View Full Version : Did anyone else.....
Get a bit emotional and more than a little sentimental while watching the telecast yesterday?
Maybe because everything seems to be falling apart at the Gabba at the moment or maybe because I was getting caught up in reliving the trek and atmoshphere of those glory days at the MCG when I was trying to answer all the questions the new 7yo in the household was asking (she had never known about AFL before coming here), BUT, I was a bit over-emotional yesterday.
I got caught up in the pre-game entertainment - probably didn't help that the Young Divas did a cover of a very old favourite of mine that means alot to me too - and I was singing away with the tv loud and blaring to up there Cazaly. I got the goosebumps when the crowd roared as the national anthem finished. Tears pricked the eyes with memories more than a few times.
Anyone else have anything similar? Or am i just a tragic?
We had to play our GFs in a half-finished MCG as well. I would love for us to play in another one in front of 100 000.
campbell
1 Oct 2006, 17:33
I was sleep deprived, having done a Night Duty up the Coast.
Sitting having a drink with the family,remembering.
But, it was good to not be emotionally involved in the result.
To watch the game as a game.
I can not imagine how the Swannies supporters would be feeling.1 bleeding point.
One of my kids said, if that was him, he would be bi polar.In consolable.
No you are just tragic:p. Not me. I was with a few mates at the pub and all that sort of passed me by until ball up. And then it was "into it". As much as I want us to be there every year one just has to be realistic. As to the prematch entertainment. Just looked like a bunch of old blokes to me. Would have been more interested in getting some new young up and comers playing but sadly my generation thinks it's crap music should be forced on everyone else. Classic Rock yuk. Hows that for fighting words:p? By the way how was Duran Duran? http://www.scifi.com/sfw/issue126/barb2.jpg
I can not imagine how the Swannies supporters would be feeling.1 bleeding point.
That would have been torture. At least in 04 we had a bit of time to let the result sink in. I think we all felt that unless we kicked a couple of quick goals in the last quarter, it was all over. Imagine how you would have felt when the siren went if you were a swans fan? Particularly how they kept coming back in the last quarter. They never got in front though and that was really important. I was devestated and that was just because i wanted them to win it more than WC.
I remember the relief i felt in 2002. Imagine that and double it, and that's probably how WCE supporters felt.
Classic Rock yuk. Hows that for fighting words:p? By the way how was Duran Duran? http://www.scifi.com/sfw/issue126/barb2.jpg
:thumbsu::thumbsu: In the game of coming up with the most obscure movie reference on Bigfooty, I am not in your league John. I salute you. Barbarella was the first girl I ever loved.:o
Haha did you know there is even some of the audio from Barbarella in one of the Duran Duran tracks - trying to think of the name of it, it's a mix. Duranies were great. Met up again with them today for a big picnic in New Farm Park. Gotta re-live our youth as often as possible I reckon - it's so much fun!
What was it like living in those days guys?
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/3774/oldpeoplejy4.png (http://imageshack.us)
What's this 'those days' crappola hey?
Those days are still THESE days. Just ask my new romantics friend Nikki. The look has never died. This was taken at drinks on last Friday night - not 1981 as it might appear by her attire and makeup.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v70/redgirlshell/family/DSCF0229.jpg
EI: Right. I had to get up in the morning at ten o'clock at night, half an hour before I went to bed, (pause for laughter), eat a lump of cold poison, work twenty-nine hours a day down mill, and pay mill owner for permission to come to work, and when we got home, our Dad would kill us, and dance about on our graves singing "Hallelujah."
MP: But you try and tell the young people today that... and they won't believe ya'.
ALL: Nope, nope..
Believe it or not Danni I liked Duran Duran. Had there first few up until Rio I think it was. Not sure I can go back there now though. Your friend looks great though! Can I meet her?:p (he says as his other half smash's him over the head with a rolling pin.)
I keep seeing this guy. Any idea who it is?
http://img437.imageshack.us/img437/4028/fonzmz0.png (http://imageshack.us)
Believe it or not Danni I liked Duran Duran. Had there first few up until Rio I think it was. Not sure I can go back there now though. Your friend looks great though! Can I meet her?:p (he says as his other half smash's him over the head with a rolling pin.)
Shocked and disappointed John! Duran Duran!? The backstreet boys of their time. :p
You guys should watch the Mighty Boosh!
I keep seeing this guy. Any idea who it is?
http://img437.imageshack.us/img437/4028/fonzmz0.png (http://imageshack.us)
Trust me that bloke will never be as cool as this bloke:p
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/e/e7/MinderCredit.jpg/200px-MinderCredit.jpg
Shocked and disappointed John! Duran Duran!? The backstreet boys of their time. :p
You guys should watch the Mighty Boosh!
Ohh Snuka that is a rough call. The Back Street boys indeed!! Did they ever ever do a song/video as good as Girls on Film? Cool and sexy and addictive!!!!
None of that one two three four stuff:p.
Not that I disliked that one two three four stuff
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/3/31/TheRamones.jpg/220px-TheRamones.jpg
P.S fan of Japan by any chance?
http://image.allmusic.com/00/amg/pic200/drp200/p272/p27284zcziv.jpg
Ohh Snuka that is a rough call. The Back Street boys indeed!! Did they ever ever do a song/video as good as Girls on Film? Cool and sexy and addictive!!!!
Got a point...but...you know.
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/3/31/TheRamones.jpg/220px-TheRamones.jpg
For you youngens, this is the only band that you will ever need to listen to.:p
No snuka. You want the best you listen to Brisbanes best The Saints.
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/f/f6/Im_Stranded.jpg/175px-Im_Stranded.jpghttp://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/a/a2/Eternally.jpghttp://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/4/4d/A_prehist.jpg
No snuka. You want the best you listen to Brisbanes best The Saints.
Hehe, great band but I like the Fun Things more than the Saints, although I was too young to ever see either.:o Oooh, the Leftovers are good too.
Hehe, great band but I like the Fun Things more than the Saints, although I was too young to ever see either.:o Oooh, the Leftovers are good too. I have to admit to no knowledge of The Fun Things. The Leftovers. Good Sandgate boys IIRC. I still have to this day a 7" Cigarettes And Alcohol with a rubber stamped The Leftover Effing Hate You stamped on the white sleeve. A very healthy scene in Brisbane back in the late 70's early 80's that pioneered the do it yourself ethic that is prevalent today. Good stuff.
scott522
2 Oct 2006, 10:26
I am sure I saw her and another girl at the Countdown Sunday night concert ! They were dressed in their 80's gear !
scott522
2 Oct 2006, 10:27
Saw the Saints live here in good ole BrisVegas before they became famous...those were the days...
scott522
2 Oct 2006, 10:27
God bless the Ramones...
scott522
2 Oct 2006, 10:31
Get a bit emotional and more than a little sentimental while watching the telecast yesterday?
Maybe because everything seems to be falling apart at the Gabba at the moment or maybe because I was getting caught up in reliving the trek and atmoshphere of those glory days at the MCG when I was trying to answer all the questions the new 7yo in the household was asking (she had never known about AFL before coming here), BUT, I was a bit over-emotional yesterday.
I got caught up in the pre-game entertainment - probably didn't help that the Young Divas did a cover of a very old favourite of mine that means alot to me too - and I was singing away with the tv loud and blaring to up there Cazaly. I got the goosebumps when the crowd roared as the national anthem finished. Tears pricked the eyes with memories more than a few times.
Anyone else have anything similar? Or am i just a tragic?
Me too - from when Irene Cara started singing - thought to myself, it is time to open that bottle of red ! :)
scott522
2 Oct 2006, 10:33
P.S fan of Japan by any chance?
http://image.allmusic.com/00/amg/pic200/drp200/p272/p27284zcziv.jpg
David Sylvian was so far ahead of his time...loved their version of Striesands Don't rain on my parade...
Saw the Saints live here in good ole BrisVegas before they became famous...those were the days...
I have memories of seeing them at a house party in Inala or Corinda sometime in the mid to late 70's. I think I was about 16-17. Ed Keupper is the man for me. The Saints finished for me when he split. I have all his solo and Laughing Clowns stuff. I reckon I have seen Ed play about 12 - 15 times over the years. Songwriter of extraordinary talent.
David Sylvian was so far ahead of his time...loved their version of Striesands Don't rain on my parade...
Amazing voice. Almost eerie delivery with a Bryan Ferry/early David Bowie feel. He was into electronic/ambient when I last listened to him.
I think I did cry when the Young Divas came on, but I think it was more the realization that Ten were once again going to use the GF as a tacky vehicle to flog the skin off their mindless variety shows. I guess we can just be thankful they didn't work in a halftime sprint from The Biggest Loser contestants and David Tench in the commentary team.
Next year I'm looking forward to Sara-Marie and some yet-to-be-discovered Big Brother nymph delivering the pre-game coaching addresses live to air.
;)
Lady Lawrence
2 Oct 2006, 13:44
I think I did cry when the Young Divas came on, but I think it was more the realization that Ten were once again going to use the GF as a tacky vehicle to flog the skin off their mindless variety shows. I guess we can just be thankful they didn't work in a halftime sprint from The Biggest Loser contestants and David Tench in the commentary team.
Next year I'm looking forward to Sara-Marie and some yet-to-be-discovered Big Brother nymph delivering the pre-game coaching addresses live to air.
;)
nah next year it'll be the Home & Away people and DWTS. Seven will be carrying the GF.
armagedon ready
2 Oct 2006, 15:25
Saw the Ramones at Festival Hall in late seventies. Ears bled.
Support band was a new pub band from Melbourne with a bizarre lead singer named Peter Garret.
My taste for Brisbane bands was a bit more raw in those days. Black Assassins, Brian and Mutant Death used to get some airplay on ZZZ
scott522
2 Oct 2006, 15:36
black assassins were great...saw them at a zzz thing at the uni...
4ZZZ.
Still the best radio station in Brisberg. The only one smart enough to play Belle and Sebastion:thumbsu:
armagedon ready
2 Oct 2006, 16:23
4ZZZ.
Still the best radio station in Brisberg. The only one smart enough to play Belle and Sebastion:thumbsu:
Some of my family helped man the bastions when a newly elected National Party dominated student's Union tried to close them down. Those were the days when activists actually accomplished things.
Those were the days when activists actually accomplished things.
They were also the days when students and activests got beat up by police with batons outside parliament house. Ahhhh the Sir Joh era, who could ever forget it!
Victoria Brazil I think her name was. She tried to turn in into a B105 style station. Glad she failed.
They were also the days when students and activests got beat up by police with batons outside parliament house. Ahhhh the Sir Joh era, who could ever forget it!
I would like to. Bloody hicksville back then. I remember going to a show back in the late 70's early 80's and I think we caught The Riptides a guitar pop band and a big cop told me that I should not be listening to music like "that" as it was subversive.:rolleyes: As I said hicksville.
Some of my family helped man the bastions when a newly elected National Party dominated student's Union tried to close them down. Those were the days when activists actually accomplished things.
I read the book IIRC called Stranded that mentioned all that in passing but I think Pig City is the book to read. I may have to grab it.
armagedon ready
2 Oct 2006, 16:45
I would like to. Bloody hicksville back then. I remember going to a show back in the late 70's early 80's and I think we caught The Riptides a guitar pop band and a big cop told me that I should not be listening to music like "that" as it was subversive.:rolleyes: As I said hicksville.
It was all that oppression that generated the angry music. Kids who didnt know what Civil Liberties were, started to find out very quickly if they voiced notjoh opinions. Lot of loud angry protest music in Brisbane then, most of it was pretty bad but it had a lot of energy. Nearly every gig got raided.
Wow, a lotta grampas around.:p Although u guys did grow up with the best music.
All music is good. Even the bad stuff if you get what I mean. Don't fall into the I like the old stuff better than the new stuff trap. My generation is the worst for that, "play more Barnsy it is what the people want" NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
God bless the Ramones...
:thumbsu: :)
I love you guys.:thumbsu: