View Full Version : mad supporters, obsessive or tragic?

danielcanberra
24 Sep 2006, 10:07
I have been re-watching the 2001-02-03 grand finals.

I know the outcome of those games, but still yell out while watching the 2002 GF.

Please tell me I am normal and not tragic.

Vidman
24 Sep 2006, 11:01

I know the outcome of those games, but still yell out while watching the 2002 GF.

You're a tragic, but in here thats normal.

Chasing the Dream
24 Sep 2006, 11:16

Agree with Vidman, tragic but normal.

However, I have never seen a replay of the 2002, 2003 Grand Finals or the 2003 Preliminary final, and only a few weeks back watched 2001 decider.

Something about those games, and being there was special!!!!:thumbsu:

lion_gooner
24 Sep 2006, 11:31
watching the 02 and 03 grand finals is normal i mean you could not have picked a better team to beat 2 years in a row.

and seeing mick malthouse cry in 02 was pretty funny and seeing them show eddie during the game in 03 was sweet as :D

Dr Pea P.I
24 Sep 2006, 21:46
I totally agree. I admit i must have watched the 3 grand finals, maybe, 20 times each. I lived in Sicily for 2 years and every week i watched either the prelim, semis or grand finals. They all thought i was mad, not mad, just mad for Brisbane. Even watch the 2004 granny once while - only up to 3/4 time - just to fanatasize what could have been. Too many ifs and could have beens.....anyway....cannot lament...we still were/are the greatest team of this era!!!!

Vipertooth
25 Sep 2006, 00:18
I totally agree. I admit i must have watched the 3 grand finals, maybe, 20 times each. I lived in Sicily for 2 years and every week i watched either the prelim, semis or grand finals. They all thought i was mad, not mad, just mad for Brisbane. Even watch the 2004 granny once while - only up to 3/4 time - just to fanatasize what could have been. Too many ifs and could have beens.....anyway....cannot lament...we still were/are the greatest team of this era!!!!

No no no mate the best team in history, i like the sound of that :D :thumbsu:

danielcanberra
25 Sep 2006, 18:46
Thanks for the affirmation. I am tragic but normal amongst other tragics!

Um, I have a Lions doona cover on my bed (QS) and pillow cases.

Is that over the top?

Tim the Toolman
25 Sep 2006, 18:59
I've been known to do the same thing after a few beers on a dull Friday night at home (watch one of the grannies). You're definitely bloody normal to me matey! :thumbsu:

Lady Lawrence
25 Sep 2006, 21:07

Is that over the top?

before answering the question re your bedding, a what age bracket are you in?

danielcanberra
25 Sep 2006, 21:56
before answering the question re your bedding, a what age bracket are you in?

A grown up (hence Queen size doona cover). Not much older than the older players...

Would any players have a BL doona cover?

BBFFC
25 Sep 2006, 22:53
A grown up (hence Queen size doona cover). Not much older than the older players...

Would any players have a BL doona cover?

Absolutely NOT

Chezwick
25 Sep 2006, 23:06
hmmmm, I like the sound of the doona, might have to invest in one soon :D

I'm pretty much obsessive. One entire draw of Lions shirts and gurnseys, a tracksuit that I won :D, a giant Brisbane Lions logo hanging in me room (I got it off the Aussie Chamber of Commerce people when I was living in the Philippines) and a Aka painting, 3 or so hats, and the Premiership DVD's....

Wait, does that just mean obsessive... or am I as well a tragic?

Vipertooth
25 Sep 2006, 23:20

Is that over the top?

ZOMG I have that too :eek:, also lions scarf, 3 jumpers, 2 jackets, 5 t - shirts, beanie, few books, the grand finals, phone cover, wallet, key ring, backpack, wrist band, 2 mouspads, lions cap (signed by a few players at lynches 300 game), one of this little bear things with number 3 on the back, 2 flags (one massive one), 2003 poster, training gurnsey and probably more......

Is that over the top?

Cause I dont think so, just so proud :D :thumbsu:

Dr Pea P.I
25 Sep 2006, 23:45
I often sneak in and sleep with J Brown's greyhounds....is this normal?

danielcanberra
25 Sep 2006, 23:54
ZOMG I have that too :eek:, also lions scarf, 3 jumpers, 2 jackets, 5 t - shirts, beanie, few books, the grand finals, phone cover, wallet, key ring, backpack, wrist band, 2 mouspads, lions cap (signed by a few players at lynches 300 game), one of this little bear things with number 3 on the back, 2 flags (one massive one), 2003 poster, training gurnsey and probably more......

Is that over the top?

Fantastic Vipertooth. The problem is not living in Brisbane or Melbourne where this 'behaviour' is more acceptable. Only one scarf?

I have 5 scarves (2 members, 1 regular, 1 ten year, one old Bears), 2 beanies, 3 caps, a bunch of t-shirts, dress socks, wristband, tie, little bear in uniform, player badges (7), 1 big flag, short sleeve guernsey, long sleeve guernsey, 2006 heritage round bears guernsey (worn and signed by Josh Drummond), Blacky's 2006 match worn guernsey, door chime, two clocks (they were on sale), a pair of THONGS, and probably more other stuff...

Now, should I get the bath towel or not?

What I think might be really over the top is going to a game wearing the full kit (I've seen it). Now that is really tragic.

Chezwick
25 Sep 2006, 23:56

LOL!!!!!! Post of the Year :D

John
25 Sep 2006, 23:58

Does he have kennels in London?

Dr Pea P.I
26 Sep 2006, 00:00
Does he have kennels in London?

OK - you caught me. But those dreams seem so real

Vipertooth
26 Sep 2006, 00:16
Now, should I get the bath towel or not?

What I think might be really over the top is going to a game wearing the full kit (I've seen it). Now that is really tragic.

That reminds me i got the beach towel :) get the bath towel mate, you cannot go wrong with lions products!

Chezwick
26 Sep 2006, 00:59
That reminds me i got the beach towel :) get the bath towel mate, you cannot go wrong with lions products!

I keep on telling me Mum and me Sister who I swear are going to going to do some sort of intervention on me and Lions stuff....

Towels I need to get. Was thinking of buying a coupla pairs of footy shorts.

Ahhh, all I need now is money :)

Lady Lawrence
26 Sep 2006, 09:38
Absolutely NOT

Luke Power had a picture of himself above his bed!!

Anyone at the Revue a couple of years back would have seen that so no inside information there!

irel
26 Sep 2006, 11:32
Last time I was with Paris Hilton at the Harriot I asked her to put on the full Brisbane Lions outfit and do a "Pole Dance Strip Show" for me. Is that normal?

John
26 Sep 2006, 11:43
Last time I was with Paris Hilton at the Harriot I asked her to put on the full Brisbane Lions outfit and do a "Pole Dance Strip Show" for me. Is that normal?

Yes!!!!!!

You are without doubt, and I will brook no argument from anyone, the most normal person on this thread. :thumbsu:

Lady Lawrence
26 Sep 2006, 11:57

by putting the lions gear on was that what was needed to differentiate her from the actual pole.

irel
26 Sep 2006, 13:12
by putting the lions gear on was that what was needed to differentiate her from the actual pole.
:D Yeah that too. Also, quite exciting, Lions gear worn by a blond. Pitty it had to come off!

irel
26 Sep 2006, 13:14
Yes!!!!!!

You are without doubt, and I will brook no argument from anyone, the most normal person on this thread. :thumbsu:
Where can I get leather straps and hand cuffs in Lions colors John?

John
26 Sep 2006, 13:31

Meeeowww!!! LL:p

And to think I thought you might be a member of the mile high club:p

John
26 Sep 2006, 13:34
Where can I get leather straps and hand cuffs in Lions colors John?

You could try that place along Ipswich Road. Some thing about Nice in the title? Next to a car yard. Not sure where it is though:D . They may very well custom make them. Not that I would know though:)

Lady Lawrence
26 Sep 2006, 13:39
They may very well custom make them. Not that I would know though:)

they do custom make them.....................erm I think someone may have mentioned it once which maybe how I know that:o

irel
26 Sep 2006, 13:51
they do custom make them.....................erm I think someone may have mentioned it once which maybe how I know that:oSuuure LL;)

Warwick
26 Sep 2006, 16:01

Is that over the top?

I have a lions mousepad.

Vipertooth
26 Sep 2006, 19:08
Jus remembered more, I have a lions calander, waterbottle, beer holder, drink cooler, football and a framed picture of lynch wich has been signed by Lynch adressed to me.....I think that is all....

Also, suprise suprise my 18th bday cake was decorated in lions colours.

GO LIONS :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Chezwick
26 Sep 2006, 19:14
I have one of those mugs you stick in the freezer. Thats a Lions one too :D

And I did get something rather nice from the carton of Midstrength..... A Beer Holder in the shape of a gurensy.... on the back, the word VOSS and the number 3 :)

Vipertooth
26 Sep 2006, 19:32
A Beer Holder in the shape of a gurensy.... on the back, the word VOSS and the number 3 :)

ZOMG, must have!!!!!!!!!!

John
26 Sep 2006, 19:39
I have a Lions stubbie holder that has that hole underneath to take the cap of and when you use it the club song plays.

danielcanberra
26 Sep 2006, 19:57
Luke Power had a picture of himself above his bed!!

Anyone at the Revue a couple of years back would have seen that so no inside information there!

Perhaps Lukey needs reminding when he wakes up of who he is!
"Oh, that's me. I'm Luke, not Vossy. Damn! That spell didn't work again..."

All the players should really have a picture of Leigh Matthews above their bed. But it might give them nightmares!

Chezwick
26 Sep 2006, 19:58
I have a Lions stubbie holder that has that hole underneath to take the cap of and when you use it the club song plays.

That right there is greatness :P

I also have the standard stubbie holder with the Lions geansey, but I like me Vossy one :D

Warwick
26 Sep 2006, 19:59
All the players should really have a picture of Leigh Matthews above their bed. But it might give them nightmares!
Or act as a contraceptive for Aker and Megan.

danielcanberra
26 Sep 2006, 20:06

I thought about the towel it, but considered that it might be a bit over the top...

Is it nice and soft?

By the way, I was in Melbourne a few weeks ago and went to the AFL shop (AFL world was closed for the day) and bought Lions guernsey shaped luggage tags (x2) for $5 each. I've never seen these at the Gabba shop.

Chezwick
26 Sep 2006, 20:08
THe Coles are selling Lions shopping bags.... considering I usually go into the my local one decked out in Lions clothing, I really should buy a couple :D

scott522
26 Sep 2006, 20:19
I have 15 player worn and signed guernseys from over the years...heritage rounds and special event, ie. 10 year - and heaps of other stuff (fitz/bears and lions)...tragic, no - passionate, most definitely !

John
26 Sep 2006, 20:27
I have 15 player worn and signed guernseys from over the years...heritage rounds and special event, ie. 10 year - and heaps of other stuff (fitz/bears and lions)...tragic, no - passionate, most definitely !

Swap you my stubbie holder:D

Warwick
26 Sep 2006, 20:38
You may need to throw in a 2nd rounder as well John.

John
26 Sep 2006, 20:46
You may need to throw in a 2nd rounder as well John.

Think you are right there. Scott522 realises that I have no credability at all. Smart poster:). I guess I could also add my 3peat scarf into the deal but I know I am on a loser here so I will surrender to the inevitable:o.

John
26 Sep 2006, 20:51
Not signed but we do have an old bears guernsey. I do not seem to see many of those around nowadays.

scott522
26 Sep 2006, 20:51

Um tempting but..no ! :)

lionlova
27 Sep 2006, 12:38
I still have the sports section of 'The Age', the day after the 2003 Grand Final.

Is that weird?

Lady Lawrence
27 Sep 2006, 13:12
not at all - at last I hope not

I have all the Melbourne and Brisbane papers from the day before and the day after each Grand Final (all 4) and the Wednesday after the ticker tape parades (all 3). All in an airtight box with the footy records, my MCG ticket stubs, plane tickets, hotel stuff, basically anything relating to the GF's and my trips downthere

Chezwick
27 Sep 2006, 15:26
My wallpaper on my laptop is the Lions logo.... my sign in chime is the first couple of seconds of the club anthem, my sign out chime is the last few seconds of the club anthem.....

Is that normal?

Lady Lawrence
27 Sep 2006, 15:34
when I get new e mail I get the sound of Tigger - woo hoo hoo hoo

campbell
27 Sep 2006, 15:47
We have the normal array of Lions/Bears stuff.
Ranging from original Brisbane bear signed by the whole 1995 finals team, to old Bears single bedlinen.
We have the usual suspect personal signed jumpers.A friends pride and joy is Champs last jumper,signed to him,and still smells of linement.
The kids fav, though is their actual picture with a Lions player,at a private BBQ with GF medals in their hands.

Everything is personal and private for us.Can't handle people that take advantage of the players and get things signed and then on sell them.

or people that step over the line, and border on stalking players.

lionlova
27 Sep 2006, 16:12
We have the normal array of Lions/Bears stuff.
Ranging from original Brisbane bear signed by the whole 1995 finals team, to old Bears single bedlinen.
We have the usual suspect personal signed jumpers.A friends pride and joy is Champs last jumper,signed to him,and still smells of linement.
The kids fav, though is their actual picture with a Lions player,at a private BBQ with GF medals in their hands.

Everything is personal and private for us.Can't handle people that take advantage of the players and get things signed and then on sell them.

or people that step over the line, and border on stalking players.

One of the rumours to come out of the Brownlow, is that Leigh sells the players guernseys for money. You won't be surprised to find out that it all came from the man himself, Akermanis. What a bunch of bullsh*t.
Also said more about the club and Leigh, but i'm not going to post it becuase it's irrelevent and it's time to move on.

campbell
27 Sep 2006, 16:16
I have heard the club does indeed sell players signed stuff.

They are made sign enough stuff for the club, which is not theirs per say, or individualised.They have no choice.What the club does with it, would vary.

lionlova
27 Sep 2006, 16:19
I have heard the club does indeed sell players signed stuff.

They are made sign enough stuff for the club, which is not theirs per say, or individualised.They have no choice.What the club does with it, would vary.

Yeh, i know the club sells some of the stuff, it's always advertised on the club website. But in this case, Aker was talking about Leigh himself selling it for his benefit.

campbell
27 Sep 2006, 16:22
Who knows, whoever bought said piece would be a wealth of inside info huh....

I personally feel for the players.Sometimes they sign so much stuff.Then they get no money from it.Yet the club or whoever benefits from thei signatures.Gotta be hard.

Lady Lawrence
27 Sep 2006, 16:32
pfft! Whatever, I don't collect signatures at all, the only one I have is for Stevie, and that was someone being a smart arse and getting his pic in a year book signed to me!

Didn't Craig McRae start a website for selling sports memorabilia.

Personally I couldn't give a stuff about signed things, or people selling them etc, it is the people stupid enough to buy them that I question.

I have a few pics taken with my fave's though (even then I feel stupid doing that!)

John
27 Sep 2006, 16:39
Yeh, i know the club sells some of the stuff, it's always advertised on the club website. But in this case, Aker was talking about Leigh himself selling it for his benefit.

It went through to the keeper lionlova.

danielcanberra
27 Sep 2006, 22:58
Doesn't the players' ownership of their stuff be in the contract?

A shame they don't keep all of their gear.

The club does auction (online) their gear and the money goes to the club.

I also know that when you sponsor a player, the club gets the money and not the player (I phoned and asked) but the sponsor does get the extra hospitality of/with the player, courtesy of the club of course.

I intend to ask Blacky to sign his own guernsey that I now own (only because it means a lot to me). If he wants it back, I'd give it to him, but then he does earn so much more money than me.

I wish I'd bid on a Crackers one now. Poor Crackers, he's still one of my favourites. I quite liked being surprised whether he had shaved or not, or had messy hair during a game.

danielcanberra
27 Sep 2006, 23:00
I still have the sports section of 'The Age', the day after the 2003 Grand Final.

Is that weird?

Me too, and for the previous two GFs too. And possibly something from the Courier Mail.

I really must store it properly so it doesn't fall apart. I still enjoy taking it out to read now and again.

scott522
27 Sep 2006, 23:46
Doesn't the players' ownership of their stuff be in the contract?

A shame they don't keep all of their gear.

The club does auction (online) their gear and the money goes to the club.

I also know that when you sponsor a player, the club gets the money and not the player (I phoned and asked) but the sponsor does get the extra hospitality of/with the player, courtesy of the club of course.

I intend to ask Blacky to sign his own guernsey that I now own (only because it means a lot to me). If he wants it back, I'd give it to him, but then he does earn so much more money than me.

I wish I'd bid on a Crackers one now. Poor Crackers, he's still one of my favourites. I quite liked being surprised whether he had shaved or not, or had messy hair during a game.

We have Crackers :) ... sorry !:(

danielcanberra
28 Sep 2006, 19:36
We have Crackers :) ... sorry !:(

Do you want to keep it or trade for number 39 (from Heritage Round) though I do like the old Bears gear (even if reproduction)?

Though I do wonder if they wear deodorant if you know what I mean...

Snuka
28 Sep 2006, 21:17

Is that weird?

Not at all...keep being passionate mate. I still have the article from the Courier Mail about the death of Joey Ramone.:o It's kind of similar I guess

danielcanberra
4 Oct 2006, 19:41
WOOHOO!

I just got in the mail, Blacky's worn 2006 guernsey.

It was WASHED... and I had opened the package outside just in case...

That or Blacky wears really good deodorant.

So chuffed!

ZoBlitz
5 Oct 2006, 00:07
Me too, and for the previous two GFs too. And possibly something from the Courier Mail.

I really must store it properly so it doesn't fall apart. I still enjoy taking it out to read now and again.

That reminds me, I hope I can still find my newspapers from the GFs. I fear they have been "tidied" so who knows where they are now...

I lost all my Football Records (from 1997) in a similar incident a couple of years back although apparently they are "still around somewhere". Surprisingly disappointing even though you doubt you'd want to read most of those interviews and the like again.

I remember in 1998 when we last had the injury curse, there was almost a rule that if a player was interviewed or pictured in the Record, there was a certainly that he'd manage to get himself injured in the game.

scott522
5 Oct 2006, 10:07
Do you want to keep it or trade for number 39 (from Heritage Round) though I do like the old Bears gear (even if reproduction)?

We picked up our 10 year and heritage ones when we went to the sponsors dinner on the 01.09...Mike had put them in a bag and even tho they were all wrapped you could smell them from under the dinner table !
:eek:
When I got home that night and unwrapped them, it smelt like someone had died (fresh fruit for rotting vegetables)...tried airing them for 2 days to no avail so had to end up handwashing in woolwash - that way they still looked match-worn (dirty) but at least the guy doing the framing wasn't going to pass out !
:thumbsu:
Brad's was the only match-worn one I never needed to wash as it didn't smell (apart from Simon's Dees one)...Have one of Jason's 2001 footy boots and it still has that freshly worn odour...

danielcanberra
5 Oct 2006, 13:56
We picked up our 10 year and heritage ones when we went to the sponsors dinner on the 01.09...Mike had put them in a bag and even tho they were all wrapped you could smell them from under the dinner table !
:eek:
When I got home that night and unwrapped them, it smelt like someone had died (fresh fruit for rotting vegetables)...tried airing them for 2 days to no avail so had to end up handwashing in woolwash - that way they still looked match-worn (dirty) but at least the guy doing the framing wasn't going to pass out !
:thumbsu:
Brad's was the only match-worn one I never needed to wash as it didn't smell (apart from Simon's Dees one)...Have one of Jason's 2001 footy boots and it still has that freshly worn odour...

I used Febreze (a fabric deodoriser) and hung it outside for a few days, and also on the hills hoist in the sun. Still took about two weeks though.

How much does framing cost? And which side do you display - front or back? Is it possible to do two-sided?

Warwick
5 Oct 2006, 13:59
I used Febreze (a fabric deodoriser) and hung it outside for a few days, and also on the hills hoist in the sun. Still took about two weeks though.

How much does framing cost? And which side do you display - front or back? Is it possible to do two-sided?
If you hang it on a glass wall.

Lady Lawrence
5 Oct 2006, 14:11

there is a place over at woolloongabba that does jumper framing for about $150. as for both sides, yup need a gas wall although Iam sure there would be a way to do it so the picture could be hung both ways?

danielcanberra
7 Oct 2006, 14:17
Am watching the 2001 GF again.

sigh!
:D

scott522
7 Oct 2006, 14:45

You can get a perspex open hanging jumper frame so you can turn it over and see both sides - if it's an everyday match-worn, I hang number side but if it's a subliminated one ie. 10 year, I hang front side...

scott522
7 Oct 2006, 14:45

Daniel see the farewell crackers thread...:)

danielcanberra
7 Oct 2006, 14:53
Daniel see the farewell crackers thread...:)

Nice one! :cool:

danielcanberra
8 Oct 2006, 16:23
You can get a perspex open hanging jumper frame so you can turn it over and see both sides - if it's an everyday match-worn, I hang number side but if it's a subliminated one ie. 10 year, I hang front side...

Hi, where do get these from? Are they DIY ones?

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m176/keisercat/DSC00681.jpg
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m176/keisercat/DSC00680.jpg

I guess this one should be framed with the front facing out.

lionlova
10 Oct 2006, 22:49
something for you guys to think about
http://afl.skinit.com.au/skin.aspx?abr=AFLBRS01

danielcanberra
10 Oct 2006, 22:58
something for you guys to think about
http://afl.skinit.com.au/skin.aspx?abr=AFLBRS01

Saw those. You'd have to be a total tragic to get one of those.

One has to draw the line somewhere.

Doorchime - yes
Doona cover - yes
Little beanie bear - yes
Wrist band - yes (even for grown ups)

But a club skin for your phone, laptop or MP3 player?

danielcanberra
13 Oct 2006, 19:56
Finally I've found maroon sheets and pillow cases to go with the mostly blue Lions doona cover and pillow cases.

They are from K-Mart, Royal Club brand, cotton/poly and colour is labelled as "Henna".

They are also on sale this week - QS fitted sheet is $21 (reduced from $35).

And to the 'style gurus', no I could not find maroon sheets by Sheridan.

Chezwick
13 Oct 2006, 22:52
I bought the heretige guernsey yesterday, along with some Lions shorts and Full-On AFL: The Board Game :D , and Lynchys book :D

And today I bought The Passion to Play DVD (Exposes something quite controversal while Walls was the Bears coach :eek:) the Lions Training Guernsey (only $40!!!!!), Lions boxers short (Oh how I wish it would say You'l hear my might roar on the rear :D) and some cargoes....

As well as that I got A Decade of Pride from Boarders in the city, great read.....Ahhhhh, life is good. All my Lions stuff is driving me family insane.... GOOD :D

Next.... my BED :D

danielcanberra
13 Oct 2006, 23:01
I bought the heretige guernsey yesterday, along with some Lions shorts and Full-On AFL: The Board Game :D , and Lynchys book :D

And today I bought The Passion to Play DVD (Exposes something quite controversal while Walls was the Bears coach :eek:) the Lions Training Guernsey (only $40!!!!!), Lions boxers short (Oh how I wish it would say You'l hear my might roar on the rear :D) and some cargoes....

As well as that I got A Decade of Pride from Boarders in the city, great read.....Ahhhhh, life is good. All my Lions stuff is driving me family insane.... GOOD :D

Next.... my BED :D
Good stuff mate! Get the door chime, and they will really go insane!

Re the guernseys, I think the shop is flogging them all off, to make way for the Vodafone branded ones.

Unfortunately, I've missed out on the alternate guernsey for now. I really like it.

Lions boxer shorts... hmmmm... I had never thought of it.

Chezwick
13 Oct 2006, 23:24
Good stuff mate! Get the door chime, and they will really go insane!

Re the guernseys, I think the shop is flogging them all off, to make way for the Vodafone branded ones.

Unfortunately, I've missed out on the alternate guernsey for now. I really like it.

Lions boxer shorts... hmmmm... I had never thought of it.

I've already driven me Dad so insane he lives overseas :D

Right now I'm enjoying 2002 highlights, and will watch the 2002 Grand Final aswell, while drinking Extra Dry Platnium in a Vossy Stubby Holder :D

danielcanberra
7 Mar 2007, 15:58
More loot from Saturday from shop in Manningham.

- 2007 members mug $14.95 (last year's has been over-used, time for a new one)
- 2007 members pin $8.95
- thongs (still on special at $5, I need another pair)
- stubbie cooler (on special at $10)

The new player badges are out - bought three.

Also the new alternate strip.

I gave the new scarf a miss.

Someone please keep me out of the shop, or hide my credit cards... ;)

POBT
7 Mar 2007, 16:00
- stubbie cooler (on special at $10)

Hope there was a beer inside. A bit steep!

danielcanberra
7 Mar 2007, 16:24
Hope there was a beer inside. A bit steep!

It's the one that resembles a long sleeve wet suit, which you can hang around your neck :D

danielcanberra
26 Mar 2007, 07:41
Australia Post will be selling AFL souvenir booklets in April 2007.

$14.95 each.

Each booklet includes stamps, team information, an AFL medalion and 10% discount on AFL merchandise.

Many years ago, there was a stamp booklet (non-souvenir) with stamps of very team. I actually used all the stamps. I could not bear using the Brisbane Bears one and it is still in my diary, unused.

scott522
26 Mar 2007, 09:13
Australia Post will be selling AFL souvenir booklets in April 2007.

$14.95 each.

Each booklet includes stamps, team information, an AFL medalion and 10% discount on AFL merchandise.

Many years ago, there was a stamp booklet (non-souvenir) with stamps of very team. I actually used all the stamps. I could not bear using the Brisbane Bears one and it is still in my diary, unused.

they do these every year, dc - blacky did the 2004 launch in the city (bris) and they covered his face with stamps - will try and find the pic

LuckyLuke
26 Mar 2007, 10:08

LOL!!:D

danielcanberra
26 Mar 2007, 14:02
they do these every year, dc - blacky did the 2004 launch in the city (bris) and they covered his face with stamps - will try and find the pic

Why am I always the last one to find out about these things? :(

Did Blacky have enough postage on him to get anywhere? Given that postage on parcels is based on weight and volume, he might have had enough to go from the city to, err, the city again... :D

LuckyLuke
26 Mar 2007, 14:37
Why am I always the last one to find out about these things? :(

Did Blacky have enough postage on him to get anywhere? Given that postage on parcels is based on weight and volume, he might have had enough to go from the city to, err, the city again... :D

:D
I just checked. Anything above 20kg and you need to use a courier.
However if you just wanted to send the head then...

Lodgement Postcode: 4102
Destination Postcode: 3008
Parcel Weight: Up to 20 kg http://www1.auspost.com.au/images/spacer.gIfhttp://www1.auspost.com.au/images/spacer.gIfhttp://www1.auspost.com.au/images/spacer.gIf
Select Service Regular Parcel
Guaranteed Next Business Day (If posted on any business day Monday to Friday in accordance with the conditions set out on the item).
Total Charge$21.95

Thats if you wanted to send just the head to the Telstra Dome. You could probably send him in 6 pieces and assemble on delivery.

I think flying is still the way to go for the Melbourne games.:p