View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
blues12
11 Jun 2007, 16:41
I have heard that this ground cant be used at the moment due to no fence and obviously change rooms. Why would the fence be an issue, it only seems to be an issue in this league.
I went and watched seddon (wrfl) last year and pretty much stood on the boundary line due to no fence. And on saturday went to strathmore to see the game vs greenvale same thing no fence on half the ground and again right on the line and it wasn't an issue at all.
On another note after seeing Strathmores ground on saturday no clubs in this league should be complaining about any grounds in this comp.
matt_nicholls
11 Jun 2007, 16:49
I have heard that this ground cant be used at the moment due to no fence and obviously change rooms. Why would the fence be an issue, it only seems to be an issue in this league.
I went and watched seddon (wrfl) last year and pretty much stood on the boundary line due to no fence. And on saturday went to strathmore to see the game vs greenvale same thing no fence on half the ground and again right on the line and it wasn't an issue at all.
On another note after seeing Strathmores ground on saturday no clubs in this league should be complaining about any grounds in this comp.
Strathmore's ground might be better if they spent less money on premierships :D
I'm not sure about the fence issues but I actually prefer a fence. I've played on Assumption's Main Oval and it's hard to recognise the boundaries. I think the RDFL Oval is a great idea, but expect it to be called the Essendon Nissan Reserve or HugoNet Park etc.
Halffullonfence
11 Jun 2007, 18:46
The ground is bigger than Diggers Rest's current oval.
The Melton Shire is putting all the money (bar around 50K from the RDFL) towards the project. It's part of a deal with the State Government.
Has any one else notted that this new ground runs east/west will be a great spectacle watching our Grand finall with players shielding there eyes trying to spot the footy going to the East end great planing by the powers that be. :rolleyes:
On another note floor down on new social rooms at Macedon, frame goes up this week , new scoreboard up largest in the RDFL by a long way.
Halffullonfence
11 Jun 2007, 18:50
What about Kilmore's ground?
Who wants to play finals on a ground with a gradiant like Kilmores ??
vantheman32
11 Jun 2007, 19:10
Kilmores ground is fine and i would much prefer to play on kilmores ground than any of the other grounds around the league
Hawktawka
11 Jun 2007, 19:14
For mine, when all the grounds are up and running I would have it this way.
Week 1 - Kilmore, Riddell
Week 2 - Romsey, Lancefield
Week 3 - Macedon
Week 4 - Lancefield
I don't believe Lancefield should get the GF each year, but no other club has what the Tigers do to host it.
Car parking, change rooms, reasonable exterior fencing, pavilion, undercover area (this year will be the first), ground quality and size etc.
Romsey could do it if they had better visitors rooms and better fencing etc.
The RDFL's ground will be ready next year so the makeup of finals will probably look like this.
Week 1 - RDFL, RDFL
Week 2 - RDFL, RDFL
Week 3 - RDFL
Week 4 - RDFL
Although I have been told from the GM that this hasn't been planned. I can see it happening. Similar to the Bendigo FL and the QEO.
Understand totally your thoughts on the GF and the requirements to host the big day, however as you said other clubs wouldn't have to do to much to get a look in. ( Romsey, Riddell, Macedon for example)
My venues line up would be.....
Week 1- Macedon, Riddell
Week 2- Lancefield, Riddell
Week 3- Macedon
week 4- Lancefield
I have selected Riddell however that is open to debate, as is everything in here.
1st option always.
Halffullonfence
11 Jun 2007, 19:41
Kilmores ground is fine and i would much prefer to play on kilmores ground than any of the other grounds around the league
Van you trying to tell us Kilmore's ground flat.
Understand surface in good nick but it runs up and down hill.
jimmymaher
11 Jun 2007, 19:41
is there any info on this new ground we can have a look at
vantheman32
11 Jun 2007, 19:43
good for ya legs!
Halffullonfence
11 Jun 2007, 19:47
good for ya legs!
Agree, but not good for finals footy.
blues12
11 Jun 2007, 19:58
is there any info on this new ground we can have a look at
Not yet, it is still in the planning stages, the setup does look good, but like HFF said it runs east west. not a massive problem. i still think it's too small for rdfl finals.
What grounds run E/W woodend and rockbank is all i can think of in this league.
Halffullonfence
11 Jun 2007, 20:00
Not yet, it is still in the planning stages, the setup does look good, but like HFF said it runs east west. not a massive problem. i still think it's too small for rdfl finals.
What grounds run E/W woodend and rockbank is all i can think of in this league.
Woodend Nth sth only R/bank east west
Sunqvist
11 Jun 2007, 21:42
How do you reckon they'd go against Gissy ?
saw gissy play saturday. very good team. not sure on Bendigo league quality overall thought kyneton were pretty ordinary, but ive only seen one game this year so its just an opinion.
getting into the chat about a team to play gissy would be interesting to pick and i wouldnt be confident of beating them
you would just about have to pick the bestt 22 in the laegue and try to match up from there possibly
diggers: jose sims ruane
sunbury kangas: bonnici ploog johnson m mcinirney l mcinirney
romsey :mclellan morgan burlak
woodsy: sipthorpe johnstone stacey
riddell: j allan belleville blade besanko m allan
kilmore: m robertson cornish kemp
centrals: wheelahan bullen
lancefield: collins choate
macedon: knight christiansen
rocbank: walker
fair squad i reckon just picking a couple from each team i probably dont know enough about everyone but its just my opinion even with the top group i reckon gisborne might be too good?
bearsboy
12 Jun 2007, 09:37
saw gissy play saturday. very good team. not sure on Bendigo league quality overall thought kyneton were pretty ordinary, but ive only seen one game this year so its just an opinion.
getting into the chat about a team to play gissy would be interesting to pick and i wouldnt be confident of beating them
you would just about have to pick the bestt 22 in the laegue and try to match up from there possibly
diggers: jose sims ruane
sunbury kangas: bonnici ploog johnson m mcinirney l mcinirney
romsey :mclellan morgan burlak
woodsy: sipthorpe johnstone stacey
riddell: j allan belleville blade besanko m allan
kilmore: m robertson cornish kemp
centrals: wheelahan bullen
lancefield: collins choate
macedon: knight christiansen
rocbank: walker
fair squad i reckon just picking a couple from each team i probably dont know enough about everyone but its just my opinion even with the top group i reckon gisborne might be too good?Now i'm not looking for trouble here boys and i know you probably dont rate my opinion but this is the way i see it : J Allen and Sippy are the only 2 on the list that played consistent senior footy at Gisborne. Mcinernys, Chritianson, Morgan and Besanko in my opinion struggled a little to make the grade and were probably really good 2's players ( M. Mcinerny the exception, good senior footballer, struggled for consistency though) and Bladey was also a handy 2's player .
Before i get hammered i'll let you know im not in any way being critical of any of these blokes, im only calling it as i saw it at the time
Looks like my advertising may have worked with a huge crowd at Gissy on Saturday and a heap of RDFL boys there, bit disapointing we didnt really play our best footy but not a bad result in the end. (how good is Luke Saunders)?
matt_nicholls
12 Jun 2007, 09:44
If the RDFL could bring back players like Lee James, Aaron James, Mark Strack, Robbie Witmer etc they would be more competitive.
They'd smash Kyneton though!
Trueblueroo
12 Jun 2007, 09:58
Bears, Luke Saunders would have to be one of the best players outside the VFL/AFL getting round surely? The bloke is something different thats for sure, his time on Saturday to use the football and lift his team is beyond anything i have seen in country football!
I reckon you still lack a key gun forward though Bears!
As for your the blokes who you thought weren't up to senior football, given the opportunity and a injury free run, some of those blokes could be regular seniors players! However, Gisborne does have good injury management program, but then again if your not from Gisborne makes it hard to slip into that side, unless you an ex AFL player!
Matty couldn't really call Aaron James a regualr RDFL player can you, played like 6 games? Anyway!!!
Fresh week ahead!
Itsmyshow
12 Jun 2007, 11:36
As the all powerful Mod of the RDFL board I am putting a stop to all further trolling by Bendigo Football League posters on the RDFL thread, Gissy left the RDFL a long while ago and now it is time for everyone in here to let go and move on...
I will post a Luke Saunders thread on the Bendigo page if you would like....
Lets move on to this weeks games in the RDFL
matt_nicholls
12 Jun 2007, 11:37
As the all powerful Mod of the RDFL board I am putting a stop to all further trolling by Bendigo Football League posters on the RDFL thread, Gissy left the RDFL a long while ago and now it is time for everyone in here to let go and move on...
Match of the round has to be Romsey v Riddell! Will be HUGE
Itsmyshow
12 Jun 2007, 11:50
Match of the round has to be Romsey v Riddell! Will be HUGE
Agree, match previews will come later this week.... :thumbsu:
woody07
12 Jun 2007, 13:16
Correct me if i'm wrong Itsmyshow but people on this thread are making direct comparisons from our league to the league that most affects us or that some of us are most interested in. Most find the debate intriguing and very relevant to our league. It's great to highlight teams or players in our league that we think could challenge B.F.L teams or positions in B.F.L teams (not bad for our boys confidence either). If we keep relating it back to our league we should be able to continue the debate. Me for one is sick of hearing B.F.L players (mainly Gisborne and Kyneton) runnong down our league and telling me that only a handful of players would make the grade. Having played seniors in both comps i think i'm qualified enough to say that's rubbish. Both leagues generally have different grounds, salary caps and facilities that combined have a bearing on players that play in the respective leagues and ultimately the style or brand of footy that's played (generally speaking). After watching my third B.F.L game this year I am without a doubt that their is a number of hard running, tough inside players with adequate skills and quick exceptionally well skilled outside players that would not only make the grade in the B.F.L but prosper. Some of whom would fit into the almighty Gisborne side. Lets not forget Comerford (a less fitter version admittedly) played Macedon last year and played in Gissy ones on the weekend. Although a very good player and I rate him he wasn’t a world beater in our league. So how many players could increase their fitness in our league and walk into the B.F.L? The answer is quite a few. And yes Matt you're spot on Kyneton is terrible at the moment-The injury excuse can only hold up for so long (but how many years)-It’s my opinion that the coach needs to go.
matt_nicholls
12 Jun 2007, 13:45
And yes Matt you're spot on Kyneton is terrible at the moment-The injury excuse can only hold up for so long (but how many years)-It’s my opinion that the coach needs to go.
Thank god I'm getting some supporters on this. Never though Massina should have been appointed in the first place.
The Tigers need a coach like Simon Jorgenson. Hard at it, a good football brain and someone that won't break the budget but can still attract good footballers.
On paper, Kyneton don't have a bad side. But its their locals that really let them down. There isn't much incentive to stay at Kyneton if you're from there because the club doesn't look after you.
Plus there is little work in the area and most kids will leave town when they finish school and head to Melbourne for a job or university. And if they aren't getting looked after to come home then they can play elsewhere for coin.
I wouldn't mind them joining the RDFL, but I'm sure Kyneton would rather fold up than come over here. They think they're too good for us when in reality they are not.
Hawker28
12 Jun 2007, 14:00
They can't use the excuse of all there young kids pissing off and going to uni. Woodend seem to do a excellent job in retaining all theyre kids! They all come home on weekends and they don't complain! Kyneton is only another 10km up the road!
Its just the attitude of the club, that's why people don't want to play there!
joeblow2
12 Jun 2007, 14:02
They can't use the excuse of all there young kids pissing off and going to uni. Woodend seem to do a excellent job in retaining all theyre kids! They all come home on weekends and they don't complain! Kyneton is only another 10km up the road!
Its just the attitude of the club, that's why people don't want to play there!
Not to mention a couple of Kyneton kids playing there as well.
Hawker28
12 Jun 2007, 14:07
Towns within the RDFL area eg; Riddell, Romsey, Woodend and even Sunbury people, need to start realising that sponsors bring money to a club! They're is no point a business pumping thousands of dollars into a side that plays 100km+ up the road! It is a joke! That is what killed this league years ago, following Sunbury and Gisborne!
A little wake up call to your local CBD's that poeple in your community are the soul of your business, not people from 100k away, so for this league to grow again, we need money put back into it, instead of being pissed up the wall!
Little frustrated after seeing that many signs around Gardiner Res on the weekend that are business not only from Gisborne but from Riddell and Macedon etc! Put money into your local clubs and save clubs like the Cats! No one from Bendigo or Ballarat have an interest in what happens in Sunbury or Gisborne as a whole!
Itsmyshow
12 Jun 2007, 14:11
Correct me if i'm wrong Itsmyshow but people on this thread are making direct comparisons from our league to the league that most affects us or that some of us are most interested in. Most find the debate intriguing and very relevant to our league. It's great to highlight teams or players in our league that we think could challenge B.F.L teams or positions in B.F.L teams (not bad for our boys confidence either). If we keep relating it back to our league we should be able to continue the debate. Me for one is sick of hearing B.F.L players (mainly Gisborne and Kyneton) runnong down our league and telling me that only a handful of players would make the grade. Having played seniors in both comps i think i'm qualified enough to say that's rubbish. Both leagues generally have different grounds, salary caps and facilities that combined have a bearing on players that play in the respective leagues and ultimately the style or brand of footy that's played (generally speaking). After watching my third B.F.L game this year I am without a doubt that their is a number of hard running, tough inside players with adequate skills and quick exceptionally well skilled outside players that would not only make the grade in the B.F.L but prosper. Some of whom would fit into the almighty Gisborne side. Lets not forget Comerford (a less fitter version admittedly) played Macedon last year and played in Gissy ones on the weekend. Although a very good player and I rate him he wasn’t a world beater in our league. So how many players could increase their fitness in our league and walk into the B.F.L? The answer is quite a few. And yes Matt you're spot on Kyneton is terrible at the moment-The injury excuse can only hold up for so long (but how many years)-It’s my opinion that the coach needs to go.
Agree, but if you read back, alot of what was mentioned in a round about way potted our comp, I for one feel more than a little insulted when somebody says "Give me your best side, wonder if it would beat Gissy in a match" I mean seriously, if it is relevant back to our league fine, but this is more of an insult than anything else in my eyes...
joeblow2
12 Jun 2007, 14:27
Agree, but if you read back, alot of what was mentioned in a round about way potted our comp, I for one feel more than a little insulted when somebody says "Give me your best side, wonder if it would beat Gissy in a match" I mean seriously, if it is relevant back to our league fine, but this is more of an insult than anything else in my eyes...
And a pointless excercise at that.
Itsmyshow
12 Jun 2007, 14:36
And a pointless excercise at that.
Correct
bearsboy
12 Jun 2007, 14:38
Agree, but if you read back, alot of what was mentioned in a round about way potted our comp, I for one feel more than a little insulted when somebody says "Give me your best side, wonder if it would beat Gissy in a match" I mean seriously, if it is relevant back to our league fine, but this is more of an insult than anything else in my eyes...This looks to be a relevant and lively topic to me, i think your getting a little bit carried away here about the Gisborne stuff . If you would like to go back a few pages, you will notice it was your good mate Mongrel, that asked you to compare sides, which i thought was a fair and resonable topic to have on this thread when there was no RDFL games last week.
I'd also like to apologise to Bomber Besanko, he had a pretty bad year with his knee when he was at Gisborne, which obviously restricted him and he still managed to play the majority of the year in the seniors
Itsmyshow
12 Jun 2007, 14:53
This looks to be a relevant and lively topic to me, i think your getting a little bit carried away here about the Gisborne stuff . If you would like to go back a few pages, you will notice it was your good mate Mongrel, that asked you to compare sides, which i thought was a fair and resonable topic to have on this thread when there was no RDFL games last week.
I'd also like to apologise to Bomber Besanko, he had a pretty bad year with his knee when he was at Gisborne, which obviously restricted him and he still managed to play the majority of the year in the seniors
Yes he did, and now I am stating that the topic is DEAD.... NO MORE TROLLING......
OMNIPOTENT_1
12 Jun 2007, 14:59
HEAR, HEAR.
Had enough of Bombastic B.F.L promoters on our thread, with their inaccurate, predictable, provocative "DRIVEL" !
Think its called Cyberstalking a League !
Iceman27
12 Jun 2007, 15:03
wonder what the reasons are behind keenan wanting to leave kilmore? n has he actually decided to leave mid season?
Van, If you were playing in a team that looks like makeing finals like Kilmore are, there would be only one reason that would make me go to a team that has so far not looked like winning a game all year. $$$$$:):):):)
Iceman27
12 Jun 2007, 15:07
Wasn't being smart but just share an interest in all local clubs and reckon for the Wallan Footy Club to get up off it's knee's then the RDFL is the best option.
I know going back a few years for a brief moment there was talk about the future of the RDFL, I could be wrong but Wallan took right option of the time when it looked like 7-8 fellow clubs may have needed new homes and jumped into the DVFL.
To it's credit the RDFL has pulled up it's socks and is back on track both on and off the park and Wallan's re-inclusion can only be a massive plus in my opinion.
Tell me to bugger off mate, as I said my opinion only and for the sake of a few mates I have at Greenhill I just wanna see the Maggies competitive.
I agree with your opinion Doona, I think our club needs to go back to the RDFL to survive. I think it might all depend on weather the DVFL goes to 3 divsions or not.
vantheman32
12 Jun 2007, 15:07
yeah good point i spose tad dissapointing if he leaves for money half way through a season!!!
Itsmyshow
12 Jun 2007, 16:50
yeah good point i spose tad dissapointing if he leaves for money half way through a season!!!
He is only a kid... May need the $$$
discoduck
12 Jun 2007, 17:35
out: keenan
in: disco :thumbsu:
vantheman32
12 Jun 2007, 17:42
bring in disco, you training yet?
discoduck
12 Jun 2007, 17:45
bring in disco, you training yet?
just getting organised to leave melb now. should be at training, traffic permitted, around 6.15pm.
matt_nicholls
12 Jun 2007, 17:47
just getting organised to leave melb now. should be at training, traffic permitted, around 6.15pm.
Will be there to watch with bells on.
Any people interested in watching me make my RDFL junior umpiring debut? I'll post my appointment up on Thursday morning.
Halffullonfence
12 Jun 2007, 17:54
Any people interested in watching me make my RDFL junior umpiring debut? I'll post my appointment up on Thursday morning.
I will run a book for the great mans first yellow card if enough interest.
rightfoot_sloth
12 Jun 2007, 17:55
Good luck Matt in your new role. I had the opportunity to have a couple of RDFL umpire my teams game that I coach (VAFA) on the weekend. They were very good and let the game flow. There centre bounces were a very good standard which added to the whole game. So you may have some lofty standards to live up to Matt! I was happy to tell my blokes the umpires came from my old comp which I have played and coached in. On that its good to read the comp is improving and will continue to do so with correct interpreation of the rules by the umpires ! :thumbsu:
OMNIPOTENT_1
12 Jun 2007, 18:32
Towns within the RDFL area eg; Riddell, Romsey, Woodend and even Sunbury people, need to start realising that sponsors bring money to a club! They're is no point a business pumping thousands of dollars into a side that plays 100km+ up the road! It is a joke! That is what killed this league years ago, following Sunbury and Gisborne!
A little wake up call to your local CBD's that poeple in your community are the soul of your business, not people from 100k away, so for this league to grow again, we need money put back into it, instead of being pissed up the wall!
Little frustrated after seeing that many signs around Gardiner Res on the weekend that are business not only from Gisborne but from Riddell and Macedon etc! Put money into your local clubs and save clubs like the Cats! No one from Bendigo or Ballarat have an interest in what happens in Sunbury or Gisborne as a whole!
Extremely pertinent point, maybe we the general public should start voting with our feet when it comes to supporting these business's.
Great to see the RDFL crowd at Gissie on Staurday. There were ppl from Sunbury, Macedon, Riddell, Woodend even Lancefield thanks for supporting our clubs great day. Hope you enjoyed yourselves and we'll see ya next time
Caught a glimpse of the Blues training tonight, not big numbers and it's hard to tell who's who in all the different kits but a couple of unfamiliar faces caught my eye lads . . . . . little wiry bloke in the Western Bulldogs jumper (no number) and a left footer with a predominantly maroon jumper with a splash of white and yellow (#52). For me Plugger got the votes hit his targets more than most, the bloke in the ACK #17 went ok too.
bearsboy
13 Jun 2007, 09:46
Extremely pertinent point, maybe we the general public should start voting with our feet when it comes to supporting these business's.Trust me, this works both ways.:thumbsd:
OMNIPOTENT_1
13 Jun 2007, 10:21
Great to see the RDFL crowd at Gissie on Staurday. There were ppl from Sunbury, Macedon, Riddell, Woodend even Lancefield thanks for supporting our clubs great day. Hope you enjoyed yourselves and we'll see ya next time
Shoul'nt that be "Thank You" to the..................... ?
Jebidiah
13 Jun 2007, 11:54
Defintely enjoyed the day. Whilst the Seniors match wasn't a great affair the off field activities were excellent and the beer was cold (although you did run out of Draught!). As a family day you'd have to call it a success judging by all the kids there having fun. Well done to Gissie.:thumbsu:
vantheman32
13 Jun 2007, 11:56
Doona the spy haha, the little wiry bloke in bulldogs jumper is a new fella, hasnt played footy in bout 4 yrs but last time he played he was at calder under 16s, #52 was discoduck he made his first appearance. went alrite too,
matt_nicholls
13 Jun 2007, 12:09
Doona the spy haha, the little wiry bloke in bulldogs jumper is a new fella, hasnt played footy in bout 4 yrs but last time he played he was at calder under 16s, #52 was discoduck he made his first appearance. went alrite too,
Disco wasn't too happy with his training performance when he got home last night, so you can expect to see him to get better as the season progresses. Especially with that raking left foot of his.
I was watching his video of his premiership win from a few years ago (can't remember the name of the side but it was up near Robinvale) and he was very impressive with three goals and a number of good things.
Will probably start in the magoos against Macedon but by Round 10 v Riddell comes around might be in the ones.
Wont be hurrying back, ball was on the deck a lot!!!
matt_nicholls
13 Jun 2007, 12:52
RDFL goalkicking
RIDDELL is currently showing why it is still a powerhouse in the Riddell District Football League with four of the top 10 goalkickers this season from the Bombers.
Sneaky forward pocket Michael Allen is currently leading the competition with 33 majors. Not a bad effort considering he has missed one game.
Next best is Woodend-Hesket’s 19-year-old goalsneak Daniel Salpeitro with 23. Cameron Dawson, from Romsey is currently in third place with 22.
The top 10 goalkickers after seven rounds are:
Michael Allen (Riddell) – 33.
Daniel Salpietro (Woodend-Hesket) – 23.
Cameron Dawson (Romsey) – 22.
Brydan Morgan (Romsey) – 20.
David Cornish (Kilmore) – 18.
Rick Dowling (Woodend-Hesket) -16.
Jordan Handicott (Sunbury Kangaroo) – 15.
Jason Crotty (Riddell) – 14.
Dean Besanko (Riddell) – 14.
Leigh Harrison (Riddell) – 13.
See more stories on www.centralsport.org (http://www.centralsport.org)
vantheman32
13 Jun 2007, 13:04
there wasnt too many 1st players there last night doona has sumthing to do with it, doesnt help when blokes are running away from you when ya trying to kick to them very frustrating n it was pretty damp out on the ground, all irrelevent but helps if people run to the right spots
Trueblueroo
13 Jun 2007, 13:23
there wasnt too many 1st players there last night doona has sumthing to do with it, doesnt help when blokes are running away from you when ya trying to kick to them very frustrating n it was pretty damp out on the ground, all irrelevent but helps if people run to the right spots
When you due back?
vantheman32
13 Jun 2007, 13:39
this week mate, very very keen to get back into it its been a long time out
OMNIPOTENT_1
13 Jun 2007, 13:56
this week mate, very very keen to get back into it its been a long time out
Good luck & welcome back champ !
blues12
13 Jun 2007, 14:40
Big game this week, Romsey V riddell at the home of the redbacks, Who will win this match of the round after a week off both sides should be refreshed for a cracker of a game.
Meanwhile will the burra get out of their slump and knock off centrals, surely the week off would help diggers with a number of the injured players looking at returning. although if centrals play like their last game we could expect an upset.
Cobber21
13 Jun 2007, 18:14
Grant 'Blueboy16' Spencer WILL be joining the Sunbury Kangaroos...
Heard there may of been a few people after him in the WRFL due to some comments made on Bigfooty. Any truth to that?
Also, Sunbury play Diggers Rest in 3 weeks. Not a very liked person down at the club. Will be interesting.
blues12
13 Jun 2007, 21:22
Heard there may of been a few people after him in the WRFL due to some comments made on Bigfooty. Any truth to that?
Also, Sunbury play Diggers Rest in 3 weeks. Not a very liked person down at the club. Will be interesting.
Will he? i heard that about 4 weeks ago. he still hasn't been seen at boardman.
Rodriguez
14 Jun 2007, 09:29
Couple of Big IN"S this week for the hawks.
Believe Sippy may be nearly ready to go along with Nga.
Couple of handy inclusions!
Trueblueroo
14 Jun 2007, 09:40
With 2 coming in means two quality go out! Who is likely to get dropped for these two? Will they be coming back through the twos?
Dennisn
14 Jun 2007, 09:49
Good morning it is!!!!!!
Forget all this they would i would crap and get on with what where all here for and that is to provide competititions for all of varied ability and size.
To see a Chrissy kick a goal or to watch the out and out champions run around is what our game is about and nothing else.
On a great note is pleasing to announce that the RDFL under 18's,last night beat the boys from the Ballarat league by 2 points in a great game in very cold conditions.This is in itself a testament to the work the clubs and the league are doing to enhance our competition and says good things for the future of the league and all concerned.
Bounding ahead on all cylinders
discoduck
14 Jun 2007, 10:23
Was just cranking pal, I could tell as soon as I drove in the majority of the boys were outa Clears' team. And u r rite about running to the wrong spots, that drill down the scoreboard wing works well when done to the right areas.
More importantly to the duck howd u pull up, reckon the back and hammy's will be tight judging by the times u over run the pill :p
:D you're not wrong doona. it is sooo frickin cold out there, i could not get anything right. good to get amongst it though - seem like a good bunch of guys. very young though - maybe some of the older guys were home by the fire - i can't blame them.
'jobby' goes well, robbo looks a player, googe? seems to know what he's doing, amongst others. i have to agree it wasn't the most skilled session i've ever seen, but i certainly wasn't doing anything to up the ante for them.
with the zero degree temperatures this morning, can't say i'm looking forward to tonight's training too much. is there any way we can train indoors?????
:D you're not wrong doona. it is sooo frickin cold out there, i could not get anything right. good to get amongst it though - seem like a good bunch of guys. very young though - maybe some of the older guys were home by the fire - i can't blame them.
'jobby' goes well, robbo looks a player, googe? seems to know what he's doing, amongst others. i have to agree it wasn't the most skilled session i've ever seen, but i certainly wasn't doing anything to up the ante for them.
with the zero degree temperatures this morning, can't say i'm looking forward to tonight's training too much. is there any way we can train indoors?????
My boys had a swim at the leisure centre which is why i came for a look, either that or head stright into the bar and Dave Milne will look after you, top fella Dave :thumbsu:
Mongrel
14 Jun 2007, 11:02
expect a massive clearance to be posted in the next couple of days.
one simon hawkins has just put pen 2 paper.will be taking the field later this season for the kangas.FACT
Blueboy16
14 Jun 2007, 11:17
Interesting comments Cobber21. People after me after comments on BF, wouldn't think so. BF is an outlet to post an opinion, some people dont like those opinions. That's life.
Correct I have left West Footscray but for no other reason than not enjoying the footy that the WRFL produces. Let me just just say that the top 3-4 reserves teams in the RDFL would push for finals in WRFL Div 2 Seniors.
Joining the Kanga's? well it's in serious consideration but who knows i may take the rest of the season off to watch them win the senior flag that Diggers wont have a chance to play for.
Rodriguez
14 Jun 2007, 13:05
expect a massive clearance to be posted in the next couple of days.
one simon hawkins has just put pen 2 paper.will be taking the field later this season for the kangas.FACT
Mongrel, who has he played for previously?
Trueblueroo
14 Jun 2007, 13:10
Macedon in the 90's, Pascoe Vale and Gissy i believe! To the older crew on this forum would know the name!
Mongrel
14 Jun 2007, 13:44
[quote=Trueblueroo;7830839]Macedon in the 90's, Pascoe Vale and Gissy i believe! To the older crew on this forum would know the name![/quot
GUN CHF. would make the rdfl team of the 90s easy
vantheman32
14 Jun 2007, 14:04
disco you will be right tonight mate, get ya long johns on and woolen footy jumpers!
rioli brownlow
14 Jun 2007, 15:02
Macedon in the 90's, Pascoe Vale and Gissy i believe! To the older crew on this forum would know the name!
if he still capable of producing his best ,then he is going to be a very handy pick up, was(maybe still is) a great player with abooming left foot. use to wear number 42 yeah?
was also a great cricketer aswell(left arm quicky)
Trueblueroo
14 Jun 2007, 15:23
if he still capable of producing his best ,then he is going to be a very handy pick up, was(maybe still is) a great player with abooming left foot. use to wear number 42 yeah?
was also a great cricketer aswell(left arm quicky)
Thats him!
vantheman32
14 Jun 2007, 15:47
Good morning it is!!!!!!
Forget all this they would i would crap and get on with what where all here for and that is to provide competititions for all of varied ability and size.
To see a Chrissy kick a goal or to watch the out and out champions run around is what our game is about and nothing else.
On a great note is pleasing to announce that the RDFL under 18's,last night beat the boys from the Ballarat league by 2 points in a great game in very cold conditions.This is in itself a testament to the work the clubs and the league are doing to enhance our competition and says good things for the future of the league and all concerned.
Bounding ahead on all cylinders
well done to the boys, makes me wonder what happened against the WRFL, 14 players in the BFL side came from junior ranks within the RDFL, how do we keep these young players at these clubs within the RDFL, only way to make the league stronger is for them to stay around.
Trueblueroo
14 Jun 2007, 16:01
well done to the boys, makes me wonder what happened against the WRFL, 14 players in the BFL side came from junior ranks within the RDFL, how do we keep these young players at these clubs within the RDFL, only way to make the league stronger is for them to stay around.
They could be boys from Darley, Melton, Melton South, Sunbury etc! Im not to sure, but having these kids in the side would be handy!
matt_nicholls
14 Jun 2007, 16:05
They could be boys from Darley, Melton, Melton South, Sunbury etc! Im not to sure, but having these kids in the side would be handy!
I wrote the article on the RDFL website and the kids came from places Trueblueroo mentioned.
It will be great to have an RDFL v BFL Under 23s match next year too!
Dasher_23
14 Jun 2007, 17:13
It will be great to have an RDFL v BFL Under 23s match next year too! I am an RDFL man but I reckon we would get mercilessly spanked in that game.
discoduck
14 Jun 2007, 17:37
vanders, if you're still reading, i'm under the pump in melbourne atm and will be late. i haven't got any phone numbers, so if you can tell tezz i'm coming, but mightn't get there til 6.30 or after.
vantheman32
14 Jun 2007, 17:42
no worries mate ill let him know, drive safely mate
Itsmyshow
14 Jun 2007, 18:00
I wrote the article on the RDFL website and the kids came from places Trueblueroo mentioned.
It will be great to have an RDFL v BFL Under 23s match next year too!
It is almost certain...
Halffullonfence
14 Jun 2007, 18:19
I am an RDFL man but I reckon we would get mercilessly spanked in that game.
Tend to agree but would be great to test the league and give it something to strive for and see whether we are improving or not.
TAC cup level shows the area is worthy of promising talent, also may give clubs more bargaining power to keep or attract quality players in that age range.
Crookknee
14 Jun 2007, 18:26
[quote=Trueblueroo;7830839]Macedon in the 90's, Pascoe Vale and Gissy i believe! To the older crew on this forum would know the name![/quot
GUN CHF. would make the rdfl team of the 90s easy
I have heard of him and thought that he was a reasonable player but was he that good mongrel? Should be a very handy pick up for what already is a formidable team, if thats the case. Good news for the kangas. What posi would you have Brad Fox play in this team of the 90's, only because I thought CHF would be his spot.
Itsmyshow
14 Jun 2007, 18:27
Tend to agree but would be great to test the league and give it something to strive for and see whether we are improving or not.
TAC cup level shows the area is worthy of promising talent, also may give clubs more bargaining power to keep or attract quality players in that age range.
I had to respond to the cheap shot on the Bendigo thread mate... Couldn't help myself :D
Itsmyshow
14 Jun 2007, 18:29
[quote=Mongrel;7831092]
I have heard of him and thought that he was a reasonable player but was he that good mongrel? Should be a very handy pick up for what already is a formidable team, if thats the case. Good news for the kangas. What posi would you have Brad Fox play in this team of the 90's, only because I thought CHF would be his spot.
Good call on Fox, but he was dominant in the comp and coulda played anywhere, as could Hawkins.. (I woulda named Hawkins at HF/FP though)
joeblow2
14 Jun 2007, 22:49
Yawn. Stretch. Wha?! What day is it? Bugger me, time to fire up. Footy's back this weekend!!
What will the week off bring to the comp? Are the Hawks at full strength yet? Are they the real deal? The Rams improved season may have a slight stutter this week, Woodend likely to win by plenty.
What about Diggers? Where have they been all season? Does the break afford them the opportunity to hit their straps? Maybe a few key blokes had the opportunity to get over some niggles? Maybe they're just in for an ordinary year. Big game for them this week, if Centrals turn it on they are a big chance at an upset. Wheelahan and Bullen to lead the Centrals to a hard fought win <3 goals.
Kilmore started strong, but appeared to taper off a little the last couple of weeks. Macedon appeared to be headed for whipping boy status, then came out and beat my Tiges and took it right up to Rockbank. Kilmore to strong here, but it won't be easy. Maybe 5 or 6 goals.
My Tigers have shown marked improvement since the return of Chris Collins and some improved form accross the entire group. Knocked over Centrals then took it up to Romsey. Now I guess we'll get an idea of just how far we have come, a trip to Boardman to take on the unbeaten 'Roos. What about them. More knockers than George W, but just keep winning. More recruits to bolster an already impressive list. Who's gonna stop them? Probably expected to beat Centrals by more last time, and would be expecting to beat us comfortably. But you never know. The Tiges will need there best game to take it up to Sunbury.
Then comes match of the round. No James, no Riddell? Not likely. Somehow last years premiers are getting under the radar (to a point), with the impressive improvements from Woodend and Sunbury. Dropped 1 game, but seem to be in second gear. They've done it, the others are unproven. They go to Romsey to take on a Redbacks outfit that were less than impressive last time. One would suggest that if that sort of performance comes up again this week, Riddell will dismantle them easily.
Kings Army
15 Jun 2007, 09:20
om·nip·o·tent (Pronounce - om níppatant)
adjective Definition: all-powerful: possessing complete, unlimited, or universal power and authority
Sounds more like me than you OMNI...
Now I understand why my post was deleted when I fired back at omnipotent. Love can be a powerful motivator. Just my opinion!
Itsmyshow
15 Jun 2007, 09:52
Now I understand why my post was deleted when I fired back at omnipotent. Love can be a powerful motivator. Just my opinion!
Why do I bother... :rolleyes:
OMNIPOTENT_1
15 Jun 2007, 11:15
Obviously you have issues, seek professional help, NOW !
Trueblueroo
15 Jun 2007, 11:48
On another topic another former young gun CHB of this comp, in Luke Carroll 2 weeks ago suffered a set back bringing his year to end by tearing the cartlidge in his knee! Surgery last week, will see him miss the rest of the year! Good bloke on and off the field! I know him and Al read this so best wishes mate!
Itsmyshow
15 Jun 2007, 12:45
On another topic another former young gun CHB of this comp, in Luke Carroll 2 weeks ago suffered a set back bringing his year to end by tearing the cartlidge in his knee! Surgery last week, will see him miss the rest of the year! Good bloke on and off the field! I know him and Al read this so best wishes mate!
Terrible news for Luke, all the best in your recovery mate...
matt_nicholls
15 Jun 2007, 13:07
Last time I checked TBR Lukey was a gun wingman in the RDFL. Haha.
I don't think the CHB experiment worked well last year at all. :D
Trueblueroo
15 Jun 2007, 13:21
Where was he named in the RDFl side last year Matt? Im not being a smart arse i just want to know? I know he was experimented there and i know that where Al had him in the praccys this year!
Doesn't matter he is a gun!
Hawker28
15 Jun 2007, 15:20
can anyone confirm the rumour that jamie cuffe is returning to football in the r.d.f.l?
Trueblueroo
15 Jun 2007, 15:41
Yeah, its true he coaches the u16's @ the Roos! Bloke was a gun, since has sustained some life threatening injuries!
Trueblueroo
15 Jun 2007, 15:45
Any write ups other than Joe's? IMS and M&M?
Hawker28
15 Jun 2007, 15:47
Yeah, its true he coaches the u16's @ the Roos! Bloke was a gun, since has sustained some life threatening injuries!
i heard he was coming back 2 play.maybe they got it mixed up with coaching?
Trueblueroo
15 Jun 2007, 15:48
i heard he was coming back 2 play.maybe they got it mixed up with coaching?
I know his injuries where pretty full on almost Tom Lonegan like! He would be freak if that was the case!
matt_nicholls
15 Jun 2007, 15:49
I don't think LC made last year's team of the year. His brother did though. Not 100% though.
Also, for though Roos fans, Scott Clark is playing tomorrow and Phil Conway is out I'm led to believe.
Mongrel, I'll be at the game by around 3.45, will you be around after the match? I'll shout you a beer or three with my gorilla :D
I make my umpiring debut at Assumption tomorrow morning doing a Year 8 game at the Main Oval.
My official RDFL umpiring commences Sunday at 11.30am in the Under 12s Kilmore v Melton South clash. Will be doing the Under 14s game afterwards at 1pm.
catters078
15 Jun 2007, 15:56
your right mathew, lukey missed out last year on team of the year...had a good year (spent most of first half at CHB) but was pretty under utilised.
once they switched him back to the wing, hes started to find some solid form...heard a whisper that if heathcote go deep in the finals he could be a chance
joeblow2
15 Jun 2007, 15:57
I don't think LC made last year's team of the year. His brother did though. Not 100% though.
Also, for though Roos fans, Scott Clark is playing tomorrow and Phil Conway is out I'm led to believe.
Mongrel, I'll be at the game by around 3.45, will you be around after the match? I'll shout you a beer or three with my gorilla :D
I make my umpiring debut at Assumption tomorrow morning doing a Year 8 game at the Main Oval.
My official RDFL umpiring commences Sunday at 11.30am in the Under 12s Kilmore v Melton South clash. Will be doing the Under 14s game afterwards at 1pm.
Just showing your loyalty to the Tigers there Pickles?
Trueblueroo
15 Jun 2007, 16:01
your right mathew, lukey missed out last year on team of the year...had a good year (spent most of first half at CHB) but was pretty under utilised.
once they switched him back to the wing, hes started to find some solid form...heard a whisper that if heathcote go deep in the finals he could be a chance
Yeah i know he's pretty keen to get back onto the track! I would imagine Al would be as well, having quaility utility like him back in the side!
matt_nicholls
15 Jun 2007, 16:13
Just showing your loyalty to the Tigers there Pickles?
My loyalty goes to my reputation as the #1 RDFL reporter. I gotta break the news. :D
Plus, I didn't ring up and ask for team selections, I got the phone call last night after they were announced.
joeblow2
15 Jun 2007, 16:30
My loyalty goes to my reputation as the #1 RDFL reporter. I gotta break the news. :D
Plus, I didn't ring up and ask for team selections, I got the phone call last night after they were announced.
Hmmm, a leak huh?! The plot thickens!!:eek: