View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
Thats_Special
14 Mar 2007, 15:13
How about instead of finding one digger/sunbury legend we name it after a legend for each club?
For example the Noonan/(insert Diggers legend here) trophy
maybe even with a G.Sporle/(insert Diggers goalkicking champion here) BOG medal?:)
Very good idea... The Noonan/Tyquin trophy with BOG medal named after someone who has had an influence between both clubs, The Rob Boyd medal if needs be... Excellent idea dweeb..
Thats_Special
14 Mar 2007, 15:15
Van,
Whats the go with your praccy match with Assumption this week?? What time and where?
Anyone else have scheduled practice matches this weekend or next?
vantheman32
14 Mar 2007, 15:22
its an annual event its held at assumption colleges main oval it starts at 2pm will be a big crowd
BrownDog2
14 Mar 2007, 15:31
just spent the last hour with jamesey.he is and will remain at the kangas.
from the horses mouth [FACT]
wow - what a bombshell. You mean the big man is showing his loyalty to the Kanga's, or lets be honest- no other club would want a bar of a player who can only play 3 games for the season.
Blueboy16
14 Mar 2007, 15:51
wow - what a bombshell. You mean the big man is showing his loyalty to the Kanga's, or lets be honest- no other club would want a bar of a player who can only play 3 games for the season.
He would not be able to aquire a clearance this season anyway but I think you might find he will play for Kanga's in 08 too.
Mongrel
14 Mar 2007, 16:36
AH BROWNDOG2. the slightest mention of aaron james and u pipe up again.firstly his phone rings non stop from clubs that would love 2 secure his services.secondly do u play football?personally i think u are a dead set
FU@KWIT.why dont u pull on the boots round 1?
blues12
14 Mar 2007, 17:13
Very good idea... The Noonan/Tyquin trophy with BOG medal named after someone who has had an influence between both clubs, The Rob Boyd medal if needs be... Excellent idea dweeb..
I say we continue the past tradition. Just because it has been forgotten to some, it has not been forgotten to others and those people still play for it. If the roos were to win there would be some around the club asking for it, even though it was not promoted.
blueper
14 Mar 2007, 17:40
yeah i certainly dont beleive the slow starters bit.this game has had
an enormous build up.it will be on right from the first bounce.
diggers will start as slight favourites due 2 the past encounters,but
it should be a very hard fought game.with the kangas emerging
victorious by two goals.:eek: From memory Sunbury lost to Centrals in round 1 last year and then almost lost to Macedon.Diggers almost lost to Kilmore at Diggers then lost to Romsey. Thats what I meant by slow starters. Takes a while for both teams to get going.
blues12
15 Mar 2007, 07:32
From memory Sunbury lost to Centrals in round 1 last year and then almost lost to Macedon.Diggers almost lost to Kilmore at Diggers then lost to Romsey. Thats what I meant by slow starters. Takes a while for both teams to get going.
Sunbury beat Lancefeild Rnd one then just lost to centrals and diggers before beating macedon rnd 4
blues12
15 Mar 2007, 07:48
What are you trying to say about Sunbury there BD2.
you always seem to have plenty to say about the roos or Aaron and you do nothing but bag.
Why dont you say something that may be of interest to people. It was discussed earlier that the Boyd cup may be sitting in your cabinet at diggers can you confirm this?
Blueboy16
15 Mar 2007, 07:59
I might have a little surprise for BD2 within the week. Everyone may know who he is after it!
blues12
15 Mar 2007, 08:04
I might have a little surprise for BD2 within the week. Everyone may know who he is after it!
BB i believe i do know and if i am right he should be careful what he says.
bearsboy
15 Mar 2007, 12:47
Small Gisborne forward Daniel Salpietro look's likely to join Woodend this year .... Will be a very handy player around the ankle's of his stepfather Darko.
Blueboy16
15 Mar 2007, 13:05
No doubt Mr Nicholls you submitted that little Lancefield CC article in the Pulse today?
matt_nicholls
15 Mar 2007, 13:13
No doubt Mr Nicholls you submitted that little Lancefield CC article in the Pulse today?
Good ol' Mr Perkin.
We have kept in touch a few times this year.
But it was Cricket Victoria who in fact submitted the info.
We have become very chummy with the major sporting body this year - they have been sensational.
Blueboy16
15 Mar 2007, 13:37
Just wondering if you have heard the little rumour going around that THE OX maybe pulling the boots on for Diggers this season. The reining Bowen Medalist broke the story last nite on the other forum? Anyone else heard or can confirm a signing?
matt_nicholls
15 Mar 2007, 14:08
Just wondering if you have heard the little rumour going around that THE OX maybe pulling the boots on for Diggers this season. The reining Bowen Medalist broke the story last nite on the other forum? Anyone else heard or can confirm a signing?
Can he play on Sundays?
Blueboy16
15 Mar 2007, 14:14
Can he play on Sundays?
What are Ch 7's commitments to the Footy? I know they do Friday nites.
Trueblueroo
15 Mar 2007, 14:37
Surely not, he would have to be around 110 to 130KG! Is he fit, by any srt of means or not? Be interesting if he does, could be just what Diggeres need in 2007!
Doesn't he commentate on the radio for the footy as well?
billylid
15 Mar 2007, 15:09
Surely not, he would have to be around 110 to 130KG! Is he fit, by any srt of means or not? Be interesting if he does, could be just what Diggeres need in 2007!
Doesn't he commentate on the radio for the footy as well?
creates alot of what if type thoughts if this rumour is true but what are the chances of it being true... if it did come to fruiton and he was to play out of FF (even for 5-6 games) fair chance it could be said that he would have same influence that AJ had for Kangaroos, lets not forget the exposure the RDFL would also get as well.
But whoever created this rumour is either a genius or has a creative imagination.. Lets see what pans out in the next few weeks.
Diggers current FF is pushing 110kg so size has nothing to do with ability to kick multiple goals..
Thats_Special
15 Mar 2007, 15:24
creates alot of what if type thoughts if this rumour is true but what are the chances of it being true... if it did come to fruiton and he was to play out of FF (even for 5-6 games) fair chance it could be said that he would have same influence that AJ had for Kangaroos, lets not forget the exposure the RDFL would also get as well.
But whoever created this rumour is either a genius or has a creative imagination.. Lets see what pans out in the next few weeks.
Diggers current FF is pushing 110kg so size has nothing to do with ability to kick multiple goals..
If he is going to do the same as Diggers current Full forward does that mean he will only be kicking goals against the bottom sides???
I have a question that I think will bring mixed responses- What is the biggest game of the season that your club would die for to win ( not the Grand Final)? Meaning the blockbuster for each club, like a Carlton Collingwood match.The one or two Games that your whole club want to win in the home and away season. That is for evey club in the RDFL. Just interested it might help some people who might like to go and watch a good game of footy.
Blueboy16
15 Mar 2007, 15:37
If he is going to do the same as Diggers current Full forward does that mean he will only be kicking goals against the bottom sides???
Fair Comment!
weekend warrior
15 Mar 2007, 15:38
I have a question that I think will bring mixed responses- What is the biggest game of the season that your club would die for to win ( not the Grand Final)? Meaning the blockbuster for each club, like a Carlton Collingwood match.The one or two Games that your whole club want to win in the home and away season. That is for evey club in the RDFL. Just interested it might help some people who might like to go and watch a good game of footy.
well from a point of view from the Hawkas, i would have to say Riddel at Woodend would be the game i would love to win!
billylid
15 Mar 2007, 15:44
i was expecting that response thats special as ive come to the realisation you dont rate him thats fine you are entitled to your opinion but he is still a proven goal kicker no matter what picture you paint.
billylid
15 Mar 2007, 15:46
from a supporter of diggers id have to say Diggers vs either riddell or kangaroos to hard to seperate im afriad
goblues09
15 Mar 2007, 16:56
I would say it would have tp be Riddell for us - you always wanna beat the best, plus - its Riddell! I think the one i look forward to most though is Diggers, have had many close encounters over the last 6 or so years stemming back to 18s where they got us by 3 points in the GF - since than i can only recall the one match where the margin was over 10pts!
Animosity
15 Mar 2007, 16:59
THE OX ? ..... let me get this straight ... are you talking THE david schwarz? no sarcasm or b/s,I know my footy but there could be a million blokes named ' the ox ' for all i know... a yes or no and i can give u a factual answer if he will play or not, that is of course if u are talkin about schwarta
blues12
15 Mar 2007, 17:20
Is that the same shwartz that was apparently going to line up for macedon last year or the year before.
Brian Taylor lives in Riddell the roos might try and get him up and make it an interesting round 1:D
discoduck
15 Mar 2007, 22:14
its an annual event its held at assumption colleges main oval it starts at 2pm will be a big crowd
how are numbers for the weekend van?
vantheman32
15 Mar 2007, 22:34
not entirely sure for weekend mate
was 30 at trainin last night
people always turn up on the day against assumption
how are numbers for the weekend van?
get vans number disco and get up for a run. I spent an hour at the college this morning with both the coach Mr. Carroll and the head curator big Carbs and it's truly like an oasis in the middle of a desert . . . . . the best surface anyone round here will get near in 2007.
Thats_Special
16 Mar 2007, 06:58
i was expecting that response thats special as ive come to the realisation you dont rate him thats fine you are entitled to your opinion but he is still a proven goal kicker no matter what picture you paint.
I would expect that you would expect it... Lets be honest, the guy has done nothing against quality football sides, doesn't make him a proven goal kicker.. Lee James is a proven goalkicker, Arnel Davis is a proven goal kicker, Chris Payne is not....
bearsboy
16 Mar 2007, 08:26
Small Gisborne forward Daniel Salpietro look's likely to join Woodend this year .... Will be a very handy player around the ankle's of his stepfather Darko.Any one know of any other father son combinations , fair effort i reckon . Greg Cannard played in the same side as his 2 son's a few years ago at Sunbury . It happen's in cricket a fair bit , not very often in footy .
Real good player this kid (Salpy) i reckon he's good for at least 50-60 goals from a pocket . With the quality Woodend have picked up , no doubt they will be the side to beat this year.
discoduck
16 Mar 2007, 09:02
get vans number disco and get up for a run. I spent an hour at the college this morning with both the coach Mr. Carroll and the head curator big Carbs and it's truly like an oasis in the middle of a desert . . . . . the best surface anyone round here will get near in 2007.
i don't think there is any need for me to embarrass myself like that just yet. if you were short, i'd come for a bit of fun, but if you've got plenty, i'd just be wasting your time.
best of luck boys. look forward to positive reports.
Mongrel
16 Mar 2007, 10:53
I would expect that you would expect it... Lets be honest, the guy has done nothing against quality football sides, doesn't make him a proven goal kicker.. Lee James is a proven goalkicker, Arnel Davis is a proven goal kicker, Chris Payne is not....
bit harsh TS.payney might have been carrying a bit last year,but he works very hard in the forward line.i reckon he gets the most out of himself too.
i know its your opinion pal but i disagree with u for once:thumbsu:
billylid
16 Mar 2007, 11:23
bit harsh TS.payney might have been carrying a bit last year,but he works very hard in the forward line.i reckon he gets the most out of himself too.
i know its your opinion pal but i disagree with u for once:thumbsu:
that is a perfect summarisation of Chris Payne.. I look forward to TS rebuttal as TS simply appears to have a bone too pick with Chris
rightfoot_sloth
16 Mar 2007, 12:00
How much is Diggers going to miss Davis this year ? He gave a different dimension to their forward setup last year. Will Payne step up and fill the void ?
billylid
16 Mar 2007, 12:43
How much is Diggers going to miss Davis this year ? He gave a different dimension to their forward setup last year. Will Payne step up and fill the void ?
well given CP was in the top 3 goalkickers last year reckon he did enough and doesnt need to step up so to speak. Arnel will be missed but its just presents an opportunity for someone else. looked for a greater level of scoring output from Cole Laurie i reckon he good have a 40-50 goal season
Thats_Special
16 Mar 2007, 14:07
that is a perfect summarisation of Chris Payne.. I look forward to TS rebuttal as TS simply appears to have a bone too pick with Chris
I have no issue with anyone's opinion if its well thought out.. It may be a perfect summarisation to Mongrel and yourself.. Me personally, I have no bone to pick with Chris, I just dont think he is as effective or as good as people make out he is.. Its just my opinion... I made it clear earlier and backed it up with stats that Chris finished 3rd in the goalkicking last year, he kicked over 80% of his goals against the bottom 5 sides, this includes finals.. As the sides full forward the most he contributed against a top side was 4 against Woodend once, his next best was 2.. All good if you are a player expected to kick 1 or 2 as a flanker or a pocket, but Chris is a Key Position forward, he leaves too much work to his teammates.. Especially against the stronger sides.. I will tell you now, that if he improves his work ethic and input against the leagues better sides I will be the first to say that he has been impressive.. Until then.. My opinion will remain...:thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
16 Mar 2007, 14:13
I have no issue with anyone's opinion if its well thought out.. It may be a perfect summarisation to Mongrel and yourself.. Me personally, I have no bone to pick with Chris, I just dont think he is as effective or as good as people make out he is.. Its just my opinion... I made it clear earlier and backed it up with stats that Chris finished 3rd in the goalkicking last year, he kicked over 80% of his goals against the bottom 5 sides, this includes finals.. As the sides full forward the most he contributed against a top side was 4 against Woodend once, his next best was 2.. All good if you are a player expected to kick 1 or 2 as a flanker or a pocket, but Chris is a Key Position forward, he leaves too much work to his teammates.. Especially against the stronger sides.. I will tell you now, that if he improves his work ethic and input against the leagues better sides I will be the first to say that he has been impressive.. Until then.. My opinion will remain...:thumbsu:
Totally agree
Thats_Special
16 Mar 2007, 14:15
Anyone playing a praccy match this Saturday???
The Broadford Football Club is seeking an opponent for a practice game on Thursday April 5th. The immaculate GVFL facilities at Kings Park in Seymour are available for the fixture. One game only with a kick off time around 7.30pm following Seymour training.
With the following day a public holiday, perfect opportunity for a hit-out, social get together and use of a top class venue.
Anyone interested please call Chris Nolan (0419363845) or private message me thanks.
Thats_Special
16 Mar 2007, 14:17
well given CP was in the top 3 goalkickers last year reckon he did enough and doesnt need to step up so to speak. Arnel will be missed but its just presents an opportunity for someone else. looked for a greater level of scoring output from Cole Laurie i reckon he good have a 40-50 goal season
Now Cole Laurie is a different story... One of the leagues best game breakers... Im getting myself a Diggers Jumper with number 16 on it :D
billylid
16 Mar 2007, 14:23
Now Cole Laurie is a different story... One of the leagues best game breakers... Im getting myself a Diggers Jumper with number 16 on it :D
here is an idea maybe ur good mate and fellow poster Blueboy16 can sell you or donate his as given he will no longer be using it.
Not arguing with those stats but you do need to bare in mind the amount of time he plays FF , i think you find throughout a game chris can find himself in the backline , on a flank or at CHF.
I eagerly await this year to see how CP performs against teh likes of romseys, woodends, riddells and kangaroos
Also just out of the blue would CP get a game in Kangaroos senior side
vantheman32
16 Mar 2007, 14:30
doona contact terry n try n get a kilmore vs broadford match! would be a great oppurtunity for both clubs a good match n a good rivalry
vantheman32
16 Mar 2007, 14:31
i agree with TS, Cole "Lefty" Laurie is a game breaker n hes a good bloke to have a drink with after the game too! hope to see him have another good season but not when he plays against kilmore
Thats_Special
16 Mar 2007, 14:52
here is an idea maybe ur good mate and fellow poster Blueboy16 can sell you or donate his as given he will no longer be using it.
Not arguing with those stats but you do need to bare in mind the amount of time he plays FF , i think you find throughout a game chris can find himself in the backline , on a flank or at CHF.
I eagerly await this year to see how CP performs against teh likes of romseys, woodends, riddells and kangaroos
Possibly.. Tough one to answer...
billylid
16 Mar 2007, 15:01
Possibly.. Tough one to answer...
wouldnt have thought it would be ,given he finsihed 3rd on the goal kicking and the 2 guys that match his tally or better it are unfortunally not taking any part in season 07 or most of 07..
Id be very interested in other kangaroo associated posters to my question would CP get a game in the kangaroos 1sts
Thats_Special
16 Mar 2007, 15:01
Again Billy, the Diggers games I saw last year (6 games) Chris played up forward for the entire time he was on the field...
Blueboy16
16 Mar 2007, 15:02
Already burned my Diggers Jumper. I promised I would burn it after last years issues.
Mongrel
16 Mar 2007, 15:04
im not sure billy.our reserves are pretty strong:D
Thats_Special
16 Mar 2007, 15:06
wouldnt have thought it would be ,given he finsihed 3rd on the goal kicking and the 2 guys that match his tally or better it are unfortunally not taking any part in season 07 or most of 07..
Id be very interested in other kangaroo associated posters to my question would CP get a game in the kangaroos 1sts
Ill answer it in my opinion only... Yes, he could.. But he would in no way be a walk up start..
doona contact terry n try n get a kilmore vs broadford match! would be a great oppurtunity for both clubs a good match n a good rivalry
Tried to book a game 5-6 weeks ago but dates didnt work for Tez, tried again this morning and he said ya's have 3 already. Agree though Van, annoys me to think that we have 15-16 clubs within an hours drive yet we compete against just one each season. Kilmore v Broady should be a permanent fixture every pre-season I reckon.
Anyway Sunbury Kangaroos jumped in for the game I reckon 2 minutes after I posted it - who said Big Footy doesn't work. Big thanks to Gavin Sporle and we look forward to the hit out in a few weeks
Thats_Special
16 Mar 2007, 15:15
Confirmation...
Round 1.. Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Diggers Rest at Clarke Oval, Riddell Road Sunbury.
All the leagues that dont start until May 5th, get along and watch local rivalry at its best, the day will start at 10.00am with the Under 18's, 12pm with the Kangaroos Reserves unfurling the clubs first ever premiership and then the Main Event at 2pm..
It will be a massive day, hopefully everyone can come along and enjoy the day.... Call off the rest of the round I say so everyone can come along and see a beauty to kick off the season.
BingoBangoBongo
16 Mar 2007, 15:17
Already burned my Diggers Jumper. I promised I would burn it after last years issues.
That's a bit stupid, don't you think?
What on earth would possess you to burn a footy jumper?
Sort of like treason. Must of been something pretty bad.
Blueboy16
16 Mar 2007, 15:22
Kangaroos Reserves unfurling the clubs first ever premiership
Should make the Diggers 2's boys watch the presentation..... Now that would be GOLD. Wish I could be there to watch.
billylid
16 Mar 2007, 15:23
thats a bit drastic.... Well TS diggers jumpers sell for 60-65 dollars (o6 prices) would you like me to order one with number 16 on the back it can be arranged
billylid
16 Mar 2007, 15:25
Should make the Diggers 2's boys watch the presentation..... Now that would be GOLD. Wish I could be there to watch.
i will be watching it from the stands , it will hurt but what grand final loss doesnt.. whats the usual protocol for these things its unveiled before the team runs out or earlier
Thats_Special
16 Mar 2007, 15:27
i will be watching it from the stands , it will hurt but what grand final loss doesnt.. whats the usual protocol for these things its unveiled before the team runs out or earlier
The 2 sides run out then line up near the flag pole before the flag is unfurled.. Then a speech from a club committee member (Short one).. Then game on!!!!!!!!
Blueboy16
16 Mar 2007, 15:28
That's a bit stupid, don't you think?
What on earth would possess you to burn a footy jumper?
Sort of like treason. Must of been something pretty bad.
That is a distant memory now Bingo...... If you want to go back 30 odd pages you might be able to read it. Something to do with some real fat big mouthed coach who thought that playing himself in the GF after only playing the odd game during the year would benifet the side. Only ended up with 1 handball and 3/4 of game on bench because it was too cold & wet. Good on ya Jeremy Newman..........TOOL:thumbsd:
Thats_Special
16 Mar 2007, 15:28
thats a bit drastic.... Well TS diggers jumpers sell for 60-65 dollars (o6 prices) would you like me to order one with number 16 on the back it can be arranged
Lol.. Sounds good.. Ill let you know... 65 is a bit steep, im getting married this year... Lol
BingoBangoBongo
16 Mar 2007, 15:31
That is a distant memory now Bingo...... If you want to go back 30 odd pages you might be able to read it. Something to do with some real fat big mouthed coach who thought that playing himself in the GF after only playing the odd game during the year would benifet the side. Only ended up with 1 handball and 3/4 of game on bench becuase it was too cold & wet. Good on ya Jeremy Newman..........TOOL
Oh i see. What has that have to do with you?
Blueboy16
16 Mar 2007, 15:35
Oh i see. What has that have to do with you?
Someone who missed out on the game after playing whole season!
Fat **** wanted all the glory and it backfired in his face. I felt real sorry for all the other blokes but was laughing inside watching him walk off the ground almost in tears.
BingoBangoBongo
16 Mar 2007, 15:42
Someone who missed out on the game after playing whole season!
Fat **** wanted all the glory and it backfired in his face. I felt real sorry for all the other blokes but was laughing inside watching him walk off the ground almost in tears.
Didn't you miss the grand final a few years back at Diggers?
billylid
16 Mar 2007, 15:42
Lol.. Sounds good.. Ill let you know... 65 is a bit steep, im getting married this year... Lol
well spend up big b4 what is urs becomes hers....
Blueboy16
16 Mar 2007, 15:46
Didn't you miss the grand final a few years back at Diggers?
BINGO...... Dan Walsh happened to make that decision. Also dropped the Vice Captain Karney Jamieson. 2 blokes that had kicked almost 50 goals between us that year and we lost by a point.
I will never play, sponsor or do a thing for that club ever again.
BingoBangoBongo
16 Mar 2007, 15:49
BINGO...... Dan Walsh happened to make that decision. Also dropped the Vice Captain Karney Jamieson. 2 blokes that had kicked almost 50 goals between them that year and we lost by a point.
Well being that 2 blokes (that don't really know each other at all) made exactly the same decision wouldn't that mean that YOU are the problem?
Just a thought...
Blueboy16
16 Mar 2007, 15:55
Well being that 2 blokes (that don't really know each other at all) made exactly the same decision wouldn't that mean that YOU are the problem?
Just a thought...
Possible Bingo but they lost both GF's so I'm having the last laugh. Combine both those 2 seasons of goals I kicked and it would come somewhere close to 80 odd so not too bad for someone who gets dropped due to personality clashes. Or maybe looking into it deeper and you might find that Dan Walsh brought in 2 of his best mates in finals who were closer to 40 and hadn't played all year. That's Diggers problem. Mates come first in glory games. history has proven it.
Blueboy16
16 Mar 2007, 15:57
BINGO...... Dan Walsh happened to make that decision. Also dropped the Vice Captain Karney Jamieson. 2 blokes that had kicked almost 50 goals between us that year and we lost by a point.
Sorry that comment is wrong. I will bag the hell out of them all this year. They need to be reminded of being chockers & excuse makers......
rioli brownlow
16 Mar 2007, 16:20
Possible Bingo but they lost both GF's so I'm having the last laugh. Combine both those 2 seasons of goals I kicked and it would come somewhere close to 80 odd so not too bad for someone who gets dropped due to personality clashes. Or maybe looking into it deeper and you might find that Dan Walsh brought in 2 of his best mates in finals who were closer to 40 and hadn't played all year. That's Diggers problem. Mates come first in glory games. history has proven it.
from an outsiders view from the sideline , you are right on the money there blue boy! espically the case with the last 2 ressies coaches.
BingoBangoBongo
16 Mar 2007, 16:41
One of them blokes closer to 40 ended up getting BOG in the grand final.
Blueboy16
16 Mar 2007, 16:45
One of them blokes closer to 40 ended up getting BOG in the grand final.
In who's opinion? The boys club themselves. There is no such thing as BOG for the losing side. No-one cares about a losing side BOG. Just ask Nathan Buckley.
matt_nicholls
16 Mar 2007, 17:42
In who's opinion? The boys club themselves. There is no such thing as BOG for the losing side. No-one cares about a losing side BOG. Just ask Nathan Buckley.
Pretty sure Gary Ablett is a better example. Nine goals in the losing 1989 grand final against Hawthorn to win the Norm Smith ...
footyfever
16 Mar 2007, 20:21
Hey Blueboy16, did you ever think you got dropped from those grandfinals cause you are ****.
Gemini17
16 Mar 2007, 22:10
Hey Blueboy16, did you ever think you got dropped from those grandfinals cause you are ****.
You must be a star footyfever.
The last 3 teams he has played for have played off in the Grand Final. The one game he did play in, they won the flag!
Hope the omen continues this year Blueboy.
BingoBangoBongo
16 Mar 2007, 23:28
You must be a star footyfever.
The last 3 teams he has played for have played off in the Grand Final. The one game he did play in, they won the flag!
Hope the omen continues this year Blueboy.
And who was the coach of that side???
Ahh that's right, one J Newman.
So you're his mate when he gets you a flag, but not your mate when he doesn't?
BingoBangoBongo
16 Mar 2007, 23:29
And no, i believe the umpires voted on that sonny jim...
goblues09
17 Mar 2007, 03:28
Pretty sure Gary Ablett is a better example. Nine goals in the losing 1989 grand final against Hawthorn to win the Norm Smith ...
basically tells the bloke - you were good but had no support - in a game that was decided by 6 pts (1989 hawks) and 9 pts (2003 lions) surely a BOG in a game so close can be picked from the winning side - im sure players from losing sides would feel embarrassed to be BOG in a losing side - i know what medal id prefer
goblues09
17 Mar 2007, 03:32
tis a shame DOONS - had a prac game couple years ago wit the Roos and was well contested in good spirit (surprisingly) but we had a ball and coincidentally on the Eve of Good Friday - yes we may already have 3 pracs lined up but when ya have the reigning premiers first up - or anyone really - can ya have too much match practice going on our starts to the last few seasons??
May be something we could push for next year to become a permanent fixture - even if both clubsplay for a keg or something to make sure theres an atmosphere after the game
dare i say it but do u think the JR issue may have come into play??:eek:
Thats_Special
17 Mar 2007, 11:45
tis a shame DOONS - had a prac game couple years ago wit the Roos and was well contested in good spirit (surprisingly) but we had a ball and coincidentally on the Eve of Good Friday - yes we may already have 3 pracs lined up but when ya have the reigning premiers first up - or anyone really - can ya have too much match practice going on our starts to the last few seasons??
May be something we could push for next year to become a permanent fixture - even if both clubsplay for a keg or something to make sure theres an atmosphere after the game
dare i say it but do u think the JR issue may have come into play??:eek:
Lol... I just woulda liked to see JR line up in the middle against Van.. Just to see if Van would miss him at all... :D
Thats_Special
17 Mar 2007, 12:04
Very helpful in's for Romsey with Connellan, Plant, Edwards and McNaughton... Although expected...
vantheman32
17 Mar 2007, 17:01
would love to play against JR would be a good challenge was up watchin the c grade semi final in cricket today with johnny havin a chat still see him around town quite alot good bloke! but i think the players we have recruited will cover the players that have left.
Rodriguez
17 Mar 2007, 20:43
Very helpful in's for Romsey with Connellan, Plant, Edwards and McNaughton... Although expected...
McNaughton how good will he be? We don't get too many blokes who have played full years at TAC level running around in our comp. Did he have much of an impact at Kyneton?? If Romsey keep Burlak, add McNaughton and they have a couple of quality younger talls.
blues12
17 Mar 2007, 22:51
would love to play against JR would be a good challenge was up watchin the c grade semi final in cricket today with johnny havin a chat still see him around town quite alot good bloke! but i think the players we have recruited will cover the players that have left.
you must remember that players that are recruited should be done so to add depth and strength to the list. if they replace exiting players, clubs will always fight a battle to improve their list. Recruiting new players to a club should be done to fill in any weak links that may be in a side and to compliment the existing team.
Kilmore look to have signed a few and hopefully not only will they replace the departed but also help strengthen and push them into finals this year. (as long as they dont push the roos out :D )
Blueboy16
17 Mar 2007, 23:58
And who was the coach of that side???
Ahh that's right, one J Newman.
So you're his mate when he gets you a flag, but not your mate when he doesn't?
Actually you must be either blinded or know stuff all. Even though I had moved to Sydney during the finals I was getting dribble spoken to me that if I could find a team in Sydney to train with during the week and at my own expense fly down of a weekend that I would get a game only to be told on a Thursday nite that I didnt get a game. I gave not only him but Glenn the coach of the team I was training with to confirm I was doing the rite thing but he got no call. If anyone on this Forum says that I am not a better player than that fat c*** I will give up footy all together. By the way Jeremy thought he coached centrals but no matter who the coach was that season centrals had the talent and would of won the flag. I think you all underestimate that work Shane Geddes did.
He is no longer a mate because he screwed a mate. Also if he ever asks to borrow money dont do it. He owes me over $1500 which he never paid back......
Blueboy16
17 Mar 2007, 23:59
And no, i believe the umpires voted on that sonny jim...
Actually Pinhead got BOG and deserved it. He had played all year. You have no idea pal.... You must not be from Diggers cause we all know that.
burger5
18 Mar 2007, 15:49
This is a football forum blueboy. Even if the guy owes you money or whatever this is not the place to discuss things like that.
Just like you and TS always say, this is a forum for football related discussions.
Keep the personal attacks to yourself. No one wants to hear that ****.
Time to move on from the happenings of last year. You have expressed your point of view and thats fine. But you have left the club and the league so move on. There is more to life than getting so worked up about a game of football.
Blueboy16
19 Mar 2007, 07:49
Anyone play practice matches on the weekend? Any positive results?
Blueboy16
19 Mar 2007, 09:35
Is this OX rumour going to get some legs or was it just Ruane talking crap again? Similar rumours from in the past have turned out being tongue in cheek or stirring!
Blueboy16
19 Mar 2007, 09:47
And your so special Footy Fever. I think I have you covered pretty easy. I never suggested I was a gun pal. Just 10 times better than Mr Varicose Veins.
quick stix
19 Mar 2007, 10:15
Grant Spencer, the RDFL's answer to the AFL's Brian Strauchan..
Thanks for the laughs Straunie!!
Blueboy16
19 Mar 2007, 10:25
Grant Spencer, the RDFL's answer to the AFL's Brian Strauchan..
Thanks for the laughs Straunie!!
Anytime. HAHAHA:D :thumbsu:
Thats_Special
19 Mar 2007, 13:14
How did the Praccy match go on the weekend Van???
Anyone got a match scheduled for this weekend?
matt_nicholls
19 Mar 2007, 13:36
How did the Praccy match go on the weekend Van???
Anyone got a match scheduled for this weekend?
Kilmore got rolled in both games against Assumption.
The Blues were down by 31 points at qtr time and lost by 31 points, so they were even for three quarters.
I was playing in the GF so couldn't make it.
Blueboy16
19 Mar 2007, 14:19
Kilmore got rolled in both games against Assumption.
The Blues were down by 31 points at qtr time and lost by 31 points, so they were even for three quarters.
I was playing in the GF so couldn't make it.
How did Lancefield go in the GF's Matt?
matt_nicholls
19 Mar 2007, 14:49
How did Lancefield go in the GF's Matt?
D-grade are under the pump against a usual stacked Gisborne D-grade side.
The Dragons won the toss, batted the day and a half, finishing on 10/331.
Lancefield batted two hours yesterday and are currently 4/50, although they do bat down to 11, the firsts are in strife.
------------
I won the toss, controversially sent Bacchus Marsh in and we skittled them for 82 in F-grade. In reply we were coasting at 4/65 but lost a few and was dismissed for 88.
Currently Bacchus Marsh are 8/130 with a lead of 124.
We will win.
vantheman32
19 Mar 2007, 15:27
the praccy match was alrite TS was a very hot afternoon, the seconds battled hard all day.
in the ones we went down by 4 goals i think, not sure it was a good hit out, no1 really stood out for kilmore.
umpiring wasnt of the best standard for kilmore we had alot of very "dubious" decisions handed against us! that being said the first 10 mins of game killed us where they exploded they were very quick!
ahhh well still good 2 get the run in the legs!
Blueboy16
19 Mar 2007, 15:31
Hey TS
Kanga's with a few more clearances in
What to give up some info on
Devin Powell & Chris Galea. Will these guys be regular 1's players
Also Anthony Higgins left Centrals again for Romsey & Cory Battye off to Bell Hill in GDFL
Thats_Special
19 Mar 2007, 15:39
Hey TS
Kanga's with a few more clearances in
What to give up some info on
Devin Powell & Chris Galea. Will these guys be regular 1's players
Also Anthony Higgins left Centrals again for Romsey & Cory Battye off to Bell Hill in GDFL
Dev could be regular 1's.. Chris is a potential superstar...