View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

footy mad 2
8 Jul 2007, 16:30
Matt. Risking bad taste, just wondering if you are running odds on how many weeks wadden will get.

matt_nicholls
8 Jul 2007, 16:33
Matt. Risking bad taste, just wondering if you are running odds on how many weeks wadden will get.

Definitely not! Wasn't there, don't know the story, and yes, very bad taste. :thumbsd:

woody07
8 Jul 2007, 16:50
May I ask did Luke Barker play senior footy this week?

Yeah played well.

footy mad 2
8 Jul 2007, 17:02
True very bad taste, but my point was more that it is any bodies guess as to what our tribunal is going to give anybody for an offence and that anything wouldn't be suprising.

Blueboy16
8 Jul 2007, 17:44

Will get 8-10 weeks. Including 2 week suspended sentence that was hanging over his head from last season. Tribunal tried to make an example of grubby which obviously didn't work so will use this case to make a further example.

Hoosy
8 Jul 2007, 18:32
what do people think of number 12 matthew obrien from melton centrals, imo he is a terrific hard player and underated in most circles. any thoughts????

also the word is centrals are looking fwd to kilmore this week after a spiteful behind the play incident in their rd 3 clash.. should be a cracker with centrals running into form

Halffullonfence
8 Jul 2007, 19:10
also the word is centrals are looking fwd to kilmore this week after a spiteful behind the play incident in their rd 3 clash.. should be a cracker with centrals running into form[/quote]

If your 1st post is only trying to stir up Sh_t then let everyone know who you are or pi55 off. The league and this thread is tired off anonymous stirring pricks.

About time we stick to what matters, good footy and things that matter within the league.

Disappointing to hear the league is allegedly thinking seriously at the GF being played at Gisborne.

footy mad 2
8 Jul 2007, 19:25
Hff, do you know of the reasons for league looking at gisborne. Correct me if i'm wrong but the hosting teams ground would stand to make a fair profit off such an event. If all this is true that is discraceful.

Halffullonfence
8 Jul 2007, 19:31
Hff, do you know of the reasons for league looking at gisborne. Correct me if i'm wrong but the hosting teams ground would stand to make a fair profit off such an event. If all this is true that is discraceful.

With the junior and senior bodies being one any (club) within the RDFL league can apply. Under cover viewing being a priority I believe.

footy mad 2
8 Jul 2007, 19:38
Chances of a repeat of last years weather are slim, so I would like to think that an RDFL seniors side would be given the chance of making this money, covered area or not...

Halffullonfence
8 Jul 2007, 19:49
Chances of a repeat of last years weather are slim, so I would like to think that an RDFL seniors side would be given the chance of making this money, covered area or not...

Agree:thumbsu:

OMNIPOTENT_1
8 Jul 2007, 20:06
You're not pulling someone up for being over confident on this thread are you OM? If you set that precedent you're going to be a busy person for the rest of the year.

Me ? no of course not mate always room for a bit of parochial passionate arrogance when it comes to our own footy clubs here abouts.

OMNIPOTENT_1
8 Jul 2007, 20:10
Disappointing to hear the league is allegedly thinking seriously at the GF being played at Gisborne.

Tell me this IS a bad joke surely ?

vantheman32
8 Jul 2007, 20:41
quite ironic, your criticising him for using big footy on a Sunday arvo... yet your doing the exact same thing! double standards perhaps?

OMNIPOTENT_1
8 Jul 2007, 21:41
So what happened in your game yesterday Van', fill us in please ?

vantheman32
8 Jul 2007, 21:51
second to the ball, ill disciplined, unaccountable, slow, didnt play as a team.
Lancefield were up by 5 goals at one stage, and we had to play catch up footy, very frustrating game to watch. scores were even for probably the last 7 or 8 mins, match turned very frenetic and scrappy we were lucky to get away with a draw. Kudos to Lancefield for playing a good game of footy, Choate showed his class all day, phil in the ruck, jay#33, collo showed his footy smarts. For us there wasnt many standouts, Cornish bagged another 6 in a fantastic effort from limited supply, linton kemp was a shining light across the half back as usual, salter was dangerous when moved foward and jason king was good on the ball all day. So quiet when the siren went could have heard a pin drop

OMNIPOTENT_1
8 Jul 2007, 21:57
Yeah played well.

Great to get another quality player back to our League where his talents can be appreciated.
Good luck Luke for the rest of the season.

OMNIPOTENT_1
8 Jul 2007, 21:59
Lancefield were up by 5 goals at one stage, and we had to play catch up footy, very frustrating game to watch. scores were even for probably the last 7 or 8 mins, match turned very frenetic and scrappy we were lucky to get away with a draw. Kudos to Lancefield for playing a good game of footy, Choate showed his class all day, phil in the ruck, jay#33, collo showed his footy smarts. For us there wasnt many standouts, Cornish bagged another 6 in a fantastic effort from limited supply, linton kemp was a shining light across the half back as usual, salter was dangerous when moved foward and jason king was good on the ball all day. So quiet when the siren went could have heard a pin drop

Did'nt you play ?

BDR68
8 Jul 2007, 22:04
[quote=BDR68;8025504][quote=Mongrel;8020794]

Make sure you take plenty of Vitamin tablets, don't want you getting the flu again!!!!missed a drink with me old pal champ.[/q

oh the great man.i think i know who u are.your the thug that i havent seen 4 a while.lol.round 18 piss up i beleive?u still suspended?

Back in the fray my good man! I see your still creating some talk around the place, def catch up rd 18.

vantheman32
8 Jul 2007, 22:11
i played but couldnt get into in the foward line all day till the last quarter

OMNIPOTENT_1
8 Jul 2007, 23:16

Maybe Matty had a point about playing hard games in prior weeks then relaxing against the so-called weaker sides ?

Doona2
8 Jul 2007, 23:46

Forget the footy for a minute, who got the votes for best performed at the $$$$ draw last night?

Mongrel
9 Jul 2007, 08:58
lancefield are no longer the easy beats this year.they are playing a good attacking brand of footy.i expect them to claim another big scalp this season.
also well done to my former club macedon on a galent effort in horrible conditions.great 2 see them playing with plenty of passion.

matt_nicholls
9 Jul 2007, 09:14
lancefield are no longer the easy beats this year.they are playing a good attacking brand of footy.i expect them to claim another big scalp this season.
also well done to my former club macedon on a galent effort in horrible conditions.great 2 see them playing with plenty of passion.

I did not see any RDFL senior action on Saturday fellas. Was enthralled for a bit at the Broadford v Elmore clash up the road. Made a cameo appearance in the reserves for Lancefield though with two handballs for the day, a couple of one percenters and six rotations on and off the interchange.

It was good to see Lancefield hold on for a draw though. By the sounds of it they played the better footy for much of the day. Hopefully this gives Kilmore a kick up the arse and they respond by beating Melton Central this weekend, before coming up against the top-four sides in succession.

One thing is clear, the Blues are not a wet-weather outfit, although they did beat the Redbacks in the mud last year and went close against Riddell in round one this year. Their two worst efforts were at Woodend-Hesket earlier this season and on Saturday.

Mongrel and fellow Sunbury Kangaroos, did Macedon come good in the rooms after the match? Who had the most bourbon, HFF or IMS?

Mongrel
9 Jul 2007, 09:23
I did not see any RDFL senior action on Saturday fellas. Was enthralled for a bit at the Broadford v Elmore clash up the road. Made a cameo appearance in the reserves for Lancefield though with two handballs for the day, a couple of one percenters and six rotations on and off the interchange.

It was good to see Lancefield hold on for a draw though. By the sounds of it they played the better footy for much of the day. Hopefully this gives Kilmore a kick up the arse and they respond by beating Melton Central this weekend, before coming up against the top-four sides in succession.

One thing is clear, the Blues are not a wet-weather outfit, although they did beat the Redbacks in the mud last year and went close against Riddell in round one this year. There two worst efforts were at Woodend-Hesket earlier this season and on Saturday.

Mongrel and fellow Sunbury Kangaroos, did Macedon come good in the rooms after the match? Who had the most bourbon, HFF or IMS?

yes they did.great 2 see most of the boys stay back for a beer.im not sure who had the most bourbon but a betting man would have his money on IMS:D

bearsboy
9 Jul 2007, 09:52

Why wouldnt they give Gisborne a go? Nuetral venue, good facilities and Gisborne this year have made their ground available for rdjfl interleague games and training and also quite a few catch up night games for clubs other than Gisborne.

matt_nicholls
9 Jul 2007, 09:58
Why wouldnt they give Gisborne a go? Nuetral venue, good facilities and Gisborne this year have made their ground available for rdjfl interleague games and training and also quite a few catch up night games for clubs other than Gisborne.

I don't Lancefield haven't done anything wrong to lose it. Will have more undercover areas this year, and frankly, it is a better venue than Gisborne. Better carparking, more places to sell food and drink etc. Surface is in terrific condition, and in the last two seasons they have had little or no traffic on it for three weeks before the game, so it comes up perfect.

I don't think it will change. If it goes to Gisborne expect a lot of clubs to be upset.

Uncle_Touchy
9 Jul 2007, 10:16

great to catch up 4 a few hundred ales saturday nite bearsboy.its been a very long time.if the granny is at gisborne make sure u save me a spot on the balcony for me.only if the kangas arent playing,but we will be:thumbsu:

woody07
9 Jul 2007, 10:28

Good facilities- What does its hot dog machine turn over more hotdogs than any other in the district? Come on B.B you cant seriously suggest that Gisborne's facilities are any better than Lancefields-The only good thing about Gisborne is you can park your car outside the old cop shop and walk around for free....ah s*it did i say that out loud!

woody07
9 Jul 2007, 10:29
great to catch up 4 a few hundred ales saturday nite bearsboy.its been a very long time.if the granny is at gisborne make sure u save me a spot on the balcony for me.only if the kangas arent playing,but we will be:thumbsu:

Why your deep hatred for Sunbury uncle touchey-Not bagging you just want to know where this anger is coming from?

Uncle_Touchy
9 Jul 2007, 10:42
Why your deep hatred for Sunbury uncle touchey-Not bagging you just want to know where this anger is coming from?

becoz i play for them woody.:thumbsu:

Harry Wilson
9 Jul 2007, 10:51
Harry would like to weigh into this Grand Final debate if he may.

The RDFL Grand Final should be played at a venue that is part of the RDFL. Simple!!

It would make sense to hold it at a venue outside of the RDFL if our venues weren't up to scratch, as far as the surface is concerned. The spectators will attend no matter where the game is held or what facilities they have. The Grand Final is exactly that, it's GRAND and it's the FINAL. Let's not let anything other than the game be a priority. It's the day when everyone stands up, when every player digs in, when the ball becomes more important than life itself!! We want the best surface to host the 2 best sides, so the spectators can watch the best standard of footy possible. The revenue is an added bonus to the club hosting. The more we as the general public who pay to go and see the RDFL games put back into the RDFL and the clubs involved the better the league will be in future.

I have nothing against the Gisborne Football Club or their facilities. I would just rather see the game be played within the RDFL region.

Hawker28
9 Jul 2007, 11:14
harry,ims or mike do u have a round review 4 us?

Trueblueroo
9 Jul 2007, 11:28
Some good signs against Macedon, things on the up after what you could say a little form slump! With a depleted forward line with the likes of Handicoot, G.Ploog, J.Ploog, Yarwood and Minskin out the arrangment was looking good!

Expect alomst all of these blokes to line up this week, in what should be a blockbuster! Midfield looking the part again on the weekend, minus Grubby and the back line standing strong! Up and about again!!!

You could almost put the line through Diggers now i think with Lancefield shapping up to be a real threat on any day! Whats the feeling at the field this week after a tie?

Umpiring in our game weekend i thought was the best i have seen in the RDFL in my two years in the comp, credit to the guys, my opinion only though!

Hawker28
9 Jul 2007, 11:32
Some good signs against Macedon, things on the up after what you could say a little form slump! With a depleted forward line with the likes of Handicoot, G.Ploog, J.Ploog, Yarwood and Minskin out the arrangment was looking good!

Expect alomst all of these blokes to line up this week, in what should be a blockbuster! Midfield looking the part again on the weekend, minus Grubby and the back line standing strong! Up and about again!!!

You could almost put the line through Diggers now i think with Lancefield shapping up to be a real threat on any day! Whats the feeling at the field this week after a tie?

Umpiring in our game weekend i thought was the best i have seen in the RDFL in my two years in the comp, credit to the guys, my opinion only though!

who were the standouts truebluroo?sounds like a depleted line uo

Blueboy16
9 Jul 2007, 11:38
Hey Mongrel how did the hand hold up on the weekend?

Trueblueroo
9 Jul 2007, 11:40
who were the standouts truebluroo?sounds like a depleted line uo

Grubby, Minskin, Plogg x 2, Handicoot, Yarwood to name a few!

Standouts

D Helmers in what i thought, a game close to his best form i have seen in a while, Bonici and Mark Grub were their usual self! Boydy was good across half forward! Hole good in spurts, the big Spud Regal himself steve James playing well! Good signs all round!

Blueboy16
9 Jul 2007, 11:43
Grubby, Minskin, Plogg x 2, Handicoot, Yarwood to name a few!

Standouts

D Helmers in what i thought, a game close to his best form i have seen in a while, Bonici and Mark Grub were their usual self! Boydy was good across half forward! Hole good in spurts, the big Spud Regal himself steve James playing well! Good signs all round!

I heard big spud had 52 hitouts. Huge effort!

Mongrel
9 Jul 2007, 11:47
Hey Mongrel how did the hand hold up on the weekend?

very sore.lol.very black today.not a major issue tho pal.make sure u get 2 training tuesday so i can teach u 2 slot em from 8 meters out:D
i thought u played well though

Mike Lyon
9 Jul 2007, 12:12
Mike was very impressed with the Record on the weekend. A good layout and something that should be - Nay, Must be done next year on a weekly basis.
Centrals finally disposed of a weaker outfit over the weekend, the Kangaroos had a comfortable win even though depleted, Kilmore left the door wide open for Diggers Rest if they are good enough. Dave Cornish is the best forward in our game, even though his only challenger missed with a broken hand. Sipthorp is back and a danger to opposition sides. Lancefield showed they will be a force from next year onwards.

Have heard a little whisper that young Nipper Wright has a severe cork in his shin, that could be a little worse than a cork.

Gisborne being looked at as a possible finals venue, if it is the best venue, has to be looked at. ON ONE CONDITION. That all revenue from the game goes to RDFL clubs and RDFL clubs ONLY!!!

Some of my well informed friends in well informed circles have advised me that my prediction of Matt Robertson for the Bowen Medal may be incorrect, apparently after polling well early and another probable 3 votes on Saturday my prediction should be reading Daniel Bonnici. After watching the young man against Centrals I would possibly have to concur and change my prediction.

Wadden should receive at least 6 coupled with the 2 suspended and push himself close to the 16 week limit.

Brian Wheelahan should be rated in the top 5 in the competition.

These are Mike's observations after Round 11 of the RDFL.

Harry Wilson
9 Jul 2007, 12:46
God damn it!! That's the second time Harry has given a thorough report, submitted it and then the BigFooty server is too busy, and I've lost my whole post. :mad:

Here we go again

Romsey V Diggers Rest

In what was a must win for the Burra, they came out allguns firing and found themselves with a 20 point lead at half time. The Redbacks finally found some form in the 3rd quarter and went into 3/4 time 12 points up to win the game by 17 points. A very good result for Romsey condsidering they ha no Dawson, no Luke Edwards, no Matt McLellan, no Dave Keenan, Tim Cox on the bench with soreness from last week. On the other hand Simms, Janner and Heritage were standout performers for Diggers. Paul Evans, Ben John and Ryan Connellan were best afield for Romsey. Romsey by 17 points, Harry's Tip: Romsey by 18 points. (oh so close)

Riddell V Woodend

We'll we're probably lucky this game wasn't scheduled for Sunday. With a scoreline of 5.6 to 2.2 it would have been a very scrappy game from a spectators point of view. As far as the alleged "Wadden Incident", the league has set a precident, he has weeks hanging over his head and I wouldn't expect to see him play again prior to finals. The result will be interesting on Tuesday night, only time will tell. This game, IMO only, shows, pretty accuratley too, where these side are at, Riddell keep getting the job done and Woodend aren't far behind. A 22 point win for Riddell, Harry's tip - Riddell by 25 points. (Oh so close again)

Sunbury V Macedon

Harry tipped it: "Roos by 8 goals". Not too surprising though. The Roos with some noticeable outs have showed the rest of the league that they have depth and deserve to be 10-1. Sunbury boys too physically strong for the young Macedon side. From reports, Helmers was near his best form which may be a thron in Romsey's side net week. Roos by 8 goals. (Harry's on the money)

Melton Centrals V Rockbank

While we've heard this before, "Rockbank stood up and had a real go" it was Melton's onballers that controlled the game. Harry tipped an upset here, only to be proven wrong. (Only the second time it's happened:D). Wheelan is obviously one of the best going around. A 6 goal win in those conditions is probably deserved of a larger margin. Harrys tip: Rockbank by 3 goals (Oh so wrong, damn it!!)

Kilmore V Lancefield

Harry has to suck up his pride and eat some words from Friday's post here: "Lancefield will have their work cut out if they are going to get anywhere near the blues" and "Kilmore just too strong". There, I've done it and god they tasted bad. To their credit Lancefield have come away with what they would probably consider a victory. That said, they should have walked away withthe 4 points given they had a 5 goal lead at some stage. Did tehy run out of legs or did Kilmore get jumped att he start? Either way, Kilmore have left the door open for Diggers, and Lancefield can they sneak up? Time will tell. I will get one thing back though, I did mention on Friday: "The ever present Choate, Collins and Conway will always give the Lancefield faithfull something to hold onto" and that they did. Well done boys. Harry's Tip: Kilmore by 6 goals. (Words already eaten!!)

That's Harry done for today. :thumbsu:

Trueblueroo
9 Jul 2007, 13:24
God damn it!! That's the second time Harry has given a thorough report, submitted it and then the BigFooty server is too busy, and I've lost my whole post. :mad:

Here we go again

Romsey V Diggers Rest

In what was a must win for the Burra, they came out allguns firing and found themselves with a 20 point lead at half time. The Redbacks finally found some form in the 3rd quarter and went into 3/4 time 12 points up to win the game by 17 points. A very good result for Romsey condsidering they ha no Dawson, no Luke Edwards, no Matt McLellan, no Dave Keenan, Tim Cox on the bench with soreness from last week. On the other hand Simms, Janner and Heritage were standout performers for Diggers. Paul Evans, Ben John and Ryan Connellan were best afield for Romsey. Romsey by 17 points, Harry's Tip: Romsey by 18 points. (oh so close)

Riddell V Woodend

We'll we're probably lucky this game wasn't scheduled for Sunday. With a scoreline of 5.6 to 2.2 it would have been a very scrappy game from a spectators point of view. As far as the alleged "Wadden Incident", the league has set a precident, he has weeks hanging over his head and I wouldn't expect to see him play again prior to finals. The result will be interesting on Tuesday night, only time will tell. This game, IMO only, shows, pretty accuratley too, where these side are at, Riddell keep getting the job done and Woodend aren't far behind. A 22 point win for Riddell, Harry's tip - Riddell by 25 points. (Oh so close again)

Sunbury V Macedon

Harry tipped it: "Roos by 8 goals". Not too surprising though. The Roos with some noticeable outs have showed the rest of the league that they have depth and deserve to be 10-1. Sunbury boys too physically strong for the young Macedon side. From reports, Helmers was near his best form which may be a thron in Romsey's side net week. Roos by 8 goals. (Harry's on the money)

Melton Centrals V Rockbank

While we've heard this before, "Rockbank stood up and had a real go" it was Melton's onballers that controlled the game. Harry tipped an upset here, only to be proven wrong. (Only the second time it's happened:D). Wheelan is obviously one of the best going around. A 6 goal win in those conditions is probably deserved of a larger margin. Harrys tip: Rockbank by 3 goals (Oh so wrong, damn it!!)

Kilmore V Lancefield

Harry has to suck up his pride and eat some words from Friday's post here: "Lancefield will have their work cut out if they are going to get anywhere near the blues" and "Kilmore just too strong". There, I've done it and god they tasted bad. To their credit Lancefield have come away with what they would probably consider a victory. That said, they should have walked away withthe 4 points given they had a 5 goal lead at some stage. Did tehy run out of legs or did Kilmore get jumped att he start? Either way, Kilmore have left the door open for Diggers, and Lancefield can they sneak up? Time will tell. I will get one thing back though, I did mention on Friday: "The ever present Choate, Collins and Conway will always give the Lancefield faithfull something to hold onto" and that they did. Well done boys. Harry's Tip: Kilmore by 6 goals. (Words already eaten!!)

That's Harry done for today. :thumbsu:

Harry little bit of a Big footy tip my friend! With information so vital as yours, it could be your best interest to highlight and copy before posting! Just covers your back side, when the server crashes! Would hate not for you to post regular highlights!

matt_nicholls
9 Jul 2007, 13:32
Harry little bit of a Big footy tip my friend! With information so vital as yours, it could be your best interest to highlight and copy before posting! Just covers your back side, when the server crashes! Would hate not for you to post regular highlights!

Or you could just press the back button on your internet browser. Works for me :D

Animosity
9 Jul 2007, 13:33
Mikey ur reports are always very thorough and well detailed .... you already have a strong presence within the bigfooty media patrol and will start calling you 'gazza' ... every post for some reason reminds me of the great man himself typing at the rdfl thread ... i can only dream tho!

matt_nicholls
9 Jul 2007, 13:35
Mikey ur reports are always very thorough and well detailed .... you already have a strong presence within the bigfooty media patrol and will start calling you 'gazza' ... every post for some reason reminds me of the great man himself typing at the rdfl thread ... i can only dream tho!

Great call Animosity. Mike, keep up the good work.

vantheman32
9 Jul 2007, 13:59
your best on piss saturday night nicholls? u were wondering around, did u have a drink or two?

matt_nicholls
9 Jul 2007, 14:02
your best on piss saturday night nicholls? u were wondering around, did u have a drink or two?

Didn't touch a drop, haven't since September last year. Might have had one or two beers since but never been pissed or close to it since then :D

Watch out for a pic of Salter and Goudge welcoming Baby into the seniors :thumbsu:

Trueblueroo
9 Jul 2007, 14:05

Reading that post Van, sounds like your still are pissed!!

blues12
9 Jul 2007, 14:19
Just on gisborne being looked at as avenue for GF, due to juniors being in rdfl.
If the Gisborne junior football club were to host a senior grand final it will get very interesting, considering they could possibly not have a liquor licence, Picture it boys, IMS,HFF Omni and Mongrel all sitting back with a can of coke in their hand:D.
If you were to look at Gisborne, why not look at the other premier venue central to the league. Clarke Oval sunbury. lions juniors also in this league.

matt_nicholls
9 Jul 2007, 14:43
Just on gisborne being looked at as avenue for GF, due to juniors being in rdfl.
If the Gisborne junior football club were to host a senior grand final it will get very interesting, considering they could possibly not have a liquor licence, Picture it boys, IMS,HFF Omni and Mongrel all sitting back with a can of coke in their hand:D.
If you were to look at Gisborne, why not look at the other premier venue central to the league. Clarke Oval sunbury. lions juniors also in this league.

It doesn't take much to get a temporary liquor licence. Need 28 days notice. Which they will have. Don't panic IMS and co.

vantheman32
9 Jul 2007, 14:57
Didn't touch a drop, haven't since September last year. Might have had one or two beers since but never been pissed or close to it since then :D

Watch out for a pic of Salter and Goudge welcoming Baby into the seniors :thumbsu:

so in 9 months you've had two beers and an impressive two handballs... good work mate

Blueboy16
9 Jul 2007, 15:04
so in 9 months you've had two beers and an impressive two handballs... good work mate

Dont forget that Leo Barry like mark in his first game Van.

Harry Wilson
9 Jul 2007, 15:14

C'mon Van, he's also umpired the under 12's!! He's a busy boy!!:D

matt_nicholls
9 Jul 2007, 15:20

I wouldn't be spruiking about on-field performances if I were you Van. You haven't had much of it since your return from suspension. And how could you forget my Nichollenko moment? I had six marks at Woodend too, five with a broken wrist! :D

Itsmyshow
9 Jul 2007, 15:33
Can we stop with the Nicholls love in... I haven't felt this ill since Collingwood won...

vantheman32
9 Jul 2007, 16:06
Not spruiking Pickles, just have a gentle little stir, i know i havent done much, lacking fitness and confidence.

OMNIPOTENT_1
9 Jul 2007, 16:49

Long as it had "ICE" in it, I dont see a problem with that, can get some of a "Relation" apparently !

Mongrel
9 Jul 2007, 17:56
:DLong as it had "ICE" in it, I dont see a problem with that, can get some of a "Relation" apparently !

ha ha ha ha.can u picture it omni?:D

Mongrel
9 Jul 2007, 18:06
can anyone tell us whether waddsy received a red card or just a yellow?

whether he played the rest of the game etc.

Iceman27
9 Jul 2007, 18:07
Hey van did someone from Kilmore break there leg on the weekend

OMNIPOTENT_1
9 Jul 2007, 18:25
can anyone tell us whether waddsy received a red card or just a yellow?

whether he played the rest of the game etc.

Red pal, Riddell played most of the second half a man down.
Great team player eh ?
Poor back line was under seige !

Mongrel
9 Jul 2007, 18:34
Red pal, Riddell played most of the second half a man down.
Great team player eh ?
Poor back line was under seige !

no doubt the backline would have had 2 work overtime.i really rate woodend.i suppose we make mistakes in the heat of battle,but judging what grub copped i think heath is in a bit of strife.
on a different note our game on the weekend was that wet and cold,hence the leagues low scores this weekend.i heard sippy played well?

OMNIPOTENT_1
9 Jul 2007, 18:58
no doubt the backline would have had 2 work overtime.i really rate woodend.i suppose we make mistakes in the heat of battle,but judging what grub copped i think heath is in a bit of strife.
on a different note our game on the weekend was that wet and cold,hence the leagues low scores this weekend.i heard sippy played well?

Went.............. ok considering the conditions pal, did enough to suggest he can play a bit.

Rowsell was superb though with his moves when they were playing with 17.
They are now calling him Darren ARowsell over there cause he is giving all the supporters a Stiffy with his Brilliant coaching,........................... even the females ones !

footyhead18
9 Jul 2007, 18:58

Yeah sippy was clearly woodends best. Still looks a bit on heavy side but he is so tough and hard at ball. Wadden got red card but only off for 15 min.

Mongrel
9 Jul 2007, 19:01
Went.............. ok considering the conditions pal, did enough to suggest he can play a bit.

Rowsell was superb though with his moves when they were playing with 17.
They are now calling him Darren ARowsell over there cause he is giving all the supporters a Stiffy with his Brilliant coaching,........................... even the females ones !

dont know about his affect on the females omni,LOL, but he is certainly having an affect on the playing group.my boys are trying to work out the best way to catch up 113 points on your guys.i better suggest 7 days a week training:)

Mongrel
9 Jul 2007, 19:10
Yeah sippy was clearly woodends best. Still looks a bit on heavy side but he is so tough and hard at ball. Wadden got red card but only off for 15 min.

he should be a player to watch come finals time footyhead.have heard some glowing reports about his phsicallity and YES his ability to play the game

OMNIPOTENT_1
9 Jul 2007, 19:17
dont know about his affect on the females omni,LOL, but he is certainly having an affect on the playing group.my boys are trying to work out the best way to catch up 113 points on your guys.i better suggest 7 days a week training:)

Hey pull up a minute pal, whats this "My Boys" bit, what have you done with Dixon ?
After all he has only lost 1, I know it was a biggie but there"s no need to knife him just yet !

And at the risk of being pedantic m8 it was 118pts, would h8 you to improve all that way & fall short by 5 !

OMNIPOTENT_1
9 Jul 2007, 19:22
. Wadden got red card but only off for 15 min.

Sent off just after half time & never came back on !

vantheman32
9 Jul 2007, 21:32
Hey van did someone from Kilmore break there leg on the weekend

yeah, promising young player corey mills, has a clean break in his tibia, a fractured ankle and a broken bone in his foot.

Jordan23
9 Jul 2007, 21:42
[quote=matt_nicholls;8060321]I played in the macedon kangas match and unless you were there you can not fully appreciate the work the boys do to get themselves right especially helmers that guy is a gun bonici for bowen by miles and close second one of the grubby brothers.:thumbsu:

Jordan23
9 Jul 2007, 21:50
yeah, promising young player corey mills, has a clean break in his tibia, a fractured ankle and a broken bone in his foot. Gday van new bloke on the block whats happening at the moment i think the roos at the moment are just waiting to unleash soon few quality players to come back will be hard to beat at full strength
:)

vantheman32
9 Jul 2007, 21:57
Welcome mate, Sunbury are a quality side so no suprise that they are ready to unleash. Kilmore will be looking for 2 strong games to get some momentum for the sunbury game. First we have to get past Melton this week, will be a challenge out in middle of nowhere. Diggers at home will be a great clash and will be lots of drinks consumed afterwards. im a tad dissapointed Kilty left diggers had a good night last yr drinkin with him

blues12
9 Jul 2007, 23:08
Sounds like the umpires will be out and about this week, with rumours that 2 umps will be attending all club sessions on thursday night, to mix with the boys and get a feeling of the clubs, also hanging around for a little bit afterwards.
Sounds like a great idea Gilesy:thumbsu:
I hope all clubs welcome them in for the night. good opportunity for players and umps to ask a question or 2 and see what everybody is like off the field.

blues12
9 Jul 2007, 23:10
Welcome mate, Sunbury are a quality side so no suprise that they are ready to unleash. Kilmore will be looking for 2 strong games to get some momentum for the sunbury game. First we have to get past Melton this week, will be a challenge out in middle of nowhere. Diggers at home will be a great clash and will be lots of drinks consumed afterwards. im a tad dissapointed Kilty left diggers had a good night last yr drinkin with him

Will the kilmore boys be sticking around that night, the roos will be having a few drinks to celebrate our 21st year.

Umpire22
9 Jul 2007, 23:12
looking forward to getting out into the clubs, hopefully it will help relations between the umps and the clubs (and i'm keen to have a kick of the leather its been a while:thumbsu:).

woody07
9 Jul 2007, 23:12
Sent off just after half time & never came back on !

Wadden off for the game but another player on after 15 minutes! Agreed Scooter is a good coach but after they gained control of the game and when Wadden was off he simply pushed numbers behind the ball-not really ground breaking coaching tactics there OM-but enough to strangle Woodends forwardline and make it hard for their forwards. Woodend forwardline also made a little easier for Riddell by not pushing to the right positions across the half forwardline.

vantheman32
9 Jul 2007, 23:14
well i think if there is contact between the clubs committees to let kilmore know im sure that there would be more than a handful of fellas to stick around n have bout 400 beers

OMNIPOTENT_1
9 Jul 2007, 23:22
Wadden off for the game but another player on after 15 minutes! Agreed Scooter is a good coach but after they gained control of the game and when Wadden was off he simply pushed numbers behind the ball-not really ground breaking coaching tactics there OM-but enough to strangle Woodends forwardline and make it hard for their forwards. Woodend forwardline also made a little easier for Riddell by not pushing to the right positions across the half forwardline.

Now your not pulling me up for being a little over confident there myself are you Woody ?

woody07
10 Jul 2007, 09:50
Now your not pulling me up for being a little over confident there myself are you Woody ?

No not all OM, quite enjoy your parochial arrogance, just big on stats and facts that's all!

matt_nicholls
10 Jul 2007, 12:01
KILMORE Football Club has lost the services of young star Corey Mills for the rest of the season, after the key-position player went down with a serious leg injury on Saturday.
After going up for a mark, Mills was tackled by a Lancefield opponent as he hit the ground, forcing his leg and ankle to buckle.
He was carried off the ground and taken by ambulance to the Northern Hospital, where it was revealed that Mills has snapped his fibula, fractured his ankle and broken a bone in his foot.
A brother of senior coach Terry Ahearn, Mills is surely going to be missed by the club.
The absence of a highly skilled half-forward and pinch-hit ruckman will leave a hole in the Blues’ line-up.

Itsmyshow
10 Jul 2007, 12:04
Diggers Rest Vs Rockbank
A chance for the Burra to find some form against the Rams. The Burra really need to find a kick start to their season before they meet Kilmore in what looks like will be the season decider, this is the game to find the form. Dan Reilly has been solid all year and Andrew Klooster has been the standout, maybe its time for Diggers to try someone else out of the forward line to create a forward option.. Did anyone say Andrew Bujeya out of Full Forward.
The Rams will be disappointed with their loss to Centrals last week. I thought with the way the Rams had been playing that they would be a chance, unfortunately not, Centrals smashed them, the Rams need to get plenty out of Walker, Nicholson, Krul and Taylor every week to be a chance, Shirley should be looked at to ruck if he is fit to free up Krul. Play Krul out of CHF and Walker on the ball.
Diggers by 50pts

Lancefield Vs Woodend/Hesket
The Tigers pushed Kilmore all the way last week, while being disappointed in the loss, they have to look at the turn around from the first game, 20 odd goal turn around is a pretty good result. The Tigers are still getting their contributions from the what I like to call "Triple C's" Choate, Conway and Collins. If they can get more from Graham, Milner and the other Collins they will go a long way to continuing their improvement, after not getting the win against Kilmore, the Tigers have to look at building for next year now. Blood some more kids and give them more game time.
The Hawks will be disappointed with last weeks loss to the Bombers, but what can really be taken from that game. The return of Luke Barker is a boost, Sippy is starting to get touch, the rest of the game was a scrap bowl. Woodend are a massive contender, they need to settle their lineup now leading into finals and just ensure their game plan is strong enough to take them all the way. Rick Dowling is still the key forward for the Hawks, Collo, if you are reading this, TAG JOHNNO....
Woodend by 35pts

Macedon FC Vs Riddell
The Cats were brave last week after quarter time, the young guys are really coming of age and again, their ball use was impressive. Losing Nipper Wright has hurt, but Aaron Christianson played the best game I have seen him play on Saturday, it reminded me of what Wheelahan does at Centrals, he controlled the game for the Cats. They dont have the cattle just yet, but the Cats work as hard as any team in the competition, a credit to Gav Christianson.
Not much more can be said about the Bombers, they are on top looking down, their midfield is controlling games, if they start to battle they just throw someone else in their and the job gets done. Wadden was stupid, no doubt, but the Bombers have so many options will it hurt them that much? Its the young guns that are doing the damage for the Bombers, Leitch, Petran, Box, Climas all dominating games at the moment, add Bellville and Blade who are just smashing opponents and the Bombers are a formidable force. Cats - Pressure on midfield supply...
Riddell by 63pts

Melton Central Vs Kilmore
Centrals had a solid win last week and will be happy with moving away from the bottom rungs of the ladder, as mentioned, Wheelahan is one of the premier players in the competition and if he gets continued support from his team mates Centrals will only get better and better. If Greenshields plays he will cause Kilmore headaches, a very talented footballer who has the ability to kick a bag of goals. Bullen has been solid this year, but can be better, hopefully that comes soon, a bit of spite in this one due to the first game this year should see a Centrals fired up and looking for an upset.
Kilmore had been impressive up until last week, but they have now left the door open wide for a Diggers challenge, the Blues not only need a win here, but need to make it a big one to build the confidence. Cornish is dominating up forward and the return of Jason King has made a difference to the Blues lineup. Youngsters Ramsdale and Hede need to have more of an impact on the game as both players run and carry the ball to break the lines, Kilmore need this to happen to be effective. A huge game in the context of the Blues season. Centrals, play Bullen on Cornish and clog the middle of the ground..
Kilmore by 12pts

Match of the Round
Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Romsey - NAIDOC Celebration game.
The Roos found some form last week against the Cats and will be looking to continue that this week. Some players returning from injury have strengthened the lineup and the Roos will be looking forward to a more settled lineup this week. The Roos have tried different things over the past few weeks and while some have bombed, some things worked really well for them. The return of Boyd has been a bonus and the backline has been exceptional in recent times. The Roos will need everyone firing this week coming up against the Redbacks who had a great win last week.
The Redbacks are starting to hit their straps and will have players returning this week for this big game. Morgan has been good all year, as has Hollywood out on the wing, McClellan provides their drive and the Redbacks will be looking for more from their forwards to have an impact this week. Both sides will be looking for a win here to consolodate their positions on in the 5. Should be a ripper clash.
Roos to win.

doitright
10 Jul 2007, 12:11
Riddell home in "Slog" of the day 5.6 to Woodend 2.2.
Not much to be seen in both sides given the conditions.
Just maybe strength department, Riddell to powerful !
Some noteable outs for both teams prior to bounce.

TOOL OF THE WEEK................... Heath Wadden, some people just will not learn !
Reported for (allegedly of course) screaming at umpire " Your a F*****g Cheat" !

It's amazing that people don't get their facts correct. The report was for allegedly, calling the umpire "A Cheat" as per the report card. It's a well known fact the RDFL cannot get any decent umpires and hasn't for years. The umpires should be held accountable for their bad decisions, decisions that could cost teams games and ultimately premierships. If you get paid to do a job, like me, you either do it properly or don't do it at all. I would think that if you get hit, not one but twice in the head in a contest that you should be given a free kick and sometimes frustration kicks in and things get out of hand. "Do it right or don't do it at all"

matt_nicholls
10 Jul 2007, 12:16
All new articles up on www.centralsport.org (http://www.centralsport.org) fellas.

Read about the thrilling tie at Kilmore, Romsey's win over Diggers, the latest RDFL odds and plenty more.

Itsmyshow
10 Jul 2007, 12:20
It's amazing that people don't get their facts correct. The report was for allegedly, calling the umpire "A Cheat" as per the report card. It's a well known fact the RDFL cannot get any decent umpires and hasn't for years. The umpires should be held accountable for their bad decisions, decisions that could cost teams games and ultimately premierships. If you get paid to do a job, like me, you either do it properly or don't do it at all. I would think that if you get hit, not one but twice in the head in a contest that you should be given a free kick and sometimes frustration kicks in and things get out of hand. "Do it right or don't do it at all"

Strongly disagree :thumbsd:

The umpires in our competition do the best job that they can do, at least we have umpire coverage for every game every week.

And generally the umpires do a pretty good job with our level of football... Its not the AFL, maybe we just need to be a little more careful what spills out of our mouths when that frustration sneaks in...

matt_nicholls
10 Jul 2007, 12:36

The umpires in our competition do the best job that they can do, at least we have umpire coverage for every game every week.

And generally the umpires do a pretty good job with our level of football... Its not the AFL, maybe we just need to be a little more careful what spills out of our mouths when that frustration sneaks in...

Good call IMS. Even doing junior umpiring I reckon there are times you have blown the whistle, paid a free kick ... only to replay it back in your mind and think that perhaps it wasn't there. I don't think there are any cheats in the RDFL umpires association.

doitright
10 Jul 2007, 13:10

Don't try and tell me that certain umpires don't like certain players! I don't like certain people, its human nature. Don't tell me once an umpire is one the field he forgets he is human.

rightfoot_sloth
10 Jul 2007, 13:12

I strongly disgree with your post :thumbsd:! All players in the comp should count themselves yourself lucky to have umpires in all games. Speak to a couple of other posters i.e. Blueboy16 about the frustration of having club umpires such as they have in the WRFL. It can have adverse affect on the standard of the game. All umpires need all the help they can get and don't need to be slammed in a public forum such as this.

Sloth out.

doitright
10 Jul 2007, 13:32
I strongly disgree with your post :thumbsd:! All players in the comp should count themselves yourself lucky to have umpires in all games. Speak to a couple of other posters i.e. Blueboy16 about the frustration of having club umpires such as they have in the WRFL. It can have adverse affect on the standard of the game. All umpires need all the help they can get and don't need to be slammed in a public forum such as this.

Sloth out.
Thinking themselves lucky has nothing to do with it, they get paid to do a job so do it right!!

Iceman27
10 Jul 2007, 13:57
yeah, promising young player corey mills, has a clean break in his tibia, a fractured ankle and a broken bone in his foot.

I thought I seen someone in there with a Kilmore jumper on. I was in there meself on Saturday, broke me jaw in two places. Anyway good luck to the young fella and once again great to see cornish kicking another bagfull of goals.

dpagan
10 Jul 2007, 13:58
How did collins go from Lancefield last week? Wadden to go for a few. Also heard there were many injuries from up to five teams last weekend. Any news from clubs/players. Are they long term?

Blueboy16
10 Jul 2007, 14:03

Sloth out.

Your so right sloth. I left the WRFL this season after 6 games not only because of the standard was terrible but week in week out having to put up with 40-50 something old men trying to umpire the game. We should count ourselves so lucky that we get umpires that have accreditation, want to learn the rules and put up with the crap from simple minded people every week.
WRFL Div 2 reserves had a club umpire assaulted last week and that player was given a life ban. The wash up from this assault suggests the club umpire was cheating for his own side. This week a 15yo official umpire was king hit by a u/18 player who I'm sure will also get a life ban.

Lets support our umpires and I suggest to doitright to speak to gilesy about pulling on the orange shirt next season seeing as he thinks he could do better

vantheman32
10 Jul 2007, 14:04
who got this weeks rising star? and who would be the favourite for the end of yr award? Surely David Cornish will take it out

vantheman32
10 Jul 2007, 14:08
4000 post is nothing!

Blueboy16
10 Jul 2007, 14:10
4000 post is nothing!

I dare you Van to go back and read the 4000 posts! :D

vantheman32
10 Jul 2007, 14:13
i actually started reading the first 10 pages today to see if any of the preseason banter turned out to be correct. i found that i said cornish would come to kilmore and dominate! Correct. Incorrect about other things though. Im sure if i read the whole 4000 posts i would find im good at eating my words lol

Itsmyshow
10 Jul 2007, 14:18
Thinking themselves lucky has nothing to do with it, they get paid to do a job so do it right!!

Your posts are becoming more irrelevant by the posting.

The umpires do their best to do the best job. Sure, everyone has issues with different people, but the umpires do their best every week not to let issues influence the way they umpire a game, I believe this is the case in generally all cases.. Umpires get paid a pittance to umpire, they dont deserve the abuse they sometimes cop. Their job will always be made harder by the abuse of players etc. Remember that next time you go to open that monsterous trap of yours to abuse one of them, maybe if you just keep the lips sealed the next decision will go your way...

I think overall the umpires in our comp do a mighty job, sometimes I get frustrated and annoyed with decisions, but that is beauty of our wonderful games, the human error that creates excitement and controversy...

Itsmyshow
10 Jul 2007, 14:20
who got this weeks rising star? and who would be the favourite for the end of yr award? Surely David Cornish will take it out

This weeks nomination is Steve Boyd from the Sunbury Kangaroos

OMNIPOTENT_1
10 Jul 2007, 14:34
Don't try and tell me that certain umpires don't like certain players! I don't like certain people, its human nature. Don't tell me once an umpire is one the field he forgets he is human.

Mmmmmmm maybe "Heath" should use this as his defence at the Tribunal tonight ?

harvey01
10 Jul 2007, 14:38
Your posts are becoming more irrelevant by the posting.

The umpires do their best to do the best job. Sure, everyone has issues with different people, but the umpires do their best every week not to let issues influence the way they umpire a game, I believe this is the case in generally all cases.. Umpires get paid a pittance to umpire, they dont deserve the abuse they sometimes cop. Their job will always be made harder by the abuse of players etc. Remember that next time you go to open that monsterous trap of yours to abuse one of them, maybe if you just keep the lips sealed the next decision will go your way...

I think overall the umpires in our comp do a mighty job, sometimes I get frustrated and annoyed with decisions, but that is beauty of our wonderful games, the human error that creates excitement and controversy...

If the decision is there the right one should be made by the umpire no matter who opens their trap! Too often the umpires are wrong, that's why people get so frustrated.

OMNIPOTENT_1
10 Jul 2007, 14:40
It's a well known fact the RDFL cannot get any decent umpires and hasn't for years. The umpires should be held accountable for their bad decisions, decisions that could cost teams games and ultimately premierships. If you get paid to do a job, like me, you either do it properly or don't do it at all. I would think that if you get hit, not one but twice in the head in a contest that you should be given a free kick and sometimes frustration kicks in and things get out of hand. "Do it right or don't do it at all"

Or this could be a good way to start "His" Defence Also !