View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

discoduck
8 Mar 2007, 14:57
as an avid reader, just in case i make the move and line up for kilmore this year at some stage, may i just say . . . very entertaining. all of it.

Hose
8 Mar 2007, 15:27
kings Army

You honestly think that my mrs would root that ugly little bastard.

Speaking about mrs is there any chance of you getting yours back after she left you for being the biggest geek in the world.

I

Hose
8 Mar 2007, 15:28
does anyone know of a player playing at riddell who kicks like james mason from collingwood. i think he plays in the back pocket.

Kings Army
8 Mar 2007, 15:41
kings Army

You honestly think that my mrs would root that ugly little bastard.

Speaking about mrs is there any chance of you getting yours back after she left you for being the biggest geek in the world.

I

Never said it was him - I know she has standards. He knows more than he has let on. Roll the dice and ask him. We can discuss in 2 weeks at liv's 4th b'day and callum's christening if you would like.

You need to stop listening to Mark's bait he is making you look silly.

blues12
8 Mar 2007, 16:01
One good thing about the new Big Footy site is that you can start new threads, maybe these 2 fools should do just that and leave this one to talk footy.

I have heard today that Rockbanks ground is currently green and in good nick, apparently western Jets have been training on it. Can anybody confirm this?

Hose
8 Mar 2007, 16:01
Timmy Mac was in the account i am done with it so if any more post go up you know who it is

COUGHLAN!!@#37
8 Mar 2007, 16:28
One good thing about the new Big Footy site is that you can start new threads, maybe these 2 fools should do just that and leave this one to talk footy.

I have heard today that Rockbanks ground is currently green and in good nick, apparently western Jets have been training on it. Can anybody confirm this?

u can leave this forum ya little f@g...mb u can then suc some c@#k in there, no 1 wld follow but ya ugly crunt n also fcuk jets there ****e like diggers

COUGHLAN!!@#37
8 Mar 2007, 16:33
Timmy Mac was in the account i am done with it so if any more post go up you know who it is

doesnt timmy the fat mac play 4 riddell? oviously ur a riddell boy then hose..the'll miss the little blonde haired kid who played full foward...shocking hair really oviously been bleached by a dud hairdresser cause it musta got on his neck and burnt the fcuk outa it

COUGHLAN!!@#37
8 Mar 2007, 16:38
Once again serge has spoon fed you another comment.

You took long enough to write back i thought you had bitten your fingers off eating a twinkie.

What about we bring up the fact that you have never played a game of footy in your life because your mummy didnt want you to get hurt, so she bought you golf clubs. Ring any bells i too can make a phone call to serge.

hey albino boy...if my brother kicked 7 on me in a game id pretty much quit footy...haha jeez 7 wow...r u trying 2 suc up 2 surge 2 get a pay rise by losing big time games 4 the team?
ps:qantas fly 12 times a week 2 hawaii 4 only $1200 return if ya want a tan

goblues09
8 Mar 2007, 16:42
Reckon I still wouldn't mind a guy who may turn it over at times but is still good enough to get the pill ahead of guys that can't even get near it :D

ill take 10 touches a week for 9 hits rather than 25 for 15!!

blues12
8 Mar 2007, 20:56
u can leave this forum ya little f@g...mb u can then suc some c@#k in there, no 1 wld follow but ya ugly crunt n also fcuk jets there ****e like diggers

YOU ARE A D I C K H E A D :thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:

vantheman32
9 Mar 2007, 09:27
as an avid reader, just in case i make the move and line up for kilmore this year at some stage, may i just say . . . very entertaining. all of it.

who are you discoduck?
have you been to training? n whats so interesting bout it all at kilmore

Thats_Special
9 Mar 2007, 09:35
who are you discoduck?
have you been to training? n whats so interesting bout it all at kilmore

Think he is saying the read on the thread is interesting..

As for Kilmore, pretty sure the Duck said that he was moving to Kilmore earlier...

discoduck
9 Mar 2007, 10:02
Think he is saying the read on the thread is interesting..

As for Kilmore, pretty sure the Duck said that he was moving to Kilmore earlier...

yeah, sorry van, i was meaning the thread.

it could be quite funny, standing on the mark against riddells or someone - 'i've shagged eliza too'. :)

i haven't been to training. in fact, i haven't played for three years. if i move to kilmore, i'll have a kick just to meet some people. my boss (who knows kilmore a bit) reckons i'd play ones, but i tend to think i'm past it and would only be running around in the magoos. three years is a long time to come back from.

Doona2
9 Mar 2007, 10:20
yeah, sorry van, i was meaning the thread.

it could be quite funny, standing on the mark against riddells or someone - 'i've shagged eliza too'. :)

i haven't been to training. in fact, i haven't played for three years. if i move to kilmore, i'll have a kick just to meet some people. my boss (who knows kilmore a bit) reckons i'd play ones, but i tend to think i'm past it and would only be running around in the magoos. three years is a long time to come back from.

Come up to Broady mate, I drive up from Kilmore so u can jump in with me ;)

Blueboy16
9 Mar 2007, 10:58

Quite the thief hey Doona2.

Doona2
9 Mar 2007, 11:52

what makes you say that Blueboy:confused:

Thats_Special
9 Mar 2007, 12:26
Nothing wrong with his comment.. They guy hasn't signed with Kilmore.. In fact, hasn't even trained with them :D

Blueboy16
9 Mar 2007, 12:36
what makes you say that Blueboy:confused:

Just a little tongue in cheek pal.... Nothing malice in the comment.

discoduck
9 Mar 2007, 13:03
Nothing wrong with his comment.. They guy hasn't signed with Kilmore.. In fact, hasn't even trained with them :D

it sure is a signature you'd want. ;)

nah, i'd be playing at kilmore. doing it to meet locals, so no point going anywhere else. plus, reckon i'd look good in blue.

vantheman32
9 Mar 2007, 13:21
discoduck come to training 2night mate n have a run around if your free starts 6! hopefully see you there in blue

discoduck
9 Mar 2007, 13:27
discoduck come to training 2night mate n have a run around if your free starts 6! hopefully see you there in blue

still living and working in melb at the moment. hopefully in the next couple of weeks i'll get a clearer idea of the future and whether i'm moving up, but i'll try and get up for a training soon.

Mongrel
9 Mar 2007, 14:41
still living and working in melb at the moment. hopefully in the next couple of weeks i'll get a clearer idea of the future and whether i'm moving up, but i'll try and get up for a training soon.

hey duck.why dont u become a playing assistant coach.coz i hear there is
a vacancy at diggers rest.

Blueboy16
9 Mar 2007, 14:47
Diggers are going to need as much help as they can get. No decent pick ups this season so cant see any improvement

Thats_Special
9 Mar 2007, 14:49

Bwahahaha... Surely they would've given that job back to Lefty wouldn't they....

discoduck
9 Mar 2007, 14:53

they must be pretty desperate if you are suggesting that, not even knowing what level of footy i've ever played, whether i can speak or even know what i'm talking about.

i'm defo not coaching material - assistant or otherwise. my fat ar$e and big guts wouldn't be the example to set for the diggers boys.:)

Mongrel
9 Mar 2007, 14:56
they must be pretty desperate if you are suggesting that, not even knowing what level of footy i've ever played, whether i can speak or even know what i'm talking about.

i'm defo not coaching material - assistant or otherwise. my fat ar$e and big guts wouldn't be the example to set for the diggers boys.:)

well then u can definately coach the diggers twos.coz all u need is a fat gut and the will to play in the grand final after missing most the year:D

come on boys spark up.round 1 is nearly here

discoduck
9 Mar 2007, 15:00
come on boys spark up.round 1 is nearly here

when's the season kick off? how much work have kilmore been putting in? is there anyway i could possibly catch up?

Umpire22
9 Mar 2007, 15:24
boys just to keep you up to date the new hands in the back rule will not be enforced in the RDFL this season.

burger5
9 Mar 2007, 15:27
Hey blueboy how do you know that diggers have picked up no body??? I have not seen you at training, all you are going by are the clearances. And even so there are a few good players that have just been cleared to diggers. Dylan Howard, Harro, Eddie and the Gleeson brothers will be very good for Diggers this year

And Mongrel the diggers two's have a very good coach in Jeremy Newman. Coaching two grand final appearances in two years is pretty good in my book. Just hope he and Glenn can go one better in 07 after all the work they put into the club.

Sorry that the only spark I will give you at this stage.

Mongrel
9 Mar 2007, 15:52
Hey blueboy how do you know that diggers have picked up no body??? I have not seen you at training, all you are going by are the clearances. And even so there are a few good players that have just been cleared to diggers. Dylan Howard, Harro, Eddie and the Gleeson brothers will be very good for Diggers this year

And Mongrel the diggers two's have a very good coach in Jeremy Newman. Coaching two grand final appearances in two years is pretty good in my book. Just hope he and Glenn can go one better in 07 after all the work they put into the club.

Sorry that the only spark I will give you at this stage.

fair enough then.but can u tell me who im talking to,never know which one of the 30 blokes that use burger5 are posting:confused:

OMNIPOTENT_1
9 Mar 2007, 16:37
fair enough then.but can u tell me who im talking to,never know which one of the 30 blokes that use burger5 are posting:confused:

Will u & your little mate be "training" in Gisborne this week-end pal ?

goblues09
9 Mar 2007, 16:52

lol love ya work doons, but gotta ask, apart from JR, got any recruits outside of big footy?

goblues09
9 Mar 2007, 16:54
when's the season kick off? how much work have kilmore been putting in? is there anyway i could possibly catch up?

discoduck, i have it on good authority the blues will need a half back flanker for first 6 weeks

Doona2
9 Mar 2007, 19:47
lol love ya work doons, but gotta ask, apart from JR, got any recruits outside of big footy?

Do I even have any recruits on big footy? Thought I rang Terry first to see if it was ok to speak to JR, or is there a different story getting around town?

BingoBangoBongo
9 Mar 2007, 21:36
Diggers are going to need as much help as they can get. No decent pick ups this season so cant see any improvement

Funny considering they improved last year with no "decent" pickups...

I guess players don't improve their game either, they just stay the same throughout their whole playing career...

burger5
9 Mar 2007, 21:38

Only one person using this name now. I changed my password so people that will remain nameless (cough Ruane cough cough) wont post under my name.

BG

dweeb
10 Mar 2007, 18:28
CONFIRMED:
Kangas Number 1 ruckman Cam Watson has signed a clearance to Rupo after months of speculation.
According to Cam the grounds in the VAFA are softer which will suit his ongoing battle with OP compared with the rock hard grounds of the RDFL
Lets hope the situation with the terrrible grounds will not claim anymore superstars of the comp.

BingoBangoBongo
10 Mar 2007, 20:06
CONFIRMED:
Kangas Number 1 ruckman Cam Watson has signed a clearance to Rupo after months of speculation.
According to Cam the grounds in the VAFA are softer which will suit his ongoing battle with OP compared with the rock hard grounds of the RDFL
Lets hope the situation with the terrrible grounds will not claim anymore superstars of the comp.

Surely that's not the real reason? The grounds would be just as hard, wouldn't they?

Animosity
10 Mar 2007, 21:59
No big loss .... S James is twice the replacement, couldnt see watson being used anywhere else around the ground really

blues12
10 Mar 2007, 23:09
No big loss .... S James is twice the replacement, couldnt see watson being used anywhere else around the ground really

definetly not fair, cam struggled last year with O.P, and was still a key part of the roos side, will definetly be a loss for the roos, not many quality ruckmen in this comp can ruck for 4 quarters with out a back up. A big man like Cam could still be used as a target up forward.

Animosity
11 Mar 2007, 17:41
Ok so ill shed a bit of light on the "no big loss" quote ...Sure cam was a bloke you would need in your side week in week out,but that was only for the height factor,was too soft around the edges,injuries? You cant tell everyone in the whole rdfl "its coz he had O.P" so that makes it all better,injuries are injuries.A good player will perform and be vital to his side at more than %75 fit.He didnt have the frame+agression to have a presence around the ground as a 'big man' in my opinion.He has been replaced hence the term 'no big loss' ... definatley would agree if kangas had no replacement for him

billylid
11 Mar 2007, 18:13

blueboy u may have some merit to suggest diggers have no gun recruits but let me give you a few points and then tell me we wont see an improvement with diggers in 07

1. a fit jeff hertiage only played 2 or three games last year and is a huge inclusion to a very handy diggers midfield. provides grunt and gets the hardball and will bring alot of players into the game with his possessions as well as the example he sets at training and on game day

2. A fit bevan green missed 8-9 games last year of which given the nature of the injury was unable to get a level of fitness to play consistent 4 qtr senior football. this year i expect to see bevan dominating CHb like he did in 06

3. Diggers 1st team average age was only 23-24 last year and with that year of senior football and more importantly finals football will be that one year older and more experienced so naturally across the baord they will improve

4. Last years GF result in both the 1's and 2nds , really hurt the boys and this is just the added spur to take that next step. They often say you have to lose a GF before you can win one or at least learn what is needed to win one

5. Jeremy jose that one year more experienced (3rd year of football) and i expect him to become a more dominate player and every good team has a good big man.

i am looking forward to 07 and watching the boys from a different role then i had last year so although we may not have got the so called big name players dont underestimate the guys we have recruited as well as the natural progression of the guys who are suiting up next year

blues12
11 Mar 2007, 18:37
1. a fit jeff hertiage only played 2 or three games last year and is a huge inclusion to a very handy diggers midfield. provides grunt and gets the hardball and will bring alot of players into the game with his possessions as well as the example he sets at training and on game day

2. A fit bevan green missed 8-9 games last year of which given the nature of the injury was unable to get a level of fitness to play consistent 4 qtr senior football. this year i expect to see bevan dominating CHb like he did in 06

3. Diggers 1st team average age was only 23-24 last year and with that year of senior football and more importantly finals football will be that one year older and more experienced so naturally across the baord they will improve

4. Last years GF result in both the 1's and 2nds , really hurt the boys and this is just the added spur to take that next step. They often say you have to lose a GF before you can win one or at least learn what is needed to win one

5. Jeremy jose that one year more experienced (3rd year of football) and i expect him to become a more dominate player and every good team has a good big man.

i am looking forward to 07 and watching the boys from a different role then i had last year so although we may not have got the so called big name players dont underestimate the guys we have recruited as well as the natural progression of the guys who are suiting up next year

Yes heritage will be a massive bonus as he can play great footy. Green, well you know him so i guess you must be right.
Spot on with that extra year experience. but i'm sure the rest of the comp will also gain that extra year experience.

As for losing the final before winning 1. People only hear and believe what they want to, I'm sure the roos have never lost a Grand Final and then won 1.
Last year yes you had a good list that could perhaps improve a little, but i think woodend will jump above you going on what they have recruited.

You forgot to add what spurs the burra on.
Dont you print everything negative against the burra that is posted here and use it as ammunition, also making up lies and using that also. What ever fires your boys up.
Only ammunition most clubs need on game day is those 4 points.:D

blues12
11 Mar 2007, 18:45
Ok so ill shed a bit of light on the "no big loss" quote ...Sure cam was a bloke you would need in your side week in week out,but that was only for the height factor,was too soft around the edges,injuries? You cant tell everyone in the whole rdfl "its coz he had O.P" so that makes it all better,injuries are injuries.A good player will perform and be vital to his side at more than %75 fit.He didnt have the frame+agression to have a presence around the ground as a 'big man' in my opinion.He has been replaced hence the term 'no big loss' ... definatley would agree if kangas had no replacement for him
This is your opinion and definetly not the opinion of anybody at the roos, Look at how he went in 05 was one of the better ruckmen in the comp.. Have you had OP? if not how would you know how it affects people.

billylid
11 Mar 2007, 19:11
Yes heritage will be a massive bonus as he can play great footy. Green, well you know him so i guess you must be right.
Spot on with that extra year experience. but i'm sure the rest of the comp will also gain that extra year experience.

As for losing the final before winning 1. People only hear and believe what they want to, I'm sure the roos have never lost a Grand Final and then won 1.
Last year yes you had a good list that could perhaps improve a little, but i think woodend will jump above you going on what they have recruited.

You forgot to add what spurs the burra on.
Dont you print everything negative against the burra that is posted here and use it as ammunition, also making up lies and using that also. What ever fires your boys up.
Only ammunition most clubs need on game day is those 4 points.:D

my post was purely in address to blueboys quote, although i am good mates with the guy i didnt think he was rit6e when saying diggers would struggle. i wasnt comparing diggers 2 the woodends and riddells of the competition. as for your suggestion that diggers use whats said on here as ammuniation i can on;y speak for myself when i say i dont. if we are going to cast throw those stones id be wearly of a fired up Brydon morgan (another mate of mine) as from previous posts its obvious some kangaroos dont rate him although the guy kicked 6 in last years final against the kangaroos and he was on one leg. anyways like i was saying i was merely responding to blueboys post which i am sure wont be his last but like i say to him face to face his is allowed to his opinion i just dont have to agree with it and like any good clubman will stick up for my club if i think someones opinion is misguided as im sure you guys would if something was said about kangaroos

Thats_Special
12 Mar 2007, 16:20
my post was purely in address to blueboys quote, although i am good mates with the guy i didnt think he was rit6e when saying diggers would struggle. i wasnt comparing diggers 2 the woodends and riddells of the competition. as for your suggestion that diggers use whats said on here as ammuniation i can on;y speak for myself when i say i dont. if we are going to cast throw those stones id be wearly of a fired up Brydon morgan (another mate of mine) as from previous posts its obvious some kangaroos dont rate him although the guy kicked 6 in last years final against the kangaroos and he was on one leg. anyways like i was saying i was merely responding to blueboys post which i am sure wont be his last but like i say to him face to face his is allowed to his opinion i just dont have to agree with it and like any good clubman will stick up for my club if i think someones opinion is misguided as im sure you guys would if something was said about kangaroos

Careful of that too Billy.. There is nothing to suggest we dont rate Brydon, in fact its the opposite.. Maybe you could check out the other RDFL forum for a side that doesnt... (Diggers).. Thats why I was surprised he went there...

Gemini17
12 Mar 2007, 16:55
blueboy u may have some merit to suggest diggers have no gun recruits but let me give you a few points and then tell me we wont see an improvement with diggers in 07

Billy, as good as Jeremy has become, Diggers need to learn to win without him (and some of his friends). Remember, the Grand Final is played on a Sunday.

BingoBangoBongo
12 Mar 2007, 20:43
Billy, as good as Jeremy has become, Diggers need to learn to win without him (and some of his friends). Remember, the Grand Final is played on a Sunday.

Diggers beat Sunbury to get into the Prelim against Woodend last year. I think that was on a Sunday if memory serves.

So that in itself proves they can win without Jeremy and Co.

Blueboy16
12 Mar 2007, 22:12
Funny considering they improved last year with no "decent" pickups...

I guess players don't improve their game either, they just stay the same throughout their whole playing career....

Diggers wont improve on last seasons result...... Their 3 best players in the side wont play in the big one if they get there. They will give everyone the false hope again. I hate to say it but no churchies no Diggers. No one should correct me on that statement when it has been proven 2 seasons in a row.

Blueboy16
12 Mar 2007, 22:18
Diggers beat Sunbury to get into the Prelim against Woodend last year. I think that was on a Sunday if memory serves.

1 win proves nothing. Completely outplayed in Grand Final and if make it again this season will not win.

Woodend or Sunbury this season. Diggers to make up numbers.

As for Diggers 2's i have it on good advice they are lacking quality numbers and wil struggle to make finals.......

billylid
12 Mar 2007, 22:29
1 win proves nothing. Completely outplayed in Grand Final and if make it again this season will not win.

Woodend or Sunbury this season. Diggers to make up numbers.

As for Diggers 2's i have it on good advice they are lacking quality numbers and wil struggle to make finals.......

hey mate, i guess every1 has the right to express an opinion but lets revisit all this half through the 07. Thats special im sure theRE is alot of teams out there that dont rate BM as highly as they should , but i wasnt surprised knowing the guy personally to see him spend some time over at diggers As i know he has a strong passion to coach one day and arguably diggers have one of the best coaches in RDFL wouldnt you say

BingoBangoBongo
13 Mar 2007, 05:48

Diggers wont improve on last seasons result...... Their 3 best players in the side wont play in the big one if they get there. They will give everyone the false hope again. I hate to say it but no churchies no Diggers. No one should correct me on that statement when it has been proven 2 seasons in a row.

I wouldn't say two seasons in a row. 2 years ago during the finals Diggers had Steve Grey running on one leg, Jeff Heritge on one leg (both should not of even played) and Steve Ruane broke his wrist. Jeremy Jose and Stephen Hoare were overseas, it was their first year at the club and Jeremy's first year of football.

Mongrel
13 Mar 2007, 07:24

yes they did beat the kangas without those boys last year.
but the roos werent the team diggers needed to beat.riddell were the yardstick.

Mongrel
13 Mar 2007, 07:53
Will u & your little mate be "training" in Gisborne this week-end pal ?

no the potent1.suprise,suprise, ive been off the track 4 a fortnight.
battling injury and old age.should be back soon hopefully.must catch up with u and halffull 4 an ale soon.

Blueboy16
13 Mar 2007, 08:34
I wouldn't say two seasons in a row. 2 years ago during the finals Diggers had Steve Grey running on one leg, Jeff Heritge on one leg (both should not of even played) and Steve Ruane broke his wrist. Jeremy Jose and Stephen Hoare were overseas, it was their first year at the club and Jeremy's first year of football.

It's the one thing that has always frustrated me about SOME Diggers supporters & players. Although a great bunch of people they can never take the blinkers off and see the facts. Of course 2 seasons in a row the in form team going into finals, made everyone think they were the best and then ops no Jose, Walshe, Hoare or Grey, Heritage or Ruane and suffer HUGE losses. Excuses fellas. The club does not have enough big name players to cover losses come finals time. If I'm wrong I welcome this post bookmarked for early Septmeber to remind people how I was wrong. I know I wont be. :D

matt_nicholls
13 Mar 2007, 10:10
I see we have another Matt Nicholls in the RDFL.

Clearance lodged from Melton to Melton Central.

He'd have to better player than me, surely?

By the way boys, Lancefield CC's two senior sides, despite the second XI captain (yours truly) dropping three catches in the semi, will play in the grand finals this weekend.

Not bad after a five-year recess.

The footy boots might be hung up this year too, grounds are a bit hard for my liking.

blues12
13 Mar 2007, 10:24
Round 1 match of the round will not be played on a hard ground.
Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Diggers Rest will be played on the wide open spaces of Clarke Oval. (confirmed later this week) This will definetly test the fitness of players from both sides. Who will this ground suit better? Will we expect to see a low scoring game?
This could also be the game to draw a crowd with both ballarat and bendigo comps not playing.

billylid
13 Mar 2007, 10:46
Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Diggers Rest will be played on the wide open spaces of Clarke Oval. (confirmed later this week) This will definetly test the fitness of players from both sides. Who will this ground suit better? Will we expect to see a low scoring game?
This could also be the game to draw a crowd with both ballarat and bendigo comps not playing.

will the kangas get an opportunity to train on clarke before round 1 that could serve as a huge advantage

BrownDog2
13 Mar 2007, 10:47
RDFL Senior matches are now 20 minutes plus time on, not 25 minutes plus time on.

Rodriguez
13 Mar 2007, 12:13
Everyone talks about Diggers, Riddell, Sunbury and Woodend Romsey are little unknown due to departures, however are any of the teams that missed the 5 last year going to be able to displace them. Will there be any big movers this year or will the final five pretty much remain the same

matt_nicholls
13 Mar 2007, 12:24
Everyone talks about Diggers, Riddell, Sunbury and Woodend Romsey are little unknown due to departures, however are any of the teams that missed the 5 last year going to be able to displace them. Will there be any big movers this year or will the final five pretty much remain the same

Kilmore are the most likely to make a top-five bid this season.

Lancefield are probably two seasons away.

Macedon likewise.

Melton Central are about eight players short from the clearances we have seen.

Rockbank may never play finals.

jumpingjackflash
13 Mar 2007, 13:52
i might be covering old ground here, but is there any truth in the Dylan Smith to Woodend rumour?? i've heard he is about to return from o/s with Liam Runnalls and Robbie Martin just in time for the season opener. I might be way of the mark, i'm not claiming if this is fact or fiction, just heard it on the weekend and was wondering if i'd been led up the garden path or not..

blueper
13 Mar 2007, 14:01
This could also be the game to draw a crowd with both ballarat and bendigo comps not playing.Venue is probably a minor issue but if it suits either side better I would say it suits the roos who have a good running game. Have some guys who are good at getting wide and into space that can hurt you. Diggers play on a small ground and have alot of guys who like to mix it up in close but not as many runners. Both teams are slow starters from memory.

Trueblueroo
13 Mar 2007, 15:02
'Good Venue' and a 'Good Game' to kick of both teams 2007 campaign.

Both teams should not have any excuses for injuries/reports/playing list, and both should be at 100%. This should be a excellent game of football, any there should be more than 4 points to be played for in this game....

39 Days to go till round 1 2007....... a big month ahead for all clubs!

vantheman32
13 Mar 2007, 15:24
more than 4 points for the game housey thats stupid mate
kilmore has a practice match this sunday against assumption, locals should get to the main at ack to witness the robbo show

Trueblueroo
13 Mar 2007, 15:30
I meant like a 'Local cup derby' or BOG medal just for that game.... Much like what Macedon and Woodend have.....'Travis'!

Your a clown if ya thought i meant for more points for the win! You a chance to captain the blues this year?

vantheman32
13 Mar 2007, 15:42
yeah a medal would be a very good idea for the BOG, i was just stirrin you up mate i knew what ya meant, no chance for captaincy mate id say its outta robbo n tristan salter, im only 19 in my 2nd season prob a bit young n immature
ps. who would your faves for the hypothetical medal?

Trueblueroo
13 Mar 2007, 16:21
Mate there is quality both sides of the highway and that can't be ignored by any means this year!

For Diggers i can't really comment perhaps 'Bevan' could help ya out, but from hearing it could be either

1.Roo
2.Simsy
3.Lefty

For us it could be half a dozen blokes mate, from

1.Marc Grub
2.Leigh Grub
3.Helmers
4.Garth
5.Matt Welsh

Underdog for medal

1. Stephen Boyd

or

2. Jeff Herritage

It's a good concept and has been talked about for years, perhaps name it after someone who has been highly associated with both clubs or someone completly out of left field!

Animosity
13 Mar 2007, 16:40
It's a good concept and has been talked about for years, perhaps name it after someone who has been highly associated with both clubs or someone completly out of left field!

A few years back it was the Rob boyd cup as far as i remember? (EDIT:unless you are actually talking about a name for the BOG medal not the actual match) Full Forward who played a lot of games for both diggers and kangas ..... interesting to mention a 'stephen boyd' .. any relation ???? If so, could be very interesting !

Trueblueroo
13 Mar 2007, 16:44
A few years back it was the Rob boyd cup as far as i remember? Full Forward who played a lot of games for both diggers and kangas ..... interesting to mention a 'stephen boyd' .. any relation ???? If so, could be very interesting !

I have no idea to be honest, not a clue in the slightest! Do you know why the cup stopped? Would Diggers perhaps be interested in getting somehting started along these lines again?

Animosity
13 Mar 2007, 16:52
I have no idea to be honest, not a clue in the slightest! Do you know why the cup stopped? Would Diggers perhaps be interested in getting somehting started along these lines again?

Without sounding like a c.ocky p.rick TBR,I think the time the cup was made, diggers won that many times over the years it became irrelevant as to which cabinet the cup stayed in and lost interest due to DR smashing sunbury everytime they played? not %100 sure on it myself but I do remember actually being at the first game of R Boyd cup and it brought a good crowd as well! so i say bring it back!

Mongrel
13 Mar 2007, 16:53

thats a great idea.maybe we could name the cup after TS:D

Trueblueroo
13 Mar 2007, 17:03
Yeah, well both clubs have made it a high agenda match to draw crowds and sponsor's, i reckon Trev and the Diggers president need to get back onto it get it going again!

'Anim',

I reckon you could be right in that, and i 'thought' that may have been the case! Perhaps a fresh name to the game could be more appropriate to the sign of times, your thoughts?

Thats_Special
13 Mar 2007, 17:17
Without sounding like a c.ocky p.rick TBR,I think the time the cup was made, diggers won that many times over the years it became irrelevant as to which cabinet the cup stayed in and lost interest due to DR smashing sunbury everytime they played? not %100 sure on it myself but I do remember actually being at the first game of R Boyd cup and it brought a good crowd as well! so i say bring it back!

The R.Boyd cup will hopefully be up for grabs if we can get it going again.. Believe that we discussed this and are going to contact Diggers about it..

Rob Boyd is Steve Boyd's father.

Animosity
13 Mar 2007, 17:31
I reckon you could be right in that, and i 'thought' that may have been the case! Perhaps a fresh name to the game could be more appropriate to the sign of times, your thoughts?

By all means a cup for the local derby would be all the better for publicity and sponsorships,(sponsors name on the trophy,team banners for the game with local business stickers etc.)...A new personality to name the cup after would be ideal,but who would you pick?Been around RDFL for years and cant think of anyone whos had plenty of involvement with both clubs in ages?if you can,find out if the boyd kid is related ... It might spark some interest back into the cup i reckon

BingoBangoBongo
13 Mar 2007, 17:47
A Cup for the Local Derby would be a great idea.

Can't think of too many people who have played at both though...

Karney Jamieson Cup?
Dwayne Barker Cup?
Wayne Birrell Cup?

Just a few in the last 5 years :D :D :D

weekend warrior
13 Mar 2007, 19:51
wat about the Neill Sharpe Cup? neutral to both clubs and did one hell of a job lifting this league out of the cellars.

One from left field,,,,the Matthew Nicholls Cup!! would guarentee an enormous amout of coverage in the papers!!

If Diggers and Sunbury wanna do this right they have to have the matched played on a Sunday, i know i wont leave my beloved hawks to watch to rivals clash but if it was a sunday i would be sure to come down and have a peep.

BingoBangoBongo
13 Mar 2007, 19:56
wat about the Neill Sharpe Cup? neutral to both clubs and did one hell of a job lifting this league out of the cellars.

One from left field,,,,the Matthew Nicholls Cup!! would guarentee an enormous amout of coverage in the papers!!

If Diggers and Sunbury wanna do this right they have to have the matched played on a Sunday, i know i wont leave my beloved hawks to watch to rivals clash but if it was a sunday i would be sure to come down and have a peep.

I think it's obvious Diggers won't play on Sunday

weekend warrior
13 Mar 2007, 20:01
Another idea for the naming of the cup, auction the naming rights off at the launch of the season. Try to create a bidding war between companies and gain the most possible revenue.

Create a memorial which can be viewed at both football clubs which states the winner of the match, the B.O.G, and the major sponsor for that particular year.That company will be forever remembered for giving back to the local community.

Each year auction the naming rights at the launch of the season and it may become something quite prestigous for local businesses to be involved with. Allow the major sponsor to display either a replica or the original cup at their main site of business throughout the year.

When i say a memorial i just mean one of those trophy type things that hang on the walls of football clubs throughout Australia that shows premiereships won, b&f's etc. The name of it evades me at the moment!

Animosity
13 Mar 2007, 20:42
Think W/Warrior is onto something! :thumbsu: ... however every pro has a neg, if i was to pick my only neg thought about that is the lack of 'traditional value' ... i.e as in naming the cup after someone who has served both clubs well and letting their name forever go down as a legend ...

Could see the novelty eventually wearing off if the names of the cup kept changing and also the organisation process would become an annoying process year in year out

But other than that, its a really good idea, with the right amount of enthusiasm could really bring some great revenue! Would agree with the match on a sunday also,surrounding areas(lions,rupo,gissy,wdnd,mcdn,rmsy) would surely come down and watch a local derby and watch the fans get feral!

Having said ALL of that (thanks for reading) possible derby wknd? DR v SK, MAC v WDND, ROM v LCF, ROC v MCC, RID vs KLM (could only come up with "blues v bombers afl style) :p

blues12
13 Mar 2007, 20:53

You are spot on there. both clubs have had some good duels but unfortunately Rovers/Roos watched their rivals get stronger and like you said smashed them every time.
Diggers i believe still hold it in their cabinet and believe it or not many people around there actually dont know what it is for. It was mentioned to a diggers committee member last year and he didn't know what we were talking about.
So now it is time to bring it back. These 2 clubs need to fight for something more than just bragging rights at the pub.

blues12
13 Mar 2007, 20:58
I think it's obvious Diggers won't play on Sunday

Such a shame, with such a big stage, nobody else in the league can see.

ROOTA#6
13 Mar 2007, 21:02
How are my old mates Mr Connellan and Mr Plant looking on the track with Romsey???

blues12
13 Mar 2007, 21:06
Venue is probably a minor issue but if it suits either side better I would say it suits the roos who have a good running game. Have some guys who are good at getting wide and into space that can hurt you. Diggers play on a small ground and have alot of guys who like to mix it up in close but not as many runners. Both teams are slow starters from memory.

Diggers do have alot of in close players, but they definetly have players that do know how to find space, Heritage, Lefty and a few others played on this ground for a number of years and will know where to run. The roos have the runners also so it should be a good hit out.
As for the slow starters, remember it is round 1 and a big build up to this game. The tempo will be up to prove who has worked harder in the off season, it will all come down to who can keep it up. This will be a cracker and i cant wait.

Mongrel
14 Mar 2007, 10:45
Diggers do have alot of in close players, but they definetly have players that do know how to find space, Heritage, Lefty and a few others played on this ground for a number of years and will know where to run. The roos have the runners also so it should be a good hit out.
As for the slow starters, remember it is round 1 and a big build up to this game. The tempo will be up to prove who has worked harder in the off season, it will all come down to who can keep it up. This will be a cracker and i cant wait.

yeah i certainly dont beleive the slow starters bit.this game has had
an enormous build up.it will be on right from the first bounce.
diggers will start as slight favourites due 2 the past encounters,but
it should be a very hard fought game.with the kangas emerging
victorious by two goals.:eek:

billylid
14 Mar 2007, 10:51
yeah i certainly dont beleive the slow starters bit.this game has had
an enormous build up.it will be on right from the first bounce.
diggers will start as slight favourites due 2 the past encounters,but
it should be a very hard fought game.with the kangas emerging
victorious by two goals.:eek:

i think your being very generous to suggest that diggers will start slight favourites as so much has changed since last year from all accounts. if i read back over all the preseason posts and how well kangaroos have recruited and have been training i think there good be a very good case to suggest Kangaroos may be the early favourites. It would be very interesting to see what some others think that i guess dont have an alilance to either kanga's or diggers. I think last few years have shown no matter where on the ladder these two teams are its always a very close encounter and i dont see the two clashes this year being any different.

Trueblueroo
14 Mar 2007, 11:20
[quote=billylid;6937582]i think your being very generous to suggest that diggers will start slight favourites as so much has changed since last year from all accounts. if i read back over all the preseason posts and how well kangaroos have recruited and have been training i think there good be a very good case to suggest Kangaroos may be the early favourites. It would be very interesting to see what some others think that i guess dont have an alilance to either kanga's or diggers. I think last few years have shown no matter where on the ladder these two teams are its always a very close encounter and i dont see the two clashes this year being any different.[/quote

I think from both sides of the fence, i would hope both teams see each other more than twice this year.......:thumbsu:

billylid
14 Mar 2007, 11:41
[quote=billylid;6937582]i think your being very generous to suggest that diggers will start slight favourites as so much has changed since last year from all accounts. if i read back over all the preseason posts and how well kangaroos have recruited and have been training i think there good be a very good case to suggest Kangaroos may be the early favourites. It would be very interesting to see what some others think that i guess dont have an alilance to either kanga's or diggers. I think last few years have shown no matter where on the ladder these two teams are its always a very close encounter and i dont see the two clashes this year being any different.[/quote

I think from both sides of the fence, i would hope both teams see each other more than twice this year.......:thumbsu:

yeah sorry about that you are correct , i was merely talking about the regular season i should have factored in the finals..

Thats_Special
14 Mar 2007, 11:59
By all means a cup for the local derby would be all the better for publicity and sponsorships,(sponsors name on the trophy,team banners for the game with local business stickers etc.)...A new personality to name the cup after would be ideal,but who would you pick?Been around RDFL for years and cant think of anyone whos had plenty of involvement with both clubs in ages?if you can,find out if the boyd kid is related ... It might spark some interest back into the cup i reckon

Steve Boyd is Rob Boyd's son.....

As for contribution to both sides what about Steve Denko?? Bowen Medallist for Diggers and one of the influences behind the rebuilding of the Sunbury Kangaroos when he coached the side for 2 years...

OldMelburnian28
14 Mar 2007, 12:58

As for contribution to both sides what about Steve Denko?? Bowen Medallist for Diggers and one of the influences behind the rebuilding of the Sunbury Kangaroos when he coached the side for 2 years...

No alliance to either diggers or the kangas here, but it's pretty tough to call the winner 30 odd days out from game day. Seems the kangas have had the best of the pick ups i.e. boyd, but have also lost cam watson who has played a pivotal roll in the midfield.
Big ground will expose both backlines, so i think this game will be 99% mental and diggers have had a huge psychological advantage over the kangas in the past...so for me diggers!:thumbsu:

Mongrel
14 Mar 2007, 13:09
No alliance to either diggers or the kangas here, but it's pretty tough to call the winner 30 odd days out from game day. Seems the kangas have had the best of the pick ups i.e. boyd, but have also lost cam watson who has played a pivotal roll in the midfield.
Big ground will expose both backlines, so i think this game will be 99% mental and diggers have had a huge psychological advantage over the kangas in the past...so for me diggers!:thumbsu:

you wanna talk about losses.what about aaron james?
no bigger loss than him.best player in the rdfl.{bar none}

billylid
14 Mar 2007, 13:20

cant argue with that , however my memory isnt that good but im sure the kangaroos came very clsoe to beating diggers early on the year before AJ was recruited and i think its fair to say the side you had in that day wasnt as strong as the side youll be fielding in Round 1 of 07. when will AJ be back anyway , hopefully for the kangaroos stake and the RDFLS sake in time to qualify for september action (whats qualification 3 games).. Like him or Loath him no one player brings more spectators to the game in the RDFL as last year showed

blues12
14 Mar 2007, 13:28
cant argue with that , however my memory isnt that good but im sure the kangaroos came very clsoe to beating diggers early on the year before AJ was recruited and i think its fair to say the side you had in that day wasnt as strong as the side youll be fielding in Round 1 of 07. when will AJ be back anyway , hopefully for the kangaroos stake and the RDFLS sake in time to qualify for september action (whats qualification 3 games).. Like him or Loath him no one player brings more spectators to the game in the RDFL as last year showed

4 games to qualify.

OldMelburnian28
14 Mar 2007, 13:44

Yes he was a very important part of the kangas, but they have not lost him...for the season anyway, which is what i'm talking about.

blues12
14 Mar 2007, 13:47
Yes he was a very important part of the kangas, but they have not lost him...for the season anyway, which is what i'm talking about.

Does anybody really think he would want to play in this league again after the abuse he copped last year???

Blueboy16
14 Mar 2007, 13:53
Does anybody really think he would want to play in this league again after the abuse he copped last year???

So what your saying is that he won't play any part of the Kanga's lead up to the finals then? Needing 4 games to qualify and will only play 3 has decided to take the full year off?

dweeb
14 Mar 2007, 14:22

How about instead of finding one digger/sunbury legend we name it after a legend for each club?
For example the Noonan/(insert Diggers legend here) trophy
maybe even with a G.Sporle/(insert Diggers goalkicking champion here) BOG medal?:)

Mongrel
14 Mar 2007, 14:38

just spent the last hour with jamesey.he is and will remain at the kangas.
from the horses mouth [FACT]

vantheman32
14 Mar 2007, 14:43
dweeb thats a pretty good idea! im in agreeance even though i have nothing to do with either club