View Full Version : Teddy Richards ... how do you feel ??

Oh When the Saints
30 Sep 2006, 18:22
One of the best for the Swans: 14 kicks, 3 handpasses, 6 marks, 3 tackles. In a grand final. Did a brilliant shut-down job on Hansen after quarter time.

Worth the pick you got for him ?? Or will he now do a Craig Bolton and become All-Australian in a few years ??

Thoughts ??

HBF
30 Sep 2006, 18:25
Thought he was the Swans best today.

jules101
30 Sep 2006, 18:44
great game by Teddy! Was at the game cheering him on and while he prob wasnt the best he definately was up there. That tackle turned the game.

droppuntkick23
30 Sep 2006, 18:50
Pity Supercoach Sheedy couldnt get him to play like that!:thumbsu:

jules101
30 Sep 2006, 18:53
Pity Supercoach Sheedy couldnt get him to play like that!:thumbsu:
troll

Sam the RAMA fan
30 Sep 2006, 19:09
Good on him!
Great player,showed some great skill..
although that little out of bounds kick was poor timing...but it happens.
Good to see him kicking ass.

GO BOMBERS 07. :thumbsu:

windyhill
30 Sep 2006, 19:10
Was reasonable, did some nice things and some terrible things , that last quarter shank !!

jules101
30 Sep 2006, 19:11
Teddys game >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>.. Barry Hall's game

windyhill
30 Sep 2006, 19:12
Teddys game >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>.. Barry Hall's game
That goes without saying. Glass was very good today but I reckon Hall beat himself if you catch my drift.

DaSawx
30 Sep 2006, 19:49
Worth the pick you got for him ?? Or will he now do a Craig Bolton and become All-Australian in a few years ??

Thoughts ??

Very happy with Courtenay Dempsey, Teddy is still an ok player, I'd do that trade again

droppuntkick23
30 Sep 2006, 20:03
troll

Truth hurts does it ? Its a fact you know. Now how many games in how many seasons? I will tell you. 33 games in 4 seasons.( 2002-2005)
2006 he has missed 1 game. Thats 24 this season!

jules101
30 Sep 2006, 20:09
Truth hurts does it ? Its a fact you know. Now how many games in how many seasons? I will tell you. 33 games in 4 seasons.( 2002-2005)
Hopefully teddy turns out to be a good player as he is a really good guy but I still would take the trade

KING-JAMES
30 Sep 2006, 20:11

No the truth doesnt hurt essendon fans are happy for Ted but were also very happy with getting Dempsey. Well done on a good season Ted and a great game but i would still make that trade.

boncer34
30 Sep 2006, 21:35
He was played as KPP backman at Essendon mainly at FB. LEts see..... Richards or Fletcher? Take Fletcher moron. Wow Richards had the game of his life good for him, ordinary players are bound to play a good game now and again. Take the pick over him again.

-Junior-
30 Sep 2006, 21:39
He was played as KPP backman at Essendon mainly at FB. LEts see..... Richards or Fletcher? Take Fletcher moron. Wow Richards had the game of his life good for him, ordinary players are bound to play a good game now and again. Take the pick over him again.

bit harsh mate, hes had a very solid season this year and played f****** awesome today i was cheerin for him and i was going for west coast :thumbsu:
gotta love that chase down he came from no where...inspirational, well done ted :thumbsu:

austinthedog
30 Sep 2006, 22:27
LRT played the game of his life 12 months ago. Obviously has gone on to be a superstar :rolleyes:

it was one game, yeah he played well, but lets not get carried away

The Dustbin
30 Sep 2006, 22:50
Enjoy the loss Ted.

:cool:

SouthSwans
30 Sep 2006, 23:20
Enjoy 2nd last on the ladder and missing out on Bryce Gibbs. F*cking tosser :thumbsd: :rolleyes:

jules101
30 Sep 2006, 23:25
both of you shut up

Boris_Bewick
1 Oct 2006, 01:04
Back on topic,

Well done to Teddy, was always a favourite of mine. Trades aside, it was good to see someone who didn't get much of a chance with us play a blinder today.

SouthSwans
1 Oct 2006, 01:11
both of you shut uphumph....

skzm
1 Oct 2006, 03:54
Great game by Teddy, felt for him - didn't deserve to be on the losing side....

Like someone said, LRT had a great game last year - but wasn't quite as good today.

Having said that, hope Teddy goes on and has a great career. A good trade is not just about getting 'one-up' on another club...

Timmy from Thomastown
1 Oct 2006, 07:20
Very happy with Courtenay Dempsey, Teddy is still an ok player, I'd do that trade again

You probably could have taken Dempsey with the pick you gave up to get Cole. Thats the real trade - out Richards, in Cole. Still happy?

The Dustbin
1 Oct 2006, 08:01
Enjoy 2nd last on the ladder and missing out on Bryce Gibbs. F*cking tosser :thumbsd: :rolleyes:

Touch a nerve did i. :p

whirl
1 Oct 2006, 08:06
He played well good on him

whirl
1 Oct 2006, 08:09
You probably could have taken Dempsey with the pick you gave up to get Cole. Thats the real trade - out Richards, in Cole. Still happy?
Probably, possibly or possibly not. The real trade was Richards for pick 19, what you have there is a figurative trade.

windyhill
1 Oct 2006, 08:17
Enjoy 2nd last on the ladder
and still beat ****ing sydney, the ****ing "blood brothers"

droppuntkick23
1 Oct 2006, 08:51

Just goes to show how arrogant Esssendon supporters are.
""Take Fletcher MORAN ! well well.
Only if you knew;)

droppuntkick23
1 Oct 2006, 08:53

Lets hope they enjoy being down there for a long time. As for Gibbs, Blues will pick Hansen, lets just see;)

Terry Tan
1 Oct 2006, 09:00
so did Sheedy think that Bolten & Henneman are better than Richards???? :eek:

DaSawx
1 Oct 2006, 09:31

I don't think we would have got a first round pick for either of them

DaSawx
1 Oct 2006, 09:33

1) You can't gaurantee anything
2) Cole has finals and GF experience and looked good towards the end of the season, will be very handy next year

silk
1 Oct 2006, 10:27
I don't think we would have got a first round pick for either of them

Exactly, Niether are worth ****, and both were contracted at that stage... Richards was out of contract, and whilst he did some okay things, never really stepped up... He expressed interest to go to sydney, and sydney offered a very acceptable deal.
It was win win, Richards is a decent footballer who fits well in a good team, but can't cut in a bad team... which is probaly why he didn't do any good at essendon...

ant555
1 Oct 2006, 10:39

Well neither of them told the club they wanted to be traded , Ted did.:rolleyes:

Back to Ted , he played well in the second half but he still made the usual mistakes.

droppuntkick23
1 Oct 2006, 11:28

He must of !:)

Longy413
1 Oct 2006, 11:39

You do realise kids take time to develop, especially those that play key positions.

He's a limited footballer who for the first three years at the club wasn't physically ready to play the game at the highest level and was also competing for a spot with blokes like Wellman, Fletcher, Lloyd, Lucas. Those blokes go alright.

Played the last 10 games last year and wanted to go. Good luck to him, he got what he want, we got a good pick. Ted's moved on, Essendon supporters have moved on.

Adam Hunter kicked a pretty important goal in the last quarter.

wazzabp
1 Oct 2006, 11:47
You do realise kids take time to develop, especially those that play key positions.

He's a limited footballer who for the first three years at the club wasn't physically ready to play the game at the highest level and was also competing for a spot with blokes like Wellman, Fletcher, Lloyd, Lucas. Those blokes go alright.

Played the last 10 games last year and wanted to go. Good luck to him, he got what he want, we got a good pick. Ted's moved on, Essendon supporters have moved on.

Adam Hunter kicked a pretty important goal in the last quarter.

Totally agree.
People need to get over the Ted Richards trade, we got a good pick from the deal so it was a win win situation.
I don't see people putting the boots into Hawthorn for letting Gary Ablett go to the Cats.
Every teams made trades that may have come back to haunt them, theRichards trade hasn't hurt us at all so people need to get over it.

Darealrath
1 Oct 2006, 11:50
This thread probably shouldn't be brought up again until both Richards and Dempsey retire (though we could make an exception when Dempsey wins his Norm Smith i guess...).

jules101
1 Oct 2006, 11:52
Melbourne delisted Armstrong and then he kicked one of he winning goals... whers the thread about that? Teddy played well ysterday but he wasnt the best on the ground and Sydney didnt win. Maybe if they had some leg speed through the middle like a Dempsey ;) they would have won :D

Longy413
1 Oct 2006, 11:55
Melbourne delisted Armstrong and then he kicked one of he winning goals...

If he was delisted by Essendon there would be 12 of them.

Terry Tan
1 Oct 2006, 12:38
It's hard for one eyed supporters to admit club mistakes, esp. when your an Essendon supporter.

I'm sure there are up to 5 players worse than Ted Richards at Essendon right now, starting with Bolten, Henneman, and Cole.

Longy413
1 Oct 2006, 12:41
It's hard for one eyed supporters to admit club mistakes, esp. when your an Essendon supporter.

I'm sure there are up to 5 players worse than Ted Richards at Essendon right now, starting with Bolten, Henneman, and Cole.

They're irrelevant.

They didn't want to go and we wouldn't have received a first round draft pick for any of them.

dave_27
1 Oct 2006, 12:49
Have to laugh at the 2 tiger supporters trying to tell us on our board we made a mistake.

lol, we can speak for ourselves and quite frankly most of us would do that trade again and again and again.......................

Scatterbrains.

Terry Tan
1 Oct 2006, 12:51
Have to laugh at the 2 tiger supporters trying to tell us on our board we made a mistake.

lol, we can speak for ourselves and quite frankly most of us would do that trade again and again and again.......................

Scatterbrains.

so do you think that Henneman and Bolten are better than Richards?

Longy413
1 Oct 2006, 12:52

They aren't any worse, but they are also irrelevant.

Ted wanted to go. We got a first round pick offered to us, we took it.

We didn't choose Bolton and Henneman over Ted.

dave_27
1 Oct 2006, 13:03

No, this isnt about who is better.

Ted broke into the side and kept his spot for the second half of last year as his form had warranted it.

He had a deal in front of him and chose not to sign it.

DaSawx
1 Oct 2006, 13:10
they choose not to listen

Crave
1 Oct 2006, 15:48
No, this isnt about who is better.

Ted broke into the side and kept his spot for the second half of last year as his form had warranted it.

He had a deal in front of him and chose not to sign it.

It was actually an amicable split between he and Sheeds. There wasn't a deal in front of him. He spoke to the Swans before he spoke to Sheeds, then asked to be traded.

saladin
1 Oct 2006, 18:34
teddy is heading in the right direction. could develop into a very versatile player for the swannies. but i saw enough of young courtenay dempsey this year to convince me that we will benefit most from the trade. richards is better than bolts or henno, but we'd never have received the dempsey pick for either of those two.

Barnsey3150
2 Oct 2006, 10:50
Ted Richards had a pretty good game on the weekend...was impressed...def a better player then alot of the guys who make it into the team every week like bolts!

ant555
2 Oct 2006, 11:23
It was actually an amicable split between he and Sheeds. There wasn't a deal in front of him. He spoke to the Swans before he spoke to Sheeds, then asked to be traded.

Actually the club did offer Ted a deal ;)

mustapha
2 Oct 2006, 12:46
I am glad for him. He was unable to develop any consistency at Essendon due to our often strange selection policy. Given that he was always going to be on the fringe at Essendon a trade was the best thing for both clubs.

The Old Dark Navy's
2 Oct 2006, 13:09
No point in rubbing it in. Richards seems the type of player that fits in well at a club where the players work hard for each other and are at the top of their game.

At a rebuilding side, he would be required to assert himself more often and wouldn't have quite the support he gets at the Swans.

The Bombers got a good pick for Richards. Was it Dempsey they picked up? They have a player to help them rebuild while Swans got an extra defender to help them with their height problems. Win/Win/Win for both clubs and Richards himself.

stander
2 Oct 2006, 13:51
I am glad for him. He was unable to develop any consistency at Essendon due to our often strange selection policy. Given that he was always going to be on the fringe at Essendon a trade was the best thing for both clubs.

The point overlooked is we drafted Zantuck, and preferred that dud ahead of Richards at the selection table. Two very ordinary decisions by the EFC, partually redeemed by recruiting Dempsey.

The bomb 9
2 Oct 2006, 15:44
The point overlooked is we drafted Zantuck, and preferred that dud ahead of Richards at the selection table. Two very ordinary decisions by the EFC, partually redeemed by recruiting Dempsey.

I agree ...(Teddy had a great game on the weekend- he didnt stop running- when essendon drafting richards they had in mind to play full forward- and with the already crowded forward line he went down back but was given limited opportunity. When was the last time essendon did a great trade deal....?. accept when the big fish came back to essendon.. Whats goin on down there? I think they need to to find new recruiters.... Bring back COCHRANE.....

Longy413
2 Oct 2006, 15:57

Ted wasn't overlooked for Zantuck.
Zantuck was recruited to play on big bodied forwards, something Ted couldn't do and still doesn't do.

They played different roles.

Zantuck was a bad decision, not playing Ted in a position he couldn't play wasn't.

blumfieldisback
2 Oct 2006, 16:52
I agree ...(Teddy had a great game on the weekend- he didnt stop running- when essendon drafting richards they had in mind to play full forward- and with the already crowded forward line he went down back but was given limited opportunity. When was the last time essendon did a great trade deal....?. accept when the big fish came back to essendon.. Whats goin on down there? I think they need to to find new recruiters.... Bring back COCHRANE.....

thats right dodoro is under pressure to secure some hope for next year, McPhee was our last great trade. getting monfries in the draft was our last great selection.

stander
2 Oct 2006, 18:10
Ted wasn't overlooked for Zantuck.
Zantuck was recruited to play on big bodied forwards, something Ted couldn't do and still doesn't do.They played different roles.
Zantuck was a bad decision, not playing Ted in a position he couldn't play wasn't.

Disagree- Zantuck was preferred ahead of Richards full stop. Richards has actually played in the ruck this year, and did very well in body contests with ruckman a lot bigger than himself.

Longy413
2 Oct 2006, 18:20
Disagree- Zantuck was preferred ahead of Richards full stop. Richards has actually played in the ruck this year, and did very well in body contests with ruckman a lot bigger than himself.

Ty was and is stronger than Ted.
I'd still rather have Ty play on Jon Brown than Ted.

What big forwards has he taken this season?
Ted is still a 3rd tall defender, Ty at least had the ability to play on the big blokes.
He'd even beaten Lloyd on a previous occassion.

Mind you, Ted left because he thought he was a forward. Not a defender.

Those 25 hitouts were awesome.

stander
2 Oct 2006, 19:19

Ted is still a 3rd tall defender, Ty at least had the ability to play on the big blokes.

Sorry to hear you still have faith in Zantuck. Richards played on Hansen only last Saturday, and on Lloyd , curiously. Not many can play well on Brown, maybe not even Fletcher. Ted was not encouraged to stay because Zantuck was preferred ahead of him, insult. Why did you dig up those useless stats- the issue was whether Richards could play on big blokes- he did well when called upon to play in the ruck.

We made a big mistake with Zantuck, a mistake with Richards given Fletcher carries our backline, and did well with Dempsey.

Longy413
2 Oct 2006, 20:29
Big, bad Ashley Hansen. 8 marks, 2 goals 2. Some sort of impact.

He's a running forward, not a body forward.

Ted was asked to stay, he played the last ten games down back. He wanted to go, he wanted to play forward. Not down back, forward. He wanted to go because of that.

Zantuck was/is a better footballer than Ted. But Ted's greatest strength is Ty's greatest downfall. Mental application.

I have absolutely no faith in Ty Zantuck, I'd still play him on Jon Brown ahead of Ted.

I would have thought hitout stats are relevant in showing how well he was able to play in the ruck.

We made a small mistake with Zantuck, he was a PSD pick. But at mistake anyway.

We made no mistake with not playing a bloke that wasn't physically ready to play in the position we wanted him to, only to have him walk out because he want to play in that position anyway. Sorry Ted, you don't get that choice at Essendon. Play in the position you are picked son.

Good luck anyway.

jcraw1
2 Oct 2006, 22:03
Good on him.. I'm happy to see ex-Bombers doing well, as long as it isn't for Collingwood :thumbsu:

stander
3 Oct 2006, 08:55
Big, bad Ashley Hansen. 8 marks, 2 goals 2. Some sort of impact.

He's a running forward, not a body forward.

Ted was asked to stay, he played the last ten games down back. He wanted to go, he wanted to play forward. Not down back, forward. He wanted to go because of that.

Zantuck was/is a better footballer than Ted. But Ted's greatest strength is Ty's greatest downfall. Mental application.

I have absolutely no faith in Ty Zantuck, I'd still play him on Jon Brown ahead of Ted.

I would have thought hitout stats are relevant in showing how well he was able to play in the ruck.

We made a small mistake with Zantuck, he was a PSD pick. But at mistake anyway.

We made no mistake with not playing a bloke that wasn't physically ready to play in the position we wanted him to, only to have him walk out because he want to play in that position anyway. Sorry Ted, you don't get that choice at Essendon. Play in the position you are picked son.

Good luck anyway.

Hansen is not exactly skinny. Lloyd isn't either. Glad you picked up on Zantucks mental application- others didn't.
Have you actually thought that he was played in the wrong position on many an occasion by our esteemed coaching panel, who have got it pretty wrong lately ? Small mistake with Zantuck- look a bit further than a wasted PSD pick son, and taking off your blinkers might help. There might be a trainer or two at the Valley who can help you. Cheers.

jules101
3 Oct 2006, 09:16
Hansen is not exactly skinny. Lloyd isn't either. Glad you picked up on Zantucks mental application- others didn't.
Have you actually thought that he was played in the wrong position on many an occasion by our esteemed coaching panel, who have got it pretty wrong lately ? Small mistake with Zantuck- look a bit further than a wasted PSD pick son, and taking off your blinkers might help. There might be a trainer or two at the Valley who can help you. Cheers.
I'm looking, cant see anything can you explain?

Longy413
3 Oct 2006, 09:20
Hansen is not exactly skinny.

He isn't a body on body forward, that's not how he plays.

He doesn't take contested marks. He was also a very important player for West Coast at the start of the match, kicked the first goal and got them going. His first half was very good.

Have you actually thought that he was played in the wrong position on many an occasion by our esteemed coaching panel, who have got it pretty wrong lately ?

The coaching panel that playing him in the position he is playing in for the most part in Sydney?

There might be a trainer or two at the Valley who can help you. Cheers.

Good for them, thought we were talking footy.

mustapha
3 Oct 2006, 10:27

I agree that Ted would struggle on big bodied forwards and that he is probably a 3rd tall defender. He did give us another defensive option though. Why did we resort to Bolton as a defender instead of Richards. Bolton can run but as a defender he is pitiful. If I was Richards I would understand not getting a go in the forward line with Lloyd, Lucas etc. but missing out behind the likes of Bolton in an average backline would indicate that my career should finish elsewhere.

Longy413
3 Oct 2006, 10:31
I don't know if Bolts has played a lot of games down back over the last 2-3 years. Ted did play the last 10 games last year, but regardless he left because he wanted opportunities to play forward. But he's just not that good.

Good luck to him though. I hope he continues to develop.

foj1
3 Oct 2006, 12:59
Im sick of talking teddy. For whatever reason we didnt develop Teddy as well as we could- more worrying dyson, winderlich, bradley, laycock arent quite there yet either. We need to get better at developing our youth. We are going to get some ripper kids in a few months and we need to develop them with some haste. Im hoping for Hansen or Gibbs, Grigg, Hurley and Williams from Geelong. If we get another pick in the Top 20 we will get another exciting talent. Matthew Knights should be a busy man this summer

stander
3 Oct 2006, 13:55
Im sick of talking teddy. For whatever reason we didnt develop Teddy as well as we could- more worrying dyson, winderlich, bradley, laycock arent quite there yet either. We need to get better at developing our youth. We are going to get some ripper kids in a few months and we need to develop them with some haste. Im hoping for Hansen or Gibbs, Grigg, Hurley and Williams from Geelong. If we get another pick in the Top 20 we will get another exciting talent. Matthew Knights should be a busy man this summer

Good points- Ted is developing well in his role with the Swans- played on one of the biggest Eagles in the G/F, Hansen, who can do most things like mark and lead. In the meantime, we have to perservere with Bradley, and hope he can finally develop into something, somewhere.