View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
Big Momma
24 Aug 2007, 14:41
1999 Dean Fitzpatrick (Wallan) 32 votes.
That year Shane Geddes (Diggers Rest) runner-up with 28 votes. Would of given him the Bowen in any other year post 1999. His name never mentioned on this forum but was a great player at his peak.
Thanks fellas your help is much appreciated. I'm down to one more. It's Else from Hesket.
I reckon I've read over 50 old Free Press' looking for names but it's been rewarding. When I get the last one I'll publish the whole thing for everyone to read. I think our history is important to get right, so if I have made any obvious mistakes please let me know! :D
I used to do exactly the same thing mate, loved flicking thru all the archive stuff :thumbsu:
WISH_I_COULD_KICK
24 Aug 2007, 15:36
hey matt were do u get a copy of free press.i was told no chance of getting a copy from the melton area
Itsmyshow
24 Aug 2007, 16:40
Anyone that was having problems with the tipping site, it should now be ok...
matt_nicholls
24 Aug 2007, 16:42
hey matt were do u get a copy of free press.i was told no chance of getting a copy from the melton area
The furthest it goes from Kilmore is Riddell, Romsey and Lancefield - but the paper will be available on Bowen Medal night.
Thanks for the info on the Powers fellas.
bromanbomber
24 Aug 2007, 16:51
BOWEN MEDAL WINNERS
1946 William Else (Hesket) and Jack Howard (Riddell) 22 votes.
1947 Bill Shaw (Romsey) 38 votes.
1948 William Else (Hesket) 32 votes.
1949 Bill Shaw (Romsey) 23 votes.
1950 Frank Fitzgerald (Gisborne) 21 votes.
1951 Ray Allen (Macedon) 26 votes.
1952 Ray Russell (Lancefield) 14 votes.
1953 Bill Shaw (Romsey) 17 votes.
1954 Jack Hiscock (Trentham) 30 votes.
1955 Barry Palmer (Sunbury) 25 votes.
1956 Jim Godden (Woodend) 26 votes.
1957 Geoff Barber (Kilmore) 31 votes.
1958 Keith Shannon (Lancefield) 21 votes.
1959 Bernie Shannon (Lancefield) 19 votes.
1960 Jack Hiscock (Trentham) 26 votes.
1961 Rodney Muir (Hesket) 17 votes.
1962 Bob Holmes (Trentham) 23 votes.
1963 Tom Sankey (Gisborne) 26 votes.
1964 Rodney Muir (Hesket) 24 votes.
1965 Tom Sankey (Gisborne) 23 votes.
1966 Ray Taylor (Macedon) 31 votes.
1967 Ron Howard (Riddell) and Tom Sankey* (Gisborne) 22 votes.
1968 Bryan Lee (Romsey) 27 votes.
1969 Tom Sankey (Gisborne) 26 votes.
1970 Graham Kays (Gisborne) 38 votes.
1971 Les Benjamin (Wallan) 27 votes.
1972 Allan Rettalick (Riddell) 32 votes.
1973 Allan Rettalick (Riddell) 27 votes.
1974 Greg Liddell (Kilmore) 32 votes.
1975 Ken Conduit (Sunbury) 28 votes.
1976 Laurie Thomas (Gisborne) 27 votes.
1977 Scott Sheldon (Melton) 21 votes.
1978 Scott Sheldon (Melton) 16 votes.
1979 Greg Beck (W/Hesket) 19 votes.
1980 John Fitzgerald (Gisborne) 22 votes.
1981 Shane Muir (W/Hesket) 29 votes.
1982 Ian Benjamin (Wallan) 25 votes.
1983 Brett Hickey (Melton Sth) 19 votes.
1984 Hugh Carey (Melton) and Shane Muir (Melton Sth) 27 votes.
1985 Graham Harrison (Diggers Rest) 22 votes.
1986 Steve Howard (Diggers Rest) 29 votes.
1987 Rod Johnson (Jacana) and Mark Hunter (Melton) 25 votes.
1988 Tas Turley (Sunbury) and Michael Hewat (Darley) 16 votes.
1989 Alexis Miller (Darley) 22 votes.
1990 Steve Nash (Sunbury) 25 votes.
1991 Terry Love (Melton) 21 votes.
1992 Andrew Willmott (Sunbury) 17 votes.
1993 Ibrahim Kaakour (Cragieburn) 21 votes.
1994 Jason Sikorski (Melton Sth) 17 votes.
1995 Mark Power (Sunbury) 26 votes.
1996 Mark Power (Sunbury) 15 votes.
1997 Jamie Cuffe (Romsey) 36 votes.
1998 Gavin Langborne (Wallan) 20 votes.
2000 Luke Edwards (Romsey) 22 votes.
2001 Brett Spencer (Wallan) 26 votes.
2002 Mark Strack (Romsey) and Robbie Wittmer (Kilmore) 25 votes.
2003 Mark Strack (Romsey) 26 votes.
2004 Alistair Meldrum (Romsey) 18 votes.
2005 Lee James (Riddell) 22 votes.
2006 Steve Ruane (Diggers Rest) 23 votes.
* Tom Sankey was an equal winner of the Bowen Medal 1967, but was reported that year. At the time, players who were reported were deemed ineligible. He was awarded a retrospective Bowen Medal when the rules were changed at a later year.
A father son combination there (L and I Benjamain), also I'm pretty sure that D Fitzpatirck is a relation of the Benjamin family as well. Adam Benjamin would've come close as well after he came back to Wallan after being on Geelongs list. Very good player:thumbsu:
Harry Wilson
24 Aug 2007, 17:09
From outsider reading your posts Harry which are always quite informative :thumbsu: It seems that you have the nous to become a senior coach someday. Is this something Harry wants to do ? Has Harry been approached by any clubs for next year ? As your (Harry's) knowledge of the league is on a par with IMS and Mike Lyon. :D
Sloth, I'd love to coach some day, but right now I think I'm still a little wet behind the ears. I'm enjoying playing senior footy at the moment and am also enjoying a leadership role. Perhaps in the next couple of years I'll expand into an assistant coach, or maybe start out with the under 18's. I don't think Dippa would be too happy about me wanting his job. :D Never been approached by another club. I don't know that I ever would be. I don't quite have the profile. Maybe one day.:thumbsu:
P.S. No Harry's Happenings until later tonight boys.
rightfoot_sloth
24 Aug 2007, 17:21
Thanks Harry. I think you have cleared it up :thumbsu: ! Speaking from experience and I reckon IMS could back this up. The 18's is a great way to start coaching if you are interested down the track. Its good footy and most of the kids are wanting to be there ! Good luck tomorrow.
OMNIPOTENT_1
24 Aug 2007, 17:40
BOWEN MEDAL WINNERS
1946 William Else (Hesket) and Jack Howard (Riddell) 22 votes.
1947 Bill Shaw (Romsey) 38 votes.
1948 William Else (Hesket) 32 votes.
1949 Bill Shaw (Romsey) 23 votes.
1950 Frank Fitzgerald (Gisborne) 21 votes.
1951 Ray Allen (Macedon) 26 votes.
1952 Ray Russell (Lancefield) 14 votes.
1953 Bill Shaw (Romsey) 17 votes.
1954 Jack Hiscock (Trentham) 30 votes.
1955 Barry Palmer (Sunbury) 25 votes.
1956 Jim Godden (Woodend) 26 votes.
1957 Geoff Barber (Kilmore) 31 votes.
1958 Keith Shannon (Lancefield) 21 votes.
1959 Bernie Shannon (Lancefield) 19 votes.
1960 Jack Hiscock (Trentham) 26 votes.
1961 Rodney Muir (Hesket) 17 votes.
1962 Bob Holmes (Trentham) 23 votes.
1963 Tom Sankey (Gisborne) 26 votes.
1964 Rodney Muir (Hesket) 24 votes.
1965 Tom Sankey (Gisborne) 23 votes.
1966 Ray Taylor (Macedon) 31 votes.
1967 Ron Howard (Riddell) and Tom Sankey* (Gisborne) 22 votes.
1968 Bryan Lee (Romsey) 27 votes.
1969 Tom Sankey (Gisborne) 26 votes.
1970 Graham Kays (Gisborne) 38 votes.
1971 Les Benjamin (Wallan) 27 votes.
1972 Allan Rettalick (Riddell) 32 votes.
1973 Allan Rettalick (Riddell) 27 votes.
1974 Greg Liddell (Kilmore) 32 votes.
1975 Ken Conduit (Sunbury) 28 votes.
1976 Laurie Thomas (Gisborne) 27 votes.
1977 Scott Sheldon (Melton) 21 votes.
1978 Scott Sheldon (Melton) 16 votes.
1979 Greg Beck (W/Hesket) 19 votes.
1980 John Fitzgerald (Gisborne) 22 votes.
1981 Shane Muir (W/Hesket) 29 votes.
1982 Ian Benjamin (Wallan) 25 votes.
1983 Brett Hickey (Melton Sth) 19 votes.
1984 Hugh Carey (Melton) and Shane Muir (Melton Sth) 27 votes.
1985 Graham Harrison (Diggers Rest) 22 votes.
1986 Steve Howard (Diggers Rest) 29 votes.
1987 Rod Johnson (Jacana) and Mark Hunter (Melton) 25 votes.
1988 Tas Turley (Sunbury) and Michael Hewat (Darley) 16 votes.
1989 Alexis Miller (Darley) 22 votes.
1990 Steve Nash (Sunbury) 25 votes.
1991 Terry Love (Melton) 21 votes.
1992 Andrew Willmott (Sunbury) 17 votes.
1993 Ibrahim Kaakour (Cragieburn) 21 votes.
1994 Jason Sikorski (Melton Sth) 17 votes.
1995 Mark Power (Sunbury) 26 votes.
1996 Mark Power (Sunbury) 15 votes.
1997 Jamie Cuffe (Romsey) 36 votes.
1998 Gavin Langborne (Wallan) 20 votes.
2000 Luke Edwards (Romsey) 22 votes.
2001 Brett Spencer (Wallan) 26 votes.
2002 Mark Strack (Romsey) and Robbie Wittmer (Kilmore) 25 votes.
2003 Mark Strack (Romsey) 26 votes.
2004 Alistair Meldrum (Romsey) 18 votes.
2005 Lee James (Riddell) 22 votes.
2006 Steve Ruane (Diggers Rest) 23 votes.
* Tom Sankey was an equal winner of the Bowen Medal 1967, but was reported that year. At the time, players who were reported were deemed ineligible. He was awarded a retrospective Bowen Medal when the rules were changed at a later year.
Its a pity Matt Fitzgerald isnt able to carry on the family tradition & win one like his grandfather & father before him !
I seem to have a recolection of Tony Lucas winning one whilst he was at Sunbury, but his name is not here, can anyone shed any light please ?
OMNIPOTENT_1
24 Aug 2007, 17:44
Tips for Rnd 18
Diggers - Easy.
Riddell - Just.
Kilmore - Easy.
Melton - Very Easy.
Woodend/Romsey - Draw.
Good Luck to all.
bearsboy
24 Aug 2007, 17:51
Its a pity Matt Fitzgerald isnt able to carry on the family tradition & win one like his grandfather & father before him !
I seem to have a recolection of Tony Lucas winning one whilst he was at Sunbury, but his name is not here, can anyone shed any light please ?Matty Fitzgerald won the Bendigo league B&F (Michelson medal) a couple of years ago.
The honour boards at Gisborne show 3 generations of Fitzgeralds winning league medals.
matt_nicholls
24 Aug 2007, 17:55
I seem to have a recolection of Tony Lucas winning one whilst he was at Sunbury, but his name is not here, can anyone shed any light please ?
Good spot, the RDFL never had Lucas down as a winner in their annual report last year and on their Bowen Medal publication, but the Free Press states that Tony Lucas tied with Steve Howard in 1986 with 29 votes.
OMNIPOTENT_1
24 Aug 2007, 18:00
Good spot, the RDFL never had Lucas down as a winner in their annual report last year and on their Bowen Medal publication, but the Free Press states that Tony Lucas tied with Steve Howard in 1986 with 29 votes.
Was sure Tony won one (top player & bloke), thanks Matt, He is a cousin of the Fitzgeralds too !
OMNIPOTENT_1
24 Aug 2007, 18:08
There must be warning lights & a siren on top of his PC when anyone mentions anything about Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh G******* !
OMNIPOTENT_1
24 Aug 2007, 18:29
Have it on good authority that Leigh McInerney will miss tomorrows big game against the Bombers after being diagnosed during the week with chronic Necrophilia !
blues12
24 Aug 2007, 18:35
Big day tommorrow at Boardman Reserve
The action kicks off at 10
The under 18s starting the day, both sides with 6 wins and Riddell some extra percentage. A win will guarantee a finals berth, a draw will see Riddell sneak in.
Then at 12
The Reserves are playing for 3rd spot, a win to the roos will see them play diggers next week in the first final, a win to riddell could see them grab 3rd if Romsey lose to woodend.
Then at 2:00 the Big One
The Seniors, After so much hype the last time these 2 sides met that turned into a one sided affair, this could be different. Despite a loss last week the roos will be out to show they can match it with the big guns come finals.
A win will see them confirm 3rd, a loss could mathematically see them drop to 4th.
What a day of local football, if you have nothing to do get there.
matt_nicholls
24 Aug 2007, 19:32
While finding the Bowen Medal winners, I also found out all the premiership winners (first and second division) from 1945 - 2006. I've compiled a list from most successful club to least successful in terms of premierships.
Sunbury - 12 (1953, 55, 57, 69, 74, 76, 77, 82, 87, 88, 90, 95).
Gisborne - 10 (1962, 65, 67, 72, 75, 78, 79, 97, 98, 99).
Lancefield - 9 (1945, 46, 49, 52, 58, 66, 95, 96, 2004).
Riddell - 9 (1947, 70, 80, 82, 90, 91, 92, 2005, 06).
Romsey - 7 (1948, 50, 51, 63, 68, 75, 2003).
Melton - 5 (1973, 81, 83, 84, 86).
Kilmore - 4 (1971, 87, 94, 2001).
Wallan - 4 (1977, 85, 88, 92).
Woodend/Hesket - 3 (1978, 83, 2002).
Trentham - 3 (1956, 59, 61).
Darley - 2 (1989, 95).
Broadford - 2 (1981, 84).
Craigieburn - 2 (1979, 93).
Woodend - 1 (1964).
Hesket - 1 (1960).
Macedon - 1 (1976).
Melton South - 1 (1994).
Moomba Park - 1 (1991).
Northern Eagles - 1 (1988).
Diggers Rest - 1 (1993).
Jacana - 1 (2000).
Sunbury Rovers/Kangaroos - 0
Rockbank - 0
Darraweit - 0
Fawkner Park - 0
I hope I haven't forgotten any side that hasn't won a flag. Forgive me if I have and enlighten me as to who I've overlooked.
stubby holder
24 Aug 2007, 19:47
While finding the Bowen Medal winners, I also found out all the premiership winners (first and second division) from 1945 - 2006. I've compiled a list from most successful club to least successful in terms of premierships.
Darley - 2 (1989, 95).
Woodend - 1 (1964).
Hesket - 1 (1960).
Macedon - 1 (1976).
Melton South - 1 (1994).
Moomba Park - 1 (1991).
Diggers Rest - 1 (1993).
Jacana - 1 (2000).
Rockbank - 0
Darraweit - 0
Fawkner Park - 0
I hope I haven't forgotten any side that hasn't won a flag. Forgive me if I have and enlighten me as to who I've overlooked.
Sunbury won 1996 Division 1
rightfoot_sloth
24 Aug 2007, 22:00
Darley - 2 (1989, 95).
Woodend - 1 (1964).
Hesket - 1 (1960).
Macedon - 1 (1976).
Melton South - 1 (1994).
Moomba Park - 1 (1991).
Diggers Rest - 1 (1993).
Jacana - 1 (2000).
Rockbank - 0
Darraweit - 0
Fawkner Park - 0
Matt - Another club was North Fawkner circa 1990 in the RDFL and Jacana played under the name of Broadmeadows United in the early 90's.
Cheers,
Sloth
blues12
25 Aug 2007, 10:08
Matt - Another club was North Fawkner circa 1990 in the RDFL and Jacana played under the name of Broadmeadows United in the early 90's.
Cheers,
Sloth
North fawkner merged with Moomba Park in the mid to late 90s
matt_nicholls
25 Aug 2007, 11:54
Thanks fellas. You're right, Sunbury did win it in 1996, not 95.
matt_nicholls
25 Aug 2007, 11:59
There's approximately three hours until the bounce down of the final home and away match of the season.
For Kilmore and Diggers Rest fans, the moment has come.
The Burra are lucky as they have control of whether they play in finals. Kilmore on the other hand, have two things to be concerned about - beating Rockbank and praying Lancefield can cause an upset, their second in a row.
I struggled to sleep last night to be honest, I think I might be more nervous than the players. For me, Broadford also need to win the last match of the round to play finals. As a sports writer, I tend to barrack for all the clubs in my area. There is nothing better than writing about finals.
In the words of Harry, good luck to all those pulling them on today and I'll report back this evening with an update for you all.
It's a ripper day and you can smell finals in the air. Enjoy!! :D
hey there matty, it looks like that its the sleepless time of the year for you at the moment.
can you give the latest odds for the big night of nights?
for all 3 divs???
not that we encourage underage betting(u18) but would just be good to see who is rated where?
maybe a top 10 or 5 or what ever you can come up with?
or can any one else supply with some good odds? gives the people not going a bit more to follow, and see if we really do know anything about what we are talking about on here.
good luck to all involved in 2007 finals!!!!!!
matt_nicholls
25 Aug 2007, 17:05
Kilmore defeated Rockbank, but Diggers Rest were able to overcome Lancefield.
The first weekend of the finals should be this:
Woodend-Hesket v Sunbury Kangaroos @ Riddell on Sunday.
Romsey v Diggers Rest @ Woodend on Saturday.
No other scores just yet fellas. I'll be back at 7pm.
OMNIPOTENT_1
25 Aug 2007, 19:19
Riddell beat Kangas by 4 goals in a pretty good hit out for both sides.
Mick Allen kicked 8.1 for the bombers whilst better players for Riddell were
M. Peatling, M. Allen, D. Besanko, J. Allen, T. McDonald & N. Allen.
In the 2s the Kangas were victorious by considerable margin & the Kangas also beat Riddell in the 18s, thus ending their finalls aspirations !
matt_nicholls
25 Aug 2007, 19:36
THE LATEST NEWS
Cornish wraps up goalkicking award with 8.5
Paul Podbury to perhaps miss the RDFL finals series by allegedly calling an umpire a cheat. According to close sources, the umpire told Podbury that he was going to kiss his finals series goodbye. A disgrace if that was said, that umpire shouldn't be officiating. I won't say his name after the backlash I copped last time.
Liam Ryan draws his long and outstanding career to an end. A true Kilmore footballing legend. Premiership player and former captain of the Blues.
Itsmyshow and Halffullonfence to go head-to-head as coaches in the Under 18s elimination final, with the Roos toppling Riddell this morning.
NotDoneYet
25 Aug 2007, 20:05
[quote=matt_nicholls;8519809]Kilmore defeated Rockbank, but Diggers Rest were able to overcome Lancefield.
As previously stated the Burra are NotDoneYet fellas
footyhead18
25 Aug 2007, 20:45
THE LATEST NEWS
Paul Podbury to perhaps miss the RDFL finals series by allegedly calling an umpire a cheat. According to close sources, the umpire told Podbury that he was going to kiss his finals series goodbye. A disgrace if that was said, that umpire shouldn't be officiating. I won't say his name after the backlash I copped last time.
Liam Ryan draws his long and outstanding career to an end. A true Kilmore footballing legend. Premiership player and former captain of the Blues.
Itsmyshow and Halffullonfence to go head-to-head as coaches in the Under 18s elimination final, with the Roos toppling Riddell this morning.
Massive news Matt. I would be surprised if Pods did say that as he is generally very quiet on ground. However his frustrations may have boiled over if smashed again by opposition under nose of umpire like he was against Kilmore a few weeks ago. Im not surprised if umpire said that because they seem to get off on that kind of power unfortunately. If true i expect Pods to cop a few weeks but the umpire should be suspended for remainder of year.
Gemini17
26 Aug 2007, 00:01
1984 Shane Muir not from Melton South. Maybe Woodend Hesket?
Big Momma
26 Aug 2007, 01:01
Hey Nicholls can I have $500 on Belville please.
Also odds on a 1-2-3
Belville, Wheelahan, Bonnici? :D
woody07
26 Aug 2007, 09:39
THE LATEST NEWS
Early word is that Podbury did not use the word 'cheat'. Anyone who knows the man will know that he's a very honest guy with a lot of integrity! Podbury has umpired at junior level and has never been sent off or reported. The umpire has the right to report people for what he thinks he may have heard but should not make comments regarding penalities in the moment, but rather wait for the right forum. End of the season a bit dramatic Matt-Wadden only got one week for calling an umpire a cheat! I'll be surprised if Podbury goes for any! Looking forward to avery hard contest this week against the roos-any match reports on that game.
woody07
26 Aug 2007, 10:05
There's approximately three hours until the bounce down of the final home and away match of the season.
For Kilmore and Diggers Rest fans, the moment has come.
The Burra are lucky as they have control of whether they play in finals. Kilmore on the other hand, have two things to be concerned about - beating Rockbank and praying Lancefield can cause an upset, their second in a row.
I struggled to sleep last night to be honest, I think I might be more nervous than the players. For me, Broadford also need to win the last match of the round to play finals. As a sports writer, I tend to barrack for all the clubs in my area. There is nothing better than writing about finals.
In the words of Harry, good luck to all those pulling them on today and I'll report back this evening with an update for you all.
It's a ripper day and you can smell finals in the air. Enjoy!! :D
Matt, not sure if this would be of any interest but it may be worth investigating an ugly incident that occured between Romsey's reserve coach and a Woodend player after the reserves game. Didn't see it so dont wish to comment- but do think a bit will come out of it! Not good for the RDFL. I know you have close contacts either side of the fence-so we'll get an unbiased account-Happy hunting.
OMNIPOTENT_1
26 Aug 2007, 12:22
Early word is that Podbury did not use the word 'cheat'. Anyone who knows the man will know that he's a very honest guy with a lot of integrity! Podbury has umpired at junior level and has never been sent off or reported. The umpire has the right to report people for what he thinks he may have heard but should not make comments regarding penalities in the moment, but rather wait for the right forum. End of the season a bit dramatic Matt-Wadden only got one week for calling an umpire a cheat! I'll be surprised if Podbury goes for any! Looking forward to avery hard contest this week against the roos-any match reports on that game.
Rated Woodend slightly above the Kangas this season, but after yesterdays match am not so sure now !
Sunbury's talls up forward lead by Cuffe will be a handfull for the Woodsmen next week & their onball brigade has really stept up a notch with Bonnici dominating around the stoppages.
Should be a ripping contest next week Woodend may need to find another gear to prevail in a must see contest, cant wait !
footyhead18
26 Aug 2007, 13:59
Matt, not sure if this would be of any interest but it may be worth investigating an ugly incident that occured between Romsey's reserve coach and a Woodend player after the reserves game. Didn't see it so dont wish to comment- but do think a bit will come out of it! Not good for the RDFL. I know you have close contacts either side of the fence-so we'll get an unbiased account-Happy hunting.
Cmon Woody, need to give us more than that. Even if you didnt see the incident you obviously know the details from one perspective so rather than sick Matt onto it (he tells us how busy he always is) how about you give us your version of events.
blues12
26 Aug 2007, 17:09
:thumbsu::thumbsu: Congratulations to the Sunbury Kangaroos Juniors, 3 Sides in Grand Finals and all come home with a flag. U12, U14 & U16s :thumbsu::thumbsu: Some fantastic games of football
Also well done to the Seniors, First time in the clubs history that we have had all 3 football sides and both Netball sides taking part in the Finals.
matt_nicholls
26 Aug 2007, 17:12
:thumbsu::thumbsu: Congratulations to the Sunbury Kangaroos Juniors, 3 Sides in Grand Finals and all come home with a flag. U12, U14 & U16s :thumbsu::thumbsu: Some fantastic games of football
Also well done to the Seniors, First time in the clubs history that we have had all 3 football sides and both Netball sides taking part in the Finals.
Great post Blues12, the Kangas have certainly come a long way since the old Rovers days. Financially sound now too. Just the senior cup the missing ingredient now, which I'm sure will come in the next few years.
woody07
26 Aug 2007, 17:37
Cmon Woody, need to give us more than that. Even if you didnt see the incident you obviously know the details from one perspective so rather than sick Matt onto it (he tells us how busy he always is) how about you give us your version of events.
Without seeing it FH18 i'm reluctant to hang a man without a balanced argument. To this point in time i only have a Woodend perspective and are not sure what happened leading up to the event. Better for Matt to speak to both camps and give an unbias account rather than a Hawks slant on it!
OMNIPOTENT_1
26 Aug 2007, 18:00
Congrats' to the Roos on their Junior success, the place should really be jumping down there tonight.
Hope IMS & his cohorts left some beverages for you after their vigorous display yesterday !
footyhead18
26 Aug 2007, 18:05
Without seeing it FH18 i'm reluctant to hang a man without a balanced argument. To this point in time i only have a Woodend perspective and are not sure what happened leading up to the event. Better for Matt to speak to both camps and give an unbias account rather than a Hawks slant on it!
After doing some serious digging i believe the incident you are speaking of involved a woodend player leaving the ground & the Romseys 2s coach who allegedly dropped woodend player. Believe romsey has already taken action against coach so hopefully that is the end of the matter. We dont need people like this involved in our league, particularly in an official role. I know the 2 clubs have had a good relationship for a number of years now & would be a shame if that was soured after this incident. Woody can you confirm or deny these facts? Maybe Harry can enlighten us to Romsey perspective.
well mr nicholls is the events dont get a rise in yours jeans then nothing will asfter all that has happend during this weeks games, dose anyonme have any futher info on the romsey saga?
not a good way to finish off the regular season!!!
so now matt and follow posters, now that the votes are in for the medals, can we have a top 5 odds board, to see where the top five stand?
for all 3 divs, maybe not giving out odds for the 18's, maybe just top prospects?
but both seniors and resies should be fine?
i under stand your a bit reluctant to give out odds incase you have to pay up big but it would be good to see how everyone rates people in the leauge?
good luck to all in the finals this year?
matt_nicholls
27 Aug 2007, 07:52
These are the prospective odds:
ELIMINATION FINALS
Seniors: Romsey $1.85 v Diggers Rest $1.90
Reserves: Romsey $1.95 v Riddell $1.80
Under 18: Macedon $1.45 v Sunbury Kangaroos $2.50
QUALIFYING FINALS
Seniors: Woodend-Hesket $1.55 v Sunbury Kangaroos $2.20
Reserves: Diggers Rest $1.85 v Sunbury Kangaroos $1.90
Under 18: Romsey $1.55 v Diggers Rest $2.20
BOWEN MEDAL
Daniel Bonnici $1.20
Justin Belleville (Bombers) $1.95
Matt Robertson (Kilmore) $3.50
Mark McInerney $10
Dave Cornish $12
Shaun Sims $15
Linton Kemp $20
Any unlisted player: $55
SENIOR PREMIERSHIP
Riddell $1.40
Woodend-Hesket $2.35
Sunbury Kangaroos $4.20
Romsey $12.50
Diggers Rest $20
RESERVES PREMIERSHIP
Woodend-Hesket $1.45
Diggers Rest $2.20
Sunbury Kangaroos $2.50
Riddell $7.50
Romsey $11
UNDER 18 PREMIERSHIP
Woodend-Hesket $1.25
Romsey $2.55
Diggers Rest $3.40
Macedon $5.50
Sunbury Kangaroos $10
I have only seen about five Under 18 games this year so its not fair for me to do a market on the Charlie Watson Medal. Same goes with the Scarborough. I think the top U18 prospects from what I have seen would be: Ben Shippard, Shane Bowen, John Baker (umps love flashy players), Danny Harrison, Chris Burkett, Rob Cini. I have only seen one Kangaroos game and they didn't score, haven't seen Riddell, Rockbank, Macedon or Diggers Rest either.
woody07
27 Aug 2007, 07:58
That's pretty close to the mark, from what i hear. If Romsey's taken action that's great to hear. You must have some good connections at Romsey FH18-good work!
woody07
27 Aug 2007, 08:01
ELIMINATION FINALS
QUALIFYING FINALS
BOWEN MEDAL
Daniel Bonnici $1.20
Mark McInerney $10
Dave Cornish $12
Shaun Sims $15
Linton Kemp $20
SENIOR PREMIERSHIP
Riddell $1.40
Woodend-Hesket $2.35
Sunbury Kangaroos $4.20
Romsey $12.50
Diggers Rest $20
RESERVES PREMIERSHIP
Woodend-Hesket $1.45
Diggers Rest $2.20
Sunbury Kangaroos $2.50
Riddell $7.50
Romsey $11
UNDER 18 PREMIERSHIP
Woodend-Hesket $1.25
Romsey $2.55
Diggers Rest $3.40
Macedon $5.50
Sunbury Kangaroos $10
I have only seen about five Under 18 games this year so its not fair for me to do a market on the Charlie Watson Medal. Same goes with the Scarborough. I think the top U18 prospects from what I have seen would be: Ben Shippard, Shane Bowen, John Baker (umps love flashy players), Danny Harrison, Chris Burkett, Rob Cini. I have only seen one Kangaroos game and they didn't score, haven't seen Riddell, Rockbank, Macedon or Diggers Rest either.
Many posters having a punt Matt?
Harry Wilson
27 Aug 2007, 12:21
I didn't see the incident as I was preparing for the senior match. I have heard a couple of conflicting stories, none of which I'm prepared to share here for the moment as I would prefer to get my facts straight before posting anything. I will revert back with further info when on hand. Harry's on the case:thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
27 Aug 2007, 12:25
Many posters having a punt Matt?
Few have done quite well so far, but I'm holding some stupid money on the Bowen Medal that will cover any winnings people have made. Someone plunged $100 my very generous $1.25 for Kilmore win on Saturday. That same person took $20 on Woodend-Hesket to win all three flags at 10-1 about 2 months ago.
Big Momma
27 Aug 2007, 12:49
Matt any chance of odds for 1-2-3 Bowen
Belville - Wheelahan - Bonnici?
matt_nicholls
27 Aug 2007, 12:53
Matt any chance of odds for 1-2-3 Bowen
Belville - Wheelahan - Bonnici?
In that order, I'd offer $11
If you were to box it, perhaps $3.50
Itsmyshow
27 Aug 2007, 12:55
RDFL Seniors – Football and Netball
Timetable for Finals Week 1
Saturday 1st September – Elimination Final at Woodend
Football
Under 18’s – 9:45am
Sunbury Kangaroos V Macedon
Reserves – 12:00pm
Romsey V Riddell
Seniors – 2:15pm
Romsey V Diggers Rest
Netball
B Grade – 11:00am
Sunbury Kangaroos V Kilmore
A Grade – 12:00pm
Macedon FC V Sunbury Kangaroos
Qualifying Final – Sunday 2nd September at Riddell
Diggers Rest V Romsey
Diggers Rest V Sunbury Kangaroos
Woodend Hesket V Sunbury Kangaroos
Netball
Romsey V Macedon FC
Riddell V Romsey
Itsmyshow
27 Aug 2007, 13:00
ELIMINATION FINALS
Rate my boys the biggest underdog of the round Matty?? Probably fair, Macedon have to be clear favorites.... HFF would agree... He was telling everyone that would listen that being at yesterday's finals was the closest any of the Kangaroos boys would get to winning a flag...
catters078
27 Aug 2007, 13:05
RDFL Seniors – Football and Netball
Timetable for Finals Week 1
Saturday 1st September – Elimination Final at Woodend
Football
Sunbury Kangaroos V Macedon
Romsey V Riddell
Romsey V Diggers Rest
Netball
Sunbury Kangaroos V Kilmore
Macedon FC V Sunbury Kangaroos
Qualifying Final – Sunday 2nd September at Riddell
Diggers Rest V Romsey
Diggers Rest V Sunbury Kangaroos
Woodend Hesket V Sunbury Kangaroos
Netball
Romsey V Macedon FC
Riddell V Romsey
if romsey had 5 times in and the kangas did as well would ther be any chance of each team play all grades together??
matt_nicholls
27 Aug 2007, 13:11
Rate my boys the biggest underdog of the round Matty?? Probably fair, Macedon have to be clear favorites.... HFF would agree... He was telling everyone that would listen that being at yesterday's finals was the closest any of the Kangaroos boys would get to winning a flag...
To be fair, the only time I saw the Kangas was at Woodend. And we all know HFF has some cards up his sleeve. But I'm sure you have a rabbit in your hat too. I'll have the car parked at Gilbert Gordon at 9am.
Itsmyshow
27 Aug 2007, 14:14
To be fair, the only time I saw the Kangas was at Woodend. And we all know HFF has some cards up his sleeve. But I'm sure you have a rabbit in your hat too. I'll have the car parked at Gilbert Gordon at 9am.
Thats a fair assessment, plus with Macedon getting James Wright, Joel Plowman and Al Collins back, who can only add skill, leadership and experience to the line up. They will be a very strong combination... Hard to beat... :thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
27 Aug 2007, 14:24
Thats a fair assessment, plus with Macedon getting James Wright, Joel Plowman and Al Collins back, who can only add skill, leadership and experience to the line up. They will be a very strong combination... Hard to beat... :thumbsu:
Stop playing yourselves down as underdogs, what is it about coaches and trying to do that?
You have your fair share of talent and to beat a fired up Riddell on Saturday shows you have what it takes.
After getting well beaten on the swampy Gilbert Gordon, I'm sure you won't want any rain this week. As for Macedon, perhaps they will be hoping for a downpour on Friday night?
Itsmyshow
27 Aug 2007, 14:33
Stop playing yourselves down as underdogs, what is it about coaches and trying to do that?
You have your fair share of talent and to beat a fired up Riddell on Saturday shows you have what it takes.
After getting well beaten on the swampy Gilbert Gordon, I'm sure you won't want any rain this week. As for Macedon, perhaps they will be hoping for a downpour on Friday night?
Not at all mate.. I am just humble coming up against the man who has arguably been the best under age coach of footballers in our league for the past 6 or so years. He has a knack of assembling very good sides, and I am looking forward to the challenge that faces us this week.... :thumbsu:
Itsmyshow
27 Aug 2007, 14:47
And you cant start on me anyways!!!!!!! Isn't it you that suggested we were the underdog??? :rolleyes:
matt_nicholls
27 Aug 2007, 14:53
And you cant start on me anyways!!!!!!! Isn't it you that suggested we were the underdog??? :rolleyes:
Yes but you're supposed to play up your chances.
As for HFF, I think you're pretty safe to say that he has been THE best under age coach in this area over the last five or six years. Porky has also been brilliant, but no match for HFF in my opinion.
Itsmyshow
27 Aug 2007, 15:15
Yes but you're supposed to play up your chances.
As for HFF, I think you're pretty safe to say that he has been THE best under age coach in this area over the last five or six years. Porky has also been brilliant, but no match for HFF in my opinion.
Agree totally... Hopefully he can be a little more humble about it than he was yesterday though... :thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
27 Aug 2007, 15:20
Agree totally... Hopefully he can be a little more humble about it than he was yesterday though... :thumbsu:
Was he on the bourbon? Hopefully the Hawks know you two blokes will be there, with Mongrel to come after the seniors. There may not be enough of the stuff in town.
Itsmyshow
27 Aug 2007, 15:45
Was he on the bourbon? Hopefully the Hawks know you two blokes will be there, with Mongrel to come after the seniors. There may not be enough of the stuff in town.
I am sure there may be a couple of drinks consumed after the game...
Congratulations to all sides making the finals. I think it will be a very interesting series at that. The only favourite would be Woodend under 18s at the moment undefeated. Woodend seniors just starting to peak at the right time. Can Riddell go to another level in the next few weeks?? IMS your side pushed Riddell all the way and that should give you confidence going into the finals after a disappointing loss last week with still Miskin to come in. Diggers would be most happy playing a final on a SATURDAY!! Can Romsey bounce back this week Harry ?? Are there any injury worries I dont think we'll find that out all hush hush with finals here. Most enjoyable 4 weeks coming up may the best teams win.
Harry Wilson
27 Aug 2007, 16:31
Congratulations to all sides making the finals. I think it will be a very interesting series at that. The only favourite would be Woodend under 18s at the moment undefeated. Woodend seniors just starting to peak at the right time. Can Riddell go to another level in the next few weeks?? IMS your side pushed Riddell all the way and that should give you confidence going into the finals after a disappointing loss last week with still Miskin to come in. Diggers would be most happy playing a final on a SATURDAY!! Can Romsey bounce back this week Harry ?? Are there any injury worries I dont think we'll find that out all hush hush with finals here. Most enjoyable 4 weeks coming up may the best teams win.
It will be a huge week in finals this week. I think, in my humble opinion, that Romsey will bounce back. Considering the Redbacks were missing Dave Keenan, probably our best defender this year, coming off half back, Brydan Morgan, probably our best mid-fielder and AJ Higgins, one of our best half forward flankers, we did pretty well against a full strength (?? could be wrong ??) Hawks outfit. Two points down at 3/4 time we ran out of legs as we had a couple of blokes step up again after playing reserves or u18's. We have had a couple of good wins against the Burra this year and we will be riding high on the back of a great team effort against Woodend. There are a few blokes that have hit some form in the last month or so for the Redbacks that will help them through. The Burra cannot and will not be taken lightly. They are always a danger at the pointy end of the season. I'm jumping out of my skin. I can't wait. I don;t care where we play, as long as it doesn't pour rain this week, it'll be a cracking game.:thumbsu:
Itsmyshow
27 Aug 2007, 17:06
What a weekend it shall be.. 6 great games of football, 4 great games of netball.. Highs and lows and all of the intensity of finals football, all capped off with a big Bowen Medal night on Monday night.. Cant wait.... :thumbsu:
petespies
27 Aug 2007, 19:11
What a weekend it shall be.. 6 great games of football, 4 great games of netball.. Highs and lows and all of the intensity of finals football, all capped off with a big Bowen Medal night on Monday night.. Cant wait.... :thumbsu:
just wondering if anyone thinks that the bowen results could have been leaked..?? or maybe its not so secret in the first place :eek:
Halffullonfence
27 Aug 2007, 19:12
HFF would agree... He was telling everyone that would listen that being at yesterday's finals was the closest any of the Kangaroos boys would get to winning a flag...
Ladies and Gentlemen ,Boys and Girls, we now know why the government is trailing in the polls their (spin doctor) is now in IMS camp or is it IMS himself ??
Is this the same spin doctor who made up the Macedon Gazzette a few years ago. Watch out Matt or you will also be quoted in a fictitious paper put in print and plastered all over the clubrooms.
Its GAME ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D:D
Halffullonfence
27 Aug 2007, 19:18
I thought the comment was we beat you with these guys in last time .:rolleyes:
Halffullonfence
27 Aug 2007, 19:25
I am sure there may be a couple of drinks consumed after the game...
The only true comment you have posted today:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Just finished reading all your posts today and finally got the 3 ticks (very clever but get your own rating system)
Itsmyshow
28 Aug 2007, 08:41
The only true comment you have posted today:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Just finished reading all your posts today and finally got the 3 ticks (very clever but get your own rating system)
:D Its not my 3 ticks, its my question to you HFF... Never doubt that... :thumbsu:
Itsmyshow
28 Aug 2007, 08:43
just wondering if anyone thinks that the bowen results could have been leaked..?? or maybe its not so secret in the first place :eek:
Hear this question every year... But no one tipped last years winner... :eek: Yet apparently everyone knew the results in advance.
Itsmyshow
28 Aug 2007, 09:10
I thought the comment was we beat you with these guys in last time .:rolleyes:
I would never make such an unjustified comment.... :eek:
Halffullonfence
28 Aug 2007, 10:06
I would never make such an unjustified comment.... :eek:
Selective amnesia at finals time how convenient.:confused:
Whens the Macedon Gazzette due out???
Itsmyshow
28 Aug 2007, 10:09
Selective amnesia at finals time how convenient.:confused:
Whens the Macedon Gazzette due out???
First edition about what you said last week due out tonight I think, and your preview of the game is due on Saturday morning I believe :p
Hear this question every year... But no one tipped last years winner... :eek: Yet apparently everyone knew the results in advance.
Give us the run down from last night fellas, who won what, team of the year, rookie etc etc???
Halffullonfence
28 Aug 2007, 10:11
First edition about what you said last week due out tonight I think, and your preview of the game is due on Saturday morning I believe :p
Save me a copy we don't get the Macedon Gazzette in Macedon.
matt_nicholls
28 Aug 2007, 10:13
Give us the run down from last night fellas, who won what, team of the year, rookie etc etc???
It's next Monday night Doon. Don't worry, Matt Nicholls has it covered :D
Also everyone should get a copy of The Free Press this week. It has all your R18 details, finals previews, Bowen Medal preview, Ryan Medal preview, My Team of the Year, The Rookie of the Year rundown and plenty more! It will be circulated at Bowen Medal night, but for those of you who aren't going or can't wait that long, you can get copies in Riddells Creek, Romsey, Lancefield, Wallan, Monegeetta, Darraweit Guim and Kilmore.
Itsmyshow
28 Aug 2007, 10:18
Save me a copy we don't get the Macedon Gazzette in Macedon.
Have to see what I can do for you there... Its a popular publication around Kangaroo land...
It's next Monday night Doon. Don't worry, Matt Nicholls has it covered :D
Also everyone should get a copy of The Free Press this week. It has all your R18 details, finals previews, Bowen Medal preview, Ryan Medal preview, My Team of the Year, The Rookie of the Year rundown and plenty more! It will be circulated at Bowen Medal night, but for those of you who aren't going or can't wait that long, you can get copies in Riddells Creek, Romsey, Lancefield, Wallan, Monegeetta, Darraweit Guim and Kilmore.
Geez I hope the mighty Broady Roos gets some space, first time ever all 7 teams will contest finals, not to mention our B & F count and the big clash with Heathcote on Sunday :D
matt_nicholls
28 Aug 2007, 10:28
Geez I hope the mighty Broady Roos gets some space, first time ever all 7 teams will contest finals, not to mention our B & F count and the big clash with Heathcote on Sunday :D
All the Bowen Medal night stuff is a full-out feature, which is paid for by advertising. And you already know we didn't have a lot of space this week champ, don't rock the boat :cool:
I promise the Broady game will be back page this week and we'll do a proper story on Wearny, a worthy winner. It'll be a huge day at Toolleen
Harry Wilson
28 Aug 2007, 10:36
Doona, where is this game being played? I could be chance to get down there to see what should be a cracking game.
Jose is value and it does not look like he is in the market. From results, he has had a great second half to the year. Will the team of the year heavily be filled with the boys from Riddel. It will no doubt feature at least a quarter of the players . Any thoughts?
matt_nicholls
28 Aug 2007, 10:42
Doona, where is this game being played? I could be chance to get down there to see what should be a cracking game.
It's at Toolleen (Mount Pleasant).
Harry if you're interested we could get a car-load up there. (Me, you, Jimmy etc).
Itsmyshow
28 Aug 2007, 10:43
Itsmyteamoftheyear
B - Janner (DR), Kairns (Rom), Hardwick (WH)
HB - Kemp (K), J.Allen(Rid), M.Robertson (Kil)
C - McClellan (Rom), M.McInerney (SK), L.McInerney (SK)
HF - Morgan (Rom), Walker (RB), Wheelahan (MC)
F - M.Allen (Rid), Burlak (Rom), Cornish (Kil)
R - S.James (SK), J.Bellville (Rid), Bonnici (SK)
I - Choate (LF), Sipthorp (WH), Connellan (Rom), Sims (DR)
Coach - D.Rowsell (Riddell)
Captain - J.Allen (Riddell)
V/Captain - S.Choate (Lancefield)
matt_nicholls
28 Aug 2007, 10:47
Jose is value and it does not look like he is in the market. From results, he has had a great second half to the year. Will the team of the year heavily be filled with the boys from Riddel. It will no doubt feature at least a quarter of the players . Any thoughts?
My mail suggests the team will have four Riddell players.
Riddell - 4
Kilmore - 4
Sunbury Kangaroos - 4
Diggers Rest - 3
Woodend/Hesket - 2
Lancefield - 1
Rockbank - 1
Melton Central - 1
Romsey - 1
Macedon - 1
matt_nicholls
28 Aug 2007, 10:50
Itsmyteamoftheyear
I - Choate (LF), Sipthorpe (WH), Connellan (Rom), Sims (DR)
A nice team there IMS. But five players you mentioned won't be getting a run. Romsey coaches didn't turn up to the meeting apparantly, so Kairns is the only one that got a run from the Redbacks. Hardwick didn't make it, but was stiff, and my sources say Mick Allen didn't get named on the ground. Instead Jeremy Jose was named in a forward pocket!!
NotDoneYet
28 Aug 2007, 10:53
Congratulation to J.Jose taking out Diggers Rest best and fairest on Sunday. Would have to be very close to making the team of the year somewhere
Itsmyshow
28 Aug 2007, 10:58
A nice team there IMS. But five players you mentioned won't be getting a run. Romsey coaches didn't turn up to the meeting apparantly, so Kairns is the only one that got a run from the Redbacks. Hardwick didn't make it, but was stiff, and my sources say Mick Allen didn't get named on the ground. Instead Jeremy Jose was named in a forward pocket!!
Yep, I know... But this isn't the team that was picked by the coaches, it is my team... :D Some of our coaches may have suffered a little from Brain Freeze at the Clarkefield pub on that Wednesday night.... :eek:
Harry Wilson
28 Aug 2007, 10:59
A Romsey perspective on this, as I have been advised, because I didn't see the incident, was after the final siren had gone, all players and coaches were shaking hands. One particular Hawks player wouldn't shake the hand of an official. He was then refered to as a "weak ......" such and such. He was then alleged to have charged at the official, who turned and used his body to stop the player. The player then hit the ground. All of the other players then rushed over (which we would all do if we found ourselves in that situation), a scuffle broke out, a relation to a senior Hawks footballer was then alleged to have entered the field to challenge a Romsey player and he was promptly convinced by that said player, that he had indeed made the wrong decision.
As I understand it, the club is dealing with the incident. I don't know the particular details about how it is being dealt with. Hope that sheds some light.
Digger52
28 Aug 2007, 11:03
Congratulation to J.Jose taking out Diggers Rest best and fairest on Sunday. Would have to be very close to making the team of the year somewhere
Jeremy actually polled 33 votes in the last 6 rounds with the Burras,(and did not play last round).
Also congratulations to Mick Sheahan who took out Ressies B&F by 3 votes from my tip for League Ressies medal B.Allan.
Dylan Hannnan won the18s B&F (not bad considering he played 6 senior games early in the season.
Anyone else want to let us know there club B&Fs ,oir is it too early.
Itsmyshow
28 Aug 2007, 11:04
By the way, just wanted to add, that you could easily have put in Jose or Stacey in the place of Connellan. Dowling, Johnstone from Woodend very stiff to miss out, sure everyone would have differing opinions.. Thats fine, you cant fit everyone in. The other would be Brayden Allen from Riddell, a bit stiff to miss out too... :thumbsu:
matt_nicholls
28 Aug 2007, 11:05
Yep, I know... But this isn't the team that was picked by the coaches, it is my team... :D Some of our coaches may have suffered a little from Brain Freeze at the Clarkefield pub on that Wednesday night.... :eek:
Yeah I don't know what they were doing. They seemed to get most of the players right but had them in ridiculous postions.
Jason Allen at FB, Salter at CHB, Walker in a BP, Jose in a FP, Allen on INT.
Itsmyshow
28 Aug 2007, 11:05
Jeremy actually polled 33 votes in the last 6 rounds with the Burras,(and did not play last round).
Also congratulations to Mick Sheahan who took out Ressies B&F by 3 votes from my tip for League Ressies medal B.Allan.
Dylan Hannnan won the18s B&F (not bad considering he played 6 senior games early in the season.
Anyone else want to let us know there club B&Fs ,oir is it too early.
Bit early for us, not until October.. :thumbsu:
NotDoneYet
28 Aug 2007, 11:09
My mail suggests the team will have four Riddell players.
Riddell - 4
Kilmore - 4
Sunbury Kangaroos - 4
Diggers Rest - 3
Woodend/Hesket - 2
Lancefield - 1
Rockbank - 1
Melton Central - 1
Romsey - 1
Macedon - 1
Surely Kilmore can't have 4 players in the team of the year and Woodend only 2
ELIMINATION FINALS
QUALIFYING FINALS
BOWEN MEDAL
Daniel Bonnici $1.20
Mark McInerney $10
Dave Cornish $12
Shaun Sims $15
Linton Kemp $20
SENIOR PREMIERSHIP
Riddell $1.40
Woodend-Hesket $2.35
Sunbury Kangaroos $4.20
Romsey $12.50
Diggers Rest $20
RESERVES PREMIERSHIP
Woodend-Hesket $1.45
Diggers Rest $2.20
Sunbury Kangaroos $2.50
Riddell $7.50
Romsey $11
UNDER 18 PREMIERSHIP
Woodend-Hesket $1.25
Romsey $2.55
Diggers Rest $3.40
Macedon $5.50
Sunbury Kangaroos $10
hey matt awesome odds for the results of everything going on in the leauge, seens how youdidnt get to many of the 2's games dose anyone else out in there have an idea of what the leader board might look like?
maybe not with odds or votes?
Toolleen turn right at the pub :thumbsu:
Halffullonfence
28 Aug 2007, 11:26
Itsmyteamoftheyear
Typical not one of our guys !!!!!!!:thumbsd::thumbsd:
More ammo.
Itsmyshow
28 Aug 2007, 11:30
Typical not one of our guys !!!!!!!:thumbsd::thumbsd:
More ammo.
Im sure I had one in there... Nope, guess not.. I can try an 18's side, I am sure ten of your boys would get in...
Itsmyshow
28 Aug 2007, 11:35
But only after you give me yours, in case I forgot someone :D
kangas1999
28 Aug 2007, 11:40
Would rather have seen Underwood win it, played just about every game and didn't see him beaten, even when Diggers were struggling in the first half of the year he held the backline together when Jeremy wasn't around! Granted Jose had a stellar second half of the season, but for mine Underwood was better value over the year. Cant help but think these awards and teams of the year are picked more on reputation rather than performance at times. Did Underwood even finish in the Top 3??
Harry Wilson
28 Aug 2007, 12:01
Itsmyteamoftheyear
Coldn't find a spot for Harry? Dissapointing, and a pitty really, I was looking at a change next year and I don't mind the Blue and White stripes:(
Itsmyshow
28 Aug 2007, 12:05
Coldn't find a spot for Harry? Dissapointing, and a pitty really, I was looking at a change next year and I don't mind the Blue and White stripes:(
See mate, the move might be a good idea, due to my obvious bias that I am continually accused of, you would slot straight into this lineup.. If you were a Kangaroo... ;)
Itsmyshow
28 Aug 2007, 12:10
My Under 18's team of the year.
B - Dettman (M), Perks (SK), Baker (LF)
HB - Romeril (Rom), Sheppard (WH), Wright (M)
C - D.Hannan (DR), Harrison (Rom), Fleming (Rid)
HF - Shippard (WH), Boyle (DR), Collins (M)
F - Newton (SK), Baker (Rom), Hepburn (WH)
R - Crimmins (DR), Sullivan (Rom), Bowen (WH)
I - Robinson (DR), Story (M), T.Gleeson (DR), Watson (SK), Cerminara (WH), S.Formosa (M)
It was a wild crack at a team, thought I did ok, but sure I have forgotten one or two or ten... :D