View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

johnfromtheVAFA
7 Feb 2007, 12:50
Steve James from melton will help out with ruck duties, plus a couple others signing up in the next week or 2.
L Baddely might be joining his brother Jackson.

Not a chance in hell that latchy will be playing with his brother at Kangas. The only chance would be jacko going to rupo. Where did u hear that from?

Mongrel
7 Feb 2007, 13:10
Not a chance in hell that latchy will be playing with his brother at Kangas. The only chance would be jacko going to rupo. Where did u hear that from?

if u already know whos playing where, WHY ASK?

matt_nicholls
7 Feb 2007, 13:17
Fantastic to hear that something is being done with the change rooms, for a ground that host the biggest day of the year, the change rooms were a big let down. Are they building new rooms or just making changes to the existing rooms.

Tell me another venue in the league that has better facilities for home and away sides? I can't think of any superior really.

They are making some big changes but using the building already in place I believe.

Mongrel
7 Feb 2007, 13:25
Tell me another venue in the league that has better facilities for home and away sides? I can't think of any superior really.

They are making some big changes but using the building already in place I believe.

nothing wrong with the grand final venue matt.but after playing in a twos final at macedon last year,then watching the ones
afterwards and hearing the many many comments.i would have 2 rate macedon as our number 1 venue

matt_nicholls
7 Feb 2007, 13:48
nothing wrong with the grand final venue matt.but after playing in a twos final at macedon last year,then watching the ones
afterwards and hearing the many many comments.i would have 2 rate macedon as our number 1 venue

Hahahahah. Love Macedon, but number our one venue? You must have sunk some cans that day!

Despite a few people at Tigerland disagreeing with me, it is of my opinion that the league's grand final should be rotated between Lancefield, Romsey, Macedon and Kilmore - as they are the four best places.

With Diggers Rest's ground in such top condition they could also make a play for it.

Mongrel
7 Feb 2007, 14:39
Hahahahah. Love Macedon, but number our one venue? You must have sunk some cans that day!

Despite a few people at Tigerland disagreeing with me, it is of my opinion that the league's grand final should be rotated between Lancefield, Romsey, Macedon and Kilmore - as they are the four best places.

With Diggers Rest's ground in such top condition they could also make a play for it.

ha ha. you are on the money matty.me and TS consumed a couple that day:D

Iceman27
7 Feb 2007, 14:45
Announced today that the DVFL will start 3 weeks later and the first round will be on the 5th of May. Is there any deffinate decision by the RDFL on when there season will be starting.

Mongrel
7 Feb 2007, 14:51
Last year Kangas, Woodend and Rockbank went into the keilor night comp, are any RDFL teams submitting a team in this years comp. The roos were talking about maybe entering again.
Have any clubs entered into the Kyneton pre season comp.

any more mention of clearences yet?

wannakick
7 Feb 2007, 15:09

from what i have heard is that L baddeley is either going to Lions or the kangaroos will decide is a couple of weeks

Halffullonfence
7 Feb 2007, 15:21

With Diggers Rest's ground in such top condition they could also make a play for it.[/quote]

Grounds for GF

Lancefield, Macedon YES.
Romsey, maybe.
Kilmore, Diggers, NO.
Reason; Diggers and Kilmore weather has too much effect on the game. Even though the grounds are in good condition.

Everyone at the last two finals games last year were treated to good finals footy. Imagine being at either Diggers or Kilmore for last years Granny.

Mongrel
7 Feb 2007, 15:30

Grounds for GF

Lancefield, Macedon YES.
Romsey, maybe.
Kilmore, Diggers, NO.
Reason; Diggers and Kilmore weather has too much effect on the game. Even though the grounds are in good condition.

Everyone at the last two finals games last year were treated to good finals footy. Imagine being at either Diggers or Kilmore for last years Granny.[/quote]

agree totally.
hey halfull, any news on sippy and dylan smith? i have some mail on sippy,but its not confirmed yet.but thought u may have heard a whisper?

Halffullonfence
7 Feb 2007, 15:43
agree totally.
hey halfull, any news on sippy and dylan smith? i have some mail on sippy,but its not confirmed yet.but thought u may have heard a whisper?[/quote]

No ! I'll let everyone know when I hear anything, Woodsmen seem to have closed ranks a little bit. Away with some in the know this weekend so I may have some news next week.

blues12
7 Feb 2007, 16:09

Ha Ha Ha ha ha. Take the bait:D

bearsboy
7 Feb 2007, 16:19
agree totally.
hey halfull, any news on sippy and dylan smith? i have some mail on sippy,but its not confirmed yet.but thought u may have heard a whisper?Not many around agreeing with me Mongrel , but my tip is Sippy to stay at Gisborne .

Mongrel
8 Feb 2007, 06:25
Not many around agreeing with me Mongrel , but my tip is Sippy to stay at Gisborne .

was at the pub in gisborne last friday BB and it seems even the gisborne players disagree with u.my mail is that sippy will play at woodend this year.if it is true,he will be a terrific pick up 4 the club and the league.
individually it is a step in the wrong direction,but its his choice i guess.
i beleive he will stay at gissy,but my mail is he wont?:confused:

bearsboy
8 Feb 2007, 07:57
was at the pub in gisborne last friday BB and it seems even the gisborne players disagree with u.my mail is that sippy will play at woodend this year.if it is true,he will be a terrific pick up 4 the club and the league.
individually it is a step in the wrong direction,but its his choice i guess.
i beleive he will stay at gissy,but my mail is he wont?:confused:I'm guessing you where at the Tele mate.(you've still got another 50 odd years to go at the Vic ) Apparently Woodend are trying very ,very hard to secure the services of Sippy (as you would) but i think the lure of a 3peat in a top league may be the key to Gisborne keeping him . He's only 22-23 years old that leaves him plenty of time 2 return 2 his home club. I also heard Kyneton is having a fair crack at him . He would be better off at Rockbank than Kyneton .

Mongrel
8 Feb 2007, 09:25
I'm guessing you where at the Tele mate.(you've still got another 50 odd years to go at the Vic ) Apparently Woodend are trying very ,very hard to secure the services of Sippy (as you would) but i think the lure of a 3peat in a top league may be the key to Gisborne keeping him . He's only 22-23 years old that leaves him plenty of time 2 return 2 his home club. I also heard Kyneton is having a fair crack at him . He would be better off at Rockbank than Kyneton .

ha ha ha.yeah the vic banned me ten years ago and i dont think ill be allowed back any time soon BB.and yes from all reports sippy would be a very wanted man.the gissy boys rate him very highly as a player and a bloke.no doubt they will try everything 2 retain him

T.Gun
8 Feb 2007, 11:48
is it true Rick Dowling and Michael Goodyear are training at Kyneton last week??????
And the 4 guys from Romsey who went to heathcote are not to happy with there new club so far?????

billylid
8 Feb 2007, 12:17
is it true Rick Dowling and Michael Goodyear are training at Kyneton last week??????
And the 4 guys from Romsey who went to heathcote are not to happy with there new club so far?????

i thought there was more then 4 x romsey players moving to heathcote apparently there was more then 6 or more. if that is true it wuld be interesting to see whether they all go back to Romsey , which if that happened would surely make Romsey a definate challenger to the likes of Riddell , kanags , woodend and Diggers

blues12
8 Feb 2007, 12:18

who is the fourth, meldrum and 2 carrols,?

blues12
8 Feb 2007, 12:28
i found it on the heathcote thread. Billy hasn't posted it here yet, but it sounds like morgan has left diggers before he even got there. Very interesting if true, i know morgan likes playing at romsey and has never really wanted to play against them, plus maybe the cash is better than no player payments at diggers.:D

matt_nicholls
8 Feb 2007, 12:29
who is the fourth, meldrum and 2 carrols,?

The fourth could be Jimmy Moore, who I believe is heading to the Saints

blues12
8 Feb 2007, 12:36
HEY TS, when you guys training next? I'm on a QF @ 2115 tonight

it's been nearly 2 weeks BB still no sign of you

billylid
8 Feb 2007, 13:42
i found it on the heathcote thread. Billy hasn't posted it here yet, but it sounds like morgan has left diggers before he even got there. Very interesting if true, i know morgan likes playing at romsey and has never really wanted to play against them, plus maybe the cash is better than no player payments at diggers.:D

i dont know who has logged is as me but i didnt write that cr##, as far as i know BM is assistant coach at Diggers as mentioned earlier in the RDFL Thread. I guess its a case of u cant trust people to use ur account details as they can use it for no good. ive always been upfront on this thing and its a little disheartenly that someone would use my account to write this rubbish because they know i know brydan well and they know i am associated with Diggers instead of using there own account if they have one they hide behind mine.. Blues 12 i can say this much i have heard nothing of this so called rumour.

weekend warrior
8 Feb 2007, 14:00
Sorry pickles but i couldn't think of anything worse then having the Grand Final played at either Diggers or Kilmore. In all respect to Diggers which is a great ground but the wind just absolutely destroys games at both of these venues. Diggers vs. Sunbury at Kilmore last year was a cracker of a game but at a more pleasant venue would have enhanced the contest.

I feel Lancefield and Macedon both should keep there respective finals then Romsey, Woodend, Sunbury and Diggers to fight over the remaining games..

Sorry but Rockbank, Kilmore and Melton just have too much of a gail for my liking.

weekend warrior
8 Feb 2007, 14:04
Having Sippy join woodend would be a absolute steal by the club, i cant see it happening for a few years yet. As for Dylan Smith, i think the Woodend spin doctors have been at it again.

Went and had a peak at Woodends training last night, they have got great numbers probably around 30. One bloke who caught my eye was running around in some Gisborne shorts, really looked the goods. Quite a few faces i have never seen before which can only be a positive for Michael and his team.

matt_nicholls
8 Feb 2007, 14:09
Sorry pickles but i couldn't think of anything worse then having the Grand Final played at either Diggers or Kilmore. In all respect to Diggers which is a great ground but the wind just absolutely destroys games at both of these venues. Diggers vs. Sunbury at Kilmore last year was a cracker of a game but at a more pleasant venue would have enhanced the contest.

I feel Lancefield and Macedon both should keep there respective finals then Romsey, Woodend, Sunbury and Diggers to fight over the remaining games..

Sorry but Rockbank, Kilmore and Melton just have too much of a gail for my liking.

I'm talking this year at least. If Romsey had better visitor change rooms they would just about be the league's premier venue. Macedon's parking is a little bit of a problem, they need to widen the road around the entrance wing to allow more cars to get in. Kilmore is not a bad setup but I haven't seen it at full capacity. You are right that the wind effects games a lot at Diggers but if there is rain at Macedon (let's hope it comes) - the ground turns to mush.

Lancefield is still by far the best all-round venue, but I have always been a believer that other clubs should get a chance at the gig. There will be people at the club that will hate me for saying it though. :D

Mongrel
8 Feb 2007, 14:28
i dont know who has logged is as me but i didnt write that cr##, as far as i know BM is assistant coach at Diggers as mentioned earlier in the RDFL Thread. I guess its a case of u cant trust people to use ur account details as they can use it for no good. ive always been upfront on this thing and its a little disheartenly that someone would use my account to write this rubbish because they know i know brydan well and they know i am associated with Diggers instead of using there own account if they have one they hide behind mine.. Blues 12 i can say this much i have heard nothing of this so called rumour.

dont tell me your name is a diggers rest community name as well billy?
poor bevo has had every bloke in diggers access his.perhaps explain 2 these guys that they need 2 register b4 they sprook off.
although it was a good rumour:D i guess your not too happy.lol:thumbsu:

Blueboy16
8 Feb 2007, 14:37
it's been nearly 2 weeks BB still no sign of you

BB only been back for good for 3 days. Will show my face either this week or next.
Think I need to get on Mongrel's diet though. Want to email me a copy of it Mongrel.

billylid
8 Feb 2007, 14:54
dont tell me your name is a diggers rest community name as well billy?
poor bevo has had every bloke in diggers access his.perhaps explain 2 these guys that they need 2 register b4 they sprook off.
although it was a good rumour:D i guess your not too happy.lol:thumbsu:

ur rite arent too happy about it , but valuable lession learnt thats for sure. ANYWAYS Blueboy16 good to have you back in Melb , look forward to your housewarming whenever that is , Can you go on record and say that your suiting up for Kangas, would be good to see you still in the RDFL and not down in the WRFL. Thats_Special get in the boys ear

Ballsy
8 Feb 2007, 15:39
Question;Any truth in the rumour that the Kangas are in a bit of trouble for training on there ground when told not too by the shire?? and Can any one tell me how many games you need to play to qualify for the finals?

johnfromtheVAFA
8 Feb 2007, 16:07
if u already know whos playing where, WHY ASK?
Just want to hear about sum of the pick ups, i only know that latchy is not playing there.But i am sure there are other recruits. Just seeing if there is a replacement for cam watson, will be a big loss, i see the ruckmen from melton what is he like?

blues12
8 Feb 2007, 16:46
Question;Any truth in the rumour that the Kangas are in a bit of trouble for training on there ground when told not too by the shire?? and Can any one tell me how many games you need to play to qualify for the finals?

No Truth to that, Tell me one thing Ballsy, do you, work at the council in the sports and recreation department or are you the weak pr1ck that has no BALLS to approach the club and calls the council when ever somebody steps foot on the oval. Get your facts right before you come on here making false statements. There has been no training on boardman oval 3 as it is not permitted, but you cannot stop a bunch of blokes having a kick before training can you?
As for games to qualify for finals i know where your going and yes Aaronn will not qualify for finals if he can only play 3 games he will miss by 1 game.

blues12
8 Feb 2007, 16:48
Just want to hear about sum of the pick ups, i only know that latchy is not playing there.But i am sure there are other recruits. Just seeing if there is a replacement for cam watson, will be a big loss, i see the ruckmen from melton what is he like?

Cam hasn't gone anywhere just yet, still indecisive, regardless Spud and Cam together will give other ruckmen a challenge.

Launch
8 Feb 2007, 17:20
Factual Rumour!!! B Morgan back to Romsey. Signed up tuesday night. Also got the assistant coaching role. Good move I reckon. Should never have gone to Diggers in the first place. Pity he didnt make the trip further up the road to Heathcote. He was very close. Distance was the issue!!!

Launch
8 Feb 2007, 17:25
not true meldrum dan and luke carroll are very happy at heathcote. they have signed on and will not leave a club they have signed for. There is no fourth bloke from romsey going up

weekend warrior
8 Feb 2007, 18:25
I just had a breif look at the 2007 fixture, i feel Sunbury holding onto Aaron James for the 2007 season may become quite important for the last three rounds. They play centrals lancefield and finally Riddel. Especially that last game Aaron could still have a massive effect on how the finals shape up.
The top 3 or 4 teams are going to be extremely close this year!

Halffullonfence
8 Feb 2007, 18:58
Macedons new social rooms started balcony building where the beer van used to be around to the old scoreboard used to be. New score board tower going over the other side of ground old time keepers hut will now be sponsors room to view games.

For TS bourbons on the hill behind glass in warmth (priceless).:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

blues12
8 Feb 2007, 20:47
Great news for macedon to have a new social room. Sounds like this could be the premier ground for viewing any game rain, hail or shine.

blues12
8 Feb 2007, 20:55
On the subject of the best Grand final venue, Nobody has even mentioned Riddell, every ground talked about has had some sort of disadvantage.

Lets take a look at Riddell.
PROS
* It is central to all clubs in this league
* It is a good size ground not too small
* By far have the best facilities for Netball
* Large cypryse trees lining the ground blocking alot of wind and keeping a good atmosphere
* Shelter that could squash a heap,we needed that last year
* Good sized changerooms and bathrooms
* Plenty of parking space in the outer areas
CONS
* The ground surface, either too hard or poor drainage
* A number of entry points with housing behind it but nothing security couldn't handle if they did their job
* Nobody likes seeing Riddell with lots of money to spend:D

In my opinion if something could be done with the ground surface Riddell would be the ideal venue for the major.

Thats_Special
9 Feb 2007, 07:03
Macedons new social rooms started balcony building where the beer van used to be around to the old scoreboard used to be. New score board tower going over the other side of ground old time keepers hut will now be sponsors room to view games.

For TS bourbons on the hill behind glass in warmth (priceless).:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Bourbans behind glass... Could it be true!!! What a day that would be :thumbsu: :D

matt_nicholls
9 Feb 2007, 07:40
Factual Rumour!!! B Morgan back to Romsey. Signed up tuesday night. Also got the assistant coaching role. Good move I reckon. Should never have gone to Diggers in the first place. Pity he didnt make the trip further up the road to Heathcote. He was very close. Distance was the issue!!!

It's true that Morgan has returned to Romsey as assistant coach. One of the worst kept secrets in recent RDFL recruiting circles.

bearsboy
9 Feb 2007, 08:09
It's true that Morgan has returned to Romsey as assistant coach. One of the worst kept secrets in recent RDFL recruiting circles.What's wrong with this bloke , is this a money thing ? he's overated i reckon , he didnt get a kick when he was at Gisborne , paraded around like he was Carey but delivered zilch.

Ballsy
9 Feb 2007, 08:09
A bit touchy blues 12 only asking a couple of questions and just to let you know i dont live in the shire. As for MrJames i still think he will be important to the kangas even if he only plays three games.

blues12
9 Feb 2007, 09:27
A bit touchy blues 12 only asking a couple of questions and just to let you know i dont live in the shire. As for MrJames i still think he will be important to the kangas even if he only plays three games.

Not touchy, it is just some people are always out to get you, Only 2 people new that council have made an enquiry to the ground use, anybody else must be at council or have knowledge of where the complaint come from.
Hopefully for the roos they will not require the services of Aaron with 3 rounds to go.

Mongrel
9 Feb 2007, 09:52

at the risk of sounding argumentative,i disagree with your post on jamesy.
yes he would make a big difference 2 any game in this league,
BUT firstly why change your forward structure for 3 games,then change it back 4 the finals.secondly the roos had no trouble beating melton and lancefield last year,and with the direction the club is heading i dont anticipate losing 2 them this year.

billylid
9 Feb 2007, 10:02
at the risk of sounding argumentative,i disagree with your post on jamesy.
yes he would make a big difference 2 any game in this league,
BUT firstly why change your forward structure for 3 games,then change it back 4 the finals.secondly the roos had no trouble beating melton and lancefield last year,and with the direction the club is heading i dont anticipate losing 2 them this year.

does everyone start of on a clean slate this year in regards to reports does the rule of doubling sentencing only apply when a person has been reported in that same year more then once , or is it over a 2-3 year term. I agree mongrel changing a proven formula so close to the finals is playing with fire but not 2b argumentative were not talking about any run of the mill player were talking about a guy who what average 10
+goals a game last year. Interesting to see how they set up there forward structure this year

Mongrel
9 Feb 2007, 10:33
does everyone start of on a clean slate this year in regards to reports does the rule of doubling sentencing only apply when a person has been reported in that same year more then once , or is it over a 2-3 year term. I agree mongrel changing a proven formula so close to the finals is playing with fire but not 2b argumentative were not talking about any run of the mill player were talking about a guy who what average 10
+goals a game last year. Interesting to see how they set up there forward structure this year

no doubt billy.and if TS was fair dinkum with his top 50, aaron james would be no.1
if we were playing diggers and woodend,well maybe youd take the punt and play him.but thats assuming that we havent recruited a replacement:D

johnfromtheVAFA
9 Feb 2007, 10:59
Cam hasn't gone anywhere just yet, still indecisive, regardless Spud and Cam together will give other ruckmen a challenge.
Cam watson will be wearing the yellow and blue next year in the vafa buddy, thats for sure blues12, i dont know where u get ur info but thats two wrrongs for you buddy

Thats_Special
9 Feb 2007, 11:08
Cam watson will be wearing the yellow and blue next year in the vafa buddy, thats for sure blues12, i dont know where u get ur info but thats two wrrongs for you buddy

Hopeful of Cam staying.. But if not, so be it and all the best to him, a very good ruckman and will have a long and good career.. But Cam hasn't told the roos he is leaving yet.. Therefore I cant see Blues12 statement as being wrong....

Thats_Special
9 Feb 2007, 11:14
See link.. Daniel Sipthorpe clearance in...

http://www.rdfl.org.au/?s=results

matt_nicholls
9 Feb 2007, 11:29

Another badly kept secret by the club. I have eyes and ears everywhere :D

I did give the tip off to another regional newspaper too!

Hope they followed it up for today's edition

Thats_Special
9 Feb 2007, 11:29
Michael and Nathan Allen, returning to Riddell.. A couple of big clearances today !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mongrel
9 Feb 2007, 11:35

does that mean im no.42 now TS?

Mongrel
9 Feb 2007, 11:37
does that mean im no.42 now TS?

the allens returning 2 riddell.does that make me 44?damn.
close the clearences

bearsboy
9 Feb 2007, 11:40
Not many around agreeing with me Mongrel , but my tip is Sippy to stay at Gisborne .Show's how much i know:rolleyes:

Mongrel
9 Feb 2007, 12:02
Show's how much i know:rolleyes:

dont stress bb.maybe the mongrel can have a run with u guys:eek:

weekend warrior
9 Feb 2007, 12:03
Sippy to the hawkas, BANG! Gee cant wait for this season to get underway. Now lets hope the rain comes so we dont have to wait any longer.

Thats_Special
9 Feb 2007, 12:32
the allens returning 2 riddell.does that make me 44?damn.
close the clearences

Nah.. The way your training, you will be heading up the list :thumbsu:

The Keilor night comp is off.. Council wont supply a permit for the ground...

bearsboy
9 Feb 2007, 12:36

http://www.rdfl.org.au/?s=resultsThis bloke will be the best and toughest player to join the RDFL since Michael Werner .Will win the Bowen .

Mongrel
9 Feb 2007, 12:40
This bloke will be the best and toughest player to join the RDFL since Michael Werner .Will win the Bowen .

toughest???? time will tell

blues12
9 Feb 2007, 12:43

you are now a marshmellow.:D old age has caught up with you

bearsboy
9 Feb 2007, 12:45
toughest???? time will tellAttack on the footy second 2 none Mongrel, and i mean none. midfielder, 6 ft ,Strong overhead , kicks goals . Michael Voss of the Riddell league .

Mongrel
9 Feb 2007, 14:11
Attack on the footy second 2 none Mongrel, and i mean none. On baller, 6 ft ,Strong overhead , kicks goals . Michael Voss of the Riddell league .

well like i said in an a previous post,fantastic pick up for woodend and the league.i have heard some great reports about this bloke.

and blues 12 (marshmallow?)put your balls on the line and play the intra-club match on me.if i cant get reported,u will be in serious trouble.
besides,grub beat u in the wrestling comp last week.wait till my stitches are out and we can have a go.infact bugger the stitches.lets do it tnite?

Mongrel
9 Feb 2007, 14:13
well like i said in an a previous post,fantastic pick up for woodend and the league.i have heard some great reports about this bloke.

and blues 12 (marshmallow?)put your balls on the line and play the intra-club match on me.if i cant get reported,u will be in serious trouble.
besides,grub beat u in the wrestling comp last week.wait till my stitches are out and we can have a go.infact bugger the stitches.lets do it tnite?

but yes blues12 old age is catching up:D

Trueblueroo
9 Feb 2007, 14:27
Can play footy and can dance.... When is this intra club match you speak off Mongrel..... I find it haard to get to training with the new job?

goblues09
9 Feb 2007, 14:36
word on the streets up our way is that John Rowe has been approached by broadford - as called by TRUEBLUEROO last september - but from what i know has not decided yet - but dont be surprised if JR is playing for the big Doona in 07!

Mongrel
9 Feb 2007, 15:27
Can play footy and can dance.... When is this intra club match you speak off Mongrel..... I find it haard to get to training with the new job?
not sure mate.was just revvin trev up.ill take ya next week

Trueblueroo
9 Feb 2007, 15:42
Did make the call on Sippy and Sammy Bowen as well.....just goes to show how early back these rumours have been hidden. Not a word has been said about woodend, and player movements.... until now! Has a RDFL club ever had two massive picks up of these two blokes stature in the same year?

Blueboy16
9 Feb 2007, 16:13
ur rite arent too happy about it , but valuable lession learnt thats for sure. ANYWAYS Blueboy16 good to have you back in Melb , look forward to your housewarming whenever that is , Can you go on record and say that your suiting up for Kangas, would be good to see you still in the RDFL and not down in the WRFL. Thats_Special get in the boys ear

BB off the market. Playing for West Footscray. Clearance form in shortly. Sorry TS but time to leave the RDFL.

Thats_Special
10 Feb 2007, 12:09
BB off the market. Playing for West Footscray. Clearance form in shortly. Sorry TS but time to leave the RDFL.

We didn't even get a chance to speak to you???

Disappointing, but good luck mate.. Now ill have to find another coach...

jockstrap jim
10 Feb 2007, 14:32
Don't stress there Mongrel. You will still be the toughest!!!:)

Thats_Special
11 Feb 2007, 15:59
Don't stress there Mongrel. You will still be the toughest!!!:)

Tougher than Azza Christianson?????

jockstrap jim
11 Feb 2007, 16:58
Tougher than Azza Christianson?????
Yes. Even tougher than Dean Helmers????:)

burger5
11 Feb 2007, 19:59
Rumor that Lee James might be staying put at Riddell heard it the other night.

Trueblueroo
11 Feb 2007, 20:57
Well might be just true, not alot has been said about player who have arrived in Mulwala, and you would think a little more would have been said.... than just our local newspaper? Any truth Slugger?

Ballsy
12 Feb 2007, 07:26
All credit to Woodend with there recruits, one thing they do well is look after there own and there youngsters. With there U18s coming up Kopke. Germaine , Eastley, Shippard, Arnold, Stacey, Downing who have all played senior football they should place in the top two. Talk is James from Riddell may already have been replaced with another full forward from a different league. Dont know his name yet will keep informed.

chumpy
12 Feb 2007, 08:41
All credit to Woodend with there recruits, one thing they do well is look after there own and there youngsters. With there U18s coming up Kopke. Germaine , Eastley, Shippard, Arnold, Stacey, Downing who have all played senior football they should place in the top two. Talk is James from Riddell may already have been replaced with another full forward from a different league. Dont know his name yet will keep informed.
Ballsy are you the bastard kid from Darley?

Ballsy
12 Feb 2007, 10:09
No Chumpy but your dad might be mine

dizone
12 Feb 2007, 12:26
I just had a breif look at the 2007 fixture, i feel Sunbury holding onto Aaron James for the 2007 season may become quite important for the last three rounds. They play centrals lancefield and finally Riddel. Especially that last game Aaron could still have a massive effect on how the finals shape up.
The top 3 or 4 teams are going to be extremely close this year!

I dont see how aaron james is a key footballer at any club in any competition.Yes he is an ex AFL football,his big and can kick goals.
As a player on him all you have to do is get in his ear and then he wants to whack you one then he gets suspended that isnt a key footballer.At Albion last year before he went to Sunbury he was on 15k sign up fee between 800-900 a game then bonuses for kicking goals and the reason why he left is he wanted more money

blues12
12 Feb 2007, 12:35
I dont see how aaron james is a key footballer at any club in any competition.Yes he is an ex AFL football,his big and can kick goals.
As a player on him all you have to do is get in his ear and then he wants to whack you one then he gets suspended that isnt a key footballer.At Albion last year before he went to Sunbury he was on 15k sign up fee between 800-900 a game then bonuses for kicking goals and the reason why he left is he wanted more money

he didn't get it

Trueblueroo
12 Feb 2007, 12:47
Could you please define for us your definition of a key postion footballer?

Mine would be a "key position" refers to positions on the ground that are considered vital to the structure of a team.

Key position players make up what is known as the "spine" of a team. Key positions on an Australian rules field are usually deemed to be centre half-forward (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Centre_half-forward), full-forward (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Full-forward), centre half-back (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Centre_half-back) and full-back (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Full-back).

Aaron makes a presence on the field and off, but when it comes down to it, his job is to kick goals, and be on the end of the delievery we give him. Now...if he demands the ball to be kicked long, and it works, and he delivers, by doing what he does best (kicks goals). Then i would say he is a key position player! Wouldn't you? left because you were 'tool's' by all reports!

KFC_03
12 Feb 2007, 13:46
If you look what dizone said, he said he wasn't a key footballer, not key position. As for him leaving because they were a team full of tools, then I dont see how Sunbury could be any different

Trueblueroo
12 Feb 2007, 14:13
Sunbury are different, because we knew the bloke could play when he really wants, but we didn't shoot ourselves in the foot and fork out big bucks like you blokes. He played a part in getting us to the finals! Did Albion play finals last year? Didn't think so, but in the end looks as though you lost out, forking all these dollars out and not even making finals...

He is a Key player, can turn game on its head, any bloke who can kick 70 goals in under 10 games is a key! How is that not 'Key'? Wouldn't be a bloke to captain a club, but definetly his AFL experience could be an insight to developing younger players and team structure even if he doesn't take the field, he can still have a massive impact on the club.

More to the bloke than meets the eye, when you give him the oppurtunity.

Thats_Special
12 Feb 2007, 14:22
If you look what dizone said, he said he wasn't a key footballer, not key position. As for him leaving because they were a team full of tools, then I dont see how Sunbury could be any different

Lets not get into this argument again.. All these people want to justify to themselves why a player such as AJ wouldn't fit into thier sides, yet would jump at the opportunity with half a chance.. End of story

vantheman32
12 Feb 2007, 14:24
how are numbers at training around the league?

Trueblueroo
12 Feb 2007, 14:31
40+ every night at Sunbury, more new 18's faces this year!

burger5
12 Feb 2007, 15:38
Well might be just true, not alot has been said about player who have arrived in Mulwala, and you would think a little more would have been said.... than just our local newspaper? Any truth Slugger?

Not sure how reliable my source of information is. Not a very trustworthy sort of bloke. But you never know.

And to say A.James is not a "key position" player is utter stupidity.

Thats_Special
13 Feb 2007, 09:19
Not sure how reliable my source of information is. Not a very trustworthy sort of bloke. But you never know.

And to say A.James is not a "key position" player is utter stupidity.

Who knows at this stage Burger, but hard to believe that Jamesy would have left a commitment before he has even started there..

discoduck
13 Feb 2007, 12:19
guys, i look like moving to the area in the next couple / few months. i haven't played for a couple of years, but keen enough to meet some people in the area, so am thinking of pulling the boots back on.

i'm interested in your thoughts on the best team to play for, in terms of enjoyment. also keen to find out how far the away trips are? i look like living in the kilmore area, so they're probably a monty, but interested either way.

matt_nicholls
13 Feb 2007, 12:22
guys, i look like moving to the area in the next couple / few months. i haven't played for a couple of years, but keen enough to meet some people in the area, so am thinking of pulling the boots back on.

i'm interested in your thoughts on the best team to play for, in terms of enjoyment. also keen to find out how far the away trips are? i look like living in the kilmore area, so they're probably a monty, but interested either way.

Kilmore is a good club. The next closest in the RDFL would be Lancefield. Either would be a good choice as they are looking to make the finals this year and need as many players as possible.

Romsey have numbers coming out of their ears as far as I know, although no club would knock you back ... it's just the way the teams are in this comp - friendly!

Lancefield is 12 minutes from Kilmore and the longest away trip from Kilmore would be Rockbank - which is about an hour. Most games are within 30 minutes.

blues12
13 Feb 2007, 12:28

Sunbury would be the place to enjoy your footy and meet some top blokes:D
But if you look like living in the kilmore area i would say look at either kilmore or perhaps lancefield. kilmore last year were one of the most improved and in my opinion should push for a spot in the finals, Lancefeild won the flag only a few years ago and had a few players leave but look to be on the rebound with the appointment of a new coach and the return of a few players.

discoduck
13 Feb 2007, 12:44
i'm not sure i'd be assisting any team in their push towards finals participation. it's been a few years since i've played consistantly, and a few kilo's would now be playing with me.

kilmore seems the easiest option and, if they are a bunch of good blokes, i'm more than happy to kick it around there.

thanks for the info matt and blues.

vantheman32
13 Feb 2007, 13:03
we are a pretty good bunch of blokes at kilmore, n discoduck if you love a beer im sure u would fit right in! be good 2 see some new faces up at the club

discoduck
13 Feb 2007, 13:10
we are a pretty good bunch of blokes at kilmore, n discoduck if you love a beer im sure u would fit right in! be good 2 see some new faces up at the club

love a beer! i drink the stuff for breakfast. :) (except on football mornings, because, you know, it's serious stuff).

nothings confirmed yet vantheman, but looking very likely i'll be moving your way. i'll keep in touch.

weekend warrior
13 Feb 2007, 18:13
Any news on Lee James yet? Where he goes will play a huge role in Riddels quest for 3 in a row.

I know Riddel will claim to pick up a player of equal quality if he does leave but he is just one of those special players who have a match winning aura about them. Dont think any replacement they find will be of equal value as jamesy.

burger5
13 Feb 2007, 20:07
love a beer! i drink the stuff for breakfast. :) (except on football mornings, because, you know, it's serious stuff).

nothings confirmed yet vantheman, but looking very likely i'll be moving your way. i'll keep in touch.

Think i know who the discoduck might be. And if his last name is anything to go by he is a large man who is no doubt a back line player with limited skill. hahahaha.
And I cant wait till I hear the discoduck in action when Diggers play kilmore.

burger5
13 Feb 2007, 20:11
Who knows at this stage Burger, but hard to believe that Jamesy would have left a commitment before he has even started there..

Purely what i have been told is that he may have undersold himself to the club and may have pulled out for that reason. Thats what I heard T.S.

Doona2
13 Feb 2007, 21:09

Drive to 10kms from Kilmore to Broadford mate :thumbsu:

discoduck
14 Feb 2007, 08:39
Think i know who the discoduck might be. And if his last name is anything to go by he is a large man who is no doubt a back line player with limited skill. hahahaha.
And I cant wait till I hear the discoduck in action when Diggers play kilmore.

hi burger, i'm not sure how you would know me, but if you do, you should clue me in on who you are. i'm not from the area, and closest i've played in the past is bendigo.