View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

Roco
5 Jun 2007, 14:34
Good to see your only worry is the bourbon price, IMS.:D

bomber39
5 Jun 2007, 14:36
I am not very familiar with the riddell league. I know Tim rath though. Have heard very good things about the league and the quality or umpiring in the league?

Tim Rath a very good umpire?

blues12
5 Jun 2007, 14:49
I am not very familiar with the riddell league. I know Tim rath though. Have heard very good things about the league and the quality or umpiring in the league?

Tim Rath a very good umpire?

The league is definately on the rise as far as quality and players, the last few years has seen the level go up in leaps and bounds, As for the umpiring, There are some very good umpires also and Rath would be considered one of the better. but like all leagues some are past their best.:D

Itsmyshow
5 Jun 2007, 15:02
Good to see your only worry is the bourbon price, IMS.:D

Damn straight Roco my boy.... :thumbsu::D

Roco
5 Jun 2007, 15:25
What's the go with the RDFL & Roos sites at the moment? home page not opening. You'ld have your finger on the pulse IMS..

future29
5 Jun 2007, 15:34
maddison hardiman is a good young player, big bodied fella, i heard he was captain of wrfl, its a shame that he still wants to play junior footy seeing as he was 18 last yr in august a fella of his size would be more than capable against the men, especially with his never give up attitude. i was hoping he would play at kilmore this year but hes chasing a dream n good luck to him.

death to u hede, ive played my share of senior games, not dream chasing either ,death

vantheman32
5 Jun 2007, 15:38
haha hardiman loves a stirring:P

Cobber21
5 Jun 2007, 15:57
The league is definately on the rise as far as quality and players, the last few years has seen the level go up in leaps and bounds, As for the umpiring, There are some very good umpires also and Rath would be considered one of the better. but like all leagues some are past their best.:D

Some that are "past their best" unmpired the Macedon v Diggers Rest game.

Disgraceful.

Hawker28
5 Jun 2007, 16:09
Yes, looking at the appointment sheet on the RDFL site, i would agree strongly! Time for some to 'pack up shop' and move out! Pace of the game is to much for these blokes now!

matt_nicholls
5 Jun 2007, 16:13
Yes, looking at the appointment sheet on the RDFL site, i would agree strongly! Time for some to 'pack up shop' and move out! Pace of the game is to much for these blokes now!

Good to see Gilesy umpire in the Romsey v Lancefield game on Sunday. He knows what is going on.

Can't say the same about one R. Semmens though.

Itsmyshow
5 Jun 2007, 16:24
What's the go with the RDFL & Roos sites at the moment? home page not opening. You'ld have your finger on the pulse IMS..

Main server down for repair, happens once a week...

anniswan
5 Jun 2007, 16:24

Please don't send him back to the juniors!

Itsmyshow
5 Jun 2007, 16:27
Good to see Gilesy umpire in the Romsey v Lancefield game on Sunday. He knows what is going on.

Damn straight.. Good on ya Gilesy...

Semmo was great at Lancefield... Kept the game interesting for us spectators there for the fun of the game... :D

Hawker28
5 Jun 2007, 16:30
Imagine if you got both in the one game! :eek:http://1000smilies.com/animated/crying.gif

matt_nicholls
5 Jun 2007, 16:38
OFFICIAL PRESS RELEASE FROM THE OFFICES OF MATTHEW NICHOLLS

Dear BigFooty fans,

Today I made the first step to join the dark side.

Yes, I put my hand up to become an umpire.

After breaking my wrist and facing the possibility that it will never fully heal, I decided to make the call to umpire in the RDFL juniors.

A conflict of interest and my career would disallow me to do the seniors, so I apologise to all those interested in a laugh on a Saturday.

I hope that I have your support and that other readers may be encouraged to join.

Sincerely,

Matt Nicholls

Trueblueroo
5 Jun 2007, 17:21
You just love giving people more reason's to dislike you, dont you Matt?

Itsmyshow
5 Jun 2007, 18:03

Dear BigFooty fans,

After breaking my wrist and facing the possibility that it will never fully heal, I decided to make the call to umpire in the RDFL juniors.

A conflict of interest and my career would disallow me to do the seniors, so I apologise to all those interested in a laugh on a Saturday.

I hope that I have your support and that other readers may be encouraged to join.

Sincerely,

Matt Nicholls

Good on you pickles.. We need more retired players to take up umpiring I reckon..... Or at least have the aggets to try....

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: up all round I say...

Plus now I can abuse you... Bwahahahahaha

blues12
5 Jun 2007, 18:16

'pack up shop' and move out! who will move in? yes the pace of the game is getting quicker but these experienced umpires need to teach the up and comers, some of the younger brigade umpiring 2s are still too inexperienced for the next level. sometimes you need to put up with one generation until the next is ready to take over.
As for Giles did he do the 1s? i noticed he wasn't fixtured for the game. I think he is 1 of the best 2s umpires and should be doing the main games. Perhaps a new umpire adviser would free him up and give the comp another good senior umpire.

matt_nicholls
5 Jun 2007, 18:41
Good on you pickles.. We need more retired players to take up umpiring I reckon..... Or at least have the aggets to try....

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: up all round I say...

Plus now I can abuse you... Bwahahahahaha

At least I've played the game, so that will help me a lot I reckon.

My biggest qualm with umpires is that sometimes I don't think they appreciate how difficult some of the skills are in our game.

For example, the holding the ball rule is a doozy. Sometimes you don't have prior opportunity and the bloke can get you in a ripper tackle - but if it is seen you aren't trying to get rid of it (mostly because you can't) then its often paid against you.

Cobber21
5 Jun 2007, 18:44
An example of great umpiring from saturday:

Player got ball off pack right next to boundary line...
looked up...
Had pressure on him, opposition player came at him...
pushed him off "don't argue" (no tackle) right on the boundary line...
went out of bounds...
all within 2 seconds.

Semmo's decision... HOLDING THE BALL!
Can't be pinged if you haven't been tackled.

How is this "fun" as IMS stated?
Words that come to mind are: Annoying, frustrating and disbelief...

OMNIPOTENT_1
5 Jun 2007, 20:12
Good opportunity for you fellas to come and have a look at the Mighty Gisborne Bulldogs v Kyneton at Gisborne this Saturday.

Should be a huge day, with this being the Gisborne football netball clubs "family day". Plenty of things for the kids to do (Eball interactive football, jumping castle, Bungee run, face painting, handball comp and a few more bits and pieces) while you blokes sit at the bar and enjoy the footy.

Always a bit of feeling in theses games (Gisborne, Kyneton) and this week will be no different, should be a cracker.

Yer Right !

Lets all us R.D.F.L. people get along & support the "MIGHTY" Gisborne Football Club.

That Massive Resource Vacuum that for so many years now has been sucking up local talent & support at the expense of the surrounding R.D.F.L. Clubs.

Come on now, let us all dig deep & give to the Club that for as long as one cares to remember has had direct access to the Macedon Ranges Shires unfettered benevolence through their surreptitious cronys entrenched in high places up there !

Have we all so soon forgoten that this was the Club that after incessantly dominating our competition to its almost fatal detriment, they then chose to cast us aside like some poor relative down on their luck in favor of "Fresh Meat" up the highway !

I say, save your petrol & keep your money in your pocket R.D.F.L. people, instead spend double the following week at your own Club,at least that way it'll be going to a worthy cause !

And anyway who really wants to see the "MIGHTY" Gisborne do to poor old Kyneton what they did to the R.D.F.L. ?

Oh & my tip................................... a 20 to 30 goal flogging !

bomber39
5 Jun 2007, 21:12
Must be taken into account that its very hard to attract any umpires to take on the role. Let alone good ones. Look at the AFl for instance they are superb umpires but the do make a hell of a lot of mistakes.

I do agree the best situation would be to have reitring players coming back to umpire.

Possibley well repected retirees as every league has plenty of highly respected past players well n truly capable of taking on the role.

Halffullonfence
5 Jun 2007, 21:14
Yer Right !

Lets all us R.D.F.L. people get along & support the "MIGHTY" Gisborne Football Club.

That Massive Resource Vacuum that for so many years now has been sucking up local talent & support at the expense of the surrounding R.D.F.L. Clubs.

Come on now, let us all dig deep & give to the Club that for as long as one cares to remember has had direct access to the Macedon Ranges Shires unfettered benevolence through their surreptitious cronys entrenched in high places up there !

Have we all so soon forgoten that this was the Club that after incessantly dominating our competition to its almost fatal detriment, they then chose to cast us aside like some poor relative down on their luck in favor of "Fresh Meat" up the highway !

I say, save your petrol & keep your money in your pocket R.D.F.L. people, instead spend double the following week at your own Club,at least that way it'll be going to a worthy cause !

And anyway who really wants to see the "MIGHTY" Gisborne do to poor old Kyneton what they did to the R.D.F.L. ?

And your word of the day is????

Halffullonfence
5 Jun 2007, 21:21
An example of great umpiring from saturday:

Player got ball off pack right next to boundary line...
looked up...
Had pressure on him, opposition player came at him...
pushed him off "don't argue" (no tackle) right on the boundary line...
went out of bounds...
all within 2 seconds.

Semmo's decision... HOLDING THE BALL!
Can't be pinged if you haven't been tackled.

How is this "fun" as IMS stated?
Words that come to mind are: Annoying, frustrating and disbelief...

Free kick decision was right "holding the ball' wrong. Did have a chance but took the boundry line after "don't argue" (prior opp).

Was an interesting day watching both coaches boxes shaking their heads in disbelief most off the day.

OMNIPOTENT_1
5 Jun 2007, 21:30
And your word of the day is????

A U D A C I T Y !

Dasher_23
5 Jun 2007, 23:04
Free kick decision was right "holding the ball' wrong. Did have a chance but took the boundry line after "don't argue" (prior opp).

Was an interesting day watching both coaches boxes shaking their heads in disbelief most off the day. The third quarter was close to the worst umpiring I have seen with the worst coming last year from the same umpire. They made 3 woeful decisions all followed by 50 metre penalties in the 3rd quarter alone. Then in the last quarter he gave a couple of howlers the other way so it even out a bit. The worst part is that the umpire in question gets off on the criticism he recieves.

Dont want to crucify umpires because they are hard to find but your better off tossing a coin than going off certain umpires rulings.

joeblow2
5 Jun 2007, 23:38
'pack up shop' and move out! who will move in? yes the pace of the game is getting quicker but these experienced umpires need to teach the up and comers, some of the younger brigade umpiring 2s are still too inexperienced for the next level. sometimes you need to put up with one generation until the next is ready to take over.
As for Giles did he do the 1s? i noticed he wasn't fixtured for the game. I think he is 1 of the best 2s umpires and should be doing the main games. Perhaps a new umpire adviser would free him up and give the comp another good senior umpire.
B12 we're all for experienced umpires mentoring the up and comers, as long as they understand the game! The umpires in question don't seem to.

anniswan
6 Jun 2007, 00:21

Dear BigFooty fans,

Just don't look to the Simmos for advice please. Take a good look at Paul Ross and Ted Cassen, they are very good umpires in the junior league

billylid
6 Jun 2007, 09:06

Was an interesting day watching both coaches boxes shaking their heads in disbelief most off the day.

your got to be joking hFF if you think that holding the ball decision was correct you just lose all creditability, i will assume your just trying to plays devil advocate.. Im not saying the umpiring was one sided becuase it wasnt and im sure both coaches would have been none the wiser

Itsmyshow
6 Jun 2007, 09:33
your got to be joking hFF if you think that holding the ball decision was correct you just lose all creditability, i will assume your just trying to plays devil advocate.. Im not saying the umpiring was one sided becuase it wasnt and im sure both coaches would have been none the wiser

Billy... Read it again... HFF said that a free kick was there, but it wasn't holding the ball... :thumbsu:

Itsmyshow
6 Jun 2007, 09:35
Yer Right !

Very, Very good point...

BUT THEY HAVE BOURBON!!!!!!!! :eek:

Trueblueroo
6 Jun 2007, 09:45
Your 'Bourbon' stock will be running dry when you have to start forking out for nappies, clothing and strollers lol! Now i know why your so thirsty as of late! HAHAHAHA

Hawker28
6 Jun 2007, 09:50
Just don't look to the Simmos for advice please. Take a good look at Paul Ross and Ted Cassen, they are very good umpires in the junior league

Love it! A politician attacking an umpire! Now thats a perfect match! Perhaps you could put your hand up and become a umpire Anne?

No attack at yourself, but you seem to have a good understanding of the game and development knowledge!

Itsmyshow
6 Jun 2007, 10:15
Your 'Bourbon' stock will be running dry when you have to start forking out for nappies, clothing and strollers lol! Now i know why your so thirsty as of late! HAHAHAHA

Nah... Mongrel already told me he would shout me.. .:D

Trueblueroo
6 Jun 2007, 10:49
Nah... Mongrel already told me he would shout me.. .:D

HAHA, he might be able to dig ya up stroller or two for ya as well lol!;)

I hear we have a fair crew heading to Gardiner on Saturday is that correct?

Trueblueroo
6 Jun 2007, 10:50
Love it! A politician attacking an umpire! Now thats a perfect match! Perhaps you could put your hand up and become a umpire Anne?

No attack at yourself, but you seem to have a good understanding of the game and development knowledge!

Bit rough, would have thought she does her fair bit for junior football in the area as is.....

Congrats on the young bloke to!

Mongrel
6 Jun 2007, 11:23
Yer Right !

ha ha ha ha.ah the mighty potent 1. right on the money as usual:thumbsu:

Itsmyshow
6 Jun 2007, 11:31
ha ha ha ha.ah the mighty potent 1. right on the money as usual:thumbsu:

om·nip·o·tent (Pronounce - om níppatant)

adjective Definition: all-powerful: possessing complete, unlimited, or universal power and authority

Sounds more like me than you OMNI...

BrownDog2
6 Jun 2007, 13:19

who was that short umpire that umpired Macedon u18's on Saturday? He's very good. I've seem him do plenty of Senior matches, he's wasted doing the early games

Gemini17
6 Jun 2007, 13:46
Imagine if you got both in the one game! :eek:http://1000smilies.com/animated/crying.gif

It has happened. Lancefield vs Melton Central 2005. 3 Centrals players sent off in the space of 5 minutes in 2nd 1/4 - none reported.

Must admit though, WRFL umpires are far worse. If a pack forms more than 20 mt away, they blow the whistle and pay a free kick as they are too fat/lazy to run in and ball it up!

Cobber21
6 Jun 2007, 13:53

Last year: Diggers Rest v Rockbank.
Fox Footy Crew were there and filmed the game because the Semmens bro's reached some milestone. It did make it on to Fox Footy.

Halffullonfence
6 Jun 2007, 17:55
[quote=BrownDog2;7756354]who was that short umpire that umpired Macedon u18's on Saturday? He's very good. I've seem him do plenty of Senior matches, he's wasted doing the early games[/quote

His name i'm not sure but I think he has taken a mentor role with up and coming umpires umpiring in the 18's. Asked him a while back why he wasn't doing seniors "somthing about leg injuries/soreness". Agree he is a good umpire.

Halffullonfence
6 Jun 2007, 17:58

Correct decision would have been deliberately out of bounds.
I think Simmo was so keen to give cats a free he just called anything!!!

joeblow2
6 Jun 2007, 18:57
Correct decision would have been deliberately out of bounds.
I think Simmo was so keen to give cats a free he just called anything!!!
Simmo? NEVER!:rolleyes:

bearsboy
6 Jun 2007, 19:09
Yer Right !

Oh & my tip................................... a 20 to 30 goal flogging !Some very bitter (and gutless) comments there, i'm guessing the club your involved in hasnt had to much success in the past. (i doubt you'll tell me which club that would be)

Care to elaborate on your ridiculous highlighted comments ?

Halffullonfence
6 Jun 2007, 21:37
Some very bitter (and gutless) comments there, i'm guessing the club your involved in hasnt had to much success in the past. (i doubt you'll tell me which club that would be)

Come on BB don't for a second think that Gisborne don't offer RDFL "kids" to come across to Gissy. We have been down this road before and you refuse to acknowledge the players that have come from RDFL clubs to play at Gissy. Saying they are local or went to school at Gisborne. No high school at Riddell, Macedon, Romsey so that is a false a statement.

Having played at the "Rook" and brother being a past senior coach of the club, I have no axe to grind.

Omni living in the area for the past 40 odd years and played against Gisborne in their best era J Fitzy, G Kays etc so he knows how good they were.

Please don't insult our knowledge of things local with your usuall replies.

OMNIPOTENT_1
6 Jun 2007, 22:01
Some very bitter (and gutless) comments there, i'm guessing the club your involved in hasnt had to much success in the past. (i doubt you'll tell me which club that would be)

Should I bite ?

Should I respond to this obviously ignorant, arrogant, audatious Gisborne Philistine ?

Should I dignify to him comments that are so patently obvious to every Macedon Ranges football follower not connected to the "Centre of the Earth Football Club" ?

I know I'll do better that that, I'll give you just another example of just what it means to be "Gisborne"............................................................ ............................................................ ...It means you can treat your opposition with utter disdain by starting your senior side with the Forwards playing back & your Backs playing forward.

True Story !

So please I'm anything but bitter, just a very perspicaciously informed Macedon Ranges local that aint affraid to tell it like it is !

Now go peddle your fund raising in your own one sided leagues forum pal & leave us poor R.D.F.L. people to our own devices !

Here Endeth The Lesson.

bearsboy
6 Jun 2007, 22:21
Come on BB don't for a second think that Gisborne don't offer RDFL "kids" to come across to Gissy. We have been down this road before and you refuse to acknowledge the players that have come from RDFL clubs to play at Gissy. Saying they are local or went to school at Gisborne. No high school at Riddell, Macedon, Romsey so that is a false a statement.

Having played at the "Rook" and brother being a past senior coach of the club, I have no axe to grind.

Omni living in the area for the past 40 odd years and played against Gisborne in their best era J Fitzy, G Kays etc so he knows how good they were.

Please don't insult our knowledge of things local with your usuall replies.What the hell are you talking about ? What does your brother or you playing at Bullengarook or omni playing 25 years ago and knowing how good Gisborne were have anything to do with what i asked him ?

Could you by any chance throw up the names of the players and what Gisborne "offered" to them. You have know idea at all, you are obviously unaware of how many kids from RDFL clubs approach us so they can play at a club that offers a little more professionalism than your average RDFL club . Your Knowledge of the game seems to be fairly limited, surely you wouldnt deny these kids a chance at playing at a better level than the Riddell league.

Not sure why your harsh on Gisborne mate, didnt we give you guys a chop out last year when you were short for players ?

bearsboy
6 Jun 2007, 22:48
Should I bite ?

Should I respond to this obviously ignorant, arrogant, audatious Gisborne Philistine ?

Should I dignify to him comments that are so patently obvious to every Macedon Ranges football follower not connected to the "Centre of the Earth Football Club" ?

I know I'll do better that that, I'll give you just another example of just what it means to be "Gisborne"............................................................ ............................................................ ...It means you can treat your opposition with utter disdain by starting your senior side with the Forwards playing back & your Backs playing forward.

True Story !

So please I'm anything but bitter, just a very perspicaciously informed Macedon Ranges local that aint affraid to tell it like it is !

Now go peddle your fund raising in your own one sided leagues forum pal & leave us poor R.D.F.L. people to our own devices !

Here Endeth The Lesson.So i was right, starved of success at your own club, so you have nothing better to do than pot one of the most successful football clubs in country Victoria that quietly goes about its business year in year out and is continually promoting its youth.

You didnt get any where near answering my questions about your stupid comments or which club you follow in the RDFL (maybe your to ashamed)

Also, whats a leason ?

OMNIPOTENT_1
6 Jun 2007, 23:00
Very, Very good point...

BUT THEY HAVE BOURBON!!!!!!!! :eek:

So does the A.T.O. pal, on their "Family Day" !

OMNIPOTENT_1
6 Jun 2007, 23:11
So i was right, starved of success at your own club, so you have nothing better to do than pot one of the most successful football clubs in country Victoria that quietly goes about its business year in year out and is continually promoting its youth.

You didnt get any where near answering my questions about your stupid comments or which club you follow in the RDFL (maybe your to ashamed)

Also, whats a leason ?

That all you got you fool !
Its hitting the key next to the one you want, thats what it is !
Thanks for the proof read.

& I follow Macedon, Riddell, Sunbury, Romsey, Kilmore, Diggers, Melton, Rockbank ect ect.....................
I love em all !

bearsboy
6 Jun 2007, 23:22
That all you got you fool !
Its hitting the key next to the one you want you, thats what it is !
Thanks for the proof read.To embarrased to name your own club, you should be ashamed of yourself.

Its all good and well for you to get on here and try and shoot down Gisborne but cant even name your own club, what a joke !:thumbsd::thumbsd:

OMNIPOTENT_1
6 Jun 2007, 23:34
To embarrased to name your own club, you should be ashamed of yourself.

Its all good and well for you to get on here and try and shoot down Gisborne but cant even name your own club, what a joke !:thumbsd::thumbsd:

Cant you read, are you really that stupid ? I DONT FOLLOW "A" CLUB !

I FOLLOW THE R.D.F.L. !

Is that just to much of a foreign concept for your challenged intellect to accept ?

Hawker28
7 Jun 2007, 08:51
To embarrased to name your own club, you should be ashamed of yourself.

come on sharpy.we all know gisborne chase the local talent.they always have.and yes they are playing at a better standard.BUT....
Dont forget we we all come from.the RDFL

bearsboy
7 Jun 2007, 09:45
come on sharpy.we all know gisborne chase the local talent.they always have.and yes they are playing at a better standard.BUT....
Dont forget we we all come from.the RDFLCould you give me some examples of players we have "chased".

Have a good look at the amount of Gisborne Juniors playing in the RDFL, that were "chased" by Riddell league clubs and in alot of cases being paid good money. Riddell, Macedon, Woodend, Kangaroos, Lancefield, Romsey and possibly more all have some former Gisborne players.

How did i get caught in the middle of this anyway ?

I only asked if you boys wanted to come over and have a beer on Saturday. (and offered a discount) :thumbsu:

Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 09:46
BB... Be very careful coming into another league's forum and pushing an agenda that you should easily know would not be very popular here.

I noticed that you mentioned giving up players to "give a chop out" are they the same players that the coach said "if you go and play there you will not play finals for us!!" Not much of a chop out if you ask me... Even your arch nemisis Sunbury Lions actually gave a chop out when they offered, so the Gissy way seemed a little more of a Cop Out to me...

Is a person not able to "support" a league and the football played in it? Does he have to follow a particular side.. I didn't think this was the case, but ill have a chat to OMNI about picking one side and sticking to it.... :D

This is an RDFL forum, and just as potting the Bendigo FL on thier thread is not acceptable, neither is potting the RDFL here, a league where the almighty and all powerful "Gissy" got thier start....

Thank you for your time. But it is no required in this forum.. Sorta similar to Gisbourne just not being required by the RDFL anymore.. We are doing just fine without you thanks... ;):cool:

Mongrel
7 Jun 2007, 09:52
Could you give me some examples of players we have "chased".

Have a good look at the amount of Gisborne Juniors playing in the RDFL, that were "chased" by Riddell league clubs and in alot of cases being paid good money. Riddell, Macedon, Woodend, Kangaroos, Lancefield, Romsey and possibly more all have some former Gisborne players.

How did i get caught in the middle of this anyway ?

I only asked if you boys wanted to come over and have a beer on Saturday. (and offered a discount) :thumbsu:

how many examples would u like?
ive lost count.

bearsboy
7 Jun 2007, 09:57
BB... Be very careful coming into another league's forum and pushing an agenda that you should easily know would not be very popular here.

I noticed that you mentioned giving up players to "give a chop out" are they the same players that the coach said "if you go and play there you will not play finals for us!!" Not much of a chop out if you ask me... Even your arch nemisis Sunbury Lions actually gave a chop out when they offered, so the Gissy way seemed a little more of a Cop Out to me...

Is a person not able to "support" a league and the football played in it? Does he have to follow a particular side.. I didn't think this was the case, but ill have a chat to OMNI about picking one side and sticking to it.... :D

This is an RDFL forum, and just as potting the Bendigo FL on thier thread is not acceptable, neither is potting the RDFL here, a league where the almighty and all powerful "Gissy" got thier start....

Thank you for your time. But it is no required in this forum.. Sorta similar to Gisbourne just not being required by the RDFL anymore.. We are doing just fine without you thanks... ;):cool:Some of you blokes on here are kidding, what agenda ? When have i ever potted the RDFL ? and i have no problem with someone supporting a league, but i do have a problem with weak gutted people having a crack and making ridiculous comments about the club i'm involved in from behind a computer.

And again please point out were i potted the RDFL

bearsboy
7 Jun 2007, 09:59
how many examples would u like?
ive lost count.Put em up mate, as many as you like.

Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 10:01
Put em up mate, as many as you like.

Eamon Hancock

bearsboy
7 Jun 2007, 10:10
Eamon HancockI have no argument that there are players at Gisborne from RDFL clubs, lets not get carried away with the numbers though boys .

I guess your still looking for the post were i had a crack at the RDFL.

Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 10:10
Some of you blokes on here are kidding, what agenda ? When have i ever potted the RDFL ? and i have no problem with someone supporting a league, but i do have a problem with weak gutted people having a crack and making ridiculous comments about the club i'm involved in from behind a computer.

And again please point out were i potted the RDFL

Are you really that disillusioned????

Every cheap shot you have by calling his side "unsuccessful" is having a shot at our league, because lets be honest with each other now, no matter what club in the RDFL that OMNI mentioned he supported, you would pot them as not being as successful as "Gissy"... So lets be realistic. It is a pointless exercise trying to talk to you about anyone outside of the "Centre of the Universe"...

So lets just leave it there shall we.. You live in your world of domination over a league that outside of the top 3 is 2nd rate and we can live in our world of a competition that has worked its butt off to rebuild and now produces several excellent games of football each week, all worth watching..

And from now on we can all live in our own excellence... :thumbsu::cool:

Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 10:11
I have no argument that there are players at Gisborne from RDFL clubs, lets not get carried away with the numbers though boys .

I guess your still looking for the post were i had a crack at the RDFL.

Read above, every post you make is indirectly potting the RDFL...

bearsboy
7 Jun 2007, 10:48
I'm pretty disapointed with some of the comments being made against Gisborne on here fellas. All i intended to do was mention our family day this week, and ended up getting in a blue with you blokes by defending the Gisborne footy club, Not once did i disrespect this league or any club in it, i wouldnt do that, in fact in the past when Gisborne have had a bye, myself and quite a few others from Gissy have been and supported RDFL games. We have the upmost respect for your comp and the teams in it but its a real shame we arent afforded that same respect by some of you guys.:thumbsd:

Mongrel
7 Jun 2007, 10:52
Put em up mate, as many as you like.

ok firstly i lived in gisborne for over 20 years and i am good friends with their coach and a lot of the players there.i dont have any issue with the players.my distain is for the club.when i was de listed from geelong,it was gisborne that contacted me first.i saw local gun players been pushed aside 4 high paid imports year after year.and it looked as though i was about to become another.i decided to play at macedon with hawkins,mcinernys etc,etc,etc.while gisborne spent up big on the likes of brad fox and co.when they had 5 or 6 local guns that werent of value to them coz they were locals and expected to play for nothing.also i made every 1 of gisbornes player look second rate each time we played.
YET as soon as gisborne went to a "better league" all of a sudden they became so called superstars.to good for the rdfl and too good for half the locals.and perhaps the numerous offers for mark mcinerny to come to gisborne as a onballer for their twos this year further highlights the clubs arrogance and disregard for local talent

matt_nicholls
7 Jun 2007, 10:55
People don't dislike Gisborne because they are successful, people dislike them because many of them are arrogant, cocky and believe the sun shines out of their arse.

There have been many an RDFL young gun poached by the Bulldogs, and in fairness to Gisborne, that's probably very smart of them.

I don't believe Bearsboy deserved some of criticism he got served, but you have to understand that many RDFL people never have and never will like the Gisborne Football Club.

Marcus Barham's decision to play his forwards in defence and backmen in front of goals against a struggling club was sheer arrogance and would have been an extra kick in the guts for Kangaroo Flat.

EDIT: You just posted your comment before mine Mongrel, well said!!!

Trueblueroo
7 Jun 2007, 11:00
I am sitting on the fence with this one!

Yes some people view the fact that Gisborne and Sunbury screwed the RDFL! They did, no disputing that!

However these clubs do offer a higher level of football for our 'guns' players to go on achieve more though!

I understand where Sharpy is coming from as well Mongrel and the others!

No one forced Eamon Hancock or Shane davis to leave there clubs respectively to go to Gisborne! Its a decision made by the player to sign that clerance form!

Some play for money others play for mates, and pride of where they have come form! Its just another form of enticing players by offering coin!

However the gap between the RDFL and both BFL's isn't as much as what is was 4/5 years ago! Where catching up and catching up fast!

Trueblueroo
7 Jun 2007, 11:03
ok firstly i lived in gisborne for over 20 years and i am good friends with their coach and a lot of the players there.i dont have any issue with the players.my distain is for the club.when i was de listed from geelong,it was gisborne that contacted me first.i saw local gun players been pushed aside 4 high paid imports year after year.and it looked as though i was about to become another.i decided to play at macedon with hawkins,mcinernys etc,etc,etc.while gisborne spent up big on the likes of brad fox and co.when they had 5 or 6 local guns that werent of value to them coz they were locals and expected to play for nothing.also i made every 1 of gisbornes player look second rate each time we played.
YET as soon as gisborne went to a "better league" all of a sudden they became so called superstars.to good for the rdfl and too good for half the locals.and perhaps the numerous offers for mark mcinerny to come to gisborne as a onballer for their twos this year further highlights the clubs arrogance and disregard for local talent

Fair call though!!!! Well put togther.....

Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 11:33
I'm pretty disapointed with some of the comments being made against Gisborne on here fellas. All i intended to do was mention our family day this week, and ended up getting in a blue with you blokes by defending the Gisborne footy club, Not once did i disrespect this league or any club in it, i wouldnt do that, in fact in the past when Gisborne have had a bye, myself and quite a few others from Gissy have been and supported RDFL games. We have the upmost respect for your comp and the teams in it but its a real shame we arent afforded that same respect by some of you guys.:thumbsd:

You mentioned family day.. You got a response.. You jumped on the bait... Debate started...

Aker Magic
7 Jun 2007, 11:57
Correct me if I'm wrong here but if my memory serves me correctly, didn't the RDFL award Gisborne to host the 1999 GF, only to discover a little further down the track announce their move to the BFL? A few slightly upset people around RDFL house at the time I recall.

Umpire22
7 Jun 2007, 12:20
now pickle don't get roped into the argument about the gisborne football club, get to the really interesting stuff and tell the boys what you got up too last night.:thumbsu:

matt_nicholls
7 Jun 2007, 12:28
now pickle don't get roped into the argument about the gisborne football club, get to the really interesting stuff and tell the boys what you got up too last night.:thumbsu:

Okay here goes ...

Last night was fantastic. I arrived at MacPherson Park not knowing what to expect. Obviously there was some nerves as it was only two weeks since I potted the RDFLUA in the newspaper.

It was surprising that many knew me from BigFooty (so be careful what you write fellas, they know who you are).

I am still recovering from my broken wrist so didn't bring gear to train, but was debriefed on the role of a junior umpire and then mingled with the ladies and gents when training ended.

Afterwards we all had a meal, talked some garbage etc. Had a yarn with the Semmens boys, and then about seven of us stayed and played poker. (Thanks to Ice for buying me in as I didn't bring any cash).

While I'm sure there will be a conflict of interest at some stage with my line of work, I think I'll enjoy this challenge.

Thanks goes out to blokes such as Ice, Rhys and Gilesy for making it easy for me to fit in.

Looks like my first game will be Sunday week, so any people wanting to come sledge me is welcome. Please know that I have the right to stop the game until you are ejected though fellas :D

Overall, some great blokes and shielas, and I look forward to next Wednesday night. For all those RDFLUA poker players reading this, be on notice that i'll be going one place better next week! Matt Nicholls is no runner-up when it comes to gambling. Isn't that right Mongrel? :thumbsu:

bearsboy
7 Jun 2007, 12:48
You mentioned family day.. You got a response.. You jumped on the bait... Debate started... I wouldnt call it bait. Id call it a gutless attack on our club from a pretty weak individual and your response hasnt been much better.

Regarding my previous posts about me respecting the RDFL, i failed to mention that my company sponsors 3 clubs in this league.

Bearsboy is done on this matter.

Another thing, im not Sharpy

Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 12:49
Okay here goes ...

Last night was fantastic. I arrived at MacPherson Park not knowing what to expect. Obviously there was some nerves as it was only two weeks since I potted the RDFLUA in the newspaper.

It was surprising that many knew me from BigFooty (so be careful what you write fellas, they know who you are).

I am still recovering from my broken wrist so didn't bring gear to train, but was debriefed on the role of a junior umpire and then mingled with the ladies and gents when training ended.

Afterwards we all had a meal, talked some garbage etc. Had a yarn with the Semmens boys, and then about seven of us stayed and played poker. (Thanks to Ice for buying me in as I didn't bring any cash).

While I'm sure there will be a conflict of interest at some stage with my line of work, I think I'll enjoy this challenge.

Thanks goes out to blokes such as Ice, Rhys and Gilesy for making it easy for me to fit in.

Looks like my first game will be Sunday week, so any people wanting to come sledge me is welcome. Please know that I have the right to stop the game until you are ejected though fellas :D

Overall, some great blokes and shielas, and I look forward to next Wednesday night. For all those RDFLUA poker players reading this, be on notice that i'll be going one place better next week! Matt Nicholls is no runner-up when it comes to gambling. Isn't that right Mongrel? :thumbsu:

Maybe next time you bet with Mongrel you could at least make it a fair bet.. Lancefield to beat Rockbank isn't much of a bet....

Trueblueroo
7 Jun 2007, 12:51
Matty, good effort! Just wondering if the two brothers mentioned knew they where topic of convo on this thread for half a week?

Who would know Tony Mokbel was caught with this Gisborne debate going on?

Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 12:52
I wouldnt call it bait. Id call it a gutless attack on our club from a pretty weak individual and your response hasnt been much better.

Regarding my previous posts about me respecting the RDFL, i failed to mention that my company sponsors 3 clubs in this league.

Bearsboy is done on this matter.

Another thing, im not Sharpy

You are kidding yourself mate.... :thumbsd:

Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 12:54
Who would know Tony Mokbel was caught with this Gisborne debate going on?

It wouldn't matter in the Centre of the Universe, they would pot Tony anyway cos they would clearly be able to do anything he does alot better....

Mongrel
7 Jun 2007, 12:58
Okay here goes ...

cant argue there mr nicholls.my wallet is empty now:thumbsu:

matt_nicholls
7 Jun 2007, 13:00
Maybe next time you bet with Mongrel you could at least make it a fair bet.. Lancefield to beat Rockbank isn't much of a bet....

I forgot all about it, and don't really want the cash. But I'm sure the great man would be asking me for it had the Rams caused an upset!

Kings Army
7 Jun 2007, 13:00

Hey Mongrel - congrats on your start to the year.

On the McInerny 2's comment. Marcus got word when he was in Thialand that Mark wanted to join Gissy. He called Mark twice when he returned but did not hear from him. He saw Mark at an intraclub and was really keen for Mark to join Gissy as an midfielder in the 1's. A comment was made but a person who in no longer at the club to come and help the 2's midfield. Marcus was really disappointed by this comment - as he lived opposite Mark for a long time and would never disrepect him and consider him a 2's player.

All the people on here having a crack at BB's should settle down. There is no difference in saying come and see Gissy play this week as there was for the Roos players to get on the Ballarat League and invite everyone to come and see the 1st game of the year at Clarke oval. Why not promote your club? I thought both were good ideas.

There would be alot of people on this sight that are friends of and went to school with players that are playing on Saturday. Therefore - apart from the Bourban - might want to have a look. Calling Gissy arrogant for the success they have had is tall poppy syndrome and should be left alone. Any team in country Vic that has had the success would celebrate like Gissy have. They work hard and have been rewarded.

Good luck for the rest of the year.

matt_nicholls
7 Jun 2007, 13:01
Matty, good effort! Just wondering if the two brothers mentioned knew they where topic of convo on this thread for half a week?

I hope not. :p

Trueblueroo
7 Jun 2007, 13:05
I hope not. :p

Glen Shilling still kicking around?

matt_nicholls
7 Jun 2007, 13:12
Glen Shilling still kicking around?

Shillo is the main junior umpiring man and is the GM of the RDFLUA

bearsboy
7 Jun 2007, 13:27
You are kidding yourself mate.... :thumbsd: In what regard ?

OMNIPOTENT_1
7 Jun 2007, 13:58
In what regard ?

Time for you to leave now.

Mongrel
7 Jun 2007, 14:08

On the McInerny 2's comment. Marcus got word when he was in Thialand that Mark wanted to join Gissy. He called Mark twice when he returned but did not hear from him. He saw Mark at an intraclub and was really keen for Mark to join Gissy as an midfielder in the 1's. A comment was made but a person who in no longer at the club to come and help the 2's midfield. Marcus was really disappointed by this comment - as he lived opposite Mark for a long time and would never disrepect him and consider him a 2's player.

All the people on here having a crack at BB's should settle down. There is no difference in saying come and see Gissy play this week as there was for the Roos players to get on the Ballarat League and invite everyone to come and see the 1st game of the year at Clarke oval. Why not promote your club? I thought both were good ideas.

There would be alot of people on this sight that are friends of and went to school with players that are playing on Saturday. Therefore - apart from the Bourban - might want to have a look. Calling Gissy arrogant for the success they have had is tall poppy syndrome and should be left alone. Any team in country Vic that has had the success would celebrate like Gissy have. They work hard and have been rewarded.

thanx kingy.must catch up soon pal:thumbsu:

OMNIPOTENT_1
7 Jun 2007, 14:12

And thanks too, for your sanitised version of events.

Please excuse us for not considering it just more "Gisborne Gospel" Will you !

Oh & a nice Condescending.............. Good luck to you too.

Trueblueroo
7 Jun 2007, 14:15
I am begining to think there is more behind Omni's writings than what meets the eye perhaps?

joeblow2
7 Jun 2007, 14:18
I am begining to think there is more behind Omni's writings than what meets the eye perhaps?
I think Omni needs a bourbon!

bearsboy
7 Jun 2007, 14:18
Time for you to leave now.Is that so i dont embarrass you any more . I'm done, but lets remember that your the one that started this by making comments that you couldnt back up with any facts.

If you couldnt afford the $5 entry into the family day you should have said something.

Trueblueroo
7 Jun 2007, 14:19
I think Omni needs a bourbon!

Just make sure it's not from Gisborne! :D

blues12
7 Jun 2007, 14:35
If i want to see a game of footy this week i might pop up, thats if my misses lets me.:D at the end of the day it's a game of footy and if you dont want to go there, there are other comps playing this weekend.

OMNIPOTENT_1
7 Jun 2007, 14:35
Is that so i dont embarrass you any more . I'm done, but lets remember that your the one that started this by making comments that you couldnt back up with any facts.

If you couldnt afford the $5 entry into the family day you should have said something.

What are you, The "Opinion Police" now ?

The problem that you Gisborne people so conviently fail to recognise is my opinion is a popularly held one, here around R.D.F.L. football circles !

Mongrel
7 Jun 2007, 14:47
GISBORNE VS RDFL ALL STARS

IMS can u pick a side to possibly play the doggies at the end of the year.
although the rdfl has no chance,lol, i would love to provide the chance for numerous players in the rdfl to show their unrated talents

Trueblueroo
7 Jun 2007, 14:50
What are you, The "Opinion Police" now ?

The problem that you Gisborne people so conviently fail to recognise is my opinion is a popularly held one, here around R.D.F.L. football circles !

Ok, that might be the case but not all Gisborne Poeple are the same and have the same views!

bearsboy
7 Jun 2007, 14:50
If i want to see a game of footy this week i might pop up, thats if my misses lets me.:D at the end of the day it's a game of footy and if you dont want to go there, there are other comps playing this weekend. Best post of the day !

B.O.G
7 Jun 2007, 15:00
hey guys why the hell are we arguing about this gisborne topic, its simple, they come accross as arrogant and bbig headed ect because they have the flags hanging from the rafters, they can talk the talk cause they walked the walked, regardless of weather they have taken some of the talented players from our leauge.

but lets remember, aftewr they have been at the club for a couple of years they end up leaving and coming back to the rdfl, why???
because of the travel, so really the rdfl are the real winners, we get the kids back after spending some time in an elite country leauge, we are the winners, if they liked the club so much they will stay, but its the old argument of is a two's gisborne player (who mite get a ones game in the rdfl) willing to travell up to 3hrs for a game, or would it be easier to play locally??

i say enuf of that topic, i wqas talking to a mate who is a good player in the geelong fl, they just had there inter leauge last week, and he was sayiung that it has lost its appeal due to players not wanting to injure themselves for club footy.

i know that when the rdfl last played inter leauge a few yrs ago, i played 18's and we got smashed by the southern (seniors). would there be any interest in a inter leauge game with a leauge that maybe is country leauge that is round about the same as us?
i know were in metro, but really we would get smashed by any of the other metro leauges in victoria.

if we did go ahead with it, when would we play? QUEENS B-DAY W.END???? or duz that cut into to many ppls drinking sessions?
if it was a middle of the year event, who would be in the team RIGHT NOW, who is worthy of a game, regardless of what happens at the end of the year, who is the rdfl inter leauge team now?

just a thort and debate guys, maybe we could put in teams of who we think would play???

Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 15:04
Is that so i dont embarrass you any more . I'm done, but lets remember that your the one that started this by making comments that you couldnt back up with any facts.

In my view I think it was pretty clear who provided the more valued and fact based opinions in this "Debate" and it certainly wasn't you BB.. But its all irrelevant...
I think that it has been made pretty clear that most on here have no issues with the players, coaches etc of Gissy KA, more the general attitude of the "Club" as a whole.. Remember that there are several other clubs in your district that time and time again have been overlooked for club improvements etc while the power club received the benefit's... I think that is the issue that cuts deeper with alot of people in the "Gissy" area. :thumbsu:

Trueblueroo
7 Jun 2007, 15:05
Does anyone else on this forum feel as though we just keep going aorund in circles?

Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 15:14
RDFL Interleague side...

B - N.Hole (SK) W.Kairns (Rom) W.Else (WH)
HB - R.Johnson (SK) J.Allen (Rid) L.Kemp (Kil)
C - J.Bellville (Rid) M.Robertson (Kil) L.McInerney (SK)
HF - D.Salpietro (WH) G.Ploog (SK) B.Morgan (Rom)
F - M.Allen (Rid) D.Cornish(Kil) S.Sims (DR)
R - S.James (SK) M.McInerney (SK) D.Bonnici (SK)
I - J.Jose (DR), C.Laurie (DR), B.Wheelahan (MC), S.Choate (L), C.Collins (L), J.Climas (Rid), R.Dowling (WH), L.Coles (Rid), K.Bullen (MC), D.Helmers (SK)

My opinion, may have forgotten someone, These are the guys from the games I have seen (Except Riddell, picked on rep).