View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
bearsboy
7 Jun 2007, 15:25
In my view I think it was pretty clear who provided the more valued and fact based opinions in this "Debate" and it certainly wasn't you BB.. But its all irrelevant...
I think that it has been made pretty clear that most on here have no issues with the players, coaches etc of Gissy KA, more the general attitude of the "Club" as a whole.. Remember that there are several other clubs in your district that time and time again have been overlooked for club improvements etc while the power club received the benefit's... I think that is the issue that cuts deeper with alot of people in the "Gissy" area. :thumbsu:Yes i feel im going round in circles here, regarding us poaching players you guys came up with one name (Eamon).Regarding these so called benefits, "Time and time again " you say, back this up with some instances, tell me what have we had that others havent.
You keep on about Gisborne getting and taking "everything" its time you put some facts up or stop talking rubbish.
Hey Mongrel, the stuff you were talking about happened 10 years ago, we are a completely different club now, new players, new commitee (same as Kangaroos) things change, i reckon you blokes should give us a bit of a break !
vantheman32
7 Jun 2007, 15:26
Linton Kemp Chuck him on Half Back flank imo
bearsboy
7 Jun 2007, 15:30
RDFL Interleague side...
B - N.Hole (SK) W.Kairns (Rom) W.Else (WH)
HB - R.Johnson (SK) J.Allen (Rid) L.Kemp (Kil)
C - J.Bellville (Rid) M.Robertson (Kil) L.McInerney (SK)
HF - D.Salpietro (WH) G.Ploog (SK) B.Morgan (Rom)
F - M.Allen (Rid) D.Cornish(Kil) S.Sims (DR)
R - S.James (SK) M.McInerney (SK) D.Bonnici (SK)
I - J.Jose (DR), C.Laurie (DR), B.Wheelahan (MC), S.Choate (L), C.Collins (L), J.Climas (Rid), R.Dowling (WH), L.Coles (Rid), K.Bullen (MC), D.Helmers (SK)
My opinion, may have forgotten someone, These are the guys from the games I have seen (Except Riddell, picked on rep).How do you reckon they'd go against Gissy ?
discoduck
7 Jun 2007, 15:41
do any of you blokes actually work for a living. i jumped on for a quick update on what's going on and had to read through 8 pages of posts to realise that everyone hates gisborne (unless you're from gisborne), pickles is now a maggot and bourbon rules.
i reckon i knew all that before i started.
two days!!!!!
Trueblueroo
7 Jun 2007, 15:42
The Duck with a bit of mid afternoon humour! :thumbsu:
Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 15:43
How do you reckon they'd go against Gissy ?
Competitive... Couldn't say either way, haven't seen much of Gissy this year but on field they are a super side the Doggies....
Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 15:44
Linton Kemp Chuck him on Half Back flank imo
Very good call Van
Trueblueroo
7 Jun 2007, 15:48
Very good call Van
Ill Make an even better call and Say Mongrel for coach and IMS his assistant! If You can't fit Deano in, i couldn't think of a better bloke to coach!
Dean Helmers is your Gary Lyon of the coaching world! Knows a motherload but waits for the right time to put his hand up!
Just a couple of beers will do Deano!;)
Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 15:59
Ill Make an even better call and Say Mongrel for coach and IMS his assistant! If You can't fit Deano in, i couldn't think of a better bloke to coach!
Dean Helmers is your Gary Lyon of the coaching world! Knows a motherload but waits for the right time to put his hand up!
Ssshhhh, it was part of my master plan to sneak Deano in right on the bell to scare the crap out of opposition sides and then tear them apart with footballing ability.. And you have just destroyed it...
matt_nicholls
7 Jun 2007, 16:03
I'll umpire, plus take the photos and write the preview/review :D
Cobber21
7 Jun 2007, 16:18
RDFL Interleague side...
I - J.Jose (DR), C.Laurie (DR), B.Wheelahan (MC), S.Choate (L), C.Collins (L), J.Climas (Rid), R.Dowling (WH), L.Coles (Rid), K.Bullen (MC), D.Helmers (SK)
My opinion, may have forgotten someone, These are the guys from the games I have seen (Except Riddell, picked on rep).
8 Sunbury Players,
5 Riddell,
3 Woodend,
3 Kilmore,
3 Diggers Rest,
2 Romsey,
2 Melton,
2 Lancefield.
Little bit biased?
matt_nicholls
7 Jun 2007, 16:23
8 Sunbury Players,
5 Riddell,
3 Woodend,
3 Kilmore,
3 Diggers Rest,
2 Romsey,
2 Melton,
2 Lancefield.
Little bit biased?
The Roos are on top for a reason. I would add McLellan and take out Sims. Put S. Choate in the forward pocket.
Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 16:24
8 Sunbury Players,
5 Riddell,
3 Woodend,
3 Kilmore,
3 Diggers Rest,
2 Romsey,
2 Melton,
2 Lancefield.
Little bit biased?
Undefeated and on top mate.. So far the best players I have seen in games, call it biased, call it whatever you like, but I think you could ask most on here and they would agree that with teams etc I try my best not to be biased.. This is what I believe to be the best side.
Last year I wouldn't have had Hole, James, L.McInerney, Helmers, Bonnici (3 not in the league last year) in the side.. This year I would... Easily...
Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 16:26
The Roos are on top for a reason. I would add McLellan and take out Sims. Put S. Choate in the forward pocket.
Macca is just finding his feet now in this competition and is getting better every game he plays, by the end of the year I will probably have him in, still has a little more to do.. Sims is still one of the premier players in the comp.. No way he could be left out and would even have a case for skipper....
Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 16:29
8 Sunbury Players,
5 Riddell,
3 Woodend,
3 Kilmore,
3 Diggers Rest,
2 Romsey,
2 Melton,
2 Lancefield.
Little bit biased?
Oh.. And feel free to have a go yourself Cobber :thumbsu::cool:
matt_nicholls
7 Jun 2007, 16:53
This would be my side.
Not necessarily the best 22 players in the league, but a side put together as if they were to play a game.
B: W. Else (W), W. Kairns (Rom), N. Hole (SK).
HB: B. Johnson (SK), J. Allen (Rid), L. Kemp (K).
C: J. Belleville (Rid), M. McInerney (SK), L. McInerney (SK).
HF: G. Ploog (SK), B. Morgan (Rom), S. Choate (L).
F: D. Salpietro (WH), R. Connellan (Rom), D. Cornish (K).
R: S. James (SK), M. Robertson (K), M. McLellan (Rom).
I: B. Wheelahan (MC), C. Collins (L), R. Dowling (WH), J. Jose (DR).
As you can see its very similar to IMS's, I think he was very close to the money.
How do you reckon they'd go against Gissy ?
i have no idea how theyd go bb.but it is an interesting topic.
as for my view about your club earlier.yes it was 10 years ago and u make a fair point.ill button my lip on that topic now.will catch up for a beer with u and kingy soon v.:thumbsu:
billylid
7 Jun 2007, 17:06
This would be my side.
Not necessarily the best 22 players in the league, but a side put together as if they were to play a game.
As you can see its very similar to IMS's, I think he was very close to the money.
no matter who is picked its going to create debate , im going to be completely biased here and say that Damian Janner should be the in a back pocket , not many guys in that backline who could play on a resting rover or a very small forward and also his form/toughness and courage warrants it . Emergencies D. Riely from Diggers Rest and although i rate Belleville as a player and have no doubt he should be in the 22 should he be on the wing???. I agree with IMS C.laurie off the bench can be used as a burst player.
Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 17:13
no matter who is picked its going to create debate , im going to be completely biased here and say that Damian Janner should be the in a back pocket , not many guys in that backline who could play on a resting rover or a very small forward and also his form/toughness and courage warrants it . Emergencies D. Riely from Diggers Rest and although i rate Belleville as a player and have no doubt he should be in the 22 should he be on the wing???. I agree with IMS C.laurie off the bench can be used as a burst player.
Good point Billy.. Janner very stiff...
Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 17:14
This would be my side.
Bonnici not good enough mate???
discoduck
7 Jun 2007, 17:14
who'd make a reserve's interleague team?
i'm fishing for info on my prospective opponents and teammates. :D
Blueboy16
7 Jun 2007, 17:28
Jeremy Newman as Coach. Best coach in the League :eek: :eek: :eek: :thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:
bearsboy
7 Jun 2007, 17:30
RDFL Interleague side...
My opinion, may have forgotten someone, These are the guys from the games I have seen (Except Riddell, picked on rep).A few Gissy boys in there :D
Gee, its been a big day boys, bit of fun, hopefully i'll see a few of you blokes on Saturday Cheering for the Mighty red, white and blue :thumbsu:
I might even shout IMS a bourbon :rolleyes:
Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 17:36
A few Gissy boys in there :D
Gee, its been a big day boys, bit of fun, hopefully i'll see a few of you blokes on Saturday Cheering for the Mighty red, white and blue :thumbsu:
Hey, no matter what.. It might today mighty interesting :D
Cant make it Saturday unfortunately.. Mrs wants to go away, with the time spent on football during the year its only fair I suppose.. Still, would like to be watching a game with a drink for once... Lol :cool:
A few Gissy boys in there :D
you better shout him bb coz theres no way he will pay for himself.
ims has to put money in the bank to provide for his enlarged family:D
footy_nerd
7 Jun 2007, 17:58
I am sitting on the fence with this one!
However the gap between the RDFL and both BFL's isn't as much as what is was 4/5 years ago! Where catching up and catching up fast!
this can't be a serious statement surely. The gap between the top RDFL sides in sunbury and Woodend this year and the bottom ballart league sides is closing ever so slightly, but the gap between the kangaroos and other so called top line sides in the RDFL and top Ballarat sides in the lions, redan and east point is getting bigger by the day. How could anyone from the riddel league seriously think they are a chance of stopping the east point midfield from gift wrapping 20 bullets to jordan at full forward and him kicking a lazy 15, 7 on the right 8 on the left. Nor could any Riddell district team consider themselves a realistic chance of getting within 150 points of Sunbury. In fact the best riddell district team that seems to be generating such debate on this forum would consider themselves fortunate if they only got beat by 15 goals by any of the top BFL sides.
Blueboy16
7 Jun 2007, 18:04
this can't be a serious statement surely. The gap between the top RDFL sides in sunbury and Woodend this year and the bottom ballart league sides is closing ever so slightly, but the gap between the kangaroos and other so called top line sides in the RDFL and top Ballarat sides in the lions, redan and east point is getting bigger by the day. How could anyone from the riddel league seriously think they are a chance of stopping the east point midfield from gift wrapping 20 bullets to jordan at full forward and him kicking a lazy 15, 7 on the right 8 on the left. Nor could any Riddell district team consider themselves a realistic chance of getting within 150 points of Sunbury. In fact the best riddell district team that seems to be generating such debate on this forum would consider themselves fortunate if they only got beat by 15 goals by any of the top BFL sides.
I think you may find that BFL = Bendigo Football League not Ballarat
the comment was referring to the bendigo football league nerd.plus the rdfl players hardly get paid.comparing the two is something only a person with your name would do.the rdfl players dont have to stop redans midfield either.because in case your slow,they dont play in the ballarat league.it would be like me saying how could redans midfield stop port adelaides midfield.sounds stupid doesnt it:thumbsd:
I think you may find that BFL = Bendigo Football League not Ballarat
Actually, the original statement was the gap between the RDFL and both BFL's isn't as much.........
shouldnt u be cleaning the toilets at the club now trev?
Kings Army
7 Jun 2007, 18:38
And thanks too, for your sanitised version of events.
Please excuse us for not considering it just more "Gisborne Gospel" Will you !
Oh & a nice Condescending.............. Good luck to you too.
God your a tool - I have known Mongral for a very long time and genuinely hope he and which every team he is at does well. But you read into it what you like - you add no value on this thread with your negative rubbish you write.
And speak for yourself you rabbit "please excuse us" is a cop out. You do not talk for all the people on the RDFL thread as no one has any respect for you. The amount of private messages recieved from people on this thread to both me and Bears Boy making fun of you is a joke.
8 Sunbury Players,
5 Riddell,
3 Woodend,
3 Kilmore,
3 Diggers Rest,
2 Romsey,
2 Melton,
2 Lancefield.
Little bit biased?
bit stiff only 3 woodend players in the side and only 2 romsey
(yes a bit biased),
coach would be giddings
Trueblueroo
7 Jun 2007, 19:39
the comment was referring to the bendigo football league nerd.plus the rdfl players hardly get paid.comparing the two is something only a person with your name would do.the rdfl players dont have to stop redans midfield either.because in case your slow,they dont play in the ballarat league.it would be like me saying how could redans midfield stop port adelaides midfield.sounds stupid doesnt it:thumbsd:
We could start on Sunbury if you like?
However, if Sunbury Kangaroos were forking out close on $100 K on player payments and movements this year im sure we would to be a 20 goal better side to, wouldn't you?
Some players in mind for RDFL clubs next year to look out for
Chris Judd - Out of contract
Matthew Pavlich
Nick Reiwoildt - Rumourerd to be talking with Rockbank ( you will have to take my word for it
Lets all snaffle AFL players and VFL players and be stars!
Im over this rubbish, seriously footy everywhere is different and wherever you go someone will always tell their better!
joeblow2
7 Jun 2007, 20:27
Mustn't be any RDFL games this week. Everyone needs something to talk about.
Cobber21
7 Jun 2007, 21:09
Jeremy Newman as Coach. Best coach in the League :eek: :eek: :eek: :thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:
Well he is the only undefeated coach in the 2's buddy...
Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 21:50
(yes a bit biased),
coach would be giddings
Fair call mate.. Woodend are just so even right across the field this year, its probably why a couple that could have made it didn't, Kar Weng would be a walk up when playing, as would Sippy. Johnno is stiff not to make it, I rate him highly..
Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 21:51
Also has several members of the Diggers Rest senior side from the past couple of years playing for him this year.. Should be undefeated...:thumbsu:
Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 21:52
Feel free to throw something in for us then Joe...
footy mad 2
7 Jun 2007, 22:03
best comment of the week. the amount of s h i t i have read over the last 6 (or however many) pages is a telling sign of the lack of quality football we are all going to miss this weekend. I might even have another on the way after this weekend IMS as i am sure to get lucky after spending the weekend at home:D
rockbank_fan
7 Jun 2007, 22:08
who cares about bfl we only care about rdfl best player i have seen this year would have to be daniel bonnici he is killing i reacon he will be b&f for the rdfl
Crookknee
7 Jun 2007, 22:27
This talk about Gisborne has been going on for years. Successful football clubs always polarise themselves where the average punter is concerned. Same can be said for the Riddells Creek teams of the late eighties-early nineties. A team every one loved to hate. At least Gisborne management have their heads screwed on right, cant see them sitting out a year as the bombers did quite a few years back. I think the bombers learnt the hard way. In saying that, most people associated with Gisborne know that the're not exactly the most loved club around the district, so when a few blokes let that be known I cant see why BB and KA have dirtied up. Me, personally, couldn't give crap. Just let it be known. That if you play for Gisborne, you are still a long way off the A.F.L. And thats a message a lot of people think hasn't sunk in down at the Gardiner Reserve.
Itsmyshow
7 Jun 2007, 22:45
best comment of the week. the amount of s h i t i have read over the last 6 (or however many) pages is a telling sign of the lack of quality football we are all going to miss this weekend. I might even have another on the way after this weekend IMS as i am sure to get lucky after spending the weekend at home:D
Lol.. Can she get pregnant twice??? :eek:
Ding_Dong
7 Jun 2007, 22:54
Are you questioning me???
Played 3 games in 05 and 11 in 06... For 13 goals and 18 goals.. He wore size L shorts and a size 90 jumper, he played mostly out of a forward pocket and has one of the worst haircuts in the RDFL.
Anything else? :D
Worst hairut in RDFL lol....what about toads from Riddell:eek:
Belleville
coach would be giddings
Why? he was out coached 2 weeks ago
I've noticed Peter Baird has put a clearance in from lancefeild to go to sunbury lions, how old would polly be now? would this be sunbury lacking numbers in the 2s, or the old man wanting to play with his young man? not many blokes could say they played with their son in a real match. he was a good player in his day.
Young polly reads this thread, whats the go mate?
This talk about Gisborne has been going on for years. Successful football clubs always polarise themselves where the average punter is concerned. Same can be said for the Riddells Creek teams of the late eighties-early nineties. A team every one loved to hate. At least Gisborne management have their heads screwed on right, cant see them sitting out a year as the bombers did quite a few years back. I think the bombers learnt the hard way. In saying that, most people associated with Gisborne know that the're not exactly the most loved club around the district, so when a few blokes let that be known I cant see why BB and KA have dirtied up. Me, personally, couldn't give crap. Just let it be known. That if you play for Gisborne, you are still a long way off the A.F.L. And thats a message a lot of people think hasn't sunk in down at the Gardiner Reserve.
fantastic call.and i dont think the bagging of gisborne is just due to the tall poppy syndrome and jealousy.coz love them or hate them i think we are all envious of them for their success.but you summed it up perfectly
its not AFL.as for kings army and bears boy,they are only sticking up 4 the club they love,and i can respect that
(yes a bit biased),
coach would be giddings
biased? perhaps it is.but are u being biased naming giddings as coach?
he is doing a great job.but lets be honest anyone could coach their list.
no offence to mick who i rate:eek:
rightfoot_sloth
8 Jun 2007, 09:31
biased? perhaps it is.but are u being biased naming giddings as coach?
he is doing a great job.but lets be honest anyone could coach their list.
no offence to mick who i rate:eek:
Isn't it a well known fact that good coaches get good results with good teams. But great or better coaches get results out of less stronger playing list. I would like to see how Giddings would go coaching a Macedon or a Rockbank ? Then it would be a true test of his ability to recruit and improve the playing list. Not that I don't think he could do it.
OMNIPOTENT_1
8 Jun 2007, 09:36
God your a tool - I have known Mongral for a very long time and genuinely hope he and which every team he is at does well. But you read into it what you like - you add no value on this thread with your negative rubbish you write.
And speak for yourself you rabbit "please excuse us" is a cop out. You do not talk for all the people on the RDFL thread as no one has any respect for you. The amount of private messages recieved from people on this thread to both me and Bears Boy making fun of you is a joke.
(observation)
This purile DRIVEL does'nt merit a response.
Blueboy16
8 Jun 2007, 09:42
Doesn't do too much. The Senior coach runs the show. You would expect the team to be undefeated with the senior guys playing in the side at the moment. Come finals time we all know the old thoat tightens up.
Blueboy16
8 Jun 2007, 09:43
Also has several members of the Diggers Rest senior side from the past couple of years playing for him this year.. Should be undefeated...:thumbsu:
Sorry IMS didn't read your comment before I posted. :D
Isn't it a well known fact that good coaches get good results with good teams. But great or better coaches get results out of less stronger playing list. I would like to see how Giddings would go coaching a Macedon or a Rockbank ? Then it would be a true test of his ability to recruit and improve the playing list. Not that I don't think he could do it.
perfect example.jarrod dixon took over the reigns at kanga land 3 years ago.we have all played against the kangas and would agree that they were rabble.and in 3 years the club is like a different world.discipline off the field,new recruits,great teaching of the kids,new ideas,tactical game plans etc.and within the next 5 years the club will be an empire in this league.he hasnt done it alone,but a huge chunk of the credit should be for him.thats the sort of coach i think u were referring to rightfoot sloth
matt_nicholls
8 Jun 2007, 10:45
Bonnici not good enough mate???
Whoops, obvious player left out. I guess there's no room for Macca then.
couldnt ya find a pocket 4 the veteran?:D
matt_nicholls
8 Jun 2007, 10:55
couldnt ya find a pocket 4 the veteran?:D
Sorry Mongrel, I'll reserve my judgement on you until after the season. Still a freak though, wait till finals everyone, I'm sure you'll stand up!
but the games against gissy.i might not be in the best 18,but i wanna play
ha ha ha:D
Itsmyshow
8 Jun 2007, 12:11
but the games against gissy.i might not be in the best 18,but i wanna play
ha ha ha:D
Trust me.. When Mongrel gets a taste and starts making statements like this he cant... Nay.. HE MUST NOT be left out of the starting line up.. :D
we all know that a reserve team wouldnt work, but not a bad topic, who is playing some good footy for their twos teams, looking to get into their senior sides?
any stand outs for each team running around in the twos?
come close to finals time and injuries these players might be quite important come close to september?
so who is out there????
vantheman32
8 Jun 2007, 12:15
Big Footys very own James House is Number 6 in Sunburys Hottest Males! Put your hands together for James, well done house party looking good!
of the people who submitted their inter leauge teams?
how much difference do u think there will be come team of the year?
as i read in post someone placed some players solely on rep not what they have done on the field.
would players be welcoming to play inter leauge?
if yes who would be a worthy opponent?
if no whats the reason?
the only reason i can see is that it will take our only break away from us, many-most leauges didnt start on time like us so thay have to play right though.
Itsmyshow
8 Jun 2007, 12:17
we all know that a reserve team wouldnt work, but not a bad topic, who is playing some good footy for their twos teams, looking to get into their senior sides?
any stand outs for each team running around in the twos?
come close to finals time and injuries these players might be quite important come close to september?
so who is out there????
I reckon Gav Jenkins and Jimmy McGrath both coming back in the next couple of weeks will lift the Roos and turn the season a little... :thumbsu:
rightfoot_sloth
8 Jun 2007, 12:24
perfect example.jarrod dixon took over the reigns at kanga land 3 years ago.we have all played against the kangas and would agree that they were rabble.and in 3 years the club is like a different world.discipline off the field,new recruits,great teaching of the kids,new ideas,tactical game plans etc.and within the next 5 years the club will be an empire in this league.he hasnt done it alone,but a huge chunk of the credit should be for him.thats the sort of coach i think u were referring to rightfoot sloth
Agreed Mongrel. Jarrod has done a good job but I feel his major strength has been player retention. He wouldn't have lost too many kids since they played under his reign in the 18's. Guys like Welsh and Ploog are a testament to this. Then he incorporated them with the older heads around the club and some outsiders. Then create a cohesive unit which is unbeaten at this stage is a fantastic effort. :thumbsu:
I reckon Gav Jenkins and Jimmy McGrath both coming back in the next couple of weeks will lift the Roos and turn the season a little... :thumbsu:
so it looks like the roos will only get stronger. what sort of positions do these guys play???
what about other teams?
surely there must be a few players in contention to playing seniors at other clubs?
billylid
8 Jun 2007, 13:04
I think you are forgetting the most important player to come back to the kangas line up One Ben Burridge out and out superstar and club steward. Very underatted player can play on the talls and on the smalls , look forward to see how he goes when he gets back.. Thought i hadnt seen jimmy round 1 what is his story ... INJURY????
matt_nicholls
8 Jun 2007, 14:16
My mid-season top 30
AFTER seven rounds in the RDFL senior competition, I list my best 30 players at this stage of the season, comparing them from my pre-season Top 30.
1. Daniel Bonnici (Sunbury Kangaroos) NEW.
2. Matt Robertson (Kilmore) Up 1 position.
3. Mark McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos) Up 3.
4. Michael Allen (Riddell) Up 8.
5. Brydon Morgan (Romsey) Up 12.
6. Cole Laurie (Diggers Rest) Down 1.
7. Linton Kemp (Kilmore) Up 8.
8. Steve James (Sunbury Kangaroos) NEW.
9. Jason Allen (Riddell) Up 1.
10. Matt McLellan (Romsey) Up 18.
11. Leigh McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos) Up 2.
12. Justin Belleville (Riddell) Up 8.
13. Matt Stacey (Woodend-Hesket) NEW.
14. Shaun Sims (Diggers Rest) Down 12.
15. Garth Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos) Up 1.
16. Adam Johnstone (Woodend-Hesket) Up 13.
17. Warren Else (Woodend-Hesket) Up 7.
18. Chris Collins (Lancefield) Down 14.
19. Ryan Connellan (Romsey) Down 11.
20. Jeremy Jose (Diggers Rest) Down 11.
21. Daniel Salpietro (Woodend-Hesket) NEW.
22. David Cornish (Kilmore) NEW.
23. Rick Dowling (Woodend-Hesket) NEW.
24. Ben Nettlebeck (Romsey) NEW.
25. Bobby Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos) Unchanged.
26. Leigh Coles (Riddell) Down 4.
27. Simon Choate (Lancefield) Down 9.
28. Brian Wheelahan (Melton Central) NEW.
29. Luke Walker (Rockbank) NEW.
30. Luke Edwards (Romsey) Down 16.
WHOS NEW
Daniel Bonnici Averaging around 30 disposals a match and is the Kangaroos key ingredient in the midfield.
Steve James Sunbury Kangaroos are on top because of James presence in the ruck.
Matt Stacey Will be leading Woodend-Heskets best and fairest at this stage, is dominating in the ruck and around the ground.
Daniel Salpietro Kicking goals and finding plenty of the ball for the Hawks.
Rick Dowling Should have been in the pre-season Top 30, all class in the forward pocket.
Ben Nettlebeck The former Riddell midfield has battled injury this season, but has proved his class for the Redbacks.
Brian Wheelahan The key performer every week for Melton Central. Needs more support.
Luke Walker Continues to give the opposition headaches, despite playing in a poorly performed side.
WHOS MISSING
Notable exclusions from my pre-season Top 30 are:
Daniel Sipthorp (Woodend-Hesket) Yet to play due to injury.
Steve Burlak (Romsey) - Injured and poor form.
Kar Weng Ng (Woodend-Hesket) Been overseas.
Steve Ruane (Diggers Rest) Isnt having the greatest of years since winning the Bowen Medal.
Chris Payne (Diggers Rest) Has been banished to the reserves.
Matt Senyschyn (Kilmore) Shoulder injury.
Dean Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos) Starting to find his fitness, expect him to be in my end of season Top 30.
Chris Kakoschke (Lancefield) Hasnt delivered on his practice match form. Still been a good contributor for the Tigers though.
Sam Bowen (Woodend-Hesket) Struggled for consistency.
My pre-season Top 30
1. Daniel Sipthorp (Woodend-Hesket)
2. Shaun Sims (Diggers Rest)
3. Matt Robertson (Kilmore)
4. Chris Collins (Lancefield)
5. Cole Laurie (Diggers Rest)
6. Mark McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
7. Steve Burlak (Romsey)
8. Ryan Connellan (Romsey)
9. Jeremy Jose (Diggers Rest)
10. Jason Allen (Riddell)
11. Kar Weng Ng (Woodend-Hesket)
12. Michael Allen (Riddell)
13. Leigh McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
14. Luke Edwards (Romsey)
15. Linton Kemp (Kilmore)
16. Garth Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
17. Brydon Morgan (Romsey)
18. Simon Choate (Lancefield)
19. Steve Ruane (Diggers Rest)
20. Justin Bellville (Riddell)
21. Chris Payne (Diggers Rest)
22. Leigh Coles (Riddell)
23. Matt Senyschyn (Kilmore)
24. Warren Else (Woodend-Hesket)
25. Bobby Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos)
26. Chris Kakoschke (Lancefield)
27. Dean Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos)
28. Matt McLellan (Romsey)
29. Adam Johnstone (Woodend-Hesket)
30. Sam Bowen (Woodend-Hesket)
Itsmyshow
8 Jun 2007, 14:30
I think you are forgetting the most important player to come back to the kangas line up One Ben Burridge out and out superstar and club steward. Very underatted player can play on the talls and on the smalls , look forward to see how he goes when he gets back.. Thought i hadnt seen jimmy round 1 what is his story ... INJURY????
Yeah, injured... Benny is another for sure.. But he is still aways off at this stage...
Itsmyshow
8 Jun 2007, 14:37
Matt,
Do you realise its not midseason yet???
discoduck
8 Jun 2007, 14:45
My mid-season top 30
AFTER seven rounds in the RDFL senior competition, I list my best 30 players at this stage of the season, comparing them from my pre-season Top 30.
1. Daniel Bonnici (Sunbury Kangaroos) – NEW.
2. Matt Robertson (Kilmore) – Up 1 position.
3. Mark McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Up 3.
4. Michael Allen (Riddell) – Up 8.
5. Brydon Morgan (Romsey) – Up 12.
6. Cole Laurie (Diggers Rest) – Down 1.
7. Linton Kemp (Kilmore) – Up 8.
8. Steve James (Sunbury Kangaroos) – NEW.
9. Jason Allen (Riddell) – Up 1.
10. Matt McLellan (Romsey) – Up 18.
11. Leigh McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Up 2.
12. Justin Belleville (Riddell) – Up 8.
13. Matt Stacey (Woodend-Hesket) – NEW.
14. Shaun Sims (Diggers Rest) – Down 12.
15. Garth Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Up 1.
16. Adam Johnstone (Woodend-Hesket) – Up 13.
17. Warren Else (Woodend-Hesket) – Up 7.
18. Chris Collins (Lancefield) – Down 14.
19. Ryan Connellan (Romsey) – Down 11.
20. Jeremy Jose (Diggers Rest) – Down 11.
21. Daniel Salpietro (Woodend-Hesket) – NEW.
22. David Cornish (Kilmore) – NEW.
23. Rick Dowling (Woodend-Hesket) – NEW.
24. Ben Nettlebeck (Romsey) – NEW.
25. Bobby Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Unchanged.
26. Leigh Coles (Riddell) – Down 4.
27. Simon Choate (Lancefield) – Down 9.
28. Brian Wheelahan (Melton Central) – NEW.
29. Luke Walker (Rockbank) – NEW.
30. Luke Edwards (Romsey) – Down 16.
WHO’S NEW
Daniel Bonnici – Averaging around 30 disposals a match and is the Kangaroos’ key ingredient in the midfield.
Steve James – Sunbury Kangaroos are on top because of James’ presence in the ruck.
Matt Stacey – Will be leading Woodend-Hesket’s best and fairest at this stage, is dominating in the ruck and around the ground.
Daniel Salpietro – Kicking goals and finding plenty of the ball for the Hawks.
Rick Dowling – Should have been in the pre-season Top 30, all class in the forward pocket.
Ben Nettlebeck – The former Riddell midfield has battled injury this season, but has proved his class for the Redbacks.
Brian Wheelahan – The key performer every week for Melton Central. Needs more support.
Luke Walker – Continues to give the opposition headaches, despite playing in a poorly performed side.
WHO’S MISSING
Daniel Sipthorp (Woodend-Hesket) – Yet to play due to injury.
Kar Weng Ng (Woodend-Hesket) – Been overseas.
Steve Ruane (Diggers Rest) – Isn’t having the greatest of years since winning the Bowen Medal.
Chris Payne (Diggers Rest) – Has been banished to the reserves.
Matt Senyschyn (Kilmore) – Shoulder injury.
Dean Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Starting to find his fitness, expect him to be in my end of season Top 30.
Chris Kakoschke (Lancefield) – Hasn’t delivered on his practice match form. Still been a good contributor for the Tigers though.
Sam Bowen (Woodend-Hesket) – Struggled for consistency.
My pre-season Top 30
7. Steve Burlak (Romsey)
excitable little fella, aren't you pickles?????? a slow day at the free press?
From my own experiences not too many fast one's . . . . . 4-5 sport pages and a week to fill em means a lot of time surfing the net hey Matt me ;)
matt_nicholls
8 Jun 2007, 16:07
From my own experiences not too many fast one's . . . . . 4-5 sport pages and a week to fill em means a lot of time surfing the net hey Matt me ;)
I don't only do sport though doon.
Plus fellas, this is as close to the midseason break as we will get.
No RDFL to report on this week so gotta fill the pages in somehow.
Itsmyshow
8 Jun 2007, 16:21
I don't only do sport though doon.
Plus fellas, this is as close to the midseason break as we will get.
No RDFL to report on this week so gotta fill the pages in somehow.
Nope.. I reckon we will be closer to the midseason break at the conclusion of Round 9 myself :D
Dasher_23
8 Jun 2007, 18:43
Doesn't do too much. The Senior coach runs the show. You would expect the team to be undefeated with the senior guys playing in the side at the moment. Come finals time we all know the old thoat tightens up. To be fair only 5 of last weeks side played any senior footy last season and I think mosts sides would have a similar amount. Woodend has had some big names in the reserves as have Riddell yet they are not undefeated.
Itsmyshow
8 Jun 2007, 21:56
First silly season rumour.....
Riddell chasing very hard for one Pat Davis from Sunbury.. Will be interesting if they are able to snare him....
bearsboy
9 Jun 2007, 09:23
What are you, The "Opinion Police" now ?
The problem that you Gisborne people so conviently fail to recognise is my opinion is a popularly held one, here around R.D.F.L. football circles !HaHa, now i know who you are and where your from.
No wonder your so bitter.
Crookknee
9 Jun 2007, 11:03
HaHa, now i know who you are and where your from.
Sorry boys, I don't want to come across as a grown up. But I think its time we put this little feud to bed. Gisborne are a good team, score is on the board. Gisborne piss off a lot of people, score is on the board. 1 all draw. Lets move on.
Crookknee
9 Jun 2007, 11:08
My mid-season top 30
1. Daniel Bonnici (Sunbury Kangaroos) NEW.
2. Matt Robertson (Kilmore) Up 1 position.
3. Mark McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos) Up 3.
4. Michael Allen (Riddell) Up 8.
5. Brydon Morgan (Romsey) Up 12.
6. Cole Laurie (Diggers Rest) Down 1.
7. Linton Kemp (Kilmore) Up 8.
8. Steve James (Sunbury Kangaroos) NEW.
9. Jason Allen (Riddell) Up 1.
10. Matt McLellan (Romsey) Up 18.
11. Leigh McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos) Up 2.
12. Justin Belleville (Riddell) Up 8.
13. Matt Stacey (Woodend-Hesket) NEW.
14. Shaun Sims (Diggers Rest) Down 12.
15. Garth Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos) Up 1.
16. Adam Johnstone (Woodend-Hesket) Up 13.
17. Warren Else (Woodend-Hesket) Up 7.
18. Chris Collins (Lancefield) Down 14.
19. Ryan Connellan (Romsey) Down 11.
20. Jeremy Jose (Diggers Rest) Down 11.
21. Daniel Salpietro (Woodend-Hesket) NEW.
22. David Cornish (Kilmore) NEW.
23. Rick Dowling (Woodend-Hesket) NEW.
24. Ben Nettlebeck (Romsey) NEW.
25. Bobby Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos) Unchanged.
26. Leigh Coles (Riddell) Down 4.
27. Simon Choate (Lancefield) Down 9.
28. Brian Wheelahan (Melton Central) NEW.
29. Luke Walker (Rockbank) NEW.
30. Luke Edwards (Romsey) Down 16.
WHOS NEW
Daniel Bonnici Averaging around 30 disposals a match and is the Kangaroos key ingredient in the midfield.
Steve James Sunbury Kangaroos are on top because of James presence in the ruck.
Matt Stacey Will be leading Woodend-Heskets best and fairest at this stage, is dominating in the ruck and around the ground.
Daniel Salpietro Kicking goals and finding plenty of the ball for the Hawks.
Rick Dowling Should have been in the pre-season Top 30, all class in the forward pocket.
Ben Nettlebeck The former Riddell midfield has battled injury this season, but has proved his class for the Redbacks.
Brian Wheelahan The key performer every week for Melton Central. Needs more support.
Luke Walker Continues to give the opposition headaches, despite playing in a poorly performed side.
WHOS MISSING
Daniel Sipthorp (Woodend-Hesket) Yet to play due to injury.
Kar Weng Ng (Woodend-Hesket) Been overseas.
Steve Ruane (Diggers Rest) Isnt having the greatest of years since winning the Bowen Medal.
Chris Payne (Diggers Rest) Has been banished to the reserves.
Matt Senyschyn (Kilmore) Shoulder injury.
Dean Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos) Starting to find his fitness, expect him to be in my end of season Top 30.
Chris Kakoschke (Lancefield) Hasnt delivered on his practice match form. Still been a good contributor for the Tigers though.
Sam Bowen (Woodend-Hesket) Struggled for consistency.
My pre-season Top 30
7. Steve Burlak (Romsey)
Roger Merrett was the first bloke reported for time wasting. Is there such an offence on this forum? What number do you wear pickles? Your going in the book!
bearsboy
9 Jun 2007, 11:08
Sorry boys, I don't want to come across as a grown up. But I think its time we put this little feud to bed. Gisborne are a good team, score is on the board. Gisborne piss off a lot of people, score is on the board. 1 all draw. Lets move on.Yeah sorry boys, i just couldnt help myself once i found out who he was.
OMNIPOTENT_1
9 Jun 2007, 12:16
HaHa, now i know who you are and where your from.
Thats great, I'm glad I was able to give your life a purpose.
Am I to assume by that you wish to make it personal now ?
I on the other hand could'nt give a stuff who you are !
To be fair only 5 of last weeks side played any senior footy last season and I think mosts sides would have a similar amount. Woodend has had some big names in the reserves as have Riddell yet they are not undefeated.
hey there dasher, so who are the big names for woodend and riddell to come back into the seniors???
Digger52
10 Jun 2007, 16:55
I have been involved in the Rdfl 4 about 25yrs .Went to Hawks V Sydney on saturday ,and could not believe the standard of umpiring.I was a Nuetral supporter,But it was very ordinary.
No wonder country & Metropolitan footy is doing so well.:eek::eek::eek::eek:
OMNIPOTENT_1
10 Jun 2007, 20:28
____
Hawktawka
10 Jun 2007, 20:41
Anyone got any idea on the venues for the finals this year??
Considering its the outstanding teams of that year playing at the business end of the year, shouldn't we make use of the the best resources (grounds) the league has to offer.
Many moons ago i played in a league that drew clubs out of a hat to "host" the finals at the best grounds in the league. The gate, as always during any finals series, went to the the league and everything else went to the nominated club. This ensured that the best teams of the league got to battle it out on one of the better grounds in the league, as well as looked after the struggling clubs financially.
Just throwing it out for RDFL's unofficial "brainstrust" for their considered consideration.
1st option always
joeblow2
10 Jun 2007, 22:34
Anyone got any idea on the venues for the finals this year??
Considering its the outstanding teams of that year playing at the business end of the year, shouldn't we make use of the the best resources (grounds) the league has to offer.
Many moons ago i played in a league that drew clubs out of a hat to "host" the finals at the best grounds in the league. The gate, as always during any finals series, went to the the league and everything else went to the nominated club. This ensured that the best teams of the league got to battle it out on one of the better grounds in the league, as well as looked after the struggling clubs financially.
Just throwing it out for RDFL's unofficial "brainstrust" for their considered consideration.
1st option always
Isn't this how the RDFL has done it for years now?
Halffullonfence
11 Jun 2007, 10:53
Isn't this how the RDFL has done it for years now?
Seems to be who ever want's to host a final tends to get a go.
I agree with HawkaT and the best grounds should host as many finals as deemed necessary possibly Macedon/Lancefield week 1 Romsey/? week 2 Macedon/Romsey (best surface) week 3 Lancefield G/F.
The junior finals have other clubs running finals at other grounds.
bromanbomber
11 Jun 2007, 12:18
Seems to be who ever want's to host a final tends to get a go.
I agree with HawkaT and the best grounds should host as many finals as deemed necessary possibly Macedon/Lancefield week 1 Romsey/? week 2 Macedon/Romsey (best surface) week 3 Lancefield G/F.
The junior finals have other clubs running finals at other grounds.
What about Kilmore's ground?
matt_nicholls
11 Jun 2007, 12:29
For mine, when all the grounds are up and running I would have it this way.
Week 1 - Kilmore, Riddell
Week 2 - Romsey, Lancefield
Week 3 - Macedon
Week 4 - Lancefield
I don't believe Lancefield should get the GF each year, but no other club has what the Tigers do to host it.
Car parking, change rooms, reasonable exterior fencing, pavilion, undercover area (this year will be the first), ground quality and size etc.
Romsey could do it if they had better visitors rooms and better fencing etc.
The RDFL's ground will be ready next year so the makeup of finals will probably look like this.
Week 1 - RDFL, RDFL
Week 2 - RDFL, RDFL
Week 3 - RDFL
Week 4 - RDFL
Although I have been told from the GM that this hasn't been planned. I can see it happening. Similar to the Bendigo FL and the QEO.
footy mad 2
11 Jun 2007, 13:13
For mine, when all the grounds are up and running I would have it this way.
Week 1 - Kilmore, Riddell
Week 2 - Romsey, Lancefield
Week 3 - Macedon
Week 4 - Lancefield
I don't believe Lancefield should get the GF each year, but no other club has what the Tigers do to host it.
Car parking, change rooms, reasonable exterior fencing, pavilion, undercover area (this year will be the first), ground quality and size etc.
Romsey could do it if they had better visitors rooms and better fencing etc.
The RDFL's ground will be ready next year so the makeup of finals will probably look like this.
Week 1 - RDFL, RDFL
Week 2 - RDFL, RDFL
Week 3 - RDFL
Week 4 - RDFL
Although I have been told from the GM that this hasn't been planned. I can see it happening. Similar to the Bendigo FL and the QEO.
am i the only one that has not heard of this. where is it going to be and what or who is going to use it.
matt_nicholls
11 Jun 2007, 13:16
am i the only one that has not heard of this. where is it going to be and what or who is going to use it.
Through the Melton Shire Council, the RDFL will take over the second oval at Diggers Rest.
It's likely the umpires will be based there and that home interleague games will be played there.
It has recycled water access so if we have a repeat of this season then sides like Rockbank, Riddell and Sunbury Kangaroos could play home games there early in the season.
It's likely that the league would also use the ground for a couple of RDFL night matches too.
Iceman27
11 Jun 2007, 14:33
I was speaking to Dale Keenan from Kilmore, and he has decided to return back to Wallan.
Itsmyshow
11 Jun 2007, 14:34
I was speaking to Dale Keenan from Kilmore, and he has decided to return back to Wallan.
Interesting.. Isn't he in the Rep Squad????
Iceman27
11 Jun 2007, 14:39
Interesting.. Isn't he in the Rep Squad????
I did see his picture in the Free Press withe league jumper on.
No doubt disappointing for the Blues but some good news for the folk at Greenhill Reserve finally. At least he will some recent RDFL insight for when you's return to the league!!!
Iceman27
11 Jun 2007, 15:15
No doubt disappointing for the Blues but some good news for the folk at Greenhill Reserve finally. At least he will some recent RDFL insight for when you's return to the league!!!
There has been no official talk of us returning to the league yet.
Iceman27
11 Jun 2007, 15:20
There has been no official talk of us returning to the league yet.
However I think there would be alot of people in favour of the return back.
Wasn't being smart but just share an interest in all local clubs and reckon for the Wallan Footy Club to get up off it's knee's then the RDFL is the best option.
I know going back a few years for a brief moment there was talk about the future of the RDFL, I could be wrong but Wallan took right option of the time when it looked like 7-8 fellow clubs may have needed new homes and jumped into the DVFL.
To it's credit the RDFL has pulled up it's socks and is back on track both on and off the park and Wallan's re-inclusion can only be a massive plus in my opinion.
Tell me to bugger off mate, as I said my opinion only and for the sake of a few mates I have at Greenhill I just wanna see the Maggies competitive.
vantheman32
11 Jun 2007, 15:59
wonder what the reasons are behind keenan wanting to leave kilmore? n has he actually decided to leave mid season?
OMNIPOTENT_1
11 Jun 2007, 16:00
Wasn't being smart but just share an interest in all local clubs and reckon for the Wallan Footy Club to get up off it's knee's then the RDFL is the best option.
I know going back a few years for a brief moment there was talk about the future of the RDFL, I could be wrong but Wallan took right option of the time when it looked like 7-8 fellow clubs may have needed new homes and jumped into the DVFL.
To it's credit the RDFL has pulled up it's socks and is back on track both on and off the park and Wallan's re-inclusion can only be a massive plus in my opinion.
Tell me to bugger off mate, as I said my opinion only and for the sake of a few mates I have at Greenhill I just wanna see the Maggies competitive.
Wallan was a good passionate club with rich R.D.F.L. history, should be welcomed back, IMO.
blues12
11 Jun 2007, 16:10
Through the Melton Shire Council, the RDFL will take over the second oval at Diggers Rest.
It's likely the umpires will be based there and that home interleague games will be played there.
It has recycled water access so if we have a repeat of this season then sides like Rockbank, Riddell and Sunbury Kangaroos could play home games there early in the season.
It's likely that the league would also use the ground for a couple of RDFL night matches too.
The ground i dont believe would be big enough to host rdfl finals.
As for night matches, where would the league find an extra $100k to put up lighting that is at a standard to play night football under.
As for a back up ground, for the roos hopefully this year will never repeat itself, recycled water should be hooked up to boardman this september.
blues12
11 Jun 2007, 16:17
Wallan was a good passionate club with rich R.D.F.L. history, should be welcomed back, IMO.
I'm sure any additional teams to the RDFL would be welcomed back, it would only strengthen a league that is already getting stronger.
I'm sure the league wouldn't be able to approach any clubs in a position of a possible move, the clubs must approach the RDFL, but affiliation fees are a hell of alot cheaper than DVFL, EDFL & WRFL. that would have to make it attractive.
matt_nicholls
11 Jun 2007, 16:27
The ground i dont believe would be big enough to host rdfl finals.
As for night matches, where would the league find an extra $100k to put up lighting that is at a standard to play night football under.
As for a back up ground, for the roos hopefully this year will never repeat itself, recycled water should be hooked up to boardman this september.
The ground is bigger than Diggers Rest's current oval.
The Melton Shire is putting all the money (bar around 50K from the RDFL) towards the project. It's part of a deal with the State Government.