View Full Version : Voss- Assistant coach somewhere else.

nobs14
27 Sep 2006, 20:37
Michael Voss said on 3AW radio tonight, if he retires this year he would look at doing a job in the media or a assistant coaching position. But he said he would look at a coaching role away from Brisbane. He said being under Leigh Matthews for eight years he has learnt alot, but he needs to experience another coaches ways and club culture.
Gerard Healy asked him if he would go to Geelong to be an assistant to Thompson.He said maybe if I retire.

Dr Pea P.I
27 Sep 2006, 21:07
Voss is his own man and has the professional freedom to improve all aspects of his prospective coaching role and it makes sense to learn the pos under another figure: but - for some reason, hearing Voss, then followed by another teams name, just doesn't sound right. Infact, i don't really want to think of it as i want to be able to sleep at night. Hopefully, we receive the news that we all want to hear shortly - that he plays on for one more year; serving up wonderful passes to our blossoming forward line.

Ashli
27 Sep 2006, 21:09
You all have me completely worried that he is retiring and it is NOT GOOD!

Voss... a different team???? I don't know if I can even comprehend him in a coaches box trying to score against the team he has captained and leaded for so long...

Snuka
27 Sep 2006, 21:23
Good to get some experience under the belt. Learning how other coaches and teams do things.

Anyway, all it does is set him up for the triumphant return as head coach.:)

Grimreepah
27 Sep 2006, 21:25
Presuming Voss has the good sense not to go to Collingwood or Port Adelaide, where he goes will probably become my second team.

I wouldn't mind him going to Geelong. I'm going to be watching as many of their games anyway with Hawkins playing.

roostersgal4eva
27 Sep 2006, 21:38
ok let me be the enemy

depite what we all think it wont be the end of the world - yes i will be sad as anyone to see vossy go but i wont stop being a football fan or a lions fan becuase of it and the lions wont stop going the right direction

he wasto play on thats fantasic if he doesnt well goodbye and goodluck - its his decision and he deserves to bow out when he wants to not when we want him to. we as a club and supporters have been very luck to have a captain and player like michael in our team

secondly if we all share the romatic notion that he coaches us some day (which i would love) It will help his coaching aspirations no end to learn his craft in a different enviroment

Glyndon
27 Sep 2006, 21:44
I have no doubt that Michael Voss will eventually coach the Lions, and he will be a much better coach for spending a couple, maybe three seasons as assistant coach at another club. Most of the great coaches learn their trade at other clubs.

TheBrownDog
27 Sep 2006, 22:08
Vossy has made similar comments over the last few years so I'm not surprised by this.

He'll coach Brisbane one day, I'm sure of it.

Bobby Beecroft
27 Sep 2006, 23:08
He did say that its unlikely that he would step straight into an assistants role.
More likely to spend a year or two in the media beforehand.
Vossy actually believed that this would assist his future coaching aspirations.

I agree with those that believe to get away from the Lions will benefit him in the future. To learn from others with differing methods will only be a good thing for the day he comes back.

BigCat2
27 Sep 2006, 23:15
Wind the clock forward, the year is 2018. Senior coach of the Brisbane Lions, Leigh Matthews, has finally decided to retire from the top job at Brisbane after 20 years, having delivered a record 7 premierships in that time.

The Brisbane Lions Football Club has appointed assistant coach, former club captain and Brownlow Medallist Michael Voss, as Matthews' successor.

Bobby Beecroft
27 Sep 2006, 23:27
God another 12 years of Matthews bashing from some factions :eek:

BigCat2
27 Sep 2006, 23:30
God another 12 years of Matthews bashing from some factions :eek:

If we get another 4 flags in that 12 years, then I'd say "bring on the bashing". :thumbsu:

notting18
27 Sep 2006, 23:37
As much as ill mourn for months 'when' vossy retires (im thinking he will) and hate the fact of him with another club for him to be a good brissie head coach in 3 years we need him to not get some outside experience... we dont want the incest that existed at hawthorn for years

scott522
27 Sep 2006, 23:37
The whispers of him going to Channel7 in an AFL coverage role seem to grow louder every day - his sports reports on nine have given him the experience...also agree that he'd need to leave the Lions to get a more rounded coaching experience but if that's where his aspirations lie, think how good he'd be if he came back to us at a later date in a senior coaching role. This time Friday week we'll know...

Lady Lawrence
28 Sep 2006, 09:56
Imagine if he went to coach at the Doggies :D

campbell
28 Sep 2006, 10:01
Imagine if he went to coach at the Doggies :D

Imagine that.....

Tim the Toolman
28 Sep 2006, 10:35
I doubt Vossy will come back to Brisbane to retire. If everyone believes the romantic setiment still exists in football than why is Lethal not coaching at Glenferrie (now Waverley)?

Vossy did barrack for Carlton did he not?

dlanod
28 Sep 2006, 10:49
There's a bit of a write-up about him joining Carlton or the Saints as an assistent coach. http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20488635%255E20322,00.html

If he does join the Saints I'm going to start insist on calling them the Lions' reserves (Brett Voss, Jason Gram, etc).

OldLion
28 Sep 2006, 13:14
The Saints makes sense. Good move, I reckon.

Lady Lawrence
28 Sep 2006, 13:15
I have a Saints scarf! Had it from when Stevie went there! Saves me a dollar on wardrobe!!

Anywhoo - fingers back in ears - not happening in 2007!!! :D