View Full Version : Swan Hill and District Cricket Association Returns
ROOTA#6
22 Nov 2006, 07:50
pretty harsh call for a first up effort. Some coverage is better than none?
You are right, but i reckon he could make bit more of an effort to get it right. I know Clifton set the bar pretty high, but Strevens first up effort was very poor
Sockit151
22 Nov 2006, 07:58
pretty harsh call for a first up effort. Some coverage is better than none?
True, but with some basic layout errors and spelling/name and team errors a little more attention to detail was required first up. Like it or not, first impressions stick and he now has a bit of work to do to gain respect for his coverage!
Sockit151
22 Nov 2006, 08:10
why did he play b grade on the weekend?
Maybe you need to put in an appearance at a lower level before you get put straight into the number 1 team :confused:
roosta07
22 Nov 2006, 08:12
Maybe you need to put in an appearance at a lower level before you get put straight into the number 1 team :confused:
i think it was because he could only play one of the two weeks....
ROOTA#6
22 Nov 2006, 08:16
i think it was because he could only play one of the two weeks....
Spot on, he could only play on Saturday as he is away next weekend. It hink this is also why we saw Wes Harrison in the B grade side
hammer01
22 Nov 2006, 09:31
Spot on, he could only play on Saturday as he is away next weekend. It hink this is also why we saw Wes Harrison in the B grade side
must be the case with harrison, from what i've read he's been in pretty good nick
waddo #6
22 Nov 2006, 13:16
[quote=Guus Hiddink;6258334]Ever heard of an email Waddo, or are you about one post away from declaring your undieing love for Beennett on Big Footy????[/quot
thats a bit tight mate.. just staying in contact with a mate that lives a couple of hundred k's away.. like to stay in the know.. whats the matter guus, got nobody chattin to you on BigFooty? ;)
[quote=Guus Hiddink;6258334]Ever heard of an email Waddo, or are you about one post away from declaring your undieing love for Beennett on Big Footy????[/quot
thats a bit tight mate.. just staying in contact with a mate that lives a couple of hundred k's away.. like to stay in the know.. whats the matter guus, got nobody chattin to you on BigFooty? ;)
Well mate if u wanna keep in touch with the Big Fig then maybe the best way to go bout it would be either phone or Email, no need 2 go publically showin ur effection for one and other!!!!
ROOTA#6
23 Nov 2006, 20:24
[quote=waddo #6;6265873]
Well mate if u wanna keep in touch with the Big Fig then maybe the best way to go bout it would be either phone or Email, no need 2 go publically showin ur effection for one and other!!!!
Leave the boy alone you blokes he is a ripper bloke and lets hope he heads this way for a hit. Will be an assett to the blues
Guus Hiddink
23 Nov 2006, 20:27
[quote=Nackas;6268664]
Leave the boy alone you blokes he is a ripper bloke and lets hope he heads this way for a hit. Will be an assett to the blues
Good to see GAY pride rules buddy, stick it up your man, I mean stick up for your man. :D
ROOTA#6
23 Nov 2006, 20:32
[quote=ROOTA#6;6274355]
Good to see GAY pride rules buddy, stick it up your man, I mean stick up for your man. :D
Aaahhh Guus I can alaways rely on you for a whitty response. Waddo is a lad who kept in the game i played for Seymour earlier in the year. He may be looking to come up here for a game
richard cheese
23 Nov 2006, 20:40
[quote=Guus Hiddink;6274373]
Aaahhh Guus I can alaways rely on you for a whitty response. Waddo is a lad who kept in the game i played for Seymour earlier in the year. He may be looking to come up here for a game
He is your only mate! So dont smother him and make yourself look desperate or you will be back to none! Then all you will have in your life again is big footy.
ROOTA#6
23 Nov 2006, 20:45
[quote=ROOTA#6;6274405]
He is your only mate! So dont smother him and make yourself look desperate or you will be back to none! Then all you will have in your life again is big footy.
Who are you talking to Richard?
richard cheese
26 Nov 2006, 19:34
[quote=richard cheese;6274442]
Who are you talking to Richard?
You ya Loser !
ROOTA#6
26 Nov 2006, 19:50
[quote=ROOTA#6;6274472]
You ya Loser !
F U C K off then idiot
Guus Hiddink
26 Nov 2006, 21:11
[quote=richard cheese;6293442]
F U C K off then idiot
Have a teary!
ROOTA#6
27 Nov 2006, 08:24
[quote=ROOTA#6;6293578]
Have a teary!
You can F U C K off too!
On a serious note congrats to Morpy on knocking up a ton on the weekend. Super effort
telstra101
27 Nov 2006, 09:16
[quote=Guus Hiddink;6294235]
You can F U C K off too!
On a serious note congrats to Morpy on knocking up a ton on the weekend. Super effort
thanks figgy, was easily best win i had been involved with whilst at woora, in past we wouldnt have got close to that total.. Billy hewitt, easily best allrounder going around, the bloke can seriously bat. Great competitor on the ground which is always fun! seems people are missing point of this thread maybe luke. ignore their s h i t. Also think everyone was a bit harsh on cruickshank. is going to play in this comp, will start now that school has finished. Ladder is interesting, wouldnt have guessed Nully or Swan Hill to be bottom two, and woora vs RSL this week for third spot. Give the pommie boys a break, they never said they were good players, they stated they are just young blokes coming here for some cricket and travel, let them enjoy it..
Sockit151
27 Nov 2006, 09:29
[quote=ROOTA#6;6295719]
thanks figgy, was easily best win i had been involved with whilst at woora, in past we wouldnt have got close to that total.. Billy hewitt, easily best allrounder going around, the bloke can seriously bat. Great competitor on the ground which is always fun! seems people are missing point of this thread maybe luke. ignore their s h i t. Also think everyone was a bit harsh on cruickshank. is going to play in this comp, will start now that school has finished. Ladder is interesting, wouldnt have guessed Nully or Swan Hill to be bottom two, and woora vs RSL this week for third spot. Give the pommie boys a break, they never said they were good players, they stated they are just young blokes coming here for some cricket and travel, let them enjoy it..
Get off telstra, talking far too much sense!!
Well done on the 100 and a good win, should be a good game this week..
clifton's lookalike
27 Nov 2006, 11:57
[quote=ROOTA#6;6295719]
oh look who is back now that he got a ton!:D yourself and dion must have went ok to both get scores against then second best bowling attack in the comp:rolleyes:
Daryl Somers
27 Nov 2006, 13:17
[quote=telstra101;6295958]
oh look who is back now that he got a ton!:D yourself and dion must have went ok to both get scores against then second best bowling attack in the comp:rolleyes:
Having witnessed them both bat on saturday, Morpy did play some good strokes, very strong on the drive, had a little bit of luck (being caught off no ball when he was on 10 or so) but to his credit he made us pay for our mistakes.
I think Nully is just getting a name for getting close but not close enough. Bit disappointing really.
waddo #6
28 Nov 2006, 12:45
[quote=Guus Hiddink;6294235]
You can F U C K off too!
jeez figgy, these blokes are pretty f u c k i n soft hey mate.. if they wanted us to stop chattin away, the silly c u n t s would stop flooding the thread with abuse toward us.. anyway, not much you can do about that i spose.. how'd u go on the weekend? better than last i hope?
Guus Hiddink
28 Nov 2006, 14:13
[quote=ROOTA#6;6295719]
jeez figgy, these blokes are pretty f u c k i n soft hey mate.. if they wanted us to stop chattin away, the silly c u n t s would stop flooding the thread with abuse toward us.. anyway, not much you can do about that i spose.. how'd u go on the weekend? better than last i hope?
Are you two talking about your love making again, or are we back to cricket talk. Learn to email Wad of sperm on Luke's face!
ROOTA#6
28 Nov 2006, 14:16
[quote=waddo #6;6304007]
Are you two talking about your love making again, or are we back to cricket talk. Learn to email Wad of sperm on Luke's face!
Ease up Guus for christs sake
waddo #6
28 Nov 2006, 14:47
[quote=waddo #6;6304007]
did you not read where i mentioned asking how figgy went on the weekend you c o c k n o s e? why dont ya just back of and stop feeling sorry for yourself coz no-one gives a f u c k about your doings..
Guus Hiddink
28 Nov 2006, 20:43
[quote=Guus Hiddink;6304665]
Ease up Guus for christs sake
Just having some fun.
[quote=Guus Hiddink;6304665]
did you not read where i mentioned asking how figgy went on the weekend you c o c k n o s e? why dont ya just back of and stop feeling sorry for yourself coz no-one gives a f u c k about your doings..
I dont think mr football (who has sadly left us for greener pastures) has set this great thread for bitching.
Lets get back to a proper norm. After Morpys great knock on the weekend, should he hang a the pads, knowing all to well it cant happen again?:eek:
telstra101
1 Dec 2006, 12:23
[quote=waddo #6;6304878]
I dont think mr football (who has sadly left us for greener pastures) has set this great thread for bitching.
Lets get back to a proper norm. After Morpys great knock on the weekend, should he hang a the pads, knowing all to well it cant happen again?:eek:
haha, now why would i do that catter!~ its great batting on the super fast outfield at woora! some interesting games this round!
SH vs TOOL: No dan mcnees, is the rumour mill true? swan hill would be hoping so. With a rumoured 7 to come back into there a grade this week, would be guessing names like- Spry, Hatcher, Harrison, Barry, Cruickshank, Joyce, Munro, Brasser would be the contenders for those spots.
WOOR vs RSL- playing for 3rd spot, not much more needs to be said. Will figgy come out firing after his tough few weeks on big footy.com!
NULL vs NYAH- Great game, if yella or billy can get rid of mustards early it will be game on, but how will the fiery billy go if mustards and kent get going?????
STM vs UTUFCC- lets just hope that stmary's dont bowl out TUFF in the 70th over and stm decide to chuck some different kids in the deep end again.........
AND CATTER!!! u would just be on a high cause u scored more runs on saturday against us than u did in your whole playing time at woora!!
telstra101
3 Dec 2006, 07:26
well monz, yes this is really me posting at 8 in the morning on sunday after our intellectual converastion at the fed last night! chics weren't bad hey!
well what can i say, figgy, u have me absoloutely stuffed!!
tuff vs stmarys- already a result there! interesting!
woora vs rsl- evenly matched, no bennett next week, could be interesting.
nyah vs nully, game over, ritchie is a freak. we,ll done to shark on an 8 for
sh vs tool dan said best he had bowled in around two years- was on hat trick. tool got out of jail again. joe davies got 40, well done to him, but seriously...
love seeing the competive stuff that figgy and big bustling dan demaria served up yesterday. great to watch. nothing like a good battle, one i am fighting right now to stay awake. go tigers!!!
Kelvin 69
3 Dec 2006, 13:22
Any scores from yesterdays games fellas???
Woorinen v RSL at Woorinen. Woorinen sent RSL in who were all out for 190 odd. Pat Caldwell 40 odd T Heinrich 30 odd couple of 20's Diesel Carmicheal 4fa. Woorinen 1/21 Morpeth 0
Kelvin 69
4 Dec 2006, 18:54
Woorinen v RSL at Woorinen. Woorinen sent RSL in who were all out for 190 odd. Pat Caldwell 40 odd T Heinrich 30 odd couple of 20's Diesel Carmicheal 4fa. Woorinen 1/21 Morpeth 0
Thanks Root.
Bingle_21
5 Dec 2006, 09:02
woora vs rsl- evenly matched, no bennett next week, could be interesting.
What you up to this week roota? Not heading down to the big smoke for a shin-dig are you?
Ed Deline
5 Dec 2006, 14:39
Thanks Root.
Get a room Periscope.;)
Sockit151
5 Dec 2006, 15:21
A few training sessions might be a bit light on tonight, with the Aussies set to chase 168 from 36 overs in the last session of Adelaide test..
Wonder if Channel 9 with turn it off for the news tonight:rolleyes:
Footy Tripper
5 Dec 2006, 15:29
A few training sessions might be a bit light on tonight, with the Aussies set to chase 168 from 36 overs in the last session of Adelaide test..
Wonder if Channel 9 with turn it off for the news tonight:rolleyes:
Also got the 4 strippers on at the Boga pub tonight (Guys night out) so numbers will most definately be down at training. :thumbsu:
Thanks Root.
No worries, mate!!!!
Guus Hiddink
8 Dec 2006, 10:30
Who's going to win the cricket this week boys?
And how good were the Aussies!
Who's going to win the cricket this week boys?
And how good were the Aussies!
Ashes back where they belong Yeah Goooood!!!
RSL should chalk up 2 wins this weekend
ROOTA#6
11 Dec 2006, 10:09
How did everyone pull up after Saturday, hope you all came through it ok! Great decision by the board to give Sunday a miss
Sockit151
11 Dec 2006, 10:33
How did everyone pull up after Saturday, hope you all came through it ok! Great decision by the board to give Sunday a miss
Given your condition at the Fed, might have had trouble surfacing Sunday??
ROOTA#6
11 Dec 2006, 10:37
Given your condition at the Fed, might have had trouble surfacing Sunday??
I reckon i would have been a scratching mate. Did a bit of a number on myself at the races thats for sure!!!
hammer01
11 Dec 2006, 17:30
What's the go with Swan Hill and Nully down the bottom of the ladder? Does anyone have any thoughts on this?
Sockit151
12 Dec 2006, 07:36
What's the go with Swan Hill and Nully down the bottom of the ladder? Does anyone have any thoughts on this?
The other 6 teams have won more games!!
Very even comp this year, and these two teams have lost a few close ones.. They are certainly capable of beating anyone on their day.
ROOTA#6
12 Dec 2006, 09:46
The other 6 teams have won more games!!
Very even comp this year, and these two teams have lost a few close ones.. They are certainly capable of beating anyone on their day.
Nully are a bit of a surprise to me. Would just about have to be the most talented side in the comp, but are struggling a bit at the moment. It thinmk if they can get the full side on the park after Xmas they might make a run at the finals and look out if they get there.
Kelvin 69
12 Dec 2006, 20:16
Nully are a bit of a surprise to me. Would just about have to be the most talented side in the comp, but are struggling a bit at the moment. It thinmk if they can get the full side on the park after Xmas they might make a run at the finals and look out if they get there.
Roota, any chance of u fronting up against the agrivated Dan McNees this year??
ROOTA#6
13 Dec 2006, 10:43
Yes Kelvin I will be there don't worry. I will make the trip back especially for you. I reckon i might open the batting that day, what do you reckon?
waddo #6
14 Dec 2006, 14:57
Yes Kelvin I will be there don't worry. I will make the trip back especially for you. I reckon i might open the batting that day, what do you reckon?
whats the plans for the new year figgy?
ROOTA#6
14 Dec 2006, 14:58
whats the plans for the new year figgy?
New job kicks off on jan 2 mate so will be just looking to settle in there first, then take it as it comes
waddo #6
14 Dec 2006, 14:59
New job kicks off on jan 2 mate so will be just looking to settle in there first, then take it as it comes
sounds good.. where will u be situated mate?
ROOTA#6
14 Dec 2006, 15:00
sounds good.. where will u be situated mate?
Bendigo
waddo #6
14 Dec 2006, 15:02
Bendigo
even better.. u know benno, it is only an hour trip over here from bendigo ;)
ROOTA#6
14 Dec 2006, 15:04
even better.. u know benno, it is only an hour trip over here from bendigo ;)
Yes mate:thumbsu:
waddo #6
14 Dec 2006, 15:05
Yes mate:thumbsu:
haha, just reminding you mate:thumbsu: u know how welcome you are.. get back to work..
Yaaablett
14 Dec 2006, 16:20
Still bowling gentle mediums is he?
FROGDOG17
15 Dec 2006, 15:02
haha, just reminding you mate:thumbsu: u know how welcome you are.. get back to work..
Hey Waddo get Luke's email adress and type to him or send a private message mate. You were told this before coz you's do sound pretty gay with ya extra nice comments. I'd imagine Luke might be getting a bit embarressed by it all.
clifton's lookalike
16 Dec 2006, 08:36
keep on truckin bundy ward is dirty on you!!!
waddo #6
20 Dec 2006, 16:12
Hey Waddo get Luke's email adress and type to him or send a private message mate. You were told this before coz you's do sound pretty gay with ya extra nice comments. I'd imagine Luke might be getting a bit embarressed by it all.
fcuk, another whinger in the swan hill thread.. stop ya whinging.. someones gotta write in this boring s h i t thread, that gets posts twice a week..
FROGDOG17
20 Dec 2006, 21:36
fcuk, another whinger in the swan hill thread.. stop ya whinging.. someones gotta write in this boring s h i t thread, that gets posts twice a week..Not whinging at all poofta boy, just saying that when we look at this thread we want to read about whats going on in the cricket, and not all your mushy ass licking talk to each other. Post about cricket all you want doughnut puncher and send the gayness privately!!!! Smell your tounge and tell us all what Luke had for lunch yesterday:thumbsu:
Sockit151
21 Dec 2006, 11:45
Looks like i might get a chance to bowl my famous leggies now that the great man has moved aside..
Hope Warnie really cleans up at the "G" to finish his great career in style!!
ROOTA#6
21 Dec 2006, 14:24
Looks like i might get a chance to bowl my famous leggies now that the great man has moved aside..
Hope Warnie really cleans up at the "G" to finish his great career in style!!
I'd say your a real show Sockit. At least now with his decision it will give us something to watch the match for
Sockit151
5 Jan 2007, 15:34
Tooleybuc and Woora look favourites for the Kooka final..
Anyone see it differently??
HappyDayz
8 Jan 2007, 12:32
Tooleybuc and Woora look favourites for the Kooka final..
Anyone see it differently??
After the washout its a very simple equation for Browny's men: Win this weekend and you're in the final.
Sockit151
8 Jan 2007, 13:05
After the washout its a very simple equation for Browny's men: Win this weekend and you're in the final.
Yes, a washout vs Tooleybuc was a very handy result for TUFF.
But they still play Nyah this week, and there are 4 teams still in with a chance to play the Bucs.
Footy Tripper
9 Jan 2007, 07:44
Yes, a washout vs Tooleybuc was a very handy result for TUFF.
But they still play Nyah this week, and there are 4 teams still in with a chance to play the Bucs.
Can anyone confirm that SHDCA is putting in two teams for country week next week? And how many other teams will be travelling down to take part in the week?
Sockit151
9 Jan 2007, 07:56
Can anyone confirm that SHDCA is putting in two teams for country week next week? And how many other teams will be travelling down to take part in the week?
Yes. SHDCA will have two teams, one of which is viewed as more of a junior team, named Mallee Colts.. This was due to a withdrawl and the division now stays at 6 teams!!
Footy Tripper
9 Jan 2007, 09:51
Yes. SHDCA will have two teams, one of which is viewed as more of a junior team, named Mallee Colts.. This was due to a withdrawl and the division now stays at 6 teams!!
Cheers Sockit. Any truth in the rumour that this team is being captained by Tubby Barry and Crabby??
Sockit151
9 Jan 2007, 10:22
Cheers Sockit. Any truth in the rumour that this team is being captained by Tubby Barry and Crabby??
100% true.. As per report on league website today!!
the gloved 1
9 Jan 2007, 22:28
as a lover of cricket in the area i just checked out the report sockit and i would say the #1 team is a shocker with some blokes who on form do not deserve a game and as for the junior team there are some blokes in that side who were driving when i was in nappies. the league is not fair dinkum on these selections.
Sockit151
10 Jan 2007, 07:46
as a lover of cricket in the area i just checked out the report sockit and i would say the #1 team is a shocker with some blokes who on form do not deserve a game and as for the junior team there are some blokes in that side who were driving when i was in nappies. the league is not fair dinkum on these selections.
I'm not involved in selection in any way, but there is always people who would be unavailable who would otherwise play.. But in general i think the team will be quite strong. Shocker seems a bit harsh, some very good players there!!
Like to give us a few examples of who should and shouldn't be in the side??
the gloved 1
10 Jan 2007, 18:19
I'm not involved in selection in any way, but there is always people who would be unavailable who would otherwise play.. But in general i think the team will be quite strong. Shocker seems a bit harsh, some very good players there!!
Like to give us a few examples of who should and shouldn't be in the side??
well i will have a go at saying who shouldn't be in that is. as i said i'm not a player but keenly read the scores on the website every week and in the guardian when grandma sends it to me. this is on form alone:
darren ingram started season well but is struggling now, glenn smith should concentrate on football surely there are better in the comp than him, paul munro is having a shocking year and wouldn't have made more than 20 for the whole year in all his bats combined.
al ward is the worst noel watson medalist since our mate figgy, no more needs to be said on that.
surely there are some better cricketers available than these blokes, has the league rang every cricketer who has been performing well and asked them if they are available?
Sockit151
11 Jan 2007, 07:31
well i will have a go at saying who shouldn't be in that is. as i said i'm not a player but keenly read the scores on the website every week and in the guardian when grandma sends it to me. this is on form alone:
darren ingram started season well but is struggling now, glenn smith should concentrate on football surely there are better in the comp than him, paul munro is having a shocking year and wouldn't have made more than 20 for the whole year in all his bats combined.
al ward is the worst noel watson medalist since our mate figgy, no more needs to be said on that.
surely there are some better cricketers available than these blokes, has the league rang every cricketer who has been performing well and asked them if they are available?
Some good points there glove!!
Budda hasn't put many results on the board this yr, but he is a class act and would be very surprised if doesn't make a big score or 2 next week!!
While on the others mentioned, agree they may not be in the best team, nor would i, but their stats aren't to bad this year and as i said earlier i don't know who couldn't play..
Should be a good week anyway, and looking forward to playing with some players of a high level..And hopefully we can win a few games!!
hammer01
11 Jan 2007, 07:41
Some good points there glove!!
Budda hasn't put many results on the board this yr, but he is a class act and would be very surprised if doesn't make a big score or 2 next week!!
While on the others mentioned, agree they may not be in the best team, nor would i, but their stats aren't to bad this year and as i said earlier i don't know who couldn't play..
Should be a good week anyway, and looking forward to playing with some players of a high level..And hopefully we can win a few games!!
If availability and fitness were not a concern, who would make up your best team for the coming country week Sockit, or anyone else?
Sockit151
11 Jan 2007, 08:18
If availability and fitness were not a concern, who would make up your best team for the coming country week Sockit, or anyone else?
Only had a quick look, and could probably argue about some positions.
But this 12 would be pretty good i think.
R.Boulton
R.Hinton
A.Abbott
A.Hewitt
W.Harrison
D.McNees
J.King
L.McNab
J.Barnes
L.Bennett
W.Humphries
K.Groat
Plenty of bowling there, but guns bats are probably the biggest gap in our comp, and most of these quicks are also our best bats.. So a good team with plenty of flexibilty..
iamfooty
11 Jan 2007, 09:27
Only had a quick look, and could probably argue about some positions.
But this 12 would be pretty good i think.
R.Boulton
R.Hinton
A.Abbott
A.Hewitt
W.Harrison
D.McNees
J.King
L.McNab
J.Barnes
L.Bennett
W.Humphries
K.Groat
Plenty of bowling there, but guns bats are probably the biggest gap in our comp, and most of these quicks are also our best bats.. So a good team with plenty of flexibilty..
Well I'm making my eagerly-anticipated comeback to this site after many months in the wilderness...Yes, iamfooty is back but I must admit it is not the same. 12 months ago this site was awesome. All the big guns were on talking sense and keeping it entertaining. Now there seems to be an influx of dikwads who have nothing better to do than talk absolute ********e. You can see what affect it is having -- where has everyone gone? The old names like Kelvin69, Steickerocks and Tubba. Everyone is losing interest. So to all you egg heads (and you know who you are) get off this site.
Now, Sockit, nice team but here is mine based on the form of the players before I regretfully departed.......
1 Ritchie Boulton
2 Dean Morpeth (wk)
3 Andrew Hewitt
4 Wes Harrison
5 Lee McNab
6 Darren Ingram
7 Darren McNees
8 Jamie King
9 Wade Humphries
10 Kade Groat
11 Todd Brown
12 Jamie McDonald
clifton's lookalike
11 Jan 2007, 15:39
Well I'm making my eagerly-anticipated comeback to this site after many months in the wilderness...Yes, iamfooty is back but I must admit it is not the same. 12 months ago this site was awesome. All the big guns were on talking sense and keeping it entertaining. Now there seems to be an influx of dikwads who have nothing better to do than talk absolute ********e. You can see what affect it is having -- where has everyone gone? The old names like Kelvin69, Steickerocks and Tubba. Everyone is losing interest. So to all you egg heads (and you know who you are) get off this site.
Now, Sockit, nice team but here is mine based on the form of the players before I regretfully departed.......
1 Ritchie Boulton
2 Dean Morpeth (wk)
3 Andrew Hewitt
4 Wes Harrison
5 Lee McNab
6 Darren Ingram
7 Darren McNees
8 Jamie King
9 Wade Humphries
10 Kade Groat
11 Todd Brown
12 Jamie McDonald
welcome back iamfooty. somehow you forgot to mention me in the ppl who gave this thread credability as well as couldn't sneak me into your squad of 12 i am stiff as fcuk. but yes anyone who is asking i am available next week i'm only a phone call away:D
and glove no one really gives a ******** what you think, so what if munro is having a lean trot, justin langer had plenty and look at the reception he got
HappyDayz
15 Jan 2007, 10:23
Some big scores on the weekend and some even bigger chases with Kooka Finalist hopefulls Woora and TUFF both mowing down their opposition totals to score stunning wins. I find it hard to belive that sides cannot defend big scores such as produced by Nyah and S.H?
Sockit151
15 Jan 2007, 10:28
Some big scores on the weekend and some even bigger chases with Kooka Finalist hopefulls Woora and TUFF both mowing down their opposition totals to score stunning wins. I find it hard to belive that sides cannot defend big scores such as produced by Nyah and S.H?
Yes, would think you are almost home if you get over 200.. Very good efforts by TUFF and Woora..
HappyDayz
15 Jan 2007, 12:28
Yes, would think you are almost home if you get over 200.. Very good efforts by TUFF and Woora..
Well actually i've just read the paper during my lunch break and as a Woora man i'm still stunned at what i think happended in the TUFF game.:mad:
Sockit151
15 Jan 2007, 12:33
Well actually i've just read the paper during my lunch break and as a Woora man i'm still stunned at what i think happended in the TUFF game.:mad:
Can't believe that Nyah would ever throw a game, if that's what your trying to say??
hammer01
15 Jan 2007, 12:42
Why is it so hard to believe? Batting second with a target with better, flatter pitch conditions. Sensible batting must have won these games. Makes you think that the toss isn't that important?? Great effort by Tufcc boys
HappyDayz
15 Jan 2007, 12:42
Definately not Sockit, its just with the great figures of their top bowlers I can't comprehend how they did not bowl out. It has cost them big time, possibly sowing up a finals birth with outright second. Now they are right back in the rat race with the rest of us.
Sockit151
15 Jan 2007, 12:53
Definately not Sockit, its just with the great figures of their top bowlers I can't comprehend how they did not bowl out. It has cost them big time, possibly sowing up a finals birth with outright second. Now they are right back in the rat race with the rest of us.
Yeah good point, was 2 bowlers with reasonable figures that only bowled 6 i think.. Could have been the difference, with young Paynter being towed for 55 from 5 overs..:eek:
Kelvin 69
17 Jan 2007, 22:09
The McNees V Bennett showdown was a fizzer with Bennett not turning up.:confused:
Sockit151
22 Jan 2007, 07:40
Smith, Munro and Ward all putting up very good numbers for the victorious SHDCA side.. Winning all 3 games by 291, 154 and 146 runs to comfortably take the title after fridays final was washed out!!
the gloved 1
22 Jan 2007, 12:18
Smith, Munro and Ward all putting up very good numbers for the victorious SHDCA side.. Winning all 3 games by 291, 154 and 146 runs to comfortably take the title after fridays final was washed out!!
can you give me stats on this players and against which teams, how many games for week etc.
what do you think about your strike bowler leaving you to play at seymour sockit?
Sockit151
22 Jan 2007, 13:23
can you give me stats on this players and against which teams, how many games for week etc.
what do you think about your strike bowler leaving you to play at seymour sockit?
Due to bye and washout we only had three games, all guys mentioned played in two..
Smith - 6n.o and 79n.o (seven 6's, five 4's)
Munro - 70n.o and 16.
Ward - not really required in the first game and 1/3 from 9 ov on Thursday!!
roosta07
22 Jan 2007, 13:35
Due to bye and washout we only had three games, all guys mentioned played in two..
Munro - 70n.o and 16.
How about those Mallee Colts hey!
the gloved 1
22 Jan 2007, 21:55
Munro - 70n.o and 16.
who were these games played against sockit as i hear the opposition were barely B grade cricketers in Swan Hill & you didn't answer my question in regard to bennett but the proof is in the pudding here.
Re: Heathcote District FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by HJ32 http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6585384#post6585384)
did you happen to be speaking to their (bford) coach on the weekend by any chance Roota?
May have bumped into Doona on a cricket ground somewhere over the weekend HJ!!!
Re: Seymour District Cricket Association
The SDCA one day final was an anti-climax with Seymour easily getting over Tallarook.
Tallarook slumped to early trouble at 4/10 with Luke Bennett on fire, three early wickets and a direct hit to run out Lachie Watts all in the opening 30 minutes.
The Maroons bowled and fielded well, restricting the Rook to 9/77 from its allocated 45 overs. Sam Watts was unbeaten on 20, Brett Tarran 14 and Glenn Jackson about a dozen was it for the batting. Bennett finished with 4-12 from 9 overs, when you take out a 3 from a no-ball and a boundary off his final delivery it was an impressive spell of bowling.
Seymour's innings started with Xavier Youngman bowled by Capuano in the 2nd over. Stu Peterson and Steve Kelly all but getting their side to victory before Peterson hit out for 37 with the finishing line in sight. Another quick wicket fell which brought man of the match Bennett to wrap it up, 7 not out from 3 balls with Kelly unconquered on 27 as Seymour took the Telegraph Cup at 3/80.
Andrew Dundon's collected two scalps on a day the Rook would wanna forget quickly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HJ32 http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6581768#post6581768)
thanks Matt Nichols 4 the proper story.
Doon, loved reading about my old club getting the chocolates in the 1 day final.
This fella bennett, where's he hail from? sounds like a good pick up.
Twas quite a good wrap, Doon. Nice work.
Mr Bennett - a Rhys Melville lookalike - is a mate of Mark McGregor's. Has already proven himself with the ball and looks pretty capable with the willow. Will prove a handy replacement for Chubby Wubby, who has played his last game this season (Vantheman will be devastated)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HJ32 http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6581768#post6581768)
thanks Matt Nichols 4 the proper story.
Doon, loved reading about my old club getting the chocolates in the 1 day final.
This fella bennett, where's he hail from? sounds like a good pick up.
Where's the proper HJ32 story I cant find it?
You'll meet Mr. Bennett soon he said he's guna train with the jets and drive over Satdy's. Just wait for his 2nd spell, always seems a lot slower than the first :p
it was excellent to stroll down to chittick park on a sunday arvo.. do a bit of scoring, and see the maroons claim the 4th out of the last 6 one-day finals.. seems like we are the one-day kings.. Luke Bennett starred with the ball.. had a lovely direct hit to run lochie watts out.. chubbs and steve kelly batted very well to lead the boys to victory.. all round, a great team effort to take the victory.. GO THE MIGHTY MAROONS!!
seems like he is gone for good and R.S.L finals hopes dashed
Sockit151
23 Jan 2007, 07:23
Yes Glove the standard was a little poor, but your initial comment was that the team was a shocker was a poor call and the results speak for themselves!! Can only beat what is put up, and we did that very well with all players contributing..
As for Bennett, your looking for a bite so here it is!!
He's done sweet f.a this entire season and even less in the games we have won, so i don't think we are out of finals contention without him!!
the gloved 1
23 Jan 2007, 08:01
Yes Glove the standard was a little poor, but your initial comment was that the team was a shocker was a poor call and the results speak for themselves!! Can only beat what is put up, and we did that very well with all players contributing..
As for Bennett, your looking for a bite so here it is!!
He's done sweet f.a this entire season and even less in the games we have won, so i don't think we are out of finals contention without him!!
your right sockit, you can only beat what is put in front of you. if i had of known the standard of the opposition teams was so bad i would never have worried. how do players get picked for country week? is it a squad similar to interleague footy or just whoever wants a game and is it the league that approaches players or the players have to ring up and show thier interest?
as for the bennett saga not looking for a bite just showing you the guys true colors. who will be the cream that rises to the top and brings home the results to make sure you finish in the finals?
Sockit151
23 Jan 2007, 08:10
your right sockit, you can only beat what is put in front of you. if i had of known the standard of the opposition teams was so bad i would never have worried. how do players get picked for country week? is it a squad similar to interleague footy or just whoever wants a game and is it the league that approaches players or the players have to ring up and show thier interest?
as for the bennett saga not looking for a bite just showing you the guys true colors. who will be the cream that rises to the top and brings home the results to make sure you finish in the finals?
Im well aware of his true colours. We will need a real team effort as we have no real standouts, with the bat i think Budda might be back while D.Hinton has been working hard and is keen for some big scores.. The bowling lacks firepower but has been very disciplined and this is all it takes to be more that competitive.. We just need to make some more runs and we will be ok!!
Sockit151
23 Jan 2007, 08:11
The league approached the players they wanted this year in an attempt to get the strongest possible line-up, you are welcome to express your interest to the leaders and while it may help it doesn't assure selection!!
the gloved 1
23 Jan 2007, 08:36
The league approached the players they wanted this year in an attempt to get the strongest possible line-up, you are welcome to express your interest to the leaders and while it may help it doesn't assure selection!!
i'm a non player but interested in a possible management role with the rep side next year as i am a past player in the league and still very much interested.
back to RSL and i would love to see them back at the top like they were in the 80's. but with bennett, r.hinton gone and heinrich leaving you are lacking in the batting dept. when will you turn your form around or will these other 3 be lured to keep playing?
what would your bowling options be now that bennett has gone who will open and first change, spinners etc.
Sockit151
23 Jan 2007, 08:54
i'm a non player but interested in a possible management role with the rep side next year as i am a past player in the league and still very much interested.
back to RSL and i would love to see them back at the top like they were in the 80's. but with bennett, r.hinton gone and heinrich leaving you are lacking in the batting dept. when will you turn your form around or will these other 3 be lured to keep playing?
what would your bowling options be now that bennett has gone who will open and first change, spinners etc.
I would like to pick up the run scoring for sure, my post Xmas form has been ordinary over past couple of years.. We have plenty bowling options, although as i said lack firepower, Martin, Caldwell, Seamons, Rooney and Cook will be the pace options, while Pat Noonan is a very promising offie and Budda regularly gets wickets with his Monty Panesar's!!
the gloved 1
23 Jan 2007, 08:58
I would like to pick up the run scoring for sure, my post Xmas form has been ordinary over past couple of years.. We have plenty bowling options, although as i said lack firepower, Martin, Caldwell, Seamons, Rooney and Cook will be the pace options, while Pat Noonan is a very promising offie and Budda regularly gets wickets with his Monty Panesar's!!
wow thats 7 bowling options which leaves you 4 batsmen to get runs...not looking good. there is a promising young boy down there by the name of goodes i think played in the dowling shield this year, will he get an opportunity?
Sockit151
23 Jan 2007, 09:14
wow thats 7 bowling options which leaves you 4 batsmen to get runs...not looking good. there is a promising young boy down there by the name of goodes i think played in the dowling shield this year, will he get an opportunity?
Are you trying to tell me something i don't know??
It's obvious we are a couple of batsmen and a good quick short of being a top ranked side.. But we have been in the 4 most of the year and are confident of staying there!!
Young Goodes is a very talented bowler, but IMO does himself no favours in the attitude department!! Is a poor trainer, which is what probably is holding him back from being given senior opportunities.. Would love to see what he was capable of if he put his mind to it!!
ROOTA#6
23 Jan 2007, 16:54
Are you trying to tell me something i don't know??
It's obvious we are a couple of batsmen and a good quick short of being a top ranked side.. But we have been in the 4 most of the year and are confident of staying there!!
Young Goodes is a very talented bowler, but IMO does himself no favours in the attitude department!! Is a poor trainer, which is what probably is holding him back from being given senior opportunities.. Would love to see what he was capable of if he put his mind to it!!
Glove, Sockit. Have enjoyed reading the recent posts but just an update for both of you. I will be back in the Blues colours this week. I played on Sunday with Seymour in their one day final to help out my mate Lardy who was desperate to win the trophy. So you can both give it a rest!!! I will talk to you on Saturday Sockit. :thumbsd:
the gloved 1
24 Jan 2007, 13:37
Glove, Sockit. Have enjoyed reading the recent posts but just an update for both of you. I will be back in the Blues colours this week. I played on Sunday with Seymour in their one day final to help out my mate Lardy who was desperate to win the trophy. So you can both give it a rest!!! I will talk to you on Saturday Sockit. :thumbsd:
well if you do figgy then my respect for you will get out of the negatives, anyone who is prepared to travel 2 hrs for no $$$ just to play cricket with a team struggling to hold onto finals contention has his heart in the right place.
any chance of you travelling back to eagles nest for football to help them out in 07?
ROOTA#6
24 Jan 2007, 13:40
well if you do figgy then my respect for you will get out of the negatives, anyone who is prepared to travel 2 hrs for no $$$ just to play cricket with a team struggling to hold onto finals contention has his heart in the right place.
any chance of you travelling back to eagles nest for football to help them out in 07?
I am pretty sure i will play footy down here at this stage Glove. It will help me with my work as it revolves around meeting people and the like. I would love to play at home but i don't know if it will be possible