View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
dawson played in the guts all day omni, played pretty well, burlak played chb. between them they probably had about 15-20 contested marks which is good for their confidence...probably would have lost if they didnt step up
two players in awesome form at the weekend were s.simms and mark mcinerney
Itsmyshow
2 Jul 2007, 10:06
Should be a stand alone game on the Sunday & League need to roster the best umpires available for this Block Buster !
Suspect it will be won & lost in the guts !
Can we chang3e this game to a Sunday, sure blockbuster that I think everyone would love to see.... Where is Scott McCartney when ya need him....
billylid
2 Jul 2007, 10:17
two players in awesome form at the weekend were s.simms and mark mcinerney
have to agree also thought Johnson (sk) , underwood (dr) and for 3 qtrs Payne at CHB played well. Special mention to B.Hannon who done a very servicable job on early bowen medalist Favourite No 9 for kangaroos (Bonicci) . 3-2-1 for the weekend McInerney (3) , Simms (2) and Hannon (1) apologises to johnson , underwood and couldnt squueze you in mongrel although do admit played quiet well in the 3rd and 4th quarters... now before people question hannon getting a vote i think any player that keeps one of kangaroos main ball getters to less then half his seasons average possies has done a great job...
great call billy.i did think payney was great 4 u guys too.and yes bonnicci had a hard day at the office on saturday.s.simms an absolute class act
matt_nicholls
2 Jul 2007, 10:50
Matt Nicholls' premiership odds (after round 10):
Riddell $1.45
Woodend-Hesket $3.50
Sunbury Kangaroos $4.50
Romsey $25
Diggers Rest $25
Kilmore $35
Lancefield $101
Melton Central $401
Macedon $1001
Rockbank $1001
Will take bets of $100 or less. This is serious, but cash needs to be placed to confirm bet. I'll give updated odds after each round from here on in.
catters078
2 Jul 2007, 10:55
Matt Nicholls' premiership odds (after round 10):
Riddell $1.45
Woodend-Hesket $3.50
Sunbury Kangaroos $4.50
Romsey $25
Diggers Rest $25
Kilmore $35
Lancefield $101
Melton Central $401
Macedon $1001
Rockbank $1001
Will take bets of $100 or less. This is serious, but cash needs to be placed to confirm bet. I'll give updated odds after each round from here on in.
any bowen betting matt?
Trueblueroo
2 Jul 2007, 10:57
Would have thought that Kilmore would be better placed @ the minute than Diggers are mate?
I play with the bloke, and respect him on and off the field for what he say's, but on Saturday afternoon, i witnessed first hand how good 'Dean Helmers' still is!
The bloke puts in a fair bit to take the field, but to lift a side and play on, takes a little something else!
Bonici stll had a fair bit of the footy though, just not what he would usually expect! However in the last Quarter he come through with the goods! Good effort to the bloke that played on him!
Itsmyshow
2 Jul 2007, 11:02
My votes from Saturday's game would have been
3 - Mark McInerney
2 - Steve James
1 - Shaun Sims
Itsmyshow
2 Jul 2007, 11:03
Just to clear all further talk up too..
Aaron James is leaving the Kangaroos and heading to Stanhope in the KDFL, like to wish Jamesy all the best at his new club... :thumbsu:
Trueblueroo
2 Jul 2007, 11:11
I though he can't be cleared this year?
Itsmyshow
2 Jul 2007, 11:13
I though he can't be cleared this year?
He is going to Vic Country, different set of rules to Vic Metro...
Trueblueroo
2 Jul 2007, 11:17
He is going to Vic Country, different set of rules to Vic Metro...
Did they meet his demands? or is he a forwards coach?
joeblow2
2 Jul 2007, 11:22
can any one tell me how chris collins is going for lancefield?
Chris is going very well at Lancefield. He hurt his knee in the first round and missed 3 or 4, still not 100% but is showing his ability to read the play and set up attacks. Has answered alot of questions re being such a young coach and is going to be a major player in the Tigers return to the top of the ladder in the next couple of years.
matt_nicholls
2 Jul 2007, 11:38
I don't think Kilmore are any chance to win the flag this year, maybe next season if they keep their players and recruit one or two. Diggers could be half a chance if they sneak in and have a full list to pick from in the finals. If they made it into the granny they would then have to hope their opponents were carrying injuries because they will lose their Mormons.
Also, JB2 you say that Chris will be the key to Lancefield returning to the top of the ladder in the next couple of years. While I agree Chris is doing a fantastic job and his performance this season is underrated, I can't see the Tigers returning to the top anytime soon.
Simon Choate, Stuey Stevenson, Paul Cook - all veterans in their twilight days and still regular performers for the Tigers. Provide much needed leadership.
Ben Porker, Sam Witteveen, Sean Crower - are these guys senior players?
Youngsters - great to see the club have an Under 18s side, but are there many future guns? Luke Malone, Chris Burkett and Rob Cini show potential. Would be good to get Myles Dorman back next season.
Middle tier players - Tim Collins, Jay Tully, Shaun Milner, Trav Smith, Shaun Ryan, Mark Caton, Jay Shewan. Can they lead the club in the next three seasons?
Future stars - Sam Graham and Nathan Milner. Next year will see if they have match winning potential.
Guns - Chris Collins, Phil Conway, Dale Joseph, Adrian Perry and Scott Smithwick. Need to carry a hell of a load. How long can skinny Phil keep getting smashed in the ruck? Will Smithwick stay at the club?
themagicfrog
2 Jul 2007, 11:45
Just after some info on a former Diggers Rst player by the name of Lucas Ryan, any info would be a help.
Thanks
Magic
joeblow2
2 Jul 2007, 11:50
I don't think Kilmore are any chance to win the flag this year, maybe next season if they keep their players and recruit one or two. Diggers could be half a chance if they sneak in and have a full list to pick from in the finals. If they made it into the granny they would then have to hope their opponents were carrying injuries because they will lose their Mormons.
Also, JB2 you say that Chris will be the key to Lancefield returning to the top of the ladder in the next couple of years. While I agree Chris is doing a fantastic job and his performance this season is underrated, I can't see the Tigers returning to the top anytime soon.
Simon Choate, Stuey Stevenson, Paul Cook - all veterans in their twilight days and still regular performers for the Tigers. Provide much needed leadership.
Youngsters - great to see the club have an Under 18s side, but are there many future guns? Luke Malone, Chris Burkett and Rob Cini show potential. Would be good to get Myles Dorman back next season.
Middle tier players - Tim Collins, Jay Tully, Shaun Milner, Trav Smith, Shaun Ryan, Mark Caton, Jay Shewan. Can they lead the club in the next three seasons?
Future stars - Sam Graham and Nathan Milner. Next year will see if they have match winning potential.
Guns - Chris Collins, Phil Conway, Dale Joseph, Adrian Perry and Scott Smithwick. Need to carry a hell of a load. How long can skinny Phil keep getting smashed in the ruck? Will Smithwick stay at the club?
All valid questions, and only time can answer any of them. I'm confident the club is going in the right direction.
catters078
2 Jul 2007, 11:58
i reckon if you can get to within 2 goals of riddell at riddell with the form they're in, you would have to be some chance if they can get some momentum towards the finals
Itsmyshow
2 Jul 2007, 12:04
All valid questions, and only time can answer any of them. I'm confident the club is going in the right direction.
Ladies and Gentleman, the next President of the Lancefield FC... :D
joeblow2
2 Jul 2007, 12:08
Easy tiger.
matt_nicholls
2 Jul 2007, 12:36
i reckon if you can get to within 2 goals of riddell at riddell with the form they're in, you would have to be some chance if they can get some momentum towards the finals
Riddell cruised all day. No offence to the Blues, but if yesterday was a GF the Bombers would have won by much more.
catters078
2 Jul 2007, 12:43
Riddell cruised all day. No offence to the Blues, but if yesterday was a GF the Bombers would have won by much more.
going on form an ladder positions now, wanna predict the final 5 matty? i reckon it wont change...pending the riddell woodend result on saturday...
imachamp
2 Jul 2007, 13:02
sorry to say this pickles but there is no way myles dorman will go back to lancefield as he his killing it for the kyneton 16s,probably will be a league b and f contender at this stage of the year.
matt_nicholls
2 Jul 2007, 13:19
going on form an ladder positions now, wanna predict the final 5 matty? i reckon it wont change...pending the riddell woodend result on saturday...
Riddell - 17 wins, 1 loss
Woodend-Hesket - 15 wins, 3 losses
Sunbury Kangaroos - 15 wins, 3 losses
Kilmore - 11 wins, 7 losses
Romsey - 11 wins, 7 losses
Diggers Rest - 10 wins, 8 losses
bromanbomber
2 Jul 2007, 13:25
was my first go at this so my appolgies go out to
m.power riddell
d.kavanagh kilmore
p.albon craigiburn
m.cheep woodend
j beleville riddell
h wadden riddell
r omeara lancefield
g.langbourne wallan
a.meldrum romsey
Not to mention these two below that are past legends at Kilmore:-
A Stewart (Kilmore)
D Kemp (Kilmore)
what's goin on with spook at the redbacks? league medal in 2000 and co-captain in the 2003 flag.....is he injured or lost interest again?
matt_nicholls
2 Jul 2007, 14:30
what's goin on with spook at the redbacks? league medal in 2000 and co-captain in the 2003 flag.....is he injured or lost interest again?
Groin injury
Itsmyshow
2 Jul 2007, 14:41
Groin injury
Was that from the Haymaker he threw against Lancefield??? :p
matt_nicholls
2 Jul 2007, 14:43
Was that from the Haymaker he threw against Lancefield??? :p
He's lucky he is a poor aim. Wouldn't matter how sore the groin was, it had 6 weeks written all over it.
matt_nicholls
2 Jul 2007, 14:58
Things to look out from me and the league in the next few weeks:
Pickles' Podcast - I did interviews with Darrin Rowsell and Terry Ahearn on Saturday, they should be up sometime this week. A work in progress, should improve each week.
Naidoc Week preview - Sunbury Kangaroos and Romsey will be playing a special match to acknowledge the role indigenous people make to the game.
Mid-season record - comes out this Saturday at every RDFL match. A must read! Watch out for each side's mid-season reports. Has Top 30 and more inside. Good run down on the Under 18s and Rookie of the Year award too.
Finals venue announcement - Coming soon!
Harry Wilson
2 Jul 2007, 15:54
He's lucky he is a poor aim. Wouldn't matter how sore the groin was, it had 6 weeks written all over it.
I think Mr Caton might be lucky it was poor aim, he may have been out for 6 weeks also, as it was it looked like he might have had a hefty dry cleaning bill for his underwear!!
Mike Lyon
2 Jul 2007, 16:00
Things to look out from me and the league in the next few weeks:
Pickles' Podcast - I did interviews with Darrin Rowsell and Terry Ahearn on Saturday, they should be up sometime this week. A work in progress, should improve each week.
Naidoc Week preview - Sunbury Kangaroos and Romsey will be playing a special match to acknowledge the role indigenous people make to the game.
Mid-season record - comes out this Saturday at every RDFL match. A must read! Watch out for each side's mid-season reports. Has Top 30 and more inside. Good run down on the Under 18s and Rookie of the Year award too.
Finals venue announcement - Coming soon!
Interesting the NAIDOC match there Mr Nicholls, how will Romsey react to this match up.
From the information I received the Romsey crowd didn't receive the indigenous players to warmly last time these two met...
Interesting results from the weekend.
Melton Central very unlucky. Mark Greenshields will be rated for his sides performances against both the Kangaroos and Romsey, but what happens to the boys down at Macpherson Park when they play fellow cellar dwellar sides? Losing to Macedon and Lancefield in recent weeks when results against the stronger sides show that Centrals would be close to being a contender after recruiting well, would have to be a thorn in the side!!!
Harry Wilson
2 Jul 2007, 16:15
Interesting the NAIDOC match there Mr Nicholls, how will Romsey react to this match up.
From the information I received the Romsey crowd didn't receive the indigenous players to warmly last time these two met...
Interesting results from the weekend.
Melton Central very unlucky. Mark Greenshields will be rated for his sides performances against both the Kangaroos and Romsey, but what happens to the boys down at Macpherson Park when they play fellow cellar dwellar sides? Losing to Macedon and Lancefield in recent weeks when results against the stronger sides show that Centrals would be close to being a contender after recruiting well, would have to be a thorn in the side!!!
Would like to know where you got this information from Mike? I was at the game and didn't notice anything un-toward. The word getting around Romsey is how good a footballer Niki is and how silly he made Hollywood look out on the wing when he turned him inside out!!
I would like to think that there were no issues in relation to any persons heritage. Very dissapointed if there were:thumbsd:
Itsmyshow
2 Jul 2007, 16:22
Would like to know where you got this information from Mike? I was at the game and didn't notice anything un-toward. The word getting around Romsey is how good a footballer Niki is and how silly he made Hollywood look out on the wing when he turned him inside out!!
I would like to think that there were no issues in relation to any persons heritage. Very dissapointed if there were:thumbsd:
There was issues, but it was raised internally... Interesting to find out where you got this info from though Mike....
the romsey faithful get pretty fired up but it would be disappointing if it went that far
don't talk yourself down H
Itsmyshow
2 Jul 2007, 17:08
the romsey faithful get pretty fired up but it would be disappointing if it went that far
Its irrelevant now.. All a closed book...
It was disappointing at the time, but im sure we have all learnt from it and moved on...
Question??
What happened to Disco Duck on the weekend...?? Heard he took an injury into the game without telling the coach and then pinged the hammy 2 mins into the 3rd quarter??
Whats going on there Duck??? :p
Not to mention these two below that are past legends at Kilmore:-
A Stewart (Kilmore)
D Kemp (Kilmore)
a stewart made the side bromanbomber.he was a true leader,and a gun CHF.was as tough as nails too
discoduck
2 Jul 2007, 17:31
Its irrelevant now.. All a closed book...
It was disappointing at the time, but im sure we have all learnt from it and moved on...
Question??
What happened to Disco Duck on the weekend...?? Heard he took an injury into the game without telling the coach and then pinged the hammy 2 mins into the 3rd quarter??
Whats going on there Duck??? :p
lame duck.
chinese whisper i'd reckon ims. simply a case of too old, too fat, too unfit for footy. nothing sinnister.
rolled the left ankle last week, got through training quite ok on thursday, but twanged the right hammy on saturday. did the same hammy about 6 weeks back, but can't be blamed for that one.
Itsmyshow
2 Jul 2007, 17:39
lame duck.
chinese whisper i'd reckon ims. simply a case of too old, too fat, too unfit for footy. nothing sinnister.
rolled the left ankle last week, got through training quite ok on thursday, but twanged the right hammy on saturday. did the same hammy about 6 weeks back, but can't be blamed for that one.
Disappointing mate.. How many out?? Will you be back in time for the Roos game and a beer at the conclusion of said game??? :cool:
joeblow2
2 Jul 2007, 17:42
I think Mr Caton might be lucky it was poor aim, he may have been out for 6 weeks also, as it was it looked like he might have had a hefty dry cleaning bill for his underwear!!
Doubt it HW, Cates wouldn't have seen it coming:D
Harry Wilson
2 Jul 2007, 17:54
Great call joeblow2!! Good bloke Cates, but can be intimidated easily sometimes. The strange thing is I think that's the first time I've ever seen Spooka miss landing a cut lunch. I've seen him throw plenty over the years, both on and off the field and normally he's pretty sharp!!
Well the boy is definitely making an impact with the Redbacks so perhaps he is learning.
good 2 see your young bloke playing good footy again on the weekend pal.should be a ripping contest this weekend.woodend are very hard 2 beat at home,yet riddell are flying at the moment.look forward 2 hearing the result
Animosity
2 Jul 2007, 18:24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Itsmyshow http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7987890#post7987890)
Easy tiger.
PUN OF THE YEAR!!!!!!!!!
OMNIPOTENT_1
2 Jul 2007, 18:50
Can we chang3e this game to a Sunday, sure blockbuster that I think everyone would love to see.... Where is Scott McCartney when ya need him....
Having now seen both teams ims(or anyone else), what do you think will be the pivotal match ups for the top of the table clash ?
Halffullonfence
2 Jul 2007, 18:59
Any chance of a BIG FOOTY tent during the finals. If the umpires can have one at the GF surely we can.
OMNIPOTENT_1
2 Jul 2007, 19:16
Any chance of a BIG FOOTY tent during the finals. If the umpires can have one at the GF surely we can.
Think we are more worthy to use their tent & they should set up an Oxygen one for them !
May help them keep up & get em through the game !
dwyane WADE show
2 Jul 2007, 19:40
there was a player that wore no 5 at wallan for a few years think he went over seas for a bit was a very good player would you have a name.? he would have pushed for a spot in mongrels side.
yeah his name was jay mcgrath, pretty good player who could do freakish things on a footy field. By the sound of things theres a few players from macedons 97-99 sides that are now at sunbury, whys that? They had a very good side along with gisborne, wallan and craigieburn. also had some talented aboriginies playing for them
NotDoneYet
2 Jul 2007, 19:51
Apparently D.Ellery from Kangaroos has been telling his workmates he is the most improved player in the league this year and one of the main reasons why the Roos are sitting so high on the ladder this year.
If so we should all get to boardman reserve this week and watch the D.Ellery show against Macedon
Digger52
2 Jul 2007, 20:01
Massive Game 4 Burras this week.With Kilmore playing Lancefield @ Kilmore.They would need to beat Romsey this week to stay inn touch.There effort on the weekend (Bar the last 5/10minutes ) was pretty good .Ims even you would agree with that.
Also Dixon not putting Yarwood back on the ground was a smart move .
yeah his name was jay mcgrath, pretty good player who could do freakish things on a footy field. By the sound of things theres a few players from macedons 97-99 sides that are now at sunbury, whys that? They had a very good side along with gisborne, wallan and craigieburn. also had some talented aboriginies playing for them
Went thru High School with Jay had some pretty good times with him and a few of the Wallan lads thru our teenage years - Reckon Jay mighta celebrated his 31st birthday about a fortnight ago :thumbsu: Last time I spoke with him he was happy up north but dont think he was playing footy anymore
Apparently D.Ellery from Kangaroos has been telling his workmates he is the most improved player in the league this year and one of the main reasons why the Roos are sitting so high on the ladder this year.
If so we should all get to boardman reserve this week and watch the D.Ellery show against Macedon
No responded to the first post so you have another crack! I dont think anyone really cares about the benchwarmers of the comp mate, only big superstars like yourself, or so you tell me.
Sounds like somebody with some payback after last week, a statement was made about thomson carrying diggers.:D:D:D
NotDoneYet
2 Jul 2007, 21:01
hahaha True i was getting nothing:thumbsd: Thought id have another final crack though.
DumDum lives in sunbury, when macedon folded he come up lookin for a game, a couple of years later talked his grubby inlaws to join him, helmers is just a sheep and likes to follow:D
vantheman32
2 Jul 2007, 21:06
Riddell did not cruise at all on saturday mate, when you watch a game dont just watch cornish and kemp, riddell knew we were coming home hard and they admitted they were worried about us after the game to the president and the coach, dont sell us short matt, we worked our asses off on saturday! was a good game of footy, you said simmo also umpired us back, for once we got the free kicks that the other teams get agaisnt, im sure Riddell have recieved plenty of dubious free kicks over there yrs at the top.
Riddell - 17 wins, 1 loss
Woodend-Hesket - 15 wins, 3 losses
Sunbury Kangaroos - 15 wins, 3 losses
Kilmore - 11 wins, 7 losses
Romsey - 11 wins, 7 losses
Diggers Rest - 10 wins, 8 losses
woodend and sunbury currently with one loss which 2 teams will beat them.
Romsey now with 3 losses, which 4 teams will knock them off
come on matt be more specific have a crack nice and early:p
vantheman32
2 Jul 2007, 21:11
kilmore will beat romsey second time around, and give sunbury a fair crack for their money this time!
matt_nicholls
2 Jul 2007, 21:20
Riddell did not cruise at all on saturday mate, when you watch a game dont just watch cornish and kemp, riddell knew we were coming home hard and they admitted they were worried about us after the game to the president and the coach, dont sell us short matt, we worked our asses off on saturday! was a good game of footy, you said simmo also umpired us back, for once we got the free kicks that the other teams get agaisnt, im sure Riddell have recieved plenty of dubious free kicks over there yrs at the top.
Riddell cruised early, and yes, Kilmore caught them on the hop. Even your teammates admitted Simmo gave them a good run late in the game (first time EVER!). The Bombers were never going to lose, although I wish you had of kicked one more goal late to really put the fear of god into them. I'm not a barracker, but I was hoping that Kilmore got up. As for your Cornish and Kemp comments, I think the Blues blokes are taking that a little far now :D I think Dave is actually scared. I thought Benny Newham was best on ground, Bladey carved you blokes apart and Kempy was brilliant too. Thought you were a little quiet, but did some great one percenters and worked well with the forwards.
matt_nicholls
2 Jul 2007, 21:22
woodend and sunbury currently with one loss which 2 teams will beat them.
Romsey now with 3 losses, which 4 teams will knock them off
come on matt be more specific have a crack nice and early:p
If you go to an RDFL game this weekend and get their mid-season record you will see how I rate each side in the run home.
vantheman32
2 Jul 2007, 21:24
good run from simmo but about frigging time!!!! kempy was sensational, cornish was great, benny was very good, i was quiet couldnt get into in the foward line still gettin used 2 it out there again, playin rockbank n macedon after 5 weeks off eqauals another 2 weeks off footy, so that was my first competetive match in a long time, struggling atm but i wont tell you or the bigfooty community il get through it haha
vantheman32
2 Jul 2007, 21:36
great idea Blues 12 ill see what is floating around with the fellas
NotDoneYet
2 Jul 2007, 21:44
Just a question, I'm a first year player in the RDFL. If a player gets suspended during the season are they still eligible for the bowen medal?
matt_nicholls
2 Jul 2007, 21:46
Just a question, I'm a first year player in the RDFL. If a player gets suspended during the season are they still eligible for the bowen medal?
They are deemed to be inelligble. Damn you for mentioning it. Was hoping to get some suckers to take Leigh McInerney!
Also, Blues 12, I would be happy to take the bets and write you a receipt, once i see the cash!
vantheman32
2 Jul 2007, 21:48
no matem trust me :P
NotDoneYet
2 Jul 2007, 21:53
Well thats why i asked the question. Was interested at L. Mcinernys oddsb
matt_nicholls
2 Jul 2007, 21:57
Well thats why i asked the question. Was interested at L. Mcinernys oddsb
Don't be disheartened. There is one player to have been awarded a Bowen Medal after the night. Trevor Sankey from Gisborne was deemed inelligble one year because in those days if you had been reported, but found not guilty you still couldn't win it. He tied with Jack Hiscock* in 1960 I believe. Later they changed the rules and Sankey was awarded the Bowen.
* Former Melbourne footballer who died recently, had a raking left foot and won 54 and 60 Bowens for Trentham.
spotted dog
2 Jul 2007, 22:00
back ya up there Van, from what i saw the riddel lads ran outta legs and if the blues hadda played 4 full quarters instead of 2 and a bit the game woulda had a totally diffrent outcome. be weary of em i say, just startn ta hit there straps
matt_nicholls
2 Jul 2007, 22:04
back ya up there Van, from what i saw the riddel lads ran outta legs and if the blues hadda played 4 full quarters instead of 2 and a bit the game woulda had a totally diffrent outcome. be weary of em i say, just startn ta hit there straps
Had Kilmore of played four quarters Riddell would have played four quarters. Did you ever stop to think that perhaps Riddell were too good in the second and third terms and didn't allow Kilmore to play good. Ask anyone on this thread, I am Kilmore's biggest admirers, but the Bombers did enough to win on Saturday. The focus goes to this weekend's game.
spotted dog
2 Jul 2007, 22:10
Had Kilmore of played four quarters Riddell would have played four quarters. Did you ever stop to think that perhaps Riddell were too good in the second and third terms and didn't allow Kilmore to play good. Ask anyone on this thread, I am Kilmore's biggest admirers, but the Bombers did enough to win on Saturday. The focus goes to this weekend's game.
umm Matt pay attention man in my opinion from the game i watched, i believe that Riddell are'nt fit and if pushd solidly over 4 quarters i think they're vulnerable, i guess only time will tell
Rodriguez
2 Jul 2007, 22:13
Pickles could be anyone mate, you have to worry when a team gets rolled by 11 goals and the umpire looks tosses up between two blokes on the losing side. Admittedly both guys were very good, but I would have thought we would have had at least two blokes better one kicked 6 and gave away 4 or 5 the other had about 40 in the middle. Where it is won and lost.
Admittedly the same thing happened last year when Nga was best on when we got rolled, i think we had him somewhere in our top 6. Could we get a bigfooty medal for next year, a rep from each team if we can find them, can give votes on each game, to stop possible bias.. I imagine it would be closer to what the blokes on here would expect..
OMNIPOTENT_1
2 Jul 2007, 22:14
Riddell cruised early, and yes, Kilmore caught them on the hop. Even your teammates admitted Simmo gave them a good run late in the game (first time EVER!). The Bombers were never going to lose, although I wish you had of kicked one more goal late to really put the fear of god into them. I'm not a barracker, but I was hoping that Kilmore got up. As for your Cornish and Kemp comments, I think the Blues blokes are taking that a little far now :D I think Dave is actually scared. I thought Benny Newham was best on ground, Bladey carved you blokes apart and Kempy was brilliant too. Thought you were a little quiet, but did some great one percenters and worked well with the forwards.
Bladey very good player but not in Riddells 10 best players on sat' Matt !
goblues09
3 Jul 2007, 00:14
i think the blues deserve some credit as we did go as much as 6 goals down at one point and i dont think Riddell were in cruise control when they know full well the difference between a weeks rest come finals time may hinge on percentage. if the result was never in doubt then the bombers wouldn't have had 2 blokes behind the ball for the last 5 or so mins
goblues09
3 Jul 2007, 00:16
Bladey very good player but not in Riddells 10 best players on sat' Matt !
i must beg to differ - i think all kilmore players will agree that it was prob bladey and the two allens (j and b) that were the catalysts in the win. j allen gave straney nothing all day and brayden peeled off well to rebound on numerous occasions
Trueblueroo
3 Jul 2007, 08:32
Matty you talk of all these blokes having good odds for the bowen, just a quick one!
Whats the least amount of games played, where a player has won a Bowen, becuase this bloke will walk in firing?
Essendon District Football League (Keilor)Sunbury KangaroosCuffe, JamieApproved28/06/0702/07/07
Now your all in big, big trouble!!!!
matt_nicholls
3 Jul 2007, 09:00
Matty you talk of all these blokes having good odds for the bowen, just a quick one!
Whats the least amount of games played, where a player has won a Bowen, becuase this bloke will walk in firing?
Essendon District Football League (Keilor)Sunbury KangaroosCuffe, JamieApproved28/06/0702/07/07
Some good banter here fellas, just a couple of additions:
OMNI, Bladey was a superstar on Saturday. Roswell said so, Belleville said so, all the Kilmore boys thought so.
I think you blokes should all read the article on centralsport.org this afternoon when it goes up. GoBlues09, I gave the Kilmore defence a lot of kudos. I thought you blokes fell down across half-forward for much of the day. There really hasn't been much talk about Rysa's performance either. Superb!
Uncle_Touchy
3 Jul 2007, 09:18
no dark horse will win the bowen this year.
the elite players are playing too well for that to happen
CANDIDATES:
1.m.robertson
2.j.beleville
3.d.bonnicci
4.m.mcinerny
maybe some one from another club can give us their teams best performed player so far to add to this list?
matt_nicholls
3 Jul 2007, 09:31
CANDIDATES:
1.m.robertson
2.j.beleville
3.d.bonnicci
4.m.mcinerny
maybe some one from another club can give us their teams best performed player so far to add to this list?
My dark horse has to be Linton Kemp. With bright red hair and always repelling the opposition, he will stand out for Kilmore.
Harry Wilson
3 Jul 2007, 10:01
I don't think Jamie Cuffe will get anywhere near Bowen contention. Coming in to the game this late in the season, as good a footballer is he is/was, he's no chance. That's even if the man takes the field. I have it on pretty good authority that the clearance was only signed to get committee off of his back. Due to previous injuries it could be very dangerous for him to play. The Roos may need marital approval prior to the big fella taking the field.
Is there any truth to this rumor, IMS? :D
Itsmyshow
3 Jul 2007, 10:18
Having now seen both teams ims(or anyone else), what do you think will be the pivotal match ups for the top of the table clash ?
Matchups that could decide the game will be IMO
Adam Johnstone Vs Aaron Blade - Both underrated midfielders that are their sides barometer's, whoever wins this contest could have a huge impact on the result.
Luke Barker Vs Mark Peatling - Barker will return for this one, can he have an immediate impact. Peatling has been one of the best defenders in the competition.
Rick Dowling Vs Nick Ash - Dowling sets the tempo for the Hawks, Ash is a quiet achiever who is rarely beaten. One of the best matchup's on the day.
Heath Wadden Vs Kar Weng Ng - Probably wont happen, but I can dream cant I???
James Petran Vs James Hardwick - Petran is in awesome form, Hardwick is a solid defender, if Petty gets his hands on it early, look out...
James Climas Vs Danny Sipthorp - Give the kid a crack Scooter, I reckon he could not only go with Sipthorp but it would be an outstanding matchup.
Rodriguez
3 Jul 2007, 10:30
Matchups that could decide the game will be IMO
Adam Johnstone Vs Aaron Blade - Both underrated midfielders that are their sides barometer's, whoever wins this contest could have a huge impact on the result.
Luke Barker Vs Mark Peatling - Barker will return for this one, can he have an immediate impact. Peatling has been one of the best defenders in the competition.
Rick Dowling Vs Nick Ash - Dowling sets the tempo for the Hawks, Ash is a quiet achiever who is rarely beaten. One of the best matchup's on the day.
Heath Wadden Vs Kar Weng Ng - Probably wont happen, but I can dream cant I???
James Petran Vs James Hardwick - Petran is in awesome form, Hardwick is a solid defender, if Petty gets his hands on it early, look out...
James Climas Vs Danny Sipthorp - Give the kid a crack Scooter, I reckon he could not only go with Sipthorp but it would be an outstanding matchup.
Not bad IMS
However who do the hawks play on Mick Allen, Bomber and Harrison.
And the Bombers on Jimmy Forrest, Salpie ??
Itsmyshow
3 Jul 2007, 10:40
I don't think Jamie Cuffe will get anywhere near Bowen contention. Coming in to the game this late in the season, as good a footballer is he is/was, he's no chance. That's even if the man takes the field. I have it on pretty good authority that the clearance was only signed to get committee off of his back. Due to previous injuries it could be very dangerous for him to play. The Roos may need marital approval prior to the big fella taking the field.
Well the injury side of things isn't true, Jamie has all clearances he needs to return to the football field.. The marital thing, who knows, that's Jamie's private life I would suggest...
Itsmyshow
3 Jul 2007, 10:41
Not bad IMS
I was only talking key matchup's in my opinion Rodz... It would take me all day to go through every position.. I might try a likely lineup later :cool:
Itsmyshow
3 Jul 2007, 10:47
Not bad IMS
Just quicky though ill have a crack at these.
Brayden Allen on Forrest, Leitch on Salpie.
Else on Allen, Bomber is overseas, Harrison will play wing, dont know if Woodend will do any more than have his opponent keep an eye on him, whether it be Bowen or Cuinik...
Trueblueroo
3 Jul 2007, 10:47
The main thing is he wants to play football for the Sunbury Kangaroos and is going to play football for the Sunbury Kangaroos! :thumbsu:
Trueblueroo
3 Jul 2007, 10:50
Woodend will loose if they worry about to many match ups and who is running with who! Let Woodend play their game and try and stop Riddell playing there's, and worry about match ups as they happen! Belveille is the only one i would watch!
joeblow2
3 Jul 2007, 11:07
CANDIDATES:
1.m.robertson
2.j.beleville
3.d.bonnicci
4.m.mcinerny
Nathan Milner and Phil Conway would be high up in Lancefields B&F, but I doubt we've won enough games to see them win the Bowen.
Digger52
3 Jul 2007, 12:42
Can anyone tell me if the woodend v riddell game has been changed to sunday at all .Would get a good crowd though.
Itsmyshow
3 Jul 2007, 13:59
Can anyone tell me if the woodend v riddell game has been changed to sunday at all .Would get a good crowd though.
Wont be changed, wish it could be though... :thumbsu:
Itsmyshow
3 Jul 2007, 14:04
Who is up the top of the ladder?
Current Ladder
Riddell 9 wins 1 loss
Woodend/Hesket 9 wins 1 loss
Sunbury Kangaroos 9 wins 1 loss
Romsey 7 wins 3 losses
Kilmore 5 wins 5 losses
Diggers Rest 4 wins 6 losses
Lancefield 3 wins 7 losses
Macedon FC 2 wins 8 losses
Melton Central 1 win 9 losses
Rockbank 1 win 9 losses.
The highlights for the year so far would have to be the inclusion of a lot of talented players coming back to the RDFL and making the competion better for it. Kangaroos recruited well and are now a genuine force, with Woodend they have a good mixture of old and young and Riddell still up there being a threat again. The lower sides have improved tremendiously with them all being a chance this year to knock off a side above them ie Centrals and Romsey, Kilmore and Riddell, Diggers and the Roos etc.. Rockbank now give everyone a run for there money and need some good recruits next year.Good luck too Macedon and Lancefield putting some faith in there younger brigade (Coach, Captain and V/Captains) they will only get better and hope you can recruit well in the off season to make the comp stronger next year. Too the lower sides chin up and keep giong we all know how hard it is down the lower end ( All been there at some stage) and keep pushing all the sides. Finals in all grades certainly going to be the best for a number of years very even competion. Bring it on!!
vantheman32
3 Jul 2007, 20:40
thats utter rubbish pickles u cant say that had we played four quarters that riddell would have, it makes no sense at all matt. we all know that you admire us but sometimes ur focus is very slim and you dont acknowledge when a side actually outplayed the best side in the leg due to our fitness
vantheman32
3 Jul 2007, 20:44
Could we get a bigfooty medal for next year, a rep from each team if we can find them, can give votes on each game, to stop possible bias.. I imagine it would be closer to what the blokes on here would expect..
Rodriguez that is a really good idea mate, seeing as quite often the top 6 named on a weekend are often bewildering, and in my belief incorrect as to input into games just from my perspective at kilmore.
matt_nicholls
3 Jul 2007, 21:32
thats utter rubbish pickles u cant say that had we played four quarters that riddell would have, it makes no sense at all matt. we all know that you admire us but sometimes ur focus is very slim and you dont acknowledge when a side actually outplayed the best side in the leg due to our fitness
Van, sometimes when you are playing in a match its hard to see the whole picture. You could say the same thing about me watching from the sidelines. Get tomorrow's paper, read what I have to say and see if you disagree. If you do I'm more than happy to discuss what you think was wrong.
Riddell were coming off games against Romsey and Sunbury Kangaroos. No matter how easy they won in those games they were still tough. It was a heavy track on Saturday and you blokes were coming off games against Rockbank and Macedon.
I thought the Blues were sensational in the first and last terms, they played the game on their terms. But my opinion was that Riddell were only going to do enough to win the game. Putting two blokes behind the ball in the last 10 minutes of the match is a great sign for you guys, you don't often see Rowsell resort to those tactics.
OMNIPOTENT_1
3 Jul 2007, 22:03
Woodend will loose if they worry about to many match ups and who is running with who! Let Woodend play their game and try and stop Riddell playing there's, and worry about match ups as they happen! Belveille is the only one i would watch!
Very, very astute tb, dont know that it will make much difference with the kinda form he is in though !
Grubby_3
3 Jul 2007, 22:17
Very, very astute tb, dont know that it will make much difference with the kinda form he is in though !
very true omni one of the hardest players to stop when he is at his best:thumbsu:
OMNIPOTENT_1
3 Jul 2007, 22:17
Wont be changed, wish it could be though... :thumbsu:
Give your game the flick champ & come up & watch,(spy) they've even re-stocked the bar with your favorite tipple since you were last there & cleaned em out !
Bellville has been a class act in this comp 4 numerous years now.and from what i hear he has dominated most games.
i thought leigh mcinerny was a shoo in b4 his suspension but now im on beleville.his team always wins and he always plays well no matter who tags him.hopefully the old fossil lines up on him round 18 just 2 keep him honest.but seeing i couldnt run with him ill wish him all the best.also m.mcinerny,m.robertson and d.bonnicci will be polling in a very big way.good luck 2 all
Harry Wilson
4 Jul 2007, 09:37
I agree with Mongrel that M. Macinerny and Bonnicci will have polled well but will they take votes away from each other? I think this may be a common theme for the Roos this year, they have played some great footy with solid contributors accross the board. I think a similar thing may happen at Riddell with Aarron Blade and some of the young kids in Box and Leitch, however, Belville's class and sheer number of possesions at stoppages will ensure he gets noticed while the umpire is nice and close. The dreads will also help him get noticed:D
Has there been any wash up from the Roos v Diggers game with reports at all? I'm not sure who was reported but from what I hear it was pretty intense situation with a couple of blokes being looked at from both sides. Can anyone shed some light on the outcome?
BrownDog2
4 Jul 2007, 10:48
How many weeks did the Kangaroos reserves player get for his king hit on Marchewka?
not enough!