View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
Jordan23
25 Jul 2007, 20:32
kangas for premiers
Iceman27
25 Jul 2007, 20:35
corno, i believe is a man of his word and he has told me he will be at kilmore next year. and thats good enough for me, he enjoys playing at kilmore and enjoys drinkin with the fellas even more.
I agree, I think it will be hard to get him back at wallan, if we stay in the NFL next year there will be no chance off him coming back if we make the move to the RDFL, I have no doubt we will be doing everything for him to come back.
Jordan23
25 Jul 2007, 20:37
hi matt i think you are spot on although i do think that they are still a very dangerous side think it will be a ripper when they play the roos. what do you think of the roos list cause you have some good insight and i just dont think they get the credit they deserve give a one to ten and i think that you will find that they can match it with anyone. go roos
blues12
25 Jul 2007, 20:53
I dont know about that, i reckon there is a chance he will return next yr though he seems to be playing some real good footy with the blues
matt nicholls may be able to answer this, has the league or the president approached wallan to come back and if not do u think he will approach our club in the near future?
I think you will find that AFL Victoria will not allow leagues to approach clubs to enter their competition. It may not be a policy but would be frowned apon.
Once a club approaches the league, the league will then have the right to sell itself. but, then you do still have the other issues, members votes, league transfer, AFL victoria appeals, etc. But i believe with Wallan originally being a RDFL club, they would be allowed the transfer IMO.
blues12
25 Jul 2007, 20:54
corno, i believe is a man of his word and he has told me he will be at kilmore next year. and thats good enough for me, he enjoys playing at kilmore and enjoys drinkin with the fellas even more.
Van did you ask the same question, if Wallan were to return:D
blues12
25 Jul 2007, 21:31
TBR MN or any one else. Did the "press release" come out on Sunbury. Speaking to people at the game and they were saying it was still just rumour. People seem to think the rumour is very strong however nobody else has confirmed that it is a done deal.
As Posted on Ballarat thread last week.
Sunbury steps closer to move
THE SUNBURY Lions Football Club has moved one step closer to leaving the RegionalOne Ballarat Football League.
Sunbury president Greg Allen confirmed the club would have formal discussions with the Essendon and District Football League about possibly joining the suburban league, after the EDFL agreed on Monday to meet with the
club on a yet to be determined date.
But Allen insisted a possible shift to the EDFL was just one item being considered by Sunbury's future directions committee that was established in 2005, and leaving the BFL was no certainty to happen.
"In 2005 the club established the future directions committee to discuss the club's future, and as part of that review we needed to have discussions with the Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club, the Ballarat Football League and
the EDFL. We had to make an application in order to have formal discussions with the EDFL and we've done that," he said.
Allen, who is also a member of the five-man future directions committee, said the meeting was primarily to provide the club's members with the information to help make a decision about its future.
He said that once the information was obtained the issue would go to a vote of the membership at 2007 annual general meeting.
"From day one the BFL has been aware of this and aware of the existence of the committee," Allen said.
"I won't hide from the fact that the amount of travel is an extremely difficult thing for the club. But we have a situation where the EDFL wants new clubs to enter through B-Grade whereas the Sunbury Football Club has a strong
preference to enter through A-Grade."
The Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club is currently in the Riddell District Junior Football League. If Sunbury joined the EDFL, its junior affiliate would also join, allowing the two to be in the same competition for the first
time since 1997. Allen said Sunbury would meet with the junior football club on July 24 to discuss closer ties and a possible move to the EDFL.
But Ballarat Football League chairman David Smith said he was confident Sunbury would see the sense in staying with the BFL.
"It is a bit early to talk about the future of the Ballarat Football League without Sunbury," he said. "I'm quite convinced the Sunbury Football Club will realise they are in a good position being in the league."
footy mad 2
25 Jul 2007, 22:00
As Posted on Ballarat thread last week.
Sunbury steps closer to move
THE SUNBURY Lions Football Club has moved one step closer to leaving the RegionalOne Ballarat Football League.
Sunbury president Greg Allen confirmed the club would have formal discussions with the Essendon and District Football League about possibly joining the suburban league, after the EDFL agreed on Monday to meet with the
club on a yet to be determined date.
But Allen insisted a possible shift to the EDFL was just one item being considered by Sunbury's future directions committee that was established in 2005, and leaving the BFL was no certainty to happen.
"In 2005 the club established the future directions committee to discuss the club's future, and as part of that review we needed to have discussions with the Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club, the Ballarat Football League and
the EDFL. We had to make an application in order to have formal discussions with the EDFL and we've done that," he said.
Allen, who is also a member of the five-man future directions committee, said the meeting was primarily to provide the club's members with the information to help make a decision about its future.
He said that once the information was obtained the issue would go to a vote of the membership at 2007 annual general meeting.
"From day one the BFL has been aware of this and aware of the existence of the committee," Allen said.
"I won't hide from the fact that the amount of travel is an extremely difficult thing for the club. But we have a situation where the EDFL wants new clubs to enter through B-Grade whereas the Sunbury Football Club has a strong
preference to enter through A-Grade."
The Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club is currently in the Riddell District Junior Football League. If Sunbury joined the EDFL, its junior affiliate would also join, allowing the two to be in the same competition for the first
time since 1997. Allen said Sunbury would meet with the junior football club on July 24 to discuss closer ties and a possible move to the EDFL.
But Ballarat Football League chairman David Smith said he was confident Sunbury would see the sense in staying with the BFL.
"It is a bit early to talk about the future of the Ballarat Football League without Sunbury," he said. "I'm quite convinced the Sunbury Football Club will realise they are in a good position being in the league."
yeah thanks mate but had already seen that and as it says they would meet yesterday and wondering if we had heard how that went. It seems TBR has some close contacts and I thought either he or our resident journo could enlighten us as to the outcome of the meeting.
I dont know about that, i reckon there is a chance he will return next yr though he seems to be playing some real good footy with the blues
matt nicholls may be able to answer this, has the league or the president approached wallan to come back and if not do u think he will approach our club in the near future?
As we near August lads it's getting mighty late to be initiating talks. If this was to happen for 2008 one woulda thought steps would been put in place some time ago by the WFC as I dont think it would be good form for the RDFL to make first contact outa respect to the NFL.
discreet1
26 Jul 2007, 08:58
Write ups and tips for this weeks matches Harry??
Mongrel
26 Jul 2007, 09:49
Write ups and tips for this weeks matches Harry??
and mike lyon and ims
Mike Lyon
26 Jul 2007, 10:47
Seasons Greetings folks, Mike is back after a short layoff and here with all of your RDFL inside news.
News out of a strong source, just as Mike predicted, it is believed that my friends at Melton and Melton South are more than interested in a possible return to a 2 division RDFL. Even preparing for talks to be held with the RDFL about a move. Would a move such as this pave the way for Darley and Bacchus Marsh to join them? Where has the Sunbury move the the EDFL gone since its announcement? I believe that Sunbury may be looking at the possibility of a return, and will also be looking at other strong clubs in the area that may have moved on to return with them. Could we still see the "RDFL Super League" come 2009???
Some interesting opportunities coming up for the RDFL and its existing clubs. The sky is the limit if this could possibly be pushed through.
Uncle_Touchy
26 Jul 2007, 10:53
ROUND 14
ROCKBANK VS ROMSEY
no nonsence required here.romsey just travelling beautifully at the minute.
although rocbank will give 100 percent,romsey will give their bums a good old uncles smacking.burlak will kick 12.RESULT ROMSEY 120points
LANCEFIELD VS MACEDON
a galent macedon will give the tigers a tough challenge early.but only early.a rapidly improving tiger outfit will dismantle the cats after half time.
the collins vs christianson match up will be worth the admission alone
RESULT TIGERS 38points
CENTRALS VS RIDDELL
expect centrals to play 10 men behind the play to negate the powerfull bomber brigade.in what will be a very physical encounter,the experience of riddell will be far too much for centrals(and class)beleville vs wheelahan will be the match up of the day.RESULT RIDDELL 58points
KANGAROOS VS KILMORE
a must win game for the blues to keep in check with september action.
although with the kangas nearly at full strength i think this might be just beyond the blues.the kangas should be too strong at home.
the m.mcinerney vs m.robertson match up will be the highlight.
RESULT KANGAS 30points
DIGGERS VS WOODEND
the burras are steaming towards finals in recent weeks.this will be the real
test to see exactly how well they are actually travelling.for the burras to win they must restrict the flow to the hawk forwards.in a shootout the hawks will win easy.if the burra shuts down the hawks midfield they are in with a huge chance.d.sipthorpe vs s.simms is the most anticipated match up here. RESULT HAWKS 18points
uncle out
Trueblueroo
26 Jul 2007, 10:54
I have two close source's in regards to the Sunbury Lions matter!
First of all, one being the main sponsor of the EDFL and the EDFL umpires association! They have been made aware and told what the developments for their league are in 2008 and what changes are taking place!
The other is an organisation, that Sunbury are trying to connect links to in able to help fund there entry into the EDFL B grade, and also help purchase some players......
There are several high authority people who have children playing in the juniors at the Lions! Consisting of pollies and councel reps, they're vote is at the minute stronger than the the minority! However in saying that, they're will be further developments into their junior program!
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 11:02
PRESS RELEASE FROM THE LIONS
A joint meeting of representatives from the Sunbury Football Club (SFC) and the Sunbury Junior Football Club (SJFC) was held on Tuesday 24th July 2007 to discuss future affiliations between our two clubs.
It was agreed by both clubs that the progression of junior players through to senior ranks was a concern and both parties expressed a desire to establish a junior pathways programme in order to develop future senior players from within the local junior community. As part of this programme the affiliation of the two clubs is considered paramount and the SFC presented possible options for future affiliations of both bodies with the Ballarat Football League (BFL) or alternatively with the Essendon District Football League (EDFL).
The SJFC, whilst not dismissive of these options, also tabled the possible option of the SFC returning to the Riddell District Football League (RDFL). Whilst the SJFC will carefully consider the options presented by the SFC the SJFC noted that their relationship with the RDFL was quite strong and suggested that the SFC should approach the RDFL to investigate any future plans that may accommodate not only the individual requirements of each club but also the primary desire of each club to form an affiliation in support of the future pathways programme.
It was agreed at this meeting that the SFC will approach the RDFL to discuss any possible opportunities that may exist to accoomodate the future requirements of the two clubs and the leagues capability to support the future pathways direction for both clubs.
This decision does not impact on the current discussions with the EDFL and BFL and has been undertaken in order to provide the members of both clubs with clear and concise information in relation to the options available and assist them in the final decision making process.
All correspondence in relation to this matter should be directed to Greg Allen, Presdient SFC or John Hansen, President SJFC.
Itsmyshow
26 Jul 2007, 11:20
With so many games of interest..
Melton Central Vs Riddell
Centrals performance against top sides so far this year has been strong, yet performances against lower ranked sides has been disappointing. This week Centrals will look to push the one top ranked side that has given them a spanking this year. At Maccy Park, will Centrals use the tactic that has served them so well so far this year by pushing numbers behind the ball. Only time will tell.
The Bombers are still just travelling along beautifully. Taking out all comers with efficient ease, they still have Mick Allen to return to the lineup and are looking the goods at this stage of the year. The Bombers will find the tight spaces of Maccy Park a little tougher than earlier in the year but should still comfortably win this one.
Riddell by 55pts
Rockbank Vs Romsey
The Rams are still working hard to set themselves up for next year and beyond. With the youngsters like Krul, Welfare and Dylan Nicholson to build around things are looking up for the Rams. I was extremely impressed with young Nicholson last week, looks a likely type, gets plenty of the ball and uses it well. Just another ray of hope in this young Rams outfit.
Romsey are starting to wind up their year. Burlak has hit form, Dawson is finding plenty of it in the middle, while Matty McClellan has dominated recently. The Redbacks will be too strong but the Rams will give them a game early.
Romsey by 74pts
Lancefield Vs Macedon FC
The Tigers have dropped off the radar a bit since their draw with Kilmore and will look to put a win on the board this week. They need their big guns to fire though if they are to reverse the result of early this year. Conway, Choate and Collins all need to have an impact.
The Cats have once again been hit hard by injuries, but out of it all Aaron Christianson has stood up again, the Cats captain has again given all of the Macedon supporters something to cheer about, as has young forward Al Collins. This should be a tight, hard fought game.
Lancefield by 28pts
Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Kilmore
The Roos will celebrate their past players day this weekend and will hope to celebrate in style, while the Roos form has been patchy over recent weeks, players returning to the lineup will ensure a strengthened side taking on Kilmore.
The Blues will be desperate for a win. Last weeks loss to the Burra has put them well and truly behind the 8 ball for the finals and only a win here will suffice. The Blues will be looking to get plenty from skipper Matt Robertson as well as gun forward Cornish if they are going to be a chance here.
Roos to win
Match of the Round
Diggers Rest Vs Woodend/Hesket
The Burra are hitting their straps at the right time and have now put themselves in a strong position in the race for 5th spot. A great win against Kilmore at Kilmore last week will have the confidence up going in against the Hawks. Last time around the Burra were in front in the last quarter before a late Hawk spurt had them beaten. They will be looking to almost guarantee themselves a spot with a win here.
The Hawks have been in good form themselves, last week they had a comfortable win over Centrals even though the game had to be moved due to ground condition. Daniel Sipthorp has started to hit form and with Rick Dowling in super form and Luke Barker kicking 5 last week and finding his feet the Burra are in for a tough time to stop the Hawk juggernaut.
Woodend/Hesket by 32pts
Mike Lyon
26 Jul 2007, 11:24
PRESS RELEASE FROM THE LIONS
A joint meeting of representatives from the Sunbury Football Club (SFC) and the Sunbury Junior Football Club (SJFC) was held on Tuesday 24th July 2007 to discuss future affiliations between our two clubs.
It was agreed by both clubs that the progression of junior players through to senior ranks was a concern and both parties expressed a desire to establish a junior pathways programme in order to develop future senior players from within the local junior community. As part of this programme the affiliation of the two clubs is considered paramount and the SFC presented possible options for future affiliations of both bodies with the Ballarat Football League (BFL) or alternatively with the Essendon District Football League (EDFL).
The SJFC, whilst not dismissive of these options, also tabled the possible option of the SFC returning to the Riddell District Football League (RDFL). Whilst the SJFC will carefully consider the options presented by the SFC the SJFC noted that their relationship with the RDFL was quite strong and suggested that the SFC should approach the RDFL to investigate any future plans that may accommodate not only the individual requirements of each club but also the primary desire of each club to form an affiliation in support of the future pathways programme.
It was agreed at this meeting that the SFC will approach the RDFL to discuss any possible opportunities that may exist to accoomodate the future requirements of the two clubs and the leagues capability to support the future pathways direction for both clubs.
This decision does not impact on the current discussions with the EDFL and BFL and has been undertaken in order to provide the members of both clubs with clear and concise information in relation to the options available and assist them in the final decision making process.
All correspondence in relation to this matter should be directed to Greg Allen, Presdient SFC or John Hansen, President SJFC.
And you heard it first from one Mike Lyon. :cool:
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 11:30
And you heard it first from one Mike Lyon. :cool:
I'm confident I can break this whole two-division idea out in the open. Get people talking.
Been working on it for a few weeks now, the Sunbury Lions only made it more interesting!
Itsmyshow
26 Jul 2007, 11:47
I'm confident I can break this whole two-division idea out in the open. Get people talking.
Been working on it for a few weeks now, the Sunbury Lions only made it more interesting!
What the?? Mike suggested it 2 weeks ago, which got people talking????
Itsmyshow
26 Jul 2007, 11:52
So what your talking about Mike is the following??
Sunbury Lions
Melton
Melton South
Bacchus Marsh
All returning to the league and going into a division one, that would likely include
Riddell
Woodend/Hesket
Then hope other clubs such as
Gisbourne
Kyneton
Wallan
Join as division 1 sides.
Leaving
Sunbury Kangaroos
Romsey
Lancefield
Kilmore
Diggers Rest
Melton Centrals
Rockbank
Macedon FC
In 2nd division and hope that sides such as
Trentham
Gladstone Park
Rejoin making a 10 team division 2 and a 9 team division 1???
Harry Wilson
26 Jul 2007, 11:55
Unlce Touchy has put in his tips, IMS also. Harry's been very quiet this week, just soaking it all in. It seems a lot has gone on with all of the Kilmore / Wallan Robbo talk, Sunbury Lions movements etc... Please give Harry a chance to sit, reflect and transcribe this weeks "Harry's Happenings". ETA 30 mins....
Stay Tuned:thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 12:05
Your thoughts are similar to mine IMS, but I'm going to keep a low profile on BigFooty about this until I have finished my work and it is published. I have been speaking to clubs about this for much of the year, and now just putting it into words and getting it into the public arena.
Itsmyshow
26 Jul 2007, 12:30
Your thoughts are similar to mine IMS, but I'm going to keep a low profile on BigFooty about this until I have finished my work and it is published. I have been speaking to clubs about this for much of the year, and now just putting it into words and getting it into the public arena.
Um... Thats almost like going to the races and spruiking "I was gonna back that" after a horse has won... :D
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 12:41
Um... Thats almost like going to the races and spruiking "I was gonna back that" after a horse has won... :D
Whatever. Until I start getting paid for my stories on BigFooty I think I'll be loyal to The Free Press and let our readers get the exclusive this time.
Don't worry, you guys will be informed at an appropriate time.
OMNIPOTENT_1
26 Jul 2007, 12:41
Why you giving our boy a hard time pal ? He does try ever so hard, sounds like he is under the pump & may need a personal assistant (maybe a female 1) now with all thats happening !
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 12:42
Why you giving our boy a hard time pal ? He does try ever so hard, sounds like he is under the pump & may need a personal assistant (maybe a female 1) now with all thats happening !
Not really under the pump, I have a few ripper stories to come out in the next few weeks. Timing is everything. However, wouldn't say no to a new female assistant.
OMNIPOTENT_1
26 Jul 2007, 12:52
Not really under the pump, I have a few ripper stories to come out in the next few weeks. Timing is everything. However, wouldn't say no to a new female assistant.
May help to have a good Female assistant under you champ ! :D
Itsmyshow
26 Jul 2007, 13:01
Whatever. Until I start getting paid for my stories on BigFooty I think I'll be loyal to The Free Press and let our readers get the exclusive this time.
Don't worry, you guys will be informed at an appropriate time.
Im tipping that Mike just broke one of the "ripper stories" you have planned though Matty... :D
Not giving him a hard time.. Just funny... Gotta love the racing analogy to go with it :D
Itsmyshow
26 Jul 2007, 13:02
May help to have a good Female assistant under you champ ! :D
Drum roll and symbol crash please...
Call of the week :D
Whatever. Until I start getting paid for my stories on BigFooty I think I'll be loyal to The Free Press and let our readers get the exclusive this time..
Forget the loyalty mate, u just keep posting your stories on here and ya website before The Free Press comes out as it saves me and the many many others I talk to having to pay for it - and rubs a few of ya fellow workers the wrong way also which is even better
Just keep on keeping it real mate :thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 13:07
Im tipping that Mike just broke one of the "ripper stories" you have planned though Matty... :D
Mike didn't break anything I didn't already know. When I sat down with the new GM at the start of the year we spoke about this two-division idea. Since then I have gone about it pretty quietly and just letting it take its course. About a month ago I sat down and compiled a list of possible sides that could compete. Then I wrote an article a fortnight ago and then all the Lions stuff came out. It doesn't change my original article too much, only really backs up what I'm saying. Its good to have some more news breakers on this forum though. Its getting a little stale. Although OMNI's call just before was pure gold!
future29
26 Jul 2007, 13:08
calder cannons would not beat sunbury lions seniors...simply because its still junior football yes there may be kids there who play seniors but they dont have the protection of senor men with experience...the likes of griffo and serge would physical dismantle any 18 yr old kid....putt is a wimp and is only there (cannons) cause of the fact that he is 200 cm...pat carris would smash him all over the ground...not to mention the jamie lobbs and the ross slights, the daniel sahlbergs....who would match up on houlahan and beattie and stop train and brett chambers and others are ex cannons with senior football experience....just because its tac cup football doesnt mean it matches up to top senior football...
calder would maul sunbury lions seniors. be as physically intimidating as you like these kids would run around your bumps and jump over your tackles they are superior in almost every aspect of the game to a local senior football club calder had i think 8 reps in the victorian metropolitan team enough said 8 of the best 26 kids in metropolitan vic. they have built rukman of 200 cms as van mentioned and sum of the best forward goal players going eg adam maric. the physical intimidation aspect almost wouldnt even cum into it because these kids would be too fit for you to hit them. Kids that play in greenvales first missed out on calder selection such as danial burns etc. and greenvale would maul any other team from the bfl ,rdfl. just a superior team to almost all but the absoloute gun teams such as ure greenvale, seymour,pigeons, vermont etc .
Itsmyshow
26 Jul 2007, 13:13
Mike didn't break anything I didn't already know. When I sat down with the new GM at the start of the year we spoke about this two-division idea. Since then I have gone about it pretty quietly and just letting it take its course. About a month ago I sat down and compiled a list of possible sides that could compete. Then I wrote an article a fortnight ago and then all the Lions stuff came out. It doesn't change my original article too much, only really backs up what I'm saying. Its good to have some more news breakers on this forum though. Its getting a little stale. Although OMNI's call just before was pure gold!
Bit touchy there Matty.. A little threatened maybe... Lol :D
I just spoke to Mike for the first time.. Seems he knows a little more than what he has actually posted.. Going to make for interesting times ahead.. Im sure a little more than anyone on here actually knows to be honest... :eek:
Mongrel
26 Jul 2007, 13:26
calder would maul sunbury lions seniors. be as physically intimidating as you like these kids would run around your bumps and jump over your tackles they are superior in almost every aspect of the game to a local senior football club calder had i think 8 reps in the victorian metropolitan team enough said 8 of the best 26 kids in metropolitan vic. they have built rukman of 200 cms as van mentioned and sum of the best forward goal players going eg adam maric. the physical intimidation aspect almost wouldnt even cum into it because these kids would be too fit for you to hit them. Kids that play in greenvales first missed out on calder selection such as danial burns etc. and greenvale would maul any other team from the bfl ,rdfl. just a superior team to almost all but the absoloute gun teams such as ure greenvale, seymour,pigeons, vermont etc .
unless a player has played at such a level as the calder cannons,they wouldnt be able to comprehend just how good the standard is.
i spent three years at the jets and was surrounded by absolute gun footballers.yes the cannons would smash most senior sides,but like i just mentioned ONLY the guys who have played at that level would agree.
they might be kids,but they are closer to a.f.l than any other league.
that is the a.f.ls pool 2 pick from
as for the rdfl going to two divisions,i think it would be great for the league.and could u imagine the amount of player poaching that would occurr if it did happen.i bet the division one sides would be hunting for these names
sipthorpe,simms,robertson,mcinernys,morgan,etc.
unless a player has played at such a level as the calder cannons,they wouldnt be able to comprehend just how good the standard is.
i spent three years at the jets and was surrounded by absolute gun footballers.yes the cannons would smash most senior sides,but like i just mentioned ONLY the guys who have played at that level would agree.
they might be kids,but they are closer to a.f.l than any other league.
that is the a.f.ls pool 2 pick from
as for the rdfl going to two divisions,i think it would be great for the league.and could u imagine the amount of player poaching that would occurr if it did happen.i bet the division one sides would be hunting for these names
sipthorpe,simms,robertson,mcinernys,morgan,etc.
What about Hollywood?:D:rolleyes:
Mongrel
26 Jul 2007, 13:47
What about Hollywood?:D:rolleyes:
who?:confused::confused::confused:
Forget the loyalty mate, u just keep posting your stories on here and ya website before The Free Press comes out as it saves me and the many many others I talk to having to pay for it - and rubs a few of ya fellow workers the wrong way also which is even better
Just keep on keeping it real mate :thumbsu:
yeah great work, saves me forking out for the free press. My mates also are doing the same thing. Keep up the good work matty!! :thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 13:51
yeah great work, saves me forking out for the free press. My mates also are doing the same thing. Keep up the good work matty!! :thumbsu:
Tight arses! Its 90 cents and there is a lot more to read than just the garbage I post on centralsport.org
who?:confused::confused::confused:
That was my point exactly:D A small bloke from Romsey. I don't know how he still gets a game. He's finished!!:thumbsd:
Itsmyshow
26 Jul 2007, 14:12
That was my point exactly:D A small bloke from Romsey. I don't know how he still gets a game. He's finished!!:thumbsd:
Strongly disagree.. Hollywood is still a very good player in this competition...
blues12
26 Jul 2007, 14:19
How would clubs feel about fawkner park returning to this comp, i cant remember, did they leave this comp on a bad note? or did they fold and then rebuild and enter into DVFL.
Harry Wilson
26 Jul 2007, 14:30
Harry's Happenings
Well it's that time of the week when everyone starts firing up about what's going to happen over this weeks round of footy. Either that or playing guessing games about who's going where or taking pot shots about who's a good leader or who has or hasn't got class etc... I love it. Great Stuff. Now, down to business.
Diggers Rest v Woodend Hesket
Are Woodend the real deal? Have Diggers got what it takes to make the finals? Two big questions. 1 - Woodend seem to have just slightly moved to the side of the radar, not off it, just to the side. This team is very well coached and with the cattle on the park can dismantle any side on their day. Their onballers and brigade of young stars continue to get the job done. Then they have the experience of Ninga, Sipthorpe and Barker. These guys may just be "The Real Deal". 2 - Diggers on the other hand have got what it takes to make the finals, and not only make it, but give a bloody good shake while they're there. Their onballers are among the best in the league and when on song, very difficult to hold. When the ball gets thrown up on Saturday, Jose should dominate the ruck, meaning Sims and Ruane or Heritage will get the first hands on it. Woodend's back line however is superb to say the least which is a stark contrast to Digger's forward line. This, for mine, is where the game will be won. Woodend, 16 points.
Sunbury v Kilmore
This is going to be the second "Do or Die" match in a row for Kilmore, with the possiblity of another two straight after this one. A loss last week means the door is well and truly ajar for the Burra. Kilmore will be bitter about their chances going begging over the last few weeks and will be out to seek some revenge. Although with an injury to Goudge, it would seem all of the hard work will be up to Pickle's man; Robbo. No doubting the bloke is a gun, but remember, he's young, he's holding his side on his shoulders and according to "Bulldogz_Rok" a couple of days ago, he's not a leader. In my opinion he is. Robbo will come up against Helmers, McInerny x 2 and Bonicci this week. A daunting task. With Minskin back into the side also the Roos look too strong all around the ground. The Roos also have a fair bit to prove after, what some have said, they have dropped off. Not as far as I can tell. I'd really like to see an upset here with Kilmore getiing over the Roos, but I'm a realist. Roos by 6 goals.
Rockbank v Romsey
Romsey have just started to put everything together over the last couple of weeks. One shining light and perhaps making all of the difference, Steve Burlak. That bloke is a gun in his own right. Dum Dum came out the other week yelling that he was coming for Burlak. Burlak replied with 6 straight for the day. Not bad someone who used to be rather easily intimidated. I would be too if Dum Dum told me he was coming for me:eek: Last week he kicked another 6 straight. Morgan was good along with BJ Nettlebeck. I haven't seen much of Rockbank, but from what I'm told they will not lay down easily. This is a side that has pride and is building for the future. Hopefully some of the experienced guys stick around with the young blokes like Krul and form a solid foundation for the years ahead. I recall a few years back when Romsey were well and truly up and about and we went over to Rockbank expecting a 20 goal win. The Rams won by 19 points. Romsey better get their heads straight again this week and make sure the game is put away nice and early. Romsey 10 goals.
Lancefield v Macedon
Macedon have got some work to do this week against the Tigers. From what I saw last week, the Cats have some good young blokes running around and some really smart Cats as well. It goes without saying that Christiansen is their man. He got a bucket load of possies last weekend against the Redbacks but didn't have much help up forward. A young bloke by the Nickname "Nicko" (no. 22) was a bit of a livewire also, he had I think 3 shots on goal in the first 5 mins but didn't convert any. He also had plenty of the ball around the ground. That said, the pure class of Collins and Choate will see the Tigers clear by a fair margin. Conway will have his work cut out this week against the big red headed fella (don't know his name). He was very good last week, albeit Connellan didn't play, he still had to beat his opponent, and did very well. The finishing by the Tigers up forward will prove the real difference this week. Lancefield by 8 goals.
Melton Centrals v Riddell
Riddell will be too classy for Melton this week. Whether they play at Macpherson Park or in Riddell or the MCG or even the local play ground, the Bombers are too good. Centrals will take it up to Riddell for the first half and if they have their serious boots on, possibily up to 3/4 time. We all know how well Centrals play their own ground and Riddell will need to get the score on the board early to ensure a comfortable ride home. Wheelahan (I wanted to ensure I spelled his name correctly!!) will be effective around the stoppages as long as the two B's (Belville and Blade) don't get it first. IMO Belville for the Bowen:thumbsu: The bigger bodies of the Centrals boys will make sure this is a physical clash, but as stated at the top, Riddell's class will be the difference. Riddell by 9 goals.
Well, that about wraps up Harry's Happenings. I took a little longer than anticipated, as I wanted to be as concise as possible. Hope it all makes sense, it did to me when I wrote it.
Good luck to those pulling them on this weekend.
Harry.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
discreet1
26 Jul 2007, 14:35
I agree to a point, but maul is probably going over the top F29. I have watched a lot of TAC cup games in the last few years and they wouldnt maul Sunbury. Yes, they may beat them and run them ragged on a good day, big ground, but as i said previously on a small ground, wet day it would be a different result. If push came to shove, i cant see too many of the U/18's physically matching it with the senior players, especially when its a wet day and the balls on the ground a fair bit.
Animosity
26 Jul 2007, 14:38
How would clubs feel about fawkner park returning to this comp, i cant remember, did they leave this comp on a bad note? or did they fold and then rebuild and enter into DVFL.
a fair hunch but im pretty sure they folded then rebuilt in the DVFL. Watching the old man play rdfl think i remember fawkner being purple with yellow sash? essendon style
future29
26 Jul 2007, 14:42
I agree to a point, but maul is probably going over the top F29. I have watched a lot of TAC cup games in the last few years and they wouldnt maul Sunbury. Yes, they may beat them and run them ragged on a good day, big ground, but as i said previously on a small ground, wet day it would be a different result. If push came to shove, i cant see too many of the U/18's physically matching it with the senior players, especially when its a wet day and the balls on the ground a fair bit.
i watched very closely the weekends match between the western jets and the northern knigths a very wet day at burbank oval and players like cruizer and grimes tipped both to go top 10 mayb even 1&2 handled the ball like like it was dry as dry can b i guess what im saying is that these kids are jsu far more superior even in the wet than most other local leagues thes ekids were taking pack marks everything in regards to physically matching wiht older opponents i know there is exceptions to any rule but many players step 1st year out of tac into the afl effectively. afl would b much much more physical than any local comp dlae thomas etc jus to name a few and there is also a few players within the tac with bodies like tom hawkins who was that big last year he would polax any man within most local comps. even your grimes of this year could do similiar.
Blueboy16
26 Jul 2007, 14:49
a fair hunch but im pretty sure they folded then rebuilt in the DVFL. Watching the old man play rdfl think i remember fawkner being purple with yellow sash? essendon style
Your correct A. My grandfather was a life member with Nth Fawker and played in those colours. I still have the jumper when I was a little tacker. They got to the stage where most 2's were backing up in the 1's. They folded I think about 97.
discreet1
26 Jul 2007, 14:58
i watched very closely the weekends match between the western jets and the northern knigths a very wet day at burbank oval and players like cruizer and grimes tipped both to go top 10 mayb even 1&2 handled the ball like like it was dry as dry can b in regards to physically matching wiht older opponents i know there is exceptions to any rule but many players step 1st year out of tac into the afl effectively. afl would b much much more physical than any local comp dlae thomas etc jus to name a few and there is also a few players within the tac with bodies like tom hawkins who was that big last year he would polax any man within most local comps. even your grimes of this year could do similiar.
Im sure there are exceptions, but how many of these players does one team have? Not a side full of them. Agree that some can step straight into AFL ranks from TAC but even they are eazed in to a degree, playing off the bench, wing, or forward/back pockets, not straight into the centre or key positions. (if there are key positions these days). Is the AFL more physical? They are obviously bigger bodies, but they run the ball so much these days there isnt much contested footy is there?? Local footy is alot slower, therefore more contested possessions. Agree Hawkins could polax anyone, but does he know how to use his body better than an older player? I reckon he's still learning, and will become a man mountain in future years.
Tight arses! Its 90 cents and there is a lot more to read than just the garbage I post on centralsport.org
The sports always been why a lot of people buy it, so why not save the coin and read it online ;)
Strongly disagree.. Hollywood is still a very good player in this competition...
His cousin plays with me at Nth Coburg and I have gone to watch him a couple of times, he played well in the 2005 GF against Ridell and one game last year he killed em against Kilmore, kicked about 5 goals, but since then he's done nothin!! He'd struggle to get a game anywhere else.
future29
26 Jul 2007, 15:24
Im sure there are exceptions, but how many of these players does one team have? Not a side full of them. Agree that some can step straight into AFL ranks from TAC but even they are eazed in to a degree, playing off the bench, wing, or forward/back pockets, not straight into the centre or key positions. (if there are key positions these days). Is the AFL more physical? They are obviously bigger bodies, but they run the ball so much these days there isnt much contested footy is there?? Local footy is alot slower, therefore more contested possessions. Agree Hawkins could polax anyone, but does he know how to use his body better than an older player? I reckon he's still learning, and will become a man mountain in future years.
that is exaclty my point local footy is slower these kids would do rings around most local players fitness wise etc these kids are jus supreme athletes compared to local footballers . its as van sed every year kilmore play ack and 90% of the time ack flog em. all the talk about kilmores 2001 team they dominated the league did not lose a game in a competitve year of the rdfl. acks team beat thme by 100 points on jj clancy. ack only had 5 kids i think on a tac cup list all with calder. kilmore were a 50 point better team than any other team in the rdfl and ack pummeled them. most would tip a tac cup side to beat an ack team aswel. i think a more fair argument would be to compare school boy teams vs local footy. this is where ure argument of physical intimidation comes more into play i think
stubby holder
26 Jul 2007, 16:07
Seasons Greetings folks, Mike is back after a short layoff and here with all of your RDFL inside news.
News out of a strong source, just as Mike predicted, it is believed that my friends at Melton and Melton South are more than interested in a possible return to a 2 division RDFL. Even preparing for talks to be held with the RDFL about a move. Would a move such as this pave the way for Darley and Bacchus Marsh to join them? Where has the Sunbury move the the EDFL gone since its announcement? I believe that Sunbury may be looking at the possibility of a return, and will also be looking at other strong clubs in the area that may have moved on to return with them. Could we still see the "RDFL Super League" come 2009???
Some interesting opportunities coming up for the RDFL and its existing clubs. The sky is the limit if this could possibly be pushed through.
Just my opinion...
Is it time for the League to change it's name? Unfortunately I think the Riddell District Football League has some sort of stigma attached to it these days. I think it could be something to help lure some of the clubs that have been mentioned back to the league. Some eg. could be... Macedon Ranges Football League, North West Football League, Calder Football League...
Any other eg or thoughts?
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 16:11
Just my opinion...
Is it time for the League to change it's name? Unfortunately I think the Riddell District Football League has some sort of stigma attached to it these days. I think it could be something to help lure some of the clubs that have been mentioned back to the league. Some eg. could be... Macedon Ranges Football League, North West Football League, Calder Football League...
NO!
We have to have some history people!!! Riddell is still the central part of the association. If we named it the Macedon Ranges Football League it would upset Kilmore, Diggers Rest, Sunbury Kangaroos, Melton Central and Rockbank. There are too many teams not on the Calder to name it that. North West doesn't make sense either. North West of what?
stubby holder
26 Jul 2007, 16:21
NO!
We have to have some history people!!! Riddell is still the central part of the association. If we named it the Macedon Ranges Football League it would upset Kilmore, Diggers Rest, Sunbury Kangaroos, Melton Central and Rockbank. There are too many teams not on the Calder to name it that. North West doesn't make sense either. North West of what?
The VFL changed it's name in 1990 to the AFL and it's history is still there. I just think we need a name that makes the league seem bigger or broader.
Blueboy16
26 Jul 2007, 16:26
The league of IMS.
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 17:01
The VFL changed it's name in 1990 to the AFL and it's history is still there. I just think we need a name that makes the league seem bigger or broader.
Completely different thing. It's not like we have sides from Western Australia competing.
Halffullonfence
26 Jul 2007, 17:15
Just my opinion...
Agree SH if the league want's to move forward it may have to forgo some of its past to go forward.
Sorry Matty but history is there to be judged by, not to hold on to.
stubby holder
26 Jul 2007, 17:16
Completely different thing. It's not like we have sides from Western Australia competing.
My point about the VFL changing it's name to the AFL was that the VFL did not lose it's history.
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 17:18
Agree SH if the league want's to move forward it may have to forgo some of its past to go forward.
Sorry Matty but history is there to be judged by, not to hold on to.
I disagree, but would be happy to support a reasonable name change. None of the previously mentioned are suitable. I'm trying to think of something and I can't.
Itsmyshow
26 Jul 2007, 17:19
How about Itsmyleague
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 17:22
How about Itsmyleague
I prefer the Half Full Football League. It's catchy.
Halffullonfence
26 Jul 2007, 17:25
And the winner is
Gimmee, Gimmee dat thing league.
stubby holder
26 Jul 2007, 17:26
I disagree, but would be happy to support a reasonable name change. None of the previously mentioned are suitable. I'm trying to think of something and I can't.
You put up good arguments why those names sholdn't be used. I was just throwing it open to everyone for discussion.
weekend warrior
26 Jul 2007, 17:26
NO!
North West of Melbourne Pickles, i really like that name.
North Western Football League, i do agree with the negative stigma attched to Riddel District.Alot of people down melbourne way snub there nose when you declare your love for the RDFL.North West also sounds alot bigger and more powerful. Will draw some bigger sponsors and players one would think.
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 17:27
North Western Football League, i do agree with the negative stigma attched to Riddel District.Alot of people down melbourne way snub there nose when you declare your love for the RDFL.North West also sounds alot bigger and more powerful. Will draw some bigger sponsors and players one would think.
I have a map in front of me and we are not North West of Melbourne. Go back to Kyneton.
catters078
26 Jul 2007, 17:32
I have a map in front of me and we are not North West of Melbourne. Go back to Kyneton.
we have got teams like melton and rockabank which are relatively west of melb, and teams like romsey lancefield and kilmore which are north, and everyone else in between...i think north west could work
Itsmyshow
26 Jul 2007, 17:32
So it would be the HFFFL??? :D
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 17:37
There is nothing wrong with the name Riddell District Football League, it has been in existence for a century and I don't think a club would decided to not join because of the name. The league doesn't have a bad reputation like the Diamond Valley league did and doesn't need to change the name.
weekend warrior
26 Jul 2007, 17:39
Pickles, you kidding right? what direction would you describe our league then? I think your a little angry cos most of the unheralded bigfooty posters are coming up with greater posts then yourself.
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 17:45
Pickles, you kidding right? what direction would you describe our league then? I think your a little angry cos most of the unheralded bigfooty posters are coming up with greater posts then yourself.
I am sitting North of Melbourne. Mike Lyon is West of Melbourne.
However, Bendigo is also North West of Melbourne, as is Swan Hill and Mildura. Read my above post. Why should we change the name? The league hasn't got a bad reputation to need to change it.
stubby holder
26 Jul 2007, 17:52
However, Bendigo is also North West of Melbourne, as is Swan Hill and Mildura. Read my above post. Why should we change the name? The league hasn't got a bad reputation to need to change it.
Although I did say the league name had a stigma attached to it, I didn't say it had a bad reputation. As someone else stated... a bigger/broader name might attract bigger sponsors and more players
vantheman32
26 Jul 2007, 17:54
keep the league name as RDFL and rebuild the reputation of the league.
Mongrel
26 Jul 2007, 17:55
CALDER FOOTBALL LEAGUE.
most clubs are situated off it,and our elite kids can represent the
CALDER CANNONS
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 17:56
CALDER FOOTBALL LEAGUE.
most clubs are situated off it,and our elite kids can represent the
CALDER CANNONS
Yeah but Melton kids go to the Jets, and Kyneton kids would go to the Bendigo Pioneers. What about Romsey, Riddell, Kilmore, Wallan, Melton Central, Melton, Melton South, Darley, Rockbank, Trentham etc. They are nowhere near the Calder.
Uncle_Touchy
26 Jul 2007, 17:59
Yeah but Melton kids go to the Jets, and Kyneton kids would go to the Bendigo Pioneers. What about Romsey, Riddell, Kilmore, Wallan, Melton Central, Melton, Melton South, Darley, Rockbank, Trentham etc. They are nowhere near the Calder.
perhaps it could be named after me?
vantheman32
26 Jul 2007, 18:05
Central Football League. Lancefield is the official centre of victoria apparently and its a good name
Mongrel
26 Jul 2007, 18:07
matty which teams would be in which division?
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 18:12
Central Football League. Lancefield is the official centre of victoria apparently and its a good name
Lancefield claimed to be the centre of Victoria, except its actually Mandurang (near Bendigo), a place you should know quite well Trav. :D
Plus, there is already a North Central Football League, and a Central Murray Football League. Perhaps we hit Bill Gates up for sponsorship and call it the Microsoft Football League.
matt_nicholls
26 Jul 2007, 18:12
matty which teams would be in which division?
Div 1
Gisborne
Sunbury Lions
Melton
Melton South
Darley
Kyneton
Riddell
Woodend-Hesket
Romsey
Div 2
Kilmore
Sunbury Kangaroos
Bacchus Marsh
Wallan
Lancefield
Diggers Rest
Macedon
Trentham
Rockbank
Melton Central
Mongrel
26 Jul 2007, 18:20
Div 1
Gisborne
Sunbury Lions
Melton
Melton South
Darley
Kyneton
Riddell
Woodend-Hesket
Romsey
Div 2
Kilmore
Sunbury Kangaroos
Bacchus Marsh
Wallan
Lancefield
Diggers Rest
Macedon
Trentham
Rockbank
Melton Central
sounds great.doubt whether it will ever happen however.but put the kangas in first division matt.put in place a reasonable salary cap and make this happen
stubby holder
26 Jul 2007, 18:28
Div 1
Gisborne
Sunbury Lions
Melton
Melton South
Darley
Kyneton
Riddell
Woodend-Hesket
Romsey
Div 2
Kilmore
Sunbury Kangaroos
Bacchus Marsh
Wallan
Lancefield
Diggers Rest
Macedon
Trentham
Rockbank
Melton Central
Looks great. I'd suggest 10 teams in Div 1 instead of a bye
blues12
26 Jul 2007, 19:11
You say RDFL has a bad stigma, what about any name with West in it, talking about suburb, clubs, leagues etc.
They always seem to get a bad rep.
blues12
26 Jul 2007, 19:17
keep the league name as RDFL and rebuild the reputation of the league.
Spot on there van, build the reputation. Gain some respect and credability back.
How many people have said that the RDFL once one of the stronger leagues going around, now they say it is a joke, how about we stick to our guns get the league back to a standard that people will respect.
Then they will say The league was great, turned to s..t, and then i dont know how, but got back to it's best again.
Now that would make a statement:thumbsu:
blues12
26 Jul 2007, 19:19
Looks great. I'd suggest 10 teams in Div 1 instead of a bye
Move 1 div 2 side up, and throw fawkner park into div 2
stubby holder
26 Jul 2007, 19:36
You say RDFL has a bad stigma, what about any name with West in it, talking about suburb, clubs, leagues etc.
They always seem to get a bad rep.
I think the RDFL name/brand does have a bad stigma but not a bad reputation. People consider it a second rate league compared to other Metro leagues. Reputations are a different thing and I don't think the RDFL has a bad reputation , in fact I think it has a good reputation but it has diminished. The league will broaden/expand and I think the league name should broaden/expand with it to try and attract more people whether they be players, sponsors etc
Animosity
26 Jul 2007, 20:48
sounds great.doubt whether it will ever happen however.but put the kangas in first division matt.put in place a reasonable salary cap and make this happen
salary caps would be too hard to contain in local footy, its hard enough to manage in AFL ... My opinion would be to allow only two imports from other leagues as imports elligble to play senior footy,it would appear on their clearance form.Teams who finish below the final 5 would be allowed say 5 imports. Other imports from other leagues would be innelligble to play seniors until a year later, it would somewhat 'deter' decent coin chasing footballers from having to play 2's for a year before making senior debuts.
Why worry abut 2 Divisions we have been there before.We cannot compete against the Sunbury,s and Giborne,s .These two sides would beat us[riddell]by 20-30 goals.Lets accept the Riddell League for what it is.Our league at the moment is getting better with each year,this year any one of the top 5 clubs can win on any given day. Not many leagues can say that.Lets keep the league the way it is ,we do not need sides like Wallan,Kyneton;ect.Kyneton would beat any side in the RDFLby 10 goals.These bigger towns with ther salary caps would blow us out the water .The RDFL has the perfect formula at the moment you dont need to pay alot of money to have a competive side.We lost 6 from last years side and have replaced mainly with last years under 18s.Lets look forward not back.
Mongrel
27 Jul 2007, 08:22
Why worry abut 2 Divisions we have been there before.We cannot compete against the Sunbury,s and Giborne,s .These two sides would beat us[riddell]by 20-30 goals.Lets accept the Riddell League for what it is.Our league at the moment is getting better with each year,this year any one of the top 5 clubs can win on any given day. Not many leagues can say that.Lets keep the league the way it is ,we do not need sides like Wallan,Kyneton;ect.Kyneton would beat any side in the RDFLby 10 goals.These bigger towns with ther salary caps would blow us out the water .The RDFL has the perfect formula at the moment you dont need to pay alot of money to have a competive side.We lost 6 from last years side and have replaced mainly with last years under 18s.Lets look forward not back.
come on scoot your spoiling all our fun:D
bromanbomber
27 Jul 2007, 09:08
Div 1
Gisborne
Sunbury Lions
Melton
Melton South
Darley
Kyneton
Riddell
Woodend-Hesket
Romsey
Div 2
Kilmore
Sunbury Kangaroos
Bacchus Marsh
Wallan
Lancefield
Diggers Rest
Macedon
Trentham
Rockbank
Melton Central
The likes of Sunbury, Melton, Melton South and Gisbourne would love the chance to play against Riddell again. Riddell used to give them a touch up years ago, and now I think the roles would be reversed.
People who continually talk of the past are scared of the future IMO.
You guys have got a good thing going over there so just keeping moving forward with what u have and in time the positive image of your comp will be the determining factor of clubs wanting to join - not because thats how is used to be in the good old days!!!
Nothing wrong with a name change, lets remember those who got on and bagged ya standard a while back. Just might be a freshen up and entice players who didn't like the idea of RDFL footy to come for a look and then IMO theyd be surprised at what they see.
OMNIPOTENT_1
27 Jul 2007, 09:52
Tips for Rnd 14.
Woodend - just
Kangas - just
Romsey - easy
Lancefield - easy
Riddell - easy
matt_nicholls
27 Jul 2007, 09:54
Hawks by 30 points
Kangaroos by 60 points
Redbacks by 100 points
Tigers by 15 points
Bombers by 55 points
Harry Wilson
27 Jul 2007, 10:09
Harry's turn...
I've played in the RDFL for about 10 years now and have played against Gisborne when they smashed everyone by 20 goals, played against Wallan in one of the most fierce rivalries (next to Romsey/Lancefield), played against Jacana and Craigieburn, all very powerfull sides in the RDFL. I have played in sides that have been smacked by all and sundry but I have to say, apart from winning a GF, the best win I ever played in was when Gisborne had Werner and Fox playing, they smashed everyone all year and they came over to Romsey, expecting another 20 win, only to get rolled by 6 points. It was Romsey's first win over Gisborne in about a decade or so. All the boys signed the game ball and got absolutely plastered. Mark "Dippa" DiPietro still has that game ball in his living room. It was our grand final that year, as we finished second bottom. Those are the wins you remember.
Having Gisborne, or Melton or any other of the afore mentioned sides come back into our league, may mean a few pumpings to the better ranked sides in the RDFL at present, but wouldn't this give every side a benchmark to work to? I understand no one likes consistantly being on the receiving end of a hiding, but that's life. You play to win, survival of the fittest. At the end of the day it's you against your opponent. Two blokes doing battle. The problem is for the lower ranked sides to make an even greater step up. The top sides are probably anywhere from 2-4 top quality players away from being truly competitive, the bottoms sides are probably closer to 8-15 players away. This is where it gets tricky.
As far as a name change is concerned, I have a couple of mates and colleagues that played AFL and now play in O&M league or EDFL etc.. and when they first heard I played in the RDFL they said, "What's the standard like?", "Has it got any better?", "I heard that league has gone to S**T". There is a certain stigma attached to the league, but these guys have come and watched a couple of matches and have seen that we're not too far away. As mentioned earlier, a couple of key players away from playing a red hot brand of footy. I would love nothing more than to see the name remain as the RDFL, however, if it meant broadening our scope of potential player recruiting or sponserships, then I'd be all for a name change. Some things in life are determined by perception unfortunately, it's about re-directing outside people's attentions / perceptions to a direction or a view that we are trying to put across. We need to sell the league to people who could be in the market, players or sponsers etc..
(Make sense?)
Harry.
People who continually talk of the past are scared of the future IMO.
Nothing wrong with a name change, lets remember those who got on and bagged ya standard a while back. Just might be a freshen up and entice players who didn't like the idea of RDFL footy to come for a look and then IMO theyd be surprised at what they see.
As far as a name change is concerned, I have a couple of mates and colleagues that played AFL and now play in O&M league or EDFL etc.. and when they first heard I played in the RDFL they said, "What's the standard like?", "Has it got any better?", "I heard that league has gone to S**T". There is a certain stigma attached to the league, but these guys have come and watched a couple of matches and have seen that we're not too far away. As mentioned earlier, a couple of key players away from playing a red hot brand of footy. I would love nothing more than to see the name remain as the RDFL, however, if it meant broadening our scope of potential player recruiting or sponserships, then I'd be all for a name change. Some things in life are determined by perception unfortunately, it's about re-directing outside people's attentions / perceptions to a direction or a view that we are trying to put across. We need to sell the league to people who could be in the market, players or sponsers etc..
(Make sense?)
Harry.
Like your thinking Harry :thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
27 Jul 2007, 10:33
Think back to 1997. It's just a decade ago.
The Riddell District Football League was known as one of the most powerful competitions in country Victoria.
If you take the sides we have now and add the sides we have talked about previously, it won't take long for that reputation to come back.
Be patient men.
Think back to 1997. It's just a decade ago.
The Riddell District Football League was known as one of the most powerful competitions in country Victoria.
If you take the sides we have now and add the sides we have talked about previously, it won't take long for that reputation to come back.
Be patient men.
Dont dwell on the past lads, control your own destiny and just keep going forward with or without these alledged powerhouse clubs - it may happen in time but dont sit on ya hands keep promoting the good things to the point where clubs want to join. Don't be fooled for a minute and believe that u need all these clubs to be a good, strong and viable comp - u already are :thumbsu:
If it happens all good, if it don't work together to get the likes of Macedon, Rockbank and Centrals up to speed and you'll have a ripper comp anyways :thumbsu:
catters078
27 Jul 2007, 10:58
tips for round 14
woodend by 2 goals..
riddell by 8 goals
macedon by 10 pts
sunbury by 5 goals
romsey over rockbank
bromanbomber
27 Jul 2007, 11:15
Harry's turn...
I've played in the RDFL for about 10 years now and have played against Gisborne when they smashed everyone by 20 goals, played against Wallan in one of the most fierce rivalries (next to Romsey/Lancefield), played against Jacana and Craigieburn, all very powerfull sides in the RDFL. I have played in sides that have been smacked by all and sundry but I have to say, apart from winning a GF, the best win I ever played in was when Gisborne had Werner and Fox playing, they smashed everyone all year and they came over to Romsey, expecting another 20 win, only to get rolled by 6 points. It was Romsey's first win over Gisborne in about a decade or so. All the boys signed the game ball and got absolutely plastered. Mark "Dippa" DiPietro still has that game ball in his living room. It was our grand final that year, as we finished second bottom. Those are the wins you remember.
Having Gisborne, or Melton or any other of the afore mentioned sides come back into our league, may mean a few pumpings to the better ranked sides in the RDFL at present, but wouldn't this give every side a benchmark to work to? I understand no one likes consistantly being on the receiving end of a hiding, but that's life. You play to win, survival of the fittest. At the end of the day it's you against your opponent. Two blokes doing battle. The problem is for the lower ranked sides to make an even greater step up. The top sides are probably anywhere from 2-4 top quality players away from being truly competitive, the bottoms sides are probably closer to 8-15 players away. This is where it gets tricky.
(Make sense?)
Harry.
Harry,
I agree that Gisbourne was a great side back then, but I would have to say the Riddell side when they won two Div 1 flags were the equal if not a touch better. You'll find that Riddell then had a few ex-AFL players running around then also.
Harry Wilson
27 Jul 2007, 11:43
I agree that Riddell were also a good side then, Gisborne won 3 flags in a row and were clearly a cut above the rest. The point I'm making now is the top sides in the RDFL would still need a number of players imported to become competitve. That's saying that since then Gisborne have not fallen away at all and the RDFL sides have. Don't worry about Riddell, still very highly respected in Harry's eyes. A loss to the Bombers in 2005's GF has left a big hole of hurt in Harry's guts. I still owe you guys one. Perhaps this is the year!!
Trueblueroo
27 Jul 2007, 14:28
Tips for this week!
Diggers in an upset of the round!
Kangas in a massive weekend for the club's history!!
Riddell easy
Romsey easy
Lancefield to prevail!
bromanbomber
27 Jul 2007, 14:43
I agree that Riddell were also a good side then, Gisborne won 3 flags in a row and were clearly a cut above the rest. The point I'm making now is the top sides in the RDFL would still need a number of players imported to become competitve. That's saying that since then Gisborne have not fallen away at all and the RDFL sides have. Don't worry about Riddell, still very highly respected in Harry's eyes. A loss to the Bombers in 2005's GF has left a big hole of hurt in Harry's guts. I still owe you guys one. Perhaps this is the year!!
Harry,
You'll find that Riddell also won 3 successive flags, 1 in Div 2 and 2 in Div 1. I'm an ex-blues player and played against them both so I hear what your saying.
Harry,
You'll find that Riddell also won 3 successive flags, 1 in Div 2 and 2 in Div then folded soon after