View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

Thats_Special
18 Jan 2007, 14:11
So you heading to Braybrook pal?

I'll get TS to get mine in first.........

Easy done :D :thumbsu:

rightfoot_sloth
18 Jan 2007, 14:54
Anyone got any idea who is replacing Sharpey ?

Doona2
18 Jan 2007, 15:12

Matty Nicholls seems quite knowledgable and passionate about RDFL football, or would they be chasing an experienced football adminstrator?

Blueboy16
18 Jan 2007, 15:28

I have it from a good source Scott McCartney ex WAFL Football Manager has applied for the job. Would be the front runner with his experience

Mongrel
18 Jan 2007, 15:32
Riddell - Darren Rowsell
Diggers - Glen Hopkins
Woodend - Mick Giddings
Kangaroos - Jarrod Dixon
Romsey - Mark Dipietro/Darren Lingard
Kilmore - Terry Ahern
Macedon - Gavin Christianson
Lancefield - Chris Collins
Melton Centrals - Mark Greenshields
Rockbank - Same guy as last year, cant remember his name.

i reckon u should coach the interleague side TS

Thats_Special
19 Jan 2007, 06:49
i reckon u should coach the interleague side TS

Only if you were my playing assistant Mongrel... :thumbsu:

Thats_Special
19 Jan 2007, 06:51
Well done to Jason King and Russell Phillips who represented the GDCA at Country Week cricket.. Kingy hit 117no in the first innings against Seymore and Russ hit 53 in the 2nd.. Russ also took a few wickets for the week... :thumbsu:

billylid
19 Jan 2007, 07:29
No signed and sealed..... I'm in talks with 2 clubs. I return from Sydney 8-9 Feb so will decide then. Port Colts in with a chance too if they can find enough money for me...... Gotta see how good this ROCK07 really is.

would any those clubs be in the RDFL and prodomiately wear white and blue. It maybe a big enough current to give it one more crack in the RDFL and prove to a few people that a few decisions made last year may or may not have been wrong!!!!

Doona2
19 Jan 2007, 08:01
Got a confirmed starting date for the season yet? Looked under fixtures on RDFL site and 2007 draw not there

BrownDog2
19 Jan 2007, 08:30
Got a confirmed starting date for the season yet? Looked under fixtures on RDFL site and 2007 draw not there

at the moment it's April 21, but its unlikey it will start then.
BFL has delayed their season twice now, it was April 28 but now is May 5 along with the Bendigo league.

matt_nicholls
19 Jan 2007, 08:39
Matty Nicholls seems quite knowledgable and passionate about RDFL football, or would they be chasing an experienced football adminstrator?

I didn't apply this time around. Maybe when the new guy calls it stumps ....

matt_nicholls
19 Jan 2007, 08:40
Well done to Jason King and Russell Phillips who represented the GDCA at Country Week cricket.. Kingy hit 117no in the first innings against Seymore and Russ hit 53 in the 2nd.. Russ also took a few wickets for the week... :thumbsu:

Both blokes batted superbly. As both associations are in my readership area I trotted up to Bendigo to watch the game.

Kingy hit some big sixes!

The GDCA boys finished top and play Campaspe in the final today. They will go back into division one next year.

Doona2
19 Jan 2007, 08:47
BFL has delayed their season twice now, it was April 28 but now is May 5 along with the Bendigo league.

Im pretty keen to give my boys (Broadford) a home practice match on April 14 if there is a club interested - with cricket and our annual swap meet they rarely get one locally but with our delayed start (28th) it would be good for the players who travel 90% of the time for practice games.

PM me if anyone keen for a chat

Thats_Special
19 Jan 2007, 08:49

Why would it be pushed back??? Believe near all grounds in the RDFL would pass to play... With the exception of 2 possibly 3...

Thats_Special
19 Jan 2007, 08:57
Both blokes batted superbly. As both associations are in my readership area I trotted up to Bendigo to watch the game.

Kingy hit some big sixes!

The GDCA boys finished top and play Campaspe in the final today. They will go back into division one next year.

A couple of other RDFL boys were in the comp were they not?? Johnno and Waz Else from Woodend to name a couple?

matt_nicholls
19 Jan 2007, 09:05
A couple of other RDFL boys were in the comp were they not?? Johnno and Waz Else from Woodend to name a couple?

RDFL boys (to my knowledge):

Warren Else, Glenn Warner (2nds), Adam Johnstone - Woodend.

Robert Pitts - Lancefield (plays cricket @ Romsey).

blues12
19 Jan 2007, 09:34

i wouldn't say unlikely, kangas and riddell are the only early concerns i believe and possibly rockbank still 7 grounds to play on arrangments can be made to move or switch games.
Cant wait for the round 1 clash Kangas vs Burras, to clubs going great the last couple of years and both apparently picking up some very handy players.
should have a good crowd with bfl footy starting late.

Halffullonfence
19 Jan 2007, 10:06
i wouldn't say unlikely, kangas and riddell are the only early concerns i believe and possibly rockbank still 7 grounds to play on arrangments can be made to move or switch games.
Cant wait for the round 1 clash Kangas vs Burras, to clubs going great the last couple of years and both apparently picking up some very handy players.
should have a good crowd with bfl footy starting late.

Add Macedons ground, rock hard with little grass on one side of the oval.

Thats_Special
19 Jan 2007, 10:18
Add Macedons ground, rock hard with little grass on one side of the oval.

No worries at Macedon.. They never far away from a ridiculous amount of rain though are they HFF... Remember a lovely day last year when you and I spent 4 quarters in a nice amount of rain there, while no where else in Victoria rained... :D

BrownDog2
19 Jan 2007, 10:21
Rockbank, Macedon, Riddell, Kangaroos and Centrals are all unplayable.
Will need plenty of rain over traditional non rain fall months to start on time.

Grounds have been hard over the summer before but come good for the football season as they were allowed to pump water on. This is the first time ever they can't, and the grounds mentioned above will really struggle for an April start.

blues12
19 Jan 2007, 12:45
Rockbank, Macedon, Riddell, Kangaroos and Centrals are all unplayable.
Will need plenty of rain over traditional non rain fall months to start on time.

Grounds have been hard over the summer before but come good for the football season as they were allowed to pump water on. This is the first time ever they can't, and the grounds mentioned above will really struggle for an April start.

The roos and centrals are in positions to have alternate venues, in lions ground and bloods ground (both on recycled) council should urge ballarat sides to let rdfl sides use their ground and facilities when available. not sure about melton but roos and lions only clash twice at the moment.

blues12
19 Jan 2007, 12:47
Gisborne grounds are also in good nick, macedon could check with them for availability. Any football on an unused ground is good for the community.especially with bendigo and ballarat seasons re scheduled.

blues12
19 Jan 2007, 12:51
would any those clubs be in the RDFL and prodomiately wear white and blue. It maybe a big enough current to give it one more crack in the RDFL and prove to a few people that a few decisions made last year may or may not have been wrong!!!!

blueboy in the blue and white again, in the 18s was a very handy footballer and quite fit. just a little hard work will stick it to some people, can be very sneaky infront of goal as he proved a few times this year.

Mongrel
19 Jan 2007, 13:01
No worries at Macedon.. They never far away from a ridiculous amount of rain though are they HFF... Remember a lovely day last year when you and I spent 4 quarters in a nice amount of rain there, while no where else in Victoria rained... :D

is that the same ground that an anormous amount of bourbon slabs were consumed at last year TS?

Thats_Special
19 Jan 2007, 13:12
is that the same ground that an anormous amount of bourbon slabs were consumed at last year TS?
I believe that may just be the same ground there Mongrel... Macedon should have enough money for recycled water after the profits they would have made that day :D :thumbsu:

billylid
19 Jan 2007, 14:08
blueboy in the blue and white again, in the 18s was a very handy footballer and quite fit. just a little hard work will stick it to some people, can be very sneaky infront of goal as he proved a few times this year.

there you go Blueboy a glowing endorsement from the 06 Pres of the Club , im sure TS would welcome you with open arms , maybe just maybe its something you can consider to say in the RDFL. Defiantly add more spice to Round 1 wouldnt you say , although i know you were well liked by the playing group

Thats_Special
19 Jan 2007, 14:18
there you go Blueboy a glowing endorsement from the 06 Pres of the Club , im sure TS would welcome you with open arms , maybe just maybe its something you can consider to say in the RDFL. Defiantly add more spice to Round 1 wouldnt you say , although i know you were well liked by the playing group

More than welcome back.... :thumbsu:

footyfever
19 Jan 2007, 14:44
heared and seeking conformation that PAul Newton doesn't want to play seniors and will Sunbury Kangaroos struggle next season. And does anyone have predictionson the under 18's top 5

vantheman32
19 Jan 2007, 15:52
sounds unlikely that paul woodnt want 2 play seniors

Halffullonfence
20 Jan 2007, 00:40

Dont bitch about rain in the middel off winter at the MCG:p .Never let a bit of rain get in the way off Bourbon :) !!!

Who went to the barometers send off and how was it ?????

Had other priorities at Benella and could not make it :rolleyes: .

Good luck Sharpie!!!!:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

blues12
20 Jan 2007, 10:14
Dont bitch about rain in the middel off winter at the MCG:p .Never let a bit of rain get in the way off Bourbon :) !!!

Who went to the barometers send off and how was it ?????

Had other priorities at Benella and could not make it :rolleyes: .

Good luck Sharpie!!!!:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

There was a good turn up, i think mainly to make sure he is going, 2 hours after start about 20 people still there, a few faces that didn't show, most clubs had somebody there.
very funny to see the sharp man drunk.

Mongrel
22 Jan 2007, 07:02
heared and seeking conformation that PAul Newton doesn't want to play seniors and will Sunbury Kangaroos struggle next season. And does anyone have predictionson the under 18's top 5

i doubt it. the big fella had a massive impact in certain games last year.
why wouldnt he wanna take the next step?

as for ( will sunbury struggle? ) well time will tell. but we didnt struggle last year, so why would we struggle this year? i havent heard of many players leaving,and im sure the club would have recruited well.

Trueblueroo
22 Jan 2007, 21:10
Sunbury to struggle.... what a joke! Two of the league's current vetrans are in a all mighty good shape! One D.Helmers and L.McInerney are in the best shape of their local football careers! Running around the creek in Gisborne tonight, doing 3km at a fair pace this early in the season!

think ya right Mongrel, Gisborne's ovals would make a good home away from home!.........Acctually suprised M.B didn't paoch you to! lol!

bearsboy
23 Jan 2007, 07:29
Sunbury to struggle.... what a joke! Two of the league's current vetrans are in a all mighty good shape! One D.Helmers and L.McInerney are in the best shape of their local football careers! Running around the creek in Gisborne tonight, doing 3km at a fair pace this early in the season!

think ya right Mongrel, Gisborne's ovals would make a good home away from home!.........Acctually suprised M.B didn't paoch you to! lol!Gisborne havent really ever poached players from the RDFL (i reckon they should) . This poses the question as to why the elite player's in the RDFL don't want to test themselves in a major league .Generally the elite player's in these major league's have at least tried out at a higher level.Not being critical here ,just an observation . Any thought's ?

Mongrel
23 Jan 2007, 08:27
Gisborne havent really ever poached players from the RDFL (i reckon they should) . This poses the question as to why the elite player's in the RDFL don't want to test themselves in a major league .Generally the elite player's in these major league's have at least tried out at a higher level.Not being critical here ,just an observation . Any thought's ?

i think your spot on bears boy.a player should probably play in the highest possible standard they can.then come back home 2 finish their careers with their mates.it also gives a bit back 2 the club that first helped set up your career.but one thing that ive noticed with most people that play in higher leagues,they tend 2 think that they are above the players that play in lesser leagues.just because a guy plays at gisborne doesnt mean he is head and shoulders above the players in the r.d.f.l.
most of the elite players play in the rdfl remain there to play with their mates.not everyone would want 2 travel all over the country just 2 prove they can make the grade.

Blueboy16
23 Jan 2007, 11:12
I have just heard a rumour that Diggers Rest FC is in serious financial trouble. Could it be the end of a few half decent years and back down the bottom where they have been for so many of the clubs history. Anyone in the know wish to advise on the situation?

matt_nicholls
23 Jan 2007, 12:01
I have just heard a rumour that Diggers Rest FC is in serious financial trouble. Could it be the end of a few half decent years and back down the bottom where they have been for so many of the clubs history. Anyone in the know wish to advise on the situation?

For the good of the league I would hope that this is certainly not the case Blueboy.

blues12
23 Jan 2007, 12:24
if it is the case it wont effect the team,on so many occassions the club has said they dont pay players. so i would predict they would all stay. hopefully once again BB your just stirring the nest.

Sunqvist
23 Jan 2007, 12:28
i think your spot on bears boy.a player should probably play in the highest possible standard they can.then come back home 2 finish their careers with their mates.it also gives a bit back 2 the club that first helped set up your career.but one thing that ive noticed with most people that play in higher leagues,they tend 2 think that they are above the players that play in lesser leagues.just because a guy plays at gisborne doesnt mean he is head and shoulders above the players in the r.d.f.l.
most of the elite players play in the rdfl remain there to play with their mates.not everyone would want 2 travel all over the country just 2 prove they can make the grade.

I would have thought Gisborne Kyneton in the BFL and Sunbury, melton etc would have had more interest in the top few players in the RDFL.
Looking from the other way i think the RDFL certainly has a few players that played down in Gisborne.
Woodend have Patterson, Goodyear and Sandle last year spenmt time down there in the past. J Allen at Riddell played in a flag there maybe two?? Blade also from riddell played at Gisborne. Both the McInerny boys from Kangas. And Brydon Morgan played there?

Blueboy16
23 Jan 2007, 12:40
if it is the case it wont effect the team,on so many occassions the club has said they dont pay players. so i would predict they would all stay. hopefully once again BB your just stirring the nest.

I'm not interested in stirring the nest in this department. My beef has never been with the Commitee. Diggers DO PAY players. Always have.

Blueboy16
23 Jan 2007, 12:43
I would have thought Gisborne Kyneton in the BFL and Sunbury, melton etc would have had more interest in the top few players in the RDFL.
Looking from the other way i think the RDFL certainly has a few players that played down in Gisborne.
Woodend have Patterson, Goodyear and Sandle last year spenmt time down there in the past. J Allen at Riddell played in a flag there maybe two?? Blade also from riddell played at Gisborne. Both the McInerny boys from Kangas. And Brydon Morgan played there?

Jeff Heritage - BFL & EDFL Experience
Cole Laurie - As above
Steve James - As above

Sunbury have had Shaun Sims on their Radar for years now.

Mongrel
23 Jan 2007, 13:01

exactly:thumbsu:

billylid
23 Jan 2007, 13:37

and where did you hear this from blueboy, id find it very difficult to believe but i will say that the boys are diggers would stick together alot of them play for each other and also the coach , so i couldnt see it effecting the boys on the field...

Halffullonfence
23 Jan 2007, 13:42

Agree with Mongrel's post earlier very good players test themselves (that desire makes them better than average players) then return home to play with mates. All but Morgan and Goodyear former juniors from clubs other than Gisborne in the RDJFL or started their senior careers with RDFL sides.

Thats_Special
23 Jan 2007, 14:04
i doubt it. the big fella had a massive impact in certain games last year.
why wouldnt he wanna take the next step?

as for ( will sunbury struggle? ) well time will tell. but we didnt struggle last year, so why would we struggle this year? i havent heard of many players leaving,and im sure the club would have recruited well.

Think he was talking about the Roos Under 18s here Mongrel, on the question on will they struggle?

Thats_Special
23 Jan 2007, 14:06

Agree totally Mongrel :thumbsu:

Mongrel
23 Jan 2007, 14:35
and where did you hear this from blueboy, id find it very difficult to believe but i will say that the boys are diggers would stick together alot of them play for each other and also the coach , so i couldnt see it effecting the boys on the field...

no doubt we all hope this is not true.love them or hate them,
no-one wants 2 see a club struggling financially.macedon have been thru it recently.but recovered thank god.lets hope your wrong bb

quick stix
23 Jan 2007, 18:21

Spencer, seriously mate.

yeah i'll have a bite.. i am telling you right now that you have absolutely no idea what ur talking about.

not gonna bother with u but some of the stuff u post on here is absolute rubbish. i know these forums are places for discussion and argument but honestly blatent lies are just rediculous!!

Mongrel
23 Jan 2007, 19:59
Spencer, seriously mate.

yeah i'll have a bite.. i am telling you right now that you have absolutely no idea what ur talking about.

not gonna bother with u but some of the stuff u post on here is absolute rubbish. i know these forums are places for discussion and argument but honestly blatent lies are just rediculous!!

damn.i was hoping it was true.wouldnt ya kill 2 recruit some of the diggers guns.simms,ruane,,green,,morgan,jose. etc. by the way blueboy, i dont beleive it.these players will b there round 1 and no doubt they will be set 4 a big year once again.most of the guys that play in this league will agree,its a great comp and deep down,we all respect most of our opposition.bring on round 1. hey burger5 just watched the video of round 3 last year.i can c why u won the bowen pal.cant wait 2 play on u round 1 next year.:D

Blueboy16
23 Jan 2007, 23:16
Spencer, seriously mate.

Didn't say I believed it. Someone in the know told me on the weekend that the club is struggling. If it's wrong well so be it. Maybe someone was just trying to get me to post this statement so they could have a crack back at me. Well I'm up for it and bring it on.

Cheers boys "UP THE BURRA"

Thats_Special
24 Jan 2007, 06:15
Spencer, seriously mate.

Disagree totally, I would suggest that near everything that Blueboy has posted has been pretty close to the mark, remember this is your first post, make sure you set up your own credibility before you attack someone else's.... The info may not be correct, but its the info im sure he has received from a source close to the club, as many people on here do...

billylid
24 Jan 2007, 07:09
damn.i was hoping it was true.wouldnt ya kill 2 recruit some of the diggers guns.simms,ruane,,green,,morgan,jose. etc. by the way blueboy, i dont beleive it.these players will b there round 1 and no doubt they will be set 4 a big year once again.most of the guys that play in this league will agree,its a great comp and deep down,we all respect most of our opposition.bring on round 1. hey burger5 just watched the video of round 3 last year.i can c why u won the bowen pal.cant wait 2 play on u round 1 next year.:D

burger5 was not the bowen medialist last year unfortunally mongrel. Never or less burger 5 is a very good player and some1 who holds the very unrated backline together at Diggers.. Ok then Burger no more @%@#$%^@ in your pocket ok...

Blueboy16
24 Jan 2007, 07:21
burger5 was not the bowen medialist last year unfortunally mongrel. Never or less burger 5 is a very good player and some1 who holds the very unrated backline together at Diggers.. Ok then Burger no more @%@#$%^@ in your pocket ok...

Be aware though Billylid that Burger5 login is slowly becoming a community user as quite a few people have posted under this login. I for one know that the Bowen Medalist has posted under Burger5 after a recent function @ Burger5's house. A certain FAT 2's coach has done the same. HAHA

I am in agreeance with the very good player part too.

Mongrel
24 Jan 2007, 11:56
Disagree totally, I would suggest that near everything that Blueboy has posted has been pretty close to the mark, remember this is your first post, make sure you set up your own credibility before you attack someone else's.... The info may not be correct, but its the info im sure he has received from a source close to the club, as many people on here do...

you just relax there big fella.we dont wanna send u back 2 anger management classes again.

ooops sorry TS, i meant alcholics anonomys.my apologies:eek:

burger5
24 Jan 2007, 16:25
come on billy i was really enjoying that. Keep it coming. mwaaa

dombomb
24 Jan 2007, 21:00
Big night on the track at Kilmore tonight with only nine on the track.

billylid
25 Jan 2007, 07:37
Robert Hayes to leave Diggers Rest to play with Riddell. Go Robbie Go Goooooo Robbie.......

Can confirm that this rumour can be put to bed Robbie (Mullet) Hayes is going no where , and can also say with fact that diggers are in the best place they have been off the field in along time, so blueboy although you very much so create discussion mate and thats very healthy , on this 2 points your a little left of Centre.. Burger 5 lets hope you find that 05 form again and start to reclaim that title of the general..:thumbsu:

rightfoot_sloth
25 Jan 2007, 10:16
Don't forget about the other forum on the RDFL.

http://rdfl2005.proboards78.com/index.cgi?

Its been pretty quiet of late on there.

Courageunderfire
27 Jan 2007, 18:09
Just wondering how the viewing public of the RDFL rate Warren Else from Woodend?

I believe one of the better backman of the comp and an even better bloke!

His old man once took 18 grabs against Melton at CHB, half an hour after getting off a 20 hour flight!

Halffullonfence
28 Jan 2007, 10:10
Just wondering how the viewing public of the RDFL rate Warren Else from Woodend?

I believe one of the better backman of the comp and an even better bloke!

His old man once took 18 grabs against Melton at CHB, half an hour after getting off a 20 hour flight!

Not overly skilled but gives you his all, terrific team player & clubman.

blues12
28 Jan 2007, 10:50
last year romsey secured the services of mclellan due to his contact with meldrum and of course a little financial gain. the question has not yet been raised, with the departure of meldrum will the rdfl also see mclellan exiting the redbacks

matt_nicholls
28 Jan 2007, 10:51
last year romsey secured the services of mclellan due to his contact with meldrum and of course a little financial gain. the question has not yet been raised, with the departure of meldrum will the rdfl also see mclellan exiting the redbacks

McLellan will be in the red and black this year from all reports. The two coaches have a couple of recruits up their sleeves I'm led to believe, but no names as yet.

blues12
28 Jan 2007, 10:55
McLellan will be in the red and black this year from all reports. The two coaches have a couple of recruits up their sleeves I'm led to believe, but no names as yet.

good news for romsey, with a couple of players leaving it would be a shame to see them lose more.
These possible recruits, do you know their history, which league would they be from matt.

GOONA
28 Jan 2007, 11:08
Big night on the track at Kilmore tonight with only nine on the track.
Rumour around is that Dave Cornish and Kempy have both left Wallan and have signed with Kilmore. Any truth to this?

blues12
28 Jan 2007, 11:16
Rumour around is that Dave Cornish and Kempy have both left Wallan and have signed with Kilmore. Any truth to this?

also heard that jason king will be returning to kilmore for 07.
and they are also chasing a CHF, steve mcintyre from assumption.

matt_nicholls
28 Jan 2007, 11:57

Not sure about Cornish but Kemp is back in the blue this season.

matt_nicholls
28 Jan 2007, 11:58
also heard that jason king will be returning to kilmore for 07.
and they are also chasing a CHF, steve mcintyre from assumption.

Jason King will be returning. Terry is chasing a few players, namely a ruck and full-forward (both of which he is confident of getting). Would love to see the young Blues' side in the finals in 07.

Iceman27
28 Jan 2007, 12:20

Kempy has gone, Cornish still undecided, pretty sure you wont see him at Wallan though. Rumors been going around that he is choosing between Broadford and Kilmore for 07.

vantheman32
28 Jan 2007, 18:23
noddy, u sound a bit sour there? upset about losing kemp n poss cornish

dombomb
28 Jan 2007, 18:31
With Kemp and Cornish that should give Kilmore 11 players based on who trained Wednesday!!!! Any truth to the rumour that Colliss was going to leave but got a nice pay rise to stay even though he doesn't train?? Any truth that you have been in talks with other clubs around the area van the man??

vantheman32
28 Jan 2007, 19:21
haha dom bomb who are you? there were a few players absent from trainin due 2 cricket tribunal!
on the colliss subject, he was not paid last year and he hasnt asked for any money this year! there is a reason he doesnt train n thats because he works from 2pm-10pm every weeknight. doubt any other clubs would want me to play for them, so no talks with other clubs! are you involved at kilmore?

would be great for kilmore to gain the services of steve mcintyre this season for a full year! bloody strong n never gives up!

burger5
28 Jan 2007, 19:22
Can confirm that this rumour can be put to bed Robbie (Mullet) Hayes is going no where , and can also say with fact that diggers are in the best place they have been off the field in along time, so blueboy although you very much so create discussion mate and thats very healthy , on this 2 points your a little left of Centre.. Burger 5 lets hope you find that 05 form again and start to reclaim that title of the general..:thumbsu:

Ill try my best billy. Was going alright in 06 till I got sniped with my head over the ball and cost me 5 weeks with a neck injury. And it still gives me pain even as i write this. But have had a relaxing summer and slowly getting back some fitness. Been running with Ruane lately. Watch out for him in 07 looking very good at the moment.

Doona2
28 Jan 2007, 20:13
Kempy has gone, Cornish still undecided, pretty sure you wont see him at Wallan though. Rumors been going around that he is choosing between Broadford and Kilmore for 07.

Cornish to Broadford pure rumour, have been told he'll be a Blue in 2007

billylid
29 Jan 2007, 07:42
Ill try my best billy. Was going alright in 06 till I got sniped with my head over the ball and cost me 5 weeks with a neck injury. And it still gives me pain even as i write this. But have had a relaxing summer and slowly getting back some fitness. Been running with Ruane lately. Watch out for him in 07 looking very good at the moment.

Well we will see how all the boys are shaping up this time next week when pre-season starts burger 5. I know for a fact a few of the bhoys have had a big off-season adn im sure they will need all the 12weeks to the start of the season. My question is can Ruane go back to back this year in 07, if his golf skills are anything to go by he is no chance , sorry steve but this thread is all about calling a spade a spade.. hahahahahaaha

Rocketship
29 Jan 2007, 09:40
They can choose either and it won't have any effect on anything. Kempy is overrated and Cornish was never that good.
Think you may regret calling Kempy overrated in the future. How about we have your evaluation again mid way through the season.
Also how do you come to this conclusion?

Rocketship
29 Jan 2007, 09:56
With Kemp and Cornish that should give Kilmore 11 players based on who trained Wednesday!!!! Any truth to the rumour that Colliss was going to leave but got a nice pay rise to stay even though he doesn't train?? Any truth that you have been in talks with other clubs around the area van the man??
Dombomb, you seem to have issue with Kilmore's preseason training. How do you know the numbers at training in the first place? I assume you were there or are you passing on rumors?

Halffullonfence
29 Jan 2007, 18:43
Huge news from Woodsend with the return of R Martin and L Runnells and the imminent signing of their world traveling mate Dylan Smith.

Halffullonfence
29 Jan 2007, 18:55
Has anybody heard how geoffhopkinsburra is going at Heathcote?????

Courageunderfire
29 Jan 2007, 19:05
I know this is a long way off topic but it is cricket season.

Just wondering who were the better players in the Gisborne league or whatever it is called?

Halffullonfence
29 Jan 2007, 19:29
I know this is a long way off topic but it is cricket season.

Just wondering who were the better players in the Gisborne league or whatever it is called?

Bats; R Belcher, K Ng
Bowlers; L Brennan, S Pyke
Allrounds; S Huddle, G Patterson

Comp not what it used to be !!!

Dog Town
29 Jan 2007, 19:53
Bats; R Belcher, K Ng
Bowlers; L Brennan, S Pyke
Allrounds; S Huddle, G Patterson

Comp not what it used to be !!! Few pretty decent players left out of that. Woodend have some bats ahead of Ng in my opinion and plenty of other good bats around the comp not to mention bowlers.Steve Pyke doesn't even open the bowling for Diggers when at full strength these days.I think Steve Grey is one guy who has had a huge year with the bat for united.Some chance that they are expanding McIntyre next year to inlude teams like Diggers , Macedon and Romsey on a permanent basis. The gdca has people looking into it and asking the clubs for opinions.

Best players just off the top of my head

Woodend- Chew , Loughnane , Johnstone , Ng
Bacchus- Huddle , Stuhldrier , Lalor
Macedon- Belcher , Smits
United- Grey , Billinghurst , Hughes
Sunbury- Bogdanovic , Tyler , Boffey
Romsey- Cox , Carrol
Gisborne- Walsh , Harmon , Lethborg
Diggers - McDorman , Morse

There is more teams but I cant be bothered. Competition is still pretty healthy I reckon.

Halffullonfence
29 Jan 2007, 20:26
Few pretty decent players left out of that. Woodend have some bats ahead of Ng in my opinion and plenty of other good bats around the comp not to mention bowlers.Steve Pyke doesn't even open the bowling for Diggers when at full strength these days.I think Steve Grey is one guy who has had a huge year with the bat for united.Some chance that they are expanding McIntyre next year to inlude teams like Diggers , Macedon and Romsey on a permanent basis. The gdca has people looking into it and asking the clubs for opinions.

Not many bats about with good technique Ng has. As for Steve Pyke face him in the nets and tell him to forget about his crook back and let some rip (have helmet on) he is and was one of the top 10 bowlers in this comp in the last 20 years easily.

Good to hear about the GDCA looking to go back to format of the 70's & 80's.

Comps standard poor to what it was.

bearsboy
30 Jan 2007, 07:20
Anyone able to frame a market for the up coming season . My money's on Woodend to bring home the bacon in 07 .

matt_nicholls
30 Jan 2007, 07:23
Pykey is still a gun! One of the best fielders in the comp would have to be Ashfield's Jason King. Freak!

Some of the notable bats in the comp are: Rob Belcher, Matt Loughnane, Adrian Chew, Kar Weng Ng, Steve Grey, Brenton Hanson (lofty Wallan batsman), Trevor Shipp (F-grade Macedon legend).

The competition is certainly not what it used to be, however its very even in McIntyre and in A-grade there is little to seperate the top four sides.

Would love to see McIntyre at 10 team comp to include Romsey and Macedon or Diggers, with a relegation rule still in place.

Ideally, for the competition's sake, in five years time, the A-grade sides should be made of clubs such as Ashfield, Thoroughbreds, St Anthonys, Lancefield, Hesket etc.

matt_nicholls
30 Jan 2007, 07:27
Anyone able to frame a market for the up coming season . My money's on Woodend to bring home the bacon in 07 .

Woodend $3.90
Riddell $3.90
Diggers $4.70
Kangaroos $5.80
Romsey $6.50
---------
Kilmore $11.50
Lancefield $13.00
Macedon $15.05
Centrals $51.00
Rockbank $101

blues12
30 Jan 2007, 09:28
Woodend $3.90
Riddell $3.90
Diggers $4.70
Kangaroos $5.80
Romsey $6.50
---------
Kilmore $11.50
Lancefield $13.00
Macedon $15.05
Centrals $51.00
Rockbank $101

Not bad Matt what are kilmore paying for a top 5 finish i'll put 50 on em.

billylid
30 Jan 2007, 09:49
Woodend $3.90
Riddell $3.90
Diggers $4.70
Kangaroos $5.80
Romsey $6.50
---------
Kilmore $11.50
Lancefield $13.00
Macedon $15.05
Centrals $51.00
Rockbank $101

how much for a boxed quinella 1-2 finish Diggers and Kangaroos

matt_nicholls
30 Jan 2007, 10:05
No such thing as a boxed qunella.

But I would pay
$11 for a Diggers-Kangaroos 1-2
$15 for a Kangaroos-Diggers 1-2
$8 for the quinella

Top five odds

Woodend $1.10
Riddell $1.20
Diggers $1.40
Kangaroos $1.55
Romsey $1.80
--------------
Kilmore $2.20
Lancefield $2.90
Macedon $4.10
Centrals $9.80
Rockbank $17.00

cockroach
30 Jan 2007, 10:47
No such thing as a boxed qunella.

But I would pay
$11 for a Diggers-Kangaroos 1-2
$15 for a Kangaroos-Diggers 1-2
$8 for the quinella

Top five odds

Woodend $1.10
Riddell $1.20
Diggers $1.40
Kangaroos $1.55
Romsey $1.80
--------------
Kilmore $2.20
Lancefield $2.90
Macedon $4.10
Centrals $9.80
Rockbank $17.00

how do centrals look this year had a bad finish 06
have they picked up to improve there list
new coach has he got any recruits
watched them play last year and a lot of cheifs trying to do there own thing
not much respect shown for there coaching staff ??

Rodriguez
30 Jan 2007, 11:02
Are Woodend a bit short considering their best player Mick Lacy is extremely unlikely to play.

Diggers made the GF and looks to have improved with their supposed recruits. Surely they would be in front of the hawks.

blues12
30 Jan 2007, 12:06
Are Woodend a bit short considering their best player Mick Lacy is extremely unlikely to play.

Diggers made the GF and looks to have improved with their supposed recruits. Surely they would be in front of the hawks.

Lacy will play when available other than that sounds like they have already recruited 4 or 5 but we always hear that, this time of year.

blues12
30 Jan 2007, 12:09

Billy, quinella hey, why not go an exacta.
I'm not game but i will box a trifecta for $12 Woodend, Diggers, Roos and Riddell. Sure i would cop it if i left Riddell out

Mongrel
30 Jan 2007, 13:25

give us the odds 4 the bowen billy.

Thats_Special
30 Jan 2007, 14:08
Bowen Odds... Tough one....

Ill have a crack

Sims (DR) $8
Jose (DR) $10
Ruane (DR) $10
Christianson (MAC) $15
M.McInerney (SK) $15
M.Robertson (Kil) $15
J.Allen (Ri) $21
K.Ng (WH) $21
M.McClellan (Ro) $30

Any other top 5 side player $51
Any other bottom 3 side player $101

Give me $100 on L.McInerney @ $51....

Sunqvist
30 Jan 2007, 14:10
give us the odds 4 the bowen billy.

you could go for a mike sheahans top 50 if anyones got a few spare minutes. more likely a top 20 or so id say.
maybe at febuary 07 who are the most valuable players to theyre club/league right now.

Bowen
3.00 Robertson
4.50Sims
16.00 Allen
10.00 Lacy
8.00 C.Collins
100/1 A.James
7.00 Jose
21.00 B.Johnson
16.00 Kar Weng Ng
9.00 M.McInerny
12.00 L.McInerny
10.00 Ruane

Im sure theirs heaps of others justb thought id get it started. throw in Sipthorpe here at woodsy at 1.90 if the rumours are true

billylid
30 Jan 2007, 15:02

Ill have a crack

Sims (DR) $8
Jose (DR) $10
Ruane (DR) $10
Christianson (MAC) $15
M.McInerney (SK) $15
M.Robertson (Kil) $15
J.Allen (Ri) $21
K.Ng (WH) $21
M.McClellan (Ro) $30

ok thats special ur odds are very generous and if i was a gambling man i will spend 150 , $50 on a sure thing s.sims at $8 , i will also try and crush you by taking B.johnston for 50 at $51 to win 2550 (surely in top 5 at kangaroos) and another 50 on a new recruit for diggers Brydan Morgan at ($51) to also win 2550

Trueblueroo
30 Jan 2007, 15:35
I want to know what say, 'Helmers' and 'Gruby' would be considering both maybe looking at their last years and having lost almost 40kg between the pair of them, surely they would have to be up their! Wadden may do ok in a side where he may stand out more with the absence of Lee!

bearsboy
30 Jan 2007, 15:41
you could go for a mike sheahans top 50 if anyones got a few spare minutes. more likely a top 20 or so id say.
maybe at febuary 07 who are the most valuable players to theyre club/league right now.

Bowen
3.00 Robertson
4.50Sims
16.00 Allen
10.00 Lacy
8.00 C.Collins
100/1 A.James
7.00 Jose
21.00 B.Johnson
16.00 Kar Weng Ng
9.00 M.McInerny
12.00 L.McInerny
10.00 Ruane

Im sure theirs heaps of others justb thought id get it started. throw in Sipthorpe here at woodsy at 1.90 if the rumours are trueIf Sippy plays at Woodend they should come into $2.50. Get on the Woodend -Sippy double . He's in the top 5 players in the Bendigo league , not sure anyone in the rdfl could get close 2 stopping this bloke . Still think he's staying at Gisborne though .

goblues09
30 Jan 2007, 15:48

Ill have a crack

Sims (DR) $8
Jose (DR) $10
Ruane (DR) $10
Christianson (MAC) $15
M.McInerney (SK) $15
M.Robertson (Kil) $15
J.Allen (Ri) $21
K.Ng (WH) $21
M.McClellan (Ro) $30

lol ill have a hunge on robbo for sure - will ********** it in if plays at least 14 games - TS i hope youre a rich man cos thems odds is crazy - an $8 dollar favourite?!!!!

vantheman32
30 Jan 2007, 16:00
im with you duff but i dont have 100 bucks! can i borrow sum lol