View Full Version : Official 2006 Carlton Player Review
Jeremias
1 Oct 2006, 12:29
Saw this on the Geelong forum, and thought that it would be a very good idea if we did the same.
Any poster that wants to participate takes 1 Carlton player from the current list, and writes an in depth review of that player.
Suggestions regarding what to include are: highlight of the season, lowlight of the season, general observations, statistical differences to previous seasons, position in the team and that players future for the CFC.
Just tell me in this thread which player you would like to write a review about. If there are a few spare players, then you can take 2 or more.
1. Andrew Walker-Bluebear
2. Jordan Russell-
3. Marc Murphy-
4. Luke Livingston-
5. Josh Kennedy-
6. Kade Simpson-elgranto
7. Justin Davies-
8. Lance Whitnall- mediumsizered
9. Jason Saddington-
10. Dylan McLaren-
11. Barnaby French-
12. Matthew Lappin-
13. Luke Blackwell-
14. Brad Fisher-
15. David Teague-
17. Setanta O'hAilpin-
18. Paul Bower-
19. Eddie Betts-
20. Cory McGrath-
21. Troy Longmuir-
22. Callum Chambers-
23. Adam Hartlett-K.Simpson
24. Nick Stevens-
25. Brendan Fevola-
26. Adrian Deluca-
27. Chris Bryan-
28. Ian Prendergast-
29. Heath Scotland-
30-Jarrad Waite-
31. Jordan Bannister-
32. Bret Thornton-
33. Ryan Houlihan-
34. Simon Wiggins-
35. Anthony Raso-
36. Trent Sporn-
37. Jake Edwards-
38. Ryan Jackson (R)-
39. Daniel Batson (R)-
40. Adam Bentick- Jeremias
41. Jesse D Smith (R)-
42. Craig Flint (R)
43. Anthony Koutoufides-Funkalicious
44. Andrew Carrazzo-
45. Aisake O'hAilpin (R)-
Mods, if this can be made a sticky, that would be great :thumbsu:
Bluebear
1 Oct 2006, 12:53
I'll kick it off with Tex:thumbsu:
1. Andrew Walker
Highlight:
Despite a fairly even season with quality performances on Davey, Buckley, Farmer, there were two gloriuous weeks that showed his tue potential.
In his 50th game for the blues in round 17 against Freo, Tex was important maintaining some pride during the first three quarters, and was instrumental in our late charge for victory, including 15 kicks, 12 handpasses, 8 marks, and a pivotal goal. He received 2 Brownlow votes for the game.
In round 18 Tex was assigned Russell Robertson, and destroyed him....literally. It wasn't enough that the dangerous Dees forward had been beaten comprehensively by the young blues defender, but a jarring spoil late in the game from Tex sent Robbo off with an AC joint injury. 1 Brownlow vote.
Lowlight:
A tie for mine.
After our second win for the year we were full of hope against St. Kilda in Rd 8 at the G. In a game where we only semmed to have 3 contibutors.
Rd 22 - we travel to our bogey ground to act like witches hats for the runners up. Tex had his lowest output for the year with 4 kicks and 2 hanballs. Was beaten early by Goodes and as with many teamates, seemed to have one eye on Mad Monday.
Tex was not alone in having both matches as his lowlight.
General Observations:
Has become a much more consistent player this year playing all 22 games, and consistently beating quality oponents. His stats below tell much of the story. Some question marks remain over his finishing use of the football, but this seems to be improving slowly. Has a great motor and is destined to take mark of the year at some stage of his career.
2005 vs 2006 - avg per game in brackets
2005 -
games 18
Kicks 123 (6.8)
Handballs 54 (3.0)
Disposals 177 (9.8)
Marks 44 (2.4)
Goals 6 (0.3)
Behinds 1 (0.1)
Tackles 37 (2.1)
Hitouts 9 (0.5)
FF 10 (0.6)
FA 16 (0.9)
games 22
Kicks 270 (12.3)
Handballs 112 (5.1)
Disposals 382 (17.4)
Marks 118 (5.4)
Goals 6 (0.3)
Behinds 6 (0.3)
Tackles 40 (1.8)
Hitouts 1
FF 13 (0.6)
FA 15 (0.7)
Team Position:
After a quality year as a defender, Tex's role depends largely on who is recruited in this years draft. Expect to see him used predominantly as a defender again with a license to run and carry more often. Will play cameo's in the midfield and forward line.
Future:
Having only turned 20 in May this year Tex has become a consistent player at AFL level. Confidence and polish on his finishing skills seem the only barrier between Tex becoming a genuine superstar in the AFL. Potential leadership in the future, and form the core of Carlton's young brigade.
(Thanks to Blueseum and footywire.com)
elgranto
1 Oct 2006, 13:01
i will look after simpson
Funkalicous
1 Oct 2006, 13:21
I'll write one for captain Kouta. :cool:
Jeremias
1 Oct 2006, 13:31
I'll write one for captain Kouta. :cool:
Sure. Thanks for making it a sticky :thumbsu:
TheGeneral
3 Oct 2006, 01:18
Will they be dressing up as women?
Jeremias
3 Oct 2006, 08:52
Will they be dressing up as women?
Only if they do a revue, but I highly doubt it :p
K.Simpson
3 Oct 2006, 17:44
DAMM, simmo is being done :(
Ill do some a young player seeing as i regularly watch the bullants heaps.
Ill do Adam Hartlett :D
K.Simpson
3 Oct 2006, 18:21
23. Adam Hartlett
Born April 22, 1986
Height 195cm Weight 95kg
Previous Clubs: Edwardstown/West Adelaide (SA)
----------------
Highlight:
Just getting on the park would be this youngsters biggest highlight this year. He played in all 4 of Carlton’s pre-season gaming and in each played on the best forward. Although he had a relatively poor game against Geelong when K. Kingsley carved him and Bret Thornton up, he came back to concede only 4 goals for the rest of the practice game. Unfortunately just days before the round 3, Adam re-injured his hamstring, and injury he had previously gotten over twice in season 2005. Coming back to full fitness was hard for the lad, but eventually after a lengthy stint of rehab, he got back and was one of the BOG in the Bullants 2nd’s. That earnt him a Bullants position one in which he was eager to get into. He ended up playing 9 straight games for the ‘ants at the home end of the season and just got better and better. Hopefully with a solid pre-season this lad can crcak it in the seniours and show everyone that he has arrived.
Lowlight:
How can you got past his injuries?
Adam missed two full month of football due to a hamstring injury, just a year after he missed 2/3 of a year with a knee and then hamstring injuries. Also, an 8 goal hall against his name kicked by K. Kingsley in game one of the 2006 Wizard Cup wasn’t the best start in a Carlton jumper.
General Observations:
Began to play some very good football as the year concluded. Really, if he can stay injury free, have a really solid pre-season, this player could just find himself in the seniors come round 1. Would love to see him get a good test in the NAB cup before hand as well.
2006 VFL stats
Games 9
Kicks 87 (9.7)
Handballs 37 (4.1)
Disposals 124 (13.7)
Marks 41 (4.6)
Goals 3 (0.33)
Behinds 0 (0.0)
Tackles 19 (2.1)
Hitouts 2
FF 5 (0.56)
FA 11 (1.22)
Team Position: Played each of his games in the VFL at a Full Back and Half back, and even drifted down forward and bagged a few goals.
Future: Has the potential to have a biug future, just really needs to get the body right and get some more games and a good pre season under his belt.
mediumsizered
3 Oct 2006, 23:43
8. Lance Whitnall
Highlight: In the early part of the season gave Barry Hall and Anthony Rocca absolute touch-ups. Was appointed acting captain during Kouta's absence with injury and although he did not set the world on fire with his form during this period, he showed that he was a natural as captain. Ultimately, though, the highlight of his season was him finally saluting as winner of the John Nicholls Medal, reflecting that he was consistently good over the entire 22 rounds. Well deserved reward and recognition for the hard work he has put in over the last two pre-seasons to get himself fit enough to be a major contributor at the club.
Lowlight: Being absolutely smashed by Trent Croad early in the season. His lack of pace and agility was found out on this occasion and I am sure Denis Pagan learnt a lesson about getting the match-up right, the first time. Lance was found out on a handful of occasions against more mobile players and this did highlight the need for the club to fast track the likes of Bower and maybe even Jake Edwards.
Overall: Had his best season since his AA year of 2000. Has become the general of the backline and has played an important role in the development of Thornton and Walker in defence over the last 1 1/2 seasons. The players look to him as a leader and he was seen addressing the players regularly at 1/4 time & 3/4 time huddles. Is odds-on favorite to take on the captaincy next season, hopefully with Fev as his deputy. May only have 3-4 seasons left in his body but in that time will prove to be a very good leader, particularly given the number of kids on our list who will need guidance.
2006 Season Stats:
Games: 22
Kicks: 284 (Ave 12.9)
Handballs: 130 (Ave 5.9)
Marks: 177 (Ave 8) Equal 7th in the AFL
Goals: 15
Tackles: 26
Hit Outs: 23
Winner of John Nicholls Medal for club Best & Fairest
Team Position: Played the majority of the season in defence on opposition KP forwards. Was thrown forward a couple of times when things were looking bleak. Is definitely the general of the back line.
Future: Will be appointed captain next season and will hold this position until retirement (3-4 years time). Will play in defence over the coming season or two, but may finish his career up forward. On retirement, he must be retained at the club as he will be a fantastic coach. Has one of the best football brains I have seen in 37 years of following football.
kouta 4 president
4 Oct 2006, 00:21
Can someone PLEASE do one on each of the O'hAilpin brothers I would really like to see a post on each of these
3. Marc Murphy
Highlight:
The young gun debuted in the AFL and in his first match ever for the Blues he scored a rising star nomination in Round 1 against Melbourne especially after his last quarter performance in which he had 7 disposals and played part in setting up 2 vital goals, this was especially evident when he saw Fevola through the corner of his eyes unmarked and while he himself was only about 35 metres out, spotted him and squared the ball to him which resulted in a goal. Then the navy blue faithful knew we had a team player who had a bit of class.
Marc went on to play 13 games (12.25 :() and grew as he gathered experience. His ability to set up killer passes to Fevola resulting in the Fev himself saying Marc's absence for the last 9 games cost him about 20 goals for the year. This is enormous wrap for a lad so young. He brought a breath of fresh air back to Princes Park and we saw him time and again show level head and maturity beyond his years. His highlight, undoubtedly, however was against West Coast in Round 11 where he had 8 possesions in the first quarter which resulted in Tyson Stenglien, the opposition's best tagger (and one of the best in the AFL) being moved onto him at the start of second. This didn't bother young Marc though who gave him a touch up and finished with 26 disposals and a goal in a match where the Blues fell agonisingly short in causing one of the biggest boilovers in recent history. That was a performance that confirmed for all that we had a gun on our hands.
Lowlight:
Cannot go past the extremely disappointing way in which the young man's season came to a close. After a hard and fair tackle by Robert Copeland in the first quarter, the youngster fell on his shoulder and dislocated it but got up again and laid another tackle which he later described in his diary as "my last chance to take one of them down with me" before being taken off the ground by the trainers. Later on in the week the news came through that Marc would be required to undergo a full reconstruction which meant missing the whole season, starving the already starved Blues faithful from seeing his progress further.
General Observations:
Young Marc gave us all something we'd been crying out for for years - hope. It was disappointing the way his season came to a close but hopefully after his succesful surgery he can get a head start in the pre-season and be firing all cylinders at the start of next. He will hopefully show us all truly what he is capable of next year and many more in the future.
2006 Season Stats:
Games: 13
Kicks: 146 (11.2)
Handballs: 82 (6.3)
Disposals: 228 (17.5)
Marks: 70 (5.4)
Goals: 8 (0.6)
Behinds: 2 (0.2)
Tackles: 43 (3.3)
Team Position
His best position is right in the guts, he is equally good at delivering the ball outside or getting it himself and exceptionally good at reading the play as it develops so is a true centreman and would expect him to line up there Round 1 2007.
Future:
What can you say? After such an exciting start there is no ceiling on what he can do. Hopefully he plays all 22 games next year after such a disappointing end and entertain us all some more. Then he should go on to become a gun player for this club in the next decade and a champion - way to go Marc! Can't wait to see him play next year.
Great review Hu$$ey. Can't wait to see this kid in action again next year.
Hey 'K.Simpson'
Re: Adam Hartlett's review
Where did you get those stats for VFL games?
Does anyone else know where these come from?
bluegal1983
23 Oct 2006, 14:00
Hey 'K.Simpson'
Re: Adam Hartlett's review
Where did you get those stats for VFL games?
Does anyone else know where these come from?
Try http://www.bullants.footballvic.com.au/
That site seems to just have best players and goalkickers. Where did K.Simpson get the kicks, handballs, marks etc stats though. That's what I'm after.... Cheers for the help anyway Bluegal :thumbsu:
Jeremias
30 Oct 2006, 09:09
That site seems to just have best players and goalkickers. Where did K.Simpson get the kicks, handballs, marks etc stats though. That's what I'm after.... Cheers for the help anyway Bluegal :thumbsu:
Ask him in a PM maybe.
K.Simpson
30 Oct 2006, 18:04
FAmily friend is one of a few VFL statistitians. Its not on a site or anything, just what she told me. YES, she!
If you want to know the stats of more players PM me, ill ask her to get me them.
ANYWAY, can someone please do another player!!!! unless i am allowed to do a second :D
Jeremias
30 Oct 2006, 18:06
FAmily friend is one of a few VFL statistitians. Its not on a site or anything, just what she told me. YES, she!
If you want to know the stats of more players PM me, ill ask her to get me them.
ANYWAY, can someone please do another player!!!! unless i am allowed to do a second :D
Is it too much to ask her for ALL Carlton listed players? I would be interested in all of them, especially the young kids. Oh, and Bronik Davies as well...
I will do my review of Adam Bentick sometime next week after I finish exams. This thread isn't as popular as I first hoped and thought, so you can do another player. Just tell me who :thumbsu:
K.Simpson
30 Oct 2006, 18:18
Is it too much to ask her for ALL Carlton listed players? I would be interested in all of them, especially the young kids. Oh, and Bronik Davies as well...
I will do my review of Adam Bentick sometime next week after I finish exams. This thread isn't as popular as I first hoped and thought, so you can do another player. Just tell me who :thumbsu:
Do you want EVERY bullants player or just the carlton ones.
NOTE: it may take about a week or longer to get back with all of this, and i will only be posting PMs to people who are after specific players.
Will get back to most of you's soon :D:thumbsu:
Jeremias
30 Oct 2006, 18:27
Do you want EVERY bullants player or just the carlton ones.
NOTE: it may take about a week or longer to get back with all of this, and i will only be posting PMs to people who are after specific players.
Will get back to most of you's soon :D:thumbsu:
Just the Carlton listed players that played for the Bullants during the year, as well as Bronik Davies.
Will you PM them to me?
Thanks mate.
K.Simpson
30 Oct 2006, 20:49
Just the Carlton listed players that played for the Bullants during the year, as well as Bronik Davies.
Will you PM them to me?
Thanks mate.
Yerp, i will PM them to you ASAP (most likely mid - to - lateish november)
Can we plzzz gte back to the subject, would really love to read more player review's
K.Simpson
7 Nov 2006, 12:50
Ok, for anyone who was after the VFL stats i now have them for every Carlton listed player.
Just PM me if you would like a copy of them.
And my question hasnt been answered, can i do a review on a 2nd player???
Jeremias
7 Nov 2006, 15:46
Ok, for anyone who was after the VFL stats i now have them for every Carlton listed player.
Just PM me if you would like a copy of them.
And my question hasnt been answered, can i do a review on a 2nd player???
Cheers for the stats, mate.
And yes, you can do a second player. Interest in this topic doesn't seem to be too high unfortunately. Go ahead, just tell me who.
K.Simpson
7 Nov 2006, 17:39
14. Brad FISHER
Height: 192 cm
Weight: 82 kg
Recruited From: East Burwood/Eastern U18
Date of Birth: 9 April 1984
Highlight: Not too many highlights for young Brad this year. His best games included 2 of the pre-season games, one against West Coast were he kicked 3 goals and another against Port Adelaide with 2 goals and over 20 possessions in a 100 point loss. During the home and away season, he had two inuries, a hamstring in round 1 and then a serious shoulder injury in 7, yet, as soon as he regained fitness, Pagan rewarded him with a spot in the seniors. His best games came late in the year against Melbourne in round 18, where he collected 19 possessions and kicked 3 goals and against Hawthorn in round 19 where he gathered 10 marks and 20 possessions.
Lowlight: His two injuries really effected his whole season. In round 1 he pulled his hamstring against Melbourne in the early stages first quarter after having a lively start with 6 possessions and 4 marks. He then returned in round 4, but sadly just 3 games later in round 7 was squashed in a marking contest where he hurt his ac in his shoulder. This kept Brad out for 8 weeks. Apart from these injuries. When he returned he played well without really staring, but will be better for the run.
Overall: Brad had a pretty consistent season, and with a good summer in the gym could be a handy reacquisition next year. He averaged 13 possessions a game, along with 7 marks. If there is one thing however that Brad needs to work on, it is his goal kicking. He kicked 7.11 in front of goal in 2006.
2006 Season Stats:
Games: 13
Kicks: 121 (Ave 9.3)
Handballs: 42 (Ave 3.2)
Marks: 80 (Ave 6.2)
Goals: 7
Tackles: 11
Hit Outs: 0
Team Position: Played the majority of the season across the half forward line as a lead up forward. Usually got his possessions up on the wings resulting in his low amount of goals.
Future: Will be a big year for Brad. Just signed a 2 year deal with the club, and with the departed of DeLuca he along with Josh Kennedy are the only 2 tall lead up forwards at the club. Should be looking for a better year overall, and hopefully “touch wood” with no injuries he can deliver what we have always known he is capable of.
BlueFeaver
2 Jan 2007, 11:21
Hi guys, do you mind if I do Waite or Kennedy?
K.Simpson
2 Jan 2007, 12:58
Hi guys, do you mind if I do Waite or Kennedy?
do both ;)
BlueFeaver
2 Jan 2007, 17:47
Give me a couple days and I'll do both.
Jeremias
1 Feb 2007, 12:46
Well, I thought this was a good idea, but unfortunately it didn't develop like I hoped it would.
There is no point in having this as a sticky any more, as interest in it is very low.
ODN, Funky or MS, could you please un-sticky this.
Cheers :thumbsu:
BlueFeaver
4 Feb 2007, 11:14
Well, I thought this was a good idea, but unfortunately it didn't develop like I hoped it would.
There is no point in having this as a sticky any more, as interest in it is very low.
ODN, Funky or MS, could you please un-sticky this.
Cheers :thumbsu:
Sorry mate !
I've just started a new job and its taking heaps of my time.
I still want to it, it will just take a little more time.
Jeremias
4 Feb 2007, 11:22
Sorry mate !
I've just started a new job and its taking heaps of my time.
I still want to it, it will just take a little more time.
No worries, and we'd be happy to have a look at what you do.
Regardless, there is lttle interest in this. I was hopeful that each player would be picked, but that's not going to happen.
So I think this should be un-stickied. That doesn't mean we can't post in it any more.
kouta 4 president
5 Feb 2007, 23:16
Hmmm... who was it that was going through every player last year in number order? they were doing a good job about it. Maybe they should start again
Jeremias
6 Feb 2007, 12:07
Hmmm... who was it that was going through every player last year in number order? they were doing a good job about it. Maybe they should start again
That was me, and I would like to do it again, and will if people want me to.
However, if we get a sub-forum for roster watch, there may not be much need. I'd still be more than happy to create the threads.