View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
joeblow2
23 Jul 2007, 21:02
yeah i played with cornish at wallan n he could only manage 2 senior games and 1/2 a reserve game last yr whilst suffering from op and rarely could get on the track. also i noticed macedon wear geelong jumpers that i saw in the free press a couple of wks ago, when did they change from the red and blue and just wondering how come?
Macedon folded a few years ago, Macedon FC was formed 12 months or 2 years later and adopted the Geelong colours. Not sure of exact time frames. I think, and someone may correct me on this, but Macedon FC had to ensure no ties to the original Macedon due to some outstanding debts that they didn't want to be associated with. HFF or Mongrel probably know more.
Mongrel
24 Jul 2007, 08:10
Macedon folded a few years ago, Macedon FC was formed 12 months or 2 years later and adopted the Geelong colours. Not sure of exact time frames. I think, and someone may correct me on this, but Macedon FC had to ensure no ties to the original Macedon due to some outstanding debts that they didn't want to be associated with. HFF or Mongrel probably know more.
i beleive that the geelong colours were macedons original colours.and when the club found its feet and resumed in the league it was decided then that the club would go back to their first colours.perhaps halfull could give us more of an insight
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 09:54
Today on www.centralsport.org (http://www.centralsport.org)
My RDFL betting - Round 14 (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/138)
Can the Blues make it? (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/137)
Blues out-bustled (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/136)
Redbacks finding form (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/135)
Grounds for RDFL finals (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/134)
Little debuts for Hawks
(http://www.centralsport.org/archives/133)
Dramatic day at the races (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/132)
Bombers too strong (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/131)
Roos creep closer to finals (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/130)
catters078
24 Jul 2007, 10:13
Today on www.centralsport.org (http://www.centralsport.org)
My RDFL betting - Round 14 (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/138)
Can the Blues make it? (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/137)
Blues out-bustled (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/136)
Redbacks finding form (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/135)
Grounds for RDFL finals (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/134)
Little debuts for Hawks
(http://www.centralsport.org/archives/133)
Dramatic day at the races (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/132)
Bombers too strong (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/131)
Roos creep closer to finals (http://www.centralsport.org/archives/130)
good romsey write up pickles, the only sub i would make is having, jake wilson starting on the wing, pretty good player especially over the last 5 weeks. probably will replace richmond if benny is playing at cannons in september.
hows the burra looking this week line up-wise, have they got most of their gun players back and fit? i think they're a show against the hawks if they're all playing.
Way Out On The Wing
24 Jul 2007, 12:39
Don't tell me my own opinion. Cornish struggled to walk after the match. Diggers played solid, but not outstanding football. It was prick of a game with far too many turnovers for two sides wanting to play finals. I know there was pressure but some of the skill errors were very basic. Kicks that you would expect Under 14s to make just didn't hit targets. Then you see classy blokes like Sims and Robertson who make the game look easy. If anyone wants to take Diggers on I'll be extra generous and offer 5-1. No chance if they play the same as they did on Saturday and Woodend-Hesket play similar to the way they did against Lancefield.
Ive been a supporter of Kilmore for a few yrs, robbo can play but for every great thing he does such as taking a screamer, dodging 4 or 5 blokes its his next thing that hurts his team. He doesnt like to handball and his kicking is ordinary at best. On saturday Sims showed how classy he is because he can deliver the ball under pressure and off balance to the leading fowards. i respect how much work robbo does.
He could be a much more damaging players to oppositions if he used a handball here or there. Im not at all trying to stir the pot imo his kicking is ordinary n im sure alot of you on here will agree. Cornish best foward in comp i and many others would love to see him fully fit. Very disheartening to see Adam Goodge go down with at ankle injury he is a great club player. Best of luck to the boys, i put my two bits in so dont bite me head off. WOOTH
Halffullonfence
24 Jul 2007, 12:42
i beleive that the geelong colours were macedons original colours.and when the club found its feet and resumed in the league it was decided then that the club would go back to their first colours.perhaps halfull could give us more of an insight
Original colours were red and blue hoops. Then went to Geelong colours. Changed to Port colours when in 1st div 77. Changed back to this strip when club reformed. I am not sure of the dates these changes occured but am glad we are back to the present colours. Is rumoured there were a couple of variations off the blue and red hoops and blue and white stripes in the early early days.
Mongrel
24 Jul 2007, 13:33
Ive been a supporter of Kilmore for a few yrs, robbo can play but for every great thing he does such as taking a screamer, dodging 4 or 5 blokes its his next thing that hurts his team. He doesnt like to handball and his kicking is ordinary at best. On saturday Sims showed how classy he is because he can deliver the ball under pressure and off balance to the leading fowards. i respect how much work robbo does.
He could be a much more damaging players to oppositions if he used a handball here or there. Im not at all trying to stir the pot imo his kicking is ordinary n im sure alot of you on here will agree. Cornish best foward in comp i and many others would love to see him fully fit. Very disheartening to see Adam Goodge go down with at ankle injury he is a great club player. Best of luck to the boys, i put my two bits in so dont bite me head off. WOOTH
every player has their faults.and in robbos case he has less of them than 99 percent of the other players in the rdfl
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 13:52
There are few players in this comp that can drill a ball 55 metres and hit someone on the chest WOOTW. Think you are being harsh on Robbo. Probably the best player in this league. Can play forward, back, on-ball etc. Doesn't have as much class as Sims, but who does in the RDFL? Is very much a working class player with an extremely great football gift of talent.
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 14:26
from what i saw of the kilmore diggers match sims wasnt very prominate
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 14:31
from what i saw of the kilmore diggers match sims wasnt very prominate
I agree that he was well held, but he is very classy. He doesn't have to get much of it to make an impact on a game. Smart one percenters, couple of "give-offs" etc.
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 14:36
agreed
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 14:39
I have a question for you pickles who do you think kilmore and diggers could least afford to loose on there way towards finals?
Have kilmore lost theirs?
discoduck
24 Jul 2007, 14:44
I have a question for you pickles who do you think kilmore and diggers could least afford to loose on there way towards finals?
adam moedt
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 14:45
From what I saw on Saturday, Diggers Rest could ill afford to lose Jose.
Kilmore can not afford to lose Cornish, Robbo or Linton Kemp. Kemp is a gun and underrated.
Trueblueroo
24 Jul 2007, 14:47
Jose/Sims would be the worst injury to happen to Diggers, whilst Robbo or Cornish would be the worst for Kilmore! Goudge is a bad loss, but some good young talented players in their two's could cover him to some extent!
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 14:48
adam moedt
Moedt is a good player, honest defender. But replaceable.
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 14:49
disco hows the hammy?
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 14:51
I think his irreplaceable
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 14:59
I think his irreplaceable
Good kid and can play football but doesn't have enough impact on games to be irreplaceable.
discoduck
24 Jul 2007, 15:00
disco hows the hammy?
getting there mate. hopefully this week. we'll test her out fully on thursday night.
on moedt - he is beyonce knowles (irreplaceable). he brings some very important tangibles to the team that few are capable of.
the ability to wear tips in his hair while wearing green and white horizontal stripes is one.
the ability to get drunk on raspberry cordial shots in lemonade (his own personal 'jaeger bomb' is amazing.
he is just very underrated all round.
discoduck
24 Jul 2007, 15:01
Good kid and can play football but doesn't have enough impact on games to be irreplaceable.
how dare you! you have absolutely no idea about football. moder = gun.:)
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 15:03
your a great man disco
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 15:07
how dare you! you have absolutely no idea about football. moder = gun.:)
Just don't forget to put the bins out tonight. Not sure what time I'll be home :D
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 15:23
pickles have we heard any wispers about the 2008 season?
wallan returning?
big names returning to RDFL?
or is it to early?
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 15:26
pickles have we heard any wispers about the 2008 season?
wallan returning?
big names returning to RDFL?
or is it to early?
To put it simply, no decision has been made on Wallan returning. It has been spoken about unofficially at club level, but not at committee level I believe. Next week's paper will have a big spread on the RDFL and my views on a two division competition. It will hopefully also involve the Wallan, Broadford and Gisborne presidents on their views as to whether they would consider returning.
As for players, it wouldn't surprise me if Lee James came back next year. But haven't heard anything substantial about any particular individuals.
Iceman27
24 Jul 2007, 15:36
To put it simply, no decision has been made on Wallan returning. It has been spoken about unofficially at club level, but not at committee level I believe. Next week's paper will have a big spread on the RDFL and my views on a two division competition. It will hopefully also involve the Wallan, Broadford and Gisborne presidents on their views as to whether they would consider returning.
As for players, it wouldn't surprise me if Lee James came back next year. But haven't heard anything substantial about any particular individuals.
Just from speaking to people around the club and supporters, there are alot of people that would like to see us go back to RDFL. It wouldn't surprise me if a meeting was called at the end of the season just to get everyones views on it.
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 15:42
Isnt Lee doing well up bush?
Do u believe that there will be enough teams for a second division?
Which teams do u see in that division?
Do you reckon broadford and gisborne will return?
bulldogz_rok
24 Jul 2007, 15:45
There are few players in this comp that can drill a ball 55 metres and hit someone on the chest WOOTW. Think you are being harsh on Robbo. Probably the best player in this league. Can play forward, back, on-ball etc. Doesn't have as much class as Sims, but who does in the RDFL? Is very much a working class player with an extremely great football gift of talent.
ROBBO BEST PLAYER IN THE LEAGUE are u dreaming..i really think u need to wake up...he is not a good captain...hes not a team player at all..i thought the captain was meant to inspire and enchourage his team mates befor a game...but all i can see is that he likes hanging out at the netball courts prior to a game instead of warming up...and to be a GREAT or the best footballer u need to be able to kick the ball...after all it is called FOOTBALL not dodgeball....or prance around with a pole stuck up my bum ball....i think it is just that when SOME players get introuble they panic and think ill give it to robbo hell do something...UMM HELLO hes not god he cant answer everyones prayers...although he is a great mark and fast and strong...Linton Kemp & Cornish are much better players.....Other teams in the league don't see it....
Way Out On The Wing
24 Jul 2007, 15:48
i dont doubt that he is one of the best players in the league, but his kicking lets him down, i havent seen him hit anyone from 55m. I realise players have there faults as its a part of human nature.
id say cornish has an extremely great gift of football talent.
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 15:51
ROBBO BEST PLAYER IN THE LEAGUE are u dreaming..i really think u need to wake up...he is not a good captain...hes not a team player at all..i thought the captain was meant to inspire and enchourage his team mates befor a game...but all i can see is that he likes hanging out at the netball courts prior to a game instead of warming up...and to be a GREAT or the best footballer u need to be able to kick the ball...after all it is called FOOTBALL not dodgeball....or prance around with a pole stuck up my bum ball....i think it is just that when SOME players get introuble they panic and think ill give it to robbo hell do something...UMM HELLO hes not god he cant answer everyones prayers...although he is a great mark and fast and strong...Linton Kemp & Cornish are much better players.....Other teams in the league don't see it....
You're entitled to your opinion, I see some merit in it. I don't think Robbo is the best leader at the club, and perhaps shouldn't be captain. But that is a club issue. The fact is, toe-to-toe, there are few better players in this competition.
Ice, the club probably need to start thinking about it now. Don't want to get to a stage where you are fighting time to join the league. Get Neal Langborne to ring Scott McCartney and he'll probably come and speak to you. I'm sure the RDFL would want 12 clubs, not 11. So you may need to try and convince someone like Trentham to come across.
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 15:53
your opinion is your opinion
I play with the man there is no better leader at the cub and robos team play this year has been better then previous years.His kicking hasn't been at 100% this year but is very important to not only kilmore but the RDFL.
Kempy n Corno are top footballers but i doubt corno would have had 70 shots on goal without robo i the side.I agree that they are quality tho.
If robo turned up at wallan?
Couldnt give him the paperwork fast enough!
bromanbomber
24 Jul 2007, 15:56
My two cents are that Robbo is still young and will grow into the role of being captain. They come in different forms, one can be talking to the players and inspiring them with words or the other can be letting their actions inspire the team-mates on the field. Robbo falls into the latter. He is extremely gifted and I think your being pretty harsh on the young kid. He could grow into one of the best captains the club has had, he just needs time to demonstrate that and have a few of the older players or officials take him under their wing to give him the guidance.
Kempy and Cornish are brilliant players, you just need a few of the younger kids to stand up and Kilmore will be a much stronger outfit than they are now. :thumbsu:
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 15:57
if your from wallan
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 16:06
If I had to rate the best 10 players at Kilmore on this years form, this is how they would be ordered.
1. Matt Robertson
2. Dave Cornish
3. Linton Kemp
4. Tristan Salter
5. Jason King
6. Adam Goudge
7. Glen Barnes
8. Jamie Duffy (missed early games).
9. Ben Newham
10. Adam Moedt
Stiff to miss out were Justin Colliss, Ryan Straney and Brad Colliver.
bulldogz_rok
24 Jul 2007, 16:12
My two cents are that Robbo is still young and will grow into the role of being captain. They come in different forms, one can be talking to the players and inspiring them with words or the other can be letting their actions inspire the team-mates on the field. Robbo falls into the latter. He is extremely gifted and I think your being pretty harsh on the young kid. He could grow into one of the best captains the club has had, he just needs time to demonstrate that and have a few of the older players or officials take him under their wing to give him the guidance.
Kempy and Cornish are brilliant players, you just need a few of the younger kids to stand up and Kilmore will be a much stronger outfit than they are now. :thumbsu:
omg ppl what game are u watchin lol...how can anything he does on feild imspire a team..he just kicks the ball in the air with no real purpose..he has no maturity...and no leadership qualities at all..he obviously aint that good i mean he only plays for kilmore there not the best team now are they if he was as good as everyone pretends he is then hed b playin afl..he is just to up himself to realise that half his team dont really like him...and ppl just follow him around like lost sheep or love sick puppies its disgusting...maybe it is time that everyone did wake upto the fact that maybe if u had a better leader who was a better footballer then they could possibly be a real good team and maybe have a chance at the flag....
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 16:12
If I had to rate the best 10 players at Kilmore on this years form, this is how they would be ordered.
1. Matt Robertson
2. Dave Cornish
3. Linton Kemp
4. Tristan Salter
5. Jason King
6. Adam Goudge
7. Glen Barnes
8. Jamie Duffy (missed early games).
9. Ben Newham
10. Adam Moedt
Stiff to miss out were Justin Colliss, Ryan Straney and Brad Colliver.
I like that list pickles i agree with you
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 16:15
omg ppl what game are u watchin lol...how can anything he does on feild imspire a team..he just kicks the ball in the air with no real purpose..he has no maturity...and no leadership qualities at all..he obviously aint that good i mean he only plays for kilmore there not the best team now are they if he was as good as everyone pretends he is then hed b playin afl..he is just to up himself to realise that half his team dont really like him...and ppl just follow him around like lost sheep or love sick puppies its disgusting...maybe it is time that everyone did wake upto the fact that maybe if u had a better leader who was a better footballer then they could possibly be a real good team and maybe have a chance at the flag....
Don't agree mate
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 16:20
If you dnt mind what team do you come from Bulldog?
Maybe to best know Robos ability as a leader you'd have to play with the boy?Just a thought
bulldogz_rok
24 Jul 2007, 16:21
Don't agree mate
u can agree or not agree if ya want i dont really care
this is my opinion lookin into the club not from inside it, and naturally if u play with him and are mates with him u are gunna stick up for him..not casuing trouble just givin my 2 bobs worth
bromanbomber
24 Jul 2007, 16:21
sounds to me you don't like the guy at all...:confused:
can anyone confirm whether Robbo played in the 01 Premiership team for Kilmore?? I know he certainly played a few games in the seniors.
bulldogz_rok
24 Jul 2007, 16:24
If you dnt mind what team do you come from Bulldog?
Maybe to best know Robos ability as a leader you'd have to play with the boy?Just a thought
im an observor of the game...and u must realise that ppl at kilmore talk
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 16:24
sounds to me you don't like the guy at all...:confused:
can anyone confirm whether Robbo played in the 01 Premiership team for Kilmore?? I know he certainly played a few games in the seniors.
To the best of my knowledge he did.Pickles?
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 16:27
im an observor of the game...and u must realise that ppl at kilmore talk
Do not doubt that for a second Bulldog it happens at every club.Just sounds like your not fond of the guy.Who would you rather see as captain of the club?What would you like see happen with robo?
bulldogz_rok
24 Jul 2007, 16:31
Do not doubt that for a second Bulldog it happens at every club.Just sounds like your not fond of the guy.Who would you rather see as captain of the club?What would you like see happen with robo?
to be honest couldnt care less what happends to him but i dont think he should b captain..not sure who should b tho maybe goudge
discoduck
24 Jul 2007, 16:34
who are you? what are you trying to hide? before, your avatar said you were from wallan, now it says melbourne. i hope you are just stirring it up, because you are talking a fair bit of crap here today.
i've only been around a month or so, but he seems very well liked amongst the players and is a goer on the ground. if there are players within the club who dislike him, they don't make it clear to him or anyone else, so maybe they should pipe up and gets things out in the open and make it a better club all round (not that i think that's what is going on)
bromanbomber
24 Jul 2007, 16:38
who are you? what are you trying to hide? before, your avatar said you were from wallan, now it says melbourne. i hope you are just stirring it up, because you are talking a fair bit of crap here today.
i've only been around a month or so, but he seems very well liked amongst the players and is a goer on the ground. if there are players within the club who dislike him, they don't make it clear to him or anyone else, so maybe they should pipe up and gets things out in the open and make it a better club all round (not that i think that's what is going on)
Agree with your thoughts disco.
Robbo is a champion player and bulldog seems like he is full of a whole lotta BS!!
matt_nicholls
To the best of my knowledge he did.Pickles?
This is how Kilmore's 2001 premiership side lined up.
B: Scott Stewart, Nick Byrne, Liam Clancy.
HB: Geoff Still, Danny O'Dwyer, Terry Ahearn.
C: Chris Jacovou, Danny Kavanagh, Matt Robertson.
HF: Liam Ryan, Andrew Stewart (coach), Steve Kinnear.
F: Kevin Kavanagh, Darren Kemp, Wayne Quinn.
R: Robbie Wittmer, John Rowe, Luke Weller.
I: Craig Pearson, Tristan Salter, Shaun Clancy, Jason Mancini.
Some notable names in Kilmore's reserves lineup from that year too. They also won the flag.
Adam Goudge, Adam Dove, Dayson Carroll, Linton Kemp.
vantheman32
alot of talk today gee whiz. alot of very critical talk bout certain players. i like matts list of top 10 but i would see it like this
1 Cornish
2 Kemp
3 Robbo
4 Barnes
5 Goudge
6 Colliver
7 Salter
8 King
9 Newham( injuries n suspension have prevented him from being higher)
10 Strayney
Im not going to say whose stiff to miss but i dont agree with sum of the selections. i know i have done nothin to date so im not suggesting anything. Suspension have hindered a few players n what not. maybe every1 is looking much too deep at the kilmore spectrum. if we dont make finals stiff shit, every1 knows what we will have to do next yr. i know that i want to get fitter, n stronger. to give 2008 a real crack in the blues jumper. i want to win a flag at this club, my old man won a flag at kilmore and it is definately the highest thing on my list of TO DO's atm, if anyone doesnt like that then bad luck
Hawker28
24 Jul 2007, 16:44
They loose one game which puts them back into the pack and bang......
Listen to the critics come out of the closet, where have you guys been all year?
Have the wheels fallen of the ban wagon up there or what? Questioning players commitments and ability to lead sides?
Interesting night on the track, No Terry, No Goudge, Robbo's ability in doubt! Time to sack Dayson perhaps? Nicholls get the boys together, and rally your troops son, the fat lady hasn't sung yet!!!
Iceman27
24 Jul 2007, 16:49
your opinion is your opinion
I play with the man there is no better leader at the cub and robos team play this year has been better then previous years.His kicking hasn't been at 100% this year but is very important to not only kilmore but the RDFL.
Kempy n Corno are top footballers but i doubt corno would have had 70 shots on goal without robo i the side.I agree that they are quality tho.
If robo turned up at wallan?
Couldnt give him the paperwork fast enough!
I'm pretty sure Bulldogz-Rox is not from Wallan but I am and your right Wallan would love to have Robbo. He played a couple of years at juniors with us and he is an outstanding player.
Hawker28
24 Jul 2007, 16:50
alot of talk today gee whiz. alot of very critical talk bout certain players. i like matts list of top 10 but i would see it like this
1 Cornish
2 Kemp
3 Robbo
4 Barnes
5 Goudge
6 Colliver
7 Salter
8 King
10 Strayney
Im not going to say whose stiff to miss but i dont agree with sum of the selections. i know i have done nothin to date so im not suggesting anything. Suspension have hindered a few players n what not. maybe every1 is looking much too deep at the kilmore spectrum. if we dont make finals stiff shit, every1 knows what we will have to do next yr. i know that i want to get fitter, n stronger. to give 2008 a real crack in the blues jumper. i want to win a flag at this club, my old man won a flag at kilmore and it is definately the highest thing on my list of TO DO's atm, if anyone doesnt like that then bad luck
Is this where i say your stiff to miss out Van?
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 16:50
They loose one game which puts them back into the pack and bang......
Listen to the critics come out of the closet, where have you guys been all year?
Have the wheels fallen of the ban wagon up there or what? Questioning players commitments and ability to lead sides?
Interesting night on the track, No Terry, No Goudge, Robbo's ability in doubt! Time to sack Dayson perhaps? Nicholls get the boys together, and rally your troops son, the fat lady hasn't sung yet!!!
I keep telling them that. The players at Kilmore need to get a bit more mongrel (pardon the pun Deano) in them and show some fight. Forget about the opposition and just go out and play arrogant footy. It is their only option this week.
vantheman32
24 Jul 2007, 16:52
most certainly not hawker, i know ive done nothing
Iceman27
24 Jul 2007, 16:59
Any of the Kilmore boys can answer this, but did not having Ahern coach on the weekend against diggers, did that effect your team at all.
vantheman32
24 Jul 2007, 17:01
im not sure if it did or didnt, i thought Jamie Archer did a pretty good job on saturday, just diggers strength and experience and sheer desire to win more than us. they were too good on the day, simple.
Iceman27
24 Jul 2007, 17:02
You're entitled to your opinion, I see some merit in it. I don't think Robbo is the best leader at the club, and perhaps shouldn't be captain. But that is a club issue. The fact is, toe-to-toe, there are few better players in this competition.
Ice, the club probably need to start thinking about it now. Don't want to get to a stage where you are fighting time to join the league. Get Neal Langborne to ring Scott McCartney and he'll probably come and speak to you. I'm sure the RDFL would want 12 clubs, not 11. So you may need to try and convince someone like Trentham to come across.
I am not 100% on neil thoughts on weather he wants to switch back to RDFL or stay in the NFL. Your interview if you get one with him should be good reading and may just get the ball rolling.
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 17:02
Any of the Kilmore boys can answer this, but did not having Ahern coach on the weekend against diggers, did that effect your team at all.
If Tez had of coached, perhaps the scoreline would have been closer, but I think the result would have been the same. Arch is pretty passionate about his footy and had the boys prepared as usual, so I can't see it making much difference.
The Wallan boys played better under Gibbo's coaching on Saturday, will Watson get the arse :D
vantheman32
24 Jul 2007, 17:03
agreed with you here Matt, its a first
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 17:03
1 Cornish
2 Kemp
3 Robbo
4 Barnes
5 Goudge
6 Colliver
7 Salter
8 King
10 Strayney
So just Moedt out of pickles top 10 Jobby
Iceman27
24 Jul 2007, 17:06
If Tez had of coached, perhaps the scoreline would have been closer, but I think the result would have been the same. Arch is pretty passionate about his footy and had the boys prepared as usual, so I can't see it making much difference.
The Wallan boys played better under Gibbo's coaching on Saturday, will Watson get the arse :D
Gibbo only coached a quarter and a half when watson had to go to hospital but no doubt he will make a good coach one day.
vantheman32
24 Jul 2007, 17:07
he wasnt the only one mate, just an opinion,not degrading moedt i think hes done a good job this yr. how are the ribs there mate?
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 17:10
he wasnt the only one mate, just an opinion,not degrading moedt i think hes done a good job this yr. how are the ribs there mate?
yeah broke them actually so a bit sore today,how did the achilles come up?
discoduck
24 Jul 2007, 17:13
1. moedt
2. the colonel
3. disco
4. hede
5. baby
6. sheather
7. riley
8. ferris
the rest are a bit overrated!
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 17:17
1. moedt
2. the colonel
3. disco
4. hede
5. baby
6. sheather
7. riley
8. ferris
the rest are a bit overrated!
I love it!
disco i think your sellng your own ability's short!
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 17:19
Gibbo only coached a quarter and a half when watson had to go to hospital but no doubt he will make a good coach one day.
Yeah but Wallan doubled their score since he took over. :p Hope Watto is going okay too.
vantheman32
24 Jul 2007, 17:20
no good mate unlucky. i feel a bit better except i got a killer cold right now gone through about 10 hankees today its all good though
Next week's paper will have a big spread on the RDFL and my views on a two division competition. It will hopefully also involve the Wallan, Broadford and Gisborne presidents on their views as to whether they would consider returning.
Dont even bother putting Broadford into the equation mate, will only mean wasting premium space and providing less space to discuss legitimate contenders to enter your comp. Can anyone please remind why clubs such as Gisborne, Sunbury, Melton's, Darley, Jacana and Craigieburn left originally and why on earth things have changed for them to return?
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 17:25
still a chance this week we will have to wait n see, yeah got a cold to the docs worried about pneumonia with breathing dificulties, did you like discos top 10
vantheman32
24 Jul 2007, 17:27
yeah i like his top 10 but what kinda top 10 is it?
matt_nicholls
24 Jul 2007, 17:31
Dont even bother putting Broadford into the equation mate, will only mean wasting premium space and providing less space to discuss legitimate contenders to enter your comp. Can anyone please remind why clubs such as Gisborne, Sunbury, Melton's, Darley, Jacana and Craigieburn left originally and why on earth things have changed for them to return?
The competition is now much stronger and had a guaranteed future now, whereas eight or so years ago it was looking shaky. It'll probably never happen, but it makes for good reading and discussion.
OMNIPOTENT_1
24 Jul 2007, 17:35
He sounds a lot like 1 of my "Friends" duck !
They think because its so easy to post under many new names it makes them smart, he sould have taken his mates advice & kept of our Forum, before he hurts someone he loves Irrevocably !
Mongrel
24 Jul 2007, 17:54
AN OPPONENTS PERSPECTIVE ON ROBBO
i would be more than happy to play on any onballer in the competition.
but if i was given the job on robbo this thursday night,i doubt whether id get much sleep between then and the game.he is tall,super mobile
has a fantastic leap,reads the play beautifully,and to put it mildly he is head and shoulders above 99 percent of the rdfl players.if u dont like the guy at least respect his football talent.bulldog u obviously have issues with robbo,perhaps it would be a better idea to prove your points about him on the field,rather than from the sideline:thumbsd:
dwyane WADE show
24 Jul 2007, 18:18
[/b]
I am not 100% on neil thoughts on weather he wants to switch back to RDFL or stay in the NFL. Your interview if you get one with him should be good reading and may just get the ball rolling.
yeah i also would love to see us back in the league and i got an idea neil is starting to see that going back to the riddell league would be a good idea for us...one problem will be trying to get the junior club to come back
blues12
24 Jul 2007, 18:28
yeah i also would love to see us back in the league and i got an idea neil is starting to see that going back to the riddell league would be a good idea for us...one problem will be trying to get the junior club to come back
Is it 1 club or 2? the rdfl does not require all senior clubs to have juniors. Like the Northern FL, not all senior clubs have juniors. (melton centrals and lancefeild)
Would the northern FL let the juniors continue there, if there is no senior involvement?
Iceman27
24 Jul 2007, 18:38
[QUOTE=blues12;8208492]Is it 1 club or 2? the rdfl does not require all senior clubs to have juniors. Like the Northern FL, not all senior clubs have juniors. (melton centrals and lancefeild)
Would the northern FL let the juniors continue there, if there is no senior involvement?[/QUOTE
The juniors and seniors do operate as two seperate clubs and I am pretty sure if the seniors decided to move the juniors could stay. I know the juniors have no intensions on leaving the NFL.
Halffullonfence
24 Jul 2007, 18:42
Is it 1 club or 2? the rdfl does not require all senior clubs to have juniors. Like the Northern FL, not all senior clubs have juniors. (melton centrals and lancefeild)
Would the northern FL let the juniors continue there, if there is no senior involvement?
Melton Centrals have 10's and 12's and used to have 18's.
Lancefield have 18's and are in a combined side with Romsey in the juniors called Rangers.
Do agree though that I think the league would still allow them to join if their juniors didn't follow.
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2007, 18:43
looks like we could be seeing the biggest rivalry in the RDFL back next year!
Halffullonfence
24 Jul 2007, 18:45
The juniors and seniors do operate as two seperate clubs and I am pretty sure if the seniors decided to move the juniors could stay. I know the juniors have no intensions on leaving the NFL.[/quote]
Didn't the junior part of the club start proceedings in the move to the NFL in the first place?
Iceman27
24 Jul 2007, 18:53
Didn't the junior part of the club start proceedings in the move to the NFL in the first place?[/QUOTE]
I don't know the answer to that.
Iceman27
24 Jul 2007, 18:55
looks like we could be seeing the biggest rivalry in the RDFL back next year!
Still a very long way to go, but I for one would love to play Kilmore again. I am surprised we have never had a practice match or something since we did crossover to NFL.
goblues09
24 Jul 2007, 20:34
bulldogs - it seems u are frustrated - are you not gettin enough **** at the minute???
to say robbo is not a good captain cos he is watchin the netball is a fairly shit call -his girlfriend p;lays netball and last time i checked it was a football netball club - hence why we watch some footy and some netball before preparing for our matches
goblues09
24 Jul 2007, 20:41
i dont think it was the fact terry was absent on saturday that did it for us - the most notable absentees weres probably desperation and big game experience - some polished footy skills wouldnt have gone astray either
dwyane WADE show
24 Jul 2007, 21:47
Didn't the junior part of the club start proceedings in the move to the NFL in the first place?[/quote]
yeah the juniors did have a big say in wanting to go to the dvfl and im pretty sure they wouldnt follow if the senior club decides to go back. I still think there would be a long way to go for us to return because we would need the rdfl and their clubs to vote for us to come in, something like 75% of our club members to vote yes, then the nfl would try and stop us from going n then im pretty sure football victoria would step in...i may be wrong but im pretty sure thats how it works
I personally hope it happens as do a lot of people at the club, but i also know their is a few who would rather stay in the nfl, so their is a long way to go
Animosity
24 Jul 2007, 22:35
bulldogs - it seems u are frustrated - are you not gettin enough **** at the minute???
would could possibly have four letters and not be getting enough of it? .. Ive gotta get me some of that too :D:thumbsu: .. so long as it aint that abbreviated male rooster slang
discreet1
25 Jul 2007, 09:15
Isnt Cornish from Wallan? Or did he just play there?
If Wallan were to come in next year, would he go back??:confused:
Iceman27
25 Jul 2007, 10:22
Isnt Cornish from Wallan? Or did he just play there?
If Wallan were to come in next year, would he go back??:confused:
Yeah cornish is from wallan, if wallan were to come in I would imagine there would be a bidding frenzy for his services between wallan and kilmore. Imo out of all the players that left from last year he is the one we miss the most.
mockery
25 Jul 2007, 10:40
This is how Kilmore's 2001 premiership side lined up.
B: Scott Stewart, Nick Byrne, Liam Clancy.
HB: Geoff Still, Danny O'Dwyer, Terry Ahearn.
C: Chris Jacovou, Danny Kavanagh, Matt Robertson.
HF: Liam Ryan, Andrew Stewart (coach), Steve Kinnear.
F: Kevin Kavanagh, Darren Kemp, Wayne Quinn.
R: Robbie Wittmer, John Rowe, Luke Weller.
I: Craig Pearson, Tristan Salter, Shaun Clancy, Jason Mancini.
Some notable names in Kilmore's reserves lineup from that year too. They also won the flag.
Adam Goudge, Adam Dove, Dayson Carroll, Linton Kemp.
Fair side! If my memory serves me correctly they went through 01' undefeated? Wittmer was a very good mobile ruckman while Andy Stewart was a powerhouse CHF of the league especially in the mid-to-late 90's with Hawkins from Macedon.
Not sure if many people on here keep tabs on ex-players from the RDFL but as well as Lee James doing great things i just wanted to acknowledge a great of this comp in recent years Mark Strack got BOG for Wang Rovers 2 weekends ago and featured in the best again on Sat. The O&M is regarded as the premier Country comp in Vic and Bulldog began the year in and out of the 1sts but has now cemented his spot in a back pocket after initially playing a Centreman/HB role (not sure what the coach was thinking there as we all now how good a backman he is, and how well he reads the play with the ball coming in and he backs himself to leave his opponent).
Fair side! If my memory serves me correctly they went through 01' undefeated? Wittmer was a very good mobile ruckman while Andy Stewart was a powerhouse CHF of the league especially in the mid-to-late 90's with Hawkins from Macedon.
Not sure if many people on here keep tabs on ex-players from the RDFL but as well as Lee James doing great things i just wanted to acknowledge a great of this comp in recent years Mark Strack got BOG for Wang Rovers 2 weekends ago and featured in the best again on Sat. The O&M is regarded as the premier Country comp in Vic and Bulldog began the year in and out of the 1sts but has now cemented his spot in a back pocket after initially playing a Centreman/HB role (not sure what the coach was thinking there as we all now how good a backman he is, and how well he reads the play with the ball coming in and he backs himself to leave his opponent).
good to see b-dog playimg well, might have taken a while for him to ajust to the different style of play of the O&M compared to the rdfl.
just on the kilmore team where are some of the players from that team? jason mancini comes to mind he an old mate from junior days where is he at??
good players on the field and a good ladies man off it i hear too!!!!
matt_nicholls
25 Jul 2007, 11:48
Strack was a very classy defender and deserves to be in any RDFL team of the decade etc.
I spoke to him a couple of weeks after he started up there and he said he was struggling to cement a spot in the seniors. He said he knew he had to back himself to defeat his opponents, but was wary if he gave them too much leeway they would make him look foolish. It has been great watching him get in the best players, I keep tabs on the Rovers most weeks.
vantheman32
25 Jul 2007, 12:27
jason mancini is playing is footy down in warrnambool
discreet1
25 Jul 2007, 14:03
Yeah cornish is from wallan, if wallan were to come in I would imagine there would be a bidding frenzy for his services between wallan and kilmore. Imo out of all the players that left from last year he is the one we miss the most.
Will he go back do you think??:confused:
Will money come into it, or would he play for the club he came from?:confused:
Iceman27
25 Jul 2007, 15:07
Will he go back do you think??:confused:
Will money come into it, or would he play for the club he came from?:confused:
I think there is always a chance off him coming back, I personally don't think he is the type of guy that plays footy for the money. It would be a very tough decision for him I think as he has alot of mates at both clubs.
vantheman32
25 Jul 2007, 15:14
cornish will be at kilmore next year
bromanbomber
25 Jul 2007, 16:02
Correct on going through undefeated, was the best side the club has had for a number of years. Most of them are retired now, and a few have moved on either interstate or overseas.
discreet1
25 Jul 2007, 18:26
Is that certain Van, or what you think will happen or hope to happen?:confused:
dwyane WADE show
25 Jul 2007, 18:56
I dont know about that, i reckon there is a chance he will return next yr though he seems to be playing some real good footy with the blues
matt nicholls may be able to answer this, has the league or the president approached wallan to come back and if not do u think he will approach our club in the near future?
vantheman32
25 Jul 2007, 19:12
im certain that cornish will be at kilmore next year.
discreet1
25 Jul 2007, 19:19
im certain that cornish will be at kilmore next year.
Thats confidence.:cool:
Lot of water to flow under the bridge tho.
Good for the blues if so.
vantheman32
25 Jul 2007, 19:30
corno, i believe is a man of his word and he has told me he will be at kilmore next year. and thats good enough for me, he enjoys playing at kilmore and enjoys drinkin with the fellas even more.
footy mad 2
25 Jul 2007, 20:07
TBR MN or any one else. Did the "press release" come out on Sunbury. Speaking to people at the game and they were saying it was still just rumour. People seem to think the rumour is very strong however nobody else has confirmed that it is a done deal.