View Full Version : Ted Richards
jokiKan
30 Sep 2006, 19:23
What a game. What a tackle on Embley. Worked himself into utter exhaustion. At the end of the last quarter he had the ball and there was a close up of him as he was running with it. He looked so pale I thought this guy has had it, he's gonna faint. He kicked it out of bounds then just collapsed.
He was brilliant today, well done Ted. :thumbsu:
magpies42
30 Sep 2006, 19:28
yep you guys put on a good show, beaten by a more polished side tho. Richards should have got teh norm smith i reckon
master bate
30 Sep 2006, 19:37
yep you guys put on a good show, beaten by a more polished side tho. Richards should have got teh norm smith i reckon
Come on mate, the norm smith is for best on ground not crap player who miraculously plays well in the gf, thats the lrt award
is2SWaNz
30 Sep 2006, 19:41
Ted Richards was defintely one of the players who gave Swans hope. Great marks and tackles... gave us a chance. Love him! :)
Was absolutely brilliant!!! Grew up playing at East Sandringham, in the same team as Chris Judd. Obviously not as blessed with the same natural ability as Judd, but showed today he had just as big-a-heart. My hat comes off to you Ted, you proved you deserved your place in the side. A true "Blood-like" performance. Well done.
jules101
30 Sep 2006, 20:23
Come on mate, the norm smith is for best on ground not crap player who miraculously plays well in the gf, thats the lrt award
ur an idiot. WHy cant a "crap" player win it if he is the best on ground?
Big Nasty
30 Sep 2006, 20:31
hey master bate its pretty low to go on the site of the losing side and give there players crap, Ted Richards is probably better than any overated player in your dead s-hit team.
is2SWaNz
30 Sep 2006, 20:37
it seems to me you haven't watched the past 2 months of teddy playing for the swans. Ted is playing pretty consistently now, shame he didn't win the Norm Smith Award. He derserved it, along with Judd. I seriously thought he was gonna get the award.
Oh When the Saints
30 Sep 2006, 21:16
Brilliant game from Teddy and he will only get better ... get used to seeing him play at that level.
If the Swannies had got up, he deserved the Norm Smith.
Commiserations.
Cant believe we got so close.
They were the better team by a mile.
Cant believe we got so close.
They were the better team by a mile.
are you joking????:rolleyes: :confused:
they won by a point
we crucified them in the 2nd half:confused: :confused:
grimlock
30 Sep 2006, 21:49
I agree with Sid, they should have blown us apart in the first half. It was 21 hitouts to 5 in the first half! So to even get that close is an amazing effort.
is2SWaNz
30 Sep 2006, 22:11
I agree with Sid, they should have blown us apart in the first half. It was 21 hitouts to 5 in the first half! So to even get that close is an amazing effort.
Yeah half agree. They should've blown us apart, but thanks to some of the players turned it around in the second half. But i don't think they were better by a mile. In the first quarter they we were wayy better than us by more than a mile. Fortunately, we turned it around and unlucky we fell short by a point.
i can't believe you're ignoring the heart the swans put in that come back. They completely changed play and took wc confidence away. It was a truly amazing effort.
jules101
30 Sep 2006, 22:15
Teddy's tackle sparked the fightback IMO
thanks for ted;)
jules101
30 Sep 2006, 22:19
thanks for ted;)
We are very happy with Dempsey thanks but I came on here with nothing but praise for teddy and the swans so dont be a smart ass. teddy is a better player at the swans because Roosy has given him a chance. Sheeds ****ed teddy over. Gave him limited games and when he did play he only got limited gametime. i know Teddy he is a great bloke and I hope he goes well for Sydney. Went to the grand final today to cheer him on
We are very happy with Dempsey thanks but I came on here with nothing but praise for teddy and the swans dont be a smart ass. teddy is a better player at the swans because Roosy has given him a chance. Sheeds ****ed teddy over. Gave him limited games and when he did play he only got limited gametime. i know Teddy he is a great bloke and I hope he goes well for Sydney. Went to the grand final today to cheer him on
ffs chill out, my intention wasn't to offend you, i can see you're not bitter.
jules101
30 Sep 2006, 22:26
ffs chill out, my intention wasn't to offend you, i can see you're not bitter.
I am not bitter that Teddy is playing well for you guys one bit. i am actually very happy he is. However I am bitter at the way he was treated by my club. Was shown 0 loyalty in my opinion and didnt get a fair go when players like Bolton and Henneman have had plenty of chances to prove themselves. Was offered a 1 year contract when draftees who have never played a game of AFL footy are given 2.
is2SWaNz
30 Sep 2006, 22:34
with that tackle on emlbey, it was the turn around of the game. I never seen Richards so determined. He's becoming [very rapidly] one of my favourite players.
He played incredibly well. RIGHT before kicking it out on the full I thought, if he sets up a goal here the Norm Smith is his.
That's the sort of effort you need in a grand final. Last game of the year and a number of players (from both sides) could take a leaf out of his book.
Go Eagles!
natlovestheswans
1 Oct 2006, 16:29
I really am so proud of Teddy. I really just want to give him a big hug.
is2SWaNz
1 Oct 2006, 16:34
I really am so proud of Teddy. I really just want to give him a big hug.
and if he's lucky, a kiss on his cheek from me! :p
jules101
1 Oct 2006, 16:36
and if he's lucky, a kiss on his cheek from me! :p
lol footy player groupie :p
natlovestheswans
1 Oct 2006, 16:47
Oh we love Teddy.
mrbehemoth
3 Oct 2006, 07:37
Actually, if the "crap player who miraculously plays well in the gf" is best on ground, that's exactly who the Norm Smith is for. What they do outside the GF is irrelevant.
SWANNIES RULE
3 Oct 2006, 07:43
Teddy was a great pick up. He is an important player for the Swans.
jules101
3 Oct 2006, 10:14
Teddy was a great pick up. He is an important player for the Swans.
We are quite happy with that trade as well. Teddy is a good player who is a hard worker and fits in at Sydney and plays a position that Sydney needed but Dempsey could be a better player and is what Essendon needed. I think both teams were winners in that trade. The difference between Teddy this year and Teddy last year is not huge. Teddy is a cog in a machine. When all the other parts around him are better then he works better. Anyway good luck to him, Hopefully he can play 100 games for u guys and one day u might have some little teddys runnin around for the swans :)
It was certainly interesting watching Teddy relish the KPP role he was given in the GF when LRT lost touch with Hansen. Good signs. :thumbsu:
is2SWaNz
3 Oct 2006, 18:44
It was revealed that right after Ted Richards kicked the ball OOBOTF, he got concussed! no wonder he looked hazy and dazed out. :( A true blood player... Teddy says he can't remember the last moments of the GF. It's better off to not remember! :p
SWANNIES RULE
3 Oct 2006, 19:18
That trade between us and Essendon that saw us get Teddy was one of those trades where both team benefited. But it is hard to believe he couldn't get a regular spot in the Essendon side.
is2SWaNz
3 Oct 2006, 19:51
^hmm... very true. He played like 23 games in 4 seasons??? or something like that.
However, he played 20+ games for us this season! Very surprising.
jules101
3 Oct 2006, 20:05
I think he fitted your game plan with numbers behind the ball to help him out. He was also fitter this year.