View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

SLUGGA1
20 Nov 2006, 16:47
once again it was said in a light hearted manner.most people realised and saw it exactly the same way.if it offended jamesy,i will be more than happy 2 apologise.as for your comment howzat "especially coming from the bloke that suggested it". do u wanna explain 2 me what u mean by that?dont explain it on this thread,but u know who i am.lets meet up and discuss it
Did not offend me 1 little bit Deano, if i got upset every time i heard that comment i would be in a mental home. One person who has just got on it is Timmy Mac, is about 30kg overweight and is looking to have a stella 07 season.

Mongrel
21 Nov 2006, 06:47
Did not offend me 1 little bit Deano, if i got upset every time i heard that comment i would be in a mental home. One person who has just got on it is Timmy Mac, is about 30kg overweight and is looking to have a stella 07 season.

cheers pal.but jamesey can u bring grubs car back? he said that u stole it:D

Trueblueroo
21 Nov 2006, 09:54
Hey T.S Just wondering what numbers were like last night and if any new players wondered up? Unfortunately couldn't make it due to other commitments!

Thats_Special
21 Nov 2006, 11:30
Yep... Quality theft of Grubby's car Slugga... He's still a shattered man....

Few at first night last night TBR... Good turn out for 1st session, with a couple of new faces.. Next couple of sessions will tell us where we are in that department

OtisRedding
21 Nov 2006, 14:07
Last year Macedon were improvers with the appointment of christenson as coach he pulled a number of players to play under him does he have any recruits coming over this year are any players leaving

I read in the d4 ammos thread that Rich watts has signed up for UHS -VU. Believe he played at Macedon last year? can anyone fill me in on him?

Thats_Special
21 Nov 2006, 14:17
I read in the d4 ammos thread that Rich watts has signed up for UHS -VU. Believe he played at Macedon last year? can anyone fill me in on him?
Ricky Watts played some very good football at Macedon last year and was probably thier best player, had several 40+ possie matches, is a very good midfielder...

Trueblueroo
21 Nov 2006, 16:50
Their is some truth in that rumour, speaking to a guy last night, from Gisborne and he knows that of 2 Sunbury players and 1 Kangaroos player and an ex Vt player will be possibly going to uni blues! Something is in the mix now not definate but a good chance! Rick has some good mates done there!

Be a big loss to the cats if he goes, specially after a rebuilding year, seeing them win last year was an improvement!

bearsboy
22 Nov 2006, 07:42
I read in the d4 ammos thread that Rich watts has signed up for UHS -VU. Believe he played at Macedon last year? can anyone fill me in on him?He played mostly 2s footy at Gisborne in 05 .

blues12
22 Nov 2006, 09:26
Their is some truth in that rumour, speaking to a guy last night, from Gisborne and he knows that of 2 Sunbury players and 1 Kangaroos player and an ex Vt player will be possibly going to uni blues! Something is in the mix now not definate but a good chance! Rick has some good mates done there!

I too have heard this rumour those 4 blokes all go to uni together in sunbury, they all split up last year,a couple went to lions and a couple to roos. and want to play together, not sure if perhaps watts also goes to the uni.

Trueblueroo
22 Nov 2006, 09:49
Nah, he is good mates with the same mates bringing these blokes in! Just wondering why these blokes who are not bad footballs for their clubs now, would go and play in D4 ammos! Bit of a drop in standard i would have thought! Especially when 3 of the 5 have played TAC and rep footy!

cockroach
22 Nov 2006, 10:56
has melton centrals got a coach yet ?
dose anyone know whats going on down there ?

Trueblueroo
22 Nov 2006, 11:06
Thats not the question we should be asking! It should be do Melton Centrals have a football club and players!

Blueboy16
22 Nov 2006, 11:12
Melton Central vs Rockbank should be a ripper this year.

blues12
22 Nov 2006, 12:14
2 of the boys played in ballarat league, high standard.
woolcock played in RDFL then went back to Violet town and stated that rdfl comp was of a poor standard now going to d4 ammos. surely these boys just want to play together and with their school mates. standard doesn't matter..
Boys you can all come play for the kangas

Thats_Special
22 Nov 2006, 12:28
Melton Central vs Rockbank should be a ripper this year.
Nah.. Rockbank will smash em

John Cena
22 Nov 2006, 14:30
Uni Blues are A Grade Ammos... not D4.

twodogs13
22 Nov 2006, 21:33
Uni Blues are A Grade Ammos... not D4.

Your right Uni Blues are in A grade but I think they were referring to USH-VU which stands for Uni High School - Vic Uni. They are in D4.

VT#23
22 Nov 2006, 21:47
2 of the boys played in ballarat league, high standard.
woolcock played in RDFL then went back to Violet town and stated that rdfl comp was of a poor standard now going to d4 ammos. surely these boys just want to play together and with their school mates. standard doesn't matter..
Boys you can all come play for the kangas

Never said rdfl was poor standard just that i in my personal thoughts believed it wasnt as good as kdfl, which can be disputed, many of the teams could play in either league and go ok... not sure bout all this UHS-VU stuff.. its only talk at the moment none of the boys have made ne real deicisions.. kangas is not out of the question for this group although im pretty sure kangas have put in enough inports into there side wouldnt want to wreck the core base that got them so far this yr..

cant really speak for the group of boys being discussed without talking to them first.. but from wat i no, maybe one out of the 4 or 5 have made a 80% decision at this point

Thats_Special
23 Nov 2006, 06:52
Never said rdfl was poor standard just that i in my personal thoughts believed it wasnt as good as kdfl, which can be disputed, many of the teams could play in either league and go ok... not sure bout all this UHS-VU stuff.. its only talk at the moment none of the boys have made ne real deicisions.. kangas is not out of the question for this group although im pretty sure kangas have put in enough inports into there side wouldnt want to wreck the core base that got them so far this yr..

cant really speak for the group of boys being discussed without talking to them first.. but from wat i no, maybe one out of the 4 or 5 have made a 80% decision at this point
You know we are always more than happy to have all of you guys back down mate.... :thumbsu: As for imports, you played with us this year, your not an import anymore...

blues12
23 Nov 2006, 07:25
kangas is not out of the question for this group although im pretty sure kangas have put in enough inports into there side wouldnt want to wreck the core base that got them so far this yr..

not a real lot of imports came in last year, most of the boys have been there for a couple of years, but remember a side that doesn't bring in some imports will always struggle to keep up, there is always a few holes to fill to strengthen a side, some areas may not be as strong as others.
Unless a club is bringing a major influx of imports i dont think it will wreck the core base.

Mongrel
23 Nov 2006, 16:18
not a real lot of imports came in last year, most of the boys have been there for a couple of years, but remember a side that doesn't bring in some imports will always struggle to keep up, there is always a few holes to fill to strengthen a side, some areas may not be as strong as others.
Unless a club is bringing a major influx of imports i dont think it will wreck the core base.

the boys are more than welcome down at kanga land.hey blues how have u rated the numbers at training so far?good 2 see daniel jackson and co at training last night looking keen

blues12
23 Nov 2006, 16:48
I think numbers are good, considering it is november, good to see most senior players there, keen and pumped for next year, along with a number of new faces with more to show in the next few weeks. Even a few under 18's turning up early is great to see, especially when there off to schoolies this weekend.

With the abolishment of the under16 1/2 next year, we should feild a very good side in the 18 comp.

tiges07
24 Nov 2006, 09:54
Can anyone tell me of any major moves happening from the stronger clubs in the RDFL??? I've heard some big names are set to leave from Riddell, Romsey and Diggers??

blues12
24 Nov 2006, 09:55
how will the new changes to the under 16 competition help your club, it is a win for all senior clubs in my eyes, some under 18 players will qualify for a third year in the 18s, making it a bit easier to feild a side.
Players that are in their third year could be playing senior football, but if numbers are low or the player is not physically upto it can stay down.:thumbsu:

blues12
24 Nov 2006, 09:58
Can anyone tell me of any major moves happening from the stronger clubs in the RDFL??? I've heard some big names are set to leave from Riddell, Romsey and Diggers??

Romsey are losing morgan, strack and another (not sure who) but will be gaining the 3 boys that left last year connellan, plant and edwards.
Diggers look to be recruiting well, who have you heard is leaving.

matt_nicholls
24 Nov 2006, 10:52
Romsey are losing morgan, strack and another (not sure who) but will be gaining the 3 boys that left last year connellan, plant and edwards.
Diggers look to be recruiting well, who have you heard is leaving.

Plant and Edwards are definately not confirmed yet. Shaun Hunter is basically finished (retirement very likely) and there is a possibility that Luke and Daniel Carroll could be leaving. Alistair Meldrum has been offered good money to coach Heathcote and although I'm confident he'll stay at Romsey he could also be a departure.

Chris Collins is obviously back at Lancefield taking the coaching reigns, and a fully fit Scott Clark is the same as a big-name recruit for the Tigers. The core players such as Jay Tully, Tim Collins, Dale Joseph, Sam Graham and Mark Catons all have improvement left in them and will add something extra at Lancefield.

At Kilmore's end, with Terry Ahearn as coach, he will be looking to sign a couple of big name players and hold on to the talented group of predominantly young players he already has. If John Rowe gets fit he will finish top-five in the Bowen next season and Matt Robertson keeps getting better. Expect to see a new full-forward at the Blues in '07.

jets06
24 Nov 2006, 11:30
how will the new changes to the under 16 competition help your club, it is a win for all senior clubs in my eyes, some under 18 players will qualify for a third year in the 18s, making it a bit easier to feild a side.
Players that are in their third year could be playing senior football, but if numbers are low or the player is not physically upto it can stay down.:thumbsu:Rupertswood wanted to enter a 18's team in the rdfl in 2007, but the league or opposing clubs thought they would be a threat. Rupo have 33 x 16.5 players coming up to the 19's in season 2007. They will have in excess of 72 eligible players for their 2 x u19 teams this year in the vafa. I cannot understand the leagues/clubs reasoning when Rupo have a strong committment to the junior programm of the RDFL.

Thats_Special
24 Nov 2006, 11:52
Rupertswood wanted to enter a 18's team in the rdfl in 2007, but the league or opposing clubs thought they would be a threat. Rupo have 33 x 16.5 players coming up to the 19's in season 2007. They will have in excess of 72 eligible players for their 2 x u19 teams this year in the vafa. I cannot understand the leagues/clubs reasoning when Rupo have a strong committment to the junior programm of the RDFL.
Too damaging to local 18's I reckon

gotnoskills
24 Nov 2006, 12:12
Rupertswood wanted to enter a 18's team in the rdfl in 2007, but the league or opposing clubs thought they would be a threat. Rupo have 33 x 16.5 players coming up to the 19's in season 2007. They will have in excess of 72 eligible players for their 2 x u19 teams this year in the vafa. I cannot understand the leagues/clubs reasoning when Rupo have a strong committment to the junior programm of the RDFL.

Maybe Rupo could look at some kind of Sister club with Rolling Meadows and entering an 18's side in the RDFL. This could also be used to lay a foundation for Rolling Meadows to get a senior club up and running in the not to distant future.

blues12
24 Nov 2006, 12:30

your right they did but why would clubs want a side to play only in the 18s comp, with the abolishment of 16 1/2 most clubs should feild sides, if they all did and if you threw rupo in, could unbalance the comp. with teams like diggers and sunbury, lions and kangas sometimes struggling to feild sides. clubs like rupo can unknowingly damage the comp, 18s fold, seniors struggle to promote youth that dont come through the ranks. Maybe Rupo can stop being selfish and push players that cannot get a game to any of the above clubs and help strengthen other local clubs.
This year at times lions had excess and roos struggled so interchange forms were signed giving both the player a chance to play and the club to feild a side.
It was great to see even a strong money club like the lions supporting not only their players but another local club:thumbsu:

If rupo do fear losing players to other local clubs, maybe lancefeild could be an option they would greatly appreciate help in fielding a side, with romsey so close it makes it very hard.

rightfoot_sloth
24 Nov 2006, 12:30
Good Idea about the Rupo kids playing for Rolling Meadows. My only question would be where would they play ? As the ground at Bulla last time I saw it was nowhere near good enough to play senior/U-18 footy on it.

blues12
24 Nov 2006, 12:37
Good Idea about the Rupo kids playing for Rolling Meadows. My only question would be where would they play ? As the ground at Bulla last time I saw it was nowhere near good enough to play senior/U-18 footy on it.

why would it, they dont have seniors either, they may as well put rupo in.
They should be supporting existing clubs

gotnoskills
24 Nov 2006, 12:57

Rolling Meadows JFC got a grant to imporve their ground and I think it's actually being built out on Lancefield road somewhere. May take some time to build and get right, but it was only an idea.

Rupo used to have only u18's in the RDFL until they joined the VAFA so why can't the same be done with Rolling Meadows?
One or two years of the 18's being out of whack isn't really that bad if the foundations of a new club are being laid.

matt_nicholls
24 Nov 2006, 13:16
Rolling Meadows JFC got a grant to imporve their ground and I think it's actually being built out on Lancefield road somewhere. May take some time to build and get right, but it was only an idea.

Rupo used to have only u18's in the RDFL until they joined the VAFA so why can't the same be done with Rolling Meadows?
One or two years of the 18's being out of whack isn't really that bad if the foundations of a new club are being laid.

The competition would really benefit having 10 sides competing. There were rumours that Gisborne had a large influx of Under 18s and were considering placing a side in the RDFL. I don't know what is right or wrong when it comes to U18s sides with no senior affiliate, but if it makes the competition fairer and stronger then I don't have a problem with it. We want as many players as possible to continue playing aussie rules football, rather than quitting because they didn't get a go.

jets06
24 Nov 2006, 13:48
your right they did but why would clubs want a side to play only in the 18s comp, with the abolishment of 16 1/2 most clubs should feild sides, if they all did and if you threw rupo in, could unbalance the comp. with teams like diggers and sunbury, lions and kangas sometimes struggling to feild sides. clubs like rupo can unknowingly damage the comp, 18s fold, seniors struggle to promote youth that dont come through the ranks. Maybe Rupo can stop being selfish and push players that cannot get a game to any of the above clubs and help strengthen other local clubs.
This year at times lions had excess and roos struggled so interchange forms were signed giving both the player a chance to play and the club to feild a side.
It was great to see even a strong money club like the lions supporting not only their players but another local club:thumbsu:

If rupo do fear losing players to other local clubs, maybe lancefeild could be an option they would greatly appreciate help in fielding a side, with romsey so close it makes it very hard. In theory sounds great, but when the kids only want to play with their mates at Rupo its a bit hard to convince them to go elsewhere. Your comment that Rupo are being selfish is crap. they set a limit on player numbers per age group at 28 for all junior teams. Maybe the other clubs need to lift their image to attract players and not expect Rupo to hand feed them. I have only been involved with Rupo for the past 3 years and having been involved as both a coach and administrator of a Essendon District senior club for 25 years and I can tell you a lot of clubs in that league are modelling their own junior programmes on Rupertswood FC.

Halffullonfence
24 Nov 2006, 14:46
The competition would really benefit having 10 sides competing. There were rumours that Gisborne had a large influx of Under 18s and were considering placing a side in the RDFL. I don't know what is right or wrong when it comes to U18s sides with no senior affiliate, but if it makes the competition fairer and stronger then I don't have a problem with it. We want as many players as possible to continue playing aussie rules football, rather than quitting because they didn't get a go.

For a 10 team under 18 comp to get going Romsey and Lancefield senior clubs will have to get involved with their juniors the rangers had 147 players in their U/16's to U/12s last season with the restructuring of the Junior comp time is NOW for these clubs to prove that they are trying to develope their clubs and not let the junior body take the easy way out with the rangers.

Macedon had the same agreement with Gisborne as the Sunbury clubs last season in the 18s and Macedon got 2 players for 1 game when Gisborne had a bye more players wanted to play but were warned not to if they wanted to play finals what a pity Gisborne 18's didn't make the finals.

The reason RDFL clubs are reluctant to let other clubs to have 18's is obvious as the junior part off these club's continually watch their better players wanting to play with their "mates" at other leagues. Funny how only VERY GOOD players have "mates" at other clubs !!!

matt_nicholls
24 Nov 2006, 14:59
For a 10 team under 18 comp to get going Romsey and Lancefield senior clubs will have to get involved with their juniors the rangers had 147 players in their U/16's to U/12s last season with the restructuring of the Junior comp time is NOW for these clubs to prove that they are trying to develope their clubs and not let the junior body take the easy way out with the rangers.

Macedon had the same agreement with Gisborne as the Sunbury clubs last season in the 18s and Macedon got 2 players for 1 game when Gisborne had a bye more players wanted to play but were warned not to if they wanted to play finals what a pity Gisborne 18's didn't make the finals.

The reason RDFL clubs are reluctant to let other clubs to have 18's is obvious as the junior part off these club's continually watch their better players wanting to play with their "mates" at other leagues. Funny how only VERY GOOD players have "mates" at other clubs !!!

Thats carp Halffull about Romsey and Lancefield. The Rangers is very well run and the reality is that if not for the merger then Lancefield would be stuffed. Romsey have enough people to field junior sides, senior and under 18s sides, but Lancefield do not. They only have enough to fill the senior sides. I think the club's are heading in the right direction. Lancefield will field an Under 18s side this year. I don't think they'll be strong, but they'll get a side on the park (even if its 16 players one week).

I went through the hard yards in the 18s at Tigerland with 15 blokes one week and through the three years i played there, we only forfeited once. Realistically, it should be a Romsey-Lancefield Under 18s side also, but I, along with other players stupidly voted against it two years ago when we were asked. Too late now but hindsight is a beautiful thing.

Halffullonfence
24 Nov 2006, 15:23
Thats carp Halffull about Romsey and Lancefield. The Rangers is very well run and the reality is that if not for the merger then Lancefield would be stuffed. Romsey have enough people to field junior sides, senior and under 18s sides, but Lancefield do not. They only have enough to fill the senior sides. I think the club's are heading in the right direction. Lancefield will field an Under 18s side this year. I don't think they'll be strong, but they'll get a side on the park (even if its 16 players one week).

I went through the hard yards in the 18s at Tigerland with 15 blokes one week and through the three years i played there, we only forfeited once. Realistically, it should be a Romsey-Lancefield Under 18s side also, but I, along with other players stupidly voted against it two years ago when we were asked. Too late now but hindsight is a beautiful thing.

I am saying now is the time for the rangers to split with the restructuring of the Juniors they will have 30+ players per team. How many players have given up or now play elsewhere because they could not play every week over the last couple of years? Woodend will be in a similar position with extra players.

Not laying blame for the past but trying to look forward. As I said to you last year Lancfield footy will struggle without a local cricket team this has been adressed and good luck to them, but to go forward some hard yards have to be done starting with juniors. As you have said thru this thread how good it is to have C Collins back at the club (local gun junior). I think it is the easy way out with the Rangers, my opinion only.

blues12
24 Nov 2006, 17:05
Lancefield will always struggle with an 18s after the kids play for the rangers, majority of kids will be from romsey as we all know the town is only getting bigger, but even with the kids from lancefield they grow up playing together with the romsey boys,I'm sure it would be hard to split a group up, especially if they had success in their years together.
These 2 committees need to get together, sit down and work out some sort of plan of attack. i'm sure something can be worked out, but to combine an 18s side, not sure if that is the answer, it would leave some young men confused as to where to take the next step. The league needs all 10 clubs to feild 18's to become stronger.
1 example of a player with mates at both clubs would be Burlak, lancefeild 18s, romsey seniors and next year who knows rumoured to be going back to lancefeild.

Doona2
25 Nov 2006, 22:07
Dont wanna go over old ground but that name Al Meldrum keeps getting brought up in the same sentences as the words Heathcote and coach over my way . . . I was told this morning that a Romsey player has the job and if it aint him then who could it be?

Has there been any official announcement from the Romsey club that Meldrum is staying, I know guys on here say he's signed etc but has the club actually come out and stated it?

burger5
25 Nov 2006, 23:44
Hey Pickles,
S Ruane here... Added up the scores when we got back to the rooms... We definatley made 182... on both scorecards... (add up the batters scores) you made 178... so just know that you can have the points, but we won... Also how about them cut shots, beautiful shots my friend...

burger5
25 Nov 2006, 23:55
***NEWSFLASH***
Shaun sims, Jeff Heritage: both going to play for Tatura...
$250 a game + inscentives...

95% confirmed...

They are having a final meeting with the coach on Monday 27th November, but are expected to sign...

Huge loss to the burra...

Thats_Special
26 Nov 2006, 08:59
***NEWSFLASH***

95% confirmed...

They are having a final meeting with the coach on Monday 27th November, but are expected to sign...

Wont happen

blues12
26 Nov 2006, 12:01
***NEWSFLASH***

95% confirmed...

This news flash is B.S why would a diggers boy tell all whats going on, bit early for mind games.

Diggers meant to be the closest bunch of players. Simsy captain and backs his mates all the way, i doubt they will leave when they think the flag is just there, if so why would they go to tat and leave the boys they have worked so hard with, surely money isn't everything. The other question is, Where will roo be this year?

Dog Town
26 Nov 2006, 12:46
***NEWSFLASH***

95% confirmed...

Huge loss to the burra... Your a ******** stirrer Roo and I wont talk to you until you get your strawberry blond locks back to shoulder length. Also I counted the score as well and it added up to 182. Not sure what goes on down in F grade sometimes.

Another one for the rumour mill is that Dan Reilly could be bound for Rockbank. He had a falling out with his team mates after they tore his house to pieces at his housewarming. Morse and Howard could be not far behind as the bankers have offered them a replacement washing machine. I know it was you that put the rope in it Ruane lefty dobbed you in.

matt_nicholls
26 Nov 2006, 13:31
Hey Pickles,
S Ruane here... Added up the scores when we got back to the rooms... We definatley made 182... on both scorecards... (add up the batters scores) you made 178... so just know that you can have the points, but we won... Also how about them cut shots, beautiful shots my friend...

G'day Roo. Some great cut shots yesterday mate. Our book says you made 166 and it was you blokes that filled it out. We checked your book and it came to 166 also. We definately didn't want to cheat you blokes though. Plenty of good banter in the field too! :thumbsu:

As for Tatura, no chance!

Thats_Special
27 Nov 2006, 06:09
What a devastating display of pull shots and straight drives on the Boardman 3 oval, that bloke almost got his side over the line himself, fantastic performance... :thumbsu: :D

matt_nicholls
27 Nov 2006, 09:18
What a devastating display of pull shots and straight drives on the Boardman 3 oval, that bloke almost got his side over the line himself, fantastic performance...

The Bowen medalist certainly did better than the Lancefield twos benchwarmer. Coming from opening the batting for B-grade at Romsey last year to F-grade is a hell of a difference. Need to put my head down and respect the bowling, even though it is of a pedestrian speed :D

Was the scratchiest 5 i have ever made, and trying to hit the bowler onto the other Boardman Oval wasn't the best idea after a big night at the trots and a hard effort wicketkeeping in the sand pit that lies at Boardman No 3. My Under 16 boys came through with the goods at the end though. Some excellent sledges came from the Diggers boys too!

blues12
27 Nov 2006, 09:24
was that Jarryd Allen from Riddell that got drafted to St.kilda, well done to the kid:thumbsu: .

Thats_Special
27 Nov 2006, 11:08
was that Jarryd Allen from Riddell that got drafted to St.kilda, well done to the kid:thumbsu: .
Yes indeed... Well done to Jarryd... Go the RDFL

matt_nicholls
27 Nov 2006, 11:38
Yes indeed... Well done to Jarryd... Go the RDFL

I thought he may have gone 10 picks earlier but he should fit in well at St Kilda. Good luck to the youngster. Hope he gets a crack at senior level in the not too distant future! Well done to Riddell also.

Thats_Special
27 Nov 2006, 11:47
The Bowen medalist certainly did better than the Lancefield twos benchwarmer. Coming from opening the batting for B-grade at Romsey last year to F-grade is a hell of a difference. Need to put my head down and respect the bowling, even though it is of a pedestrian speed :D

Was the scratchiest 5 i have ever made, and trying to hit the bowler onto the other Boardman Oval wasn't the best idea after a big night at the trots and a hard effort wicketkeeping in the sand pit that lies at Boardman No 3. My Under 16 boys came through with the goods at the end though. Some excellent sledges came from the Diggers boys too!

You were on Boardman 2 I believe Pickles... I was talking about the other game on Boardman 3 (Kangas Ground)... Hahaha...

matt_nicholls
27 Nov 2006, 11:51
You were on Boardman 2 I believe Pickles... I was talking about the other game on Boardman 3 (Kangas Ground)... Hahaha...

Sorry champ. The ground numbering makes no sense. Boardman 3 should be Boardman 1. And vice verca. It's a pity you couldn't get the boys over the line. Just goes to show how good Lancefield cricket is going, both sides played disgracefully yet still walked away with the points. I'm tipping two grand final berths in the first year back from recess. Although D and F grade doesn't really mean much :thumbsu::D

Thats_Special
27 Nov 2006, 11:55
Sorry champ. The ground numbering makes no sense. Boardman 3 should be Boardman 1. And vice verca. It's a pity you couldn't get the boys over the line. Just goes to show how good Lancefield cricket is going, both sides played disgracefully yet still walked away with the points. I'm tipping two grand final berths in the first year back from recess. Although D and F grade doesn't really mean much :thumbsu::D
Your boys were lucky... We are coming for them, dont worry about that... Im taking beers up there to keep Cookie and Fish off the ground and we will be right... :D

mooney
27 Nov 2006, 12:31
Ran into Luke Cannard in Albury on the weekend said he is pretty close to signing at Rockbank, they are just trying to work out his sign on deal reckons he could get a caravan at the Rockbank caravan park or part ownership in the Rockbank rock farm.

matt_nicholls
27 Nov 2006, 12:35
Ran into Luke Cannard in Albury on the weekend said he is pretty close to signing at Rockbank, they are just trying to work out his sign on deal reckons he could get a caravan at the Rockbank caravan park or part ownership in the Rockbank rock farm.

Romsey in big strife. They have already lost three premiership players still in their prime and are likely to lose another three. Morgan to Diggers Rest, Strack to Wangaratta and now Meldrum has signed as the Heathcote coach.

Shaun Hunter is expected to retire and there is strong speculation that brothers Luke and Daniel Carroll will go with Meldrum to the Saints.

Doona2
27 Nov 2006, 12:43
Romsey in big strife. They have already lost three premiership players still in their prime and are likely to lose another three. Morgan to Diggers Rest, Strack to Wangaratta and now Meldrum has signed as the Heathcote coach.
Shaun Hunter is expected to retire and there is strong speculation that brothers Luke and Daniel Carroll will go with Meldrum to the Saints.

Thought it wouldn't happen? Seems my sources were right in the know weeks ago lads ;)

matt_nicholls
27 Nov 2006, 12:45
Thought it wouldn't happen? Seems my sources were right in the know weeks ago lads ;)

Spot on Doon. I'll admit I was wrong, but when you hear the amount of coin the Saints offered Meldrum he would be mad not to turn it down. I didn't know Heathcote had that much money.

Had a good chat with the Heathcote president yesterday and he said that the club was confident they could get the ground in good condition by March. He says its in bad nick now but a bore or tanks could see a turnaround after Christmas. He was also confident that the Carroll brothers would be making an appearance.

Doona2
27 Nov 2006, 12:48
Spot on Doon. I'll admit I was wrong, but when you hear the amount of coin the Saints offered Meldrum he would be mad not to turn it down. I didn't know Heathcote had that much money.

Had a good chat with the Heathcote president yesterday and he said that the club was confident they could get the ground in good condition by March. He says its in bad nick now but a bore or tanks could see a turnaround after Christmas. He was also confident that the Carroll brothers would be making an appearance.

Just kidding with ya mate, had it on good authority though a while back. Laurie Conforti is the new pres, good fella and his heart is in the joint. Carroll boys will be handy but I think the Saints might need a few others also to keep in the top 5 as the Roos emerge as a side on the up!!!

matt_nicholls
27 Nov 2006, 13:13
Just kidding with ya mate, had it on good authority though a while back. Laurie Conforti is the new pres, good fella and his heart is in the joint. Carroll boys will be handy but I think the Saints might need a few others also to keep in the top 5 as the Roos emerge as a side on the up!!!

Broady will go a lot better next year but expect to see Heathcote keep their finals position. I'll tip Elmore to drop down a bit. They should keep their finals place though.

Also, the prez's name is Andrew Conforti, not Laurie. :D

Doona2
27 Nov 2006, 13:22
Broady will go a lot better next year but expect to see Heathcote keep their finals position. I'll tip Elmore to drop down a bit. They should keep their finals place though.

Also, the prez's name is Andrew Conforti, not Laurie. :D

I know that but he is commonly known as Laurie to everyone around town the HDFL & SDCA

Thats_Special
27 Nov 2006, 13:44
Morgan, Meldrum, Luke Carroll, Mick Carroll, Steve Burlak... Only have Connellan and Plant returning at this stage.. Romsey looking in a bit of trouble to hold that top 5 spot with Kilmore recruiting strongly...

matt_nicholls
27 Nov 2006, 13:50
Morgan, Meldrum, Luke Carroll, Mick Carroll, Steve Burlak... Only have Connellan and Plant returning at this stage.. Romsey looking in a bit of trouble to hold that top 5 spot with Kilmore recruiting strongly...

Should read Daniel Carroll not Mick.

Burlak has not indicated his depature as of yet.

Thats_Special
27 Nov 2006, 13:53
Should read Daniel Carroll not Mick.

Burlak has not indicated his depature as of yet.

Apologies...

Thats_Special
27 Nov 2006, 13:55
What league is Tatura in?

Sunqvist
27 Nov 2006, 14:08

An ex Romsey, current Bendigo FL gun to return in 07?

Heard this a while back, but thought nothing of it. But now theyve lost a few Romsey may have cash available.

Thats_Special
27 Nov 2006, 14:22

Heard this a while back, but thought nothing of it. But now theyve lost a few Romsey may have cash available.

Name??

dombomb
27 Nov 2006, 14:32
Romsey looking in a bit of trouble to hold that top 5 spot with Kilmore recruiting strongly...

Who have Kilmore picked up at this stage??

footy mad 2
27 Nov 2006, 19:58
This news flash is B.S why would a diggers boy tell all whats going on, bit early for mind games.

Diggers meant to be the closest bunch of players. Simsy captain and backs his mates all the way, i doubt they will leave when they think the flag is just there, if so why would they go to tat and leave the boys they have worked so hard with, surely money isn't everything. The other question is, Where will roo be this year?
sorry blues but i believe the players are the only ones that believe that a flag IS JUST THERE. not wanting to be a diggers basher, but I believe they are far from just there. some of these players have missed out 8 times in a row and perhaps the cling ons should stop holding them there and let them reliase there dream. you may say they want to play with there mates, but I believe they are to close to just walk away. however sadly the burras are not going to win a flag in the near future unless some cash is flowing, and lets face it as long as the diggers fish and chip shop keeps getting robbed there aint alot of that going around:confused:

bearsboy
28 Nov 2006, 08:14

Heard this a while back, but thought nothing of it. But now theyve lost a few Romsey may have cash available.This is another rumour that pops up each year . Very doubtful , i'm sure you"ll find he's more than happy at his current club .Training starts next monday at the kennel, so lets wait and see.

Blueboy16
28 Nov 2006, 08:21
sorry blues but i believe the players are the only ones that believe that a flag IS JUST THERE. not wanting to be a diggers basher, but I believe they are far from just there. some of these players have missed out 8 times in a row and perhaps the cling ons should stop holding them there and let them reliase there dream. you may say they want to play with there mates, but I believe they are to close to just walk away. however sadly the burras are not going to win a flag in the near future unless some cash is flowing, and lets face it as long as the diggers fish and chip shop keeps getting robbed there aint alot of that going around:confused:

No Sims = No Diggers Rest. Is the heart and soul of the club with every single person looking up to him. Will be sad to see him leave but deserves a senior premiership and wont get it at Diggers. There is no-one else at the club that has or ever would have his aura. Moral would die also.

Good luck if you do go pal you have been a pleasure to watch.

Thats_Special
28 Nov 2006, 12:19
Once again... Cant see it happening

old saint
28 Nov 2006, 13:33
I know that but he is commonly known as Laurie to everyone around town the HDFL & SDCA

spot on doona.
known as laurie, after his father..

Sunqvist
28 Nov 2006, 14:08
This is another rumour that pops up each year . Very doubtful , i'm sure you"ll find he's more than happy at his current club .Training starts next monday at the kennel, so lets wait and see.

Most likely it is just a rumour, but the loss of a few big names at Romsey could mean they might throw some cash to someone such as Shane Davies.

VT#23
28 Nov 2006, 16:50
What league is Tatura in?

dont no if anyone else will answer ya big fella but there in the gvfl.. use to be awesome.. have lost 17 of there top 22 from 2006 according insiders...

t-mac
28 Nov 2006, 17:09
is that Shane Davies or Shane Davis

t-mac
28 Nov 2006, 17:14
does anyone know anything about this lee james character from riddle, we are looking to recruit him for season 2007 but we haven't heard the best reports about his off field anntics

Trueblueroo
28 Nov 2006, 17:24
Genuis bloke! Off field antics? Um can play football! Where ya from?

t-mac
28 Nov 2006, 17:39
just one of the manys clubs in interst. By antics i meen i've heard stories of what he gets up to when the lights are out and they say he does'nt mind a stubbie or 2 if you know what i meen

gazza35
28 Nov 2006, 19:46
matt who have kilmore picked up

blues12
28 Nov 2006, 21:19
just one of the manys clubs in interst. By antics i meen i've heard stories of what he gets up to when the lights are out and they say he does'nt mind a stubbie or 2 if you know what i meen

sorry mate not sure what you mean, you shouldn't listen to stories not all of them are true. but he is the type of bloke that will stick around for a beer or 2 and mix with everyone.
t-mac is that short for a recent team mate of his trying to see peoples opinion of him, or are you seriously from another club with interest.

blues12
28 Nov 2006, 21:23
matt who have kilmore picked up
Big man robbie witmar will be back from OS for 2007, massive pick up, and if he does play will win the bowen medal by a mile, nobody else will even get an invite.:D
also rumour that kemp will return from wallan but my sources are saying differently.

rightfoot_sloth
29 Nov 2006, 08:03
Big man robbie witmar will be back from OS for 2007, massive pick up, and if he does play will win the bowen medal by a mile, nobody else will even get an invite.:D
also rumour that kemp will return from wallan but my sources are saying differently.

Blues12 - In the WRFL forum they are saying Robbie Witmar is playing for Port Colts next year ? Where is your info coming from ?

matt_nicholls
29 Nov 2006, 08:56
Blues12 - In the WRFL forum they are saying Robbie Witmar is playing for Port Colts next year ? Where is your info coming from ?

Terry Ahearn told me on Monday night that Robbie Wittmer will not be playing for Kilmore next year. No recruits to name just yet. Tezza, Arch and co. are still working on a couple of names. Whispers that a gun ruckman could be coming their way though.

blues12
29 Nov 2006, 09:26

My info came out of kilmore but that was a couple of weeks ago, looks like it is out of date, bad luck for the blues they were quite confident of signing him.

Doona2
29 Nov 2006, 09:47
Any names for this ruckman at Kilmore? Pity for Tez missing out on Wittmer woulda be a huge plus for the playing list. No doubt Terry and Jamie Archer are working hard, Dayson is taking on the 18's gig and a reserves announcement to be made shortly means that the Blues will be in a positive position by Xmas :thumbsu:

matt_nicholls
29 Nov 2006, 10:11
Here's a good story for you fella's

(Mitchell Shire residents didn't get this story in full in The Free Press, only readers of the Romsey/Lancefield edition did).

Meldrum leaves Redbacks
by Matt Nicholls

ROMSEY’S hopes of winning the Riddell District Football League premiership in 2007 have been dealt a massive blow, after skipper Alistair Meldrum was appointed as coach of Heathcote last week.
Meldrum’s appointment means that the Redbacks have lost three premiership players since the season ended, with Mark Strack and Brydon Morgan heading to Wangaratta and Diggers Rest respectively.
There is also strong speculation that Meldrum will bring team-mates Daniel and Luke Carroll to the Saints.
If the Carroll brothers join Meldrum at Heathcote and veteran forward Shaun Hunter retires as expected, it could mean that the Redbacks will start the season without six of their key players.
The losses are likely to sting newly appointed senior coaches Mark Dipietro and Darren Lingard, who have big plans for Romsey next year.
Although Dipietro and Lingard are speaking to a number of players to enlist next year, and are confident of recruiting well, they have a lot of holes to fill.
A two-time club best and fairest winner and winner of the RDFL’s best and fairest, the Bowen Medal, Meldrum is excited about the prospects of his first senior coaching role.
Heathcote president Andrew Conforti is also pleased the Saints were able to obtain Meldrum, believing he can lead the club from finals contenders to premiers.
“We’re thrilled that Alistair has come on board. We were desperate for a playing coach,” he said.
“We tried to sign him last year as a player, we see him as a very good prospect for Heathcote.”
After making the finals in the past two years in the Heathcote District League, the Saints will be desperate to win their first premiership since 1992, despite making the grand final seven years running between 1989 and 1995.
One bonus for Meldrum at Heathcote is that two fellow police officer friends, Dan O’Bree and Wayne Sanders, will stay at the club next year.
No doubt their presence was a big factor in getting Meldrum’s signature, who found it hard making the decision to leave Romsey.
While Meldrum’s presence is sure to be a positive for Heathcote, it is the question mark over Romsey’s 2007 season that has most people talking.
It’s going to take some good recruiting by Dipietro and Lingard if the Redbacks are to be a force next year.
The footy season is hotting up!

Thats_Special
29 Nov 2006, 11:51
Here's a good story for you fella's

(Mitchell Shire residents didn't get this story in full in The Free Press, only readers of the Romsey/Lancefield edition did).

Meldrum leaves Redbacks
by Matt Nicholls

ROMSEY’S hopes of winning the Riddell District Football League premiership in 2007 have been dealt a massive blow, after skipper Alistair Meldrum was appointed as coach of Heathcote last week.
Meldrum’s appointment means that the Redbacks have lost three premiership players since the season ended, with Mark Strack and Brydon Morgan heading to Wangaratta and Diggers Rest respectively.
There is also strong speculation that Meldrum will bring team-mates Daniel and Luke Carroll to the Saints.
If the Carroll brothers join Meldrum at Heathcote and veteran forward Shaun Hunter retires as expected, it could mean that the Redbacks will start the season without six of their key players.
The losses are likely to sting newly appointed senior coaches Mark Dipietro and Darren Lingard, who have big plans for Romsey next year.
Although Dipietro and Lingard are speaking to a number of players to enlist next year, and are confident of recruiting well, they have a lot of holes to fill.
A two-time club best and fairest winner and winner of the RDFL’s best and fairest, the Bowen Medal, Meldrum is excited about the prospects of his first senior coaching role.
Heathcote president Andrew Conforti is also pleased the Saints were able to obtain Meldrum, believing he can lead the club from finals contenders to premiers.
“We’re thrilled that Alistair has come on board. We were desperate for a playing coach,” he said.
“We tried to sign him last year as a player, we see him as a very good prospect for Heathcote.”
After making the finals in the past two years in the Heathcote District League, the Saints will be desperate to win their first premiership since 1992, despite making the grand final seven years running between 1989 and 1995.
One bonus for Meldrum at Heathcote is that two fellow police officer friends, Dan O’Bree and Wayne Sanders, will stay at the club next year.
No doubt their presence was a big factor in getting Meldrum’s signature, who found it hard making the decision to leave Romsey.
While Meldrum’s presence is sure to be a positive for Heathcote, it is the question mark over Romsey’s 2007 season that has most people talking.
It’s going to take some good recruiting by Dipietro and Lingard if the Redbacks are to be a force next year.
The footy season is hotting up!

And how long until we add Burlak to this list...

Doona2
29 Nov 2006, 12:12
Could Romsey be wwwwrrroooted!!!

matt_nicholls
29 Nov 2006, 12:24
And how long until we add Burlak to this list...

True, the tip is that its between Coburg Tigers, Romsey and Lancefield.

The betting goes CT $1.45, RR $2.00, LT $4.00

blues12
29 Nov 2006, 12:52
It looks like the titanic is in the rdfl and everybody is jumping ship.
Diper is trying hard to attract players Hildebrand is one name i know that has been approached. With plant and edwards hopefully returning could we be seeing the old mullet man smiley back at romsey.
Does anybody know the last year that romsey did not feild a side in the final series?
Could be an opportunity for kilmore to take the next step with centrals sounding like they could also be in trouble. Will Macedon throw their hat in the ring and fight for a spot and recruit well for this year.

blues12
29 Nov 2006, 12:55
Is anybody ready to have a very early go at the 2007 ladder from what we've heard.
Diggers
Riddell
Kangaroos
Woodend
Kilmore
Romsey
Lancefield
Macedon
Centrals
Rockbank

matt_nicholls
29 Nov 2006, 13:03
Is anybody ready to have a very early go at the 2007 ladder from what we've heard.
Diggers
Riddell
Kangaroos
Woodend
Kilmore
Romsey
Lancefield
Macedon
Centrals
Rockbank

Riddell
Kangaroos
Diggers Rest
Woodend
Romsey
Lancefield
Kilmore
Macedon
Centrals
Rockbank

Doona2
29 Nov 2006, 13:49
Diper is trying hard to attract players Hildebrand is one name i know that has been approached. With plant and edwards hopefully returning could we be seeing the old mullet man smiley back at romsey.
Does anybody know the last year that romsey did not feild a side in the final series?
Could be an opportunity for kilmore to take the next step with centrals sounding like they could also be in trouble. Will Macedon throw their hat in the ring and fight for a spot and recruit well for this year.

Probably not the way a coach would want his side thrown into finals contention, basing it on the fact that several club's playing stocks are thinning.

Id like to think that Kilmore could be right in contention in 2007 regardless of who may fall off the pace - I caught up with Tez at lunchtime and whilst the club is disappointment they missed Wittmer (big money from Port Colts) they are well amongst the recruiting action and may sneak under a few guards.

Sunqvist
29 Nov 2006, 14:08

Not much been said about Woodsy lately, a few players look keen to jump on board. Have a really good group of under 18's last year and a few of them will slot in nicely. Havent really lost any i dont think.
Have Riddell lost many? Blade in the middle was good. Is Wadden staying? I think Kilmore definately will take the next step. Robertson (bowen tip) is really important,as are the young guys rotating through the middle. Macedon had a useful midfield last year but i hear theve lost watts and commerford. need a few from their u/18s to step up.

Just a guess:
Woodend
Diggers Rest
Sunbury Kangas
Riddell
Kilmore
Romsey
Lancefield
Macedon
Centrals
Rockbank

matt_nicholls
29 Nov 2006, 14:23
I don't think too much will change fellas.

Kilmore have yet to sign any names, Barton is on the brink of leaving as are a couple of other regular senior players. Robbo is no certainty to stay. I'd love to see the Blues win the flag, I have a lot of respect for them but I'm not sure they will make the finals in 2007. Jamie Duffy is suspended for the first six weeks too.

Romsey, although they have lost some players, are sure to recruit some good players and should stay in the finals.

Lancefield will improve a hell of a lot, but may be like Kilmore and just miss out.

Macedon won't improve too much but will win one or two games they aren't supposed to.

Riddell, Woodend, Sunbury and Diggers will be the strongest, but at this stage its hard to know which will be the better, although it wouldn't surprise me if Sunqvist is right and the Hawks do take the next step.

Rockbank and Melton Central to struggle again.

Thats_Special
29 Nov 2006, 14:40
True, the tip is that its between Coburg Tigers, Romsey and Lancefield.

The betting goes CT $1.45, RR $2.00, LT $4.00

Have heard Lancefield not much chance, highly likely to have another crack at the VFL..

Thats_Special
29 Nov 2006, 14:46
Ill cop grief for sure.. But based on Rumours I have heard...

Woodend/Hesket (No losses, a couple of nice gains)
Diggers Rest (Leaving out the Sims/Heritage rumour, gain Morgan, Lose Davis)
Kangaroos (Steady)
Kilmore (Young Guns to take the next step)
Riddell (Loss of key senior players, will slip)
Romsey (See above)
Lancefield (Will be alot more competitive, Collins as a coach will be a test)
Macedon (Steady, may improve a little but not enough)
Rockbank (Will improve but see above)
Centrals (Gone and Gone)

Thats_Special
29 Nov 2006, 14:56
Rumoured Outs and Ins

Riddell - Ins Under 18's from 2006, Outs - James, Wadden, Blade, Bellville, C.Towers, R.Towers, Palmer.

Diggers - Ins - Morgan(Romsey), Outs - Davis,

Woodend - Ins - Sam Bowen (Bendigo Bombers), Sipthorpe(Gissy), Some key 18's. Outs - Nil

Kangaroos - Ins - S.James(Melton). Outs - Nil

Romsey - Ins - R.Plant, R.Connellan(Lalbert) Outs - Morgan(Diggers), Meldrum(Heathcote), L.Carroll(Heathcote), D.Carroll(Heathcote), M.Strack(Wang Rovers), Burlak

Centrals - Ins - Nil. Outs - Lyons, Wheelahan, Armstrong, Battye, Longhurst.

Kilmore - Ins - ? Outs - ?

Macedon - Ins - ?. Outs - Commerford, Watts

Lancefield - Ins - Collins. Outs - Nil

Rockbank - Ins ? Outs - ?

Again, only from rumours...

t-mac
29 Nov 2006, 15:36
from another club, and trying to get an opion of him yes, only because we heard he does like to muck up a bit, i.e- get nude frequently, insert things where they shouldn't be inserted( i think you get the jist of where i'm coming from) but i've heard a few of you people from down that way are like that, if that's way it is that's each to their own