View Full Version : What if. What if. What if. What if.

CharlieG
1 Oct 2006, 02:38
What if. What if. What if. What if. What if. What if. What if.

I'm sober again. It's doing my head in again. It hurts again.

Why won't footy just go away for six months? I know I'll be playing this game over in my head for 50 years. Painful.

Adelaide Hawk
1 Oct 2006, 03:04
Try and view it this way. Right up until the siren sounded you still had a very real chance of a premiership. For other clubs, that dream was shattered months ago. Swans had a terrific season with many highlights, and that is a real bonus.

Okay, in the professional world of sport, we tend to feel if we don't win we are losers. To a degree that is correct. However, the footy season isn't a 100 metre sprint, and there are a lot of good things that happen along the journey.

You also have that optimism that your team will be good enough to seriously challenge again in 2007. Once again, there are at least 50% of clubs in the competition who won't be.

CharlieG
1 Oct 2006, 03:11
Try and view it this way. Right up until the siren sounded you still had a very real chance of a premiership. For other clubs, that dream was shattered months ago. Swans had a terrific season with many highlights, and that is a real bonus.

Okay, in the professional world of sport, we tend to feel if we don't win we are losers. To a degree that is correct. However, the footy season isn't a 100 metre sprint, and there are a lot of good things that happen along the journey.

You also have that optimism that your team will be good enough to seriously challenge again in 2007. Once again, there are at least 50% of clubs in the competition who won't be.

:thumbsu: Cheers mate. There's nothing you could possibly say that would erase the hurt. But I appreciate the effort.

Minkus_Swan
1 Oct 2006, 03:16
This loss will take at least a year to get over. I know we won it last year, but to lose a grand final by a solitary point - is pure devastation.

Only another flag will stop this hurt. Next year I'll be more passionate about our footy club than ever.

USAEagle
1 Oct 2006, 04:02
Your boys really gutsed (?) it out. Well Done. We know how you feel, and what if what if what if was what we were saying last year.

What a Game!

Good luck next year.

duncan
1 Oct 2006, 04:42
Only another flag will stop this hurt. Next year I'll be more passionate about our footy club than ever.

Yep - Today washed the "sins" of last years Grand Final away for us - and believe me, there where numerous whatifs for us back then.

It`s alot like someone thats quit smoking - you don`t think about it on a day to day bases - but every now and then it pops up to remind you it`s still there.

Chins up - A fresh new season will soon start again.

X_box_X
1 Oct 2006, 07:44
Come on, guys, you win some and you lose some. Yesterday's game was always going to be a close encounter, just like last year's Grand Final. Both teams have now gone 1-1 in two years, both classic and close encounters. One all is a fair result if you ask me.

Probably a similar scenario with Bulldogs-Geelong this year, both teams beat each other by one point. As devestating as the loss was, I ended up thinking to myself that it is a fair result and 1-1 could quite have easily been 0-2.

At least you guys have a recent premiership to cheer about.

Big Cox
1 Oct 2006, 09:49
I must admit, I reckon its harder for your lot to lose by 1 point then it was to lose by 4 points. i mean just of the top of my head i can think of 10 what ifs without even blinking. Im not gonna come here and say i know how you feel cos im sure you feel worse then i did last time around

Do yourselves a favor, throw in the 05 Grand final DVD and watch. It helped me last year to watch the 94 final.

CharlieG
1 Oct 2006, 10:20
Come on, guys, you win some and you lose some. Yesterday's game was always going to be a close encounter, just like last year's Grand Final. Both teams have now gone 1-1 in two years, both classic and close encounters. One all is a fair result if you ask me.

Fair, perhaps. But I want two cups.

Yeah, well. Will watch it later in the week. At the moment watching footy is not on the agenda.

is2SWaNz
1 Oct 2006, 15:30
I must admit, I reckon its harder for your lot to lose by 1 point then it was to lose by 4 points. i mean just of the top of my head i can think of 10 what ifs without even blinking. Im not gonna come here and say i know how you feel cos im sure you feel worse then i did last time around

Do yourselves a favor, throw in the 05 Grand final DVD and watch. It helped me last year to watch the 94 final.

Yea, true. My eyes are stinging, i've been crying two days straight, not ebcuase i'm dissappointed but proud of them. I wok up this morning and their poster was right there, smiling at me and i burst into years. :)

I'll be watching the 05 DVD for sure, probably once a week. But yesterday's GF will not be erased for a very very long time.

Cheers

is2SWaNz
1 Oct 2006, 15:33
What if. What if. What if. What if. What if. What if. What if.

I'm sober again. It's doing my head in again. It hurts again.

Why won't footy just go away for six months? I know I'll be playing this game over in my head for 50 years. Painful.

Oh Charlie. I understand, thats how i'm feeling now. If only this and if only that. On RWO we made a list or 'if onlys' and I never realised how many mistakes we made. But, its in the past and its hard to forget. I mean, the match yesertday is doing my head in too. I think about it, i sob. It's okay, there there.

There are many Swan supporters out there who feel the same as we do. All we can do is wait for another 6 months (omg!!) until 2007 season. During the break, reflect on the 2006 season, i mean there is sooo much to reflect on! :) Smile, chin up and i dont think our players want to see us like this. But then again, it's the emotions and reactions of a painful Grand Final loss.

natlovestheswans
1 Oct 2006, 16:03
Oh what if..

Wasn't to be though.

Scotland
1 Oct 2006, 17:13
1 kick away from 2 flags.

1 kick away from none.

Hmmmm, now that feels strangely familiar.

Minkus_Swan
1 Oct 2006, 23:12

I have a funny feeling that you'll have one in the next 12 months.

RedWhite4Ever
2 Oct 2006, 00:30

It hurts like hell man, like having your heart ripped out, oh well, to taste success is to go through the hard times, I can understand the pain you guys went throught last year.

Just as a footy lover in general, not just because my beloved Swans lost, but I was glad that we lost to your mob yesterday:D

Makes the pill a bit easier to swallow:thumbsu:

jorel6669
2 Oct 2006, 03:06
I feel the pain of all you Sydney fans. If it's anything like I was last year, you'd all be pretty damned shattered.

It's great that we can both be proud of our clubs' efforts in the past two play offs, but the pain of losing is pretty damn rough. And to lose by a small margin... much much worse than being beaten by a few more goals.

All season, all I wanted was to erase that pain. I feel pretty damn blessed to have had that pain wiped clean 12 months after it happened.

I sat through practically every footy telecast, reminded of last year as the networks milked the classic footage of Leo Barry to death.

My heart was broken, but this year's win has repaired all that damage. I'm so fortunate to have a club like mine.

It sucks losing a GF. People can say "hey at least you were there" and "hey you gave it your all" all they like. End of the day, it's the worst feeling in football that there is. I wouldn't wish that upon anyone. Unfortunately, many people do, and that is sad.

You're a great club and an amazing side. I've said before that if you can be this hungry coming off a flag, you'll be pretty damn hard to beat next year.

I'm just hoping we don't play in a final, let alone a GF against each other for a while. Sure, the contests are great, but my heart can't take it!

All the best for '07!