View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62]

mockery
4 Oct 2007, 09:26
Matt’s RDFL Top 30

AFTER the completion of the Riddell District Football League senior competition, Matt Nicholls lists his best 30 players of the season, comparing them from his pre-season Top 30.

1. Daniel Bonnici (Sunbury Kangaroos) – NEW
2. Matt Robertson (Kilmore) – Up 1 position.
3. Justin Belleville (Riddell) – Up 17.
4. Daniel Sipthorp (Woodend-Hesket) – Down 3.
5. Dave Cornish (Kilmore) - NEW
6. Mark McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Unchanged.
7. Adam Johnstone (Woodend-Hesket) – Up 22.
8. Mick Allen (Riddell) – Up 4.
9. Shaun Sims (Diggers Rest) – Down 7.
10. Simon Choate (Lancefield) – Up 8.
11. Linton Kemp (Kilmore) – Up 4.
12. Steve James (Sunbury Kangaroos) – NEW.
13. Steve Burlak (Romsey) – Down 6.
14. Jason Allen (Riddell) – Down 4.
15. Aaron Blade (Riddell) – NEW.
16. Ryan Connellan (Romsey) – Down 8.
17. Guy Donovan (Woodend-Hesket) – NEW.
18. Leigh McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Down 5.
19. Brian Wheelahan (Melton Central) – NEW.
20. Brydan Morgan (Romsey) – Down 3.
21. Daniel Salpietro (Woodend-Hesket) – NEW.
22. Phil Conway (Lancefield) - NEW
23. Chris Collins (Lancefield) – Down 19.
24. Jeremy Jose (Diggers Rest) – Down 15.
25. Matt McLellan (Romsey) – Up 5.
26. Matt Stacey (Woodend-Hesket) – NEW
27. Rick Dowling (Woodend-Hesket) – NEW.
28. Luke Walker (Rockbank) – NEW.
29. Tristan Salter (Kilmore) – NEW.
30. Aaron Christiansen (Macedon) – NEW.

WHO’S NEW
Players who set the RDFL alight
Daniel Bonnici – Averaged around 30 disposals a match and was the Kangaroos’ key ingredient in the midfield. Won the Bowen Medal.
Dave Cornish – Won the RDFL goalkicking and had the most shots of anyone this season. For a small forward has great hands and leads to the right places.
Steve James – Sunbury Kangaroos were successful because of James’ presence in the ruck and his ability to float between the flanks.
Aaron Blade – Combined with Justin Belleville brilliantly to lead Riddell’s midfield this season. Often floated forward to setup or kick goals.
Guy Donovan – Prolific ball winner who knows who to both shake a tag and apply one. The Hawks’ coaching panel rate him highly and will probably win their best and fairest.
Brian Wheelahan – The key performer every week for Melton Central in the midfield and up forward. Needed more support.
Daniel Salpietro – Led Woodend-Hesket’s goalkicking and has plenty of polish. Stood up when it mattered in the finals series.
Phil Conway – Won Lancefield’s best and fairest after dominating the ruck this season, probably should have made the RDFL team of the year.
Matt Stacey – Will be leading Woodend-Hesket’s best and fairest halfway through the season. Dominated in the ruck before injuries slowed him down.
Luke Walker – Continued to give the opposition headaches at both ends of the ground, despite playing in the poorly performed Rockbank side.
Tristan Salter – Was named at centre half back in the RDFL team of the year but was his best up forward. A vital utility for the Blues.
Aaron Christiansen – Backed up a stellar 2006 season with great leadership down at the Cattery. Is a vital cog in Macedon’s bright future.
Rick Dowling - Led Woodend-Hesket's goalkicking in the home and away season and was a bright spark up forward. Strangely overlooked for the Hawks' finals campaign because of a two-week form slump.

WHO’S MISSING
Exclusions from the pre-season Top 30
Cole Laurie (Diggers Rest) – Broke his foot early on and missed too many games.
Garth Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Was reasonably good in a well-performed side, but should have done more as a CHF in a side with such a strong midfield.
Luke Edwards (Romsey) – Groin injury restricted him to a handful of games.
Chris Payne (Diggers Rest) – Drifted between seniors and reserves after losing his form.
Leigh Coles (Riddell) – Was instrumental for the Bombers, but a few went ahead of the tough onballer.
Matt Senyschyn (Kilmore) – Missed all but two games due to a shoulder injury.
Warren Else (Woodend-Hesket) – Was solid all season but wasn’t outstanding as in yesteryears.
Bobby Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Lacked his usual run and carry from half-back, was still a key ingredient in the Roos defence though.
Chris Kakoschke (Lancefield) – Didn’t live up to his pre-season expectations, and was a victim of a poor functioning Tiger midfield.
Dean Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Was used as an impact player off the bench. Played well in patches.
Sam Bowen (Woodend-Hesket) – Was a solid half forward, but lacked consistency over the season.
Steve Ruane (Diggers Rest) – After a quiet start to the season the reigning Bowen medallist regained some form but never got back to his best of 2006.
Kar Weng Ng (Woodend-Hesket) - Was again solid in defence, but lacked his usual run and carry game that did so much damage in 2006. Will bounce back next season.

You know i respect you're opinion matthew, but morgs should be in the top 10. big game player who reguarly plays hurt and gets tagged every week without fail wheather playing midfield or forward. Having burlak ahead of him is more of a reflection on how steve finished the season, not his season on a whole, cause as we all know he struggled early on. he has talent and poitential to burn though, and still only 20 years old.

Wing Nut
4 Oct 2007, 11:17
You know i respect you're opinion matthew, but morgs should be in the top 10. big game player who reguarly plays hurt and gets tagged every week without fail wheather playing midfield or forward. Having burlak ahead of him is more of a reflection on how steve finished the season, not his season on a whole, cause as we all know he struggled early on. he has talent and poitential to burn though, and still only 20 years old.

I believe matt is in hospital still mockery but i actually thought he wasn't far off the mark. morgs was reasonably good this year but probably wasnt in the top 10. in the final at kilmore he dominated off 1 leg too. burlak had a similar season too. injured but found form in second half.

matt_nicholls
4 Oct 2007, 11:36
I believe matt is in hospital still mockery but i actually thought he wasn't far off the mark. morgs was reasonably good this year but probably wasnt in the top 10. in the final at kilmore he dominated off 1 leg too. burlak had a similar season too. injured but found form in second half.

Got out last night mate.

billylid
4 Oct 2007, 12:43

gee if i didnt know better id swear this is morgs talking himself up lol.... Morgs is a Top 5 player no doubt about that...

matt_nicholls
4 Oct 2007, 13:03
gee if i didnt know better id swear this is morgs talking himself up lol.... Morgs is a Top 5 player no doubt about that...

At his best, no doubt

Grubby_3
4 Oct 2007, 19:18
dean helmers appointed assistant coach of kangaroos

Animosity
4 Oct 2007, 22:18

atstha fuggin tucket :thumbsu::thumbsu:

SKNGS
5 Oct 2007, 10:18

CONGRATS OF THE JOB PSYCHO...
Can’t wait for the new season and for your motivational and inspirational sprays from the side lines all season
Great work buddy and great to see ya hanging round the club, you could be the man that gives the seniors that little bit they have been missing to make it to the GF the past 2 yrs.:p

The Chooks
6 Oct 2007, 20:43
Anyone know when the 2008 season is likely to start? Im thinking late April unless it its to dry..

woody07
7 Oct 2007, 16:28
Woodend/Heskets B&F last night
Guy 'who' Donovan and Sippy shared the honours for first.
Pods (the little magician) came second.
Johnno (premiership captain) third.
Tex morton best team player.
Jarrod Arnold- best first year player.
Nick Hannet-best in finals-hope I didn’t miss anyone.
Trav Leggett-Reserves B&F
Robbie Hughes-U18 B&F
All worthy winners well done boys!

blues12
7 Oct 2007, 21:09
The Roos had there presentaion night last night
Seniors
1st - Bonicci
2nd - L. McInerney
3rd - M.McInerney
Reserves
1st - Marty Pelly & Gav Jenkins
2nd - Shaun Fraser
U18
1st - Jack Perks

footy mad 2
8 Oct 2007, 18:52
any plans for pre season training yet???

Halffullonfence
9 Oct 2007, 21:09
Just getting rid of the black rock coaching add.!!!

MakybeDiva
11 Oct 2007, 16:31
I'm told that he accepted a one-week suspension for his second quarter hit, and that he wasn't reported late in the last quarter. Haven't spoken to the umps but I believe they were not 100% certain on who hit who. (I was at the other end so couldn't tell). Last time I heard there was an investigation into the incident, with results unknown to me at this stage.

Wadsey got eight weeks, bit of over kill there, thats it for him six would of put him out 4 life. Appeals board is next i believe... Good top 30 matt good to see u put me in it :thumbsu:

Animosity
11 Oct 2007, 22:20
Wadsey got eight weeks, bit of over kill there, thats it for him six would of put him out 4 life. Appeals board is next i believe... Good top 30 matt good to see u put me in it :thumbsu:

2nd time at the tribunal in a year, i call it justice

MakybeDiva
12 Oct 2007, 09:21
2nd time at the tribunal in a year, i call it justice

Thats a shit call, your an idiot...:thumbsd:

Harry Wilson
12 Oct 2007, 11:39
Thats a shit call, your an idiot...:thumbsd:

The incident definately deserved 8 weeks. I like Wadsey and love to play against him, he's fantastic to watch with the things he can do. It's just a pity that he has had two incidents in the one year that will see him banned for a large stint. I understand how frustrated he got but you can't just knock a bloke out and expect to get anything less than 6-8 weeks. It will be interesting to see what happens with the appeals board, considering the "Aaron James incident" and the backflip that the tribunal did to reduce his sentence from 4 years to 16 weeks. Hope all goes well for him. The RDFL needs players of Wadden's calibre. It will be a shame to see him sit on the sidelines.

Digger52
12 Oct 2007, 14:04
The incident definately deserved 8 weeks. I like Wadsey and love to play against him, he's fantastic to watch with the things he can do. It's just a pity that he has had two incidents in the one year that will see him banned for a large stint. I understand how frustrated he got but you can't just knock a bloke out and expect to get anything less than 6-8 weeks. It will be interesting to see what happens with the appeals board, considering the "Aaron James incident" and the backflip that the tribunal did to reduce his sentence from 4 years to 16 weeks. Hope all goes well for him. The RDFL needs players of Wadden's calibre. It will be a shame to see him sit on the sidelines.
Try telling James Hardwick that it woulkd be ashame to see Wadsey on the sideline

discreet1
12 Oct 2007, 15:22

As a follower of the hawks im am pretty embarrassed that our club decided to take action and go squelling to the tribunal with footage. :thumbsd:
After talking to James the week after the incident i believe some contact was made between the 2 and all was sorted. Just a shame that our club took this measure after a fantastic win.
Surely a medal is the biggest justice of all!!

Harry Wilson
12 Oct 2007, 16:13
Try telling James Hardwick that it woulkd be ashame to see Wadsey on the sideline

Every player has someone in the league that they hate or have had a beef with. There are a few blokes I would love to see sitting on the side lines watching but the reality is I wouldn't want any of them out reported for life. Most of them are pretty good blokes off the field but are dogs on it. Some blokes are good ont eh field but a dogs off it.

All I mean is its a shame that we won't get to see some of the tricks Wadsey pulls out of his jexie on a weekly basis. Skills wise the guys is a freak.

SM10
12 Oct 2007, 19:15
As a follower of the hawks im am pretty embarrassed that our club decided to take action and go squelling to the tribunal with footage. :thumbsd:
After talking to James the week after the incident i believe some contact was made between the 2 and all was sorted. Just a shame that our club took this measure after a fantastic win.
So you think he should have got away with that dog act mate??:confused:

discreet1
13 Oct 2007, 09:31
So you think he should have got away with that dog act mate??:confused:

I never said that mate, i just think it now opens up a can of worms in that if people took footage of every game there would be 2 or 3 incidents a game that could be deemed 'reportable' that the umpires dont catch, and im sure this could be used against opposition players, as it was in the Heath Wadden case in the Grand Final.
If the umpires missed it ( which there was a boundary, goal and field all within distance to see it) then so be it.
Just didnt think our club needed to take that measure!!

joeblow2
13 Oct 2007, 09:54
I never said that mate, i just think it now opens up a can of worms in that if people took footage of every game there would be 2 or 3 incidents a game that could be deemed 'reportable' that the umpires dont catch, and im sure this could be used against opposition players, as it was in the Heath Wadden case in the Grand Final.
If the umpires missed it ( which there was a boundary, goal and field all within distance to see it) then so be it.
Just didnt think our club needed to take that measure!!
Well maybe players should be aware of this and not commit the reportable offence. It can work both ways. Maybe a bloke is reported for something trivial and footage from a different angle shows there's nothing in it. Would you then say don't use the footage to defend your player? If you belt someone then you should be reported, no matter how it is brought up.

OMNIPOTENT_1
13 Oct 2007, 10:35
Well maybe players should be aware of this and not commit the reportable offence. It can work both ways. Maybe a bloke is reported for something trivial and footage from a different angle shows there's nothing in it. Would you then say don't use the footage to defend your player? If you belt someone then you should be reported, no matter how it is brought up.

Good Call :thumbsu:

Halffullonfence
13 Oct 2007, 10:37
Cats presentation night results .
1st B/F Azza Christiansen
R/U Chris Temperly
2nds B/F Michael (pickles) Ploumatas
3rds B/F Matt Johnstone
Rising star, Al Collins

burraz
14 Oct 2007, 17:08
Burras presentation last nite
as we know J.Jose, then Goof then D. Janner.
Most promising- L.Rust
Coaches award- S.Sims(was a great chioce, glenn talked how everyone expects shaun to be the 'great stand out player' but this year he sacrificed his game to make others look good)
Best in final-M.Hilderbrand
pity roo didnt get his goal kicking award. was a great nite, all players looking forward to 2008. was emphasised that diggers dont chase players with money like some clubs, would prefer to blood juniors. go the burras

matt_nicholls
15 Oct 2007, 09:54
Tabcorp was cleaned out by numerous members of the RDFL at Kilmore races yesterday. Halffullonfence, OMNI and matt_nicholls, along with a few of Macedon's young guns made around $4k between them.

Halffull's gun horse Alrosa won the sixth under the patient riding of Jamie Mott. Not bad considering one of the owners didn't know it was racing on the day until one of his former students of the game informed him.

I've decided to put up and end of season report for Lancefield and Kilmore. I'm hoping someone can contribute one for their respective clubs.

Macedon - Halffullonfence
Romsey - Harry Wilson
Riddell - OMNI
Roos - Itsmyshow
Hawks - Woody07
Centrals - WISH I COULD KICK
Rams - X Box
Diggers - Burraz

matt_nicholls
15 Oct 2007, 09:55
KILMORE
2007 ladder position: 6th - Nine wins, eight losses, one draw.
Best and fairest winner: Matt Robertson.
Leading goalkicker: David Cornish (73 goals).

HOW THE SEASON UNFOLDED
Recruiting Dave Cornish and Linton Kemp from Wallan pre-season, along with midfielder Jason King paid dividends.
While the Blues were unsuccessful against Riddell in round one, they went through the next three weeks with good wins over Lancefield, Melton Central and Diggers Rest.
By the halfway mark, Kilmore was a game and percentage clear in fifth spot and looking merry for the finals.
Youngsters Kale Ramsdale, Dave Saunders and Corey Mills were all showing excellent signs.
Things unravelled slightly in the run home. The Blues drew at home to Lancefield, lost at home against Diggers Rest, knocking themselves out of the finals race.
Mills broke his leg, midfield Adam Goudge broke his ankle and soft tissue injuries plagued most of the squad.
Recruiting Damien Barton back to the club midway through the season was a bonus, but Kilmore was unable to make the finals.

THE FUTURE AHEAD
Coach of three seasons Terry Ahearn has indicated he will no longer lead the Blues, so a replacement will need to be appointed. Whoever gets the job has an exciting time ahead.
Kilmore boasts a quality mix of youth and experience and needs to only recruit a handful to be a contender next year.
If they can retain the likes of Matt Robertson, Tristan Salter, Cornish, Kemp and Ryan Straney the Blues will be thereabouts.
A fast paced side, the new coach will need to take a more hard-lined approach than Ahearn, and teach Kilmore some basic discipline. Training numbers were poor all season and the Blues were simply frontrunners in 2006.
Against weak opposition you can get away with a loose game plan and a free-running style of play.
But against the upper-tier sides, you’ll get smashed every time, and the Blues did.

PRE-SEASON SHOPPING LIST
A mobile ruckman, another key position player and a midfielder who can break the lines.

matt_nicholls
15 Oct 2007, 09:55
LANCEFIELD
2007 ladder position: 7th – Five wins, 12 losses, one draw.
Best and fairest winner: Phil Conway.
Leading goalkicker: Scott Smithwick (29 goals).

HOW THE SEASON UNFOLDED
After a good first up win against Rockbank, the Tigers were given a reality check in round two when beaten by 128 points against Kilmore at LancefieldPark.
Playing coach Chris Collins went down with a knee injury which sidelined him for a month, vastly stretching Lancefield’s playing depth.
Heavy losses against Woodend-Hesket and Riddell followed, but perhaps the lowlight of the Tigers season was when they were defeated by Macedon at Tony Clarke Reserve in round five.
Collins returned to the field the week later and they responded with a fine win at home against Melton Central.
From then on the Tigers continued to improve, a draw in round 10 against Kilmore highlighting a 128-point turnaround.
The real highlight of the season was in round 17 however, when Lancefield produced a six-goal final term to overrun Sunbury Kangaroos to win by three points.
With five wins and a draw coming off a horror 2006 season, Collins’ first year as Tiger coach has to be seen as successful.

THE FUTURE AHEAD
Having reappointed Chris Collins as senior coach, signs are looking bright for Lancefield in 2008.
Club president Ian Brown is hoping they can retain all players from this season, and recruit strongly over summer.
The Tigers had a very young Under 18s side this season, with most bottom age or 16-year-old players, which is likely see plenty of youth to be injected into the seniors next year.
Over half a dozen Under 18 players were given opportunities in the seniors this season, and all should benefit from the experience.
Another strong pre-season and some good recruiting could see Lancefield be finalists in 2008, as long as their senior group of players remain consistent and the younger members continue to improve.

PRE-SEASON SHOPPING LIST
Another in-and-under midfielder, a smart half-forward, a centre-half-back and a strong marking full-forward.

woody07
15 Oct 2007, 12:56

You aren’t much of a follower if you were truly embarrassed with the action that our club took! The word proud would have been more appropriate i would have thought. A club looking after the welfare of their players is hardly an embarrassment but rather its responsibility. It’s the reason why we get so many quality footballers but more importantly quality people joining our club without asking for a cent. Yes in the end Jimmy ended up with a medal and that's what the year is all about. However there are some other important experiences that every player is entitled to after winning a flag for example getting the opportunity to receive his medal in front of his family, enjoying the lap of honour, celebrating in the rooms and of course celebrating that night. These are all things that Wadden was able to do the year before on that very ground. They’re the moments you remember most when you look back on experiences like winning a flag. Jimmy wasn't afforded this right because of a selfish act that was deemed as deliberate –therefore he got what he deserved.
By the way discreet i can go down the pub king hit any person i want, then apologise the next day, but i dont know if that means my actions deserve to be looked at in any better light than if i didn't apologise. The only thing that was embarrassing was your comments.

matt_nicholls
15 Oct 2007, 13:07
You aren’t much of a follower if you were truly embarrassed with the action that our club took! The word proud would have been more appropriate i would have thought. A club looking after the welfare of their players is hardly an embarrassment but rather its responsibility. It’s the reason why we get so many quality footballers but more importantly quality people joining our club without asking for a cent. Yes in the end Jimmy ended up with a medal and that's what the year is all about. However there are some other important experiences that every player is entitled to after winning a flag for example getting the opportunity to receive his medal in front of his family, enjoying the lap of honour, celebrating in the rooms and of course celebrating that night. These are all things that Wadden was able to do the year before on that very ground. They’re the moments you remember most when you look back on experiences like winning a flag. Jimmy wasn't afforded this right because of a selfish act that was deemed as deliberate –therefore he got what he deserved.
By the way discreet i can go down the pub king hit any person i want, then apologise the next day, but i dont know if that means my actions deserve to be looked at in any better light than if i didn't apologise. The only thing that was embarrassing was your comments.

Well said

OMNIPOTENT_1
15 Oct 2007, 13:43
Ditto Woody.

Closer to 5k champ unless you gave some of yours back ?
& Some very nice tallent up there to pal !

matt_nicholls
15 Oct 2007, 13:53
Ditto Woody.

Closer to 5k champ unless you gave some of yours back ?
& Some very nice tallent up there to pal !

Shit, nah I was happy with my $490 profit. I hate Tabcorp so try not to give it back if I can help it. :D

Halffullonfence
15 Oct 2007, 14:24
Tabcorp was cleaned out by numerous members of the RDFL at Kilmore races yesterday. Halffullonfence, OMNI and matt_nicholls, along with a few of Macedon's young guns made around $4k between them.

Halffull's gun horse Alrosa won the sixth under the patient riding of Jamie Mott. Not bad considering one of the owners didn't know it was racing on the day until one of his former students of the game informed him.

R D Martin was the jock, yes was a patient ride I had givin her up 400 out but the split happened and $$$$ all round. Agree with Omni 5K+ closer to the mark.

matt_nicholls
15 Oct 2007, 14:44
R D Martin was the jock, yes was a patient ride I had givin her up 400 out but the split happened and $$$$ all round. Agree with Omni 5K+ closer to the mark.

What a pickup ride. Squiggles was a benefactor to a poor ride from Mitch Beadman who took his horse off the rails to allow Ryan martin to squeeze through. Did you know that he was only a second off the track record? Hopefully some of that $5k goes towards the MCC/MFC social rooms :p

Grubby_3
15 Oct 2007, 17:37
thanks for the tip boys few of us boys on our footy trip could have used a winner
:(:(:(

OMNIPOTENT_1
15 Oct 2007, 18:02
thanks for the tip boys few of us boys on our footy trip could have used a winner

Footy trip eh & your still awake on Monday ?
Always said you Kangas dont have a crack !
Only paid $11.80 mate, you know the Scotsman in him wont allow him to share the joy !
How was Frankston anyway ?

Halffullonfence
15 Oct 2007, 18:10

The owner Matt refered to as not knowing she was running was your's truly, mad dash to Kilmore after the boys rang to find out if she was a chance as for Omni had to drag him (screaming) to go.

matt_nicholls
15 Oct 2007, 18:19
The owner Matt refered to as not knowing she was running was your's truly, mad dash to Kilmore after the boys rang to find out if she was a chance as for Omni had to drag him (screaming) to go.

He probably owes you $500 now. The Macedon boys will no doubt wreak havoc in Hobart, just tell them to avoid the ladies down there. Last time I was in Tassie I took one back to the cave and she was all good in daylight but once the clothes came off she was hairy downstairs, bit like the Japanese lasses in Tokyo.

OMNIPOTENT_1
15 Oct 2007, 18:19
Yer ok ok twist my arm you did.
Looking forward to Matt's fashions on the field pics in this weeks edition of the Free Press too.
I wonder if his special photos ( upskirts ! ) will make it in ? :eek:

matt_nicholls
15 Oct 2007, 18:20
Yer ok ok twist my arm you did.
Looking forward to Matt's fashions on the field pics in this weeks edition of the Free Press too.
I wonder if his special photos ( upskirts ! ) will make it in ? :eek:

They are to join my personal pics of Robbo and Cornish on the bedroom wall ...

OMNIPOTENT_1
15 Oct 2007, 18:24
He probably owes you $500 now. The Macedon boys will no doubt wreak havoc in Hobart, just tell them to avoid the ladies down there. Last time I was in Tassie I took one back to the cave and she was all good in daylight but once the clothes came off she was hairy downstairs, bit like the Japanese lasses in Tokyo.

Um...... Matt......... They are called MEN pal !

matt_nicholls
15 Oct 2007, 18:27
Um...... Matt......... They are called MEN pal !

This one was a sheila, but I reckon her old man was Garry Lyon

Mongrel
15 Oct 2007, 18:30

you are in no position to criticise the tassie talent matty. just be gratefull they are silly enuff to hook up with you.you should have taken pictures of her,coz thats what your likely to marry:D

matt_nicholls
15 Oct 2007, 18:47
you are in no position to criticise the tassie talent matty. just be gratefull they are silly enuff to hook up with you.you should have taken pictures of her,coz thats what your likely to marry:D

Marriage is for suckers mate. Women are like buses, you miss one you jump on the next. I'm off to New Zealand for a couple of weeks over Xmas. I've been told that if I don't like Tassie chicks I should steer clear of the Maoris and sheep.

matt_nicholls
15 Oct 2007, 18:50
Forget Alrosa, we should have loaded up on Stockade. $19.20 thankyouverymuch.

Grubby_3
15 Oct 2007, 22:32
Footy trip eh & your still awake on Monday ?
Always said you Kangas dont have a crack !
Only paid $11.80 mate, you know the Scotsman in him wont allow him to share the joy !
How was Frankston anyway ?

only made it to broardy mate. well thats where we dropped off the bowen medalist after the little master cleaned up about 3 and a half grand maybe he was catching up with the owner of the horse :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Harry Wilson
15 Oct 2007, 22:52
What a pickup ride. Squiggles was a benefactor to a poor ride from Mitch Beadman who took his horse off the rails to allow Ryan martin to squeeze through. Did you know that he was only a second off the track record? Hopefully some of that $5k goes towards the MCC/MFC social rooms :p

Thanks for the tip Pickles, I distinctly remember getting on the phone to you not long ago and mentioning a nag to keep an eye on that is coming up in the not too distant future:thumbsd: You've changed mate, now that you're a big time reporter you've forgotten where you came from and who made you, it's the people that made you mate, the people.

PS. Don't worry about what they look like downstairs, you never look at the mantle piece whilst stoking the fire, just be happy you got one away!! I expect a tip next time. Should you not be forthcoming I may have to terminate our so called "friendship". I'm disappointed.

Itsmyshow
16 Oct 2007, 09:36
I would like to congratulate Mr Half Full on his Life Membership announced at the Macedon B&F..

Well deserved on many years of loyal service down at Cat Land and producing several talented youngsters through the Under 18 competition..

Well done mate...

WISH_I_COULD_KICK
16 Oct 2007, 17:58

I've decided to put up and end of season report for Lancefield and Kilmore. I'm hoping someone can contribute one for their respective clubs.

Macedon - Halffullonfence
Romsey - Harry Wilson
Riddell - OMNI
Roos - Itsmyshow
Hawks - Woody07
Centrals - WISH I COULD KICK
Rams - X Box
Diggers - Burraz

b&f:nankervis
2nd:martin,bullen and wheels

OMNIPOTENT_1
16 Oct 2007, 18:53
I would like to congratulate Mr Half Full on his Life Membership announced at the Macedon B&F..

Well deserved on many years of loyal service down at Cat Land and producing several talented youngsters through the Under 18 competition..

Well done mate...

Hear Hear, my Congrats' too pal.

About time !

peddles
16 Oct 2007, 22:00
Any ideas who will coach at Macedon in 2008 in all grades.

Harry Wilson
19 Oct 2007, 15:00
ROMSEY
2007 ladder position: 4th – Twelve (12) wins, Six (6) losses.
Best and fairest winner: Ryan Connellan.
Leading goal kicker: Brydan Morgan (39 goals).

HOW THE SEASON UNFOLDED
The Redbacks started the season off beautifully winning 6 out of their first 7 matches. Wins in this first part of the season against Digger’s Rest (last year’s runner’s up) and Kilmore looked to have the Redbacks on track to give the Finals a real shake. The next five rounds saw losses to Riddell and Woodend, both by comfortable margins; two close matches against Centrals and Diggers, with the Redbacks the victors and a comfortable win over Sunbury Kangaroos. The pivotal moment in the season was a 3 point loss to Kilmore at Romsey Park. This loss saw the Redbacks lose a bit of confidence heading into a tough run home to the finals. In the last 3 rounds Romsey had to play their arch rivals Lancefield, which on any given day the result could go either way. They then had to play Riddell at Riddell and then Woodend at home. The Redbacks went into the first final against Digger’s Rest on the back of 2 big defeats and confidence at a season low. This was short lived though with a convincing 52 point thrashing of the Burra in the first final. Round 2 of the finals saw the Redbacks come up against the boys from Woodend Hesket. The Redbacks led all game thanks largely to Brydan Morgan who kicked 5 goals whilst playing on one leg. The Redbacks were over-run in the last 2 minutes of the game with Woodend going on to win the game by 7 points and eventually going on to win the flag.

THE FUTURE AHEAD
No decisions have been made yet as to the appointment of the senior coaches for 2008. Having said that, I would be very surprised to see much change around the club. Mark DiPietro and Darren Lingard have done a very good job with the limited list they had this year and will look to capitalise next year after blooding some of the leagues best emerging talent. Danny Harrison, Ben Sullivan, Phil Romeril, Justin McGregor and Ben Richmond all had stellar seasons in the u/18’s and will look to step straight up to the senior stage. All have shown throughout 2007 that they are capable. These guys teaming up with the likes of Steve Burlak, Cam Dawson and Brydan Morgan should see a revitalised Redbacks outfit. A number of senior footballers will need to extract their fingers from their proverbial, myself included, if they are to keep their position in the side. With these guys pushing up, the reserves should be bolstered also, which will in turn put pressure on the senior list to perform. This is something every successful clubs needs and was something that was lacking at Romsey in 2007 which is why I believe we finished where we did.

PRE-SEASON SHOPPING LIST
The Redbacks need another Ruckman desperately to help out the big Yak (Connellan); this would then see him freed up in the forward line or on the bench for a rest. Another onballer would be handy with the possibility of one or two not playing on next year.

Iceman27
19 Oct 2007, 17:05
ROMSEY
2007 ladder position: 4th – Twelve (12) wins, Six (6) losses.
Best and fairest winner: Ryan Connellan.
Leading goal kicker: Brydan Morgan (39 goals).

HOW THE SEASON UNFOLDED
The Redbacks started the season off beautifully winning 6 out of their first 7 matches. Wins in this first part of the season against Digger’s Rest (last year’s runner’s up) and Kilmore looked to have the Redbacks on track to give the Finals a real shake. The next five rounds saw losses to Riddell and Woodend, both by comfortable margins; two close matches against Centrals and Diggers, with the Redbacks the victors and a comfortable win over Sunbury Kangaroos. The pivotal moment in the season was a 3 point loss to Kilmore at Romsey Park. This loss saw the Redbacks lose a bit of confidence heading into a tough run home to the finals. In the last 3 rounds Romsey had to play their arch rivals Lancefield, which on any given day the result could go either way. They then had to play Riddell at Riddell and then Woodend at home. The Redbacks went into the first final against Digger’s Rest on the back of 2 big defeats and confidence at a season low. This was short lived though with a convincing 52 point thrashing of the Burra in the first final. Round 2 of the finals saw the Redbacks come up against the boys from Woodend Hesket. The Redbacks led all game thanks largely to Brydan Morgan who kicked 5 goals whilst playing on one leg. The Redbacks were over-run in the last 2 minutes of the game with Woodend going on to win the game by 7 points and eventually going on to win the flag.

THE FUTURE AHEAD
No decisions have been made yet as to the appointment of the senior coaches for 2008. Having said that, I would be very surprised to see much change around the club. Mark DiPietro and Darren Lingard have done a very good job with the limited list they had this year and will look to capitalise next year after blooding some of the leagues best emerging talent. Danny Harrison, Ben Sullivan, Phil Romeril, Justin McGregor and Ben Richmond all had stellar seasons in the u/18’s and will look to step straight up to the senior stage. All have shown throughout 2007 that they are capable. These guys teaming up with the likes of Steve Burlak, Cam Dawson and Brydan Morgan should see a revitalised Redbacks outfit. A number of senior footballers will need to extract their fingers from their proverbial, myself included, if they are to keep their position in the side. With these guys pushing up, the reserves should be bolstered also, which will in turn put pressure on the senior list to perform. This is something every successful clubs needs and was something that was lacking at Romsey in 2007 which is why I believe we finished where we did.

PRE-SEASON SHOPPING LIST
The Redbacks need another Ruckman desperately to help out the big Yak (Connellan); this would then see him freed up in the forward line or on the bench for a rest. Another onballer would be handy with the possibility of one or two not playing on next year.

Harry any chance the carroll brothers will be back next year.

Harry Wilson
22 Oct 2007, 10:24
Harry any chance the carroll brothers will be back next year.

There is always a chance, but realistically I don't think they will. They are pretty close to Al Meldrum who has been re-appointed as coach of Heathcote next year. Luke Carroll is coming back from a Knee operation and Daniel Carroll, from all reports is just getting better as a footballer so it would be very handy to have them back at Romsey. I guess time will tell and I would be doing everything I could to get them back if I were on the committee. Both great guys and good club men.

ROOTA#6
24 Oct 2007, 19:52
There is always a chance, but realistically I don't think they will. They are pretty close to Al Meldrum who has been re-appointed as coach of Heathcote next year. Luke Carroll is coming back from a Knee operation and Daniel Carroll, from all reports is just getting better as a footballer so it would be very handy to have them back at Romsey. I guess time will tell and I would be doing everything I could to get them back if I were on the committee. Both great guys and good club men.

Word over this way is that they will be back at Heathcote with Al next year

B.O.G
25 Oct 2007, 10:13
hey mr nicholls, just wondering if you could please post your latest printings that you wrote in the paper this week regarding the cricket you were watching on the weekend!
heard from a big sponsor of the leauge that you had some harsh words to say about a few of the visiting team members (possibly a fomer person who ran the leauge), i know he isnt happy.

just wantinmg to see if you were really going to go though with what you were going to say or just talking s##t like alot of what comes out of your mouth........................... looking foward it.

matt_nicholls
25 Oct 2007, 10:22
hey mr nicholls, just wondering if you could please post your latest printings that you wrote in the paper this week regarding the cricket you were watching on the weekend!
heard from a big sponsor of the leauge that you had some harsh words to say about a few of the visiting team members (possibly a fomer person who ran the leauge), i know he isnt happy.

just wantinmg to see if you were really going to go though with what you were going to say or just talking s##t like alot of what comes out of your mouth........................... looking foward it.

What, that Hesket are now no better than Gisborne now by playing the Sharpe brothers in G-grade against kids, hacks and old men? No I didn't write that because the Hesket CC is a great club with that being the only issue for mine. I'm sure Neill doesn't get offended about what I say, we've been ribbing each other about that sorta stuff for a couple of years now.

This is the article I wrote though FYI.

Tigers post first win

LANCEFIELD cricketers recorded their first win of the season in E-grade on Saturday, comfortably defeating Rupertswood in Sunbury.
Once again the side was well driven by the Tigers’ young brigade, with 18-year-old Glenn Caton taking man of the match honours with 4-31 and a fine opening knock of 45.
Rupertswood was under the pump early as Caton spearheaded the new ball attack with brother Mark to have the home side reeling at 3/5.
A terrific captain’s innings by former McIntyre Cup batsman Kingsley Stanley (67) saw Rupertswood recover to post a moderate 7/177 off 40 overs.
In reply, the Tigers didn’t hesitate in chasing down the runs.
Openers Caton and 16-year-old Myles Dorman combined to take the score past 110 before the first wicket fell, which saw promising 17-year-old batsman Rory Healy take centre stage to blast a quick fire unbeaten 42.
Dorman was dismissed on 70, which brought another 16-year-old to the crease in Calum Furness. He and Healy then batted sensibly to keep Lancefield’s percentage strong, the Tigers overtaking Rupertswood in the 37th over at 2/188.
In Lancefield’s G-grade encounter, the home side was a victim of a stacked Hesket side, which saw Sharpe brothers Neill and James wreak havoc on the Tigers.
Former RDFL general manager Neill smashed his way to 97, caught in the covers.
James racked up 38, and Andrew Whitton contributed 37 to Hesket’s tally of 7/221.
Once again it was the youngsters that did the damage for Lancefield. Full of confidence, 17-year-old Luke Malone snared 3-29 with the new ball, before making a terrific half century (63) in tandem with good friend Aaron Andrews, who compiled 56.
But the Tigers were no match for the visitors, falling short on 8/186 after the allotted 35 overs.
This Saturday both Lancefield senior sides play at home in the first two-day fixture of the season. The E-graders play Wallan on the main oval and G-grade faces Bacchus Marsh in what will be a grand final replay from last season.

Itsmyshow
26 Oct 2007, 08:35

GDCA Thread....

Iceman27
16 Nov 2007, 19:12
Is there a 2008 thread or has things just gone quiet on here.

joeblow2
17 Nov 2007, 10:53
Is there a 2008 thread or has things just gone quiet on here.
2008 Thread

WALKERTOBETTS
5 Dec 2007, 06:34
FYI specially to those who have got no where else to go!

All is welcome - please PM me for futher info

The Fitzroy Stars FC are holding a BBQ to seek interest of potential players. The Northern Football League are seeking a list of potential players to coincide with our application, the NFL will be considering our entry into the NFL on Monday 10th December;

When:
This Wednesday 5th December 2007

Where:
Aborigines Advancement League
2 Watt Street, Thornbury

Time:
5.30pm Onwards

Supporters and any Interested Members are encouraged to come along, we hope to see you there.