View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
hey not 100 % sure but did hear a whisper that sippy left training early due to a niggling hammy that he suffered last week and is a big chance not to suit upo 2morrow?
is that true?
if so how much dose that help kilmore??
Blueboy16
10 Aug 2007, 15:55
hey not 100 % sure but did hear a whisper that sippy left training early due to a niggling hammy that he suffered last week and is a big chance not to suit upo 2morrow?
is that true?
if so how much dose that help kilmore??
Are you trying to do an IMS on us B.O.G?
Some Very good posts, i am dissapointed at some people who beleive they are the RDFL. Saying that we should forget the past is a poor statement History is their for a reason to learn from it and hopefully not make the same mistakes as back then,
Now i am only new but if you have a look at some posts how are people ment to head down the one track if some from the same club don't agree with each other.
At lot of water to go under the bridge before anything happens
My tips this Week
Woodend
Kangaroos
Romsey
Diggers
Riddell
Harley the dog
10 Aug 2007, 16:25
Was wondering if anyone had knowledge of why Shane Geddes who was appointed Melton Centrals coach for 2006 was given the flick 3 weeks before the season started. Even a PM would be appreciated.
Blueboy16
10 Aug 2007, 17:22
Was wondering if anyone had knowledge of why Shane Geddes who was appointed Melton Centrals coach for 2006 was given the flick 3 weeks before the season started. Even a PM would be appreciated.
Information wrong there HTD. Yes it was late but early January is not 3 weeks before the season started. Wasn't given the flick either. He wasn't re-appointed which many now believe was the biggest mistake Melton Centrals have made in their short history.
Harry Wilson
10 Aug 2007, 17:28
Harry's Happenings!!
Esteemed readers of the wonderful world of Big Footy, please find listed below the opinionated opinions of one Harry Wilson....
Diggers Rest v Macedon
Sims, Heritage, Jose, Ruane etc..... These guys alone will control the game. There is but one man (kid) that Macedon have that can help steer them out of the middle, Christiansen. Unfortunately for the Cats, their injury list has more names on it than a Chinese phone book. These guys are seriously depleted but none the less will give a brave effort to stop the rampaging Diggers outfit. Another win for Diggers this week will see them back in the hunt for finals, providing Kilmore get beaten, but I'll get to that. The percentage will have no bearing on the finals so Diggers will just need to win. Given that Diggers will face Melton Centrals away next week and then Lancfield at home, one would think that they already have their big toes in the door to the finals. The Cats on the other hand will need to win or kick a respectable score to keep themselves off the bottom of the ladder. Unfortunately there are no draft picks up for grabs, at least no body could accuse them of "tanking". While Macedon have only won the 2 games this year they have been competitive in a fair few, thus giving them a platform to grow from in the years to come. Keep going boys, only a few weeks left. Harry's Tip: Diggers by 8 goals.
Sunbury v Melton Centrals
Despite where either of these two sides are on the ladder, this game will be a belter. Played at Eric Boardman Reserve will have the game in Sunbury's favour, the fact that Sunbury are 3rd on the ladder will have the game in Sunbury's favour also. We all know how Melton can rise up to a challenge set by the higher placed sides and I expect this to be no different. The last time these two sides played the margin was just 19 points going the Kanga's way. A couple of lucky free kicks or some lucky bounces can easily change a game. Expect Wheelahan to get plenty of the ball. The battle of the little blokes should be fantastic, who can get more of it whilst not exceeding a height limit of 5'9", Wheelahan or Bonicci? Helmers should come into his own this week, as Centrals are known for having the bigger bodies, Helmers' frame and know-how will see the Centrals boys looking over their shoulders. In Harry's opinion, it should be the Kangas home by about 10 goals, but, I say again, but, I think Centrals will get closer, a lot closer. Harry's Tip: Sunbury by 16 points.
Riddell v Rockbank
David v Goliath, Pickles v Mike Lyon (oops...sorry Pickles:D). I would love nothing more than to see the Rams get up on Riddell's home soil, knocking off the top of the table. It would be fantastic for the RDFL. Great for the Rams of course, and also good the Bombers, you see, a loss at this time of year, especially to the bottom side would light the biggest "bugger off" fire in the guts of the boys from Bomber Land, thus inspiring them to a 3rd successive flag. Hang on, what am I saying, I don't want to inspire those guys:eek:. Walker, Krul, Shirley and Saxon will have a massive job ahead of them as they tackle Bowenmedal, oops, I mean Belville, Blade and Allen. The Rams will be full of energy and enthusiasm this week although I don't think it will amount to much. The Rams will stick with Riddell for a fair portion of the day and will only beaten in patches of the game i.e. 10 mins of the 2nd quarter, 5 mins of the 3rd quarter and last 10 mins of the last quarter.
Harry's Tip: Riddell by 13 goals.
Kilmore v Woodend Heskett
Again, another "DO OR DIE" affair for the Blues. The Blues were very good last week against a lackluster Romsey outfit. The Redbacks were bad, but take nothing away from Kilmore, they were the better side on the day. I think this game may genuinely be a close encounter. In round 7 earlier this year the Hawks smashed the Blues by 79 points at Gilbert Gordon. Can the Blues carry on their journey to the finals with an upset here or should they pencil in their first pre-season session now? Ohh how Harry would like to see Kilmore get over the Hawks this week (it gives Romsey a shot at 3rd!!) but the reality is I don't think Kilmore can back it up 2 weeks in a row. Having a look at their last 2 games after this one, Macedon at Tony Clarke Reserve and Rockbank at JJ Clancey, it would seem they have more than their big toes in the door of the finals. Robbo will need to give Pickles a hard on this week, Cornish needs to kick 10 and Kemp needs to sit in the hole in front of Barker. Duffy was exceptional last week and will need to play a similar role, clogging up the opposition's forwards line and repelling like a man possessed. Sipthorpe, Barker, Stacey, Salpietro, Ng, Bowen. The Hawks look too strong for Harry. Harry's Tip: Woodend by 22 points.
Romsey v Lancefield
The true "Local Derby". This game is probably the biggest rivalry in the RDFL. The Tigers play their Grand Final this week and will throw everything they have at Romsey. The Redbacks, coming off a very dissapointing loss, will be setting themselves up for a huge win. The scores are normally high with both sides using every opportunity to score when they go forward. Smithwick will be keen to get the better of a very good Romsey backline while the 3 x C's; Choate, Collins and Conway will be at their best to try to out-smart the Romsey onballers. Connellan, I belive, holds the key to Romsey's success. If he gets his hands on the prune first in the middle the Redbacks can penetrate their forward line and score goals quickly, likewise with their run off half back. Sam Graham will need to put his skates on if he is to damage the Redbacks on the wing, something he has failed to do over the last few weeks. Tim Collins (Steven Milne look-alike) will need to play-alike Milne this week for the Tigers to get up. It's a proven fact that these two sides dis-like each other immensly and will do anything to hurt the other side. Romsey have Riddell at Riddell the following week and will then have to host Woodend, while Lancefield, who won't be playing finals, have Sunbury Kangaroos and Diggers Rest. This should be an absolute ball tearer on Sunday. Get there if you can get away from the missus!!! Harry's Tip: Romsey 7 goals.
That's the Happening's for this week. Good luck to those pulling them on:thumbsu:
Harry Wilson
blueper
10 Aug 2007, 19:33
Do we really want to turn into a league where we need to start spending big dollars to try and stay competitive? As a long time Diggers supporter I would hate for my club to lose the brilliant atmosphere and togetherness it currently enjoys because we were forced to start paying big dollars to try and stay competitive on field. I have no issue with the clubs that want to come back other than it would promote teams spending more money on players from outside which I think would dilute the great atmosphere our league currently has.
Digger52
11 Aug 2007, 21:07
Checked out all todays results on RDFL site,great to see the burra back in the 5 .But honestly we talk about how even this comp is ,1st plays Last ,margin 33pts.To me that is a great Result 4 the League Even in the ressies Rockbank were in front @ 3/4 time .
To the catters ,you guys thought the game out the whole day.Also to Macedon Ressies who only had 10 players once stage,but started with 16 :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: Never gave in.Even coach Newman gave them praise .
matt_nicholls
11 Aug 2007, 23:36
It's hard to make of today's clash between Kilmore and Woodend-Hesket. On the scoreboard, the Hawks dominated the Blues. In general play, it was the same. Woodend-Hesket were awesome for 90% of the game, Kilmore just 20%. The Hawks simply were too fast, too strong, too tall, too committed, too disciplined for the Blues.
Did Kilmore play poorly? Absolutely. But it wasn't through lack of trying. The players attempted to bring their A-game but Woodend-Hesket simply didn't allow them to. At one stage the Blues kicked five unanswered goals, proving that they had the players and skill to match or topple the Hawks. But the visitors never game in a typically Woodend-Hesket team effort, powered home to take the match.
Don't be fooled by the best players, Salpietro wasn't best on ground. While he was good working up the forward flank/wing, Morton was clearly best in my opinion, followed by Sipthorp, Ng, Downing and Barker. Barnes did a good job on Digger but once again the Blues midfielders didn't make it easy for their defenders. Robbo was sensational for Kilmore, but I thought Jason King was the home side's best player with the skipper a close second.
For Kilmore fans, they now need to defeat Macedon (away) and Rockbank (home) and hope that Diggers Rest lose to either Melton Central (MacPherson Park) or Lancefield (Diggers Rest). I think the Centrals are Kilmore's best bet of an upset victory. Hopefully for the Blues' sake Mark Greenshields can get his men up for a stellar victory.
Blueboy16
11 Aug 2007, 23:52
Even coach Newman gave them praise .
wouldn't suprise me if coach Newman praised himself on a stella coaching effort against 10 men........
blues12
12 Aug 2007, 02:06
For Kilmore fans, they now need to defeat Macedon (away) and Rockbank (home) and hope that Diggers Rest lose to either Melton Central (MacPherson Park) or Lancefield (Diggers Rest). I think the Centrals are Kilmore's best bet of an upset victory. Hopefully for the Blues' sake Mark Greenshields can get his men up for a stellar victory.
Centrals played a good brand of football against a close to full strength roos, leading at half time with a good game plan, the roos ran over them in the end. To beat Diggers next week they will need to play for 4 quarters and I believe they are more than capable of doing Kilmore a favour.
NotDoneYet
12 Aug 2007, 07:31
Centrals played a good brand of football against a close to full strength roos, leading at half time with a good game plan, the roos ran over them in the end. To beat Diggers next week they will need to play for 4 quarters and I believe they are more than capable of doing Kilmore a favour.
diggers massive chance
Digger52
12 Aug 2007, 11:50
wouldn't suprise me if coach Newman praised himself on a stella coaching effort against 10 men........
If u read my post properly Grant ,they ended up playing with 16 players .Get over it .
Number 16
12 Aug 2007, 12:40
Do we really want to turn into a league where we need to start spending big dollars to try and stay competitive? As a long time Diggers supporter I would hate for my club to lose the brilliant atmosphere and togetherness it currently enjoys because we were forced to start paying big dollars to try and stay competitive on field. I have no issue with the clubs that want to come back other than it would promote teams spending more money on players from outside which I think would dilute the great atmosphere our league currently has.
That's true. Money has started becoming the soul obect in the Central Murray Football League with Balranald spending huge amounts of money on players..and from all accounts this has caused plenty of in-fighting and the coach who they lured with a 70 grand a year business is not happy at all - he wanted to play a few of the young kids who work hard but the guy who puts all the money said somethin along the lines of "no. i pick the side", the coach Shaun Filo was not happy at all about this..and even considered leaving the club halfway through the season..
it would be disappointing if many country vic clubs started following in balranald's footsteps..
Blueboy16
12 Aug 2007, 14:55
I remember "Coach Newman" was highly praised when he got you away from the Diggers Rest Football Club. You fat (word that rhymes with bunt)...
As for getting me away from the club it was always going to be my last season with Diggers as I had moved to Sydney mid-season (which didn't work out) or to spend a couple of seasons with Geds before he retired. Newman had no part in my decision to leave.
Coach Newman has a very short memory of who got him the coaching position at Diggers. They struggled so badly to lure a 2's coach they went for someone with no ability after I made the call to a committee member and set up the initial interview. People forget that Glen runs the 2's and Newman is his bi**h.
woody07
12 Aug 2007, 15:54
It's hard to make of today's clash between Kilmore and Woodend-Hesket. On the scoreboard, the Hawks dominated the Blues. In general play, it was the same. Woodend-Hesket were awesome for 90% of the game, Kilmore just 20%. The Hawks simply were too fast, too strong, too tall, too committed, too disciplined for the Blues.
Did Kilmore play poorly? Absolutely. But it wasn't through lack of trying. The players attempted to bring their A-game but Woodend-Hesket simply didn't allow them to. At one stage the Blues kicked five unanswered goals, proving that they had the players and skill to match or topple the Hawks. But the visitors never game in a typically Woodend-Hesket team effort, powered home to take the match.
Don't be fooled by the best players, Salpietro wasn't best on ground. While he was good working up the forward flank/wing, Morton was clearly best in my opinion, followed by Sipthorp, Ng, Downing and Barker. Barnes did a good job on Digger but once again the Blues midfielders didn't make it easy for their defenders. Robbo was sensational for Kilmore, but I thought Jason King was the home side's best player with the skipper a close second.
Good wrap-up Matt-only got one or two things wrong mate (in my humble opinion). You're looking at Robbo with rose coloured glasses my friend. Robertson wasn't great but serviceable. Didn't man -up, doesn't get enough contested ball and got too many possys in the back half behind the play. Credit to most Kilmore players who provided spectators with some great passages of play and a hard fought contest. It was Unfortunate for the Kilmore players who put in a sustained effort over the course of the game to be let down by a few of their more undisciplined comrades who were more intent on getting stuck into Sippy than putting their head over the ball. All the best to Kilmore for the remaining games-still hope they sneak in -would be a wonderful effort!
Didn't throw Banga ( The unassuming assassin ;)) )into you're best Matt. Thought he was a little more than serviceable!
petespies
12 Aug 2007, 18:56
Good wrap-up Matt-only got one or two things wrong mate (in my humble opinion). You're looking at Robbo with rose coloured glasses my friend. Robertson wasn't great but serviceable. Didn't man -up, doesn't get enough contested ball and got too many possys in the back half behind the play. Credit to most Kilmore players who provided spectators with some great passages of play and a hard fought contest. It was Unfortunate for the Kilmore players who put in a sustained effort over the course of the game to be let down by a few of their more undisciplined comrades who were more intent on getting stuck into Sippy than putting their head over the ball. All the best to Kilmore for the remaining games-still hope they sneak in -would be a wonderful effort!
Didn't throw Banga ( The unassuming assassin ;)) )into you're best Matt. Thought he was a little more than serviceable!
i wasnt at the game woody but with a side getting beaten by 50 odd points most would say that the ball would have been in the backline for kilmore for a fair proportion of the game, so be where the ball is at or where it is going to be. to everyone- anyways its rdfl and you all have got opinions as though everyone on here has played 420 games of afl football,(and im pretty sure tucky wouldnt post on bf) every player goes out to give 100% and if an on-looker thinks someone played well than so be it, how bout you voice your opinion on who you think played well in a positive manner, pretty sure none of these guys from any teams in the comp play this standard of footy for anything else but enjoyment.
well anyways well fought out by rockbank yesterday but we can all say riddell can afford to take their foot off the pedal every now and then, good game by belleville, boy just keeps going and going and going doesnt he, this kind of consistancy might well bring the bowen back to riddell:)
matt_nicholls
12 Aug 2007, 19:02
Fellas, Nichollenko made his much anticipated return to football today. Under the coaching regime of Simon O'Donnell and Billy Brownless, the 20-year-old showed the crowd his exciting speed, amazing skill and ball winning ability.
At Assumption College for Ray Carroll's 50th year testimonial, I pulled the boots on for the former ACK champions against the current First XVIII. In a shaky opening five minutes I struggled to pick up the tempo of the game, but snuck forward to give off a nice goal just before qtr time. In the second qtr it appeared as if the ACK boys didn't hear about my Leo Barry-esque mark against Kilmore's reserves in round two and I was without an opponent in the second term. Sneaking to the pocket, I took a fair dinkum screamer (simple mark) 45 metres from goal (10 metres) and on a 90 degree angle (45). In front of a 1000-strong crowd at the Main Oval. Nichollenko calmly went back and slotted what appeared to be a match winner.
Unfortunately my legs were unable to run out four quarters so i spent half the third term resting up, only to see teammates such as Adam Pickering, Bo Nixon and Jon Henry let the side down and let the schoolboys overrun us. In all seriousness it was a fantastic day for one of Australia's most iconic sporting legends. Ray Carroll has done so much for the students at Assumption College over the past 50 years and it was a fitting tribute for the great man.
Champion Data says I finished with 4 kicks, 5 handballs, 2 tackles, 3 marks, 1 goal assist, and 1 goal.
I'm now very bloody sore and a hot bath beckons Nichollenko, who has hung the boots back up until another cameo beckons.
vantheman32
12 Aug 2007, 19:55
you had more of it then me nicholls
woody07
12 Aug 2007, 20:47
i wasnt at the game woody but with a side getting beaten by 50 odd points most would say that the ball would have been in the backline for kilmore for a fair proportion of the game, so be where the ball is at or where it is going to be. to everyone- anyways its rdfl and you all have got opinions as though everyone on here has played 420 games of afl football,(and im pretty sure tucky wouldnt post on bf) every player goes out to give 100% and if an on-looker thinks someone played well than so be it, how bout you voice your opinion on who you think played well in a positive manner, pretty sure none of these guys from any teams in the comp play this standard of footy for anything else but enjoyment.
well anyways well fought out by rockbank yesterday but we can all say riddell can afford to take their foot off the pedal every now and then, good game by belleville, boy just keeps going and going and going doesnt he, this kind of consistancy might well bring the bowen back to riddell:)
Pete’s Pies, if you had read my post carefully you'd notice i metioned Robertson played a serviceable game-fairly positive comment I would have thought-certainly not scathing. If i'm to disagree with Matt Nicholls (although i did mention it was a good wrap-up) i assume he would want me to justify my comments rather than rattle off something about everyone thinks they've played 420 games of AFL on this site bla bla bla. Would i be right Matt in assuming that? Not disputing Robbo being a good player but did dispute that he played superbly. Just for the record Pete, if players are to sweep the defensive side of play as an onballer then it generally means there's a opposition onballer running loose (perhaps he was instructed to do that)-On the weekend Robbo’s direct opponent was Adam Johnstone who i thought played a very good first half and was pivotal in getting our team into a winning position. I dont mean to be too forthright with my comments Pete, but playing 421 games of AFL footy will do that to you.
MustonMagic17
12 Aug 2007, 21:14
did you end up playin van?
rioli brownlow
12 Aug 2007, 21:18
jesus blueboy16, please move on from the newman sledging, everyone is getting so sick of it. you are no longer there so how about writing something positive for once, they (the 2nds)aren't missing you that much if they are winning easy most weeks.
just on other note , today at the sunbury under 14a semi between sunbury and gisborne during the 3rd quarter gisborne were caught having 19 players on the field and the umps did a count and gisbornes total score was wiped off and they ended up losing by 33 points. pretty poor coaching by the gisborne coach , i feel sorry for the young fellows, but i still think sunbury would of one anyway.
rioli brownlow
12 Aug 2007, 21:20
As for getting me away from the club it was always going to be my last season with Diggers as I had moved to Sydney mid-season (which didn't work out) or to spend a couple of seasons with Geds before he retired. Newman had no part in my decision to leave.
Coach Newman has a very short memory of who got him the coaching position at Diggers. They struggled so badly to lure a 2's coach they went for someone with no ability after I made the call to a committee member and set up the initial interview. People forget that Glen runs the 2's and Newman is his bi**h.
really???
pretty sure they made the granny last year, and this year they are on top.
Fellas, Nichollenko made his much anticipated return to football today. Under the coaching regime of Simon O'Donnell and Billy Brownless, the 20-year-old showed the crowd his exciting speed, amazing skill and ball winning ability.
At Assumption College for Ray Carroll's 50th year testimonial, I pulled the boots on for the former ACK champions against the current First XVIII. In a shaky opening five minutes I struggled to pick up the tempo of the game, but snuck forward to give off a nice goal just before qtr time. In the second qtr it appeared as if the ACK boys didn't hear about my Leo Barry-esque mark against Kilmore's reserves in round two and I was without an opponent in the second term. Sneaking to the pocket, I took a fair dinkum screamer (simple mark) 45 metres from goal (10 metres) and on a 90 degree angle (45). In front of a 1000-strong crowd at the Main Oval. Nichollenko calmly went back and slotted what appeared to be a match winner.
Unfortunately my legs were unable to run out four quarters so i spent half the third term resting up, only to see teammates such as Adam Pickering, Bo Nixon and Jon Henry let the side down and let the schoolboys overrun us. In all seriousness it was a fantastic day for one of Australia's most iconic sporting legends. Ray Carroll has done so much for the students at Assumption College over the past 50 years and it was a fitting tribute for the great man.
Champion Data says I finished with 4 kicks, 5 handballs, 2 tackles, 3 marks, 1 goal assist, and 1 goal.
I'm now very bloody sore and a hot bath beckons Nichollenko, who has hung the boots back up until another cameo beckons.
Was mighty cold there Matty and that wind woulda blown Christ off his cross today!!! Left just into the 3rd term but sounds like I shoulda hung around as all of ya stats musta come when I left ;) Can't believe Trenny burnt you in the 1st term and bombed one home from outside 50m when you were on ya own in the square. But did see that one you guided thru to the City end early in the 2nd :thumbsu:
Webby's stats woulda been big he was in everything from what I seen. Fantastic crowd there, plenty of old heads which was good to see.
vantheman32
12 Aug 2007, 23:07
Nicholls was running around giving high 5s i think he loved just takin the field at the ground... it was an honour to play there today although very hung over(perhaps still drunk) co-ordination suffered from sleep deprivation. Webby woulda had 40 touches as well as Pelly n Trenny. Nicholls cooly slottin home a big one was funny to see. Good to have Simon n Billy helping out was a good day n alot of fun, great to play with some of my old teammates may never play with them again.
nicholls 2 votes couldnt sneak 3, one more big one n ya woulda got my 3 haha
matt_nicholls
13 Aug 2007, 07:41
Thanks for the kind words fellas. Feeling it today though. Would have definitely been the highest standard of footy I've played in for sure. Those kids don't like the physical stuff too much, but because they're so quick when they do hit they hit hard. Don't know if I would have got any votes though. Just proud to be able to play in a game with such high quality players (and blokes). Yes, I was like a little kid yesterday giving high fives and patting blokes on the arse. Found an extra petrol tank I didn't know exist either, think they call it adrenalin. It's the closest I'll ever come to playing senior footy - and something I'll never forget.
bearsboy
13 Aug 2007, 10:01
jesus blueboy16, please move on from the newman sledging, everyone is getting so sick of it. you are no longer there so how about writing something positive for once, they (the 2nds)aren't missing you that much if they are winning easy most weeks.
just on other note , today at the sunbury under 14a semi between sunbury and gisborne during the 3rd quarter gisborne were caught having 19 players on the field and the umps did a count and gisbornes total score was wiped off and they ended up losing by 33 points. pretty poor coaching by the gisborne coach , i feel sorry for the young fellows, but i still think sunbury would of one anyway.Turn it up mate, the kid was on the ground for no more than 15- 20 seconds when the Gisborne runner noticed that the young fella was on the ground when he was supposed to be on the bench (directly after half time). As the runner called him straight of the ground, you could could hear the Sunbury coach and his staff squeal like little pigs for a head count.The Gisborne score was removed but later reinstated because apparently the captain and not the coach has to be the one that calls for a head count (umpires mistake).
This was clearly an honest mistake from the poor kid (12 year old). Like i said, he was on the ground for 15-20 seconds maximum straight after half time. I know that rules are rules but i personally thought it was an absolute disgrace from the Sunbury coach. Talking to some Sunbury parents after the game and they felt quite embarrased about the whole thing.
Itsmyshow
13 Aug 2007, 10:08
Turn it up mate, the kid was on the ground for no more than 15- 20 seconds when the Gisborne runner noticed that the young fella was on the ground when he was supposed to be on the bench (directly after half time). As the runner called him straight of the ground, you could could hear the Sunbury coach and his staff squeal like little pigs for a head count.The Gisborne score was removed but later reinstated because apparently the captain and not the coach has to be the one that calls for a head count (umpires mistake).
This was clearly an honest mistake from the poor kid (12 year old). Like i said, he was on the ground for 15-20 seconds maximum straight after half time. I know that rules are rules but i personally thought it was an absolute disgrace from the Sunbury coach. Talking to some Sunbury parents after the game and they felt quite embarrased about the whole thing.
Yep, poor form from the Sunbury coach I would suggest... Its not as though Gissy were playing with 19 players..
Itsmyshow
13 Aug 2007, 10:09
Some good finals games up at Kilmore yesterday.. The Sunbury Lions Vs Sunbury Kangas 14's game was a ripper... :thumbsu: Well done to both sides.
any match reviews from anybody?
rioli brownlow
13 Aug 2007, 12:00
Turn it up mate, the kid was on the ground for no more than 15- 20 seconds when the Gisborne runner noticed that the young fella was on the ground when he was supposed to be on the bench (directly after half time). As the runner called him straight of the ground, you could could hear the Sunbury coach and his staff squeal like little pigs for a head count.The Gisborne score was removed but later reinstated because apparently the captain and not the coach has to be the one that calls for a head count (umpires mistake).
oh so it is the sunbury coaches fault that the gisborne coach can't keep in touch with who he has on the field is it?
as i said i feel sorry for the young gisborne fellows but rules r rules ,if the shoe was on the other foot i bet the same would of happened
woody07
13 Aug 2007, 12:15
If this story has been reported correctly then i cant believe junior footy has stooped so low. Why would a coach instead of calling a head count simply let the opposition coach know that a 'kid' has made a mistake and tell him to come off. If it happened more than once then yes questions should be asked-but a once off....come on! Feel for the kid! Once again if the facts are correct then the Sunbury coach must be a goose! I'm with you on this one B.B!
Itsmyshow
13 Aug 2007, 12:48
If this story has been reported correctly then i cant believe junior footy has stooped so low. Why would a coach instead of calling a head count simply let the opposition coach know that a 'kid' has made a mistake and tell him to come off. If it happened more than once then yes questions should be asked-but a once off....come on! Feel for the kid! Once again if the facts are correct then the Sunbury coach must be a goose! I'm with you on this one B.B!
Strongly agree with woody here... Its not senior footy, they are kids, kids get confused easily and can sometimes run on into position.. Poor form to call a head count..:thumbsd:
any match reviews from the weekend ims or pickles? any betting won or lost on weekends games? new markets for this weeks games or bowen medal? diggers to make the finals and be giant killers with the redbacks
matt_nicholls
13 Aug 2007, 13:13
any match reviews from the weekend ims or pickles? any betting won or lost on weekends games? new markets for this weeks games or bowen medal? diggers to make the finals and be giant killers with the redbacks
Mr Pagan each Monday all you do is ask for reviews and updated odds etc, etc. How bout you either write about the game you went to, or respect that most of us have jobs and write that stuff when we get a free minute or two? :D
Harry Wilson
13 Aug 2007, 13:59
Mr Pagan each Monday all you do is ask for reviews and updated odds etc, etc. How bout you either write about the game you went to, or respect that most of us have jobs and write that stuff when we get a free minute or two? :D
C'mon Pickles, no need to get like that:thumbsd: We all trawl the thread at different times to check any new posts and we all like to read different people's opinions and thoughts on the games. You of all people should be used to being asked for your thoughts and opinions on the weekend's round. Don't start niggling your fans mate, that's how you lose them!!:D
DPagan, it is my opinion, that Pickles perhaps doesn't want to report on the Local Derby (Romsey v Lancefield) as his old side the Tigers got rolled yesterday. He has a few soft spots in this league, Robbo, Kilmore, Lancefield, Robbo and Robertson from Kilmore.:D
matt_nicholls
13 Aug 2007, 14:04
C'mon Pickles, no need to get like that:thumbsd: We all trawl the thread at different times to check any new posts and we all like to read different people's opinions and thoughts on the games. You of all people should be used to being asked for your thoughts and opinions on the weekend's round. Don't start niggling your fans mate, that's how you lose them!!:D
DPagan, it is my opinion, that Pickles perhaps doesn't want to report on the Local Derby (Romsey v Lancefield) as his old side the Tigers got rolled yesterday. He has a few soft spots in this league, Robbo, Kilmore, Lancefield, Robbo and Robertson from Kilmore.:D
See that's where you are wrong Harry my good friend. I probably have more allegiances at Romsey than any other club in this competition. Robbo is only my third fave Kilmore player too! :D
Also, apologies to dpagan. It was just a long weekend and I'm coming down after a terrific day yesterday and very little sleep over the three nights. I'll have some ponderings up at some stage this afternoon, and the odds will be on centralsport.org at some stage this week.
Itsmyshow
13 Aug 2007, 14:25
Wrap ups for this week...
Kilmore are gone for the year, Diggers will cause some headaches for sides come finals if they can get past Romsey, who will also cause headaches. Riddell is flying under the radar AGAIN... Just cruising now heading into finals and are by far and away the outstanding side in the competition. Everyone learnt to forget about trying to clip Sippy and just play football. Wheels from Centrals is a genuine star midfielder in this comp and Steve Burlak is just about the best Full Forward in the game right at this moment.
Oh, and Macedon has the worst leg injury list of any side just about EVER.....
Trueblueroo
13 Aug 2007, 14:33
Sunbury V Melton game was pretty much what Harry thought would happen! This is always a good game, and a physical contest right to the line! Goal or two in it till about the 5 min mark of the third quarter until we kicked away!
They have some talented players in Brian Wheelan and number 9, young kid, not to sure of his name, some improving signs for them looking into next year!
I watched the under 16a final between Sunbury and Rupo yesterday @ rupo! Some exceptional skill work by some very talented young kids coming through the system, however majority of these kids will now go to either the vafa or BFL, something has to be done to keep these kids round, if the don't go on to play higher football!
The score line didn't really represent the way the game went, but all up a good brand of junior football, quick movement of half back and some dominant ball use by some quality kids! Rupo hom by 20 odd points, but watch out for Dylan Murphy and Matt Medcraft in a couple of years time! These two could play senior football very shortly, even at the top, only body size will hurt them!
Look forward to the week ahead against Lancefield, heard the surface is in good knick! Hospitality up there is always good!
Noticed the same umpires from Saturday got paired up to do all 16's games togther yesterday! Notably it was a senior umpire with a junior senior umpire (if you get me)! Is this a buddy system thing that's going on, or just coinsidence?
woody07
13 Aug 2007, 14:43
Wrap ups for this week...
Kilmore are gone for the year, Diggers will cause some headaches for sides come finals if they can get past Romsey, who will also cause headaches. Riddell is flying under the radar AGAIN... Just cruising now heading into finals and are by far and away the outstanding side in the competition. Everyone learnt to forget about trying to clip Sippy and just play football. Wheels from Centrals is a genuine star midfielder in this comp and Steve Burlak is just about the best Full Forward in the game right at this moment.
Oh, and Macedon has the worst leg injury list of any side just about EVER.....
Good call on most of them IMS. The only one i'd query is Riddell, hardly flying under the radar-clearly on top and best side in the comp-that would be flying within the radar-out where everyone can see them and hopefully where a few sides can aim and shoot them down when it counts. However it will be tough, they will and should be very confident going into the finals series. It will take a big effort to bring the Riddell down-but you never know;).
Trueblueroo
13 Aug 2007, 14:46
How did your boys go on the weekend Woody ?;)
Itsmyshow
13 Aug 2007, 15:01
Good call on most of them IMS. The only one i'd query is Riddell, hardly flying under the radar-clearly on top and best side in the comp-that would be flying within the radar-out where everyone can see them and hopefully where a few sides can aim and shoot them down when it counts. However it will be tough, they will and should be very confident going into the finals series. It will take a big effort to bring the Riddell down-but you never know;).
Agreed mate, just not much said about them at all at the moment, still think that any of the top 5 can win on their day and its going to be an awesome finals series for the RDFL.... Cant wait to get along and watch some of these games.
billylid
13 Aug 2007, 15:41
Agreed mate, just not much said about them at all at the moment, still think that any of the top 5 can win on their day and its going to be an awesome finals series for the RDFL.... Cant wait to get along and watch some of these games.
it takes a very brave man to write off kilmore just yet, i wouldnt be making any predictions til at least 25/08/07 around 4:15pm
riddell look like the side to beat though
when do the league decide on where and when certain finals are played.. i assume if clubs have two sides in the final were possible then try and play them on the same day.. the reaon i say this is most of the senior sides will have there 2nds playing in the finals as well
IMS youd be fairly confident that your boys have the double chance wrapped up with kilmore beating romsey and them having two difficult games to come...
Dennisn
13 Aug 2007, 15:48
No wonder the airfares are so dear !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
A bit of real work wouldn't hurt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
woody07
13 Aug 2007, 15:56
How did your boys go on the weekend Woody ?;)
Yeah not bad Trueblueroo, like all the teams in the top five excluding Riddell still got a lot of work to do if we want to be competitive come finals time.Like IMS i think Sunbury, Diggers, Romsey or Woodend can beat Riddell if all the cards fall our their way. Agree IMS it's going to be one of the best finals series our league has had!
Harry Wilson
13 Aug 2007, 17:22
Sunbury V Melton game was pretty much what Harry thought would happen! This is always a good game, and a physical contest right to the line!
Harry's never too far away!! Never too far in front, yet never too far behind!! This years finals is going to be a dead set cracker!! Riddell have beaten everyone, Woodend have beaten Riddell, Romsey, Sunbury, Diggers and Kilmore, Sunbury have beaten Woodend, Romsey, Diggers and Kilmore, then Romsey have beaten Sunbury, Diggers and Kilmore, while Diggers have beaten Kilmore and Woodend and then finally Kilmore have beaten Romsey and Diggers!!!!! Did everyone get all of that?? Perhaps run your eyes over it again. It would seem that some previous posts have been pretty accurate in that any one can win on their given day.
matt_nicholls
13 Aug 2007, 17:38
Harry's never too far away!! Never too far in front, yet never too far behind!! This years finals is going to be a dead set cracker!! Riddell have beaten everyone, Woodend have beaten Riddell, Romsey, Sunbury, Diggers and Kilmore, Sunbury have beaten Woodend, Romsey, Diggers and Kilmore, then Romsey have beaten Sunbury, Diggers and Kilmore, while Diggers have beaten Kilmore and Woodend and then finally Kilmore have beaten Romsey and Diggers!!!!! Did everyone get all of that?? Perhaps run your eyes over it again. It would seem that some previous posts have been pretty accurate in that any one can win on their given day.
Except no one can beat Riddell . . . unless its played in a swamp :D
No Comment
13 Aug 2007, 17:53
Just looking back on some of the posts re. Sunbury applying to return to the RDFL... Do you think they might be trying to call the EDFL's bluff so they can gain direct entry into A grade down there?
Harry Wilson
13 Aug 2007, 17:58
Just looking back on some of the posts re. Sunbury applying to return to the RDFL... Do you think they might be trying to call the EDFL's bluff so they can gain direct entry into A grade down there?
Very good point you raise there NoComment. They very well could be doing just that. Not too many people are privvy to the ulterior motives of the club officials. This could be a very smart move. The only other thing to consider is that they may want to come back to the "RDFL Super League" (2 x division league) because their juniors are involved in the currentl RDFL format. I guess time will tell, unless Mike Lyon hasn't told us anything yet? Got anything to add Mike?
Harry Wilson
13 Aug 2007, 17:59
Except no one can beat Riddell . . . unless its played in a swamp :D
Every side is capable of being beaten Pickles:thumbsu:
No Comment
13 Aug 2007, 18:04
Very good point you raise there NoComment. They very well could be doing just that. Not too many people are privvy to the ulterior motives of the club officials. This could be a very smart move. The only other thing to consider is that they may want to come back to the "RDFL Super League" (2 x division league) because their juniors are involved in the currentl RDFL format. I guess time will tell, unless Mike Lyon hasn't told us anything yet? Got anything to add Mike?
Sunbury has probably got enough juniors to field teams in both leagues. I think Melton used to do that years ago with the old Footscary league and the RDFL
matt_nicholls
13 Aug 2007, 18:09
Every side is capable of being beaten Pickles:thumbsu:
How bout we go double or nothing on that Parma and Pot to say Riddell won't be beaten again this season?
OldMelburnian28
13 Aug 2007, 20:13
looks like the burra will shake things up in the finals!!!
the top of ladder at completion of season 2007
riddell 60
woddend 52
sunbury 52
romsey 44
diggers rest 40
kilmore 38
bearsboy
13 Aug 2007, 20:44
oh so it is the sunbury coaches fault that the gisborne coach can't keep in touch with who he has on the field is it?
as i said i feel sorry for the young gisborne fellows but rules r rules ,if the shoe was on the other foot i bet the same would of happenedUnfortunetly its supporters like you and your coach that give the Sunbury Lions FC a bad name.
goblues09
13 Aug 2007, 21:11
dont forget he's got a pic of cornish under his pillow :eek:
Umpire22
13 Aug 2007, 23:43
Noticed the same umpires from Saturday got paired up to do all 16's games togther yesterday! Notably it was a senior umpire with a junior senior umpire (if you get me)! Is this a buddy system thing that's going on, or just coinsidence?
absolutely a coincidence i would have thought, simply because the senior and junior appointments are made completely independant of each other.
ORANGE UMP
14 Aug 2007, 10:17
just on other note , today at the sunbury under 14a semi between sunbury and gisborne during the 3rd quarter gisborne were caught having 19 players on the field and the umps did a count and gisbornes total score was wiped off and they ended up losing by 33 points. pretty poor coaching by the gisborne coach , i feel sorry for the young fellows, but i still think sunbury would of one anyway.
Just so you know guys, the gisborne scored wasn't wiped, it was taken down for a few minutes while there was a slight error in communications. Within a few minutes the correct scores were on the board and the timing of the count and the scores at the time were noted so that the league could make a decision. If I hear right I believe that Sunbury were up at the time and even if the scores were accidently wiped it wouldn't have made a difference to the result.
blues12
14 Aug 2007, 11:15
looks like the burra will shake things up in the finals!!!
the top of ladder at completion of season 2007
riddell 60
woddend 52
sunbury 52
romsey 44
diggers rest 40
kilmore 38
so, the top 3 sides will not win another game, romsey will lose 4 points
and both diggers and kilmore will win the next 2 :D
bromanbomber
14 Aug 2007, 11:41
Can Centrals cause an upset on the w/e and shake up the finals ??
Hawker28
14 Aug 2007, 11:56
Could have sworn that Woodend play Romsey, Sunbury play Riddell, Romsey play Riddell
Hawker28
14 Aug 2007, 11:59
bromanbomber I believe they can, i also reckon Riddell may very well drop one of the next two games......
Harry Wilson
14 Aug 2007, 12:30
How bout we go double or nothing on that Parma and Pot to say Riddell won't be beaten again this season?
Tempting........ Let me ponder that......... OK you're on, they'll get beaten this week:D
Hawker28
14 Aug 2007, 13:24
Harry, you have come into the RDFL big footy forum and taken us by storm....
Now, i am going to ask some very hard hitting question's.
We both think Riddell are beatable and so does IMS, how do you percieve them to be this year compared to the last 2?
What are there weakness?
What is the there most vunerable aspect?
The player who holds they key, to their three peat?
Is Petran more vital this year than what Lee has been over the last 2?
Who has a better chance of beating them?
blues12
14 Aug 2007, 14:12
Could have sworn that Woodend play Romsey, Sunbury play Riddell, Romsey play Riddell
Correct, perhaps OM28 didn't look at the current ladder points before predicting the final ladder.
matt_nicholls
14 Aug 2007, 14:16
Harry, you have come into the RDFL big footy forum and taken us by storm....
Excuse me Hawker if you don't mind me answering my views on these questions. I'm sure Harry will feel a similar view.
Q: We both think Riddell are beatable and so does IMS, how do you percieve them to be this year compared to the last two?
A: All-round they are a well balanced and boast formidable attack. Are they a better side than 05 and 06? I don't think so. But I think they are getting a much more even contribution from their 22 each week. In 05 and 06 I think sometimes Riddell carried a couple of players, who were good one week and ordinary the next. This year just about all players are performing week in week out.
Q: What are there weakness?
A: No obvious weaknesses, but they don't have a "gun" tall forward. Having said that, there are not too many "gun" tall defenders in this comp either. Their pace is good in the midfield, but they could do with a fast running outside player to really penetrate the ball into their forward fifty. Down back they are very solid with Jason Allen the general in defence.
Q: What is the there most vulnerable aspect?
A: If you can find a way to get a good tall (ie. Matt Stacey) to float into the hole of Riddell's forward line you may be able to block them up. Rowsell has had to deal with that before but in finals I think its the opposition's best option. If you can pressure the ball carrier, their skill level does drop, so you have to really hurt them on the rebound. Can't afford to miss any shots on goal either.
Q: The player who holds they key, to their three peat?
A: Without a doubt, Belleville. If he turns it on, he is unstoppable in the centre and is an inspiration to his teammates. Has good skills, is tough and never shirks a contest. Can kick goals and knows how to get the ball. Will be runner-up in this year's Bowen to Bonnici in my opinion.
Q: Is Petran more vital this year than what Lee has been over the last two?
A: To put it simply, no. Lee James was the best forward this competition has seen since the turn of the millenium and gave all six defenders headaches. He could lead and kick goals, he could go one on one, or he could fly from any direction and take a screamer. A defender's nightmare. Petran has been brilliant this year and is an important cog to Riddell's premiership aspirations, but not more vital than Lee James was.
Q: Who has a better chance of beating them?
A: As the grand final is played at Lancefield, I think Sunbury Kangaroos have a better chance of beating them than Woodend-Hesket or Romsey. The Roos love to handball and use space to send the ball forward into what isn't a strong forward line. Their defence is strong and they have the players to match it with Allen, Wadden, Harrison etc. In the midfield, they have key players in the McInerney's, Bonnici, Helmers etc, to give Riddell headaches. I know they were pumped in round nine, but I think the Roos have the best chance if they were to play the Bombers fully fit in a grand final.
Trueblueroo
14 Aug 2007, 14:28
Excuse me Hawker if you don't mind me answering my views on these questions. I'm sure Harry will feel a similar view.
Q: We both think Riddell are beatable and so does IMS, how do you percieve them to be this year compared to the last two?
A: All-round they are a well balanced and boast formidable attack. Are they a better side than 05 and 06? I don't think so. But I think they are getting a much more even contribution from their 22 each week. In 05 and 06 I think sometimes Riddell carried a couple of players, who were good one week and ordinary the next. This year just about all players are performing week in week out.
A: No obvious weaknesses, but they don't have a "gun" tall forward. Having said that, there are not too many "gun" tall defenders in this comp either. Their pace is good in the midfield, but they could do with a fast running outside player to really penetrate the ball into their forward fifty. Down back they are very solid with Jason Allen the general in defence.
A: If you can find a way to get a good tall (ie. Matt Stacey) to float into the hole of Riddell's forward line you may be able to block them up. Rowsell has had to deal with that before but in finals I think its the opposition's best option. If you can pressure the ball carrier, their skill level does drop, so you have to really hurt them on the rebound. Can't afford to miss any shots on goal either.
A: Without a doubt, Belleville. If he turns it on, he is unstoppable in the centre and is an inspiration to his teammates. Has good skills, is tough and never shirks a contest. Can kick goals and knows how to get the ball. Will be runner-up in this year's Bowen to Bonnici in my opinion.
A: To put it simply, no. Lee James was the best forward this competition has seen since the turn of the millenium and gave all six defenders headaches. He could lead and kick goals, he could go one on one, or he could fly from any direction and take a screamer. A defender's nightmare. Petran has been brilliant this year and is an important cog to Riddell's premiership aspirations, but not more vital than Lee James was.
A: As the grand final is played at Lancefield, I think Sunbury Kangaroos have a better chance of beating them than Woodend-Hesket or Romsey. The Roos love to handball and use space to send the ball forward into what isn't a strong forward line. Their defence is strong and they have the players to match it with Allen, Wadden, Harrison etc. In the midfield, they have key players in the McInerney's, Bonnici, Helmers etc, to give Riddell headaches. I know they were pumped in round nine, but I think the Roos have the best chance if they were to play the Bombers fully fit in a grand final.
Typical Journo putting his 5 cents worth in! Lol, Just kidding Matty! Interesting points you make!
Big Momma
14 Aug 2007, 14:37
I am told from a very reliable source on Sunday afternoon that RDFL will not accept any new clubs into RDFL for 2008 but will be proposing a 2 League concept similar to GFL & GDFL for 2009.
matt_nicholls
14 Aug 2007, 14:40
I am told from a very reliable source on Sunday afternoon that RDFL will not accept any new clubs into RDFL for 2008 but will be proposing a 2 League concept similar to GFL & GDFL for 2009.
Yeah heard from the horses mouth last week that too. There was never going to be enough time to get it up and running next year. The Ballarat Football League has basically been given notice that they could be losing clubs at the end of 08.
having a qwik look over bellvilles goals he has kicked only 4 this year, and all aginst the bottom 4 sides, this is not saying he isnt a good player but this highlighed aspect, is clearly not one of bellvilles strenths
matt_nicholls
14 Aug 2007, 15:12
having a qwik look over bellvilles goals he has kicked only 4 this year, and all aginst the bottom 4 sides, this is not saying he isnt a good player but this highlighed aspect, is clearly not one of bellvilles strenths
Fair comment, but he hasn't floated forward as much this year as previous seasons. Still hasn't lost the knack.
Hawker28
14 Aug 2007, 15:14
Fair comment, but he hasn't floated forward as much this year as previous seasons. Still hasn't lost the knack.
Hence not a the key ingredient? He is vital but not the key!
Harry Wilson
14 Aug 2007, 15:20
Thanks Hawker and thanks for your input also Pickles, here's my answers to the proposed questions.......
Harry's Answer:
They are not the side they were over the last two years, imo. As Pickles stated the last 2 years they had major abll winners and the finishing power of James, this year they share the ball around a lot more. Over the last couple of years they have had one major direction and that was go straight to Lee James. This year without him they have had to adapt to finding alternative routes to goal. Having said that I guess they are a better "team" this year but not a better side, if you can understand what I mean.
Harry's Answer:
As much as it is their strength, I think their forward line can be made vulnerable. If the opposition has a good defence, which all of the other top sides do, except maybe Diggers with the exception of Janner (I'm a big wrap for him), then Riddell's onballers have to carry the ball further into attack thus flooding their own forward area. This is where a good defending rebound can hurt them. If the half backs get their hands on the ball and can run it in conjuntion with the midfielders, the Riddell onballers all of a sudden are covering a lot more ground. The bonus for Riddell is that their forward line is very difficult to stop as they're fast and strong.
Harry's Answer:
I think their most vulnerable aspect is as stated above their forward line, yet also their half back line. At present their onballers deliver the ball to the forward line from the middle of the ground about 70-80 metres out. This then enables them to drop back and create a wall across the middle of the ground to prevent the rebound attack. When the ball does rebound out they are able to get numbers as far back as the half back line because their opponents are fighting for the ball in the Riddell attacking zone making them loose players.
Whilst I think Belville will win the Bowen, I don't quite think he is the key, he's pivotal but not the key. I think Petran or Allen are the keys. If these guys are injured (not trying to mozz them) or are well held then the scoring needs to be done by Wadden and Besanko, both more than capable. The real key, imo, Wadden. This guy has the ability to change a game with his own boot. Not many players can do that these days.
Harry's Answer:
In short no. The reason being that Riddell used Lee James more than they use Petran. Lee James kicked hauls of 100 goals. Petran is on 29. Michael Allen is on 50.
Harry's Answer:
It will depend on the day. But I think that either Romsey (not based on my bias) because they have a fast running side and Steve Burlak is on fire in front of goal. Romsey also have a very strong back line. Or Woodend. Woodend have a high quality mid-field that play a similar brand to Riddell. So it would in turn become a battle of the backlines as to who can hold the fort.
Hope that answers your questions Hawker. Hard hitting indeed. Just what Harry thrives on:thumbsu::D:thumbsu::D
billylid
14 Aug 2007, 15:55
Thanks Hawker and thanks for your input also Pickles, here's my answers to the proposed questions.......
Harry's Answer:
They are not the side they were over the last two years, imo. As Pickles stated the last 2 years they had major abll winners and the finishing power of James, this year they share the ball around a lot more. Over the last couple of years they have had one major direction and that was go straight to Lee James. This year without him they have had to adapt to finding alternative routes to goal. Having said that I guess they are a better "team" this year but not a better side, if you can understand what I mean.
Harry's Answer:
As much as it is their strength, I think their forward line can be made vulnerable. If the opposition has a good defence, which all of the other top sides do, except maybe Diggers with the exception of Janner (I'm a big wrap for him), then Riddell's onballers have to carry the ball further into attack thus flooding their own forward area. This is where a good defending rebound can hurt them. If the half backs get their hands on the ball and can run it in conjuntion with the midfielders, the Riddell onballers all of a sudden are covering a lot more ground. The bonus for Riddell is that their forward line is very difficult to stop as they're fast and strong.
Harry's Answer:
I think their most vulnerable aspect is as stated above their forward line, yet also their half back line. At present their onballers deliver the ball to the forward line from the middle of the ground about 70-80 metres out. This then enables them to drop back and create a wall across the middle of the ground to prevent the rebound attack. When the ball does rebound out they are able to get numbers as far back as the half back line because their opponents are fighting for the ball in the Riddell attacking zone making them loose players.
Whilst I think Belville will win the Bowen, I don't quite think he is the key, he's pivotal but not the key. I think Petran or Allen are the keys. If these guys are injured (not trying to mozz them) or are well held then the scoring needs to be done by Wadden and Besanko, both more than capable. The real key, imo, Wadden. This guy has the ability to change a game with his own boot. Not many players can do that these days.
Harry's Answer:
In short no. The reason being that Riddell used Lee James more than they use Petran. Lee James kicked hauls of 100 goals. Petran is on 29. Michael Allen is on 50.
Harry's Answer:
It will depend on the day. But I think that either Romsey (not based on my bias) because they have a fast running side and Steve Burlak is on fire in front of goal. Romsey also have a very strong back line. Or Woodend. Woodend have a high quality mid-field that play a similar brand to Riddell. So it would in turn become a battle of the backlines as to who can hold the fort.
Hope that answers your questions Hawker. Hard hitting indeed. Just what Harry thrives on:thumbsu::D:thumbsu::D
Woodend/Hesket16 13 3 1596 814
Sunbury Kangaroos 16 13 3 1355 868
Romsey 16 12 4 1391 955
Diggers Rest16 8 8 1181 953
Your posts are often a great read and i have to admit you are usually on the money but i do have to point out that you question Diggers rests defence but if you look at the above table and take into account the 4 teams run home i think you have very much underestimated diggers rest defence. Janner is a gun but dont underestimate underwood , page , thompson , hildo and b.green . A very solid back 6 that is often underestimated in my opinion..
Hawker28
14 Aug 2007, 16:05
These are the real questions that need to be asked Harry!
DirtyHarry
14 Aug 2007, 21:18
Tempting........ Let me ponder that......... OK you're on, they'll get beaten this week:D
Sorry to disappoint Harry but the "Talisman" (being yours truly) will be there this weekend and if the games I've been to this year are any indication, Riddell should prevail. :thumbsu:
This being due to the fact that I've been to 3 games this year; Macedon @ Riddell (140 point win), Sunbury Kangas @ Riddell (118 point win) and Macedon again @ Macedon (93 points in the wet) :eek:
This may be my last game I can get to before the finals, so if there is a game that they may well drop before the end of the year, I would venture a guess to suggest Sunbury @ Boardman. :confused: But on what I've seen this year, granted that it hasn't been a lot, I can't see too many sides compete if they happen to fire up.
Just hoping for a better game this time around than those I've been to already this season!! :thumbsu:
Harry Wilson
14 Aug 2007, 22:22
Woodend/Hesket16 13 3 1596 814
Sunbury Kangaroos 16 13 3 1355 868
Romsey 16 12 4 1391 955
Diggers Rest16 8 8 1181 953
Your posts are often a great read and i have to admit you are usually on the money but i do have to point out that you question Diggers rests defence but if you look at the above table and take into account the 4 teams run home i think you have very much underestimated diggers rest defence. Janner is a gun but dont underestimate underwood , page , thompson , hildo and b.green . A very solid back 6 that is often underestimated in my opinion..
A point very well made Billylid and some good evidence to back it up with as well. :thumbsu:
When you look at the points kicked against they stand up pretty well. I guess I made the statement based on what I've seen of them, albeit I have only seen them against Romsey and Romsey won one of the games by 7 goals , which was Digger's biggest loss for the year, the other by 17 points. Upon reflection they have been pretty good.
NotDoneYet
14 Aug 2007, 22:28
[quote=DirtyHarry;8410976]
This being due to the fact that I've been to 3 games this year; Macedon @ Riddell (140 point win), Sunbury Kangas @ Riddell (118 point win) and Macedon again @ Macedon (93 points in the wet) :eek:
Not a real guide Dirty by going to the Macedon games, they did lose to rockbank. You might have been better off going to the woodend, kilmore V riddel games to get a better indication. Although Riddel will be very tough to beat come finals
Harry you may be might be right, but what if Riddell loose the next two games will the ladder change ?? Dont think they can loose top spot but wouldnt that make it interesting. Riddell rest a few or some are injured could spice the finals up footballs a funny game. I know Romsey and Sunbury would love a win against them. Can Woodend/Sunbury get Top spot if they win the last two well enough ?? Just a little something to talk or think about. What about the twos the ladder position certainly isnt settled there either. HERE COME THE FINALS MAY THE BEST TEAM WIN
im quite sure that the 2's ladder wont change, WH plays rockbank and then romsey, plus if they do drop a game a massive % at the moment shouldnt see them slip at all. i think that its only diggers who can steal top spot, but im sure that wont happen, having looked at WH record over the year- they seem quite potent- most points for and least points against.
dose anyone know who has been playing for the WH 2's and playing well, it must be hard to get a jurnsey in the WH 1's, signs of a strong club with plenty of depth with all grades in the top 2
Harry Wilson
15 Aug 2007, 12:16
The only way Riddell could lose top spot is if they lose the next two games by a reasonable margin and Woodend win both of their next two games by a large margin. There is 8 points and 34.54% difference between the two sides. As far as Sunbury is concerned they would also need to rely on Riddell getting smashed in the next two weeks and they would have to win by both games by about 150 points as there is 8 points and 74.5% difference there. But you're definately right Ballsy, footy is a funny game and can change with the bounce of a ball!! The finals this year will be one to remember!!
Iceman27
15 Aug 2007, 13:54
Just thought I would let you all know, Wallan had a meeting last night about where the club was heading and it was decided that we would not look at returning to the RDFL.
Itsmyshow
15 Aug 2007, 14:11
Just thought I would let you all know, Wallan had a meeting last night about where the club was heading and it was decided that we would not look at returning to the RDFL.
Interesting decision... Could it be the beginning of the end of this once proud club?
blues12
15 Aug 2007, 14:23
im quite sure that the 2's ladder wont change, WH plays rockbank and then romsey, plus if they do drop a game a massive % at the moment shouldnt see them slip at all. i think that its only diggers who can steal top spot, but im sure that wont happen, having looked at WH record over the year- they seem quite potent- most points for and least points against.
The top 2 spots may not change but 3rd can go to anybody, romsey now sit 3rd and play riddell and woodend, riddell sitting 4th play romsey then the Roos, Sunbury 5th play lancefeild then riddell. Romsey are 1 game and percentage up from both sides
Hawker28
15 Aug 2007, 14:26
Must enjoy being the wooping boys of the comp every week! Can't find the advantage of staying in something that is killing your club!
any goss, reports injuries changes in line ups to influence the last couple of rounds from clubs?
Are you in a position to state why such a decision was made, and how many people attended the meeting. From an interested outsider looking in I thought a move back to the RDFL had ticks in a lot of boxes for Wallan FC's future - obviously I was wrong :confused:
Iceman27
15 Aug 2007, 17:34
Are you in a position to state why such a decision was made, and how many people attended the meeting. From an interested outsider looking in I thought a move back to the RDFL had ticks in a lot of boxes for Wallan FC's future - obviously I was wrong :confused:
I had to work last night so I was unable to attend the meeting. From all reports there was a pretty good turn up to the meeting. I'll try and round up some info on why the decision was made and post it on the thread.
dwyane WADE show
15 Aug 2007, 22:47
yeah i was also a big fan for our club to go back to the riddell, i dont think its going to be the smartest decision to stay in the dvfl. we have been there 6 yrs and dont even look like being competitive enough to make the finals, our club spent up very big last yr and only finished 8th or 9th out of 16 and then lost most of our players for this year! we havnt really got any rivallries in the dvfl where as we used to in the rdfl and we are basically still a country club playing suburban football.:thumbsd:
Was there speakers for and against? What you've said makes sense to me, did it come down to a vote or how was the decision to stay with the DVFL agreed upon?
Itsmyshow
16 Aug 2007, 10:20
I had to work last night so I was unable to attend the meeting. From all reports there was a pretty good turn up to the meeting. I'll try and round up some info on why the decision was made and post it on the thread.
Iceman, Did the Wallan FC even talk to the RDFL about the future direction of the league or the opportunities/challenges that they would face before making a call such as this?
I don't believe that they have, I would consider this to be a little irresponsible by the Wallan committee to not fully explore all options in front of them, especially with the difficulties that they have faced in the NFL.
If the Wallan football club were to explore all options available to them rather than making rash decisions that are not informed, they may have been able to discuss and hear options that would be much more benefitial to the club.
Just my opinion... :thumbsu:
Iceman, Did the Wallan FC even talk to the RDFL about the future direction of the league or the opportunities/challenges that they would face before making a call such as this?
I don't believe that they have, I would consider this to be a little irresponsible by the Wallan committee to not fully explore all options in front of them, especially with the difficulties that they have faced in the NFL.
If the Wallan football club were to explore all options available to them rather than making rash decisions that are not informed, they may have been able to discuss and hear options that would be much more benefitial to the club.
And a pretty valid point you make there mate :thumbsu:
Trueblueroo
16 Aug 2007, 11:00
Sounds like the committee could very well be the demise of the club!
blues12
16 Aug 2007, 11:21
I believe that AFL Victoria are managing the Northern football league this year until it is a position to run itself.
Perhaps it was AFL Vic that spoke to Wallan and convinced them to stay.
All this is just hear say until somebody that knows why comes forward.
It is dissapointing that they have not looked at all options if that is the case
Harry Wilson
16 Aug 2007, 11:22
Harry's very dissapointed to hear that Wallan won't return to the RDFL. :(
It seems a very strange decision that they wouldn't even explore the option, however, clubs and people make decisions for different reason and that's their choice. I just hope for Wallan's sake it's the right one!! In my opinion, given where they are located, approx 1/2 hour from from any other team in the NFL and the fact that Wallan is growing everyday, I would have thought the RDFL would have been a great opportunity to get the club back into the mix as far as being competitive and also with the possiblility of the RDFL expanding into 2 x divisions, over time with their population they could very well see themselves sitting in divvy 1 with a divvy 2 flag under their belt. Anyway, good luck to them and I hope they start to move upwards in their chosen league:thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
16 Aug 2007, 11:37
I won't say what I think about Wallan's decision, it's best that I don't. I have spoken to people from the club and will fire out a story tomorrow and give you all a preview.
On to more important things, the Bowen Medal night is just 18 days away people!!! Monday, September 3.
The latest "prospective" odds I'm offering are:
Daniel Bonnici $1.75
Justin Belleville $3.50
Matt Robertson $4.50
Mark McInerney $6
Dave Cornish $8
Shaun Sims $10
Linton Kemp $10
Any unlisted player: $25
Also, people might be interested to see the premiership odds, should TAB Sportsbet be interesting in taking bets on the RDFL.
Riddell $1.70
Woodend-Hesket $2.90
Sunbury Kangaroos $3.20
Romsey $8.50
Diggers Rest $51
Kilmore $101
In a two horse race, Dave Cornish would currently be listed as $1.40 to win the RDFL goalkicking, ahead of Michael Allen at $2.70.
The latest stories are up on www.centralsport.org (http://www.centralsport.org) too fellas.
blues12
16 Aug 2007, 14:42
Finals venues have all been finalised. First Week Saturday at Woodend, Sunday at Riddell.
I'm sure that anybody that plays at Woodend would be praying for less than 10mm of rain between now and the day.
What is Riddell like? would clubs be praying for the opposite with riddells past ground conditions.
matt_nicholls
16 Aug 2007, 14:53
Finals venues have all been finalised. First Week Saturday at Woodend, Sunday at Riddell.
I'm sure that anybody that plays at Woodend would be praying for less than 10mm of rain between now and the day.
What is Riddell like? would clubs be praying for the opposite with riddells past ground conditions.
Assuming the ladder remains the same, you would expect the Romsey v Diggers Rest elimination final to be at Woodend on Saturday and the Woodend-Hesket v Sunbury Kangaroos clash at Riddell.
Assuming the higher ranked sides win, Riddell will play Woodend-Hesket for a grand final berth and the Roos will play Romsey for a crack at the prelim. As Romsey have a second week final, you would assume the Redbacks and Roos will play at Kilmore on the Sunday, and the Bombers and Hawks will play on Saturday at Romsey.
Once again, assuming the higher ranked side wins, you have a prelim involving the Roos and Hawks at Macedon on the Saturday.
IMS, Mongrel and a few others will be filthy because it may affect their bourbon drinking after the match, due to work commitments the following day. :D
discoduck
16 Aug 2007, 15:01
Assuming the ladder remains the same, you would expect the Romsey v Diggers Rest elimination final to be at Woodend on Saturday and the Woodend-Hesket v Sunbury Kangaroos clash at Riddell.
if woodend finish second, why wouldn't they get home ground advantage for their final. doesn't that happen in this league? this league's weird!
bromanbomber
16 Aug 2007, 15:25
if woodend finish second, why wouldn't they get home ground advantage for their final. doesn't that happen in this league? this league's weird!
Why on earth would they play a final at Woodend. Isn't the ground a quagmire??
matt_nicholls
16 Aug 2007, 15:46
Previously, in the first two weeks of the finals the RDFL's thinking has been to play the games on neutral territory. Obviously the prelim and GF are locked in (which Lancefield made three years running at their home turf). I quite like the idea.
As for Woodend's ground, I heard it was on the improve. To the Hawks' credit they have been fantastic all year in trying to keep it in tip-top condition. Unfortunately the ground's locality means that it will never cope with wet winters. I'm sure if there is significant rain before the final the game will be switched to the standby venue (Romsey).