View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

matt_nicholls
20 Aug 2007, 16:36
How many votes required to win do you think Matt? Sippy chance to poll 18. Although I think Woodend will have an even spread. Roo won with 18 last year I think.. Bonnici and Belville are they likely to poll 20+

I think you will see a formula along these lines:

Winner - 24-25 votes
R/UP - 20-23 votes
3,4,5th - 14-19 votes
And then you'll have quite a few between 9-13 votes.

Not doubting Sippy's greatness in games he has played this year, I'm one of his biggest fans. Loved watching him at Gisborne. But hasn't played enough games to be within Bonnici and Belleville in my opinion.

Harry Wilson
20 Aug 2007, 16:50
Lets be honest Harry - the Redbacks didn't show much heart on Saturday. Especially when Riddell had their foot to the floor in the first half. Two goals to half time by a team to play finals is woefully weak.

I agree the performance was woeful. I played, I was part of it. But from a leadership point of view, I don't agree with the insinuation that me or my team mates have no heart! I thought we were thoroughly out played and weren't allowed to play our style of game, a credit to Riddell. By no means did I think any of our players were scared or lacked desire or enthusiasm.

B.O.G
20 Aug 2007, 16:57
Just looked at the 2's ladder.....

Bring on Riddell next week for the Kanga's boys. Win that game and week 1 of the finals sees Kanga's Vs Diggers. Oh so looking forward to that ripper blood bath.

hey guys just cheking out the results on the website at rdfl.org and had a look at the WH Vs Rbank 2's game an there are no results of the game at all/
can any one put the reults of the game on here for me/
scores, best, goal kickers

or let me know where to go to find it/
cheers guys.

hey mongrel who were the players that were rested for your game??????
wouldnt have thought that leaving some players out at this time would have been 2 good

Cobber21
20 Aug 2007, 17:35
I think you will see a formula along these lines:

Winner - 24-25 votes
R/UP - 20-23 votes
3,4,5th - 14-19 votes
And then you'll have quite a few between 9-13 votes.

Not doubting Sippy's greatness in games he has played this year, I'm one of his biggest fans. Loved watching him at Gisborne. But hasn't played enough games to be within Bonnici and Belleville in my opinion.

Ruane 23
Sims 21
Christianson 19

not far off with that formula

blues12
20 Aug 2007, 18:08
Ruane 23
Sims 21
Christianson 19

not far off with that formula

Look at the season belville and bonici have had i'm sure they will poll 2 votes in at least half the games played, thats 18 votes. they are the standouts and will poll 3s in many rounds. but both have played well for more than half a season. so my tip is votes will be higher than 23.

Halffullonfence
20 Aug 2007, 18:15
Great to See Peter Robinson invited to the AFL state screening later in the year. Would be a great performance for him to get drafted.

matt_nicholls
20 Aug 2007, 18:17
Look at the season belville and bonici have had i'm sure they will poll 2 votes in at least half the games played, thats 18 votes. they are the standouts and will poll 3s in many rounds. but both have played well for more than half a season. so my tip is votes will be higher than 23.

Hmm, but they are also playing in winning sides which will see teammates come into the equation. Riddell have a few players that are likely to poll well also, same with the Roos. I don't think anyone will get more than 26 votes this year.

matt_nicholls
20 Aug 2007, 18:19
Great to See Peter Robinson invited to the AFL state screening later in the year. Would be a great performance for him to get drafted.

Great post HFF, Robbo goes extremely well and it would be the second Riddell player in as many years (Jarryd Allen) to be drafted, a testament to the club's strong football program. The RDFL has an excellent strike rate per capita of players drafted. It helps that many of our guns go to either Calder Cannons or the Western Jets, two of the most professional TAC Cup teams in the business in my opinion.

cobber-not a fan
20 Aug 2007, 19:31
Gents, Could Lancefield cause another upset this weekend then??
surely the Blues will be hoping so...
After what I seen on the w/end,Lancefield will beat Diggers easy.Melton are s*** and Diggers struggled to shake them, Melton should have beaten them but were undiscipline,Greeny has his hands full.

OMNIPOTENT_1
20 Aug 2007, 19:41
I agree the performance was woeful. I played, I was part of it. But from a leadership point of view, I don't agree with the insinuation that me or my team mates have no heart! I thought we were thoroughly out played and weren't allowed to play our style of game, a credit to Riddell. By no means did I think any of our players were scared or lacked desire or enthusiasm.

No Harry your wrong (for once) The Redbacks performance was NOT woeful at all ! You blokes had plenty of it in the first quarter & kept banging it forward but unfortunately kept running into the proverbial brick wall which is the Allen Bros.
Romsey are on the right track & aint that far away, Matt was right get a couple of key possition players & look out !

OMNIPOTENT_1
20 Aug 2007, 20:03
No not at all. Who were your best players for both sides Omni? I know there wasn't too many from Romsey and there were plenty from Riddell, could you give me your three for each side?

Look it would'nt really be fair of me to name Romseys best cause 1. I was'nt really watching them closely enough & 2. I dont know their nos or names very well. Having said that no one really stood out to me apart from Harro' & the short bald on baller.(Whats his name please ?)

Riddells best for me clearly were Bellville(BOG), Petran, J Allen B. Allen, Peatling & M. Allen.

I also thought that 1 facet where Romsey perhaps shaded Riddell was actually in the ruck, interesting given one of your best players 4 them was their ruckman pal !

Oh & get your money on Bellville for the Bowen champ, This season he has had more touches than Michael Jackson at a Kindergarten !
Umpires always notice a midfielder with a "Do" !

e1984
20 Aug 2007, 20:23
should we put the flag half way up the pole for the roos, great form coming into the finals, that is what happens when you mouth off all year.
the funny thing is they mite beat Riddell this week but that will be thier last win for the year, all i can say is roos -----------Goodnight
Riddell, Woodend final
cannot wait for finals

blues12
20 Aug 2007, 23:40
should we put the flag half way up the pole for the roos, great form coming into the finals, that is what happens when you mouth off all year.
the funny thing is they mite beat Riddell this week but that will be thier last win for the year, all i can say is roos -----------Goodnight
Riddell, Woodend final
cannot wait for finals

Sorry, I missed the part where we were mouthing off all year. maybe 1 or 2 have their opinions, who doesn't. I'm just trying to work out what might be in front of the Goodnight. Maybe it is --roos know how to have a-- Goodnight :p
I too cannot wait for finals.

Good to see our critics finally post again, you and BD2 where is OM28? surely your just itching to post about us after our loss. Maybe your not too confident about lancefield this week.

dpagan
21 Aug 2007, 09:41
Choate from Lancefield will poll well even if it is a losing side

billylid
21 Aug 2007, 11:24
Sorry, I missed the part where we were mouthing off all year. maybe 1 or 2 have their opinions, who doesn't. I'm just trying to work out what might be in front of the Goodnight. Maybe it is --roos know how to have a-- Goodnight :p
I too cannot wait for finals.

Good to see our critics finally post again, you and BD2 where is OM28? surely your just itching to post about us after our loss. Maybe your not too confident about lancefield this week.

sounds to me you think e1984 has links to diggers rest, i can tell you now no matter who or what the opposition diggers dont take anyone lightly as im sure your club does

blues12
21 Aug 2007, 11:34
sounds to me you think e1984 has links to diggers rest, i can tell you now no matter who or what the opposition diggers dont take anyone lightly as im sure your club does

No billy, i think he may have links to woodend but to be honest i dont care. I was pointing out all the Sunbury critics but was reffering to OM28 who hasn't been on to bag us about our loss. Yet.

weekend warrior
21 Aug 2007, 12:48
League Best and Fairests For season 2007

Seniors- J.Bellville (riddel)
Reserves- B. Oliveri (woodend)
U/18- J.Hepburn (woodend)

Ballsy
21 Aug 2007, 13:02
League Best and Fairests For season 2007

Seniors- J.Bellville (riddel)
Reserves- B. Oliveri (woodend)
U/18- J.Hepburn (woodend)

In the thirds i think James might struggle with Ric Ceminara and Robert Hughes they have had a good year I think Ben Sullivan and Dan Harrison from Romsey will be a threat as well any of them deserve it.

Digger52
21 Aug 2007, 13:24
In the thirds i think James might struggle with Ric Ceminara and Robert Hughes they have had a good year I think Ben Sullivan and Dan Harrison from Romsey will be a threat as well any of them deserve it.

Seniors= Between Belleville & Bonnicci
Ressies= Smokey;B.Allan
Under 18s= Watch for Jay Boyle D/R Ruckman
I may sound Bias ,but this is from a club point of View.Anyone else got any predictions from there clubs.

catters078
21 Aug 2007, 13:27
Seniors= Between Belleville & Bonnicci
Ressies= Smokey;B.Allan
Under 18s= Watch for Jay Boyle D/R Ruckman
I may sound Bias ,but this is from a club point of View.Anyone else got any predictions from there clubs.

romsey 18s, probably ben sullivan would be the best bet

danny harrison's had a bigger impact in the seniors this year though when theyve both played, but bennys had a pretty solid year in the 18's

Harry Wilson
21 Aug 2007, 14:21
I also thought that 1 facet where Romsey perhaps shaded Riddell was actually in the ruck, interesting given one of your best players 4 them was their ruckman pal !

Oh & get your money on Bellville for the Bowen champ, This season he has had more touches than Michael Jackson at a Kindergarten !
Umpires always notice a midfielder with a "Do" !

I'm on Belville for the Bowen and I told him on Saturday after the game. If you go back through some of my posts I have referred to him as "Bowen, oops, I mean Belville"!!:D

I thought Connellan did really well in the ruck but when we rested him we were thoroughly beaten. Burnette is too big around the ground, he doesn't take many marks around the ground ground but has a devistating impact on the stoppages.

As far as key position player are concerned, (I know this comes down to ifs, buts and maybes) but had the cards fallen our way and we were able to keep Luke Edwards fit and firing, Robert Plant sitting at Centre Half Back switching into the ruck and I rekon those two would have just about done it for us. Luke Edwards is probably the second best footballer I've seen at a level below AFL. His ability to bend around tackles and out mark ruckmen is uncanny. Robert Plant is the size of a barn and puts the fear of Jesus into anyone he plays on. You can't buy presence. You just know when he's on the field. There's just something in the air that says, "The big mans here, get out of his way or you'll get hurt".

I absolutely take nothing away from Riddell on the week-end, they were clearly the better side. Having said that, I think they had a "Hot" day, where everything they did worked. Romsey on the other hand had a "Cold" day where they were denied the opportunity to make anything work. Should these two sides meet again, I would tip a much closer margin.

dpagan
21 Aug 2007, 14:31
Any other players that are not in pickles market than can give the Bowen a shake. Jose from the burras must be a chance although people think this already!

billylid
21 Aug 2007, 14:49
Any other players that are not in pickles market than can give the Bowen a shake. Jose from the burras must be a chance although people think this already!

bonnici to hit the ground running rounds 1-5 belville to stay within arms length and then pass to win comfortably (by that result will be clear say R16) ... speaking of jose watch for a big move rounds 11-17 maybe a little too late though. Not knowing how the umpires vote id imagine more often then not one of the winners teams players gets the 3 votes

OldMelburnian28
21 Aug 2007, 15:24
No billy, i think he may have links to woodend but to be honest i dont care. I was pointing out all the Sunbury critics but was reffering to OM28 who hasn't been on to bag us about our loss. Yet.

:D:DYou think i'm that predictable blues?

woody07
21 Aug 2007, 15:27
I'm on Belville for the Bowen and I told him on Saturday after the game. If you go back through some of my posts I have referred to him as "Bowen, oops, I mean Belville"!!:D

I thought Connellan did really well in the ruck but when we rested him we were thoroughly beaten. Burnette is too big around the ground, he doesn't take many marks around the ground ground but has a devistating impact on the stoppages.

As far as key position player are concerned, (I know this comes down to ifs, buts and maybes) but had the cards fallen our way and we were able to keep Luke Edwards fit and firing, Robert Plant sitting at Centre Half Back switching into the ruck and I rekon those two would have just about done it for us. Luke Edwards is probably the second best footballer I've seen at a level below AFL. His ability to bend around tackles and out mark ruckmen is uncanny. Robert Plant is the size of a barn and puts the fear of Jesus into anyone he plays on. You can't buy presence. You just know when he's on the field. There's just something in the air that says, "The big mans here, get out of his way or you'll get hurt".

I absolutely take nothing away from Riddell on the week-end, they were clearly the better side. Having said that, I think they had a "Hot" day, where everything they did worked. Romsey on the other hand had a "Cold" day where they were denied the opportunity to make anything work. Should these two sides meet again, I would tip a much closer margin.

I was with you Harry until you mentioned Luke Edwards as the second best player you've seen outside the AFL. I'm waiting in anticipation on who your best is. Time to watch a bit more local footy mate!

catters078
21 Aug 2007, 15:42
I was with you Harry until you mentioned Luke Edwards as the second best player you've seen outside the AFL. I'm waiting in anticipation on who your best is. Time to watch a bit more local footy mate!

back in his day in about 2000, when he won the bowen at age 21...he was an absolute freak, not many better mate

dipper has played at romsey for about 20 years, he rates luke in his top 2 of players ( and that would be a fair list)

he was kickin bags of goals from the guts when he won the bowen at 21...was a gun

Ballsy
21 Aug 2007, 16:01
Halffullonfence
We've all heard about the best players for the seniors can you give us a run down on the possibilities of the thirds as to who you think will win the B&F of the comp. Is there anyone who can possibily do the same in the twos as well ?? Just a talking point as we get closer to the medal night an open discussion on something different.

Itsmyshow
21 Aug 2007, 16:07
In the 18's Woodend are very even across the ground, I would expect Shane Bowen and James Hepburn to be their standouts but I dont think they will win it.

Romsey have a couple of players who really stand out, Danny Harrison and Ben Sullivan the obvious 2. But they have another 2 that could poll well through the season.

Diggers have several players that could stand out too, Tom Gleeson would be their highest ranked IMO

Macedon have Gus Story and Shannon Formosa

Riddell have Ben Sonogan, Luke Fleming and Ricky Elliot, expect Ricky to be their best.

Winner will come from one of these.

Harry Wilson
21 Aug 2007, 17:58

Fair point you make, but going on sheer ability and it is only coincidence that these guys actually played for Romsey, Harry's Best List as follows:

1. Matty Cox - Romsey
2. Luke Edwards - Romsey
3. Shane Davis - Romsey / Gisborne
4. Andy Stewart - Kilmore
5. Mark Strack - Romsey
6. Jamie Cuffe - Romsey / Gisborne / Sunbury Kangaroos
7. Fitzpatrick - Wallan
8. Lee James - Riddell / Sunbury Lions
9. Dean Helmers - Macedon / Sunbury Kangaroos
10. Hawkins - Macedon

That's without mentioning Werner or Fox. I think there wouldn't be many that could argue with that top 10. I may have missed a few, but this is my opinion. Matty Cox and Luke Edwards had the gift. The gift to be able to do things most people can't. Don't worry about ability and skill, plenty of others out there may have all the skill in the world but don't use it very well. Matty Cox regularly kicked bags of goals from the middle, including reverse barrels on left from the boundary line, freakish stuff!! Luke Edwards would regularly take screamers on ruckman's shoulders. These guys had skill, heart and courage and the most important two things, poise and balance. The last two things you rarely see in the best footballers at our level, so I stand by what I said, Luke Edwards was trhe second best footballer I've seen outside of AFL.

discreet1
21 Aug 2007, 18:13

A HOT day Harry??? As an RDFL follower I went to the game to watch and Riddell kicked 5.9 in the first quarter! Had they been HOT and kicked straight it should have been 50 points at quarter time! Ive seen 2 or 3 of their games this year and they have played better (Sunbury game). If they played again i wouldnt expect Romsey to get within 50 points. Didnt Riddell beat Romsey by 6 or 7 goals earlier in the year with 5 or 6 out?

As Omni said, if you guys can recruit a few then you will be a lot closer, but not from what i saw saturday.

Halffullonfence
21 Aug 2007, 18:14
Halffullonfence
We've all heard about the best players for the seniors can you give us a run down on the possibilities of the thirds as to who you think will win the B&F of the comp. Is there anyone who can possibily do the same in the twos as well ?? Just a talking point as we get closer to the medal night an open discussion on something different.

IMO the umpires will vote for in the 18's

S Bowen (W/H)
R Hannan (D/R)
D Harrison (Rom)
L Fleming(Rid)
M Johnstone (Mac)
B Ritchie (S/K)
R Cini (Lan)
M Offer (Roc)

stubby holder
21 Aug 2007, 19:24
Fair point you make, but going on sheer ability and it is only coincidence that these guys actually played for Romsey, Harry's Best List as follows:

1. Matty Cox - Romsey
2. Luke Edwards - Romsey
3. Shane Davis - Romsey / Gisborne
4. Andy Stewart - Kilmore
5. Mark Strack - Romsey
6. Jamie Cuffe - Romsey / Gisborne / Sunbury Kangaroos
7. Fitzpatrick - Wallan
8. Lee James - Riddell / Sunbury Lions
9. Dean Helmers - Macedon / Sunbury Kangaroos
10. Hawkins - Macedon

That's without mentioning Werner or Fox. I think there wouldn't be many that could argue with that top 10. I may have missed a few, but this is my opinion. Matty Cox and Luke Edwards had the gift. The gift to be able to do things most people can't. Don't worry about ability and skill, plenty of others out there may have all the skill in the world but don't use it very well. Matty Cox regularly kicked bags of goals from the middle, including reverse barrels on left from the boundary line, freakish stuff!! Luke Edwards would regularly take screamers on ruckman's shoulders. These guys had skill, heart and courage and the most important two things, poise and balance. The last two things you rarely see in the best footballers at our level, so I stand by what I said, Luke Edwards was trhe second best footballer I've seen outside of AFL.

Harry, can I ask how long you've been watching senior RDFL footy or from what year did you start this list from?

B.O.G
21 Aug 2007, 20:40

S Bowen (W/H)
R Hannan (D/R)
D Harrison (Rom)
L Fleming(Rid)
M Johnstone (Mac)
B Ritchie (S/K)
R Cini (Lan)
M Offer (Roc)

hey i know that we speak alot about the fancies of the bowen, and so we should, its the highest individual award possible for the leauge, but what about the other 2 divs, 18's and the seconds?
who is your clubs chances for the other "minor" medals?

Harry Wilson
21 Aug 2007, 23:31
Harry, can I ask how long you've been watching senior RDFL footy or from what year did you start this list from?

This is a list of the best I'VE seen, in my opinion. I've been playing RDFL senior footy for near on ten years, played a my share of games in the 2's and have watched a lot of footy, albeit majority Romsey games. I haven't included recent guns or players dating back ten years plus. Why do you ask stubby holder?

bromanbomber
22 Aug 2007, 09:04
This is a list of the best I'VE seen, in my opinion. I've been playing RDFL senior footy for near on ten years, played a my share of games in the 2's and have watched a lot of footy, albeit majority Romsey games. I haven't included recent guns or players dating back ten years plus. Why do you ask stubby holder?

Stubby holder if you have a better list, put it up for debate. thats his opinion so he's entitled to it. :thumbsu:

Ballsy
22 Aug 2007, 10:55

S Bowen (W/H)
R Hannan (D/R)
D Harrison (Rom)
L Fleming(Rid)
M Johnstone (Mac)
B Ritchie (S/K)
R Cini (Lan)
M Offer (Roc)

Thank you Hallffull and IMS for the thirds anyone have a crack at the twos- Maybe a Brinkhaus(Romsey), Carroll with his blond locks( Kilmore) or Mr Bourne/Sheehan(Diggers) they know how to sweet talk the umpires- Hang on there all over 35 years old surely we must have some young guns in the twos.

Trueblueroo
22 Aug 2007, 11:08
Brett Janetski from us might poll well! legget would poll ok, he has played a handful of 2's and got in the best on most occasions!

Rodriguez
22 Aug 2007, 12:15
Brett Janetski from us might poll well! legget would poll ok, he has played a handful of 2's and got in the best on most occasions!

Trav would have played at least 10 if not 12 games. Would have thought he was in the best for Woodend at least 8 times..

He'd be the favourite for Woodend as he has been very stiff not to play more ones.

MustonMagic17
22 Aug 2007, 13:38
in the seconds kilmores best chance are marcus davern and nick ferris dayson has only played 2 games

dpagan
22 Aug 2007, 13:51
Has anyones team of the year changed in the past two months. Think we all should have one ;last go at it. Does evryteam need to have someone? Should make for great discussion

Harry Wilson
22 Aug 2007, 14:30
Romsey's 2's chances are

Darryl Brinkhaus
Jason DiPietro
Brad Cuthbert (Rooster)

Romsey's 18's

Danny Harrison
Ben Sullivan

Blueboy16
22 Aug 2007, 14:40
Had N. John not been TOOL of the week against the Kanga's he may of been a big chance too.

stubby holder
22 Aug 2007, 15:59

Just wondering how far back I'd have to go to think about which players you could've added that you have seen. You said you might have missed some. That's why I didn't mention any names or dismiss any. I simply didn't know how long you have been watching senior footy. I thought I could've thrown some more names up in the right era that you might've forgotten. No point me naming names you hadn't watched.
Cheers

stubby holder
22 Aug 2007, 16:01
Stubby holder if you have a better list, put it up for debate. thats his opinion so he's entitled to it. :thumbsu:

Totally agree broman

OMNIPOTENT_1
22 Aug 2007, 16:14
in the seconds kilmores best chance are marcus davern and nick ferris dayson has only played 2 games

And............. What about the Duck ?

OMNIPOTENT_1
22 Aug 2007, 16:23
Has anyones team of the year changed in the past two months. Think we all should have one ;last go at it. Does evryteam need to have someone? Should make for great discussion

A good starting point would be to grab Riddells team sheet from saturday & then try omitting someone !:rolleyes:

stubby holder
22 Aug 2007, 16:33
A good starting point would be to grab Riddells team sheet from saturday & then try omitting someone !:rolleyes:

Who do you think will make way for Coles, Omni?

OMNIPOTENT_1
22 Aug 2007, 16:47
Had a joke with him sat' that he would have to put form on the board & come back through 2s !

I think he will miss again this week too.
Then come back for the first final, I'm glad I am not picking the side though !
Maybe an injury may solve the problem for the selectors.

Father of TD
22 Aug 2007, 17:25
Can any1 can tell me what the standed is like in this league ???
Is there any past A.F.L players that play in it???
Did BlueBoy16 honstly kick 100 goals in 1 season???
Did he win a comp B&F???

matt_nicholls
22 Aug 2007, 17:45
I know the coaches are voting on this tonight, so I thought I'd have crack

My RDFL team of the year:

B: Janner (DR), Else (WH), Kairns (Rom).
HB: Kemp (K), J. Allen (Ri), Walker (Rock).
C: M. McInerney (SK), Robertson (K), A. Johnstone (WH).
HF: Sims (DR), Burlak (Rom), S. Choate (L).
F: M. Allen (Ri), Cornish (K), Dowling (WH).
R: S. James (SK), Belleville (Ri), Bonnici (SK).
I: Dowling (WH), Wheelahan (MC), M. Stacey (WH), Morgan (Ro).

Coach: Rowsell
Captain: Choate

It's a very tough gig picking this side. I'm sure this year will be harder than others. Could have easily made a case for the following players:

McLellan, Petran, L. McInerney, Salpietro, Smithwick, Wadden, Barnes, Salter, Conway, Cox, Blade, Ash, Podbury, Christiansen, Dan Reilly, Heritage etc, etc.

blues12
22 Aug 2007, 18:05
I know the coaches are voting on this tonight, so I thought I'd have crack

It's a very tough gig picking this side. I'm sure this year will be harder than others. Could have easily made a case for the following players:

McLellan, Petran, L. McInerney, Salpietro, Smithwick, Wadden, Barnes, Salter, Conway, Cox, Blade, Ash, Podbury, Christiansen, Dan Reilly, Heritage etc, etc.

No spot for connellan or even made a case for him :D

matt_nicholls
22 Aug 2007, 18:54
No spot for connellan or even made a case for him :D

Definitely considered. But Jose was stiff to miss out too.

Stacey arguably would have had No. 1 sewn up if he didn't get injured. Spud was terrific all year for the Roos and is the reason by Bonnici will be up there in the Bowen count.

Connellan has been superb, can't fault him this year, but probably just hasn't been as good as the above trio. Conway was particularly awesome this year too, but couldn't find him a spot. You could make an argument for five or six rucks this year. I'm no Mark Thompson, but I only like to see two ruckmen in any side. Unless they are better than another key position player.

Halffullonfence
22 Aug 2007, 19:29
[quote=matt_nicholls;8489802]I know the coaches are voting on this tonight, so I thought I'd have crack

New favorite player Matt???

Harry Wilson
22 Aug 2007, 19:30
Definitely considered. But Jose was stiff to miss out too.

Stacey arguably would have had No. 1 sewn up if he didn't get injured. Spud was terrific all year for the Roos and is the reason by Bonnici will be up there in the Bowen count.

Connellan has been superb, can't fault him this year, but probably just hasn't been as good as the above trio. Conway was particularly awesome this year too, but couldn't find him a spot. You could make an argument for five or six rucks this year. I'm no Mark Thompson, but I only like to see two ruckmen in any side. Unless they are better than another key position player.

You got that right Pickles!!! Looks like there is no Parma or Pots owed to anyone anymore!!! We may have to settle for a casual pot and parma together next time you're in town. A bit stiff on Connellan I rekon too. Thought he was beaten at Sunbury by Spud in the "around the ground" stoppages, but dominated in the middle and took the big marks around the ground in general play. But, it's your opinion and that's what Harry likes, opinions, and perspectives and outlooks and observations and analysis and well, you get the picture!!

B.O.G
22 Aug 2007, 19:48
thats pretty funny, im sure that rick wouldnt mind seeing that, come to think of it mr nicholls i have seen u talking to him at the breaks, maybe a quick slide of hands exchanging for a front page shot????
but i now know what you 2 were really talking about??

so who would be on the bench then??

B.O.G
22 Aug 2007, 19:50
so is there any chance we can have a top 3 in all divs- 18's, res, seniors for the night of nights?
maybe put a parma n pot on it to see who gets the closest, or if someone can can get the triple trifector, im sure that if someone could get the top 2 in each that would def bring in parma n pot???

whos game???
i think i heard mr nicholls say it was his shout!!!!!!!!!!!!!
thanks pickles, you are a good bloke, its not true what they say about you then!!!!!

Animosity
22 Aug 2007, 20:13
anyone wanna have a crack at this ? rdfl league 2007 top 5

top 5 skilled - players who use their disposal extremley well, disregard 40 possesion getters unless they can pass a ball lace out to a full forward travelling at 50kmh
top 5 toughest - self explanitory, will do the shepards,break the tackles and focus on the pill like a steam train through the packs
top 5 influential - players who have the ability to be the sole purpose of a turning point in the game

Halffullonfence
22 Aug 2007, 20:28
so is there any chance we can have a top 3 in all divs- 18's, res, seniors for the night of nights?
maybe put a parma n pot on it to see who gets the closest, or if someone can can get the triple trifector, im sure that if someone could get the top 2 in each that would def bring in parma n pot???

whos game???

Here goes;
Seniors 1) Belleville 2) Bonnici 3) Robertson/Wheelahan
Two's 1) Leggett (W/H) 2) D Heath (M/C) 3) D Brinkhaus (Rom)
Third's 1) S Bowen (W/H) 2) L Fleming (Rid) 3) D Harrison (Rom)

matt_nicholls
22 Aug 2007, 22:19

whos game???
i think i heard mr nicholls say it was his shout!!!!!!!!!!!!!
thanks pickles, you are a good bloke, its not true what they say about you then!!!!!

Haha. Someone has plunged $250 on Robbo for the Bowen so if he gets up I'm finished :(

As for my old mate Rick Dowling, it was a definite oversight that he was named twice, I would replace him with Bladey.

catters078
22 Aug 2007, 22:26

top 5 skilled - players who use their disposal extremley well, disregard 40 possesion getters unless they can pass a ball lace out to a full forward travelling at 50kmh
top 5 toughest - self explanitory, will do the shepards,break the tackles and focus on the pill like a steam train through the packs
top 5 influential - players who have the ability to be the sole purpose of a turning point in the game

ill have a crack at top 5 influential..
no particular order

1.s. sims- take his influence out of diggers for the games this year and kilmore would have had 5th sewn up...

2. d. sipthorp- hes just starting to fire at the right time for the hawks..

3. B morgan- romseys barometer, when he fires, they win..sunbury game this year and 1st diggers games prime examples

4. M Robertson- i think hes been spoken about on this thread enough for me not to have to elaborate

5. Jason Allen- shuts down key forwards and gives riddel ominous rebound everyweek, with him they could lose 90% of clearances and still give sides a thumping with him usually the catalyst

other notables...
-D. Helmers when in full flight and S. James from sunbury
-Whealehan from centrals, even though they dont win much, he influences meltons ball control every week.
-D. Cornish, S Burlak and J Petran as the main influential forwards worth noting.

theres my input/opinion, let me know what you boys reckon and someone else can have a crack at the other 2 categories

4thburra
22 Aug 2007, 22:31
Here goes;
Third's 1) S Bowen (W/H) 2) L Fleming (Rid) 3) D Harrison (Rom)

being an 18s player i believe you havent quite got it right here.
whilst all 3 players named would definitely be top 10 i would think the top 3 would be closer to this :
1. ben sullivan(Rom) 2. Ric Cerminara(W/H) 3. dylan hannan (D/R)
Ric goes at it harder than anyone in the comp and rarely misses an opportunity to get the ball.
Dylan Hannan would be a shoe in if he had not have played seniors earlier on in the year. but watching him since hes been back. he has been everywhere.
just my thoughts anyway.

matt_nicholls
22 Aug 2007, 22:42
ill have a crack at top 5 influential..
no particular order

1.s. sims- take his influence out of diggers for the games this year and kilmore would have had 5th sewn up...

2. d. sipthorp- hes just starting to fire at the right time for the hawks..

3. B morgan- romseys barometer, when he fires, they win..sunbury game this year and 1st diggers games prime examples

4. M Robertson- i think hes been spoken about on this thread enough for me not to have to elaborate

5. Jason Allen- shuts down key forwards and gives riddel ominous rebound everyweek, with him they could lose 90% of clearances and still give sides a thumping with him usually the catalyst

other notables...
-D. Helmers when in full flight and S. James from sunbury
-Whealehan from centrals, even though they dont win much, he influences meltons ball control every week.
-D. Cornish, S Burlak and J Petran as the main influential forwards worth noting.

theres my input/opinion, let me know what you boys reckon and someone else can have a crack at the other 2 categories

Think you're on the money there. I wouldn't change it too much buddy. It's a shame Morgs only plays four or five rippers a year. The bloke is unstoppable on his day and bloody good to watch. Simsy is by far the most consistent of them all.

I don't want to make a comment about who is the toughest, because I don't think you can judge that from the sidelines.

Skill wise, Choate and Collins from Lancefield are awesome, Dave Keenan and our own Harry Wilson have great foot skills at Romsey, while Kilmore's best kick under pressure would have to be Kemp and Hede (when firing). I'm sure there are better skilled players at those blokes' respective clubs, but I find those six guys pretty slick.

future29
23 Aug 2007, 02:06
does the rdfl have a rookie of the year award and if so who do u think would win it???? if not by using the criteria for the norwich who do use rekon would have it

matt_nicholls
23 Aug 2007, 09:13
does the rdfl have a rookie of the year award and if so who do u think would win it???? if not by using the criteria for the norwich who do use rekon would have it

The RDFL does have a Rookie of the Year competition, and the criteria is:

Sportmanship
Team Player
Ability to bring others into game
Influence on game
Composure
Consistency

To be eligible the nominee needs to be under 23 years of age and played less than 15 Essendon Nissan Cup games before the start of the 2007 Essendon Nissan season. The nominee must not have been suspended by the tribunal during the season, reprimanded or players who receive a fine for minor offences that did NOT receive a game suspension will still be eligible.

The RDFL Rookie of the Year Award will be presented at the 2007 Bowen Medal presentation night.

Personally, I think Kilmore's Dave Cornish is a shoe-in for the award, considering he has won the league goalkicking award.

Ballsy
23 Aug 2007, 11:10
The RDFL does have a Rookie of the Year competition, and the criteria is:

Sportmanship
Team Player
Ability to bring others into game
Influence on game
Composure
Consistency

To be eligible the nominee needs to be under 23 years of age and played less than 15 Essendon Nissan Cup games before the start of the 2007 Essendon Nissan season. The nominee must not have been suspended by the tribunal during the season, reprimanded or players who receive a fine for minor offences that did NOT receive a game suspension will still be eligible.

The RDFL Rookie of the Year Award will be presented at the 2007 Bowen Medal presentation night.

Personally, I think Kilmore's Dave Cornish is a shoe-in for the award, considering he has won the league goalkicking award.

Do you sleep with Cornish or Robertson ?? Havent worked it out (only joking). Petran and Stacey will push him for it though.

Harry Wilson
23 Aug 2007, 11:25
Do you sleep with Cornish or Robertson ?? Havent worked it out (only joking). Petran and Stacey will push him for it though.

I would think Cam Dawson would go close also.

I'll come back to you later with a thorough run down of the "top 5's" a little later in the day.

blues12
23 Aug 2007, 11:30
Brinkhaus would be inelegible for the reserves B&F I think he has a suspension next to his name for this year. I'm sure he will poll well though.

Mongrel
23 Aug 2007, 12:08
Brinkhaus would be inelegible for the reserves B&F I think he has a suspension next to his name for this year. I'm sure he will poll well though.

are you sure?

Ballsy
23 Aug 2007, 12:11
I would think Cam Dawson would go close also.

I'll come back to you later with a thorough run down of the "top 5's" a little later in the day.

Harry maybe Cam will go close but i think Cornish,Petran and Stacey can win or turn a game a lot easier than Cam

Harry Wilson
23 Aug 2007, 12:12
are you sure?

I don't think he was suspended. I'll find out tonight. I know he missed a few games because of badly broken hand, perhaps he was thought to be out due to suspension instead of injury? Not sure, I'll confirm.

matt_nicholls
23 Aug 2007, 12:14
Harry maybe Cam will go close but i think Cornish,Petran and Stacey can win or turn a game a lot easier than Cam

Stacey is ineligible, played too many senior matches last year. It's between Cornish, Petran and Dawson. Dawson played the latter part of the season in the midfield, but the trio are basically forwards. Cornish is probably the pick of them with 70 goals this year.

Harry Wilson
23 Aug 2007, 12:20

Fair point!!

MustonMagic17
23 Aug 2007, 13:51
if cornish dosnt win it then there is someting wrong!clearly the best out of the nominated players,not taking anything away from the other boys but dave has been dominate

blues12
23 Aug 2007, 14:08
I don't think he was suspended. I'll find out tonight. I know he missed a few games because of badly broken hand, perhaps he was thought to be out due to suspension instead of injury? Not sure, I'll confirm.

I believe he was reported for striking the last time he met the roos, he took a week set penalty.

Harry Wilson
23 Aug 2007, 15:20

I'll have a go.

Top 5 Skilled (based on sheer skill level not so much damage caused)

1. Simon Choate - Lancefield
2. Brian Wheelahan - Melton Central
3. Matt McLellan - Romsey
4. Heath Wadden - Riddell
5. Matt Robertson - Kilmore

Top 5 Toughest (based on what I've come up against)

1. Dean Helmers - Sunbury
2. Damian Niki - Sunbury
3. Tim Cox - Romsey
4. Luke Baker - Romsey
5. Daniel Sipthorpe - Woodend

Top 5 Influential (based on what I've seen these guys do)

1. Shaun Sims - Diggers Rest
2. Brydan Morgan - Romsey
3. Steve Burlak - Romsey
4. Dave Cornish - Kilmore
5. Justin Belville - Riddell

These are my opinions and I don't mean to be biased toward any Romsey footballers, but the guys named are suitably placed in my opinion. I don't know everyone in the league so I'm sure I have missed someone somewhere. I'm open to suggestions.:thumbsu:

rightfoot_sloth
23 Aug 2007, 16:16
From outsider reading your posts Harry which are always quite informative :thumbsu: It seems that you have the nous to become a senior coach someday. Is this something Harry wants to do ? Has Harry been approached by any clubs for next year ? As your (Harry's) knowledge of the league is on a par with IMS and Mike Lyon. :D

Mongrel
23 Aug 2007, 17:21
I believe he was reported for striking the last time he met the roos, he took a week set penalty.

i think it was dremmel.dont quote me on that,but if darryl brinkhuis was reported it would have made headlines for sure.so id be suprised if he did:confused::confused::confused:

matt_nicholls
23 Aug 2007, 17:52
Make sure you get a copy of this week's Free Press boys. It will be huge! All the finals previews, the round 18 washup, plus a four-page feature on the Bowen Medal night, team of the year and rookie of the year. All for just 90 cents! It will be enormous!

Doona2
24 Aug 2007, 00:14
Make sure you get a copy of this week's Free Press boys. It will be huge! All the finals previews, the round 18 washup, plus a four-page feature on the Bowen Medal night, team of the year and rookie of the year. All for just 90 cents! It will be enormous!

Hopefully you writing about the huge favour Lancefield did the Blues and Kilmore's return to finals footy!!! Has there been any offer of a few barrels as some incentive for those at Tigerland should things work out for the best?

Digger52
24 Aug 2007, 07:38
Hopefully you writing about the huge favour Lancefield did the Blues and Kilmore's return to finals footy!!! Has there been any offer of a few barrels as some incentive for those at Tigerland should things work out for the best?

Doona,
Whatever you do ,Don"t underestimate Rockbank.They have played some fair footy this year,just ask omni.We will know more @ 16.30 tommorow.

Number 16
24 Aug 2007, 10:43
for someone who may be moving to the area, whats your pick? ridell or macedon? i understand macedon are second bottom and riddel are top...

matt_nicholls
24 Aug 2007, 10:56
for someone who may be moving to the area, whats your pick? ridell or macedon? i understand macedon are second bottom and riddel are top...

Both are good clubs socially, but I would recommend Macedon. Riddell have three good sides in the seniors, reserves, and Under 18s, while Macedon could so with some extra numbers.

The Cats are an exciting prospect for the future, with some quality youngsters coming through the system.

Trueblueroo
24 Aug 2007, 11:15
Depends on whether you like drinking Bourbon on a hill watching football or not?

Where are you moving to?

Aker Magic
24 Aug 2007, 11:31

Trying to de-code this message- wasn't there a young player with the surname "May" who left Macedon a few years back to play in the EDFL with Doutta Stars I think? Could we be seeing a return of former local junior stars to the Cats kitty litter box next season?

Umpire22
24 Aug 2007, 11:51

from the footy i've seen this year in the rdfl

skilled- sims, salpietro, belville
toughest- number 76 for woodend (cant think of his name), scott knight for macedon fc.
influential- sims, sipthorpe, morgan, burlak

just a few thoughts there.

matt_nicholls
24 Aug 2007, 12:02
Just wondering fellas, I've compiled all the Bowen Medal winners with their FIRST names (not an easy task) but have pulled up short.

Can anyone confirm the following first names?

1946 W. Else Hesket 22 votes
1983 B. Hickey Melton Sth 19 votes

1984 S. Muir Melton Sth 27 votes

1985 G. Harrison Diggers Rest 22 votes
1986 S. Howard Diggers Rest 29 votes
1987 R. Johnson Jacana 25 votes
M. Hunter Melton 25 votes
1988 T. Turley Sunbury 16 votes

1989 A. Miller Darley 22 votes
1990 S. Nash Sunbury 25 votes
1991 T. Love Melton 21 votes
1992 A. Willmott Sunbury 17 votes
1993 I. Kaakour Cragieburn 21 votes
1994 J. Sikorski Melton Sth 17 votes
1995 M. Power Sunbury 26 votes
1996 M. Power Sunbury 15 votes
2001 B Spencer Wallan 26 votes

Trueblueroo
24 Aug 2007, 12:32
95/96 is Mark Power
92 is Andrew Wilmott
85 is Graeme Harrison

bearsboy
24 Aug 2007, 12:45
Just wondering fellas, I've compiled all the Bowen Medal winners with their FIRST names (not an easy task) but have pulled up short.

2001 B Spencer Wallan 26 votesMark Hunter 1987
Tas Turley 1988
Jason Sikorski 1994
Brett Hickey 1983

rightfoot_sloth
24 Aug 2007, 12:47

Matt

Its Brett Hickey - Terry Love - Jason Sikorski - Rod Johnston - Mark Hunter - Tas Turley I think but I am open to be corrected.

Cheers.
Sloth

Trueblueroo
24 Aug 2007, 12:57

Can you put the full list for last 20 years up Matty?

Itsmyshow
24 Aug 2007, 13:06
Pretty sure it was Mark Power who won the bowen...

kangas1999
24 Aug 2007, 13:06
93 was Ibrahim

Doona2
24 Aug 2007, 13:07
Brett Spencer

matt_nicholls
24 Aug 2007, 13:11
Thanks fellas, I'm down to the following:

1946 W. Else Hesket
1984 S. Muir Melton Sth
1986 S. Howard Diggers Rest
1989 A. Miller Darley

WISH_I_COULD_KICK
24 Aug 2007, 13:27
dou you have a connection to melton south bb?brad miller at darley(also was on the tigers list) had a father that played there a while back if that helps matt.

WISH_I_COULD_KICK
24 Aug 2007, 13:31
sorry bb just noticed hunter was from melton not south

Tweezersthegreat
24 Aug 2007, 13:46
Surely W.Else for Hesket would be a relation of the W.Else currently playing for Woodend-Hesket. Funny how country towns such as Woodend have the same families churn out good footballers through their histories.
Looking at the Woodend team at the moment names such as Else, Bowen, Barker, Williams are all very prestigious football families from the area, notice also that many other clubs are the same.

matt_nicholls
24 Aug 2007, 14:01
Thanks fellas your help is much appreciated. I'm down to one more. It's Else from Hesket.

I reckon I've read over 50 old Free Press' looking for names but it's been rewarding. When I get the last one I'll publish the whole thing for everyone to read. I think our history is important to get right, so if I have made any obvious mistakes please let me know! :D

matt_nicholls
24 Aug 2007, 14:07
William Else! Got it, he should make a good story too! First ever Bowen Medal winner. 84 years of age, lives in Port Fairy. Stay tuned!

matt_nicholls
24 Aug 2007, 14:22
BOWEN MEDAL WINNERS

1946 William Else (Hesket) and Jack Howard (Riddell) 22 votes.
1947 Bill Shaw (Romsey) 38 votes.
1948 William Else (Hesket) 32 votes.
1949 Bill Shaw (Romsey) 23 votes.
1950 Frank Fitzgerald (Gisborne) 21 votes.
1951 Ray Allen (Macedon) 26 votes.
1952 Ray Russell (Lancefield) 14 votes.
1953 Bill Shaw (Romsey) 17 votes.
1954 Jack Hiscock (Trentham) 30 votes.
1955 Barry Palmer (Sunbury) 25 votes.
1956 Jim Godden (Woodend) 26 votes.
1957 Geoff Barber (Kilmore) 31 votes.
1958 Keith Shannon (Lancefield) 21 votes.
1959 Bernie Shannon (Lancefield) 19 votes.
1960 Jack Hiscock (Trentham) 26 votes.
1961 Rodney Muir (Hesket) 17 votes.
1962 Bob Holmes (Trentham) 23 votes.
1963 Tom Sankey (Gisborne) 26 votes.
1964 Rodney Muir (Hesket) 24 votes.
1965 Tom Sankey (Gisborne) 23 votes.
1966 Ray Taylor (Macedon) 31 votes.
1967 Ron Howard (Riddell) and Tom Sankey* (Gisborne) 22 votes.
1968 Bryan Lee (Romsey) 27 votes.
1969 Tom Sankey (Gisborne) 26 votes.
1970 Graham Kays (Gisborne) 38 votes.
1971 Les Benjamin (Wallan) 27 votes.
1972 Allan Rettalick (Riddell) 32 votes.
1973 Allan Rettalick (Riddell) 27 votes.
1974 Greg Liddell (Kilmore) 32 votes.
1975 Ken Conduit (Sunbury) 28 votes.
1976 Laurie Thomas (Gisborne) 27 votes.
1977 Scott Sheldon (Melton) 21 votes.
1978 Scott Sheldon (Melton) 16 votes.
1979 Greg Beck (W/Hesket) 19 votes.
1980 John Fitzgerald (Gisborne) 22 votes.
1981 Shane Muir (W/Hesket) 29 votes.
1982 Ian Benjamin (Wallan) 25 votes.
1983 Brett Hickey (Melton Sth) 19 votes.
1984 Hugh Carey (Melton) and Shane Muir (Melton Sth) 27 votes.
1985 Graham Harrison (Diggers Rest) 22 votes.
1986 Steve Howard (Diggers Rest) 29 votes.
1987 Rod Johnson (Jacana) and Mark Hunter (Melton) 25 votes.
1988 Tas Turley (Sunbury) and Michael Hewat (Darley) 16 votes.
1989 Alexis Miller (Darley) 22 votes.
1990 Steve Nash (Sunbury) 25 votes.
1991 Terry Love (Melton) 21 votes.
1992 Andrew Willmott (Sunbury) 17 votes.
1993 Ibrahim Kaakour (Cragieburn) 21 votes.
1994 Jason Sikorski (Melton Sth) 17 votes.
1995 Mark Power (Sunbury) 26 votes.
1996 Mark Power (Sunbury) 15 votes.
1997 Jamie Cuffe (Romsey) 36 votes.
1998 Gavin Langborne (Wallan) 20 votes.
1999 Dean Fitzpatrick (Wallan) 32 votes.
2000 Luke Edwards (Romsey) 22 votes.
2001 Brett Spencer (Wallan) 26 votes.
2002 Mark Strack (Romsey) and Robbie Wittmer (Kilmore) 25 votes.
2003 Mark Strack (Romsey) 26 votes.
2004 Alistair Meldrum (Romsey) 18 votes.
2005 Lee James (Riddell) 22 votes.
2006 Steve Ruane (Diggers Rest) 23 votes.

* Tom Sankey was an equal winner of the Bowen Medal 1967, but was reported that year. At the time, players who were reported were deemed ineligible. He was awarded a retrospective Bowen Medal when the rules were changed at a later year.