View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

blues12
10 May 2007, 18:04
According to the Football Victoria handbook previous records stand. However, Ballsy is saying that the RDFL is starting everyone on a clean slate. I'm not sure if it's up to the discretion of each league, I guess it's a grey area that needs to be cleared up.

No Grey area, nobody starts with a clean slate, if you accumulate or re-offend and have more than 16 weeks you will be de-registered. Only if a club appeals the de-registration the league executive will look at the case, Player history, Games played, how long between reports, what reports the player has had,etc, then they can approach AFL victoria to grant a single exemption. Thats how it was explained.

footy mad 2
11 May 2007, 01:58
thanks joeblow2. can anyone tell me how a player finds out how many weeks they have accumulated?
great post on the rdfl thread matt nicholls:thumbsu:
great posts mongrel... with rules like this i hope the rdfl is going to step up the integrity of its tribunal members as in the past they have proved to be inadecuate. this could now jeopardise somebodies career and income and i think the rdfl tribunal has proved they are not up to it. you would expect an announcement from the league on an issue like this, and what better forum to put it on other than this.

Mongrel
11 May 2007, 08:56
great posts mongrel... with rules like this i hope the rdfl is going to step up the integrity of its tribunal members as in the past they have proved to be inadecuate. this could now jeopardise somebodies career and income and i think the rdfl tribunal has proved they are not up to it. you would expect an announcement from the league on an issue like this, and what better forum to put it on other than this.

footy mad 2 you are spot on here.our tribunal has been a discrace for some years now.my concern with the new rule is this:
what if darryl brinkhuis from romsey,a former badboy who has cleaned up his act and captain coach was to get reported for something minor?
potentially his career could be ova.i beleive that when u offend in football
you are given a suspension to serve.once you have served the suspension
u should be clear to return with a fresh start.lets hope this new rule rids out the ********s but doesnt cost any maturing senior players their
careers.and yes footymad2 an official announcement would make perfect sense{so dont expect one;) }

Itsmyshow
11 May 2007, 09:04
For the 16 week rule.

All players could start this year without prejudice of a past record.. But!!! if reported all previous suspensions come into account, and a total of 16 weeks will have you deregistered... So now not only do the umpires have too much to concentrate on in a game, but they now hold a players career in thier hands each time they lay a report....

Can see the tribunal hasn't changed.. 4 weeks to a guy with a clean record, what a joke.. He didn't king hit anyone did he? :thumbsd:

matt_nicholls
11 May 2007, 09:07
For the 16 week rule.

All players could start this year without prejudice of a past record.. But!!! if reported all previous suspensions come into account, and a total of 16 weeks will have you deregistered... So now not only do the umpires have too much to concentrate on in a game, but they now hold a players career in thier hands each time they lay a report....

Can see the tribunal hasn't changed.. 4 weeks to a guy with a clean record, what a joke.. He didn't king hit anyone did he? :thumbsd:

I dont think many at Kilmore were unhappy with the tribunal. Trav actually got six weeks but had two suspended. He got the other bloke pretty good.

blues12
11 May 2007, 09:19
I dont think many at Kilmore were unhappy with the tribunal. Trav actually got six weeks but had two suspended. He got the other bloke pretty good.

With an open hand, what would he have got if his fist was clenched, The tribunal went through an overhaul in the off season to bring it inline with other leagues, with max penalties set. This was done due to the new policy coming in. Does anybody know how many weeks a single major strike should get.
Within 5 years, if this policy is not adjusted the RDFL will have the highest amount of De-registrations.:thumbsd:

Blueboy16
11 May 2007, 10:23
With an open hand, what would he have got if his fist was clenched, The tribunal went through an overhaul in the off season to bring it inline with other leagues, with max penalties set. This was done due to the new policy coming in. Does anybody know how many weeks a single major strike should get.
Within 5 years, if this policy is not adjusted the RDFL will have the highest amount of De-registrations.:thumbsd:

blues12 have you ever done a self defence program? eg Karate, Jujitsu? An open hand can do much more damage than a fist. Trav should find himself lucky with what he got. I think the Centrals boys are looking forward to the reverse clash later in the season for a little square up. Quite a few were fuming over the incident.

Mongrel
11 May 2007, 10:43
:) blues12 have you ever done a self defence program? eg Karate, Jujitsu? An open hand can do much more damage than a fist. Trav should find himself lucky with what he got. I think the Centrals boys are looking forward to the reverse clash later in the season for a little square up. Quite a few were fuming over the incident.

i want front row seats blueboy.im happy to promote the return game if they want? two teams enter,one team leaves.that sort of stuff.
footys back:thumbsu:

B.O.G
11 May 2007, 11:33

hey there matty nicho, just read your post about this weeks rd 4 clashes, good read, just got a lil qn is there any chance we can change your photo that appears next to your write, i rekon u broke your wrist/arm with all that head resting u do in the office not the footy field, maybe one with a cast or u on the surgens table some thing that will give us something to laugh at!!!
coz from the photo is duznt look like the break was on the footy field last week!!

Mongrel
11 May 2007, 14:22
mongrels tips

woodend by 40
riddell by 100
romsey by 120
diggers by 18
kangas by 80

billylid
11 May 2007, 14:30
mongrels tips

woodend by 40
riddell by 100
romsey by 120
diggers by 18
kangas by 80

(1's) Kangaroos to beat Rockbank by 108 points - (2's) Kangaroos by 66 points
Riddell to beat Lancified by 114 points - (2's) Riddell by 96points
Romsey to beatMacedon by 84 points - (2'S) Romsey by 114points
Diggers to beat Kilmore by 27 points - (2's) Diggers by 42points
Woodend to beat Centrals by 47points -(2's) Woodend by 48 points

Mongrel
11 May 2007, 14:52
where have u been billy?

matt_nicholls
11 May 2007, 14:55
hey there matty nicho, just read your post about this weeks rd 4 clashes, good read, just got a lil qn is there any chance we can change your photo that appears next to your write, i rekon u broke your wrist/arm with all that head resting u do in the office not the footy field, maybe one with a cast or u on the surgens table some thing that will give us something to laugh at!!!
coz from the photo is duznt look like the break was on the footy field last week!!

Some talking points for you fellas.

Discussion going on about an Anzac Day clash between Sunbury Kangaroos and Kilmore;

The RDFL looking at building a complex at Diggers Rest with the Melton Shire;

And, the Burra switching to the second and bigger oval.

Also BOG, click this (http://www.centralsport.org/wp-content/uploads/2007/05/broken.jpg)

Itsmyshow
11 May 2007, 14:57
Rockbank Vs Sunbury Kangaroos
Roos will win

Lancefield Vs Riddell
The Tigers are struggling without Collins. Will continue to do so this week.
Riddell got a lovely little write up about thier return to form against Macedon, it was pretty close to the mark, but does one of thier players work for the paper.. http://s2.images.proboards.com/wink.gif
Riddell Easily 90pts

Melton Central Vs Woodend/Hesket
Centrals have had mixed results so far this season. A loss to Romsey followed up by a narrow win against cellar dwellars Rockbank, only to come out and push Kilmore for a 5 goal loss.
Centrals will be looking to improve on that form this week in a tough matchup, but if sides take Mr Greenshields side lightly they will be in for a shock.
The Hawks are firing. With Salpietro, Egan and Dowling up forward and the midfield led by captain Johnstone the Hawks are the side to beat. Sitting atop the ladder they will be looking to put a stranglehold on that position this week.
Woodend by 40pts

Macedon FC Vs Romsey
Macedon has found the start to the season tough, with players unavailable and a lack of depth, the Cats have found it hard to find many winners early. With young talented youngsters the Cats will only get better with each game.
Romsey started the season strongly with only a small hiccup against the Roos last week. They will be looking to bounce back this week with the in form Matty McClellan and Rob Keenan providing the drive.
Romsey by 70 points.

Match of the Round
Diggers Rest Vs Kilmore
The Burra have started the season slowly, but dont let that fool you, they also were in this position last year.
Diggers will start to wind up in the next couple of weeks and with Jose back will look to start thier run this week against the Blues.
Stu Clarke has been impressive thus far this year and Dan Reilly has started the season well for the Burra.
Kilmore has started the season strongly, after a narrow loss to Riddell the Blues have gradually built up over the past couple of weeks and will be looking for a big name scalp early to show they will be a force. The loss of Hede will hurt but the Blues have plenty to cover him.
Diggers by 11 points, home ground will get them home.

vantheman32
11 May 2007, 15:03
blues12 have you ever done a self defence program? eg Karate, Jujitsu? An open hand can do much more damage than a fist. Trav should find himself lucky with what he got. I think the Centrals boys are looking forward to the reverse clash later in the season for a little square up. Quite a few were fuming over the incident.

lucky? they reported me for hitting the wrong bloke? how is that lucky, if witnesses were allowed the case should have been thrown out! they can look foward to the return clash as much as they want and if they are looking for a square up i think i can expect a few kicks that day! ill just keep my head down and go the footy. incident on saturday, it took them ages to react if that was a side like sunbury or diggers or romsey that play for there mates it would have been an all in after bout 2 seconds not take a bloke bout 5 seconds to run at me as i was walking to interchange bench! looked bad for me coz there were blokes on the ground! they ran at me?

Blueboy16
11 May 2007, 15:10
Hey Mongrel are you back this week? I might have to drive over for a look!

billylid
11 May 2007, 15:24
where have u been billy?

been back in the school room for the past 2 weeks.. No havent gone back to high school rather being doing some training at work, which has made it difficult to get on Big Footy without it being obvious

billylid
11 May 2007, 15:29
lucky? they reported me for hitting the wrong bloke? how is that lucky, if witnesses were allowed the case should have been thrown out! they can look foward to the return clash as much as they want and if they are looking for a square up i think i can expect a few kicks that day! ill just keep my head down and go the footy. incident on saturday, it took them ages to react if that was a side like sunbury or diggers or romsey that play for there mates it would have been an all in after bout 2 seconds not take a bloke bout 5 seconds to run at me as i was walking to interchange bench! looked bad for me coz there were blokes on the ground! they ran at me?

Good call regarding kanags and diggers , defiantly two teams that stand out when yuo talk about playing for there mates.

Crookknee
11 May 2007, 15:54
Good call regarding kanags and diggers , defiantly two teams that stand out when yuo talk about playing for there mates.

Hey Billy, you should have done the 3 week course at school and done a refresher on spelling.:D

WISH_I_COULD_KICK
11 May 2007, 15:58
hey van i was there watching and seen the whole thing,it took a while for 17 to get to you but he was the closest!if you wanna talk about playing for mates i seen a player run 50 metres to get to you and managed to as you ended up wrestling him.in saying that i think that the action takin by you was done through reaction of having a player run at you but you stuffed up by hitting him in the face.

vantheman32
11 May 2007, 16:03
hey van i was there watching and seen the whole thing,it took a while for 17 to get to you but he was the closest!if you wanna talk about playing for mates i seen a player run 50 metres to get to you and managed to as you ended up wrestling him.in saying that i think that the action takin by you was done through reaction of having a player run at you but you stuffed up by hitting him in the face.

yeah i was sticking up for myself but i never meant to get 17 high i just put my hands up in self protection, if i got him with a fist i wouldnt be annoyed but i got him with open hand mate, wish i didnt get him high coz now ive got 4 weeks on the sidelines 2 watch the 4 hardest games! wont know what to do with myself!

WISH_I_COULD_KICK
11 May 2007, 16:16
yeah it looked that way,but it wouldve been alot different outcome if there was no high contact,thats what the centrals boys didnt like.it wouldve just been a wrestle match.if you couldnt tell van im a centrals player,so i no what our boys are like.we will stick up for each other at all times and i thought it showed as i said a player ran at least 50 m to get to you.but as i said had it not been high it wouldnt have esculated like it did.

Mongrel
11 May 2007, 16:25
:thumbsu: yeah i was sticking up for myself but i never meant to get 17 high i just put my hands up in self protection, if i got him with a fist i wouldnt be annoyed but i got him with open hand mate, wish i didnt get him high coz now ive got 4 weeks on the sidelines 2 watch the 4 hardest games! wont know what to do with myself!

shit happens trav.if someone runs at me that wat,they would get a lot more than open hander.keep ya chin up pal.
good call b4 billy
and yes blueboy mongrel will play his first game 4 the season.not sure if its in the firsts or 2nds yet?waiting 4 the call.will let u know soon mate

WISH_I_COULD_KICK
11 May 2007, 16:35
whos the players to watch out for in the hawks seniors?i heard about that young kid who kicked 9,and 5 the week before

Hawker28
11 May 2007, 16:58
Chin up Van.... Sounds as though you were baited a little?

Hawker28
11 May 2007, 16:59
Don't worry about watching out for one player watch out for all of them...... Salpy is the man who bill back the goals.

Sounds as though nothin different has changed at Centrals, still wanting to 'blue' all the time.

What sort of building is the RDFL considering here, are we talking premises like the VAFA?

Halffullonfence
11 May 2007, 17:09
[quote=Hawker28;7499532]Don't worry about watching out for one player watch out for all of them...... Salpy is the man who bill back the goals.

Fair call Hawker Salpy the finisher there midfielders and 1/2 backs run the ball well and if left alone will cut you to pieces.

Bowen, Manser, Fenell, Johnson and co are the ones to watch and stop if you want any chance of taking home the points. Add Sippy to this group when or if he plays and it will become a very hard job.

joeblow2
11 May 2007, 17:10
whos the players to watch out for in the hawks seniors?i heard about that young kid who kicked 9,and 5 the week before
22 of them take the field, and they will all have an impact. That's the most impressive thing about them. They will be hard to toss for the spoils this year IMO.

Still no Sipthorpe yet.

Halffullonfence
11 May 2007, 17:13
[quote=matt_nicholls;7498306]Some talking points for you fellas.

Discussion going on about an Anzac Day clash between Sunbury Kangaroos and Kilmore;

The RDFL looking at building a complex at Diggers Rest with the Melton Shire;

And, the Burra switching to the second and bigger oval.

Matt why at Diggers couldn't they find a more central location in the league area ??????

Mongrel
11 May 2007, 17:16
[quote=Hawker28;7499532]Don't worry about watching out for one player watch out for all of them...... Salpy is the man who bill back the goals.

Fair call Hawker Salpy the finisher there midfielders and 1/2 backs run the ball well and if left alone will cut you to pieces.

Bowen, Manser, Fenell, Johnson and co are the ones to watch and stop if you want any chance of taking home the points. Add Sippy to this group when or if he plays and it will become a very hard job.

good call halffull.and lets build it in gisborne behind the shire offices.

matt_nicholls
11 May 2007, 17:24
Matt why at Diggers couldn't they find a more central location in the league area ??????

RDFL rumours ... with Matt Nicholls

LEAGUE MOVING?
I HEARD last week that the Riddell District Football League is investigating a move to Diggers Rest.
Sources say that RDFL general manager Scott McCartney was having discussions with the Melton Shire to create a new sports administration centre.
The league and the shire recently worked together on creating a second oval behind the main oval, which is bigger than the one currently occupied by Diggers Rest football and cricket clubs.
The wind has always been gusty at Diggers Rest, and it is believed that discussions are already in place to create a wind shield.
There is also speculation that the Sunbury Kangaroos will play home games on the second oval this season as their base at Boardman Oval is currently suffering from the drought.
If a move happens, expect it to be very lucrative for the competition.
GOING TOO FAR?
Junior football often gets a bad reputation because of over-competitive parents, but what about this story I heard?
Three weekends ago when we got all that rain, RDFL junior football matches at Rupertswood in Sunbury were abandoned. The school’s curator said that over 30ml (120 points) of rain had fallen and he didn’t want the kids wrecking the ground after months of hard work.
Now Rupertswood’s opponents want the points! We won’t name the club but the kids aren’t playing for sheep stations.
People need to be reminded every now and again that junior football is about fun and developing our youth. While there is a finals series and a premiership to be played for, adults shouldn’t forget why we play the game.
Scott McCartney confirmed the RDFL was trying to reschedule the game, and was not going to award points to either side at this stage.
ANZAC GAME
Kilmore and Sunbury Kangaroos may become the new Collingwood and Essendon as the Blues and Roos discuss playing an Anzac Day match next season.
Next year April 25 falls on a Friday, with the following two years on Saturday and Sunday.
Bendigo Football League clubs Castlemaine and Kangaroo Flat experimented with an Anzac Day the match this season and received terrific community support.
With the help of district RSLs and the RDFL, the Kilmore and Sunbury Kangaroos clashes could be a highlight of the competition.

Halffullonfence
11 May 2007, 17:26
[quote=Halffullonfence;7499646]

good call halffull.and lets build it in gisborne behind the shire offices.

We will have to wait for another fire maybe then a further 53 stories can go on top of the gym at Gardner and we can watch any game in the league.:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Good luck tomorrow champ catch up for beer soon didn't see you at the MCG a fortnight ago.

goblues09
11 May 2007, 17:48
well if centrals are after some revenge after Saturday are more than welcome, a nice old touch up and 4 points to kilmore will put us in good stead for the run into September!!

should be a cracker tomorrow, and good to see Dan Reilly playing some good footy, but lets hope tomorrow is not the case!!!

Mongrel
11 May 2007, 17:49
[quote=Mongrel;7499724]

We will have to wait for another fire maybe then a further 53 stories can go on top of the gym at Gardner and we can watch any game in the league.:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Good luck tomorrow champ catch up for beer soon didn't see you at the MCG a fortnight ago.

thanx mate.lol. nah we arent allowed to drink while out injured.and the temptation of a few ales at the m.c.g would have been too much 4 me.
we will make up 4 it at some stage im sure:thumbsu:

Halffullonfence
11 May 2007, 17:53
[quote=Halffullonfence;7499864]

thanx mate.lol. nah we arent allowed to drink while out injured.and the temptation of a few ales at the m.c.g would have been too much 4 me.
we will make up 4 it at some stage im sure:thumbsu:

No drinks while injured ?????

Sure way to keep the injury list LOW.

goblues09
11 May 2007, 18:05
The Anzac idea was spoken about at Housey's 21st and I think it would be a great idea as both clubs have had a bit of a rivalry last few seasons with the games at Sunbury on the run home finishing a couple of our seasons!!

It can definately work if both clubs are happy to only have a 4 day break when it happens to fall on a Wed or Tue.

Eg - if it were to be played this year, with Anzac Day on the Wednesday, and round 1 being April 21 (Saturday) have the Kilmore v Sunbury game as part of Round 2, thus both clubs have only 4 days from round 1 but the extra break til Round 3.

if it were to be a Thursday or Friday, it would be the first match of the round, with the other 4 to follow on the Saturday

and if it fell on a Sun, Mon or Tue it would be the last match of the round

if it fell on a Saturday i guess it would be at the leagues descretion to play all games on that day or perhaps just the Blues v Kangas on sat, 4 remaining games on Sunday (with the public holiday to follow on the Monday).....

but time will tell i guess but I cann assure there will be many ppl disappointed if it gets knocked back, including 2 very passionate presidents!!!

bearsboy
11 May 2007, 18:32
:)

i want front row seats blueboy.im happy to promote the return game if they want? two teams enter,one team leaves.that sort of stuff.
footys back:thumbsu:This takes my mind back to the late 90's mate , when opposition teams at Macedon would walk into the rooms and be confronted with the writing on the wall, which went something like " Ashes to Ashes Dust to Dust if Polly dont get you then Deano must " .:thumbsu:

vantheman32
11 May 2007, 19:05
Chin up Van.... Sounds as though you were baited a little?

Dont think i was baited no, heat of the moment thing mate

Dasher_23
11 May 2007, 19:21

LEAGUE MOVING?
I HEARD last week that the Riddell District Football League is investigating a move to Diggers Rest.
Sources say that RDFL general manager Scott McCartney was having discussions with the Melton Shire to create a new sports administration centre.
The league and the shire recently worked together on creating a second oval behind the main oval, which is bigger than the one currently occupied by Diggers Rest football and cricket clubs.
The wind has always been gusty at Diggers Rest, and it is believed that discussions are already in place to create a wind shield.
There is also speculation that the Sunbury Kangaroos will play home games on the second oval this season as their base at Boardman Oval is currently suffering from the drought.
. The whole complex at diggers has a massive plan drawn up for it over the next few years. New cricket and netball facilities an extension to the burras social rooms and moving the front entrance completely off plumpton road. The second oval already has had goal posts put up and is in good condition but would need some widening before teams would look at it as a permanent base. I also heard the rdfl headquarters rumour. Western Jets ctually used the complex as a base over summer. Both diggers grounds are on recycled water.

weekend warrior
11 May 2007, 19:26
If this burra complex was gonna go ahead and the jets were to use it more often the TAC CUP would have to re-zone its territories, it would be pointless for boys from sunbury macedon gisborne and woodend driving past the Jets ground on the way to train for the cannons. May help the struggling jets in the future.

Dasher_23
11 May 2007, 19:31
If this burra complex was gonna go ahead and the jets were to use it more often the TAC CUP would have to re-zone its territories, it would be pointless for boys from sunbury macedon gisborne and woodend driving past the Jets ground on the way to train for the cannons. May help the struggling jets in the future. Jets permanent base isin caroline springs but it does not have water and thats the only reason they were at diggers. Dont think a permanent move is on the cards for them.

The little man
11 May 2007, 20:55
Talking about Woodend and all the players they have ive heard that Lacy and Barker are coming back, that would be a potent forward line.

e1984
11 May 2007, 23:49
if that is true then woodend would be close to a shoe in for the big one

vantheman32
12 May 2007, 17:44
kilmore beat diggers by 2 points, good start to season for the blues 3 in a row, good game next week at kilmore vs sunbury!

matt_nicholls
12 May 2007, 18:52
Great win by the Blues.

Riddell beat Lancefield by about 60 points and Romsey beat Macedon by 80.

Bombers are coasting but the Tigers fought it out.

X_box_X
12 May 2007, 20:03
I reckon we played the premiers today. We were beaten by a very good side. I think the end margin was about 23 goals after we were only down by four points at quarter time and probably deserved to be in front.

That Jacko guy #8 is a fair player. Same with that #9, Daniel I think his name is. They both killed us out of the guts. Up forward I was impressed by that Goldy Locks fellow who sports the number #25, real name of Garth. Probably end up with half a dozen in the end. #23 also kicked a fair few, but did a Shannon Grant (that's actually being generous) that ruined a perfect day for him.

lookout4lions
12 May 2007, 22:39
could any1 give any info on wether Luke Walker is playing again with Rockbank?

X_box_X
12 May 2007, 23:03
Yeah, he is. Good player. He got injured today, though.

The little man
13 May 2007, 13:51
Big call x_box_x saying the kangeroos will be premiers i would like to be on woodend at the moment, i cant see anyone to get near them, still got Nga,johnston,cunick,patterson and then if lacy and barker come back they will be unbeateble.

Iceman27
13 May 2007, 14:12
kilmore beat diggers by 2 points, good start to season for the blues 3 in a row, good game next week at kilmore vs sunbury!

Great to see Kilmore with another win. Also good to see Cornish with a few goals, looks like his had a great start to the year and another ex wallan player Tomsky in the best. Looks Like all the Wallan boys from last year are doing there bit for the team.

e1984
13 May 2007, 14:43
agree would have to say that woodend would be odds on by a mile not many sides are going to get close to them this year.

matt_nicholls
13 May 2007, 14:53
agree would have to say that woodend would be odds on by a mile not many sides are going to get close to them this year.

I have to say that although I think the Hawks have the best list in the competition they have yet to be tested against good opposition on a large ground.

The results of games they play at Romsey and Kilmore will be a good indicator.

Having Darko as their main target won't win em a GF either, no matter how good Salpy plays.

joeblow2
13 May 2007, 15:00
Anyone got a result from the Woodend-Centrals match? Nothing on the RDFL website.

Rodriguez
13 May 2007, 17:26
I have to say that although I think the Hawks have the best list in the competition they have yet to be tested against good opposition on a large ground.

The results of games they play at Romsey and Kilmore will be a good indicator.

Having Darko as their main target won't win em a GF either, no matter how good Salpy plays.

Matt, I thought Darko was pretty good in the finals last year! Done a preseason this year and started to catch a few yesterday, I think the Riddell game showed he doesnt neccessarily have to catch them himself as the other team are pretty keen to get three or four back. If the midfield uses the ball he will be more than a handy asset..

Cant see Lacy or Barker playing unless they both get the a*&^ from the present employment. Woodend won by about 14 goals yesterday. Enjoyed the space on the massive Melton ground..

blues12
13 May 2007, 18:59

Like it was said last year in the finals he was hard to match up on, Similar size to A.James but i think Darkos main problem was his kicking let him down, if he kicks straight could be very dangerous up forward.

blues12
13 May 2007, 19:05
I thought that with the return of Jose, Diggers would have been hard to beat at home. I didn't realise Sims wasn't playing. Was he the only major out for Diggers.
What happened in the second half? Any injuries or were Kilmore just to good and fitness got them over the line, Great win for the Blues.

joeblow2
13 May 2007, 19:32
Like it was said last year in the finals he was hard to match up on, Similar size to A.James but i think Darkos main problem was his kicking let him down, if he kicks straight could be very dangerous up forward.
James is about 6 foot 2, Darko is about 6 foot 10.

joeblow2
13 May 2007, 19:33
James is about 6 foot 2, Darko is about 6 foot 10.
Sorry, wrong James!!!

vantheman32
13 May 2007, 20:30
I thought that with the return of Jose, Diggers would have been hard to beat at home. I didn't realise Sims wasn't playing. Was he the only major out for Diggers.
What happened in the second half? Any injuries or were Kilmore just to good and fitness got them over the line, Great win for the Blues.

A couple of injuries to kilmore goudge went off n didnt go back did something to his ankle looked very gingerly at the pub last night, heard that strayney had a bad ankle as well. jason king nullified jose from all reports!

goblues09
13 May 2007, 21:11
i think Kilmore just started to make the most of the opportunities in the 3rd term, where as in the second when Diggers got out by 5 goals the Blues were just wasteful, but like last year it was yet another close game between 2 well matched sides, and hopefully my nails down take the same sort of punishment next week!!!

lookout4lions
13 May 2007, 22:00
Any info on Steve James form, played at Melton last 2 years b4 going 2 sunbury this, could be wrong.

billylid
14 May 2007, 09:01

we atcually had 5-6 first team players out yesterday (sims, bull, clarke, b.green, Mcchewka , Nolan) but thats no excuse kilmore are a very good side and the second half was the robertson show , i seen first hand how good the bloke is and have to say that IMS was pretty spot on the mark when he said he is one of the best in the league.

bearsboy
14 May 2007, 10:04
Whats the go with Sipthorp ? Is he still injured ? not training ?

Mongrel
14 May 2007, 10:12
This takes my mind back to the late 90's mate , when opposition teams at Macedon would walk into the rooms and be confronted with the writing on the wall, which went something like " Ashes to Ashes Dust to Dust if Polly dont get you then Deano must " .:thumbsu:

the good old days big fella.yeah polly wrote that.i think he wrote it the day b4 we played u guys.by memory we wore the same number on our jumpers me and u

Trueblueroo
14 May 2007, 11:40
Quiet day out for Lee

http://mulwalafc.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=276707&comp=5206&orgid=95

Just responding to his critics!

Trueblueroo
14 May 2007, 11:50
Notice a clearance for Wilkoson back to Douta Stars. Is he not happy he's playing 2's?

Mongrel
14 May 2007, 12:41
Notice a clearance for Wilkoson back to Douta Stars. Is he not happy he's playing 2's?

goes ok too.would be a handy back up for jose.thats a loss for the burra

Ballsy
14 May 2007, 13:52
Mongrel how did that old body of yours pull up , how did you go and did you play ones or twos ??

joeblow2
14 May 2007, 16:13
we atcually had 5-6 first team players out yesterday (sims, bull, clarke, b.green, Mcchewka , Nolan) but thats no excuse kilmore are a very good side and the second half was the robertson show , i seen first hand how good the bloke is and have to say that IMS was pretty spot on the mark when he said he is one of the best in the league.
Noticed Bev played 2's last week. Form? Other commitments? Why is it so?

Blueboy16
14 May 2007, 17:39
Noticed Bev played 2's last week. Form? Other commitments? Why is it so?

Too good of a player to NOT be playing senior footy. Wake up to yourself's selection commitee if you dropped him. No wonder your losing.
Same with Chewy, even if he only came back from overseas he warrants automatic selection. Shame Shame Shame. Maybe it's time for a Extraordinary General Meeting for a clean out?????

Mongrel
14 May 2007, 18:39
Mongrel how did that old body of yours pull up , how did you go and did you play ones or twos ??

played in the twos ballsy.the old body pulled up fine.as youd expect with the pre season i put in i did it pretty easy.didnt go too hard,but ill step it up this week against kilmore.but the aim is to be ready for the big clash against woodend the following week.

Cobber21
14 May 2007, 18:46
Too good of a player to NOT be playing senior footy. Wake up to yourself's selection commitee if you dropped him. No wonder your losing.
Same with Chewy, even if he only came back from overseas he warrants automatic selection. Shame Shame Shame. Maybe it's time for a Extraordinary General Meeting for a clean out?????

You squeezer...

Chewy has not played a game all year (including practice matches), he got off a plane on the friday before the game. Lucky to play in the 2's IMO. So he is a fair way behind the others.

You have no idea.

Cobber21
14 May 2007, 18:49

Came one night (didn't train) and disappeared. No big loss

BIGPAWS23
14 May 2007, 19:12

LEAGUE MOVING?
GOING TOO FAR?
Junior football often gets a bad reputation because of over-competitive parents, but what about this story I heard?
Three weekends ago when we got all that rain, RDFL junior football matches at Rupertswood in Sunbury were abandoned. The school’s curator said that over 30ml (120 points) of rain had fallen and he didn’t want the kids wrecking the ground after months of hard work.
Now Rupertswood’s opponents want the points! We won’t name the club but the kids aren’t playing for sheep stations.
People need to be reminded every now and again that junior football is about fun and developing our youth. While there is a finals series and a premiership to be played for, adults shouldn’t forget why we play the game.
Scott McCartney confirmed the RDFL was trying to reschedule the game, and was not going to award points to either side at this stage.
ANZAC GAME
Kilmore and Sunbury Kangaroos may become the new Collingwood and Essendon as the Blues and Roos discuss playing an Anzac Day match next season.
Next year April 25 falls on a Friday, with the following two years on Saturday and Sunday.
Bendigo Football League clubs Castlemaine and Kangaroo Flat experimented with an Anzac Day the match this season and received terrific community support.
With the help of district RSLs and the RDFL, the Kilmore and Sunbury Kangaroos clashes could be a highlight of the competition.
Don't know were you get your information from matt but if you asked the right people you would find that the idea of an ANZC GAME was floated to the league this year betwen WOODEND HESKET vs MACEDON the only thing that stopped it was being Mid week I am sure the Hawks & Cats are still keen to persue the idea and reap the rewards of the seeds they have sewn:confused:

matt_nicholls
14 May 2007, 19:17
Don't know were you get your information from matt but if you asked the right people you would find that the idea of an ANZC GAME was floated to the league this year betwen WOODEND HESKET vs MACEDON the only thing that stopped it was being Mid week I am sure the Hawks & Cats are still keen to persue the idea and reap the rewards of the seeds they have sewn:confused:

Kilmore have been trying for a long time and I confirmed with Scott McCartney that the Roos were keen too. I am aware of Macedon and Woodend-Hesket's plan for the Anzac game also.

Mongrel
14 May 2007, 19:23
Came one night (didn't train) and disappeared. No big loss

thats fair enuf to say hes no big loss seeing he hasnt been there.
all the same i rate him as a player and definately as a bloke.
hey blueboy you are copping a bit of backlash from burra land.
i dont know the circumstances so i wont judge,but i do agree that bev is
a great backman and should definately be playing seniors.has a lot of hardness about him.i didnt like his cheapshot at jobe in round1, but if he was in my team i would have loved it.

Mongrel
14 May 2007, 19:33
Big call x_box_x saying the kangeroos will be premiers i would like to be on woodend at the moment, i cant see anyone to get near them, still got Nga,johnston,cunick,patterson and then if lacy and barker come back they will be unbeateble.

woodend are definately flag favourites at this very early stage of the year.and from all reports they are an awesome outfit.but they havent played anybody yet.and yes they supposedly have some guns to come back in.but u can only play 22 players,not 32.not meaning to sound
sarcastic,theres just a very long way to go.riddell are still in 2nd gear,
diggers are far from full strength,romsey are a fantastic side this year and the kangas are travelling well too.as for our opponents this week,kilmore look to be the big improvers.and will test every side

footy mad 2
14 May 2007, 19:42
woodend are definately flag favourites at this very early stage of the year.and from all reports they are an awesome outfit.but they havent played anybody yet.and yes they supposedly have some guns to come back in.but u can only play 22 players,not 32.not meaning to sound
sarcastic,theres just a very long way to go.riddell are still in 2nd gear,
diggers are far from full strength,romsey are a fantastic side this year and the kangas are travelling well too.as for our opponents this week,kilmore look to be the big improvers.and will test every side
agree with all you say mongrel although with the lack of recruits at the burra they should struggle this year.

Digger52
14 May 2007, 19:51

We had a clean out @ the start of the year.WE GOT RID OF YOU U MORON

Animosity
14 May 2007, 20:05
Looking at stats of goal-kicking .. Payne still hasnt kicked more than 3 (in a game) ??? ... Is there a new scoring target at burra land or are teams just more aware of paynes capabilities?

matt_nicholls
14 May 2007, 20:14
Looking at stats of goal-kicking .. Payne still hasnt kicked more than 3 (in a game) ??? ... Is there a new scoring target at burra land or are teams just more aware of paynes capabilities?

Or lack of.

Payne used to kick lots in a season because the Burra midfielders could hit him on the *** 15 times against Rockbank etc. and even I could mark a couple of those. So he would get big bags against the weaker mobs. Against strong opposition he would have half the delivery and a better opponent so he wouldn't kick many.

Lee James just needed the ball somewhere in the vicinity and he would snatch it.

BIGPAWS23
14 May 2007, 20:25
Kilmore have been trying for a long time and I confirmed with Scott McCartney that the Roos were keen too. I am aware of Macedon and Woodend-Hesket's plan for the Anzac game also.

Well matt it would have been nice if you acknowledged this early and if it does happen it should be a match between the instigators Macedon and Woodend

joeblow2
14 May 2007, 20:39
Hey Billylid, I see Pistol has departed the Burra for the roos. Wouldn't have thought he would have had any trouble getting a game in the 2's at the Burra, which is all he'll do at Sunbury. Any rift there?

Ballsy
15 May 2007, 08:52
My understanding with Bevan is he was dropped as a wake up call with his footy and has since injured his knee. Sometimes you have to do this to get there and the seniors players attention to say there is no certanties for senior selection. Apparently his form was poor in recent weeks. So BEV get on your bike train the house down find form in the twos and get back into the seniors they need you.

matt_nicholls
15 May 2007, 09:36
Some ripper matches on this weekend including Woodend-Hesket v Diggers Rest and Macedon v Lancefield - but the one that will have me on Saturday is the Kilmore and Sunbury Kangaroos clash.

Big test for both sides.

If the Blues I'll seal them in for a top five berth, with Diggers to miss out.

The Roos will be looking to remain undefeated also, with top spot just about assuring a berth in the RDFL grand final.

A full preview to come later in the week.

billylid
15 May 2007, 09:38

if we can get 3 a week off chris is has played all but the 1st game Across half forward it would be defiantly a win.. Alot of players have been rotated through FF so you could say there are alot of new scoring targets

billylid
15 May 2007, 09:44
Hey Billylid, I see Pistol has departed the Burra for the roos. Wouldn't have thought he would have had any trouble getting a game in the 2's at the Burra, which is all he'll do at Sunbury. Any rift there?

Honestly no idea , IMS would know more then me but i was flabbastered to see Matty turning out for Kangaroos. And no thats not a personal dig at the kangaroos i just thought matty enjoy playing for the burra

Trueblueroo
15 May 2007, 14:03
http://a621.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/58/l_1c475c7d234f54303ce4df2aeac092ac.jpg
26/5/2007 - More information via http://www.myspace.com/sunburykangaroos (http://www.myspace.com/sunburykangaroos)

or at

http://sunburykangaroos.footballvic.com.au

vantheman32
15 May 2007, 14:49
www.myspace.com/garthploog
quite an interesting page, im sure he would cop a bit of stick for this around the league?

Trueblueroo
15 May 2007, 15:03
Why should he? The bloke is very good at what he does as his living!!! People only give curry to people who they are jelous of.....

Good on him and a number of us are going to his gig this weekend to promote awareness for youth suicide!!!!

vantheman32
15 May 2007, 15:17
Well there ya go housey! sorry mate i didnt really read much into the page just glanced across it the other day n remembered, would go alrite with the ladies being a singer ey?

Trueblueroo
15 May 2007, 15:31
Well there ya go housey! sorry mate i didnt really read much into the page just glanced across it the other day n remembered, would go alrite with the ladies being a singer ey?

Nah, its sweet mate all good! Um people just don't understand what he does it for and what he raises money for thats all! As far as the ladies as concerned he does well for himself let's put it that way!!!

goblues09
15 May 2007, 18:42
Sorry BIGPAWS, but i think ppl would prefer to go watch a contest in Blues v Roos rather than watch Woodend train around withces hats dressed in blue and white hoops

Halffullonfence
15 May 2007, 20:00
Sorry BIGPAWS, but i think ppl would prefer to go watch a contest in Blues v Roos rather than watch Woodend train around withces hats dressed in blue and white hoops

Woodend thought that in 06 at mcg I think!!!!
Cats may be depleted this year, we all go thru ups and downs , how long ago did Riddell go under ????

Mongrel
16 May 2007, 08:14
Woodend thought that in 06 at mcg I think!!!!
Cats may be depleted this year, we all go thru ups and downs , how long ago did Riddell go under ????

when the day arrives that u can drink bourbon behind the glass at the m.c.g, i think youll find that the cattery will be right up there again.
i might even come back in an off field role halffull.
any barman needed?

Trueblueroo
16 May 2007, 09:54
Duffy, you tell Dayson (hawker28) to stock up in supplies, the boys are coming up in force this weekend? 'We got a great big convoy'!!!

Tell Goudge to get of the KFC, from all reports since Wallan has purchased a KFC, Adam has become quite the resident.

Blueboy16
16 May 2007, 10:06
thats fair enuf to say hes no big loss seeing he hasnt been there.
all the same i rate him as a player and definately as a bloke.
hey blueboy you are copping a bit of backlash from burra land.
i dont know the circumstances so i wont judge,but i do agree that bev is
a great backman and should definately be playing seniors.has a lot of hardness about him.i didnt like his cheapshot at jobe in round1, but if he was in my team i would have loved it.

BB Loves the Diggers backlash. Keep it coming.

Sunqvist
16 May 2007, 14:28
Whats the go with Sipthorp ? Is he still injured ? not training ?

hes not too far away but our boys are doing pretty well without him so far will be interesting to see when best 22 line up. Im sure few others are in the same boat.

Went down the raod and watched a bit or Romsey saturday, vs macedon. The moved it alright and might be a fair contender. Mclellan is real top on ballerand morgan looked fit kicked a couple good goals. Burlak maybe be a overrated from what ive heard but he is still quality and young bloke they called harro went alright I thought they might struggle this year with the loss of Meldrum Strack and Carrol X 2, but they look alright.
The cats looked competitve at some times. Very young looking group.

B.O.G
16 May 2007, 14:29
Or lack of.

Payne used to kick lots in a season because the Burra midfielders could hit him on the *** 15 times against Rockbank etc. and even I could mark a couple of those. So he would get big bags against the weaker mobs. Against strong opposition he would have half the delivery and a better opponent so he wouldn't kick many.

Lee James just needed the ball somewhere in the vicinity and he would snatch it.

that is one of the best calls u have done nicho, that is right on the spot, he was a proven performer against the weaker teams and a shadow of himself when matched up with a decent opponent, he has bee like that since his days in th 18's.
Lee James was a gun and it didnt matter who lioned up on him he was always going to kick goals, but thta was alsoa confidence thing, he knew he was the best goal kicker and riddell knew/thort they were the best team (last 2 flags say enuff) so they feared no-one and played that style of football.

B.O.G
16 May 2007, 14:33
hes not too far away but our boys are doing pretty well without him so far will be interesting to see when best 22 line up. Im sure few others are in the same boat.

Went down the raod and watched a bit or Romsey saturday, vs macedon. The moved it alright and might be a fair contender. Mclellan is real top on ballerand morgan looked fit kicked a couple good goals. Burlak maybe be a overrated from what ive heard but he is still quality and young bloke they called harro went alright I thought they might struggle this year with the loss of Meldrum Strack and Carrol X 2, but they look alright.
The cats looked competitve at some times. Very young looking group.

hey there sunquist u seem 2 know a bit bout sippy, if u know how hes going one wud asume that ur invoved in the club- supporter or sumthing. how u involved???

why would u go n watch romsey? unless u were talent watching???
so when should we see sippy back?