View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
joeblow2
23 May 2007, 12:56
Would have thought Chris Collins would have snuck in there somewhere IMS. Just an oversight I'm sure, seeings he hasn't played for a couple of weeks.
vantheman32
23 May 2007, 14:06
i feel ya pain housey i was starting on the ball 2 days ago cant even scrape the bench, i got dropped for the guy from lancefield. not happy!
Itsmyshow
23 May 2007, 14:23
Ok.. Fair point... I forgot a couple :D , will edit and fix for everyone... :p
Itsmyshow
23 May 2007, 14:26
Would have thought Chris Collins would have snuck in there somewhere IMS. Just an oversight I'm sure, seeings he hasn't played for a couple of weeks.
Sure was.. Its HFF's fault, he left Chris and Trav off his list..
Team fixed.
The Barometer
23 May 2007, 14:34
Heard a high-profile club president and RDFL identity was reported on the weekend for abusing an umpire and the case never made it to trial. What happened?
Was the RDFL worried about losing more chairs?:D
Would have loved to hear him acting in his own defence.
Mobbenfuhrer
23 May 2007, 14:51
Here is a list of the blokes (or birds) representing your forum in the Bigfooty Rregional Leagues Fantasy Football League (BRLFFFL) (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=322536)
The four teams competing are the the Central Sharks (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320213&page=6), Donkey Floggers (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320211&page=8), the North-Eastern Wolves (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320215&page=6) and the Western Wallabies (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320214&page=13).
These folks are representing you lot at the liest level, and you all should be proud of their efforts. Many big leagues (Ballarat, West Gippsland La Trobe, Eastern FL, THE WHOLE OF SOUTH AUSTRALIA!) aren't represented at all, so these guys are making a hefty imprint on the virtual footballing community!! Maybe a quick visit to their match threads to talk 'em up and can their opponents wouldn't be out of order?
(If you are on this list, and there is a x in front of your name, this means you are yet to even read the private message I sent about picking a guernsey number. It means you probably aren't aware of the season in progress, and your club needs you!)
Western Wallabies - Riddell DFL - billylid
Western Wallabies - Riddell DFL - Itsmyshow
Western Wallabies - Riddell DFL - Trublueroo
x Western Wallabies - Riddell DFL - Bluecrew #2
x Western Wallabies - Riddell DFL - cooney100
Itsmyshow
23 May 2007, 15:05
Heard a high-profile club president and RDFL identity was reported on the weekend for abusing an umpire and the case never made it to trial. What happened?
Was the RDFL worried about losing more chairs?:D
Would have loved to hear him acting in his own defence.
Ah, the Barometer returns..
No case to answer sir from what I heard of the incident... A case of mistaken identity in a way...
Itsmyshow
23 May 2007, 15:06
Here is a list of the blokes (or birds) representing your forum in the Bigfooty Rregional Leagues Fantasy Football League (BRLFFFL) (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=322536)
The four teams competing are the the Central Sharks (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320213&page=6), Donkey Floggers (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320211&page=8), the North-Eastern Wolves (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320215&page=6) and the Western Wallabies (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320214&page=13).
These folks are representing you lot at the liest level, and you all should be proud of their efforts. Many big leagues (Ballarat, West Gippsland La Trobe, Eastern FL, THE WHOLE OF SOUTH AUSTRALIA!) aren't represented at all, so these guys are making a hefty imprint on the virtual footballing community!! Maybe a quick visit to their match threads to talk 'em up and can their opponents wouldn't be out of order?
(If you are on this list, and there is a x in front of your name, this means you are yet to even read the private message I sent about picking a guernsey number. It means you probably aren't aware of the season in progress, and your club needs you!)
Western Wallabies - Riddell DFL - billylid
Western Wallabies - Riddell DFL - Itsmyshow
Western Wallabies - Riddell DFL - Trublueroo
x Western Wallabies - Riddell DFL - Bluecrew #2
x Western Wallabies - Riddell DFL - cooney100
And true to form, I cant get a kick
vantheman32
23 May 2007, 15:24
Ryan Toholka the rising star for round 5 sounds like a good young footballer and a smart young bloke studying medicine! good on him
Itsmyshow
23 May 2007, 15:44
Ryan Toholka the rising star for round 5 sounds like a good young footballer and a smart young bloke studying medicine! good on him
Well deserved for the boy... :thumbsu:
I called it... :D
bromanbomber
23 May 2007, 17:07
Ok Gents,
Have a question for everyone on the forum, who is the most valuable player to date at each club in the RDFL ??
Trueblueroo
23 May 2007, 17:11
In what context 'on' field or 'off' field! Or both, simialr to best clubman?
Trueblueroo
23 May 2007, 17:14
Most valuable player at the 'Roos' this year would have to been Leigh McInerney or Dummy, thats my opinion! Thats on field and as a player and the leadership they show!
Itsmyshow
23 May 2007, 17:14
Cant answer for the Roos.. But opposition:
Woodend/Hesket - Ill tell you next week
Riddell - Ill tell you Round 10
Romsey - Brydon Morgan
Kilmore - Matt Robertson
Diggers Rest - Shaun Sims/Jeremy Jose
Lancefield - Chris Collins
Macedon - Scott Knight
Melton Central - Kane Bullen/Brian Wheelahan
Rockbank - Luke Walker/Michael Taylor
bromanbomber
23 May 2007, 17:15
In what context 'on' field or 'off' field! Or both, simialr to best clubman?
I'm talking about "on" field players here Trueblueroo.
Trueblueroo
23 May 2007, 17:19
Then Dummy and Gruby it is!
Cobber21
23 May 2007, 17:39
Ok Gents,
Have a question for everyone on the forum, who is the most valuable player to date at each club in the RDFL ??
MVP at the moment for Diggers Rest: Dan Rielly
Would be in front in the B+F by a mile...
Halffullonfence
23 May 2007, 18:31
Sure was.. Its HFF's fault, he left Chris and Trav off his list..
Team fixed.
My fault !!!!!
Animosity
23 May 2007, 18:43
not sure how this rule works in terms of suspended sentences ... but does morgans guilty charge disqualify him from the bowen?
joeblow2
23 May 2007, 19:05
not sure how this rule works in terms of suspended sentences ... but does morgans guilty charge disqualify him from the bowen?
I think it disqualifies him. Rperimands and fines don't affect your eligibility for the Bowen, but this, although a suspended sentence, would be classed as weeks.
Itsmyshow
23 May 2007, 20:43
My fault !!!!!
Clearly !!!!!!
Remember HFF, its all about the power... :D
Itsmyshow
23 May 2007, 20:44
MVP at the moment for Diggers Rest: Dan Rielly
Would be in front in the B+F by a mile...
Nope... Sims and Jose have shown how important they are to diggers, not playing, they dont win.. Reilly doesn't have that effect
OMNIPOTENT_1
23 May 2007, 21:16
Clearly !!!!!!
Remember HFF, its all about the power... :D
And here I was thinking I was the Omnipotent one ! ! !:confused:
billylid
24 May 2007, 09:24
Cant answer for the Roos.. But opposition:
Woodend/Hesket - Ill tell you next week
Riddell - Ill tell you Round 10
Romsey - Brydon Morgan
Kilmore - Matt Robertson
Diggers Rest - Shaun Sims/Jeremy Jose
Lancefield - Chris Collins
Macedon - Scott Knight
Melton Central - Kane Bullen/Brian Wheelahan
Rockbank - Luke Walker/Michael Taylor
Woodend - No 44 small Rover who wears a helmet breaks the lines
Riddell - Judging on efforts last year i will stick with Beleville
Romsey - Morgan - Proven Midfielder/Goalkicker
Diggers Rest - Not going to go ususal Jose- Sims suspects my pick is Damian Janner - small man with Huge heart and NO fear sets example for 21 other guys he playes with only DR has matched him for form this year
Lancefield- Reserve judgement til ive seen them first hand
Macedon - Reserve judgement til ive seen them first hand
Kangaroos - nO 9 Bondocci first hand knowledge and from all reports warming as an early favorite for the bowen
Kilmore - Robertson by an Absoluete Mile
Centrals - Reserve Judgement til ive seen them 1st Hand
thepres
24 May 2007, 11:58
Lee James has been named to play Full Forward this Saturday 26th May in the VCFL Interleague match for the Murray Football League against the Central Murray Football League. :thumbsu:
Good luck Lee.
joeblow2
24 May 2007, 14:08
Woodend - No 44 small Rover who wears a helmet breaks the lines
Riddell - Judging on efforts last year i will stick with Beleville
Romsey - Morgan - Proven Midfielder/Goalkicker
Diggers Rest - Not going to go ususal Jose- Sims suspects my pick is Damian Janner - small man with Huge heart and NO fear sets example for 21 other guys he playes with only DR has matched him for form this year
Lancefield- Reserve judgement til ive seen them first hand
Macedon - Reserve judgement til ive seen them first hand
Kangaroos - nO 9 Bondocci first hand knowledge and from all reports warming as an early favorite for the bowen
Kilmore - Robertson by an Absoluete Mile
Centrals - Reserve Judgement til ive seen them 1st Hand
Paul Podbury
bromanbomber
24 May 2007, 14:59
Paul Podbury
robertson from Kilmore would have to be a favourite as well wouldn't he for the bowen??
bromanbomber
24 May 2007, 15:05
Has anyone heard as to where this guys is currently playing?? I did hear he went to Port Colts in WRFL but I haven't seen his name on any list.
If Kilmore had him back playing they would win the flag in a canter....
Has anyone heard as to where this guys is currently playing?? I did hear he went to Port Colts in WRFL but I haven't seen his name on any list.
If Kilmore had him back playing they would win the flag in a canter....
any chance u could give a name of this super star that will turn the comp on its head?????
Trueblueroo
24 May 2007, 15:50
My sources tell me 'Robbie Witmar'! After acessing where they got smashed on the weekend, they have found where they need to improve! The Ruck!
A Bowen Medalist, VFL Player!
vantheman32
24 May 2007, 15:59
havent heard anything bout Robbie Witmar but it'd be great to have him back!
Trueblueroo
24 May 2007, 16:03
havent heard anything bout Robbie Witmar but it'd be great to have him back!
Your not in the loop no more Van, your just a canteen lady now! Jk mate, yeah believe negotiations are in the process from a source!
joeblow2
24 May 2007, 16:10
That your brother that made the u15 interleague squad TBR?
My sources tell me 'Robbie Witmar'! After acessing where they got smashed on the weekend, they have found where they need to improve! The Ruck!
A Bowen Medalist, VFL Player!
not a bad pick up if they do!!!
but from haven a beer with a port colt player by all reports would want to have to pay big bucks to get him back, i sure th coltsa are going for a 3-peat, but if theu do get him that will def help out and give robbo more of the footy.
only time will tell...............
talking of inter leauge teams can anyone post the u18's here?
it isnt working on the rdfl site!!
:thumbsu:
Trueblueroo
24 May 2007, 16:17
Sure is mate, under the brilliant coachin of HFF! Good mix of young talent he has in that side, structured well they will be a good side! If in need of a runner mate give me a hoy!
Works just not the same without ya bud, just bored sh!tless!
As for Robbie, thats ya man, and apparently they have some coin in the budget! With the arrival of DiscoDuck and Robbie back for the replacement of the Elmore man the were looking at purchasing!
matt_nicholls
24 May 2007, 16:26
Sure is mate, under the brilliant coachin of HFF! Good mix of young talent he has in that side, structured well they will be a good side! If in need of a runner mate give me a hoy!
As for Robbie, thats ya man, and apparently they have some coin in the budget! With the arrival of DiscoDuck and Robbie back for the replacement of the Elmore man the were looking at purchasing!
Discoduck is free he tells me.
Trueblueroo
24 May 2007, 16:29
Discoduck is free he tells me.
Matty unmask the Duck!!!!
matt_nicholls
24 May 2007, 16:34
Matty unmask the Duck!!!!
He can reveal himself when he wants. Just keep an eye on the clearances from a VAFA side.
vantheman32
24 May 2007, 16:54
Your not in the loop no more Van, your just a canteen lady now! Jk mate, yeah believe negotiations are in the process from a source!
cheers mate did i look good in the tuck shop?
Trueblueroo
24 May 2007, 17:05
cheers mate did i look good in the tuck shop?
Not the best place to put a bloke that is rubbed out for biatch slapping lol!
vantheman32
24 May 2007, 17:09
nothing wrong with helping around the club, would be good if a few more helped out a saturday would make it easier for everyone at the club haha
Trueblueroo
24 May 2007, 17:14
Is that a personal dig @ another suspended player is it? Lol! He was supporting, supporting the bar! hahaha! Oh and it has Burley written on it to!
discoduck
24 May 2007, 17:19
hello... is it me you're looking for?
discoduck
24 May 2007, 17:25
seriously, i don't know robbie witmar, but i don't think we should be mentioned in the same breath. i've said all along that i'd be surprised if i was a ones player, especially given the start they've had to the season. i'm more than happy to come and have a kick in the magoos and meet some locals with a beer in the outer come mid-afternoon.
vantheman32
24 May 2007, 17:26
haha nah it wasnt but now that you mention it, duffy was helping around the club too on saturda, worked on the bar for a good time im sure he enjoyed it. it has red onion on it too mate but i havent seen it since round 3 lol so im not sure maybe the sponsor has changed
Trueblueroo
24 May 2007, 17:35
hello... is it me you're looking for?
Where are you coming from Duck?
discoduck
24 May 2007, 17:38
Where are you coming from Duck?
i'm an average player only. having my first kick in three years this year in d3 ammos - haven't got through a game yet with back and hammy. i've played eaglehawk, robinvale and griffith back in the day - very much a fringe ones player then, so sure to be magoos now - i would think.
Trueblueroo
24 May 2007, 17:44
i'm an average player only. having my first kick in three years this year in d3 ammos - haven't got through a game yet with back and hammy. i've played eaglehawk, robinvale and griffith back in the day - very much a fringe ones player then, so sure to be magoos now - i would think.
We are all hear for the same reason, love footy! Some good blojes to drink with, i can vouch for that!
bromanbomber
25 May 2007, 08:52
haha nah it wasnt but now that you mention it, duffy was helping around the club too on saturda, worked on the bar for a good time im sure he enjoyed it. it has red onion on it too mate but i havent seen it since round 3 lol so im not sure maybe the sponsor has changed
Jamie duffy, now theres a name I haven't heard in a while. he used to be a half decent player. soft but extremely talented...:)
Itsmyshow
25 May 2007, 10:52
Few back for the Hawks tomorrow???
Sipthorp, Ng, Johnno, Goodyear, Sandle??? Maybe even a guest appearance from Mick Lacy???
Good news for Woodend...
woody07
25 May 2007, 11:25
Few back for the Hawks tomorrow???
Sipthorp, Ng, Johnno, Goodyear, Sandle??? Maybe even a guest appearance from Mick Lacy???
Good news for Woodend...
Off the mark by a bit.Lacey not playing this year. He's one of the runners for Richmond-Sippy back next week or the week after, Ng back next week, Joel Goodyear playing 2's this weekend and Sandles is not playing. Johnno and Patterson do return from their kokoda trip and Stacey and Banga ( good recruit) resume this weekend. Dale Cuinik will be set to play in a couple of weeks as well. So Itsmyshow info not quite right but things still looking up for the improving Hawks. Gidda keeping the boys focused at this stage and finals footy not even been mentioned at this stage. He has a hungry side that just wants to improve each week. This week should be a cracker of game against a confident and talented side in Sunbury. This week will illustrate to both sides where they're roughly at!
Blueboy16
25 May 2007, 11:37
woody you just fell straight into IMS's trap. That is exactly what he wanted to hear. Love your work IMS.
Hawker28
25 May 2007, 11:46
Off the mark by a bit.Lacey not playing this year. He's one of the runners for Richmond-Sippy back next week or the week after, Ng back next week, Joel Goodyear playing 2's this weekend and Sandles is not playing. Johnno and Patterson do return from their kokoda trip and Stacey and Banga ( good recruit) resume this weekend. Dale Cuinik will be set to play in a couple of weeks as well. So Itsmyshow info not quite right but things still looking up for the improving Hawks. Gidda keeping the boys focused at this stage and finals footy not even been mentioned at this stage. He has a hungry side that just wants to improve each week. This week should be a cracker of game against a confident and talented side in Sunbury. This week will illustrate to both sides where they're roughly at!
Thats Rubbish! Joel Goodyear is not a two's player and is wasted playing in our two's you know it "Woody"! Lacy will play this weekend, can't afford not to, if he keeps missing games, he'll run out of quality match fitness in games such as these!
Daniel will line up this weekend, has improved his fitness, won't play all game but will come on in burst's!
Expect a nearly full strength line up from the 'Hawkers' this week in a battle for top spot!
How is the ground IMS? I have heard it a patchy and will be touch and go towards Saturday? Have the Roos got an alternative ground lined up?
Itsmyshow
25 May 2007, 12:02
Thats Rubbish! Joel Goodyear is not a two's player and is wasted playing in our two's you know it "Woody"! Lacy will play this weekend, can't afford not to, if he keeps missing games, he'll run out of quality match fitness in games such as these!
Daniel will line up this weekend, has improved his fitness, won't play all game but will come on in burst's!
Expect a nearly full strength line up from the 'Hawkers' this week in a battle for top spot!
How is the ground IMS? I have heard it a patchy and will be touch and go towards Saturday? Have the Roos got an alternative ground lined up?
We will be playing this at our ground, there is a couple of areas with patchy grass coverage, but the ground overall is reasonably soft and playable, the ground has been passed by the council and insurance, on the ground rating system our ground is in better shape than the Rockbank ground. So its all systems go for the game on Saturday.
Itsmyshow
25 May 2007, 12:03
Guess we will see at 2pm on Saturday then :thumbsu:
Hawker28
25 May 2007, 12:08
The word was last night @ training that you blokes were looking at moving it next door to the other ground? I know a couple of the boys including i think Gidds looked at it Monday night, and said it was terrible!
Well play wherever in the end i guess! See you tomorrow!
Itsmyshow
25 May 2007, 12:23
The word was last night @ training that you blokes were looking at moving it next door to the other ground? I know a couple of the boys including i think Gidds looked at it Monday night, and said it was terrible!
As unfortunate as it is, you cant avoid the drought, we acknowledge that the ground isn't in the best shape its been in, but it has been passed to play on and you can only play so many games away before you have no other alternative... We were just about there, of course there will be conjecture over the condition of the ground, people will complain, but realistically the ground is playable.. The fact is that I think the middle of the other ground is worse than any area of our ground...:thumbsu:
Mongrel
25 May 2007, 12:24
keep talking it up hawker.its a kanga home game.i hope you bring ya best.
we are ready 4 ya
Hawker28
25 May 2007, 12:33
Like i said, we are happy to play anywhere, look forward to a good hit out!
Anyone know the weather forcast?
Woodend had a couple of names on the track last night, once the above players come back you would have to say that they would be red hot favourites for the flag.
tips this week
Woodend 20pts (will be too strong with some names coming back)
Riddell 13pts (Riddell on a mission at the moment)
Macedon 15pts (would like to say Rockbank but Macedon just too good)
Kilmore 8 pts (kilmore at home )
Centrals 40pts (not as bad as everybody thinks)
should be a very good round.
Harry Wilson
25 May 2007, 13:49
Just a different perspective, I think that perhaps with Morgan escaping the un-escapable on Tues night, and the fact the Romsey have played some average footy lately, look out for the Redbacks!
Itsmyshow
25 May 2007, 14:24
Diggers Rest Vs Riddell
Diggers Rest fell short again last week against Woodend, but an improved effort will have the Burra filled with a little more confidence. Now almost at full strength, Diggers will be looking to get thier season underway.
Riddell have been travelling along under the radar nicely and controlling the games they have played in, the old hands are still contributing every week and the young guys such as Petran and Climas have added the youthful spark.
With the rivalry built up between these sides in the past 2 years, expect a cracking game
Riddell by 10pts.
Rockbank Vs Macedon
The Rams put up a brave effort last week against Romsey and will look to improve again this week as they search for thier first win of the season. The return of Matty Krul will boost the stocks and a more free wheeling game plan could see a new side.
Macedon had thier first win last week against Lancefield, the kids the Cats have are working hard and will look to make it 2 in a row at the MCG...
Macedon by 20pts
Kilmore Vs Romsey
The Blues fell short against the Roos last week but were a little undermanned. With the return of Straney and King the lineup should be strengthened, young Kale Ramsdale was very impressive and the Blues youngsters provide dash.
Romsey had an unconvincing win against Rockbank last week and will look to reassert themselves on the competition against a rival for a top 5 spot. Look for a fierce battle.
Kilmore by 9pts
Melton Central Vs Lancefield
Everyone has been waiting for the Centrals spirit to shine so far this year, I really do believe that they are a better side than they have shown so far and do have some real talent in the side.
Lancefield will be disappointed with the loss last week against the Cats and rightly so, dont expect the Tigers to underestimate thier opponents this week and with the return of Chris Collins imminent the Tigers will be a different side.
Another big game for both sides.
Lancefield by 27pts.
Match of the Round
Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Woodend/Hesket
The Roos remained undefeated with a convincing win against Kilmore away from home, the Roos have a good balance across the field and have started the season strongly. The Roos will be looking to go one game clear on top of the ladder for the first time.
The Hawks are flying, so far accounting for all comers and another good win coming from behind against Diggers last week. With several contributors across the ground and Matt Stacey, Adam Johnstone, Kar Weng Ng etc returning this week as well as the speculated return of Danny Sipthorp the Hawks will be looking to consolodate on flag favouritism against the Roos.
A classic RDFL game and the one to watch
Roos to win.
Trueblueroo
25 May 2007, 14:52
My tips this week, in what has to be the best round of football this competition has seen in a few years!
This week we see 6 teams have a fair dinkum crack at the putting their case forward for 2007! For some, their is simply pride at stake, for others it's their chance to prove why they are a team to watch out for in '07'!
Each player has a something extra to give in weeks like this, and it's a great feeling!
Riddell by 5 points! - Beware of the sleeping Giant this game!
Macedon by 3 goals - The young lads to quick and skillfull
Kilmore by 6 goals - No Morgan! No Romsey! He is an influential leader too so many blokes!
Centrals by 4 goals - I have no idea why? But i think Melton at home, being so windy last couple days, will play well and suit the conditions!
Sunbury by 1 point!!! - A team stuck in 3rd gear against a side a little undermanned at the minute, but overall a excellent side! Expect some inclusions, who? Not sure! But i would expect a fair crowd and a good hit out! A classic game of 70's football i reckon!
discoduck
25 May 2007, 15:08
it's time i got in on this action:
diggers - 15 points
rockbank - 14 points
kilmore - inspired with the news 'the duck is on his way' - 22 points
lancefield - melton to meltdown - 20 points
woodend - beware the hyphon - 28 points
Itsmyshow
25 May 2007, 15:25
Morgs is playing TBR.. He got a suspended sentence...
Trueblueroo
25 May 2007, 15:41
Kilmore just then! Miss informed and i didn't read it correctly!
Trueblueroo
25 May 2007, 15:43
it's time i got in on this action:
diggers - 15 points
rockbank - 14 points
kilmore - inspired with the news 'the duck is on his way' - 22 points
lancefield - melton to meltdown - 20 points
woodend - beware the hyphon - 28 points
Come on Shane, it's not all about the hyphon!
billylid
25 May 2007, 15:58
Diggers Rest Vs Riddell
Diggers Rest fell short again last week against Woodend, but an improved effort will have the Burra filled with a little more confidence. Now almost at full strength, Diggers will be looking to get thier season underway.
Riddell have been travelling along under the radar nicely and controlling the games they have played in, the old hands are still contributing every week and the young guys such as Petran and Climas have added the youthful spark.
With the rivalry built up between these sides in the past 2 years, expect a cracking game
Riddell by 10pts.
Rockbank Vs Macedon
The Rams put up a brave effort last week against Romsey and will look to improve again this week as they search for thier first win of the season. The return of Matty Krul will boost the stocks and a more free wheeling game plan could see a new side.
Macedon had thier first win last week against Lancefield, the kids the Cats have are working hard and will look to make it 2 in a row at the MCG...
Macedon by 20pts
Kilmore Vs Romsey
The Blues fell short against the Roos last week but were a little undermanned. With the return of Straney and King the lineup should be strengthened, young Kale Ramsdale was very impressive and the Blues youngsters provide dash.
Romsey had an unconvincing win against Rockbank last week and will look to reassert themselves on the competition against a rival for a top 5 spot. Look for a fierce battle.
Kilmore by 9pts
Everyone has been waiting for the Centrals spirit to shine so far this year, I really do believe that they are a better side than they have shown so far and do have some real talent in the side.
Lancefield will be disappointed with the loss last week against the Cats and rightly so, dont expect the Tigers to underestimate thier opponents this week and with the return of Chris Collins imminent the Tigers will be a different side.
Lancefield by 27pts.
Match of the Round
The Roos remained undefeated with a convincing win against Kilmore away from home, the Roos have a good balance across the field and have started the season strongly. The Roos will be looking to go one game clear on top of the ladder for the first time.
The Hawks are flying, so far accounting for all comers and another good win coming from behind against Diggers last week. With several contributors across the ground and Matt Stacey, Adam Johnstone, Kar Weng Ng etc returning this week as well as the speculated return of Danny Sipthorp the Hawks will be looking to consolodate on flag favouritism against the Roos.
Roos to win.
always enjoy your friday afternoon writeups fills in a good 20-30mins or so however and im 1st to admit u rarely get it wrong but your point of diggers nearly being a full strength is way off. Just out of this weeks side is Walshe , D.Green , B.Green , A.klooster, M.Nolan and possibility a few more . However some may call it blind optimisum but i still think the boys can get up in a close one against Riddell.. Good luck with your boys against woodend reckon home ground advantage tip the scales in your favour. romsey and kilmore will be a classic as well have it on good authority morgan has set himself for a big one this week after being sent off last week
X_box_X
25 May 2007, 15:59
Diggers Rest Vs Riddell
Riddell by 10pts.
Rockbank Vs Macedon
Macedon by 20pts
Kilmore Vs Romsey
Kilmore by 9pts
Lancefield by 27pts.
Match of the Round
Roos to win.
What makes you think Matty Krul will play for the Rams this weekend? He wasn't at training last night and the last I heard is that Glenorden isn't going to give him a clearance.
That, on top of the fact he wasn't named in the side last night, means that he still isn't able to play for us. It's a shame really.
Jason Wellfare makes his return this week, in the seconds. Haha. You horribly overrate him, naming him in the youth RDFL best side. Dylan Nicholson would be a much better nomination.
Training last night was an absolute corker. Best training session of the season so far, the boys are pumped, I am totally pumped up to the max, and we really know we can beat this mob tomorrow.
Van, GoBlues#9 anyone from Kilmore whats the story with Chris George just noticed a clearance went in Wednesday from Cobram?
Also Im confused about your rego/clearance system if the Dave Forbes that has gone to Wallan is the same bloke that played 2's at Broady last year?
vantheman32
25 May 2007, 16:18
young georgie got an eletrical apprenticeship in the area, so hes moving up there! good young fella good luck to him
Itsmyshow
25 May 2007, 16:21
What makes you think Matty Krul will play for the Rams this weekend? He wasn't at training last night and the last I heard is that Glenorden isn't going to give him a clearance.
That, on top of the fact he wasn't named in the side last night, means that he still isn't able to play for us. It's a shame really.
Jason Wellfare makes his return this week, in the seconds. Haha. You horribly overrate him, naming him in the youth RDFL best side. Dylan Nicholson would be a much better nomination.
Training last night was an absolute corker. Best training session of the season so far, the boys are pumped, I am totally pumped up to the max, and we really know we can beat this mob tomorrow.
Jason has played some good football in the games I have seen him, but I took him out of the youth side if you look at the side that was redone.. As for Matty Krul, was hopeful he would play for you guys, still hopeful he will.. Should never have left in the first place...
Who has taken over coaching the Rams???
discoduck
25 May 2007, 16:21
Come on Shane, it's not all about the hyphon!
someone's done a little bit of research.
Itsmyshow
25 May 2007, 16:22
always enjoy your friday afternoon writeups fills in a good 20-30mins or so however and im 1st to admit u rarely get it wrong but your point of diggers nearly being a full strength is way off. Just out of this weeks side is Walshe , D.Green , B.Green , A.klooster, M.Nolan and possibility a few more . However some may call it blind optimisum but i still think the boys can get up in a close one against Riddell.. Good luck with your boys against woodend reckon home ground advantage tip the scales in your favour. romsey and kilmore will be a classic as well have it on good authority morgan has set himself for a big one this week after being sent off last week
Billy boy, dont read so deep into my comments.. Diggers still have players to come back, no doubt, but they are clearly heading toward being full strength again.. Not too far off now...
Trueblueroo
25 May 2007, 16:34
someone's done a little bit of research.
I know all lol! Just ask your house mate!!!
X_box_X
25 May 2007, 16:38
Jason has played some good football in the games I have seen him, but I took him out of the youth side if you look at the side that was redone.. As for Matty Krul, was hopeful he would play for you guys, still hopeful he will.. Should never have left in the first place...
Who has taken over coaching the Rams???
Fair enough. No-one has officially taken over yet. Mark Smith is the 18s coach and he coached us last week, with some help from a couple of specialist coaches, but I can't see them taking over.
Joe Basilone has been struggling with hamstring problems. He played ten minutes last week, kicked a goal, came off the ground and didn't return. So he was helping out with coaching as well.
Harry Wilson
25 May 2007, 16:39
TBR, what about McLelland, Cox, Dawson? Not to mention some of the young running blokes coming through, plus I think Morgan might have a bee in his bonnet this week. I think the Kilmore / Romsey clash will be huge, it sounds like both sides will need to bring their A games.
Trueblueroo
25 May 2007, 16:42
TBR, what about McLelland, Cox, Dawson? Not to mention some of the young running blokes coming through, plus I think Morgan might have a bee in his bonnet this week. I think the Kilmore / Romsey clash will be huge, it sounds like both sides will need to bring their A games.
Fair call, but after playing both mate, i think Kilmore will get up! Romsey are good and have some very talented players, however, BM is Romsey in 2007! He has skills, work rate, leadership and ability to win a game of his own boot! Unfortunately no one else at Romsey has the same impact at the minute! Matty Mc is not far behind him, but lacks the ability to kick big bags of goals!
Kilmore to win only because the talented players in will be dissapointed they lost last week without them!
Harry Wilson
25 May 2007, 16:49
Good point, he does work hard around the ground and always takes a good opposition player with him. I think if Dawson can kick straight and the big Yak (Connellan) gets first hands on the ball in the middle, the Redbacks may be hard to stop out of the guts. They've got some smart older heads in the side along with hard working guys in the back line like Warren Kairns. It will be interesting.
discoduck
25 May 2007, 16:49
I know all lol! Just ask your house mate!!!
can't trust anyone these days! :D
joeblow2
25 May 2007, 16:50
Riddell 20 pts, I had tipped Diggers, but still appears a little undermanned for this clash.
Kilmore 45 pts, I rate the Blues fairly highly this year and with the wake up call from last week I expect them step step up a notch this week
Macedon 30 pts, impressive last week and will have too much run for the Rams
Lancefield 15 pts, things will turn around for the Tigers, with some handy players coming back and a reality check last week.
Woodend 10 pts, rate both teams highly, but I think Woodend may have too much firepower.
Good luck and happy football to all.
rightfoot_sloth
25 May 2007, 17:06
Fair enough. No-one has officially taken over yet. Mark Smith is the 18s coach and he coached us last week, with some help from a couple of specialist coaches, but I can't see them taking over.
Joe Basilone has been struggling with hamstring problems. He played ten minutes last week, kicked a goal, came off the ground and didn't return. So he was helping out with coaching as well.
Where are you lining up tomorrow X_Box_X ? In the magoos or in the game at 2:00pm ? The Rams are a realistic chance to win both 1's and 2's for the first time in quite a while. Not sure about the 18's but they will continue to improve :thumbsu: . I asked you (X_Box_X) about any rumours last Sunday about your potential new coach. Has any coaches been mentioned ? I thought Shane Geddes would be worth chatting to. As he knows the comp and has a pretty good record with the younger players.
Mobbenfuhrer
25 May 2007, 17:09
Wow Xie, haven't seen you about the traps for a while!
IMS, 'spect for this young feller, he's a Sweet FA vet! Had player ratings named after him for a while!
OldMelburnian28
25 May 2007, 17:26
round 6
diggers too young for riddell and we'll finally see the full potential of the burra. have been the sleeping giants and will finally come to fruition. 21points
woddend flag favourites and too classy. 38 points
macedon by 39 poinrs
romsey in a hard fought away battle. 8 points
melton v lancefield a draw.
Hawker28
25 May 2007, 17:36
Hawkers tips for Round 6!
Burra
Romsey
Woodend
Rockbank
Lancefield
All Winners under 2 goals!!!
Watch out for Hawk inclusions!!
Harry Wilson
25 May 2007, 17:57
Harry's tips
Riddle - 28 points - too many smart options
Kangas - 10 points - may be to physical for young hawks
Macedon - 36 points - close all day, just a better side in the end
Romsey - 15 points - both sides will need their A games
Melton - 40 points - at home and they play it well on their day
Hope every one gets a kick!!
blues12
25 May 2007, 18:15
Diggers will just beat riddell 8 points
Romsey to get over a much improved kilmore 4 points
Rockbank to get their first win over macedon 12 points
Centrals to beat lancefield 25 points
Roos to tussle with the hawks all day and just get up in the last minutes
X_box_X
25 May 2007, 18:56
Where are you lining up tomorrow X_Box_X ? In the magoos or in the game at 2:00pm ? The Rams are a realistic chance to win both 1's and 2's for the first time in quite a while. Not sure about the 18's but they will continue to improve :thumbsu: . I asked you (X_Box_X) about any rumours last Sunday about your potential new coach. Has any coaches been mentioned ? I thought Shane Geddes would be worth chatting to. As he knows the comp and has a pretty good record with the younger players.
I will put Shane's name forward. Thanks for the advice.
I'm lining up in the seniours, but starting on the bench again. I've only been playing around 50% game time in the seniours. Not that happy with my form, but I'm getting over a niggling quad injury. Almost at 100%, and I am very keen to show my teammates that I am a worthy and solid seniour player. I thought I had a good year at U18s level in 2005, but I had a bone spur in my groin so I decided to take all of last year off, so I'm just starting to get the hang of seniour footy. A much different ball game to U18s, I didn't realise how different and more challenging it would be.
goblues09
26 May 2007, 08:23
nothing wrong with helping around the club, would be good if a few more helped out a saturday would make it easier for everyone at the club haha
the big question is would you help out if ya weren't suspended - or if one d carroll didnt ask you to....
footy mad 2
26 May 2007, 17:40
Roos to tussle with the hawks all day and just get up in the last minutes
spot on after good tussle all day kangas kick last 5 or 6 to just win by 2
both teams would have had fair reasons to think they should have won however I think kangas were the better team all day.
X_box_X
26 May 2007, 17:46
Oh we're the Rockbank Rams. A fighting fury we're the Rockbank Rams!!
Come on, you little beauty!
footy mad 2
26 May 2007, 17:57
riddel by 30 to a side that is struggling with there only win for the season against rockbank. if i wasn,t there would not believe they were in the grand final last year.
matt_nicholls
26 May 2007, 18:30
Oh we're the Rockbank Rams. A fighting fury we're the Rockbank Rams!!
Come on, you little beauty!
Great effort by the Rams!
Romsey beat Kilmore by 10 odd goals. Same amount of scoring shots but Romsey deserved to be six goal winners.
Young Dawson booted nine majors. Paul Brady did a reasonable job in shutting down Robbo. Matt McLellan BOG by a mile.
Sunbury beat Woodend by 13 points and Riddell won by five goals.
Lancefield v Melton scores will be psoted as they come to hand
EDIT: Lancefield won by five goals! Now just one game and percentage out of the top-five. Collo apparently killed it
joeblow2
26 May 2007, 18:35
Romsey beat Kilmore by 10 odd goals. Same amount of scoring shots but Romsey deserved to be six goal winners.
Young Dawson booted nine majors. Paul Brady did a reasonable job in shutting down Robbo. Matt McLellan BOG by a mile.
Lancefield beat Centrals by 4 goals. Tigers had the ascendency early, led by 5 goals at 1/2 time. Wheelahan and a couple of others dominated the third quarter, 6 goals to 1, scores level at 3/4 time. Tigers then dominated the last quarter, 4 goals to nil with a couple of misses. There's some bite in the Tiger yet!!
X_box_X
26 May 2007, 18:58
EDIT: Lancefield won by five goals! Now just one game and percentage out of the top-five. Collo apparently killed it
Good stuff, mate.
Cam Dawson with nine goals and not a B.O.G effort?
I reckon we'll roll the Centrals when we play them at Ian Cowie reserve later in the year. Our squad is slightly improving as each game goes on. Round one was a shocker against Lancefield when we lost by 10 or 12 goals, whatever it was at the end. But the performance of the boy's last week, and especially today, has the Rockbank Rams in good spirit. We should win two or three games this year, possibly even four.
Rams led by eight points at quarter time, eighteen points at half time and also at three-quarter time. The Cats ran over the top of us in the last quarter scoring two goals to our zero. Their full forward (#16) marked about twenty out in the dying stages of the game to win the game for them, but his kick was astray and went out on the full. At that stage there would have been less than two minutes remaining. In that last two minutes there were three boundary throw ins and two ball-ups between the wing and half forward line for the Cats. With ten seconds remaining the Cats got a clearing kick inside fifty and was coming straight in my direction. I was just praying that I could take that mark (which was contested in the end). I did just that and the siren sounded with the ball in my hands - great feeling, great win. I am still pumped.
Now it's time for me to go out and get trashed. Woo yeah!
matt_nicholls
26 May 2007, 19:29
Good stuff, mate.
Cam Dawson with nine goals and not a B.O.G effort?
I reckon we'll roll the Centrals when we play them at Ian Cowie reserve later in the year. Our squad is slightly improving as each game goes on. Round one was a shocker against Lancefield when we lost by 10 or 12 goals, whatever it was at the end. But the performance of the boy's last week, and especially today, has the Rockbank Rams in good spirit. We should win two or three games this year, possibly even four.
Rams led by eight points at quarter time, eighteen points at half time and also at three-quarter time. The Cats ran over the top of us in the last quarter scoring two goals to our zero. Their full forward (#16) marked about twenty out in the dying stages of the game to win the game for them, but his kick was astray and went out on the full. At that stage there would have been less than two minutes remaining. In that last two minutes there were three boundary throw ins and two ball-ups between the wing and half forward line for the Cats. With ten seconds remaining the Cats got a clearing kick inside fifty and was coming straight in my direction. I was just praying that I could take that mark (which was contested in the end). I did just that and the siren sounded with the ball in my hands - great feeling, great win. I am still pumped.
Now it's time for me to go out and get trashed. Woo yeah!
Dawson was brilliant but probably only had 11 touches. McLellan doesn't stop running and dominated. Honourable mentions to the following players for good efforts too: Ryan Connellan, Dave Cornish, Tim Cox, Danny Harrosin, Kale Ramsdale and Linton Kemp.
crappermd
26 May 2007, 21:02
Can someone in the know please enlighten me. How are the underage interleague squads selected. Are the clubs asked to nominate their best players to go and train with the squad or do the coaches select what they consider are the best palyers from each club?
Halffullonfence
26 May 2007, 21:23
Can someone in the know please enlighten me. How are the underage interleague squads selected. Are the clubs asked to nominate their best players to go and train with the squad or do the coaches select what they consider are the best palyers from each club?
Depending on the age group 18's , 15's, 14's.
18's inital squad picked by selection panel and added to as season goes along with new players as some are dropped on form. Coach normally finalises team.
14's have a trial day at the start of season squad selected from that.Final team selected after practise game against EDFL.
15's usually same squad as previous year's 14 squad with improved and new players added. Final team as above.
Younger squads are nominated by clubs.
IMO.
crappermd
26 May 2007, 21:38
Thanks for that. My young bloke has played 10's, 12's & 13's interleague and wasn't named in 14's squad but then neither was anyone else from his club which is in the A's. Yet there are 3 players from a worse team than his and players from B division as well! Sour grapes. Probably. Anyway I am wondering if the club has let his team down by not nominating anyone for the squad?