View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
Harry Wilson
6 Aug 2007, 13:37
[quote=vantheman32;8324967]then the umpires turned on kilmore in the 2nd half after harrys little chat haha...quote]
I hardly think the umpires turned on Kilmore in the second half Van. There were a few iffy decisions that went Romsey's way, no doubt, but that's footy. The umpiring picked up substantially in the second half, imo. The last thing I want to do here is even slightly insinuate that the umpiring cost Romsey the game. It didn't, Kilmore and Romsey cost Romsey the game. We were out played and you guys wanted it more than us on the day, hats off to the Blues. Let's not forget though, for the standard of footy Romsey played for 3/4's the Blues should have won by 10 goals. It was a game we didn't want to drop but maybe it might give us the kick in the pants we need to snap us back into reality. With Lancefield next week, the local derby will be a huge game. This followed Riddell at Riddell and Woodend at home, the Redbacks have a big few weeks leading into finals. But at the end of the day, I'll say it again, hats off to Kilmore, I'm Dayson Carroll would be most impressed. Well done.:thumbsu::thumbsu:
By the way Van, what number are you and what number is the DiscoDuck?
just a qwik question is there many if any to come back in2 the teams that played satdy from both teams roos n hawks??
The roos have a couple to come in, plus a couple from saturday that ran around full of the flu.
vantheman32
6 Aug 2007, 14:41
im number 13 mate, with the blue bits in my hair haha... disco plays 2s however i dont think he played this weekend. i know what you mean about the decisions in the first half, i think there was a deliberate out of bounds at full back by Kairns, and it was extremely harsh to be given against him, running at full pace n he grabbed ball n went over the line running against the flight.. very stiff.
discoduck
6 Aug 2007, 14:42
By the way Van, what number are you and what number is the DiscoDuck?
you wouldn't have seen the duck harry. third hammy for the season last week against the roos saw to that. going to have to lose, conservatively, 10kgs over summer before i consider having a crack again. just embarrassing myself at the moment.
Harry Wilson
6 Aug 2007, 15:01
im number 13 mate, with the blue bits in my hair haha... disco plays 2s however i dont think he played this weekend. i know what you mean about the decisions in the first half, i think there was a deliberate out of bounds at full back by Kairns, and it was extremely harsh to be given against him, running at full pace n he grabbed ball n went over the line running against the flight.. very stiff.
you wouldn't have seen the duck harry. third hammy for the season last week against the roos saw to that. going to have to lose, conservatively, 10kgs over summer before i consider having a crack again. just embarrassing myself at the moment.
I remember the decision you're talking about. It was VERY iffy. Although, they paid on against you guys earlier, so at least they were consistant, I guess:confused:
I was number 40. Little bloke with long sleeves, I did notice you van, I was going to give you some lip service about it, but I thought twice, given the mood the umps were in, if we had of had a bit of a push and shove it could've ended in free kicks either way. It's a nice look though, I like it. I might do mine with red patches for the finals in your honour!!:D
Still some hope yet Discoduck. Still 3 games plus the possibility of finals, are you a chance?
discoduck
6 Aug 2007, 15:10
I remember the decision you're talking about. It was VERY iffy. Although, they paid on against you guys earlier, so at least they were consistant, I guess:confused:
I was number 40. Little bloke with long sleeves, I did notice you van, I was going to give you some lip service about it, but I thought twice, given the mood the umps were in, if we had of had a bit of a push and shove it could've ended in free kicks either way. It's a nice look though, I like it. I might do mine with red patches for the finals in your honour!!:D
Still some hope yet Discoduck. Still 3 games plus the possibility of finals, are you a chance?
i haven't seen a ladder in a while, but i don't think the twos are a chance of finals, and i'd be a 1 in a 1000 of being called up for ones. it wasn't the severest of hammy's i've had this year, so i might test it out at training this week - if it goes again, it will be year over, no doubt.
vantheman32
6 Aug 2007, 15:15
hopefully got noticed for getting a kick n not just the hair harry! yeah get sum red in there, anythin different is the way mate... good luck for rest of season.. hopefully we can get up this week and make our way there as well
Umpire22
6 Aug 2007, 15:17
good to see a bit of anecdotal evidence to back the comment up, as i have said before we do have off days, glad to hear they turned it round (apparently almost to kilmores peril, van) in the second half.
just might say the pushes that were paid would have been to try and stamp the argy bargy off the ball stuff out. harry said there was a bit of feeling in the game when that happens we are instructed to get right on top of things, maybe on this occasion was a tad soft but these things do have a tendancy to escalate, so we need to get on top of them early and nip them in the bud:thumbsu:.
Umpire22
6 Aug 2007, 15:22
don't worry about that mate by the sounds of things i would have joined in if i had the game, lol.
vantheman32
6 Aug 2007, 15:26
come on ump its sumthin different better than same old blonde tops like every1 else
Lancefield v Melton Centrals
Should be a ripper matchup. The Tigers had a strong win last week with Scotty Smithwick continuing his good form this year up forward and Chris Collins playing a more unfamiliar forward role last week. Hope to hear that Tigers get a little more from young guns Sam Graham and Nath Milner, hope to see young Rob Cini get a run in the one's too soon.
Centrals have still shown inconsistency so far this year, again in the first half on Saturday giving Riddell a run. Centrals will have set themselves for this game and I give them a chance, but they will need the best from Wheelahan, Nankervis and Bullen to be a chance. Key Matchup - Smithwick Vs Bullen, Choate Vs Wheelahan.
Centrals by 2 points.
Riddell v Diggers Rest
Many would consider this match of the round. Hard to topple the Hawks/Roos contest though. Mick Allen returned to the Bomber lineup last week and had an instant impact on the forward line. The Bomber young guns are the driving force this year. Box, Leitch, Petran, Climas are all having a massive impact on this side and when you add them to the Bellville, Blade, Coles, J.Allen brigade it makes an amazingly balanced and skilled football side.
The Burra finally hit some form in the past couple of weeks, while everyone had hoped they were written off, most expected it to happen eventually and we all know what a dangerous side they are when they click. Thompson has been a huge bonus while Steve Hoare found some form last week. The Burra will be looking for another big scalp before an easier run home. Key Matchup - Bellville Vs Sims, M.Allen Vs Janner, J.Allen Vs Ruane.
Riddell by 35 pts
Romsey v Kilmore
The Redbacks have arguably been the inform side of the comp in recent weeks, they will be looking to back that up and put the final nail in the Kilmore coffin this week. The move of Dawson to the midfield has inspired the side, while McClellan has been in devastating form.
The Blues will be down after losing to Diggers and then finding it tough against the Roos. With Cornish missing the blues were always going to find it tough, but disappointingly, for me anyway, Robbo had no effect on the game whatsoever. I have always been Robbo's biggest supporter, but is it just me? Or does he have nowhere near the impact he should when playing against the top sides? Hopefully its just me...
Key Matchups - Morgan Vs Collis, Kairns Vs Straney, McClellan Vs Robertson
Romsey by 43 pts
Macedon v Rockbank
The Cats are the most injury depleted unit EVER!!! They have found it tough going this year and unfortunately for them, may find it even tougher come 5pm Saturday. The return of Scott Knight for some games will help Christianson and if Al Collins and Gus Story play ones they may be a chance.
The Rams are getting better every week, Matty Krul is a genuine star, as is Luke Walker. But I was most impressed with young Dylan Nicholson a couple of weeks ago, the boy is just another of the impressive list of youngsters.. Key Matchups - Christianson Vs Taylor, Story Vs Krul.
Rockbank by 32 pts
Match of the Round
Woodend/Hesket Vs Sunbury Kangaroos
The Hawks would have been shocked after being overrun by the Burra after kicking 7 opening quarter goals. You can be sure that they will be switched on not to let that happen again. Gidds will have the boys fired up for this one. Barker has added another dimension to the Hawks forward line. Pods has been outstanding this year as has Rick Dowling. Young Jarrod Arnold has had a great year.
The Roos will be alot happier after settling a side down in the last couple of weeks. With a stronger setup the Roos will be eyeing off 2nd spot in this one. The McInerney's have been good all year as has Bonnici and with Steve James due for one of his biggest challenges this week it will be interesting to see what sort of impact the midfield has.
Key Matchups - Sipthope Vs McInerney, Stacey Vs James, Dowling Vs Any Roo defender, Any Hawk defender Vs Helmers.
Roos to win
How did all these matchups fair in peoples minds. Very interesting to see what people think
Itsmyshow
6 Aug 2007, 15:33
How did all these matchups fair in peoples minds. Very interesting to see what people think
The Dowling Vs Roo defenders and Helmers Vs Hawk defenders were fizzers, both defenders taking the honor's, Ash Powell for the Roos and Jubes Downing for the Hawks.
James Vs Stacey was an interesting matchup, pretty even overall I would have thought. Sipthorpe Vs McInerney was interesting, both had near on 30 possies, Sippy with his goal and ability to win the football across the midfield and half back and McInerney with his run and carry from stoppages. Would love to see round 2 in good conditions.
Couldn't say in totality on the other contests.
vantheman32
6 Aug 2007, 15:35
None of the Romsey Kilmore match ups were ever going to happen, Morgan n Colliss is a massive mis match, Colliss is 5 foot 9 n small, Morgan 6 foot plus n built like tarrant. Kairns plays full back n Strayney doesnt play foward so was never going to happen. Strayney n Burlak was a great contest. McClellan N Robbo, well Colliver was the man for McClellan and he did a very good job on him...
Harry Wilson
6 Aug 2007, 16:04
None of the Romsey Kilmore match ups were ever going to happen, Morgan n Colliss is a massive mis match, Colliss is 5 foot 9 n small, Morgan 6 foot plus n built like tarrant. Kairns plays full back n Strayney doesnt play foward so was never going to happen. Strayney n Burlak was a great contest. McClellan N Robbo, well Colliver was the man for McClellan and he did a very good job on him...
Agreed Van, McLellan was very well held. I thought Burlak was excellent given the limited opportunity hed was given. Did you see his mark in the send quarter? He was the meat in a Kilmore sandwich and took a great contested mark, he then converted. He was well positioned on Kempy's shoulders, might want to remind him about that on Tuesday night:D Morgan left the ground in the last quarter with some injury troubles (not sure of the extent), but was quite serviceable I thought.
petespies
6 Aug 2007, 17:49
morgan didnt get a touch struggled big time. he was to worried complaining to the umpires. good role model seeing his captain..
goblues09
6 Aug 2007, 18:43
gotta agree with pete, Morgs was ordinary for how he is rated. did have a run in with the umpire over on the scoreboard wing after constant whining. the umpire was funny in his telling Morgs he had touched it more times than him, though was disappointed to hear the umpire say to Morgs "stop f***ing swearing" - does beg the question - rules for them and rules for us???
Once again I question the inconsistencies in peoples opinions. Sims gets in the best although belleville was setting them up particularly early. Sims features in the best players and juzzy does not. Spoke to a few people last night saying the lancefield melton game was a tight struggle. Did choate go head to head with whelahan? Did robertson play on morgan at anytime.
Itsmyshow
7 Aug 2007, 10:20
Once again I question the inconsistencies in peoples opinions. Sims gets in the best although belleville was setting them up particularly early. Sims features in the best players and juzzy does not. Spoke to a few people last night saying the lancefield melton game was a tight struggle. Did choate go head to head with whelahan? Did robertson play on morgan at anytime.
The coaches are generally responsible for each sides best players.. Irrelevant to whether these players go head to head or not, the matchup's of individuals against each other is only a guide in the person who posts opinion, whoever gets the better of the battle, whether playing as direct opponents or not, is considered the winner, but that is in the eye of the person who first put the matchup to paper.
In this case it was me, I believed that whoever had the bigger impact in Sims and Bellville won that contest, same as McInerney Vs Sipthorp and so on. Sims got in his sides best due to more than likely the coach thinking he was in the best, irrelevant to how good his direct opponent was. Bellville failed to make his side's best, but that is the opinion of the club person that put the best players in. Best players in the paper are a little irrelevant, sides rarely get it right completely because it isn't an independant decision making process, it is usually the coaches etc that do put the best in, and it is the best in their own opinion, someone who does a specific job well etc. It will always remain the same.
Itsmyshow
7 Aug 2007, 10:23
And opinions will always be inconsistent, purely because they are opinions, and just like assholes, everyone has one, and clearly not everyone's opinion is the same... :thumbsu:
catters078
7 Aug 2007, 10:25
morgan didnt get a touch struggled big time. he was to worried complaining to the umpires. good role model seeing his captain..
entitled to your opinion mate, and your right he was quiet. But that last thing you wanna do is question him as a role model and skipper, he reads this and the last thing you wanna do is motivate him we all know how good he plays when hes fired up, especially if he gets fully fit and we play you in an elimination final
Harry Wilson
7 Aug 2007, 11:44
entitled to your opinion mate, and your right he was quiet. But that last thing you wanna do is question him as a role model and skipper, he reads this and the last thing you wanna do is motivate him we all know how good he plays when hes fired up, especially if he gets fully fit and we play you in an elimination final
Well said catters!!! Morgs will get up and tear the next few sides to pieces, right when he was under the pump he dominated the Romsey Kangas game. Morgs steps up for big encounters regularly. Don't forget, he gets heavily tagged by two or three opponents and gets smashed around a fair bit, to be able to cop that week in week out and still play the brand of footy he does is a credit to the man. So what if he had a bad day, we all have them. It's just the amount of them that seperates us!! GO MORGS!!!
morgan is a star of the comp. one of the best on his days going around. Seen him play plenty of times and when on song very hard to stop and manage. Tipping a big finals series like last year for him. What are peoples early tips and key match ups this week. Getting very close to the business end. well done to rockbank last week. They have turned things around and are now competivitive for longer periods of the game. would be curious also to see the bowen medal market.
Itsmyshow
7 Aug 2007, 12:45
morgan is a star of the comp. one of the best on his days going around. Seen him play plenty of times and when on song very hard to stop and manage. Tipping a big finals series like last year for him. What are peoples early tips and key match ups this week. Getting very close to the business end. well done to rockbank last week. They have turned things around and are now competivitive for longer periods of the game. would be curious also to see the bowen medal market.
Romsey only played 1 final last year??
In my opinion key matchups for this week will be:
Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Melton Centrals
Dan Bonnici Vs Brian Wheelahan
Jarrod Dixon Vs Mark Greenshields
Diggers Rest Vs Macedon
The Under 18's
Rockbank Vs Riddell
Luke Walker Vs Mark Peatling
Kilmore Vs Woodend/Hesket
Matt Robertson Vs Daniel Sipthorp
Dave Cornish Vs Warren Else
Linton Kemp Vs Kar Weng Ng
Trav Hede Vs Adam Johnstone
Romsey Vs Lancefield
Matt McClellan Vs Sam Graham
Brydon Morgan Vs Chris Collins
Ryan Connellan Vs Phil Conway
In my opinion key matchups for this week will be:
Linton Kemp Vs Kar Weng Ng
Dont both these blokes play on the half back line?
Itsmyshow
7 Aug 2007, 14:35
Dont both these blokes play on the half back line?
Which game did you watch Sat Blues??? Where did Ng play???
im happy 2 answer any question in relation to myself.i was not injured and wont make any excuses.it was a very hard fought game and look forward to the first final.please people when u praise sippy for his great game take into account his opponent had 30 possessions.
A couple of people have mentioned Mark Mc. having 30 touches. Woodend's stats painted a completely different story- Mark had 24 possys compared to Sippy over 30. Sippy went inside 50 more times than Mark and Sip won more clearances. Sip also kicked a goal. We all know Mark's a great player but surely even Mark would have to agree he was beaten on the day. Mongrel you'd have to agree as far as Effectiveness and impact on the game Sip clearly took the points this round! I was more surprised Leigh was best for you, i thought Johnno slightly lowered his colours-Good contest all the same. Both teams evenly matched and would be a cracker if both met each other in the finals.
Which game did you watch Sat Blues??? Where did Ng play???
Ng played more up forward last week. Type of player that can play most positions. Just as likely to play back this week-depending on the type of role Giddings has for him! How would he go on Cornish?
Itsmyshow
7 Aug 2007, 15:20
Ng played more up forward last week. Type of player that can play most positions. Just as likely to play back this week-depending on the type of role Giddings has for him! How would he go on Cornish?
Ng could go well on Cornish, dont know if you want to take him out of the game there though, foot skills needed a bit further up the field...
Is Tacker back this week? Would have to be a shot at Cornish...
Itsmyshow
7 Aug 2007, 15:21
A couple of people have mentioned Mark Mc. having 30 touches. Woodend's stats painted a completely different story- Mark had 24 possys compared to Sippy over 30. Sippy went inside 50 more times than Mark and Sip won more clearances. Sip also kicked a goal. We all know Mark's a great player but surely even Mark would have to agree he was beaten on the day. Mongrel you'd have to agree as far as Effectiveness and impact on the game Sip clearly took the points this round! I was more surprised Leigh was best for you, i thought Johnno slightly lowered his colours-Good contest all the same. Both teams evenly matched and would be a cracker if both met each other in the finals.
The sheet for the game wasn't entirely entered correctly.. Should have been Sporle, Cuffe, McInerney.. The Sporle - McInerney mess up was on us, but the Cuffe one was because someone couldn't be bothered adding to the team sheet...
Can any one tell -me Woodend must have run the game out quite well to the end, what was the difference from the previous week before against Diggers on a dry day 29 points up.I know the wind contributed but both teams scored goals up each end. Good come back after a disappointing loss. Some injury worries out of this game ?? Is the Mongrel allright with his wrist?? Congrats to Kilmore keep the finals guessing game right to the end, its in your hands. Allen or Cornish for the gaol kicking it will go down to the wire. Advantage to Cornish at the moment see what Allen does against Rockbank. Probably one of the best seasons for the RDFL with the ups and downs by each club and still three weeks to go with all 3 grades open for the finals.
Preety sure Allen got a week for wrestling, that makes it even more interesting!! Harry2 could confirm this?
Once again I question the inconsistencies in peoples opinions. Sims gets in the best although belleville was setting them up particularly early. Sims features in the best players and juzzy does not. . Sims and Belleville played well apart from each other. Sims spent a long time as a forward and Belleville had a few opponents in the midfield. Beleville would have been in my bes though.
Roy Cazaly
7 Aug 2007, 21:49
come on matt not pot shotting? you named them which in turn is a shot at them, not just the umpiring of the game. Are you still running around with the umps on a wednesday? have fun at training after critisising your team mates (umpires) on a public forum.
Lets be honest boys. Kenny Freeman does not cut it at senior level. As nice a bloke as he is, he just isnt a good field umpire. Should have definitely stuck to the boundary and if that was too hard join the goal umpiring fraternity. Troy might have had a bad game but is generally a good senior field umpire.
OldMelburnian28
7 Aug 2007, 22:00
Very quiet on the rdfl thread this week...sunbury MUST be losing :)
footy mad 2
7 Aug 2007, 22:19
dpagan IS IT NOT TRUE THAT YOU HAVE BEEN SACKED!!! THEREFORE I BELIEVE YOU SHOULD TAKE YOUR MEDICINE AND CHANGE YOUR NAME TO BRATTEN.....:D:D:D
who are your tips this week mate? Who will make it or miss out?
Itsmyshow
8 Aug 2007, 08:12
Very quiet on the rdfl thread this week...sunbury MUST be losing :)
Enjoy it while it lasts OM :p
billylid
8 Aug 2007, 09:01
is it true allen was reported on the weekend for wrestling if so what if any is the set penalty for wrestling. The result may play a big part in the run down to the wire for the goalkicking comp
Digger52
8 Aug 2007, 09:15
is it true allen was reported on the weekend for wrestling if so what if any is the set penalty for wrestling. The result may play a big part in the run down to the wire for the goalkicking comp
Yer apparently it was a 1 week suspended sentence .
mr nicholls have heard much from you this week, how is this team of the last decade coming along??
any more breaking news to come out of your office at all pickles?
ur the only one on here who seems to know whats going on ion the leauge, give us something to talk about!!!!!!!
have you gone dress shopping yet for your big bowen night?
which one of your many fans on here are taking on your arm that night?
speaking of the bowen where is it being held this year??
Mike Lyon
8 Aug 2007, 12:32
A great big hello once again to all of my friends in Big Footy land.
Mike has been diligently gathering intelligence and some not very intelligence to place at the mercy of the fine people of this very web information site.
Mike has it on very good authority, that the Sunbury Lions Football Club, as of Tuesday 7th August, have officially submitted an application to return to the RDFL for season 2008, leading the way in discussions with other clubs Melton, Melton South, Wallan and two other clubs, stongly rumoured to be Gisborne and Bacchus Marsh about forming an initial 6 team division one competition next year, leading to a stronger ten team division one competition in 2009.
A submission to clubs will take place shortly on the possibility of this move becoming a reality for the 2008 season.
So Mike's prediction of a 2 division competition could, in all likelyhood, become a reality, much sooner than I or anyone else could have possibly predicted.
Hopefully the existing clubs make the right choice in moving the competition forward, with this break in developments in the past 2 days.
Mike out.
Harry Wilson
8 Aug 2007, 13:17
Mike has been diligently gathering intelligence and some not very intelligence to place at the mercy of the fine people of this very web information site.
Mike has it on very good authority, that the Sunbury Lions Football Club, as of Tuesday 7th August, have officially submitted an application to return to the RDFL for season 2008, leading the way in discussions with other clubs Melton, Melton South, Wallan and two other clubs, stongly rumoured to be Gisborne and Bacchus Marsh about forming an initial 6 team division one competition next year, leading to a stronger ten team division one competition in 2009.
Mike out.
Surely Wallan wouldn't be considered for entry into division 1 straight up? Romsey played them in a practice match atthe start of the year and won convincingly. I think Romsey would get smashed in that division 1 comp.
Wouldn't they consider perhaps putting this years premiers up into the div 1 comp and bring other clubs like Wallan back into the div 2 comp. This would then see the top side go onto bigger things next year while every other side will be striving to be the dominant clubs in div 2 in order to gain access into div 1 the following year (2009), possibly the top 3-4 sides go up which will leave room for 3-4 other sides to come into div 2. I just don't see the point of a middle order side changing league ony to be put into the top division and then being smashed, it would make more sense for Wallan to come into div 2 and be competitive.
Itsmyshow
8 Aug 2007, 13:20
Surely Wallan wouldn't be considered for entry into division 1 straight up? Romsey played them in a practice match atthe start of the year and won convincingly. I think Romsey would get smashed in that division 1 comp.
Wouldn't they consider perhaps putting this years premiers up into the div 1 comp and bring other clubs like Wallan back into the div 2 comp. This would then see the top side go onto bigger things next year while every other side will be striving to be the dominant clubs in div 2 in order to gain access into div 1 the following year (2009), possibly the top 3-4 sides go up which will leave room for 3-4 other sides to come into div 2. I just don't see the point of a middle order side changing league ony to be put into the top division and then being smashed, it would make more sense for Wallan to come into div 2 and be competitive.
Screw that Harry, I want to know where he gets this info from??? I have been trying to get this info out of McCartney for the past week.... :eek:
Harry Wilson
8 Aug 2007, 13:23
Screw that Harry, I want to know where he gets this info from??? I have been trying to get this info out of McCartney for the past week.... :eek:
Perhaps he's one in the same? He's obvioulsy got his finger on the pulse, Mike is the Craig Hutchison of the RDFL!!:D
Good, hard fought game between the redbacks and the blues on saturday. Thought Romsey were going to pinch it at the end through Burlak but Kilmore hung on from the back of their strong 1st half. Fair bake from Dipper at half time to the Romsey boys!!!!!!!
Good to catch up with the boys after the game from both sides including Harry Wilson and goblues09. Big derby this sunday VS the Tigers.......GO REDBACKS
hey there harry, i must retract my last comment from earlier today!!! u are now clearly the NUMBER NEWS BREAKER on this thread, it looks like we can now call matt nicholls just plain old matt, now he is known as "FORMER MR RDFL"
so mr harry what would the 2 div teams look like?
the comment about wallan going straight into div 1 is a bit steep, they would be a bottom 3-4 side in the rdfl at the moment so what merit do they have going straight into div 1 when you see that riddell are shooting for 3 straight, its clear that riddell are the closest team to be straight into the div 1 position.
how would the promotion system work??? same as ess dfl? winner of div 2 comes up and last placed div 1 relegated??
for you ppl who keep an eye on div 2 ess footy there is so uch to gain for the div 2 side to play div 1.
that would be a fair system i would think?
have a look at the past 3 sides who have been promoted from ess div 2- avondale hts, west couburg and craigeburn, 2 of those teams are fighting for a finals berth, all aginst the cash up clubs.
it would be great, have something to really fight for if you were in div 2.
what do other ppl think of the promotion/ relegation system?
dose anyone else have a good idea????
Hawker28
8 Aug 2007, 14:14
Huge development's in this. I was talking to TBR before the game Saturday as to where the Lions where at, and was saying that the juniors put in a against the majority vote. The juniors wanted nothin to do with where the seniors wanted to head, therefore there not of to the EDFL.
Good win by our boys Saturday, with a strong win in those conditions. Some standouts though from both sides, somegood positive signs for both clubs who should meet again very soon.
Itsmyshow
8 Aug 2007, 14:16
Perhaps he's one in the same? He's obvioulsy got his finger on the pulse, Mike is the Craig Hutchison of the RDFL!!:D
Tried that one.. Swears that he isn't, thats good enough for me..
Itsmyshow
8 Aug 2007, 14:22
hey there harry, i must retract my last comment from earlier today!!! u are now clearly the NUMBER NEWS BREAKER on this thread, it looks like we can now call matt nicholls just plain old matt, now he is known as "FORMER MR RDFL"
the comment about wallan going straight into div 1 is a bit steep, they would be a bottom 3-4 side in the rdfl at the moment so what merit do they have going straight into div 1 when you see that riddell are shooting for 3 straight, its clear that riddell are the closest team to be straight into the div 1 position.
how would the promotion system work??? same as ess dfl? winner of div 2 comes up and last placed div 1 relegated??
for you ppl who keep an eye on div 2 ess footy there is so uch to gain for the div 2 side to play div 1.
have a look at the past 3 sides who have been promoted from ess div 2- avondale hts, west couburg and craigeburn, 2 of those teams are fighting for a finals berth, all aginst the cash up clubs.
Let's be realistic, Wallan are a division one side. They currently pay near double the league fees to compete in the NFL than they would have to in the RDFL, gives them a large scope to recruit players I would think. I have no hesitation in saying that if Wallan were to return to the league and ask Division one status they can do so.
By the looks of what Mike wrote, the 6 new teams would all be division one, giving the league and the clubs 12 months to sort themselves out as to where they would be in a restructured comp, as well as give the league an opportunity to open the door for other clubs in the region to join or rejoin to create the 2 ten team divisions. Suprised that Sunbury want out of the BFL so badly, but who are we to say no..? It can only strengthen the RDFL IMO...
A submission to clubs will take place shortly on the possibility of this move becoming a reality for the 2008 season.
So Mike's prediction of a 2 division competition could, in all likelyhood, become a reality, much sooner than I or anyone else could have possibly predicted.
Hopefully the existing clubs make the right choice in moving the competition forward, with this break in developments in the past 2 days.
Mike out.
Mike 10 clubs in the rdfl, all except one were here when these clubs deserted us, Why should our clubs vote for the return of these sides? Our comp is very even at the moment and smooth sailing.
Mike give us a list of pro's and cons. You sound like a very big fan of the expansion. Why dont you sell it to us, alot of club administrators read Big Footy, let us know WHY we should welcome them back.
The feelers have already been about and it doesn't sound like a positive for these clubs wanting to re-join.
matt_nicholls
8 Aug 2007, 14:34
Fellas I'm back after a day and a half off work. Good to see the RDFL world is still rotating and the discussion on new teams joining the comp is continuing. Congratulations Mike for taking over as numero uno. It's a tough gig. Here's a story I wrote last week for today's paper. You guys might find it interesting.
Also, latest stories and odds will be up on centralsport.org soon.
Enjoy.
Football restructure needed
by Matt Nicholls
THERE was an overwhelming response to my article published last week on the future of the Riddell District Football League.
I received phone calls from a number of people, mostly those currently involved with the RDFL at some level, but a number from outside the competition.
I spoke to the Ballarat Football League CEO, two people from clubs within the Central Murray Football League, and representatives from AFL Victoria and the VCFL.
The article has seemingly created widespread interest across football circles throughout the state.
On popular internet website www.bigfooty.com there has been a number of interesting comments about the concept.
For those who missed The Free Press last week, the article was an opinion piece on how the RDFL could expand its wings to become a two-division competition.
I spoke about clubs such as Wallan, Gisborne, Sunbury, Darley, Bacchus Marsh and Kyneton joining the competition to make it one of the most powerful in Victoria.
While much of the feedback I received was positive, there was a fair share of backlash too.
Ballarat Football League CEO Rod Ward told me last week that if my concept took off, it would significantly hurt his competition, as the idea involved five BFL clubs returning to their former home in the Riddell District.
Mr Ward’s comments were fair, but football is now a cut-throat industry where every league is out for itself.
Darley, Melton, Sunbury and Melton South are all original RDFL clubs and all have their juniors in the Riddell District competition.
If not for the RDFL’s dramatic fall from power 10 years ago, it is unlikely the Ballarat Football League would have these sides competing.
FLOW ON EFFECT
Across Victoria, there are dozens of football leagues that need to be restructured.
If you are to change the RDFL, it will have significant implications on neighbouring leagues such as the Bendigo and Ballarat competitions.
To fix those competitions you need to add from neighbouring leagues which creates a huge flow-on effect.
It is my opinion that the VCFL and AFL Victoria need to sit down with a big whiteboard, forget history for a minute, and fix a fast growing problem in football.
Almost every football competition in the state has geographical problems.
Some competitions are played in a close proximity, but there is a real difference in standard between the top and bottom sides in those leagues.
In around an hour, I sat down with a map and list of football leagues and ladders and came up with this possible league reformation, using clubs from the Riddell District, Bendigo, Ballarat, Central Highlands, Maryborough-Castlemaine, Heathcote District and Kyabram District football leagues.
There were 77 clubs in those seven competitions, and taking into account that Strathfieldsaye (near Bendigo) is likely to have a senior club up and running next year, this is how my restructured format worked out.
LEAGUE 1 – Riddell District Football League
Div 1: Gisborne, Kyneton, Bacchus Marsh, Sunbury Lions, Melton, Darley, Melton South, Riddell, and Woodend-Hesket.
Div 2: Kilmore, Wallan, Romsey, Lancefield, Sunbury Kangaroos, Diggers Rest, Macedon, Rockbank, Trentham, and Melton Central.
LEAGUE 2 – Bendigo Football League
Div 1: Golden Square, Sandhurst, South Bendigo, Kangaroo Flat, Eaglehawk, Harcourt, Elmore, Colbinabbin, Mount Pleasant, and Castlemaine.
LEAGUE 3 – Ballarat Football League
Div 1: Ballarat, East Point, Lake Wendouree, Redan, Sebastopol, Maryborough, North City, Daylesford, Hepburn, and Learmonth.
LEAGUE 4 – Heathcote District Football League
Div 1: Broadford, Heathcote, Avenel, North Bendigo, White Hills, Yea, Nagambie, Rushworth, Huntly, and Strathfieldsaye (new club to be formed next year).
LEAGUE 5 – Kyabram District Football League
Div 1: Ardmona, Girgarre, Lancaster, Merrigum, Murchison, Stanhope, Tallygaroopna, Undera, Violet Town.
LEAGUE 6 – Central Highlands Football League (merged with MCDFL)
Div 1: Waubra, Avoca, Ballan, Dunnstown, Bungaree, Buninyong, Campbell’s Creek, Carisbrook, Maryborough Rovers, and Talbot.
Div 2: Royal Park, Newstead, Dunolly, Gordon, Beaufort, Creswick, Clunes, Springbank, Newlyn, and Maldon.
Obviously VCFL and AFL Victoria experts would be better placed to make judgements on such radical changes to the above football leagues, but it certainly is something that should be considered.
No doubt the football sidelines will be swarming with discussion about this issue on Saturday as this topic continues to grow legs.
Fellas I'm back after a day and a half off work. Good to see the RDFL world is still rotating and the discussion on new teams joining the comp is continuing. Congratulations Mike for taking over as numero uno. It's a tough gig. Here's a story I wrote last week for today's paper. You guys might find it interesting.
Also, latest stories and odds will be up on centralsport.org soon.
Enjoy.
Football restructure needed
by Matt Nicholls
THERE was an overwhelming response to my article published last week on the future of the Riddell District Football League.
I received phone calls from a number of people, mostly those currently involved with the RDFL at some level, but a number from outside the competition.
I spoke to the Ballarat Football League CEO, two people from clubs within the Central Murray Football League, and representatives from AFL Victoria and the VCFL.
The article has seemingly created widespread interest across football circles throughout the state.
On popular internet website www.bigfooty.com (http://www.bigfooty.com) there has been a number of interesting comments about the concept.
For those who missed The Free Press last week, the article was an opinion piece on how the RDFL could expand its wings to become a two-division competition.
I spoke about clubs such as Wallan, Gisborne, Sunbury, Darley, Bacchus Marsh and Kyneton joining the competition to make it one of the most powerful in Victoria.
While much of the feedback I received was positive, there was a fair share of backlash too.
Ballarat Football League CEO Rod Ward told me last week that if my concept took off, it would significantly hurt his competition, as the idea involved five BFL clubs returning to their former home in the Riddell District.
Mr Ward’s comments were fair, but football is now a cut-throat industry where every league is out for itself.
Darley, Melton, Sunbury and Melton South are all original RDFL clubs and all have their juniors in the Riddell District competition.
If not for the RDFL’s dramatic fall from power 10 years ago, it is unlikely the Ballarat Football League would have these sides competing.
FLOW ON EFFECT
Across Victoria, there are dozens of football leagues that need to be restructured.
If you are to change the RDFL, it will have significant implications on neighbouring leagues such as the Bendigo and Ballarat competitions.
To fix those competitions you need to add from neighbouring leagues which creates a huge flow-on effect.
It is my opinion that the VCFL and AFL Victoria need to sit down with a big whiteboard, forget history for a minute, and fix a fast growing problem in football.
Almost every football competition in the state has geographical problems.
Some competitions are played in a close proximity, but there is a real difference in standard between the top and bottom sides in those leagues.
In around an hour, I sat down with a map and list of football leagues and ladders and came up with this possible league reformation, using clubs from the Riddell District, Bendigo, Ballarat, Central Highlands, Maryborough-Castlemaine, Heathcote District and Kyabram District football leagues.
There were 77 clubs in those seven competitions, and taking into account that Strathfieldsaye (near Bendigo) is likely to have a senior club up and running next year, this is how my restructured format worked out.
LEAGUE 1 – Riddell District Football League
Div 1: Gisborne, Kyneton, Bacchus Marsh, Sunbury Lions, Melton, Darley, Melton South, Riddell, and Woodend-Hesket.
Div 2: Kilmore, Wallan, Romsey, Lancefield, Sunbury Kangaroos, Diggers Rest, Macedon, Rockbank, Trentham, and Melton Central.
LEAGUE 2 – Bendigo Football League
Div 1: Golden Square, Sandhurst, South Bendigo, Kangaroo Flat, Eaglehawk, Harcourt, Elmore, Colbinabbin, Mount Pleasant, and Castlemaine.
LEAGUE 3 – Ballarat Football League
Div 1: Ballarat, East Point, Lake Wendouree, Redan, Sebastopol, Maryborough, North City, Daylesford, Hepburn, and Learmonth.
LEAGUE 4 – Heathcote District Football League
Div 1: Broadford, Heathcote, Avenel, North Bendigo, White Hills, Yea, Nagambie, Rushworth, Huntly, and Strathfieldsaye (new club to be formed next year).
LEAGUE 5 – Kyabram District Football League
Div 1: Ardmona, Girgarre, Lancaster, Merrigum, Murchison, Stanhope, Tallygaroopna, Undera, Violet Town.
LEAGUE 6 – Central Highlands Football League (merged with MCDFL)
Div 1: Waubra, Avoca, Ballan, Dunnstown, Bungaree, Buninyong, Campbell’s Creek, Carisbrook, Maryborough Rovers, and Talbot.
Div 2: Royal Park, Newstead, Dunolly, Gordon, Beaufort, Creswick, Clunes, Springbank, Newlyn, and Maldon.
Obviously VCFL and AFL Victoria experts would be better placed to make judgements on such radical changes to the above football leagues, but it certainly is something that should be considered.
No doubt the football sidelines will be swarming with discussion about this issue on Saturday as this topic continues to grow legs.
not bad work there mr nicholls, u were just sitting on that as your money shot werent u?? maybe just gone back to number 2 reporter.
lets say for argument sake this all went though, would this then rekindle the age old argument of weather or not we should introduce inter leauge games for these 6 proposed leauges?
how could we structure this so that that we could get a ranking of each leauge and a good system that would draw a big crowd to these games?
the other hurdle would be when to play it?
matt_nicholls
8 Aug 2007, 15:06
not bad work there mr nicholls, u were just sitting on that as your money shot werent u?? maybe just gone back to number 2 reporter.
lets say for argument sake this all went though, would this then rekindle the age old argument of weather or not we should introduce inter leauge games for these 6 proposed leauges?
how could we structure this so that that we could get a ranking of each leauge and a good system that would draw a big crowd to these games?
the other hurdle would be when to play it?
Happy to be number two. Interleague could easily work, needs to be brought back. Play it on the Wednesday night before Queens Birthday weekend and have that round as a general bye.
Digger52
8 Aug 2007, 15:08
They tried this format in the 90s when there were 2 Divisions ,it was ok until I think it was Wallan ( don"t quote me on that) refused to go up to 1st Division because they did not think they could compete .I know when Diggers won it in 93 the next year they struggled in 1st Division.
Harry Wilson
8 Aug 2007, 15:11
Thanks BOG, I would love to be able to take credit for the story, but it wasn't me who broke it, it was Mike Lyon. If you have another look at my post, I was saying the same thing as you, that is Wallan surely couldn't be considered for instant admission into div 1, which is what Mike Lyon suggested. I then suggested that Wallan should be included into div 2 RDFL and this years premiers, or as you stated, Riddell, should be promoted into the 6 team comp next year. When Riddell or who ever wins the premiership this year, leaves the RDFL to go into this new Div 1 comp it will leave on1 new spot. That should be where Wallan come in.
Following that, we could bring in 2 new sides in 2009 with the top 2 sides of 2008 being promoted to div 1. This would then give you 8 sides in div1 and 10 sides in Div 2. Failing that you could always have 9 sides in both comps by 2009 thus giving both divs a bye. The promotion system should be based on the top 2 sides being sent up to div 1 and the bottom 2 sides from div 1 being relegated to div 2. This would then provide a good balance constantly being turned over between the 2 divs.
What are yours or other people's thoughts on the matter? Better get thinking and raise some sugegstions or concerns now so that they may be addressed in time. This looks like it will happen in the very near future.
Following that, we could bring in 2 new sides in 2009 with the top 2 sides of 2008 being promoted to div 1. This would then give you 8 sides in div1 and 10 sides in Div 2. Failing that you could always have 9 sides in both comps by 2009 thus giving both divs a bye. The promotion system should be based on the top 2 sides being sent up to div 1 and the bottom 2 sides from div 1 being relegated to div 2. This would then provide a good balance constantly being turned over between the 2 divs.
nice to see you admit to something that wasnt urs, there would be plenty of users here that would have taken the credit for that.
not to sure if the 2 team relegation would work? im only looking at the ess dfl as its the closest metro leauge to us that dose include relegation. take a look at keilor park, 0 wins and a monty to be relegated next is abers who have 3-4 wins and can mix it with the lower sides but due to $$$$$$ cant match it with the big boys, i think IMO that if the bottom 2 sides are relegated that is a massive blow to a team that might be attempting to save there side from relegation, i just think its unfair, of course it dose mean that if a team knows it will be relegated that their players drop off, but that is modern day football.
but that is why i spose so many of us have a say on here to express our thoughts.
looking at the "proposed sides" in div 1. you could nearly say that it would be WH and riddell who mite end up at the bottom 2 sides, no disrespect to followers on those 2 sides, but then again maybe throw in kyneton, Baccus Marsh Darley.
how are the ballarat teams going(except sunbury) at the moment who are not travelling well.
who would want to put foward a hyper thetical ladder of how they would think that the two would look like?
WISH_I_COULD_KICK
8 Aug 2007, 17:44
anyone care to give a round preview?
Talking to some of the Sunbury LIONS people they were impressed with the following and support of the local sides. Especially when Kangas and Diggers played on their ground and the cars were two deep around the whole ground they havent seen that for years. The local sides of the RDFL pull a far better following than Sunbury playing at home or away. Thus a greater rivalry between the locals (RDFL) when they play. I think Sunbury miss the crowd support from both teams. The only rivalry is the BFL versus Sunbury. The thing to be careful with all this division stuff is if the STONGER sides came back would they be a power house and thus the crowd support dropped off hurting the existing RDFL clubs or would the supporter base pick up. None of the RDFL sides have pokies thus needing the supporters to help finacially with the club .
goblues09
8 Aug 2007, 18:10
Two Division RDFL
all this talk of promotion and demotion would surely all need to depend on how the senior AND reserves sides went - no point promoting a club because the seniors won the flag in Div 2 but their reserves finish 4th or 5th - take Riddell for example. Their seniors this year sit in 1st spot two games clear and are looking odds on to go for a 3-peat - yet their two sit 4th some 5 wins behind woodend....sure the seniors may be competitive in div 1, yet the twos will prob be smashed each and every week......
then again its Riddell so why am i worried bout the new asses that may be torn for them :D
footballtragic
8 Aug 2007, 19:09
The RDFL need to look at this long and carefully. I would suguest that the RDFL look at how the Geelong Football Leaugue have structured their leagues. They are all individual leagues that are based on performance of the sides. GFL have accepted that some teams just will not be competitive in a higher competition. There is no promotion or demotion system in place. Think about the amount of money that would be required to be competitve in DIV 1 in the new RDFL? How could you compete with the LIONS? Romsey, Sunbury Kanagroos, Diggers Rest, Melton Centrals, Macedon, and even Woodened and Riddell would all struggle with the jump to DIV 1 and Riddell are on track for a 3 peat this year. I support the move but the DIV 1 should be the premier leaugue which may need a new name and the RDFL to remain but both leagues would be controlled by the RDFL organisation. I would then suguest that every 3-4 years the league could look at evening up the comp with maybe some movement of teams.
Just my thoughts ... Would love to see these teams back in the RDFL and the RDFL to gain back some of the respect it may have lost.
Would love any feedback on this
Animosity
8 Aug 2007, 19:38
Talking to some of the Sunbury LIONS people they were impressed with the following and support of the local sides. Especially when Kangas and Diggers played on their ground and the cars were two deep around the whole ground they havent seen that for years. The local sides of the RDFL pull a far better following than Sunbury playing at home or away. Thus a greater rivalry between the locals (RDFL) when they play. I think Sunbury miss the crowd support from both teams. The only rivalry is the BFL versus Sunbury. The thing to be careful with all this division stuff is if the STONGER sides came back would they be a power house and thus the crowd support dropped off hurting the existing RDFL clubs or would the supporter base pick up. None of the RDFL sides have pokies thus needing the supporters to help finacially with the club .
The cars wernt two deep, it definatley would have been if the bloody weather held off! .. inside social rooms were definatley full ... RDFL would only benefit with powerhouses such as sunbury coming back. Sunbury just cant pull a crowd because ballarat itself is a bloody hour plus away! who the hell wants to come all that way to see a local game of footy! ... thats whats killing them, not just because "they win all the time so who cares" ...
Sunbury vs Gisborne,melton,darley & riddell would bring HUGE crowds, DOUBLE the kangas v diggers @ clarke 07 ... its ok for powerhouse sides to have their own rivalry? leave it for them to benefit from .... I would personally like to see all exisiting BallaratFL sides signed with the RDFL. Baccus to div 2. Wallan to come back and riddell to be promoted.
Start div 1 small, Gisborne/sunbury/riddell/melton/wallan/Msouth/Darley/Kyneton
That would be a more than attractive div 1 league and a great standard of footy for a first year as RDFL div 1+2
not forgetting div 2 would be a very even strength practically the same but slipping in baccus for riddell. both divisions with strong,even and competetive sides. My only concern is what the mighty mongrel has mentioned and thats quality div 2 players being pinched and inticed to play " better brand of footy " at a div.1 club with the financial differences between these 2 divs a HUGE according to the cash i know that gets thrown around some of the mentioned "div 1 clubs"
ORANGE UMP
9 Aug 2007, 08:23
Mike out.
Seeing the original RDFL clubs come back could be very good for the league whether there was a relagation/promtion system in place or not but there are other issues and i'll just mention 1. I wasn't umpiring in the days of the old 2 division league and I don't really know what our numbers were like back then but at our current status I wouldn't say we couldn't cover a 2 division comp but we would struggle for numbers. Currently a lot of umpires in the field do u/18/res doubles, most of the boundary umpires are young running in 3's on the 18's and res and our most of our goal umpires already umpire 2 games every saturday. We currently cover 14 senior spots each week but that would have to upgrade to at least 20 and that doesn't take into account our association with the ballarat umpires and vafa umpires association. We have a few good younger umpires who are breaking into senior levels which is promising but probably not enough to make that jump to 20-24 senior spots. At the moment we cover almost every game the RDFL schedules as well as the ballarat and ammo's games. I'm sure the last thing most RDFL people would want to see is club umpires at reserve level. Matt Nicholls may have to swap priorty's and make umpiring his number 1!!!!!!!! However on the other hand, a bigger stronger comp could encourage more umpires and make it a really strong association for the competition, who knows??????
I'm sure if the 2 div was to go ahead, umpires would not be sent to BFL and with the need to cover our own league would not be sent to the ammos.
At the moment clubs are disappointed that we see some of our best umpires sent elsewhere. Especially when the league and top 6 sides are so competetive.
If this were to happen I believe 2nd division would severly suffer, all the best umpires would umpire div 1 and Div 2 would get whatever is left over. The league at the moment has good up and coming umpires.
Who would make the decision on who goes where?
Itsmyshow
9 Aug 2007, 08:42
Round 16
Diggers Rest Vs Macedon FC
The Burra were bounced back to earth last week by Riddell and will be looking to consolidate a top 5 position on Saturday against the undermanned Cats. Sims is finding some good form, as is Jose and that will always be a good sign for the Burra.
The Cats are just so undermanned at the moment, most of the kids are struggling with injuries and the wear and tear of the star 18's playing both games is starting to show, but the Cats will give everything they have in this game.
Key Matchups: The Under 18 game.
Diggers by 102 pts
Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Melton Centrals
The Roos will be disappointed with the loss to the Hawks last week and will look to bounce back against Centrals. Early in the year Centrals gave the Roos an almighty run for their money, so the Roos will need to be on their toes. The sight of Jamie Cuffe will boost the Roos fans and the onballers will be licking their lips at the Cuffe/James combo.
Centrals had a huge win last week against Lancefield, finally showing the potential that most of us knew they had, yet they were yet to show us by winning. Wheelahan is one of the dominant players in the comp, Nankervis has been playing some strong football and Kane Bullen has been more consistent over the past couple of weeks.
Key Matchups: Bonnici Vs Wheelahan, Ploog Vs Bullen
Roos to win
Rockbank Vs Riddell
The Rams chalked up their 2nd win against the Cats last week, young Brendan Newitt starred for the Rams earning himself a Rookie nomination, the stalwarts of the club are increasing their input and the Rams are showing that they are on the right track.
Riddell just keeps knocking over everything in its path. Brayden Allen has been solid in recent weeks and with the return of Michael Allen who is showing form up forward working in tandem with Leigh Harrison, the Bombers are going to be very hard to beat.
Key Matchups: Matt Krul Vs Glenn Robertson, Luke Walker Vs Jason Allen, Dylan Nicholson Vs Justin Bellville.
Riddell by 60 pts
Romsey Vs Lancefield
The Redbacks will be looking to bounce back after last weeks disappointing loss to the Blues which could cost them a top 3 spot. Burlak has been arguably the best forward in the league over the past 5 weeks and will look to put a stamp on this game. The Redbacks midfield needs to get control of this game, last time these 2 met, the Tigers midfield destroyed the Redbacks, so McClellan, Morgan, Hollywood and others need to make sure that they are winning the clearances, Connellan being the key to this.
The Tigers were toppled last week but have worked too hard this year not to want to bounce back this week. Choate, Collins, Conway and young guns Milner and Graham as well as key forward Smithwick all need to have an impact on this contest for the Tigers to do so.
A classic rivalry that will be a red hot contest on Sunday.
Key Matchups: Connellan Vs Conway, McClellan Vs Graham, Morgan Vs Collins.
Romsey by 30 pts
Match of the Round
Kilmore Vs Woodend/Hesket
The Blues pulled off a massive win last week to turn this game into match of the round, keeping alive their hopes of a finals berth. When the game was needed to be won, this time, the Blues stood up. Can they keep their fairytale alive this week against the Hawks? Collis has been in sensational form for the Blues, while Kemp was at his sweeping best last week. Robbo could hold the key to this, but he needs to fire, and fire BIG TIME.
The Hawks had a hard fought, slogging win against the Roos last week. Can they back up after such a game? Sipthorp was excellent for the Hawks last week, the Hawks will look to get most of their drive from Sippy, Johnno and Pods. There should be some interesting matchups in this one, the Blues have absolutely nothing to lose in this game and should just throw everything they have at the Hawks. I would expect players to line up in different positions all over the ground.
Key Matchups: Robertson Vs Sipthorp, Kemp Vs Ng, Cornish Vs Tacker, Strayney Vs Barker.
Woodend/Hesket by 10pts
looking at pickles odds. thought it would be a good chance for people to share some smokies for the bowen? i'll run with kemp from kilmore
The blues are a big chance of knocking off the hawks, in order for this to happen they must attack from the start.
Robbo Vs Sipthorpe? Both gun players, but if kilmore is to put one of their best attacking players into a tagging role it could hurt their chances of a win.
catters078
9 Aug 2007, 09:54
looking at pickles odds. thought it would be a good chance for people to share some smokies for the bowen? i'll run with kemp from kilmore
steve james has had big impacts on alot of games this year...i know bonnici and mark mcinerny will poll well, but i reckon the umpires will notice this guys influences..i think hed actually be a big chance to lead the kangaroos players in votes..
any of you sunbury blokes reckon thatd be a chance?, youd obviously know more than me? ims...tru blu...mongrel??
WISH_I_COULD_KICK
9 Aug 2007, 10:11
nice preview ims,looks like a couple of good matchups,but i think centrals are feeling confident with their new game style and will continue to use it as it seems to work,and add the element of greenies return i think they will be jumpin out of their skins on sat.
Itsmyshow
9 Aug 2007, 10:17
nice preview ims,looks like a couple of good matchups,but i think centrals are feeling confident with their new game style and will continue to use it as it seems to work,and add the element of greenies return i think they will be jumpin out of their skins on sat.
I cant wait for the Roos/Centrals matchup, I enjoy watching these 2 sides battle it out, it is one of the rivalries within the league that only the 2 clubs really know about, the 2 youngest teams in the comp... :thumbsu:
Umpire22
9 Aug 2007, 10:32
I'm sure if the 2 div was to go ahead, umpires would not be sent to BFL and with the need to cover our own league would not be sent to the ammos.
At the moment clubs are disappointed that we see some of our best umpires sent elsewhere. Especially when the league and top 6 sides are so competetive.
If this were to happen I believe 2nd division would severly suffer, all the best umpires would umpire div 1 and Div 2 would get whatever is left over. The league at the moment has good up and coming umpires.
Who would make the decision on who goes where?
possibility that a 2 div comp would strengthen the relationship between the ballarat and riddell district umpires associations, simply because if they lose up to 5 teams from their competition they would have an abundance of umpires and would be able to cover the "western" portion (i.e. melton, melton south, darley, bacchus) of our 2 division comp.
steve james has had big impacts on alot of games this year...i know bonnici and mark mcinerny will poll well, but i reckon the umpires will notice this guys influences..i think hed actually be a big chance to lead the kangaroos players in votes..
any of you sunbury blokes reckon thatd be a chance?, youd obviously know more than me? ims...tru blu...mongrel??
what about some others/clubs Is morgan a chance? Blade will take votes away from belleville? very interesting
What are peoples opinions with 3 rounds to go who will lead their clubs charge to win a bowen. highest to lowest
My opinion at Roos
Bonnici
M.Mcinerney
L.Mcinerney
Hole
Niki
James
With Bowen medal night being on september the 3rd Which clubs will have the most tables.
Last year it was Kilmore and Sunbury that had good numbers turn up for a good night. I remember seeing IMS tearing up the dancefloor afterwards :D
I cant wait, this year i'm having the tuesday off to recover,
matt_nicholls
9 Aug 2007, 14:54
With Bowen medal night being on september the 3rd Which clubs will have the most tables.
Last year it was Kilmore and Sunbury that had good numbers turn up for a good night. I remember seeing IMS tearing up the dancefloor afterwards :D
Twas a good night last year, I remember getting back to Kilmore at 2.30am, sleeping on the floor of my office with no blanket. Waking up at 6pm and getting stuck back into work, writing about Ruane's medal and the Diggers quinella.
Itsmyshow
9 Aug 2007, 15:20
NO COMMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :cool::eek:
Harry Wilson
9 Aug 2007, 15:27
What are peoples opinions with 3 rounds to go who will lead their clubs charge to win a bowen. highest to lowest
My opinion at Roos
Bonnici
M.Mcinerney
L.Mcinerney
Hole
Niki
James
Harry's Opinion on Romsey:
Matt McLellan
Ryan Connellan
Ben John
Cam Dawson
bromanbomber
9 Aug 2007, 15:32
Harry's Opinion on Romsey:
Matt McLellan
Ryan Connellan
Ben John
Cam Dawson
Kilmore
Robbo
Cornish
Kemp
King
Salter
billylid
9 Aug 2007, 15:59
Kilmore
Robbo
Cornish
Kemp
King
Salter
diggers
Janner
Sims
underwood
Jose
Rielly
All Teams
Belivelle
Bonicci
Morgan *INENGLIABLE*
Robertson
Petran
Itsmyshow
9 Aug 2007, 16:19
IMS's Top 5 in the Bowen for each side.
Riddell
Justin Bellville
Jason Allen
Michael Allen
Leigh Harrison
Aaron Blade
Woodend/Hesket
Daniel Sipthorp
Paul Podbury
Matt Stacey
Rick Dowling
Guy Donovan
Sunbury Kangaroos
Daniel Bonnici
Mark McInerney
Leigh McInerney
Steve James
Bobby Johnson
Romsey
Matt McClellan
Brydon Morgan
Ryan Connellan
Steve Burlak
Warren Kairns
Diggers Rest
Shaun Sims
Jeremy Jose
Craig Thompson
Jeff Heritage
Steve Ruane
Kilmore
Matt Robertson
Dave Cornish
Linton Kemp
Justin Collis
Tristan Salter
Lancefield
Chris Collins
Simon Choate
Phil Conway
Sam Graham
Scott Smithwick
Centrals
Brian Wheelahan
Kane Bullen
Ben Longhurst
Blair Plummer
Glenn Nankervis
Macedon
Aaron Christianson
James Wright
Ryan Toholka
Scott Knight
Al Collins
Rockbank
Luke Walker
Matt Krul
Dylan Nicholson
Michael Taylor
Rob Shirley
goblues09
9 Aug 2007, 16:41
Good, hard fought game between the redbacks and the blues on saturday. Thought Romsey were going to pinch it at the end through Burlak but Kilmore hung on from the back of their strong 1st half. Fair bake from Dipper at half time to the Romsey boys!!!!!!!
Good to catch up with the boys after the game from both sides including Harry Wilson and goblues09. Big derby this sunday VS the Tigers.......GO REDBACKS
right back at ya big fella - bet of luck this week against Broadford - if it wasnt sucha a crunch game for us I would make the journey up for a geeza!!!
OMNIPOTENT_1
9 Aug 2007, 18:57
Bowen tips for Riddell
Bellville - A sure thing !
M. Allen
A. Blade
L. Coles
J Allen.
MustonMagic17
9 Aug 2007, 22:21
Kilmore's top 5 in the Bowen
Kemp
Robertson
Cornish
King
Salter
joeblow2
9 Aug 2007, 22:25
Lancefield top 5:
Conway
Choate
Smithwick
Collins
N Milner
footy mad 2
9 Aug 2007, 22:34
Mike out.
mike great posts but while you and matt have been arguing about who mentioned the 2 div comp first i checked back to reliase it was none other than MYSELF. yes that is correct check for yourself if you like... hutchinson i think not.:thumbsd:
Itsmyshow
10 Aug 2007, 08:08
mike great posts but while you and matt have been arguing about who mentioned the 2 div comp first i checked back to reliase it was none other than MYSELF. yes that is correct check for yourself if you like... hutchinson i think not.:thumbsd:
Feel free to quote your post and bring it up here to shoot these two down mad one.......
blues12
10 Aug 2007, 09:00
Twas a good night last year, I remember getting back to Kilmore at 2.30am, sleeping on the floor of my office with no blanket. Waking up at 6pm and getting stuck back into work, writing about Ruane's medal and the Diggers quinella.
Matty it's a long drive to kilmore after a big night, then to sleep on the floor with no blanket. Stick with IMS this year, he is always keen to continue with an afterparty with all the roo boys, sunburys not as far as kilmore, IMS has a spare room with a bed and blanket give him a call you could crash there.
Gee Matt it must have been a huge night if you had to sleep for over 15 hours to get over it. :D
matt_nicholls
10 Aug 2007, 10:49
Gee Matt it must have been a huge night if you had to sleep for over 15 hours to get over it. :D
I'm pretty sure I said 6am
Harry Wilson
10 Aug 2007, 11:13
Harry's got a busy day today so you'll have to wait for Harry's Happenings. It'll be ready in a few hours... stay tuned:thumbsu:
Halffullonfence
10 Aug 2007, 13:43
Mike 10 clubs in the rdfl, all except one were here when these clubs deserted us, Why should our clubs vote for the return of these sides? Our comp is very even at the moment and smooth sailing.
Mike give us a list of pro's and cons. You sound like a very big fan of the expansion. Why dont you sell it to us, alot of club administrators read Big Footy, let us know WHY we should welcome them back.
The feelers have already been about and it doesn't sound like a positive for these clubs wanting to re-join.
For all of those out there against the 2 Div comp sit back and remember where & when your club started in the RDFL if not for the forsight of some of the clubs we are talking about some of the clubs in the RDFL would not be around. Other clubs in the league now, have fallen on hard times and reformed (can happen to any club). Please lets not get high and mighty now saying they did this to our league ,they deserted us, we can't compete against. Look to the future not the past if push comes to shove and these clubs take there junior component out of the RDFL where do we stand then? Lets embrace it move forward and try to make the RDFL the strongest it can be and strive for each club to be at its strongest.
Harry Wilson
10 Aug 2007, 14:15
For all of those out there against the 2 Div comp sit back and remember where & when your club started in the RDFL if not for the forsight of some of the clubs we are talking about some of the clubs in the RDFL would not be around. Other clubs in the league now, have fallen on hard times and reformed (can happen to any club). Please lets not get high and mighty now saying they did this to our league ,they deserted us, we can't compete against. Look to the future not the past if push comes to shove and these clubs take there junior component out of the RDFL where do we stand then? Lets embrace it move forward and try to make the RDFL the strongest it can be and strive for each club to be at its strongest.
I agree whole heartedly HHF. It is easy for the middle of the road clubs to contest this action because they are the ones who are now going to be middle of road in second division, which doesn't look very good on paper. But let's think about this for a second, every club should be striving to be the no 1 side in any comp and not be happy with where they're at. Even the top sides are continually striving to get better, look at Gisborne 10 years ago, they won 3 consecutive flags and then moved on so they could get better.
The reality is, that this looks like it will happen in the near future and clubs need to start planning now what they intend to do in order to become more competitive both on and off the field. Whether it means securing larger sponsers, planning more fund raising or whatever, then it needs to be done. Footy clubs these days a more like a business than a club, given that, it should be run as a business. What happens in business when you're not performing? You go broke!! The smarter clubs have put together plans (like a smart business would) to ensure off field success. The off field success will eventually breed on field success because you can afford it. Let's not sit back, green with envy about where these clubs have got themselves to, let's look at the possiblities this move could create for the lower sides. It could entice more players, larger sponsers, bigger crowds etc... All of these factors mean more $$$$, more $$$$ means more success and more success means more $$$$, it a vicous cycle, but one that needs to be overcome and not succumbed to. You need to move with the times or you get left behind. History is a beautiful thing and nothing your club has done in the past should be forgotten, but you also need to create new history.
Well Harry's had a rant:D It's lunch time and I'm hungry. Let me go and reflect over a cucumber sandwhich!! Then I should have a clear mind to put forward Harry's Happenings.
Itsmyshow
10 Aug 2007, 14:17
Right there are 2 of the best posts I have read..... :thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
10 Aug 2007, 14:18
Right there are 2 of the best posts I have read..... :thumbsu:
Spot on IMS. If people have more comments on this subject keep posting. I might run some of them in the paper this week. :)
blues12
10 Aug 2007, 14:18
Judging on what was published in this weeks leader Sunburys goal was to join EDFL, with no junior support that will not happen, they are pushing the RDFL idea to align themselves with their juniors, I do however have a concern that once that relationship has grown what will stop them leaving again, next time with their juniors.
From a leagues perspective it would be fantastic to build back into a 2 division comp. From a clubs perspective, we have worked so hard to get where we now, we then slip down the chain.
Depending on the promotion relegation proposal, a club like can build to be a top side in div 2 but far from that in div 1 the next year. Our goals then change from being very realistic to being an extreme challenge.
Riddell this year going for a Three-peat, with 2 divisions this would almost be impossible.
I am currently sitting on the fence with this issue, and am reserving my judgement until i have heard a full proposal.
Mike, great at breaking the news, where are your advantages & disadvantages?
Itsmyshow
10 Aug 2007, 14:24
Here is my view...
An open letter to all members of the Riddell District Football League.
As most of you will be aware, the Sunbury Lions Football Club along with a consortium of other clubs in the local area are due to make a submission to the RDFL about forming a two division competition. This submission will return these clubs to the RDFL and create, what will be a new league and a new competition.
I have heard concerns from a majority of people around the league about the negative impact that this will have on our clubs, with players, sponsors and supporters.
While everyone is entitled to their opinion, I believe that we are jumping at shadows as football clubs regarding this issue without hearing the full facts that are yet to even be put forward to our clubs concerning this proposal.
I don’t believe that we are being diligent in ensuring that we review all propositions put forward in improving our league and our clubs. We have been quick to put forward our opinions on the clubs that "abandoned" the league over ten years ago and haven’t really thought about the consequences of these opinions.
While I am certainly one to keep an open mind and make judgements at the right time, I am not sure that as clubs we are willing to do so at this point, rather than focusing on any opportunities, we are focusing on every negative.
My biggest issue is the view that this will "kill our club". On the contrary, I believe our league and clubs have reached a plateau. While we will have players and members come and go, as all teams do, we will never reach the heights of where these aforementioned clubs currently sit. Some say that there is no way that we ever could. I say why cant we? All of these clubs started where we did. All of these clubs at some stage went through tougher times where they played out of a shed. Why are we content with the position that we currently sit as clubs within the league as it stands?
I would like to think that eventually, our clubs could display the strength and so called power that the Sunbury/Gisborne’s show now. I for one cannot see why we cant.
Should we be content with what we have done as clubs to date? I really don’t think we should, I believe we should be proud of what we have achieved, but believe that we have only just scraped the surface of the potential that the RDFL and the current clubs can reach. If we think we are Division 2 sides, we will always be Division 2 sides.
Remember, every club started at the bottom of the rung, its only the work you are willing to do and the direction you are willing to take that makes you the best. The best is something that we need to believe we can be. It is the only way we can follow the path and truly be the best.
Regards
IMS
Itsmyshow
10 Aug 2007, 14:31
Judging on what was published in this weeks leader Sunburys goal was to join EDFL, with no junior support that will not happen, they are pushing the RDFL idea to align themselves with their juniors, I do however have a concern that once that relationship has grown what will stop them leaving again, next time with their juniors.
From a leagues perspective it would be fantastic to build back into a 2 division comp. From a clubs perspective, we have worked so hard to get where we now, we then slip down the chain.
Depending on the promotion relegation proposal, a club like can build to be a top side in div 2 but far from that in div 1 the next year. Our goals then change from being very realistic to being an extreme challenge.
Riddell this year going for a Three-peat, with 2 divisions this would almost be impossible.
I am currently sitting on the fence with this issue, and am reserving my judgement until i have heard a full proposal.
Mike, great at breaking the news, where are your advantages & disadvantages?
Read the article again.. At no time did it state "The EDFL is our first preference"....
Dont push a beat up on something that isn't there...
blues12
10 Aug 2007, 14:33
Read the article again.. At no time did it state "The EDFL is our first preference"....
Dont push a beat up on something that isn't there...
Read my post again i didn't say it was their first preference, i said it was their goal
OMNIPOTENT_1
10 Aug 2007, 14:46
Its Doyen Wars me thinks, way to much Philosophy for me.
What will be will be !
Tips for Rnd 16
Diggers - easy
Kangas - easy
Riddell - easy
Romsey - easy
Woodend/Kilmore - draw
Itsmyshow
10 Aug 2007, 14:47
Read my post again i didn't say it was their first preference, i said it was their goal
'Read the article again then.. It is not their GOAL either...
matt_nicholls
10 Aug 2007, 14:56
My tips for the week:
The Matt Robertson we have come to love over the years to show the competition his full hand and lead the Blues to a season defining victory, pipping the Hawks by any margin under 12 points. Sipthorp to be more than useful for the Hawks, with smaller forwards Dowling and Podbury giving the Blues' defence a few headaches. Expect Colliver to get the gig on Sippy early - doesn't have the build to match it with him - but has the heart and motor to stay with him all match. Salter will miss for the Blues, Barton needs to stand up this week and have his best game for Kilmore if they are to win.
Diggers to take Macedon a little lightly early, before waking up to kick 10+ final half goals to win by over 60 points. Heritage to be prominent.
Melton Central will travel to Boardman Reserve full of confidence but still lack three or four quality players to match Sunbury Kangaroos. Ploog to kick five after his controversially poor performance last week. Should be an enquiry.
Riddell to smash a brave but undermanned Rockbank outfit. My man to rack up 35 possies in the centre and Mick Allen to give Cornish a scare in the race for the RDFL goal kicking award.
Lancefield's grand final will be played at Romsey this Sunday - note people, Sunday game - get there! against the Redbacks. You can bet that every single piece of energy the Tigers possess will be spent in this encounter. Phil Conway v Ryan Connellan in the ruck will be the match-up of the day. Romsey's tall options will stretch the Tigers with Burlak to kick five, Connellan two, Dawson two, Morgan two. The same old performers in Collins, Smithwick, Choate, Conway and Shewan will be the Lancefield's best.