View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62

matt_nicholls
31 Aug 2007, 10:03
hey mr nicholls, u seem to have a bit of pull in the leauge, just wondering if you can organise for the bowen (if it hasnt already) the sheets that have the round by round votes on them for all 3 divs?
it was done a few years ago and it was good because guys who couldnt go, who got votes could see which game that got the votes in. last year there was only a total votes sheet.
i know that players always remember their good games and would like to see if they were worthy of the umpires votes for that day or if they missed out.

plus its a good thing to chat about while your running the warm up laps to have a laugh with your mates.
maybe if you can ask the "big boss" couldnt to hard i would think.................... after all you proclaim to be the number 1 journo!!!!

plus heard from a mate that the WH ground is in good nick, bring both moulded and grasscats .................yes i did say grasscats. with the recent spring like weather that ground has apparantly dried up the all the water/mud and sloush that was there a couple of weeks ago, and has got a quite bit had.

I'll see how I go BOG. I don't think it will be too much of a problem though.

Itsmyshow
31 Aug 2007, 10:14
hey mr nicholls, u seem to have a bit of pull in the leauge, just wondering if you can organise for the bowen (if it hasnt already) the sheets that have the round by round votes on them for all 3 divs?
it was done a few years ago and it was good because guys who couldnt go, who got votes could see which game that got the votes in. last year there was only a total votes sheet.
i know that players always remember their good games and would like to see if they were worthy of the umpires votes for that day or if they missed out.

plus its a good thing to chat about while your running the warm up laps to have a laugh with your mates.
maybe if you can ask the "big boss" couldnt to hard i would think.................... after all you proclaim to be the number 1 journo!!!!

plus heard from a mate that the WH ground is in good nick, bring both moulded and grasscats .................yes i did say grasscats. with the recent spring like weather that ground has apparantly dried up the all the water/mud and sloush that was there a couple of weeks ago, and has got a quite bit had.

And just a few potholes that should hopefully be ironed out today... :thumbsu:

BrownDog2
31 Aug 2007, 11:10
Ballarat Courier

No exodus allowed: BFL

A BOLD bid to grab up to half the Ballarat Football League's clubs by a rival league will be thwarted, BFL chief executive Rod Ward said yesterday.

Ward said the RegionalOne BFL would not allow its competition to be "decimated" by advances to its member clubs by the Riddell District Football League.

The RDFL has made a play to entice Bacchus Marsh, Darley, Melton, Melton South and Sunbury into the top division of a two-tier competition, after discussing the plan with the Sunbury Lions.

Ward acknowledged the Riddell District league had formally advised the BFL of its plans. He said he had an email from AFL Victoria chief executive Peter Schwab, though, saying that AFL Victoria had not been approached by the RDFL yet.

"The clubs are free to engage in discussions with any league they wish but there is a process to be followed in such matters," Ward said.

"I can assure that whilst the Ballarat Football League would consider individual applications for a clearance on a case-by-case basis, the league would not allow our healthy and vibrant league to be decimated by allowing the clearance of a multiple number of clubs."

Apart from Sunbury, which is considering a move to the RDFL or the Essendon and District Football League as part of a major review, none of the listed clubs said they had received a formal approach from the Riddell league.

Of the BFL's other "eastern bloc" clubs, Bacchus Marsh was the least receptive to a move, while Melton South said it would look at any proposal but would be unlikely to leave the BFL unless there was an exodus of its neighbours to the RDFL.

"We haven't received anything from the Riddell League yet. We haven't had a second thought because we're simply not interested," Bacchus Marsh president John Connors said yesterday. "We have a committee meeting on

Wednesday and if there has been any correspondence it will be presented then but, as far as I'm concerned, we're a Ballarat Football League club and we're pretty happy about how we're being treated by the league."

Darley vice president Shayne Ward admitted the RDFL plan had not been discussed by the club's committee, while Melton president Michael Williams said the club would not comment until it had received a proposal from the
RDFL.

Melton South vice president Brendan Morrissy said a lot would have to change before the Panthers would consider a shift back to the Riddell league.

"It would be a backward step for the club at the moment," Morrissy said.

"At present it is a lot lower level as a league and we couldn't drop back into that league."

"Unless the rest of them (Darley, Melton, Sunbury) went across we wouldn't go across. We want to keep our rivalries and derbies, and we wouldn't want to split that up."

Harry Wilson
31 Aug 2007, 13:13
Harry's Happenings - The Finals Edition

1st Elimination Final

Romsey v Diggers Rest

There has been a healthy rivalry between these two clubs since the finals series of 2005. In the first final Diggers gave the Redbacks an 8 goal flogging at Kilmore. In the Preliminary final 2 weeks later at Macedon, the Redbacks returned the favour and then some, winning by around 12 goals. These results go to show how finals footy can change on a week to week basis.

This weekend the Redbacks and the Burra will do battle on the highly controversial Gilbert Gordon Oval, Woodend. With a few drops of rain about the district the ground has the capability of turning into a bog, however from all reports the ground has firmed up and some one has even suggested, and as crazy as it sounds, players could wear grass cats!!!:eek:

The key to this match will be the onballers. The battle between Connellan and Jose alone, will be worth the admission price. Then you have the battle between Sims and McLellan, Heritage and Morgan etc.... The fact that the game is played at Woodend will help the Burra as their ground is very similar in size, it's short and wide across the middle. The key for the Redbacks is getting first hands on the footy in the middle and feeding it to their running players in Rob Keenan and Harrison. These two fleet footed young guys are capable of decimating opposition with their run, carry and delivery of the footy. Burlak up forward has been a shining light for the Redbacks in the second half of the season and is arguably the inform forward of the league. Damian Janner will have his hands full this week and while he has been rock solid all year, he'll need to really dig deep and find a little extra this week. Especially if the ball is delivered into the forward line at a rate of knots.

Harry's Tip: Romsey by 22 points in a thriller.

Qualifying Final

Woodend Hesket v Sunbury Kangaroos

These two side have had a couple of ripper clashes this year, with one win a piece. The first clash saw the Roos home by 13 points, and the second saw the Hawks get home by 17 points in a very low scoring affair.

This game will also be a battle of the mid-field. Sipthorpe will have his hands full this week with both McInerny boys, Bonnici and Helmers all running through the middle. Sippy will have the support of Podbury after he was cleared of any wrong doing by the tribunal this week. Podbury is a genuine play maker and often gets first hands on the footy from Matt Stacey. He then dodges and weaves to give off quick hand balls to set up Sipthorpe and other running players.

With Dowling being held to 1 goal last week I dare say he will be fired up to turn his form around, and I would expect him to kick a bag. Matt Stacey will have a massive task ahead of him this week having to tackle both Steve James and Jamie Cuffe. Steve James was named as the starting ruckman in the RDFL team of the year and any body who knows Cuffe, knows how good he is. Remember, even though he is older, he hasn't got any shorter nor has he lost any footy smarts.

I expect this game could go down to the wire, but given the game is played on the big, open Riddell ground, it will be the team with the fittest legs that will take home the chocolates.

Harry's Tip: Woodend by 29 points.

Good luck all the guys and girls pulling them on this weekend. FINALS IS HERE!!:thumbsu::thumbsu: and Harry's EXCITED:D:D:D

mockery
31 Aug 2007, 13:44
That time of the year again.......the reason you play footy!!! Good luck to all teams playing.

Romsey V Diggers - Two words.......Brydan Morgan. This bloke lives for September. In 04' he tore apart Diggers @ Gilbert Gordon in the 1st Semi, in '05 he tore apart Centrals @ Gilbert Gordon in the 1st Semi, and in '06 he kicked half a dozen against the kangas in the elimination @ Riddell on one leg when the Redbacks were outplayed after quarter time. Expect the same on Saturday. Romsey by 19 points.

Woodend V Sunbury - After the Kangas towelled Romsey in the last 3 quarters of last years elimination final, i genuinely believed they had the team to go on and win it. Even though it didn't eventuate, I have a similar feeling this year. If the Roos can get over the Hawks on Sunday, they can really challenge Riddell for the Holy Grail. Helmers to show some vintage form reminiscent of his Macedon days in the late 90's. Sunbury by 7 points.

See you up there on Saturday Harry. GO REDBACKS.

woody07
31 Aug 2007, 14:01

1st Elimination Final

Romsey v Diggers Rest

There has been a healthy rivalry between these two clubs since the finals series of 2005. In the first final Diggers gave the Redbacks an 8 goal flogging at Kilmore. In the Preliminary final 2 weeks later at Macedon, the Redbacks returned the favour and then some, winning by around 12 goals. These results go to show how finals footy can change on a week to week basis.

This weekend the Redbacks and the Burra will do battle on the highly controversial Gilbert Gordon Oval, Woodend. With a few drops of rain about the district the ground has the capability of turning into a bog, however from all reports the ground has firmed up and some one has even suggested, and as crazy as it sounds, players could wear grass cats!!!:eek:

The key to this match will be the onballers. The battle between Connellan and Jose alone, will be worth the admission price. Then you have the battle between Sims and McLellan, Heritage and Morgan etc.... The fact that the game is played at Woodend will help the Burra as their ground is very similar in size, it's short and wide across the middle. The key for the Redbacks is getting first hands on the footy in the middle and feeding it to their running players in Rob Keenan and Harrison. These two fleet footed young guys are capable of decimating opposition with their run, carry and delivery of the footy. Burlak up forward has been a shining light for the Redbacks in the second half of the season and is arguably the inform forward of the league. Damian Janner will have his hands full this week and while he has been rock solid all year, he'll need to really dig deep and find a little extra this week. Especially if the ball is delivered into the forward line at a rate of knots.

Qualifying Final

These two side have had a couple of ripper clashes this year, with one win a piece. The first clash saw the Roos home by 13 points, and the second saw the Hawks get home by 17 points in a very low scoring affair.

This game will also be a battle of the mid-field. Sipthorpe will have his hands full this week with both McInerny boys, Bonnici and Helmers all running through the middle. Sippy will have the support of Podbury after he was cleared of any wrong doing by the tribunal this week. Podbury is a genuine play maker and often gets first hands on the footy from Matt Stacey. He then dodges and weaves to give off quick hand balls to set up Sipthorpe and other running players.

With Dowling being held to 1 goal last week I dare say he will be fired up to turn his form around, and I would expect him to kick a bag. Matt Stacey will have a massive task ahead of him this week having to tackle both Steve James and Jamie Cuffe. Steve James was named as the starting ruckman in the RDFL team of the year and any body who knows Cuffe, knows how good he is. Remember, even though he is older, he hasn't got any shorter nor has he lost any footy smarts.

I expect this game could go down to the wire, but given the game is played on the big, open Riddell ground, it will be the team with the fittest legs that will take home the chocolates.

Good luck all the guys and girls pulling them on this weekend. FINALS IS HERE!!:thumbsu::thumbsu: and Harry's EXCITED:D:D:D

Harry, 22 points is hardly a thriller.

Animosity
31 Aug 2007, 14:34
Harry's EXCITED:D:D:D

Bold choice of words considering uncle touchy has began posting again lol

Harry Wilson
31 Aug 2007, 14:40
Harry, 22 points is hardly a thriller.

I expect they'll kick away in the last 5 mins.;)

Harry Wilson
31 Aug 2007, 14:41
Bold choice of words considering uncle touchy has began posting again lol

Perhaps I should have said I'm looking forward to the games this weekend:D

blues12
31 Aug 2007, 14:53
I expect they'll kick away in the last 5 mins.;)

Is that the same as a 29 point win that could go down to the wire? :D

footyhead18
31 Aug 2007, 16:08
i think the only fairest system that i have heard is the one collingwood use and that gissy uses, its the copeland trophy method, it is really good and dosent restric the 6-8 best player, as we all know there are games that a team plays that have more than 5 good players, so its incrediably hard to fit 8 players into 5 votes.
the system( as i know of) works like this:

the coach has the entire list of who played. he then goses through the list and awards votes to players who he thinks deserves them, this means that up to 22 players can all recieve votes if they are worthy of them, unlike being resrticted to only 5 votes/ 5 players, i was told that the year Kangaroo Flat beat Gissy that only 2 players recieved votes from mguane(sorry about spelling) in that game. players can stil be awarded the 5 votes but it then can have like 8 players on 2, 6 on 1 ect.

i think that this is one of if not the best way to sort out who REALLY is the best and fairest player in your club, extremely fair

What do you guys think?
did i explain myself and the system so that you all understand it?

Sounds like agreat system BOG. I have issues with the way b&f votes are distributed each week and thus who receives votes. For such an important award i dont think the committee OR coaches OR whoever it is that gives out vote cards think enough about who receives the cards. I have never had anytime for mcguane but i think this is best system ive heard of. Im guessing the match committee get together to award the votes.

footyhead18
31 Aug 2007, 16:12

1st Elimination Final

Romsey v Diggers Rest

Qualifying Final

Expect the hawks to win comfortably (over 39.5) and Diggers in a tight one (under 39.5). Believe the hawks will go all the way & Roos dont perform too well in pressure games. Diggers & Romsey making up numbers really as they are both fair way off top 2 but this should be a classic match on a beautiful surface at Woodend (drove by today). Good grass cover & soft enough underfoot (dont bother with grasscats).

Harry Wilson
31 Aug 2007, 16:37
Is that the same as a 29 point win that could go down to the wire? :D

I had stated that it could go down to the wire, not will. It has the potential. C'mon guys, is this pick on Harry day? :(;)

OMNIPOTENT_1
31 Aug 2007, 17:17
Tips for this week end.

Diggers - Just.

Woodend - Just.

Should I wear my lucky shirt you so admired oh Mighty 1 ?

matt_nicholls
1 Sep 2007, 18:52
Today's results (sorry for not getting exact margins)

U18s - Macedon d Sunbury Kangaroos by about 20 points. Cats controlled play for much of the day but the Roos made a late charge and got within 11 points in the final term.

Ressies - Riddell kicked out to an early lead, and despite a spirited charge by Romsey to fight back, were too good, winning by about 25-30 points I think.

Seniors - Even first half with Heritage playing exceptionally well. Connellan BOG by a mile, killing Jose in the ruck. Romsey put foot down in second half with Moore dominating Heritage to win by around 45 points. Justin McGregor and Cam Dawson were brilliant for the Redbacks. Ruane was pretty handy for Diggers but their lack of marking forwards let them down again. Sims was okay, Ben John for Romsey was brilliant and won Romsey the game in the third term. Morgan played pretty well, and Burlak was okay too. But Connellan was just sensational

4thburra
1 Sep 2007, 21:14
d/r - 40
rom - 88
48 points.

MustonMagic17
1 Sep 2007, 21:45
so diggers out and romsey thru?

DarwinRoo
2 Sep 2007, 00:11
Great post Blues12, the Kangas have certainly come a long way since the old Rovers days. Financially sound now too. Just the senior cup the missing ingredient now, which I'm sure will come in the next few years.

They were financially sound when my father was President. He made that club on-field and off-field and then got stabbed square in the back.

Ding_Dong
2 Sep 2007, 00:47
They were financially sound when my father was President. He made that club on-field and off-field and then got stabbed square in the back.

Ouch

blues12
2 Sep 2007, 10:36

Yes they were, i think matt was more meaning that a number of years back they were in debt, now back on track. A lot of clubs go through that, unfortunately your dad was on the end of it. Club has changed alot now, and he was voted president of the decade from his era.

blues12
2 Sep 2007, 10:42
Big games of football today, the winners will go on to play Riddell, Woodend and Woodend in the 18s, the losers to play Romsey, Riddell and Macedon in the 18s.
Well done to the Roo girls wins in both A and B grade netball yesterday. Doing your club proud.

Well done to all the winners yesterday, and good luck to all today.
Go Roos!!!

matt_nicholls
2 Sep 2007, 17:45
TODAY'S RESULTS

Diggers Rest beat Romsey pretty well in the U18s, huge fight apparantely.

Kangas beat the Burra by about 16 points in the magoos.

Sunbury Kangaroos defeated Woodend-Hesket by four points in the seniors, and now play Riddell for a spot in the granny at Romsey on Saturday.

I was at Toolleen (Mt Pleasant) where Broadford got an old fashioned football lesson from Heathcote. The Saints are coming. Former Romsey boys Dan Carroll and Al Meldrum were extremely serviceable, but not in the best. Matty Waters was simply sensation.

matt_nicholls
2 Sep 2007, 18:31
Some massive clashes next weekend fellas, with the finals to be at Romsey on Saturday and Kilmore on Sunday.
Here is the prospective betting market for you:

FIRST SEMI FINALS
Seniors: Woodend-Hesket $1.40 v Romsey $2.10
Reserves: Diggers Rest $1.35 v Riddell $2.20
Under 18: Romsey $1.60 v Macedon $1.90
SECOND SEMI FINALS
Seniors: Riddell $1.20 v Sunbury Kangaroos $2.50
Reserves: Woodend-Hesket $1.25 v Sunbury Kangaroos $2.30
Under 18: Woodend-Hesket $1.25 v Diggers Rest $2.30
BOWEN MEDAL
Daniel Bonnici (Kangaroos) $1.40
Justin Belleville (Bombers) $1.85
Matt Robertson (Blues) $7.50
Jeremy Jose (Burra) $15
Mark McInerney (Kangaroos) $15
Dave Cornish (Blues) $15
Shaun Sims (Burra) $15
Aaron Christiansen (Cats) $25
Daniel Sipthorp (Hawks) $25
Adam Johnstone (Hawks) $25
Brydan Morgan (Redbacks) $25
Simon Choate (Tigers) $35
Brian Wheelahan (Centrals) $35
Matt Walker (Rams) $35
Any unlisted player: $101
SENIOR PREMIERSHIP
Riddell $1.40
Sunbury Kangaroos $2.70
Woodend-Hesket $3.20
Romsey $10
RESERVES PREMIERSHIP
Woodend-Hesket $1.45
Sunbury Kangaroos $2.50
Diggers Rest $2.90
Riddell $5.50
UNDER 18 PREMIERSHIP
Woodend-Hesket $1.25
Diggers Rest $2.80
Romsey $5.50
Macedon $6.00
SENIOR GRAND FINAL QUINELLA
Riddell - Woodend-Hesket $1.75
Riddell - Sunbury Kangaroos $1.65
Riddell - Romsey $7.50
Woodend-Hesket - Sunbury Kangaroos $11
Sunbury Kangaroos - Romsey $15

Blueboy16
2 Sep 2007, 19:38
Well done to the Kanga's today. Awesome effort by all players.

Uncle_Touchy
3 Sep 2007, 08:25
who happened to be lucky,or unlucky enough to get front row tickets to the brawl yesterday?uncle was on the scene and he has his own thoughts about it.id like to hear other thoughts about it.
also can anyone comfirm how many players were sent off in that game?
it would have to be a record SURELY.

Itsmyshow
3 Sep 2007, 08:28
It was an ugly incident that I think all of us on here should leave well and truly enough alone and let the league deal with all of the ramafications... It was not good for football...

A few sent off though.

blues12
3 Sep 2007, 09:21
Less than 11 Hours to go until the big night is to begin. Some clubs have a big group coming along, the Roos will have about 30 while i believe Kilmore will be the party group with about 36 going along.
How many do other clubs have? This will be a very big and exciting night.

Harry Wilson
3 Sep 2007, 09:33
Less than 11 Hours to go until the big night is to begin. Some clubs have a big group coming along, the Roos will have about 30 while i believe Kilmore will be the party group with about 36 going along.
How many do other clubs have? This will be a very big and exciting night.

Romsey have 40 attending tonight. Harry will be a late withdrawel with family commitments:(.

On a brighter note, great win by the Redbacks on a great day at Woodend. The Burra were very competitive in the first half and then the Redbacks turned it on. They started to run, carry and deliver the ball which saw the Redbacks out to a 48 point win. Stand outs for Romsey were Connellan, who slaughtered Jose in the ruck all day, James Moore, who shut down Heritage in the second half and Ben John, who came right into the game with run and carry in the second half also. Looks like another big clash the Sunday at Kilmore when the Redbacks take on the Hawks for the second time in two weeks.

Itsmyshow
3 Sep 2007, 10:15
The incident in the early game yesterday is under investigation with the league, could I ask everyone to refrain from commenting on the incident and let the league follow up and complete the investigation without prejudice... All posts on the topic will be deleted and the person given an infraction.

Thanks...

B.O.G
3 Sep 2007, 11:40
The incident in the early game yesterday is under investigation with the league, could I ask everyone to refrain from commenting on the incident and let the league follow up and complete the investigation without prejudice... All posts on the topic will be deleted and the person given an infraction.

Thanks...

i understand the reason ehy you wantpplto stop talking about it, but would the tribunail peoplereally takeinto account what is said on here?
i wouldnt think that the tribunialpeople would be influenced by outside information?

hey what time dose tonights big night start?????

footy mad 2
3 Sep 2007, 12:08
Hey ims
we did just finish a discussion about another episode that happened that also could have had an iquiry. there was no sensoring of that. as long as people dont beat it up and only report facts I believe it should be fair game.

woody07
3 Sep 2007, 12:14
Well done to the Kanga's today. Awesome effort by all players.

Congrats. Roo boys good win. Cant let a side get away to start like that against the wind and expect to win. our side was asleep in the first quarter. I can assure you that wont happen again! Great fight back in the third term to turn the game on its head and make a game of it-not many teams capable of doing that in the league. Expect a more focused performance from the Hawks this week! Full credit to the Roos.

Itsmyshow
3 Sep 2007, 12:36
Hey ims
we did just finish a discussion about another episode that happened that also could have had an iquiry. there was no sensoring of that. as long as people dont beat it up and only report facts I believe it should be fair game.

I think I made it pretty clear... There will be no reporting of the incident...

matt_nicholls
3 Sep 2007, 12:39
I think I made it pretty clear... There will be no reporting of the incident...

Looks like you'll have to get Wednesday's Free Press for the story. But I'm with IMS on this one. No need to report about the incident on these pages. Can ruin people's reputations, even if they're found not guilty.

Itsmyshow
3 Sep 2007, 12:49
Tonight starts at 7....

Well done to both sides yesterday, a highly entertaining game of football.. :thumbsu:

Trueblueroo
3 Sep 2007, 13:08
One thing i noticed over the weekend, was how well both grounds were presented from the state they were in a few weeks ago. Big credit to both clubs for the work that has been put in.....

Harry Wilson
3 Sep 2007, 13:18
One thing i noticed over the weekend, was how well both grounds were presented from the state they were in a few weeks ago. Big credit to both clubs for the work that has been put in.....

Strongly agree TBR. Woodend's ground was in great knick on Saturday and Riddell's looked pretty good yesterday. Just wait until you guys feast your eyes on the Redbacks oval!!! It's bloody amazing!! Best ground in the league, there I've said it!!! Not the best facilities, but definately the best ground. Going to be another massive week in the RDFL finals series, looking forward to it. :thumbsu:

Trueblueroo
3 Sep 2007, 13:26
Strongly agree TBR. Woodend's ground was in great knick on Saturday and Riddell's looked pretty good yesterday. Just wait until you guys feast your eyes on the Redbacks oval!!! It's bloody amazing!! Best ground in the league, there I've said it!!! Not the best facilities, but definately the best ground. Going to be another massive week in the RDFL finals series, looking forward to it. :thumbsu:

Reading back through your post 'Willo' and noticed you will be absent tonight. Was wondering if this was a Jason Akermanis/2006 Brownlow like situation with yourself and if that was the case, sure we would have room for you on ours?:D

matt_nicholls
3 Sep 2007, 13:38
Reading back through your post 'Willo' and noticed you will be absent tonight. Was wondering if this was a Jason Akermanis/2006 Brownlow like situation with yourself and if that was the case, sure we would have room for you on ours?:D

The winner of the Bowen is invited and if Harry wins it I'll happy drop my pants and accept his medal and do the acceptance speech. Wilson is a good player but has only been in "Bowen form" for the past five-six weeks.

catters078
3 Sep 2007, 13:54
a double post on harrys form matt...geez that would have to be considered a double insult.. dont wanna fire harry up

Ding_Dong
3 Sep 2007, 13:58

Yes the the club's put on a good turn....but a fewthought that the Riddell Netball commitee would have given the court a good sweep before the game's. They were very dusty which in turn made them very slippery.:rolleyes:

matt_nicholls
3 Sep 2007, 14:06
a double post on harrys form matt...geez that would have to be considered a double insult.. dont wanna fire harry up

It was a glitch, but my point was that the league invites the Bowen Medal winner, so Harry won't win it. There won't be an Aka situation.

BrownDog2
3 Sep 2007, 14:10
Looks like you'll have to get Wednesday's Free Press for the story. But I'm with IMS on this one. No need to report about the incident on these pages. Can ruin people's reputations, even if they're found not guilty.

But its okay for you to get on here and name names when it comes to slagging umpires?

matt_nicholls
3 Sep 2007, 14:23
But its okay for you to get on here and name names when it comes to slagging umpires?

The difference is that I was commenting on the umpire's performance, not whether they did something outside the rules. Just like when I say that Jeremy Jose was given a bath by Connellan on Saturday, or that Belleville barely got a touch on James House in R18. I wasn't at the game yesterday so I only have second hand information which I'm sure is credible, but I don't want to spread unconfirmed gossip. When the official findings are released, then I'm sure it can be talked about.

Harry Wilson
3 Sep 2007, 14:45

Thanks TBR, appreciate the hospitality!:thumbsu: I can assure you it's not a situation ala Jason Akermanis (in that he was leaving the Lions and sat with his new club the Doggies). I have a family situation that takes precedence over the Bowen night, that's all. Had I have been there I would have thoroughly enjoyed sharing a few bevvies with the Roo Boys.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

P.S. Where did you get the "Willo" reference from? By now I'm sure some people know who Harry is, but I don't know of anyone in this league who refers to me as "Willo". And another thing I think Harry is more popular around the league than Chris Wilson.

As far as Pickles's post is concerned, I'm not sure if I should take that as an insult or compliment:confused: On one hand he says if I were to win it he'd bare his back side (in other words I'm no chance and he would laugh at the notion) and on the other hand he has said I've been in Bowen form for the last 5-6 weeks. How do you plead Pickles???

matt_nicholls
3 Sep 2007, 14:48
Thanks TBR, appreciate the hospitality!:thumbsu: I can assure you it's not a situation ala Jason Akermanis (in that he was leaving the Lions and sat with his new club the Doggies). I have a family situation that takes precedence over the Bowen night, that's all. Had I have been there I would have thoroughly enjoyed sharing a few bevvies with the Roo Boys.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

P.S. Where did you get the "Willo" reference from? By now I'm sure some people know who Harry is, but I don't know of anyone in this league who refers to me as "Willo". And another thing I think Harry is more popular around the league than Chris Wilson.

As far as Pickles's post is concerned, I'm not sure if I should take that as an insult or compliment:confused: On one hand he says if I were to win it he'd bare his back side (in other words I'm no chance and he would laugh at the notion) and on the other hand he has said I've been in Bowen form for the last 5-6 weeks. How do you plead Pickles???

We all know you suck up to the umps Harry, and have polled well in the past. But no chance my friend. I'll offer 1001-1 odds if anyone is interested :D

As for the past few weeks, you have been sizzling, so perhaps a late run to sneak into the top-10? Me thinks not. My tip? Harry to poll 4 votes.

Trueblueroo
3 Sep 2007, 14:49
Hahaha, something a little different thats all mate, bet you get sick of 'Hollywood'?

Harry Wilson
3 Sep 2007, 15:13
We all know you suck up to the umps Harry, and have polled well in the past. But no chance my friend. I'll offer 1001-1 odds if anyone is interested :D

As for the past few weeks, you have been sizzling, so perhaps a late run to sneak into the top-10? Me thinks not. My tip? Harry to poll 4 votes.

4 votes??? I should get a pay rise next year!!! I wouldn't have backed me to poll any!!

Harry Wilson
3 Sep 2007, 15:20
Hahaha, something a little different thats all mate, bet you get sick of 'Hollywood'?

Thanks to Keatsy back in 1997, I've had that name ever since!! I'm used to it by now. Perhaps that's why I never poll well in the Bowen, the umps think my name is Holly Wood.:D:D Either that or I'm not worthy, the latter is my bet.

dpagan
3 Sep 2007, 15:32
How does the Bowen medal night work? Is it similar to the Brownlow where they read out every round, results and votes?

matt_nicholls
3 Sep 2007, 15:36
How does the Bowen medal night work? Is it similar to the Brownlow where they read out every round, results and votes?

It has changed over the years, sometimes they do each round, sometimes they do the last half. I think this year they'll do each round. Similar to the Brownlow night. Except in our night their are other awards and things to do so they try not to drag things out like the Brownlow.

catters078
3 Sep 2007, 15:40
It has changed over the years, sometimes they do each round, sometimes they do the last half. I think this year they'll do each round. Similar to the Brownlow night. Except in our night their are other awards and things to do so they try not to drag things out like the Brownlow.

wanna give us a final 3-2-1 matt? with the players votes you think they'll get....

matt_nicholls
3 Sep 2007, 15:49
wanna give us a final 3-2-1 matt? with the players votes you think they'll get....

I've got absolutely no idea to be honest champ. There are so many quality candidates this year. And we sometimes know who is the best, but not necessarily the fairest. Players who backchat umps may cost themselves votes.

I'll have a stab at it though.

1st - Justin Belleville (28 votes).
2nd - Daniel Bonnici (27 votes).
3rd - Matt Robertson (25 votes).
4th - Linton Kemp (18 votes).
5th - Aaron Christiansen (17 votes).

That's really only a wild guess though. I think Kemp and Christiansen are real smokies though. Kemp came second to Meldrum in 2004 and with red hair is bound to stand out. Bonnici may have fallen away in the second half of the season, while Belleville will have plenty of teammates to take votes from him. Jose could poll well, as could Sims. Simon Choate will get a few too. Morgs and McLellan should lead Romsey's count.

Harry Wilson
3 Sep 2007, 16:21
I've got absolutely no idea to be honest champ. There are so many quality candidates this year. And we sometimes know who is the best, but not necessarily the fairest. Players who backchat umps may cost themselves votes.

I'll have a stab at it though.

1st - Justin Belleville (28 votes).
2nd - Daniel Bonnici (27 votes).
3rd - Matt Robertson (25 votes).
4th - Linton Kemp (18 votes).
5th - Aaron Christiansen (17 votes).

That's really only a wild guess though. I think Kemp and Christiansen are real smokies though. Kemp came second to Meldrum in 2004 and with red hair is bound to stand out. Bonnici may have fallen away in the second half of the season, while Belleville will have plenty of teammates to take votes from him. Jose could poll well, as could Sims. Simon Choate will get a few too. Morgs and McLellan should lead Romsey's count.

So you've changed your mind now Pickles? Didn't you have it Bonnici then Belleville? What about the bloke who murdered Cornish early in the year, then held Dowling to one kick, only to tag Heritage out of the game in the first final, James Moore. He may not poll but he's done a great job this year on some big names!! What are your thoughts?

matt_nicholls
3 Sep 2007, 16:25
So you've changed your mind now Pickles? Didn't you have it Bonnici then Belleville? What about the bloke who murdered Cornish early in the year, then held Dowling to one kick, only to tag Heritage out of the game in the first final, James Moore. He may not poll but he's done a great job this year on some big names!! What are your thoughts?

Read this story from Saturday. You know I rate him. And Cornish kicked 8 goals in two games against Romsey and Moore played both games. I'm not sure who will win but I reckon dreadlocks might stand out more than facial hair, so I'm picking Belleville. I just hope its not an unlisted player otherwise I'll face bankruptcy :D Will you be my banker?

Connellan leads the way

by Matt Nicholls

WHOEVER says ruckmen are not among the most important players on a football field need to take a long and hard look at themselves, as Romsey’s Ryan Connellan proved the value of a quality big man when leading the Redbacks to victory on Saturday.
In sensational weather conditions at Woodend’s Gilbert Gordon Oval, Connellan dominated star Diggers Rest opponent Jeremy Jose in the Riddell District Football League’s elimination final.
While the Burra had more of the football than Romsey over the course of the match, the Redbacks were much more effective with their usage, the forwards making the most of their opportunities.
Early it looked as if Diggers Rest were going to be a bit too slick for their rivals, but the Redbacks made sure they were within arm’s length.
At half time, Romsey had weathered the storm and held a four-point lead in a low-scoring contest.
Burra vice-captain Jeff Heritage was in everything in the first half, floating between the flanks to create options for his forwards.
Brydan Morgan and Ben Nettlebeck were sizzling for the Redbacks at the same time.
When Connellan took his position with a steely look in his eye after the break, Diggers Rest didn’t stand a chance.
The man affectionately known as “Yak” has tremendous talent, and only needs to control his focus to be one of the most damaging footballers in the RDFL.
He was certainly focussed on Saturday and gave Jose a towelling, finishing with three goals, but most importantly, 80 per cent of the hitouts.
One of the most underrated defenders in the competition is James Moore. Perhaps he likes it that way, but if he continues to get the big jobs done he will soon find himself ranked highly amongst the competition’s best stoppers.
In the second half he was all over Heritage like a rash, and with the Burra leader not contributing, the Redbacks began to dominate.
A 28-point to one-point third term had the game all but sealed by the final break, with Diggers Rest unable to penetrate Romsey’s brick wall defence.
Warren Kairns, Mick McCarthy, Dave Keenan, Paul Brady and Luke Baker continued to rebound the ball from the Romsey back-line, with midfielders Ben John, Justin McGregor and Cam Dawson delivering the ball to the forwards.
With marking options in attack, the Burra defenders had headaches finding the right options and it allowed the Redbacks to share the goals.
Connellan’s three led the way, while Steve Burlak, Nettlebeck and Morgan each slotted two.
Diggers Rest captain Shaun Sims was once again sensational, with teammates Mick Hildebrand and Andrew Page also enjoying good games.
Across the field, there were plenty of encouraging signs for Diggers Rest coach Glen Hopkins, but the negatives far outweighed the positives.
The Burra’s lack of a settled forward line let them down both on Saturday and throughout the season. Without a key goalkicking option, it doesn’t matter how good the midfield or backline performs.
Too often Romsey’s half-back line repelled Diggers’ attacks with ease.
NEXT STEP
Romsey will face Woodend-Hesket at Kilmore on Sunday in the first semi-final. The winner will play the loser of Saturday’s Riddell v Sunbury Kangaroos clash.
The Hawks were beaten by five points against the Roos on Sunday at Riddells Creek in front of a big crowd.
Key players Romsey will need to nullify are Daniel Sipthorp, Adam Johnstone, Matt Stacey and Luke Barker. Should they shut these four down; the Redbacks will almost certainly win.
SENIORS
Romsey 2.3, 5.5, 8.9, 13.12 (90) d
Diggers Rest 2.6, 4.7, 4.8, 5.8 (38).
Goals (R): R. Connellan 3; S. Burlak, B. Nettlebeck, B. Morgan 2; B. Richmond, A. Higgins, M. McLellan, J. McGregor.
Best: Connellan, C. Dawson, McGregor, B. John, Morgan, Nettlebeck.
Goals (D): S. Sims, J. Jose, J. Bull, C. Thompson, K. Marsh.
Best: M. Hildebrand, Sims, L. Rust, A. Gleeson, A. Klooster, A. Page.

Uncle_Touchy
3 Sep 2007, 17:00
daniel bonnicci will win the bowen.one vote in front of beleville

WD40
3 Sep 2007, 17:01
SENIORS
Romsey 2.3, 5.5, 8.9, 13.12 (90) d
Diggers Rest 2.6, 4.7, 4.8, 5.8 (38).
Goals (R): R. Connellan 3; S. Burlak, B. Nettlebeck, B. Morgan 2; B. Richmond, A. Higgins, M. McLellan, J. McGregor.
Best: Connellan, C. Dawson, McGregor, B. John, Morgan, Nettlebeck.
Goals (D): S. Sims, J. Jose, J. Bull, C. Thompson, K. Marsh.
Best: M. Hildebrand, Sims, L. Rust, A. Gleeson, A. Klooster, A. Page.

Geeze, looking at scores at the breaks, looks like Diggers were smashed in the second half, 8 goals 7 points for Romsey against 1 goal 1 point to Diggers!! It looks like Diggers were lucky Romsey didn't hit their straps early!! Oh well, at least they have at least one week extra to prepare for next year:D

Hawker28
3 Sep 2007, 17:03
Geeze, looking at scores at the breaks, looks like Diggers were smashed in the second half, 8 goals 7 points for Romsey against 1 goal 1 point to Diggers!! It looks like Diggers were lucky Romsey didn't hit their straps early!! Oh well, at least they have at least one week extra to prepare for next year:D

any chance of a match review from the hawks vs sunbury game?
ims,harry,mike lyon:confused::confused::confused:

Harry Wilson
3 Sep 2007, 17:25
any chance of a match review from the hawks vs sunbury game?
ims,harry,mike lyon:confused::confused::confused:

Sorry Hawker, I left the ground shortly after the U18's. Heard there were a two ripper battles, both seniors and reserves.

matt_nicholls
4 Sep 2007, 08:43
CONGRATULATIONS to Sunbury Kangaroos' Daniel Bonnici on winning the 2007 Bowen Medal.

He won it with 32 votes from Justin Belleville on 31 votes and Robbo on 28. In th final round Belleville led by a vote from Bonnici, with Robbo three behind. Bonnici was the only player to poll (two votes) in a game where Mick Allen kicked eight goals and could snare a vote. Coincidently at Kilmore on the same day, Dave Cornish kicked eight goals too and didn't poll.

Matt McLellan topped Romsey's votes with 21, Wheelahan recieved 16 votes and Podbury 15. More info on individuals as it comes to hand.

Belleville won the Buffalo Award in seniors with 32 votes from Bonnici with 25.

Dave Cornish won both the goal kicking and Rookie of the Year.

RDFLUA general manager Glen Shilling received life membership to a standing ovation.

The official team of the year is as follows:
B: D. Janner, J. Allen, L. Walker.
HB: M. Robertson, T. Salter, L. Kemp.
C: A. Blade, J. Belleville, L. McInerney.
HF: S. Choate, D. Sipthorp, A. Johnstone.
F: B. Wheelahan, D. Cornish, J. Jose.
R: S. James, M. McInerney, D. Bonnici.
I: W. Kairns, M. Allen, A. Christiansen, S. Sims.

Congratulations must go to Sunbury Kangaroos' Jarrod Dixon for being awarded the coach of the year. That is voted by his rival coaches. Darrin Rowsell probably stiff not to get it as he'll probably take a team to its third successive flag IMO and has never got it. But take nothing away from Jarrod he has done wonders down at Boardman Reserve.

Romsey's Brad Cuthbert (Rooster) was a worthy winner of the Scarborough Medal for the reserves best and fairest. He won on 15 votes with four others runner-up in Leigh Webster (DR), Mark Dipietro (Rom), Ben Hunting (SK), Liam O'Meara (WH) all on 11 votes.

Cuthbert also won the Buffalo Award with 15 votes from Woodend-Hesket's Trav Leggett on 13 votes.

The Charles Watson medal for the U18s went to Romsey big-man Stuart Smith who won with 19 votes from the Hawks' Shane Bowen on 17.

Riddell's Ricky Elliott won the Buffalo Award with 21 votes from joint runners-up in Sunbury Kangaroos' Paul Newton and Diggers Rest's Blake Robinson on 15 votes.

The Ryan Medal went to Lancefield's Anna Soldatic with 33 votes, from Romsey's Tracey Kay with 32 and Macedon's Kelly Taylor on 28.

The B-grade best and fairest went to Diggers Rest's Michelle Higgins.

Overall a great night was held by most with only a few idiots on the booze to make it less enjoyable. Personally I cleaned up on some silly bets, but that's another story. Well done to all winners and all those who made it a great RDFL season.

Harry Wilson
4 Sep 2007, 11:05
CONGRATULATIONS to Sunbury Kangaroos' Daniel Bonnici on winning the 2007 Bowen Medal.

He won it with 32 votes from Justin Belleville on 31 votes and Robbo on 28. In th final round Belleville led by a vote from Bonnici, with Robbo three behind. Bonnici was the only player to poll (two votes) in a game where Mick Allen kicked eight goals and could snare a vote. Coincidently at Kilmore on the same day, Dave Cornish kicked eight goals too and didn't poll.

Matt McLellan topped Romsey's votes with 21, Wheelahan recieved 16 votes and Podbury 15. More info on individuals as it comes to hand.

RDFLUA general manager Glen Shilling received life membership to a standing ovation.

Congratulations must go to Sunbury Kangaroos' Jarrod Dixon for being awarded the coach of the year. That is voted by his rival coaches. Darrin Rowsell probably stiff not to get it as he'll probably take a team to its third successive flag IMO and has never got it. But take nothing away from Jarrod he has done wonders down at Boardman Reserve.

Romsey's Brad Cuthbert (Rooster) was a worthy winner of the Scarborough Medal for the reserves best and fairest. He won on 15 votes with four others runner-up in Leigh Webster (DR), Mark Dipietro (Rom), Ben Hunting (SK), Liam O'Meara (WH) all on 11 votes.

Cuthbert also won the Buffalo Award with 15 votes from Woodend-Hesket's Trav Leggett on 13 votes.

The Charles Watson medal for the U18s went to Romsey big-man Stuart Smith who won with 19 votes from the Hawks' Shane Bowen on 17.

Riddell's Ricky Elliott won the Buffalo Award with 21 votes from joint runners-up in Sunbury Kangaroos' Paul Newton and Diggers Rest's Blake Robinson on 15 votes.

The Ryan Medal went to Lancefield's Anna Soldatic with 33 votes, from Romsey's Tracey Kay with 32 and Macedon's Kelly Taylor on 28.

Overall a great night was held by most with only a few idiots on the booze to make it less enjoyable. Personally I cleaned up on some silly bets, but that's another story. Well done to all winners and all those who made it a great RDFL season.

Congrats to Bonnici, well done. Congrats also go to Rooster (Brad Cuthbert) of the Romsey Reserves side. He is a great running player and has been very stiff not to be getting a game in the 1's. I can't belive Dippa (Mark DiPietro) won the runners up, he only played about 8 games and he's 35. Well done though Dippa, a fantastic effort and it's great to see you haven't lost it, perhaps just slowed up a bit:D

Doona2
4 Sep 2007, 11:08
Good run down Matty and congrats to all that featured last night. For those not in attendance lads, give us a 3,2,1 for BOG honours at the function last night.

catters078
4 Sep 2007, 11:18

a few boys get a bit rowdy matt??

matt_nicholls
4 Sep 2007, 11:20
Good run down Matty and congrats to all that featured last night. For those not in attendance lads, give us a 3,2,1 for BOG honours at the function last night.

Itsmyshow was a little more settled than last year but still in fine form.

Mongrel was keeping a low profile with his new sleeck hairdo.

Umpire22 was named field ump of the year but wasn't drinking.

The Under 18s boys always have too much to drink and look like idiots.

Brian Taylor did a fantastic job as MC

Trueblueroo
4 Sep 2007, 11:27
3. Cam Dawson for being that blind and unable to dance

2. Steve 'Spud' James tearing up the dance floor

1. Every under 18's player for thinking white shoes were the go and raving is the only means of dancing!

blues12
4 Sep 2007, 11:43
I would like to give 1 Tool of the night vote, to a bowen medal night virgin that thought it would be funny to tip beer over his own head.

Harry Wilson
4 Sep 2007, 12:02
Itsmyshow was a little more settled than last year but still in fine form.

Mongrel was keeping a low profile with his new sleeck hairdo.

Umpire22 was named field ump of the year but wasn't drinking.

The Under 18s boys always have too much to drink and look like idiots.

Brian Taylor did a fantastic job as MC

Do you have a run down of the individual club votes Matt?

matt_nicholls
4 Sep 2007, 12:06
Do you have a run down of the individual club votes Matt?

Not just yet, hoping to get them by noon.

blues12
4 Sep 2007, 12:12
- Get 4 bourbolas per trip,
- hope someone from your team wins and they are not there,
- accept the medal on their behalf,
- wear it around your neck for the rest of the night and let everyone congratulate you on your award!:D

They would only allow 2 at a time, Ben Hunting got runner up in the 2s, i accepted his medal, but i couldn't wear it around my neck for the night. I'm not a dweeb :D

NotDoneYet
4 Sep 2007, 12:44

Who got named captain? Whos spot to do you reckon Morgan and Mclellan would take

matt_nicholls
4 Sep 2007, 12:46

Who got named captain? Whos spot to do you reckon Morgan and Mclellan would take

Simon Choate was named captain. Morgan could take Johnstone's spot and McLellan could replace Bonnici. But neither were better than those two this season so they didn't get a gig.

Harry Wilson
4 Sep 2007, 12:48

Morgan should take A. Johnstone's spot on the Half Foward Flank and McLellan should take M. McInerney's spot on the ball, in my opinion:thumbsu:

NotDoneYet
4 Sep 2007, 12:51
Simon Choate was named captain. Morgan could take Johnstone's spot and McLellan could replace Bonnici. But neither were better than those two this season so they didn't get a gig.

Not even room for them on the bench?? good effort by choate to get captain in a side that didn't play finals

matt_nicholls
4 Sep 2007, 12:57
Bonnici, Daniel Sunbury Kangaroos 32
Belleville, Justin Riddell 31
Robertson, Matt Kilmore 28
McLellan, Matthew Romsey 21
Wheelahan, Brian Melton Central 16
Podbury, Paul Woodend/Hesket 15
Kemp, Linton Kilmore 14
Blade, Aaron Riddell 14
Choate, Simon Lancefield 13
Shewan, Jay Lancefield 12
Salpietro, Daniel Woodend/Hesket 12
Jose, Jeremy Diggers Rest 11
Sims, Shaun Diggers Rest 10
Morgan, Brydan Romsey 10
Heritage, Jeff Diggers Rest 9
Forrest, James Woodend/Hesket 9
Connellan, Ryan Romsey 8
Petran, James Riddell 8
Mainey, Thomas Rockbank 8
Sipthorp, Daniel Woodend/Hesket 8
Walker, Luke Rockbank 8
McInerney, Mark Sunbury Kangaroos 7
Bowen, Sam Woodend/Hesket 7
James, Steven Sunbury Kangaroos 7
Smithwick, Scott Lancefield 7
Laurie, Cole Diggers Rest 6
Conway, Phillip Lancefield 6
John, Benjamin Romsey 6
Cuffe, Jamie Sunbury Kangaroos 6
Hoare, Stephen Diggers Rest 5
Allen, Michael Riddell 5
Krul, Matthew Rockbank 5
Christiansen, Aaron Macedon FC 5
Knight, Scott Macedon FC 5
Bugeja, Andrew Diggers Rest 4
Salter, Tristan Kilmore 4
Straney, Ryan Kilmore 4
Graham, Sam Lancefield 4
Burlak, Stephen Romsey 4
Jarrott, Matt Melton Central 4
Besanko, Dean Riddell 4
Taylor, Michael Rockbank 4
Stacey, Matthew Woodend/Hesket 4
Thompson, Craig Diggers Rest 4
Ruane, Stephen Diggers Rest 3
Wright, James Macedon FC 3
Snowden, Paul Melton Central 3
Peatling, Mark Riddell 3
Welfare, Jason Rockbank 3
Nicholson, Dylan Rockbank 3
Dawson, Cameron Romsey 3
Edwards, Luke Romsey 3
Wilson, Chris Romsey 3
Johnstone, Adam Woodend/Hesket 3
Manser, Peter Woodend/Hesket 3
Leggett, Travis Woodend/Hesket 3
Collins, Alastair Macedon FC 3
Dowling, Rick Woodend/Hesket 3
Partridge, Luke Melton Central 3
Cornish, David Kilmore 3
Bull, Joshua Diggers Rest 3
Misken, Danny Sunbury Kangaroos 3
Donovan, Guy Woodend/Hesket 3
Richmond, Ben Romsey 2
Goudge, Adam Kilmore 2
Vella, Paul Woodend/Hesket 2
McDonald, Tim Riddell 2
Allen, Jason Riddell 2
Wadden, Heath Riddell 2
Ash, Nicholas Riddell 2
Shaughnessy, Matthew Riddell 2
Newitt, Brendan Rockbank 2
Shirley, Rob Rockbank 2
Basilone, Joseph Rockbank 2
Ploog, Garth Sunbury Kangaroos 2
McInerney, Leigh Sunbury Kangaroos 2
Sporle, Leigh Sunbury Kangaroos 2
O'Connor, Stuart Macedon FC 2
Colliss, Justin Kilmore 2
Ng, Kar Weng Woodend/Hesket 2
Hede, Travis Kilmore 2
Baker, Luke Romsey 2
Allen, Nathan Riddell 2
Bullen, Kane Melton Central 2
Miskin, Danny Sunbury Kangaroos 2
Hardwick, James Woodend/Hesket 2
Hole, Nathan Sunbury Kangaroos 2
Binney, Justin Romsey 2
Reilly, Daniel Diggers Rest 1
Ryan, Liam Kilmore 1
Barnes, Glenn Kilmore 1
Davern, Marcus Kilmore 1
Collins, Timothy Lancefield 1
Helmers, Dean Sunbury Kangaroos 1
Toholka, Ryan Macedon FC 1
Densley, Brendan Melton Central 1
Henderson, Paul Melton Central 1
O'Brien, Tim Melton Central 1
Plummer, Blair Melton Central 1
McCarthy, Michael Romsey 1
Niki, Damien Sunbury Kangaroos 1
Barker, Luke Woodend/Hesket 1
Ploog, Joeb Sunbury Kangaroos 1
Hildebrand, Michael Diggers Rest 1
Keenan, Dave Romsey 1
Keenan, Robert Romsey 1
Allen, Jason Riddell 1

matt_nicholls
4 Sep 2007, 13:09
Without going into too much depth, some interesting things I found were:

Dave Cornish getting just 3 votes

Both Robbo and Bonnici got BOGS in their first four games. Before round 5 they both had 12 votes. Bonnici got one that day against Kilmore to take the lead.

Digger52
4 Sep 2007, 13:12
Morgan should take A. Johnstone's spot on the Half Foward Flank and McLellan should take M. McInerney's spot on the ball, in my opinion:thumbsu:
Interesting to see Half Back Line all Kilmore players.Did these guys play there all year

Trueblueroo
4 Sep 2007, 13:14
Leigh McInerney getting 2 votes, i thought was a little poor, anyway would have only taken votes form Bonnici so......

Other thing to look at is the amount of backman in that list, count on one hand!

matt_nicholls
4 Sep 2007, 13:21
Leigh McInerney getting 2 votes, i thought was a little poor, anyway would have only taken votes form Bonnici so......

Other thing to look at is the amount of backman in that list, count on one hand!

Both McInerney's got jibbed by the umps. Our own Harry Wilson even got three votes. The voting this year was much different than in the past. The Buffalo award may start taking over.

OMNIPOTENT_1
4 Sep 2007, 13:32
Club Votes.

Riddell - 78
Woodend - 77
Sunbury - 68
Romsey - 67
Kilmore - 62
Diggers - 53
Lancefield - 43
Rockbank - 37
Melton - 32
Macedon - 19

Harry Wilson
4 Sep 2007, 13:36
Club Votes.

Riddell - 78
Woodend - 77
Sunbury - 68
Romsey - 67
Kilmore - 62
Diggers - 53
Lancefield - 43
Rockbank - 37
Melton - 32
Macedon - 19

Almost a replica of the ladder - remarkable!!

vantheman32
4 Sep 2007, 13:37
how the hell cornish only got 3 votes has got me well n truly stuffed! n i would also add that robbo never plays back flank... chuck him the the guts, also salter played better footy at chf this yr then he did at chb some interesting selections there.... congrats to bonnici

Harry Wilson
4 Sep 2007, 13:39
Interesting to see Half Back Line all Kilmore players.Did these guys play there all year

Not sure Digger, but considering Kilmore didn't make the finals, their back line couldn't have been that good. Kemp is a gun, no doubting that, Robertson floats across half back and gets power loads of possies there. I would have had Tim Cox as the Centre Half Back of the year, in my opinion.

OMNIPOTENT_1
4 Sep 2007, 13:41
how the hell cornish only got 3 votes has got me well n truly stuffed! n i would also add that robbo never plays back flank... chuck him the the guts, also salter played better footy at chf this yr then he did at chb some interesting selections there.... congrats to bonnici

Jason Allen - Riddell 1 vote ? ? ? ? ? :eek:

mockery
4 Sep 2007, 13:47

How tall is Sipthorp? I thought he was a onballer but named at CHF? Were there no real candidates for that position?

Well done to all award winners on the night. I Played with Dan Bonnici at East Keilor about 6 years ago when he was just coming out of the 18's and it seems he has developed from a goalsneak to a very good ball winning midfielder.

Also congrats to some ex-team mates in Rooster on the Scarborough and Dippa getting runner-up. Stuey Smith fair effort too!

Well done to the Redbacks on Saturday, you ran harder in the second-half and it was a fair result after a scrappy first 2 quarters. I thought Cam Dawson was clearly BOG and Benny John got the whole side going in the 2nd half with his hard running. Bring on the Hawks this Sunday I Say!

OMNIPOTENT_1
4 Sep 2007, 13:50
Jason Allen - Riddell 1 vote ? ? ? ? ? :eek:

Oh hang on I just noticed he has a clone called Jason Allen too that got 2 votes !
That makes 3, still pretty perplexing figure I'de have thought given the type of year he has had !

Guess the umpires dont rate players down back !

matt_nicholls
4 Sep 2007, 13:51
Bonnici wins the Bowen

by Matt Nicholls

SUNBURY Kangaroos midfielder Daniel Bonnici etched his name into Riddell District Football League history on Monday night, by taking out the 2007 Bowen Medal.
In a tight vote count, Bonnici won the best and fairest with 32 votes from Riddell’s Justin Belleville with 31 votes and Kilmore’s Matt Robertson on 28.
With one round to go, Belleville led by a vote from Bonnici, with Robertson three behind.
When Bonnici polled two votes in the final round against Riddell, and with Belleville enjoying a quiet day, the packed gathering knew that the small onballer had won the prestigious award.
A quiet man both on and off the field, Bonnici was chuffed with his prize.
“There was a lot of talk throughout the night that I was going to a contender but I honestly didn’t think I would win,” he said.
“Justin was very unlucky not to holding the medal, he had a terrific season.”
In his acceptance speech, he also thanked his teammates and coach for a terrific year, and pointed out that there was still bigger fish to fry with the Kangaroos searching for their first ever RDFL senior premiership.
Bonnici was recruited by the Kangaroos from Essendon District club East Keilor and has been a revelation in the Roos’ midfield this season.
He averaged over 30 disposals per game and was more than handy in front of goals when able to float forward.
In the Buffalo Sports senior award, judged by the goal umpires, Belleville reversed his fortune with 32 votes over Bonnici on 25.
ROOSTER REIGNS
Romsey’s Brad Cuthbert enjoyed a terrific season in the Redbacks’ reserves and was a worthy winner of the Scarborough Medal.
“Rooster” polled 15 votes to win from teammate Mark Dipietro, Woodend-Hesket’s Liam O’Meara, Sunbury Kangaroos’ Ben Hunting, and Diggers Rest’s Leigh Webster – all on 11 votes.
Cuthbert also won the Buffalo Sports reserves award with 15 votes from Woodend-Hesket’s Travis Leggett on 13.
STUEY’S ‘CHARLIE’
Romsey big-man Stuart Smith was a surprise winner of the Under 18s best and fairest award - the Charles Watson Medal.
Rucking for most games throughout the season, the gentle giant obviously had a good rapport with the umpires and polled 19 votes, defeating Woodend-Hesket’s Shane Bowen on 17.
The Under 18s Buffalo Sports Award went to Riddell’s Ricky Elliott with 21 votes, defeating Kangaroos’ Paul Newton and the Burra’s Blake Robinson who both had 15 votes.
TOP ROOKIE
Kilmore’s Dave Cornish was a worthy winner of the RDFL’s Rookie of the Year. Not only did he lead the competition’s goalkicking award, but he was an invaluable leader on and off the field.
He received a rousing cheer from his peers when he was announced the winner, as Kilmore had the most tables of any club at the night.
STAR SOLDATIC
Lancefield’s Anna Soldatic went one better from runner-up last year to take out this year’s A-grade netball best and fairest – the Ryan Medal.
Soldatic was able to withstand a late charge from Romsey’s Tracey Kay, and last year’s winner Kelly Taylor.
The Lancefield star polled 33 votes to edge Kay out by a vote, with Macedon’s Taylor third on 28 votes.
Diggers Rest’s Michelle Higgins won the B-grade best and fairest.
LIFE MEMBER
In front of a standing ovation and by far the biggest applause of the night, Glen Shilling was inducted as a life member of the Riddell District Football League.
Currently the general manager of the RDFL Umpires’ Association, Shilling has been a long and tireless worker for the competition over the years.
He has helped create a terrific working relationship with the umpires, league and players.
Before Shilling’s presentation, three of his umpires were also honoured.
Reece Noble was judged to be the best field umpire of the year, while Pat Plowman and Kilmore’s Tim Tingiri were deemed to be the best boundary and goal umpires respectively.

catters078
4 Sep 2007, 14:18
How tall is Sipthorp? I thought he was a onballer but named at CHF? Were there no real candidates for that position?

Well done to all award winners on the night. I Played with Dan Bonnici at East Keilor about 6 years ago when he was just coming out of the 18's and it seems he has developed from a goalsneak to a very good ball winning midfielder.

Also congrats to some ex-team mates in Rooster on the Scarborough and Dippa getting runner-up. Stuey Smith fair effort too!

Well done to the Redbacks on Saturday, you ran harder in the second-half and it was a fair result after a scrappy first 2 quarters. I thought Cam Dawson was clearly BOG and Benny John got the whole side going in the 2nd half with his hard running. Bring on the Hawks this Sunday I Say!

hed be your height mate...go saints, well done

woody07
4 Sep 2007, 14:19
Both McInerney's got jibbed by the umps. Our own Harry Wilson even got three votes. The voting this year was much different than in the past. The Buffalo award may start taking over.

Well done to all the winners!
There's more confusing issues than that. For example, Guy Donovan just 3 votes even though he's comprehnsively beaten some of the best midfeiders in the comp including breaking even with Bonnici in the game at Woodend. Just shows hair styles and reputation still count for a lot in the league. Surprised he didn't get a mention ( at the very least on the bench) of the team of the year! Scooter very stiff after taking a side to the top of the ladder (again) with quite a few young blokes and after a few of his more experienced players left! Teams and players who yell the loudest in this league still get heard.

Blueboy16
4 Sep 2007, 14:45
How many games did Jamie Cuffe play? Polled 6 votes. surely 2 B.O.G's. Would of been interesting to see if he had of played all season.

bromanbomber
4 Sep 2007, 14:45
Matty,
Do you have the complete reserves voting as well??

matt_nicholls
4 Sep 2007, 15:04
Matty,

Sorry mate I don't. And Cuffe got a 3 a 2 and a 1.

e1984
4 Sep 2007, 15:36
Well done to bonici, but i will tell you one thing i would not want to be Sunbury this weekend Riddell will wipe the floor with them, while Sunbury played well on the weekend against Woodend they are no match for Riddell, Riddell will want to prove a point and show they are the best. In the other game Woodend will bounce back and give Romsey a football lesson, it still will be the best 2 sides in the Final Riddell v Woodend

Ding_Dong
4 Sep 2007, 16:00
Congrats to Bonnici, well done. Congrats also go to Rooster (Brad Cuthbert) of the Romsey Reserves side. He is a great running player and has been very stiff not to be getting a game in the 1's. I can't belive Dippa (Mark DiPietro) won the runners up, he only played about 8 games and he's 35. Well done though Dippa, a fantastic effort and it's great to see you haven't lost it, perhaps just slowed up a bit:D

Harry I think he is 37 and played just 6 games.

Blueboy16
4 Sep 2007, 16:04
Nothing from IMS yet today. Must be still in bed after a few gallons of Bourban!!!!!!!

Does anyone know if anything has come out from the brawl on Sunday? Tribunal hearings tonight? Who is attending?

Halffullonfence
4 Sep 2007, 16:26
anyone with early info on this years grand final extravaganza?????

goblues09
4 Sep 2007, 16:40
Not sure Digger, but considering Kilmore didn't make the finals, their back line couldn't have been that good. Kemp is a gun, no doubting that, Robertson floats across half back and gets power loads of possies there. I would have had Tim Cox as the Centre Half Back of the year, in my opinion.

yeah i cant see how they picked robbo at half back in the team of the year...he never played as a defender as such - only as a loose man so yes he can always gather plenty of red onion across half back

for mine - team of the year should be picked on where the players play...the back 6 should be genuine defenders - if ya cant fit a midifield player in the middle or forward or even the I/C - well too bad....

the team of the year is a chance for defenders to get some recognition as we all know forwards and midfielders get the glory!!!

matt_nicholls
4 Sep 2007, 16:45
I think you will find that the team of the year will be done by a panel next year, not the coaches.

B.O.G
4 Sep 2007, 16:47
Matty,

what happend to having the entire votes on a sheet at the count last night to see who got what votes in what round?
wornt you working on that matty????
went home a bit early i noticed, and there was no girl on your arm as an excuse either!!!!!

good night had by all, but i think the major talking point was the major difference in the voting, im not having a go at the rockbank player but when the team losses to riddel by a bit you would have though that the riddell players would have polled all the votes, but not in that case?

BOG on the night was good matt, cam dawson, blind, stevey james, maybe we could call him "PETER HOARE" serial pest, he bailled up a few blokes last night for a good long chat.
and the 1 vote to the u18 moron who due to spewing his guts up all over his shirt had to resort to leaving the venue ion his (or his team mates ) inter leauge jumper, very poor form!!!!!

as for the winners well done!!!
rooster i think coogee is waiting for you, i think a ticket-tek parade is on the cards for your first night up there, plus i think they are giving you the keys to the town???

also i see that the votes for the bowen are up on the website, what about the other awards? 2's, 18's netball, buffalo awards ect, would be good to get the round by round votes.

please get off your ass mr nicholls and do some thing about this.......................

ps i tell u also matty you werent to far off the serial pest tag either with the book you were running, i know your just waiting for the age or the sun to call you up, but you could have laid off a bit asking everyone 3 times
"wanna have bit on the bowen???"

good nite had by all!!!!!!!!

catters078
4 Sep 2007, 16:55
what happend to having the entire votes on a sheet at the count last night to see who got what votes in what round?
wornt you working on that matty????
went home a bit early i noticed, and there was no girl on your arm as an excuse either!!!!!

good night had by all, but i think the major talking point was the major difference in the voting, im not having a go at the rockbank player but when the team losses to riddel by a bit you would have though that the riddell players would have polled all the votes, but not in that case?

BOG on the night was good matt, cam dawson, blind, stevey james, maybe we could call him "PETER HOARE" serial pest, he bailled up a few blokes last night for a good long chat.
and the 1 vote to the u18 moron who due to spewing his guts up all over his shirt had to resort to leaving the venue ion his (or his team mates ) inter leauge jumper, very poor form!!!!!

as for the winners well done!!!
rooster i think coogee is waiting for you, i think a ticket-tek parade is on the cards for your first night up there, plus i think they are giving you the keys to the town???

also i see that the votes for the bowen are up on the website, what about the other awards? 2's, 18's netball, buffalo awards ect, would be good to get the round by round votes.

please get off your ass mr nicholls and do some thing about this.......................

ps i tell u also matty you werent to far off the serial pest tag either with the book you were running, i know your just waiting for the age or the sun to call you up, but you could have laid off a bit asking everyone 3 times
"wanna have bit on the bowen???"

good nite had by all!!!!!!!!

round by round on the rdfl website....

BrownDog2
4 Sep 2007, 16:59
Essendon Nissan Cup Round 1 Votes

Woodend/Hesket vs Macedon FC
3 Peter MANSER (Woodend/Hesket) (3)
2 James HARDWICK (Woodend/Hesket) (2)
1 Paul PODBURY (Woodend/Hesket) (1)
Kilmore vs Riddell
3 Matt ROBERTSON (Kilmore) (3)
2 Michael ALLEN (Riddell) (2)
1 Nicholas ASH (Riddell) (1)
Lancefield vs Rockbank
3 Simon CHOATE (Lancefield) (3)
2 Luke WALKER (Rockbank) (2)
1 Jay SHEWAN (Lancefield) (1)
Romsey vs Melton Central
3 Luke EDWARDS (Romsey) (3)
2 Matthew MCLELLAN (Romsey) (2)
1 Brendan DENSLEY (Melton Central) (1)
Sunbury Kangaroos vs Diggers Rest
3 Daniel BONNICI (Sunbury Kangaroos) (3)
2 Danny MISKIN (Sunbury Kangaroos) (2)
1 Jeff HERITAGE (Diggers Rest) (1)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 2 Votes

Woodend/Hesket vs Riddell
3 James FORREST (Woodend/Hesket) (3)
2 Sam BOWEN (Woodend/Hesket) (2)
1 Justin BELLEVILLE (Riddell) (1)
Lancefield vs Kilmore
3 Matt ROBERTSON (Kilmore) (6)
2 Linton KEMP (Kilmore) (2)
1 Liam RYAN (Kilmore) (1)
Melton Central vs Rockbank
3 Luke PARTRIDGE (Melton Central) (3)
2 Luke WALKER (Rockbank) (4)
1 Matt JARROTT (Melton Central) (1)
Diggers Rest vs Romsey
3 Brydan MORGAN (Romsey) (3)
2 Justin BINNEY (Romsey) (2)
1 Matthew MCLELLAN (Romsey) (3)
Macedon FC vs Sunbury Kangaroos
3 Daniel BONNICI (Sunbury Kangaroos) (6)
2 Garth PLOOG (Sunbury Kangaroos) (2)
1 Steven JAMES (Sunbury Kangaroos) (1)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 3 Votes

Woodend/Hesket vs Lancefield
3 Sam BOWEN (Woodend/Hesket) (5)
2 Daniel SALPIETRO (Woodend/Hesket) (2)
1 Rick DOWLING (Woodend/Hesket) (1)
Kilmore vs Melton Central
3 Matt ROBERTSON (Kilmore) (9)
2 Linton KEMP (Kilmore) (4)
1 Ryan STRANEY (Kilmore) (1)
Rockbank vs Diggers Rest
3 Cole LAURIE (Diggers Rest) (3)
2 Thomas MAINEY (Rockbank) (2)
1 Craig THOMPSON (Diggers Rest) (1)
Romsey vs Sunbury Kangaroos
3 Daniel BONNICI (Sunbury Kangaroos) (9)
2 Benjamin JOHN (Romsey) (2)
1 Damien NIKI (Sunbury Kangaroos) (1)
Riddell vs Macedon FC
3 Justin BELLEVILLE (Riddell) (4)
2 Tim MCDONALD (Riddell) (2)
1 Dean BESANKO (Riddell) (1)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 4 Votes

Melton Central vs Woodend/Hesket
3 Matthew STACEY (Woodend/Hesket) (3)
2 Daniel SALPIETRO (Woodend/Hesket) (4)
1 Travis LEGGETT (Woodend/Hesket) (1)
Diggers Rest vs Kilmore
3 Matt ROBERTSON (Kilmore) (12)
2 Jeff HERITAGE (Diggers Rest) (3)
1 Glenn BARNES (Kilmore) (1)
Rockbank vs Sunbury Kangaroos
3 Daniel BONNICI (Sunbury Kangaroos) (12)
2 Mark MCINERNEY (Sunbury Kangaroos) (2)
1 Joeb PLOOG (Sunbury Kangaroos) (1)
Lancefield vs Riddell
3 Justin BELLEVILLE (Riddell) (7)
2 Jason ALLEN (Riddell) (2)
1 Sam GRAHAM (Lancefield) (1)
Macedon FC vs Romsey
3 Matthew MCLELLAN (Romsey) (6)
2 Scott KNIGHT (Macedon FC) (2)
1 Brydan MORGAN (Romsey) (4)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 5 Votes

Kilmore vs Sunbury Kangaroos
3 Steven JAMES (Sunbury Kangaroos) (4)
2 Linton KEMP (Kilmore) (6)
1 Daniel BONNICI (Sunbury Kangaroos) (13)
Romsey vs Rockbank
3 Michael TAYLOR (Rockbank) (3)
2 Matthew MCLELLAN (Romsey) (8)
1 Ryan CONNELLAN (Romsey) (1)
Riddell vs Melton Central
3 Justin BELLEVILLE (Riddell) (10)
2 James PETRAN (Riddell) (2)
1 Aaron BLADE (Riddell) (1)
Macedon FC vs Lancefield
3 Scott KNIGHT (Macedon FC) (5)
2 Simon CHOATE (Lancefield) (5)
1 Ryan TOHOLKA (Macedon FC) (1)
Woodend/Hesket vs Diggers Rest
3 Paul PODBURY (Woodend/Hesket) (4)
2 Sam BOWEN (Woodend/Hesket) (7)
1 Jeff HERITAGE (Diggers Rest) (4)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 6 Votes

Sunbury Kangaroos vs Woodend/Hesket
3 Daniel BONNICI (Sunbury Kangaroos) (16)
2 Mark MCINERNEY (Sunbury Kangaroos) (4)
1 James FORREST (Woodend/Hesket) (4)
Kilmore vs Romsey
3 Matthew MCLELLAN (Romsey) (11)
2 Benjamin JOHN (Romsey) (4)
1 Adam GOUDGE (Kilmore) (1)
Rockbank vs Macedon FC
3 Thomas MAINEY (Rockbank) (5)
2 Luke WALKER (Rockbank) (6)
1 Michael TAYLOR (Rockbank) (4)
Diggers Rest vs Riddell
3 Dean BESANKO (Riddell) (4)
2 Nathan ALLEN (Riddell) (2)
1 Jeremy JOSE (Diggers Rest) (1)
Melton Central vs Lancefield
3 Jay SHEWAN (Lancefield) (4)
2 Phillip CONWAY (Lancefield) (2)
1 Sam GRAHAM (Lancefield) (2)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 7 Votes

Woodend/Hesket vs Kilmore
3 James FORREST (Woodend/Hesket) (7)
2 Rick DOWLING (Woodend/Hesket) (3)
1 Linton KEMP (Kilmore) (7)
Riddell vs Rockbank
3 Michael ALLEN (Riddell) (5)
2 Aaron BLADE (Riddell) (3)
1 Matthew KRUL (Rockbank) (1)
Melton Central vs Sunbury Kangaroos
3 Brian WHEELAHAN (Melton Central) (3)
2 Daniel BONNICI (Sunbury Kangaroos) (18)
1 Mark MCINERNEY (Sunbury Kangaroos) (5)
Macedon FC vs Diggers Rest
3 Joshua BULL (Diggers Rest) (3)
2 Stuart O'CONNOR (Macedon FC) (2)
1 Michael HILDEBRAND (Diggers Rest) (1)
Lancefield vs Romsey
3 Matthew MCLELLAN (Romsey) (14)
2 Brydan MORGAN (Romsey) (6)
1 Michael MCCARTHY (Romsey) (1)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 8 Votes

Rockbank vs Woodend/Hesket
3 Guy DONOVAN (Woodend/Hesket) (3)
2 James FORREST (Woodend/Hesket) (9)
1 Matthew KRUL (Rockbank) (2)
Kilmore vs Macedon FC
3 Matt ROBERTSON (Kilmore) (15)
2 Justin COLLISS (Kilmore) (2)
1 Adam GOUDGE (Kilmore) (2)
Romsey vs Riddell
3 Justin BELLEVILLE (Riddell) (13)
2 James PETRAN (Riddell) (4)
1 Dave KEENAN (Romsey) (1)
Sunbury Kangaroos vs Lancefield
3 Daniel BONNICI (Sunbury Kangaroos) (21)
2 Jay SHEWAN (Lancefield) (6)
1 Mark MCINERNEY (Sunbury Kangaroos) (6)
Diggers Rest vs Melton Central
3 Cole LAURIE (Diggers Rest) (6)
2 Brian WHEELAHAN (Melton Central) (5)
1 Jeff HERITAGE (Diggers Rest) (5)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 9 Votes

Woodend/Hesket vs Romsey
3 Paul PODBURY (Woodend/Hesket) (7)
2 Travis LEGGETT (Woodend/Hesket) (3)
1 Matthew STACEY (Woodend/Hesket) (4)
Rockbank vs Kilmore
3 Matt ROBERTSON (Kilmore) (18)
2 Luke WALKER (Rockbank) (8)
1 Marcus DAVERN (Kilmore) (1)
Riddell vs Sunbury Kangaroos
3 Justin BELLEVILLE (Riddell) (16)
2 James PETRAN (Riddell) (6)
1 Aaron BLADE (Riddell) (4)
Lancefield vs Diggers Rest
3 Stephen RUANE (Diggers Rest) (3)
2 Sam GRAHAM (Lancefield) (4)
1 Timothy COLLINS (Lancefield) (1)
Macedon FC vs Melton Central
3 Matt JARROTT (Melton Central) (4)
2 Aaron CHRISTIANSEN (Macedon FC) (2)
1 James WRIGHT (Macedon FC) (1)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 10 Votes

Macedon FC vs Woodend/Hesket
3 Alastair COLLINS (Macedon FC) (3)
2 Paul PODBURY (Woodend/Hesket) (9)
1 Daniel SALPIETRO (Woodend/Hesket) (5)
Riddell vs Kilmore
3 Aaron BLADE (Riddell) (7)
2 Heath WADDEN (Riddell) (2)
1 Linton KEMP (Kilmore) (8)
Rockbank vs Lancefield
3 Scott SMITHWICK (Lancefield) (3)
2 Simon CHOATE (Lancefield) (7)
1 Joseph BASILONE (Rockbank) (1)
Melton Central vs Romsey
3 Brian WHEELAHAN (Melton Central) (8)
2 Luke BAKER (Romsey) (2)
1 Blair PLUMMER (Melton Central) (1)
Diggers Rest vs Sunbury Kangaroos
3 Shaun SIMS (Diggers Rest) (3)
2 Nathan HOLE (Sunbury Kangaroos) (2)
1 Andrew BUGEJA (Diggers Rest) (1)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 11 Votes

Riddell vs Woodend/Hesket
3 Justin BELLEVILLE (Riddell) (19)
2 Paul PODBURY (Woodend/Hesket) (11)
1 Nicholas ASH (Riddell) (2)
Kilmore vs Lancefield
3 Simon CHOATE (Lancefield) (10)
2 Linton KEMP (Kilmore) (10)
1 David CORNISH (Kilmore) (1)
Rockbank vs Melton Central
3 Thomas MAINEY (Rockbank) (8)
2 Kane BULLEN (Melton Central) (2)
1 Joseph BASILONE (Rockbank) (2)
Romsey vs Diggers Rest
3 Chris WILSON (Romsey) (3)
2 Benjamin JOHN (Romsey) (6)
1 Jeff HERITAGE (Diggers Rest) (6)
Sunbury Kangaroos vs Macedon FC
3 Daniel BONNICI (Sunbury Kangaroos) (24)
2 Steven JAMES (Sunbury Kangaroos) (6)
1 Dean HELMERS (Sunbury Kangaroos) (1)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 12 Votes

Lancefield vs Woodend/Hesket
3 Daniel SALPIETRO (Woodend/Hesket) (8)
2 Paul PODBURY (Woodend/Hesket) (13)
1 Kar weng NG (Woodend/Hesket) (1)
Melton Central vs Kilmore
3 Matt ROBERTSON (Kilmore) (21)
2 Brian WHEELAHAN (Melton Central) (10)
1 David CORNISH (Kilmore) (2)
Diggers Rest vs Rockbank
3 Jeremy JOSE (Diggers Rest) (4)
2 Stephen HOARE (Diggers Rest) (2)
1 Andrew BUGEJA (Diggers Rest) (2)
Sunbury Kangaroos vs Romsey
3 Stephen BURLAK (Romsey) (3)
2 Brydan MORGAN (Romsey) (8)
1 Matthew MCLELLAN (Romsey) (15)
Macedon FC vs Riddell
3 Justin BELLEVILLE (Riddell) (22)
2 Aaron CHRISTIANSEN (Macedon FC) (4)
1 Jas ALLEN (Riddell) (1)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 13 Votes

Woodend/Hesket vs Melton Central
3 Daniel SIPTHORP (Woodend/Hesket) (3)
2 Paul PODBURY (Woodend/Hesket) (15)
1 Paul HENDERSON (Melton Central) (1)
Kilmore vs Diggers Rest
3 Matt ROBERTSON (Kilmore) (24)
2 Shaun SIMS (Diggers Rest) (5)
1 Linton KEMP (Kilmore) (11)
Sunbury Kangaroos vs Rockbank
3 Danny MISKEN (Sunbury Kangaroos) (3)
2 Leigh MCINERNEY (Sunbury Kangaroos) (2)
1 Steven JAMES (Sunbury Kangaroos) (7)
Riddell vs Lancefield
3 Aaron BLADE (Riddell) (10)
2 Justin BELLEVILLE (Riddell) (24)
1 Simon CHOATE (Lancefield) (11)
Romsey vs Macedon FC
3 Matthew MCLELLAN (Romsey) (18)
2 Brydan MORGAN (Romsey) (10)
1 Stephen BURLAK (Romsey) (4)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 14 Votes

Sunbury Kangaroos vs Kilmore
3 Daniel BONNICI (Sunbury Kangaroos) (27)
2 Leigh SPORLE (Sunbury Kangaroos) (2)
1 Tristan SALTER (Kilmore) (1)
Rockbank vs Romsey
3 Matthew MCLELLAN (Romsey) (21)
2 Brendan NEWITT (Rockbank) (2)
1 Matthew KRUL (Rockbank) (3)
Melton Central vs Riddell
3 Brian WHEELAHAN (Melton Central) (13)
2 Mark PEATLING (Riddell) (2)
1 Justin BELLEVILLE (Riddell) (25)
Lancefield vs Macedon FC
3 Jay SHEWAN (Lancefield) (9)
2 Phillip CONWAY (Lancefield) (4)
1 Scott SMITHWICK (Lancefield) (4)
Diggers Rest vs Woodend/Hesket
3 Jeff HERITAGE (Diggers Rest) (9)
2 Jeremy JOSE (Diggers Rest) (6)
1 Daniel SALPIETRO (Woodend/Hesket) (9)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 15 Votes

Woodend/Hesket vs Sunbury Kangaroos
3 Daniel SIPTHORP (Woodend/Hesket) (6)
2 Jamie CUFFE (Sunbury Kangaroos) (2)
1 Luke BARKER (Woodend/Hesket) (1)
Romsey vs Kilmore
3 Ryan CONNELLAN (Romsey) (4)
2 Linton KEMP (Kilmore) (13)
1 David CORNISH (Kilmore) (3)
Macedon FC vs Rockbank
3 Jason WELFARE (Rockbank) (3)
2 Rob SHIRLEY (Rockbank) (2)
1 Aaron CHRISTIANSEN (Macedon FC) (5)
Riddell vs Diggers Rest
3 Justin BELLEVILLE (Riddell) (28)
2 Matthew SHAUGHNESSY (Riddell) (2)
1 Shaun SIMS (Diggers Rest) (6)
Lancefield vs Melton Central
3 Jay SHEWAN (Lancefield) (12)
2 Phillip CONWAY (Lancefield) (6)
1 Brian WHEELAHAN (Melton Central) (14)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 16 Votes

Kilmore vs Woodend/Hesket
3 Daniel SALPIETRO (Woodend/Hesket) (12)
2 Matt ROBERTSON (Kilmore) (26)
1 Kar weng NG (Woodend/Hesket) (2)
Rockbank vs Riddell
3 Dylan NICHOLSON (Rockbank) (3)
2 Justin BELLEVILLE (Riddell) (30)
1 Mark PEATLING (Riddell) (3)
Sunbury Kangaroos vs Melton Central
3 Daniel BONNICI (Sunbury Kangaroos) (30)
2 Brian WHEELAHAN (Melton Central) (16)
1 Mark MCINERNEY (Sunbury Kangaroos) (7)
Diggers Rest vs Macedon FC
3 Stephen HOARE (Diggers Rest) (5)
2 Jeremy JOSE (Diggers Rest) (8)
1 Craig THOMPSON (Diggers Rest) (2)
Romsey vs Lancefield
3 Cameron DAWSON (Romsey) (3)
2 Ben RICHMOND (Romsey) (2)
1 Ryan CONNELLAN (Romsey) (5)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 17 Votes

Woodend/Hesket vs Rockbank
3 Adam JOHNSTONE (Woodend/Hesket) (3)
2 Paul VELLA (Woodend/Hesket) (2)
1 Matthew KRUL (Rockbank) (4)
Macedon FC vs Kilmore
3 Tristan SALTER (Kilmore) (4)
2 Matt ROBERTSON (Kilmore) (28)
1 Linton KEMP (Kilmore) (14)
Riddell vs Romsey
3 Aaron BLADE (Riddell) (13)
2 James PETRAN (Riddell) (8)
1 Justin BELLEVILLE (Riddell) (31)
Lancefield vs Sunbury Kangaroos
3 Scott SMITHWICK (Lancefield) (7)
2 Simon CHOATE (Lancefield) (13)
1 Jamie CUFFE (Sunbury Kangaroos) (3)
Melton Central vs Diggers Rest
3 Jeremy JOSE (Diggers Rest) (11)
2 Andrew BUGEJA (Diggers Rest) (4)
1 Shaun SIMS (Diggers Rest) (7)

Essendon Nissan Cup Round 18 Votes

Romsey vs Woodend/Hesket
3 Ryan CONNELLAN (Romsey) (8)
2 Daniel SIPTHORP (Woodend/Hesket) (8)
1 Robert KEENAN (Romsey) (1)
Kilmore vs Rockbank
3 Ryan STRANEY (Kilmore) (4)
2 Travis HEDE (Kilmore) (2)
1 Matthew KRUL (Rockbank) (5)
Sunbury Kangaroos vs Riddell
3 Jamie CUFFE (Sunbury Kangaroos) (6)
2 Daniel BONNICI (Sunbury Kangaroos) (32)
1 Aaron BLADE (Riddell) (14)
Diggers Rest vs Lancefield
3 Shaun SIMS (Diggers Rest) (10)
2 Craig THOMPSON (Diggers Rest) (4)
1 Daniel REILLY (Diggers Rest) (1)
Melton Central vs Macedon FC
3 Paul SNOWDEN (Melton Central) (3)
2 James WRIGHT (Macedon FC) (3)
1 Tim O'BRIEN (Melton Central) (1)

Essendon Nissan Cup Totals at Round 18

Player Team Votes
Bonnici, Daniel Sunbury Kangaroos 32