View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

matt_nicholls
13 Apr 2007, 13:58
matt snyschyn at kilmore far from top 5 players at kilmore imo, doesnt train, didnt do much in the practice matches wil have 2 wait n see matt, perhaps over rating him on hype
Adam goudge to have a very good season this year! under rate him at your own peril

You could be right champ but I saw 80 per cent of your matches last year and if you blokes had a full-forward you would have made the finals.

If he can kick straight, lead and take a mark, he'll fit right in at J.J. Clancy Reserve. You don't kick 100 in a season and not be capable.

billylid
13 Apr 2007, 14:00
3 - Shaun Sims (Diggers Rest) Consistently in the best players in the competition, runner up in the Bowen Medal again last year (Stiff) and will be around the mark again, has a fantastic set of hands overhead and causes opposition sides massive matchup headaches. Best leader in the competition, as captain his teammates would follow him through a bushfire. When Sims fires, Diggers wins.

2 - Daniel Sipthorpe (Woodend/Hesket) Gun midfielder from the Bendigo Football League side Gisborne. I have only seen Sippy in action a couple of times and from what I have seen is a tough ball winner who can sometimes lose his way through frustration. Brilliant skills and ball winning ability.

1 - Matt Robertson (Kilmore) Unfortunately we didn't get to fully appreciate his wares last year due to injury, but I cant forget what ive seen and this guy is all class, ability to win the football, composure, balance, he can hurt you in clearances, win the football by playing a kick behind and then be pushing forward and kicking 2-3 goals a game to really hurt the opposition. IMO will be the player to watch again in 07, being captain for the first time wont hurt him either. My tip for the Bowen Medal in 2007

Can argue with any of your selections however i did find it
Interesting to see that Chris Payne didnt make it into your Top 50 IMS given he finsihed 2nd of the RDFL goal kicking last year surely worth a spot in the Top 50. I eagerly await your middle year top 50 if he is anywhere near the top of the goalkicking surely youd have to include the guy..

vantheman32
13 Apr 2007, 14:00
Its My Show, great job on the top 50 mate.
Not many young blokes so im interested to see who your top 10 young blokes are for the season?

vantheman32
13 Apr 2007, 14:01
when did he kick 100 in a season? n where? i wasnt aware of this ?

matt_nicholls
13 Apr 2007, 14:16
when did he kick 100 in a season? n where? i wasn't aware of this ?

Apparantly he has kicked one. It was in the Review so it must be true! Haha.

Doona2
13 Apr 2007, 14:17
[QUOTE=matt_nicholls;7206766]My RDFL top 30

30. Sam Bowen (Woodend-Hesket)
29. Adam Johnstone (Woodend-Hesket)
28. Matt McLellan (Romsey)
27. Dean Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos)
26. Chris Kakoschke (Lancefield)
25. Bobby Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos)
24. Warren Else (Woodend-Hesket)
23. Matt Senyschyn (Kilmore)
22. Leigh Coles (Riddell)
21. Chris Payne Diggers Rest)
20. Justin Bellville (Riddell)
19. Steve Ruane (Diggers Rest)
18. Simon Choate (Lancefield)
17. Brydon Morgan (Romsey)
16. Garth Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
15. Linton Kemp (Kilmore)
14. Luke Edwards (Romsey)
13. Leigh McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
12. Michael Allen (Riddell)
11. Kar Weng Ng (Woodend-Hesket)
10. Jason Allen (Riddell)
9. Jeremy Jose (Diggers Rest)
8. Ryan Connellan (Romsey)
7. Steve Burlak (Romsey)
6. Mark McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
5. Cole Laurie (Diggers Rest)
4. Chris Collins (Lancefield)
3. Matt Robertson (Kilmore)
2. Shaun Sims (Diggers Rest)
1. Daniel Sipthorp (Woodend-Hesket)
QUOTE]

Whatya know Matt? 2nd efforts could be his killer when the ball hits the deck. Do agree though if the Blues can get it in his area enough his hands do look good and will be very hard to get around on the lead

matt_nicholls
13 Apr 2007, 14:17
Interesting to see that Chris Payne didnt make it into your Top 50 IMS given he finsihed 2nd of the RDFL goal kicking last year surely worth a spot in the Top 50. I eagerly await your middle year top 50 if he is anywhere near the top of the goalkicking surely youd have to include the guy..

He had him at number 43 I think you'll find Billy

Doona2
13 Apr 2007, 14:19

Now now dont go bagging the opposition mate keep the relationship professional as I reckon they might be covering your bills for this week judging by the ultra thin April 11 edition;)

matt_nicholls
13 Apr 2007, 14:21
Now now dont go bagging the opposition mate keep the relationship professional as I reckon they might be covering your bills for this week judging by the ultra thin April 11 edition;)

I wasn't bagging them. Lauren did a fantastic job. I'm just saying it was in the Review, therefore you would assume it is factual.

By the way, the thin edition was due to Easter, little advertising and little sport and news around.

vantheman32
13 Apr 2007, 14:23
matt told me a few weeks ago that he kicked 41 in 6 games last year after playing at full back most of the season, far from a hundred but a good return in 6 matches none the less, he will provide a good target but he isnt in my top 5 players at kilmore

Mongrel
13 Apr 2007, 14:25

very tough job to do the top 30 or the top 50.great job matty.
i agree with heaps of them.but even though i do rate payney, you highly over rate him.
sippy is the correct choice 4 number 1.overall a great effort by you and gav:thumbsu:

Doona2
13 Apr 2007, 14:27
I wasn't bagging them. Lauren did a fantastic job. I'm just saying it was in the Review, therefore you would assume it is factual.
By the way, the thin edition was due to Easter, little advertising and little sport and news around.

thought u were being sarcastic :thumbsu: At least they give you some sport pages I guess, poor Lauren was getting 2-3 pages to usel outa 48-52 pages . . . . . any wonder she took off

Mobbenfuhrer
13 Apr 2007, 14:29
Doona are you gonna get on a Regional Leagues fantasy club? You're basically a celebrity on the forums ... would be a shame to see you running the scoreboard :(

Doona2
13 Apr 2007, 14:31
Doona are you gonna get on a Regional Leagues fantasy club? You're basically a celebrity on the forums ... would be a shame to see you running the scoreboard :(

Must admit aint had time to check it out yet

blues12
13 Apr 2007, 14:31
Big day at Clarke Oval next Saturday, Sunbury reserves will be unveiling their first flag in a grand final re-match, While in the seniors, both clubs will welcome back and play for the Rob Boyd Trophy.
Both clubs have had a great rivalry in the past and it will be great to see them playing for something.
Surely this will this be match of the round, and with the off season build up could it be match of the year?

matt_nicholls
13 Apr 2007, 14:32
very tough job to do the top 30 or the top 50.great job matty.
i agree with heaps of them.but even though i do rate payney, you highly over rate him.
sippy is the correct choice 4 number 1.overall a great effort by you and gav:thumbsu:

I'm not the biggest fan of Payney, but he does fill a big hole at the Burra. He gives the strong midfield a good target and is a pretty good set shot. Came second in the goal kicking. We don't have many genuine forwards in this comp with the likes of James x 2, Barker, Lacy, Dowling, Gadsden etc. departing in the last two seasons.

Itsmyshow
13 Apr 2007, 15:07
Its My Show, great job on the top 50 mate.
Not many young blokes so im interested to see who your top 10 young blokes are for the season?

What do you call young blokes Van???

Itsmyshow
13 Apr 2007, 15:10

He was in my top 50 Billy.. Number 43

vantheman32
13 Apr 2007, 15:29
under 21 yrs old id say

billylid
13 Apr 2007, 15:42
He was in my top 50 Billy.. Number 43

Sorry i jump the gun a liitle and only was talking about top 40. The only other player i would have included in top 40 is Jason king from you guys as i rate him as a footballer

Itsmyshow
13 Apr 2007, 16:19
Sorry i jump the gun a liitle and only was talking about top 40. The only other player i would have included in top 40 is Jason king from you guys as i rate him as a footballer

Fair enough.. But if you have a look there is alot of quality footballers in that top 50 mate.
As for Kingy, I rate him highly too.. Hopefully by mid year he can push himself higher up this list.. I personally think that he will...

Itsmyshow
13 Apr 2007, 16:30
under 21 yrs old id say

21 or under and you are talking Chris Collins, Garth Ploog, Jackson Baddelley, Matt Welsh, Damien Janner etc..

Ill say 20.. (Not included in current list)

1 - Matt Stacey (Woodend/Hesket)
2 - Jay Wilton (If he returns) (Macedon)
3 - Travis Hede (Kilmore)
4 - Paul Newton (Sunbury Kangaroos)
5 - Mick Kilty (Diggers Rest)
6 - James Wright (Macedon FC)
7 - Luke Smith (Sunbury Kangaroos)
8 - Alastair Collins (Macedon FC)
9 - Jason Welfare (Rockbank)
10 - Cam Dawson (Romsey)

Itsmyshow
13 Apr 2007, 18:11
Any of you fog-dodgers interested in fielding a team? :p

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314342

I strongly recommend that we get some more of the regular RDFL posters to join up to Mobb's comp.. We need 7 more to have a team.. So go to the thread and tell Mobb your in RDFL style....:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

goblues09
13 Apr 2007, 18:40

not wrong there doona - took it to the loo whilst at work and got thru it all, and that was just for a quick piss!!!

Doona2
14 Apr 2007, 00:49
not wrong there doona - took it to the loo whilst at work and got thru it all, and that was just for a quick piss!!!

Im guessing this week's will be a ripper with the latest whispers suggesting Wallan may even go into recess for 2007 like Reservoir has if the support the club is desperate for doesn't appear at Tuesday night's meeting

blues12
14 Apr 2007, 11:18
Correct about Peter Robertson playing under serge at Sunbury Lions due to an apprenticeship, clearance was lodged yesterday.

Mobbenfuhrer
14 Apr 2007, 12:49
I strongly recommend that we get some more of the regular RDFL posters to join up to Mobb's comp.. We need 7 more to have a team.. So go to the thread and tell Mobb your in RDFL style....:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

No indisvidual league has a team of its own yet ... DVFL is leading the way ... but we have about 50 players so far across the whole comp :)

dweeb
14 Apr 2007, 14:47
21 or under and you are talking Chris Collins, Garth Ploog, Jackson Baddelley, Matt Welsh, Damien Janner etc..

Ill say 20.. (Not included in current list)

1 - Matt Stacey (Woodend/Hesket)
2 - Jay Wilton (If he returns) (Macedon)
3 - Travis Hede (Kilmore)
4 - Paul Newton (Sunbury Kangaroos)
5 - Mick Kilty (Diggers Rest)
6 - James Wright (Macedon FC)
7 - Luke Smith (Sunbury Kangaroos)
8 - Alastair Collins (Macedon FC)
9 - Jason Welfare (Rockbank)
10 - Cam Dawson (Romsey)

i think you will find neither jackson baddeley or matt welsh are 21 yet. they are both still 20 turning 21 mid year like luke smith.

vantheman32
15 Apr 2007, 14:53
add justin colliss to the list of under 20s very good player

Iceman27
15 Apr 2007, 15:13
add justin colliss to the list of under 20s very good player

Van, you got a result from your game against Kinglake for me and how did the lakers look. Also I think Riddel played Watsonia, anyone with a result on that game.

Iceman27
15 Apr 2007, 15:17
Van, you got a result from your game against Kinglake for me and how did the lakers look. Also I think Riddel played Watsonia, anyone with a result on that game.

Ignore the Riddel bit, They got up by around 10 goals.

vantheman32
15 Apr 2007, 17:05
King lake were fairly ordinary really in 3 qrts we beat them 108 - 25... some very good signs for kilmore but obvioulsy this weekends match against Riddell is the real thing! looking foward to a good game.

Doona2
15 Apr 2007, 22:49
King lake were fairly ordinary really in 3 qrts we beat them 108 - 25... some very good signs for kilmore but obvioulsy this weekends match against Riddell is the real thing! looking foward to a good game.

Should never have played Kinglake waste of your time :thumbsd: Shoulda played a game against Broady woulda been a top day between the Mitchell Shire neighbours :thumbsu: Maybe next year.

Any more Wallan players in your sights Van should they sadly have to pull the pin Tuesday night?

billylid
16 Apr 2007, 09:39

your presence was noticed in the little country town of bungaree on saturday id be very interested to see how you thought the diggers boys went (4 goal wion
) IMS. I Thought there was some very good signs and with up to 4-6 players to come back next week , competition for spots is defiantly there which is a good thing

B.O.G
16 Apr 2007, 11:00
hey guys just read 20-1 of the top 50 rdfl players, what page can i go to to read the 50-20 players, list was good quite accurate, but i think a good idea would be a list after a few rounds like i t has been said b4.

any news on late pre-game round 1 clearences from all clubs????

joeblow2
16 Apr 2007, 11:49
So now the pre season is done. The big questions will now be asked of all sides this week in round 1. What have people seen? Who will the big improvers (and losers) in 07? Riddell v Kilmore and Sunbury Kanga's V Diggers would be the big games of the round, while Kilmore and Centrals will be battling it out for the 'on the march' tag early on. Woodend have recruited strongly while Macedon, from all reports, are going to struggle, so could be one sided there and Lancefield v Rockbank is the battle of the cellar dwellars from 06, and will both be out to regain some respect from their rivals.

Good luck to all for the season, here's hoping it's good clean, competetive football in what is shaping as a big season in the Riddell league.

From a Lancefield point of view, our 1's are disappointed with their performance against Newlyn, however the 2's and 18's will be heading into the season on a winning note.

matt_nicholls
16 Apr 2007, 12:07
From a Lancefield point of view, our 1's are disappointed with their performance against Newlyn, however the 2's and 18's will be heading into the season on a winning note.

Lancefield's senior XVIII were missing Simon Choate, Mark Caton, Phil Conway and Tom Leehane. All ones players. They will improve this season. Might pip a few of the finals contenders but will finish about seventh.

weekend warrior
16 Apr 2007, 12:15
Lancefield's senior XVIII were missing Simon Choate, Mark Caton, Phil Conway and Tom Leehane. All ones players. They will improve this season. Might pip a few of the finals contenders but will finish about seventh.

pickles i hope for lancefields sake the mark caton you refer to is not the 20 year old mark caton who springs to mind. If missing him is lancefields excuse then the tiges could have a long season ahead of them.

Itsmyshow
16 Apr 2007, 12:27
Top 50 in its entirety...

50 - S.Smithwick (Lancefield)
49 - N.Ash (Riddell)
48 - J.Shewan (Lancefield)
47 - L.Sporle (Sunbury Kangaroos)
46 - J.Tully (Lancefield)
45 - R.Dowling (Woodend/Hesket)
44 - A.Christianson (Macedon)
43 - C.Payne (Diggers Rest)
42 - J.Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
41 - D.Janner (Diggers Rest)
40 - N.Curico(Woodend/Hesket)
39 - W.Else (Woodend/Hesket)
38 - M.Nolan (Diggers Rest)
37 - J.King (Sunbury Kangaroos)
36 - M.McClellan (Romsey)
35 - A.Johnstone (Woodend/Hesket)
34 - S.Burlak (Romsey)
33 - S.Bowen (Woodend/Hesket)
32 - B.Green (Diggers Rest)
31 - K.Bullen (Melton Centrals)
30 - L.Edwards (Romsey)
29 - M.Peatling (Riddell)
28 - R.Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos)
27 - S.Clarke (Lancefield)
26 - H.Wadden (Riddell)
25 - B.Wheelahan (Melton Centrals)
24 - B.Morgan (Romsey)
23 - D.Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos)
22 - S.Choate (Lancefield)
21 - D.Cuinik (Woodend/Hesket)
20 - L.Coles (Riddell)
19 - L.Walker (Rockbank)
18 - J.Heritage (Diggers Rest)
17 - G.Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
16 - M.Allen (Riddell)
15 - J.Bellville (Riddell)
14 - L.McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
13 - S.Ruane (Diggers Rest)
12 - S.James (Sunbury Kangaroos)
11 - J.Jose (Diggers Rest)
10 - J.Allen (Riddell)
9 - L.Kemp (Kilmore)
8 - C.Collins (Lancefield)
7 - R.Connellan (Romsey)
6 - C.Laurie (Diggers Rest)
5 - K.Ng (Woodend/Hesket)
4 - M.McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
3 - S.Sims (Diggers Rest)
2 - D.Sipthorpe (Woodend/Hesket)
1 - M.Robertson (Kilmore)

Itsmyshow
16 Apr 2007, 12:30
i think you will find neither jackson baddeley or matt welsh are 21 yet. they are both still 20 turning 21 mid year like luke smith.
Luke Smith is a year younger when it came to qualification for Under 18.. I decided that he was on the border of the group im talking about.. Nice try again to shoot me down dweeb.. But you gotta do alot better than that...

matt_nicholls
16 Apr 2007, 12:41
pickles i hope for lancefields sake the mark caton you refer to is not the 20 year old mark caton who springs to mind. If missing him is lancefields excuse then the tiges could have a long season ahead of them.

Mark Caton would be about 23 and although he is Lancefield's back-up ruck he gives the Tigers a tall forward or defensive option which they dearly missed on Saturday. Phil Conway should be given a medal for the work he has done over the past five years at Lancefield.

tiges07
16 Apr 2007, 17:06
Mark Caton would be about 23 and although he is Lancefield's back-up ruck he gives the Tigers a tall forward or defensive option which they dearly missed on Saturday. Phil Conway should be given a medal for the work he has done over the past five years at Lancefield.

There's no need to stick up for the tiges Pickles. I am a tigers faithful and I concede the fact that we are f#cked for season 07. By putting a little boy in charge of the senior side, we are heading backwards. I say bring back the Brew. Appoint Brewy as coach and all problems will be solved.

joeblow2
16 Apr 2007, 20:25
Top 50 in its entirety...

50 - S.Smithwick (Lancefield)
49 - N.Ash (Riddell)
48 - J.Shewan (Lancefield)
47 - L.Sporle (Sunbury Kangaroos)
46 - J.Tully (Lancefield)
45 - R.Dowling (Woodend/Hesket)
44 - A.Christianson (Macedon)
43 - C.Payne (Diggers Rest)
42 - J.Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
41 - D.Janner (Diggers Rest)
40 - N.Curico(Woodend/Hesket)
39 - W.Else (Woodend/Hesket)
38 - M.Nolan (Diggers Rest)
37 - J.King (Sunbury Kangaroos)
36 - M.McClellan (Romsey)
35 - A.Johnstone (Woodend/Hesket)
34 - S.Burlak (Romsey)
33 - S.Bowen (Woodend/Hesket)
32 - B.Green (Diggers Rest)
31 - K.Bullen (Melton Centrals)
30 - L.Edwards (Romsey)
29 - M.Peatling (Riddell)
28 - R.Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos)
27 - S.Clarke (Lancefield)
26 - H.Wadden (Riddell)
25 - B.Wheelahan (Melton Centrals)
24 - B.Morgan (Romsey)
23 - D.Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos)
22 - S.Choate (Lancefield)
21 - D.Cuinik (Woodend/Hesket)
20 - L.Coles (Riddell)
19 - L.Walker (Rockbank)
18 - J.Heritage (Diggers Rest)
17 - G.Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
16 - M.Allen (Riddell)
15 - J.Bellville (Riddell)
14 - L.McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
13 - S.Ruane (Diggers Rest)
12 - S.James (Sunbury Kangaroos)
11 - J.Jose (Diggers Rest)
10 - J.Allen (Riddell)
9 - L.Kemp (Kilmore)
8 - C.Collins (Lancefield)
7 - R.Connellan (Romsey)
6 - C.Laurie (Diggers Rest)
5 - K.Ng (Woodend/Hesket)
4 - M.McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
3 - S.Sims (Diggers Rest)
2 - D.Sipthorpe (Woodend/Hesket)
1 - M.Robertson (Kilmore)
Interesting to see how the top 50 holds up throughout the season. On weight of numbers the Burras and the Kangaroos will be right up the with 9 players each in the top 50. Highly rated as well will be the Hawks (8) and the Bombers (7). This theory then rounds out the top 5 with the Tigers (6). Outside the five are the Redbacks (5), Centrals and Kilmore (2) and Macedon and Rockbank fighting for the spoon one 1 each.

Obviously, being a 22 per side sport, not much can be read into this, but it will be interesting to see how it stacks up against actual results.

Doona2
16 Apr 2007, 22:21
There's no need to stick up for the tiges Pickles. I am a tigers faithful and I concede the fact that we are f#cked for season 07. By putting a little boy in charge of the senior side, we are heading backwards. I say bring back the Brew. Appoint Brewy as coach and all problems will be solved.

Cant wait to show me mate Brewy this at work in the morning . . . . he loves Big Footy!!!

Mongrel
17 Apr 2007, 09:35
Luke Smith is a year younger when it came to qualification for Under 18.. I decided that he was on the border of the group im talking about.. Nice try again to shoot me down dweeb.. But you gotta do alot better than that...

IMS give us your predictions for the first round

B.O.G
17 Apr 2007, 11:03

Gee TIGES you havent even given the kid a go yet and your writing him off, a few of us had wondered how he would get the respect of the older boys, theres no doubting he is a good player(gf speaks for itself) but he did go into the season with no expectation on his shoulders, he could play the way he wanted, if he got a heap of kicks he was a freak, it will really test his character now that he will checked a more closly as people know who he is an what he can do.

i have herd he is doing ok with the group down at tigerland, but have heard it will take time, whats your view on the respect level???
has he got it n will he keep it?????

matt_nicholls
17 Apr 2007, 11:15
Gee TIGES you havent even given the kid a go yet and your writing him off, a few of us had wondered how he would get the respect of the older boys, theres no doubting he is a good player(gf speaks for itself) but he did go into the season with no expectation on his shoulders, he could play the way he wanted, if he got a heap of kicks he was a freak, it will really test his character now that he will checked a more closly as people know who he is an what he can do.

i have herd he is doing ok with the group down at tigerland, but have heard it will take time, whats your view on the respect level???

I'll make this statement about the Lancefield Football Club.

It is well known that I have played at the Tigers since 2003, started as a 16-year-old and played three years in the thirds, where we enjoyed little success. I played last year in the magoos and will probably play there in the magoos all this season too.

Apart from me playing, I don't have much to do with the Lancefield Footy Club. However, I will say this. Lancefield is one of the best clubs around. Their decision to appoint Chris Collins as senior coach was courageous and not a last resort, as some people may think. They backed the kid in because he is a natural leader. I played junior football with Chris from when I was eight years old. Ever since I have known him he has demanded respect from his elders, his peers and coaches by the way he goes about business.

Lancefield may struggle on the field in 2007, I personally don't think the seniors will make the finals. However, I can guarantee that the Tigers will be a better club at the end of the season for having Chris as the senior coach. Appointing the young man - and he is a man - as the head coach of over 70 players is an investment. The RDFL might not see the benefits this year, or even the next, but Lancefield will return to the top of the ladder in the next five years.

That's my opinion, although I am slightly biased. But for a club that hasn't paid players in the last five seasons (perhaps one or two were looked after but I doubt any more), they have done a terrific job and made the right decision to appoint Collins.

Itsmyshow
17 Apr 2007, 11:23
IMS give us your predictions for the first round

Will be done later in the week with my write up of each game.. I will do my pre season ladder prediction now though.

Diggers Rest
Woodend/Hesket
Sunbury Kangaroos
Riddell
Kilmore

Romsey
Lancefield
Melton Centrals
Rockbank
Macedon

GF - Diggers Rest Vs Sunbury Kangaroos
Winner - Sunbury Kangaroos
Bowen - Matt Robertson
Most talked about player - Matt Robertson/Daniel Sipthorpe
Coach of the year - Jarrod Dixon
Big improvers - Kilmore
Big Sliders - Macedon

Itsmyshow
17 Apr 2007, 11:29

Im one that actually thinks that Chris will do a good job of coaching the Tigers, like Matt said, he is a natural leader and as long as he surrounds himself with quality people to assist him he will be a good coach for the Tigers. Even if I did spank his bowling this year...

matt_nicholls
17 Apr 2007, 11:31
Even if I did spank his bowling this year...

Haha. It was a good knock indeed that day. Collo finished up with the second best bowling average in the grade. Just 0.2 behind Mark Caton who won.

Doona2
17 Apr 2007, 11:32

Maybe Brewy could move the magnets?

Itsmyshow
17 Apr 2007, 11:51
Haha. It was a good knock indeed that day. Collo finished up with the second best bowling average in the grade. Just 0.2 behind Mark Caton who won.

Both of them copped a spankin from me.. I was goin really well until Cookie nearly decapitated me with the slowest bouncer EVER... It rattled me... :eek:

matt_nicholls
17 Apr 2007, 11:56
Both of them copped a spankin from me.. I was goin really well until Cookie nearly decapitated me with the slowest bouncer EVER... It rattled me... :eek:

Lucky you didn't see me bowl against United before Xmas. The story goes like this ... Lancefield F-grade make 155. United skipper says at tea that it might not be enough on the small Lanny second oval.

Under 16 player Rob Cini comes out, takes 6-10 and has em rattled. Sensing a good chance to get some bowling in, the idiot Lancefield skipper (me) has a bowl and United's score goes from 8-12, to 8-50 from my three overs. We bowled them out for 55 after I took myself off, but should've skittled them for 20.

B.O.G
17 Apr 2007, 12:26
Im one that actually thinks that Chris will do a good job of coaching the Tigers, like Matt said, he is a natural leader and as long as he surrounds himself with quality people to assist him he will be a good coach for the Tigers. Even if I did spank his bowling this year...

hey guys i was not attempting to put the guy down nor the club by appointing him it was just a qn throrwn out there, not knowing him personally only from the field we dont get to see what happens at training or game days ect, it was a big move to appoint the kid but it was just a qn to see what the older fellas have thought about it, as we know some people dnt like to be told what to do ( life n footy) so i was just wondering how it was being percived by the olda blokes, wether they are taking his advice on (due to his age), no harm ment at all

Trueblueroo
17 Apr 2007, 12:58
This was always going to be something that would be thrown up! It's a tough one and speaking to different groups from lancefield the general feeling is, he's doing a good job! The club can't expect miracles in 2007 but it will see improvements across the board!

I watched the game saturday and looking on, there were some good signs in a average game of footy! I just think you need to give him a couple of weeks to find his feet in a competition like environment rather than ya back yard scratch match, which was very much like Saturdays game!

Wish him best of luck, was a very good player when we were at PEGS and by all accords has come on leaps and bounds!

gazza35
17 Apr 2007, 13:09
Anyone got any info on a new signing at romsey nettelbeck

matt_nicholls
17 Apr 2007, 13:19
Anyone got any info on a new signing at romsey nettelbeck

Brother played league football (think he was on Melbourne, Sydney and Freos list), has played at Riddell recently. Will be very good in the RDFL

joeblow2
17 Apr 2007, 13:30
It needs to be said that Chris has some very good, experienced support on the coaching panel, with Andrew Reaper, John Ryan and George Ferguson. The vibe around the club has picked up 100% from last season, with good numbers getting to training and there is no issue when it comes to respect.

So signs are positive at his stage, and we're looking to be the big improvers in 07. Only time will tell.

Blueboy16
17 Apr 2007, 14:33
Good to see ex Kanga U/18 Captain Nathan Hole returning to the club after a long stint at the Lions. I reckon Kanga's are going to be hard to beat this season.

matt_nicholls
17 Apr 2007, 15:08
MY RDFL PREVIEW

"Three-peat" for Riddell

by Matt Nicholls

FOOTBALL fans have to wait just three days to see local football back in the district.
On Saturday, the Riddell District league kicks off, with the neighbouring Heathcote and DiamondValley leagues to start on April 28 and May 5 respectively.
Kilmore will have a tough test in its hand from day one with a fierce encounter scheduled against reigning premiers Riddell on Saturday.
The Blues have lost the services of key players John Rowe and Damien Barton, but coach Terry Ahearn has recruited strongly, signing a top full-forward in Matt Senyschyn, a ruckman in Clinton Ford and capable utilities in David Cornish, Chris George and Bruce and James Hutchison.
Riddell lose goal kicking superstar Lee James to Mulwala, but have recruited former Keilor Park captain Leigh Coles and several others to fill the void.
Leigh Harrison will need to stand up towards the full-forward line this season, but Riddell will still be class act and very hard to beat.
In the round one opener, with the aid of a home ground advantage and the Bombers fielding a new-look forward line, Kilmore will be confident of victory.

For the full story, visit www.centralsport.org (http://www.centralsport.org)

PS. Apologies to fans outside my district, I couldn't write too much about teams such as Sunbury, Diggers, Macedon, Melton etc.

SpiralNotebook
17 Apr 2007, 16:58
Gentlemen, welcome to the beginning of season 2007! Some big gains and losses over the summer in the rdfl which would have thrown clubs into disarray. As usual the amount of rubbish in this forum makes me feel ill and and am looking forward to having a good read come sunday. My tips for the weekend;

Kilmore vs Riddell:34 points
Lancefield vs Rockbank:29 points
Romsey vs Melton Central:46points
Sunbury Kangaroos vs Diggers Rest: 23 points
Woodend/Hesket vs Macedon FC:107 points

The ladder come season's end;
1. Woodend
2. Riddell
3. Diggers Rest
4. Romsey
5. Sunbury
6. Kilmore
7. Lancefield
8. Melton Central
9. Macedon
10. Rockbank

Ballsy
17 Apr 2007, 17:36
Matt i think you forgot to mention Travis Hede inthe Kilmore rap, he will be disappointed with you. You know he is a gun.

vantheman32
17 Apr 2007, 17:48
not fussed he simply just mentioned the new players at the club, along with the departues

blues12
17 Apr 2007, 23:49
I must say that i was disappointed to open one sunbury paper in the Telegraph, to find that there was not 1 mention of the RDFL season opening this weekend. I must admit i would have thought they would have something in regards to the first football comp to start in the area.
Great to see some football coverage, a 3/4 page rap up of lancefeilds practice match against newlyn last week. not that they dont deserve anything, but a little publicity for the RDFL wouldn't go a stray.
Hopefully the Leader has something to read about the start of what should be a very good year of RDFL footy.

bearsboy
18 Apr 2007, 08:55
I must say that i was disappointed to open one sunbury paper in the Telegraph, to find that there was not 1 mention of the RDFL season opening this weekend. I must admit i would have thought they would have something in regards to the first football comp to start in the area.
Great to see some football coverage, a 3/4 page rap up of lancefeilds practice match against newlyn last week. not that they dont deserve anything, but a little publicity for the RDFL wouldn't go a stray.
Hopefully the Leader has something to read about the start of what should be a very good year of RDFL footy.The Telegraph is an absolute disgrace when it comes to local sport .

matt_nicholls
18 Apr 2007, 09:56
Ring Kylie at The Free Press on 5782 1344 to get a subscription to the true local newspaper. Although we don't cover Sunbury, if you want RDFL news, The Free Press will have it.

matt_nicholls
18 Apr 2007, 09:57
Hopefully the Leader has something to read about the start of what should be a very good year of RDFL footy.

I think of the eight or so players/coaches etc on that page, only two were spelt correctly.

Trueblueroo
18 Apr 2007, 10:06
Can't remember what paper it was last year, but there was a massive right up about how team's for that year were going to go! As well as losses and gains to respective clubs!

Has that been done in this weeks paper?

IMS perhaps you could put together something similar to what Matty has done for our game?

Itsmyshow
18 Apr 2007, 10:43
IMS's Round preview...

Kilmore Vs Riddell.
Kilmore have recruited well over the off season picking up a full forward and several utilities as well as key back Linton Kemp, Matt Robertson will step up into the captaincy and when fit is one of the premier players in the comp. Riddell have lost Lee James which will be where most of the focus on Riddell will belong in the first few weeks, the recruiting of Coles will help, Leigh Harrison as the main focus will suit him too, add the recruiting of gun small forward Michael Allen to a forward line that already boast Dean Besanko and Heath Wadden and you still have a side capable of competing at the top of the ladder.
Riddell by 30

Lancefield Vs Rockbank
The focus will be on new coach Collins and the way he handles his first coaching jaunt, Lancefield has improved its list and will be a much more competitive unit this year with Clarke, Tully and Shewan along with skipper Choate to be Collins main men.
Rockbank have also gone along quietly but have recruited Luke Walker back from Strathmore and he is a talent, the loss of Krul and Matthews will hurt the Rams but they will improve on last year, but not enough for this game.
Lancefield by 45

Romsey Vs Melton Central
The Redbacks took the biggest hit when it came to players leaving over the off season, but also recruited several very talented footballers, Connellan is a star, Luke Edwards is a Bowen medallist, the Redbacks will be right up there again.
Centrals have been the quiet achievers, the new coach seems to have recruited pretty well and Wheels and crew are looking fit and quick, Kane Bullen is a huge pick up for Centrals who will improve on last years efforts.
Romsey by 20

Woodend/Hesket Vs Macedon
The last time these 2 sides met Macedon came away with a huge upset win, wont happen this time.
The Hawks have been touted the big movers all pre season, with the signing of several ex Gissy players are looking strong, Sipthorpe, Curico, Salpietro as well as the return of Bowen says that Woodend will be one of the top sides this year.
From all reports Macedon have lost a few players, they have also been quiet on the recruiting front, nobody could take the Cats lightly, but they will struggle in this one, watch out for young guns Al Collins and James Wright though, both will have big seasons.
Woodend/Hesket by 130

Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Diggers Rest
Match of the Round and a great opener to the league's 2007 season, the Rivalry will be alive and well when these 2 play for the Rob Boyd trophy, Diggers are an excellent team, the players support and back each other every step, the Roos have recruited pretty well in the off season and both sides will be looking to start thier season's off well.
Cracking game
Kangaroos to win

Itsmyshow
18 Apr 2007, 11:23
I think of the eight or so players/coaches etc on that page, only two were spelt correctly.
Prediction for Woodend to miss the finals Matty.. Big call....

B.O.G
18 Apr 2007, 12:51
Prediction for Woodend to miss the finals Matty.. Big call....

who said that woodend would miss the final??
that is a huge call, they lost to diggers in OT and have only lost one player and they have covered him really well with what they have picked up!!!

Itsmyshow
18 Apr 2007, 13:29
that is a huge call, they lost to diggers in OT and have only lost one player and they have covered him really well with what they have picked up!!!

Check out Matt's full story on www.centralsport.org

matt_nicholls
18 Apr 2007, 13:30

In my opinion it'll be a logjam in the top five this season. Woodend-Hesket lose its three best forwards from last year in Mick Lacy, Rick Dowling and Luke Barker. They have recruited well, but I don't think Salpietro is going to kick more than 35-40 goals this season. Sipthorp is a huge signing also but he will at times get frustrated by the standard, he will take a bit to settle in. Kilmore will be big improvers consistency wise, and lost to Diggers twice last year by less than 10 points.

Riddell has been the Blues bogey side for the last couple of seasons, if they can win or get close to the Bombers on Saturday it will be a very good indication for Kilmore fans.

Can't see Romsey missing the five, despite losing some class players. I think they'll be very hard to beat in 2007. Riddell will be up there again, and Diggers' midfield will carry them into the finals. Sunbury Kangaroos will again improve and have some classy players in their ranks. The Hawks were stiff to miss out on the six, but you can't fit em all in.

Itsmyshow
18 Apr 2007, 14:10
In my opinion it'll be a logjam in the top five this season. Woodend-Hesket lose its three best forwards from last year in Mick Lacy, Rick Dowling and Luke Barker. They have recruited well, but I don't think Salpietro is going to kick more than 35-40 goals this season. Sipthorp is a huge signing also but he will at times get frustrated by the standard, he will take a bit to settle in. Kilmore will be big improvers consistency wise, and lost to Diggers twice last year by less than 10 points.

Riddell has been the Blues bogey side for the last couple of seasons, if they can win or get close to the Bombers on Saturday it will be a very good indication for Kilmore fans.

Can't see Romsey missing the five, despite losing some class players. I think they'll be very hard to beat in 2007. Riddell will be up there again, and Diggers' midfield will carry them into the finals. Sunbury Kangaroos will again improve and have some classy players in their ranks. The Hawks were stiff to miss out on the six, but you can't fit em all in.

Thats fair enough.. Everyone entitled to thier opinion..

weekend warrior
18 Apr 2007, 14:14
Dissappointed Matt Nicholls, woodend has not lost rick dowling he was out on the park last night. Lacy will play approx half of the season including finals and Luke Barker hardly had an impact at Woodend last year due to injuries. The hawks are in a lot better shape then you give them credit for.

matt_nicholls
18 Apr 2007, 14:18
Dissappointed Matt Nicholls, woodend has not lost rick dowling he was out on the park last night. Lacy will play approx half of the season including finals and Luke Barker hardly had an impact at Woodend last year due to injuries. The hawks are in a lot better shape then you give them credit for.

That's great for the Hawks. Hope they do well, one of my fave RDFL clubs. Someone should tell the committee that Lacy and Dowling are competing because the mail I got from two on the Woodend-Hesket board said that they would not be playing. I even got it from the horse's mouth about Rick, he must have changed his mind.

Hawker28
18 Apr 2007, 14:23
Matthew..... I would like you to do some research before posting silly, silly things? I rate some of your comments with the upmost respect! However you made a judgement call on Woodend to miss finals in 07!

Now in all fairness, Woodend have picked up some quality players, excusing the players already mentioned, but these other blokes will alone cover what has departed since 06!

You mention Daniel to win the Bowen! Fair comment, Yes! However how many blokes in the last 30 years in the RDFL have won Bowen medals and there side not played finals football? I would say there would be very few, in comparison to the last 30 years of AFL where only 4 players have won brownlows and there side not taken part in September!

I expect Daniel to be a leader and a top player in 2007 but a disturbed pre-season will be the factor to his sucess this year! A broken leg doing a back flip of a roof, gives you the impression playing football this year, is quiet clearly not high on his agenda! Far from fit and training minamal, i expect to see Sippy in round 3!

Now quiet clearly, right about now Riddel are laughing there heads off! How much has been talked about there practise matches and players that stood out, and new players recruited? Jack sh1t!!! They will go about there businesss and come out and play extremely good football and defeat Kilmore with ease!

Riddel have been the benchmark of this comp for the last 3 years!! I don't believe in the methodology that one bloke makes a team! Hence why they will be the leaders of the pack early in 2007!

Hawks top 5!

Sunbury Kangaroos
Riddel
Woodend
Diggers
Kilmore
Centrals
Romsey
Lancefield
Rockbank
Macedon

2 games seperating top spot a 7th........

Bring on 07:thumbsu:

matt_nicholls
18 Apr 2007, 14:32
Matthew..... I would like you to do some research before posting silly, silly things? I rate some of your comments with the upmost respect! However you made a judgement call on Woodend to miss finals in 07!

Now in all fairness, Woodend have picked up some quality players, excusing the players already mentioned, but these other blokes will alone cover what has departed since 06!

You mention Daniel to win the Bowen! Fair comment, Yes! However how many blokes in the last 30 years in the RDFL have won Bowen medals and there side not played finals football? I would say there would be very few, in comparison to the last 30 years of AFL where only 4 players have won brownlows and there side not taken part in September!

I expect Daniel to be a leader and a top player in 2007 but a disturbed pre-season will be the factor to his sucess this year! A broken leg doing a back flip of a roof, gives you the impression playing football this year, is quiet clearly not high on his agenda! Far from fit and training minamal, i expect to see Sippy in round 3!

Now quiet clearly, right about now Riddel are laughing there heads off! How much has been talked about there practise matches and players that stood out, and new players recruited? Jack sh1t!!! They will go about there businesss and come out and play extremely good football and defeat Kilmore with ease!

Riddel have been the benchmark of this comp for the last 3 years!! I don't believe in the methodology that one bloke makes a team! Hence why they will be the leaders of the pack early in 2007!

Hawks top 5!

Sunbury Kangaroos
Riddel
Woodend
Diggers
Kilmore
Centrals
Romsey
Lancefield
Rockbank
Macendon

2 games seperating top spot a 7th........

Bring on 07:thumbsu:

Last time I checked Hawker, I had Riddell on top of the ladder. You idiot! I personally went and watched two of their training sessions. Saw one Woodend-Hesekt session. You think I just make this up? Like I said, you can't fit six sides into the top five and I reluctantly chose the Hawks to miss out.

Also, putting Centrals above Romsey, that's a joke in itself.

woody07
18 Apr 2007, 14:38
That's great for the Hawks. Hope they do well, one of my fave RDFL clubs. Someone should tell the committee that Lacy and Dowling are competing because the mail I got from two on the Woodend-Hesket board said that they would not be playing. I even got it from the horse's mouth about Rick, he must have changed his mind.

Enjoyed reading your article regarding your predictions for the coming year and i'd have to say i think you've done a reasonable job.Based on your report it sounds like the standard of competition will be similar to last year, perhaps even a little better. On that point there were a couple of interesting selections that i'd love for you to explain.1. Kilmore lose a few key players and pick up a few players but will still feature in Sept. action despite missing out last year. And lets face it they were a little bit of the pack last year. 2. Romsey lose key several players (two of which are Bowen medalists i think)and pick up several key players but will end up second despite finishing 5th last year.
The last one is the most curious of the three selections 3.Woodend miss a Grand final birth by a couple of goals or minutes and lose two or three key players but pick a couple of reasonable players but will now miss out on the finals. Granted their avenue to goal has decreased, but surely with injection of a few midfield/forwards they will find goals in other positions? They may slide one or two positions, but miss out on the finals-i'm not so sure. It is great to see efforts made in lifting the profile of an improving league Matt. For that you should be congratulated. Too often do we get too much info concerning the B.F.L -a league that has not improved in the last ten years in my opinion-despite what B.F.L players keep telling us.

matt_nicholls
18 Apr 2007, 14:47
Enjoyed reading your article regarding your predictions for the coming year and i'd have to say i think you've done a reasonable job.Based on your report it sounds like the standard of competition will be similar to last year, perhaps even a little better. On that point there were a couple of interesting selections that i'd love for you to explain.1. Kilmore lose a few key players and pick up a few players but will still feature in Sept. action despite missing out last year. And lets face it they were a little bit of the pack last year. 2. Romsey lose key several players (two of which are Bowen medalists i think)and pick up several key players but will end up second despite finishing 5th last year.
The last one is the most curious of the three selections 3.Woodend miss a Grand final birth by a couple of goals or minutes and lose two or three key players but pick a couple of reasonable players but will now miss out on the finals. Granted their avenue to goal has decreased, but surely with injection of a few midfield/forwards they will find goals in other positions? They may slide one or two positions, but miss out on the finals-i'm not so sure. It is great to see efforts made in lifting the profile of an improving league Matt. For that you should be congratulated. Too often do we get too much info concerning the B.F.L -a league that has not improved in the last ten years in my opinion-despite what B.F.L players keep telling us.

Cheers mate. Some constructive criticism, that's what we need. My belief about Kilmore is that they lose JR and Barton, but are a young side that will continually improve. Haven't recruited big names from the local area but have recruited well. Romsey will be coached a little better this year, which is not a criticism of Fitzy either. They have a ruckman this season, Burlak will be better and Luke Edwards is a class on-baller. Like I said about the Hawks, they are stiff to be discounted. They could even win the flag this year, it would be stupid to write them off. Gidds will have them raring for Saturday and they will win a lot of games. Just think they lack a little bit of height and firepower up forward.

Also, Hawker if you are going to use AFL stats to back up your argument, you better get them right. I didn't check the last 30 brownlow winners because I only needed to get to 20 to find five winners that hadn't featured in September that year.

They are:
Shane Crawford, Hawthorn, 1999
Paul Kelly, Sydney, 1995
Tony Liberatore, Footscray, 1990
Gerard Healy, Sydney, 1988
Tony Lockett, St Kilda, 1987

Hawker28
18 Apr 2007, 14:48
Last time I checked Hawker, I had Riddell on top of the ladder. You idiot! I personally went and watched two of their training sessions. Saw one Woodend-Hesekt session. You think I just make this up? Like I said, you can't fit six sides into the top five and I reluctantly chose the Hawks to miss out.

Loosing Meldrum, Carrols and Stracks to a line up, does nothin but hurt a side which struggled last year at times! Now in all fairness Matt, you report a 2 training sessions! Come on, where not making judgements on training sessions! I agreed with you and said Riddell, would be the leaders in 07, but however Romsey are far from them this year!

As far as Romsey are concerned, Melton struggled in game plan, players and direction on and off the field! This year alone they have had a good pre-season, and i would say look to be the tallest side in the comp! Most of the players they have picked are ex Ammo! C+ grades, now im not here to judge your work! But you can't ignore a fact sitting right in front of you that Woodend last year perhaps could have been in the GF last year! They were roughly what, 27 points up or even more going into that last term at Macedon?

Have you watched a Riddell in a pre-season game this year?

Im not the idiot that said the side that missed out on the granny last year by less than 6 points was going to miss finals, and have the side that just made finals finish 2nd?

Hawker28
18 Apr 2007, 14:50
Cheers mate. Some constructive criticism, that's what we need. My belief about Kilmore is that they lose JR and Barton, but are a young side that will continually improve. Haven't recruited big names from the local area but have recruited well. Romsey will be coached a little better this year, which is not a criticism of Fitzy either. They have a ruckman this season, Burlak will be better and Luke Edwards is a class on-baller. Like I said about the Hawks, they are stiff to be discounted. They could even win the flag this year, it would be stupid to write them off. Gidds will have them raring for Saturday and they will win a lot of games. Just think they lack a little bit of height and firepower up forward.

Also, Hawker if you are going to use AFL stats to back up your argument, you better get them right. I didn't check the last 30 brownlow winners because I only needed to get to 20 to find five winners that hadn't featured in September that year.

They are:
Shane Crawford, Hawthorn, 1999
Paul Kelly, Sydney, 1995
Tony Liberatore, Footscray, 1990
Gerard Healy, Sydney, 1988
Tony Lockett, St Kilda, 1987

Just testing, how good you can be at times, when you do your research!!!:) :thumbsu:

joeblow2
18 Apr 2007, 14:51
Hawker disagrees with Pickles, Pickles thinks he's an idiot. Meanwhile Woody makes some good points as well. FOOTY'S BACK!!!!! And we're all happy about it. We're all sticking our necks out on what is really an unknown situation. Different blokes will combine well to increase their teams output (or decrease, depending on how they gel). I believe that the team that will set the benchmark, particularly early on, is Diggers. They have had little change to their best 22 and we know they combine well as a TEAM. That is the key word: 'TEAM'.

Bottom line is that in 19 weeks we will have the answers and it will be interesting to go back and see how opinions vary over the course of what is shaping as a great season.

matt_nicholls
18 Apr 2007, 14:55
Loosing Meldrum, Carrols and Stracks to a line up, does nothin but hurt a side which struggled last year at times! Now in all fairness Matt, you report a 2 training sessions! Come on, where not making judgements on training sessions! I agreed with you and said Riddell, would be the leaders in 07, but however Romsey are far from them this year!

As far as Romsey are concerned, Melton struggled in game plan, players and direction on and off the field! This year alone they have had a good pre-season, and i would say look to be the tallest side in the comp! Most of the players they have picked are ex Ammo! C+ grades, now im here to judge you ro your work! But you can't ignore a fact sitting right in front of you that Woodend last year perhaps could have been in the GF last year! They were roughly what, 27 points up or even more going into that last term at Macedon?

Have you watched a Riddell in a pre-season game this year?

Im not the idiot that said the side that missed out on the granny last year by less than 6 points was going to miss finals, and have the side that just made finals finish 2nd?

I actually saw Riddell for a couple of quarters against Whittlesea. As observers of the game, we have to use last year's form as an indicator, but it means very little in the make up of this year. If the Hawks had Barker, Lacy and Dowling play every game this season I probably would have had them second on the ladder. But as far as I know they do not, and that was my reason. It's my job to have an opinion and comment on the game and how I see it. Not everyone will agree but very few can argue that you can't take any games for granted this season (except against Rockbank).

billylid
18 Apr 2007, 15:00

My opinion maybe very clinche but anyone of 4-5 teams can share the top 2 . those teams i talk about are the likes of Riddell , Romsey , woodend ,kangaroos and of course Diggers.

My reasoning

Riddell - Year in year out are the benchmark of the competition 07 will be no different and come September always seem to lift and show there class

Romsey - Have lost 3-4 guns , but have defaintly covered them through a few players returning plus a fair bit of recruiting . Could be the sleeping giant if they can get there best team on the park and last years result should provide a fire in the belly to see them go well in 07

Kangaroos - Remarkable improvement in 06 and the combination of experiencing finals football and as well as recruiting should see a obvious natural improvement on last year . Will defaintly be thereabout come september.

Diggers - A very young team in 06 and being that one year older will hold them in good stead. A very close unit and they often say a very good team will always beat a team of champions. Also maybe a little baised when i say this but the best coached team in the RDFL.

Woodend- showed in the 1st half of last years semi that they are a very good side and with the obvious talk of there recruits for 07 will defiantly be up there again this year. Will defiantly be play finals football

Predictions

1. Riddell
2. Romsey
3. Diggers
4. Kangaroos
5. Woodend

Hawker28
18 Apr 2007, 15:05
I actually saw Riddell for a couple of quarters against Whittlesea. As observers of the game, we have to use last year's form as an indicator, but it means very little in the make up of this year. If the Hawks had Barker, Lacy and Dowling play every game this season I probably would have had them second on the ladder. But as far as I know they do not, and that was my reason. It's my job to have an opinion and comment on the game and how I see it. Not everyone will agree but very few can argue that you can't take any games for granted this season (except against Rockbank).

Agree... You have to make assumptions on last years form, taking into consideration gainings to a side..... Now you look at which clubs have gone big over summer with improving areas perhaps lacking to get them there in 06!

Sunbury
Melton
Kilmore
Riddell- Just replacing James
Woodend
Lancefield

I haven't said Diggers simply becuase they have only picked up one player of good quality from all understanding and hearings..... With Arnel departing, you have to say thats a least 30 odd or even more goals less to Diggers fire power! Do you agree? Now personnaly i don't think they have covered that, unless some one takes a step up?

But i just think that its to hard to replce 2 Bowen medalists overnight, and expect them to achieve more than last year! Thats simply going on the same rule as you (we have to use last year's form as an indicator)!

I don't know enough about the ex players returning at Romsey to comment to much, but if they were they're when Romsey got done to Ridell in 05, i can't see much light at the end of the tunnel for them!

Hawker28
18 Apr 2007, 15:18
Bill perhaps you could enlighten some of us as to Diggers pick ups?

billylid
18 Apr 2007, 15:44
Bill perhaps you could enlighten some of us as to Diggers pick ups?

3 - Straight of the bat

Jeff Hertitage - missed all last year through injury , fully fit this year and will make a major impact in Diggers Midfield

Joshua Bull (x Sunbury Lion) - Midfielder who will provide a chop out for the Fab Four (Sims , Ruane, Lefty and Walshe) and just provides another option for rotation which these days is very important

Marc Wilkinson (x Macedon, doutta Stars ruckman) - orginally a diggers player in the shane geddes day who went on to play for Macedon and Doutta Stars will be a very handy back up for Jose as well as free up Marchewka to play as a tall forward.

(Finally) someone who i see as a new recruit this year (bevan Green) missed 8-10 games early last year with a serious neck injury and although came back into the 1's late in the year didnt have the same impact (be it confidence) that he had the year b4 when he was CHB in the 05 Team of the year.

I personally think you will just see an improvement by the whole 22 players week in week out and thats where diggers will show that they are a very good and discplined side that do the team things before the individual things.

Hawker28
18 Apr 2007, 16:01
3 - Straight of the bat

Jeff Hertitage - missed all last year through injury , fully fit this year and will make a major impact in Diggers Midfield

Joshua Bull (x Sunbury Lion) - Midfielder who will provide a chop out for the Fab Four (Sims , Ruane, Lefty and Walshe) and just provides another option for rotation which these days is very important

Marc Wilkinson (x Macedon, doutta Stars ruckman) - orginally a diggers player in the shane geddes day who went on to play for Macedon and Doutta Stars will be a very handy back up for Jose as well as free up Marchewka to play as a tall forward.

(Finally) someone who i see as a new recruit this year (bevan Green) missed 8-10 games early last year with a serious neck injury and although came back into the 1's late in the year didnt have the same impact (be it confidence) that he had the year b4 when he was CHB in the 05 Team of the year.

I personally think you will just see an improvement by the whole 22 players week in week out and thats where diggers will show that they are a very good and discplined side that do the team things before the individual things.

Marc was the one i was referring to! I have heard and seen a bit of him in the past! Matt Harrison and Ryan Billinghurst have both been fair pick ups, where do you see these two gentlemen in 2007!

Ryan previsouly Strathmore i think? Matt former Sunbury and Rupo player?

How do these fair compared to Wilko and Bully?

Rodriguez
18 Apr 2007, 16:19

Only one of those blokes played against Diggers in the prelim last year and one didnt play finals at all. I would have thought Jimmy Forrest and Darko, will be handy up forward! Rick has not hung the boots up yet and may well play before years end.

billylid
18 Apr 2007, 16:22
Marc was the one i was referring to! I have heard and seen a bit of him in the past! Matt Harrison and Ryan Billinghurst have both been fair pick ups, where do you see these two gentlemen in 2007!

Ryan previsouly Strathmore i think? Matt former Sunbury and Rupo player?

How do these fair compared to Wilko and Bully?

Ryan has very good foot skills and if his body can hold up with definatly add value to the senior squad and create competition which is healthy.

Matt is a very althelic player who Id imagine will play across Half Forward and thus with his height and althelicism may create a very match up for most convential Half Backs . From all accounts has also the ability to play in the Ruck.

I think its safe to say all 4 guys are likely to play Senior football thoughtout the year no doubt about that but this week id imagine Marc and Josh will be in were as the other two guys will be in teh mix for the 18th - 25th picked player.
But i do have to say im no good judge of good footballers.....

Ballsy
18 Apr 2007, 17:18
I think its quite funny how we all talk about new recruits this year but not a lot said about the kids coming up from under 18s. Romsey 12 , Riddell 14, Woodend 12 , Macedon 8 (and all the others) have alot of them coming out and should add leg speed and depth to each senior side. The good side of the league is it is starting to get quality players and kids coming through to make it a stonger league for all concerned. Bring the season on there will be suprises and disappointments for every side. RDFL football is the WINNER!!!

weekend warrior
18 Apr 2007, 18:50
spoke to a close friend from Macedon today and was informed that macedon are so low on numbers they may not be able to field a reserves side for the first few rounds. If this is the case i expect the senior side to cop a couple of absolute beltings in the first half of the season.

Blueboy16
19 Apr 2007, 11:53
Hey billy all pumped for the Orange shirt on the massive clarke oval come Saturday? My sources are quietly confident of a Kangaroos win on the weekend. Had the chance to train on the ground last week and should give them the advantage.
Any news on Uma?

discoduck
19 Apr 2007, 12:25
some editing done there by the mods - probably fair enough.

but on the subject, what's the rdfl like for girl supporters - single, of course. no names, phone numbers - just a generalisation. is there a netball comp that plays too?

a good answer here might have me heading out kilmore way in a hurry.

blues12
19 Apr 2007, 14:15
some editing done there by the mods - probably fair enough.

but on the subject, what's the rdfl like for girl supporters - single, of course. no names, phone numbers - just a generalisation. is there a netball comp that plays too?

a good answer here might have me heading out kilmore way in a hurry.

some clubs have girls on the boundary that are lounder than the blokes and get right into the footy.
All clubs have netball and some not bad sorts running around, riddell would be close to the best looking sides IMO
As for single thats your job to find out.

blues12
19 Apr 2007, 14:18
Hey billy all pumped for the Orange shirt on the massive clarke oval come Saturday? My sources are quietly confident of a Kangaroos win on the weekend. Had the chance to train on the ground last week and should give them the advantage.
Any news on Uma?

The shirts are not orange anymore BB, fluro yellow:D

discoduck
19 Apr 2007, 14:19
some clubs have girls on the boundary that are lounder than the blokes and get right into the footy.
All clubs have netball and some not bad sorts running around, riddell would be close to the best looking sides IMO
As for single thats your job to find out.

how far is riddell from kilmore? should i play there instead?;)

Hawker28
19 Apr 2007, 14:34
Any news on Uma?

blueboy16 if u were still at diggers would u be tipping the kangaroos?
my sources tell me that diggers are looking the goods

Itsmyshow
19 Apr 2007, 14:34
****Breaking News*****

Riddell may have found the answer to the loss of Lee James, a massive signing that may also explain Riddell's success over the past 2 years.. How is this for a scoop. Very soon a clearance will be lodged for ex RDFL general manager Neill Sharpe to join the Bombers for the 2007 season, massive news for the RDFL...