View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

joeblow2
16 May 2007, 14:39
Good news for Lancefield, Chris Collins back on the track, could play as early as this week.

Crookknee
16 May 2007, 15:52
Good news for Lancefield, Chris Collins back on the track, could play as early as this week.

I hope 4 Lancefields sake that he doesn't rush back early and risk any further damage. He is only young and has plenty of footy ahead of him. Hopefully he will only play when he is 100%. There is no doubt however that they need him out there especially now that pickles is out for the year. Changing the subject, it should be a good game at Kilmore this weekend.

Itsmyshow
16 May 2007, 16:11
that is one of the best calls u have done nicho, that is right on the spot, he was a proven performer against the weaker teams and a shadow of himself when matched up with a decent opponent, he has bee like that since his days in th 18's.
Lee James was a gun and it didnt matter who lioned up on him he was always going to kick goals, but thta was alsoa confidence thing, he knew he was the best goal kicker and riddell knew/thort they were the best team (last 2 flags say enuff) so they feared no-one and played that style of football.

Hmmm...

matt_nicholls
16 May 2007, 16:21
New articles are up on www.centralsport.org (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/www.centralsport.org) lads and this week's RDFL preview should be up on the league's website soon. I sent it in earlier today. Diggers Rest fans should read with interest.

burger5
16 May 2007, 17:13
Too good of a player to NOT be playing senior footy. Wake up to yourself's selection commitee if you dropped him. No wonder your losing.
Same with Chewy, even if he only came back from overseas he warrants automatic selection. Shame Shame Shame. Maybe it's time for a Extraordinary General Meeting for a clean out?????

Extraordinary meeting????????????? Are you kidding me????? I got dropped because of VERY poor form. I was not doing the job the coaches wanted me to be doing and paid the price.
There is no point keeping an out of form player in a key backline position in the ones. Very costly for the team. Send them back to the twos to find form and do the things required to earn your spot back. They made the correct decision in my book.
But i will work my arse off to get back into the seniors.

Mongrel
16 May 2007, 17:20
Extraordinary meeting????????????? Are you kidding me????? I got dropped because of VERY poor form. I was not doing the job the coaches wanted me to be doing and paid the price.
There is no point keeping an out of form player in a key backline position in the ones. Very costly for the team. Send them back to the twos to find form and do the things required to earn your spot back. They made the correct decision in my book.

very galent of u bev.but lets look at it from a different perspective.
diggers lost by 2 points,you are their key backman.its a very tight race for the finals this year.dropping u may be a contributig factor in diggers missing finals?key players in this league who have a few bad games come good by pushing a bit harder the next week.there is no point having u run around in the magoos,especially when your playing a quality side.
good luck in the ones this week pal:thumbsu:

Blueboy16
16 May 2007, 17:49

Bevan I know how you think and your being very careful of what you say. I know how devestated you would of been. Your VERY worst form in the seniors would be super form in the Diggers 2's backline. Only other i see being anywhere close to you in heart and passion would be Paul Downey and that alone would of given Diggers the win against Kilmore in the 1's. A few more of the seniors should take a leaf out of your book and find some heart and passion.

Blueboy16
16 May 2007, 17:51
key players in this league who have a few bad games come good by pushing a bit harder the next week.there is no point having u run around in the magoos,especially when your playing a quality side.

So Deano what were you doing running around in the 2's against Rockbank then. Would you have got a better run playing a higher paced more skilled game in the seniors?

Mongrel
16 May 2007, 19:36
So Deano what were you doing running around in the 2's against Rockbank then. Would you have got a better run playing a higher paced more skilled game in the seniors?

just a team rule blueboy.the focus this yaer is to make sure im 100 percent right come finals time.fortunately 4 me my body has come good much quicker than expected.also i would never want a player to lose his spot just coz im back from injury.the team is winning and doing it fairly easy at this stage.i will find it very hard to play seniors this week coz all the players performed great on the weekend.but if i do play this weekend
ill turn it on 4 ya.
as 4 your question,yes seniors would have been better last week but at least i proved my fitness and cruised thru with absolute ease.this is not the start 2 the season that i had hoped 4,but the way my body is going i know i will have a massive impact soon.

OldMelburnian28
16 May 2007, 20:02
Did not expect to see the current ladder positions 4 games in!!! Here's my predictions for the next few weeks;
Sunbury will crack and lose their next 2 games which will drop them back into the race for finals. Just cant imagine them finishing in top 2.
Woodend are the powerhouse of 2007! i said it from the start and ill stick by my word! Be prepared to see the hawks take control over the coming rounds
Riddell are dangerous, and may send the odd msg to the rdfl in 2007
Romsey are another team with the potential to give the league a real shake!
Kilmore will drop off the pace and battle for finals
Diggers rest would be as shocked as myself, if u refer to my previous posts i might have picked them for top 2? anyway would love to see the burra finish in a top 2 position but just cant see it! Will battle for a finals spot with sunbury and kilmore.

These are the 6 teams battling for a finals spot! Melton and lancefield may cause the occasional upset but will not be any major cause for concern.

joeblow2
16 May 2007, 21:25
Did not expect to see the current ladder positions 4 games in!!! Here's my predictions for the next few weeks;
Sunbury will crack and lose their next 2 games which will drop them back into the race for finals. Just cant imagine them finishing in top 2.
Woodend are the powerhouse of 2007! i said it from the start and ill stick by my word! Be prepared to see the hawks take control over the coming rounds
Diggers rest would be as shocked as myself, if u refer to my previous posts i might have picked them for top 2? anyway would love to see the burra finish in a top 2 position but just cant see it! Will battle for a finals spot with sunbury and kilmore.

These are the 6 teams battling for a finals spot! Melton and lancefield may cause the occasional upset but will not be any major cause for concern.
I personally don't think the ladder will change much between now and the end of the season! I think Woodend will be outright top (currently equal, but 2nd on percentage) and Romsey may finish above Riddell. But I reckon the line currently drawn between top 5 and bottom 5 is a wall that won't be crossed for the remainder of the year.

exburracoach
16 May 2007, 23:01
of course bev would be upset to be dropped, hes a proud man. but he is also an honest footballer and would always admit when he isnt playing well. i dont think hes being careful just honest.

Mongrel
17 May 2007, 09:54

at sunbury we dont mind people not rating us.
but ill ask u this,have u actually seen us play this year?
easy to ride us off without even watching us.this is the most talented team the kangas have ever fielded.keep riding us off please.
coz this side is better than the riddell of last year.big call i know,but keep watching and youull see

sneaky one
17 May 2007, 10:35
easy to ride us off without even watching us.this is the most talented team the kangas have ever fielded.keep riding us off please.
coz this side is better than the riddell of last year.big call i know,but keep watching and youull see

I have watched them twice this season, and I do agree with Mongrel that it would be the most talented side the club has ever put on a ground and most of all the are exciting to watch, even when they are 149 points up there is still excitment in the game,

joeblow2
17 May 2007, 10:36
I think you might be right re being better than last years Riddell side, however I'm not sure your better than this years Woodend side. Can't wait for the first meeting between the Roos and the Hawks. Should be a cracker!

billylid
17 May 2007, 11:18

Sorry mongrel but i cant see that being the case that many teams /people will right off Sunbury i would have thought given there start to the year it will be a case of sunbury becoming the huntered and not the hunter. Its very early in teh season and im sure the line at the club is one week at a time but i dare to suggest that Sunbury will defaintly be top 3 if not higher.. 4-0 is a great start in anyones language....

Mongrel
17 May 2007, 11:49
Sorry mongrel but i cant see that being the case that many teams /people will right off Sunbury i would have thought given there start to the year it will be a case of sunbury becoming the huntered and not the hunter. Its very early in teh season and im sure the line at the club is one week at a time but i dare to suggest that Sunbury will defaintly be top 3 if not higher.. 4-0 is a great start in anyones language....

no arguments from me billy.and joeblow i reckon your right,woodend are a powerhouse.will be a massive game

Trueblueroo
17 May 2007, 11:55
Billy apparently not according to OM28!!!

Just a sign of how strong sides are in the area at the minute

Sunbury Kangaroos 4-0
Sunbury Lions 3-0
Rupo 3-0
Gisborne 2-0

billylid
17 May 2007, 12:11

Sunbury Kangaroos 4-0
Sunbury Lions 3-0
Rupo 3-0
Gisborne 2-0

Its all about Opinions i have mine , OM28 has theirs and you and mongrel have yours, thats what makes life so grand we all have differing opinions. Come september we will see who was closer to the $$$$. In regards to BG im predicting a return in 2 weeks and ive never hidden the fact of my opinion that he is the best CHB in the business in RDFL so look out for first a return from injury and a return to form from the him. But i can tell you now when he does return 2 good footy youll have your critics say ohh he should have never been dropped in the 1st place.

Trueblueroo
17 May 2007, 12:23
Your right mate, thats football though!

Mongrel
17 May 2007, 12:53
Its all about Opinions i have mine , OM28 has theirs and you and mongrel have yours, thats what makes life so grand we all have differing opinions. Come september we will see who was closer to the $$$$. In regards to BG im predicting a return in 2 weeks and ive never hidden the fact of my opinion that he is the best CHB in the business in RDFL so look out for first a return from injury and a return to form from the him. But i can tell you now when he does return 2 good footy youll have your critics say ohh he should have never been dropped in the 1st place.

thats true billy.but all i was saying is people shouldnt judge a side if they havent seen them play

blues12
17 May 2007, 14:13

Sunbury Kangaroos 4-0
Sunbury Lions 3-0
Rupo 3-0
Gisborne 2-0

but if you include gisborne you must add

Riddell 3 - 1
Diggers 1 - 3

Dennisn
17 May 2007, 15:20

How good is this Sunbury to drop the next two,that might happen(debatable) but people talking about us as a finals contender is enough to make us happy.
Our plan is nowhere near as long as Terry Wallace and we are on track to get there in the near future,both on and off the field.

OldMelburnian28
17 May 2007, 15:27
OM28 is just as entitled to his opinion as everyone else!!! And i stick by my guns!

here are my tips for round 5;

Diggers will try to repair their damaged season and regain opposition respect, and altohugh this may happen the 4 points will not! woodend by 7 points

Kilmore's ground will host the end of sunburys dream run...just as it did in the 2006 final. kilmore 16 points

Riddell over melton with ease. 81points

Romsey by an amount too large to disclose.

Lancefield over macedon 45points

Itsmyshow
17 May 2007, 16:00
OM28 is just as entitled to his opinion as everyone else!!! And i stick by my guns!

here are my tips for round 5;

Diggers will try to repair their damaged season and regain opposition respect, and altohugh this may happen the 4 points will not! woodend by 7 points

Kilmore's ground will host the end of sunburys dream run...just as it did in the 2006 final. kilmore 16 points

Riddell over melton with ease. 81points

Romsey by an amount too large to disclose.

Lancefield over macedon 45points

That's right, OM is clearly entitled to his opinion people... No matter whether right or wrong.... Good luck to you sir :thumbsu:

Hawker28
17 May 2007, 16:25
Who is this guy?

Has not been seen on here since last year only 'pipping up' to bag Sunbury!
You blokes must have cut him rough?

What i want to know is that this bloke claims to have interest inside our comp and havaing margins on games n teams he hasn't watched this year!!

If you want opinion to be heard champ, you have to justify your reasoning? Simply can't say sides are just going to drop games and sides will have a dip this week, i think you will find Diggers have been, just lack depth with injury and form at the minute!

As for us Woodend, they have had a good run and handy pick up 'Yes', but you can't forget from Riddell, Sunbury, Kilmore!

What have you seen this year?

Still @ Bernads ;)

Blueboy16
17 May 2007, 16:51
OM is a goose.

ant22
17 May 2007, 17:12
I hear that woodend have a couple of key players who are fit and have not even played(or atleast for 2 or 3 weeks) as they are walking kakoda at the moment. should be back in the next week or 2. Also hear they have a gun from the ammos(c grade b and f winner) who has not played yet as well as sippy. They must be red hot favs with these players still to come back in.

OldMelburnian28
17 May 2007, 17:15
Do you honestly think there's reasoning behind ALL peaks and troths during a footy season?If i think a certain team will perform better on a gut feeling from referring to previous games ill say it!

And don't call me champ...son!

woof woof
17 May 2007, 17:17
The Tyntynder F.C in the Central Murray Football League (previously Mid Murray Football League) is having a reunion this weekend 18th, 19th & 20th of May at their clubrooms in Swan Hill. We will be acknowleging the premiership sides of the mid 80's but any player, supporter etc is welcome to attend this great weekend. If you would like more info you can contact keg18wilson@hotmail.com or ring the clubrooms on 03 50322974

Trueblueroo
17 May 2007, 17:21
I hear that woodend have a couple of key players who are fit and have not even played(or atleast for 2 or 3 weeks) as they are walking kakoda at the moment. should be back in the next week or 2. Also hear they have a gun from the ammos(c grade b and f winner) who has not played yet as well as sippy. They must be red hot favs with these players still to come back in.

Ant has 'Dan' trained yet? Heard from a close source that he can't be bothered even playing this year and that he just wants a year off? And that the only reason he signed was becuase it was a family thing they have got going at Woodend with his old man on the board and mum and sis part of the netball? I know he trained once and was still sore couple weeks back, has he been sighted since?

ant22
17 May 2007, 17:39
Ant has 'Dan' trained yet? Heard from a close source that he can't be bothered even playing this year and that he just wants a year off? And that the only reason he signed was becuase it was a family thing they have got going at Woodend with his old man on the board and mum and sis part of the netball? I know he trained once and was still sore couple weeks back, has he been sighted since?

I am not actually at the club I just know a few blokes who are so I couldn't give you much detail. I have heard he is injured. As far as I know he is still playing. You are correct about his family they are very much a part of the club.
Spoke to someone yesterday from woodend who said the bloke from the ammos who they picked up is a dead set star and should dominate.

Trueblueroo
17 May 2007, 17:43
What club is he from?

Itsmyshow
17 May 2007, 17:45
Romsey Vs Rockbank
The Redbacks have started the season strongly, only dropping the one game to the Roos, last week against Macedon had another big win.
The Rams were very good in the first quarter last week, they have a lot to look forward to with some good young kids with ability, they just need to work harder for longer.
Romsey comfortably by 80pts

Riddell Vs Melton Central
Danger game for the Bombers, they will not want to take Centrals lightly, the Bombers had some of thier big guns in the best last week and were missing Leigh Coles, will be looking to consolodate thier ladder position this week.
Centrals have been inconsistent so far this year. A narrow win against Rockbank, 2 reasonable losses to Kilmore and Romsey have them looking ok at this stage, they will need to step up this week though and really attack the football to challenge last years premiers.
Riddell by 55pts

Macedon FC Vs Lancefield.
The Cats are improving every week, after the 1st quarter against Romsey the young Cats matched the Redbacks, Azza Christianson, James Wright and Ryan Toholka are the keys for the Cats this week.
The Tigers have had a rough start to the year after thier Round 1 win against Rockbank, the loss of Collins has hurt, but the experienced players started to step it up last week against Riddell. This game will be a good game to watch with some of the stars of the future playing.
Lancefield by 25pts

Woodend/Hesket Vs Diggers Rest
The Hawks are travelling along beautifully at the moment and face a test this week in the Preliminary Final rematch from last year. Young Hawks Matt Stacey and Brendan Fennell have started the season well and will look to keep the Hawks unbeaten run alive on Saturday.
The Burra have struggled to step onto the park with a full list so far this season. Jose has returned to the lineup but Sims was sorely missed against Kilmore but should return this week after putting in some hard yards on the track. Watch for the Burra to give this an almighty crack.
Woodend/Hesket by 20pts.

Match of the Round
Kilmore Vs Sunbury Kangaroos
The Blues have been the talk of the comp early season and this week come up against another side that will test thier mettle.
Matty Robertson has so far dominated the competition (Hate to say I told you so) and will again look to lead his side to a win, the underrated Goudge has had a flyer early and Kilmore will look to get as much out of the middle as they can.
The Roos have been travelling along nicely, with an even balance across the field the Roos have had an early impact this year and have now become one of the hunted sides along with Riddell and Woodend/Hesket.
The Roos will need everything they can get out of thier players this week in order to get over Kilmore.
Roos to win.

ant22
17 May 2007, 17:49
What club is he from?

No idea , he just said he was from c grade and won a b and f. I think he may have even said a league b and f. There are some pretty handy players in c grade ammos at the top end so he must be very good. Other than that I know nothing about the guy. Dont even know if he is a tall or small. If he is any good you should know his name soon enough I guess.

vantheman32
17 May 2007, 18:39
c grade ammos woopdeedoo

ant22
17 May 2007, 21:22
c grade ammos woopdeedoo

There are 7 divisions in ammos footy so C grade is actually pretty good footy. Especially the top end players. Have you ever seen a c grade game?? Even in d3 and d4 ammos there have been some pretty handy players(and some very ordinary players) who have played at much higher levels. I can assure you if a player had won a b and f(league or club) in c grade he will be a very very good rdfl player.

Dennisn
18 May 2007, 09:58
Do you honestly think there's reasoning behind ALL peaks and troths during a footy season?If i think a certain team will perform better on a gut feeling from referring to previous games ill say it!

And don't call me champ...son!
OM,keep us interested and everyone has an opinion and how boring if we were all robots.
In regards to peaks and troths,with the top six sides,i reckon injuries will play a huge role in the fight for the finals.
Great couple of weeks of footy coming up and then in hindsight we can all make comments.

Trueblueroo
18 May 2007, 10:14
Im looking at what i have seen @ Rupertswood as a C Grade club and a best n fairest winner there would be Tom West, Justin Phillips or even Ryan Monzell! You put them against your top mid fielders in the RDFL eg your likes of a Sims, Roo, Gruby, Sipthorpe, McLellan, Edwards, Bellville, Bonnici and you start to think whether they are at the same level!

Im not starting this comparing thing again but its two complete styles of football, they will be quicker. But this comp is more congestive around packs and not as free flowing as some VAFA games! Our mid fielders in this comp have become tuned to the style and thats what makes them exceptional players to this style of game! The RDFL is more physically body hitting in and under stopage style of play!

He may be a gun, and a handy pick up but it will take a couple of weeks even maybe next year before he adapts to the style, not so much pace ( but from all reports last weeks Kilmore V Diggers was very quick) and physical pressure from the likes of the above blokes! Bets of luck to him!

And i imagine Sippy will have the same issues, but his style of game @ Gisborne will suit the RDFL to a treat when fit and ready!

New signing this week @ Lancefield of a Andrew Wallace can anyone inlight with some info? Is this the bloke from Gisborne who was a fair player in the juniors and 18's about 8 years ago? Bears same era of juniors and 18's as you i believe, any info?

My tips for Round 5

Riddell - 50 points
Diggers - 15
Lancefield - 30
Romsey - 110 ( The Rams under a structered game plan and another 2/3 pick ups would be a suprise!!!
Sunbury by 25 in a ripper!!!

vantheman32
18 May 2007, 10:24
Tomorrow bring ya snorkels and flippers housey!(but leave ya bikini at home coz the sun won't be out :P) it hasnt stopped raining since 3 this morning! will be a low scoring game tomorrow arvo at kilmore but still a good viewing.
I think it is highly possible that we will witness a draw this weekend.

Trueblueroo
18 May 2007, 10:28
Hahahaha, whats that oval of yours like before the rain? Have you been assigned a job to do in your 4 weeks of mate?

Ballsy
18 May 2007, 10:56
To Joeblow and Hawker28 i have done some research on the 16 week rule with other leagues and ours. Your existing suspensions still count so if you have had a total of 12weeks suspension you only have 4 weeks up your sleeve any more and deregistered.The clean slate meant that if you have more than 16weeks prior to this year you are still eligible to play, although your next suspension though means deregistered from this league and all other leagues associated with the AFL. The leagues keep a record of suspensions in all leagues. You have the right to appeal to the league and it is up to there discretion as to what happens from there. I hope this clears it up a bit. Boys becareful !!

Itsmyshow
18 May 2007, 11:23
To Joeblow and Hawker28 i have done some research on the 16 week rule with other leagues and ours. Your existing suspensions still count so if you have had a total of 12weeks suspension you only have 4 weeks up your sleeve any more and deregistered.The clean slate meant that if you have more than 16weeks prior to this year you are still eligible to play, although your next suspension though means deregistered from this league and all other leagues associated with the AFL. The leagues keep a record of suspensions in all leagues. You have the right to appeal to the league and it is up to there discretion as to what happens from there. I hope this clears it up a bit. Boys becareful !!

Correct :thumbsu:

Trueblueroo
18 May 2007, 11:27
Our system needs to be reviewed very, very quickly!!! The RDFL umpires need to address whats reportable and whats not for starters! Some things need to be cleared up!!!! Doing a great job mind yout his year!!!:thumbsu: ;)

Mongrel
18 May 2007, 12:10
Our system needs to be reviewed very, very quickly!!! The RDFL umpires need to address whats reportable and whats not for starters! Some things need to be cleared up!!!! Doing a great job mind yout his year!!!:thumbsu: ;)

how can a player find out how many suspensions he has accumulated?

Blueboy16
18 May 2007, 12:14
You a little worried Deano? I think your bad boy days are over pal.

Itsmyshow
18 May 2007, 12:28
how can a player find out how many suspensions he has accumulated?
The league should have a record of your total suspensions.

Itsmyshow
18 May 2007, 12:30

Fair pasting you have copped on the WRFL thread mate... :D

Blueboy16
18 May 2007, 13:02
Love it IMS love it......

Mongrel
18 May 2007, 13:26

a little concerned blueboy.lol.
but yes those days are long gone

Itsmyshow
18 May 2007, 13:31
Trueblueroo, Bluecrew#2 and Billylid....

You must all report for training on the General topics, the Wallabies thread... Haven't sighted any of you since we started and its not good enough, you are letting the Wallabies down... :mad: :thumbsd:

Lemms
18 May 2007, 13:45
c grade ammos woopdeedoo

Any C Grade ammo's side would wipe RDFL sides off the planet

sneaky one
18 May 2007, 13:57
Any C Grade ammo's side would wipe RDFL sides off the planet
Lemms can you tell me was it Richmond ammos that are or were in c grade a few years back.

blues12
18 May 2007, 14:38
The league should have a record of your total suspensions.
Only club delegates should be contacting the league on all matters.
Chase it up through your club. I'm sure that your club is waiting for a tally of all suspensions as we speak.

Blueboy16
18 May 2007, 14:43
Only club delegates should be contacting the league on all matters.
Chase it up through your club. I'm sure that your club is waiting for a tally of all suspensions as we speak.

On the ball i see Pres....... Good to see.

bromanbomber
18 May 2007, 15:18
C Grade would wipe the floor with the RDFL...

BrownDog2
18 May 2007, 15:21
Interesting article here, just what you've been discussing.

Melton's Webber avoids life ban

MELTON'S Chris Webber has escaped a life ban after being found not guilty of striking at the RegionalOne Ballarat Football League tribunal last night.
The tribunal's chairman stated that Webber was "very lucky and should rethink the way he plays football".

While there was no doubt the contact made to Redan's Matt Pitt was late, Webber maintained the contact was unavoidable and the bump was made worse by Pitt still being in the act of kicking.

There were also questions over which side of the body Webber made contact with, as well as the positioning of the umpire at the time.

Webber was adamant that he had never intended to hurt Pitt and stated that he was "positive my arms were tucked into my sides".

The charge was described as unnecessary, reckless and negligent but the conflicting evidence from the three parties involved meant that Webber was free to play for Melton against Lake Wendouree this

Sunday.

It was the second time in as many years that Webber faced a life ban from the game despite the de-registration policy being updated in September, 2006.

Webber had already received a total of 17 weeks suspension over a period of three years when he faced the tribunal in May, 2006.

Webber was suspended at that hearing for three weeks for striking, just one week shy of a life ban.

Under the current policy, any player that exceeds 16 weeks total suspension will receive automatic de-registration from Football Victoria and be unable to play in any competition within the state.

The full tribunal history of the player in question may be considered when facing the tribunal.

While all Australian states are in the process of revising their policies, it seems a player under a life ban will be able to play in an interstate league provided he can obtain a clearance and his registration

is accepted.

This situation has already appeared in Ballarat with the BFL refusing to accept the clearance of South Melbourne player Dean Bell.

Bell has been suspended 29 weeks in the past five years, with the Victorian Amateur Football Association revoking his permit to play.

Players have the right to appeal a life ban to Football Victoria but currently a player cannot gain a clearance if he is suspended.

Despite the verdict last night, Webber still faces a life time ban from Victorian football competitions if he receives a one week sentence for any reportable offence

bromanbomber
18 May 2007, 15:26
Interesting article here, just what you've been discussing.

Melton's Webber avoids life ban

MELTON'S Chris Webber has escaped a life ban after being found not guilty of striking at the RegionalOne Ballarat Football League tribunal last night.
The tribunal's chairman stated that Webber was "very lucky and should rethink the way he plays football".

While there was no doubt the contact made to Redan's Matt Pitt was late, Webber maintained the contact was unavoidable and the bump was made worse by Pitt still being in the act of kicking.

There were also questions over which side of the body Webber made contact with, as well as the positioning of the umpire at the time.

Webber was adamant that he had never intended to hurt Pitt and stated that he was "positive my arms were tucked into my sides".

The charge was described as unnecessary, reckless and negligent but the conflicting evidence from the three parties involved meant that Webber was free to play for Melton against Lake Wendouree this

Sunday.

It was the second time in as many years that Webber faced a life ban from the game despite the de-registration policy being updated in September, 2006.

Webber had already received a total of 17 weeks suspension over a period of three years when he faced the tribunal in May, 2006.

Webber was suspended at that hearing for three weeks for striking, just one week shy of a life ban.

Under the current policy, any player that exceeds 16 weeks total suspension will receive automatic de-registration from Football Victoria and be unable to play in any competition within the state.

The full tribunal history of the player in question may be considered when facing the tribunal.

While all Australian states are in the process of revising their policies, it seems a player under a life ban will be able to play in an interstate league provided he can obtain a clearance and his registration

is accepted.

This situation has already appeared in Ballarat with the BFL refusing to accept the clearance of South Melbourne player Dean Bell.

Bell has been suspended 29 weeks in the past five years, with the Victorian Amateur Football Association revoking his permit to play.

Players have the right to appeal a life ban to Football Victoria but currently a player cannot gain a clearance if he is suspended.

Despite the verdict last night, Webber still faces a life time ban from Victorian football competitions if he receives a one week sentence for any reportable offence

That fella Bell went ape sh*t last year at the tribunal. threw chairs at the panel members...
angry young man...

Lemms
18 May 2007, 15:34
Lemms can you tell me was it Richmond ammos that are or were in c grade a few years back.
Richmond Centrals are down in D4 at present. I don't recall any other Richmond sides, however that's not to say that RC's weren't in C at some stage.

Ballsy
18 May 2007, 16:23
a little concerned blueboy.lol.
but yes those days are long gone

You would remember every one of those sweet hits (hard but fair) so i think you would know how many weeks you would be on unless you memory is fading. Age catches up with all of us so i wouldnt expect to see you up there unless really provicated so be careful Mongrel. Enjoy your twilight years of football and help the kids, all the best for 07

sneaky one
18 May 2007, 16:25
Richmond Centrals are down in D4 at present. I don't recall any other Richmond sides, however that's not to say that RC's weren't in C at some stage.
It would have been around 2001/2002, if C grade is so above RDFL how could RC's lose to the worst team in the Western league div 2 by ten goals, the worst thing is that team had only won 2 games in two years, and yes both teams were at full strengh.

Itsmyshow
18 May 2007, 16:26
Can we not go back over this "This grade is better than that grade" argument.. Its been done...

bromanbomber
18 May 2007, 16:30
What odds for this weekend for the match of the round Kilmore V Sunbury??

Are Sunbury the real deal this year?? If so how much have they paid to buy a premiership??

Animosity
18 May 2007, 16:42

Are Sunbury the real deal this year?? If so how much have they paid to buy a premiership??

given sunbury have to travel up to kilmore this week .. id say sunbury are under the pump at $2.20, kilmore at $1.95. I know sunbury teams quite well and there are no "bought" players ... sunbury have just re-recruited some of their old juniors who moved on to different clubs.This is how much of a force sunbury SHOULD have been hence if their juniors stayed.

Itsmyshow
18 May 2007, 16:45

Here we go.. I was waiting to see how long it would take... :eek:

Halffullonfence
18 May 2007, 16:48

While travelling well at the moment "premiership" a bit early??????

bromanbomber
18 May 2007, 16:50
given sunbury have to travel up to kilmore this week .. id say sunbury are under the pump at $2.20, kilmore at $1.95. I know sunbury teams quite well and there are no "bought" players ... sunbury have just re-recruited some of their old juniors who moved on to different clubs.This is how much of a force sunbury SHOULD have been hence if their juniors stayed.
what do you call Aaron James last year then??

Halffullonfence
18 May 2007, 16:50
Big worries at Kilmore "apprenticeship" a dirty word I believe.

Halffullonfence
18 May 2007, 16:51

Sir :D .

bromanbomber
18 May 2007, 16:54
Big worries at Kilmore "apprenticeship" a dirty word I believe.
obviously you know something then, fill the rest of us in:confused:

Itsmyshow
18 May 2007, 16:54
Sir :D .

Lol.. Brilliant :thumbsu: :D

Aaron was available, we required a player that could assist in a push for the finals, Aaron was recruited... Pretty straight forward I woulda thought.. Just be careful making statements about how much this person forked out for who, when you actually have no idea what the actual deal or figures were...

bromanbomber
18 May 2007, 17:00
Lol.. Brilliant :thumbsu: :D

Aaron was available, we required a player that could assist in a push for the finals, Aaron was recruited... Pretty straight forward I woulda thought.. Just be careful making statements about how much this person forked out for who, when you actually have no idea what the actual deal or figures were...

:p Too funny!
He would've delivered the flag if he had've stayed on the field longer. Teams worked out that he was a hot head. Great player, but very hot under the collar..

Halffullonfence
18 May 2007, 17:06
He would've delivered the flag if he had've stayed on the field longer. Teams worked out that he was a hot head. Great player, but very hot under the collar..

This was all over the 06 thread lets stay on 07.

Itsmyshow
18 May 2007, 17:08

Agree, he could have possibly delivered a premiership if he stayed on the field longer, unfortunately that wasn't the case.

The Roos are a much more balanced side this year.. Whilst travelling well, there is a long way to go this year...

Halffullonfence
18 May 2007, 17:12
obviously you know something then, fill the rest of us in:confused:

Will have to wait a couple a weeks to see how it evolves.

Animosity
18 May 2007, 17:12

Im talking about season 07 and personally i think it was the success A.James brought to sunbury in 06 that attracted new blood for 07 because sunbury were no longer copping a wallop every week and looked competetive on the weekly wrap up.

Not also forgetting that sunbury were undefeated for 5 or so games prior james, so the club definatley has some depth now.

Halffullonfence
18 May 2007, 17:17
Itsmyshow,
Big footy moderator is it now king IMS.
Watch out Eddie you have competition now.
First big footy next the world.

Itsmyshow
18 May 2007, 17:19
Itsmyshow,
Big footy moderator is it now king IMS.
Watch out Eddie you have competition now.
First big footy next the world.

Yes sir HFF.. Im big, blue and bolded now... :D :thumbsu:

bromanbomber
18 May 2007, 17:35
Yes sir HFF.. Im big, blue and bolded now... :D :thumbsu:
Can we pump up your tyres any more IMS...

What is Woodends chances this year?? Their 4-0 as well, could they be the ones to win the flag...

Mongrel
18 May 2007, 18:19

none of ya ****ing business what we pay.and talking premierships when we are yet 2 play kilmore,woodend and riddell is pretty stupid.

great call b4 halffull:D

Mongrel
18 May 2007, 18:30
You would remember every one of those sweet hits (hard but fair) so i think you would know how many weeks you would be on unless you memory is fading. Age catches up with all of us so i wouldnt expect to see you up there unless really provicated so be careful Mongrel. Enjoy your twilight years of football and help the kids, all the best for 07

thanks ballsy,very kind words.this is my 23rd season of footy and i really cant remember all my mistakes.but being my last year of footy i doubt id get sucked in.time will tell:thumbsu:

ant22
18 May 2007, 20:06
It would have been around 2001/2002, if C grade is so above RDFL how could RC's lose to the worst team in the Western league div 2 by ten goals, the worst thing is that team had only won 2 games in two years, and yes both teams were at full strengh.

I can answer that as I played at the club for 10 years. the highest grade we where in was e grade(really d2) In 2001/2002 we where in d4 and our last decent season was 2000. In 01/02 we where about 20 goals worse than we were in 2000 as we had lost most of the entire side to retirement/travel etc(we had a very old list) If we had played a c grade side in 01 we would have lost be 50 goals. The club has won about 3 games in the last 4 years and where very close to folding but have had a little bit of a resurgance this year(thanks to some great work on the committee) but are still a 50 to 100 goal worse side than the c grade sides. Having said all that when we had a good d3 side our top 5 would have been very good rdfl players and the rest would have stuggled to get a game. To compare any c grade side to the centrals(as much as I love the club) is a total injustice to c grade ammos.

I do however agree with IMS this whole my league is better than your league debate is a joke. All I said initially was that woodend have supposedly picked up a gun from c grade who had won a b and f. I did not expect it to turn into a silly debate.

Mobbenfuhrer
19 May 2007, 07:53
In case you hadn't notice, ItsMyShow is now even bolder.

Please offer him as much respect as you have offered me.

No hang on, that's probably none :D

Itsmyshow
19 May 2007, 10:28
I can answer that as I played at the club for 10 years. the highest grade we where in was e grade(really d2) In 2001/2002 we where in d4 and our last decent season was 2000. In 01/02 we where about 20 goals worse than we were in 2000 as we had lost most of the entire side to retirement/travel etc(we had a very old list) If we had played a c grade side in 01 we would have lost be 50 goals. The club has won about 3 games in the last 4 years and where very close to folding but have had a little bit of a resurgance this year(thanks to some great work on the committee) but are still a 50 to 100 goal worse side than the c grade sides. Having said all that when we had a good d3 side our top 5 would have been very good rdfl players and the rest would have stuggled to get a game. To compare any c grade side to the centrals(as much as I love the club) is a total injustice to c grade ammos.

I do however agree with IMS this whole my league is better than your league debate is a joke. All I said initially was that woodend have supposedly picked up a gun from c grade who had won a b and f. I did not expect it to turn into a silly debate.

Perfectly said Ant.. Its a non debate, one that goes on forever once started with no real winner... There are quality players in every league every where, you most certainly can be a gun in the C grade ammo's or in the RDFL...

Itsmyshow
19 May 2007, 10:29
In case you hadn't notice, ItsMyShow is now even bolder.

Please offer him as much respect as you have offered me.

No hang on, that's probably none :D

Thanks Mobb... :thumbsu:

Aker Magic
19 May 2007, 12:41
I'm new to this forum and let me firstly say it makes for very interesting reading. I did play in the RDFL some time ago, so it's great to see so many passionate people still involved with the League.

I'll start with a corker I heard around the traps last week. One Aaron James has bought a property in East Kilmore and has approached them to play the last couple of games this year.

Can this be confirmed/denied by anyone. Good luck for all players in this weekend's matches.

vantheman32
19 May 2007, 17:33
James already rang the club, they turned him down he said he wanted 500 bucks a game n couldnt train, no use having him for 4 games when he cant play finals.

Good game between sunbury n kilmore, sunbury played a much smarter game of footy then kilmore, sunburys ruckman is a very good player! kilmore had a few outs but im sure sunbury had a few out as well! kilmore went down by 5 or 6 goals sunbury to smart and strong today, thought sunbury moved ball well out of backline well from the points with short chips. Umpiring ordinary both ways, almost as if the umpires were behind the game all day!

matt_nicholls
19 May 2007, 17:58
Spot on Trav. The A. James story has been well known for months now. Also, this will be in the spotlight this week ... why would the RDFL umpires' association send Simmo to umpire at Kilmore in the match of the round. Struggled to keep up!

Great win by the Kangas, I was a little bit disappointed with the Blues. Some of the young blokes were abit timid in the contests. Robbo again killed it, and I was impressed with young Ramsdale and Rysa too.

From around the grounds, I heard that Romsey beat Rockabank easily, but kicked soemthing like 13.28.

Will post more later tonight.

TIGERS2323
19 May 2007, 19:55
James already rang the club, they turned him down he said he wanted 500 bucks a game n couldnt train, no use having him for 4 games when he cant play finals.

Good game between sunbury n kilmore, sunbury played a much smarter game of footy then kilmore, sunburys ruckman is a very good player! kilmore had a few outs but im sure sunbury had a few out as well! kilmore went down by 5 or 6 goals sunbury to smart and strong today, thought sunbury moved ball well out of backline well from the points with short chips. Umpiring ordinary both ways, almost as if the umpires were behind the game all day!Yeah i did approach Kilmore about playing there for not just the last couple of games but the rest of my playing days.But didn't even get a phonecall back to say either way.By watching the game today it look's like they could use a hand up forward.If they showed any interest i probably would have played for free this year.Good point you made about being of no use for the last four games but you should look beyond that and already be building for the future.

vantheman32
19 May 2007, 20:06
sounds fair to me n a very good point about the future, good to hear from the horses mouth, thats just word around the club, i wouldnt mind playing with you, hitting you laces out every week

TIGERS2323
19 May 2007, 20:46
sounds fair to me n a very good point about the future, good to hear from the horses mouth, thats just word around the club, i wouldnt mind playing with you, hitting you laces out every weekThanks mate, Maybe one day.

footy mad 2
19 May 2007, 20:53
does anyone know the results of all games

matt_nicholls
19 May 2007, 21:00
Woodend-Hesket by 25 points.
Sunbury Kangaroos by 35 points.
Riddell by 92 points.
Romsey by 52 points.
Macedon by 24 points.

X_box_X
19 May 2007, 23:08
It was a solid effort from our boys today against Romsey considering we no longer have a coach. We led at the first change and only went two goals down at half time. It was the third quarter that opened the gates up for Romsey - they were able to outscore us by five goals to put the game beyond doubt by 3/4 time.

Luke Walker was simply awesome, I thought.

matt_nicholls
19 May 2007, 23:16
It was a solid effort from our boys today against Romsey considering we no longer have a coach. We led at the first change and only went two goals down at half time. It was the third quarter that opened the gates up for Romsey - they were able to outscore us by five goals to put the game beyond doubt by 3/4 time.

It's a shame to hear about the coach walking out on Thursday night? What was the story? Disagreement with committee I heard. Hope Rockbank don't lose any players from it.

Great effort by the Rams today too. Walker is a gun.

Cobber21
20 May 2007, 00:18
It's a shame to hear about the coach walking out on Thursday night? What was the story? Disagreement with committee I heard. Hope Rockbank don't lose any players from it.

Great effort by the Rams today too. Walker is a gun.

They are going ok the rams...

Will definatley win a game this year...

Blokes just have to hang in there.

rightfoot_sloth
20 May 2007, 09:32

I know its early but any names being spoken about to coach you guys in 2008 ? Or do you have anyone you want to put forward ?

X_box_X
20 May 2007, 11:30
It was a disagreement with the committee. Wayne Mackie had his own way of coaching, and the committee disagreed. Wayne basically told them well it's either my way or the high way, and because the committee disagreed with his coaching tactics, he hit the high way.

Fair enough too, I suppose. Hopefully we don't lose any more players from it. We have already lost one (his son), but hopefully a win on Saturday will convine the boys to remain at the club.

As for a coach for 2008, I haven't heard anything. All I know is that we need a good one, because success at the club will start with the coach.

Doona2
20 May 2007, 12:04
Yeah i did approach Kilmore about playing there for not just the last couple of games but the rest of my playing days.But didn't even get a phonecall back to say either way.By watching the game today it look's like they could use a hand up forward.If they showed any interest i probably would have played for free this year.Good point you made about being of no use for the last four games but you should look beyond that and already be building for the future.

What about Broadford big fella only 8 minutes up the road? We're a couple of weeks behind the RDFL so you'll get a couple more games (and hopefully finals) in?

Itsmyshow
20 May 2007, 13:32
Who coached the Rams on the weekend???