View Full Version : Swan Hill and District Cricket Association Returns
Sockit151
10 Jul 2007, 15:07
With majority of clubs having had their AGM in the last few weeks does anyone from any clubs have anything to report about the upcoming season?
Telstra when does the board have their AGM?
Have heard that the Swans have replaced Spry with Tim Vagg as C/C for 2007/08..
buddy buddy
10 Jul 2007, 15:50
Have heard that the Swans have replaced Spry with Tim Vagg as C/C for 2007/08..
spry staying at swans or heading out to try and get the lake boga thing off the ground?
Sockit151
10 Jul 2007, 16:27
spry staying at swans or heading out to try and get the lake boga thing off the ground?
Was listed as a committee member on their little write-up on website.. So probably staying i'd say.
ROOTA#6
10 Jul 2007, 23:24
Was listed as a committee member on their little write-up on website.. So probably staying i'd say.
Every year Lake Boga have talked about getting an A grade together and every year it falls over. What is different this year. Don't get me wrong they have some fantastic players in Cameron, Ewart and the like and i reckon it owuld be great if they could put it together but wl it happen???
Also who is this Vagg character???
clifton's lookalike
12 Jul 2007, 15:40
Heard Woorinen C.C might be having a little nibble at an RSL cricketer who said he isn't playing cricket this year!
Also have heard that Wallygrout has signed with the Murrabit CC any truth Wally?
ROOTA#6
13 Jul 2007, 19:20
Heard Woorinen C.C might be having a little nibble at an RSL cricketer who said he isn't playing cricket this year!
Also have heard that Wallygrout has signed with the Murrabit CC any truth Wally?
Who is the RSL player Woorinen are nibbling at. Surely Wally could not get to training at Murrabit in the summer months. He had enough trouble making it to North Park :D
buddy buddy
17 Jul 2007, 15:52
Who is the RSL player Woorinen are nibbling at. Surely Wally could not get to training at Murrabit in the summer months. He had enough trouble making it to North Park :D
the one and only paul munro. his services will be hotly contested this summer but i don't think anyone will get his services.
ROOTA#6
17 Jul 2007, 22:39
the one and only paul munro. his services will be hotly contested this summer but i don't think anyone will get his services.
Surely the old mate could not play for anyone but RSL
Peter Duffin NNWU
6 Aug 2007, 18:22
Anyone requiring services of a right arm fast/swing bowler for the upcoming season? I have had a few A grade games at Nyah but i am mostly a C grade player but they haven't realised my full potential yet.
I don't have my own transport and I'm available for a reasonable price, all enquiries should be made to my agent Brad 'Charlie' Carroll
Anyone requiring services of a right arm fast/swing bowler for the upcoming season? I have had a few A grade games at Nyah but i am mostly a C grade player but they haven't realised my full potential yet.
I don't have my own transport and I'm available for a reasonable price, all enquiries should be made to my agent Brad 'Charlie' Carroll
If Charlie is your agent Pete i can only imagine that you will have a price on your head that no club could afford :D
Peter Duffin NNWU
6 Aug 2007, 23:21
If Charlie is your agent Pete i can only imagine that you will have a price on your head that no club could afford :D
Charlie will get me the best price required for my services...i would love to play at R.S.L where I have trained with some of the best over the last few seasons but heard they have an influx of players from the sub continent courtesy of the sewing machine
Sneezewell
23 Aug 2007, 22:06
I heard that Daniel Demaria handles the willow allright. I also have been told that he gets as much turn as monty and is like a Gazelle in the field, am looking for a new club and just wondering if I have been told alot of S H I T or not can any one clarify.
clifton's lookalike
24 Aug 2007, 15:47
Heard a rumour that the one and only Sockit151 will coach the demons this year in the cricket? Sockit?????
Sockit151
24 Aug 2007, 16:46
Heard a rumour that the one and only Sockit151 will coach the demons this year in the cricket? Sockit?????
Yes Mr Lookalike that is right.. was a tough decision to leave the Blues but was too good of a chance to pass up, they have some very good cricketers out there and i'm sure i'll learn just as much from them as they will from me..Should be a good season hopefully, and hope RSL go well still..
News from any other clubs out there??
McNees around this year again??
Who's leading the other sides, have only heard of Vagg at Swan Hill so far..
I reckon the McNees is going again, was talk of Essendon but i think that he has rejected it.
Tough time to leave RSL Sockit. How will they go with no Sockit, Roota6, Rhino and losing young blokes like Goodsey. Do they have any depth? Will Walshy come out of retirement again?
September
24 Aug 2007, 17:36
I heard that Daniel Demaria handles the willow allright. I also have been told that he gets as much turn as monty and is like a Gazelle in the field, am looking for a new club and just wondering if I have been told alot of S H I T or not can any one clarify.
Daniel is one of, if not the, premier batsmen in the league. Strikes the ball effortlessly and has the timing of a young Mark Waugh. His bowling is first class, has the ability to tie a batsmen down and then produce something out of the ordinary to claim his scalp. His feilding is panther like, covers a lot of territory for a big man and his catching and throwing has the security and power of an Andrew Symonds. Possibly the best all round cricketer i have seen in my time.
Daniel is one of, if not the, premier batsmen in the league. Strikes the ball effortlessly and has the timing of a young Mark Waugh.
:rolleyes: Well, with the fast outfields this year i can see the 1000 run barrier being destroyed by the great man!!!
clifton's lookalike
29 Aug 2007, 17:43
Yes Mr Lookalike that is right.. was a tough decision to leave the Blues but was too good of a chance to pass up, they have some very good cricketers out there and i'm sure i'll learn just as much from them as they will from me..Should be a good season hopefully, and hope RSL go well still..
Will you be aiming to keep Peter Duffin at the club? The kid oozes talent and it would be a shame for all concerned at Nyah to lose such talent to an in town club.
Will RSL be able to field 2 sides every week with the amount of people that left last year and the amount of blokes reportedly leaving this year.
But i suppos ethe big question is will there even be a cricket season?
Sockit151
30 Aug 2007, 13:51
Will you be aiming to keep Peter Duffin at the club? The kid oozes talent and it would be a shame for all concerned at Nyah to lose such talent to an in town club.
Will RSL be able to field 2 sides every week with the amount of people that left last year and the amount of blokes reportedly leaving this year.
But i suppos ethe big question is will there even be a cricket season?
No i'm fairly sure Duff has committed to RSL, and we don't want to hold him back.. As you said he oozes talent and we wish him all the best for a big year..
clifton's lookalike
30 Aug 2007, 16:38
No i'm fairly sure Duff has committed to RSL, and we don't want to hold him back.. As you said he oozes talent and we wish him all the best for a big year..
How the numbers looking out there? Keeping everyone from last year?
Sockit151
30 Aug 2007, 17:08
How the numbers looking out there? Keeping everyone from last year?
Seems to be failrly stable at this stage, plus myself and possibly one other, but basically the same side i'd say..
ROOTA#6
30 Aug 2007, 23:21
Seems to be failrly stable at this stage, plus myself and possibly one other, but basically the same side i'd say..
So now everyone will be stacking there slips against Nyah now instead of RSL
darkhorse4000
2 Sep 2007, 00:09
what ever happened to a young bloke from mystic park when they had an a grade side years ago, he was a handy bat by memory
hammer01
4 Sep 2007, 15:08
Very interested to know where you'll bat yourself sockit, do you plan to open and break the Wooding Boulton partnership?
Sockit151
12 Sep 2007, 13:16
Any news on the Swans?? I see their website they list Spry as Captain/Coach again.. Wasn't Tim Vagg going to take over for this year???
What about other clubs?? Any news/recruits??
Sockit151
12 Sep 2007, 13:19
what ever happened to a young bloke from mystic park when they had an a grade side years ago, he was a handy bat by memory
Can't quite remember, strange given that detailed description you provided!!
clifton's lookalike
12 Sep 2007, 16:47
Any news on the Swans?? I see their website they list Spry as Captain/Coach again.. Wasn't Tim Vagg going to take over for this year???
What about other clubs?? Any news/recruits??
Tooleybuc CC will have Darren McNees at the helm this year and is apparantly going to strike the fear of god into batsmen after their dissapointment in last years G/F according to my source
ROOTA#6
12 Sep 2007, 19:12
Tooleybuc CC will have Darren McNees at the helm this year and is apparantly going to strike the fear of god into batsmen after their dissapointment in last years G/F according to my source
And where will you be playing this season look a like???
darkhorse4000
12 Sep 2007, 21:41
Can't quite remember, strange given that detailed description you provided!!
think his name was russell, is he still going around??
buddy buddy
13 Sep 2007, 09:04
And where will you be playing this season look a like???
rumour has it that the lookalike has spoken with 2 clubs who are sourcing his talents but at this stage he is not committed to playing anywhere, would be a very handy pickup IMO:D
Kane Griffiths from Swan Hill =Best player in the comp
Sockit151
1 Oct 2007, 09:46
Kane Griffiths from Swan Hill =Best player in the comp
Most Talent and most potential in the future quite possibly but not the best player in the comp by a long stretch dooda.. Maybe by the end of this season he will be a lot closer..
i was exaggerating a little bit but he definetly has the potential. He heads off to Brisbane today to train with Bruce Reid.
clifton's lookalike
1 Oct 2007, 22:49
i was exaggerating a little bit but he definetly has the potential. He heads off to Brisbane today to train with Bruce Reid.
definately has all the potential. can bat pretty well for a bloke who bowls extremely well. hope he takes his opportunity while up at the camp because any opportunity he gets to show his wares will be beneficial to him.
telstra101
3 Oct 2007, 14:01
griffiths, lots of talent but a bit over the top!
Tigerland have crow as coach of club and nick 'freshy' dillon as captain.
picked up few young bowlers, we will have a young side so will go either way this season. great chance for players such as Luke Kiel, Nathan Cameron, Jamie Nicholas, Joel Donnan, and Colby Schmidt throughout the season..
Vagg couldn't commit to the whole season so Joel is back, he never wanted to lose the captaincy as it was..
Questions over at RSL, who is captain there, with the loss of Toomey, Bennett, Hinton, Seamons, Munro.. would say it may be a tough gig.. WILL BOBBY SINGH STAND UP AND TAKE ON THE JOB AND GUIDE THE BLUES IN 07/08???
griffiths, lots of talent but a bit over the top!
Tigerland have crow as coach of club and nick 'freshy' dillon as captain.
picked up few young bowlers, we will have a young side so will go either way this season. great chance for players such as Luke Kiel, Nathan Cameron, Jamie Nicholas, Joel Donnan, and Colby Schmidt throughout the season..
Vagg couldn't commit to the whole season so Joel is back, he never wanted to lose the captaincy as it was..
Questions over at RSL, who is captain there, with the loss of Toomey, Bennett, Hinton, Seamons, Munro.. would say it may be a tough gig.. WILL BOBBY SINGH STAND UP AND TAKE ON THE JOB AND GUIDE THE BLUES IN 07/08???
What's Buddah up tp Telstra???
telstra101
5 Oct 2007, 14:36
What's Buddah up tp Telstra???
seems certain to have a year off..
clifton's lookalike
8 Oct 2007, 13:32
is there a website where you can see the comings and goings from clubs like the footy or not?
I think they used to show that stuff on either the Swan Hill website or the SHDCA website
clifton's lookalike
9 Oct 2007, 17:40
I think they used to show that stuff on either the Swan Hill website or the SHDCA website
well if you can find it chief then pats on the back to you
http://swanhill.cricketvictoria.com.au/transfers.html
So far
Player Previous Club New Club
Matthew Merifield Cheltenham St Marys Tyntynder
Nathan Seamons RSL UTUFCC
Ben Mahon RSL Woorinen
Joel Donnan Sea Lake Woomelang Woorinen
Dylan Bett Sea Lake Woomelang Woorinen
Matthew Rowlands Swan Hill St Marys Tyntynder
Christopher Rowlands Swan Hill St Marys Tyntynder
Tom Dullard RSL Swan Hill
Brenton Caldwell Swan Hill RSL
Brett Farlie Lakers Swan Hill
Toby O'Grady Swan Hill UTUFCC
Lyndon Shadbolt Nyah District RSL
Justin Toomey RSL Nyah District
Karan Gupta Woorinen RSL
Patrick Noonan RSL Swan Hill
Just giving myself a pat on the back ;)
http://swanhill.cricketvictoria.com.au/transfers.html
So far
Player Previous Club New Club
Matthew Merifield Cheltenham St Marys Tyntynder
Nathan Seamons RSL UTUFCC
Ben Mahon RSL Woorinen
Joel Donnan Sea Lake Woomelang Woorinen
Dylan Bett Sea Lake Woomelang Woorinen
Matthew Rowlands Swan Hill St Marys Tyntynder
Christopher Rowlands Swan Hill St Marys Tyntynder
Tom Dullard RSL Swan Hill
Brenton Caldwell Swan Hill RSL
Brett Farlie Lakers Swan Hill
Toby O'Grady Swan Hill UTUFCC
Lyndon Shadbolt Nyah District RSL
Justin Toomey RSL Nyah District
Karan Gupta Woorinen RSL
Patrick Noonan RSL Swan Hill
Just giving myself a pat on the back ;)
Patrick Noonan what the F#@K are you doing. The founding fathers of the under the hat club are very very disappointed in you.
Lyndon Shadbolt to RSL how did this come about???
clifton's lookalike
9 Oct 2007, 23:45
Patrick Noonan what the F#@K are you doing. The founding fathers of the under the hat club are very very disappointed in you.
one of the founding fathers has already had a stint at the SHCC:D
Sockit151
10 Oct 2007, 10:28
Playing anywhere this year Mr Roota??
ROOTA#6
10 Oct 2007, 11:12
one of the founding fathers has already had a stint at the SHCC:D
But he had the sense to leave and come over to the good side, not the other way like young Patty :D
The club should probably meet sometime soon. Plenty to discuss i would imagine:thumbsu:
ROOTA#6
10 Oct 2007, 11:13
Playing anywhere this year Mr Roota??
Gunna just have the odd run with some Mounts boys at the Goornong Cricket Club mate. Hows the coaching caper going???
Sockit151
10 Oct 2007, 12:34
Gunna just have the odd run with some Mounts boys at the Goornong Cricket Club mate. Hows the coaching caper going???
Good old Goornong, could imagine their outfield would be in cracking condition.. Played a round of golf out there yet??
The coaching is going well thanks.. Looking forward to getting into this week..
ROOTA#6
10 Oct 2007, 13:38
Good old Goornong, could imagine their outfield would be in cracking condition.. Played a round of golf out there yet??
The coaching is going well thanks.. Looking forward to getting into this week..
The outfield takes me back to the old days at Lalbert mate. Plenty of value for shots!! Haven't ahd a round of golf as yet but i am sure it isn't far away.
Goodluck for the season
waddo #6
10 Oct 2007, 17:26
The outfield takes me back to the old days at Lalbert mate. Plenty of value for shots!! Haven't ahd a round of golf as yet but i am sure it isn't far away.
Goodluck for the season
hey fella, wanna head down this way with old mate macca.. we struggled on the weekend.. u ever run into the famous Chad Bonney?? he got a gig in the A's. thats how depleted we were.. none the less, he supplied 1 run, with a toothless grin.. the best A's game ive played for a long while. having a hit up there this year mate?
Sockit151
12 Oct 2007, 15:05
Anyone out there know if we have any umpires this week??
clifton's lookalike
15 Oct 2007, 20:28
did you take the gloves on saturday in your first hit out as NNWU captain sockit? was the great man peter duffin floating around anywhere out there over the weekend?
ROOTA#6
15 Oct 2007, 21:24
did you take the gloves on saturday in your first hit out as NNWU captain sockit? was the great man peter duffin floating around anywhere out there over the weekend?
I think the question is did you manage to give yourself a couple of overs with those deadly tweakers:D???
Sockit151
16 Oct 2007, 09:29
I think the question is did you manage to give yourself a couple of overs with those deadly tweakers:D???
Ahh, we are all comedians aren't we..
I think we are all well aware if i took the ball in my first game as captain, it would surely be my last also..
Yes Cllifo i did take the gloves and it was a nervous time as that final nick came through towards me to tie the game up, first time ive been involved in a tie and was very enjoyable game..
You must have been pleased with your debut for the roo/dogs??
clifton's lookalike
16 Oct 2007, 17:54
Ahh, we are all comedians aren't we..
I think we are all well aware if i took the ball in my first game as captain, it would surely be my last also..
Yes Cllifo i did take the gloves and it was a nervous time as that final nick came through towards me to tie the game up, first time ive been involved in a tie and was very enjoyable game..
You must have been pleased with your debut for the roo/dogs??
yeah mate was reasonably happy with my debut. the body is in good nick after having the season off footy, a little bigger but no injuries which is a first for a long time. it will be interestin to watch over the next few weeks as i suspect most sides will still have a fair bit of talent that didn't play on the weekend
Who do Tuff have to come back in? Brown, Dickson, Ward, Any others?
Woorineen have Nathan Cameron, Jamie Niklaus (Pending a clearance), Tanner Groat and Dion Carmichael to come back in the next 2 weeks.
Tooleybuc still have 3 or 4 that may come back in soon.
Nyah? Sockit was that full strength on the weekend? I notice Jarrod Rohde was home on the weekend, How come he didnt play?
Very even season again this year IMO.
telstra101
17 Oct 2007, 13:29
Woorineen have Nathan Cameron, Jamie Niklaus (Pending a clearance), Tanner Groat and Dion Carmichael to come back in the next 2 weeks.
Nyah? Sockit was that full strength on the weekend? I notice Jarrod Rohde was home on the weekend, How come he didnt play?
** UTUFCC- gee, with those inclusions i wonder if the star himself thanura 'red rooster' rajapakse will get a game???
** Tooleybuc should have Lee McNab, Grant McNees, Joe Davies, Jarrod Arentz, Matt Barnes among others
** RSL i would imagine were at full strangth
** SH were at full strength, will lose cruicky until uni is over
** Nully, well only played with 8, will be interesting to see if Jason Hewitt does play, bloody hope not, hard work trying to break jas n billy partnership
** We will be ok at tigerland, duck donnan with 3 wickets on a grade debut.
** StMary's- well i dont care
** Nyah, will always be strong with the two boultons and wooding in ya side. shouldnt forget the dead bat of shane 'paddles' fleming either. Prob best asset will be cain barry being able to bowl with sockit taking the gloves
just my thoughts lads....
ROOTA#6
17 Oct 2007, 13:34
** UTUFCC- gee, with those inclusions i wonder if the star himself thanura 'red rooster' rajapakse will get a game???
** Tooleybuc should have Lee McNab, Grant McNees, Joe Davies, Jarrod Arentz, Matt Barnes among others
** RSL i would imagine were at full strangth
** SH were at full strength, will lose cruicky until uni is over
** Nully, well only played with 8, will be interesting to see if Jason Hewitt does play, bloody hope not, hard work trying to break jas n billy partnership
** We will be ok at tigerland, duck donnan with 3 wickets on a grade debut.
** StMary's- well i dont care
** Nyah, will always be strong with the two boultons and wooding in ya side. shouldnt forget the dead bat of shane 'paddles' fleming either. Prob best asset will be cain barry being able to bowl with sockit taking the gloves
just my thoughts lads....
What was RSL's side like on the weekend???
telstra101
17 Oct 2007, 13:41
What was RSL's side like on the weekend???
Aaron Gaut (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Justin Rooney (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Patrick Caldwell (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Dwayne Hinton (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Lyndon Shadbolt (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Brenton Caldwell (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Chris Wren (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Paul Walsh (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Bobby Singh (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Travis Benham (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Wayne Cook (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)
not exactly youthful but a good mix, some good cricketers amongst that team. Would imagine pat will hold key for them this season, and probably dwayne to step up as well.. bobby took 3 wickets!!!
ROOTA#6
17 Oct 2007, 13:47
Aaron Gaut (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Justin Rooney (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Patrick Caldwell (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Dwayne Hinton (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Lyndon Shadbolt (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Brenton Caldwell (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Chris Wren (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Paul Walsh (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Bobby Singh (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Travis Benham (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)Wayne Cook (http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/ViewPlayer.aspx)
not exactly youthful but a good mix, some good cricketers amongst that team. Would imagine pat will hold key for them this season, and probably dwayne to step up as well.. bobby took 3 wickets!!!
Good to see Roons, Noodle, Rowdy, Walshy and Sticks in the line up. Big Derr would need to score plenty i would imagine
clifton's lookalike
17 Oct 2007, 16:42
TUFFC - Brown, 2 x Dicksons, Ward & Ben Coloe
the-rumour-mill
18 Oct 2007, 12:27
TUFFC - Brown, 2 x Dicksons, Ward & Ben Coloe
Will the great man "this has been Alistair Ward for 3SH sport' get back in the side?
Barry the Cat
22 Oct 2007, 21:04
Interesting to see Mr. Wade Humphries dishing up a robust serve to the association prezzo on the w'end. Nothing scares big 'Yella', particularly when there's an lbw to be had.
Good cricketing, gents:thumbsu:
Steve Austin
23 Oct 2007, 13:32
Good to see Joel Spry managed to get his pads out of the way and score a few runs.. Well done Joel!! Great win by the Swan though!!
Uptheladder
29 Oct 2007, 20:42
Since there has being so much taIk of the swan hill side recently, I see that they didn't perform that well on the weekend.
Was there a reason for this? Or is it that they were outplayed by a better team on the day?
Sockit151
30 Oct 2007, 08:38
Since there has being so much taIk of the swan hill side recently, I see that they didn't perform that well on the weekend.
Was there a reason for this? Or is it that they were outplayed by a better team on the day?
Was able to duck down and watch the first 40 minutes of this game and can tell you what the reason was.. James King...
He cleaned up the Swans top order and think they were probably 6 for 30 odd when i left.. They did push on a bit by the look of the scores, but couldn't recover from that start..
I can probably take some blame, as King bowled very well the previous week and was very unlucky, so was due for a few to go to hand this week..
ROOTA#6
30 Oct 2007, 11:11
Was able to duck down and watch the first 40 minutes of this game and can tell you what the reason was.. James King...
He cleaned up the Swans top order and think they were probably 6 for 30 odd when i left.. They did push on a bit by the look of the scores, but couldn't recover from that start..
I can probably take some blame, as King bowled very well the previous week and was very unlucky, so was due for a few to go to hand this week..
You didn't sneak a few through the slips/gully region off him did you Sockit???
Sockit151
30 Oct 2007, 11:19
You didn't sneak a few through the slips/gully region off him did you Sockit???
I certainly did mr roota.. and a couple in the air also so his slips had to take the blame for that.. but he did bowl well and ontop of the edge that got dropped, he beat the bat of myself a several others in a very unlucky spell..
I guess it was just bad luck for the swans that they had him the next week..
ROOTA#6
31 Oct 2007, 19:45
Who and where do Nully play this weekend. Wyce races this weekend and strange things happen out Nully way on race day!!!
Sockit151
1 Nov 2007, 10:49
Must start be giving full credit to the SHCC and the people who do the upkeep of their club website, by far the best the the association..
And i do enjoy reading the match reviews that they generally post each week..
But still no review for Rd 3? :confused:
Sockit151
5 Nov 2007, 09:25
Not sure how much support i will get but here but i found it rediculous that no cricket was played on Saturday..
Seems no one is serious about playing cricket anymore..
Didn't see all grounds, but RSL ground would have been okay for a start (sure not perfect conditions - but when are they) if not on time atleast by around 2ish i think..
Also -
* Given we had only 4 or 5 mls and no rain on Saturday.. 10am seems way too early to call all games off??
* It must time to get some covers for this association, surely if the VCA, SHDCA and the clubs got together, covers that would have been sufficient to save this weeks cricket could be purchased without putting to much strain on the survival of clubs??
Anyway thats my rant, and as i said, probably won't get much support..
But i like to play cricket and its seems most are keen for an excuse not to play, rather than make an effort to get on the park if possible..
hammer01
5 Nov 2007, 12:57
Not sure how much support i will get but here but i found it rediculous that no cricket was played on Saturday..
Seems no one is serious about playing cricket anymore..
Didn't see all grounds, but RSL ground would have been okay for a start (sure not perfect conditions - but when are they) if not on time atleast by around 2ish i think..
Also -
* Given we had only 4 or 5 mls and no rain on Saturday.. 10am seems way too early to call all games off??
* It must time to get some covers for this association, surely if the VCA, SHDCA and the clubs got together, covers that would have been sufficient to save this weeks cricket could be purchased without putting to much strain on the survival of clubs??
Anyway thats my rant, and as i said, probably won't get much support..
But i like to play cricket and its seems most are keen for an excuse not to play, rather than make an effort to get on the park if possible..
Couldn't agree more Sockit, seems the days of playing on damp wickets are long gone. It's lucky that we've been in a drought for all these years. How can it be after virtually no rain and very limited water on the grounds for so long that 4-5 mm of rain can stop cricket from going ahead?
telstra101
6 Nov 2007, 07:59
well as curtor of woorinen ground i can say we wouldnt have got a roller onto ours for the first time till about 3ish, so play wouldnt have started till probably 4:30, is a 20-20 match worth playing with one side coping worse conditions?? when you look at it like that, i say it should have been called off.. i cant comment on other grounds, didnt see them. I believe if it was a two dayer, then we would have played, starting at 4:30 or 5, and playing 60 overs a side... as for only 4-5 mm of rain, if it was a quick downpour at 7pm friday night we wopuld have been right., the problem was that it was a soaking long rain, and then the conditions on saturday morning where there was NO wind and cloud cover and cold, the wickets didnt dry.. If it was sunny sat morning, or even windy, we would have played.. look at the whole picture first.. but i understand your angst, we wanted to play to, it just wasnt possible.
Sockit151
7 Nov 2007, 07:38
well as curtor of woorinen ground i can say we wouldnt have got a roller onto ours for the first time till about 3ish, so play wouldnt have started till probably 4:30, is a 20-20 match worth playing with one side coping worse conditions?? when you look at it like that, i say it should have been called off.. i cant comment on other grounds, didnt see them. I believe if it was a two dayer, then we would have played, starting at 4:30 or 5, and playing 60 overs a side... as for only 4-5 mm of rain, if it was a quick downpour at 7pm friday night we wopuld have been right., the problem was that it was a soaking long rain, and then the conditions on saturday morning where there was NO wind and cloud cover and cold, the wickets didnt dry.. If it was sunny sat morning, or even windy, we would have played.. look at the whole picture first.. but i understand your angst, we wanted to play to, it just wasnt possible.
As always telstra, you make a very good point..
I have spoken to a few others and it seems you are spot on and the correct decision was made..
facts_rite
12 Nov 2007, 16:21
Thats not what u were saying @ the Wyche Races Morpy???? Haha
Sockit151
14 Nov 2007, 11:31
Anyone heard if Bendigo Country Week is going ahead this year??
And, if so will Swan Hill be hosting a division again??
Kane Griffiths= U17 Victorian State Player and also shredder
Reverse Gerry
23 Nov 2007, 22:54
Kane Griffiths= U17 Victorian State Player and also shredder
dooda = kane griffiths??
Nah mate, hes a good mate of mine
Great to hear that me old mate and founding father of the "Under the Hat Club" Ryan Hinton is going well down in Melbourne. Fresh from a ton a couple of weeks ago he has baked it up wit 164 not out with the innings to continue next weekend. Hopefully he can keep on truckin and knock up a double ton!!
Bingle_21
3 Dec 2007, 23:38
Great to hear that me old mate and founding father of the "Under the Hat Club" Ryan Hinton is going well down in Melbourne. Fresh from a ton a couple of weeks ago he has baked it up wit 164 not out with the innings to continue next weekend. Hopefully he can keep on truckin and knock up a double ton!!
Who is he playing for in Melbourne?
Anyone heard if Bendigo Country Week is going ahead this year??
And, if so will Swan Hill be hosting a division again??
I believe that Country Week will be going ahead. 21st of Jan i think the first day is. I also think that it is all down here. Grounds are pretty good thanks to the recycled water project
What divvy are you blokes in this year???
Sockit151
4 Dec 2007, 13:06
I believe that Country Week will be going ahead. 21st of Jan i think the first day is. I also think that it is all down here. Grounds are pretty good thanks to the recycled water project
What divvy are you blokes in this year???
Back upto Divvy 2 this year..
Just need to get selected now, i'm sure my duck @ Castlemaine on sunday will help though :)
Sockit151
4 Dec 2007, 13:09
Back upto Divvy 2 this year..
Just need to get selected now, i'm sure my duck @ Castlemaine on sunday will help though :)
Was stiff though, found this action shot of my dismissal..
Must say, doesn't look like much of a shot??
http://ranters1811.com/images/swanhill0212071.jpg
Was stiff though, found this action shot of my dismissal..
Must say, doesn't look like much of a shot??
http://ranters1811.com/images/swanhill0212071.jpg
Div 2 bugger, thought we might have been a chance to line up against you blokes. We will be in Div 1
ROOTA#6
18 Dec 2007, 19:10
You blokes got a Country Week Squad together yet???
Sockit151
30 Jan 2008, 14:45
Been a while between drinks for this forum, has its usefulness expired or are we all just been busy over the new year??
A couple of points of interest:
1) Is Herbie Warne a freak, another ton on Saturday to go with his fine 95 in Bendigo.. Any other year would be bolting in for the runs title, and still has a chance to catch Ritchie before the years out..
2) Whats with winning the toss and bowling? First Woora vs RSL and this week StMary's sends in Swan Hill and both get belted all around the park..
gutted rabbit
3 Feb 2008, 21:08
I can't believe that Chris Wren is still playing! Fat, old, hopeless. Disgraceful....has he scored a run all season?
Daryl Somers
4 Feb 2008, 10:35
Been a while between drinks for this forum, has its usefulness expired or are we all just been busy over the new year??
A couple of points of interest:
1) Is Herbie Warne a freak, another ton on Saturday to go with his fine 95 in Bendigo.. Any other year would be bolting in for the runs title, and still has a chance to catch Ritchie before the years out..
2) Whats with winning the toss and bowling? First Woora vs RSL and this week StMary's sends in Swan Hill and both get belted all around the park..
Yes Herbie is a great bat, has had a couple of lean years but really playing well this year, also a great bloke.
Always win the toss and bat.
A couple of questions, who is going to make up the final four, obviously Swan Hill & Nyah are there but the last two spots look open.
My predictions
Nyah
Swan Hill
Tooleybuc
Nully-Culgoa
Sockit151
6 Feb 2008, 09:02
Yes Herbie is a great bat, has had a couple of lean years but really playing well this year, also a great bloke.
A couple of questions, who is going to make up the final four, obviously Swan Hill & Nyah are there but the last two spots look open.
My predictions
Nyah
Swan Hill
Tooleybuc
Nully-Culgoa
Yes very close battle in the middle of the ladder..
If RSL had of scraped over the line against Tooley and UTUFCC didn't lose to saints when they were the only game finished in Rd prior to Xmas, all teams from 3rd to 8th would have been equal on 30 points..
As it is RSL have probably just dropped of the pace now and 5 teams are still fighting for 2 spots, with Tooley and Saints just in front at the moment!!
If Nully can knock of the top two in consecutive games, they will thouroughly deserve thier spot in the 4 and will be very dangerous in a semi!!
Sockit151
28 Feb 2008, 10:56
Anyone got any thoughts on the team of the year for 2007/08??
I've had a quick look and will have a go at this 12:
1. R Boulton
2. C Warne
3. D Morpeth
4. J Mensforth
5. T Brown
6. C McNab
7. N Munro
8. K Groat
9. D Bruton
10. T Vagg
11. M Boulton
12. B Singh
Will be interesting to see how the board goes with it this year, but these guys have had good seasons along with a few others..
Footy Pie
3 Mar 2008, 16:12
My predictions
Nyah
Swan Hill
Tooleybuc
Nully-Culgoa
OOOOOHHHHHH Daryl so close on the positions there my good friend!!!!! Just Nully and Tooleybuc changed round and you woulda been laughing!!! No one would have expected 2 c Nully Culgoa finished 3rd and I bet a hell of a lot that no one would have backed Tooleybuc to knock off the Saints in the last round chasin such a massive score. But on a lighter note the best thing is 2 c the Saints out!!!!!! But she's all settled now and well done to all teams that made it!!!!
Anyone got any thoughts on the team of the year for 2007/08??
I've had a quick look and will have a go at this 12:
1. R Boulton
2. C Warne
3. D Morpeth
4. J Mensforth
5. T Brown
6. C McNab
7. N Munro
8. K Groat
9. D Bruton
10. T Vagg
11. M Boulton
12. B Singh
Will be interesting to see how the board goes with it this year, but these guys have had good seasons along with a few others..
Leigh McNab instead of his brother i would say could slip into that team without hesitation. Billy Hewitt's name has been thrown around the papers the last half of the season so he again could easily be in! Dunno bout ol Bobby Singh tho Sockit?? Ya've mentioned 2 spinners who i've seen do jakall this season!!! Would also have Kane Griffiths in the team well ahead of Duane Bruton, think your Nyah Biasty has shon there mate. And Munro is an ambitious selection, could think of of a few better bat's round than him!!! Eg Caldwell Boys, Spuddy Ingram, Glenn Smith etc . Brandon Dixon another who would push for the team but the the team you have lined up is not a baddy ol mate!!! Couldnt slot yaself in tho????
Sockit151
4 Mar 2008, 07:54
Leigh McNab instead of his brother i would say could slip into that team without hesitation. Billy Hewitt's name has been thrown around the papers the last half of the season so he again could easily be in! Dunno bout ol Bobby Singh tho Sockit?? Ya've mentioned 2 spinners who i've seen do jakall this season!!! Would also have Kane Griffiths in the team well ahead of Duane Bruton, think your Nyah Biasty has shon there mate. And Munro is an ambitious selection, could think of of a few better bat's round than him!!! Eg Caldwell Boys, Spuddy Ingram, Glenn Smith etc . Brandon Dixon another who would push for the team but the the team you have lined up is not a baddy ol mate!!! Couldnt slot yaself in tho????
Good to see a bit of input Nackas.. You have mentioned a few good players there, but i have tried to pick a team based on performances this season, i agree that some of these are not the most talented players around but the players who have had the best seasons!!
I will defend a few of my chioces then (keeping in mind that plenty of others are good choices as you say)
- Bobby Singh. Might be a pie chucker:) but is very high on the wickets list this year and will be a good chance of making the side..
- Kane Griffiths has absolutely no chance of getting in before Bruton, who will go very close to winning association bowling trophy and would have at least 10 more wickets than Griffiths this year..
- Munro might be an ambitious selection, but there was a few players around the 300 run mark for the year (I'm not 1 of them- so that answers your last Q) and i thought his 20 odd wickets might get him into the side?
- As for the McNab boys? i picked this before Lee's 100 on Saturday, but Craig has made heaps of runs and cant see him missing out this year, maybe they will both get in now, might even take Munners spot?
Good to see a bit of input Nackas.. You have mentioned a few good players there, but i have tried to pick a team based on performances this season, i agree that some of these are not the most talented players around but the players who have had the best seasons!!
I will defend a few of my chioces then (keeping in mind that plenty of others are good choices as you say)
- Bobby Singh. Might be a pie chucker:) but is very high on the wickets list this year and will be a good chance of making the side..
- Kane Griffiths has absolutely no chance of getting in before Bruton, who will go very close to winning association bowling trophy and would have at least 10 more wickets than Griffiths this year..
- Munro might be an ambitious selection, but there was a few players around the 300 run mark for the year (I'm not 1 of them- so that answers your last Q) and i thought his 20 odd wickets might get him into the side?
- As for the McNab boys? i picked this before Lee's 100 on Saturday, but Craig has made heaps of runs and cant see him missing out this year, maybe they will both get in now, might even take Munners spot?
All very valid points u make there sockit, but on a more topical note what are your finals predictions? Keys to the teams etc etc... Who made it in the B & C grade? Has anyone had a party to celebrate St Marys not making it???
Hugh Jars
10 Mar 2008, 13:28
Yes very close battle in the middle of the ladder..
If RSL had of scraped over the line against Tooley and UTUFCC didn't lose to saints when they were the only game finished in Rd prior to Xmas, all teams from 3rd to 8th would have been equal on 30 points..
As it is RSL have probably just dropped of the pace now and 5 teams are still fighting for 2 spots, with Tooley and Saints just in front at the moment!!
If Nully can knock of the top two in consecutive games, they will thouroughly deserve thier spot in the 4 and will be very dangerous in a semi!!
Right on the money there Sockit, congrats to the nully culgoa boys on making it thru to the big one. Good to see Yella amongst the runs with a ton & also big Dasha gettin a score as well.
Correct me if i am wrong, but I hear they have come from on or near the bottom half way through the season, not a bad turn around. Good luck in the big one boys :thumbsu:
Footy Pie
10 Mar 2008, 21:47
Right on the money there Sockit, congrats to the nully culgoa boys on making it thru to the big one. Good to see Yella amongst the runs with a ton & also big Dasha gettin a score as well.
Correct me if i am wrong, but I hear they have come from on or near the bottom half way through the season, not a bad turn around. Good luck in the big one boys :thumbsu:
Fantastic effort from Yella and Dasha on the weekend, although dasha had bout 1000 chances he kept his cool under pressure to steer the boys over the line. Especially well done to Yella on the first ton! To get 3 wickets and make a century, phenominal. At 3/22 Swan Hill surely would have thort the fat lady was warming up the vocals???
Yeh Nully Culgoa forfeited a game this year and were on the bottom of the ladder after christmas. Have always had the players and is about time can put it all together.
Sweet_as_bro
17 Mar 2008, 07:17
Who won??
facts_rite
17 Mar 2008, 14:07
Who won??
We got up mate!!!!!!! Was one sweet sweet victory! Celebrated well into the early hours of this morning!!!!!!!!
[quote=facts_rite;10348906]We got up mate!!!!!!! Was one sweet sweet victory! Celebrated well into the early hours of this morning!!!!!!!![/quote
Hey factsy, send my regards to your brother for his 3.30am booty calls:D
facts_rite
17 Mar 2008, 17:31
http://a971.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/112/l_df8bed878d7cc7f1b50cb10cf92bf602.jpg
YOU LITTLE BEEEEAAAAUUUUUTTTTTYYYYYY