View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
ROOTA#6
30 May 2007, 22:44
How are Connellan, Plant and Edwards going at Romsey?
blues12
31 May 2007, 09:01
blues12
we will leave the arrogance and cockyness to the other 2 clubs in sunbury, were happy just doin what were doin.
Don't know about arrogance and cockyness, like you lads bluey just happy to be having a couple of wins. Seems both our sides are quite young and (from the list mentioned earlier) have grown up playing together. This is a fantastic thing for a footy club. I know other clubs in the ammo's that don't receive supporrt from juniors struggle once their main group ages. Hears to a good year hey. Cheers
Dud
Sorry, i meant alot of players from both clubs. But yes it is great to see all clubs inside of sunbury starting their years very well.
Cheers,
Itsmyshow
31 May 2007, 09:41
Arrrrrr c'mon mate, now there really is no need for you to be diverting attention away from the mighty Kangas & the fact that they must now be regarded as rageing flag favorites !
You lot are "walking the walk" so time to start "talking the talk".
Cant go into it any further at this point OMNI.. Like I said, just taking it one Bourban at a time, long long season to go, and when we have weak links such as "Animosity", we still have a lot of work to do.... :D
Itsmyshow
31 May 2007, 09:42
IMS y arent u this popular with your teamates? lol...
I dont have teammates Animosity.. I only have lackey's that do the work for me... :D :thumbsu:
I haven't had teammates for a couple of years now... Retirement is too good to give up...
vantheman32
31 May 2007, 10:27
howd the under 18s go? scores n best players if anyone has them? cheers
Itsmyshow
31 May 2007, 10:34
howd the under 18s go? scores n best players if anyone has them? cheers
Unfortunately the WRFL gave the boys a bit of a touch up, they were quicker, stronger and smarter last night.
Crimmo from Diggers and Danny Harrison were probably the standouts for the RDFL and Gus Story when he went into the ruck.
We only kicked 4 goals, Paul Newton kicked 2 and the other goal kickers were Ricky Elliot and I think the other one was Shippy when he was moved to CHF..
Overall the boys were outplayed but at stages showed some good signs, Shippy looked good at CHF, Nipper got plenty of it and Newto looked dangerous if and when the ball went up forward.
Still some work to do but they will improve come the Ballarat game.
Final score was about 120 to 29
weekend warrior
31 May 2007, 10:36
with all the talk about the players coming back into the woodend side i was just curious as to who would be missing out. Is it going to pump the woodend reserves side up aswell?
matt_nicholls
31 May 2007, 11:14
I was very impressed with young Harrison and Crimmo too IMS.
The RDFL boys struggled to go with their bigger, faster and stronger opponents, who had been training for 3 months together.
Porky will only get more knowledge from Saturday's game and the boys should improve against Ballarat.
I would like to see a bit more of a physical presence in the midfield though, our blokes were pushed off pretty easily.
Young Maddison Hardiman from Kilmore was one of the WRFL's best, he kicked three goals and did a lot of time in the ruck too. The Blues would love to have him in the side. He's currently playing for Altona.
But for mine, it was #1 - that was their best player.
Mongrel
31 May 2007, 11:36
theres a lot of talk and predictions at the moment.who are flag favourites,
who have players missing,who will choke come finals time,who cant deliver to the foward line properly.etc,etc
who cares about all that crap?
there is six ligitimate teams that could go all the way this year.
lets let the teams do the talking on the field.as for the roos we have come a long way over the past 2 years,so if people still dont rate us thats fine.
at least they are talking about us now.and thats a great thing from a club perspective.go roos
Blueboy16
31 May 2007, 11:52
I see Cam Dawson was awarded Rookie of the Week for Rd6. Good effort. Am I right in saying he is ineligible for the award seeing he has played well over the 15 Senior games before this season which was part of the critera? Maybe IMS or Mr Pickles could confirm this?
Itsmyshow
31 May 2007, 12:06
I see Cam Dawson was awarded Rookie of the Week for Rd6. Good effort. Am I right in saying he is ineligible for the award seeing he has played well over the 15 Senior games before this season which was part of the critera? Maybe IMS or Mr Pickles could confirm this?
Incorrect... Qualify's comfortably
Trueblueroo
31 May 2007, 12:08
RDFL has to look @ its interleague training and program i believe! Its not the we don't have the talent and the players, it's the fact they build a side and expect them to compete with WRFL, BFL and the EDFL! Like we saw last night, 100 points might not have been so bad had the boys had been training together for quiet some time beforehand!
Lets get this right for next year, have squads picked, players in mind in about march and hit the ground running! If we want our league to be percieved as a force again, we have to represent with as much preperation as possible! 12 Months to improve on it now, and lets get a senior interleague team for next year, it's used as a big selling tool to players in securing them to clubs! Classic example is Lee james!
Itsmyshow
theres a lot of talk and predictions at the moment.who are flag favourites,
who have players missing,who will choke come finals time,who cant deliver to the foward line properly.etc,etc
who cares about all that crap?
there is six ligitimate teams that could go all the way this year.
lets let the teams do the talking on the field.as for the roos we have come a long way over the past 2 years,so if people still dont rate us thats fine.
at least they are talking about us now.and thats a great thing from a club perspective.go roos
Agree :thumbsu:
vantheman32
maddison hardiman is a good young player, big bodied fella, i heard he was captain of wrfl, its a shame that he still wants to play junior footy seeing as he was 18 last yr in august a fella of his size would be more than capable against the men, especially with his never give up attitude. i was hoping he would play at kilmore this year but hes chasing a dream n good luck to him.
vantheman32
31 May 2007, 12:11
last year the rdfl beat wrfl in interleague in a very good match, also took it right up to bfl n was comfortably in front at half time before letting it slip in a freezing 2nd half, so dont get too down that we lost last night, TBR your quite right that they need to get training early, hard to play with blokes you hardly know from a bar of soap, most of the WRFL boys know each other quite well, then you have blokes in out team like ramsdale who is new to the league would only know the 3 kilmore fellas with him n possibly 1 or 2 others, with two or three training sessions together he would be scratching his head to name all the blokes in the team.
Blueboy16
31 May 2007, 12:12
Incorrect... Qualify's comfortably
How many senior games has he played IMS. Remember he was backing up 18's & Seniors for 2 years. Maybe the RDFL have not counted the double up games.
Itsmyshow
31 May 2007, 12:45
Woodend/Hesket Vs Kilmore
The Hawks will look to bounce back this week after a loss to the Kangaroos in Rd 5. The Hawks are still the best side I have seen so far this season and with Darko, Salpy and Dowling up forward will always be dangerous for opposition sides.
Kilmore were disappointing last week, to lose to Romsey by that much would be a real let down for the coaching staff but Terry should be able to get the boys to bounce back this week. Robbo and Dave Cornish are the keys.
Woodend by 50 pts
Melton Central Vs Sunbury Kangaroos
Centrals loss to the Tigers last week was a shock and they will look to rebound this week against the Roos with a stronger performance, with Coach Mark Greenshields pulling on the boots again Centrals will only get better.
The Roos are now 6-0 and travelling along well, with the younger guys stepping up and Bonnici, Mark and Leigh McInerney finding plenty of the ball and Spud James and Leigh Sporle winning the ruck contests the Roos will look to consolodate on last weeks win.
Roos to win
Riddell Vs Rockbank
The Bombers are still flying along under the radar, yet are still the team to beat in the 2007 season. Recruits Michael and Nathan Allen are flying along with stalwarts Blade, Bellville and Wadden.
The Rams had thier first win in 2 years last week against Macedon and will be flying high for this contest. Unfortunately probably not high enough, watch for the return of Matty Krul who, even though I copped a spray for suggesting he would return last week, did return through the reserves last week.
Riddell by 110pts.
Macedon FC Vs Diggers Rest
The Cats would be disappointed with last weeks result and may have taken the Rams a little lightly, but the 2 have developed a little rivalry over the past couple of years. This week watch for the Cats to bounce back and give Diggers a shake.
Its time for the Burra to get thier season on track. Craig Thompson has played some good footy for the Burra since being recruited, Sims is back and the Burra will hope to have a few more return for this week. I just need my boy Cole Laurie to lift and play the footy I know he can play.... :thumbsu: .. Is Payney back this week ???
Diggers by 36pts
Match of the Round
Lancefield Vs Romsey
In what is usually a classic contest between 2 of the league's fiercest rivals this game should be a cracker.
Coach Chris Collins is working hard at rebuilding the Lancefield FC from the bottom up, the Tigers have taken some good steps so far this year. A strong win against Centrals was much needed last week and with a few solid veterans in the Tigers outfit they will lift for this one.
The Redbacks have started the season very well too. Brydan Morgan has been back to his best while Matty McClellan has been finding plenty of the ball.
The Redbacks should win this comfortably, Lancefield will lift, but dont know if the Tige's can lift for 4 quarters.
Romsey by 55pts
Itsmyshow
31 May 2007, 12:48
How many senior games has he played IMS. Remember he was backing up 18's & Seniors for 2 years. Maybe the RDFL have not counted the double up games.
Are you questioning me???
Played 3 games in 05 and 11 in 06... For 13 goals and 18 goals.. He wore size L shorts and a size 90 jumper, he played mostly out of a forward pocket and has one of the worst haircuts in the RDFL.
Anything else? :D
joeblow2
31 May 2007, 12:54
Played 3 games in 05 and 11 in 06... For 13 goals and 18 goals.. He wore size L shorts and a size 90 jumper, he played mostly out of a forward pocket and has one of the worst haircuts in the RDFL.
Jocks colour? Long or short sleeve jumper? C'mon mate, you've given us nothing!!:rolleyes:
matt_nicholls
31 May 2007, 12:55
Sorry for the delay fellas but this week's articles are up on Central Sport.
The address is www.centralsport.org
This was the preview of the Lancefield v Romsey clash.
Big derby this Sunday
INTENSE rivalry is normally a key term when Romsey and Lancefield football clubs battle it out on the field.
When the Redbacks and Tigers battle, no matter where they are placed on the ladder, you can be sure that there will be a contest.
Both clubs have enjoyed plenty of success over the last decade but in more recent years it has been Romsey flying a little higher than their neighbours.
Lancefield lost both encounters last season and will be desperate to regain some pride against their arch rivals.
On Saturday, the Tigers defeated Melton Central by 27 points, while Romsey destroyed Kilmore by 53 points.
On paper, the Redbacks appear to have a more potent midfield and forward line than the Tigers, but it will be the more desperate side on Sunday that walks away with the four points.
If bookmakers were running a market on the match, you can almost guarantee that Romsey would be starting at odds of $1.20, while the Tigers would be underdogs at $4.50.
Romsey boast stars such as Brydan Morgan, Matt McLellan, Ryan Connellan and Luke Edwards, while Lancefield’s key players are Simon Choate, Scott Smithwick, Dale Joseph, and of course, coach Chris Collins.
There is no love lost when these sides meet and don’t be surprised if blood is spilt at some stage during the match.
Both sides will be keen to establish an early lead as past matches indicate that once a side gets momentum they are rarely run down.
It should be a crackerjack affair, with the Under 18s and reserves kicking off at 10am and noon respectively.
The senior match will commence at 2pm on Sunday, with admission just $6 for an adult.
For a full report of Saturday’s games, see inside.
This is how the two sides may line-up for Sunday’s match:
ROMSEY
B: Warren Kairns, Mick McCarthy, Braden Stokes.
HB: Paul Brady, Tim Cox, Dave Keenan.
C: Danny Harrison, Luke Edwards, Chris Wilson.
HF: Anthony Higgins, Brydan Morgan, Ben John
F: Steve Burlak, Cam Dawson, Paul Evans.
R: Ryan Connellan, Ben Nettlebeck, Matt McLellan.
I: Luke Baker, Jake Wilson, James Moore, Justin Binney, Robert Keenan, Phil Romeril, Ben Sullivan (extended interchange named).
LANCEFIELD
B: Steve Bruce, Mark Caton, Stuart Stevenson.
HB: Tim Collins, Scott Smithwick, Sam Graham.
C: Travis Smith, Chris Collins, Nathan Milner.
HF: Sean Milner, Paul Cook, Jay Tully.
F: Simon Choate, Chris Kakoschke, Sam Witteveen.
R: Phil Conway, Dale Joseph, Jay Shewan.
I: Shaun Ryan, Luke Parks, Ben Porker, Sean Crowder, Adam Brown, Tom Leehane, Adrian Perry (extended interchange named).
What else would you be doing!
Itsmyshow
31 May 2007, 12:58
Jocks colour? Long or short sleeve jumper? C'mon mate, you've given us nothing!!:rolleyes:
I do apologise JB.. A little busy so had to skip a couple..
Short sleeve jumper and grey jockey's I believe.... :D
Blueboy16
31 May 2007, 13:01
No IMS I just knew you had the facts and just wanted to see them. :D
Halffullonfence
31 May 2007, 13:17
Not many senior games he took easy option last 2 year's of being big fish in little pond opting to play FF in 18's to win goal kicking.
This was discussed at length in last years thread with a few of the Romsey young guns, seems Harro, Sully and Romeril are playing more senior games this year which is a good thing.
Itsmyshow
31 May 2007, 13:27
Not many senior games he took easy option last 2 year's of being big fish in little pond opting to play FF in 18's to win goal kicking.
This was discussed at length in last years thread with a few of the Romsey young guns, seems Harro, Sully and Romeril are playing more senior games this year which is a good thing.
Agree :D :thumbsu:
Trueblueroo
31 May 2007, 14:48
Duffy you back this week? I would piss myself if Simo umpires your game!!! HAHA
billylid
31 May 2007, 15:38
Woodend by under 39.5points
Kangaroos to make it 7 in a row and win by under 39.5points
Riddell Vs Rockbank
Riddell by over 79.5 points
Diggers by under 39.5 points
Lancefield Vs Romsey
Romsey by over 39.5 points
SWANNEES
31 May 2007, 16:11
I was very impressed with young Harrison and Crimmo too IMS.
The RDFL boys struggled to go with their bigger, faster and stronger opponents, who had been training for 3 months together.
Porky will only get more knowledge from Saturday's game and the boys should improve against Ballarat.
I would like to see a bit more of a physical presence in the midfield though, our blokes were pushed off pretty easily.
Young Maddison Hardiman from Kilmore was one of the WRFL's best, he kicked three goals and did a lot of time in the ruck too. The Blues would love to have him in the side. He's currently playing for Altona.
But for mine, it was #1 - that was their best player.
saw last nights game. wrfl only had 4 weeks training together . up to 6 of their players play a grade senior div in wrfl
matt_nicholls
31 May 2007, 17:22
I reckon Scott McCartney must have been reading this forum because he has posted the umpire appointments on the RDFL website for the first time this season. You can normally get them on the RDFLUA site though.
And would you believe it, Simo is umpiring the Woodend-Hesket v Kilmore match!
EDIT: I spoke to the GM and he denied reading BigFooty prior to posting them. Apparently they got a whiff of me criticising who they appoint to which matches so they now send them to Scott.
joeblow2
31 May 2007, 17:45
Pickles, what is the RDFLUA site address?
matt_nicholls
31 May 2007, 18:12
Pickles, what is the RDFLUA site address?
http://rdflua.footballvic.com.au/
(http://rdflua.footballvic.com.au/)
goblues09
31 May 2007, 22:48
yeah back this week but playin twos so the simo factor is 0 - no surprise though that he has been drawn for our game - would it be any other way???
well simmo is miles too good 2 be umpiring the magoos duff. youll just have to stay in the twos to avoid him.:D
BrownDog2
1 Jun 2007, 11:12
I reckon Scott McCartney must have been reading this forum because he has posted the umpire appointments on the RDFL website for the first time this season. You can normally get them on the RDFLUA site though.
And would you believe it, Simo is umpiring the Woodend-Hesket v Kilmore match!
EDIT: I spoke to the GM and he denied reading BigFooty prior to posting them. Apparently they got a whiff of me criticising who they appoint to which matches so they now send them to Scott.
are you trying to say the GM now reads over the umpires appointments for approval?
matt_nicholls
1 Jun 2007, 11:26
are you trying to say the GM now reads over the umpires appointments for approval?
No, they just send them to him to keep him informed. The RDFLUA is completely independent from the RDFL.
BrownDog2
1 Jun 2007, 11:32
No, they just send them to him to keep him informed. The RDFLUA is completely independent from the RDFL.
can you explain what you mean in your quote:
"Apparently they got a whiff of me criticising who they appoint to which matches so they now send them to Scott"
bromanbomber
1 Jun 2007, 13:03
not good enough to get a game in the ones duffy or have you been labelled too soft again for the seniors??:rolleyes:
matt_nicholls
1 Jun 2007, 13:16
can you explain what you mean in your quote:
"Apparently they got a whiff of me criticising who they appoint to which matches so they now send them to Scott"
Well someone faxed the RDFLUA a copy of my story criticising them for which umpires they send to marquee games.
Now they publicise on the RDFL's website who they actually send.
Also, I should apologise to Gilesy from the RDFLUA for not contacting him first before running the story. I have since been told that they send umpires to the Ballarat and Amateurs league on a rotation basis, not quality basis.
Also, apparantely a large number of umpires were unavailable to officiate on the Sunbury Kangaroos and Kilmore match weekend.
Crookknee
1 Jun 2007, 13:39
The Hawks will look to bounce back this week after a loss to the Kangaroos in Rd 5. The Hawks are still the best side I have seen so far this season and with Darko, Salpy and Dowling up forward will always be dangerous for opposition sides.
Kilmore were disappointing last week, to lose to Romsey by that much would be a real let down for the coaching staff but Terry should be able to get the boys to bounce back this week. Robbo and Dave Cornish are the keys.
Woodend by 50 pts
Centrals loss to the Tigers last week was a shock and they will look to rebound this week against the Roos with a stronger performance, with Coach Mark Greenshields pulling on the boots again Centrals will only get better.
The Roos are now 6-0 and travelling along well, with the younger guys stepping up and Bonnici, Mark and Leigh McInerney finding plenty of the ball and Spud James and Leigh Sporle winning the ruck contests the Roos will look to consolodate on last weeks win.
Roos to win
Riddell Vs Rockbank
The Bombers are still flying along under the radar, yet are still the team to beat in the 2007 season. Recruits Michael and Nathan Allen are flying along with stalwarts Blade, Bellville and Wadden.
The Rams had thier first win in 2 years last week against Macedon and will be flying high for this contest. Unfortunately probably not high enough, watch for the return of Matty Krul who, even though I copped a spray for suggesting he would return last week, did return through the reserves last week.
Riddell by 110pts.
The Cats would be disappointed with last weeks result and may have taken the Rams a little lightly, but the 2 have developed a little rivalry over the past couple of years. This week watch for the Cats to bounce back and give Diggers a shake.
Its time for the Burra to get thier season on track. Craig Thompson has played some good footy for the Burra since being recruited, Sims is back and the Burra will hope to have a few more return for this week. I just need my boy Cole Laurie to lift and play the footy I know he can play.... :thumbsu: .. Is Payney back this week ???
Diggers by 36pts
Match of the Round
Lancefield Vs Romsey
In what is usually a classic contest between 2 of the league's fiercest rivals this game should be a cracker.
Coach Chris Collins is working hard at rebuilding the Lancefield FC from the bottom up, the Tigers have taken some good steps so far this year. A strong win against Centrals was much needed last week and with a few solid veterans in the Tigers outfit they will lift for this one.
The Redbacks have started the season very well too. Brydan Morgan has been back to his best while Matty McClellan has been finding plenty of the ball.
The Redbacks should win this comfortably, Lancefield will lift, but dont know if the Tige's can lift for 4 quarters.
Romsey by 55pts
It must be said, a pretty disappointing round of footy if the match of the round prediction is a 55 point hiding. Hopefully a couple of the under dogs make a go of it.
Itsmyshow
1 Jun 2007, 13:42
It must be said, a pretty disappointing round of footy if the match of the round prediction is a 55 point hiding. Hopefully a couple of the under dogs make a go of it.
Agree.. But I actually think that it will be a good game of footy to watch, Romsey will only kick away in the last quarter and a bit...:eek:
Itsmyshow
1 Jun 2007, 15:52
Who do people think are the leading players so far in the comp.. Im about 3 weeks away from doing my mid year report and top 30 at the halfway point so would like people to put thier idea's on the season so far forward so that I can take it into account.
Thanks...
billylid
1 Jun 2007, 16:28
Who do people think are the leading players so far in the comp.. Im about 3 weeks away from doing my mid year report and top 30 at the halfway point so would like people to put thier idea's on the season so far forward so that I can take it into account.
Thanks...
Some ideas from the players ive seen so far this season and how they played against us
No1.. Robbo (kilmore)
Top 10Candidates In no particular order
1. Brydon Morgan (Romsey), Mccellan (Romsey)
Bonnici (Kangaroos) , B.Johnson (Kangaroos) ,
3. Blade (Riddell) , Allen (No14 Riddell)
4. No 44 from Woodend (Polbury)
5. D.Riely and D.janner (Diggers Rest)
Top 30 Candidates
Belivelle(Riddell) , R.Underwood(DR), Kairns (Romsey),James (SK) , Allen (Riddells FF), Keenan (Romsey) , Roberston( Ridell Ruckman) , Darko (Woodend),
Itsmyshow
1 Jun 2007, 17:03
Oh.. And who has been the disappointing players of the year so far...? :eek:
matt_nicholls
1 Jun 2007, 17:18
Oh.. And who has been the disappointing players of the year so far...? :eek:
Steve Ruane, having trouble coping with a tagger after winning the Bowen. Not having Sims playing well doesn't help.
Chris Payne, playing reserves, need I say more??
Steve Burlak, is injured, but hasn't played well when on the field.
Sam Bowen, electric player on his day but hasn't been consistent.
Won't say anything more, hopefully they'll all find their feet soon.
goblues09
1 Jun 2007, 17:24
not good enough to get a game in the ones duffy or have you been labelled too soft again for the seniors??:rolleyes:
nah its more to do with some disciplanary reasons as work has been restricting my training
goblues09
1 Jun 2007, 17:27
well simmo is miles too good 2 be umpiring the magoos duff. youll just have to stay in the twos to avoid him.:D
haha yeah just ask him! think il just have to get the jaw strapped along with the ankle haha then we will really know if hes got it in for me if i get done again lol
Blueboy16
1 Jun 2007, 20:31
Anyone actually sat back and thought that Sam Bowen is a hack. Good Junior but doesn't cut the mustard in senior footy? I have been saying it for a while now. I will try to find my previous post in the subject. Thoughts?
vantheman32
1 Jun 2007, 20:35
possibly a bit harsh there blueboy, sam cut us to pieces last year when he played against kilmore on a week break from bendigo bombers, still only a little fella
Itsmyshow
3 Jun 2007, 09:30
Super game by Centrals yesterday, one of the more discaplined performances I have seen by an RDFL side, all kudos to Mark Greenshields who put in a plan and had his players execute almost to the letter.
While they were never going to kick a high score they ensured they were in the game right up until the end.
Brian Wheelahan sensational....
Itsmyshow
3 Jun 2007, 10:31
No pre round write up this week pickles?? What happened there?
Itsmyshow
3 Jun 2007, 10:38
What happened with Mick Kilty to see him leave the Burra??? :confused:
OMNIPOTENT_1
3 Jun 2007, 10:39
Super game by Centrals yesterday, one of the more discaplined performances I have seen by an RDFL side, all kudos to Mark Greenshields who put in a plan and had his players execute almost to the letter.
While they were never going to kick a high score they ensured they were in the game right up until the end.
Brian Wheelahan sensational....
Sorry mate but this sounds a wee bit like an excuse, maybe me is thinking for a lack lustre score line perhaps ?
Itsmyshow
3 Jun 2007, 11:27
Sorry mate but this sounds a wee bit like an excuse, maybe me is thinking for a lack lustre score line perhaps ?
No doubt oh almighty OMNI one.... We were flat, very flat.... But I refuse to take anything away from Centrals, they used the ball well and pushed numbers back well....
Cobber21
3 Jun 2007, 13:57
No doubt oh almighty OMNI one.... We were flat, very flat.... But I refuse to take anything away from Centrals, they used the ball well and pushed numbers back well....
Heard Centrals really should of won. Lost some key players around 3 Quarter time when the scores were tied.
Wallygrout
3 Jun 2007, 17:56
how is my old teammates going RYAN CONNELLAN & LUKE EDWARDS been playing
Trueblueroo
4 Jun 2007, 09:14
Heard Centrals really should of won. Lost some key players around 3 Quarter time when the scores were tied.
Don't know about win, but they had a good crack when the Roos had an off day! Some good signs for Centrals though, they move the ball quick! They're half backline on Saturday was the best i have seen this year, they are quick and rebound the footy wide, and it worked extremely well!
To take the 4 points on an off day against a side that played they're best footy this year, when we played our worst, someohow i'm happy with that!
Itsmyshow
4 Jun 2007, 09:49
At no point during the game were Centrals going to win.... Sorry, but they were just not going to kick a winning score with the style of game they played on Saturday...
Itsmyshow
4 Jun 2007, 09:54
Great game at Lancefield yesterday...
Lancefield took it right up to Romsey playing a running, free wheeling type game... Sam Graham was great off the half back line and the ruckman dominated around the ground, Romsey were a little lax and almost paid for it, it was probably only skill errors that in the end cost the Tigers dearly...
Warren Kairns was superb for the Redbacks.
Good turnout for the RDFL Thread Big Footy AGM on the far wing with only 4 members turning up....
HFF, OMNI and Myself will now take full ownership of this thread... :D :thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
4 Jun 2007, 10:01
Great game at Lancefield yesterday...
Lancefield took it right up to Romsey playing a running, free wheeling type game... Sam Graham was great off the half back line and the ruckman dominated around the ground, Romsey were a little lax and almost paid for it, it was probably only skill errors that in the end cost the Tigers dearly...
Warren Kairns was superb for the Redbacks.
Good turnout for the RDFL Thread Big Footy AGM on the far wing with only 4 members turning up....
HFF, OMNI and Myself will now take full ownership of this thread... :D :thumbsu:
I was there but no invite to the AGM. Disappointing :thumbsd:
Also, apart from the physical stuff, I thought it was one of the worst games of senior football I've seen this year.
If Romsey play like that in big games, they can not win the premiership.
The Wiz (Kairns) and Big Red (McCarthy) were superb for the Redbacks, but too many of their big names did little.
Morgan, Burlak, McLellan, Edwards, Nettlebeck didn't put in four quarters.
Romsey hit the post seven or eight times. Lancefield's skills were awful too.
Very harsh of me, I know, but I didn't rate the spectacle too much.
Blueboy16
4 Jun 2007, 10:08
What happened with Mick Kilty to see him leave the Burra??? :confused:
No doubt the wheels are starting to fall off at the Burra. Losing a quality senior player to start, seniors to not make finals then reserves to choke again come finals time.
Itsmyshow
4 Jun 2007, 10:13
Also, apart from the physical stuff, I thought it was one of the worst games of senior football I've seen this year.
The Wiz (Kairns) and Big Red (McCarthy) were superb for the Redbacks, but too many of their big names did little.
We didn't want the Media at our AGM...
It might not have been a good game for you, but the attack on the football was superb, good hard tough footy... Pressure forces mistakes, and the pressure was there all day yesterday... Good to watch, I enjoyed the game... :thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
4 Jun 2007, 10:22
We didn't want the Media at our AGM...
It might not have been a good game for you, but the attack on the football was superb, good hard tough footy... Pressure forces mistakes, and the pressure was there all day yesterday... Good to watch, I enjoyed the game... :thumbsu:
Watching a good hard contest was enjoyable, but if pressure forces mistakes what are the Redbacks going to be like in finals football. You would expect the likes of Woodend-Hesket, Sunbury Kangaroos and Riddell to apply more pressure than that in the finals.
If you were a Lancefield supporter you couldn't be too happy with their performance either. They gave it a shake but how often did they have the ball in space, only to turn it over with a poor kick. Even the class of Chris Collins and Simon Choate turned the ball over in crucial periods.
Romsey had their chances, but Lancefield didn't make them pay.
Umpires helped the Tigers stay in the game in the last term too.
Itsmyshow
4 Jun 2007, 10:46
Watching a good hard contest was enjoyable, but if pressure forces mistakes what are the Redbacks going to be like in finals football. You would expect the likes of Woodend-Hesket, Sunbury Kangaroos and Riddell to apply more pressure than that in the finals.
If you were a Lancefield supporter you couldn't be too happy with their performance either. They gave it a shake but how often did they have the ball in space, only to turn it over with a poor kick. Even the class of Chris Collins and Simon Choate turned the ball over in crucial periods.
Romsey had their chances, but Lancefield didn't make them pay.
Umpires helped the Tigers stay in the game in the last term too.
I wasn't there to care what will happen come finals, I came to watch a game on its merits, and I got a beauty... :D
Hawker28
4 Jun 2007, 11:08
Has Steve Burlak ever played 4 quarters?
Itsmyshow
4 Jun 2007, 11:19
Has Steve Burlak ever played 4 quarters?
Yes... He played for 4 quarters on Saturday :D
Hawker28
4 Jun 2007, 11:25
Steve Burlak is your enquivalent to Jarrod Brennan from the Brisbane Lions! Has the talent, but is in no mans land on a big stage!
joeblow2
4 Jun 2007, 12:59
Not sure that he did IMS, he was off with a groin for part of the second half at least.
Itsmyshow
4 Jun 2007, 13:01
Not sure that he did IMS, he was off with a groin for part of the second half at least.
Oops.. Lol
Maybe one too many bourbans... Damn you HFF... :p
joeblow2
4 Jun 2007, 13:01
how is my old teammates going RYAN CONNELLAN & LUKE EDWARDS been playing
Connelen is going well, from all reports is one of the leading ruckman in the comp, Edwards I believe got reported yesterday.
Halffullonfence
4 Jun 2007, 13:56
Didn't want the AGM pod cast.
Halffullonfence
4 Jun 2007, 13:57
Oops.. Lol
Maybe one too many bourbans... Damn you HFF... :p
Let me think WHO started the shout??????
Halffullonfence
4 Jun 2007, 13:58
Another not at the AGM shame !
matt_nicholls
4 Jun 2007, 14:00
Didn't want the AGM pod cast.
Pickles' podcast is a work in progress but will be mastered by the finals to keep fans up to date.
Stayed tuned on the RDFL website. The first one should be up late this week hopefully.
Itsmyshow
4 Jun 2007, 14:26
Let me think WHO started the shout??????
Ah... I think it was OMNI... :eek:
joeblow2
4 Jun 2007, 14:28
Another not at the AGM shame !
AGM? Far too official for me!
OMNIPOTENT_1
4 Jun 2007, 15:17
Ah... I think it was OMNI... :eek:
Nice handball pal !
Were'nt you a forward in another life ?
Good forwards dont handball do they ?
Although........................... did'nt we see a redback do just that ?
Itsmyshow
4 Jun 2007, 15:21
Nice handball pal !
It was his only possession outside of hitting the post wasn't it??? He had a shocker, if we were triple M he woulda got the 3 for Worst on....
Itsmyshow
4 Jun 2007, 15:28
AGM? Far too official for me!
Never official with a bourban...
discoduck
4 Jun 2007, 16:43
well, that's it fellas. my vafa career of 3 games is done and dusted, and i'm packing up my gear this weekend - ready for a game with the blues saturday week. who we got? is there room in the twos for me, or are numbers at kilmore pretty good?
Itsmyshow
4 Jun 2007, 17:05
I would like to put in an "official" apology for the misrepresentation of the spelling of the word "Bourbon".
I have let myself, my family and my friends down in several posts over the past 3 to 4 weeks and I realise that I have made a terrible mistake and have dropped the standards of my posts.
I would like to apologise to the public who have had to put up with the repeated error's that I have been making and promise that after some time alone with my family and friends I will make my return, with both a broadened vocabulary and a refreshed mindset.
I ask that the public and the media respect my privacy during this time as I work with both my family and Big Footy in returning to posting bigger, bolder and blue when I am back to full posting strength.
Thank you for your time.
Itsmyshow
4 Jun 2007, 17:23
I would like to announce my return to posting on Big Footy. After a short absence where I was able to work around my issues I am pleased to announce that I have been cleared to return.
I would like to thank my family and friends for all of thier support during this difficult time and let you all know that I am ready to bounce back after the disappointments of the past.
I would like to request that the media gives me the space and time to ensure that I am able to slowly build my way back to my best posting.
Thank you for your time.
Blueboy16
4 Jun 2007, 17:33
I heard someone's going to be a DADDY! Any truth IMS? Maybe that posting improvement may need to take a back seat AGAIN.
matt_nicholls
4 Jun 2007, 17:37
I would like to announce my return to posting on Big Footy. After a short absence where I was able to work around my issues I am pleased to announce that I have been cleared to return.
I would like to thank my family and friends for all of thier support during this difficult time and let you all know that I am ready to bounce back after the disappointments of the past.
I would like to request that the media gives me the space and time to ensure that I am able to slowly build my way back to my best posting.
Thank you for your time.
The media will give you a break this time IMS, but next time you spell bourbon or any other alcoholic beverage wrong you will be publicly shamed. :D
Itsmyshow
4 Jun 2007, 17:39
I heard someone's going to be a DADDY! Any truth IMS? Maybe that posting improvement may need to take a back seat AGAIN.
Could be a possibility of this occuring.. But it wont impact on the new and improved IMS... Im actually in the process of building an IMS army, a group of superchildren whose minds I can mold and control so that I can finally achieve my one true goal... World Domination.. Bwahahahahaha
Itsmyshow
4 Jun 2007, 17:40
The media will give you a break this time IMS, but next time you spell bourbon or any other alcoholic beverage wrong you will be publicly shamed. :D
As I rightly deserve... :cool:
footy mad 2
4 Jun 2007, 18:03
:D IMS sounds like things are going pretty good. In the interest of football i think we might have to start a thread all about you as 5 out of every ten posts are anyway:D :p :o
goblues09
4 Jun 2007, 18:20
well, that's it fellas. my vafa career of 3 games is done and dusted, and i'm packing up my gear this weekend - ready for a game with the blues saturday week. who we got? is there room in the twos for me, or are numbers at kilmore pretty good?
numbers arent too bad duck but some poor showings will mean there is always scope for changes - so hopefully we will see ya on the track at least after the long weekend!!
Animosity
4 Jun 2007, 18:51
Im actually in the process of building an IMS army, a group of superchildren whose minds I can mold and control so that I can finally achieve my one true goal... World Domination.. Bwahahahahaha
Does michael jackson post here? :D
Halffullonfence
4 Jun 2007, 19:28
Nice handball pal !
IMS please refresh my memory didn't Omni bring his own waiter ??? I am sure the young fellow did the walking and serving of said bourbons.
OMNIPOTENT_1
4 Jun 2007, 20:21
IMS please refresh my memory didn't Omni bring his own waiter ??? I am sure the young fellow did the walking and serving of said bourbons.
Was the hardest 4 possessions he got all week-end !
OMNIPOTENT_1
4 Jun 2007, 20:28
It was his only possession outside of hitting the post wasn't it??? He had a shocker, if we were triple M he woulda got the 3 for Worst on....
Took 1 good grab when they finally moved him up the ground !
Perhaps it was all that pressure of being a rising star !
Just wondering how mick and nathan allen are going for riddell this year.
I see mick kicked a few on weekend.
bearsboy
5 Jun 2007, 08:51
Good opportunity for you fellas to come and have a look at the Mighty Gisborne Bulldogs v Kyneton at Gisborne this Saturday.
Should be a huge day, with this being the Gisborne football netball clubs "family day". Plenty of things for the kids to do (Eball interactive football, jumping castle, Bungee run, face painting, handball comp and a few more bits and pieces) while you blokes sit at the bar and enjoy the footy.
Always a bit of feeling in theses games (Gisborne, Kyneton) and this week will be no different, should be a cracker.
Trueblueroo
5 Jun 2007, 09:46
Good opportunity for you fellas to come and have a look at the Mighty Gisborne Bulldogs v Kyneton at Gisborne this Saturday.
Should be a huge day, with this being the Gisborne football netball clubs "family day". Plenty of things for the kids to do (Eball interactive football, jumping castle, Bungee run, face painting, handball comp and a few more bits and pieces) while you blokes sit at the bar and enjoy the footy.
Always a bit of feeling in theses games (Gisborne, Kyneton) and this week will be no different, should be a cracker.
Is this game Saturday or Sunday bears? Might pop down and have a look!
Itsmyshow
5 Jun 2007, 10:17
No mention of Bourbon's here??? :eek: Im not sold...
matt_nicholls
5 Jun 2007, 11:20
Read about the RDFL's interleague game last week, Kilmore's failure under pressure to Woodend-Hesket, Romsey's scrappy win over Lancefield and more on www.centralsport.org (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/www.centralsport.org) - they've just been published.
bearsboy
5 Jun 2007, 13:18
Is this game Saturday or Sunday bears? Might pop down and have a look!Saturday, mate.
There will be plenty of bourbons boys dont worry about that !
I also forgot to mention that if you show your RDFL club membership card, you can get in the gate for $5 (normally $8)
matt_nicholls
5 Jun 2007, 13:41
Saturday, mate.
I also forgot to mention that if you show your RDFL club membership card, you can get in the gate for $5 (normally $8)
Do the press get in for free?
Itsmyshow
5 Jun 2007, 14:09
Saturday, mate.
$5 is pretty good...
How much for a bourbon....????
joeblow2
5 Jun 2007, 14:26
$5 is pretty good...
How much for a bourbon....????
$8 (normally $5):eek: