View Full Version : Grand Final thoughts

John
1 Oct 2006, 11:02
I had tipped the Swans in a close one. I got the close one right!:rolleyes:
As a neutral it was one of the best last 1/4's of footy I have seen if not the best. Sydney's 1st half was most probably as bad as they have played in a big match situation in a couple of years and that lost them the game ulitimatly. The hand skills were very poor and I am not so sure that the Eagles where at their best either. It picked up in the 2nd half skill wise. The eagles midfield was it's usual terrific self. If they get themselves another forward they are going to be hard to stop over the next couple of years as the forward line looks like their only weakness. Tarrant is not that bad a catch for them IMO. I thouht Embley deservied his NSM but I would not have been averse to Cox, Kerr or even Fletcher and Stenglein getting a mention. On the losing side Kirk was fantastic, Goodes last 1/4 awsome with Keneally very good as well. Barry Hall had a shocker IMO. Where to from here for both sides? I think that the Eagles will be up there for about 2 to 4 more years yet though salary cap/new challanges will no doubt take effect come time. Sydney also have a couple more years left. In fact I think their style of play is just the type to negate the Eagles. Anyway those are my thoughts. What about you lot?

konstas_87
1 Oct 2006, 11:27
yeh i actually hoped WCE would win but was never sure.
was on the edge of my seat that whole last qtr, sydney did REALLY well to not be more down at half time i reckon, WCE were dominating the middle.
thought sydney were going to pinch it to be honest, glad WCE prevailed.

agree with norm smith, thought embley was worthy.
wce will be up there for a while yet.

campbell
1 Oct 2006, 11:33
I picked WC or a draw.

Can't have any team going back to back.Then next year they could be closing in on our marvelous record.

I thought Kerr was the difference in the last quarter.Richards was a find for the Swannies.

TheBrownDog
1 Oct 2006, 11:43
Glad the Eagles won. The Swans had to be prevented from getting into a possibility of a threepeat at all costs! :thumbsu:

John
1 Oct 2006, 12:10
I picked WC or a draw.

Can't have any team going back to back.Then next year they could be closing in on our marvelous record.

I thought Kerr was the difference in the last quarter.Richards was a find for the Swannies. Agree. Good game. Just shows what a change of club can do sometimes.

Rawhead
1 Oct 2006, 12:22
I had $100 on the eagles to win by under 20, and $10 on Judd for back to back Norm Smiths.

I wanted Sydney to win, so really I couldnt lose. Either the team I wanted to win did, or I paid for my night out, either way I would have been happy.

I think Sydney might not make the eight next year, I also think the Eagles may well get a second consecutive premiership next year.

luthor
1 Oct 2006, 12:55
Lot's of skill errors and a few umpiring blunders....but an absolutely breathtaking GF:thumbsu: .....maybe the best ever in terms of the sheer drama.

I got behind the Swannies last year but switched alleigance to the Eagles for yesterday, simply because they have been the best side for 2 seasons and deserved the ultimate prize.

Thats the nice thing about being a "neutral" on GF day.....you can be a supporter for a day, depending on how you feel:)

Anyway, well done to both sides for turning on a great spectacle.

And well done to me for having my annual $20 footy bet on the right team.:D

Grimreepah
1 Oct 2006, 13:39
I thought the Dons would be up there for quite a few years when they won in 2000, but they went on a decline.

The Eagles are a very good side and were the best team throughout the year but they don't look unbeatable to me.

armagedon ready
1 Oct 2006, 13:49
I secretly wanted Sydney to win, but feel it was fitting that Westcoast now have a Grand Final as they have been such a skilled team over the past two years.

I was surprised at Sydney's apparent nerves in the first quarter, and at half time I felt that they had let Westcoast get away from them.
The second half was an absolute epic. How much of a privelege is it to be able to watch two great teams battle with such skill and daring. Moments created by Goodes, Kirk, Schneider and Richards for Sydney, and Kerr, Cox, Embley and Judd for Westcoast.
That said, if the Lions had been one of the combatants I would have been totally strung out be the end of the game. Goodes pain said it all.
Aside from the absolute joy of your team winning a Grand Final, 2005 and 2006 are the best I have seen for absolute drama.
Seeing Richards play so well gives me hope that our Club may find a gem in the upcoming trade period.

Snuka
1 Oct 2006, 14:15
Had tipped Sydney but was half-heartedly barracking for WC. Agreed with the BrownDog and others, wouldn't be happy to see the back-to-back and are chance at three, since I don't believe that team is anywhere near as good or exciting to watch as the Brisbane side. WC are a fantastic side and deserve the win. Another team is really going to have to step up in the next few years to match it with them.

Was an exciting game, if not a great one. Thought lasts years one and this years 1st final problem better. THat said, really enjoyed some of the desparate efforts in the last quarter, ie Chick.

irel
1 Oct 2006, 14:36
I was sitting on the couch quietly contemplating the game unfolding. I was thinking, "Our full compliment team without injuries would have beaten both the Eagles and the Swans the way they played in that first half"
The first half was absolute crap football.

So I pray to the "Injury Deity". "Please look after us next season? Surely we are due an injury free season?"

I'll light the candles tonight and make the appropriate sacrifice in front of the alter with a slaying of a Swan and an Eagle. I know, I know, they are protected species!

But I'll do anything to have JB fit and firing for a whole year.

Warwick
1 Oct 2006, 14:37
I would have loved Sydney to win that. I have so much respect for their team. They have shown you can build up a good side with astute trading, rather than bottom out and rely on top picks.

I thought Cox, Embley, Kerr, Braun, Judd, and Glass were the eagles best, while Kirk, Richards (how good did he play!), Davis and Goodes were the best for Sydney. I really thought Kirk deserved to win the Norm Smith - he, along with Nick Davis got Sydney back into the game and played an absolute blinder. He is one of my favourite non-Brisbane players with the desperation and toughness he shows every game. And i also really don't like Embley. I thought Cox played a better game than he did.

Sydney made many errors they would not normally make in the first half, particularly in a big game. I'm surprised you thought Kennelly played well John. He got a lot of the ball but i thought he made a lot of errors - i remember thinking in the last quarter how his handling was very poor for the entire game. I thought he and Barry would have made the difference, but they were both a little down.

A couple of other observations i made were that Goodes could be the most valuable player in the AFL. He is a freak, being able to play any position, and any job. Cox, Kerr and Judd are just awesome - the Sydney ruckmen got absolutely killed by Cox in the ruck and all over the ground. He picks up midfield-like stats, as well as tapping it perfectly down to Judd, Kerr and Cousins nearly everytime. Finally, Rowan Jones has to be the worst premiership player ever. How many times did he turn it over!!

I wouldn't be writing Sydney off next year. People were doing that straight after the GF last year, and all throughout this year. I knew they would come good during the finals - Roos knows exactly what he is doing. I expect them to be around 5-9 at the midway stage of the year, before finishing in the top 4 again.

And for those saying it was good the eagles won to protect our 3-peat, i think it is more likely that West Coast will win the next 2 than it is Sydney winning next year.

BBFFC
1 Oct 2006, 15:40
I picked WC or a draw.

I thought Kerr was the difference in the last quarter.Richards was a find for the Swannies.

I think the eagles have a much greater chance of comming close to our marvelous record, even if sydney had won yesterday they wouldnt have come close, WCE atm is far and away the best team, be interesting to see how all tese changes in the off season affect teams. You would think its going to be one of the busiest trade weeks ever.

As for the GF i wanted a draw, almost got it, last half was awesome, Embley was the difference

BBFFC
1 Oct 2006, 15:41
And for those saying it was good the eagles won to protect our 3-peat, i think it is more likely that West Coast will win the next 2 than it is Sydney winning next year.

Didnt see this before my last post, agree completely.

kimp
1 Oct 2006, 16:22
I think the eagles have a much greater chance of comming close to our marvelous record, even if sydney had won yesterday they wouldnt have come close, WCE atm is far and away the best team, be interesting to see how all tese changes in the off season affect teams. You would think its going to be one of the busiest trade weeks ever.

As for the GF i wanted a draw, almost got it, last half was awesome, Embley was the difference

I think it depends who gets the coaching job at St Kilda.

danielcanberra
1 Oct 2006, 16:38
Glad the Eagles won. The Swans had to be prevented from getting into a possibility of a threepeat at all costs! :thumbsu:

My thoughts exactly.

A three peat should only occur every 50 years or so.

Melbourne 1955-56-57, 1939-40-41
Carlton 1906-07-08

And we certainly don't want Sydney to make history with a four peat

Collingwood 1927-28-29-30

Vipertooth
1 Oct 2006, 17:08
hey guys sorry I have not been on lately I got a virus and had to reformat my computer :(

Anyway has anyone thought that the 2 teams who nearly always beat us in our prime (Sydney and eagles) are now winning premierships. its kinda strange, but if you follow that sequence, fremantle almost always beats west coast, are they the future champs in a few years?

Just a thought, kinda weird hey.

GO LIONS :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

P.S i am scared that eagles are going to match our 3 - peat :(

John
1 Oct 2006, 17:10
I missed ya Vipertooth. Good to have you back:thumbsu:

Vipertooth
1 Oct 2006, 17:12
I missed ya Vipertooth. Good to have you back:thumbsu:

Thanks mate :D

danielcanberra
1 Oct 2006, 17:38
hey guys sorry I have not been on lately I got a virus and had to reformat my computer :(

I hope you are feeling better. There is still a nasty cold and flu going around.

What was wrong with your computer?

TheBrownDog
1 Oct 2006, 21:06

I see your point but the team most likely to get the three-peat is the team with a premiership already under their belt. So on Saturday, Sydney was the team to watch.

FattyLumpkin
1 Oct 2006, 23:21
Another great GF. Must admit, I enjoyed watching the last 2 GF's more than the previous 4 - it's just too nerve-racking watching the Lions play. Then again, the '03 Flag was pretty worry-free!!

Can't see anything but a Man U type plane disaster stopping the eags for the next couple. Only challenge from maybe Freo & the Doggies.

It will be interesting to see how WCE manage their list. Do they follow the Lions model of aiming for a dynasty, or keep turning over players to keep the team evolving?

Grimreepah
1 Oct 2006, 23:23
It will be interesting to see how WCE manage their list. Do they follow the Lions model of aiming for a dynasty, or keep turning over players to keep the team evolving?

That's a good question.

Lions_Master
1 Oct 2006, 23:36
Let's hope West Coast don't win three in a row!

Grimreepah
1 Oct 2006, 23:51
Let's hope West Coast don't win three in a row!

I wouldn't worry just yet. They lost the first final, won the semi by 10 points and then won the final by 1 point.

Someone had to win. And it's always hard to go back to back because the hunger may not quite be there. They've had two long campaigns so it will be that much tougher next year.