View Full Version : Lockwood leaving Centrals
Heard Clarkson on the radio talking about something happened lat elast year and him and Bowen had a bit of a falling out.
Plus Port wanted him played at half back.
Was a little confusing but the end result is he is looking for a new club.
My tip would be North, who have apparently already interviewed him.
North would be pretty happy with a young spine of Morgan, Lockwood, White and Brooks. They'd be ****ting their pants in anticipation I reckon.
Macca19
19 Feb 2002, 17:03
Originally posted by Port01
Heard Clarkson on the radio talking about something happened lat elast year and him and Bowen had a bit of a falling out.
Plus Port wanted him played at half back.
Was a little confusing but the end result is he is looking for a new club.
My tip would be North, who have apparently already interviewed him.
North would be pretty happy with a young spine of Morgan, Lockwood, White and Brooks. They'd be ****ting their pants in anticipation I reckon.
Hope he comes to Magpies...doubtful tho. Gee...North may not be as bad as everyone thinks this year.
dreamkillers
19 Feb 2002, 18:15
Just got this of the Port Magpies Email Group..........
Lockwood a Port Magpie?
Looks likely to happen. He has parted company with Central District because they wouldn't play him in defence where Port want him to play. They decided to release him from his contract to go elsewhere and he spoke to the Magpies and North and chose the Magpies.
The SANFL has to clear the move, and the other clubs are already starting to whinge about it.
To top that off, Fabian Francis has been seen training with the Port Magpies and according to KG and Cornes he is likely to play the season with them. I don't know what is happening with the Dockers but they said things weren't working out with them. :-) That is good news for the Maggies if it all comes off.
Vi
http://ThePowerFromPort.com
I was about to say he would be a nice pick up for the Magpies......I'm sure that can only help improve his form and attitude under Stephen Williams.
As for the whinging.....nothing new there.....:rolleyes:
Macca19
19 Feb 2002, 18:16
Originally posted by Macca19
Hope he comes to Magpies...doubtful tho. Gee...North may not be as bad as everyone thinks this year.
Well....few moments after i write this Lockwood seems to have gone to the Port Magpies!!!! Once a player is cleared he can go to the club of his choice...he has chosen Port Magpies!!! The SANFL still has to clear the move though. KG And Cornesy have already starting whinging about this saying its a disgrace and that the Power told Lockwood to play badly for the last two years so a falling out would happen with Centrals, and Cornesy reckons the other clubs are gonna try and boot the Magpies out of the league this season because of it (wont ever happen) and that its some kind of conspiracy and that Lockwood should be banned for playing in the SANFL this year and basically having a big f'n sook.
If Lockwood has chosen the Magpies then what can the SANFL do?? I bet they wouldnt be whinging if he did end up at North or Sturt or South.
Perfect for the Magpies tho really.
Not to mention apparently Fabian Francis trained and played in Port Magpies internal trial on teh weekend!!!! I dont think there is any chance of him playing with the Magpies tho
PowerGirl36
19 Feb 2002, 19:57
It's great to have Bowen at the Magpies where he would enjoy his footy more.
He told me and a friend last season he was unhappy at Centrals and wanted to go to the Magpies and that he would bleed Port colours! Good to see he finally got to make the move! Welcome Bowser!! :)
KG and Cornsey.....:rolleyes:
Porthos
20 Feb 2002, 01:18
Every player thats been transferred to Port Magpies (Gilligan, Harwood) has been delisted at the end of the year.
That said, he'll be a handy pickup.
dreamkillers
20 Feb 2002, 14:22
Originally posted by Porthos
Every player thats been transferred to Port Magpies (Gilligan, Harwood) has been delisted at the end of the year.
Correct on both points......
and don't we all love hearing the whinging of other club supporters for something that abides by SANFL rules........
Just wish they'd stop trying to drag us down and instead try to climb up and join us............I loved it when Peter Jonas quoted something very similar to that when Central's won their first flag.
Go Port
Tredders#16
22 Feb 2002, 13:04
Fair call, but I think Gilligan was quite handy in winning us a premiership, if I remember correctly...hmmmm...memory fading a bit methinks! Did he play in a premiership side?
Tredders#16
Porthos
22 Feb 2002, 13:09
What I saw of Gilligan was unimpressive. I seem to recall him playing reserves.
Speaking of passengers, Damien Brown.
Macca19
22 Feb 2002, 17:15
Originally posted by Tredders#16
Fair call, but I think Gilligan was quite handy in winning us a premiership, if I remember correctly...hmmmm...memory fading a bit methinks! Did he play in a premiership side?
Tredders#16
I think the player your thinking of is Daniel Jacques.
Gilligan played 12 senior games for us in 1997, and 10 reserves games...in 98 he played 1 senior game before leaving to return to victoria (or wherever he came from).
Average player really...only got a game because Chalmers was playing in the Crows and Gilligan and Daniel Jacques was all that was left.
Jacques however had talent. I was pretty upset when he chose to move interstate.
Macca19
22 Feb 2002, 17:17
What I saw of Gilligan was unimpressive. I seem to recall him playing reserves.
Speaking of passengers, Damien Brown.
DB WAS GOOD!!! :mad: :(
He was alright. Had a good year in 99 i thought...plus he kicked the point which put us in front in the grand final (the moment before Mcguiness kicked the 55m reverse torp)
Porthos
22 Feb 2002, 17:19
He didn't do anywhere enar enough around the ground. He occasionally won the ruck, and didn't do much else except celebrate coasting his way to a premiership.
Macca19
22 Feb 2002, 17:35
He didn't do anywhere enar enough around the ground. He occasionally won the ruck, and didn't do much else except celebrate coasting his way to a premiership.
He was only on the ground for 3 1/2 minutes in the grand final.
i thought he had an ok season. For a third ruckmen he was good
dreamkillers
22 Feb 2002, 18:31
i thought he had an ok season. For a third ruckmen he was good
Was he the guy from the West End Beer Ad......
You might be interested to hear that Phil Smith is being rested this weekend in Darwin due to a troublesome groin..........not looking good as I'm sure that was his problem last year as well
Porthos
22 Feb 2002, 18:55
i thought he had an ok season. For a third ruckmen he was good But he was recruited as a main, so he wasn't. Third best ruck at the Magpies, who usually have weak rucks, was not a good performance for someone so highly talked up in Tassie.
Macca19
22 Feb 2002, 19:44
Originally posted by dreamkillers
Was he the guy from the West End Beer Ad......
Nah thats Mick Spanagel
Macca19
22 Feb 2002, 19:45
But he was recruited as a main, so he wasn't. Third best ruck at the Magpies, who usually have weak rucks, was not a good performance for someone so highly talked up in Tassie.
Was he recruited for first ruck ahead of Brett Chalmers and Darryl Poole???? :confused:
Porthos
22 Feb 2002, 21:04
Was he recruited for first ruck ahead of Brett Chalmers and Darryl Poole???? :confused: Chalmers was AFL listed so the Magpies couldn't count on him for a regular role, and Darryl Poole is best at CHF, which you would know.
They recruited him because they wanted a #1 ruckman that would be there every week. Instead, they had to shift Pooley to cover for him. Thats not a good performance.
Ford Fairlane
22 Feb 2002, 23:31
I thought he was marginally better than Wes Fellowes ... ;)
... speaking of Port Magpies recruits - any news on that front? I know Ellen has come over in a swap for Cracker, and of course Bowie (you'd have to be living in a cave ...). There was a rumour about some Brisbane rookie list player too, but I haven't heard any names ...
If there isn't much activity, does this mean that guys like Lohde, Tessman, Davey, Lokan etc might get a real crack at it this year?
Macca19
23 Feb 2002, 00:08
Originally posted by Ford Fairlane
I thought he was marginally better than Wes Fellowes ... ;)
... speaking of Port Magpies recruits - any news on that front? I know Ellen has come over in a swap for Cracker, and of course Bowie (you'd have to be living in a cave ...). There was a rumour about some Brisbane rookie list player too, but I haven't heard any names ...
If there isn't much activity, does this mean that guys like Lohde, Tessman, Davey, Lokan etc might get a real crack at it this year?
Big Wes Fellowes!!! 1991...i remember that year, unfortuantly. He was a shocker.
I havent heard of any other recruits other than Ellen :( and Bowser.
Yes hopefully the likes of Tessman, Lohde, Davey, Lokan, Jason Burgoyne, Marcuss Burdett, Matthew Smith all get a fair bit of gametime this year. Along with Chris Robertson, Matty Ashley, Darren Fraser, Bam Bam adding some much needed pace and experience we should be ok this year.
Ford Fairlane
23 Feb 2002, 10:14
I heard Darren Fraser has gone back to Melbourne ...
Just saw today's trial game teams .. the former Bears player may be Hayden Kluver (188cm 84kg) - been named in the league side to play Westies. Simon Peucker from North Adelaide has also been named - I heard he was training with us, didn't know if he'd been cleared.
Tessman, M Smith and Lokan have been named in the league side ... Burdett's in the 2's - no sign of Davey. McGuiness also named in the 2's.
Looks like Mick Spanagel has gone to Westies!
Do u remember the other fabulous recruit of '91? Garry Smallridge? Wound up at Norwood. :rolleyes:
Macca19
23 Feb 2002, 10:23
I heard Darren Fraser has gone back to Melbourne ...
Just saw today's trial game teams .. the former Bears player may be Hayden Kluver (188cm 84kg) - been named in the league side to play Westies. Simon Peucker from North Adelaide has also been named - I heard he was training with us, didn't know if he'd been cleared.
Tessman, M Smith and Lokan have been named in the league side ... Burdett's in the 2's - no sign of Davey. McGuiness also named in the 2's.
Cool....so we have done some recruiting!!! Who is Simon Peucker? :confused:
good to see Tessman, M Smith, Lokan and Lohde as well getting a go. Looks like we might have a real young, inexperienced side this year, even tho Mcguiness, Carter and Ashley are in the ressies, and the Magarey Medallists arent playing. Davey could well be still up in NT.
Looks like Mick Spanagel has gone to Westies!
Do u remember the other fabulous recruit of '91? Garry Smallridge? Wound up at Norwood. :rolleyes:
Spanners only ever played the one good game for us. That was against Centrals in 2000...when his move to the ruck at half time was the main reason we came from 5-6 goals down and won.
Gary Smallridge grrrr...little bastard. All these people trying to look like Browny....remember Paul Kemp?
Ford Fairlane
23 Feb 2002, 12:58
Kempy, hahahaha .. Angus Young with Jimmy Barnes's hair!!! Couldn't forget him. He was like Spanners , one good game v Centrals I reckon ... he would've kicked 5 or 7 one day at Elizabeth? I have some recollection .. altho my recollections are admittedly hazy these days. Was locked in mortal combat with (Grand Final legend) Setts for the no. 2 or 3 rover spot for a few years.
He had a brother Mark, taller forward pocket type, long straight hair, played ressies, maybe a few league games? Used to kick a lot of goals for Broadview ...
...and Peter Crerar, another Broadie alumni. Looked like he could play but kept popping his kneecap out ...
... and of course speaking of Amateur League legends, you couldn't leave out Daryl Chenoweth. He could play a bit and he was scary ... pity training didn't agree with him ...
Ford Fairlane
23 Feb 2002, 13:03
oops, forgot Peucker - according to the Budget he's 189cm and 87kg ... I was told he's an on baller. Was vice captain at North (at least in 2000 - I don't buy many Budgets), 28 this year.
Macca19
23 Feb 2002, 13:44
Kempy, hahahaha .. Angus Young with Jimmy Barnes's hair!!! Couldn't forget him. He was like Spanners , one good game v Centrals I reckon ... he would've kicked 5 or 7 one day at Elizabeth? I have some recollection .. altho my recollections are admittedly hazy these days. Was locked in mortal combat with (Grand Final legend) Setts for the no. 2 or 3 rover spot for a few years.
Good old Setts!!! The Grand Final specialist. Kicked 3 classic goals in 1990...and another 1 or 2 in 92. Might have to get that 1990 tape out again i reckon.
He had a brother Mark, taller forward pocket type, long straight hair, played ressies, maybe a few league games? Used to kick a lot of goals for Broadview ...
Only other Kemp i remember at Port was David (?) Kemp in the mid 80s...tall defender who looked like Nigel Fiegert.
...and Peter Crerar, another Broadie alumni. Looked like he could play but kept popping his kneecap out ...
Remember the name but cant remember anything about him.
... and of course speaking of Amateur League legends, you couldn't leave out Daryl Chenoweth. He could play a bit and he was scary ... pity training didn't agree with him ...
Chynoweth. Scary!!! Thats an understatement. Looked like he just got released from Prison! Shaved head, goatee, tatts everywhere....only played 7 games but i thought he was impressive. I was only 6-7 at the time when he played (88-89) but hes a distinct memory from that era.
Good to think back about players who were like cult heros...never regulars but reasonable players. All those players were like my favourites. A few more names - Russel Boyd, Mark Warton, Troy Olsen, Troy Hull, Damien Angove, Darren Mckay
Ford Fairlane
23 Feb 2002, 18:16
DC had a brother, looked just like him, tatts and all. Maybe not as solid as Daryl. Played on the other wing at Kilburn. I couldn't even imagine what it would've been like having them both bearing down on you!!! I remember the first time I saw Daryl - a trial game v the Bays at Alberton. Two Bay players tried to do a fancy one-two around him, so he tackled them both - one in each arm. How we laughed ... :D
Boydy was one of the most courageous players I saw I reckon, which would account for his many injuries. One day at Prospect Kym Klomp cleaned him up - hit him full tilt from a 20m run up - everyone saw it coming but Boydy. He spun in the air like a helicopter rotor, hit the ground face down and didn't move. We thought he was dead ... then he jumps up, dusts himself off and plays a blinder! Still shaking my head ...
Remember seeing Troy Olsen playing for Eyre Pen a couple of years after he retired. He looked like Drew Carey, just less hair...:D
Macca19
24 Feb 2002, 12:07
Boydy was one of the most courageous players I saw I reckon, which would account for his many injuries. One day at Prospect Kym Klomp cleaned him up - hit him full tilt from a 20m run up - everyone saw it coming but Boydy. He spun in the air like a helicopter rotor, hit the ground face down and didn't move. We thought he was dead ... then he jumps up, dusts himself off and plays a blinder! Still shaking my head ...
He always knew where the goals were too. A very good goalsneak.
Remember seeing Troy Olsen playing for Eyre Pen a couple of years after he retired. He looked like Drew Carey, just less hair...:D
He left Port at the end of 95 to join Collingwood. i dunno how he went over there but he never got a game. Next time i saw him was in around 98 in a lead-up game before a Power match. Olsen, Trevor May and Geoff Phelps were playing. Olsen looked huge!!!
Ford Fairlane
25 Feb 2002, 06:56
Yeah I reckon that's when I would've seen him too. Britt Grocke would have been playing that night as well.
Macca19
25 Feb 2002, 09:44
Yeah I reckon that's when I would've seen him too. Britt Grocke would have been playing that night as well.
Yup him too!!