah well i never said he was quick, but i think he has skills. Those skills probably dissapeared this year due to confidence, oh well doesn't matter it appears sheedy is after gardiner now. I cant believe he has said he is over his injuries, i bet within 2-3 weeks he hurts his knee again. I thought sheeds said he only wanted to draft good people to the club yet here we have a player that openly confessed to wanting to join the mob after footy??? he is another zantuck, i think we're going to trade laycock for someobody and get gardiner in the psd now.

Merv
23 Sep 2006, 14:38
Dude...He is faster than the average player. Quick on his feet off the mark and can beat players when playing his best footy, with full confidence of course.

He has talent and hasn't been used by Bomber Thompson as well as he could've been. As i said his another one that Sheedy could mould in my opinion.

Why isn't he what Essendon needs?

I suppose it depends on what your idea of quick is.

I believe that he is not what Essendon needs because imo he is not quick and his delivery can be ordinary at times.
imo he is a bit of a front runner, but this is yet to be proven.

Jasiano
23 Sep 2006, 17:41
I suppose it depends on what your idea of quick is.

I believe that he is not what Essendon needs because imo he is not quick and his delivery can be ordinary at times.
imo he is a bit of a front runner, but this is yet to be proven.
His slightly built and quick on his feet off the mark. We don't need guys that have the speed of say Judd, we just need some fresher legs. This is what Kelly would provide. His one of the only guys that we could possibly pick up in the draft that could be thrown into the centre of our midfeild almost immediately.

Merv, who do you believe we should be looking at trying to pick up? And who are you willing to give up?

Merv
23 Sep 2006, 19:19
His slightly built and quick on his feet off the mark. We don't need guys that have the speed of say Judd, we just need some fresher legs. This is what Kelly would provide. His one of the only guys that we could possibly pick up in the draft that could be thrown into the centre of our midfeild almost immediately.

Merv, who do you believe we should be looking at trying to pick up? And who are you willing to give up?

As i have said in previous posts i believe we need a CHB.
For this reason, and without knowing who else may be available, i would like us to make a big play for Thornton.
This is of course if we think he can play CHB, which i think he could.
He is 22, 192cms and 95kg, he provides some run out of the backline for Carlton and i could see him providing this for us as well as keeping his man in check.
He is probably more of a natural FB and i'm sure Lloydy would be happy to play with him rather than against him as he plays very well on Lloydy.
We could make him a large offer, thus putting pressure on Carlton to either trade him or let him leave for free,which they wouldnt do.

If it was a midfielder type we were looking for i think Brent Reilly from the crows would be worth trading for.
He has reasonable pace, without being quick, but uses the ball extremely well and is very adaptable, being able to play anywhere in the midfied/forward/back areas.
He is a Victorian lad so would give is a better chance of getting him.
Not sure what you would have to give up for him, but i am in favour of trading any of Solomon or Welsh along with later draft choices to get what we need.
Whether any clubs would be interested in those players, i'm not so sure.

Theres heaps and heaps of players i would like us to get, but in reality very few are available

GET THORNTON

Jasiano
23 Sep 2006, 19:44
As i have said in previous posts i believe we need a CHB.
For this reason, and without knowing who else may be available, i would like us to make a big play for Thornton.
This is of course if we think he can play CHB, which i think he could.
He is 22, 192cms and 95kg, he provides some run out of the backline for Carlton and i could see him providing this for us as well as keeping his man in check.
He is probably more of a natural FB and i'm sure Lloydy would be happy to play with him rather than against him as he plays very well on Lloydy.
We could make him a large offer, thus putting pressure on Carlton to either trade him or let him leave for free,which they wouldnt do.

If it was a midfielder type we were looking for i think Brent Reilly from the crows would be worth trading for.
He has reasonable pace, without being quick, but uses the ball extremely well and is very adaptable, being able to play anywhere in the midfied/forward/back areas.
He is a Victorian lad so would give is a better chance of getting him.
Not sure what you would have to give up for him, but i am in favour of trading any of Solomon or Welsh along with later draft choices to get what we need.
Whether any clubs would be interested in those players, i'm not so sure.

Theres heaps and heaps of players i would like us to get, but in reality very few are available

GET THORNTON
I reckon we can get Thornton for a package including Solly + a later pick (or) another player. I wouldn't be giving up Welsh thats for sure though. For Reilly possibly i would think about trading Welsh but definitely not for Thornton. I'm reluctant to trade Welsh, his a real typical Bomber backman. Provides us with that grunt back there, we wouldn't want to lose Welsh this year and then possibly Solly next.

I do think that Thornton can play at CHB for the rest of his career successfully for us. When Carlton use to play Livingstone at FB Thornton used to play at that CHB and had a really good couple of seasons before this one. Livingstone went out of the team due to lack of form which pushed Thornton back to to FB when really he is more of a CHB.

I'm not so sure on trading for Reilly but i reckon we can and should go for Thornton.

Would you trade Keplar + Solly for Thornton?

Jeremias
23 Sep 2006, 19:48
I reckon we can get Thornton for a package including Solly + a later pick (or) another player. I wouldn't be giving up Welsh thats for sure though. For Reilly possibly i would think about trading Welsh but definitely not for Thornton. I'm reluctant to trade Welsh, his a real typical Bomber backman. Provides us with that grunt back there, we wouldn't want to lose Welsh this year and then possibly Solly next.

I do think that Thornton can play at CHB for the rest of his career successfully for us. When Carlton use to play Livingstone at FB Thornton used to play at that CHB and had a really good couple of seasons before this one. Livingstone went out of the team due to lack of form which pushed Thornton back to to FB when really he is more of a CHB.

I'm not so sure on trading for Reilly but i reckon we can and should go for Thornton.

Would you trade Keplar + Solly for Thornton?

You are deluding yourself if you think we will take that trade. Solomon? NOT A CHANCE! Don't really want Kepler either. Thornton for Laycock and a pick?

If not, what are the chances of Laycock not being traded and coming to us through the PSD?

Jasiano
23 Sep 2006, 20:00
You are deluding yourself if you think we will take that trade. Solomon? NOT A CHANCE! Don't really want Kepler either. Thornton for Laycock and a pick?

If not, what are the chances of Laycock not being traded and coming to us through the PSD?
The lack of discipline Solly has shown with the free-kicks his given away has been disgracefull. The only reason i've stuck with him is because of the quality of clubman he is.

If we WERE to keep him hopefully he can strip off some weight and be determined to show SOMETHING close to his best form.

And on Laycock. I wouldn't be willing to give Laycock up. He has shown patches of talent and even if we were to get Gardiner i'm not so sure we'd want to give him away.

The thing is though, Carlton need a ruckmen and their new policy concerning players over 26 won't allow Gardiner to go there. Possibly Carlton would have an interest in Cartledge + Solly. That would be the best case scenario for mine.

DaSawx
23 Sep 2006, 20:10
Thornton for Laycock and a pick?

Laycock has just as much if not more upside than Thornton, he is a good tap ruckman with excellent skills for a big man. Straight swap would be equitable

Jasiano
23 Sep 2006, 21:57
Laycock has just as much if not more upside than Thornton, he is a good tap ruckman with excellent skills for a big man. Straight swap would be equitable
It would leave no support for Hille UNLESS we get Gardiner. Would you guys take Hille/Gardiner as our two ruckmen with Ryder/Cartledge developing?

Look at it this way. We could have Gardiner and Thornton for the price of Laycock and a pre-season draft pick. Thats not a bad deal at all in my book. Helping out Hille immediately (as long as we can rejuvunate Gardiner from his troubles) with our CHB position also fixed immediately. This will leave time for the likes of Ryder, Keplar, Lee, etc, to develop into those roles.

Don't forget, Gardiner can go forward. That would provide so much depth to our forward line.

Lloyd, Lucas, Johns, Gardiner. Four big men that no other backline would be able to match-up. Chuck the classy Hird speedy Lovett into that forward line and they're all extremely hard to match-up on.

DaSawx
23 Sep 2006, 23:19
It's a big call, I'd love to get Thornton, Sheedy would just have to be absolutely certain Gardiner is getting over both his injury woes and his mental lapses, if he is then I'll trust his judgement.

In the end getting Thornton may very well be a pipedream, interesting times ahead

Gunnar Longshanks
23 Sep 2006, 23:26
The potential value of any player in a draft is dependent on the needs of the club. Sydney has been a perfect example of this - drafting to cover a weakness. Some clubs would place little value on Laycock but those with a need for a developing ruckman who could also play forward would value him as a trade highly.I don't understand.

Is Laycock being traded or is he going in the draft?

They're not the same thing.

douggie the don
23 Sep 2006, 23:50
We're probably not going to get Thornton.
He's fishing for a 3 year deal and i'd be very surprised if we offered it.
If we can't rip someone off in a trade deal and grab a good pick for Laycock, then i'd rather we keep him (forget about Gardner) and get on with buisness.

Didn't see much of Kelly this year but i thought his skills were ok over the 2 years before this. His appeal isn't his pace it's his creativity. If the recruiting crew think with confidence he can deliver on his potential then he's worth a look.
I think Medhurst is worth a look if he's really cheap too.
I don't think pace will be our biggest issue. With Lovett, Dempsey, Dyson and Winderlich, hopefully 3 of them can cement spots in the team and give us the run we need.
We lack creative, skillfull midfielders to bring the show together. Over the year, the midfield has been dis-jointed and lacks fluency. Jobe can't do everything and at this stage in his career he doesn't have confidence in his kicking, so his games become more predictable and less effective.
We must draft some good football brains....
(preferably with elite athletic bodies attached)

DaSawx
24 Sep 2006, 08:31
One thing for sure is we don't need Medhurst, specially with Lloyd, Lucas, Hird, Johns, Lovett, Monfries, McVeigh, Hille and possibly even Gardiner (gulp) in the forward line, and hopefully sometimes even Kepler

Dysons dealdy left boot
24 Sep 2006, 11:55
Laycocks been unlucky and we need to stick with him. I think Essendon landed themselves another Bolton used a great draft pick and wasted it again. Would love it if Essendon traded Ryder get rid of him now so we can get something decent. He doesnt try doesnt look interested shows signs of individualism which we dont need in a side second last.

wazzabp
24 Sep 2006, 12:04
Get rid of Ryder? Are you insane!!??
The kids in his first year, at least give him a few years to develope and to bulk up.

DaSawx
24 Sep 2006, 13:00
When has he ever shown signs of individualism? He chases, tackles and smothers when the opposition have the ball. When he bulks up and gets a little more self confidence he'll be a top player

Merv
24 Sep 2006, 14:15
Laycocks been unlucky and we need to stick with him. I think Essendon landed themselves another Bolton used a great draft pick and wasted it again. Would love it if Essendon traded Ryder get rid of him now so we can get something decent. He doesnt try doesnt look interested shows signs of individualism which we dont need in a side second last.

Talk about getting rid of him already is lunacy.
He seems a bit hesitant/timid atm, but i'm sure he will grow in confidence as the years go on.
I'm prepared to back the recruiting departments huge opinion of him, and what young ruckman come in and play well straight away.......none

Merv
24 Sep 2006, 15:48
BTW

Isn't it supposed to be Dysons "deadly" left boot and not Dysons dealdy left boot..... We really need a spellchecker on this site

ant555
24 Sep 2006, 18:57

God help us :rolleyes:
Name all the 18 year old ruckman who play any senior games in their first year let alone 8 or 9. He played like a kid who was finding his way at AFL level against guys who where 20kg heavier and much more experienced.
He has already done much more than what Laycock did in his first year.
Best you go and watch a bit more footy before making stupid comments ;)

Dysons dealdy left boot
25 Sep 2006, 13:40
When has he ever shown signs of individualism? He chases, tackles and smothers when the opposition have the ball. When he bulks up and gets a little more self confidence he'll be a top player

Agree he needs some confidence but totally disagree that he chases, tackles and smothers when the opposition have the ball. The only possies he has got all year are from shere luck. He did about one good thing all year against Melbourne took a mark. I really really hope he comes good but he has a very long way to go.

DaSawx
25 Sep 2006, 14:04
Agree he needs some confidence but totally disagree that he chases, tackles and smothers when the opposition have the ball. The only possies he has got all year are from shere luck. He did about one good thing all year against Melbourne took a mark. I really really hope he comes good but he has a very long way to go.

Keep watching buddy, I've seen him chase, tackle and smother, you don't always have to watch where the ball is

Dysons dealdy left boot
26 Sep 2006, 15:00
I do watch more then where the ball is, hence the reason i don't rekon he tries. I think everyone here is talking in hope rather then in logic. I want him to become good but he didnt show anything that made me think wow give him a few years and we have a player. Unlike a Laycock or a Johns who have taken marks kicked goals tackled and lead well. They showed promise in my opinion Ryder hasnt done so yet.

ant555
26 Sep 2006, 23:30
I do watch more then where the ball is, hence the reason i don't rekon he tries. I think everyone here is talking in hope rather then in logic. I want him to become good but he didnt show anything that made me think wow give him a few years and we have a player. Unlike a Laycock or a Johns who have taken marks kicked goals tackled and lead well. They showed promise in my opinion Ryder hasnt done so yet.

How many senior games did Laycock play in his first season ? If you cant answer then dont even bother with the argument. The two players you are comparing him with are three years older for a start.

stander
27 Sep 2006, 10:52
How many senior games did Laycock play in his first season ? If you cant answer then dont even bother with the argument. The two players you are comparing him with are three years older for a start.

Laycock debuted against Carlton late in 2004 and played 4 or 5 games and didn't do much. Nothing has really changed since then- injuries and other excuses leads us to now- no contract signed,and Carlton poised. He might go to Carlton and we get Gardiner. Seems a balanced tradeoff.

Longy413
27 Sep 2006, 10:56
Are you pro-Gardiner?

stander
27 Sep 2006, 11:15
Are you pro-Gardiner?

No, but Sheedy loves this type- Richardson, Wheildon, Cupido ,Zantuck, Haynes, Murphy etc.

Longy413
27 Sep 2006, 11:17
Fair enough, not sure Haynes belongs in that group though.

stander
27 Sep 2006, 11:23
Fair enough, not sure Haynes belongs in that group though.

Anything happen at Riverside ?

Longy413
27 Sep 2006, 11:25
Golf course?

stander
27 Sep 2006, 11:29
Golf course?
Thereabouts

Longy413
27 Sep 2006, 11:33
No idea what you're talking about.

The reason I suggested Haynes didn't belong in that group was because he spent a year as a Supp List player with our VFL side and was then Rookied. He was a young player, he wasn't traded for and was made to earn his way onto the list.

stander
27 Sep 2006, 11:46
No idea what you're talking about.

Thats surprising.

Dysons dealdy left boot
27 Sep 2006, 12:08

Yer ok he played 4. I didnt mean to compare the two but theres no way Essendon could trade Laycock for a 2nd round pick and pin there hopes on Ryder at this point in time as our 2nd ruckmen, like the title of the thread sugests.

essendon
27 Sep 2006, 14:28
Was mentioned on SEN today with K Bartlett that laycock is linked with Carlton, anyone here similiar news

Nuts4Bolts
27 Sep 2006, 15:11
Was mentioned on SEN today with K Bartlett that laycock is linked with Carlton, anyone here similiar news

I think we should offer offer Polak a contract and snap him up in the PSD. Let Laycock go into the PSD as well, the Blues will take him and we get Polak with the 2nd pick. If we draft Gumbleton we won't need Laycock. But I guess that depends on finding another ruckman to help out Hille untill Ryder is ready.

blumfieldisback
27 Sep 2006, 15:18
I think we should offer offer Polak a contract and snap him up in the PSD. Let Laycock go into the PSD as well, the Blues will take him and we get Polak with the 2nd pick. If we draft Gumbleton we won't need Laycock. But I guess that depends on finding another ruckman to help out Hille untill Ryder is ready.

That would be silly, why wouldnt u trade laycock in a 3 way deal that would land polak and then get gardiner in the PSD. But personaly i wouldnt trade laycock i would trade bradley to freo in exchange for polak. and then try and get thornton in the PSD

Nuts4Bolts
27 Sep 2006, 15:22
That would be silly, why wouldnt u trade laycock in a 3 way deal that would land polak and then get gardiner in the PSD. But personaly i wouldnt trade laycock i would trade bradley to freo in exchange for polak. and then try and get thornton in the PSD

Because Freo won't let Polak go without having to give an arm and leg, Gardiner you could get in the 2nd round of the PSD so no need to waste a trade on him. Ideally I guess a straight swap between Thorton and Laycock would be good but I don't think he'll leave. In effect we are losing Laycock to make sure we get Polak. That's a fair deal.

Merv
27 Sep 2006, 15:39
I have hardly seen Polak play, hence why i have not mentioned him in any of my posts re a CHB.
He is struggling to get into Freos best team
Is he any good, or are people blinded by the hype and the fact he was an early pick?

GET THORNTON

Evvo
27 Sep 2006, 15:44

I like the idea of sending Bradley home but we have to be certain that Polak is a better option in the longterm then bradley. Im not convinced he is. Ideally Bradley is a HFF, Winger and in a few years Lucas,Lloyd and Hird will Be gone so

Bradley Gumby Lovett
Looks good across CHF.

Laycock certainly has more upside then Gardiner and would want to keep him. If we are gunna offload some players let it be Solomon and Heffernan and Peveril... All three i cant see playing in our next premiership

Nuts4Bolts
27 Sep 2006, 15:52
I'd prefer to keep Laycock but if he puts his foot down and wants to go to Carlton, as keeps getting mentioned, what deal are they going to offer us. Not much. Especially after Campo last year. So if he does go PSD, then we need to make sure that either Polak, Thorton or any other player we like goes through to the PSD as we could get them for nothing. And as I've said Freo won't trade Polak lightly despite him not being in their side at the minute.

DaSawx
27 Sep 2006, 16:06
Laycock certainly has more upside then Gardiner and would want to keep him. If we are gunna offload some players let it be Solomon and Heffernan and Peveril... All three i cant see playing in our next premiership

Heffernan's still solid and should be kept for experience until Dyson, Winderlich, Dempsey etc can play week in week out.

blumfieldisback
27 Sep 2006, 16:18
Because Freo won't let Polak go without having to give an arm and leg, Gardiner you could get in the 2nd round of the PSD so no need to waste a trade on him. Ideally I guess a straight swap between Thorton and Laycock would be good but I don't think he'll leave. In effect we are losing Laycock to make sure we get Polak. That's a fair deal.

gardiner wont last until the 2nd round, the saints would pick him up for sure and so would the bulldogs. Polak can also play hf and is better suited to playing one on one which is where bradley fails.

In regards to Polak, Merv well u know Mcphee couldnt get a guernsey in a poor freo side, richards couldnt get a game for us last year and is playing in a grand final this saturday after playing majority of games with the reigning premiers.

Crave
27 Sep 2006, 16:20
Heffernan's still solid and should be kept for experience until Dyson, Winderlich, Dempsey etc can play week in week out.

Ill admit Im still scpetical about Heffernan, but he's shown in the last few weeks of the season that it couldnt hurt to have him around for another year or two provded he plays at his absolute best. I wouldnt go as far as saying he'll hurt the opposition but for depth and experience...he remains a solid all rounder

DaSawx
27 Sep 2006, 17:10
Ill admit Im still scpetical about Heffernan, but he's shown in the last few weeks of the season that it couldnt hurt to have him around for another year or two provded he plays at his absolute best. I wouldnt go as far as saying he'll hurt the opposition but for depth and experience...he remains a solid all rounder

He doesn't jave to hurt the opposition with depth and experience he provides our team with it. He deosn't have to play every game, he'll play when his form warrants and when the form of our other midfielders warrants Heff being in the side, unlike Peverill he keeps his opponent in check and uses it quite well, especially under pressure

Dysons dealdy left boot
28 Sep 2006, 13:58
What's the go with Austin Lucy isn't he a tall Backmen.

go_the_bombers
28 Sep 2006, 14:01
What's the go with Austin Lucy isn't he a tall Backmen.

Yeah but he played most of this year in the VFL up forward