View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
Itsmyshow
5 Apr 2007, 14:11
SUNBURY WILL BE RESTING THEIR TOP 5 PLAYERS TNITE
No they not.... Dean Helmers is playing :thumbsu:
so where will you start then :D
WAS WAITING 4 THAT PREZ.ha ha. im not the same man as last year pal.
first pre season in 7 years.if my crippled body holds up this year mate the mongrel will be back in the top 5 in the comp.there ive said it, and i will back it up:D
Trueblueroo
5 Apr 2007, 14:32
And Trev is playing, so i don't know what ya on about with 5 players missing....That only makes 3!
dont leave yourself out champ
vantheman32
5 Apr 2007, 15:09
Will start my Top 50 for 2007.... Counting down from 50.. Ten per working day to number 1... These are the players that I think will be the top 50 in 2007...
50 - Scott Smithwick (Lancefield)
49 - Nick Ash (Riddell)
48 - Jay Shewan (Lancefield)
47 - Leigh Sporle (Sunbury Kangaroos)
46 - J.Tully (Lancefield)
45 - Rick Dowling (Woodend/Hesket)
44 - Aaron Christianson (Macedon)
43 - Chris Payne (Diggers Rest)
42 - Joeb Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
41 - Damien Janner (Diggers Rest)
Next Tuesday 40-31
Mate you should just pencil Matt Robertson in now at Number 1, without a doubt this yr Robbo will show everyone a thing or two
Hawker28
5 Apr 2007, 15:12
Trav,
I have heard a rumour on the grapevine from a couple of boys that your engaged! Any truth? Just wondering if it might be Robbo?
Mate you should just pencil Matt Robertson in now at Number 1, without a doubt this yr Robbo will show everyone a thing or two
putting a lot of pressure on the big fella van.
i must admit i havent seen him play much,but from all reports he is a great player.i dont think anyone in their right mind could put him before dan sipthorpe.people dont make a.f.l for being average
Itsmyshow
5 Apr 2007, 15:30
You will just have to wait until the Top 10 is unveiled on Friday next week to see who is number 1.... :thumbsu: :D
after the first quater last week mark mcinerny would have made no.2 in the comp IMO easily
bulldogz_rok
5 Apr 2007, 16:17
i heard a rumor from a very reliable source that Trav Hede might b leaving kilmore
Itsmyshow
5 Apr 2007, 16:47
i heard a rumor from a very reliable source that Trav Hede might b leaving kilmore
Highly unlikely
discoduck
5 Apr 2007, 16:56
team i'd love to coach - would be the wisest, most knowledgeable team on earth.
B: The Timid Turkey Blues12 VT#23
HB: Trueblueroo Matt Nicholls Bulldogs Rok
C: Vantheman Doona2 Itsmyshow
HF: Weekend Warrior Courageunderfire Hawker28
F: Iceman27 Go Blues 09 1 2 Yep
R: Big Man 27 Discoduck Mongrel
Wanna give my self a run too. :)
vantheman32
5 Apr 2007, 17:09
bloody nice team there disco duck,
discoduck
5 Apr 2007, 17:11
bloody nice team there disco duck,
had a feeling the wing was the spot for you, van. dashing runs. long, penetrating kicks into full forward, or straight over his head through the big sticks. was i close?
vantheman32
5 Apr 2007, 17:23
haha sounds great to me mate! doona in the centre busting the packs lol, pretty close mate. you know when you might turn up at kilmore?
discoduck
5 Apr 2007, 17:25
nah, no idea.
i've been training on and off with an ammo's team down here, so i might have a few games here early in the season, and if the move happens in time, i'll transfer over. i think it's too far to commute from here to there for a game of footy.
how the boys looking.
vantheman32
5 Apr 2007, 17:32
boys are shaping up well, have recruited well and have had good numbers at training, will be a lot stronger club in both 1st n 2nds. should be a good season. Goudge is back he will have a very good season!
discoduck
5 Apr 2007, 17:36
i don't know who goudge is, van! :)
Iceman27
5 Apr 2007, 17:39
Get me out of the forward line and onto a halfback flank. Would a guy like meself who plays for wallan be welcomed to play in a team with the greats from the RDFL
Trueblueroo
5 Apr 2007, 17:43
The duck is like Bruce Wayne by day and Batman by night! Hiding his true identity and viaing away from the fact that he is already involved in the RDFL or Kilmore region already!
I might be wrong but the Duc, is up to something!!!!
Blueboy16
5 Apr 2007, 18:02
IMS on the wing..... I'd love to see that.
SUNBURY WILL BE RESTING THEIR TOP 5 PLAYERS TNITE
so I take it your playing mongrel?? Why is is the forum so one dimentional?? Everything is about Sunbury, might be the fact the half of your team is on it... If it's not Sunbury, it's Diggers... Boys, lets move on about talking about yourselves and talk about the other teams and there lead up's to April 21st....
Animosity
6 Apr 2007, 00:46
so I take it your playing mongrel?? Why is is the forum so one dimentional?? Everything is about Sunbury, might be the fact the half of your team is on it... If it's not Sunbury, it's Diggers... Boys, lets move on about talking about yourselves and talk about the other teams and there lead up's to April 21st....
well mate .... uve called it ... please enlighten us on other club talk, the forum is so one dimensional for the fact that Roos/Burra followers post on this forum, if thats all he knows,thats al he'll talk about,hes got his own team to worry about, not driving 45 min to kilmore to watch them train ... go strap ya boots on and play for a club to talk about big boy
Ok i'll say what i know about the other clubs
Centrals train on tuesday thursday
Rockbank also train tuesday and thursday
Riddell probably the same
woodend same again
Macedon i assume the same
Romsey, lancefeild and kilmore are more than likely the same.
Umpires train on wednesdays at melton
There is less than 3 weeks till round 1
If you dont like reading what is written here dont look, or try and start something yourself, what do you know about any other clubs? :eek: share it with all of us Sunbury and Diggers boys
Any match reports from the Broardford V Sunbury practice match?
Dont know the final score left at half time but sunbury were up by one or two goals, First quarter was very scrappy both teams struggled to get a grip of the large ground and seemed to ball chase. The second quarter was alot more open and the game seemed to flow abit better. A few skill errors but that is expected in a praccy match, hopefully both teams ironed out a few kinks in the second half... who ended up winning? was a pretty even game from what i saw
Mongrel were you always just going to play the first quarter and abit or did you pick up an injury?
Itsmyshow
6 Apr 2007, 14:06
Dont know the final score left at half time but sunbury were up by one or two goals, First quarter was very scrappy both teams struggled to get a grip of the large ground and seemed to ball chase. The second quarter was alot more open and the game seemed to flow abit better. A few skill errors but that is expected in a praccy match, hopefully both teams ironed out a few kinks in the second half... who ended up winning? was a pretty even game from what i saw
Mongrel were you always just going to play the first quarter and abit or did you pick up an injury?
Kangaroos ended up winning by about 6 or so goals, it was a good hitout for both sides, we got to have a look at some of the younger guys so it was good..
Mongrel was only going to play the one quarter...
Courageunderfire
6 Apr 2007, 19:52
Thanx Disco appreciate the vote of confidence. Ill create a good contest at CHF
davis 24
6 Apr 2007, 19:56
Thanx Disco appreciate the vote of confidence. Ill create a good contest at CHF
Courageunderfire has lost that position at his former club and was wondering if rockbank needed one
Lee James jagged 10 goals in Mulwala's big win over Numurkah today
10 goals, 10 marks, 12 kicks, 5 handballs, 5 assists and 8 opponents what do you say now doona?
Halffullonfence
8 Apr 2007, 19:04
I see on the EDFL site that Tim Dettman is returning to Macedon.. Handy pick up for the Cats, was a gun junior in this comp, im sure the Cats are ecstatic to have him returning...
The gathering of the 04 gang gathers momentum.
Itsmyshow
8 Apr 2007, 21:29
Who else is returning then HFF????
Courageunderfire
9 Apr 2007, 11:30
10 goals, 10 marks, 12 kicks, 5 handballs, 5 assists and 8 opponents what do you say now doona?
As he should, sh*t footy.
Halffullonfence
9 Apr 2007, 18:24
J.C you back at Rockbank ???
Itsmyshow
10 Apr 2007, 10:52
J.C you back at Rockbank ???
Be good to see the kids Rockbank have lost like young Cossy heading back there... Not a bad list if they were able to lure those kids back..
Walker, Cossy, Krul, Matthews, Welfare etc.. Would give the Rams a base to build on.
discoduck
10 Apr 2007, 12:21
The duck is like Bruce Wayne by day and Batman by night! Hiding his true identity and viaing away from the fact that he is already involved in the RDFL or Kilmore region already!
I might be wrong but the Duc, is up to something!!!!
prefer to be known by the clark kent / superman comparison thanks trueblueroo.
Rodriguez
10 Apr 2007, 17:36
Anyone give any info on the ability of Brent Oliveri?
Itsmyshow
10 Apr 2007, 18:43
Unfortunately due to technical difficulties I was unable to post 40-31 of my top 50 today, I will post 40-21 tomorrow.
bearsboy
10 Apr 2007, 18:57
Anyone give any info on the ability of Brent Oliveri?Rates himself very highly , i thought he was a good 2's player when he was at Gisborne . Should be able to hold down CHB for a Riddell league club .
Itsmyshow
11 Apr 2007, 11:20
40 - N.Curico (Woodend)
39 - W.Else (Woodend)
38 - M.Nolan (Diggers Rest)
37 - J.King (Sunbury Kangaroos)
36 - M.McClellan (Romsey)
35 - A.Johnstone (Woodend)
34 - S.Burlak (Romsey)
33 - Sam Bowen (Woodend)
32 - B.Green (Diggers Rest)
31- K.Bullen (Melton Centrals)
30 - L.Edwards (Romsey)
29 - M.Peatling (Riddell)
28 - R.Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos)
27 - S.Clarke (Lancefield)
26 - H.Wadden (Riddell)
25 - B.Wheelahan (Melton Centrals)
24 - B.Morgan (Romsey)
23 - D.Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos)
22 - S.Choate (Lancefield)
21 - D.Cuinik (Woodend)
20-11 Tomorrow.
billylid
11 Apr 2007, 12:03
Kangaroos ended up winning by about 6 or so goals, it was a good hitout for both sides, we got to have a look at some of the younger guys so it was good..
Mongrel was only going to play the one quarter...
heard that your rover (small darkish guy) got plenty of it ... is that one of the new gun recruits.. How did the other establish senior players go (ie Bobby johnson , Jason King, Steve James)
Itsmyshow
11 Apr 2007, 16:44
heard that your rover (small darkish guy) got plenty of it ... is that one of the new gun recruits.. How did the other establish senior players go (ie Bobby johnson , Jason King, Steve James)
Not sure who your talking about Billy...Might have been Jacko or Ellery...
Bobby was solid, as was Spud, Kingy was unavailable.
Itsmyshow
11 Apr 2007, 16:45
All sorted now.. The EDFL website was a typo, Tim has gone to Uni Blues not to Macedon...
1 2 yep
11 Apr 2007, 19:12
woodend smashed tretham in practise match last night (about 30+ goals)
weekend warrior
11 Apr 2007, 19:18
woodend smashed tretham in practise match last night (about 30+ goals)
1 2 yep. i was told woodend fielded a pretty weak side, is this true? any stand out players the cats may have to keep an eye on in rd 1?
Mr.Pickles, wat odds will you give me for Dan Selpietro to win the rdfl goal kicking?
1 2 yep
11 Apr 2007, 19:24
:) 1 2 yep. i was told woodend fielded a pretty weak side, is this true? any stand out players the cats may have to keep an eye on in rd 1?
Mr.Pickles, wat odds will you give me for Dan Selpietro to win the rdfl goal kicking?
you were there if you want to back salpietro for most goals
1 2 yep
11 Apr 2007, 19:31
Not there best side. Still a few missing
Blueboy16
11 Apr 2007, 21:12
Not there best side. Still a few missing
Hey yep, Question?
Why would a team like Woodend play a side as weak as Trentham and what would they get out of smashing a side by 30 goals? A run is a run but surely not many of the guys would get much out of it. Didnt Rockbank play them a couple of weeks ago and beat them? Shows the standard of footy they play.
From all accounts the Broadford vs Sunbury was a game that was evenly matched and everyone got plenty out of it.
Same goes for the Bungaree vs Diggers this Saturday other than maybe trying to make it a regular pre-season game, diggers are going to get smashed just like last year.
I just dont understand.
blues12
11 Apr 2007, 21:44
Come on BB practice matches are for just that, Practice. trying new things, win or lose you will gain something learning experiences, confidence etc.
Personally not much point playing if a 30 goal Win/Loss is likely, but it is all match fitness and come round 1 we are all going to be wishing we had more of that.
Rodriguez
11 Apr 2007, 22:41
Hey yep, Question?
Why would a team like Woodend play a side as weak as Trentham and what would they get out of smashing a side by 30 goals? A run is a run but surely not many of the guys would get much out of it. Didnt Rockbank play them a couple of weeks ago and beat them? Shows the standard of footy they play.
From all accounts the Broadford vs Sunbury was a game that was evenly matched and everyone got plenty out of it.
Same goes for the Bungaree vs Diggers this Saturday other than maybe trying to make it a regular pre-season game, diggers are going to get smashed just like last year.
I just dont understand.
Both clubs play fot the Leith Dicker memorial trophy! You might be right in the difference of standard, but we do it every year to honour a great bloke who had a big impact on both clubs, hopefully in the future Trentham will improve to make it a more competitive affair.
Salpy, gun, I reckon he will figure in TS TOP 50 at year end.
bulldogz_rok
11 Apr 2007, 23:04
i have heard again that trav hede IS leavin kilmore, due to tensions because of his finacee, and i heard this from the horses mouth.
Animosity
11 Apr 2007, 23:45
Both clubs play fot the Leith Dicker memorial trophy!
Well that would explain a lot, a practice game is a practice game but u do need a sense of pressure to get the team match ready ... not jog to a hardball get.
But if the match has a significance behind it well done on staying with traditional matches. Its what more local leagues need
i have heard again that trav hede IS leavin kilmore, due to tensions because of his finacee, and i heard this from the horses mouth.
Would b a handy get I reckon . . . . Who'll start the bidding ;)
Blueboy16
12 Apr 2007, 09:26
Well that would explain a lot, a practice game is a practice game but u do need a sense of pressure to get the team match ready ... not jog to a hardball get.
But if the match has a significance behind it well done on staying with traditional matches. Its what more local leagues need
I agree with above. Wasn't aware of any trophy being played for.
Hawker28
12 Apr 2007, 09:29
Be sad to see a young gun of the competition go, simply over a women! Who would he go to?
Blueboy16
12 Apr 2007, 09:30
Come on BB practice matches are for just that, Practice. trying new things, win or lose you will gain something learning experiences, confidence etc.
Personally not much point playing if a 30 goal Win/Loss is likely, but it is all match fitness and come round 1 we are all going to be wishing we had more of that.
hmmm blues12 I dont understand your response. 1st paragraph you disagree with my comments then 2nd paragraph you do? Not having a crack mate but that was my whole point of why play if 30 goal Win/Loss likely.
Mobbenfuhrer
12 Apr 2007, 10:29
Any of you fog-dodgers interested in fielding a team? :p
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314342
Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League?
Seeking interest in players for a Regional Leagues fantasy footy comp.
This is a) not real footy and b) not pick-a-team-of-AFL-players footy. Its even lazier!
All you do is express interest, I'll do the rest via QOOTY, a crappy random aussie rules simulator I created years ago and have been trying to bring up to speed. FAQs here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=75728
I'll try to collate a league of teams that are representative of the more popular local leagues here, so I need raised hands from the posters. I won't make up any names, I won't allow any sudden new arrivals.
So either post here or PM me if you want your Bigfooty alter-ego registered for a team.
Hopefully we can turn some rivalries into some even more potent partnerships!
I'll probably aim for starting the season, say, end of next week. I MAY have to be an inflexible prick with okaying a team and treating latecomers.
For this season, hopefully the inaugural season of an ongoing league, all we need are 20 players per team. There is already a Fantasy league, more closely based on the AFL clubs, at Bigfooty, here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30 - its into its 7th season and has developed a bit of history! There is also another league at another footy forum site, this year with only 3 teams but had been as strong as 5 clubs in its 3 year tenure.
So get in touch if you're interested. Remember you don't have to do anything apart from dob your Bigfooty nickname in for a spot. Please tell me which club/league of regional footy you would prefer to be aligned with (please state both).
We'll see how we go. If it doesn't happen, ah well, if it happens later than I hope ... I'll still give it a burl.
Onward lads! ...
Mongrel
12 Apr 2007, 10:32
hmmm blues12 I dont understand your response. 1st paragraph you disagree with my comments then 2nd paragraph you do? Not having a crack mate but that was my whole point of why play if 30 goal Win/Loss likely.
he wouldnt understand it himself bb.:D
Blueboy16
12 Apr 2007, 12:54
Any of you fog-dodgers interested in fielding a team? :p
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314342
I'm in Mobb
billylid
12 Apr 2007, 13:15
I'm in Mobb
im also interested
Mobbenfuhrer
12 Apr 2007, 13:17
Cheers! Running update of the recruiting is here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7196364#post7196364).
matt_nicholls
12 Apr 2007, 13:30
Fellas, just thought I would tell you about a new website.
www.centralsport.org
It'll be updated weekly
weekend warrior
12 Apr 2007, 13:31
:)
you were there if you want to back salpietro for most goals
i couldn't make it to the game on tuesday 1 2, but i did see him kick 5 i think against that other mob a few weeks ago. had potential to kick 8 that day
vantheman32
12 Apr 2007, 14:45
im very happy at kilmore there is no tension that im aware of, itsmyshow by the look of your top 50 countdown so far you dont rate to many kilmore players is this because you might not get 2 see them play as much as the other teams? or genuinely just dont think much of the players? i believe there are at least 5-6 worth of a gig in your top 50, possible 3 in the top 20 i look foward to your top 20, hope u dont leave out young gun peter robertson...
Mongrel
12 Apr 2007, 14:49
im very happy at kilmore, itsmyshow by the look of your top 50 countdown so far you dont rate to many kilmore players is this because you might not get 2 see them play as much as the other teams? or genuinely just dont think much of the players? i believe there are at least 5-6 worth of a gig in your top 50, possible 3 in the top 20 i look foward to your top 20, hope u dont leave out young gun peter robertson...
he probably wouldnt know many of your players van.and remember its only his opinion.good 2 see someone have a go at it
vantheman32
12 Apr 2007, 14:52
yeah thought he wouldnt know many of our players just checking mate. wouldnt mind seeing a few other people make a top 50, it'd be a hard thing 2 do. any more practice matches this weekend? kilmore have king lake at home on sat arvo
Trueblueroo
12 Apr 2007, 14:59
yeah thought he wouldnt know many of our players just checking mate. wouldnt mind seeing a few other people make a top 50, it'd be a hard thing 2 do. any more practice matches this weekend? kilmore have king lake at home on sat arvo
Is Duffy playing mate?
matt_nicholls
12 Apr 2007, 15:06
Practice matches that I know of:
Kilmore v Kinglake (Sat)
Lancefield v Newlyn (Sat)
Broadford v Romsey (Sat)
vantheman32
12 Apr 2007, 15:09
i dont think duffy is playing but dont quote me on it. he wasnt at training tuesday (beep test) plus i think he had a fairly solid drinking session monday watching his beloved hawks get up at the G n then a long day at work.
any injuries floating around to key players?
Trueblueroo
12 Apr 2007, 15:28
Nah everyone is 100% done our neck of the woods!!! We did rest some of our older group of players and key position players, but as far as injuries! None!
One thing that has improved is player injury management this year and its reflecting on the amount of players that will be avaiable round 1!
Duffy was drunk all weekend, i left him Robbo and Goudge all in fine state Thursday night!
Mongrel
12 Apr 2007, 15:41
i dont think the roos have any more matches van.as for injuries im not sure mate.ill find out tnite.
Blueboy16
12 Apr 2007, 15:48
Practice matches that I know of:
Kilmore v Kinglake (Sat)
Lancefield v Newlyn (Sat)
Broadford v Romsey (Sat)
Bungaree vs Diggers
vantheman32
12 Apr 2007, 15:50
duffy doesnt get drunk, he is drunk theres a slight difference
Itsmyshow
12 Apr 2007, 16:07
im very happy at kilmore there is no tension that im aware of, itsmyshow by the look of your top 50 countdown so far you dont rate to many kilmore players is this because you might not get 2 see them play as much as the other teams? or genuinely just dont think much of the players? i believe there are at least 5-6 worth of a gig in your top 50, possible 3 in the top 20 i look foward to your top 20, hope u dont leave out young gun peter robertson...
The remaining 20 will be listed tomorrow...
Robbo will not make the list.. I believe he is at Calder and that he has an apprenticeship with Serge, if that the case then you work for Serge you play for Serge...
vantheman32
12 Apr 2007, 16:09
Who is Serge? what club is he involved with, i heard that he wasnt interested in calder, he may have changed his mind though?
blues_bogan
12 Apr 2007, 16:10
www.centralsport.org
It'll be updated weekly
Nice site, who made that for ya?:thumbsu:
Blueboy16
12 Apr 2007, 16:27
Who is Serge? what club is he involved with, i heard that he wasnt interested in calder, he may have changed his mind though?
Sunbury Lions coach.
bearsboy
12 Apr 2007, 16:35
The remaining 20 will be listed tomorrow...
Robbo will not make the list.. I believe he is at Calder and that he has an apprenticeship with Serge, if that the case then you work for Serge you play for Serge...Your right on the money there , will be at the Lions if not at the Cannons
Subaru Bumby Ute The Vechile Of Champions!
Trueblueroo
12 Apr 2007, 16:42
Your right on the money there , will be at the Lions if not at the Cannons
BB- Was that a relation of 'Serge' that was part of the Fitzy playing at Darley for a year?
Blueboy16
12 Apr 2007, 16:48
BB- Was that a relation of 'Serge' that was part of the Fitzy playing at Darley for a year?
No idea TBR!
Trueblueroo
12 Apr 2007, 17:27
No idea TBR!
Sorry Blueboy was referring to Bears Boy!
Mongrel
12 Apr 2007, 17:40
No idea TBR!
who are our tips 4 round 1 boys?
Itsmyshow
12 Apr 2007, 18:12
Stayed with Calder, Played last week... Serge is the Coach of Sunbury Lions FC
1 2 yep
12 Apr 2007, 18:16
www.centralsport.org
It'll be updated weekly
Nice site, Keep up the good work.
Itsmyshow
12 Apr 2007, 18:21
Sorry Trav ill answer the rest now.. Its not that I dont think much of them, its just that I can only go on what I have seen them do in the games I have seen and no one has really stood out to me.. I know a few of the new guys from when they played in the past but not too sure what they have done since. There is also alot of very good players in our league.. Stay tuned though, my Top 50 is not yet at an end....
Animosity
12 Apr 2007, 18:32
IMS would you have another crack at a top 50 mid-year? would be nice to see who slots in/out and who goes up a notch etc.
By the way? ... is RDFL the earliest starting football league this year????
Every other league is b*itching about how s*hit their grounds look ....
Itsmyshow
12 Apr 2007, 18:53
IMS would you have another crack at a top 50 mid-year? would be nice to see who slots in/out and who goes up a notch etc.
By the way? ... is RDFL the earliest starting football league this year????
Every other league is b*itching about how s*hit their grounds look ....
Will definately look at doing a top 50 mid year.
A few of the other country leagues have already started.. I know the Murray Football League has as has the Alberton League, but around this area I think the WRFL starts this weekend (Div 1) and then the RDFL, the rest are either the 28th or the 5th May
bearsboy
13 Apr 2007, 10:19
BB- Was that a relation of 'Serge' that was part of the Fitzy playing at Darley for a year?Correct, brother 'Matty Power' coached Darley. Fitzy was also employed by Power until he decided to return to Gisborne to play.
Itsmyshow
13 Apr 2007, 10:22
20 - L.Coles (Riddell)
19 - L.Walker (Rockbank)
18 - J.Heritage (Diggers Rest)
17 - G.Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
16 - M.Allen (Riddell)
15 - J.Bellville (Riddell)
14 - L.McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
13 - S.Ruane (Diggers Rest)
12 - S.James (Sunbury Kangaroos)
11 - J.Jose (Diggers Rest)
Itsmyshow
13 Apr 2007, 10:36
10 - J.Allen (Riddell) Quality backman that provides Riddell with drive and leadership across the half back line. Only fault is that he can have trouble with accountability.
9 - L.Kemp (Kilmore) A player in the same mould as Allen, provides drive and the ability to create a rebound from the half back line.
8 - C.Collins (Lancefield) Gun RDFL junior player who has spent time with the Bendigo Bombers. Skillful midfielder who will have all eyes on him as a 21yr old 1st year coach.
7 - R.Connellan (Romsey) Returning to the league after a 2 year hiatus, will be the premier Ruckman in the comp.
6 - C.Laurie (Diggers Rest) The classiest player in the comp bar none, awesome left foot kick and has the ability to change a game in minutes.
5 - K.Ng (Woodend/Hesket) Composure and flexibility, the ability to play almost anywhere on the ground and excellent skills.
4 - M.McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos) One of the most balanced players in the comp, hard to knock off the ball and has a knack of being in the right place at the right time. Explosive pace off the mark.
Itsmyshow
13 Apr 2007, 10:57
3 - Shaun Sims (Diggers Rest) Consistently in the best players in the competition, runner up in the Bowen Medal again last year (Stiff) and will be around the mark again, has a fantastic set of hands overhead and causes opposition sides massive matchup headaches. Best leader in the competition, as captain his teammates would follow him through a bushfire. When Sims fires, Diggers wins.
2 - Daniel Sipthorpe (Woodend/Hesket) Gun midfielder from the Bendigo Football League side Gisborne. I have only seen Sippy in action a couple of times and from what I have seen is a tough ball winner who can sometimes lose his way through frustration. Brilliant skills and ball winning ability.
1 - Matt Robertson (Kilmore) Unfortunately we didn't get to fully appreciate his wares last year due to injury, but I cant forget what ive seen and this guy is all class, ability to win the football, composure, balance, he can hurt you in clearances, win the football by playing a kick behind and then be pushing forward and kicking 2-3 goals a game to really hurt the opposition. IMO will be the player to watch again in 07, being captain for the first time wont hurt him either. My tip for the Bowen Medal in 2007
Blueboy16
13 Apr 2007, 11:02
Will definately look at doing a top 50 mid year.
A few of the other country leagues have already started.. I know the Murray Football League has as has the Alberton League, but around this area I think the WRFL starts this weekend (Div 1) and then the RDFL, the rest are either the 28th or the 5th May
WRFL Div 2 starts this weekend too.
Trueblueroo
13 Apr 2007, 11:42
I don't think that could have been doen any better! IMS- have you had a look into doing the wrap up in the local paper?
Matty could you perhaps do your perception of your top 50 please?
8 Days till the first bounce off 2007!:thumbsu:
Questions still to be answered!!!!
Any new captains being elected other than Robbo?
Not much news from Melton Camp?
What about the 18's comp, has the new structure of the 16's been beneficial for clubs or are numbers still lacking?
Rockbank? Who? Will they be able to field a side come 21st April?
Interleague? Will it be considered in 2007? Who will Play and against who?
League entries in 2008? Wallan, Trentham, ?????
League sponsors! Good or Bad? Will their be $$$$ for winning Flag in 07!
Signings? What will they do for your club in 07?
Riddell! Life after Lee James? Who will stand up? Will they rise again?
Romsey.....No Meldrum or Carroll! Will they be up there?
RDFL 07, New GM! Will he be better than Sharpe or will it be a miss in 07!
Grand Final to be at Macedon or Lancefield in 07? New Stand and facilities?
'Its my show' or 'Matt Nichols' as top journo in 2007?
Thoughts and Views of somethings that have been highly talked about over the pre-season, will be answered in the coming weeks!
matt_nicholls
13 Apr 2007, 11:53
Will do at some stage soon
Simon Choate (L); Luke Edwards and Brydon Morgan co-caps (R)
Heard nothing
What about the 18's comp, has the new structure of the 16's been beneficial for clubs or are numbers still lacking?
Lancefield will have an 18s side this year.
Will get 3 teams
I doubt much interleague will be played anywhere this year.
Unlikely at this stage
Will finish top 3
Will finish top 5
Both very professional, McCartney will consolidate on Sharpe's great work and improve the competition
Lancefield. Club has done up change rooms and is still premier GF venue
Can't comment, conflict of interest
joeblow2
13 Apr 2007, 12:08
I don't think that could have been doen any better! IMS- have you had a look into doing the wrap up in the local paper?
8 Days till the first bounce off 2007!:thumbsu:
League sponsors! Good or Bad? Will their be $$$$ for winning Flag in 07!
Signings? What will they do for your club in 07?
Thoughts and Views of somethings that have been highly talked about over the pre-season, will be answered in the coming weeks!
As far as 18's go I believe they are runnig 16 a side this year as most clubs are struggling for numbers.
Itsmyshow
13 Apr 2007, 12:26
Yes, yes he can...
Riddell - J.Allen
Diggers - S.Sims
Woodend/Hesket - A.Johnstone
Kangaroos - TBA
Romsey - Morgan/Edwards
Kilmore - Robbo
Macedon - TBA
Centrals - Wheels
Lancefield - Choate
Rockbank - TBA
Quick side who have picked up a couple of strong recruits, Kane Bullen is a star, Wheels will look to have another big season, also have got a young ruckman that used to play at Rockbank but went to the Bloods a couple of years ago.
Hasn't helped for 07, numbers lacking for near all sides in the comp.. May be news soon on amendment to the 18's comp.
Will get 3 teams, have a couple of handy recruits, dont need to move the earth, just need to steadily improve.
I doubt much interleague will be played anywhere this year.
Be good to see.. Look more at 2010
Will finish top 3, Watch out for Leigh Coles and the Allen brothers.
Connellan will be No 1 ruckman in the league, Morgan to play full time full forward.
Both very professional, McCartney will consolidate on Sharpe's great work and improve the competition.. Agree totally
Lancefield. At this stage a far superior venue to Macedon.. Macedon have better Jimmy's but...
Stupid question.. I am not a journo...
matt_nicholls
13 Apr 2007, 13:40
My RDFL top 30
30. Sam Bowen (Woodend-Hesket)
29. Adam Johnstone (Woodend-Hesket)
28. Matt McLellan (Romsey)
27. Dean Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos)
26. Chris Kakoschke (Lancefield)
25. Bobby Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos)
24. Warren Else (Woodend-Hesket)
23. Matt Senyschyn (Kilmore)
22. Leigh Coles (Riddell)
21. Chris Payne Diggers Rest)
20. Justin Bellville (Riddell)
19. Steve Ruane (Diggers Rest)
18. Simon Choate (Lancefield)
17. Brydon Morgan (Romsey)
16. Garth Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
15. Linton Kemp (Kilmore)
14. Luke Edwards (Romsey)
13. Leigh McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
12. Michael Allen (Riddell)
11. Kar Weng Ng (Woodend-Hesket)
10. Jason Allen (Riddell)
9. Jeremy Jose (Diggers Rest)
8. Ryan Connellan (Romsey)
7. Steve Burlak (Romsey)
6. Mark McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
5. Cole Laurie (Diggers Rest)
4. Chris Collins (Lancefield)
3. Matt Robertson (Kilmore)
2. Shaun Sims (Diggers Rest)
1. Daniel Sipthorp (Woodend-Hesket)
http://www.centralsport.org/wp-content/uploads/2007/04/sipthorp.thumbnail.gif
vantheman32
13 Apr 2007, 13:53
matt snyschyn at kilmore far from top 5 players at kilmore imo, doesnt train, didnt do much in the practice matches wil have 2 wait n see matt, perhaps over rating him on hype
Adam goudge to have a very good season this year! under rate him at your own peril