View Full Version : Swan Hill and District Cricket Association Returns

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

Scrappa's Love Child
27th September 2006, 10:54
Don't know what happened to this website's greatest thread but I have the pelasure in bringing it back to bigfooty.

Word on the street is Dan McNees made some of the competition's best batsmen look second rate at a training session earlier in the week. This was done off a 3-step run-up and with a broken finger.
This bloke must be thinking "what the hell am I doing back here?":confused:

ROOTA#6
27th September 2006, 11:15
Don't know what happened to this website's greatest thread but I have the pelasure in bringing it back to bigfooty.

Word on the street is Dan McNees made some of the competition's best batsmen look second rate at a training session earlier in the week. This was done off a 3-step run-up and with a broken finger.
This bloke must be thinking "what the hell am I doing back here?":confused:

Great work Scrap. Hav missed the cricket talk. Has anyone heard that Bendigo Country Week is to be held in Swan Hill this year. A few seymour boys hav been talking about it

Scrappa's Love Child
27th September 2006, 11:29
Great work Scrap. Hav missed the cricket talk. Has anyone heard that Bendigo Country Week is to be held in Swan Hill this year. A few seymour boys hav been talking about it

Fair dinkum? So there is a fair chance Swan Hill might field a half-serious side on its home turf given the travel factor.....can you imagine it....

It would look something like this I'd reckon....

1.Ritchie Boulton (Nyah)
2.Andy Abbott (TUFF)
3.Alan Hatcher (SH) (if available)
4.Michael Johnson (SH)
5.Jed Mensforth (St Mary's)
6.Darren McNees (Tooley)
7.Lee McNab (Tooley)
8.Kade Groat (Woor)
9.James King (St Mary's)
10.*new Woorinen spinner* (Woor)
11.Luke Bennett (RSL)
12.Nick Dillon (???)
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :) :thumbsu:

ROOTA#6
27th September 2006, 11:33
Fair dinkum? So there is a fair chance Swan Hill might field a half-serious side on its home turf given the travel factor.....can you imagine it....

1.Ritchie Boulton (Nyah)
2.Andy Abbott (TUFF)
4.Michael Johnson (SH)
6.Darren McNees (Tooley)
7.Lee McNab (Tooley)
8.Kade Groat (Woor)
9.James King (St Mary's)
11.Luke Bennett (RSL)
12.Nick Dillon (???)

Not a bad line up. Am curious about this Woorinen spinner

Scrappa's Love Child
27th September 2006, 11:35
Not a bad line up. Am curious about this Woorinen spinner

Goes alright from all reports...can turn it on a glass table. Could be the new Bobby Singh....if he has a bad year......Actually it was spot the aussie out at training this week they say.....new side could be in A grade to replace Boga -- Woorinen World XI

Sockit151
27th September 2006, 12:19

1.Ritchie Boulton (Nyah)
2.Andy Abbott (TUFF)
4.Michael Johnson (SH)
6.Darren McNees (Tooley)
7.Lee McNab (Tooley)
8.Kade Groat (Woor)
9.James King (St Mary's)
11.Luke Bennett (RSL)
12.Nick Dillon (???)
Not a bad side.. Although i think i would prefer an inform P.Munro over Hatcher, and i couldn't see Groat coming in above King?? Perhaps one of the speedsters from Nully could be in the mix also??

telstra101
27th September 2006, 12:28

1.Ritchie Boulton (Nyah)
2.Andy Abbott (TUFF)
4.Michael Johnson (SH)
6.Darren McNees (Tooley)
7.Lee McNab (Tooley)
8.Kade Groat (Woor)
9.James King (St Mary's)
11.Luke Bennett (RSL)
12.Nick Dillon (???)

NEW WOORINEN SPINNER??? ive been telling u guys for years i could bowl spin!! would like a Lee McNab ahead of Johnson anyday. King ahead of duck a r s e groat. Dillon is an icon of bendigo country week, would have to get a guernsey as 12th man for sure. Munro would challenge johnson, but hatcher has to be in side. good discussion scapper!

telstra101
27th September 2006, 12:38
1- Ritchie Boulton
2- Alan Hatcher
3- Andy Abbott (WK)
4- Lee McNab
5- Paul Munro
6- Darren McNees
7- James King
8- Jeremy Barnes
9- Kade Groat
10- Michael Boulton
11- Luke Bennett

2nd XI
1- Michael Johnson
2- Todd Brown
3- John Mensforth
4- Daniel Cruickshank (WK)
5- Luke Crow
6- Shane Ingram
7- Ray Power
8- Brendan Crabbe
9- Tyrone Jones
10- Joel Spry
11- Wade Humphries

Unlucky- Ryan Hinton, Kent Wooding, Glenn Smith, Grant Mcnees (as spinner), Nick Dillon and Nathan Seamons

iamfooty
27th September 2006, 13:11
1- Ritchie Boulton
2- Alan Hatcher
3- Andy Abbott (WK)
4- Lee McNab
5- Paul Munro
6- Darren McNees
7- James King
8- Jeremy Barnes
9- Kade Groat
10- Michael Boulton
11- Luke Bennett

2nd XI
1- Michael Johnson
2- Todd Brown
3- John Mensforth
4- Daniel Cruickshank (WK)
5- Luke Crow
6- Shane Ingram
7- Ray Power
8- Brendan Crabbe
9- Tyrone Jones
10- Joel Spry
11- Wade Humphries

Unlucky- Ryan Hinton, Kent Wooding, Glenn Smith, Grant Mcnees (as spinner), Nick Dillon and Nathan Seamons Brad Clifton??

ROOTA#6
27th September 2006, 14:58
Brad Clifton??

I think you are the official photographer mate!!!

iamfooty
27th September 2006, 15:24
I think you are the official photographer mate!!!

That's right. Surely the photographer deserves a mention...what about the rest of the guys behind the scene...

Team Coach -- Gerald Lanigan
Team Manager -- Al Ward
Team Accountant -- Ben Ditterich
Team Waterboy -- Jonny Trower
Team Scorer -- Thomas
Team bar manager -- Ahkmed Mcdonald
TAB officer -- Luke Crow

telstra101
27th September 2006, 19:01
can i get a guernsey?? maybe i can supply fruit at drinks breaks and afternoon tea??

iamfooty
28th September 2006, 14:44
2006/2007 Pending Transfers
Jayson Turvey Woorinen to St Marys Tyntynder
Jack Paynter Swan Hill to Nyah District
Jamie McDonald Woorinen to Lake Boga
Josh Jenkins RSL to Woorinen

2006/2007 Granted Transfers
Adam Bennett Mystic Park to Nyah District
Grant McNees Woorinen to Tooleybuc
Sam Griffiths Mystic Park to Lake Boga
Luke Roberts Mystic Park to Lake Boga

2006/2007 Refused Transfers
Brendan Crabbe Nullawil-Culgoa to Woorinen
Patrick McMahon St Marys Tyntynder to Swan Hill
Joel Lehmann Lake Boga to Swan Hill

HappyDayz
28th September 2006, 15:55
Iamfooty, is there a chance of posting a list of players that have registered/transfered from outside the league. Most of the names on that list have been swithching teams since Richie Boutlon's mustards were white.

Posty22
28th September 2006, 20:35
Brad Clifton??

Rick Heathcote for the 2nd XI??

Kelvin 69
29th September 2006, 09:34
Rick Heathcote for the 2nd XI??

Come off it Rick, all those blokes named play A grade.

Footy Tripper
29th September 2006, 09:56
Come off it Rick, all those blokes named play A grade.

All the best to Kelvin 69 this Sunday as he weds his long time girl Chantelle. Cheers to you Kelvin ;)

Kelvin 69
29th September 2006, 10:44
All the best to Kelvin 69 this Sunday as he weds his long time girl Chantelle. Cheers to you Kelvin ;)

Thanks Tripper, I thought 9 years was long enough to wait.

telstra101
29th September 2006, 12:03

bit rude dont u think kelvin!! i would have thought that december 16 would have been a better date, and maybe even made dan mcnees best man??? sounds logical to me.

Steve Austin
29th September 2006, 12:17

Big K, well done on finally doin the deed. Hope the "elephantitis" has cleared up for the big day/night and the honeymoon of course.;)

ROOTA#6
29th September 2006, 13:03

Congrats Kelvin, Phil Birchmore not on the invite list i wouldn't think

Kelvin 69
29th September 2006, 13:17
Congrats Kelvin, Phil Birchmore not on the invite list i wouldn't think

Thanks for the support fellas:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: .

Kelvin 69
29th September 2006, 13:20
Big K, well done on finally doin the deed. Hope the "elephantitis" has cleared up for the big day/night and the honeymoon of course.;)

Yeah its all cleared up Stevie, it took weeks of visits to the Doc, continuously draining my figs to be ready for the big occasion.;)

Kelvin 69
29th September 2006, 13:26
bit rude dont u think kelvin!! i would have thought that december 16 would have been a better date, and maybe even made dan mcnees best man??? sounds logical to me.

Ha Ha, sorry boys, he was invited to the big day until he broke my ribs and dislocated my shoulder at training on Sunday with one of his thunderbolts ( off 3 steps). He is not popular in my household at the moment.. I certainly understand why u blokes are terrified of him.:)

FROGDOG17
29th September 2006, 13:48
Good luck for the weekend KELVIN. Hope it all goe's well mate. Wish Cantal godd luck aswell. I'll have a cold one for ya's!!

Go Kalgoorlie Railways PREMIERS 2006!
Anyone want to come play over here next year and double your wage while your at it? Pretty good joint here.

Kelvin 69
29th September 2006, 16:18
Good luck for the weekend KELVIN. Hope it all goe's well mate. Wish Cantal godd luck aswell. I'll have a cold one for ya's!!

Go Kalgoorlie Railways PREMIERS 2006!
Anyone want to come play over here next year and double your wage while your at it? Pretty good joint here.

Thanks Dog:thumbsu: :thumbsu: and Congratulations on the premiership..

HappyDayz
2nd October 2006, 16:27
I have it on good authority that Grant McNees is going to do a Sean Charles for his Dec 16 match against Woorinen. Certain insecurites that came out of a particualar event last year are already worring the big fella. Ie The Annual Rum Off, and being finsished off by a couple of midgets in Morpeth and Steike.

iamfooty
3rd October 2006, 10:56
**BREAKING NEWS***

Some great news to come out of last night's league AGM. There will be a few senior representative games this year (excluding country week), most of which will be in Swan Hill. Maryborough, Northern Districts and Sunraysia are all keen to take on the might of the SHDCA at some stage. Official dates are still to be confirmed but what a great opportunity for the league to regain some pride and strength. Surely this will provide some incentive for the competition's best players to step up a level....maybe even encourage them to continue representing the league when country week arrives...Maybe we wont have to pick players like Nick Dillon and Al Ward.....maybe we can start getting serious.....(just jokin Wardy...you're alright)

ROOTA#6
3rd October 2006, 14:16
**BREAKING NEWS***

Some great news to come out of last night's league AGM. There will be a few senior representative games this year (excluding country week), most of which will be in Swan Hill. Maryborough, Northern Districts and Sunraysia are all keen to take on the might of the SHDCA at some stage. Official dates are still to be confirmed but what a great opportunity for the league to regain some pride and strength. Surely this will provide some incentive for the competition's best players to step up a level....maybe even encourage them to continue representing the league when country week arrives...Maybe we wont have to pick players like Nick Dillon and Al Ward.....maybe we can start getting serious.....(just jokin Wardy...you're alright)

Interesting to see that the league are revisiting this concept. The whole reason that these matches stopped was because the best players were not making themselves available to play, mainly because games were played on Sundays.

It will be interesting to see if the leagues best will get behind this.

What are some thoughts from some of you players out there?

Appin Vet
5th October 2006, 10:52

1.Ritchie Boulton (Nyah)
2.Andy Abbott (TUFF)
4.Michael Johnson (SH)
6.Darren McNees (Tooley)
7.Lee McNab (Tooley)
8.Kade Groat (Woor)
9.James King (St Mary's)
11.Luke Bennett (RSL)
12.Nick Dillon (???)

Had the pleasure of playing against Jed, Ritchie and McNees when the Kerang District CA used to play in the old Southern Cross Network Shield. Mick Boultoin mustn't be playing if he isn't in this side. Is the new Woorinen spinner Luke Crow??
Johnson must have improved a fair bit from his less productive days at Tragic Park. Fairly handy opening bowling combination if McNees and King take the new cherry.

ROOTA#6
5th October 2006, 14:43
Had the pleasure of playing against Jed, Ritchie and McNees when the Kerang District CA used to play in the old Southern Cross Network Shield. Mick Boultoin mustn't be playing if he isn't in this side. Is the new Woorinen spinner Luke Crow??
Johnson must have improved a fair bit from his less productive days at Tragic Park. Fairly handy opening bowling combination if McNees and King take the new cherry.

Yep, you wouldn't really want to be an opening batsmen with these two ripping in at you, especially when Kingy was in his prime. Frightening!!!

Scrappa's Love Child
6th October 2006, 10:15
Yep, you wouldn't really want to be an opening batsmen with these two ripping in at you, especially when Kingy was in his prime. Frightening!!!

See the big friendly giant on today's back page of The Guardian. Not a bad lowlight -- getting bowled by Shane Warne on the MCG. I woud tell my grandkids that!

Appin Vet
6th October 2006, 15:17
I just wanna know if McNees has actually gone through the disgusting act of swearing. Or even worse...cursing!

buddy buddy
8th October 2006, 21:17

Where is Tragic Park & when did Johnson play there?

pete_mitchell
9th October 2006, 21:27

1.Ritchie Boulton (Nyah)
2.Andy Abbott (TUFF)
4.Michael Johnson (SH)
6.Darren McNees (Tooley)
7.Lee McNab (Tooley)
8.Kade Groat (Woor)
9.James King (St Mary's)
11.Luke Bennett (RSL)
12.Nick Dillon (???)

Roota...from what i hear you received an SCC cap on Saturday?

What division are Swan Hill. SDCA jumped two divisions last year. Got pre-tournament promotion to Div 3 then won it...so puts them in divy 2 this year.

Any chance you would don an SDCA cap. Seems like Bendigo CW has gained some momentum for SDCA after last year. SDCA should field another competitive side this year. From the sounds of things you may be the difference?

ROOTA#6
10th October 2006, 21:53
Roota...from what i hear you received an SCC cap on Saturday?

What division are Swan Hill. SDCA jumped two divisions last year. Got pre-tournament promotion to Div 3 then won it...so puts them in divy 2 this year.

Any chance you would don an SDCA cap. Seems like Bendigo CW has gained some momentum for SDCA after last year. SDCA should field another competitive side this year. From the sounds of things you may be the difference?

Yeah mate i donned the Seymour cap on the weekend, was just over visiting a mate of mine who i used to play with at Lalbert. Was good to play with different group of blokes. Country week is a different story thoug, i don't think i went that well on the weekend

the gloved 1
10th October 2006, 23:48
roota heard that the blues are having some leadership issues coming into rnd 1?

ROOTA#6
10th October 2006, 23:51
roota heard that the blues are having some leadership issues coming into rnd 1?

Not that i know of Glove. Ryan has been appointed captain, and our coaches are all set. What have you heard mate?

the gloved 1
11th October 2006, 00:13
Not that i know of Glove. Ryan has been appointed captain, and our coaches are all set. What have you heard mate?

heard my fellow glove man has whipped off the bails for the last time with the blues and has stood down as captain within 48 hrs of being appointed? who is coaching you blokes, heard you had a crack at a few?

Appin Vet
11th October 2006, 12:37
Where is Tragic Park & when did Johnson play there?
Mysic Park is Tragic Park. Peter Johnson played there around the same time as Jamie McDonald coached there.

The Crabstick
11th October 2006, 16:28
Yeah mate i donned the Seymour cap on the weekend, was just over visiting a mate of mine who i used to play with at Lalbert. Was good to play with different group of blokes. Country week is a different story thoug, i don't think i went that well on the weekend
So will you be inn the blue this week Roota?
Or will you in the SCC cap on a regular basis?

ROOTA#6
11th October 2006, 16:56
So will you be inn the blue this week Roota?
Or will you in the SCC cap on a regular basis?

Will be a Blue this week mate. Am looking forward to the day out at Nully. Hopefully the fridge is well stocked!!!

buddy buddy
11th October 2006, 17:28
Mysic Park is Tragic Park. Peter Johnson played there around the same time as Jamie McDonald coached there.

different johnson mate. you should get your facts before you start slagging them off. the johnson your talking about plays at nyah, this johnson has come from hawthorn c.c.

ROOTA#6
13th October 2006, 12:34
So lads, any tips or predictions for tomorrows opening round of matches???

The Crabstick
13th October 2006, 13:41
Tooley
S/Hill
Nully
Nyah

Daryl Somers
13th October 2006, 13:44

Tips for this week

Swanhill on the back of a good knock from Harrison
Nully-Culgoa in a tight one, Humphreys the key
St Mary's over the seedy Tooleybuc
Woorinen, 5 wickets from their new spinner.

Are you already to go tomorrow at Nully Bennett???

Scrappa's Love Child
15th October 2006, 14:35
A grade scores from Saturday boys...
Woorinen vs Nyah District
Nyah District won toss
Nyah District 1st Innings
R. Boulton lbw b K. Groat 39
K. Wooding st D. Morpethb T. P. Rajapaske 36
L. Paynter lbw b K. Groat 0
D. Jager lbw b J. Robertson 1
M. Boulton st D. Morpethb J. Robertson 0
A. Thompson b T. P. Rajapaske 3
S. Fleming not out 23
D. Andrews b K. Groat 30
D. Bruton c L. Crow b T. P. Rajapaske 2
J. Paynter c N. S. Dillon b B. Clifton 1
A. Pretty not out 0
Extras 19
Total 9/154(cc)
Fall of Wickets: 82, 82, 91, 91, 91, 96, 138, 146, 153
K. Groat 8.0-4-6-3, B. Clifton 8.0-2-21-1, D. Carmichael 5.0-1-32-0, S. Shambae 1.0-0-17-0, J. Robertson 8.0-1-28-2, T. P. Rajapaske 7.0-1-23-3, M. Demaria 3.0-0-20-0

Woorinen 1st Innings
D. Morpeth b K. Wooding 18
J. Robertson c D. Andrews b K. Wooding 32
D. Demaria run out 19
L. Crow lbw b A. Pretty 1
N. S. Dillon run out 22
B. Clifton b R. Boulton 10
K. Groat b M. Boulton 11
T. P. Rajapaske run out 10
D. Carmichael not out 7
M. Demaria not out 1
Extras 13
Total 8/157
Fall of Wickets: 55, 56, 57, 89, 125, 132, 147, 153
M. Boulton 8.0-0-40-1, D. Bruton 8.0-0-29-0, K. Wooding 8.0-1-20-2, A. Pretty 8.0-1-30-1, D. Jager 2.0-0-11-0, A. Thompson 2.0-0-11-0, R. Boulton 4.0-0-16-1
Woorinen Won

Ultima-TUFCC vs Swan Hill
Ultima-TUFCC won toss
Ultima-TUFCC 1st Innings
T. Brown b J. Brasser 9
D. Ingram c D. Violi b J. Lehmann 44
A. Abbott c W. Harrison b L. Sheehan 21
S. Ingram b J. Brasser 33
B. Coloe b L. Sheehan 1
J. Baird not out 15
M. Nalder lbw b J. Brasser 9
R. Hinton b L. Sheehan 2
L. O'Toole run out 0
R. Power not out 1
Extras 27
Total 8/162(cc)
Fall of Wickets: 26, 79, 123, 125, 140, 150, 157, 161
J. Brasser 8.0-1-24-3, J. Waldron 6.0-2-12-0, L. Sheehan 8.0-0-36-3, J. Lehmann 8.0-0-37-1, G. Violi 8.0-0-31-0, M. Johnson 2.0-0-11-0

Swan Hill 1st Innings
G. Violi c L. O'Toole b B. Coloe 5
M. Johnson b R. Power 10
D. Violi lbw b B. Coloe 0
A. Farlie run out 12
W. Harrison b B. Coloe 67
J. Spry c R. Power b S. Ingram 24
L. Sheehan not out 16
J. Lehmann not out 28
T. O'Grady did not bat
J. Brasser did not bat
J. Waldron did not bat
Extras (6lb) 6
Total 6/168-
Fall of Wickets: 13, 13, 27, 37, 101, 127
B. Coloe 8.0-1-29-3, D. Ingram 7.0-2-18-0, R. Power 8.0-0-36-1, T. Brown 5.0-0-39-0, S. Ingram 8.0-0-41-1
Ultima-TUFCC Lost

Nullawil-Culgoa vs RSL
Nullawil-Culgoa won toss
Nullawil-Culgoa 1st Innings
L. Hogan b L. Bennett 0
H. Pollington c R. Hinton b L. Bennett 20
A. Hewitt b D. Miller 26
W. Humphreys c L. Bennett b B. Martin 9
B. Crabbe b J. Rooney 58
D. Hooper c R. Hinton b D. Miller 7
S. Cooper b J. Rooney 2
J. Barbeti run out P. Noonan 0
D. Crabbe b P. Noonan 0
J. Barker b P. Noonan 0
A. Ryan not out 0
Extras 13
Total 135
Fall of Wickets: 0, 34, 57, 57, 73, 100, 114, 130, 134, 134
L. Bennett 8.0-2-33-2, P. Caldwell 4.0-1-18-0, B. Martin 5.0-0-28-1, D. Miller 4.0-1-16-2, J. Rooney 5.0-0-21-2, P. Noonan 3.0-1-12-2

RSL 1st Innings
R. Hinton b A. Hewitt 31
J. Toomey c D. Crabbe b D. Hooper 30
T. Heinrich b A. Hewitt 15
A. Gaut lbw b W. Humphreys 5
L. Bennett run out 7
J. Rooney b W. Humphreys 9
P. Noonan run out 1
B. Martin b W. Humphreys 1
P. Caldwell not out 19
D. Miller b W. Humphreys 0
C. Gurnett not out 4
Extras 16
Total 9/138-
Fall of Wickets: 65, 71, 92, 96, 101, 104, 111, 114, 114
A. Hewitt 8.0-3-20-2, H. Pollington 8.0-2-22-0, W. Humphreys 8.0-0-18-4, B. Crabbe 8.0-0-38-0, D. Hooper 7.0-1-28-1, J. Barker 1.0-0-6-0
Nullawil-Culgoa Lost

Some really close games there.What a start to the season! Congrats to Crowy on winning his first game as coach...:thumbsu:

super snooper
15th October 2006, 16:54
How does Jason "wobbo" Robertson go at cricket?

iamfooty
16th October 2006, 08:58
He goes really well, as you can see by the scores above. Made 30-odd and took two wickets on debut. Good technique as an opening batsmen, and has the potential to open the bowling. Nice control and has bought that Darwin swing with him......Loves his cricket and loves winning. Handy pick-up for the rejuvinated tigers!:thumbsu:

footyhas3sides
16th October 2006, 11:34
Tips for this week

Any scores from the other match

Scrappa's Love Child
16th October 2006, 11:54
Any scores from the other match

Tooleybuc won easy. Darren McNees made 51, took no wickets from 4 or 5 overs. no other major run scorers. Lee McNab made a quack, while he, the Barnes boys and Grant McNees all took 2 wickets each. I believe St Mary's were Mensforth-less.....:confused:

Sockit151
16th October 2006, 12:27
Tooleybuc won easy. Darren McNees made 51, took no wickets from 4 or 5 overs. no other major run scorers. Lee McNab made a quack, while he, the Barnes boys and Grant McNees all took 2 wickets each. I believe St Mary's were Mensforth-less.....:confused:
Can't say that would surprise many??
While everyone has been rightfully talking up Dan's return as a bowler. This may be a sign of things to come as his batting will be a class above most comers this year also!!

Sockit151
16th October 2006, 12:32
Tips for this week

Not bad tipping..
Harrison did indeed get the Swans home.
Humphries did bowl well and was unlucky not to get Nully home.
Woorinen got home with 3 from the new spinner.
While the StMary's tip?? take it it was a baised opinion??

iamfooty
16th October 2006, 15:25
Not bad tipping..
Harrison did indeed get the Swans home.
Humphries did bowl well and was unlucky not to get Nully home.
Woorinen got home with 3 from the new spinner.
While the StMary's tip?? take it it was a baised opinion??

Yeah not a bad effort at all -- psychic-like......They tell me big Patty Caldwell lofted one over the infield to secure the win Sockit.....how are you boys shaping up for the whole season? Talk was a few blokes might be departing. Wud be good to see last year's strugglers (Woora, RSL and Nully) get back up around the top again.....

Sockit151
16th October 2006, 15:46
Yeah not a bad effort at all -- psychic-like......They tell me big Patty Caldwell lofted one over the infield to secure the win Sockit.....how are you boys shaping up for the whole season? Talk was a few blokes might be departing. Wud be good to see last year's strugglers (Woora, RSL and Nully) get back up around the top again.....
I think with a bit of luck and some confidence for the younger guys we can push for a top4 spot.. It seems likely that Ryan will depart in about a month but the rest of the squad is intact and it will probably depend (like most teams) on if we can get our best team to play most weeks, which has been a problem in recent years..

My Name Is Earl
16th October 2006, 20:14

Goes very well. Hit's the ball very hard is what I was told. Was also told he needs to learn some cricket etiquette after he clapped and cheered when Woorinen hit a boundary in the dying overs. While he was at square leg umpiring mind you. Apparently a few of the Nyah boys weren't impressed.

iamfooty
17th October 2006, 15:02
Goes very well. Hit's the ball very hard is what I was told. Was also told he needs to learn some cricket etiquette after he clapped and cheered when Woorinen hit a boundary in the dying overs. While he was at square leg umpiring mind you. Apparently a few of the Nyah boys weren't impressed.

Really? didn't see that. I was too busy dancing on the boundary line when Dion CArmichael hit the winning runs off mustards Boulton.....Always love playing each other Nyah and Woorinen and it shows in the scores......even when Nyah has been the powerhouse of the comp. Good bunch of boys and good to see Mick blooding some youngsters in Bruton and Paynter...both big futures at senior level. Think we are in for a cracker of a year..., especially if the rumoured rep games take off....

iamfooty
17th October 2006, 15:05
Really? didn't see that. I was too busy dancing on the boundary line when Dion CArmichael hit the winning runs off mustards Boulton.....Always love playing each other Nyah and Woorinen and it shows in the scores......even when Nyah has been the powerhouse of the comp. Good bunch of boys and good to see Mick blooding some youngsters in Bruton and Paynter...both big futures at senior level. Think we are in for a cracker of a year..., especially if the rumoured rep games take off....

Big Sav Demaria will be buying Kade (Dr Finch) Groat a beer after Thursday training this week after his terrible effort at first slip on Saturday. Groat finished with the awesome figures of 3/6 off eight, but it could have been better. Big Sav let one go straight threw him after a thick edge, looked like a pregnant seal doing a commando roll when he hit the turf, letting thru 3 valuable runs. Take out his no-ball and the finch man would have had 3/2 of eight overs.....unbelievable given he was bowling to the best opening combo in the comp - Mustards Boulton/Kent Wooding....Well down Sav

the gloved 1
18th October 2006, 00:50
after some time away from the thread to take some heat off me i thought i would re-engage in some friendly banter with fellow cricket lovers.
it was interesting to note that whilst in my local e-works (not S.H) I overheard an employee saying Bennett is moving to Bendigo and hasn't informed R.S.L he will be playing cricket down there. can you confirm or deny this ROOTA, will this leave a huge hole in the R.S.L bowling line up and leadership group?

ROOTA#6
18th October 2006, 10:18
after some time away from the thread to take some heat off me i thought i would re-engage in some friendly banter with fellow cricket lovers.
it was interesting to note that whilst in my local e-works (not S.H) I overheard an employee saying Bennett is moving to Bendigo and hasn't informed R.S.L he will be playing cricket down there. can you confirm or deny this ROOTA, will this leave a huge hole in the R.S.L bowling line up and leadership group?

G'day Glove. The RSL boys know all about my up coming move, and they also know that i am undecided on what i am going to do for cricket after christmas. May still tavel back with Ryan

Sockit151
19th October 2006, 09:46
Yeah it does have the potential to be a very even year and sneaking a few early wins could be the difference in the end..
Do you know if the NWM (or Luke Bennett Medal) is continuing in the same format as last season?, has the sponsor changed?, or will the voting will be covered in the local news?

iamfooty
19th October 2006, 11:04
Yeah it does have the potential to be a very even year and sneaking a few early wins could be the difference in the end..
Do you know if the NWM (or Luke Bennett Medal) is continuing in the same format as last season?, has the sponsor changed?, or will the voting will be covered in the local news?

After talking with the man in charge of sport i have been informed the Noel Watson Medal is continuing in the same format as last year. The round one leaderboard will in fact be in Friday's Guardian, along with ladders. Whether this will continue for the whole season he couldn't tell me as he is leaving in 3-4 weeks to greener pastures...the new sports guy has big shoes to fill to please the local cricketing world....

Sockit151
19th October 2006, 11:09
After talking with the man in charge of sport i have been informed the Noel Watson Medal is continuing in the same format as last year. The round one leaderboard will in fact be in Friday's Guardian, along with ladders. Whether this will continue for the whole season he couldn't tell me as he is leaving in 3-4 weeks to greener pastures...the new sports guy has big shoes to fill to please the local cricketing world....

:thumbsu: Nice work iamfooty, your ability to extract info from such exclusive sources is brilliant.. Must have your finger in a few pies?;) Hopefully the coverage does continue as it is one award that creates alot of discussion around the league..

iamfooty
19th October 2006, 11:12
:thumbsu: Nice work iamfooty, your ability to extract info from such exclusive sources is brilliant.. Must have your finger in a few pies?;) Hopefully the coverage does continue as it is one award that creates alot of discussion around the league..

Indeed sockit -- as they say "It's not what you know, it's who you know.":thumbsu:

ROOTA#6
19th October 2006, 11:47
Indeed sockit -- as they say "It's not what you know, it's who you know.":thumbsu:

I hope this new sports guy can actually play sport!!!!! Just kidding mate

Appin Vet
19th October 2006, 21:37
Buddy Buddy,
I am very sorry for bagging the Johnson (Hawthorn) who dominated SHDCA the other weekend. 10 runs and 2 overs for 0-11. Worthy of votes. He needs a 100 next dig for his credentials to be safe from an absolute battering. I mean with the bat too.

buddy buddy
19th October 2006, 23:02
Buddy Buddy,
I am very sorry for bagging the Johnson (Hawthorn) who dominated SHDCA the other weekend. 10 runs and 2 overs for 0-11. Worthy of votes. He needs a 100 next dig for his credentials to be safe from an absolute battering. I mean with the bat too.

apology accepted veteran but i'm unsure as to why your apologising?
by the sarcasm sensed in your post i believe it has something to do with you bagging johnson.
i didn't tell you that you can't bag him (i'm pretty sure the majoirty of the league has at some stage) but you shouldn't go bagging blokes presuming you know all the facts, hence you had the wrong person.
he will destroy da blues with the bat this weekend watch:D

Appin Vet
20th October 2006, 11:17
Not being a smartass, but was Johnson a regular 1st grade player? If he was, he should knock alot of runs up on these rockhard wickets. Will be interesting to see how he performs. I'm pretty sure he is dirty on himself.

I should have at least let him settle and get a feel for the standard of cricket in Swan Hill before having a say. Good players let their numbers talk and I'm sure he will silence some critics in the ensuing matches.

ROOTA#6
20th October 2006, 11:50
Not being a smartass, but was Johnson a regular 1st grade player? If he was, he should knock alot of runs up on these rockhard wickets. Will be interesting to see how he performs. I'm pretty sure he is dirty on himself.

I should have at least let him settle and get a feel for the standard of cricket in Swan Hill before having a say. Good players let their numbers talk and I'm sure he will silence some critics in the ensuing matches.

Appin Vet do you know anything about Swan Hill cricket at all. Johnson has been here for a few years now, so he is more than settled i would have thought

Sockit151
20th October 2006, 11:53
Appin Vet do you know anything about Swan Hill cricket at all. Johnson has been here for a few years now, so he is more than settled i would have thought
Hopefully doesn't settle for to long this week!!!

ROOTA#6
20th October 2006, 11:56
Hopefully doesn't settle for to long this week!!!

Spot on Sockit. He is always very hard to shift

HappyDayz
20th October 2006, 15:12
Round 2 Oct-21
Swan Hill v RSL SH
Nullawil -Culgoa v Tooleybuc NU
St Marys Tyntynder v Nyah District KH
Woorinen v UTUFCC WT

Predictions?

ROOTA#6
20th October 2006, 15:20
Round 2 Oct-21
Swan Hill v RSL SH
Woorinen v UTUFCC WT

Predictions?

I predict that Jed might play this week because they aren't playing Tooleybuc. What was the go last weekend??

Sockit151
20th October 2006, 15:38
Round 2 Oct-21
Swan Hill v RSL SH
Woorinen v UTUFCC WT

Predictions?
I'll stick with the Blues in a tight one..
Have to tip the Bucs, but if Nully get a full team will be close..
Nyah should hit back against the Saints..
TUF might sneak in after a norrow loss last week..

Some very close ones should be a the cards again in what should be another interesting round..

Daryl Somers
20th October 2006, 16:41
I'll stick with the Blues in a tight one..
Have to tip the Bucs, but if Nully get a full team will be close..
Nyah should hit back against the Saints..
TUF might sneak in after a norrow loss last week..

Some very close ones should be a the cards again in what should be another interesting round..

Well its good to see you guys all having a go

My Tips are as follows

Swan Hill comfortably, Harrison again to top the scores
Nully in an absolute nail bitter, hewitt the one to watch and smith could score. McNees will he do damage with the ball??
ST Mary's to bounce back
Woorineen to continue their winning feeling, crow the star

We will see how i go this week:thumbsu:

The Crabstick
21st October 2006, 22:59
Well its good to see you guys all having a go

My Tips are as follows

Swan Hill comfortably, Harrison again to top the scores
Nully in an absolute nail bitter, hewitt the one to watch and smith could score. McNees will he do damage with the ball??
ST Mary's to bounce back
Woorineen to continue their winning feeling, crow the star

We will see how i go this week:thumbsu:
Go DAZ. 0-4 great tipping, sockit was onto it 4-4

Sockit151
23rd October 2006, 10:48
:thumbsu:

thirsty
23rd October 2006, 10:50
Buddy Buddy,

What's going on with cricket in Kerang?

ROOTA#6
23rd October 2006, 13:29
What's going on with cricket in Kerang?

Who cares, Kerang have their own league

footyhas3sides
23rd October 2006, 14:14
any scores from the weekend?

ROOTA#6
23rd October 2006, 14:17
any scores from the weekend?

The mighty Blues got over Swan Hill by 15 runs in the dark at the Showgrounds

footyhas3sides
23rd October 2006, 14:27
Do we have any scores from the weekend?

buddy buddy
23rd October 2006, 15:01
Do we have any scores from the weekend?

if you google 'shdca' it will take you to the website. it has scores, ladders, statistics and anything else you can pretty much find here in this forum

thirsty
23rd October 2006, 15:43
if you google 'shdca' it will take you to the website. it has scores, ladders, statistics and anything else you can pretty much find here in this forum

Anyone heard of an inter association match against Maryborough district cricket association this season?

Daryl Somers
24th October 2006, 08:14
The mighty Blues got over Swan Hill by 15 runs in the dark at the Showgrounds

So does everyone still think that two day games should be 80 overs, you see what happens in the one dayers and we don't finish till late and often its dark, yet when Nully-Culgoa brought this issue up at the meeting this was quickly put aside. It was raised possibly changing two day games back to 70 overs????:confused:

Personally i would rather play 70 overs as it gives you a little more time to slip into the tins after the game, what do you guys think?

You would still keep one day games as they are.

Sockit151
24th October 2006, 08:43
So does everyone still think that two day games should be 80 overs, you see what happens in the one dayers and we don't finish till late and often its dark, yet when Nully-Culgoa brought this issue up at the meeting this was quickly put aside. It was raised possibly changing two day games back to 70 overs????:confused:

Personally i would rather play 70 overs as it gives you a little more time to slip into the tins after the game, what do you guys think?

You would still keep one day games as they are.
It's got nothing to do with the format of the games..
They just start to late to fit in before DLS starts. Until the clock is turned forward the 1 dayers should start at 12.30!!
A grade should stay at 80 overs also..

Scrappa's Love Child
24th October 2006, 09:02
Here you go lads...sorry for the lateness....

Grade: A Grade
St Marys-Tyntynder vs Nyah District
Nyah District won toss
Nyah District 1st Innings
R. Boulton c J. White b J. Mensforth 75
K. Wooding lbw b P. McMahon 16
C. Barry c M. Edwardsb J. Mensforth 36
P. Johnson b J. Mensforth 2
M. Boulton not out 21
D. Jager st M. Edwardsb J. Mensforth 0
D. Andrews c J. King b P. McMahon 0
A. Thompson st M. Edwardsb J. Mensforth 0
S. Fleming b P. McMahon 6
Extras 13
Total 8/169(cc)
S. Free 6-0-36-0, J. King 8-1-17-0, R. Power 8-0-35-0, P. McMahon 8-1-33-3, J. White 5-0-32-0, J. Mensforth 5-0-13-5

St Marys-Tyntynder 1st Innings
L. Chaproniere c S. Fleming b C. Barry 18
J. Mensforth lbw b M. Boulton 4
B. Sawyer lbw b T. Hayward 8
C. McMahon lbw b R. Boulton 7
J. King run out 27
T. Lister b R. Boulton 0
R. Power c M. Boulton b C. Barry 9
S. Free not out 14
P. McMahon lbw b M. Boulton 1
M. Edwards not out 8
Extras 28
Total 8/124(cc)
M. Boulton 8-1-27-2, T. Hayward 4-0-19-1, D. Bruton 4-1-8-0, K. Wooding
8-0-24-0, R. Boulton 8-2-19-2, C. Barry 8-4-21-2

Nyah District won

Woorinen vs Ultima-TUFCC
Woorinen won toss
Woorinen 1st Innings
D. Morpeth b C. Ingram 35
J. Robertson b D. Ingram 21
D. Demaria c T. Brown b S. Ingram 22
L. Crow c J. Baird b S. Ingram 10
N. Dillon c A. Abbott b S. Ingram 15
N. Cameron run out 6
B. Clifton c C. Ingram b S. Ingram 4
K. Groat not out 5
T. P. Rajapaske c C. Ingram b R. Power 5
D. Carmichael c L. O'Toole b S. Ingram 10
S. Shahbae not out 2
Extras 20
Total 9/155(cc)
R. Power 8-0-37-1, A. Ward 5-0-26-0, D. Ingram 8-1-25-1, C. Ingram 4-0-12-1, T. Brown 8-3-18-1, S. Ingram 7-1-32-4

Ultima-TUFCC 1st Innings
D. Ingram c T. P. Rajapaske b D. Carmichael 29
D. Hinton c N. Cameron b K. Groat 1
A. Abbott b D. Carmichael 16
T. Brown not out 63
S. Ingram c D. Morpeth b B. Clifton 14
J. Baird c D. Carmichael b N. Dillon 4
L. Caldwell b B. Clifton 2
C. Ingram b N. Dillon 0
L. O'Toole not out 17
Extras 14
Total 7/160(cc)
K. Groat 8-3-22-1, B. Clifton 8-0-29-2, D. Carmichael 8-0-32-2, J. Robertson
3-1-10-0, T. P. Rajapaske 5-0-28-0, N. Dillon 4-0-16-2, L. Crow 2-0-10-0, S.
Shahbae 0.4-0-5-0

UTUFCC won

Swan Hill vs RSL
RSL won toss
RSL 1st Innings
R. Hinton c A. Farlie 63
J. Toomey c J. Lehmann b L. Sheehan 56
T. Heinrich c J. Latimir b L. Sheehan 29
P. Munro b L. Sheehan 26
D. Hinton not out 4
L. Bennett not out 1
Extras 22
Total 4/201(cc)
Fall of Wickets: 122, 152, 195, 196
I. Randall 8-1-28-0, J. Waldron 8-0-45-0, K. Griffiths 8-2-15-0, J. Lehmann
7-0-49-0, L. Sheehan 8-0-44-3, G. Violi 1-0-10-1

Swan Hill 1st Innings
A. Farlie lbw b W. Cook 17
M. Johnson lbw b L. Bennett 0
J. Latimir c T. Bartel b N. Seamons 22
W. Harrison c L. Bennett b W. Cook 51
J. Spry c R. Hinton b P. Munro 5
L. Sheehan c T. Heinrich b B. Martin 23
K. Griffiths b N. Seamons 14
J. Lehmann c P. Munro b W. Cook 16
I. Randall b N. Seamons 23
G. Violi run out R. Hinton 3
J. Waldron not out 1
Extras 12
Total 187
L. Bennett 8-1-31-1, W. Cook 8-0-46-3, N. Seamons 6.4-1-36-3, B. Martin
7-2-34-1, P. Munro 4-0-23-1, P. Noonan 4-0-13-0

RSL won

Nullawil-Culgoa vs Tooleybuc
Tooleybuc won toss
Tooleybuc 1st Innings
B. Scalora c D. Poynerb A. Hewitt 3
R. Young c D. Poynerb B. Crabbe 2
Jer. Barnes lbw b W. Humphreys 36
L. McNab c M. Coster b R. Poyner 38
G. McNees c&b M. Coster 16
A. Gordon b A. Hewitt 17
D. McNees c G. Smith b A. Hewitt 39
C. McNab not out 18
T. Pilkington b W. Humphreys 5
D. Button not out 3
Extras 17
Total 8/194(cc)
B. Crabbe 8-0-19-1, A. Hewitt 8-0-52-3, W. Humphreys 7-2-21-2, H. Pollington 5-1-22-0, M. Coster 5-1-26-1, R. Poyner 7-1-42-1

Nullawil-Culgoa 1st Innings
C. Warne c C. McNabb L. McNab 12
D. Poyner lbw b D. Button 7
B. Crabbe c R. Young b L. McNab 2
A. Hewitt not out 100
W. Humphreys c D. Button b Jer. Barnes 10
G. Smith c G. McNees b Jim. Barnes 0
H. Pollington b Jim. Barnes 1
M. Coster b Jim. Barnes 16
D. Hooper b D. Button 1
L. Hogan c b Jim. Barnes 1
R. Poyner not out 2
Extras 9
Total 9/161(cc)
D. McNees 8-2-13-0, L. McNab 6-1-21-2, D. Button 8-1-29-2, A. Gordon
4-0-19-0, Jer. Barnes 6-0-48-1, Jim. Barnes 8-3-26-4

Tooleybuc won

Barge
24th October 2006, 20:06
They just start to late to fit in before DLS starts. Until the clock is turned forward the 1 dayers should start at 12.30!!

Strewth!

Our stupid Suburban Association in Hobart decreed 12.30pm far too late to start a one dayer when our club put it to them!

The earliest time we can start on Saturday's due to Little Athletics being there!

What time do your one dayers start now?

Start time for us is 10.30am - only good thing about this is the obvious earlier finish time, approx 5pm.

You know the stupid thing though? We used to start all one dayers at 12 Noon!

Clowns.

Late Edit: Just noticed looking at your scorecards you guys play 40 over one dayers, we play 50, but you know what I mean!

ROOTA#6
24th October 2006, 21:42
Strewth!

Our stupid Suburban Association in Hobart decreed 12.30pm far too late to start a one dayer when our club put it to them!

The earliest time we can start on Saturday's due to Little Athletics being there!

What time do your one dayers start now?

Start time for us is 10.30am - only good thing about this is the obvious earlier finish time, approx 5pm.

You know the stupid thing though? We used to start all one dayers at 12 Noon!

Clowns.

Late Edit: Just noticed looking at your scorecards you guys play 40 over one dayers, we play 50, but you know what I mean!

Start times have always been an issue in this league. I know for a fact that the times are set the way they are because it allows the young fella's that may be still playing juniors in the mornings enough time to get to the senior ames. This has been the way for many years. There are plenty of junior kids playing senior cricket in our league

ROOTA#6
27th October 2006, 10:11
Is Groaty bringing his Mrs down to North Park again tomorrow???

Sockit151
27th October 2006, 14:23
I see on SHDCA website that "H" is umpiring B Grade for the next 3 rounds. He has been quite good in our first two games, anyone surprised that he wouldn't get an A grade game for next 5 weeks??

ROOTA#6
27th October 2006, 16:25
I see on SHDCA website that "H" is umpiring B Grade for the next 3 rounds. He has been quite good in our first two games, anyone surprised that he wouldn't get an A grade game for next 5 weeks??

It does seem strange Sockit especially when there haven't been enough umpires to cover all the A grade games this year

iamfooty
31st October 2006, 12:08
It does seem strange Sockit especially when there haven't been enough umpires to cover all the A grade games this year

What happened to Matty Raggatt? I know he was held in high regard by a number of teams -- possibly the best umpire in the league.
What are people's thoughts on the season thus far?

Interesting points so far that i can see:

*Tooleybuc out on top and look to be the team to beat
*UTUFCC, RSL, Woora and Swan Hill look hard to split at this stage, all even on 2 wins
*Darren Mcnees yet to take a wicket? Whats going on there?
*Season surprise packets so far are Darren Ingram (plenty of runs and wickets), Wes Harrison (2x50s and a 45), Jimmy Barnes (2x4 wicket hauls - what the?) and Ahkmed Mcdonald tearing the C grade competition apart with both bat and ball.

Is this season for real?

iamfooty
31st October 2006, 12:11
What happened to Matty Raggatt? I know he was held in high regard by a number of teams -- possibly the best umpire in the league.
What are people's thoughts on the season thus far?

Interesting points so far that i can see:

*Tooleybuc out on top and look to be the team to beat
*UTUFCC, RSL, Woora and Swan Hill look hard to split at this stage, all even on 2 wins
*Darren Mcnees yet to take a wicket? Whats going on there?
*Season surprise packets so far are Darren Ingram (plenty of runs and wickets), Wes Harrison (2x50s and a 45), Jimmy Barnes (2x4 wicket hauls - what the?) and Ahkmed Mcdonald tearing the C grade competition apart with both bat and ball.

Is this season for real?

Oh, and did I mention Nathan Seamons' big blob on the weekend??? He is making a habit of not troubling the scorers........his form Saturday night was just as discraceful....along with that Carroll bloke......

ROOTA#6
31st October 2006, 12:16
Oh, and did I mention Nathan Seamons' big blob on the weekend??? He is making a habit of not troubling the scorers........his form Saturday night was just as discraceful....along with that Carroll bloke......

I thought their form was more than handy Big Fella. Good to see that the boys are out there having fun

Catter
31st October 2006, 17:47

If only you had a mirror:D

HappyDayz
1st November 2006, 10:35
If only you had a mirror:D

Here here.

Iamfooty, let me be the first to congratulate you on the 50 or 5 for this week. I no its in advance but you've been promising both for years now and being your last game one can only assume you've saved it for this week.

telstra101
1st November 2006, 14:39
well i would like to join in the conversation about people's efforts from saturday night, but unfortunately i cant remember much, so ill stay out of that one!..... catter i hope you're ready for a bit of hard work, seems some of my back lawn needs replacing!! onto cricket. i think monza should be left alone, i thought some of his sledges were worth his place in the side, new and creative, just what we like! listen to HappyDayz pipe up with the smart comments now that he has learnt the art of batting for red ink! not bad are ya!

ROOTA#6
3rd November 2006, 09:06
Where the bloody hell is everyone. Its Friday and i am bored brainless at work, someone give me something!!!

FOOZ
3rd November 2006, 09:08
Where the bloody hell is everyone. Its Friday and i am bored brainless at work, someone give me something!!!

I heard brad clifton is moving to wagga to excape Gay rumors spreading through the cricket circles... is this true?