View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2007
Thats_Special
29th September 2006, 11:45
Thoughts and player movements for the 2007 season... Can the RDFL follow up a successful 2006 season and improve again for the 2007 season...
Courageunderfire
29th September 2006, 11:48
Thoughts and player movements for the 2007 season... Can the RDFL follow up a successful 2006 season and improve again for the 2007 season...
Why can't we just use the normal threadfor this?
Thats_Special
29th September 2006, 12:05
Why can't we just use the normal threadfor this?
Its last years thread.. This is for 2007
Kings Army
29th September 2006, 12:09
Someone wants to start a thread!! Stay with the original.
goblues09
29th September 2006, 13:36
Its last years thread.. This is for 2007
i thought the last one was called RDFL thread - not 2006 rdfl thread.....but hey whatever keeps u happy!
29th September 2006, 15:34
who were the best and fairest results/winners
from each club
Mongrel
29th September 2006, 16:24
possible GUN RECRUITS : I am in the process of trying to snag three former team mates from the geelong district league.john couzens, brett pollard and glenn travaille.3 gun midfielders. i have a verbal committment at this stage,but due to a week of celebrating i am yet to close the deal. there is also two players i have definately snagged,but at this stage i will keep them up my sleeve
goblues09
30th September 2006, 01:33
did hear a whisper kilmore could be gaining the services of Jamie Cann from Balranald. Also heard 2004 Bowen runner up Linton Kemp might be returning to Kilmore and bringing a couple up from Wallan, aswell as 2002 joint Bowen medallist Robbie Wittmer who is due to return from the UK - but being only September we have 6 months to wait and see what all this hear say brings to 2007, but having been glad to be done with 2006, there is something bout grand final day that makes me wish it was already March 2007!!!
Thats_Special
8th October 2006, 01:01
Big moves for Kilmore.. They will only improve again.. Any other movements at this stage??? I realise it is only early. Will Riddell keep the kids at the club? Will James stay, Peatling? Etc
Blueboy16
8th October 2006, 14:27
did hear a whisper kilmore could be gaining the services of Jamie Cann from Balranald. Also heard 2004 Bowen runner up Linton Kemp might be returning to Kilmore and bringing a couple up from Wallan, aswell as 2002 joint Bowen medallist Robbie Wittmer who is due to return from the UK - but being only September we have 6 months to wait and see what all this hear say brings to 2007, but having been glad to be done with 2006, there is something bout grand final day that makes me wish it was already March 2007!!!
Jamie Cann is a gun. I played juniors @ Craigieburn with him....... He played for Tassie VFL a couple of years back?????
goblues09
8th October 2006, 18:55
Jamie Cann is a gun. I played juniors @ Craigieburn with him....... He played for Tassie VFL a couple of years back?????
yeah he was a few years above me at Assumption - good player, but i doubt he would come across to Kilmore. Wittmer and Kemp remain the most likely to return to the club and would be extremely valuable as i think the Blues could improve immensely with someone like Wittmer in the ruck. Ah well will be a looooooong summer, warm weather will be good but nothing beats footy!!!
ROOTA#6
10th October 2006, 23:08
Kilmore will need plenty of coin to secure Cann. Played against him when he was at Balralald and he was massively over rated. He rates himself more than anyone else in Country Vic
Sunqvist
11th October 2006, 17:16
Who won all the b&f's?
only heard jose (dr) robertson (kilmore) m mcinerny (sk)
Few rumours i have heard
Lancefield trying to get Burlak (romsey)
Meldrum linked to EDFL clubs, also L. Carroll
Rockbank secured a couple of good sponsors and maybe getting two/three fringe players from Hoppers Crossing (wrfl)
Mark Scerri (bendigo Bomber)a chance to go to Woodend.
Wadden and Gadsden to leave riddell
Blueboy16
11th October 2006, 21:22
Good to see where we sit....... Mr Sharpe might like to see this.
An Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions outside AFL in Vic. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched; were other key elements in our findings.
OFFICIAL RANKINGS -
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
5. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
6. Goulburn Valley FL
7. Essendon District FL (A Grade)
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
10. Diamond Valley FL (A Grade)
11. Ballarat FL
12. Western Region FL (A Grade)
13. B Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
14. Southern FL (A Grade)
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
18. Essendon District FL (B Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL
2000 RATINGS –
1. VFL Seniors 2. VFL Reserves 3. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
4. Ovens & Murray 5. Ballarat FL 6. Eastern FL
7. Diamond Valley 8. Geelong FL 9. Goulburn Valley
10. Bendigo FL
twodogs13
11th October 2006, 22:09
possible GUN RECRUITS : I am in the process of trying to snag three former team mates from the geelong district league.john couzens, brett pollard and glenn travaille.3 gun midfielders. i have a verbal committment at this stage,but due to a week of celebrating i am yet to close the deal. there is also two players i have definately snagged,but at this stage i will keep them up my sleeve
Does this mean you are on the coaching staff down at the kangas Mongrel? Or are you just playing this year?
Doona2
11th October 2006, 22:21
An Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions outside AFL in Vic. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched; were other key elements in our findings.
OFFICIAL RANKINGS -
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
6. Goulburn Valley FL
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
11. Ballarat FL
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL
2000 RATINGS –
10. Bendigo FL
What a **** . . . . Mt. Pleasant would run rings around Riddell, and the HDFL as a whole is a better standard than the RDFL.
I followe the KDFL and that is about the same standard as RDFL footy.
matt_nicholls
12th October 2006, 08:10
What a **** . . . . Mt. Pleasant would run rings around Riddell, and the HDFL as a whole is a better standard than the RDFL.
I followe the KDFL and that is about the same standard as RDFL footy.
Doona most of the time you're on the money, but this time I would have to disagree. If Riddell played Mount Pleasant ten times, the Bombers would win eight of those matches. If Romsey played Heathcote they would win. If Lancefield played North Bendigo they would win. Only Rockbank couldn't beat a side from the HDFL.
I think the Heathcote League is of a good standard, but I think the Riddell League is better. One qualm I had with that report is that it ranked the Bendigo FL above the Ballarat FL. I know Gisborne would probably win the Ballarat League if they were in it, but the other clubs are much more competitive than Bendigo's, who boast clubs such as Kyneton, Maryborough, Kangaroo Flat etc.
Doona2
12th October 2006, 09:10
Doona most of the time you're on the money, but this time I would have to disagree. If Riddell played Mount Pleasant ten times, the Bombers would win eight of those matches. If Romsey played Heathcote they would win. If Lancefield played North Bendigo they would win. Only Rockbank couldn't beat a side from the HDFL.
Yeah I know nothing :(
Kings Army
12th October 2006, 09:29
I think the Heathcote League is of a good standard, but I think the Riddell League is better. One qualm I had with that report is that it ranked the Bendigo FL above the Ballarat FL. I know Gisborne would probably win the Ballarat League if they were in it, but the other clubs are much more competitive than Bendigo's, who boast clubs such as Kyneton, Maryborough, Kangaroo Flat etc.
Bacchus Marsh and Melton South this year were as bad as Kyneton and Maryborough.
East Point - 208
Bacchus - 9
Redan - 247
Bacchus - 42
Sunbury - 223
Bacchus - 42
East point - 225
Melton South - 18
East Point - 213
Melton South - 36
matt_nicholls
12th October 2006, 10:05
Bacchus Marsh and Melton South this year were as bad as Kyneton and Maryborough.
I would argue that there is more hope of Bacchus Marsh and Melton South getting back up there than there is of Kyneton and Maryborough. I hear that Kangaroo Flat might have a few handy recruits up their sleeeves.
I think the Ballarat FL as a whole is better than the Bendigo FL, and that East Point, Sunbury and Redan would be much better competition for Gisborne, who at times appeared to be a little bored on the field, even against top-five clubs.
blues12
12th October 2006, 10:12
blueboy where did you get this info
Kings Army
12th October 2006, 10:12
I would argue that there is more hope of Bacchus Marsh and Melton South getting back up there than there is of Kyneton and Maryborough. I hear that Kangaroo Flat might have a few handy recruits up their sleeeves.
I think the Ballarat FL as a whole is better than the Bendigo FL, and that East Point, Sunbury and Redan would be much better competition for Gisborne, who at times appeared to be a little bored on the field, even against top-five clubs.
Maryborough won 6 and Kyneton 5 games for the year - the Marsh won 1, South 3 and Sebastapol 4.
Golden Sqaure defeated Gisborne twice this year and South Bendigo deafeted them once. They have good competition.
matt_nicholls
12th October 2006, 10:19
Maryborough won 6 and Kyneton 5 games for the year - the Marsh won 1, South 3 and Sebastapol 4.
Golden Sqaure defeated Gisborne twice this year and South Bendigo deafeted them once. They have good competition.
Gisborne beat themselves by playing arrogant, unteam-like football. The players will even tell you that.
Ballarat FL competes in division one of interleague and the depth of club lists are generally longer than most in the Bendigo FL in my opinion. I haven't seen a lot of Ballarat League games so I'm happy to stand corrected if people think I'm wrong.
The Barometer
12th October 2006, 15:23
OFFICIAL RANKINGS -
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
6. Goulburn Valley FL
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
11. Ballarat FL
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL
2000 RATINGS –
10. Bendigo FL
I reckon this is just a report by someone with a little bit too much time on their hands and deliberately trying to be mischeivious.
I reckon you can take it in the same way you do a lot of the stuff you read this time of year.
Blueboy16
13th October 2006, 08:10
blueboy where did you get this info
From memory i found it on the EDFL Thread. Thought it would be good reading and some healthy debate.
Doona2
13th October 2006, 12:32
Interesting to read VT #23's comments on yesterday's topic via the GVFL thread. Young Scotty began 2006 at Sunbury Kanga's then went home to Violet Town In June.
Now we all know that the KDFL is a rung back in standard from the HDFL so where does this leave the Riddell League?
"As a player who played in both the riddell and Ky DFL's this year i would have to say the the KDFL would kick the ***** out of the RDFL."
Thats_Special
14th October 2006, 09:24
Interesting to read VT #23's comments on yesterday's topic via the GVFL thread. Young Scotty began 2006 at Sunbury Kanga's then went home to Violet Town In June.
Now we all know that the KDFL is a rung back in standard from the HDFL so where does this leave the Riddell League?
"As a player who played in both the riddell and Ky DFL's this year i would have to say the the KDFL would kick the ***** out of the RDFL."
It is an interesting comment indeed.. I would like to see that game of the KDFL vs RDFL, me personally, of course I would say that the RDFL would kick the sh it out of the KDFL every day of the week.
goblues09
14th October 2006, 10:43
interesting that VT#23 would put ***** on the RDFL when he couldnt even get a kick in his time at sunbury!!!
VT#23
14th October 2006, 13:16
interesting that VT#23 would put ***** on the RDFL when he couldnt even get a kick in his time at sunbury!!!
It doesnt bother me that much, cause i didnt get a kick in the KDFL either, goblues.. It is just my opinion, i think the size of the grounds have abit to do with it, but from the games i played the KDFL just seemed a little more free flowing, especially when i played against stanhope it seemed quicker then playing against Diggers and Riddell, i think the difference isnt that great id like to see RDFL teams play against KDFL
Trueblueroo
16th October 2006, 18:52
I smell a pre-season comp in arrangment here or even practise matches, perhaps Mr Nichols could put something together in his spare time for us all?
matt_nicholls
16th October 2006, 20:04
I smell a pre-season comp in arrangment here or even practise matches, perhaps Mr Nichols could put something together in his spare time for us all?
Easily done:
RDFL v HDFL - Knockout tournament
Day 1, Week 1 at Broadford
Saturday, Feb 17
North Bendigo v Melton Central - Game 1
Broadford v Kilmore (feature) - Game 2
Day 2, Week 1 at Lancefield
Sunday, Feb 18
Woodend-Hesket v LBU - Game 3
Macedon v Huntly - Game 4
Lancefield v White Hills (feature) - Game 5
Day 1, Week 2 at Romsey
Saturday, Feb 24
Sunbury Kangaroos v Heathcote - Game 6
Romsey v Colbinabbin (feature) - Game 7
Day 2, Week 2 at Kilmore
Saturday, Feb 25
Diggers Rest v Elmore - Game 8
Riddell v Mount Pleasant (feature) - Game 9 - winner advances to grand final (plays practice matches against knocked out clubs if they chose to)
Day 1, Week 3 at Lancefield
Saturday, Mar 3
Winner of Game 1 v Winner of Game 2 - Game 10
Winner of Game 3 v Winner of Game 6 - Game 11
Day 2, Week 3 at Kilmore
Sunday, Mar 4
Winner of Game 4 v Winner of Game 5 - Game 12
Winner of Game 6 v Winner of Game 7 - Game 13
Day 1, Week 4 at Broadford
Saturday, Mar 10
Winner of Game 10 v Winner of Game 11 - Game 14
Winner of Game 12 v Winner of Game 13 - Game 15
Day 2, Week 4 at Romsey
Sunday, Mar 11
Winner of Game 14 v Winner of Game 15 - Game 16
GRAND FINAL at
Romsey, Lancefield, Kilmore or Broadford
Sunday, Mar 18
Winner of Game 9 v Winner of Game 16 - Game 17
To make travel arrangements easier, I have tried to make a fair and even draw with games played at Romsey, Lancefield, Kilmore and Broadford which are fringe areas in respective leagues. Obviously mistakes will happen, but this is just a first draft, feel free to add or suggest changes. Rockbank, due to their uncompetitiveness, have been left out. Sorry Rams fans. There are a couple of obvious flaws in this though.
1. Riddell or Mounts would miss match practice, they would need to play knocked out sides to get games, or sides from other leagues.
2. Teams coming into the game are coming off playing two matches in two days, coaches would need to significantly rest players and rotate them in what is expected to be hot conditions.
3. Time-wise, this is a long tournament.
4. Clubs would need a significant prize money pool to go hard for the top spot. Eg $5000 for first prize, $2000 for runners-up, $700 for top-five etc.
There are probably more and it won't happen (IMO) but its some fun to muck around with.
Trueblueroo
16th October 2006, 21:36
I was joking but, thats good idea! Make it more like the Ballarat Lighting cup!
Blueboy16
17th October 2006, 12:46
Flying around on EDFL thread Lee James signed with Strathmore. It is true slugga?
Sunqvist
17th October 2006, 15:05
Do the KDFL and HDFL have an official team of the year? would like to see it Vs RDFL team of the year and compare...
Animosity
17th October 2006, 16:16
While on the subject of lightning premiership,wat do u think of this idea for a pre season L/P?... Teams I think that it should consist of would be that of a sunbury based area/region, I know obviously we already have an RDFL with kangas + diggers, but lets not forget other sunbury teams that do exist in our community and a chance to play against some different opposition at the start of the year...
I believe it would draw a huge crowd due to the locals not having to travel far (all teams are within 30min of each other) ... Working on shortened quarters starting early morning in "pool form" where teams were split up into "pools" and say something like a top 2 from each pool would go through to knockout rounds and so-forth until a grand finalist plays a decent lengthed 4 quarters.
Teams that would play in this would be the likes of: Bacchus marsh,Melton,Darley,Sun.Kangas,Sun.Lions,Rupertswood,Diggers Rest,Riddell,Melton South,Gisborne,Cragieburn and Greenvale, hosted at somewhere like boardman or clarke oval.
I dont think prize money would be a problem considering i think just about ANYONE would pay to see Lions,kangas,Rupo,gizzy and riddell all playing on the same day.
Do u think that with enough organisation an event like this would be a yearly sucsess? On paper i think the team line-up looks great.Shortened quarter form would make some interesting results,ive seen it happen before
thoughts?
Trueblueroo
17th October 2006, 17:37
While on the subject of lightning premiership,wat do u think of this idea for a pre season L/P?... Teams I think that it should consist of would be that of a sunbury based area/region, I know obviously we already have an RDFL with kangas + diggers, but lets not forget other sunbury teams that do exist in our community and a chance to play against some different opposition at the start of the year...
I believe it would draw a huge crowd due to the locals not having to travel far (all teams are within 30min of each other) ... Working on shortened quarters starting early morning in "pool form" where teams were split up into "pools" and say something like a top 2 from each pool would go through to knockout rounds and so-forth until a grand finalist plays a decent lengthed 4 quarters.
Teams that would play in this would be the likes of: Bacchus marsh,Melton,Darley,Sun.Kangas,Sun.Lions,Rupertswood,Diggers Rest,Riddell,Melton South,Gisborne,Cragieburn and Greenvale, hosted at somewhere like boardman or clarke oval.
I dont think prize money would be a problem considering i think just about ANYONE would pay to see Lions,kangas,Rupo,gizzy and riddell all playing on the same day.
Do u think that with enough organisation an event like this would be a yearly sucsess? On paper i think the team line-up looks great.Shortened quarter form would make some interesting results,ive seen it happen before
thoughts?
Was a lot of hype at the start of the year regarding preseason for 07, lets get something into place! Would be huge event, i know just the yearly Sunbury v Gissy game draws a few, why not have them all in! Some big companies in the area would put money up for that!
Animosity
17th October 2006, 18:40
If enuff people (7-10ppl) show enough interest online .. I will promise to start running petitions around 2/3 local areas with the same proposition and with enough signatures, can be taken seriously ...
blues12
18th October 2006, 08:01
forget using grounds in sunbury there is a lack of ovals and cricket uses them all just about right up to footy season the ground would have to have great lighting aswell. But it would be fantastic to see.
twodogs13
18th October 2006, 10:59
Great idea but might need to consider an A grade and a B grade otherwise clubs like Sunbury Lions, Gisbourne and Melton Bloods would destroy the likes of the kangas and Diggers and Centrals. Rupo would be a hard one to place they would probably be somewhere in the middle.
Blueboy16
18th October 2006, 16:53
Mormons fight Sunday footyKaren Collier
October 17, 2006 12:00am
Article from: Font size: + -
Send this article: Print Email
A CHURCH-going footballer wants Sunday Grand Finals scrapped because of his religion.
Strict Mormon Campbell Walshe is taking legal action against his league, claiming discrimination after missing a premiership play-off last month.
The midfielder and two teammates, ruckman Jeremy Jose and fellow midfielder Stephen Hoare, abstained because their religion forbids sport on Sundays.
"Sunday is the Lord's day," Walshe said. "It is a day devoted to worship, attending church and spending time with family and friends."
Football authorities are monitoring Walshe's bid in what is shaping as a test case.
Walshe complained to the Equal Opportunity Commission earlier this year. He has now taken his grievance to the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal.
Riddell District Football League is resisting any changes to the grand final schedule.
RDFL general manager Neill Sharpe said the discrimination allegations would be defended. The league's last three seniors premierships have been held on Sundays.
The Mormons, or members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, frown upon sport and other distractions, such as shopping, on Sundays.
Walshe spent time worshipping during his Diggers Rest team's 69-point Grand Final loss to Riddell on September 24.
"I could not even go to the match as a spectator," he said after a preliminary VCAT hearing yesterday. Walshe, 22, Jose, 24, and Hoare, 22, are among their club's top players.
Teammates supported their decision.
"Who knows what would have happened if we were all able to play?" Walshe said.
Walshe played for 20 other games, including two finals, this season.
Senior coach Glenn Hopkins and club president Peter Gulliver are backing the legal action.
"We respect these guys because their faith is so strong," Hopkins said.
"We understand they've got to stick by their beliefs."
Football Victoria is closely watching the case, which will proceed to a full hearing if mediation talks fail.
Chief executive Ken Gannon said although Saturday was most common, Sunday finals were timed to avoid clashes with nearby leagues.
Latter-day Saints spokeswoman Dorothy Petkoff urged sports officials to give Sunday sport the boot.
twodogs13
18th October 2006, 21:52
That is the biggest load of crap I have ever heard. It is just ridiculous that these guys are taking legal action. Don't get me wrong, I'm not knocking their faith. But everybody makes decisions in life. These guys made their decision. Their faith is more important than football. Sorry boys but you can't have your cake and eat it too.
Anyway, I thought that football was a leisurley pursuit that you do with your friends. The boys said that Sunday was for spending with family and friends and worship. Now football isn't worship but it is only 3 hours of the day. Do these guys really sit and pray for 12 hour straight on Sunday? I don't think so....
The league should not bow down to such a minority group. What's next? Blokes sue the league because their boss makes them work on Sunday. We all make sacrifices to play footy.
The league is much bigger than the individual. There would be over 200 blokes playing RDFL, not to mention all the supporters and they can make do with a Sunday game. And I'm sure the league benefits from having the GF on Sunday. The league should be looking after itself, not 3 blokes who can't play on Sunday.
For crying out loud we are living in Australia in 2006. Times have changed, these boys need to move with the times. If not don't blame the league for discrimination! Maybe they should blame their church for discrimination!
Animosity
18th October 2006, 22:06
couldnt have said it any better ... and to quote
"The league is much bigger than the individual. There would be over 200 blokes playing RDFL, not to mention all the supporters and they can make do with a Sunday game. And I'm sure the league benefits from having the GF on Sunday. The league should be looking after itself, not 3 blokes who can't play on Sunday."
Is exactly right .... For a game where it *****ed cats and dogs and hosted in lancefield, the turnout was still great! ... u cant tell me that there wasnt a single person in the crowd who had to sacrifice something to do to be there on that day,
Besides: I think the rdfl G/F is played on a sunday because of the BFL (lions) and Vic Amatuers (Rupo) G/F's are hosted on saturdays ... i know for a fact A LOT of people from rupo and sunbury show plenty of interest in the RDFL ...some even go as far as following a BFL team AND an RDFL team, Crowd attendance would suffer badly if RDFL g/f was played on a satday.
goblues09
19th October 2006, 02:18
not sure i can agree with this one, yes its hard when the GF is on a Sunday, Saturdays are much better nights for partying, and im sure Lancefield would sell far more grog with a Sat GF, but anyone whose been to an RDFL GF in recent times can see theres always a crowd consisting of premiership players from nearby leagues, still celebrating from the day before. If this league wants to keep growing and have guys with the calibre on Neill Sharpe at the helm, we need all the revenue we can get, and im sure the Sunday GF only enhances the bank balance! The boys know from the word go that Grand Final day is on a sunday, why was this now only a problem because they have made one and were unfortunately beaten??? Do they feel responsible for Diggers being runners up????
blues12
19th October 2006, 10:23
doesn't the jewish community have their day of rest on saturday maybe they should take action against the league because somebody may be out there wanting to play.
These boys need to look at themselves say goodbye to the rdfl and go to a league that only play on saturdays if it means so much to them.:D
K-NACKS
19th October 2006, 11:09
Does anyone know who lancefield or romsey are looking at getting into there clubs !
Trueblueroo
19th October 2006, 11:11
This is rubbish! These blokes knew all year that the Grand Final was on a Sunday, sorry boys but you choose to play the whole year knowing full well that the big one fall on a Sunday! You should have thought about that in round 1, knowing their may be a good chance of making it this year! Ok the three of them had excellent years, but 3 players doesn't account for the rest of us in the RDFL, leave it on a Sunday it's tradition.
And next year boys, you might think about taking up a mid week sport, one which won't let team mates down come September!
Kings Army
19th October 2006, 11:28
Does anyone know what happens to a mormon that plays sport on a Sunday?
blues12
19th October 2006, 13:16
Does anyone know who lancefield or romsey are looking at getting into there clubs !
both clubs looking for coaches, rumour is robbie watters will head back to tiger land for the position.
Trueblueroo
19th October 2006, 13:38
They get eaten by their tribe, exactly like whats happening to Wa-Wa!
matt_nicholls
19th October 2006, 13:38
both clubs looking for coaches, rumour is robbie watters will head back to tiger land for the position.
Heard Dipper and Darren Lingard as a combination have applied for the Romsey role, and Morgan has also applied.
I don't think Fitzy is interested in senior coaching this year, may go back to juniors, but haven't spoken to him about it.
As for Lancefield, who knows? They are pretty tight lipped about it all. If Robbie Waters did return, and perhaps bring Matt, who kicked 100 goals for Huntly this season, then the Tigers would be well on the way.
Chris Collins is running the pre-season training this year and has committed for a full season. Scott Clark's shoulder is right to go (he played cricket with me on Saturday) and there are plenty of keen players around at the moment.
19th October 2006, 14:31
what about the other clubs in the league. has anyone heard who is coaching them
Gotheroos
19th October 2006, 14:40
Does anyone know what happens to a mormon that plays sport on a Sunday?
Who cares.
K-NACKS
19th October 2006, 15:44
I hear both romsey and lancefield are keen to get the same young kid from the edfl . anyone heard this or know who it is?
Doona2
19th October 2006, 16:04
I hear both romsey and lancefield are keen to get the same young kid from the edfl . anyone heard this or know who it is?
reckon you might so drop us a name
K-NACKS
19th October 2006, 16:24
Nah I was at the romsey pub talking to a couple of blokes harro and darryl and they mentioned a young kid that had moved house up to lancefield played a praco 4 romsey last yr but was already committed 2 anotha club neither could remember the name but apparently showed some promise n has been in contact with the club will go past 2nite n c if i can find out
K-NACKS
20th October 2006, 09:01
Was talkin 2 a bloke at the lancefield servo the kids name is leigh no last name known but
roosprez
20th October 2006, 10:38
The SKFC would like to announce the re-appointment of Jarrod Dixon Senior coach for the 2007 season.
Rodriguez
20th October 2006, 11:34
Gidda to coach the Hawks again! Announced at B&F as was Mick Lacey club B&F Nga 2nd. Should hang onto most, hopefully a couple of pick up's coming back from overseas.
goblues09
20th October 2006, 12:28
Terry Ahearn to coach Kilmore again, getting a couple of very handy players back from overseas, one being Robbie Wittmer, with a couple of guys who played elsewhere last 2 years also look set to return
Sunqvist
20th October 2006, 15:01
Best and fairests
Riddell: Wadden
Diggers Rest: Jose
Woodend: Lacey
Sunbury Kangas: M.Mcinerney
Romsey: Strack
Melton Central: ?
Kilmore: Robertson
Macedon: ?
Lancefield: Choate
Rockbank: ?
Is this correct, if so what do you think.
Blueboy16
20th October 2006, 15:40
Best and fairests
Riddell: Wadden
Diggers Rest: Jose
Woodend: Lacey
Sunbury Kangas: M.Mcinerney
Romsey: Strack
Melton Central: ?
Kilmore: Robertson
Macedon: ?
Lancefield: Choate
Rockbank: ?
Is this correct, if so what do you think.
Centrals: Brian Wheelahan.
geoffhopkinsburra
20th October 2006, 17:24
Centrals: Brian Wheelahan.
Macedon: Aaron Christaenson
Thats_Special
23rd October 2006, 13:14
Have heard that Centrals may be in a bit of trouble with several players looking at possibly moving on in 2007
mockery
23rd October 2006, 20:24
Romsey have announced that Mark Di Pietro (dippa) and Darren Lingard will co-coach Romsey in 2007.
Jarman03
24th October 2006, 13:40
Anyone know of John Ryan, heard could be a chance for the Lancefield job, used to be invovled ar Romsey I believe?
mooney
24th October 2006, 13:47
Anyone know if darko will be playing again next year???
24th October 2006, 15:00
who is going to coach the rams this season
Sunqvist
24th October 2006, 15:03
Anyone know if darko will be playing again next year???
From what i hear,
Darko wont be making that decision until a lot closer to the season. ie feb/march.
mooney
24th October 2006, 15:04
From what i hear,
Darko wont be making that decision until a lot closer to the season. ie feb/march.
Cheers
Blueboy16
24th October 2006, 15:20
who is going to coach the rams this season
I heard that "That's Special" is in with a chance. HAHAHA
Thats_Special
24th October 2006, 15:30
I heard that "That's Special" is in with a chance. HAHAHA
Not a chance.. Unless I get some significant financial backing from Blueboy16
Blueboy16
24th October 2006, 15:32
Not a chance.. Unless I get some significant financial backing from Blueboy16
Yet to be approached this year from a club That's Special
Thats_Special
24th October 2006, 15:34
Haven't got a job yet.... Stay tuned :thumbsu:
Thats_Special
24th October 2006, 15:37
Anyone know of John Ryan, heard could be a chance for the Lancefield job, used to be invovled ar Romsey I believe?
Have heard the name... How was he involved in Romsey?
Thats_Special
24th October 2006, 15:44
What a cracking Round 1 by the looks of it... Sunbury V Diggers to open up... Bring it on.... :thumbsu:
Thats_Special
25th October 2006, 10:41
So if I go and coach Rockbank then that substantial financial backing is a possibility... ??? ;) :cool:
gotnoskills
25th October 2006, 11:15
Any Kangaroo Guys (or girls)
When does your pre season start??
Just interested in coming down for a run next season. What nights would it be?
Dennisn
25th October 2006, 11:29
Haven't got a job yet.... Stay tuned :thumbsu:
Its only the fantastic support you get that keeps you in the job and now i know why you want me for my football brain and un-deniable good looks
Trueblueroo
25th October 2006, 11:38
What a cracking Round 1 by the looks of it... Sunbury V Diggers to open up... Bring it on.... :thumbsu:
Not on Sunday is it?
Thats_Special
25th October 2006, 13:43
Any Kangaroo Guys (or girls)
When does your pre season start??
Just interested in coming down for a run next season. What nights would it be?
Training dates are yet to be decided.. I would suggest it will be mid to late November... When decided will post on here
Thats_Special
25th October 2006, 13:44
Its only the fantastic support you get that keeps you in the job and now i know why you want me for my football brain and un-deniable good looks
I have never denied any of the above... It is clearly correct that its all you....
matt_nicholls
26th October 2006, 12:03
DUAL Bowen medallist and two-time Romsey Football Club best and fairest winner Mark Strack has signed with Wangaratta Rovers for 2007.
The move comes just days after his marriage into a Wangaratta family.
Big loss for Dippa and Daz to cover.
Thats_Special
26th October 2006, 13:19
DUAL Bowen medallist and two-time Romsey Football Club best and fairest winner Mark Strack has signed with Wangaratta Rovers for 2007.
The move comes just days after his marriage into a Wangaratta family.
Big loss for Dippa and Daz to cover.
Massive news... Are they holding on to Burlak, Meldrum, Morgan and McClellan?
blues12
26th October 2006, 13:40
james to strathmore, bulldog to wangaratta, 2 of the leagues big names moving on, big loss for the league, who will come in to replace them? Centrals rumours are that players are leaving, what other clubs are losing players? The strength of the league was great this year, can it stay as competitive next year.
What clubs look like picking up more quality, rumour is a 1/2 dozen players leaving sunbury lions some to diggers and some to the roos.
Thats_Special
27th October 2006, 08:07
From the word around the traps is that Romsey will lose a few, Riddell will lose a few, but should keep the 18's coming through, Centrals in big trouble... Outside of these clubs, most clubs should hold on to most of thier numbers...
Is Arnel Davis sticking around at Diggers?
matt_nicholls
27th October 2006, 09:20
From the word around the traps is that Romsey will lose a few, Riddell will lose a few, but should keep the 18's coming through, Centrals in big trouble... Outside of these clubs, most clubs should hold on to most of thier numbers...
Is Arnel Davis sticking around at Diggers?
I heard that Romsey are likely to keep most, but lose Burlak and Strack.
Connellan is a big chance to return, while Morgan should stay as Dippa was one of the big people in getting him to return.
Will be interesting to see how the Redbacks are faring. I don't get a lot out of my Lancefield sources, which is probably suggesting a lot hasn't happened at Tigerland just yet. I'll keep you tuned in though
Dog Town
27th October 2006, 19:46
Is Arnel Davis sticking around at Diggers? Always said this was his last year of footy and I think he is sticking to it. Still knocking around with all the lads though.
matt_nicholls
29th October 2006, 08:32
The mail I recieved last night was that Chris Collins will coach Lancefield in 2007.
For a youngster (21-year-old I think) its going to be a huge ask.
But he is a very smart footballer and level headed. Expect to see skipper Simon Choate playing a big role.
Should get official confirmation early this week.
woodsmen
30th October 2006, 11:27
it will be interesting to see if some talented youth will be attrated to the Tigers if Chris Collins is appointed coach.
Trueblueroo
30th October 2006, 12:21
A talented 21 year old, doesn't get given the job if he hasn't garrunteed quality! I know he is very close with Meldrum and other quality players at Romsey! Also know he is very close with some PEGS boys, who might be wanting a change from VAFA and EDFL to RDFL! Might be some conditions attached, if he has secured the postion! Be interesting, to see how it pans out! HAs their ever been a coach this young in the RDFL before?
blues12
31st October 2006, 05:26
Collins has been appointed coach with Reaper his assistant.
At this Stage other than Lancefield and Centrals all senior coaches have been re-appointed.
Thats_Special
31st October 2006, 06:31
Collins has been appointed coach with Reaper his assistant.
At this Stage other than Lancefield and Centrals all senior coaches have been re-appointed.
Is this Steve Reaper, and if so, will he be playing???
Thats_Special
31st October 2006, 07:19
Any news from Riddell? Are the Under 18's from last year sticking around and going into the Seniors? Are there any players leaving from last season's premiership side.?
matt_nicholls
31st October 2006, 07:30
Is this Steve Reaper, and if so, will he be playing???
PERHAPS one of the youngest ever coaches in Riddell District Football League history will lead Lancefield Football Club next season.
Chris Collins, a 20-year-old who played with the Bendigo Bombers this year, will take the lead role for the Tigers.
As a teenager, Collins was one of the best footballers in the league and was a great Lancefield clubman.
He was critical in getting the Tigers over the line against Riddell in the 2004 grand final.
Collins will be assisted by former club champion Andrew Reaper, who returned to Tigerland last season.
Club president Ian Brown said the appointment of Collins was one well supported by the selection committee.
“We are confident Chris will do a good job, he has the respect of the playing group,” he said.
Brown also noted that the club was always looking for new players, in particularly Under 18s.
“Everyone is welcome at Lancefield, it’s a good family club and people shouldn’t be shy to come down and have a kick.”
For those interested, pre-season training starts on Monday, November 13 at Lancefield Park from 6pm.
blues12
31st October 2006, 08:27
Any news from Riddell? Are the Under 18's from last year sticking around and going into the Seniors? Are there any players leaving from last season's premiership side.?
A number of the kids that played seniors last year have been approached by clubs associated with edfl, quality kids also steping up to 18s from this years 16s.
Kings Army
31st October 2006, 08:37
PERHAPS one of the youngest ever coaches in Riddell District Football League history will lead Lancefield Football Club next season.
Chris Collins, a 20-year-old who played with the Bendigo Bombers this year, will take the lead role for the Tigers.
As a teenager, Collins was one of the best footballers in the league and was a great Lancefield clubman.
He was critical in getting the Tigers over the line against Riddell in the 2004 grand final.
Collins will be assisted by former club champion Andrew Reaper, who returned to Tigerland last season.
Club president Ian Brown said the appointment of Collins was one well supported by the selection committee.
“We are confident Chris will do a good job, he has the respect of the playing group,” he said.
Brown also noted that the club was always looking for new players, in particularly Under 18s.
“Everyone is welcome at Lancefield, it’s a good family club and people shouldn’t be shy to come down and have a kick.”
For those interested, pre-season training starts on Monday, November 13 at Lancefield Park from 6pm.
What has happened to the 06 Lancefield coach?
blues12
31st October 2006, 11:32
Isn't that obvious he is not coaching:D
HJ32
31st October 2006, 13:50
I think he is coaching Heathcote in the HDFL comp.
Halffullonfence
31st October 2006, 19:04
What grounds have recycled or bore water ????
goblues09
31st October 2006, 23:17
not sure on others but Kilmore is on bore water