View Full Version : Swan Hill and District Cricket Association Returns
telstra101
25 Jan 2007, 13:59
on the rsl saga, dont worry sockit, really not many teams do have fire power, just have to make do with what u got, and although i missed the second half of our game, all the boys rated your attack as very disciplined.. so wouldnt worry too much with your bowling, just back budda in for some runs and wins will come.. 3 very big matches for the blues.. maybe u can fill me in on the 20-20, missed it due to footy training, any highlights.. great inicitive...
The Crabstick
27 Jan 2007, 09:12
well if you do figgy then my respect for you will get out of the negatives, anyone who is prepared to travel 2 hrs for no $$$ just to play cricket with a team struggling to hold onto finals contention has his heart in the right place.
any chance of you travelling back to eagles nest for football to help them out in 07?
Get over it you tools/
Bennett is a dud and who cares what he does, nully will flog yas today anyway/
When we make the four you will all be scared/
ROOTA#6
28 Jan 2007, 18:08
Get over it you tools/
Bennett is a dud and who cares what he does, nully will flog yas today anyway/
When we make the four you will all be scared/
Go ******** yourself Crabstick. You blokes are only a good side because you cheat. I haven't seen a display of blattant cheating from a square leg umpire like what i saw yesterday. Absolutley disgraceful. Hope ou do make the four then get to official umpires in the first final and then crumble because you can't give yourselves not out. Its a shame that good blokes like Yella and smithy are tarred with the same brush as a few of you blokes. Disgrace:thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:
the gloved 1
29 Jan 2007, 07:17
Go ******** yourself Crabstick. You blokes are only a good side because you cheat. I haven't seen a display of blattant cheating from a square leg umpire like what i saw yesterday. Absolutley disgraceful. Hope ou do make the four then get to official umpires in the first final and then crumble because you can't give yourselves not out. Its a shame that good blokes like Yella and smithy are tarred with the same brush as a few of you blokes. Disgrace:thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:
so you obviously ventured home saturday roota and a bit of mixed feeling about you returning according to the above post. can you give us a run down of the match because strevens coverage has been anything but 100%. Did anybody notice that the preview in the Guardian Friday was almost identical to the previous Friday's? Not great journalism
Daryl Somers
29 Jan 2007, 08:44
Don't know what game you were watching Bennett, your only shirty cause you were absolutely plum for a GOLDEN DUCK. They way you carry on is the absolute disgrace. A kid at square leg doing his best and he has you next to his abusing him. You need to have a good look at yourself because from what i saw it was the blokes from RSL who have been tarred by your stupidity.
clifton's lookalike
29 Jan 2007, 12:20
Don't know what game you were watching Bennett, your only shirty cause you were absolutely plum for a GOLDEN DUCK. They way you carry on is the absolute disgrace. A kid at square leg doing his best and he has you next to his abusing him. You need to have a good look at yourself because from what i saw it was the blokes from RSL who have been tarred by your stupidity.
i happened to play in this game also daryl and i would have to say that we did carry on a bit when we were fielding but i also believe we have every right to.
we have had the same umpire for the past 3 games and for some reason he has awarded many LBW against us, and unfortunately and inconsistantly not many in our favour. your bowlers appealed for everything that hit the pads and even bumped balls some of these appeals worked in your favour.
hewitt talked the man in question into giving buddha out (your own players even admitting it wasn't out), lukes pitched outside leg which as we all know can't be out.
when you guys batted we thought we might as well appeal for everything as it worked for you. turns out hewitt was talking to the umpire telling him to not listen to our unnecessary appealing. hewitt was very close to plum of seamons, was plum of buddha (given not out), was out stumped (given not out) and he wins you the game. if he had of been given out either of them 3 times we would have been a fair chance to bowl you out and win but i spose luck was on your side.
anyway enough about that we will just have to get back on the winners list and see how we go. i wonder if we will be lucky enough to have his umpiring services again this week?
Grandale
29 Jan 2007, 12:35
i happened to play in this game also daryl and i would have to say that we did carry on a bit when we were fielding but i also believe we have every right to.
we have had the same umpire for the past 3 games and for some reason he has awarded many LBW against us, and unfortunately and inconsistantly not many in our favour. your bowlers appealed for everything that hit the pads and even bumped balls some of these appeals worked in your favour.
hewitt talked the man in question into giving buddha out (your own players even admitting it wasn't out), lukes pitched outside leg which as we all know can't be out.
when you guys batted we thought we might as well appeal for everything as it worked for you. turns out hewitt was talking to the umpire telling him to not listen to our unnecessary appealing. hewitt was very close to plum of seamons, was plum of buddha (given not out), was out stumped (given not out) and he wins you the game. if he had of been given out either of them 3 times we would have been a fair chance to bowl you out and win but i spose luck was on your side.
anyway enough about that we will just have to get back on the winners list and see how we go. i wonder if we will be lucky enough to have his umpiring services again this week?
Is that you Hirdy?
Footy Tripper
29 Jan 2007, 12:51
[quote=clifton's lookalike;6621419]i happened to play in this game also daryl and i would have to say that we did carry on a bit when we were fielding but i also believe we have every right to.
Also happened to be at the cricket ground for this game and can say that Buddha possibly wasn't out the second time, but you failed to mention two overs before when he shouldered arms and was hit on the pads in front of off stump, which should have been given out. The boys in line with bennetts (slips, keeper and bowler) all agreed that it was plumb. Bennett obviously didn't think so judging from the spray he gave the umpire on his way past and his yelling and gear throwing in the sheds.
What's done is done, hope you get him again this week anyway :D
DOCKERS
29 Jan 2007, 13:49
fair enough the kid having a go, but umpiring is not a think for kids, they are easily intimidated by both teams, need i remind everyone of the greg cruikshank, pat noonan incident in 2003? maybe the leader's in the nully team are too lazy to go out do it themselves? looking forward to be back in the whites this week fella's
Sockit151
29 Jan 2007, 14:18
fair enough the kid having a go, but umpiring is not a think for kids, they are easily intimidated by both teams, need i remind everyone of the greg cruikshank, pat noonan incident in 2003? maybe the leader's in the nully team are too lazy to go out do it themselves? looking forward to be back in the whites this week fella's
Maybe you should remind us, sounds like a good story??
clifton's lookalike
30 Jan 2007, 15:30
[quote=clifton's lookalike;6621419]i happened to play in this game also daryl and i would have to say that we did carry on a bit when we were fielding but i also believe we have every right to.
Also happened to be at the cricket ground for this game and can say that Buddha possibly wasn't out the second time, but you failed to mention two overs before when he shouldered arms and was hit on the pads in front of off stump, which should have been given out. The boys in line with bennetts (slips, keeper and bowler) all agreed that it was plumb. Bennett obviously didn't think so judging from the spray he gave the umpire on his way past and his yelling and gear throwing in the sheds.
What's done is done, hope you get him again this week anyway :D
So your saying your you showed bad sportsmanship by appealing for something that wasn't out? The 1st one wasn't out either with it hitting above the knee roll on front leg with front foot out a fair way, i would think there would be an element of doubt and hence would be not out.
Bennet was not out either. If the ball had pitched in line and hit in line it would have went straight back down the wicket after striking the pad. But when it hits you on outside of front leg pad and ball moves onto leg side field it has generally hit outside the line or pitched outside the line, hence the batsmen being given not out.
i notice you didn't comment on any of the 3 times hewitt should have been given out, has the media liason officer told you all to zip it?
Daryl Somers
30 Jan 2007, 15:50
[quote=Footy Tripper;6621638]
So your saying your you showed bad sportsmanship by appealing for something that wasn't out? The 1st one wasn't out either with it hitting above the knee roll on front leg with front foot out a fair way, i would think there would be an element of doubt and hence would be not out.
Bennet was not out either. If the ball had pitched in line and hit in line it would have went straight back down the wicket after striking the pad. But when it hits you on outside of front leg pad and ball moves onto leg side field it has generally hit outside the line or pitched outside the line, hence the batsmen being given not out.
i notice you didn't comment on any of the 3 times hewitt should have been given out, has the media liason officer told you all to zip it?
So let me get this straight, you must be Justin Rooney as he was the only person from your team who would have been able to see Budha's first appeal. And your obviously not as he even said it was out. Yes the second one was a bit dodgy but what goes around comes around. Bennett's pitched on middle and straightened, as you would know that Bill Hewitt was swinging them into the right handers, so bennetts couldn't have pitched outside leg if it was going to hit the stumps. Which it was gunna miss off and leg and hit middle half way up. Also probably forgot to mention Hinton's lbw appeal against hewitt which was quite close also given not out. so you guys did do alright, maybe you should use your bats and not your pads, ;) However can't comment on Hewitt's lbw appeals as i wasn't in the middle, was on side lines and didn't see it. Obviously you were keeping or bowling as that would be the only place you could comment from.
Sorry for everyone else that was a bit of a mouthful
DOCKERS
30 Jan 2007, 15:53
[quote=clifton's lookalike;6629909]
So let me get this straight, you must be Justin Rooney as he was the only person from your team who would have been able to see Budha's first appeal. And your obviously not as he even said it was out. Yes the second one was a bit dodgy but what goes around comes around. Bennett's pitched on middle and straightened, as you would know that Bill Hewitt was swinging them into the right handers, so bennetts couldn't have pitched outside leg if it was going to hit the stumps. Which it was gunna miss off and leg and hit middle half way up. Also probably forgot to mention Hinton's lbw appeal against hewitt which was quite close also given not out. so you guys did do alright, maybe you should use your bats and not your pads, ;) However can't comment on Hewitt's lbw appeals as i wasn't in the middle, was on side lines and didn't see it. Obviously you were keeping or bowling as that would be the only place you could comment from.
the blokes from r.s.l are right so just shut your trap, loser, dont comment if you were on the sideline all day
Sockit151
30 Jan 2007, 15:58
[quote=clifton's lookalike;6629909]
Can't see a lot of point arguing about the LBW's, without hawkeye they are always going to be a matter of opinion and we will never agree when white line fever becomes involved.. But the Stumping was the one that really ruined the game, when we have to umpire ourselves a bit of honesty is needed to keep the game ticking in a peaceful manner and that was a blatantly incompetent (if not cheating) decision at a very important time of the game!!
Daryl Somers
31 Jan 2007, 08:08
[quote=Daryl Somers;6630114]
the blokes from r.s.l are right so just shut your trap, loser, dont comment if you were on the sideline all day
I think you are a bit of a loser mate, i was simply commenting on the R.S.L lbw shouts as i was probably in the best positition to as i was the keeper. Simply said that couldn't comment on Nullawil lbw's as i wasn't in the middle at the time.
What it all comes down to is that there is one paid umpire out there who is paid to do a job, so maybe we should let him do it. Take the good with the bad. I don't know bout you guys but you can stick your $80 if you are going to get abused by some clowns every week, no wonder there isn't enough umpires these days.
ROOTA#6
31 Jan 2007, 12:37
[quote=DOCKERS;6630146]
I think you are a bit of a loser mate, i was simply commenting on the R.S.L lbw shouts as i was probably in the best positition to as i was the keeper. Simply said that couldn't comment on Nullawil lbw's as i wasn't in the middle at the time.
What it all comes down to is that there is one paid umpire out there who is paid to do a job, so maybe we should let him do it. Take the good with the bad. I don't know bout you guys but you can stick your $80 if you are going to get abused by some clowns every week, no wonder there isn't enough umpires these days.
Daryl i would raher keep the $80, umpire the games between both sides then drink it after play. If we have to put up with that standard of umpiring week in week out blokes will leave the game. It was disgusting and i am not just saying that coz i was given out.
hammer01
2 Feb 2007, 07:46
Enough of this umpire bashing boys, I'm sure they all do their best. If you've got a problem with an umpire put it in an umpire's report.
Do you think RSL will be worried by Swan Hill with finals at stake??
Sockit151
2 Feb 2007, 08:12
Enough of this umpire bashing boys, I'm sure they all do their best. If you've got a problem with an umpire put it in an umpire's report.
Do you think RSL will be worried by Swan Hill with finals at stake??
We'd be worried about the Mystic Park U/14's beating us the way we have been batting recently..
As for putting it in the umpires report??? What do you really think that would achieve, it's not like we have plenty of umpires and those that don't deliver will be dropped?? They will just read that we bagged them and be twice as bad next time, Catch 22..
hammer01
2 Feb 2007, 10:12
We'd be worried about the Mystic Park U/14's beating us the way we have been batting recently..
As for putting it in the umpires report??? What do you really think that would achieve, it's not like we have plenty of umpires and those that don't deliver will be dropped?? They will just read that we bagged them and be twice as bad next time, Catch 22..
Not dropped, just don't umpire certain games for a while. The umpires are selected for finals based on umpires reports throughout the year, so if you don't like their performance be honest or be prepared to have them in finals! Depends I suppose if you've got the balls to say what you think. There are right and wrong ways to criticise umpires and a public place like this isn't right. These blokes are doing their best
Sockit151
2 Feb 2007, 10:38
Not dropped, just don't umpire certain games for a while. The umpires are selected for finals based on umpires reports throughout the year, so if you don't like their performance be honest or be prepared to have them in finals! Depends I suppose if you've got the balls to say what you think. There are right and wrong ways to criticise umpires and a public place like this isn't right. These blokes are doing their best
Can't argue with that.. I personally haven't had a go at the paid umpires and i'm not in a position to use my 'balls' to fill in umpires reports so not much more can be done..
Who you got this week hammer? And who do you like between TUFF and Woora to secure a spot in the top 3??
hammer01
2 Feb 2007, 10:49
Can't argue with that.. I personally haven't had a go at the paid umpires and i'm not in a position to use my 'balls' to fill in umpires reports so not much more can be done..
Who you got this week hammer? And who do you like between TUFF and Woora to secure a spot in the top 3??
wasnt having a go at you sockit, just some others who are bagging umpires on this site.
TUFCC and Woora will be a cracker. Got a feeling TUFCC will make too many runs for Woora as TUFCC have a consistant bowling attack. Groaty will have to take a lot of wickets if woora are to win. TUFCC for me and in the Kooka Cup final too...
Sockit151
2 Feb 2007, 10:54
wasnt having a go at you sockit, just some others who are bagging umpires on this site.
TUFCC and Woora will be a cracker. Got a feeling TUFCC will make too many runs for Woora as TUFCC have a consistant bowling attack. Groaty will have to take a lot of wickets if woora are to win. TUFCC for me and in the Kooka Cup final too...
Big call to tip against Tooley for the Kooka final but hope its a close game!!
Maybe Brandon "Bairdy" Dixon will continue his hot form and get TUF over the line?
hammer01
2 Feb 2007, 11:09
Big call to tip against Tooley for the Kooka final but hope its a close game!!
Maybe Brandon "Bairdy" Dixon will continue his hot form and get TUF over the line?
TUFCC's batting depth is strong and if they can have a bit of luck, look to push singles off dan and have a crack at their other bowlers they are a real show. Is tooleybuc's batting suspect in big games like in last years GF??
For me, its the Tooleytangs to take out the double. Tuf will need big things from "Bairdy" Dixon, Power and some top order runs from Abbott and Brown to have any show. The TUF boys have had the bowling machine cranked up from what i hear. Will be a good match though.
G. Lanigan to make his A Grade umpiring debut this week at the AG Reserve!!!
telstra101
2 Feb 2007, 16:07
not too sure roota but would u be willing to go out and umpire for 20 overs before u batted and 20 overs after u batted?? not saying u would bat for 40 overs though :D :D
just know that we have played twice without a central umpire and does make it tough, although, i did think the standard was better... was simple, had to be absolute plum lbw before a team mate would give it out, which is how the rule of lbw should be, too many doubtful ones are given by the league umpires..
Tooleybuc for me on sunday, not sure if the theory of making runs at the other end works against tooleybuc, last time i remembered facing the barnes boys and nabby it wasnt that easy!
two massive games not far from each other on saturday. RSL to step up when it counts this week and make runs.. keep the tigers on their toes..
not sure what others think, but i wouldnt be writing nully out of finals just yet either. totally disagree with strevens write up today, but what would u expect, the guy has no idea...
Crowy to finally make some runs against tuff, would be due... good to see tanner 'pee wee herman' groat back in the tigers line up last week..
TUFCC's batting depth is strong and if they can have a bit of luck, look to push singles off dan and have a crack at their other bowlers they are a real show. Is tooleybuc's batting suspect in big games like in last years GF??
Didn't they win last years grand final chasing !
The Annual Nullawil-Culgoa 5-a-side competition is on again bigger and better than ever. Come and take part in the slap fest that is, 5-a-side cricket. Compete against team mates for bragging rights and settle some old scores. Teams from all competitions and grades welcome. 16 teams maximum
Prizes Include:
Overall 1st Prize: $300
Overall 2nd Prize: $150
Cricketer of the Day
Best Catch
Fastest 30
Best Bowling
$100 for an eight* on the roof**
$50 for an eight* on the verandah*** An eight will be awarded rather than a six
**The $100 and $50 prizes are shared evenly between all players who achieve the feat.
For Details and Entries Contact:
Dale Poyner 0407 935 241
Darren Barker 54935391
Wade Humphreys 0428 606 200
Date: 11th February 2007
Time: 9.00 AM Sharp
Venue: Nullawil Recreation Reserve, Birchip Road, Nullawil.
ENTRY FEE $75 PER TEAM
Bar Facilities --- Salad Rolls --- All Day B-B-Q --- Disco Gold
ITS ON AGAIN!!! :) :) :) :) :)
Footy Tripper
8 Feb 2007, 13:47
The Annual Nullawil-Culgoa 5-a-side competition is on again bigger and better than ever. Come and take part in the slap fest that is, 5-a-side cricket. Compete against team mates for bragging rights and settle some old scores. Teams from all competitions and grades welcome. 16 teams maximum
Prizes Include:
Overall 1st Prize: $300
Overall 2nd Prize: $150
Cricketer of the Day
Best Catch
Fastest 30
Best Bowling
$100 for an eight* on the roof**
$50 for an eight* on the verandah*** An eight will be awarded rather than a six
**The $100 and $50 prizes are shared evenly between all players who achieve the feat.
For Details and Entries Contact:
Dale Poyner 0407 935 241
Darren Barker 54935391
Wade Humphreys 0428 606 200
Date: 11th February 2007
Time: 9.00 AM Sharp
Venue: Nullawil Recreation Reserve, Birchip Road, Nullawil.
ENTRY FEE $75 PER TEAM
Bar Facilities --- Salad Rolls --- All Day B-B-Q --- Disco Gold
ITS ON AGAIN!!! :) :) :) :) :)
Having experienced these days numerous times now I can say that it is a fantastic day of cricketing entertainment, which gets even more entertaining later in the day when the finals are on and 95% of the cricketers are affected by alcohol. Everyone should get along if they can!!:thumbsu:
Sockit151
12 Feb 2007, 13:35
Having experienced these days numerous times now I can say that it is a fantastic day of cricketing entertainment, which gets even more entertaining later in the day when the finals are on and 95% of the cricketers are affected by alcohol. Everyone should get along if they can!!:thumbsu:
Can anyone give us a Strevens like summary of the days events at Nully??
Footy Tripper
13 Feb 2007, 08:50
Can anyone give us a Strevens like summary of the days events at Nully??
Can't find last weeks paper to cut and paste so won't be able to match a Strevens report, but will be able to give a tripper report.
NB: A lot of alcohol was consumed during the day, memory may be a bit vague in areas:
15 teams were entered for the days play which was fantastic, 16 is the ideal number. Not much support from opposition teams in the SHDCA, with only Swan Hill bringing a team over. Other teams came from Bendigo, Wandella, Wyche, Birchip, Balranald and a team of ex locals, some from Melbourne.
The cricket commenced at 9:30, the beers started flowing at 10:00 (some sooner) and the BBQ was fireing soon after. Discogold had his tunes playing all day, some tunes accompanying batsman to the crease, I just can't remember who had "U.G.L.Y you aint got no alibi you UGLY" tho. The preliminary rounds seen some interesting cricket being played. Some classic catches were taken, some sodas were dropped, and a couple of massive sixes were hit early.
Before the finals started people had the chance to throw at a single stump from 10 metres with the odds of 5-1. The stump was hit a few times but Egga Poyners $10 for a throw that landed him a lazy $50 was the pick of them.
As the day progressed teams were eliminated, leaving the Semi finals between "True Blue" (Wandella) and Snowys (ex locals) and Swan Hill and Bendigo (renamed Mount Franklins throughout the day due to there lack of alcohol intake). The Grand Final was played between True Blue and Mount Franklins, with the Bendigo boys cruising to an easy victory. Then it was presentation time, and I may need some assistance from Daryl Somers, as my memory faded late in the day.
1st prize - Mount Franklins (Bendigo)
2nd prize - True Blue (Wandella)
Best Catch - Garet Stobaus (Snowys)
Fastest 30 - Shaun McKenzie (True Blue)
Best over - ????????
Cricket of the day - ?????????
6 on the complex roof - no winner
6 on the complex verandah - H from Mount Franklins
Raffle - Peter Murray (4kg Cray and an esky)
There were many, many contenders for the shirt, but tripper has gone with:
3 votes - Chriso Townrow - Wasn't actually playing cricket, but was the drunkest man in Australia by midday. He soldiered on till 4 or 5pm until his girlfriend arrived and dragged him back to Bendigo. He was even seen trying to the neck of a stubby up his rather large nostrils at one stage!
2 votes - the wrestling Birchip boys in James Scambler and Simon Craig. Were they serious...who knows. Did they get a 20 litre drink container tipped on them....yes!
1 vote......many many contenders. Last year the two Nude Run blokes pounced on these votes, but that didn't occur this year. May have to give it to Yelladog Humphreys for being unable to bowl at all on Sunday due to hurting his shoulder during play drunk wrestles Satdy night.
All in all a successful day was held, enjoyed by all who attended. Its a shame though that you have to work on Mondays!!!
Sockit151
13 Feb 2007, 09:16
Nice report, any other cricketers of stature that bowled deceptively or even at a quite slippery pace??
Footy Tripper
13 Feb 2007, 09:58
Nice report, any other cricketers of stature that bowled deceptively or even at a quite slippery pace??
Faced one of the Bendigo boys after around 10 stubbies and he sent a couple through before I realised it. Had a bit of pace but had no jump in his action, just ran in and whipped it through....hard to explain. Apart from that most bowlers were of a nice hitting pace. Probably should have mentioned that the Bendigo boys were led by Jason and Bill Hewitt. Obviously a few blokes bowling that haven't played much before, so a bit of trash was also served up.
Sockit151
13 Feb 2007, 10:06
Any thoughts on the decision to bowl first in your match at Tooleybuc?
Seemed to work out well??
hammer01
13 Feb 2007, 11:07
I see that Luke Bennett was not in the RSL side that was thumped by Swan Hill on the weekend Sockit, has he gone missing when RSL need him the most??
Sockit151
13 Feb 2007, 11:25
I see that Luke Bennett was not in the RSL side that was thumped by Swan Hill on the weekend Sockit, has he gone missing when RSL need him the most??
Doubt he will play again this year, think the travel was a bit too much while trying to settle into Bendigo and a new job!!
Footy Tripper
13 Feb 2007, 12:34
Any thoughts on the decision to bowl first in your match at Tooleybuc?
Seemed to work out well??
Yeah my only thoughts are what the hell was Crabbe thinking. Just queitly between me and you sockit, playing the top team on a 42 degree day, I would have chosen to bat. I think Bill summed it up best to Barnesy at the end of the days play when he said "good toss to win Barnesy" and Barnesy replied "you blokes won the toss, not me". Wasn't till the end of the days play did most of the boys realise Crabbe won the toss!
Daryl Somers
13 Feb 2007, 15:34
1st prize - Mount Franklins (Bendigo)
2nd prize - True Blue (Wandella)
Best Catch - Garet Stobaus (Snowys)
Fastest 30 - Shaun McKenzie (True Blue)
Best over - ????????
Cricket of the day - ?????????
6 on the complex roof - no winner
6 on the complex verandah - H from Mount Franklins
Raffle - Peter Murray (4kg Cray and an esky)
I also was struggling to remember but came up with
Best Over - Colin Fawcett, his 2 for 1 off 3 balls wasn't bad considering the 1 was a no ball.
Cricketer of the day - H from Mount Franklins
Agree that it was a very enjoyable day had by all, bit of bad luck you couldn't get up this year Tripper, would have been a lazy 5 in a row for you i'd reckon
My Name Is Earl
14 Feb 2007, 20:56
[quote=Daryl Somers;6634023]
umpires shouldn't get paid... how hard is it to stand out there and watch a game you like too watch? who cares if the league folds due to no umpires, more time on saturdays to drink piss and watch good cricket... cricket around here is bloody shocking, there is rarely a 100 made.... be good for the town if this ******** comp stopped using community parks and ovals every saturday anyway
Is anybody forcing you to play the game dockers? Or watch it? I'll tell you who cares. There is 28 senior sides and 21 junior sides in this comp, each consisting of 11 players. Now you musn't be that bright so I'll do the maths for you, that equals 539 people per week. And thats not counting supporters, former players, committee members, etc who also turn up to watch games each week. I happen to think the standard of cricket played up hear is quiet good. Just beacuse there isn't a hundred being scored every week doesn't mean it's a ******** standard. Most of the games I've been involved in or watched have had extremely good cricket being played and very entertaining. I suggest if you don't like cricket around the area dockers, f#@k off this thread and leave it for the people who do enjoy the game and stop wasting everyone's time.
ROOTA#6
14 Feb 2007, 20:59
[quote=DOCKERS;6728892]
Is anybody forcing you to play the game dockers? Or watch it? I'll tell you who cares. There is 28 senior sides and 21 junior sides in this comp, each consisting of 11 players. Now you musn't be that bright so I'll do the maths for you, that equals 539 people per week. And thats not counting supporters, former players, committee members, etc who also turn up to watch games each week. I happen to think the standard of cricket played up hear is quiet good. Just beacuse there isn't a hundred being scored every week doesn't mean it's a ******** standard. Most of the games I've been involved in or watched have had extremely good cricket being played and very entertaining. I suggest if you don't like cricket around the area dockers, f#@k off this thread and leave it for the people who do enjoy the game and stop wasting everyone's time.
One of the best posts i have read in my time on big footy. Well said Earl, well said :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
DOCKERS
15 Feb 2007, 16:58
appologies for that post fella's, was not me and the problem has been rectified...
ROOTA#6
15 Feb 2007, 18:17
appologies for that post fella's, was not me and the problem has been rectified...
No probs Dockers, thought it was a bit out of character
Everythings gone a bit quiet. RSL must be out of finals contention.
What has happened to the boys in blue since early December? The loss of three key players obviously hurts any side around here but the batting performances being turned out haven't been great.
Big rumours about UTUFCC & RSL coming together............;)
Sockit151
23 Feb 2007, 08:47
I know that we have all had a laugh at Strevens write-ups before.. But just a couple of beauties again this week..
* R.Boulton with agreat CAPTAINS knock last weekend???
* TUFF playing for a shot at the DOUBLE CHANCE in the finals???
It's becoming quite a joke how many errors he can print in each article he writes about local cricket. :thumbsd:
Footy Tripper
23 Feb 2007, 10:50
I know that we have all had a laugh at Strevens write-ups before.. But just a couple of beauties again this week..
* R.Boulton with agreat CAPTAINS knock last weekend???
* TUFF playing for a shot at the DOUBLE CHANCE in the finals???
It's becoming quite a joke how many errors he can print in each article he writes about local cricket. :thumbsd:
Also Nully/Culgoa were hoping for a TUFCC and Woorinen loss this week as they go for outright, which will put them only 6 points behind both teams. Unfortunatley TUFCC are in a winning position, but if Woorinen crumble and Nully/Culgoa get outright, then the door remains open ever so slightly for a finals berth.
But according to Strevens report, there is no interest at all in the game out at Nully....perhaps he should do his equations before writing crap. I know results haven't gone Nully/Culgoas way, but it is still a slight chance Strevo!!!
telstra101
23 Feb 2007, 15:54
Also Nully/Culgoa were hoping for a TUFCC and Woorinen loss this week as they go for outright, which will put them only 6 points behind both teams. Unfortunatley TUFCC are in a winning position, but if Woorinen crumble and Nully/Culgoa get outright, then the door remains open ever so slightly for a finals berth.
But according to Strevens report, there is no interest at all in the game out at Nully....perhaps he should do his equations before writing crap. I know results haven't gone Nully/Culgoas way, but it is still a slight chance Strevo!!!
i agree, obviously honest mistakes but makes the man look like a complete w*nker...
Good to see the optimism is still high out at nully, but cant see either us or tuff losing from where we are at..
Interesting that RSL vs TOol game is already over and didnt get mentioned once in the papers.. Cant blame barnesy for having the weekend off, great idea, luxury of being so far ahead on top i guess!
sockit, could u elaborate further on the tuff n RSl merger, seems very logical to me, with both clubs only fielding two sides, would be a powerful unit if they got together.. Had heard the whispers off the merger when we played tuff.
Sockit151
23 Feb 2007, 16:10
i agree, obviously honest mistakes but makes the man look like a complete w*nker...
Good to see the optimism is still high out at nully, but cant see either us or tuff losing from where we are at..
Interesting that RSL vs TOol game is already over and didnt get mentioned once in the papers.. Cant blame barnesy for having the weekend off, great idea, luxury of being so far ahead on top i guess!
sockit, could u elaborate further on the tuff n RSl merger, seems very logical to me, with both clubs only fielding two sides, would be a powerful unit if they got together.. Had heard the whispers off the merger when we played tuff.
There is definately a lot of talk about it.. But all very informal at this stage!!
Don't think alot of it has been discussed at a formal committee level, not at our end anyway!!
While on the surface it may look good for forming a strong TEAM onfield, i think there may be a fair few people that need convincing that our CLUB needs it.. We have good finance, good ground etc and pretty good numbers even if the quality is down a bit..
I'm pretty neutral on it at the moment as havent really heard much about what might be proposed, but is still a fair way off i think!!
telstra101
26 Feb 2007, 10:30
I think strevens has reached new heights today.... what the f**k was he thinking writing that. there was a result so in the laws of cricket there is no need to continue.. this guy is getting beyond a joke. interesting scores over weekend. Woorinen, we continue to have major collapses! need to tighten up with tooleybuc this weekend and the first week of finals. Nyah vs tuff game went as expected, tassie playing is interesting. Andrew Hewitt, what a freak, how good is he, would have to be close to taking clean sweep this season, wouldnt be far behind mustards boulton in batting.. Just a quick question to put out there, anyones thoughts on is it fair that a tuff has a and c, the c grade competition is being ruined by them being far too good for c grade. Also the same as a manang not joining with tooleybuc. A rohan Zanker playing b grade is fairly daunting for the opposition.. something needs to be done.. they want a c grade they should have to field a b grade not a grade, think u should have two teams following each other, meaning a and b, or b and c. makes it fair.
Sockit151
26 Feb 2007, 11:26
I think strevens has reached new heights today.... what the f**k was he thinking writing that. there was a result so in the laws of cricket there is no need to continue.. this guy is getting beyond a joke. interesting scores over weekend. Woorinen, we continue to have major collapses! need to tighten up with tooleybuc this weekend and the first week of finals. Nyah vs tuff game went as expected, tassie playing is interesting. Andrew Hewitt, what a freak, how good is he, would have to be close to taking clean sweep this season, wouldnt be far behind mustards boulton in batting.. Just a quick question to put out there, anyones thoughts on is it fair that a tuff has a and c, the c grade competition is being ruined by them being far too good for c grade. Also the same as a manang not joining with tooleybuc. A rohan Zanker playing b grade is fairly daunting for the opposition.. something needs to be done.. they want a c grade they should have to field a b grade not a grade, think u should have two teams following each other, meaning a and b, or b and c. makes it fair.
Spot on telstra..
While i was in the minority and agree that the game probably should have continued, i think he was out of line with that spray, considering he clearly knows ******** all about the SHDCA nor cares from what i can make out!!
His references to cricket needing to gain respect and not being taken seriously in the area make it very clear that he does neither..
Not that we didn't already know that!!
What was said, Telstra?:confused:
telstra101
26 Feb 2007, 15:28
it is a difficult one isn't it sockit.. i understand that yes maybe the game shoulg have gone on, but would u have liked to stay out there and have to get the batsmen out that were still at the crease then watch barnes, mcnabb and mcnees still stride out to the crease.?? i dont think the game would have achieved anything from continuing, but i can tell u this, the board is extremely unhappy that the game did not continue, i dont think they can do anything, but will be interesting to see what happens. Catter, good to have u back champ!! our good cricket loving friend, steve strevens at the the guardian took a swipe at cricket, basically stating in short what we all on here had already worked out as to what he thought of the way the SHDCA conducts itself.. Dont think he thinks much of us, but f**k him cause i dont think much of his work either...
September
26 Feb 2007, 15:36
it is a difficult one isn't it sockit.. i understand that yes maybe the game shoulg have gone on, but would u have liked to stay out there and have to get the batsmen out that were still at the crease then watch barnes, mcnabb and mcnees still stride out to the crease.?? i dont think the game would have achieved anything from continuing, but i can tell u this, the board is extremely unhappy that the game did not continue, i dont think they can do anything, but will be interesting to see what happens. Catter, good to have u back champ!! our good cricket loving friend, steve strevens at the the guardian took a swipe at cricket, basically stating in short what we all on here had already worked out as to what he thought of the way the SHDCA conducts itself.. Dont think he thinks much of us, but f**k him cause i dont think much of his work either...
Based on recent reports, he's a big fan of yours though.
ROOTA#6
26 Feb 2007, 15:37
Looks like it is time to put the call to big Richo to return
His work has been a disgrace. Hes not happy with the CA cause he thinks that they told everyone to ring in when there were no results put in Mondays paper a few weeks back. Get everyone to send in letters to the editor and put him under the pump i reckon. His lack of knowledge or understanding of the game is amazing for a "sports editor". Comparing quitting at 1/2 time at footy when your 10 goals down is nothing like finishing up after you have a result. He is a f..kwit.
hammer01
27 Feb 2007, 09:28
Spot on telstra..
While i was in the minority and agree that the game probably should have continued, i think he was out of line with that spray, considering he clearly knows ******** all about the SHDCA nor cares from what i can make out!!
His references to cricket needing to gain respect and not being taken seriously in the area make it very clear that he does neither..
Not that we didn't already know that!!
Agree that Strevens is struggling big time with reporting, his constant reference to a double chance in finals tends to reflect his understanding.
If RSL were fair dinkum they would have continued the game. If the reports are correct that the decision was made last week then that is gutless. Who knows what would have happened? McNees, McNab, Barnes could have been struck down by a mystery virus or maybe even RSL could have beaten Tooleybuc outright for an extra 4 points. Just checked the ladder and had Woorinen lost on saturday and RSL did the unlikely and beat tooleybuc outright there would have been 5 points difference going into the last round for 4th spot. Woorinen playing tooleybuc and RSL v St Marys anything would have been possible. Very ordinary effort
Sockit151
27 Feb 2007, 09:57
Agree that Strevens is struggling big time with reporting, his constant reference to a double chance in finals tends to reflect his understanding.
If RSL were fair dinkum they would have continued the game. If the reports are correct that the decision was made last week then that is gutless. Who knows what would have happened? McNees, McNab, Barnes could have been struck down by a mystery virus or maybe even RSL could have beaten Tooleybuc outright for an extra 4 points. Just checked the ladder and had Woorinen lost on saturday and RSL did the unlikely and beat tooleybuc outright there would have been 5 points difference going into the last round for 4th spot. Woorinen playing tooleybuc and RSL v St Marys anything would have been possible. Very ordinary effort
Back the truck up a bit hammer!!
If my reports are correct Tooley instigated the possiblility of the having a week off if they were able to pass our score, although most of our players were happy to agree!!
As for us still being in with a chance? At best we could take 6 points from the game, leaving us 3 behind if Woora or TUFF had they lost!! To do this all we needed to do was take 18 wickets in 80 overs while somehow managing to make more runs with our remaining 10 wickets with the few overs in between, all against the top side!! Lets get real, after the past five losses can you blame us for not being confident???
HappyDayz
27 Feb 2007, 09:59
Based on recent reports, he's a big fan of yours though.
Great call September. On the whole 2nd week off issue has the board/Mr S.S taken the time to think about retaining cricketers in this league. After a long summer (especially for Tooley who have played a few Sundays) i think giving players a chance for a weekend off and get away for the weekend is a good thing. Otherwise we risk players giving cricket away all togethere, lets face it, who wants to spend every saturday throughout the summer on a 35 degree day. I love my cricket but i know i don't.
hammer01
27 Feb 2007, 10:22
Back the truck up a bit hammer!!
If my reports are correct Tooley instigated the possiblility of the having a week off if they were able to pass our score, although most of our players were happy to agree!!
As for us still being in with a chance? At best we could take 6 points from the game, leaving us 9 behind if Woora or TUFF had they lost!! To do this all we needed to do was take 18 wickets in 80 overs while somehow managing to make more runs with our remaining 10 wickets with the few overs in between, all against the top side!! Lets get real, after the past five losses can you blame us for not being confident???
Either I'm reading from an old ladder which has Woorinen on 45 points and RSL on 30 points or the website needs updating and I'm wrong (happy to be proved worng). If Woorinen had of lost last week they would have stayed on 39 points and if somehow RSL could have somehow got 4 points (miraculous as it would have been) from a second innings win they would have been on 34. I know it would have been a very long shot but aren't finals the aim? What if it had of been a sticky wicket? Pat Caldwell would have been very difficult to play but how do you know a week before?
Sockit151
27 Feb 2007, 10:35
Either I'm reading from an old ladder which has Woorinen on 45 points and RSL on 30 points or the website needs updating and I'm wrong (happy to be proved worng). If Woorinen had of lost last week they would have stayed on 39 points and if somehow RSL could have somehow got 4 points (miraculous as it would have been) from a second innings win they would have been on 34. I know it would have been a very long shot but aren't finals the aim? What if it had of been a sticky wicket? Pat Caldwell would have been very difficult to play but how do you know a week before?
Yes you are right i had a look and we actually could have been 3 points behind, IF we managed to reverse outright them!! I was going by your refence to an extra 4 meaning we would have gained 10 points and took 4 off your figure of 5!!
Anyway as i said in response to the Strevens article, i agree that we should have continued with the game.. But it had nothing to do with being gutless, it was just a gentlemens agreement between the two captains that the race had been run and the game had been won..
I like to play the game to the end, but i don't think in a million years we could have recovered from that position, and i doubt you do either??
hammer01
27 Feb 2007, 10:44
Yes you are right i had a look and we actually could have been 3 points behind, IF we managed to reverse outright them!! I was going by your refence to an extra 4 meaning we would have gained 10 points and took 4 off your figure of 5!!
Anyway as i said in response to the Strevens article, i agree that we should have continued with the game.. But it had nothing to do with being gutless, it was just a gentlemens agreement between the two captains that the race had been run and the game had been won..
I like to play the game to the end, but i don't think in a million years we could have recovered from that position, and i doubt you do either??
Fair chance you wouldn't have but I wouldn't have written it if I didn't think it was possible. Heard a whisper that the board will change the rules because of this game
FROGDOG17
27 Feb 2007, 14:01
Fair chance you wouldn't have but I wouldn't have written it if I didn't think it was possible. Heard a whisper that the board will change the rules because of this game
Can someone please explain what actually happened in this match. I don't live there anymore and i can't read the exculsive reports in the guardian to keep up with what's going on. Cheers
Sockit151
27 Feb 2007, 14:09
Can someone please explain what actually happened in this match. I don't live there anymore and i can't read the exculsive reports in the guardian to keep up with what's going on. Cheers
in short, a result was achieved on the first day of a scheduled 2 day game..
and the captains agreed that neither wished to push for further points so the 2nd day was called off!!
A few seasons ago there was a rule that said that the game can be called off after tea on the 2nd day if the captains agree. I think that this rule will be re-introduced.
Its been a tough season with the heat factor and also the set up this season with no byes in any grade of senior cricket. No chance to go up the river unless its over 42 or you come up with a result like the Bucs and Blues. Good on em for doing it. :thumbsu:
clifton's lookalike
27 Feb 2007, 21:16
A few seasons ago there was a rule that said that the game can be called off after tea on the 2nd day if the captains agree. I think that this rule will be re-introduced.
Its been a tough season with the heat factor and also the set up this season with no byes in any grade of senior cricket. No chance to go up the river unless its over 42 or you come up with a result like the Bucs and Blues. Good on em for doing it. :thumbsu:
Bloody oath good on us for doing it. Strevens bagging us for not consulting the board what a joke. The captains didn't want to push for more points and they didn't so we had a spell for a week.
The board never approached us when they decided best interest of players when they cancelled a one day fixture that could have landed us a win and maybe we could have kept playing and pushing for an outright against the Bucs:D
The 1st week of the 2 dayer 2 rounds ago was over 42 degrees and so was the 1st week of last game, board should have considered player welfare here and turned these into one day games.
Both days were under 40 on BOM readings. You blokes are just soft. :p
http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/dwo/IDCJDW3077.latest.shtml
Footy Tripper
28 Feb 2007, 07:42
Punta you can belt your weather site fair up your a**e, it was around 45 degrees out on the cricket field a couple of weeks ago.
hammer01
28 Feb 2007, 08:06
couldn't agree with you more on that one punta, isn't cricket a summer sport??
Dead right Hammer. A summer sport. Am very happy that we won the toss that week though. Almost felt pity for the blokes in the field.........
telstra101
28 Feb 2007, 15:01
should have tried batting with a massive hangover footy tripper... sh*t i struggled! although u may be still angry at your captains decision that day?????????? haha, probably goes down as the biggest WHAT THE for the season, does anyone else have any contenders???
HappyDayz
28 Feb 2007, 16:15
should have tried batting with a massive hangover footy tripper... sh*t i struggled! although u may be still angry at your captains decision that day?????????? haha, probably goes down as the biggest WHAT THE for the season, does anyone else have any contenders???
I think Tristan Porter (Nyah B's) whearing his little pork pie hat or whatever the f:D :D ken shape it is while opening the batting and throwing in enthusicastic comentary at the same time ie "what a shot" after edging one past first slip. Not getting him out is possibly the lowest feeling i've had in a terribly ordinary career.:mad:
HavUEvaSeenTheRain
28 Feb 2007, 17:35
I think Tristan Porter (Nyah B's) whearing his little pork pie hat or whatever the f:D :D ken shape it is while opening the batting and throwing in enthusicastic comentary at the same time ie "what a shot" after edging one past first slip. Not getting him out is possibly the lowest feeling i've had in a terribly ordinary career.:mad:
Haha yeh and what song was he singing to you when he was coming into bowl.
HappyDayz
1 Mar 2007, 11:52
Haha yeh and what song was he singing to you when he was coming into bowl.
Don't know wasn't out there long enough to catch it.
telstra101
2 Mar 2007, 11:17
after a bad start to the week i think strevo has stepped up to the plate.. i thought today's artcile was fantastic. great to see him making an effort to contact the captains, seems a simple thing to do but something the big number 12 from richmond didnt do!!! good to see him ring cain and not ritchie!!! an interesting read from the well respected lee mcnabb, wonder if the letter would have made back page if it was written from luke bennett, nathan seamons, dean morpeth, ben ditterich, or even a glenn smith... a well respected man with a vocabulary that stunned me!!
HappyDayz
2 Mar 2007, 13:10
... a well respected man with a vocabulary that stunned me!!
Obviously you would have trouble with his vocabulary because every 4th word doesn't start with the letter F. On a serioius note, great letter from a well respected cricketer and bloke.
telstra101
2 Mar 2007, 13:28
Obviously you would have trouble with his vocabulary because every 4th word doesn't start with the letter F. On a serioius note, great letter from a well respected cricketer and bloke.
yes, i would be the first to admit that my language is an issue... just got off the phone to the one and only "doctor finch", who has been talking to the well respected lee mcnab re his article.. i would think that most people would agree with what he wrote, would actually be interesting to know that boards thoughts now along with strevens..
September
2 Mar 2007, 14:07
Sounds like Lee McNab is well respected
HappyDayz
2 Mar 2007, 15:49
Sounds like Lee McNab is well respected
There's a great deal of respect and there's obsession. Kade groat's feelings for him are the latter, its quiet disturbing really. Nabby time to change the phone number again i think, how does he keep getting it.
glen_winderlich
2 Mar 2007, 20:01
I think the incident that occured at the RSL and Tooleybuc game has perhaps overshadowed the real story of the round... Tassie Denham making his return to the Ultima Tuff A grade side... Would have been a fair spell between drinks for the big fella
Sockit151
5 Mar 2007, 07:56
Another relatively accurate write-up again today, Strevo is on fire!!
Can anyone fill us in on the Hewitt incident, and/or update on his health??
clifton's lookalike
5 Mar 2007, 10:41
after a bad start to the week i think strevo has stepped up to the plate.. i thought today's artcile was fantastic. great to see him making an effort to contact the captains, seems a simple thing to do but something the big number 12 from richmond didnt do!!! good to see him ring cain and not ritchie!!! an interesting read from the well respected lee mcnabb, wonder if the letter would have made back page if it was written from luke bennett, nathan seamons, dean morpeth, ben ditterich, or even a glenn smith... a well respected man with a vocabulary that stunned me!!
are you trying to say that i am not a well respected man telstra?:mad:
i was half way through writing a letter but just couldn't get my point across the way i wanted and then thought fcuk it strevo wont put it in.
then i read nabbies letter and it was beautifully worded, the poise in his words, the grace in which his pen would have flowed across the paper.
anyway i think i better stop there or my obsession for him may challenge the doctor.:D
Daryl Somers
5 Mar 2007, 14:05
Another relatively accurate write-up again today, Strevo is on fire!!
Can anyone fill us in on the Hewitt incident, and/or update on his health??
The Bill Hewitt incident was one of the worst things seen on cricket field, Ben Coloe bowled a bouncer and Bill just didn't quite get it, and got a top edge.
He's in Bendigo today getting surgery on his eye and also getting a plate in his wrist (this happened either when he hit the ground unconscious or later in dressing room). He was feeling ok satdy night just bit groggy. No doubt he will recover and hopefully be able to play some footy for Nully this year.
Great sportmanship shown by Tuff boys and especially Splatty Ingram. Really good blokes who wouldn't wish the incident to happen to anyone, let alone arguably the best all rounder in league:thumbsu: .
telstra101
5 Mar 2007, 14:33
The Bill Hewitt incident was one of the worst things seen on cricket field, Ben Coloe bowled a bouncer and Bill just didn't quite get it, and got a top edge.
He's in Bendigo today getting surgery on his eye and also getting a plate in his wrist (this happened either when he hit the ground unconscious or later in dressing room). He was feeling ok satdy night just bit groggy. No doubt he will recover and hopefully be able to play some footy for Nully this year.
Great sportmanship shown by Tuff boys and especially Splatty Ingram. Really good blokes who wouldn't wish the incident to happen to anyone, let alone arguably the best all rounder in league:thumbsu: .
yes without a doubt has been the standout all rounder this season. Not good to hear that happen to anyone, but be honest, he DID break his wrist when he punched the wall in the dressing room and maybe he is starting to wish he didnt chanrge ben coloe's first delivery.. Hope he sticks around next season, great for the comp with him playing. Be scary having him and jason in the same side..
Some big scores posted, well done to splatty, tuff should now take second spot over nyah. Did jed really bat at 9 or not, if so why??? Tigers had long day.. 11 chances went down over the 80 overs, most of them compliments to gloves morpeth. :mad:
Sockit151
5 Mar 2007, 14:50
yes without a doubt has been the standout all rounder this season. Not good to hear that happen to anyone, but be honest, he DID break his wrist when he punched the wall in the dressing room and maybe he is starting to wish he didnt chanrge ben coloe's first delivery.. Hope he sticks around next season, great for the comp with him playing. Be scary having him and jason in the same side..
Some big scores posted, well done to splatty, tuff should now take second spot over nyah. Did jed really bat at 9 or not, if so why??? Tigers had long day.. 11 chances went down over the 80 overs, most of them compliments to gloves morpeth. :mad:
* Would be interested to have that rumour cleared up, was Hewitt giving his trademark charge when he got sconed, either way terrible incident..
* Jed actually came in at 8 (arrived at tea - as was in a fishing comp or something?) but didn't face a ball before 7th wicket fell.. Hit the ball very cleanly and really took the score away from us, after what was looking liek about 200.. We also dropped about 8 or 9 catches:thumbsd: but none from the gloves:D
Daryl Somers
5 Mar 2007, 16:19
* Would be interested to have that rumour cleared up, was Hewitt giving his trademark charge when he got sconed, either way terrible incident..
* Jed actually came in at 8 (arrived at tea - as was in a fishing comp or something?) but didn't face a ball before 7th wicket fell.. Hit the ball very cleanly and really took the score away from us, after what was looking liek about 200.. We also dropped about 8 or 9 catches:thumbsd: but none from the gloves:D
Yes he might have busted the wrist while punching the tables in side. He doesn't blame Coloe but Todd Brown, because when he charged Coloe 2nd ball he hit it straight to Todd who dropped what most of us would call a sitter.
He wasn't charging when he got hit, just tried to pull it and didn't get enough of it. Was a great knock by Splatty at weekend although our bowling stocks were pretty ordinary without Billy.
Footy Tripper
6 Mar 2007, 08:19
Can give you an updated report on Bill Hewitt. Seems after leaving Swan Hill destined for surgery in Bendigo, as highlighted in bold above, the Swan Hill docs may have misjudged it a little.
He went in for surgery at 10am yesterday, but was told that his eye didn't require any surgery and will fix itself in a week, and that his hand also requires no surgery and he can take the plaster off in 10 days.....I will add that he has to go back to Bendigo on friday when swelling has gone down just to be 100% sure, but at this stage all looks good for him.
telstra101
6 Mar 2007, 13:38
Can give you an updated report on Bill Hewitt. Seems after leaving Swan Hill destined for surgery in Bendigo, as highlighted in bold above, the Swan Hill docs may have misjudged it a little.
He went in for surgery at 10am yesterday, but was told that his eye didn't require any surgery and will fix itself in a week, and that his hand also requires no surgery and he can take the plaster off in 10 days.....I will add that he has to go back to Bendigo on friday when swelling has gone down just to be 100% sure, but at this stage all looks good for him.
thanks for the update tripper! just wondering how u pulled up, seems really story of the day was a certain nullawil player making a dash to a have a chris mew over the fence??? any truth in the rumours???
HappyDayz
6 Mar 2007, 16:03
thanks for the update tripper! just wondering how u pulled up, seems really story of the day was a certain nullawil player making a dash to a have a chris mew over the fence??? any truth in the rumours???
Forget that I want to hear more about Wes Harrison and his un-named accomplice, reportedly Tubbyish in stature, who were seen walking the streets at 7am in the morning with shopping bags in hand? Did the boys just feel they'd beat the Saturday morning rush at the Supermarket. Congrats on another fine innings Wes.:thumbsu:
Steve Austin
8 Mar 2007, 11:06
I think the boys just wanted to get a couple of hours in at the gym before the big game on saturday. Another great knock by Harrison but just can't get to the triple figures, also a fantastic innings from Joel Spry seemed a little happier with himself this week, hasn't stopped talking about it...
savagedog
8 Mar 2007, 20:38
Nully must be fairly ordinary to say the least bowled out for 80 odd then a 40 yearold comes out and smackes you around for a 100 and ingram is way past his best doesnt say much for nully or ingram for that matter.
Daryl Somers
9 Mar 2007, 07:01
Nully must be fairly ordinary to say the least bowled out for 80 odd then a 40 yearold comes out and smackes you around for a 100 and ingram is way past his best doesnt say much for nully or ingram for that matter.
I think what you mean to say is that Nully probably were out there to have fun seeing as though we couldn't make the finals (we successfully acheived that, and against good blokes), didn't help when you see your best cricketer (and the best in league) go down with a very serious injury. Saying that we didn't bat well and to Splatty's credit he batted very well all be it against one of our worse bowling attacks for year.
Don't write off Tuff yet, they did bowled well and also batted well, will take alot of luck to get near Tooleybuc but they have already proved that they can take it write up to them, so i'm gunna say Tuff to win the title over Tooleybuc in a nail bitter:thumbsu: .
Footy Tripper
9 Mar 2007, 09:03
Savagedog you sound like a Wayne Kerr. Finding it hard to beleive you say Splatty is passed it. He has consistantly reached the 30's this year when batting, he just had a good opportunity to make runs with Yella bowling from one end and the rest of the team having a trundle from the other. If you read the write up in the Guardian on Monday you will realise that we can't make the finals, we reversed our batting order to give the blokes who haven't had a chance this year to have a bat, and we will do it again in the second innings too, and we had 4 missing from our best team (5 if you count Bill going down).
As for Daryl Somers saying that we just wanted to have fun for this game, he is correct, and we did have a certain amount of fun in the field, but it was a pretty long arvo.
All in all we played our last game for enjoyment, and I'm guessing it will continue tomorrow. I'm tipping the willow to be flying at the Alan Garden Reserve, and beers will be drank from around 3pm onwards :)
Sockit151
9 Mar 2007, 09:18
Savagedog you sound like a Wayne Kerr. Finding it hard to beleive you say Splatty is passed it. He has consistantly reached the 30's this year when batting, he just had a good opportunity to make runs with Yella bowling from one end and the rest of the team having a trundle from the other. If you read the write up in the Guardian on Monday you will realise that we can't make the finals, we reversed our batting order to give the blokes who haven't had a chance this year to have a bat, and we will do it again in the second innings too, and we had 4 missing from our best team (5 if you count Bill going down).
As for Daryl Somers saying that we just wanted to have fun for this game, he is correct, and we did have a certain amount of fun in the field, but it was a pretty long arvo.
All in all we played our last game for enjoyment, and I'm guessing it will continue tomorrow. I'm tipping the willow to be flying at the Alan Garden Reserve, and beers will be drank from around 3pm onwards :)
So you might make a few tripper?? You usually go better after a couple of sighters don't you??
Sockit151
12 Mar 2007, 10:56
Congratulations to Ash Thompson on his 4th duck of the year, taking him into a tie for the duckman award:D
clifton's lookalike
23 Mar 2007, 11:25
Anyone prepared to go out on a limb and say TUFFC will roll Tooleybuc. I would love for the TUFFC boys to get over the line but I think Tooleybucs depth should get them there.
iamfooty
23 Mar 2007, 14:24
Anyone prepared to go out on a limb and say TUFFC will roll Tooleybuc. I would love for the TUFFC boys to get over the line but I think Tooleybucs depth should get them there.
Nah... Tuff will do it easy with Al Ward to make 50 coming in at number 3 and Tooleybuc's Jarrod Arentz to leave the ground with severe chafing.....:thumbsu:
clifton's lookalike
24 Mar 2007, 18:54
Nah... Tuff will do it easy with Al Ward to make 50 coming in at number 3 and Tooleybuc's Jarrod Arentz to leave the ground with severe chafing.....:thumbsu:
well not far off their bradley. what an interesting 1st days play with TUFFC all bowled out for less than 120 and having Tooleybuc reeling at
7 -40 odd
HavUEvaSeenTheRain
25 Mar 2007, 18:56
So who won today
HappyDayz
26 Mar 2007, 14:45
Don't quote me on this because i'm just going by what is in the Guardian today but TUFFC won.
Daryl Somers
28 Mar 2007, 10:08
Don't quote me on this because i'm just going by what is in the Guardian today but TUFFC won.
Didn't i tell you guys TUFF could win, good on them, and so much for Splatty being too old. And one last thing, i can't believe Todd Brown actually took a catch:thumbsu:
ROOTA#6
28 Mar 2007, 19:42
Didn't i tell you guys TUFF could win, good on them, and so much for Splatty being too old. And one last thing, i can't believe Todd Brown actually took a catch:thumbsu:
Any chance of a match report for those of us who cannot get the mits on a Guardian these days
buddy buddy
10 Jul 2007, 14:49
With majority of clubs having had their AGM in the last few weeks does anyone from any clubs have anything to report about the upcoming season?
Telstra when does the board have their AGM?