View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
Rodriguez
30 Jan 2007, 16:21
Jay Allen for the Bowen if Riddell lose a couple his influence on games will be noticed even more.
blues12
30 Jan 2007, 16:26
Kangas Pre season training starts tommorrow night 6:30 at club rooms. It will be very interesting to see the numbers turn up. A few new faces before xmas, and will be good to see them back and wanting to play in the blue and white.
jumpingjackflash
30 Jan 2007, 16:34
No such thing as a boxed qunella.
But I would pay
$11 for a Diggers-Kangaroos 1-2
$15 for a Kangaroos-Diggers 1-2
$8 for the quinella
Top five odds
Woodend $1.10
Riddell $1.20
Diggers $1.40
Kangaroos $1.55
Romsey $1.80
--------------
Kilmore $2.20
Lancefield $2.90
Macedon $4.10
Centrals $9.80
Rockbank $17.00
you sure there is no such thing as a box quinella matty?? i think you'll find there is.
Dog Town
30 Jan 2007, 19:11
Not many bats about with good technique Ng has. As for Steve Pyke face him in the nets and tell him to forget about his crook back and let some rip (have helmet on) he is and was one of the top 10 bowlers in this comp in the last 20 years easily.
Good to hear about the GDCA looking to go back to format of the 70's & 80's.
Comps standard poor to what it was.
Faced him many times in the nets and no doubt he is a freak. The trick is not to hit him for 4 so as not fire him up. His back is letting him down a bit these days which is why I say he probably wouldn't rate as one of the best these days not that I would enjoy facing him.
Courageunderfire
30 Jan 2007, 19:44
Few pretty decent players left out of that. Woodend have some bats ahead of Ng in my opinion and plenty of other good bats around the comp not to mention bowlers.Steve Pyke doesn't even open the bowling for Diggers when at full strength these days.I think Steve Grey is one guy who has had a huge year with the bat for united.Some chance that they are expanding McIntyre next year to inlude teams like Diggers , Macedon and Romsey on a permanent basis. The gdca has people looking into it and asking the clubs for opinions.
Best players just off the top of my head
Woodend- Chew , Loughnane , Johnstone , Ng
Bacchus- Huddle , Stuhldrier , Lalor
Macedon- Belcher , Smits
United- Grey , Billinghurst , Hughes
Sunbury- Bogdanovic , Tyler , Boffey
Romsey- Cox , Carrol
Gisborne- Walsh , Harmon , Lethborg
Diggers - McDorman , Morse
There is more teams but I cant be bothered. Competition is still pretty healthy I reckon.
Who will win it or be around the mark. And why? New players, up and comers, coaches, financial situation? Whatever!:thumbsu:
thebadger
30 Jan 2007, 20:51
you sure there is no such thing as a box quinella matty?? i think you'll find there is.
No, there is no such thing as a "Boxed Quinella". A quinella is having 1st and 2nd in your selections, in any order. Eg Woodend, Diggers and Riddell in a quinella would mean as long as two of these teams finish 1st and 2nd,you have the quinella. Choosing the order is an exacta.
thebadger
30 Jan 2007, 20:54
No such thing as a boxed qunella.
But I would pay
$11 for a Diggers-Kangaroos 1-2
$15 for a Kangaroos-Diggers 1-2
$8 for the quinella
Top five odds
Woodend $1.10
Riddell $1.20
Diggers $1.40
Kangaroos $1.55
Romsey $1.80
--------------
Kilmore $2.20
Lancefield $2.90
Macedon $4.10
Centrals $9.80
Rockbank $17.00
Geez Pickles, when are you going to change your name to Luke West, Mk 2?
matt_nicholls
31 Jan 2007, 07:32
Geez Pickles, when are you going to change your name to Luke West, Mk 2?
I'll always live in Westy's shadow. The man does a good job.
blues12
31 Jan 2007, 09:18
the only time a quinella can be boxed is if there is more than 2 selections
Thats_Special
31 Jan 2007, 09:19
Geez, ready to cop a pasting for this.. But here goes..
That's Special Top 50 preseason 2007
(Not including players that are confirmed leaving or new players to league)
1. M.Robertson (Kilmore)
2. S.Sims (Diggers Rest)
3. J.Jose (Diggers Rest)
4. J.Allen (Riddell)
5. M.McInerney (Kangaroos)
6. C.Laurie (Diggers Rest)
7. K.Ng (Woodend)
8. S.Ruane (Diggers Rest)
9. H.Wadden (Riddell)
10. J.Rowe (Kilmore)
11. A.James (Kangaroos)
12. T.Lyons (Centrals)
13. M.Peatling (Riddell)
14. D.Cuinik (Woodend)
15. L.McInerney (Kangaroos)
16. M.Andrews (Riddell)
17. S.Choate (Lancefield)
18. G.Ploog (Kangaroos)
19. A.Blade (Riddell)
20. M.McClellan (Romsey)
21. M.Lacy (Woodend)
22. J.Bellville (Riddell)
23. S.Clark (Lancefield)
24. L.Barker (Woodend)
25. B.Morgan (Diggers Rest)
26. G.Robertson (Riddell)
27. R.Johnson (Kangaroos)
28. R.Dowling (Woodend)
29. J.King (Kangaroos)
30. J.Heritage (Diggers Rest)
31. B.Wheelahan (Centrals)
32. A.Christianson (Macedon)
33. S.Burlak (Romsey)
34. W.Else (Woodend)
35. B.Green (Diggers Rest)
36. J.Tully (Lancefield)
37. S.Woodroffe (Rockbank)
38. M.Nolan (Diggers Rest)
39. D.Niki (Kangaroos)
40. J.Wright (Macedon)
41. D.Helmers (Kangaroos)
42. J.Ploog (Kangaroos)
43. R.Straney (Kilmore)
44. J.Shewan (Lancefield)
45. L.Harrison (Riddell)
46. M.Goodyear (Woodend)
47. N.Ash (Riddell)
48. C.Payne (Diggers Rest)
49. T.Leggett (Woodend)
50. L.Sporle (Kangaroos)
Sunqvist
31 Jan 2007, 09:44
Super effort witht he top 50
hard to do but i think youve done a pretty good job.
personally maybe have lacy a bit higher, Spot on with Robbo though.
vantheman32
31 Jan 2007, 09:49
good effort but no peter robertson? yet u managed to find a spot for james wright n straney!
also john rowe is not top 10 based on last year, didnt finish top 5 at kilmore best n fairest!!! pretty sure hes not playin this year too.
Thats_Special
31 Jan 2007, 10:45
good effort but no peter robertson? yet u managed to find a spot for james wright n straney!
also john rowe is not top 10 based on last year, didnt finish top 5 at kilmore best n fairest!!! pretty sure hes not playin this year too.
Dont think that Peter Robertson played enough Seniors.. Only reason.. John Rowe at his best is easily in the top ten in the league, first I have heard that he wont be playing this year...
billylid
31 Jan 2007, 10:46
1. M.Robertson (Kilmore)
2. S.Sims (Diggers Rest)
3. J.Jose (Diggers Rest)
4. J.Allen (Riddell)
7. K.Ng (Woodend)
9. H.Wadden (Riddell)
10. J.Rowe (Kilmore)
11. A.James (Kangaroos)
12. T.Lyons (Centrals)
13. M.Peatling (Riddell)
14. D.Cuinik (Woodend)
16. M.Andrews (Riddell)
18. G.Ploog (Kangaroos)
19. A.Blade (Riddell)
20. M.McClellan (Romsey)
21. M.Lacy (Woodend)
23. S.Clark (Lancefield)
24. L.Barker (Woodend)
28. R.Dowling (Woodend)
29. J.King (Kangaroos)
33. S.Burlak (Romsey)
34. W.Else (Woodend)
36. J.Tully (Lancefield)
39. T.Leggett (Woodend)
40. J.Wright (Macedon)
42. J.Ploog (Kangaroos)
43. R.Straney (Kilmore)
45. L.Harrison (Riddell)
46. M.Goodyear (Woodend)
47. N.Ash (Riddell)
49. L.Sporle (Kangaroos)
50. J.Armstrong (Centrals)
im not even going to ask how you figured the above out and where did u find the time but its all ones opinion i must say though knowing BM reads this thread for him in your opinion to be number 25 and have blokes like G.Ploog ahead of him is great news. It will defiantly serve as inspiration come Round1. Although very rotund for a player to kick nearly 80 goals for the season and be Numbered 48 is also a very good motivation tool so thanks TS.. OK NOW THAT ive said all that reckon your Top 10 is pretty close to spot on although i would have possibly sweezed Bellieve in there a very important player for Riddell and although not as flashy as his teammates can really carve sides up. My tip for the biggest mover up the list come annual review is J.Hertitage i know u rate him highly as well reckon come the end of 07 season he may sneak into top 10.. he may be challenged by the player at 41 if all the reports preseason are factual....
Thats_Special
31 Jan 2007, 10:51
Super effort witht he top 50
hard to do but i think youve done a pretty good job.
personally maybe have lacy a bit higher, Spot on with Robbo though.
Lacy is a gun, but my personal opinion was that he didn't have enough impact in big games.. So in my list it dropped him down the list a bit... :thumbsu:
Thats_Special
31 Jan 2007, 10:58
im not even going to ask how you figured the above out and where did u find the time but its all ones opinion i must say though knowing BM reads this thread for him in your opinion to be number 25 and have blokes like G.Ploog ahead of him is great news. It will defiantly serve as inspiration come Round1. Although very rotund for a player to kick nearly 80 goals for the season and be Numbered 48 is also a very good motivation tool so thanks TS.. OK NOW THAT ive said all that reckon your Top 10 is pretty close to spot on although i would have possibly sweezed Bellieve in there a very important player for Riddell and although not as flashy as his teammates can really carve sides up. My tip for the biggest mover up the list come annual review is J.Hertitage i know u rate him highly as well reckon come the end of 07 season he may sneak into top 10.. he may be challenged by the player at 41 if all the reports preseason are factual....
Alot of people like to downplay Garth's influence in the competition, the fact is, I thought he was the best CHF in the comp last year.. We all know Brydon is a great player and rated highly by myself, trust me, this list was not the easiest thing to do, especially when you rate players of different positions to one another. I tried to do this list by importance to each individual side, at the moment, what impact on Diggers do we know Brydon will have?? As for Payne, if he needs this for motivation he is struggling.. I have said it before and ill make it clear again.. I dont rate Chris that highly as a senior footballer, he is lucky to have made the list at all.. He kicked 70 goals, mainly against the bottom 3 sides... Prove you can do it against the best (Lee James, Arnel Davis, Al Meldrum) and ill admit I was wrong.:thumbsu:
Mongrel
31 Jan 2007, 11:54
Alot of people like to downplay Garth's influence in the competition, the fact is, I thought he was the best CHF in the comp last year.. We all know Brydon is a great player and rated highly by myself, trust me, this list was not the easiest thing to do, especially when you rate players of different positions to one another. I tried to do this list by importance to each individual side, at the moment, what impact on Diggers do we know Brydon will have?? As for Payne, if he needs this for motivation he is struggling.. I have said it before and ill make it clear again.. I dont rate Chris that highly as a senior footballer, he is lucky to have made the list at all.. He kicked 70 goals, mainly against the bottom 3 sides... Prove you can do it against the best (Lee James, Arnel Davis, Al Meldrum) and ill admit I was wrong.:thumbsu:
well done 4 having the balls to do it TS.theres a few blokes a bit hard done by,but hey its your opinion.:thumbsu:
on past form i would have put jobe b4 me.but its a new year,
lets just see what it brings?
Thats_Special
31 Jan 2007, 12:55
well done 4 having the balls to do it TS.theres a few blokes a bit hard done by,but hey its your opinion.:thumbsu:
on past form i would have put jobe b4 me.but its a new year,
lets just see what it brings?
Lol... Thanks mate.. I try... :thumbsu:
footy_nerd
31 Jan 2007, 13:25
How will Romsey cope in 2007 without the likes of Carroll x2, Meldrum, Morgan, Strack and possible Moore. All leaving for the mighty dollar, it certainly can talk when it comes to local footy. Any news on the recruit of 2006 James House, where will he lace up the boots this year. Who will be fortunate enough to secure the services of without doubt one of the toughest local footballers getting round.
Mongrel
31 Jan 2007, 13:58
:thumbsd:
:thumbsd: How will Romsey cope in 2007 without the likes of Carroll x2, Meldrum, Morgan, Strack and possible Moore. All leaving for the mighty dollar, it certainly can talk when it comes to local footy. Any news on the recruit of 2006 James House, where will he lace up the boots this year. Who will be fortunate enough to secure the services of without doubt one of the toughest local footballers getting round.
my apologies if im wrong here.but that sounds like the old sarcasm.
he will remain at sunbury in 07 and once again have a great year stopping the oppositions key onballers.and he has more than enough tough blokes around him 2 sort out the hard stuff.but no doubt your a real hard ********.
Trueblueroo
31 Jan 2007, 14:02
haha, here we go again! Ill be lining up at Sunbury again this year, training is at 6:30! Bad form leading up the finals cost me a senior selection, having put 8kg on and fitter than ever i look forward to this year and the highly anticipated round 1!
I appreciate your cause for concern though, cheers Housey!
hey boys,
i know its been talked about but how r the grounds looking, especially the kangas ground? no doubt they are worse then last summer but just wondering if it will hold back the satrt of the season, it has already to bendigo and a few others, saw gvfl sides mansfield ground last w/e and they would b lucky to play at home all season, will teams have to share grounds it has been talked about here in the north east, GVFL and KDFL clubs might have to share grounds until there is large rainfall
il back ya to be in the top 3 taggers this year housey ;)
Thats_Special
31 Jan 2007, 14:20
hey boys,
i know its been talked about but how r the grounds looking, especially the kangas ground? no doubt they are worse then last summer but just wondering if it will hold back the satrt of the season, it has already to bendigo and a few others, saw gvfl sides mansfield ground last w/e and they would b lucky to play at home all season, will teams have to share grounds it has been talked about here in the north east, GVFL and KDFL clubs might have to share grounds until there is large rainfall
il back ya to be in the top 3 taggers this year housey ;)
Season will start on time.. Possibility of some games being shifted due to the state of a couple of grounds.. With predicted rainfall in early April I would think most grounds will come up pretty close to the mark.
vantheman32
31 Jan 2007, 14:28
kilmores ground looks fantastic, could prob break out the footy boots 2night at training!
Blueboy16
31 Jan 2007, 14:38
kilmores ground looks fantastic, could prob break out the footy boots 2night at training!
Then say HELLO to MR Shin Splints. Would be crazy to wear boots at this time of year.
Blueboy16
31 Jan 2007, 14:40
HEY TS, when you guys training next? I'm on a QF @ 2115 tonight
vantheman32
31 Jan 2007, 14:42
our ground is really good im being serious but i woodnt crack them out yet mate
goblues09
31 Jan 2007, 15:14
Dont think that Peter Robertson played enough Seniors.. Only reason.. John Rowe at his best is easily in the top ten in the league, first I have heard that he wont be playing this year...
nor did Scotty Clark???? and John Rowe at his best may push top 10, but this was not the case last year. and to have straney in there, who from recollection only played 2 or 3 good games had me baffled, but i guess it was picked on potential and reputation??? cant argue with most other selections though
Thats_Special
31 Jan 2007, 15:15
HEY TS, when you guys training next? I'm on a QF @ 2115 tonight
Friday 6.30
OMNIPOTENT_1
31 Jan 2007, 22:37
1. M.Robertson (Kilmore)
2. S.Sims (Diggers Rest)
3. J.Jose (Diggers Rest)
4. J.Allen (Riddell)
7. K.Ng (Woodend)
9. H.Wadden (Riddell)
10. J.Rowe (Kilmore)
11. A.James (Kangaroos)
12. T.Lyons (Centrals)
13. M.Peatling (Riddell)
14. D.Cuinik (Woodend)
16. M.Andrews (Riddell)
18. G.Ploog (Kangaroos)
19. A.Blade (Riddell)
20. M.McClellan (Romsey)
21. M.Lacy (Woodend)
23. S.Clark (Lancefield)
24. L.Barker (Woodend)
28. R.Dowling (Woodend)
29. J.King (Kangaroos)
33. S.Burlak (Romsey)
34. W.Else (Woodend)
36. J.Tully (Lancefield)
39. D.Niki (Kangaroos)
40. J.Wright (Macedon)
42. J.Ploog (Kangaroos)
43. R.Straney (Kilmore)
45. L.Harrison (Riddell)
46. M.Goodyear (Woodend)
47. N.Ash (Riddell)
49. T.Leggett (Woodend)
50. L.Sporle (Kangaroos)
Good on you T.S. for having a dip, but only 1 young gun you could fit in ? & I suspect you only noticed that star of the future due to the fact the tallent pool at his club doesnt run that deep ! That other Robo' boy from Riddell did play half the season in the ones I believe & correct me if I'm wrong polled pretty well in the Bowen I think ?
I reakon this season could see the emergence of some real quallity players in our league, courtesy of " OUR " Draft.......... The under 18s, the standard of footy diplayed by these young men in those two Interleague games was nothing short of phenomenal ! & I am certain they will all have a huge impact (if they havent allready) on their senior teams.
Romsey who most feel will struggle after their much publicised departures will be bolstered by the likes of Rohan Burgess, Phil Romeril, ball magnets Ben Sullivan & Danny Harrison plus proven senior gun forward Cam Dawson have a lot feel optomistic about in the 2007 season.
Macedon can be confident that their two young stars in James (Nipper) Wright & Alister Collins will continue to shine bright & between them continue to gather many damaging possesions, wilst Kilmore & Rockbank have Dynamo players ready made in Travis Hede (great pedigree) & Matt Krul (league B&F) respectively.
The enigmatic game breaker Mick Kilty will again be a stand out for Diggers, & you at Kangaland T.S. must be salivating at the prospect of Paul Newton & Shayne Watson making their presence felt on the park, come round 1 ?
Now to who I believe will be the really big improvers this season & thats Woodend, due mainly to the influx of a great bunch of young goers that will compliment what is already a handy unit. What team would'nt improve with the talents of Mat Stacey, Jay Downing, Ben Shipard,the under rated Dan Eastley, tenacious Jack Germaine & the amazing Bowen boys as regular inclusions ? Whether these stars are enough to bridge the yawning gap to the Premiership only time will tell but they will certainly make a significant contribution up at the Hawks & give their loyal bunch of vocal supporters (re... Ferals) something to cheer about !
And Riddell........ what a group they have got coming through, forget about who they are loosing their kids are phenomenal ! & they dont know how to loose ! they have been together that long beating all comers including Sunbury in A grade 16s that it is just second nature to them. A huge plus for them to is they are versitile. I want Scooters job this year ! engrave the cup now, Riddell are home ! & the scary thing is we may have to get used to them winning the big one for quite a few more years if they keep this group together. Dour & courageous Ryan Leitch, relentless & exciting James Petran, flamboyant David Earl, racehorse Ricky Elliott, intrepid & ever reliable James Climas, & of course the Rolls Royce Peter Robinson.
Watch these names at your clubs people they wont disappoint in season 2007 !
& my tip for the Bowen.................................Michael Lacy Woodend.
Takes a great grab, big kick, can turn a game & he's got BLONDE HAIR !
Thats_Special
1 Feb 2007, 08:22
Good to see someone who can make valid points when looking at the list OMNI... I agree totally with you and by the halfway mark of the season when I redo this list, I could easily see it peppered by some of these young names...
I agonized over the leaving out of a few of these kids, Robbo, Climas, Hede, Dawson and even Paul Newton.. But decided that out of the 18's that played seniors only Nipper really played all year, Trav as well, he may have been unlucky to miss out, but thought he was a little disappointing in the 2nd half of the season. Robbo is going to be a superstar, and its good to see kids starting to come through and have an impact in senior footy, and believe me, I dont think that anyone would dare not acknowledge the impact that some of these kids will have.. Especially at Riddell and Woodend. Matt Stacey was left out of the list and on reflection could consider himself unlucky. But I, like you OMNI, am excited at the prospect of some of these kids next year and into the future years.. Its a good time to be part of the RDFL.. I will redo the list a week before the start of the season(for players coming in that I know of), the halfway mark and at the end of the year and lets see whether it changes.
Thats_Special
1 Feb 2007, 08:25
Im surprised that no one picked up on the real one glaring omission from this list... It was only from oversight, not from being left out, but Dean Besanko would fit easily into this list, somewhere in the top 20...
vantheman32
1 Feb 2007, 10:21
good post omnipotent, yeah dean besanko(bomber) he is a very very good player and can play anywhere on ground! i would say that matt stacey was stiff 2 miss out, in my view one of the best 3 or 4 ruckmen in the league, and a bloody good bloke too!
kilmore has lost a few young players from last year, john saunders has gone to america for the yr, and evan mills has osteitis pubis( torn heart string) and says he wont b playin football this year! but its still lookin good at kilmore with a bit more experience coming in! Robbo lookin fitter n stronger than ever!
woodend are my tip though atm for flag!
are riddell keeping all there young guns?
vantheman32
1 Feb 2007, 10:28
also riddells "Robbo" that kid can play, even though he might not have played every senior game, both times he played against kilmore he dominated! has soooo much class, as omni said "rolls royce"
cheers
Can anyone tell me where to find the RDFL transfer list on the website?
VCFL transfers opened today, is the the Same with footy vic?
Trueblueroo
1 Feb 2007, 12:00
Yeah Scotty they opened today, couple being filled out at Roo land last night, and couple more to come! Be interesting to see which clubs have picked up who over the pre-season!
Thats_Special
1 Feb 2007, 12:13
Omni,
I heard that James Climas and Robbo were training with a different Bombers side... Any truth that you know of?
Good turn up last night for the roos with more than 35 on the track including a number of under 18s. also a number of senior players looking very keen for the 07 season. new faces also look to be good pick ups.
yeah it was a good turn out last nite blues.i bet the boys are very sore today.all except u.i cant beleive u pulled out half way thru.soft.lol.
but thats ok pal,u were probably sick of coming last in the sprints.at least next week u wont be in my group.u will be demoted to Z group
Trueblueroo
1 Feb 2007, 13:16
Had to put the parachutte harness on you to slow you down last night Deano! Unlike to Emu with the blitzing pace up front then bang, nowwhere to be sighted! He'll tell you he had el-presidento issue's to commit to, you bet! Some keen boys raring to go this year, after some injuries to them last year eg; Dummy, Matty Welsh, You, both grubs! Feeling it, bloody oath, even Dave is feeling it today!
daves a little running machine.and yes i was very impressed with dummy and matty welsh.joeb looks in ripper nick.we all knew grub would be flying.
but what about mark mcinerny?super.
just wait 4 the push ups,chin ups and sit ups housey.the mongrel loves em.
good 2 see u fit and firing last nite
Halffullonfence
1 Feb 2007, 15:39
Omni,
I heard that James Climas and Robbo were training with a different Bombers side... Any truth that you know of?
Think Robbo at Cannons (TAC) and Clemo at Bendigo (VFL) Riddell still being their home club look for them to dominate after intense pre seasons at higher level.
yeah it was a good turn out last nite blues.i bet the boys are very sore today.all except u.i cant beleive u pulled out half way thru.soft.lol.
but thats ok pal,u were probably sick of coming last in the sprints.at least next week u wont be in my group.u will be demoted to Z group
last in the sprints! i doubt it, not when your in my group, but i am sore, due to the injury i received running about 5 steps in front of you. Come on mongrel you know i'll be close to the tail anything over 500m, but under 200 You will only be seeing my fat ass.
As for next week we shall see.:D
Had to put the parachutte harness on you to slow you down last night Deano!
weight will push a train, only a parachute can help slow it
last in the sprints! i doubt it, not when your in my group, but i am sore, due to the injury i received running about 5 steps in front of you. Come on mongrel you know i'll be close to the tail anything over 500m, but under 200 You will only be seeing my fat ass.
As for next week we shall see.:D
sorry trev,i dont know what your smoking mate.but u finished about a kilometre behind me in the long distance run.and as 4 the sprints,firstly u didnt run any of them,and secondly if u can beat me in a sprint over 50 meters ill retire monday night.besides i recall leaving u in the dust over the 400 meter race as well.
Looks like the kemp rumours have been now put to bed, kilmore have wasted no time and have already lodged his clearance. Lancefeild have also got it started with 3 signings.
To check out clearances go to http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-3351-0-0-0&a=CLEAR
footyhead18
1 Feb 2007, 22:11
1. M.Robertson (Kilmore)
2. S.Sims (Diggers Rest)
3. J.Jose (Diggers Rest)
4. J.Allen (Riddell)
7. K.Ng (Woodend)
9. H.Wadden (Riddell)
10. J.Rowe (Kilmore)
11. A.James (Kangaroos)
12. T.Lyons (Centrals)
13. M.Peatling (Riddell)
14. D.Cuinik (Woodend)
16. M.Andrews (Riddell)
18. G.Ploog (Kangaroos)
19. A.Blade (Riddell)
20. M.McClellan (Romsey)
21. M.Lacy (Woodend)
23. S.Clark (Lancefield)
24. L.Barker (Woodend)
28. R.Dowling (Woodend)
29. J.King (Kangaroos)
33. S.Burlak (Romsey)
34. W.Else (Woodend)
36. J.Tully (Lancefield)
39. D.Niki (Kangaroos)
40. J.Wright (Macedon)
42. J.Ploog (Kangaroos)
43. R.Straney (Kilmore)
45. L.Harrison (Riddell)
46. M.Goodyear (Woodend)
47. N.Ash (Riddell)
49. T.Leggett (Woodend)
50. L.Sporle (Kangaroos)
Good effort TS but your comment on Lacy not having enough impact in big games is a long way off mark. I saw him dominate in first final against Diggers at Centrals ground and was clearly one of woodends best all thru finals.
Good to see veteran Mick Goodyear sneak in, apparently he may have hung them up this year which is a great loss for hawks as new group of young stars come through.
Will have a go at my top 20:
1. Sipthorpe (almost certain starter at hawks)
2. Sims
3. Robertson
4. Allen
5. C Collins (C/C of Tiges and can play)
6. Laurie
7. M McInerney
8. McLellan
9. Jose
10. Lacey (likely to miss a few due to work)
11. Christianson
12. Kemp (back at Kilmore)
13. Ruane
14. Wadden
15. Ng
16. G Ploog
17. Andrews
18. A Johnstone (woodend capt)
19. S Choate
20. R Martin (flashy redhead back for hawks)
Realise there is a woodend bias but seen more of there games than others over past couple of years. Battle for flag very tight between Riddell, Diggers, Kangas & Hawks. My tip: Hawks over Roos in tight one....
Thats_Special
2 Feb 2007, 08:23
Thats fine Footyhead... Like I said, its just my opinion on Lacy.. In the 2 losing finals he just didn't have as big an impact as he should have.. But thats just my opinion..
I didnt include the new guys into the comp.. Will do so on my start of season list.. The one's I know of anyways.. Heard Sipthorpe was no chance of leaving Gissy...
billylid
2 Feb 2007, 11:11
Thats fine Footyhead... Like I said, its just my opinion on Lacy.. In the 2 losing finals he just didn't have as big an impact as he should have.. But thats just my opinion..
I didnt include the new guys into the comp.. Will do so on my start of season list.. The one's I know of anyways.. Heard Sipthorpe was no chance of leaving Gissy...
2/2/2007n/aSCOTT, Rick From EXT.: Riddell District Football League > Sunbury KangaroosMelton SouthIn Progress
BrownDog2
2 Feb 2007, 11:39
sorry trev,i dont know what your smoking mate.but u finished about a kilometre behind me in the long distance run.and as 4 the sprints,firstly u didnt run any of them,and secondly if u can beat me in a sprint over 50 meters ill retire monday night.besides i recall leaving u in the dust over the 400 meter race as well.
how did Aaron James go?
Surely he wouldn't be getting special treatment, l hope he's puting in the hard yards like his team-mates
rightfoot_sloth
2 Feb 2007, 11:44
2/2/2007n/aSCOTT, Rick From EXT.: Riddell District Football League > Sunbury KangaroosMelton SouthIn Progress
Rick has played for 3 clubs (SK/Rockbank/MS) in the last four years. He trained with Melton South last year during the preseason. Then Jarrod got in his ear to come back. I would be not surprised if he gets a clearance back by the end of July. But time will tell.
how did Aaron James go?
Surely he wouldn't be getting special treatment, l hope he's puting in the hard yards like his team-mates
no the big fella is doing a modified training program this year.
including anger management;)
as for his chair throwing expertise,we have replaced that with shot put and discuss.i am currently selling cosmetics door 2 door to raise money 2 secure his services for 2008
Rick has all his friends playing at south plus he lives in melton and finds it hard travelling to sunbury after work, If he wants to play with his mates,so be it, it will be a shame to see him leave a club that he has enjoyed being a part of. Plus being a part of the first premiership team.
Thats_Special
2 Feb 2007, 12:38
Rick has all his friends playing at south plus he lives in melton and finds it hard travelling to sunbury after work, If he wants to play with his mates,so be it, it will be a shame to see him leave a club that he has enjoyed being a part of. Plus being a part of the first premiership team.
Yep... Good luck to Rick, wish him all the best, and he is always welcome back at the Roos...
bearsboy
2 Feb 2007, 15:48
I didnt include the new guys into the comp.. Will do so on my start of season list.. The one's I know of anyways.. Heard Sipthorpe was no chance of leaving Gissy...Let's hope for Riddell,Sunbury and Digger's sake this is true !
Let's hope for Riddell,Sunbury and Digger's sake this is true !
judging by how far ridell were ahead of the comp last year,for woodends sake they better recruit him
Halffullonfence
2 Feb 2007, 21:31
judging by how far ridell were ahead of the comp last year,for woodends sake they better recruit him
Add Sippy with Smith best onball division in RDFL bar none!!!!
Yep... Good luck to Rick, wish him all the best, and he is always welcome back at the Roos...
Rick is a terrible player... always has been and always will be... way too soft and way too overated. Won't get senior game at Melton South...
Bowen Odds... Tough one....
Ill have a crack
Sims (DR) $8
Jose (DR) $10
Ruane (DR) $10
Christianson (MAC) $15
M.McInerney (SK) $15
M.Robertson (Kil) $15
J.Allen (Ri) $21
K.Ng (WH) $21
M.McClellan (Ro) $30
Any other top 5 side player $51
Any other bottom 3 side player $101
Give me $100 on L.McInerney @ $51....
You have Robbo at number one on your list but at $15 on Bowen odds.
I'd take J. Heritage over both Mcinerny's any day at any odds.
Rick is a terrible player... always has been and always will be... way too soft and way too overated. Won't get senior game at Melton South...
you cant say that, soft maybe in your opinion but not every body is out there to get the hard ball, he is out there to kick goals and he always seems to kick a couple.
I have watched the granny a few times and i saw him go in for a hard ball a couple of times, still kicked a couple and i believe helped win a flag, 2s footy i know but you say he wont get a senior game at sth, are you on the coaching committee, Ballarat league is a more free flowing game than RDFL, you will eat your words if he does get a game and finds the open spaces that he always finds.
Many players at diggers would probably fight him for that hang out position.
Dont think we will see that, my reports have him in a cast with a broken ankle. but the season is still a couple of months away.
With or without him woodend will be the yardstick in 07
19th Man
4 Feb 2007, 01:41
Good effort TS but your comment on Lacy not having enough impact in big games is a long way off mark. I saw him dominate in first final against Diggers at Centrals ground and was clearly one of woodends best all thru finals.
Good to see veteran Mick Goodyear sneak in, apparently he may have hung them up this year which is a great loss for hawks as new group of young stars come through.
Will have a go at my top 20:
1. Sipthorpe (almost certain starter at hawks)
2. Sims
3. Robertson
4. Allen
5. C Collins (C/C of Tiges and can play)
6. Laurie
7. M McInerney
8. McLellan
9. Jose
10. Lacey (likely to miss a few due to work)
11. Christianson
12. Kemp (back at Kilmore)
13. Ruane
14. Wadden
15. Ng
16. G Ploog
17. Andrews
18. A Johnstone (woodend capt)
19. S Choate
20. R Martin (flashy redhead back for hawks)
Realise there is a woodend bias but seen more of there games than others over past couple of years. Battle for flag very tight between Riddell, Diggers, Kangas & Hawks. My tip: Hawks over Roos in tight one....
Geez, Wadden is rated highly in both listings, yet languished in the two's for the Sunbury Lions. It doesn't say a great deal about the RDFL.
Heath is capable of playing good football anywhere, and always has been, this year he excelled at riddell, i have no doubt that if he really wanted to play senior football at sunbury he could.
bearsboy
4 Feb 2007, 11:04
Dont think we will see that, my reports have him in a cast with a broken ankle. but the season is still a couple of months away.Correct ,did it new years eve i think, should be back on the track in about 6 weeks .
once again someone has accessed my account. But not naming names. I dont know Scott that much to call him soft.
thebadger
4 Feb 2007, 11:32
Who's smith Halffull? If Sipthorpe did go back to Woodend, he will tear it up. He's a gun in the Bendigo comp, spent a year at Richmond and would destroy any opposition midfielder. Is this just a rumour at this stage? I recall hearing something similar last year.
once again someone has accessed my account. But not naming names. I dont know Scott that much to call him soft.
seems to be a regular occurance, maybe somebody should log out when they are finished or perhaps change his pass word
GREENSBOROUGH FOOTBALL CLUB
ARE CURRENTLY RECRUITING PLAYERS FOR THE 2007 SEASON.
After a hugely successful season in 2006 where the club enjoyed three Division Two premierships (A,B & C Grade), the club is embarking on the next challenge in 2007, Division One Diamond Valley Football.
We currently recruiting to bolster our talented young list with players and their families who are willing to enjoy the full life of the club (both playing and social) and be involved in the continued success of our professionally managed and operated local sporting organisation.
Experienced Senior players or young players willing to work for team success can expect to receive the following benefits including generous match and incentive based rewards, professional medical support, job search assistance and placement, personal support, chaplaincy, access to swimming facilities and gymnasium.
A professional experienced coaching panel headed by Robert Hyde (Calder Cannons and VFL/AFL experience) as coaching director and Russell Dickson (Collingwood AFL) as Senior Coach are supported by a dedicated team of specialists.
If you are interested in speaking to us about the opportunities available for you at our club please do not hesitate to contact:
Russell Dickson on 0412 530 449 or Stuart McGougan on 0448 704 400.
$hit effort mcgoo :thumbsd:
Thats_Special
5 Feb 2007, 06:39
You have Robbo at number one on your list but at $15 on Bowen odds.
I'd take J. Heritage over both Mcinerny's any day at any odds.
Because Robbo is MY tip at number one, not top of a list of odds for the Bowen...
You can take anyone you like really... Thats why it's called an opinion.. Funny that.
Thats_Special
5 Feb 2007, 06:42
Correct ,did it new years eve i think, should be back on the track in about 6 weeks .
Talked to someone close to Gissy who said that Sippy was now pretty much a lock to go to Woodend...
matt_nicholls
5 Feb 2007, 06:49
Talked to someone close to Gissy who said that Sippy was now pretty much a lock to go to Woodend...
That's big news, but I also spoke to a couple of Gisborne blokes on Saturday who said that he would say.
Could it be the same result that happened after last pre-season's rumours?
For the RDFL's sake, I sure as hell hope Woodend sign him.
If they do, Woodend's premiership odds will go from $3.90 to $1.80 - I wouldn't take any chances.
Halffullonfence
5 Feb 2007, 08:48
Who's smith Halffull? If Sipthorpe did go back to Woodend, he will tear it up. He's a gun in the Bendigo comp, spent a year at Richmond and would destroy any opposition midfielder. Is this just a rumour at this stage? I recall hearing something similar last year.
Was a gun Woodend junior before moving to school footy in Melbourne Drafted to Nth in 2001 and Rookied to Freo in 2004 has plenty of mates still at Woodend. He is a tough in and under small can play!!!!!!!
matt_nicholls
5 Feb 2007, 08:57
Was a gun Woodend junior before moving to school footy in Melbourne Drafted to Nth in 2001 and Rookied to Freo in 2004 has plenty of mates still at Woodend. He is a tough in and under small can play!!!!!!!
As a Freo supporter, Dylan Smith was a very hard and handy player for the Dockers. Went to Sacred Heart in Kyneton until Year 10.
Have spoken to him a couple of times in the rooms after Melbourne games and is down to earth. Gave up AFL footy at the end of 2005 citing a lack of passion to play at the highest level.
If he plays in the RDFL no one will go near him, is better than Sipthorpe.
thebadger
5 Feb 2007, 08:57
Ahh, Dylan Smith. I remember reading an article in the age (can't find it now sorry) some months back about league footballers who were cut relatively young. I remember reading Smith was teaching English to some monks or something along those lines. By the sounds of it, footy was the last thing on his mind. Perhaps he is keen to just have a kick with his mates at Woodend. If he and Sipthorpe do return, I'll have a gorilla on Woodend at $1.80 Pickles. You'd better starting doing a few shifts at the farm to pay me. Put another thousand on them now, while they're still $3.90.
matt_nicholls
5 Feb 2007, 08:58
I'll have a gorilla on Woodend at $1.80 Pickles. You'd better starting doing a few shifts at the farm to pay me. Put another thousand on them now, while they're still $3.90.
Betting has closed :D
thebadger
5 Feb 2007, 09:00
Ba*tard! I wonder if Simon Beasley has RDFL markets...
matt_nicholls
5 Feb 2007, 09:03
Ba*tard! I wonder if Simon Beasley has RDFL markets...
Haha. Try Betfair.
Where are you playing this year old mate?
You been bowling any leggies this season or not playing cricket?
Come to Lancefield, we might be able to sneak you into D-grade.
matt_nicholls
5 Feb 2007, 09:07
Found the link:
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2006/05/26/1148524890320.html
thebadger
5 Feb 2007, 09:34
Haha. Try Betfair.
Where are you playing this year old mate?
You been bowling any leggies this season or not playing cricket?
Come to Lancefield, we might be able to sneak you into D-grade.
Leggies? My sporting days are well and truly behind me Matt. Be a sport and give me $1k on the hawks at $2.80. Keep in mind the Smith, Sipthorpe rumours are just that at this stage.
Because Robbo is MY tip at number one, not top of a list of odds for the Bowen...
You can take anyone you like really... Thats why it's called an opinion.. Funny that.
Like I said TS. Not me that wrote that. Think it is time to change the old password blues12.
My bet for the bowen this year is one D. Helmers. Thats if he is playing. I hope so. Have had some good battles with him.
footy mad 2
5 Feb 2007, 17:09
Like I said TS. Not me that wrote that. Think it is time to change the old password blues12.
My bet for the bowen this year is one D. Helmers. Thats if he is playing. I hope so. Have had some good battles with him.
Was only short fitness last year and with the pre season he has put in i would put my house he will win kangas b&f and top three for bowen.
Thats_Special
6 Feb 2007, 07:04
Was only short fitness last year and with the pre season he has put in i would put my house he will win kangas b&f and top three for bowen.
Certainly is looking much fitter and hasn't missed a session.. Easily one of the top players in the comp if he is as fit as he can get himself....
matt_nicholls
6 Feb 2007, 07:20
Went and had a squiz at Lancefield's training last night. Had really good numbers (30) and Chris had them in good shape thus far.
The new bloke from Trentham has a bit of size about him and former umpire Robbie Schuller who played in the magoos last year and skippered a few games looks to be the big improver.
After injuring his knee prior to Christmas, Jason Tully was running laps.
Other first 18 players on the track were S. Choate, D. Joseph, S. Crowder, S. Stevenson (first run), Chris Kakoschke, (Trentham bloke).
Could be more but they also had about 9 or 10 Under-18s which is a good sign and Wayne Kraus said that he has around 16 or 17 definites.
I was speaking to Nic Dyer the other day and Romsey have about 35 Under-18s so there will be a few missing out up the road, maybe those who want more opportunities could come to Tigerland.
vantheman32
6 Feb 2007, 11:44
Player to watch if kilmore get an under 18s side this season! Ben Pronk i think his last name is, moved 2 kilmore from wodonga region, 16 yrs old fit as a fiddle reasonably strong for a 16 yr old, trains better than any of the seniors has good skills both sides of body, strong grab and confident! i would say that without a doubt he will dominate at kilmore n probably the league, n will through out the season play senior football
Digger52
6 Feb 2007, 11:47
Somebody asked about the condition of the grounds .Diggers ground is in really good nick @ the moment.Even the back oval is in good nick.(May have 2 put up a few sticks and play on that ground as well
matt_nicholls
7 Feb 2007, 08:56
Tigers shaping well
WITH 21-year-old coach Chris Collins in charge, Lancefield Football Club is shaping to be the big improvers in 2007. While it would be foolish to make finals predictions thus far, there are signs of good things to come on the training track.
Over 30 players hit the park on Monday night, continuing what has been a rewarding pre-season.
There are also positive signs that the club will be able to field an Under 18s side this season after failing to get the numbers last year.
As is the problem with most clubs at the moment, the ground is a long way off playing condition, but president Ian Brown expects it to be right for the first round on April 28.
The Tigers have two practice matches pencilled in – one against Sunshine and another against Central Highlands club Newlyn.
Since last year, Lancefield has lost the services of Nick Dodd (Kyneton) and Scott Clark (overseas). The club has recruited Trentham utility Chris Kakoschke, former club key-position player Owen Kortlang and of course, Collins.
The club is still looking for players and volunteers, so call Ian Brown on 5429 1408 if you are interested.
isn't lancefield park on bore water, why is the ground in poor condition. Has it not been watered in the off season or is there a problem with the bore.
matt_nicholls
7 Feb 2007, 09:52
isn't lancefield park on bore water, why is the ground in poor condition. Has it not been watered in the off season or is there a problem with the bore.
The new irrigation system means that the bore runs dry when used for a long period of time. The club installed massive water tanks to get the run off the pavilion but they are just about empty.
There are talks of going deeper with the bore and other plans but the ground will be in top nick by R1 I've been assured.
Halffullonfence
7 Feb 2007, 09:56
Not sure if this will answer the question but here goes,
Southern Water who have the licences for bores in our area have started to put useage restrictions on bores (quantity of water per year). The water quality may be poor, this is established after the bore is done and may not be fit for use on ground (as is the case of the bore at Macedon Tony Clarke). I am not sure but pickles will know when the bore was hooked up to the ground and what the water quality is like.
matt_nicholls
7 Feb 2007, 10:04
Not sure if this will answer the question but here goes,
Southern Water who have the licences for bores in our area have started to put useage restrictions on bores (quantity of water per year). The water quality may be poor, this is established after the bore is done and may not be fit for use on ground (as is the case of the bore at Macedon Tony Clarke). I am not sure but pickles will know when the bore was hooked up to the ground and what the water quality is like.
There is hundreds of thousands of litres of water under Lancefield. Just you have to go deeper now to get to it. The Lancefield Park Committee (as I understand) didn't go too deep when the bore was installed. Now the water table is lower there isn't much water to gain from the park bore.
Seeing that Lancefield town water is actually from underground, the quality is sensational, with undeground springs coming from the Mt William run-off.
Also, the change rooms are halfway through a renovation and by March, Lancefield FC will reinforce itself as the club with the best facilities (just not the ground at the moment).
bearsboy
7 Feb 2007, 11:24
Tigers shaping well
WITH 21-year-old coach Chris Collins in charge, Lancefield Football Club is shaping to be the big improvers in 2007. While it would be foolish to make finals predictions thus far, there are signs of good things to come on the training track.
Over 30 players hit the park on Monday night, continuing what has been a rewarding pre-season.
There are also positive signs that the club will be able to field an Under 18s side this season after failing to get the numbers last year.
As is the problem with most clubs at the moment, the ground is a long way off playing condition, but president Ian Brown expects it to be right for the first round on April 28.
The Tigers have two practice matches pencilled in – one against Sunshine and another against Central Highlands club Newlyn.
Since last year, Lancefield has lost the services of Nick Dodd (Kyneton) and Scott Clark (overseas). The club has recruited Trentham utility Chris Kakoschke, former club key-position player Owen Kortlang and of course, Collins.
The club is still looking for players and volunteers, so call Ian Brown on 5429 1408 if you are interested.Tough game against Sunshine Matt, they beat Gisborne in a practice match last year .
matt_nicholls
7 Feb 2007, 11:33
Doesn't phase me, I'm retired.
Who has locked in Practise matches at this stage? Who's playing who?
matt_nicholls
7 Feb 2007, 11:36
Who has locked in Practise matches at this stage? Who's playing who?
Romsey play Broadford on April 14 thats the only dates I know
bearsboy
7 Feb 2007, 11:45
Doesn't phase me, I'm retired.I'm aware of that . Just seems a bit of a mismatch to me .
There is hundreds of thousands of litres of water under Lancefield. Just you have to go deeper now to get to it. The Lancefield Park Committee (as I understand) didn't go too deep when the bore was installed. Now the water table is lower there isn't much water to gain from the park bore.
Seeing that Lancefield town water is actually from underground, the quality is sensational, with undeground springs coming from the Mt William run-off.
Also, the change rooms are halfway through a renovation and by March, Lancefield FC will reinforce itself as the club with the best facilities (just not the ground at the moment).
Fantastic to hear that something is being done with the change rooms, for a ground that host the biggest day of the year, the change rooms were a big let down. Are they building new rooms or just making changes to the existing rooms.
johnfromtheVAFA
7 Feb 2007, 12:33
Any big recruits down up at roo land this year?
Last year Kangas, Woodend and Rockbank went into the keilor night comp, are any RDFL teams submitting a team in this years comp. The roos were talking about maybe entering again.
Have any clubs entered into the Kyneton pre season comp.
Any big recruits down up at roo land this year?
Steve James from melton will help out with ruck duties, plus a couple others signing up in the next week or 2.
L Baddely might be joining his brother Jackson.