View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

Mongrel
19 Mar 2007, 15:49
Dev could be regular 1's.. Chris is a potential superstar...

sunburys version of dan sipthorpe

Blueboy16
19 Mar 2007, 16:31
sunburys version of dan sipthorpe

Which one Dean? Chris came from Strathmore, was he in the 1's?

Mongrel
19 Mar 2007, 17:03

chris.dont know pal.havent met him yet

goblues09
19 Mar 2007, 17:29
lol matt you must be the only one who knows the true score - we watched the board at half time as our score went from 5 goals up to six then back to five, yet at half time we had one bloke with three to his name and at least 3 other singles - but hey its assumption and some things never change!!!

Trueblueroo
19 Mar 2007, 17:35
Did you play Duff? And how did Robbo go?

goblues09
19 Mar 2007, 19:31
yeah i had a run - robbo was his usual self - 30 odd touches, goudge went good on the ball and the new blokes all showed a bit too so i think ill struggle to get back in come round 7

Ballsy
20 Mar 2007, 07:35
Dev could be regular 1's.. Chris is a potential superstar...
Dont take the Mickey out of Chris you know and i know he just loves being around a football club and likes to help in any way he can will be interested to see if you give him a game in the twos this year because he wont miss a training session.

Mongrel
20 Mar 2007, 07:47
lol matt you must be the only one who knows the true score - we watched the board at half time as our score went from 5 goals up to six then back to five, yet at half time we had one bloke with three to his name and at least 3 other singles - but hey its assumption and some things never change!!!

maybe im a bit out of touch with junior footy,but shouldnt a good senior side beat the likes of assumption?
i understand they would have a gun young side,but i just would have thought youd get the better of them:confused:

matt_nicholls
20 Mar 2007, 07:58
maybe im a bit out of touch with junior footy,but shouldnt a good senior side beat the likes of assumption?
i understand they would have a gun young side,but i just would have thought youd get the better of them:confused:

Well Kilmore hasn't beaten them for a long time and ACK are not at their peak of their powers at present either.

Five years ago when Assumption were at their best, I don't think many, if any, RDFL clubs could beat them.

inthemix
20 Mar 2007, 08:14

Chrissy was hanging around Strathmore last year and probably played 2 games in the twos when they were really short. Loved being around the club and used to get the train from Sunbury to Essendon then a bus to Strathmore to get to training. But with the departure of A Train back to Sunbury this year looks like Chrissy has chosen a club closer to home.

Doona2
20 Mar 2007, 09:12

Sounds like u are Mongrel, the majority of these kids are rep players from somewhere, some on TAC lists, and senior players from their home town clubs. I think you'd be surprised at the standard these boys play. In saying that they have been a little down the past couple of years but they looked quite slick on Sunday, height may be their only concern in 2007.

5 goals in the opening 15 minutes was what did it, Kilmore chased from then on but to their credit showed signs of vast improvement. George looked a likely ruck type, Robbo and Hede thru the guts, Straney at CHF, Salter and Kemp were good across half back.

Throw in Elmore recruit Rick Smith who burnt in the earlier game (had to shoot off to work) and the Blue Baggers may take a few by surprise. Buckets at Full Forward presented well and looks a target, and a young blonde kid (wore 3) showed a bit too.

I was taken back by the Barton turnover talk a few weeks back coz from memory a few boys turned it over lots!!!

Mongrel
20 Mar 2007, 10:30
Sounds like u are Mongrel, the majority of these kids are rep players from somewhere, some on TAC lists, and senior players from their home town clubs. I think you'd be surprised at the standard these boys play. In saying that they have been a little down the past couple of years but they looked quite slick on Sunday, height may be their only concern in 2007.

5 goals in the opening 15 minutes was what did it, Kilmore chased from then on but to their credit showed signs of vast improvement. George looked a likely ruck type, Robbo and Hede thru the guts, Straney at CHF, Salter and Kemp were good across half back.

Throw in Elmore recruit Rick Smith who burnt in the earlier game (had to shoot off to work) and the Blue Baggers may take a few by surprise. Buckets at Full Forward presented well and looks a target, and a young blonde kid (wore 3) showed a bit too.

I was taken back by the Barton turnover talk a few weeks back coz from memory a few boys turned it over lots!!!

doona what is the date 4 the sunbury,broadford game?

Thats_Special
20 Mar 2007, 10:56
Dont take the Mickey out of Chris you know and i know he just loves being around a football club and likes to help in any way he can will be interested to see if you give him a game in the twos this year because he wont miss a training session.

Im not at all, quite the opposite.. May have misread me a bit... Its good to have these types of guys around the club.. Lifts the morale of the boys... :thumbsu:

Thats_Special
20 Mar 2007, 10:57
doona what is the date 4 the sunbury,broadford game?
5th April Mongrel

Thats_Special
20 Mar 2007, 11:05
Chrissy was hanging around Strathmore last year and probably played 2 games in the twos when they were really short. Loved being around the club and used to get the train from Sunbury to Essendon then a bus to Strathmore to get to training. But with the departure of A Train back to Sunbury this year looks like Chrissy has chosen a club closer to home.

Wrong Sunbury

Mongrel
20 Mar 2007, 11:34
5th April Mongrel

what are broadford like as a side TS?

Ballsy
20 Mar 2007, 11:51
Im not at all, quite the opposite.. May have misread me a bit... Its good to have these types of guys around the club.. Lifts the morale of the boys... :thumbsu:

Thats good to hear.Look after him hes a good kid

Thats_Special
20 Mar 2007, 11:56
Thats good to hear.Look after him hes a good kid

Will do, he spent a bit of time around the club last year, so alot of the boys already know him...

Trueblueroo
20 Mar 2007, 12:04
A kid like Chris is good to have round, he lifts morale, but underneath everything he simply loves footy.... Some people are blessed with ability and others aren't, Chris is an example of a kid with determination. Suffering from an illness, he doesn't allow it to effect his ability to want to paly football and play with people with people who he can call mates!

Good on the bloke for having a dip, and a fair dinkum crack! I would expect him to play a several games throughout the year against some of the lower sides. Alot of clubs would turn an person like Chris away! He's welcome up @ Kangaland any day of the week!

Mongrel see you back on the track tonight mate, looking forward to this weekend after missing last weeks intra....

inthemix
20 Mar 2007, 12:05
Wrong Sunbury

Yeah i know its the other Sunbury where Train is playing but Train brought Chrissy to the club and once he left it was always on the cards for Chrissy to leave would have been tough for him to get there from Sunbury.

Good luck to Chrissy at Sunbury if you wanna know stats hes your man!

Thats_Special
20 Mar 2007, 12:07
what are broadford like as a side TS?
I believe they are quite similar to us Mongrel..

A bad reputation, whether deserved or not, but over the past couple of seasons have rebuilt and refashioned themselves to recreate thier culture and on field team.

It should be a pretty good game actually and a perfect hitout for both sides for our season proper...

goblues09
20 Mar 2007, 12:46
yeah the kids at assumption would walk into any RDFL side i have no doubt in that!

yes turnovers did hurt but after all it is only march - not mid-may but the signs are alot better for Kilmore than i have seen in recent years.

looking forward to what will be a good clash sunday Doona, Strazz tells me you got the boys in very good shape fitness wise!

Mongrel
20 Mar 2007, 13:23
I believe they are quite similar to us Mongrel..

A bad reputation, whether deserved or not, but over the past couple of seasons have rebuilt and refashioned themselves to recreate thier culture and on field team.

It should be a pretty good game actually and a perfect hitout for both sides for our season proper...

thanks ts. and good to see you back trueblueroo

Halffullonfence
20 Mar 2007, 16:09
yeah the kids at assumption would walk into any RDFL side i have no doubt in that!

yes turnovers did hurt but after all it is only march - not mid-may but the signs are alot better for Kilmore than i have seen in recent years.

looking forward to what will be a good clash sunday Doona, Strazz tells me you got the boys in very good shape fitness wise!

The good ones yes some are just players at RDFL 18s level ,thats NOT having a go at the level of RDFL 18s.

vantheman32
20 Mar 2007, 16:13
not very many RDFL 18s in the ACK 1s side mate
justin mcgregor is one but id be hard pressed 2 think of any other RDFL under 18s playing for ACK.
n young justin is a very hard at the ball player very fast

Halffullonfence
20 Mar 2007, 16:41
not very many RDFL 18s in the ACK 1s side mate
justin mcgregor is one but id be hard pressed 2 think of any other RDFL under 18s playing for ACK.
n young justin is a very hard at the ball player very fast

Wasn't suggesting they play in the 18's comp was stating that not all ACK players would walk into senior sides some are at RDFL 18's standard which I think you would agree playing in the interleague side is still a very good standard.

My opinion only.

vantheman32
20 Mar 2007, 16:55
fair enough mate. Having played both RDFL 18s n 1sts at ACK both are of good standard, but ACK was of a better standard and had a much better side, id nearly go as far as too say that most 2nds players at ACK would have made an 18s RDFL rep side from the yr i was in the 1sts. The Depth at the school is better than any other.
RDFL interleauge was a good oppurtunity and i think its is essential for the league to progress and get stronger to keep the under 18s interleague

Animosity
20 Mar 2007, 17:17
praise the heavens! some decent rain today ......

Trueblueroo
20 Mar 2007, 17:20
Sweet @#Z$ all in the city.....

Trueblueroo
20 Mar 2007, 17:29
Just a little of topic but it's releavant to footy.... Old photo but it's similar to Ben Cousins suspension from the Eagles.... Wonder why?

http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/5883/23353906vj4.jpg

vantheman32
20 Mar 2007, 18:17
is this ben cousins the night he fell asleep, where he was seen snorting lines of coke longer then his arms? at nightclub eve!

OMNIPOTENT_1
20 Mar 2007, 18:44
Wasn't suggesting they play in the 18's comp was stating that not all ACK players would walk into senior sides some are at RDFL 18's standard which I think you would agree playing in the interleague side is still a very good standard.

My opinion only.

Whats all the construction about going on at the mighty M.C.G. pal ?

Halffullonfence
20 Mar 2007, 19:14
Whats all the construction about going on at the mighty M.C.G. pal ?

New social rooms and a new scoreboard/timekeepers box.
Don't know when rooms will be finished ? Think cricket/football clubs are waiting for tradesmen to put their hands up to help.:rolleyes:

Ground a long way from being playable, rumour is Macedon will use Gissy ground for start of season?

I am to busy preparing fishing gear to help. :D

Sunqvist
20 Mar 2007, 19:48
speaking of macedon the come up against the hawks in round 1
would hope theres no repeat of late last year when the cats pulled off a bit of an upset. good recruiting by the hawks with sipthorp and others havent heard much from the cats apart from they lost ricky watts and commerford.
Hawks some excellent kids to step up from u/18's aswell. Expecting big things!

blues12
21 Mar 2007, 07:55
speaking of macedon the come up against the hawks in round 1
would hope theres no repeat of late last year when the cats pulled off a bit of an upset. good recruiting by the hawks with sipthorp and others havent heard much from the cats apart from they lost ricky watts and commerford.
Hawks some excellent kids to step up from u/18's aswell. Expecting big things!

this game was originaly planned to be played on anzac day the following wednesday was that plan thrown out the window?

OMNIPOTENT_1
21 Mar 2007, 12:21
New social rooms and a new scoreboard/timekeepers box.
Don't know when rooms will be finished ? Think cricket/football clubs are waiting for tradesmen to put their hands up to help.:rolleyes:

Ground a long way from being playable, rumour is Macedon will use Gissy ground for start of season?

I am to busy preparing fishing gear to help. :D

New social rooms eh ? My God you'll never get rid of those Kanga drunks now come Prelim' final day pal ! ! !

Thats_Special
21 Mar 2007, 12:29
New social rooms eh ? My God you'll never get rid of those Kanga drunks now come Prelim' final day pal ! ! !

They dont want to get rid of us OMNI.. we're the fun in prelim day :D :thumbsu: ... Cant wait to have a Jimmy or 15 behind the glass at the MCG...

matt_nicholls
21 Mar 2007, 12:37
Halfull, does the glass enclosure count as a press box. If so, could mean that Macedon FC gets a hell of a lot more coverage by The Free Press this year!!!!

:D

Trueblueroo
21 Mar 2007, 13:00
Very quiet this week! The realisation of the season being just 4 weeks away may have struck! Will be big build up for 2007, compared to previous years where other clubs may have had sneak previews or watched practise matches between clubs.

What were the conditions of some grounds like last night after some little rain last night, was the soft under toe?

Thats_Special
21 Mar 2007, 13:15
Does anyone have a game this weekend???

Mongrel
21 Mar 2007, 13:27

very true.and if anyone was wondering where the kangas were getting all their money from?just check our bar sales and youll understand:D
TS is the main offender

Mongrel
21 Mar 2007, 13:32
Very quiet this week! The realisation of the season being just 4 weeks away may have struck! Will be big build up for 2007, compared to previous years where other clubs may have had sneak previews or watched practise matches between clubs.

What were the conditions of some grounds like last night after some little rain last night, was the soft under toe?

was great to see the spies watching training last nite trueblue.
about 50 odd on the track last nite.hope it left the right impression.i wont mention any names

Thats_Special
21 Mar 2007, 16:33
very true.and if anyone was wondering where the kangas were getting all their money from?just check our bar sales and youll understand:D
TS is the main offender
Rubbish.. I am only one of many solid contributors... When you're thirsty you're thirsty... :D :thumbsu:

Halffullonfence
21 Mar 2007, 20:18
this game was originaly planned to be played on anzac day the following wednesday was that plan thrown out the window?

Not sure but I think state laws regarding Anzac Day activities and RSL approval were hard to get around.

OMNIPOTENT_1
22 Mar 2007, 01:00
They dont want to get rid of us OMNI.. we're the fun in prelim day :D :thumbsu: ... Cant wait to have a Jimmy or 15 behind the glass at the MCG...
Well mate if you think it was fun in 2006 there then your gunna love this................. I've since been informed from a reliable sauce (sic) at the Cattery that not only will you be able to imbibe from behind the glass, but that the new social rooms will in fact have a balcony outside which will go all the way up to the boundary fence.

And thats not all........................ the Mountain Boys plan on having T.A.B. facilities there ! & I'm told they intend on special occasion to have topless glamour girls staff the place ! ! !

So it looks like the M.C.G. will be the place to be in 2007 for all the Ts (tits, tips & tipple) !

Dont know about you T.S. but I'm selling the missus & the manor, and high tailing it up to Waterfalls rd, erecting my tent at the Tony Clark & getting in line for the first icy cold frothy served by these Alcohol Angels ! Get my membership ready Half Full, hope there will be room on the Bandwagon for 1 more, before the Mongrel finds out & wants back in !

Thats_Special
22 Mar 2007, 07:14
Well mate if you think it was fun in 2006 there then your gunna love this................. I've since been informed from a reliable sauce (sic) at the Cattery that not only will you be able to imbibe from behind the glass, but that the new social rooms will in fact have a balcony outside which will go all the way up to the boundary fence.

And thats not all........................ the Mountain Boys plan on having T.A.B. facilities there ! & I'm told they intend on special occasion to have topless glamour girls staff the place ! ! !

So it looks like the M.C.G. will be the place to be in 2007 for all the Ts (tits, tips & tipple) !

Dont know about you T.S. but I'm selling the missus & the manor, and high tailing it up to Waterfalls rd, erecting my tent at the Tony Clark & getting in line for the first icy cold frothy served by these Alcohol Angels ! Get my membership ready Half Full, hope there will be room on the Bandwagon for 1 more, before the Mongrel finds out & wants back in !

Lol.. Im sure the bandwagon will be loading up with news like that.. Do they need any coaches at Tony Clarke, I may have to review my career path :thumbsu:

Thats_Special
22 Mar 2007, 11:25
any matches this weekend from clubs?
When do you guys have a game Wheels???

Halffullonfence
22 Mar 2007, 13:30

Not sure of your source Omni judging by the time of your post I hope you wern't dreaming!!!!
Would be great to watch the local stable going around without travellin to Gissy whilst being served icy cold beverages with (high beams on) would be SPECIAL.

Mongrel
23 Mar 2007, 11:14
Not sure of your source Omni judging by the time of your post I hope you wern't dreaming!!!!
Would be great to watch the local stable going around without travellin to Gissy whilst being served icy cold beverages with (high beams on) would be SPECIAL.

mongrels 2007 predictions

best recruit:dan sipthorpe
bowen medal:leigh mcinerny
final five:kangas,riddell,woodend,diggers,romsey
grand final:riddell vs kangas
best venue:m.c.g
wooden spoon:macedon:confused:

most exciting 2 watch:

forrest woodend
lefty diggers
robbo kilmore
wadden riddell
burlak romsey
welsh sunbury

top 10

1.sipthorpe
2.m.mcinerny
3.s.simms
4.robbo
5.lefty
6.l.mcinerny
7.jose
8.burlak
9.wadden
10.ruane

billylid
23 Mar 2007, 11:35
My 2007 predictions

best recruit:dan sipthorpe (from all reports)
bowen medal: joint = Shaun Sims (2 break the bridesmaid tag) + Sipthorpe (never seen him play but from all reports a gun)
final five: Riddell, woodend, Romsey, Kangas, diggers Rest * 3rd-4th-5th can change between the teams ive mentioned*
grand final:Romsey Vs Riddell
best venue: Lancefield (no better venue then the Big One)
wooden spoon:Rockbank

most exciting 2 watch:

lefty diggers
duffy kilmore
wadden riddell
Morgan romsey
Johnson sunbury kangaroos

top 10

1.sipthorpe and Shaun Sims
2.J.Jose
3.B.Morgan
4.robbo
5.Wadden
6.Lefty
7.McinInverny brothers
8.J.king (Kangaroos)
9. Mccelland
10.ruane

Blueboy16
23 Mar 2007, 11:55
top 10

1.sipthorpe and Shaun Sims
2.J.Jose
3.B.Morgan
4.robbo
5.Wadden
6.Lefty
7.McinInverny brothers
8.J.king (Kangaroos)
9. Mccelland
10.ruane

hmmm billy i think you mean top 12 there pal....... ;)

matt_nicholls
23 Mar 2007, 12:06
My 2007 preditions:

Premiers: Riddell (have heard a good rumour they replaced James).
Runners-up: Sunbury Kangaroos.

My ladder:

Riddell
Sunbury Kangaroos
Woodend-Hesket
Diggers Rest
Romsey
-------
Kilmore
Lancefield
Macedon
Melton Central
Rockbank

Bowen Medal: Chris Collins (will attract more attention if he's coach)

Players to watch:
(only players not normally recognised on these pages)

Jay Downing (Woodend-Hesket)
Pete Faulkner (Macedon)
Phil Romeril (Romsey)
Leigh Harrison (Riddell)
Matt Senyschyn (Kilmore)
Rob Schuller (Lancefield)

Blueboy16
23 Mar 2007, 12:12
Diggers playing an intraclub tonight. Might be a chance for a few spies to go check them out. Can't see too many teams being very worried about them this season.

matt_nicholls
23 Mar 2007, 12:25
Diggers playing an intraclub tonight. Might be a chance for a few spies to go check them out. Can't see too many teams being very worried about them this season.

Diggers host Heathcote on March 31 in three practice matches. Might be worth a look

Doona2
23 Mar 2007, 12:36
Diggers host Heathcote on March 31 in three practice matches. Might be worth a look

Watched Heathcote train last night, they're gunna play finals again in the HDFL so I reckon it will be a good hit out.

Mongrel
23 Mar 2007, 13:01

put the beer on ice burger5. im coming to spy on u tnite pal:D

old saint
23 Mar 2007, 13:14
Watched Heathcote train last night, they're gunna play finals again in the HDFL so I reckon it will be a good hit out.

doona2, how would you compare the 2 leagues, which do you think is better ?

Doona2
23 Mar 2007, 13:23
doona2, how would you compare the 2 leagues, which do you think is better ?

We've had many a similar forum before, the RDFL boys will always fly their flag and vice versa. I have watched a lot of both leagues for many a year and have the HDFL as a whole in front, that dont mean that say a Riddell of 05/06 wouldnt go real close in the HDFL, just think the depth (final 6-7 players) in the senior sides drop away more in the RDFL.

Guess with the Carroll boys, Al Meldrum and Johnny Rowe joining our comp we'll get a better idea after assessing their performances against HDFL players.

BingoBangoBongo
23 Mar 2007, 13:26

I might pop up too...

heard that the "Gleeson Bros" from Bacchus Marsh can play. Only 16 and 18 years old. Both played well in their mini-games (10 a side / full ground) last week...

Rodriguez
23 Mar 2007, 14:04
Heard Woodend had a bit of a hitout last night?

Anyone get a chance to see it?

Rodriguez
23 Mar 2007, 14:20
Premiers Riddell

toss up between Diggers Sunbury and Woodend for second

Bowen Medalist: Leigh McInerney

Players to watch

Garth Ploog
David Patterson
Ash McNaughton

goblues09
23 Mar 2007, 18:17
PREMIERS - Woodend

GF - Woodend v Diggers

BOWEN MEDAL - Robbo and Sims in a tie

TOP 5 - Woodend
Riddell
Diggers
Kilmore
Sunbury

Players to watch - Cornish (kilmore)
dont reaally know much of other recruits apart from what ive heard on here

but must agree that Welsh from Kangas is good to watch when he is playing i think besides the McInerneys is the one who can win a game off his own boot with 10 good minutes (no disrespect to the other boys there) but i have seen this before as some may recall a match between Kilmore and Sunbury over there bout 3 years back when the Chief kicked 4 or so in the last to steal the game from us!!!

burger5
24 Mar 2007, 12:36

Saw you and the gang there Mongrel. But next time no need to park out the front of the fire station till we start. haha we noticed you did that.

Was a good game. There was a few mistakes and errors but thats bound to happen this time of year. I think i touched it three times. Had a ordinary game. Sims and Ruane dominated. Dont be afraid to back Ruane for another crack at the bowen this year. Looking better than the year he won it.

And big payne train kicked 6 on very good opponents. So look out for the big fella in 07.

And Duffy few of the fellas think we should make an annual event of the goings on after the Kilmore v Diggers games. What do you think??

johnno69
24 Mar 2007, 13:28
Burger not touching the footy much, things havent changed from last season

Bluecrew#2
24 Mar 2007, 16:16
season is just round the corner, anybody care to give there teams starting line ups?

burger5
24 Mar 2007, 19:24
Burger not touching the footy much, things havent changed from last season

thats so funny. You must have the sharpest wit going around. Care to give me your name?

Sunqvist
25 Mar 2007, 10:21
Tips

Premiers Woodsy

R/Up Diggers

Spoon: Rockbank

Bowen medal: Sims, Sippy, Mark Mcinerny, Robbo, Collins

Saw the afl season launch with all the skippers last week, just a question who are all the captains for 07
i think a few would be the same, but i havent heard much.

johnno69
25 Mar 2007, 12:15
thats so funny. You must have the sharpest wit going around. Care to give me your name?

You'll find out just concentrate on getting a kick

Blueboy16
25 Mar 2007, 20:49
You'll find out just concentrate on getting a kick

You must not of been aware that Burger5 was out for most of the year with a neck injury johnno. Im certain he would have your cover anyday.

Mongrel
26 Mar 2007, 13:23
Saw you and the gang there Mongrel. But next time no need to park out the front of the fire station till we start. haha we noticed you did that.

Was a good game. There was a few mistakes and errors but thats bound to happen this time of year. I think i touched it three times. Had a ordinary game. Sims and Ruane dominated. Dont be afraid to back Ruane for another crack at the bowen this year. Looking better than the year he won it.

And big payne train kicked 6 on very good opponents. So look out for the big fella in 07.

And Duffy few of the fellas think we should make an annual event of the goings on after the Kilmore v Diggers games. What do you think??

sorry about that bev.i was just waiting 4 your senior side to run out.
but then i realised that was your senior side i drove in.licking my lips.
lol.
but on a serious note payne played well,and i think your a bit hard on yourself.u did a lot of the hard stuff.i noticed your nursing jeff heritage.
wont get any nursing from me round1.
the game is gunna be a cracker.i agree also that simms and roo were their usual selves.and janner hasnt lost any of his pace

johnfromtheVAFA
26 Mar 2007, 15:37
Bowen medalists will be Jackson Baddeley. He is one classy footballer and deserves respect from his opponents. He has blinding speed and has an uncanny ability to always be where the ball is. Plays with it on a string. Go baddeley and go kangas.

vantheman32
26 Mar 2007, 15:54
he goes alrite but not a medalist

Blueboy16
26 Mar 2007, 16:00
Bowen medalists will be Jackson Baddeley. He is one classy footballer and deserves respect from his opponents. He has blinding speed and has an uncanny ability to always be where the ball is. Plays with it on a string. Go baddeley and go kangas.

Baddeley has no chance. Not even in the same sentence as Sipthorpe, Sims, Ruane, S James, Morgan, Ng etc etc........

BingoBangoBongo
26 Mar 2007, 16:37

Who?

matt_nicholls
26 Mar 2007, 16:43
District practice matches schedules this weekend are:
(please note the home side is listed first)

Lancefield v North Sunshine

Romsey v Wallan

Diggers Rest v Heathcote

There may be more, I'm assuming there are.

vantheman32
26 Mar 2007, 17:07
kilmore vs lalor on sunday at kilmore

Blueboy16
26 Mar 2007, 17:24

Van what would Kilmore get out of playing a side like Lalor? i would assume that Lalor would win by 10-15 goals! I know just a run is good for the boys but for confidence it wouldn't do morale too good.

vantheman32
26 Mar 2007, 17:36
Money! apparently Lalor have quite a large following and have booked a busload of people to come n sit n drink in the bar all afternoon! apparently Lalor is a young side this yr also, kilmore will not play a fullside on sunday either. Good money making day for the club
Kilmore have recruited well n will need a few practice matches for the players to get know each other a bit better so more practice matches the better!

Mongrel
26 Mar 2007, 17:37

kangas played maldon yesterday.was good for all three sides to get a run.
the next match is kangas vs broadford

Blueboy16
26 Mar 2007, 17:41
kangas played maldon yesterday.was good for all three sides to get a run.
the next match is kangas vs broadford

Got a match report for us Dean? Results and standouts?

I hear no Jason King though?

Blueboy16
26 Mar 2007, 17:50
Money! apparently Lalor have quite a large following and have booked a busload of people to come n sit n drink in the bar all afternoon! apparently Lalor is a young side this yr also, kilmore will not play a fullside on sunday either. Good money making day for the club
Kilmore have recruited well n will need a few practice matches for the players to get know each other a bit better so more practice matches the better!

Dont get me wrong Van i think revenue raising is a great thing for a club, but to just have a praccy match for this I think is silly. The whole point should be for the guys to get a hard fought even contest. Not get the pants smacked off and kill the confidence of a good pre-season. A win is a win even in pre-season in my view.

goblues09
26 Mar 2007, 18:39
mongrel i think your game against broadford might need to be shirts v skins to avoid the 2 roos jumper clash!!

and for you burger, i will suss out if they have a function penned in for the kilmore v diggers match, otherwise we will have to work something out!! hey i thought ya said greeny was heading back across - yet to see him!!

weekend warrior
26 Mar 2007, 19:01
woodend/hesket vs. springvale districts on Saturday.

blues12
26 Mar 2007, 19:05
District practice matches schedules this weekend are:
(please note the home side is listed first)

Lancefield v North Sunshine

Romsey v Wallan

Diggers Rest v Heathcote

There may be more, I'm assuming there are.

Are all these games on saturday, i will assume diggers is

blues12
26 Mar 2007, 19:08
Got a match report for us Dean? Results and standouts?

I hear no Jason King though?

It was a good hit out BB Seniors got up by a couple of goals in the end i think. No kingy and a few more players were also unavailable. no real stand outs a good team effort:D

blues12
26 Mar 2007, 19:13
Great to see some sides are not struggling to get practice matches due to ground availability.
Very quiet in the riddell camp looks like only James has moved on and 2 Allens back to the bombers, any praccys lined up?
How are Rockbank and Centrals going organising games?

weekend warrior
26 Mar 2007, 19:20
does anyone know what the go with heath wadden is? If he stays and its only james moving on i think i'll pick Riddel to be the red hot favourite once again. Same question for their full back, not too sure of his name.

Blueboy16
26 Mar 2007, 19:21
Great to see some sides are not struggling to get practice matches due to ground availability.
Very quiet in the riddell camp looks like only James has moved on and 2 Allens back to the bombers, any praccys lined up?
How are Rockbank and Centrals going organising games?

Mr Nicholls suggests that Riddell may of picked up someone to replace James. We all know how good Mick Allen is but 100 plus goals a year im not too sure.

weekend warrior
26 Mar 2007, 19:28
agree with you there BB, but dont forget some of the gun u/18's who will be surely chipping in with a couple of goals each added to the squad.

Blueboy16
26 Mar 2007, 19:32
agree with you there BB, but dont forget some of the gun u/18's who will be surely chipping in with a couple of goals each added to the squad.

Those have not been forgotton and im not writing Riddell off. Im just interested in what Mr Nicholls knows?

Animosity
26 Mar 2007, 19:33
does anyone know what the go with heath wadden is?

EDIT: read the question wrong .. my bad !

blues12
26 Mar 2007, 19:47
Alot of people on here have rated the roos to be a geniune contender, what is that based on? I am still looking at Riddell and Woodend, so far not alot have left riddell although early rumours were, a handful were going to westmeadows they will still be a force, woodend were good last year and have picked up some quality so will surely be pushing to play on that last day, even kilmore can become dangerous, has anybody actually looked at the clearance list lately picked up a heap. Be very weary, Big worries about Diamond Valley not going ahead, that will leave alot of players looking for a new home.Kilmore are close enough to a number of clubs there.

Only 4 weeks to go and it will be on.:thumbsu:

Animosity
26 Mar 2007, 20:05
I think with the quality of recruits this year especially from Kilmore,Roos and Woodend along with diggers and riddell consistently keeping the same rosters (bar james) as 06. The RDFL will once again raise the bar in standards of senior football!! competition wil be red hot this year and i expect the team with the least amount of injuries to play finals, i think its that close

Blueboy16
26 Mar 2007, 20:18
Big worries about Diamond Valley not going ahead, that will leave alot of players looking for a new home.Kilmore are close enough to a number of clubs there.

i dont see many DVFL players coming across to any RDFL clubs unless clubs have kept some reserve cash thinking ahead that these players may look for a new home for the year. Most of the top clubs in DVFL even give their 2's players match payments, ie $50 a game. So to think that top players in those senior teams coming across for nothing or very little there is next to no chance.

jimmymaher
26 Mar 2007, 20:29
apparently rockbank got a win a couple of weeks ago, i dont know the team against though

Animosity
26 Mar 2007, 20:39
apparently rockbank got a win a couple of weeks ago, i dont know the team against though

Must have been an intraclub :p

Blueboy16
26 Mar 2007, 20:41
Must have been an intraclub :p
GOLD:thumbsu:

blues12
27 Mar 2007, 00:01

apparently beat trentham

matt_nicholls
27 Mar 2007, 08:52
Those have not been forgotton and im not writing Riddell off. Im just interested in what Mr Nicholls knows?

I've heard from a good source that the Bombers have signed a very good forward.

The quote I recieved was: "Will fill Lee James' shoes".

Until I see a clearance lodged, its only inuendo thus far.

Can any Riddell person confirm so I can publish?

matt_nicholls
27 Mar 2007, 08:53
SCOOP

Catch tomorrow's paper for one of the biggest stories to hit the RDFL.

Very lucrative for the league.