View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
3 grounds in the comp are not on either of these, sunbury has recycled at the reserve but the council wont connect it until later next year when it puts in full irrigation, i believe rockbank dont have either yet and also riddell i think all others have a bore except diggers and melton both on recycled.
matt_nicholls
1 Nov 2006, 08:17
3 grounds in the comp are not on either of these, sunbury has recycled at the reserve but the council wont connect it until later next year when it puts in full irrigation, i believe rockbank dont have either yet and also riddell i think all others have a bore except diggers and melton both on recycled.
Lancefield and Romsey are both on bore water. In December Lancefield are getting two large tanks and running underground pipes through the ground. Should be in tip-top condition for March!
Playing cricket on Lancefield and Romsey is superb at the moment, they boast the best two surfaces (along with Kilmore) in the comp.
Blueboy16
1 Nov 2006, 08:35
Lancefield and Romsey are both on bore water. In December Lancefield are getting two large tanks and running underground pipes through the ground. Should be in tip-top condition for March!
Playing cricket on Lancefield and Romsey is superb at the moment, they boast the best two surfaces (along with Kilmore) in the comp.
I imagine would be super quick too....
matt_nicholls
1 Nov 2006, 09:33
I imagine would be super quick too....
You still get value for shots, but boundaries are hard to come by straight up the ground. Mark Caton has hit a couple of big sixes square of the boundary. They aren't easy. As skipper of F-troop, I like to stay on the small oval next door :D
Blueboy16
1 Nov 2006, 09:36
You still get value for shots, but boundaries are hard to come by straight up the ground. Mark Caton has hit a couple of big sixes square of the boundary. They aren't easy. As skipper of F-troop, I like to stay on the small oval next door :D
Biggest 6 I have ever seen was Nathan Morse hitting onto roof of the Diggers Hall. Mighty 6.
art_vanderlay
1 Nov 2006, 12:44
From what I know, this is how the coaches sit for 2007:
Riddell - Rowsell
Diggers - Hopkins
Woodend - Giddings
Sunbury - Dixon
Romsey - DiPietro
Kilmore - Ahearn
Melton - ???
Macedon - ??? (rumour is Christaenson has resigned)
Lancefield - Collins
Rockbank - ???
matt_nicholls
1 Nov 2006, 15:16
Riddell - Rowsell
Diggers - Hopkins
Woodend - Giddings
Sunbury - Dixon
Romsey - DiPietro
Kilmore - Ahearn
Melton - ???
Lancefield - Collins
Rockbank - ???
Dipietro and Darren Lingard are co-coaches. Dippa isnt the main main.
Riddell - Rowsell
Diggers - Hopkins
Woodend - Giddings
Sunbury - Dixon
Romsey - DiPietro
Kilmore - Ahearn
Melton - ???
Lancefield - Collins
Rockbank - ???
Rockbank is the same coach as last year, Christianson has a 2 year deal at macedon as far as i know on monday just gone he is the man for next year.
No body knows what is going on at melton i dont think they even know what is going on half the time.
art_vanderlay
1 Nov 2006, 15:58
Matt you seem to be in the know around Romsey. Is there any truth in the mail that i've heard that Al Meldrum is heading to Bacchus Marsh next year?
Halffullonfence
1 Nov 2006, 17:06
Good news for the under 18 comp with the junior body going back to under 16s, no 16 and a 1/2. :thumbsu: :D
Seems we have 4 grounds on mains water and 1 ? being Woodend.
Pray for rain those clubs.
Dog Town
1 Nov 2006, 17:59
Biggest 6 I have ever seen was Nathan Morse hitting onto roof of the Diggers Hall. Mighty 6.He hit one into the school art room in the final last year off Steve Grey.
Arnel Davis no longer at Diggers Rest.
Apparently got a football managers role at UHS-VU footy club
matt_nicholls
2 Nov 2006, 08:10
Matt you seem to be in the know around Romsey. Is there any truth in the mail that i've heard that Al Meldrum is heading to Bacchus Marsh next year?
I doubt it very highly. I have heard that Bacchus Marsh have been throwing some cash around to a few RDFL players (couple of Tigers) and are desperate to get back up the ladder, but if Meldrum left I would be seriously surprised.
On Sunday, Dippa and Sparrow are having 10 minute meetings with all of the players to discuss contracts, finance and goals etc. should be interesting. Dippa was so confident that the Redbacks would win the flag in 2007 that we have $500 on it.
I'm not confident that they wont win it, I just didn't like his confidence.
I doubt it very highly. I have heard that Bacchus Marsh have been throwing some cash around to a few RDFL players (couple of Tigers) and are desperate to get back up the ladder, but if Meldrum left I would be seriously surprised.
On Sunday, Dippa and Sparrow are having 10 minute meetings with all of the players to discuss contracts, finance and goals etc. should be interesting. Dippa was so confident that the Redbacks would win the flag in 2007 that we have $500 on it.
I'm not confident that they wont win it, I just didn't like his confidence.
dip must have been p!ssed!!! but then again you do have a gambling problem pickles.......
Good news for the under 18 comp with the junior body going back to under 16s, no 16 and a 1/2. :thumbsu: :D
Seems we have 4 grounds on mains water and 1 ? being Woodend.
Pray for rain those clubs.
fantastic news for senior clubs, sunbury would be thankful if this is true, more than 10 under 16 players from this year would qualify for 16 1/2s.:thumbsu:
Nice work HFF prayed for rain and here it is. it wont touch the ground in sunbury, hopefully it will be continue to rain like this once a week at least, we all know how hard sunbury's ground is even when they have water on it.
Thats_Special
2 Nov 2006, 10:07
fantastic news for senior clubs, sunbury would be thankful if this is true, more than 10 under 16 players from this year would qualify for 16 1/2s.:thumbsu:
Nice work HFF prayed for rain and here it is. it wont touch the ground in sunbury, hopefully it will be continue to rain like this once a week at least, we all know how hard sunbury's ground is even when they have water on it.
Fantastic news for our Under 18 side I know that... Should see numbers pick up, hopefully enough to field stronger sides
matt_nicholls
2 Nov 2006, 10:57
dip must have been p!ssed!!! but then again you do have a gambling problem pickles.......
A gambling problem? I don't mind a punt but I only ever bet what I can afford. What club are you associated with mockery?
Romsey champ!!!
with the junior body going back to straight under 16s, this should help improve the quality and ability for most senior clubs to feild under 18 sides, this will enable some players to qualify for 3 years in the under 18 1/2 competition, making it stronger, this is fantastic for the RDFL senior body.
some players will be allowed to play 16 1/2s under some cicumstances but this must be approved by the league.
Thats_Special
3 Nov 2006, 06:51
Anyone from Centrals on here want to jump on and clarify what is going on at Maccy Park???? :eek:
Understand the club is in a good position to retain all players.
The players are happy with the club moving forward without Searle as coach.
Key departures:
Aaron McNabb: Ovens and Murray League
Adam Holland : Ovens and King League
Drew Heath : Central Highlands League
Key Inclusions:
Stephen Ruane (Diggers Rest) money
Rob Shirley (Rockbank) money
James Duffy (Kilmore) money
Leigh Webster (Diggers Rest) family reasons
Lee Roberts (macedon) coming home
vantheman32
5 Nov 2006, 21:12
burger dont know who ur sources are! but james duffy wontleave kilmore haha, hes suspended for first 6 games, why wood any team pay him if he cant play first 6 games?
will stay at kilmore
billylid
6 Nov 2006, 07:01
Arnel Davis no longer at Diggers Rest.
Apparently got a football managers role at UHS-VU footy club
stay tuned for some pretty big news (player wise) out of burra land im sure the news will create some interest
Thats_Special
6 Nov 2006, 07:18
stay tuned for some pretty big news (player wise) out of burra land im sure the news will create some interest
Any hints on the pretty big news billy?
More mormans to sign up that cant play on sundays, also signed a couple of gun jewish kids but unfortunately can only play sunday as friday night to saturday is their day of sabath.:D
billylid
6 Nov 2006, 07:27
More mormans to sign up that cant play on sundays, also signed a couple of gun jewish kids but unfortunately can only play sunday as friday night to saturday is their day of sabath.:D
blues12 obviously your a comedian in your spare time, but cant say much at this stage thats special , but from a personal opinion this guy is an absoluete gun and always in the past when he has played against diggers has always been more then an handful
Thats_Special
6 Nov 2006, 07:31
blues12 obviously your a comedian in your spare time, but cant say much at this stage thats special , but from a personal opinion this guy is an absoluete gun and always in the past when he has played against diggers has always been more then an handful
Where is he from Billy?
billylid
6 Nov 2006, 07:33
Where is he from Billy?
all i can say is he is from a regular finals team and i maybe biased due to my friendship with the guy but id rate him on his day one of the best 5 players in the league
billylid
6 Nov 2006, 07:35
Understand the club is in a good position to retain all players.
The players are happy with the club moving forward without Searle as coach.
Key departures:
Aaron McNabb: Ovens and Murray League
Adam Holland : Ovens and King League
Drew Heath : Central Highlands League
Key Inclusions:
Stephen Ruane (Diggers Rest) money
Rob Shirley (Rockbank) money
James Duffy (Kilmore) money
Leigh Webster (Diggers Rest) family reasons
Lee Roberts (macedon) coming home
sorry to sound naive but surely the above is a little bit of lite humour could not see Roosza and webby leaving Diggers Rest while the club is on the up off the park as well as on the park
Thats_Special
6 Nov 2006, 07:37
all i can say is he is from a regular finals team and i maybe biased due to my friendship with the guy but id rate him on his day one of the best 5 players in the league
Not even a hint billy boy??? :D
billylid
6 Nov 2006, 07:50
I heard that Romsey are likely to keep most, but lose Burlak and Strack.
Connellan is a big chance to return, while Morgan should stay as Dippa was one of the big people in getting him to return.
Will be interesting to see how the Redbacks are faring. I don't get a lot out of my Lancefield sources, which is probably suggesting a lot hasn't happened at Tigerland just yet. I'll keep you tuned in though
any news to come out of the meetings with the coach a little birdie told me that you were in the vancinity of these meetings taking place so youd be best to ask are all the guns at romsey signing on for another year
matt_nicholls
6 Nov 2006, 08:39
any news to come out of the meetings with the coach a little birdie told me that you were in the vancinity of these meetings taking place so youd be best to ask are all the guns at romsey signing on for another year
Had no idea I was near the meetings. I was having a punt in the pub yesterday afternoon. From what I hear everyone will keep on playing except Strack at this stage. But that could change.
Thats_Special
6 Nov 2006, 09:39
Just on the phone to a contact who has told me that Romsey will be gaining the returning services of Connellan, Plant and Edwards from Lalbert, also losing Brydon Morgan to Diggers Rest.. Can you confirm Mr Nicholls?
Blueboy16
6 Nov 2006, 10:14
Where is he from Billy?
Billy we all know that your good mates with Morgan. Not a bad signing for the burra. They will be paying a bit for his services though.
Blueboy16
6 Nov 2006, 10:16
sorry to sound naive but surely the above is a little bit of lite humour could not see Roosza and webby leaving Diggers Rest while the club is on the up off the park as well as on the park
Jeremy Newman using someone elses login. He would be the only person who would know the movement of Centrals players, so take them as true.....
matt_nicholls
6 Nov 2006, 10:28
Just on the phone to a contact who has told me that Romsey will be gaining the returning services of Connellan, Plant and Edwards from Lalbert, also losing Brydon Morgan to Diggers Rest.. Can you confirm Mr Nicholls?
Morgan is likely to leave Romsey as he wants more leadership at a club. With two coaches at the Redbacks it'll be hard for him to stand up and have a voice. As for being one of the top five players in the league, I don't think so. He is massively talented but very inconsistent.
Connellan is all but a certainty, but meetings with Plant and Edwards this week will confirm whether they come back to Romsey or not. I'd say more likely than not. Any rumours that Dan and Luke Carroll might leave are false.
Thats_Special
6 Nov 2006, 10:48
Morgan is likely to leave Romsey as he wants more leadership at a club. With two coaches at the Redbacks it'll be hard for him to stand up and have a voice. As for being one of the top five players in the league, I don't think so. He is massively talented but very inconsistent.
Connellan is all but a certainty, but meetings with Plant and Edwards this week will confirm whether they come back to Romsey or not. I'd say more likely than not. Any rumours that Dan and Luke Carroll might leave are false.
I tend to agree that Brydon on his day is one of the elite players in the comp, he has the ability to single handedly turn a game on its head.. Not too many players in the comp capable of that.. But he is...
billylid
6 Nov 2006, 10:51
Jeremy Newman using someone elses login. He would be the only person who would know the movement of Centrals players, so take them as true.....
again i repeat id be very surprised it that was the case blueboy
matt_nicholls
6 Nov 2006, 10:53
I tend to agree that Brydon on his day is one of the elite players in the comp, he has the ability to single handedly turn a game on its head.. Not too many players in the comp capable of that.. But he is...
I disagree. I think there are heaps of players in this comp that can make a huge difference to a game on their day. There are a lot of rated players in this comp who are probably not recognised as game winners though.
For example, people forget quickly how good Chris Collins was in this league before he went to the Bendigo Bombers. If not for Collins, Lancefield would not have even made the grand final in 2004 in my opinion, let alone win the premiership.
Luke Carroll is another who rips oppositions apart on his day. As does John Rowe at Kilmore. While these three mentioned players are all rated as very good, they probably aren't seen as match winners like the Lee James' and Shaun Sims' are.
Blueboy16
6 Nov 2006, 10:58
again i repeat id be very surprised it that was the case blueboy
No doubt talking crap about Diggers players moving...... They were all together Saturday nite at Burgers @ a BBQ so that would make sense......
Thats_Special
6 Nov 2006, 10:59
I disagree. I think there are heaps of players in this comp that can make a huge difference to a game on their day. There are a lot of rated players in this comp who are probably not recognised as game winners though.
For example, people forget quickly how good Chris Collins was in this league before he went to the Bendigo Bombers. If not for Collins, Lancefield would not have even made the grand final in 2004 in my opinion, let alone win the premiership.
Luke Carroll is another who rips oppositions apart on his day. As does John Rowe at Kilmore. While these three mentioned players are all rated as very good, they probably aren't seen as match winners like the Lee James' and Shaun Sims' are.
You are listing very good players, not players who can individually turn a game with thier own abilities... Only Collins and James that you have mentioned are capable of this.
Again, only my opinion, but to me you have Lee James, Brydon Morgan, Heath Wadden, Arnel Davis and Damien Niki, outside of these players it is hard to find someone that has this influence, im not saying that any of these guys are consistently doing this, just that on a day are capable of putting in that match turning/winning performance, not just play a great game, do things that pick thier sides up and drag them over the line...
matt_nicholls
6 Nov 2006, 11:32
You are listing very good players, not players who can individually turn a game with thier own abilities... Only Collins and James that you have mentioned are capable of this.
Again, only my opinion, but to me you have Lee James, Brydon Morgan, Heath Wadden, Arnel Davis and Damien Niki, outside of these players it is hard to find someone that has this influence, im not saying that any of these guys are consistently doing this, just that on a day are capable of putting in that match turning/winning performance, not just play a great game, do things that pick thier sides up and drag them over the line...
You may be right, I still think Carroll, Rowe and Sims do it a couple of times each season. Morgan lives off a reputation created by people at Romsey in my opinion. He is a very good player on his day, but maybe has three or four in a season. When he has one it looks like he is the match winner. More often than not, he turns it on when the side is having a brilliant day.
The Barometer
6 Nov 2006, 11:55
I think it is a bit unfair to suggest that Morgan plays on reputation. He has played some belters in recent years. He was the Redbacks only avenue to goal in the semi against the Kangas.
Where I reckon he does struggle is that he doesn't win enough of his own footy. Therefore when the Redbacks struggle he doesn't have as much as an impact. Further I don't think he is someone who is instructed on how to play. With the tools he has and a willingness to be coached he is just about the most talented player in the League.
Same goes for Luke Carroll, just doesn't get enough of the ball or is used as an offensive weapon. Tall as any key position player in this League but doesn't take any marks. Should be dominating.
James and Sims have been the ones to consistently impose their will on the game. WOuldn't leave out Kilmore's Robertson and I reckon someone like Woodend's Matt Stacey will be doing it over the next couple of years.
Morgan to diggers, haven't they got enough players that stand outside packs waiting for the ball. One thing they lacked in the Grand Final were players with abit of c_nt about them to get in and intimidate. Riddell had plenty of players with it.
Thats_Special
6 Nov 2006, 13:01
I think it is a bit unfair to suggest that Morgan plays on reputation. He has played some belters in recent years. He was the Redbacks only avenue to goal in the semi against the Kangas.
Where I reckon he does struggle is that he doesn't win enough of his own footy. Therefore when the Redbacks struggle he doesn't have as much as an impact. Further I don't think he is someone who is instructed on how to play. With the tools he has and a willingness to be coached he is just about the most talented player in the League.
Same goes for Luke Carroll, just doesn't get enough of the ball or is used as an offensive weapon. Tall as any key position player in this League but doesn't take any marks. Should be dominating.
James and Sims have been the ones to consistently impose their will on the game. WOuldn't leave out Kilmore's Robertson and I reckon someone like Woodend's Matt Stacey will be doing it over the next couple of years.
Agree.. Apart from the Sims call.. Just think Sims is flat out consistent, always collects plenty of the ball and plays a key role in the Diggers structure, but doesn't do the "game turning" things the way Arnel did at the Burra.. As for Matt, think he will be a solid consistent performer at the Hawks, a star in the league in his own right, but dont know about a "game turner". Think that Darko was a game turner (Watch first final), and think that Dowling is the other at the Hawks with that capability.
rumour round the traps is the Kangas NO. 1 ruckman Cam Watson is going to rupo, might leave a bit of a gap in their ruck department. the kid has done some good thing in his first two years of senior footy
Halffullonfence
6 Nov 2006, 21:23
You may be right, I still think Carroll, Rowe and Sims do it a couple of times each season. Morgan lives off a reputation created by people at Romsey in my opinion. He is a very good player on his day, but maybe has three or four in a season. When he has one it looks like he is the match winner. More often than not, he turns it on when the side is having a brilliant day.
If Morgan has three or four match turning days a season why is Carroll and co in front if they do it only a couple times a year ?????
Matt dont rate players to your capabilities.
Also if you want to talk cricket do it on that thread.
Can confirm that two very drunk individuals gained access to my computer in the wee hours of the morning and wrote some absolute shizenhausen on this forum.
Take no notice of it. But the Ruane rumor could be true but not to centrals. Possibly Tatura in the Goulburn Valley League. He needs to get paid to play now as his girlfriend is pregnant.
matt_nicholls
7 Nov 2006, 06:20
If Morgan has three or four match turning days a season why is Carroll and co in front if they do it only a couple times a year ?????
Matt dont rate players to your capabilities.
Also if you want to talk cricket do it on that thread.
Simple. Because when Morgan doesn't have his best day its normally not that good. When Carroll and co don't have their best days, they are still very very good.
Also, if you think that my inability to play football at a good level prevents me from knowing anything about football, why don't you ask some of the most respected sports journalists in the world and ask what level they played at. I'm sure Lancefield reserves qualifies me above some. :p
As for cricket, we spoke about it twice Halffullonfence. There wasn't a lot of footy being talked about that week.
Thats_Special
7 Nov 2006, 11:26
Simple. Because when Morgan doesn't have his best day its normally not that good. When Carroll and co don't have their best days, they are still very very good.
Also, if you think that my inability to play football at a good level prevents me from knowing anything about football, why don't you ask some of the most respected sports journalists in the world and ask what level they played at. I'm sure Lancefield reserves qualifies me above some. :p
As for cricket, we spoke about it twice Halffullonfence. There wasn't a lot of footy being talked about that week.
Im going to say this one last time.... I am talking "Game Turners" not consistent well performed players... Someone who is able to single handedly turn a game with his actions... Luke Carroll does not fit into this category..... See above...
Dozerboy
7 Nov 2006, 14:49
Does this mean you are on the coaching staff down at the kangas Mongrel? Or are you just playing this year?
Shouldnt kmatter if he is player or on commitee, just the positive feedback and all round perception that the bloke brings to the club is enough in my eyes,the man has been their done that........whats the dii if he is player or panel, just think footy and premierships,and we got one.
billylid
8 Nov 2006, 07:17
Can confirm that two very drunk individuals gained access to my computer in the wee hours of the morning and wrote some absolute shizenhausen on this forum.
Take no notice of it. But the Ruane rumor could be true but not to centrals. Possibly Tatura in the Goulburn Valley League. He needs to get paid to play now as his girlfriend is pregnant.
Form the sounds of it some of the boys at diggers have been very busy rumour has it and can not confirm that another of the Fab 5-6 at diggers is an expectant father
Blueboy16
8 Nov 2006, 07:54
Form the sounds of it some of the boys at diggers have been very busy rumour has it and can not confirm that another of the Fab 5-6 at diggers is an expectant father
Can you imagine the locks on the child when it was born....... Pantene would sign it up straight away.
can confirm that rumor for you Billy. As true as a Brett Sexton drop punt.
billylid
9 Nov 2006, 07:29
can confirm that rumor for you Billy. As true as a Brett Sexton drop punt.
given the so called brett sexton hasnt played in 3-4 years then i dont know whether your being scarastic or not. rumour has it that (BS) is playing with the kanagaroos this year as it appears Blues12 has already penciled them in for the flag this year. Good side , not a bad club off the ground lets hope they dont catch the arrogrance Disease.
twodogs13
9 Nov 2006, 08:36
Shouldnt kmatter if he is player or on commitee, just the positive feedback and all round perception that the bloke brings to the club is enough in my eyes,the man has been their done that........whats the dii if he is player or panel, just think footy and premierships,and we got one.
Think you misunderstood my question. I wasn't having a crack. Just genuinely interested to know if he was coaching or assisting cause I think he would be good at it. Always good to know who pulls the strings at clubs.
given the so called brett sexton hasnt played in 3-4 years then i dont know whether your being scarastic or not. rumour has it that (BS) is playing with the kanagaroos this year as it appears Blues12 has already penciled them in for the flag this year. Good side , not a bad club off the ground lets hope they dont catch the arrogrance Disease.
Not sure where i said that, you should always consider yourself a chance, to win it we would have to improve, keep our full list and recruit to keep up with the jones's. are you saying we are no chance there Billy
billylid
9 Nov 2006, 09:44
Not sure where i said that, you should always consider yourself a chance, to win it we would have to improve, keep our full list and recruit to keep up with the jones's. are you saying we are no chance there Billy
i aint saying that at all i have kangas in my top 3 (along with the obvious teams riddell and diggers) at this stage without even seeing the ins and outs
The talk is that riddell could be losing a few players after back to back flags, james a certainty to go along with a number of the talented kids getting tempting offers. How are all the other clubs travelling at the moment does your club look like losing any of your list.
Hawker28
10 Nov 2006, 08:05
Rumour has it that Woodend could be boosted in the midfield with the likes of a Sam Bowen from Bombers coming home and this is 100%.
Possibly another two that are boarderline signing's at this stage are the likes of Sipthrope and Duff Taylor from Gisborne! Not a 100% though! Just couple of connections at the club have these boys nearly over the line!
Can anyone confirm when woodend resume training or if this is correct?
matt_nicholls
10 Nov 2006, 08:19
Rumour has it that Woodend could be boosted in the midfield with the likes of a Sam Bowen from Bombers coming home and this is 100%.
Possibly another two that are boarderline signing's at this stage are the likes of Sipthrope and Duff Taylor from Gisborne! Not a 100% though! Just couple of connections at the club have these boys nearly over the line!
Can anyone confirm when woodend resume training or if this is correct?
Sipthorp and Duff-Tytler were rumoured as big signings for the Hawks last year to no avail, so don't get too carried away. If they did play it would be a massive blow for opposition RDFL clubs as they are two very good players.
The Sammy Bowen rumour has a lot of merit in it. I know he is a proud Woodend-Hesket clubman and when he was denied the opportunity to pull the boots on for the Hawks when the Bendigo Bombers had a bye it killed him. Would be good to see some more flashy players in what is a pretty conservative side.
Hawker28
10 Nov 2006, 08:25
Giddings and Duff are pretty close and its believed a hand shake agreement was made if Gissy won another flag! With sipthorpe i think his work is done at Gissy and his old man is a committee member so......! I think these inclusions this year could be the difference this year for the Hawks!
K-NACKS
10 Nov 2006, 08:54
I dont think lancefield should be taken lightly with chrissy collins coaching down there expect them to sign a few younger blokes that he will take with him.
Hawker28
10 Nov 2006, 09:19
I don't think they have been taken lightly at all....even this year, no one could completly write them off! Its lancefield...the side that won a flag under 4 years ago!
I think a side like this in its rebuilding stage, will be competetive but not a dominant foce! Don't want to put chris under the hammer of expectations to much do you? We'll wait in anticipation till pre-season to see where the Tigers are at before we make any writing off comments. That can be said for most side's for th 2007 season!
Let's put it this way..... their pre-peration for 2007 has started better than 2006! So it's a good start! When do clubs start pre-season?
Thats_Special
10 Nov 2006, 10:17
I don't think they have been taken lightly at all....even this year, no one could completly write them off! Its lancefield...the side that won a flag under 4 years ago!
I think a side like this in its rebuilding stage, will be competetive but not a dominant foce! Don't want to put chris under the hammer of expectations to much do you? We'll wait in anticipation till pre-season to see where the Tigers are at before we make any writing off comments. That can be said for most side's for th 2007 season!
Let's put it this way..... their pre-peration for 2007 has started better than 2006! So it's a good start! When do clubs start pre-season?
Completely agree... I think it was one of Lancefield's biggest problems in 06.. Usually when a side is struggling a bit some sides can drop thier guard and fall to them, but all sides treaded very carefully when it came to playing the Tigers, like Hawker said, they won a flag only a couple of years ago... They will improve, and improve quickly when they do, but who knows at this stage if it will be this year...
matt_nicholls
10 Nov 2006, 10:49
Good result for the RDFL and for sport in general that the VCAT hearing has been terminated!
Thats_Special
10 Nov 2006, 11:14
Good result for the RDFL and for sport in general that the VCAT hearing has been terminated!
Indeed... Good news for common sense
how did all the players that left the league this season go for their new clubs. were they standouts or just duds
bearsboy
10 Nov 2006, 19:07
Giddings and Duff are pretty close and its believed a hand shake agreement was made if Gissy won another flag! With sipthorpe i think his work is done at Gissy and his old man is a committee member so......! I think these inclusions this year could be the difference this year for the Hawks!Surely the lure of a 3peat in a "major league" would have to be very hard for these 2 blokes to ignore [Duff and Sippy]. Personally ,i cant see either of them leaving Gisborne .If they do go to Woodend , i reckon they'd be absolute monties to fight it out for the Bowen.
Thats_Special
10 Nov 2006, 19:11
Surely the lure of a 3peat in a "major league" would have to be very hard for these 2 blokes to ignore [Duff and Sippy]. Personally ,i cant see either of them leaving Gisborne .If they do go to Woodend , i reckon they'd be absolute monties to fight it out for the Bowen.
Have heard that Sippy is going back to join a good mate of his in Sammy Bowen and that Duff has come to a handshake agreement with Gidds depending on work...
bearsboy
10 Nov 2006, 20:11
Have heard that Sippy is going back to join a good mate of his in Sammy Bowen and that Duff has come to a handshake agreement with Gidds depending on work...Just got off the phone to M. Barham T.S . He assured me that these 2 players have given him they're word that they will be playing at the Gisborne Football club in 2007 . As was mentioned earlier , those in the "know" at Woodend had Sippy and Duff playing at Woodend last year , i guess they'll have Chris Curcio and Ollie Messoudi as well because they're residents of Woodend .
Halffullonfence
10 Nov 2006, 21:20
As was mentioned earlier , those in the "know" at Woodend had Sippy and Duff playing at Woodend last year , i guess they'll have Chris Curcio and Ollie Messoudi as well because they're residents of Woodend .[/quote]
Totally agree Woodend recruit by association, to get players at the club you need "A" grade recruits and they drop the odd name or two on this thread.
I am surprised BB they haven't added Hancock, Clay's, Grant and McGough to the already signed players for next season.
blues12
12 Nov 2006, 16:46
Any news on macedon? they improved last year, have they or are they looking like recruiting any quality to lift them from the bottom part of the ladder
Ourhomeisgurtbysea
13 Nov 2006, 01:44
boys just clocked off from a big night @ the star bar & was talkin to a couple of mates from swan hill who now play for heathcote and they said that Al Meldrum has been offered their coaching job for next year. they are good mates with Al and work with him @ the city cop shop and said he is keen but really torn between leaving Romsey and his mates as opposed to grabbing a great opportunity and taking on the job. if he did, who do you think would follow.......???
Thats_Special
13 Nov 2006, 06:24
boys just clocked off from a big night @ the star bar & was talkin to a couple of mates from swan hill who now play for heathcote and they said that Al Meldrum has been offered their coaching job for next year. they are good mates with Al and work with him @ the city cop shop and said he is keen but really torn between leaving Romsey and his mates as opposed to grabbing a great opportunity and taking on the job. if he did, who do you think would follow.......???
If he did take the job, and as you say is "torn" by the thought of the move, I dont think that Al would take many, if any.. He would see that as his loyal stance at Romsey not to deplete the numbers... If I was in that position though, he should be looking to convince Luke Carroll.. Would be the best player to have with him from the Romsey side.
By the way, he would be mad to not take an opportunity like this one if it is available to him, think Al would make a pretty good coach...
Thats_Special
13 Nov 2006, 06:25
Just got off the phone to M. Barham T.S . He assured me that these 2 players have given him they're word that they will be playing at the Gisborne Football club in 2007 . As was mentioned earlier , those in the "know" at Woodend had Sippy and Duff playing at Woodend last year , i guess they'll have Chris Curcio and Ollie Messoudi as well because they're residents of Woodend .
Yeah good point BB... For the sake of the league it would be good to see 2 quality players such as Sippy and Duff come to the league, from an opposition point of view, I would rather they didn't... :D
Thats_Special
13 Nov 2006, 06:34
Kangaroos Pre Season starts 20th November, 6.00pm at Boardman... Hope to see a few of you there....:thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
13 Nov 2006, 08:20
If he did take the job, and as you say is "torn" by the thought of the move, I dont think that Al would take many, if any.. He would see that as his loyal stance at Romsey not to deplete the numbers... If I was in that position though, he should be looking to convince Luke Carroll.. Would be the best player to have with him from the Romsey side.
By the way, he would be mad to not take an opportunity like this one if it is available to him, think Al would make a pretty good coach...
No chance of Meldrum leaving Romsey for Macedon. He is disappointed that Morgan is leaving to Diggers Rest. The point he makes is that it's ok if someone wants to leave the club, but not to another club in the same competition. For that reason Meldrum won't leave. He might end up in the EDFL or elsewhere, but not at Macedon. He might make a good coach, but I'm sure (and he'll agree) he is not ready just yet to take the role.
billylid
13 Nov 2006, 08:54
No chance of Meldrum leaving Romsey for Macedon. He is disappointed that Morgan is leaving to Diggers Rest. The point he makes is that it's ok if someone wants to leave the club, but not to another club in the same competition. For that reason Meldrum won't leave. He might end up in the EDFL or elsewhere, but not at Macedon. He might make a good coach, but I'm sure (and he'll agree) he is not ready just yet to take the role.
lets make the point early that morgan has not left romsey for money and from all reports it was one of the hardiest descisions he ever had to make in his career. he soley left romsey for the opportunity to start his coaching apprenceship under one of the best coaches in the RDFL its fair to say. And anyone who had a passion for coaching and had to the opportunity to learn from one of the best would be mad to not take it up
blues12
13 Nov 2006, 09:25
didn't the rumour say meldrum to heathcote not macedon.
thepurplepassion
13 Nov 2006, 09:28
lets make the point early that morgan has not left romsey for money and from all reports it was one of the hardiest descisions he ever had to make in his career. he soley left romsey for the opportunity to start his coaching apprenceship under one of the best coaches in the RDFL its fair to say. And anyone who had a passion for coaching and had to the opportunity to learn from one of the best would be mad to not take it up
Haha. You guys have been sucked in. Morgan is a terrible club man, thinks he knows a lot about footy and hasn't really done anything to stamp his mark as a player in this comp yet. Playing with him this year he made some really 'dumb' comments about the game was played. Money may not be the key, sour grapes about not getting the Romsey coaching gig may not be it either. But if wanted to get lessons from a good coach he would have gone to one of the Melbourne suburbs clubs.
Glen Hopkins is a good coach in this league, but still has no premiership with Diggers Rest. There is more to Morgan leaving than just opportunity.
matt_nicholls
13 Nov 2006, 09:32
didn't the rumour say meldrum to heathcote not macedon.
Whoops. My bad. I keep hearing Macedon-Meldrum rumours so I read what I thought the post would say. As for Heathcote, what I said before doesn't still stand, although it would be very very unlikely if he leaves.
Meldrum is good mates with Dippa and I don't think there will be many Redbacks leave this season. If success doesn't come in 07 though there could be a lot of depatures. Watch this space!
billylid
13 Nov 2006, 09:47
Haha. You guys have been sucked in. Morgan is a terrible club man, thinks he knows a lot about footy and hasn't really done anything to stamp his mark as a player in this comp yet. Playing with him this year he made some really 'dumb' comments about the game was played. Money may not be the key, sour grapes about not getting the Romsey coaching gig may not be it either. But if wanted to get lessons from a good coach he would have gone to one of the Melbourne suburbs clubs.
Glen Hopkins is a good coach in this league, but still has no premiership with Diggers Rest. There is more to Morgan leaving than just opportunity.
i just hope you dont live in a glass house with all those stones you are throwing. i will grant you that you may be in a better position to say that there maybe other reasons for his leaving being a fellow clubman , but being an X diggers player as of 07 and still a supporter i can say im wrapped that diggers have Brydon on Board and im sure he will be very welcomed at Diggers
Thats_Special
13 Nov 2006, 09:49
Whoops. My bad. I keep hearing Macedon-Meldrum rumours so I read what I thought the post would say. As for Heathcote, what I said before doesn't still stand, although it would be very very unlikely if he leaves.
Meldrum is good mates with Dippa and I don't think there will be many Redbacks leave this season. If success doesn't come in 07 though there could be a lot of depatures. Watch this space!
If the opportunity is there, think Al would be mad not to consider it... He would make an excellent coach, good coaching jobs dont come up often enough to jump at the chance....
matt_nicholls
13 Nov 2006, 10:04
If the opportunity is there, think Al would be mad not to consider it... He would make an excellent coach, good coaching jobs dont come up often enough to jump at the chance....
Good coaching jobs come up for good prospective coaches IMO.
Good coaches can make seemingly bad coaching jobs seem good.
Al may be a good coach, but he still has a lot to achieve as a player. There seems to be a trend of coaches becoming younger and younger now. Although I don't see any faults in that, I am a traditionalist. The better coaches tactically are the ones on the sidelines. Being a good playing-coach doesn't mean you are a good coach. If Al took the Heathcote job he would have my support. I'm sure a lot of players would follow, even if he didn't ask. He's that type of guy.
Blueboy16
13 Nov 2006, 10:26
i just hope you dont live in a glass house with all those stones you are throwing. i will grant you that you may be in a better position to say that there maybe other reasons for his leaving being a fellow clubman , but being an X diggers player as of 07 and still a supporter i can say im wrapped that diggers have Brydon on Board and im sure he will be very welcomed at Diggers
What's with the ex-player Billylid? You not pulling the boots on next season?
billylid
13 Nov 2006, 10:29
What's with the ex-player Billylid? You not pulling the boots on next season?
Very unlikely Blueboy for a number of reasons
Thats_Special
13 Nov 2006, 10:31
Good coaching jobs come up for good prospective coaches IMO.
Good coaches can make seemingly bad coaching jobs seem good.
Al may be a good coach, but he still has a lot to achieve as a player. There seems to be a trend of coaches becoming younger and younger now. Although I don't see any faults in that, I am a traditionalist. The better coaches tactically are the ones on the sidelines. Being a good playing-coach doesn't mean you are a good coach. If Al took the Heathcote job he would have my support. I'm sure a lot of players would follow, even if he didn't ask. He's that type of guy.
Good jobs come up for Good Established coaches... That is where the plum jobs come... But you need to start somewhere, and a job such as the Heathcote position is a plum for someone who is a prospective coach, one that wont come around often
gotnoskills
13 Nov 2006, 12:56
I have just been reading the old RDFL thread and it said James from Sunbury is only out until rd 16 next year. I thought he got 4 years.
Did it get changed at the appeals hearing or something?
Blueboy16
13 Nov 2006, 13:47
Correct gotnoskills. On appeal recieved 18 weeks. He qualified for the 2 Finals Kanga's reserves played last season so 16 weeks in 07. Good Result I think
how did he qualify for the seconds when he didnt even play a reserves match
rioli brownlow
13 Nov 2006, 14:05
the word is you are going to play for a team that wears black and red(and it is not riddell or essendon)??
rioli brownlow
13 Nov 2006, 14:08
what are you reasons billylid???????????
billylid
13 Nov 2006, 14:35
what are you reasons billylid???????????
well ur mail is wrong rb and im tryin to remember who u were again damn ive forgotten, i love the training and all that i just need to find that passion to play again.. would like to just be the runner or something but ur mail about braybrook is incorrect
rioli brownlow
13 Nov 2006, 14:54
can't remember who i am ! yeah right!
no one mentioned anything about braybrook did they!
if you love running so much ,well you can do 5 laps at the start of cricket training on thursday night then!!!!
old saint
13 Nov 2006, 14:59
Good jobs come up for Good Established coaches... That is where the plum jobs come... But you need to start somewhere, and a job such as the Heathcote position is a plum for someone who is a prospective coach, one that wont come around often.
TS please explain what you mean by this.
Correct gotnoskills. On appeal recieved 18 weeks. He qualified for the 2 Finals Kanga's reserves played last season so 16 weeks in 07. Good Result I think
i think that he recieved 16 weeks and the club tried to include the two finals games he qualified for but the league says no. if those games were to be included that would put him down for a round 15 return in 07 and provided he played the remaining games he would again qualify for seniors and reserves finals. this may be the reason the league wont include the two reserves game in the suspension.
matt_nicholls
13 Nov 2006, 15:50
i think that he recieved 16 weeks and the club tried to include the two finals games he qualified for but the league says no. if those games were to be included that would put him down for a round 15 return in 07 and provided he played the remaining games he would again qualify for seniors and reserves finals. this may be the reason the league wont include the two reserves game in the suspension.
Football Victoria suspended Aaron James for 16 senior games as far as I know. Reserves games do not count. Sunbury Kangaroos are trying to see that he qualifies for next year's finals (if they make it).
junior04
13 Nov 2006, 15:52
G'day guys,
Can anyone tell me about Brian Wheelean "Wheels"? I think he played with Melton Centrals?!
What sort of player is he? How do you rate him?
Cheers,
blues12
13 Nov 2006, 16:15
Football Victoria suspended Aaron for 15 matches. Because he was reported in a senior game it does not include reserve grade matches that he would qualify for, at face value it would appear that he actually recieved 17 weeks as he was qualified to play in the reserves prelim and GF. but sometimes that is the way it goes, but expect him to be ready to go at the kangas, be it round 16 2007 or round 1 in 2008.